About La Cocina International Restaurant

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
13 More
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (58)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Romantic (42)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Lunch (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were excellent as a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at La Coc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first time dining at La Cocina. I chose the restaurant based on the pages and pages of great reviews over a nice long timeline. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. Our waitress was very attentive but not obtrusive. I would have rated the food as exceptional but I ordered a pastry encrusted baked brie appetizer and although tasty, the brie was not warm or even close to being melted inside. That being said, it did not put a damper on lunch.There were 3 of us and we all ordered something different. The soup of the day, cream of beef with gorgonzola was delicious. We all enjoyed our entrees. We also ordered a nice bottle of Rose`champagne that was moderately priced and delicious! We did not mention that we were celebrating my birthday but the waitress overheard us talking about it. At the end of our meal, we all declined dessert because we were over-satiated! 5 minutes later the waitress arrived back at our table with a beautiful decorated serving of a death-by-chocolate style mousse cake, a gift from the management. There were carved strawberry flowers and the chef had eloquently piped 'Happy Birthday' above the cake in red strawberry reduction gel. It was such a nice gesture and says a lot about the manager of La Cocina.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One member of our group ordered filet mi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One member of our group ordered filet mignon. It was so tough he had to send it back. He could not even cut it with a steak knife. Fortunately, they replaced it with a much better steak. It made for an awkward dinner, however, as we had all finished by the time the replacement arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Stayed at the hotel. Ate here for breakf ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Stayed at the hotel. Ate here for breakfast and dinner. Food and service were both excellent on both occasions. I highly recommend! Look forward to traveling there again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years and i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been coming here for years and it never disappoints. The meals are excellent and so is their service. We like the variety of dishes they serve and we like how you never feel rushed. Very nice and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will be hard pressed to find a bette ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

You will be hard pressed to find a better restaurant for food quality and presentation. The chef and/or chefs take pride in their work both from a taste and presentation aspect. Eating a nice dinner inside a hotel does not seem romantic but once you enter the restaurant you can tell by the crowd and the clientele that you have found a gem. You will pay for this fine food but for special occasions you cannot beat the experience. I highly recommend your last night of vacation or a romantic evening with your significant other at this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When first arrived there was large group ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

When first arrived there was large group that was quite noisy, but noise level was great after that. Pretty inside. I had the ribeye and it was excellent. We had some local wine and it was also excellent. Overall a perfect spot to our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 2 couples celebrating wedding ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

There were 2 couples celebrating wedding anniversaries. We were given a lovely table with a pool view. Our server was Casha (from Poland). She was an excellent server. The restaurant was very accommodating with our dining requests. The food was excellent. It was a very memorable night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true find for a sophisticated ,but fri ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A true find for a sophisticated ,but friendly restaurant

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and ambiance like always. H ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome food and ambiance like always. Highly recommended. Better do reservations if you want to go there for special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were at Crescent Beach heading back t ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were at Crescent Beach heading back towards Jacksonville & wanted to stop somewhere on way for a casual lunch. Searched open table, found La Cocina and made reservation. First pleasant surprise was it was located in a very nice and new hotel. Second surprise was the lovely dining room with gorgeous spanish style decor, beautiful. Staff delightful, prompt and attentive, extremely pleasant. Biggest surprise of all was the food. Lobster bisque among the best I've ever tasted & we often visit Forbes 4 and 5 star restaurants; bisque was superb with lots of lobster and generous for "cup." I also had a Thai chicken salad that was awesome with subtle flavors, huge freshly cooked piece of chicken brest, and a wonderful huge salad. Wife had chilled zucchini soup that was great and a chicken salad served in a piece of hollowed out pineapple all wonderful. This turned out to be a terrific lunch. Can't wait to return for dinner; looked at dinner menu that looks great and very reasonable. Called our sons who often visit the area to tell them our find. From our perspective this was an awesome find. Dfeinitely will return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and a real find in St Augustine. The presentation is as nice as any restaurant you'll find and the service is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great evening. Food was very del ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was great evening. Food was very delicious and tasty. The courses were gorgeous and exquisite. Service was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu! Very good experience. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent menu!

Very good experience.

