Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About La Colombe d'Or

Welcome to La Colombe d’Or Hotel, Restaurant, and Art Gallery. An award-winning restaurant, La Colombe d'Or specializes in modern European cuisine. A Texas twist on wild game and exotic dishes make this a truly unique dining experience. We look forward to serving you! Bon Appétit!

3410 Montrose Blvd
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harold / Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7999

Website:
http://www.lacolombedor.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available.

Executive Chef:
Victor Pena

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Gates: (713) 524-7999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Online dinner reservations will be served in the foyer in Le Grand Salon (not the main dining room) due to a private event. Any questions please call La Colombe D'or.

La Colombe d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Historic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Private Room (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

we were celebrated our anniversary with dinner. we had celebrated an evening many years ago as well. we were not disappointed at all. the food was great and perfectly cooked to our taste. The waiter knew when to approach our table and when not to. The best!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

We went in at 6pm and we were the only ones in the restaurant for the two hours we were there I think the ship has sailed and we missed the boat wish I had tried it 10 years ago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Superb experience all around! We were warmly welcomed, exquisitely served and cared for and the food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My wife and I visited based on a recommendation from a business associate. The food, service, ambiance & setting were fantastic. Mario & Pedro provided great service & really helped to make it a very romantic evening. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

always enjoy La Colombe d"Or and this evening was one of the finest. Please go, spoil yourself and enjoy fine dining and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I went for Valentine's day and it was fantastic. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fabulous experience my wife and I loved every minute of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I made a reservation at La Colombe d'Or for my husband's 50th birthday. Our two children came in from college that evening and the four of us went together. They knew who we were when we arrived and we were seated quickly. The best part of the night was our server, Ascenci'on. After we were done with our meal, he took us on a tour of the hotel's empty rooms, art work, kitchen and ballroom. It was a very memorable evening and we'd do it again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was average for nice Houston dining, but the service was EXCELLENT. We were warmly greeted and seated promptly. Our waiter was by far one of the best we have had anywhere. He was professional and welcoming. He even cut our daughter's steak for her so we could stay seated. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want to be pampered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My wife and I are relocating to Houston for work ( Energy Industry ) and were recently in town looking for real estate ahead of our move. This trip fell over my birthday and we were surprised by my mother with an evening at La Colombe D'or as a remote birthday gift - and what a great experience.

Now reviews to me are only useful when I can relate to the person reviewing. I've been to some of the best restaurants/hotels in the world, and am always surprised to see reviews that seem so polar opposite to the feedback I would have for others so lets start with the fact that I am 38, my wife is 30 and we've travelled to, and eaten at at 6, 3-star Michelin restaurants around the world in the past few years, just for the dining experience. That should say enough for those trying to understand our experiences/expectations. This restaurant was on the main floor of what had to be the most unique set-up I've seen. The building must be a historic landmark because it's nestled between two new modern apartment complexes and it felt like we were walking into old Texas - but in a good way. We walked in to what felt like a hotel front desk ( we only found out after that it actually a hotel as well ) with a beautiful old bar to the right, and a dining room to the left. The front desk person, doubled as our waiter and bartender for the evening, which felt great, but I would expect that would be hard to maintain if it was very busy. The dining room was small but stunning, and would rival a great Robuchon room, but with a touch of old money Houston. The wine list was great, the champagne selection was extensive and the food was outstanding - even the Fois Gras, which I never thought I'd see prepared well in Houston. Overall, the night was great and I expect to be back as it felt perfect for bringing a client to a nice lunch, or dinner. Now I haven't yet seen what else Houston has to offer, but if you have high expectations for your dining experience, this place won't disappoint.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Lovely and quaint. Old and traditional. Food was very well prepared and service was also admirable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was great except service. Wait staff was nice, but very inattentive. At this level of dining it is expected that wait staff are more aware of when drinks need refilling, time to move to next course without being promoted or flagged down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A fabulous Thanksgiving dining!
With only 10 tables available, the exquisite service and delectable meal amongst wonderful art is memorable for us year after year. Sorry, we've never had the Turkey on Thanksgiving, but the huge portion of Lamb chops was unforgettable. There enjoyed the Snapper and ALL shared the delightfully "light" bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful anniversary evening. We stayed at the hotel as well. Beautiful old mansion, great personal service, flavorful food. Foie Gras and escargot were great starters. My rack of lamb and my wife's chateaubriand were scrumptious.

We went on a Wednesday night and were the only customers so that was odd....kind of nice, but odd.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

small bar, well stocked but too bright; did not have the intimate feel a bar of its size should have. Dining room was simple, sophisticated and quiet. Service was excellent.
food was good but a bit pricey.
very quiet for a Saturday night

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for our anniversary. We were promptly greeted and seated. The service was good but not great. we had champagne and wine by the glass: prices seemed reasonable. But - the food was disappointing, expensive and disappointing. My wife had scallops - very ordinary. I had the goat - presented as a strange conical mold of shredded meat.

