About La Fontana Coast

5000 Landis Avenue
Sea Isle City, NJ 08234
View Larger Map

La Fontana Coast brings fine dining to the shore. Beautifully located a block from the beach in Sea Isle City, New Jersey, La Fontana Coast brings a wonderfully breathtaking Mediterranean style ambiance to the Jersey shore, complete with an elegantly infectious Southern Italian seaside villa decor with an amazing view of the ocean. La Fontana Coast prepares deliciously authentic and classic Italian cuisine served with charm and smile, where guests can let their hair down, relax and take a vacation from their vacation. Bring your favorite bottle of wine and an appetite for classic fine Italian food and homemade desserts and get swept away al La Fontana Coast.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily for Dinner 4 pm to 10 pm; Friday and Saturday until 11 pm.

Cross Street:
50th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 486-6088

Website:
http://www.lafontanacoast.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Nights. Call for information.

Catering:
10 to 100 people

Public Transit:
Trolley stops during summer season

Executive Chef:
Bujar Daku

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Dinner; Valentine's Day Dinner; Polar Bear Plunge Weekend. Reopen March 22, 2012.

Restaurant Photos

La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
Parpadelle Special - La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ
La Fontana Coast, Sea Isle City, NJ

La Fontana Coast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Jersey Shore
Best Restaurants in Sea Isle City ›

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fontana consistently delivers very good ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fontana consistently delivers very good food with great service. Don't miss it if you find yourself in Sea Isle City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food! Menu listed both usual a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food! Menu listed both usual and hard-to-find selections. Everything prepared perfectly.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 7:30 and we didn' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had reservations at 7:30 and we didn't get seated until 8:15. The hostess kept telling us 10 minutes for 45 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Just wanted to clarify my "No SHOW" on 9 ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Just wanted to clarify my "No SHOW" on 9/24. I showed up 5 minutes early with a party of 5

including my 90 Year old mother. Apparently, the restaurant had taken a chance and booked all of the outside tables even though the weather was cold and windy. We waited outside for 15 minutes and finally gave up. We were forced to get a pizza for my Mom's 90th birthday.

I have enjoyed meals in the past but, this incident needed to be clarified. The restaurant should be sending out gift cards to try and make up to all those people that had plans that night.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We decided to try La Fontana during the ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We decided to try La Fontana during the off season. It was excellent and there was no wait. The service was very good and not intrusive. The food was superb. I recommend going with one of the specials as they were so fresh.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Fontana Coast does it again. And by " ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

La Fontana Coast does it again. And by "it" I mean all of it! Service is very attentive. The menu has so much to choose from for chicken, veal, seafood & pasta lovers (oh, that delicious Lobster Ravioli dish!!) The food is consistently excellent (try their other locations and you'll see what I mean). The decor is beautiful. It's a BYO so the wine is always perfect. The desserts are scrumptious (Tiramisu anyone?). Just went there with a group of 8 on Saturday night at prime time...everyone raved about it and we never felt rushed. A standout spot to be sure!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation but still had to wait ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had a reservation but still had to wait an additional 30 minutes. Seems the hostesses were searing whoever complained the loudest first. Food was fabulous as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food _ pasta dishes are overpr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

excellent food _ pasta dishes are overpriced,nonetheless well executed.Good service but very loud.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We ordered daily specials.. Salad with g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We ordered daily specials..

Salad with greens, walnuts, fresh mozzarella, prosciutto, and a bit of melon with a very nice, light vinagraitte dressing. I had fresh pasta with shrimp, scallops, and spinach. It had a very light white winesauce and was cooked to perfection. My date had the special veal medallions in wine sauce with shrimp. He loved it! The Tirimisu was homemade and out of this world. Will be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Very nice p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very nice portions but a bit pricey. Somewhat loud inside although there is a lot of outside seating available. Very very nice place.......will definitely go back. Also love that it is a byob.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food every time!! Only down side i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food every time!! Only down side is its a noisy Resturant. But great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Fontana is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

La Fontana is one of our favorite restaurants in Sea Isle City. We enjoy Italian food and their food is always good. We also like that it is a BYOB restaurant, so we can enjoy our favorite wine. If you like to eat outside they have a nice area. When it is full the noise level is loud. Always a good time at La Fontana Coast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service brusque. Needed to ask prices of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service brusque. Needed to ask prices of "specials". When average entree was $25, special was $35. Also, catch of day was $65 (langoustines) but wasn't mentioned in presentation. Veal Fontana was swimming in mediocre brown sauce. Portions were generous. Deserts were outsourced to Bindi. Bill for caesar salad, octopus app, veal and pasta special came to $96 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

