About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Braised Lamb Belly
Ldv Platter
shrimp benedict
Tiramisu
Sauteed Artichokes
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon
Lemon Ginger Tea
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon
A Very Good Riesling
Bruschetta
Gin Martini
Bread & Olive Oil
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana
Chicken And Eggplant
Chicken Marsala
Penne Del Mezzogirorno
Pazta

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Value
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
5 More
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Best Value
Detroit
Outdoor Dining
Detroit
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (127)
Special Occasion (103)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
See All
Romantic (83)
Great for Brunch (63)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Hot Spot (19)
Scenic View (17)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful place..that is all it is... Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful place..that is all it is... Food is not just bad..it is terrible... they can not even make a good breakfast.. bus people spilled coffee and water and never even looked at us... waiter wanted to tell us how to eat..my husband said no hashbrowns please..and he said..yes I will bring them someone will eat them..imagine that..my husband did not want them on his plate and that is his choice to make..most places will offer him some sliced tomatoes or something instead..I am at a loss as to why they can serve this bad of food and stay popular..

I want to add a good note here..hostess and bartender were very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great evening out with friends. I highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great evening out with friends. I highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fettucine was clumpy instead of cream ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

My fettucine was clumpy instead of creamy. I would of preferred the shrimp tails would have been taken off. Also thought my Manhattan was overpriced and it's presentation was nothing special. Our waiter and valet person were very professional and accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Celebrating a 50th Anniversary...everyth ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating a 50th Anniversary...everything was perfect!!! Service by Frank was impeccable...Francesco the chef..came out and spoke with us! Couldn't be any more complimentary to everyone and everything. The Anniversary couple that were my guests..their first visit..were SO impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food very good an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was excellent. Food very good and reasonably priced. Only concern was we wanted to sit outside but there was a bee issue which I have read about We would return

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, great experience, excellent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

First visit, great experience, excellent service (thanks Danny) and excellent martini!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places in Metro Detro ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of my favorite places in Metro Detroit. Never disappoints. Great place to relax, have a drink and a fabulous dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing and not worth the drive fr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointing and not worth the drive from the suburbs. Veal scallopini was dry and tasteless but the sauce with artichokes, mushrooms and capers was flavorful. Husband's lasagne was very good. Minestrone very good but not memorable. Only gluten free penne pasta available which doesn't suit many of the seafood entrees on the menu. Need a GF spaghetti or better yet linguini noodle.

Luciano's in Clinton Twp and La Zingara on Erie St in Windsor much better for authentic Italian food. Original Andiamo's in Warren better. Dated, musty smelling decor needs freshening up. Outdoor patio was full of bees now in August but would be pretty with the lights strung in the trees at night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

This place is a classy little gem of he ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is a classy little gem of he city. Authentic Italian food and the tiramusu is to die for!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again our dinner was delicious, the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Once again our dinner was delicious, the service was the usual fantastic, the atmosphere was just right to celebrate our anniversary. La Dolce Vita is our favorite special occasion restaurant in Detroit. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food & service was outstanding. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food & service was outstanding. The waiter overheard that is was my wife's birthday, so he had the kitchen add "Happy Birthday" to my wife's desert, which made her day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was outstanding - she was ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our server was outstanding - she was very knowledgeable of the menu and wines. She acknowledged my 9 yr old daughter at the table and allowed her to help make the family salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance is great as was everything else ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Ambiance is great as was everything else, this is a regular spot when we want good food and service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for pre downtown event. Fir ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great choice for pre downtown event. First visit but will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy dinner or just drinks. Brun ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always enjoy dinner or just drinks. Brunch is special

