Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 1.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.37mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About La Dolce Vita - Detroit

High ceilings and romantic twinkling lights create a chic atmosphere, perfect for a drink and appetizer at the bar or a full dining experience.

17546 Woodward
Detroit, MI 48203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm, Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cedarhurst

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 865-0331

Website:
http://www.ldvrestaurant.net/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for lunch Tuesday-Friday. $5 Valet parking for dinner Tuesday-Sunday $2 Valet parking for Sunday brunch.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you need to book a reservation for a larger party please contact the restaurant directly. We do require a major credit card to hold tables for parties of ten guests or more. Thank you.

La Dolce Vita - Detroit Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Cozy (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Authentic (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Live Music (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Historic (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 19 hours ago

Antonio served our celebration for our Daughter's birthday....perfection on all levels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous dinner! Antonio, the waiter, was great - very personable and attentive without being over the top. The menu options were great, and we were very happy with our selections. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambiance for a date, delicious and authentic food, affordable valet service, simple yet well-stocked bar with an excellent selection of single malt scotch. This is my go-to spot for a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was outstanding, especially the service. Antonio was awesome! The specials were incredible. A hidden gem.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was outstanding. This was a business/meeting lunch and our waiter was extremely conscientious and attentive.

2 of us had the chicken caesar salad which wasn't very good. The plate was too small and it was bland.

However, one of our guests had the perch which was very good

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and service here are outstanding.

I give it 5 stars out of 5.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a place I bring all of my out of town guests to check out.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic neighborhood gem. Favorite Sunday brunch spot. Inside is beautiful & outside in the late spring to late autumn is a gorgeous eden. Lovely mellow live jazz.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Would go back every weekend if I could!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great neighborhood gem. Hidden away on a main thoroughfare (an oxymoron?), La Dolce Vita is one of the better places in Detroit. Besides the great food and wonderful atmosphere, there's a certain "feel" to the place that exceeds almost every other Detroit restaurant. It's definitely a "diamond in the rough."

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the restaurant was closed never received a call possibly no power a call to cancel would be considerate above ratings not indicative of the restaurant as it was closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We did not get to enjoy our evening of March 11, 2017 at La Dolce Vita. Their power had not been restored from the big wind/power outage. That would have been a repeat visit for all of us and we hope to try again in the near future.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent pasta dishes and surprisingly affordable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food, service and ambiance are always excellent. The variety of patrons testifies to the broad appeal of the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

First time there for brunch, our server was great everything was prepared perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waiter treated our table poorly by our waiter.🙁😐

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing! Must try the French toast for Sunday brunch. Fit a foodie experience. Will go back for the patio in warmer weather (nice ambiance) and to try the dinner menu. Nice for a date or friends dining out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My food was ice cold never had this happen before at la dolce vita

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This remains my favorite brunch spot anywhere. Try the French toast.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars because we were put in the back room with two large parties (and one baby). The back room is not nearly as romantic and lovely as the front. Also, the waiter, Antonio, was very over the top. Too many interruptions to move our flatware, dishes, and glasses around. Obvious overuse of Italian was just silly. However, everything we ordered was prepared perfectly and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was my first experience at LDV. My expectations were possibly too high but I think those expectations were based on other reviews. They do a decent job at most things. Service, ambiance, food, drink/wine selection BUT I feel they need to up their game in light of all the fantastic restaurants in the area that are popping up. I will give them another try when the weather is nicer because from what I could tell on a cold February evening is that they have an incredible patio dining space!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dining at LDV is always a great experience. The food is wonderful and the service is great. The location is a drive-by so you have to know it's there and that it is truly worth the trip! The variety of folks who also dine there is fun and very eclectic. We love it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Really outstanding from every perspective. Great food, drinks,desserts, ambience and service.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Even though the restaurant was full, the gentleman that greeted us at the door made us feel special and welcomed. He is a treasure.
Our meals were hot and fab! Endless mimosas were outstanding.!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is such a cool place! It's so unassuming which makes it great. The food is very good and the bottomless mimosas for brunch kept coming. I really enjoyed my meal and time

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was better than last visit ( not cold), but service deteriorated from fair to poor as the waiter became monopolized by a group of men. It was also very loud at 7:30 reservation time; quieted down after 8:30.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived last night a bit early (10 minutes) for our 6pm reservation and were informed that it would be a while before we were seated. Our group went to the bar and had a drink and after 30 minutes we inquired on the status of our table. We were told it might be a bit longer. Ultimately we were seated in the back room that lacked sufficient heat. I asked to have the heat turned on. Dinner took longer that normal. However the food was outstanding. Too bad they ran out of bread! Yes they really did.

I have been going to La Dolce Vita for many years. Unfortunately this will be my last visit. Good luck if you make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best brunch period and you can't beat $12 bottomless mimosas! Love this place, it's a Sunday tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Four of us went for brunch on a Sunday. We started off with the bottomless mimosas! 3 at the table order the special quiche of the day which they all love. I ordered the salmon hash which I expected to be hash with some salmon. Totally the opposite! If you are a salmon lover this is a dish for you. It was literally all salmon with some hash. Delicious coffee and wonderful desserts!

If you make a reservation or just pop in and try to get a table be sure to ask for Jacqueline! She was absolutely wonderful. She also goes by Jackie.

We've already made our next reservation and have requested Jacqueline for her outstanding service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

La Dolce Vita has been one of my favorite restaurants for over 15 years!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As usual I had another great experience. The only issue was my lasagna was Luke warm. I asked my server to reheat my plate. Other than that I have a awesome time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding service, our waiter Frank was professional, courteous and knowledgeable

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The location was an unexpected surprise. Very nice ambience. Artichoke appetizer was delicious, although it was advertised to include spinach, and we had to ask for the spinach because it was not on the plate. Food tasty and presented nicely. Wine prices are reasonable. Interesting desserts. Valet was exceptionally courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food,people,music and atmosphere , are all together in this elegent but relaxed restaurant .
Old world elegance

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of my favorite places in the entire City..... wonderful Sunday Brunch but every other day is great too!!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

$60 for breakfast and I had to send my food back was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful for Brunch!
Staff is amazing & friendly!!
Food is amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant week menu was a great way to be introduced to this little gem, although it is difficult to find! We circled the block 3 times before we finally saw the building. We will definitely be back to enjoy the patio this summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went there with four people for the Detroit restaurant week event. All three of our appetizers including the artichoke, and Caesars salad were tremendous. All three of us enjoyed our main courses which included three types of pasta, A pasta with meatballs and mushrooms, and an Ahi -Tuna. The deserts included ice cream and an incredible apple pie. The service was on point and the piano playing very nice to listen to. We would most certainly go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was good except an issue with the valet who scratched our fender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.