About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mimosas - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bar (Booze) - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Steak and Eggs - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
French Toast - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Sangri - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Fettuccine Florentine - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pinapple Upside Down Cake - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Crepes - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
shrimp benedict - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Ldv Platter - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Tiramisu - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Sauteed Artichokes - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Lemon Ginger Tea - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
A Very Good Riesling - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bruschetta - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Gin Martini - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bread & Olive Oil - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chicken And Eggplant - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chicken Marsala - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Penne Del Mezzogirorno - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pazta - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Braised Lamb Belly - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Cozy (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Live Music (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Historic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have to valet which sucks! While everyth ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Have to valet which sucks! While everything you might want in an Italian restaurant was there, the food was awful. Some of the worst Italian we have had. I wanted to love this place!! So sad!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was outstanding. It was by f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding. It was by far the best service that I have ever experienced in a restaurant. The ambiance was comforting, the food was great and the overall experience was above expectations. I'm definitely looking forward to returning.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived for Sunday brunch. The Mimosas w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Arrived for Sunday brunch. The Mimosas were excellent as was the meal. The ambience sets it off with a very cool vibe and customers that were dressed to the nines. We were casual dressed and felt very comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time at La Dolce Vita ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This was the first time at La Dolce Vita and found the food to be excellent. It is not in the best neighborhood and nearly incognito as one of the letters "L" was stolen from the LDV on the building but fortunately for the good mapping we found it. The server was excellent and well informed and the pasta sampler was great. I will definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sister in law birthday

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sister in law birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Lake Erie Perch with capers an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious Lake Erie Perch with capers and white wine sauce would have been even more delicious with a lighter vegetable such as zuchini, and less heavy potatoes. Calamari appetizer was out of this world. Could be a light meal. Next time!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! I have been her ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food was excellent! I have been here several times for dinner and lunch and the food is always great. Staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is extremely good. There are ot ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is extremely good. There are others doing creative magic and this is not what La Dolce Vita does. They take standards and make them better than anyone else in the city. The service here for a busy new years eve was excellent. Anthony was our waiter. Even the valet service guy (Mo?) was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine and service. Highl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for New Year's Eve. We were seated ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for New Year's Eve. We were seated and given a special menu for that evening. We overheard the table next to us asking questions about entirely different food. We asked server and she said that yes, there was another menu and it was up to the hostess if tables were given both menus. We were not happy! Server wasn't happy to be put in that situation either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was good, however the server wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Ambiance was good, however the server was not great. He never smiled, might have been new, never gave us the specials, and when asked how the chef's choice lamb chops were prepared he said: grilled, we wanted to know what came with it. Food was good, but for the price not a lot came with it. We also got dessert, they didn't have espresso or cappuccino, just coffee (this is an Italian restaurant, right?) and the desserts were cold but tasted good. Won't be going back, there are better Italian restaurants in SE Michigan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything was exceptional. Great food, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was exceptional. Great food, great service, great atmosphere, great drinks. The chicken picata was the best I ever had. And the southern comfort Manhatten I ordered was also the best tasting I ever had. First time I went and looking forward to going again.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent, we keep coming back and takin ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

excellent, we keep coming back and taking out of towners there

Tags: , Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very hard to spot as driving and looking ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

very hard to spot as driving and looking for the address. The main entrance is on the backside of the building. Beautiful on the inside. Food was good, service was a bit slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

First time, but we will definitely go ba ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First time, but we will definitely go back! Food was delicious and our waiter was terrific.

Tags: Worth the Drive,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dolce vita is always great. Good food, g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Dolce vita is always great. Good food, good service, nice ambiance All the meals and the drinks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at LaDolceVita bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was my first time at LaDolceVita but my daughter's third time. We went on Christmas Eve. The stuffed mushrooms are killer as well as all of our entrees! Love the piano player playing and singing Christmas songs. It was a great experience and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So so. Will not return.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

