Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Romantic (43)
Cozy (35)
Authentic (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Live Music (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Business Meals (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Fun (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Casual (14)
People Watching (13)
Historic (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

When I booked on Open Table I put in the notes it was our 25th wedding anniversary but nothing special happened. It was a great meal, we will be back again but I thought maybe they would put a candle in our desert or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good but there are a good number of Italian restaurants in metro Detroit that would be a better choice. Just not as 'special' as we expected...sorry.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Jason was an excellent waiter and the food is always great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I went here for bruch...it was fantastic, I will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had a reservation for two for 1:30 the hostess tells me it will be a 10-15 minute wait ....why take reservations & then tell guests to wait behooves me to to top matters off the person I was meeting was very late due to a family emergency the hostess refused to seat me before my "entire party" arrived. I made this reservation I was timely & should have been seated right away. After waiting 20 minutes the owner or manager stepped in and instructed the hostess to let me sit down !! It was infuriating I had a reservation & should have been seated when I arrived despite my companions delay

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

LaDolce Vita is great for small groups to enjoy quality time together. The food is delicious always, friendly staff plus a warm comfortable environment

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always a favorite to go to for brunch, with bottomless mimosa's and live music who couldn't love this place. Food was awesome, service was prompt, atmosphere incredible. Definitely one of Detroit's hidden jewels.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

we were seated immediately, which was very nice. The overall experience was fair as a result of our server often disappeared for long periods of time. He that not occurred it would have been a great experience. Food was well prepared. Nice atmosphere, piano was nice touch. We will return in hopes of better service.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, too notch honest service and hidden jem in highland park

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Old school dining experience. If You enjoyed classic Detroit spots like the Pontch. Wine cellars you'll be comfortable here

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Antonio is the best server in the entire world! Was an amazing experience, per usual! We love this place, it is always so consistent and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of my absolute favorites, never disappoints. Best little gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I love eating here. We were sat in the first table & the sir was blowing hard on us. After we all ordered coffee the waiter had the blower turned down for a short while. When the waiter was telling the special my friend by the glass ( there were 6 of us ) said " I can't hear you". The waiter replied there were too many people for him to speak louder. That set the night off poorly with some... all in all it was a great night , waiter was anita rude. I do t get it but that's the fact!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant is one of Detroit's finest hidden gems. Great Italian food and wine selection. Thought the service could have been a little more attentive, but a busy Saturday eve on a nice day. Live pianist in the background, too. :)
Great 1st Anniversary dinner spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Antonio served our celebration for our Daughter's birthday....perfection on all levels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

La Dolce Vita is a great place for Sunday brunch the food is outstanding the music extraordinary and the Spanish coffee 2nd to none

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner at La Dolce Vita last Saturday evening. Every thing from our cocktails, appetizers, table side made Caesar Salad to our entrees was absolutely delicious. Our server was full of historic tidbits about the area, and a wealth of knowledge in every aspect of the menu and evening specials. Our dining experience could not have been better. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was amazing! It was a little difficult to find the place though, but inside was great and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappoints. Pasta, fish, steaks. Tableside Caesar is a can't miss. I've been a diner for atleast the last 15 years. Great brunch and Italian fare and the wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fabulous dinner! Antonio, the waiter, was great - very personable and attentive without being over the top. The menu options were great, and we were very happy with our selections. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great ambiance for a date, delicious and authentic food, affordable valet service, simple yet well-stocked bar with an excellent selection of single malt scotch. This is my go-to spot for a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food and service was very good. Looking forward to the patio opening.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Everything was outstanding, especially the service. Antonio was awesome! The specials were incredible. A hidden gem.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding. This was a business/meeting lunch and our waiter was extremely conscientious and attentive.

2 of us had the chicken caesar salad which wasn't very good. The plate was too small and it was bland.

However, one of our guests had the perch which was very good

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and service here are outstanding.

I give it 5 stars out of 5.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a place I bring all of my out of town guests to check out.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic neighborhood gem. Favorite Sunday brunch spot. Inside is beautiful & outside in the late spring to late autumn is a gorgeous eden. Lovely mellow live jazz.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Would go back every weekend if I could!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great neighborhood gem. Hidden away on a main thoroughfare (an oxymoron?), La Dolce Vita is one of the better places in Detroit. Besides the great food and wonderful atmosphere, there's a certain "feel" to the place that exceeds almost every other Detroit restaurant. It's definitely a "diamond in the rough."

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We did not get to enjoy our evening of March 11, 2017 at La Dolce Vita. Their power had not been restored from the big wind/power outage. That would have been a repeat visit for all of us and we hope to try again in the near future.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent pasta dishes and surprisingly affordable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food, service and ambiance are always excellent. The variety of patrons testifies to the broad appeal of the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

First time there for brunch, our server was great everything was prepared perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waiter treated our table poorly by our waiter.🙁😐

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing! Must try the French toast for Sunday brunch. Fit a foodie experience. Will go back for the patio in warmer weather (nice ambiance) and to try the dinner menu. Nice for a date or friends dining out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My food was ice cold never had this happen before at la dolce vita

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This remains my favorite brunch spot anywhere. Try the French toast.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars because we were put in the back room with two large parties (and one baby). The back room is not nearly as romantic and lovely as the front. Also, the waiter, Antonio, was very over the top. Too many interruptions to move our flatware, dishes, and glasses around. Obvious overuse of Italian was just silly. However, everything we ordered was prepared perfectly and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my first experience at LDV. My expectations were possibly too high but I think those expectations were based on other reviews. They do a decent job at most things. Service, ambiance, food, drink/wine selection BUT I feel they need to up their game in light of all the fantastic restaurants in the area that are popping up. I will give them another try when the weather is nicer because from what I could tell on a cold February evening is that they have an incredible patio dining space!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dining at LDV is always a great experience. The food is wonderful and the service is great. The location is a drive-by so you have to know it's there and that it is truly worth the trip! The variety of folks who also dine there is fun and very eclectic. We love it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.