About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

Restaurant Photos

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Italian
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
3 More
Best Value
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Italian
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (92)
neighborhood gem (84)
See All
great for outdoor dining (71)
fit for foodies (49)
great for brunch (49)
notable wine list (31)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The thing that stood out the most was th ...

Dined a day ago

The thing that stood out the most was thinking I knew exactly where the location was. Well I was kind of right, after driving past a couple of times we finally figured out the entrance. I guess this added to the intrigue of our first time dinning here. I must say I as well as my date was totally pleased with the entire dining experience. The decour, service, and food was splendid. What was even more pleasing was the fact that my date was totally enthused with the total experience and stated the she wants to go back again. I don't ever recall her saying that before...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined 7 days ago

The ambiance and service are wonderful. Our food was great - strongly recommend the caesar salad prepared at the table

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great experience again.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ended up sitting at the bar because our Bartender (blonde lady) was very friendly and attentive. Dinner turned into just appetizers and was amazing. I would recommend everything we ordered including the escargot, calamari, smoked salmon and the table-side caesar. The entertainment was great. Wonderful restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

absolutely loved it there...the food sel ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

absolutely loved it there...the food selection was amazing..but most of all the service..would absolutely go again ...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Spot

Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was amazing; Antonio made great recommendations. The shrimp scampi is delicious and the chef was willing to make veal parm- which isn't on the menu. We topped dinner and wine off with the best coffee I've ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food! Really enjoyed s ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great service and food! Really enjoyed sitting on the patio. I had no idea such a great restaurant was hidden away. Will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've enjoyed our experience each time w ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We've enjoyed our experience each time we've dined at La Dolce Vita. Top notch wait staff, delicious food and fantastic ambiance!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Hostess was extremely rude and refused t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Hostess was extremely rude and refused to sit us at a 4 top table when other 4 tops were available. They then claimed they were to busy as we watched the surrounding tables behind us remain open!!! Finally a manager sat us at the open table.. Very disappointed considering how often we go there.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love it!

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is my very favorite resturant for eating outside in the summer. The gaden is very lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Feels like you're dining in Italy - and ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Feels like you're dining in Italy - and don't let the location scare you. Valet parking in back, you forget where you're at - can't see Woodward from inside restaurant. Generous sized appetizer portions, great prices, and OH THE FLAVORS !!!! A must visit restaurant - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff, great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Friendly staff, great service

food5
ambience3
service5

Every meal (group of 6) was delicious. S ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Every meal (group of 6) was delicious. Service superb!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

late

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a 745 reservation we weren't seated until 830 we were seated near a large table of Oprah wannabes they were very loud and annoying the food was good the service was good but the odor of the restaurant smells like bleach so very non-appetizing I believe Erie Street in Windsor Ontario is a much better place to go for Italian food

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Food, Excellent venue, Romantic.

Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a 5 star place to impress that special person in your life.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, not-so-great mimosas

Dined on April 24, 2016

The seafood quiche was excellent--and with the potatoes, we could have easily split it. The restaurant has a signature coffee with cinnamon which we did not care for but if you like a bit of cinnamon in your coffee you'll enjoy it. The mimosas, however, left almost everything to be desired. The orange juice was watery made-from-concentrate. For $6, they could serve mimosas made with really good orange juice and still make a nice profit.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service4

A fantastic atmosphere with great servic ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A fantastic atmosphere with great service and good food.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good. The service was great ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was good. The service was great. The entertainment .was really good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like the ambience and decor as well as w ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Like the ambience and decor as well as wonderful food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was ok. The service was very go ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was ok. The service was very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Besides authentic Itali ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Love this place! Besides authentic Italian Cuissean, the quaint Tuscan style of the building sets the mood for a great dining experience! Excellent service and knowledge staff! One of my favorites :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Brunch is so good and great fun. Always outstanding food and service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

I love this restaurant but don't order perch.

Dined on April 2, 2016

My perch was served sandwiched between a sauce and mashed potatoes so it was soggy and didn't taste like perch at all.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner at la dolce vita

Dined on April 2, 2016

we went to la dolce vita for my friends birthday. we had a great time. the food was great and the service was great too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary it was the best experience ever . Going back to celebrate my birthday this month with the rest of the family .For sure they will love the food like we did. Also will bring some friends so they can also experienced what my husband and I did .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good italian food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Nice place to meet up near ferndale/detroit. if you can hit them up during restaurant week it's a great bargain. I hear their brunch is phenomenal. if you go during nice weather try to snag a spot outside. A little pricey but service and food are good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Old School Elegance

Dined on March 27, 2016

Travel back in time to when Palmer Park was the place to live and you will find a neighborhood gem! Fabulous branch menu, solid dinner menu, beautiful surroundings and attentive service. The ONLY issue is finding the restaraunt. On east side of Woodward across from Palmer Park, but entrance is through alley off side street. Valet parking so it is safe. Treat yourself to an old school night out.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

3/26 meal

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

One meal came cold and had to sent back. Another meal, the vegetables were lukewarm. Do not think waiter was attentive as he could have been.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at dinner was outstanding.

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

For first timers, be warned that it is hard to identify the restaurant off Woodward. Look for a grilled outdoor seating area as you get near. Access to valet parking is through an alley north of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Detroit Restaurant

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

When doing to downtown, this is our favorite restaurant on the way.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Worth the drive

Dined on March 20, 2016

We have a La Dolce Vita in Shelby Township, about 3 miles away. Yet we drive almost 20 miles to visit the Woodward location because the ambience and the waiters make dining there so enjoyable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday morning brunch

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The food is great and I love the bottomless Mimosas and live music. The atmosphere is loud and a bit chaotic -- so it isn't the right place for you if you are looking for a quiet, intimate brunch. Also -- be prepared to wait a bit for your table even with reservations.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Great food, noise level excessive

Dined on March 13, 2016

The music/noise level is conversation-prohibitive. We love the food, the service and the setting. However, when the music is playing it is difficult to have a normal dinner conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lunch With A Friend

Dined on March 8, 2016

Lunch was absolutely delightful! I would most certainly dine there again. It would have been more fun to have been in the midst of others in the restaurant. We were the only two people there after another two or three people left before we were served.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2

This was the first time my friend had be ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

This was the first time my friend had been to LDV. She ordered the salmon hash. Although she liked it, she would have preferred her eggs fried instead of poached. I really enjoyed my eggs sardou! Impeccable as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Dolce Vita - Rocks Detroit!!

Dined on March 6, 2016

I love this restaurant. I love the food, the ambience, energy and great service. I have not had a bad experience, the most fun for brunch I have ever had. I would highly recommend this restaurant...come, this is the place to be seen. Small but mighty!!!! Bring your friends and family and enjoy the great jazz and meal to boot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Average

Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was good. Food, tasteless. Appetizers, calamari good, stuffed mushrooms, good. Artichokes, tasteless.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Consistently good and professional service. Definately my go to place before and after downtown cultural events.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

This was an awesome place to go for Brun ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was an awesome place to go for Brunch. Live music and the service as well as food was top notch. I truly enjoyed the area and the atmosphere. It was on point and I encourage anyone to have a reservation if they plan to attend because the wait times are long and the live band makes for a great interactive experience.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A Detroit Gem!

Dined on February 28, 2016

La Solve Vita, offers great service and food for the sophisticated foodie. If you are looking to dine in less than2 hours, this is the place. La Solve Vita , expects servers to flip their tables every hour and a half. This is my only downfall with this restaurant. After our time was up, the server was quick to let us know, that we had to leave. Bummer, for everyone at our table.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.