About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Braised Lamb Belly
shrimp benedict
Ldv Platter
Tiramisu
Sauteed Artichokes
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon
Lemon Ginger Tea
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon
A Very Good Riesling
Bruschetta
Gin Martini
Bread & Olive Oil
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana
Chicken And Eggplant
Chicken Marsala
Penne Del Mezzogirorno
Pazta

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
6 More
Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Value
Detroit
Neighborhood Gem
Detroit
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (122)
Special Occasion (98)
Neighborhood Gem (96)
See All
Romantic (79)
Great for Brunch (60)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Groups (36)
Great for Lunch (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Scenic View (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Live Music (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not only quality food but sizable portio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Not only quality food but sizable portions. The evening we were there they also had entertainment which was very good and added to the overall experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten lunch and dinner here, but ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have eaten lunch and dinner here, but this was my first brunch. Outstanding brunch menu. Unusual items as well as a terrific omelet. Live jazz, too. Good Bloody Mary.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was delicious. Great ambiance. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious. Great ambiance. I used La Dolce Vita last year for a work dinner over my director's objections because of the neighborhood. We were supposed to sit outside but the bees wouldn't let us. :-(

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, this is a hidden gem. Only wish we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Yes, this is a hidden gem. Only wish we had come here a long time ago for the total dining experience. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian meal, good wine list, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fantastic Italian meal, good wine list, great service and a hidden jewel in the City of Detroit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a go-to spot for us. Special oc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a go-to spot for us. Special occasions or any day of the week. The patio is wonderful. The entertainment is always fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of meatballs? At an Italian restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Out of meatballs? At an Italian restaurant? At 5:30 Sunday? Really? Service was very minimal. Noise level was maximum and live music on top of that! Not a fan. Won't go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Just a lovely dining experience One of o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Just a lovely dining experience

One of our favorites!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch visit. Pasta dishes were good. Sat ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lunch visit. Pasta dishes were good. Sat in the patio which is an area favorite (lovely & feels european). Valet parking. Homemade desserts. Server was friendly & attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food are always on point ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service and food are always on point. Great place for any occasion. Ombience is great also.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A family favorite. Beautiful restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

A family favorite. Beautiful restaurant with excellent food. It feels like you are in an oasis of fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outdoors, which the ambiance was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We sat outdoors, which the ambiance was outstanding but the bees were bothersome. If it were only a few, it wouldn't have been too bad but there were so many!! They landed in our drinks!! Every table was using their napkins as swatting weapons!! Not sure I would recommend outdoor seating until the establishment gets the bees under control.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The very nice dinner and ambiance almost ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The very nice dinner and ambiance almost balanced the too high noise level.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing food, great service and everythi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing food, great service and everything was great!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Four of us ordered ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Four of us ordered the same meal and made changes so that all were different in the end . All came out perfectly from the kitchen. Good place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've recommended this place to quite a f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've recommended this place to quite a few friends and they love it!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent meal great location a real Det ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

excellent meal great location a real Detroit gem romantic spot would highly recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Italian restaurant. Summer dining ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great Italian restaurant. Summer dining is special on their patio. They usually have light entertainment on the weekends outside. Reasonably priced. Veal is excellent! Wine list is a little high but has some good stuff on it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy the food and the atmosph ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the atmosphere. A great place to dine with friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place..that is all it is... Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful place..that is all it is... Food is not just bad..it is terrible... they can not even make a good breakfast.. bus people spilled coffee and water and never even looked at us... waiter wanted to tell us how to eat..my husband said no hashbrowns please..and he said..yes I will bring them someone will eat them..imagine that..my husband did not want them on his plate and that is his choice to make..most places will offer him some sliced tomatoes or something instead..I am at a loss as to why they can serve this bad of food and stay popular..

