About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Mimosas - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bar (Booze) - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Steak and Eggs - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
French Toast - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Sangri - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Fettuccine Florentine - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pinapple Upside Down Cake - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Crepes - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
shrimp benedict - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Ldv Platter - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Tiramisu - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Sauteed Artichokes - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Lemon Ginger Tea - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
A Very Good Riesling - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bruschetta - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Gin Martini - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Bread & Olive Oil - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chicken And Eggplant - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Chicken Marsala - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Penne Del Mezzogirorno - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Pazta - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI
Braised Lamb Belly - La Dolce Vita - Detroit, Detroit, MI

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
4 More
Best Value
Detroit
Neighborhood Gem
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
See All
Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (26)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Live Music (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fun (18)
Historic (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pasta special trio was awesome. Spanish ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Pasta special trio was awesome. Spanish coffee was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we went to dinner before going to the th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

we went to dinner before going to the theater...the food was great and the service was too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 4 was unanimous in highest ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Our group of 4 was unanimous in highest praise for the food, service, and ambience. The restaurant is a hidden jewel, mostly out of view from Woodward Ave., across from Palmer Park. The valet parking ($5) in back is reassuring to those who might feel uncomfortable parking on the street. I am surprised that this place has not gotten more attention as one of our metro area's best restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing evening, phenomenal speci ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had an amazing evening, phenomenal specials, magnificent food, and the service was even better! I love this place! Definitely a hidden gem! Our server Michael was spectacular :)

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there- tried awhile ago and c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

First time there- tried awhile ago and could not find it! GPS found it this time, thank goodness. Quick dinner as we were heading to another party but it was fantastic and we will be back! LDV salad was delicious and the lobster ravioli was fabulous. Lovely atmosphere and friendly, excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful venue for Sunday brunch! Gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A wonderful venue for Sunday brunch! Great selection of brunch/lunch entrees and bottomless mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding and excellent. We lov ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always outstanding and excellent. We love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really a lovely evening. Service was exc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Really a lovely evening. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the specials offered for 'restaurant week' - which were creative and beautifully plated. Just a great experience overall. Merci...

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As posted on their website, ldv is "Detr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As posted on their website, ldv is "Detroit's Best Kept Secret".

We have so far never been disappointed even after our third visit. Our friends joining last Tuesday agreed that it was a great experience and probably the best Italian cuisine they ate in a long time.

Attentive, knowledgeable service never intrusive, great atmosphere and ambiance, and the food is very authentic Italian: the Lasagne Bechamel is a dream and plentiful - can be easily shared, the Caeser Salad is prepared table-side fresh from scratch, and the other appetizers are also delicious ...

Toty Viola on the guitar plays jazzy tunes I believe only on Tuesday evenings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a 97th Birthday and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We were celebrating a 97th Birthday and the employees were very accommodating and went out of their way to make our evening a success. All of our expectations were met. Our waitress Jackie could not have been nicer. Some members of our party had dietary constraints and she was very knowledgeable of the menu choices and made her recommendations, which we found extremely helpful. We all had different entrees and they were enjoyed by all. Thank you for making our evening so special...we will be back soon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The night started out with outstanding s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The night started out with outstanding service. They started out by making sure we were comfortable with the items on the menu.

I opted for the Cesar Salad for two which was 'prepared' tableside. It was the best Cesar Salad I have ever had in my life by far.

I finished the evening off with the recommended Lamb Chops and Scampi. Both were very delicious.

I will be a regular from now on.

The only thing I didn't like was the parking. I never do valet and parking on the streets nearby is downright scary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience! We came fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

What a wonderful experience! We came for the Sunday Pajama Brunch (2nd Sunday of the month) and had a total blast! They even gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for wearing the best PJs! Our server was amazing. I can't remember her name, but she was just absolutely fabulous! She kept our glasses filled and our table happy. The food came out amazingly quick and was delicious! Thank you LDV for giving us a wonderful Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is a great hit for date night feat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Place is a great hit for date night featuring a fancy dinning area with antique Italian look and fancy tables. Food was good all around.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten here many times and it's alw ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We've eaten here many times and it's always wonderful

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience every time!! No issues ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience every time!! No issues thus far. I enjoyed the food and atmosphere in celebration of my anniversary ♡

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little hard to find, with no sign on W ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A little hard to find, with no sign on Woodward, but definitely worth looking for. Great food and flavor in a very comfortable setting. We went before a show at the Fisher and they accommodated our schedule wonderfully. We had their pasta trio of the day, which was delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

glad you ask: stuffy, chip in the should ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

glad you ask: stuffy, chip in the shoulder waiter. Bruschetta awful , 2 inches high piece of bread with some tasteless vegetables on top. Chicken picatta for wife and I sent back because chicken was dry, overcooked and tastelles, despite telling waiter we did not want anything else he brought same dish again done in 10 minutes ,another dry chicken and awful. Veal picatta not up to standard. Waiter never offered to take it off bill when he sent first one back and returned with another order of the same, at that point asked for bill and left. Been there before and veal was tough also: Roma and Vince's much better dish. Travel and dine many places so I do not need a waiter like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food outstanding. Great wine list. NGrea ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food outstanding. Great wine list. NGreat value for price

