About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Braised Lamb Belly
Ldv Platter
shrimp benedict
Bruschetta
Pazta
Tiramisu
Sauteed Artichokes
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon
Lemon Ginger Tea
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon
A Very Good Riesling
Bread & Olive Oil
Gin Martini
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana
Chicken And Eggplant
Chicken Marsala
Penne Del Mezzogirorno

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

great for outdoor dining (104)
special occasion (97)
neighborhood gem (87)
See All
romantic (79)
great for brunch (54)
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (34)
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (25)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought 6 friends with me who dine all ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

I brought 6 friends with me who dine all over the country. They all expressed how exceptional the food was. We all ordered a variety of items from the menu and no one was disappointed. Oos and ahhs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very polite and efficient. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

The staff was very polite and efficient. The food was delicious and the presentation was picturesque. My guests and I had chicken pasta, lamb chops, and lobster ravioli. Antonio was very attentive and provided wonderful recommendations for dinner. LDV is a beautiful gem and one of Detroit's best kept secrets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in the city. Great food, nice atm ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A gem in the city. Great food, nice atmosphere, competent wait staff.

All good. No complaints.

Maybe a bit broader wine selection in the $50-$100 range per bottle would be nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I recommended LDV for a friends get toge ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I recommended LDV for a friends get together. No one had been before. Was astonished, at its location and completely blown away when they entered the court yard. LDV did not disappoint.

Food was excellent, entertainment on point not to mention outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

a favorite. we go regularly. very good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

a favorite. we go regularly. very good value

it's like a EU bistro sitting outdoors.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Was absolutely fantastic..anyone that do ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was absolutely fantastic..anyone that dont like this place or has a negative thing to say about the food has a Pallett that stops at Applebees quality..also service was fantastic..real authentic italian..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch is best! I only come here for bru ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Brunch is best! I only come here for brunch and have never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great outdoor dining.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ate on the patio (a must!!) which is ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We ate on the patio (a must!!) which is like a little oasis. The perch dinner was outstanding as always. Service was attentive. All 'round, a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have lived in the metro area for years ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have lived in the metro area for years, but this was my first visit to LDV. A very good experience all around. I look forward to going there again soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

La Dolce Vita is a wonderful place to ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

La Dolce Vita is a wonderful place to have dinner in the summer. The outside seating is in a courtyard and very little street noise comes through. Be aware that ldv is kind of hidden just off Woodward, but well worth finding!

If you like lasagna, you will love it here. Tableside service for a ceasar salad is great, too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch on Sunday at LDV! Lobs ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic brunch on Sunday at LDV! Lobster ravioli was off the hook, and the bottomless mimosas and outdoor dining were amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is friendly yet just eleg ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The atmosphere is friendly yet just elegant enough to make it a "special occasion" place. The service was very good and the food was innovative and delicious. Overall it was a very good experience at a fair price.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food was great but highly overpriced for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

food was great but highly overpriced for amount received. Waitress was very bland. food came quickly. out door sitting area was very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

The restaurant was great and the service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The restaurant was great and the service was very good. The only bad thing about the evening was the valet who was very aggressive. We paid for the valet using a CC inside the restaurant and of course included a tip. The valet was very upset that we didn't have the receipt to show him that we left a tip and asked multiple times. Very strange and considering the quality of the restaurant totally uncalled for.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was amazing. We are returning for cer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was amazing. We are returning for certain. Also have recommended to multiple friends since we visited. Amazing gem !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LDV was a treat located in a less than a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

LDV was a treat located in a less than amiable neighborhood. The building is difficult to find if you are not familiar with it and you must pull around to park (valet if you wish to find your car intact when you leave). The outdoor seating is very nice, but a little noisy given it's proximity to a main road and no baffling wall. The food and service are excellent. I highly recommend this literally hidden gem, but be safe arriving and departing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

La Dolce Vita is on our regular rotation ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

La Dolce Vita is on our regular rotation of favorite restaurants in the Detroit area. This visit we were part of a group of six, and each person order a different entree, i.e., Lasagna Bechamel, Ravioli D’ Aragosta Allo Zafferano, Sinfonia Di Mare, Scalloppine di Vitello al Barolo, and mine was the Cartoccio con Darna di Salmone. All plates were licked clean. Wonderful bread, wine list and scrumptious desserts. The atmosphere and waiter were terrific. Only reason I do not give a five star rating is that the salads were pathetic. Suggest to avoid and stick with soups and other appetizers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wanted to go to La Dolce Vita for ye ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Had wanted to go to La Dolce Vita for years and it didn't disappoint.

The outside table we had for 4 was very tiny but we managed. The only distraction

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Truly a hidden gem, service was out of t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly a hidden gem, service was out of this world,loved the music on the patio and the lobster ravioli was to die for! Have told everyone talked to about this fabulous restaurant

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this place a few times and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to this place a few times and am never disappointed..my dad is a foodie and was thoroughly impressed. He grew up in the area but didn't know it was there. Truly a hidden gem with a beautiful ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The afternoon was perfect. The music was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The afternoon was perfect. The music was amazing, our waitress was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the fresh made lobster cakes! Gre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the fresh made lobster cakes! Great Order off Menu....Free flowing Mimosas during brunch ~ Great Atmosphere

with Amazing two person band - very much like Carlos Santana Style! A must for brunch!

