About La Colombe d'Or

3410 Montrose Blvd
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Welcome to La Colombe d’Or Hotel, Restaurant, and Art Gallery. An award-winning restaurant, La Colombe d'Or specializes in modern European cuisine. A Texas twist on wild game and exotic dishes make this a truly unique dining experience. We look forward to serving you! Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harold / Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7999

Website:
http://www.lacolombedor.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available.

Executive Chef:
Victor Pena

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Gates: 7135247999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Online dinner reservations will be served in the foyer in Le Grand Salon (not the main dining room) due to a private event. Any questions please call La Colombe D'or.

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Prosciutto
  • Taittinger Comtes De Champagne Blanc De Blancs
Duck Prosciutto
Taittinger Comtes De Champagne Blanc De Blancs

La Colombe d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Houston
Best Overall
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for restaurant week. Seated in a gl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for restaurant week. Seated in a glass enclosed patio with good views and only one other table. The food, service and ambience were excellent. The menu had entrées which I consider over priced but the restaurant week menu had excellent choices at a reasonable price. The desserts were exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very nice dinner from the Houst ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a very nice dinner from the Houston Restaurant Week menu. Great historic building atmosphere. The Owner came over to chat with us for a few minutes, which was fun.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambience and a lov ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service and ambience and a lovely place to take photos of my guests.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here a few times before and th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have been here a few times before and the food and service have always been exceptional. The prices, however, are higher than similar restaurants in Houston. We came for Restaurant Week which is a great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our wedding anniversary. Cin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Cinq is so quiet and romantic. The service makes you feel very special. I had the duck, and it was cooked to perfection. Cinq is not cheap, but you definitely get your money's worth. We had a very sweet, memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. All 3 in our party had the filet. Very tender and perfectly cooked. 2 of us had the bread pudding which was among the best I've had. Our waiter was outstanding and helped make the evening an enjoyable one. I love not only the restaurant but the whole place. Rooms, gallery, lounge, etc. are all special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service and very good food for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Attentive service and very good food for a quiet business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ladies lunch with some friends ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent ladies lunch with some friends. We ordered from the HRW menu and we were all very pleased with not only the food but also the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Dr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Drove by many times and never thought to stop. Saw it on the HRW list and decided to give it a try. Definitely will be back. My new favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Houston's best and often overlook ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of Houston's best and often overlooked. Good for meetings too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were nice. The food was good ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The servers were nice. The food was good. The window sheers were torn, the decor aged and worn. The owner blatantly ignored us until it was just too obvious to do so any longer. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always have a great experience here! Bee ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always have a great experience here! Been coming for several years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and first class service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and first class service. They made our special occasion fantastic! Art Gallery is spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal. We go out a lot and haven ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fabulous meal. We go out a lot and haven't been here for awhile, but extremely excellent. One of the best around. Great setting. Service superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Colombe d’Or is a boutique hotel whic ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

La Colombe d’Or is a boutique hotel which houses a rather exclusive fine dining restaurant. Being the romantic type, I had a half dozen red roses waiting at our table which greeted us as we were seated. Deborah and I were treated to not only a sumptuous meal set in a grand dining room but the service provided by Ascencion was beyond reproach. The manager was gracious as well as he met us at the door. Because Houstonites tend to avoid fancy meals during the hottest days, we had the place to ourselves. We began our meal with a shared lump crab appetizer which was followed by grilled sea bass for my Honey, and I enjoyed roast rack of lamb. The dessert sampler is not to be missed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is a beautiful mansion from ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The location is a beautiful mansion from early 1900's. Exceptional staff, actual silver dining utensils, delicious food, art gallery and very romantic. A fantastic place to visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please write a review that is at least 5 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Please write a review that is at least 50 characters in length.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service at this iconic restaurant were excellent. However, there was a fairly limited menu for Mother's Day. Ambience was very quiet. Probably a better venue for older adults, although our college and high school age kids enjoyed the food. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions, in particular. It is pricey, though, but that's fine when you get excellent food and service as we had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house set the scene for a magnificent meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Easter Brunch

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter lunch here and had to eat in the back ballroom area due to a function in the main restaurant. It was very nice and private and the food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great sides & desert. Wait staff was top notch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was great except my husbands lamb. More like mutton instead of a young lamb. Everything else was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful meal with great service, wine and food. A beautiful setting for a romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service, Remarkable Fod

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Seated immediately upon arrival. Service was just the right amount-no hovering and no empty glasses. Each course was served in a timely fashion. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The restaurant is lovely too. You should make this a priority on your list of restaurants to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dead on a Friday night

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very strange evening. This was for my wife's birthday and it was a little odd. When we arrived for our 7pm Friday night reservations we thought the place was closed. Pulling up front we could see the valet sitting on the deck and he came out. When we entered and wanted to have a pre dinner cocktail we went to the bar, only to find we were the only ones there, both the bar and the restaurant??? While we had a cocktail one other couple came in and sat in the dinning room. We moved to the dinning room and had our meal. The service was great and very attentive...what you would expect with only two tables to handle! The food was ok. The crab tower was very good, the house salad dressing was too sour and my wife had to send it back. I ordered the chicken fried filet...it was good, but I doubt it was a filet based on the texture and quality of the meat. The dessert sampler was very good, especially the bread pudding! Two other tables came in during our evening. All in all is was ok, not sure I would go back seeing how there are many other great spots in Houston. We have both eaten here many times in the past, but it has been some years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The nicest Valentine's dinner ever

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had not been to La Colombe d'Or for a very long time. It was my husband's idea and it worked out just beautifully.

