La Fontana Coast

4.4
631 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
La Fontana Coast brings fine dining to the shore. Beautifully located a block from the beach in Sea Isle City, New Jersey, La Fontana Coast brings a wonderfully breathtaking Mediterranean style ambiance to the Jersey shore, complete with an elegantly infectious Southern Italian seaside villa decor with an amazing view of the ocean. La Fontana Coast prepares deliciously authentic and classic Italian cuisine served with charm and smile, where guests can let their hair down, relax and take a vacation from their vacation. Bring your favorite bottle of wine and an appetite for classic fine Italian food and homemade desserts and get swept away al La Fontana Coast.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Friday: 2pm - 11:15pm
Saturday: 2pm - 11:30pm
Sunday: 2pm - 11:15pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(609) 486-6088
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bujar Daku
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
10 to 100 people
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
50th Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Trolley stops during summer season
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Opera Nights. Call for information.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Thanksgiving Dinner; Valentine's Day Dinner; Polar Bear Plunge Weekend. Reopen March 22, 2012.
Additional
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 631 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Food has been better in past visits. The service was TERRIBLE. Likely added to teh poor food qaulity, cold and mushey by the time it came to the table, which was never cleared or visited by the waiter.

Waiter broguh one plate a time and then when to open botels of wine and take and order from another table prior to bringing the others at our table their meals and also utensils..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I and several of our friends go to LaFontana Coast quite frequently in the summer and love the food and service and we especially love the outdoor seating. However although I had made a reservation for an outdoor table a week in advance when we arrived on time we were told that it would be a long wait for an outdoor table. The hostess said that since it was such a nice day the outdoor tables were busy. Since I specifically reserved an outdoor table I felt that we should have been able to be seated outdoors. We were then seated inside which is ok but is a little noisy and the a/c was so high we were freezing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

We had to wait 20 minutes to be seated even though we had a reservation. There was a lot of confusion at the check in. We also had to wait a long time for our dinner mainly because they were super busy but overall food used to be better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food was excellent. There were 9 of us so table very tight and close together. Noise level was horrible, could barely hear the person sitting right next to you let alone down the table. Would only go again on a less crowded night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Good food and good service. Were seated right away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We went with another couple during restaurant week and it was a good value....$34 for 4 courses and BYOB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Never disappointed. Food was amazing as always. Igli was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food was amazing! Everything seemed homemade. The only complaint would be the bread which tasted old and stale. Otherwise I would say one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been to!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I have dined at LaFontana on several occasions and I am always very pleased with quality of the food and service. Best Italian food in Sea Isle City. Veal and seafood dishes are exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

This is my favorite restaurant on 7 mile island

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Busy rainy night led to a lot of double bookings. Any other night of the summer, this place is on point. Fried calarami is the best in the world. Pescatore is a popular dish I see go on almost every table. Both marinara and white wine sauces go with any appetite. Make sure to get the tiramisu and a cappuccino for desert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food is fantastic. We had to wait 20-25 minutes even though we had a reservation. The place is very loud. Servers are always very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I always get a very good dinner when I dine there. I highly recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Early in the season not enough staff...but still a very good meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Their specials tend to be way over priced for what you get.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food good but not great. First day for our server, Jeana. She was terrific! Attentive but not overbearing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent Food and Service, one of the best in Sea Isle and the Shore.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our dinners were terrible! My husband said the mussels were bland and tasted as if they were frozen before being thawed and served. There were only 2 shrimp on his entire platter. The clams were tasteless, and there was enough risotto to choke a horse which seemed like that is we paid for---a bunch of pasta. My dinner was not good either. The veal and sauce were mediocre at best. I was not impressed. Again, there was little taste. I do not mind paying good money for a meal, but when you pay good money for a meal that is horrible or it is just so-so, it's upsetting. We will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The food is always incredible here. I especially love their specials. They are different every time I go. Service is excellent. Make a reservation or be prepared to wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Love everything we had! Just a bit tight with a large party in the center of the room made it a bit uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was good, but they had way overbooked for the night. We finally got to our table 30 minutes after our reservation and it took a good hour after that to actually get our food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food is consistently good here. Noise levels can get very high, service is typically good but can be inconsistent. Specials are priced much higher than the menu, so you may want to ask.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great service The watress was new and so sweet. She will be a assess to the restaurant

