About La Cocina International Restaurant

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have been here many times but generally with a party of six or more. Tonight was a 'date night' with just the two of us. The reservation was honored promptly and we ordered a bottle of wine from their list. Our selected appetizers were served at the appropriate time and followed with entrees pleasantly spaced to allow conversation and a relaxed feeling. AS ALWAYS, the presentation was superb and the meals were delicious. The dining room was not overcrowded and the noise level certainly acceptable. Our server was pleasant, sharp, and professional. What is there not to like about such a great experience?

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great! Atmosphere was awesome. A very enjoyable night with friends to relax and enjoy a great meal. Service was fantastic. Looking forward to trying there breakfasts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Interesting, we were able to take our own wine with no corking fee that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had high expectations for one of the best rated restaurants in St. Augustine. We had a hard time getting reservations because of its popularity.The wine list is good-we had the pinot noir; the baked brie was excellent, the portobello carpaccio was also very goodThe tilefish special was reported overcooked, the ribeye steaks were sent back for reheating-arrived very rare. The paella was delicious, but small for that dish, with shrimp at 30-40 size, not meeting expectations. Prices for entries were not as high as expected, so the value was good for the quality. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really enjoyed the decor, food and service. A real surprise....will be definitely coming again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Service was slow. Seated for 15 min before we could persuade anyone to take our order.
Lobster bisque was good, also Filet Mignon, but ribeye was a bit tough. Mains took a long time to arrive - 60 min from ordering, so don't come here if you are short on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The internationally inspired menu at La Cochina means there is something for everyone, though it is certainly not a steak house. My husband enjoyed his rack of lamb and I loved my flounder , topped with shrimp and a fabulous sauce. When we are in St Augustine again, we will return !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our first visit, I started with the ceviche which I felt was a little too sour in taste. My wife had the paella for main and I had the scallops which we both enjoyed but did not feel it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went here after a matinee from A Classic Theatre. Excellent food preparation and nice sized portions. Intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful Valentines dinner! We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall experience was great
Bleu cheese vinagerette dressing was one of the best I had

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

SEA BASS PRICE OF $45 A BIT HIGH. SEA FOOD IN PASTA WAS FLOATING IN SAUCE, AND VERY LITTLE SEAFOOD, 95% PASTA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was a pleasant experience, lovely little tucked away gem in the heart of a beach-going surfer district. Nicely decorated with innovative curtains strategically placed between wall tables to create intimacy and quiet. We were disheartened to learn that the oft-raved about, recommended lobster ravioli was not available, but lobster bisque was excellent. Uncertainty about explanation about the availability of lobster was questionable. On a somewhat sour note, the waiter, as pleasant as he was was of very little help when choosing a wine. Red or White is not quite the level of advice one would expect at such a mid-upscale restaurant, and finally we had to get up from the table once, or ask another server to fetch our waiter for service and check. Still overall a cosy spot which we we try again when the lobsters warm up.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We are regulars. Even with the menu change the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One of my favorite. Always top notch, from service to food. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was excellent! Would go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of our favorite St. Augustine restaurants, and we have a bunch of excellent ones!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I enjoyed this restaurant, however, was a bit disappointed in their service and it was not our waiter, as I believe he was wonderful, however, we could see that he was dealing with many tables and some rather large parties. In addition, I found it rather warm and couldn't wait to leave to feel cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. It was a birthday luncheon for our neighbor. The food was excellent and the waitress was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

dining for special occasions. Seafood dishes well done and large amount. Service 5 stars.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice place . Great Food and friendly service a liitle slow in food coming out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic, we will definitely be going back

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food. GreT price. Quit. Nice atmosphere. Would return against but have been several times before.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Made a reservation for New Year's Eve not knowing what the menu would be. Very pleasantly surprised with the food and service. Can't wait to go back again. Shout out to Javier!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just excellent! Again, just excellent!. Muy bueno!. Excelente!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Celebrating my 62th birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We've eaten here many times and are usually quite pleased, but this time something was really off with the service. An entree did not come out timely (it took a full fifteen extra minutes after the rest of us were served) and our server was unconcerned. Drinks went unrefilled and plates were not cleared. In fact, our server completely disappeared at one point and we had to ask another server to help us, at which point that server offered us a slice of cake as an apology. On a $250 tab. Too many other dining choices in St. Augustine to put up with this. We probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

What a find! Located at the beach in a motel . I must say this is certainly not a typical beach hotel dining room. This is gourmet food beautifully presented and served. The service was outstanding and the menu prices reasonable. I look forward to returning if and or when I am in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Would go back in a heartbeat. Definitely a great spot for a special occasion. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was friendly and very professional. Hats off, La Cocina!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner and as usual, it far exceeded our expectations. Wonderful food, great experience overall. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice atmosphere albeit you can tell the place has only been updated superficially. It could stand to be redone. The wait staff are all nice and know their products. The food was so good! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, great service...we had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful good and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have been going here for several years and it is always wonderful. The food is always perfect and beautifully presented. The service is also terrific and our waiter, Jorge is the best.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Best consistent food in St Augustine. We all love the food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have enjoyed the experience many times and the food, service and ambiance are always beyond our expectations. The staff is on top of everything to the point of bringing a special dessert for the special occasion. For those of you whom write about the decor I would hope you would have better sense. The theme is early Med., hense the metal etc. One of the best restaurants in St. Augustine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was great, the service was impeccable and the fireplace lent a warm glow to the lovely dining ambience. It was my daughter 's birthday, and she was appreciative and delighted. Though a bit more expensive, it was worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was exceptional; delicious and beautifully presented. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was good...but i am allergic to most shell fish so have to be careful and all fish had crab or scallops or shrimp with it. Ate meat

The service was excellent...

The Decor a bit dated

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very helpful staff and good, varied menu choices. Food was tasty, served hot and not excessive potion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.