It is very quiet, very romantic, has great service and on top of that our food was just delicious.

We shared the rack of lamb and each had a salad and my husband also had French onion soup.

What a wonderful Valentine's dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was awesome. Lead waiter was fantastic.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Support staff was pretty clueless and we got stuck at little portico table. First timers so antennae didn't go up. Decent time tho. Really enjoyed the historical tribute and blatant oil industry ties.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It doesn't get any better than this!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

It doesn't get any better than this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Columbe D'or

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Extremely overpriced but very delicious. Attentive service but we were service a dessert wine with our Foie Gras that had turned. After letting our waiter know, it was replaced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Wonderful

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

First visit was a treat. Arrived a bit early and we were seated right away. Great staff and wonderful ambiance. Food was great and the portions we large. Everything was as promised. We will go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Place in Houston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was the best I ever had, the staff was incredibly nice and service was impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special occasions, nothing beats La Colombe D'Or

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We got married here and had to celebrate my birthday here. start with cocktails then do dinner then hit the library for desert. you will feel great about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Generally slow bar service. Table service was great. Food quality was average at best. Great place for a relaxing quiet dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The service was excellent and the food w ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The service was excellent and the food was really good. You get a lot of food for the price. It was relatively quiet and the ambiance was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice Quiet Lunch!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

My husband and I had a superb lunch at the Cinq Restaurant. The food, service and surroundings were all wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

Our server and the other attendants were spectacular. I was disappointed by the flavor of the food. All was brilliantly presented, there just was a noticeable lack of love from the dishes, except for the desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Happy Anniversary

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

My husband and I went back to celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary at the place we got married. The food was spectacular, and the service was warm and very attentive. All around fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a bit tired . . .

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

An early reservation for Dinner for four. In an empty dining room - there were only three 4-top tables. Two of them were directly in front of A/C grills, blowing out cold air. The third was literally in front of the entrance door to the dining room. (We took it anyway, in order to not be blown upon by the A/C.)

While our service was very attentive, our drink order was not correct. One of our group specifically questioned the waiter about items on the menu that might be gluten free. The diner chose one upon the assurances from the waiter that it was gluten-free. Of course - it came to the table and was indeed not gluten-free. (Gluten was in the sauce.). Except for that issue (which was quickly remedied, the food was quite good.

The ambiance, though, was akin to eating in someone's grandmother's dining room. It may have been fashionable 40 years ago but the same cannot be said now. The chairs and tables were unexceptional, the lighting was bland and indistinctive. Also - there was a large party meeting in the next room (visible through glass doors immediately adjacent to our table.) They had the chandelier in the room turned up "full-blast" so it was "in our face," so to speak. Plus I had to look at a group of 20+ people carrying on some meeting. The coup de graçe was that, at the age of SIXTY, I was the second youngest person in the room when we left. Obviously, this is not a "trendy" or "vibrant" place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Elegant Dining with Attentive Service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

My husband and I enjoy coming here often for a glass of wine and to sit on the front porch. Dinner was enjoyable with attentive service in beautiful surroundings. The only negative aspect was the meal I had planned to order was not on their menu even though it was listed online as being served for both lunch and dinner. The waitress did her best to accomodate my request, but I ended up having to order something not desired. Otherwise, the food, service, and ambience were all very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Houston Restaurant Week at Cinq

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

I've always wanted to try this place, but always afraid of the price. When a friend and I decided to take advantage of Houston Restaurant Weeks (and benefit the Houston Food Bank), we also decided that this would be the perfect time to visit Cinq at La Colombe d'Or.

Obviously, we had a limited menu from which to choose, but everything was good. A simple watermelon salad with feta and basil was a perfect refreshing way to start off a late August supper. I had the salmon filet with jalapeno polenta, and it, too, was perfect. The flavors were fresh and new. My friend tried the chicken-fried filet mignon with a bacon cheddar yukon mashed potatoes. Believe it or not, it was filet mignon, cooked as a chicken-fried steak! She said it was great.

Service was very attentive, but not intrusive. It was also a very busy night for them.

My only complaint was the music. I think they are trying to reach out to a younger crowd, because the music just didn't fit the architecture, the food, or the experience. At one point it was too loud, but they realized it and remedied the situation. (What kind of music would I choose? Maybe smooth jazz - though if it were just me it would be chamber music - definitely not a younger vibe! LOL)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful -

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

This is an old favorite / for romantic dinner , comfortable bar,excellent food and exceptional service / it is wonderful every single time without exception

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.