The meal was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants for food, service, special dinners. Consistent quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love La Colombe d'Or. The Chilean Sea Bass, when on the menu, is incredible. Do not miss the lobster bisque. The red snapper was recently a little dry and overcooked, but not bad, and the vegetables that came with it were very good. We were too stuffed to have desert, but, because it was our anniversary, they brought us a small flourless chocolate cake and scoop of pistachio ice cream gratis. Both were delicious.

The restaurant and its accompanying boutique hotel are set in the historic Fondren mansion and are wonderfully appointed with original works of art; the third floor of the building is, in fact, an art gallery.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great for a quiet romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We felt at home! It is a beautiful old house very well renovated, very elegant and full of pieces of art. This is a place to go to really feel the Houston from the last century with the delishous food of today.
Dont forget to ask for the chocolate dessert it is a dream! The champagne from the house is espectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great venue. Interesting building. Tour of art gallery really interesting.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Due to the hype about this restaurant, my expectations were high, but honestly, I was a little disappointed. Don't get me wrong, the food is very good, but I was not impressed with their appetizers (escargot and lobster bisque). The entree clearly made up for it, but the wine list and temperature of the Reds is off. Overall, not a bad experience, service as attentive, but it's just a good place to eat, not something that is a stand out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A beautiful setting,excellent food and service -what more could anyone ask ?
Prices are a bit high for us on the regular basis,but great for special occasions or restaurant week.we appreciate their participation in that annual event.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Attended Cinq with my husband for Houston Restaurant Weeks. I ordered the stuffed tomato, scallops, and creme brulee for the first, second, and third course, respectfully. My husband ordered the escargot, demi-glace filet mignon, and creme brulee. From what we ordered, I believe only the escargot and the creme brulee are part of the regular menu offerings.

Overall the food was solid and enjoyable. By far the escargots a la bourguignonne was the star. The texture was perfect, and the garlic and parsley butter tasted wonderful. The stuffed tomato was mediocre. There was nothing particularly wrong with the tomato, in fact, the tomato was firm, the spinach ample, and the cheese properly melted, however, for this caliber restaurant, I found the offering to be unexciting.

For the main course, the demi-glace filet mignon was good. The meat was well portioned, warm, and tender. The demi-glace was a little thick, but not too troublesome. The accompanying brussel sprouts and bacon was firm and seasoned well. The presentation of the mashed potatoes likely biased my opinion of the taste. The visually un-appealing mound appeared to be scooped from a very shallow ice cream scoop. The texture was smooth, but lacked any memorable qualities on the palate.

I was presented with three jumbo scallops in a white wine reduction with mushrooms. The scallops were well portioned, firm, with a fine texture. The white wine reduction offered a gentle pleasing tanginess. I believe the dish had oyster mushrooms, which were flavorful.

For our dessert course, the creme brulee was excellent. The custard was sweet, and the caramel top nicely crisped; exactly how a well-executed creme brulee should look and taste.

The service was very good, the server took quite a bit of time to attend to us when it was time to settle the bill. That was surprising, considering the restaurant was near empty. Regardless, he was helpful, funny, professional, and engaging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent dining choice for Houston Restaurant Weeks. Great food and presentation, Outstanding service and interesting history of restaurant / hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The gazpacho was fantastic. The creme brûlée was to die for.
The steak was well prepared. The only issue was the raw Brussel sprouts. I'm not into raw cabbages

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food delicious. Ambience was lovely. We picked a quiet day so noise level was low. Service excellent. Hadn't been there in many years. We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great flavored staff was fun and interesting. Venue was classic and upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Seated in a glass enclosed patio with good views and only one other table. The food, service and ambience were excellent. The menu had entrées which I consider over priced but the restaurant week menu had excellent choices at a reasonable price. The desserts were exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a very nice dinner from the Houston Restaurant Week menu. Great historic building atmosphere. The Owner came over to chat with us for a few minutes, which was fun.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service and ambience and a lovely place to take photos of my guests.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Cinq is so quiet and romantic. The service makes you feel very special. I had the duck, and it was cooked to perfection. Cinq is not cheap, but you definitely get your money's worth. We had a very sweet, memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have been here a few times before and the food and service have always been exceptional. The prices, however, are higher than similar restaurants in Houston. We came for Restaurant Week which is a great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. All 3 in our party had the filet. Very tender and perfectly cooked. 2 of us had the bread pudding which was among the best I've had. Our waiter was outstanding and helped make the evening an enjoyable one. I love not only the restaurant but the whole place. Rooms, gallery, lounge, etc. are all special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Attentive service and very good food for a quiet business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent ladies lunch with some friends. We ordered from the HRW menu and we were all very pleased with not only the food but also the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Drove by many times and never thought to stop. Saw it on the HRW list and decided to give it a try. Definitely will be back. My new favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of Houston's best and often overlooked. Good for meetings too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The servers were nice. The food was good. The window sheers were torn, the decor aged and worn. The owner blatantly ignored us until it was just too obvious to do so any longer. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.