So so. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Pretty ambiance, especially around the h ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Pretty ambiance, especially around the holidays. Easy valet parking. Great pasta - the porcini mushrooms were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The service is always on point. The foo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service is always on point. The food is awesome. The staff goes out of their way to make your evening special. Just an overall wonderful place to dine for all of the seasons. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were again very pleased with food, se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We were again very pleased with food, service and ambiance. Unfortunately we had a big party of 30 next to us who were extremely noisy at times which made it difficult to talk at our table. The house recognized it and served us free dessert for the inconvenience!!! Thank you! Very much appreciated!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE LA DOLCE VITA AND EACH ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE LA DOLCE VITA AND EACH VISIT IS AN EXPERIENCE FOR ME, HOWEVER, IT DISTURBS ME THAT WHEN ASKED WHAT IS YOUR PREFERENCE AND IT IS TOTALLY IGNORED. ON THE LAST TWO (2) VISITS I MADE RESERVATIONS AND REQUESTED TO BE SEATED IN A PARTICULAR AREA, AND EACH TIME I WAS NOT COMPENSATED IN THAT REGARD, ALTHOUGH THE PREVIOUS VISIT MIX UP I WAS PROMISED THAT MY NEXT VISIT WOULD BE COMPENSATED IN THAT AREA AND SEATED PER REQUEST .... IT DIDNT HAPPEN, IN FACT I GOT THE SAME LAME EXCUSE THAT SOMEONE ELSE WANTED IT AND BECAUSE THEY FIGURED THAT WOULD NOT BE LONG THEY OBLIGED THEM. GUESS WHAT ..... THERE WERE STILL THERE WHEN WE LEFT 2 1/2 HRS. LATER. DONT COUNT OF BEING SEATED WHERE YOU REQUEST, BE PREPARED TO GET IN WHERE YOU FIT IN..... ALL OTHER WAS GREAT AND MY WAITRESS WAS "SUPERB", I LOVED HER, SHE IS SIMPLY THE BEST!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big fan of LDV for years by far the most ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Big fan of LDV for years by far the most unique dining spot in Detroit..... kinda miss the mark this time on a special crab cake dish , but will continue to support this establishment

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fifth visit this year. Food, service and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Fifth visit this year. Food, service and ambiance are consistently remarkable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The live music was amazing!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The live music was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here on our fourth anniversary b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went here on our fourth anniversary because our first date was here. The food is good and the drinks are good. The only problem I had was that nothing stood out to make us want to return and the service staff was wearing pajamas which was kind of off. It was borderline creepy in a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Pasta special trio was awesome. Spanish ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Pasta special trio was awesome. Spanish coffee was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious but could have been h ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was delicious but could have been hotter. Great atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

we went to dinner before going to the th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

we went to dinner before going to the theater...the food was great and the service was too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 4 was unanimous in highest ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our group of 4 was unanimous in highest praise for the food, service, and ambience. The restaurant is a hidden jewel, mostly out of view from Woodward Ave., across from Palmer Park. The valet parking ($5) in back is reassuring to those who might feel uncomfortable parking on the street. I am surprised that this place has not gotten more attention as one of our metro area's best restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing evening, phenomenal speci ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had an amazing evening, phenomenal specials, magnificent food, and the service was even better! I love this place! Definitely a hidden gem! Our server Michael was spectacular :)

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, , Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there- tried awhile ago and c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

First time there- tried awhile ago and could not find it! GPS found it this time, thank goodness. Quick dinner as we were heading to another party but it was fantastic and we will be back! LDV salad was delicious and the lobster ravioli was fabulous. Lovely atmosphere and friendly, excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful venue for Sunday brunch! Gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A wonderful venue for Sunday brunch! Great selection of brunch/lunch entrees and bottomless mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding and excellent. We lov ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always outstanding and excellent. We love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a lovely evening. Service was exc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Really a lovely evening. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the specials offered for 'restaurant week' - which were creative and beautifully plated. Just a great experience overall. Merci...

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As posted on their website, ldv is "Detr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As posted on their website, ldv is "Detroit's Best Kept Secret".

We have so far never been disappointed even after our third visit. Our friends joining last Tuesday agreed that it was a great experience and probably the best Italian cuisine they ate in a long time.

Attentive, knowledgeable service never intrusive, great atmosphere and ambiance, and the food is very authentic Italian: the Lasagne Bechamel is a dream and plentiful - can be easily shared, the Caeser Salad is prepared table-side fresh from scratch, and the other appetizers are also delicious ...

Toty Viola on the guitar plays jazzy tunes I believe only on Tuesday evenings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a 97th Birthday and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We were celebrating a 97th Birthday and the employees were very accommodating and went out of their way to make our evening a success. All of our expectations were met. Our waitress Jackie could not have been nicer. Some members of our party had dietary constraints and she was very knowledgeable of the menu choices and made her recommendations, which we found extremely helpful. We all had different entrees and they were enjoyed by all. Thank you for making our evening so special...we will be back soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The night started out with outstanding s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The night started out with outstanding service. They started out by making sure we were comfortable with the items on the menu.

I opted for the Cesar Salad for two which was 'prepared' tableside. It was the best Cesar Salad I have ever had in my life by far.

I finished the evening off with the recommended Lamb Chops and Scampi. Both were very delicious.

I will be a regular from now on.

The only thing I didn't like was the parking. I never do valet and parking on the streets nearby is downright scary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience! We came fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

What a wonderful experience! We came for the Sunday Pajama Brunch (2nd Sunday of the month) and had a total blast! They even gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for wearing the best PJs! Our server was amazing. I can't remember her name, but she was just absolutely fabulous! She kept our glasses filled and our table happy. The food came out amazingly quick and was delicious! Thank you LDV for giving us a wonderful Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.