About La Cocina International Restaurant

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Service
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
13 More
Best Value
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (61)
fit for foodies (48)
romantic (46)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
great for lunch (21)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were at Crescent Beach heading back t ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were at Crescent Beach heading back towards Jacksonville & wanted to stop somewhere on way for a casual lunch. Searched open table, found La Cocina and made reservation. First pleasant surprise was it was located in a very nice and new hotel. Second surprise was the lovely dining room with gorgeous spanish style decor, beautiful. Staff delightful, prompt and attentive, extremely pleasant. Biggest surprise of all was the food. Lobster bisque among the best I've ever tasted & we often visit Forbes 4 and 5 star restaurants; bisque was superb with lots of lobster and generous for "cup." I also had a Thai chicken salad that was awesome with subtle flavors, huge freshly cooked piece of chicken brest, and a wonderful huge salad. Wife had chilled zucchini soup that was great and a chicken salad served in a piece of hollowed out pineapple all wonderful. This turned out to be a terrific lunch. Can't wait to return for dinner; looked at dinner menu that looks great and very reasonable. Called our sons who often visit the area to tell them our find. From our perspective this was an awesome find. Dfeinitely will return

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and a real find in St Augustine. The presentation is as nice as any restaurant you'll find and the service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great evening. Food was very del ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was great evening. Food was very delicious and tasty. The courses were gorgeous and exquisite. Service was very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu! Very good experience. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent menu!

Very good experience.

Best Sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonderful. There were people there in blazers, and some in tank tops. You can dress it up or down and still enjoy the luxury of a small intimate elegant venue. Its located in a beautiful hotel near the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anastasia Island in St Augustine. We have dined there many times over the last 10 years. Our meals have always been excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I looked at images and reviews online, i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I looked at images and reviews online, it was better than I hoped it would be. Will rank it as one of my best dining experiences from start to finish. Never rushed food was superb and our service was top notch. Going again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointing visit. I thought the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A disappointing visit. I thought the food was just OK, nothing more. The wines we had were not good! Our waiter was exceptional, very congenial and friendly. He was the bright spot there. The ambiance seemed a bit dark and maybe a bit dated. My Caesar salad was not cool and crisp but was warmer than it should be. My appetizer, the cerviche was mediocre. My entree, Paella, was non-distinctive. I wouldn't go back or recommend it. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I wo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I would highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was peti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was petite compared to other restaurants. Best osso buco. Taste was delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and I have ever had!!! The service, ambiance and food were all amazing. Will recommend and be back for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dine here often when st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My husband and I dine here often when staying in St Augustine. We are always delighted with the food and service that we receive here. Along with great flavor, the presentation is always great. The red sangria is amazing. It has a touch of cinnamon that gives it a unique flavor. Once again, we were very happy with our meal.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was deliciously prepared and ta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The meal was deliciously prepared and tasted fantastic! Impeccable service ~ from the waiter to the bus service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. Very knowledgeable, professional staff, very good wine selection, and extraordinary food. Fresh and well-prepared, with a presentation that you would expect to find in New York.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fine dining on the island.... Food is outstanding, service is excellent... Can be a bit noisy at times... Dinner can be a bit pricey but lunch and breakfast are quite reasonable..... Never had a bad meal or experience in five years.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is always top notch; nev ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is always top notch; never a disappointment; prices are reasonable. I don't know of a comparable dining experience anywhere in the area, especially for the price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around! Best Sangria in St ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent all around!

Best Sangria in St. Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For Father's Day ( or actually the nigh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For Father's Day ( or actually the night before ).

Excellent food, preparation , and presentation .

The head chef was open for questions , especially about the special "monster fish".

We were there for a family occasion but I've also been there for a romantic night with my wife .

