Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Romantic (26)
Authentic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Live Music (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Cozy (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Historic (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My Yelp review once had La Dolce Vita at 5-stars but, upon my last visit, I'm dropping it down to 1 based on how absurdly bad the service has become.

This was my second time having this particular waiter, who is an older gentleman, and while I was willing to mark the first experience as an off-day this appears to be a pattern.

Firstly, the building was basically crowded to capacity which does not make for an enjoyable experience so they could do with adjusting the limit as having constant chatter around you really ruins the atmosphere.

Yet the main problem arose when placing our orders. Drinks were wrong and had to be sent back and 2 out of the 5 of us ordered crepes which arrived WAY ahead of everyone else's food.

Our waiter said this had to do with the food being prepared in different stations and he acknowledged that they should have not come that early yet brought them anyway. Those who ordered crepes attempted to wait for everyone else's food to arrive but the dishes started to get cold. It was at least another 20-30 minutes before the rest of the food arrived.

Then, when asking for the bills, we had to manually split everything up ourselves as we were told they could not be separated which I have had them do before without incident. Furthermore, items we were told we wouldn't be charged for had to be subtracted from our bill.

This experience, which was meant to celebrate my brithday, was a mess and left me feeling embarrassed that I'd given it such high praise to those guests who were here for the first time.

I'm seriously conflicted as to if or when I'll return, which is a serious let down as this has always been one of my absolute favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was horrible. Several orders were made wrong and our waiter kept insisting that we placed our orders wrong. It was suppose to be a treat for my girlfriend and I parents but it turned out to be a horrible experience. The eggs were not cooked as ordered which was scrambled instead they were brought out horribly running which is what we wanted to avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Just not what it used to be....times are a changing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at La Dolce Vita. This was no exception. We went for Father's Day Brunch and it was the first time we had been there for brunch. It was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my husband here for Fathers Day and as always, it was amazing. Brunch is always great. The food was awesome, our server Jason was amazing and the ambiance was great. The live jazz on the patio topped it off. Couldn't ask for anything better.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I enjoyed La Dolce Vita. While they were out of my first preference for a vegetarian meal, they were happy to suggest another. The ambiance was romantic. I would go back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Salmon served with mess hall style mashed potatoes. No love in the food. Could have gotten same at Applebees. Three years ago, we enjoyed our meal. Extremely disappointed this time. It was our anniversary and requested a quiet table. The hostess said we could sit next to the piano player because they were busy and needed the other tables. Mind you that we reserved with open table and requested the quiet table. Rude hostess. We will not return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Comfortably surroundings, great place for a couple of hours to enjoy good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This place is phenomenal. It is A+.
We have dined in France, Miami and Chicago. The food and service is fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Aside from the quality of the food, which is outstanding, the joy of eating on their patio adds dimensions to the enjoyment of the meal. Their perch remains, justifiably, a signature dish.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had an excellent experience as usual. The food was outstanding along with service. Linda our waitress was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. The mimosas were on point and $12 for bottomless. There was live jazz music and a nice mix of people. We sat in the courtyard and it was very lovely.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This is a great spot. Very service-oriented. A great option for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Disabled Access, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

From the moment we arrived to the parking lot, to dealing with the host at the front door, and eventually ending with our server and the busboy; everyone at this restaurant was incredibly rude. I booked the reservation one hour before they're closing time. The valet hesitated parking our cars and the host informed us that he may not be able to find us a table because they were so close to closing. I asked him why would they continue excepting reservations from OpenTable if they were not able to accommodate their guests so close to closing. He sat us outside in the courtyard, it was very nice, and before the waiter could say hello he said our kitchen is about to close do you guys know what you want? My friend interjected and said, "hello how are you". He didn't realize that he was, like everyone else, being extremely rude to us. I asked him if it was best if we ate somewhere else and if service was going to continue to be like this. He apologized for his rudeness and proceeded to get us some waters from the busboy. About 10 minutes into waiting for our food the busboy walked up and asked if we were done with our bread and if he can start clearing our table. We said no and that we hadn't even receive our food yet! At that point the waiter brought our food a few minutes later and we proceeded to eat and leave. I feel that this restaurant should stop their reservations two hours before they close, because their staff cannot provide friendly and adequate service to customers coming in at later times. Not to mention, there was a Caucasian couple that walked in after us that not only received their food before us but they received stellar service. They were waited on promptly, they received a friendly waiter, and they even stayed later than we did.I wonder if their experience was like ours?