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another GREAT Dinner. The food is authen ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Another GREAT Dinner. The food is authentic Italian and the ambience is good also. The summer outdoor is a feeling of being in Italy outdoors.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant appeared to be understaffed a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Restaurant appeared to be understaffed and not able to handle the number of diners present that evening. Rather disappointing since I usually have enjoyed dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We love this place, and have dined here ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love this place, and have dined here probably a dozen times or more. The food and service are always first rate. The only reason I rated Good on ambience is because we were in the back room. The front area and the bar are so much more beautiful - they would rate 5 stars.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have had the pleasure of dining at La ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have had the pleasure of dining at La Dolce Vita on many occasions. It has long been one of our favorite restaurants. However, we had dinner there last Sunday after a show at the Fisher. I think that we were caught in the pre-theater crowd. We waited an hour after our salad was finished for our entrees and when it came out mine was cold. Overall we were there for nearly 2 1/2 hours. How disappointing. I hope this is not a sign of things to come. We will return and hope that this experience was a one time thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Always great experience and affordable.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always great experience and affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch!!! Fantastic setting, w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent brunch!!! Fantastic setting, with great service and excellent food!! Will be back again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Historic, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were a table of 8 on a saturday night ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we were a table of 8 on a saturday night... many of the main courses came out ice cold...that is certainly something u do not forget... the food was very average..

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

They had VIP parking in the rear as this ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They had VIP parking in the rear as this is not in the best part of Detroit, the food was good, pasta and vegetable was a bit cold when dinner came out, the caesar salad made table side was fantastic.

Make reservations, it opened at 5 and was full when we got there at 5:30.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The whole group had wonderful dinners. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The whole group had wonderful dinners. Everone had something diff=erent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration - a table for four.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Birthday celebration - a table for four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem in the detroit area ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is a hidden gem in the detroit area. Great for a pre theatre/concert dinner stop, always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place. Very New Yorkish. Ex ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love this place. Very New Yorkish. Excellent food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are still talking about how enjoyable ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We are still talking about how enjoyable our evening was! Our server Maryann was patient with questions and willing to do whatever it took to make us happy. Table side Ceaser salad for 6 was one of the best we have ever had!! Our meals were delicious and presented nicely. We can't wait to come back for brunch!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lasagna was fantastic!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lasagna was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Had another great meal here. The Osso Bu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had another great meal here. The Osso Buco was delicious and the perch is some of the best I've ever had. Get the Cesar salad prepared table side. Great presentation and fantastic Cesar also.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a true pleasure to be there.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always a true pleasure to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a charming restaurant. Had not bee ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What a charming restaurant. Had not been here in a while, and just loved the atmosphere. Caesar Salad, made table-side, was best in recent memory. Pasta was done al dente and perfectly. My wife had Chicken Picata, and it was loaded with flavor. Served it with a sweet potato mash that was equally delicious. Friends had lasagna, that he enjoyed, and his wife had a veal dish that she loved as well. Excellent experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was taking my daughter out to lunch an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I was taking my daughter out to lunch and she wanted to try escargot so we went to La Dolce Vita because they have the very best escargot in a puff pastry crust and a lemon butter sauce....terrific! She absolutely loved them and wants to go back. We both had a drink and those were also well made. We both had the daily special and it was a full serving of salmon, 2 pieces of tilapia, shrimp and scallops all served with killer potatoes....just a divine meal.

Our server was attentive and professional throughout the meal making the experience even better.

Anyone who wants a good dining experience should make La Dolce Vita their next destination. They will not be sorry.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit on a Tuesday night was for my ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This visit on a Tuesday night was for my wife's birthday. We started off with a bad taste however when we pulled into unmarked parking lot adjacent to restaurant and parked our car only to be greeted by valet who informed us this was a valet lot and would be $5, unless we wanted to move our car to street parking. In my opinion, Lot needs to be clearly marked if they want to charge valet prices - especially on a very slow night. Outside patio was not opened even though it was unseasonably warm and the website said they had a special on patio on Tuesday Nights with no season specified . We have only been to the restaurant outside patio before and this would be our first dinner inside. We were seated right away as restaurant was not busy and first thing we noticed was that although the live music was nice, it was too loud and too fast tempted for small crowd there. We were competing with music to have conversation. Our waiter was attentive as was the bus boy, however they were TOO attentive! Our salads were served right after we got our bread, then meals came within minutes after that. Two of our three plates were cleared before my wife was even finished with both salads and main courses, leaving her to eat alone. A big pet peeve of my wife's. We basically felt like we downed this special meal and were done in an hour flat which made my wife unhappy. We don't usually eat out during the week and when we do, it is never this nice. The food was very good. But the fast paced rush rush service ruined the specialness of the occasion for us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

WE LIVE IN THE AREA---udca----AND ABSOLU ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 18, 2016

WE LIVE IN THE AREA---udca----AND ABSOLUTELY love having a fabulous place close by to dine out----We had friends and relatives visiting from Texas and Arizona----They were very impressed!!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Sunday brunch menu outdoor seating ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great Sunday brunch menu outdoor seating is fabulous great place for a date or with friends I didn't like my table seating press against a wall

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Unfortunately, it is not as good as it u ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Unfortunately, it is not as good as it used to be. Our waitress was not very polished.

She did let us know that the gnocchi is not as fluffy as it used to be, because it's now store bought, not homemade like it used to be. That's a bad sign.

For the second time in a row we found the dining room way over-air-conditioned, way too cold. I see other reviewers mentioned the same thing.

Some stuff was still pretty good, but between the service and the food we don't think we'll bother coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.