Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Authentic (39)
Romantic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Great for Brunch (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Live Music (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Historic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Scenic View (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This place is phenomenal. It is A+.
We have dined in France, Miami and Chicago. The food and service is fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Aside from the quality of the food, which is outstanding, the joy of eating on their patio adds dimensions to the enjoyment of the meal. Their perch remains, justifiably, a signature dish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. The mimosas were on point and $12 for bottomless. There was live jazz music and a nice mix of people. We sat in the courtyard and it was very lovely.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is a great spot. Very service-oriented. A great option for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Disabled Access, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

From the moment we arrived to the parking lot, to dealing with the host at the front door, and eventually ending with our server and the busboy; everyone at this restaurant was incredibly rude. I booked the reservation one hour before they're closing time. The valet hesitated parking our cars and the host informed us that he may not be able to find us a table because they were so close to closing. I asked him why would they continue excepting reservations from OpenTable if they were not able to accommodate their guests so close to closing. He sat us outside in the courtyard, it was very nice, and before the waiter could say hello he said our kitchen is about to close do you guys know what you want? My friend interjected and said, "hello how are you". He didn't realize that he was, like everyone else, being extremely rude to us. I asked him if it was best if we ate somewhere else and if service was going to continue to be like this. He apologized for his rudeness and proceeded to get us some waters from the busboy. About 10 minutes into waiting for our food the busboy walked up and asked if we were done with our bread and if he can start clearing our table. We said no and that we hadn't even receive our food yet! At that point the waiter brought our food a few minutes later and we proceeded to eat and leave. I feel that this restaurant should stop their reservations two hours before they close, because their staff cannot provide friendly and adequate service to customers coming in at later times. Not to mention, there was a Caucasian couple that walked in after us that not only received their food before us but they received stellar service. They were waited on promptly, they received a friendly waiter, and they even stayed later than we did.I wonder if their experience was like ours?

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The patio is a wonderful setting in which to enjoy a warm summer evening with friends. Food is always reliably good

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I met friends there; they felt the $5 for parking on top of the cost of the food was excessive. They agreed La Dolce Vita was an excellent choice except for the parking fee and the run down area in which it's located.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent everytime. Never disappoints when we eat here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Unique food options, presentation, diverse crowd, professional and superior service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was our first time dining here and my girlfriends and I thoroughly enjoyed Sunday Brunch! The atmosphere is very welcoming and the live music, although a tad loud inside, added a nice touch to the ambiance of our dining experience. I will definitely visit again for the dinner service.

Tom, our waiter, was great and attentive. We had the bottomless mimosas and I cannot drink OJ when I told him that initially he was hesitant to get the cranberry mimosa. I appreciate that he was not argumentative but instead verified it and was informed it too would be included in the service. He was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Came late to celebrate a high school graduation. Reservation was for 10pm, and even though we were closing down the place we were made comfortable and we were not rushed. Food was very tasty. Ambience outside was fun, and our waiter, Antonio was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

always delicious and best of all hidden treat- stepping into italy without the air fare and travel time...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Had soup, salad and entree. All delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We come to this restaurant to celebrate special events. Our dinner this time was a birthday dinner and we once again had a great experience. The food was delicious. The wait staff is always helpful and professional. The decor is so special (love all the old photos!). We will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food was not up to par on this visit. The filet was tough, over-cooked and had no flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

John, our server was absolutely excellent.
The food was exquisite, best escargot and lasagna I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Waiters were great. Environment was Greg

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always the food was very good. We had a new waiter Jason, he was excellent. The patio was beautiful. We opted to eat inside. Just an overall great place to dine.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The Escargot was unique and delicious. The Asparagus soup was too thick, but very flavorful. The Veal was exceptional. The ambiance was nice, and my friend and I were able to have a nice conversation, because the noise level was very reasonable, even with a full restaurant. Our server, Jasmeen (hope the spelling is correct) was absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

LDV is always a nice place for Sunday Brunch. It rarely disappoints in food and service quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Celebrating work successes!! Mimosas and French Toast were sublime!! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was very nice. Food and service were good. But I was hoping for more of a hip atmosphere

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic , staff was great. Food came out good. Price was right

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was our 15 year wedding anniversary which was mentioned on the open table restervation. We were seated against a wall at a two person table crowded in with four other tables. There were more romanic tables available but they remained empty throughout our dining experience. No one acknowledged our anniversary until the server did when he dropped off the bill. When I mentioned the note made in my reservation regarding our anniversary the hostess said "yes we saw that". So then I was quite dissapointed that while they knew it was obvious that making our special day memorable in the best way they instead blew it off and tainted it with their lack of interest. Our server was short, attentative but not at all friendly. I was never offered the chance to order a second drink. We should have stayed home, I won't be back willingly and would never trust them to honor a special occassion again. Oh did I forget to mention that I had my 40th birthday brunch there last year and they were rude then too, there is no third chance. Clearly they feel empowered by their current status but failure to take interest in every reservation will reflect on their status before too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my first time dining there. I was pleasantly surprised. It is really hidden and that could be by design considering the area but better signage would help as myself and my party drove past it a couple of times without realizing. That patio is amazing. I wished we could have dined out there but it was an extremely windy day. Perhaps next time as I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Moms birthday

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but the appetizers were overpriced. We'll be back but not for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mediocre experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our meal was AWESOME!!! And our waiter Michael was outstanding. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great ambiance, wonderful food, friendly & competent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Calamari was really good. And the seafood pasta was really tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always are favorite restaurant when in Detroit coming in from the northern suburbs.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

All 3 of us received cold plates of food that should have been served hot. We sent them back only to receive 3 more plates of cold food. What a disappointment!! Our server never came back to make sure we received hot food. I have dined here before and always had a great experience. This experience left a bad taste in our mouths. Unfortunately, we won't be back for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was just ok, not sure I would go back for brunch.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

lovely yummy easy pleasant a knockout
server perfect though caution him, he referred to my date and I as "mr and mrs" and no 12th date and btw I would never change my last name

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice Dinner. Great waiter, entrees and Pinot Noir were very good. Calamari was so-so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this place! They were extremely quick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I've been coming to LDV for about 8 years and it's my absolute favorite place for Sunday brunch!!!! All the servers are super nice and friendly!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went out for Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday. I was asked when making the reservation if there was a special occasion and I mentioned why we were making the reservation. I wrongly assumed they would make note of that and maybe do something for the celebrant. That one was on me. I should have said something when we arrived but I did not. And they did nothing.

Our table was half in the middle of the doorway between the bar side and the dining side. In spite of the fact that there were many open tables, we were stuck there because other empty tables were reserved. We ate and left before the live music started. If we would have waited, I could have helped the drummer, his setup was close enough to me that I could have helped him play. Needless to say, I am glad I got out early.

The food was good, but not spectacular (which is what we were expecting based on recommendations from others). The wait staff was good, but we did feel like were were rushed out. The bus boy hovered nearby and when you had the last piece of food on your fork, he was reaching for the plate before the fork even hit your mouth. To me that is sure sign the restaurant wants you out of there ASAP. We would have had dessert, but it looked like they wanted us out of there quickly so we passed.

Also, the only parking is valet parking. There are no other options.

Based on our experience, I am not sure we would ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.