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The patio is a wonderful setting in which to enjoy a warm summer evening with friends. Food is always reliably good

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I met friends there; they felt the $5 for parking on top of the cost of the food was excessive. They agreed La Dolce Vita was an excellent choice except for the parking fee and the run down area in which it's located.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent everytime. Never disappoints when we eat here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Unique food options, presentation, diverse crowd, professional and superior service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was our first time dining here and my girlfriends and I thoroughly enjoyed Sunday Brunch! The atmosphere is very welcoming and the live music, although a tad loud inside, added a nice touch to the ambiance of our dining experience. I will definitely visit again for the dinner service.

Tom, our waiter, was great and attentive. We had the bottomless mimosas and I cannot drink OJ when I told him that initially he was hesitant to get the cranberry mimosa. I appreciate that he was not argumentative but instead verified it and was informed it too would be included in the service. He was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Came late to celebrate a high school graduation. Reservation was for 10pm, and even though we were closing down the place we were made comfortable and we were not rushed. Food was very tasty. Ambience outside was fun, and our waiter, Antonio was awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

always delicious and best of all hidden treat- stepping into italy without the air fare and travel time...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Had soup, salad and entree. All delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We come to this restaurant to celebrate special events. Our dinner this time was a birthday dinner and we once again had a great experience. The food was delicious. The wait staff is always helpful and professional. The decor is so special (love all the old photos!). We will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food was not up to par on this visit. The filet was tough, over-cooked and had no flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

John, our server was absolutely excellent.
The food was exquisite, best escargot and lasagna I've ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Waiters were great. Environment was Greg

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always the food was very good. We had a new waiter Jason, he was excellent. The patio was beautiful. We opted to eat inside. Just an overall great place to dine.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. The Escargot was unique and delicious. The Asparagus soup was too thick, but very flavorful. The Veal was exceptional. The ambiance was nice, and my friend and I were able to have a nice conversation, because the noise level was very reasonable, even with a full restaurant. Our server, Jasmeen (hope the spelling is correct) was absolutely outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

LDV is always a nice place for Sunday Brunch. It rarely disappoints in food and service quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Celebrating work successes!! Mimosas and French Toast were sublime!! We will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was very nice. Food and service were good. But I was hoping for more of a hip atmosphere

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic , staff was great. Food came out good. Price was right

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was our 15 year wedding anniversary which was mentioned on the open table restervation. We were seated against a wall at a two person table crowded in with four other tables. There were more romanic tables available but they remained empty throughout our dining experience. No one acknowledged our anniversary until the server did when he dropped off the bill. When I mentioned the note made in my reservation regarding our anniversary the hostess said "yes we saw that". So then I was quite dissapointed that while they knew it was obvious that making our special day memorable in the best way they instead blew it off and tainted it with their lack of interest. Our server was short, attentative but not at all friendly. I was never offered the chance to order a second drink. We should have stayed home, I won't be back willingly and would never trust them to honor a special occassion again. Oh did I forget to mention that I had my 40th birthday brunch there last year and they were rude then too, there is no third chance. Clearly they feel empowered by their current status but failure to take interest in every reservation will reflect on their status before too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my first time dining there. I was pleasantly surprised. It is really hidden and that could be by design considering the area but better signage would help as myself and my party drove past it a couple of times without realizing. That patio is amazing. I wished we could have dined out there but it was an extremely windy day. Perhaps next time as I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Moms birthday

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but the appetizers were overpriced. We'll be back but not for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mediocre experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our meal was AWESOME!!! And our waiter Michael was outstanding. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great ambiance, wonderful food, friendly & competent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Calamari was really good. And the seafood pasta was really tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.