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Love coming here evenings... early, or late. Off season, (at the beach) you can always grab a table most times throughout the night. Fresh, never heavy food with authentic Mediterranean taste. Every grade of cheese, meat, is higher quality than you'd fine in other restaurants. Don't mistake this for an "everyday" Italian restaurant - it's superior! Scallops on special in basil sauce are yummy, the shrimp risotto, and bolonese, salads...all fab. Great friendly & attentive wait staff. Notice that it's a BYOB. You might score a little limoncello house made, if the day & mood is right and it's available:) Thanks for another wonderful visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great experience for Easter dinner with our family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Easter Eve family dinner. La Fontana has excellent food, inviting atmosphere and accommodating staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Todd greeted us and sat us us immediately. The service was very attentive, the food was delicious and Todd continually check to see that everything was the way we wanted it. Another great experience. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We have been to this restaurant before unfortunately it was an off night for the staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Best Italian food in SEa isle city NJ. The dishes are made to order fresh and are fantastic. Waiters always polite and accomodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

everything was GREAT - the food, the decor, and the service!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

should inform customers of costs of specials. It came at quite a surprise. Other than that overall, it was a good meal,but, not get a special. Stick to the menu,you can't go wrong

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 20, 2018

we have been several times before and in the peak summer always feel like they are rushing us out. I get it - small place and you need the table. So we stopped going in the summer and were going in the off season. Visits were better. went last weekend with a last minute open table reservation - walked in and was seated right away and given menu's - then we did not see the waiter for quite some time - did not know about specials etc. There was a large table set up in the back so once that group started arriving, the rest of the place seemed to be ignored. We finally got the waiter to tell us the specials and we promptly ordered our meal before he walked away. the bus people were fine - water and bread etc. got the food - he dropped it off and turned away - did not bring cheese or a bowl for my shells etc. I had to flag him down. done the meal - waiter never came over to check on us. we finally asked the bus person to get us two coffee's and to tell the waiter we needed our check. IT WAS NOT HIS FAULT! there were only 2 waiters in the whole place trying to service a full room - after our arrival, the rest of the tables filled up and he had all of them and the other waiter was doing the group with two bus people for the rest. That is the fault of management to realize that you have too many guests and not enough staff. the food was great - such a shame that the service always sucks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Seated immediately
Server spot on
Friendly
A little pricey
Lobster ravioli was delicious
All in all a nice evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants and always a great dining experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We went to LaFontana for New Year's Eve. Our meal was delicious, as usual. It was a little disappointing that the restaurant was somewhat overbooked, as our table was literally right up against the parties next to us on both sides. Luckily the people were very nice and friendly. But we won't let this deter us from returning. The food is always a treat! We have never had a bad meal here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Once again I really enjoyed the food at La Fontana in Sea Isle. I like that it is a BYOB. Although it was New Years Eve I was pleasantly surprised the food was outstanding as usual.

The only complaints I had is people were packed in like sardines. I know they are trying to make everyone happy but it was crowded and loud. Due to the volume too the service was spotty.

The desserts were exceptional!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 20, 2017

First time for us all (14). It seemed that everyone really liked their meal. A little pricey but special. Liked how they seated our large group in a “square” of tables so we all could see each other, rather than one long line of tables. Service was excellent, especially given the size of the group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2017

My wife & I were there this past Sunday & took advantage of the price fixed menu.
Service & food were both great ...Mussels, eggplant voltini, veal la fontana & the pasta with seafood were all terrific. Meal was well paced & service was excellent. Good value for $35 also
included salad & desert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The food and services was great however it was way to noisy almost to the point where we could not hear ourselves. Also my friend and I split the bill and we gave the waitress two credit cards, but unfortunately both were charged to my account. She was very nice but I don't think she understood that we wanted to split the bill.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16