Best Sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonderful. There were people there in blazers, and some in tank tops. You can dress it up or down and still enjoy the luxury of a small intimate elegant venue. Its located in a beautiful hotel near the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anastasia Island in St Augustine. We have dined there many times over the last 10 years. Our meals have always been excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I looked at images and reviews online, i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I looked at images and reviews online, it was better than I hoped it would be. Will rank it as one of my best dining experiences from start to finish. Never rushed food was superb and our service was top notch. Going again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointing visit. I thought the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A disappointing visit. I thought the food was just OK, nothing more. The wines we had were not good! Our waiter was exceptional, very congenial and friendly. He was the bright spot there. The ambiance seemed a bit dark and maybe a bit dated. My Caesar salad was not cool and crisp but was warmer than it should be. My appetizer, the cerviche was mediocre. My entree, Paella, was non-distinctive. I wouldn't go back or recommend it. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I wo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I would highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was peti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was petite compared to other restaurants. Best osso buco. Taste was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and I have ever had!!! The service, ambiance and food were all amazing. Will recommend and be back for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dine here often when st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My husband and I dine here often when staying in St Augustine. We are always delighted with the food and service that we receive here. Along with great flavor, the presentation is always great. The red sangria is amazing. It has a touch of cinnamon that gives it a unique flavor. Once again, we were very happy with our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was deliciously prepared and ta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The meal was deliciously prepared and tasted fantastic! Impeccable service ~ from the waiter to the bus service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. Very knowledgeable, professional staff, very good wine selection, and extraordinary food. Fresh and well-prepared, with a presentation that you would expect to find in New York.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fine dining on the island.... Food is outstanding, service is excellent... Can be a bit noisy at times... Dinner can be a bit pricey but lunch and breakfast are quite reasonable..... Never had a bad meal or experience in five years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is always top notch; nev ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is always top notch; never a disappointment; prices are reasonable. I don't know of a comparable dining experience anywhere in the area, especially for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around! Best Sangria in St ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent all around!

Best Sangria in St. Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For Father's Day ( or actually the nigh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For Father's Day ( or actually the night before ).

Excellent food, preparation , and presentation .

The head chef was open for questions , especially about the special "monster fish".

We were there for a family occasion but I've also been there for a romantic night with my wife .

I see why it is ranked number one in Saint Augustine Beach .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very intimate and wonderful setting with ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very intimate and wonderful setting with excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never disappoints! The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints! The food and service is exceptional. Dinner prices are what you would expect for fine dining, and lunch is about what you would pay anywhere on St Augustine beach. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling and searched the web f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were traveling and searched the web for recommendations. The La Cocina International Restaurant was awesome. We liked it so much we stopped for breakfast the next morning. It is a place we will return when in the area. Our waiter Javier provided exceptional service and his knowledge of the food perpetration was amazing. He added to an already perfect evening. We had the Escargot as an appetizer and Frutos dl Mar and Shrimp Crusted Snapper as our entrees. The seafood was so fresh and perfectly cooked. In fact I have almost stopped ordering lobster as usually chewy and/or over cooked. This one was perfect. They had Peruvian black potatoes as a side for one of the nightly specials and we were able to substitute the mashed potatoes that came with our entrees for the black potatoes. I never want regular potatoes again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service, as usual! Time t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service, as usual! Time though to update the ambiance

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is always satisfying because it is consistently good and the waitstaff is alert to your needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Setting - Excellent Food

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

La Cocina is a small, intimate restaurant that was perfect for our anniversary dinner. The ceviche was 2nd only to that we've had in Peru. It was outstanding. My husband had the osso bucco and it was also delicious! The service was pleasant and very on top of things. I'd recommend this spot for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All four of our dishes were exceptionall ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

All four of our dishes were exceptionally good with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place in St. Augustine for every meal

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food, great presentation, fresh ingredients, variety of items on menu, nice ambience, consistent with every meal. We have never had a negative experience at La Cocina, it's our go to restaurant when we have friends in town and when we're by ourselves. We tend to do breakfast and lunch more often than dinner, but they're all incredible. Lobster Bisque is great and their soup of the day is always delicious too. We enjoyed Thanksgiving at La Cocina this year and would enjoy other holiday meals with family here. In fact, my brother had his rehearsal dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Vacation

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were a little worried about brining our kids 8 and 10 but it was a family friendly environment. All us loved our dinners filet, seabass and lobster.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious from appetizer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was delicious from appetizer to dessert. The ceviche was refreshing and the portion was generous. The lobster was perfectly prepared for my Frutos Del Mar and the butter sauce was flavorful without being overpowering. Beautiful presentation of the pineapple dessert. Highly recommend and would definitely go back the next time we visit St. Augustine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! Great for d ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Great for date night! Lovely wine selection too,!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime Rib

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, we both ordered the same meal. My wife and I asked for our meat to be medium. She prefers it more rare and hers came med well and mine was medium. We were no heart broken but noticed that if you want the 5 star reputation besides the care that was given which we thought was 100% , so the food needs to be 100% out the door! I expected to spend $100.00 so it was fine other than the minor glitch. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.