About La Colombe d'Or

3410 Montrose Blvd
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Welcome to La Colombe d’Or Hotel, Restaurant, and Art Gallery. An award-winning restaurant, La Colombe d'Or specializes in modern European cuisine. A Texas twist on wild game and exotic dishes make this a truly unique dining experience. We look forward to serving you! Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harold / Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7999

Website:
http://www.lacolombedor.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available.

Executive Chef:
Victor Pena

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Gates: 7135247999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Online dinner reservations will be served in the foyer in Le Grand Salon (not the main dining room) due to a private event. Any questions please call La Colombe D'or.

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Prosciutto - La Colombe d'Or, Houston, TX
  • Taittinger Comtes De Champagne Blanc De Blancs - La Colombe d'Or, Houston, TX
Duck Prosciutto - La Colombe d'Or, Houston, TX
Taittinger Comtes De Champagne Blanc De Blancs - La Colombe d'Or, Houston, TX

La Colombe d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Romantic (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A fabulous Thanksgiving dining! With onl ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A fabulous Thanksgiving dining!

With only 10 tables available, the exquisite service and delectable meal amongst wonderful art is memorable for us year after year. Sorry, we've never had the Turkey on Thanksgiving, but the huge portion of Lamb chops was unforgettable. There enjoyed the Snapper and ALL shared the delightfully "light" bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful anniversary evening. We staye ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful anniversary evening. We stayed at the hotel as well. Beautiful old mansion, great personal service, flavorful food. Foie Gras and escargot were great starters. My rack of lamb and my wife's chateaubriand were scrumptious.

We went on a Wednesday night and were the only customers so that was odd....kind of nice, but odd.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

small bar, well stocked but too bright; ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

small bar, well stocked but too bright; did not have the intimate feel a bar of its size should have. Dining room was simple, sophisticated and quiet. Service was excellent.

food was good but a bit pricey.

very quiet for a Saturday night

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for our anniversary. We were prompt ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went for our anniversary. We were promptly greeted and seated. The service was good but not great. we had champagne and wine by the glass: prices seemed reasonable. But - the food was disappointing, expensive and disappointing. My wife had scallops - very ordinary. I had the goat - presented as a strange conical mold of shredded meat.

The meal was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

One of my favorite restaurants for food, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants for food, service, special dinners. Consistent quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love La Colombe d'Or. The Chilean Se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We love La Colombe d'Or. The Chilean Sea Bass, when on the menu, is incredible. Do not miss the lobster bisque. The red snapper was recently a little dry and overcooked, but not bad, and the vegetables that came with it were very good. We were too stuffed to have desert, but, because it was our anniversary, they brought us a small flourless chocolate cake and scoop of pistachio ice cream gratis. Both were delicious.

The restaurant and its accompanying boutique hotel are set in the historic Fondren mansion and are wonderfully appointed with original works of art; the third floor of the building is, in fact, an art gallery.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a quiet romantic dinner.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great for a quiet romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We felt at home! It is a beautiful old h ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We felt at home! It is a beautiful old house very well renovated, very elegant and full of pieces of art. This is a place to go to really feel the Houston from the last century with the delishous food of today.

Dont forget to ask for the chocolate dessert it is a dream! The champagne from the house is espectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great venue. Interesting building. Tour ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great venue. Interesting building. Tour of art gallery really interesting.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Due to the hype about this restaurant, m ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Due to the hype about this restaurant, my expectations were high, but honestly, I was a little disappointed. Don't get me wrong, the food is very good, but I was not impressed with their appetizers (escargot and lobster bisque). The entree clearly made up for it, but the wine list and temperature of the Reds is off. Overall, not a bad experience, service as attentive, but it's just a good place to eat, not something that is a stand out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A beautiful setting,excellent food and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A beautiful setting,excellent food and service -what more could anyone ask ?

Prices are a bit high for us on the regular basis,but great for special occasions or restaurant week.we appreciate their participation in that annual event.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attended Cinq with my husband for Housto ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Attended Cinq with my husband for Houston Restaurant Weeks. I ordered the stuffed tomato, scallops, and creme brulee for the first, second, and third course, respectfully. My husband ordered the escargot, demi-glace filet mignon, and creme brulee. From what we ordered, I believe only the escargot and the creme brulee are part of the regular menu offerings.

Overall the food was solid and enjoyable. By far the escargots a la bourguignonne was the star. The texture was perfect, and the garlic and parsley butter tasted wonderful. The stuffed tomato was mediocre. There was nothing particularly wrong with the tomato, in fact, the tomato was firm, the spinach ample, and the cheese properly melted, however, for this caliber restaurant, I found the offering to be unexciting.

For the main course, the demi-glace filet mignon was good. The meat was well portioned, warm, and tender. The demi-glace was a little thick, but not too troublesome. The accompanying brussel sprouts and bacon was firm and seasoned well. The presentation of the mashed potatoes likely biased my opinion of the taste. The visually un-appealing mound appeared to be scooped from a very shallow ice cream scoop. The texture was smooth, but lacked any memorable qualities on the palate.

I was presented with three jumbo scallops in a white wine reduction with mushrooms. The scallops were well portioned, firm, with a fine texture. The white wine reduction offered a gentle pleasing tanginess. I believe the dish had oyster mushrooms, which were flavorful.

For our dessert course, the creme brulee was excellent. The custard was sweet, and the caramel top nicely crisped; exactly how a well-executed creme brulee should look and taste.