For the past 3 or 4 years, two other cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

For the past 3 or 4 years, two other couples and us have had our 'night out' dinner at La Fontana Coast. We love the quality and authenticity of the Italian fare. From appetizers to entree to that fantastic coconut sorbet, it's always been delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good; I highly recommend t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was very good; I highly recommend the blackened salmon and the seafood bisque. This is one of our favorite seashore restaurants. My only "downside" suggestions are (1) warm the bread (2) more flame on the crème brule - the crust should be much crispier (3) written presentation of the specials. They are numerous (a good thing), but given the high decibel level in the restaurant, it is virtually impossible to hear/remember the nuances of the choices. I find that I (almost always) order from the menu, simply because the specials have become a blur.

But I certainly will be back !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite local restaurant we continu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our favorite local restaurant we continue to return often and enjoy taking guests

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Considering the area was under a weather ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Considering the area was under a weather watch (Hurricane Hermine)

the service was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

BYOB with Great food, good service, very ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

BYOB with Great food, good service, very loud when full.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We brought friends who had never been he ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We brought friends who had never been here and they agreed with us that it is a real gem! Wonderful food, great waitstaff and well worth the cost!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the last 4 years when we stay in sto ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2016

For the last 4 years when we stay in stone harbor we always come for dinner. The food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was poor - our servers seemed t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service was poor - our servers seemed to be untrained and generally clueless .

Food was good , but one of our party got food poisoning from a shrimp dish .

We don't plan to return to the restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had a reservation for 7:45 and not seate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had a reservation for 7:45 and not seated until 8:30, offered a complimentary appetizer, but no real formal apology. The wait staff was absent through most of our meal making us have to wait longer timers for refills and for our check. Food was pretty good but not worth the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Delicious food and great service! Alway ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Always a pleasure!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good experience. Service excel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a good experience. Service excellent as usual/

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious, but honestly t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everything was delicious, but honestly the lemon sorbetto was the absolute best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Best food in Sea isle--- impeccable serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Best food in Sea isle--- impeccable service--- just great all the way around from apps to dessert.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was not exceptional . The blush sau ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

It was not exceptional . The blush sauce was mediocre . The appetizers were better than the entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We try to eat at La Fontana Coast when w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We try to eat at La Fontana Coast when we visit Sea Isle. The food is fresh and varied and the service is usually good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We dine at La Fontana Della Citta in Phi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We dine at La Fontana Della Citta in Philly all the time, and LOVE it. This was a very similar dining experience and we enjoyed sitting outdoors. Amazing food as always! Can't wait to come back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great time!

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the food very much at LaFonta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much at LaFontana Coast. I had the salmon bruschetta and it was excellent and cooked to perfection. My son had the veal fontana along with the Ceasar salad and he really liked it. I thought the sauce was a little too sweet for my taste on the veal fontana and I wouldn't recommend. They forgot to serve us the bread but when we asked they brought it right away. I thought the service was very courteous and quick.

We only waited a few minutes for our table unlike their location in Strathmere where I always wait over an hour and the host doesn't seem to care. I will definitely go back here and forget dining at the Strathmere location. The ambience is fine but is a little loud but everyone is happy and enjoying their meal.The food is the same quality and the service is much better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meh! By the crowd at the door it looked ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Meh! By the crowd at the door it looked like there was something

special here but not really.... The cessation salad must have been made w veg oil, the Parmesan out of a box and no sign of an anchovy...

the pasta was ok...the bread store bought... Really don't bother!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Consistently a great experience. Best re ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Consistently a great experience. Best restaurant in SIC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Sea Isle!

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best food in Sea Isle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a summer vacation with th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great spot for a summer vacation with the family in Sea Isle! Highly Recommended.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the service was ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was over the top. Gnocchi is our go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been dining in Sea Isle for over tw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Have been dining in Sea Isle for over twenty years and this may have been the best meal we've ever had in any area restaurant. Spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came with a fairly large group. Restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Came with a fairly large group. Restaurant was crowded, but we were seated promptly as per our reservation.

Neither my appetizer nor my entree was as described on menu. My wife's entree was not as per menu.

It appears that the kitchen could not handle the packed restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We are regulars here. We are never disap ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We are regulars here. We are never disappointed in the service and food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. We all enjoyed our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great. We all enjoyed our meals. Only negative comment is that it is very tight between tables/seating. If you don't mind being very close to the guests near you them definitely dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.