I see why it is ranked number one in Saint Augustine Beach .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very intimate and wonderful setting with ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very intimate and wonderful setting with excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant never disappoints! The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints! The food and service is exceptional. Dinner prices are what you would expect for fine dining, and lunch is about what you would pay anywhere on St Augustine beach. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were traveling and searched the web f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We were traveling and searched the web for recommendations. The La Cocina International Restaurant was awesome. We liked it so much we stopped for breakfast the next morning. It is a place we will return when in the area. Our waiter Javier provided exceptional service and his knowledge of the food perpetration was amazing. He added to an already perfect evening. We had the Escargot as an appetizer and Frutos dl Mar and Shrimp Crusted Snapper as our entrees. The seafood was so fresh and perfectly cooked. In fact I have almost stopped ordering lobster as usually chewy and/or over cooked. This one was perfect. They had Peruvian black potatoes as a side for one of the nightly specials and we were able to substitute the mashed potatoes that came with our entrees for the black potatoes. I never want regular potatoes again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service, as usual! Time t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service, as usual! Time though to update the ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is always satisfying because it is consistently good and the waitstaff is alert to your needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Setting - Excellent Food

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

La Cocina is a small, intimate restaurant that was perfect for our anniversary dinner. The ceviche was 2nd only to that we've had in Peru. It was outstanding. My husband had the osso bucco and it was also delicious! The service was pleasant and very on top of things. I'd recommend this spot for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All four of our dishes were exceptionall ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

All four of our dishes were exceptionally good with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place in St. Augustine for every meal

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food, great presentation, fresh ingredients, variety of items on menu, nice ambience, consistent with every meal. We have never had a negative experience at La Cocina, it's our go to restaurant when we have friends in town and when we're by ourselves. We tend to do breakfast and lunch more often than dinner, but they're all incredible. Lobster Bisque is great and their soup of the day is always delicious too. We enjoyed Thanksgiving at La Cocina this year and would enjoy other holiday meals with family here. In fact, my brother had his rehearsal dinner here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Vacation

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were a little worried about brining our kids 8 and 10 but it was a family friendly environment. All us loved our dinners filet, seabass and lobster.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious from appetizer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was delicious from appetizer to dessert. The ceviche was refreshing and the portion was generous. The lobster was perfectly prepared for my Frutos Del Mar and the butter sauce was flavorful without being overpowering. Beautiful presentation of the pineapple dessert. Highly recommend and would definitely go back the next time we visit St. Augustine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! Great for d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Great for date night! Lovely wine selection too,!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime Rib

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a lovely dinner, we both ordered the same meal. My wife and I asked for our meat to be medium. She prefers it more rare and hers came med well and mine was medium. We were no heart broken but noticed that if you want the 5 star reputation besides the care that was given which we thought was 100% , so the food needs to be 100% out the door! I expected to spend $100.00 so it was fine other than the minor glitch. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent wait staff and service. Food was excellent as usual. Presentation was stunning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Week might quiet dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Great for week night local dinner. Love the friendly people and location. A great find.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Restaurant

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

La Cocina is truly a fantastic, upscale restaurant with a superb cuisine and wine selection (and you may bring your own wine if you wish). It is the best restaurant on Anastasia Island, and I would not recommend the casual, flipflop tattoo crowd (Mango Mango, or Salt Life is just down the street).The service staff are very friendly and attentive. The food dishes are wonderful with a very unique touch at presentation. Also, don't bring the kids, this is for adults who want a quiet place to converse and enjoy without "distractions". A true diamond in the rough for St. Augustine Beach!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son wanted La Cocina for his graduat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our son wanted La Cocina for his graduation dinner. We had never been, as it was fairly new. We were amazingly surprised by the quality of food. Definitely five star for St. Augustine. Highly recommended for tha special night out. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Surprise

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The decor of the restaurant is rather elegant which is a surprise for a beachside community. The food is delicious and displayed in a very attractive manner on the plate. The sauces for the dishes are distinctive and very tasty. The service was also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambience, excellent food!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We each chose a different entree and were not disappointed. The food was presented beautifully, the waiter was excellent at suggesting wine pairings for each dish, everything was superb!!! Will definitely return next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I both enjoyed the food,t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I both enjoyed the food,the salmon was lovely as well as the chicken. We couldn't find any dessert that caught our interest, but wouldn't doubt the quality and flavor. The hosts was friendly and informative about the food. The environment was warm but some what on the noisey side (I thought by the looks of the restaurant it would've been a little bit more quite).However, we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as Usual

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant several times over the years, and it has become one of our favorites in the area. Always good food and a nice atmosphere without breaking the bank.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Our Chicken and Osso Buco were delicious as were the wine options. However, our friends did not like the escargot or the Caesar salad. We loved the wait staff and wine selections along with the ambiance. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoy the Portobello Carpaccio and Seafo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Enjoy the Portobello Carpaccio and Seafood Paella- skip the escargots and ribeye steak as they were not very good. Our server was excellent and they have a nice selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.