About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Worth the Drive (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Cozy (33)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Authentic (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Live Music (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Historic (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived last night a bit early (10 minutes) for our 6pm reservation and were informed that it would be a while before we were seated. Our group went to the bar and had a drink and after 30 minutes we inquired on the status of our table. We were told it might be a bit longer. Ultimately we were seated in the back room that lacked sufficient heat. I asked to have the heat turned on. Dinner took longer that normal. However the food was outstanding. Too bad they ran out of bread! Yes they really did.

I have been going to La Dolce Vita for many years. Unfortunately this will be my last visit. Good luck if you make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Four of us went for brunch on a Sunday. We started off with the bottomless mimosas! 3 at the table order the special quiche of the day which they all love. I ordered the salmon hash which I expected to be hash with some salmon. Totally the opposite! If you are a salmon lover this is a dish for you. It was literally all salmon with some hash. Delicious coffee and wonderful desserts!

If you make a reservation or just pop in and try to get a table be sure to ask for Jacqueline! She was absolutely wonderful. She also goes by Jackie.

We've already made our next reservation and have requested Jacqueline for her outstanding service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

La Dolce Vita has been one of my favorite restaurants for over 15 years!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As usual I had another great experience. The only issue was my lasagna was Luke warm. I asked my server to reheat my plate. Other than that I have a awesome time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding service, our waiter Frank was professional, courteous and knowledgeable

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The location was an unexpected surprise. Very nice ambience. Artichoke appetizer was delicious, although it was advertised to include spinach, and we had to ask for the spinach because it was not on the plate. Food tasty and presented nicely. Wine prices are reasonable. Interesting desserts. Valet was exceptionally courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food,people,music and atmosphere , are all together in this elegent but relaxed restaurant .

Old world elegance

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of my favorite places in the entire City..... wonderful Sunday Brunch but every other day is great too!!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

$60 for breakfast and I had to send my food back was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful for Brunch!

Staff is amazing & friendly!!

Food is amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant week menu was a great way to be introduced to this little gem, although it is difficult to find! We circled the block 3 times before we finally saw the building. We will definitely be back to enjoy the patio this summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went there with four people for the Detroit restaurant week event. All three of our appetizers including the artichoke, and Caesars salad were tremendous. All three of us enjoyed our main courses which included three types of pasta, A pasta with meatballs and mushrooms, and an Ahi -Tuna. The deserts included ice cream and an incredible apple pie. The service was on point and the piano playing very nice to listen to. We would most certainly go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was good except an issue with the valet who scratched our fender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

my wife and I truly enjoyed the dining experience, she had the prawns and I had veal, very tasty and the portion was great. service was excellent, very attentive. I will return.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I wanted to go to this restaurant because I heard they had a fabulous brunch. While I enjoyed my omelette of the day, my mom wanted crepes and they just so happened to NOT have them that Sunday. That was disappointing.

I also judge a restaurant by the quality of coffee they have. Unfortunately the coffee was not great at all

I will definitely give this restaurant another try for brunch but I think I will go in the summertime

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

6 of us went for restAurant week & had an amazing meal from Great drinks to fabulous desserts. Love the regular menu here & they did not skimp for the fixed price at all. Service here is always part of what makes LDV a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time at La Dolce Vita. We definitely will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for Detroit Restaurant Week and it was spectacular. The pasta trio was amazing. Service was top-notch! I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is true Italian at it's best. From the ambience to the wait staff to the Italian interior it is a Detroit gem. We can't wait till the summer to sit outside.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very enjoyable. Great stuff and the food was so good. The drinks were also very good and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The outside and location are sketchy. There was also mandatory $5 valet. We left the vehicle running per the valet's instruction but it was concerning because he was suddenly swamped and given the area, we were afraid someone would run off with it.

We went because of restaurant week, and it did not disappoint! The menu was varied and each one sounded delicious! We were a group of 5 and we each had a different entree except for the lobster cakes. The lamb shank was moist and tender and cooked well done. The seasame encrusted tuna with spicy Thai dressing was also superb! It was tender but firm- so good. And the desert was AMAZING! We each had a different one and the lemon créeme cake was so light and fluffy whereas the chocolate cake was rich but not dense or heavy.

I would come back again, maybe in the summer to enjoy the patio!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our service was excellent, as usual. We had the same waiter as the last time we were there. Very attentive. It's a bit pricey for us, but good for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A wonderful experience all around. Great atmosphere, excellent service, superb food.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our party of 4 enjoyed the evening very much. Everyone else loved their meal. My meal turned out to be not warm and some parts of the broccoli and potatoes were cold. The meal would have been excellent if it had be freshly brought from the kitchen when hot. I didn't figure out what was off until near the end of the meal so I did not complain at the time. The wait staff was good and perhaps too attentive as plates were removed while still eating, a small irretant. I will return because I like the place. I will just be fussy if not satisfied.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was excellent (Antonio was our waiter), the atmosphere cozy and romantic and the food, though "old school," was delicious and substantial. Always a pleasant dining experience at LDV.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We made a reservation on short notice but we're seated immediately. The waitress was conscientious and they kept our mimosa glasses full without having to be asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I am a frequent customer for the Sunday brunch, which I think is totally Awesome!!!