The service was very good, the server took quite a bit of time to attend to us when it was time to settle the bill. That was surprising, considering the restaurant was near empty. Regardless, he was helpful, funny, professional, and engaging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dining choice for Houston Rest ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent dining choice for Houston Restaurant Weeks. Great food and presentation, Outstanding service and interesting history of restaurant / hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gazpacho was fantastic. The creme br ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The gazpacho was fantastic. The creme brûlée was to die for.

The steak was well prepared. The only issue was the raw Brussel sprouts. I'm not into raw cabbages

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food delicious. Ambience was lovely. We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food delicious. Ambience was lovely. We picked a quiet day so noise level was low. Service excellent. Hadn't been there in many years. We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great flavored staff was fun and interes ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great flavored staff was fun and interesting. Venue was classic and upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Went for restaurant week. Seated in a gl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Seated in a glass enclosed patio with good views and only one other table. The food, service and ambience were excellent. The menu had entrées which I consider over priced but the restaurant week menu had excellent choices at a reasonable price. The desserts were exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very nice dinner from the Houst ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a very nice dinner from the Houston Restaurant Week menu. Great historic building atmosphere. The Owner came over to chat with us for a few minutes, which was fun.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambience and a lov ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent service and ambience and a lovely place to take photos of my guests.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here a few times before and th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have been here a few times before and the food and service have always been exceptional. The prices, however, are higher than similar restaurants in Houston. We came for Restaurant Week which is a great value.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our wedding anniversary. Cin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary. Cinq is so quiet and romantic. The service makes you feel very special. I had the duck, and it was cooked to perfection. Cinq is not cheap, but you definitely get your money's worth. We had a very sweet, memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week me ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. All 3 in our party had the filet. Very tender and perfectly cooked. 2 of us had the bread pudding which was among the best I've had. Our waiter was outstanding and helped make the evening an enjoyable one. I love not only the restaurant but the whole place. Rooms, gallery, lounge, etc. are all special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service and very good food for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Attentive service and very good food for a quiet business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ladies lunch with some friends ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent ladies lunch with some friends. We ordered from the HRW menu and we were all very pleased with not only the food but also the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Dr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Drove by many times and never thought to stop. Saw it on the HRW list and decided to give it a try. Definitely will be back. My new favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Houston's best and often overlook ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of Houston's best and often overlooked. Good for meetings too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were nice. The food was good ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The servers were nice. The food was good. The window sheers were torn, the decor aged and worn. The owner blatantly ignored us until it was just too obvious to do so any longer. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always have a great experience here! Bee ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always have a great experience here! Been coming for several years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and first class service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and first class service. They made our special occasion fantastic! Art Gallery is spectacular

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal. We go out a lot and haven ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fabulous meal. We go out a lot and haven't been here for awhile, but extremely excellent. One of the best around. Great setting. Service superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Colombe d’Or is a boutique hotel whic ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 9, 2016

La Colombe d’Or is a boutique hotel which houses a rather exclusive fine dining restaurant. Being the romantic type, I had a half dozen red roses waiting at our table which greeted us as we were seated. Deborah and I were treated to not only a sumptuous meal set in a grand dining room but the service provided by Ascencion was beyond reproach. The manager was gracious as well as he met us at the door. Because Houstonites tend to avoid fancy meals during the hottest days, we had the place to ourselves. We began our meal with a shared lump crab appetizer which was followed by grilled sea bass for my Honey, and I enjoyed roast rack of lamb. The dessert sampler is not to be missed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is a beautiful mansion from ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The location is a beautiful mansion from early 1900's. Exceptional staff, actual silver dining utensils, delicious food, art gallery and very romantic. A fantastic place to visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please write a review that is at least 5 ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Please write a review that is at least 50 characters in length.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service at this iconic restaurant were excellent. However, there was a fairly limited menu for Mother's Day. Ambience was very quiet. Probably a better venue for older adults, although our college and high school age kids enjoyed the food. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions, in particular. It is pricey, though, but that's fine when you get excellent food and service as we had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house set the scene for a magnificent meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Easter Brunch

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter lunch here and had to eat in the back ballroom area due to a function in the main restaurant. It was very nice and private and the food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great sides & desert. Wait staff was top notch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was great except my husbands lamb. More like mutton instead of a young lamb. Everything else was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful meal with great service, wine and food. A beautiful setting for a romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service, Remarkable Fod

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Seated immediately upon arrival. Service was just the right amount-no hovering and no empty glasses. Each course was served in a timely fashion. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The restaurant is lovely too. You should make this a priority on your list of restaurants to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dead on a Friday night

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very strange evening. This was for my wife's birthday and it was a little odd. When we arrived for our 7pm Friday night reservations we thought the place was closed. Pulling up front we could see the valet sitting on the deck and he came out. When we entered and wanted to have a pre dinner cocktail we went to the bar, only to find we were the only ones there, both the bar and the restaurant??? While we had a cocktail one other couple came in and sat in the dinning room. We moved to the dinning room and had our meal. The service was great and very attentive...what you would expect with only two tables to handle! The food was ok. The crab tower was very good, the house salad dressing was too sour and my wife had to send it back. I ordered the chicken fried filet...it was good, but I doubt it was a filet based on the texture and quality of the meat. The dessert sampler was very good, especially the bread pudding! Two other tables came in during our evening. All in all is was ok, not sure I would go back seeing how there are many other great spots in Houston. We have both eaten here many times in the past, but it has been some years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.