Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (46)
Authentic (44)
Cozy (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Live Music (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fun (19)
Historic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (16)
People Watching (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic , staff was great. Food came out good. Price was right

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

It was our 15 year wedding anniversary which was mentioned on the open table restervation. We were seated against a wall at a two person table crowded in with four other tables. There were more romanic tables available but they remained empty throughout our dining experience. No one acknowledged our anniversary until the server did when he dropped off the bill. When I mentioned the note made in my reservation regarding our anniversary the hostess said "yes we saw that". So then I was quite dissapointed that while they knew it was obvious that making our special day memorable in the best way they instead blew it off and tainted it with their lack of interest. Our server was short, attentative but not at all friendly. I was never offered the chance to order a second drink. We should have stayed home, I won't be back willingly and would never trust them to honor a special occassion again. Oh did I forget to mention that I had my 40th birthday brunch there last year and they were rude then too, there is no third chance. Clearly they feel empowered by their current status but failure to take interest in every reservation will reflect on their status before too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time dining there. I was pleasantly surprised. It is really hidden and that could be by design considering the area but better signage would help as myself and my party drove past it a couple of times without realizing. That patio is amazing. I wished we could have dined out there but it was an extremely windy day. Perhaps next time as I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Moms birthday

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good but the appetizers were overpriced. We'll be back but not for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mediocre experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our meal was AWESOME!!! And our waiter Michael was outstanding. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great ambiance, wonderful food, friendly & competent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Calamari was really good. And the seafood pasta was really tasty as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always are favorite restaurant when in Detroit coming in from the northern suburbs.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

All 3 of us received cold plates of food that should have been served hot. We sent them back only to receive 3 more plates of cold food. What a disappointment!! Our server never came back to make sure we received hot food. I have dined here before and always had a great experience. This experience left a bad taste in our mouths. Unfortunately, we won't be back for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was just ok, not sure I would go back for brunch.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

lovely yummy easy pleasant a knockout
server perfect though caution him, he referred to my date and I as "mr and mrs" and no 12th date and btw I would never change my last name

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice Dinner. Great waiter, entrees and Pinot Noir were very good. Calamari was so-so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this place! They were extremely quick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I've been coming to LDV for about 8 years and it's my absolute favorite place for Sunday brunch!!!! All the servers are super nice and friendly!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went out for Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday. I was asked when making the reservation if there was a special occasion and I mentioned why we were making the reservation. I wrongly assumed they would make note of that and maybe do something for the celebrant. That one was on me. I should have said something when we arrived but I did not. And they did nothing.

Our table was half in the middle of the doorway between the bar side and the dining side. In spite of the fact that there were many open tables, we were stuck there because other empty tables were reserved. We ate and left before the live music started. If we would have waited, I could have helped the drummer, his setup was close enough to me that I could have helped him play. Needless to say, I am glad I got out early.

The food was good, but not spectacular (which is what we were expecting based on recommendations from others). The wait staff was good, but we did feel like were were rushed out. The bus boy hovered nearby and when you had the last piece of food on your fork, he was reaching for the plate before the fork even hit your mouth. To me that is sure sign the restaurant wants you out of there ASAP. We would have had dessert, but it looked like they wanted us out of there quickly so we passed.

Also, the only parking is valet parking. There are no other options.

Based on our experience, I am not sure we would ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Love the atmosphere, the food, the excellent service, the drinks, everything. Waiter asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, to which we responded "our anniversary." Then dessert came out with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate. Such a nice touch. This restaurant has become our tradition. And our favorite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We've been here about 6 times and always enjoy the food/ambience. Particularly enjoyed watching our server make Caesar Salad by the table- which was also delicious. Just one of our party was disappointed that the lasagna had no meat-but he didn't carefully read the description. My chicken/eggplant dish was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food and service was great!! Antonio(our waiter ) is the best and all of us feel this restaurant is a real "GEM"!!!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Experience and food were stellar! Our waiter was top notch! Had a terrific 15yr. Anniversary! We will be back often!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A wonderful find. Food and service perfect. We celebrated a birthday and the carrot cake was to die for. Loved the cozy atmosphere. We will go back often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I absolutely love this place and the staff is "AWESOME", and the other diners are extremely friendly as well. I dine at this establishment at least once a month, sometimes weekly. I love the food, its great!!! Also, The valet staff is Awesome and always pleasant. Great place to dine, I highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

When I booked on Open Table I put in the notes it was our 25th wedding anniversary but nothing special happened. It was a great meal, we will be back again but I thought maybe they would put a candle in our desert or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Definitely a hidden gem. The food was amazing. If you like authentic Italian cuisine you must put this on you list of restaurants to try.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a great time. Great service and great food. Enjoyed the ambiance. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was good but there are a good number of Italian restaurants in metro Detroit that would be a better choice. Just not as 'special' as we expected...sorry.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Jason was an excellent waiter and the food is always great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter dinner here and for a holiday the service was excellent as was the food. Our waiter was on top of things from the beginning to the end and I would recommend La Dolce Vita at any time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I went here for bruch...it was fantastic, I will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had a reservation for two for 1:30 the hostess tells me it will be a 10-15 minute wait ....why take reservations & then tell guests to wait behooves me to to top matters off the person I was meeting was very late due to a family emergency the hostess refused to seat me before my "entire party" arrived. I made this reservation I was timely & should have been seated right away. After waiting 20 minutes the owner or manager stepped in and instructed the hostess to let me sit down !! It was infuriating I had a reservation & should have been seated when I arrived despite my companions delay

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

LaDolce Vita is great for small groups to enjoy quality time together. The food is delicious always, friendly staff plus a warm comfortable environment

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always a favorite to go to for brunch, with bottomless mimosa's and live music who couldn't love this place. Food was awesome, service was prompt, atmosphere incredible. Definitely one of Detroit's hidden jewels.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

we were seated immediately, which was very nice. The overall experience was fair as a result of our server often disappeared for long periods of time. He that not occurred it would have been a great experience. Food was well prepared. Nice atmosphere, piano was nice touch. We will return in hopes of better service.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, too notch honest service and hidden jem in highland park

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Old school dining experience. If You enjoyed classic Detroit spots like the Pontch. Wine cellars you'll be comfortable here

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Antonio is the best server in the entire world! Was an amazing experience, per usual! We love this place, it is always so consistent and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of my absolute favorites, never disappoints. Best little gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I love eating here. We were sat in the first table & the sir was blowing hard on us. After we all ordered coffee the waiter had the blower turned down for a short while. When the waiter was telling the special my friend by the glass ( there were 6 of us ) said " I can't hear you". The waiter replied there were too many people for him to speak louder. That set the night off poorly with some... all in all it was a great night , waiter was anita rude. I do t get it but that's the fact!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.