About La Colombe d'Or

3410 Montrose Blvd
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Welcome to La Colombe d’Or Hotel, Restaurant, and Art Gallery. An award-winning restaurant, La Colombe d'Or specializes in modern European cuisine. A Texas twist on wild game and exotic dishes make this a truly unique dining experience. We look forward to serving you! Bon Appétit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harold / Hawthorne

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7999

Website:
http://www.lacolombedor.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet available.

Executive Chef:
Victor Pena

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for details.

Private Party Contact:
Laura Gates: 7135247999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Online dinner reservations will be served in the foyer in Le Grand Salon (not the main dining room) due to a private event. Any questions please call La Colombe D'or.

Restaurant Photos

La Colombe d'Or Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Fit for Foodies
Houston
2 More
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

romantic (16)
special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (6)
notable wine list (6)
good for groups (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Please write a review that is at least 5 ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Please write a review that is at least 50 characters in length.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service at this iconic restaurant were excellent. However, there was a fairly limited menu for Mother's Day. Ambience was very quiet. Probably a better venue for older adults, although our college and high school age kids enjoyed the food. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions, in particular. It is pricey, though, but that's fine when you get excellent food and service as we had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere in a historic house set the scene for a magnificent meal with great service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter lunch here and had to eat in the back ballroom area due to a function in the main restaurant. It was very nice and private and the food and service was excellent.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great sides & desert. Wait staff was top notch

Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was great except my husbands lamb. More like mutton instead of a young lamb. Everything else was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful meal with great service, wine and food. A beautiful setting for a romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable Service, Remarkable Fod

Dined on February 28, 2016

Seated immediately upon arrival. Service was just the right amount-no hovering and no empty glasses. Each course was served in a timely fashion. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The restaurant is lovely too. You should make this a priority on your list of restaurants to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dead on a Friday night

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Very strange evening. This was for my wife's birthday and it was a little odd. When we arrived for our 7pm Friday night reservations we thought the place was closed. Pulling up front we could see the valet sitting on the deck and he came out. When we entered and wanted to have a pre dinner cocktail we went to the bar, only to find we were the only ones there, both the bar and the restaurant??? While we had a cocktail one other couple came in and sat in the dinning room. We moved to the dinning room and had our meal. The service was great and very attentive...what you would expect with only two tables to handle! The food was ok. The crab tower was very good, the house salad dressing was too sour and my wife had to send it back. I ordered the chicken fried filet...it was good, but I doubt it was a filet based on the texture and quality of the meat. The dessert sampler was very good, especially the bread pudding! Two other tables came in during our evening. All in all is was ok, not sure I would go back seeing how there are many other great spots in Houston. We have both eaten here many times in the past, but it has been some years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The nicest Valentine's dinner ever

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had not been to La Colombe d'Or for a very long time. It was my husband's idea and it worked out just beautifully. It is very quiet, very romantic, has great service and on top of that our food was just delicious. We shared the rack of lamb and each had a salad and my husband also had French onion soup. What a wonderful Valentine's dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was awesome. Lead waiter was fantastic.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Support staff was pretty clueless and we got stuck at little portico table. First timers so antennae didn't go up. Decent time tho. Really enjoyed the historical tribute and blatant oil industry ties.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It doesn't get any better than this!

Dined on February 9, 2016

It doesn't get any better than this!

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

La Columbe D'or

Dined on January 30, 2016

Extremely overpriced but very delicious. Attentive service but we were service a dessert wine with our Foie Gras that had turned. After letting our waiter know, it was replaced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on January 24, 2016

First visit was a treat. Arrived a bit early and we were seated right away. Great staff and wonderful ambiance. Food was great and the portions we large. Everything was as promised. We will go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Place in Houston

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was the best I ever had, the staff was incredibly nice and service was impeccable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

special occasions, nothing beats La Colombe D'Or

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We got married here and had to celebrate my birthday here. start with cocktails then do dinner then hit the library for desert. you will feel great about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Review

Dined on November 14, 2015

Generally slow bar service. Table service was great. Food quality was average at best. Great place for a relaxing quiet dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

The service was excellent and the food was really good. You get a lot of food for the price. It was relatively quiet and the ambiance was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Quiet Lunch!