I want to add a good note here..hostess and bartender were very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great evening out with friends. I highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great evening out with friends. I highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fettucine was clumpy instead of cream ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My fettucine was clumpy instead of creamy. I would of preferred the shrimp tails would have been taken off. Also thought my Manhattan was overpriced and it's presentation was nothing special. Our waiter and valet person were very professional and accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Celebrating a 50th Anniversary...everyth ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrating a 50th Anniversary...everything was perfect!!! Service by Frank was impeccable...Francesco the chef..came out and spoke with us! Couldn't be any more complimentary to everyone and everything. The Anniversary couple that were my guests..their first visit..were SO impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food very good an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was excellent. Food very good and reasonably priced. Only concern was we wanted to sit outside but there was a bee issue which I have read about We would return

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, great experience, excellent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First visit, great experience, excellent service (thanks Danny) and excellent martini!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places in Metro Detro ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of my favorite places in Metro Detroit. Never disappoints. Great place to relax, have a drink and a fabulous dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing and not worth the drive fr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing and not worth the drive from the suburbs. Veal scallopini was dry and tasteless but the sauce with artichokes, mushrooms and capers was flavorful. Husband's lasagne was very good. Minestrone very good but not memorable. Only gluten free penne pasta available which doesn't suit many of the seafood entrees on the menu. Need a GF spaghetti or better yet linguini noodle.

Luciano's in Clinton Twp and La Zingara on Erie St in Windsor much better for authentic Italian food. Original Andiamo's in Warren better. Dated, musty smelling decor needs freshening up. Outdoor patio was full of bees now in August but would be pretty with the lights strung in the trees at night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

This place is a classy little gem of he ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is a classy little gem of he city. Authentic Italian food and the tiramusu is to die for!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again our dinner was delicious, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Once again our dinner was delicious, the service was the usual fantastic, the atmosphere was just right to celebrate our anniversary. La Dolce Vita is our favorite special occasion restaurant in Detroit. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service was outstanding. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food & service was outstanding. The waiter overheard that is was my wife's birthday, so he had the kitchen add "Happy Birthday" to my wife's desert, which made her day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding - she was ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was outstanding - she was very knowledgeable of the menu and wines. She acknowledged my 9 yr old daughter at the table and allowed her to help make the family salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance is great as was everything else ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance is great as was everything else, this is a regular spot when we want good food and service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for pre downtown event. Fir ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great choice for pre downtown event. First visit but will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy dinner or just drinks. Brun ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always enjoy dinner or just drinks. Brunch is special

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant, chef and staff are most ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This restaurant, chef and staff are most inviting. The menu is generous. Presentation is comparable to any 5 star restaurant. We have had occasion to join in on wine tastings of the past and the food continues to remain incredible. Thanks for making my husband's 75th birthday celebration so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate our dinner on their lovely patio ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We ate our dinner on their lovely patio - which is the main reason we come here. The service was very attentive and accommodating. We each had a different veal dish and both, Marsala and piccata, were prepared perfectly. The Marsala was not the heavy, gooey, sauce you often get. This was light and very tasty. Lots of food, though. We both ended up taking some home. If you support the local classical radio station, WRCJ, you will get a punch card giving you a BOGO free dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter got our soups but not our appetiz ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Waiter got our soups but not our appetizer. Brought my wife the wrong dish( had eggplant in it, not chicken). Asked him if there was chicken in it, he said there was (there wasn't). Finally explained to him after reviewing the menu again it wasn't what she ordered. Wife didn't want to wait for another dish to be made. Gave us 1 free dessert for the trouble. We literally only ordered 5 things (only water to drink) and he got 2 of them wrong. Terrible service. If you sit by the road outside its loud, lots of cars. No salt on the food. Bread is cold. Went to Olive Garden 3 days later it was 10x better than this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was awesome! Music on the p ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was awesome! Music on the patio was nice, but I was sitting inside and could not hear it very well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The patio was lovely and the food delici ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The patio was lovely and the food delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The occasion was a special anniversary ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The occasion was a special anniversary and LDV suites it to a T. With great weather, wonderful food and excellent service, we couldn't have asked for a nicer outing. The bottomless Mimosas didn't hurt either.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.