About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

Braised Lamb Belly
Ldv Platter
shrimp benedict
Bruschetta
Pazta
Tiramisu
Sauteed Artichokes
La Dolce Vita Salad With Grilled Salmon
Lemon Ginger Tea
Pasta Pillows With Shrimp In A Spicy Tomato Sauce
Chevre Alfredo Pasta With Grilled Salmon
A Very Good Riesling
Bread & Olive Oil
Gin Martini
Involtino di Vitello Valdostana
Chicken And Eggplant
Chicken Marsala
Penne Del Mezzogirorno

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (97)
great for outdoor dining (95)
neighborhood gem (85)
See All
romantic (79)
great for brunch (57)
fit for foodies (52)
good for groups (34)
notable wine list (28)
great for lunch (26)
hot spot (17)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

food was great but highly overpriced for ...

Dined 5 days ago

food was great but highly overpriced for amount received. Waitress was very bland. food came quickly. out door sitting area was very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was great and the service ...

Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was great and the service was very good. The only bad thing about the evening was the valet who was very aggressive. We paid for the valet using a CC inside the restaurant and of course included a tip. The valet was very upset that we didn't have the receipt to show him that we left a tip and asked multiple times. Very strange and considering the quality of the restaurant totally uncalled for.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was good and the garden was lov ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was good and the garden was lovely but Reannon G. was the surliest waitperson I've had in a long time. First took our drink order and then 45 minutes went by before she returned to the table (and only because we got up and sought out assistance!) She was downright nasty the entire time; when making the caesar salad tableside, she splashed on my friend's jacket and didn't even bother to apologize. She got the order wrong and one meal arrived ten minutes after the others. She messed up the dessert order too. She had not a kind word or a smile the entire evening. Two more complaints... we got there early for our reservation to ensure a garden table, however they wouldn't seat us because only 3 of our party of 5 had arrived. We would have sat down and ordered a drink. What? Did they think the rest of the party wasn't going to show up? Silly policy! And lastly, the restaurant is in a sparsely populated area with a big lot out back and yet they charge $5. for parking. We're spending $200 in their restaurant. The parking fee seemed quite excessive.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing. We are returning for cer ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was amazing. We are returning for certain. Also have recommended to multiple friends since we visited. Amazing gem !

food5
ambience3
service5

LDV was a treat located in a less than a ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

LDV was a treat located in a less than amiable neighborhood. The building is difficult to find if you are not familiar with it and you must pull around to park (valet if you wish to find your car intact when you leave). The outdoor seating is very nice, but a little noisy given it's proximity to a main road and no baffling wall. The food and service are excellent. I highly recommend this literally hidden gem, but be safe arriving and departing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

La Dolce Vita is on our regular rotation ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

La Dolce Vita is on our regular rotation of favorite restaurants in the Detroit area. This visit we were part of a group of six, and each person order a different entree, i.e., Lasagna Bechamel, Ravioli D’ Aragosta Allo Zafferano, Sinfonia Di Mare, Scalloppine di Vitello al Barolo, and mine was the Cartoccio con Darna di Salmone. All plates were licked clean. Wonderful bread, wine list and scrumptious desserts. The atmosphere and waiter were terrific. Only reason I do not give a five star rating is that the salads were pathetic. Suggest to avoid and stick with soups and other appetizers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a hidden gem, service was out of t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Truly a hidden gem, service was out of this world,loved the music on the patio and the lobster ravioli was to die for! Have told everyone talked to about this fabulous restaurant

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to this place a few times and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been to this place a few times and am never disappointed..my dad is a foodie and was thoroughly impressed. He grew up in the area but didn't know it was there. Truly a hidden gem with a beautiful ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The afternoon was perfect. The music was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The afternoon was perfect. The music was amazing, our waitress was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved the fresh made lobster cakes! Gre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the fresh made lobster cakes! Great Order off Menu....Free flowing Mimosas during brunch ~ Great Atmosphere with Amazing two person band - very much like Carlos Santana Style! A must for brunch! I'll be going back again soon! Request the Patio!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place in the "D"! The gnocc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My favorite place in the "D"! The gnocci are amazing, a must have!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

LDV is totally hidden as others have sai ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

LDV is totally hidden as others have said, but with navigation systems, super wasy to find the valet. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation but were seated immediately. We had a nice table near the bar. Not the best view for our engagement celebration, but the service, food and overall ambiance more than made up for it. Our dinner arrived very quickly and were hot and delicious. I had lasagna and it was very good. My fiancée had a pasta trio and said he really enjoyed it. Topped off with tiramasu which was delicious as well. The outdoor patio looks very nice, which I would love to try for brunch. Overall it was definitely a gem and we will certainly be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our evening. Both ser ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening. Both service and food were excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful time and the service ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time and the service was very good! We will return again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was excellent however, with the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was excellent however, with the exception of one appetizer, the food was substandard...including the wine recommendation. Yelp reviews are completely inaccurate!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Dolce Vita is always a fun place to E ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

La Dolce Vita is always a fun place to Eat and Drink. The Outdoor Patio is a must in the Summer, great people watching!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very nice, but we requested to sit ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It is very nice, but we requested to sit outside and we showed up on time and still couldn't sit outside. There were tables available, but they said they try to reserve it for people with four or more people. I had three people with me. If you have the tables open let folks sit there. They have a outdoor bar, but that wasn't available either. The music wasn't even playing when we asked to sit outside and we only stayed for about 40 minutes and that was due to us waiting for the food to arrive. I get that some people like to sit outside all day and that's straight up rude, but we weren't trying to do that. But with that said the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to fit in a brunch here every time ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I try to fit in a brunch here every time I am in Detroit. It's a fun place to meet and the food is great