Dined on November 2, 2015

My husband and I had a superb lunch at the Cinq Restaurant. The food, service and surroundings were all wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our server and the other attendants were spectacular. I was disappointed by the flavor of the food. All was brilliantly presented, there just was a noticeable lack of love from the dishes, except for the desserts.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy Anniversary

Dined on September 2, 2015

My husband and I went back to celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary at the place we got married. The food was spectacular, and the service was warm and very attentive. All around fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

a bit tired . . .

Dined on September 2, 2015

An early reservation for Dinner for four. In an empty dining room - there were only three 4-top tables. Two of them were directly in front of A/C grills, blowing out cold air. The third was literally in front of the entrance door to the dining room. (We took it anyway, in order to not be blown upon by the A/C.) While our service was very attentive, our drink order was not correct. One of our group specifically questioned the waiter about items on the menu that might be gluten free. The diner chose one upon the assurances from the waiter that it was gluten-free. Of course - it came to the table and was indeed not gluten-free. (Gluten was in the sauce.). Except for that issue (which was quickly remedied, the food was quite good. The ambiance, though, was akin to eating in someone's grandmother's dining room. It may have been fashionable 40 years ago but the same cannot be said now. The chairs and tables were unexceptional, the lighting was bland and indistinctive. Also - there was a large party meeting in the next room (visible through glass doors immediately adjacent to our table.) They had the chandelier in the room turned up "full-blast" so it was "in our face," so to speak. Plus I had to look at a group of 20+ people carrying on some meeting. The coup de graçe was that, at the age of SIXTY, I was the second youngest person in the room when we left. Obviously, this is not a "trendy" or "vibrant" place to dine.

food4
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining with Attentive Service

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

My husband and I enjoy coming here often for a glass of wine and to sit on the front porch. Dinner was enjoyable with attentive service in beautiful surroundings. The only negative aspect was the meal I had planned to order was not on their menu even though it was listed online as being served for both lunch and dinner. The waitress did her best to accomodate my request, but I ended up having to order something not desired. Otherwise, the food, service, and ambience were all very good.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Houston Restaurant Week at Cinq

Dined on August 29, 2015

I've always wanted to try this place, but always afraid of the price. When a friend and I decided to take advantage of Houston Restaurant Weeks (and benefit the Houston Food Bank), we also decided that this would be the perfect time to visit Cinq at La Colombe d'Or. Obviously, we had a limited menu from which to choose, but everything was good. A simple watermelon salad with feta and basil was a perfect refreshing way to start off a late August supper. I had the salmon filet with jalapeno polenta, and it, too, was perfect. The flavors were fresh and new. My friend tried the chicken-fried filet mignon with a bacon cheddar yukon mashed potatoes. Believe it or not, it was filet mignon, cooked as a chicken-fried steak! She said it was great. Service was very attentive, but not intrusive. It was also a very busy night for them. My only complaint was the music. I think they are trying to reach out to a younger crowd, because the music just didn't fit the architecture, the food, or the experience. At one point it was too loud, but they realized it and remedied the situation. (What kind of music would I choose? Maybe smooth jazz - though if it were just me it would be chamber music - definitely not a younger vibe! LOL)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful -

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

This is an old favorite / for romantic dinner , comfortable bar,excellent food and exceptional service / it is wonderful every single time without exception

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

It was alright, great food

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

The food itself was above average, served at a good temperature and very carefully. Our waiters were good, as well as professional, but not very timely. Not their fault, they were serving two other weddings, perhaps the restaurant should close to outside diners when they are this busy to provide a more timely experience to the diners. The food courses were all prepared wonderfully, fresh, delicious, and artistically. The meal was not thrown together which is what you may sometimes experience when chefs are in a rush. The venue itself was romantic, but old. It was a bit musty, but that may be expected when it has been in business for so long. For a French restaurant, I expected to see more french fare on the menu, but it was mostly Italian items. Apart from the escargot, I couldn't recall one French item. They didn't even serve Souffle. If you would like a nice Italian meal in a romantic setting, this is your place. However, if you are looking for traditional French fare that matches the pricing on the meals, I would look for another venue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Average

Dined on August 9, 2015

We had 3 of the dishes off the restaurant weeks menu. Of the appetizers, the onion soup was sweet, for some reason. The escargot were only ok, not the best I've ever had. Of the entrees, the chicken fried filet was good, not great. It was pounded really thin. The salmon was good, but the jalapeno polenta under it was not very flavorful ( I couldn't really taste the heat from the jalapenos), and the texture was not good. I had the bread pudding for dessert, which was dry and heavy, practically no sauce at all. The creme brulees the others had were pretty undercooked, more like pudding. I'm hoping this was just a bad day for them. The service, however, was the high point. They were there when they should have been, the water glasses were kept full, and they noticed when our drinks were running low.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant setting. Fabulous food I will de ...