I'll be going back again soon! Request the Patio!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite place in the "D"! The gnocc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite place in the "D"! The gnocci are amazing, a must have!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LDV is totally hidden as others have sai ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

LDV is totally hidden as others have said, but with navigation systems, super wasy to find the valet.

We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation but were seated immediately. We had a nice table near the bar. Not the best view for our engagement celebration, but the service, food and overall ambiance more than made up for it.

Our dinner arrived very quickly and were hot and delicious. I had lasagna and it was very good. My fiancée had a pasta trio and said he really enjoyed it.

Topped off with tiramasu which was delicious as well.

The outdoor patio looks very nice, which I would love to try for brunch.

Overall it was definitely a gem and we will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our evening. Both ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening. Both service and food were excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time and the service ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time and the service was very good! We will return again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent however, with the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was excellent however, with the exception of one appetizer, the food was substandard...including the wine recommendation.

Yelp reviews are completely inaccurate!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant was nice enough. I no l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant was nice enough. I no longer live in Detroit so my review may be skewed for someone who would have rather spent the time at a better restaurant, however, I dined here for Sunday brunch with my parents who are big fans. I found the food rather basic and nothing to really rave about which is probably why, as a non-local, I would have rather eaten at a better restaurant. It may be the perfect spot for Detroiters who aren't worried about maximizing dining experiences because they aren't local. The bottomless mimosas were fabulous, and well...bottomless. I ordered eggs benedict which isn't too difficult but I've had way better. The english muffin was pathetic to say the least, the eggs were not cooked well so it lost the creaminess that can make or break the dish. The home fries, or whatever they call them, were laughable. Most weren't fully cooked and they weren't seasoned well but I have yet to find a restaurant where home fries are done well, that should just be done away with all together in any restaurant in my opinion. Either way, the food was good enough for it to not be a terrible experience but Detroit has a fabulous food scene, so I would have rather gone somewhere else.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

La Dolce Vita is always a fun place to E ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

La Dolce Vita is always a fun place to Eat and Drink. The Outdoor Patio is a must in the Summer,

great people watching!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very nice, but we requested to sit ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It is very nice, but we requested to sit outside and we showed up on time and still couldn't sit outside. There were tables available, but they said they try to reserve it for people with four or more people. I had three people with me. If you have the tables open let folks sit there. They have a outdoor bar, but that wasn't available either. The music wasn't even playing when we asked to sit outside and we only stayed for about 40 minutes and that was due to us waiting for the food to arrive. I get that some people like to sit outside all day and that's straight up rude, but we weren't trying to do that. But with that said the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to fit in a brunch here every time ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I try to fit in a brunch here every time I am in Detroit. It's a fun place to meet and the food is great

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The people here are wonderful. I have be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The people here are wonderful. I have been going here for over 25 years. The owner and managers are incredible, they have become family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

While I don't think that the place "live ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

While I don't think that the place "lives up to the hype", I did think that it was a decent night out. The escargot was good, but I almost broke a tooth on (what looked like) two rocks inside of the dish. The plating of the food was mediocre (for the price/hype), and our server seemed a little overwhelmed (asked for a drink refresh, never got it). Overall, it was nice. I just don't think it's one of the top 10 spots in Detroit to dine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second time dining here and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our second time dining here and it was just as splendid as the first. I wondered if this time around would be just as memorable and it was even more so. I say that because La Dolce Vita delivered the same top notch service, quality delicious food, and even the entertainment in the form of a gentleman who is a very talented pianist and singer was superb. At most establishment's I've often had an outstanding meal and upon returning found a lack of consistency in the food and at times the service. Not here, thank you for delivering a top notch dining experience once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Patio

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

LDV is wonderful all year but even more enjoyable in the summer months on the patio. Food and service was great. We ordered a grilled fruit appetizer that the whole table enjoyed. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a night out!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Lovely menu and exceptional service. Always a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite when we go to Detroit.

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always eat here before our 9 DSO concerts. Great location for this, excellent food and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Perfect Meal!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

From start finish our meal was perfect! Tried the Moscow Mule, made with vanilla vodka, excellent! Loved my grilled melon! We shared one of the specials, a trio of pastas, absolutely yummy! The tiramisu for dessert was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SHHH- Don't Tell

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

La Dolce Vita, Detroit, lovely romantic gem that is located no where near the hustle of the usual hot spots. This off the beaten path establishment offers all the décor and classic Italian cuisine of the European restaurants quaintly took along cobbled road sides; right in our own backyard. Its well kept secret existence is its key to their longevity and word of mouth its best advertisement..but "Shhh don't tell you heard this from us." Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.