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The people here are wonderful. I have be ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The people here are wonderful. I have been going here for over 25 years. The owner and managers are incredible, they have become family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

While I don't think that the place "live ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

While I don't think that the place "lives up to the hype", I did think that it was a decent night out. The escargot was good, but I almost broke a tooth on (what looked like) two rocks inside of the dish. The plating of the food was mediocre (for the price/hype), and our server seemed a little overwhelmed (asked for a drink refresh, never got it). Overall, it was nice. I just don't think it's one of the top 10 spots in Detroit to dine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining here and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our second time dining here and it was just as splendid as the first. I wondered if this time around would be just as memorable and it was even more so. I say that because La Dolce Vita delivered the same top notch service, quality delicious food, and even the entertainment in the form of a gentleman who is a very talented pianist and singer was superb. At most establishment's I've often had an outstanding meal and upon returning found a lack of consistency in the food and at times the service. Not here, thank you for delivering a top notch dining experience once again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Patio

Dined on June 11, 2016

LDV is wonderful all year but even more enjoyable in the summer months on the patio. Food and service was great. We ordered a grilled fruit appetizer that the whole table enjoyed. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for a night out!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Lovely menu and exceptional service. Always a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our favorite when we go to Detroit.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Always eat here before our 9 DSO concerts. Great location for this, excellent food and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Meal!

Dined on June 7, 2016

From start finish our meal was perfect! Tried the Moscow Mule, made with vanilla vodka, excellent! Loved my grilled melon! We shared one of the specials, a trio of pastas, absolutely yummy! The tiramisu for dessert was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

SHHH- Don't Tell

Dined on June 5, 2016

La Dolce Vita, Detroit, lovely romantic gem that is located no where near the hustle of the usual hot spots. This off the beaten path establishment offers all the décor and classic Italian cuisine of the European restaurants quaintly took along cobbled road sides; right in our own backyard. Its well kept secret existence is its key to their longevity and word of mouth its best advertisement..but "Shhh don't tell you heard this from us." Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Use the valley parking and ask for a tab ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Use the valley parking and ask for a table in front dining room or bar as its lively with live piano.music on weekends. Food service and price were great.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

unimpressed

Dined on May 29, 2016

My initial impression of the place was put off before I even walked in the door. I parked my car and started walking in with my family. A man walks up to my brother and demands $5 for parking. We ask if it's a pay lot and he reports "no, it's for valet". I inform him we already parked and would be happy to move the car if we parked in the wrong spot. He then stands in front of us, informs us we cannot go into the restaurant until we pay him for parking. Thinking we misunderstood and that this was a parking, my family dishes out some cash. He requests for my keys, and I ask why? He says for "valet". I inform him again we already parked. He then moves my car 1 spot over...apparently walking in from the pairing lot and having your car moved 3 feet is valet in Detroit. The whole experience was baffling to my family and me. We joked over dinner, but found the food underwhelming. The restaurant was out of the first few dishes we wanted to order, so we ended up not eating what we wanted in the first place. The patio is cute and the servers were friendly. It was just okay, I wouldn't go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love the old world charm of thi ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I always love the old world charm of this place. There are a lot of new great restaurants in Detroit but I value the legacy of LDV as well.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, unique & romantic. ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, unique & romantic. Server was attentive and informative. Thoroughly enjoyed each course. The "special" appetizer was a crepe filled with asparagus pesto and several cheeses was divine. Our first time dining here and we'll definitely be back! Only drawback the patio wasn't available due to the rain.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place...a little sad to see the ou ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

great place...a little sad to see the outside surrondings of Detroit. La Dolce Vita itself is great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Sweet Life

Dined on May 29, 2016

The brunch menu is awesome, including the bottomless mimosas. Our server was on top of her game. An absolutely wonderful way to start off a Sunday in May !!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Sad meal

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was fine till the entree came. I ordered Veal with lemon and capers. My plate was quite full of the gravy/sauce and the meat was very thin and tough. My husband's meal , a mixed seafood, was scorched and black on one side. He sent it back. No good chef should ever serve a plate that looked like that!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The thing that stood out the most was th ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The thing that stood out the most was thinking I knew exactly where the location was. Well I was kind of right, after driving past a couple of times we finally figured out the entrance. I guess this added to the intrigue of our first time dinning here. I must say I as well as my date was totally pleased with the entire dining experience. The decour, service, and food was splendid. What was even more pleasing was the fact that my date was totally enthused with the total experience and stated the she wants to go back again. I don't ever recall her saying that before...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the patio. Food was excellent. I wo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Love the patio. Food was excellent. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect celebration night from start to ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Perfect celebration night from start to finish. Service impeccable. Support staff great. Food consistently outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on May 22, 2016

The ambiance and service are wonderful. Our food was great - strongly recommend the caesar salad prepared at the table

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

HIDDEN GEM

Dined on May 22, 2016

GREAT FOOD, NICE AMBIANCE. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE PATIO; THE LIVE MUSIC IS SUCH A GREAT TOUCH.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Great experience again.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ended up sitting at the bar because our Bartender (blonde lady) was very friendly and attentive. Dinner turned into just appetizers and was amazing. I would recommend everything we ordered including the escargot, calamari, smoked salmon and the table-side caesar. The entertainment was great. Wonderful restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.