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

Elegant setting. Fabulous food I will definitely be back But very expensive. Special occasions only unless Houston Restaurant Week

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful venue,fabulous food,can't wait to return

Dined on June 12, 2015

Each of the dining rooms are lovely, the staff is outgoing and knowledgeable and the food was incredible . We toured the hotel rooms and the art gallery on the third floor. We met Steve Zimmerman and he is a delight. This historic home is a must see. It is just beautiful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

reason for reservations

Dined on March 24, 2015

came here after researching on line top restaurants in Houston, was looking for a special place to bring my wife for a special birthday dining experience, not just a dinner. have been to other very nice restaurants in town so wanted some place new. This place was perfect!! food was very good with a nice presentation, the service was excellent, ambiance subdued and it was quiet enough that we could carry on a conversation with low voices. Made for a very special evening for her.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprised

Dined on February 22, 2015

It had been years since going to LaColombe d'Or. It was a wonderful surprise. Our dining experience was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

mickthomas09

Dined on February 17, 2015

Sets standards where other restaurants can never acheive. A tour de force, like a great novel or movie it will change you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

While the ambiance and service were grea ...

Dined on February 15, 2015

While the ambiance and service were great, the food was not very good. The wine list did not offer many options for a particular wine either (only one for my choice, a Pino Noir). However, because it was very romantic and quiet, it worked for a Valentine's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

Outstanding for Valentine day dinner, good food, great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service2

Glory days are way in the past.

Dined on February 14, 2015

Having dinner at La Colombe D'Or makes you take a trip through your own memory lane trying to remember where you were and what you did during this establishment's golden days because these golden days are long gone and I do not see them coming back in a long time. I thought La Colombe D'Or was a French restaurant but it has a handful of customer-friendly French dishes in order to appeal to a large audience with the remaining of the dishes in the menu being more of a Gulf/Southern restaurant than a French one. If you think that the dull menu can be offset by the quality of the food you are completely wrong. The crab tower was dry, the jam garnishing the foie gras tasted like Smuckers, the lamb rack was passable, and so was the shrimp. The desserts were also passable but not something to remember. Service was polite but average at best and lacks customer awareness. For example, it took a while to get noticed and be served the bread and the water despite the restaurant being half empty. After my visit to La Colombe D'Or I can't stop remembering Bruce Springsteen's song "Glory Days" because this is what has happened to La Colombe D'Or. One of Houston's finest back in the days which is looking back at its past glory wondering why it can't be like it was before where people probably queued to eat there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely.

Dined on January 27, 2015

Food is wonderful and there is a complete absence of annoying music, a great relief! Service is always attentive, and the place itself is just beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

we enjoyed our visit and the food/servic ...

Dined on January 27, 2015

we enjoyed our visit and the food/service were excellent.

food1
ambience5
service4

Too pricey for the quality

Dined on January 17, 2015

The food was simply not that great for the extraordinarily high prices. The heirloom tomatoes in the caprese salad were not ripe - hard and tasteless. The ribeye was rather tough ... etc... etc... the food was extremely unremarkable and very disappointing. At the same time the ambiance was lovely. Won't be going back unless its for a late night drink in the cozy bar.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Fantastic

Dined on January 15, 2015

Every aspect of this place was fantastic. They clearly understand great food and great service. Also, the art their is incredible. They have gallery you can tour but the art in the dining area is super as well. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a birthday lunch during holidays

Dined on December 19, 2014

From the ambience to the service to the food ~ everything was exquisite. Charming atmosphere ~ delightful for a quiet, private lunch. Would highly recommend the experience to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

special occassion

Dined on December 4, 2014

just plain quiet and romantic if that is what you are going too.. spent a fortune, I think this place is over-rated, the best i had was escargot - perfect for your palate and your bread :) Busboy is very attentive with our refreshements but our server is there to get our order and serve them which i did not mind as we are there for our ocassion. Need to polish more on creativeness. i booked this restaurant for our wedding anniversary and i made sure they are aware. we came and i spoke to the person who greeted us and it seems like he does not know why we are there, did not even check on their reservation list, i think they do not have any. We finished our meal with cheese and dessert and as a regular customer, it is served as ease. Special touches are really appreciated like Brennans.

Tags: romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.