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant, chef and staff are most ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This restaurant, chef and staff are most inviting. The menu is generous. Presentation is comparable to any 5 star restaurant. We have had occasion to join in on wine tastings of the past and the food continues to remain incredible. Thanks for making my husband's 75th birthday celebration so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate our dinner on their lovely patio ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We ate our dinner on their lovely patio - which is the main reason we come here. The service was very attentive and accommodating. We each had a different veal dish and both, Marsala and piccata, were prepared perfectly. The Marsala was not the heavy, gooey, sauce you often get. This was light and very tasty. Lots of food, though. We both ended up taking some home. If you support the local classical radio station, WRCJ, you will get a punch card giving you a BOGO free dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter got our soups but not our appetiz ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Waiter got our soups but not our appetizer. Brought my wife the wrong dish( had eggplant in it, not chicken). Asked him if there was chicken in it, he said there was (there wasn't). Finally explained to him after reviewing the menu again it wasn't what she ordered. Wife didn't want to wait for another dish to be made. Gave us 1 free dessert for the trouble. We literally only ordered 5 things (only water to drink) and he got 2 of them wrong. Terrible service. If you sit by the road outside its loud, lots of cars. No salt on the food. Bread is cold. Went to Olive Garden 3 days later it was 10x better than this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was awesome! Music on the p ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service was awesome! Music on the patio was nice, but I was sitting inside and could not hear it very well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The patio was lovely and the food delici ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The patio was lovely and the food delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The occasion was a special anniversary ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The occasion was a special anniversary and LDV suites it to a T. With great weather, wonderful food and excellent service, we couldn't have asked for a nicer outing. The bottomless Mimosas didn't hurt either.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and ambience for outdoor d ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and ambience for outdoor dining. No rush. They let you savor the cuisine and peaceful setting. A hidden gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed a perfect birthday ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a perfect birthday dinner at lDV on a Tuesday evening with great food, great ambience, great service; and that all at a very reasonable price.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably one on my LEAST enjoya ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was probably one on my LEAST enjoyable visits. My friend is a full figure woman with a 3yr that has arms and hands that moved at warp speed. At first they set us at a table seated for 4, then they told us we cldnt stay there because they needed to keep the larger seating for larger groups. They moved us to a quaint 2 seat table, this was embarrassing , uncomfortable, inconsiderate and disappointing. Everything on our table was on the ledge. The baby grabbed the utensils (knife and fork) no injuries but very unnessary.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing great po ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing great portion size would eat there all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We had a delightful dinner. The food is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a delightful dinner. The food is very good - solid traditional Italian. Nice sized portions. Good service. We dined on the patio and it was threatening rain. They were very concerned and asked if we wanted to go inside or have an umbrella. We got the umbrella. My sister tells me they have a very good brunch. It's a good, traditional restaurant that cares about their food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The oversll experience was amazing. S ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The oversll experience was amazing.

Slightly noisey - I wouldn't call it energetic, I'd call it difficult to converse with others at the table. Only thing I'd change is acoustics.

Service and food are incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner for my nephew was fantas ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Birthday dinner for my nephew was fantastic. The service was great and the food is always stellar. Portion sizes are generous without being overly so.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty much forced to use valet parking ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Pretty much forced to use valet parking due to parking lot set-up and neighborhood. Staff friendly. Outdoor area like little secret garden-pleasant except music too loud. Food good for most part, perhaps a tad too salty for my taste, but companion is picky eater and felt it was good. Authentic menu choices. Reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Sunday brunch. Outstanding ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch. Outstanding service. Rained so unfortunately we had to eat indoors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have heard about their brunch for a long ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Have heard about their brunch for a long time. this isn't one of those large buffets but they had a list of about 15-20 standard entrees but done with a twist; Shrimp eggs benedict, (they make their hollandaise), something with salmon, french toast stuffed with marscapone,etc. There were 3 specials too, quiche, pasta and omelette. i tried the seafood omelette. it was a bit expensive but was a generous size and had lots of seafood. The service was excellent & very attentive. They are time sensitive and there is a "table limit " and the hostess very tactfully let us know that we needed to give up the table. And on a busy Sunday i can appreciate that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for a bachelorette party dinne ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went here for a bachelorette party dinner. The neighborhood was a little sketchy for a group of girls all dressed up, but the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very friendly service and the food was e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very friendly service and the food was exceptional. I will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at La Dolce Vita since a neig ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I've dined at La Dolce Vita since a neighborhood event. Ea time since, has been better. My husband & I for date night; my mother & I; and then my daughter & I ...ea time was memorable. I'm a lifetimer of La Dolce Vita!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This was my 2nd visit. Brought family v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my 2nd visit. Brought family visiting from Vegas. Ambiance and service was great. Wish I could say the same for our food. Eggplant appetizer overcooked too tough. Main course Perch was served luke warm to cool for 2 of us, afraid to send back for re-heat.. 3rd meal, Salmon not cooked thoroughly through and through also served not warm. Sorbet desserts phenomenal !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I brought 6 friends with me who dine all ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I brought 6 friends with me who dine all over the country. They all expressed how exceptional the food was. We all ordered a variety of items from the menu and no one was disappointed. Oos and ahhs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very polite and efficient. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The staff was very polite and efficient. The food was delicious and the presentation was picturesque. My guests and I had chicken pasta, lamb chops, and lobster ravioli. Antonio was very attentive and provided wonderful recommendations for dinner. LDV is a beautiful gem and one of Detroit's best kept secrets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in the city. Great food, nice atm ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A gem in the city. Great food, nice atmosphere, competent wait staff.

All good. No complaints.

Maybe a bit broader wine selection in the $50-$100 range per bottle would be nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I recommended LDV for a friends get toge ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I recommended LDV for a friends get together. No one had been before. Was astonished, at its location and completely blown away when they entered the court yard. LDV did not disappoint.

Food was excellent, entertainment on point not to mention outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

a favorite. we go regularly. very good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

a favorite. we go regularly. very good value

it's like a EU bistro sitting outdoors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.