The service is superb, and I especially love the attentiveness that the host and hostesses display .... Long story short "I LOVE IT"

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service. We were all very happy with our meals. The only bummer to the visit was having water spilled on myself and husband by the water waiter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Phenomenal in every way! We have only been there for brunch, but have been 3 times in 6 weeks now--it's a great experience every time. Would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our party was celebrating both a birthday and a wedding anniversary, and chose La Dolce Vita based on friends' recommendations. We were seated at a nice booth in the bar, just off the main room. This was fine, as it was probably quieter there. There was a pianist in the corner, playing nice music at just the right volume to be heard but not to overpower conversations. People at our table ordered a tableside-prepared Caesar salad, veal Marsala and pasta, and everyone enjoyed the food. There were a lot of good choices, and several daily specials. The ravioli pasta appeared to be homemade, and the sauces good. The veal was tender and had a delicious Marsala sauce; accompanying mashed potatoes were delicious, as was the crisp-cooked broccoli. Wine by the glass was very good and reasonably priced. Service was good, not hovering but there when we needed him. The only off note was that every few minutes the lights in the room would blink, which some of us found quite annoying, and others were able to ignore. Note that the building is difficult to see from the street--watch for "ldv" in neon script, and strings of twinkling white lights; enter the valet parking off Cedarhurst, the side street.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good food, reasonable prices and fantastic, attentive service. Never disappointed by a meal here.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great dinner. Good Italian and American entrees. Excellent keyboardist.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Rockstars and professional athletes dine here for romantic, relaxing evening out. Remarkably the prices are fair for any budget. I've never spent less than 3 hours enjoying a delicious meal over great conversation at LdV.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent on all counts as always, from food to service and everything in between

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a nice Sunday brunch here. Food was excellent (French toast w/ mascarpone & Banana's Foster sauce for 2 of us and a tasty eggs Benedict for our friend). Note the mimosas were just the thing for a late Sunday morning but wish our server would have mentioned at the start that they were "bottomless" and consequently $12 each. But the ambience, crowd and decor were very pleasant and it's easy to see why this almost-hidden spot on Woodward across from Palmer Park has the solid reputation it does. All in all, very enjoyable -- and we'll be back to try dinner and summertime dining in the courtyard patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were put in a back room by an exit door, no music. The lamb chops were returned three time because they were cooked wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I was there with my daughter and her friend. We had a girls night out to see a show in Detroit and this place had been recommended to me by friends. It did not disappoint! The atmosphere was great. Service was wonderful. We all enjoyed the food very much. Two of us had the lasagna, and it wasn't like every other Italian restaurant. Unique flavored and texture. Much enjoyed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I love, love, love this restaurant. On this visit, Tina was our waitress, just phanonamal. She went above and beyond to assure our dinning experience was memorable. The food is always on point and the service is always great. Definitely worth trying!!!! Great job Enrico and Antonio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was outstanding. It was by far the best service that I have ever experienced in a restaurant. The ambiance was comforting, the food was great and the overall experience was above expectations. I'm definitely looking forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices. Flawless service, romantic, intimate atmosphere. La Dolce Vita is a hidden gem.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Arrived for Sunday brunch. The Mimosas were excellent as was the meal. The ambience sets it off with a very cool vibe and customers that were dressed to the nines. We were casual dressed and felt very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was the first time at La Dolce Vita and found the food to be excellent. It is not in the best neighborhood and nearly incognito as one of the letters "L" was stolen from the LDV on the building but fortunately for the good mapping we found it. The server was excellent and well informed and the pasta sampler was great. I will definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sister in law birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious Lake Erie Perch with capers and white wine sauce would have been even more delicious with a lighter vegetable such as zuchini, and less heavy potatoes. Calamari appetizer was out of this world. Could be a light meal. Next time!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was excellent! I have been here several times for dinner and lunch and the food is always great. Staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is extremely good. There are others doing creative magic and this is not what La Dolce Vita does. They take standards and make them better than anyone else in the city. The service here for a busy new years eve was excellent. Anthony was our waiter. Even the valet service guy (Mo?) was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Year's Eve. We were seated and given a special menu for that evening. We overheard the table next to us asking questions about entirely different food. We asked server and she said that yes, there was another menu and it was up to the hostess if tables were given both menus. We were not happy! Server wasn't happy to be put in that situation either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ambiance was good, however the server was not great. He never smiled, might have been new, never gave us the specials, and when asked how the chef's choice lamb chops were prepared he said: grilled, we wanted to know what came with it. Food was good, but for the price not a lot came with it. We also got dessert, they didn't have espresso or cappuccino, just coffee (this is an Italian restaurant, right?) and the desserts were cold but tasted good. Won't be going back, there are better Italian restaurants in SE Michigan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.