About La Cocina International Restaurant

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fireplace (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful Valentines dinner! We love th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful Valentines dinner! We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was great Bleu cheese ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall experience was great

Bleu cheese vinagerette dressing was one of the best I had

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SEA BASS PRICE OF $45 A BIT HIGH. SEA ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

SEA BASS PRICE OF $45 A BIT HIGH. SEA FOOD IN PASTA WAS FLOATING IN SAUCE, AND VERY LITTLE SEAFOOD, 95% PASTA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Was a pleasant experience, lovely little ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was a pleasant experience, lovely little tucked away gem in the heart of a beach-going surfer district. Nicely decorated with innovative curtains strategically placed between wall tables to create intimacy and quiet. We were disheartened to learn that the oft-raved about, recommended lobster ravioli was not available, but lobster bisque was excellent. Uncertainty about explanation about the availability of lobster was questionable. On a somewhat sour note, the waiter, as pleasant as he was was of very little help when choosing a wine. Red or White is not quite the level of advice one would expect at such a mid-upscale restaurant, and finally we had to get up from the table once, or ask another server to fetch our waiter for service and check. Still overall a cosy spot which we we try again when the lobsters warm up.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We are regulars. Even with the menu chan ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We are regulars. Even with the menu change the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite. Always top notch, fr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One of my favorite. Always top notch, from service to food. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was excellent! Would go back soon!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was excellent! Would go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite St. Augustine resta ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of our favorite St. Augustine restaurants, and we have a bunch of excellent ones!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed this restaurant, however, was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I enjoyed this restaurant, however, was a bit disappointed in their service and it was not our waiter, as I believe he was wonderful, however, we could see that he was dealing with many tables and some rather large parties. In addition, I found it rather warm and couldn't wait to leave to feel cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a very enjoyable experience. It w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. It was a birthday luncheon for our neighbor. The food was excellent and the waitress was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dining for special occasions. Seafood d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

dining for special occasions. Seafood dishes well done and large amount. Service 5 stars.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place . Great Food and friendly ser ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice place . Great Food and friendly service a liitle slow in food coming out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was fantastic, we will defini ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic, we will definitely be going back

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. GreT price. Quit. Nice atmos ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food. GreT price. Quit. Nice atmosphere. Would return against but have been several times before.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant! Made a reservati ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Made a reservation for New Year's Eve not knowing what the menu would be. Very pleasantly surprised with the food and service. Can't wait to go back again. Shout out to Javier!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just excellent! Again, just excellent!. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just excellent! Again, just excellent!. Muy bueno!. Excelente!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my 62th birthday!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Celebrating my 62th birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten here many times and are usua ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We've eaten here many times and are usually quite pleased, but this time something was really off with the service. An entree did not come out timely (it took a full fifteen extra minutes after the rest of us were served) and our server was unconcerned. Drinks went unrefilled and plates were not cleared. In fact, our server completely disappeared at one point and we had to ask another server to help us, at which point that server offered us a slice of cake as an apology. On a $250 tab. Too many other dining choices in St. Augustine to put up with this. We probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

What a find! Located at the beach in a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

What a find! Located at the beach in a motel . I must say this is certainly not a typical beach hotel dining room. This is gourmet food beautifully presented and served. The service was outstanding and the menu prices reasonable. I look forward to returning if and or when I am in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous! Would go back in a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Would go back in a heartbeat. Definitely a great spot for a special occasion. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was friendly and very professional. Hats off, La Cocina!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Christmas dinner and as usua ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner and as usual, it far exceeded our expectations. Wonderful food, great experience overall. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, , Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere albeit you can tell the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice atmosphere albeit you can tell the place has only been updated superficially. It could stand to be redone. The wait staff are all nice and know their products. The food was so good! We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service...we had a won ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, great service...we had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful good and service

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful good and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going here for several year ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have been going here for several years and it is always wonderful. The food is always perfect and beautifully presented. The service is also terrific and our waiter, Jorge is the best.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best consistent food in St Augustine. We ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Best consistent food in St Augustine. We all love the food.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have enjoyed the experience many times a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Have enjoyed the experience many times and the food, service and ambiance are always beyond our expectations. The staff is on top of everything to the point of bringing a special dessert for the special occasion. For those of you whom write about the decor I would hope you would have better sense. The theme is early Med., hense the metal etc. One of the best restaurants in St. Augustine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, , Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the service was impe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was great, the service was impeccable and the fireplace lent a warm glow to the lovely dining ambience. It was my daughter 's birthday, and she was appreciative and delighted. Though a bit more expensive, it was worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was exceptional; delicious and beau ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was exceptional; delicious and beautifully presented. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good...but i am allergic to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was good...but i am allergic to most shell fish so have to be careful and all fish had crab or scallops or shrimp with it. Ate meat

The service was excellent...

The Decor a bit dated

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very helpful staff and good, varied menu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very helpful staff and good, varied menu choices. Food was tasty, served hot and not excessive potion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambience. The food was excellent a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great ambience. The food was excellent and our server did a very good job. Lobster bisque with a shot of sherry hit the spot!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an anniversary meal, and it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We went for an anniversary meal, and it was a wonderful occasion, from the time we were seated until we walked out the door. The service was excellent and all of the staff were friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was pleasant, with seasonal instrumental music which was not overpowering for conversation. The presentation for all courses was beautiful and displayed attention to detail. The food itself was also delicious. When I sent my sister pictures of our meal, she wrote, "Wow, beautiful, tell me where did you go!" Would definitely recommend, and when in the area, would go again!

Tags: Romantic, , Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first visit to La Cocina and I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was my first visit to La Cocina and I thought It a pleasant restaurant. The food was good, the wine list acceptable, the waiting staff attentive. I thought the décor could be refreshed but overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I made this Thanksgiving reservation bas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I made this Thanksgiving reservation based on what was available that I could find on-line as we were travelling in unfamiliar territory. We were very pleased. Pretty dining room, good food, knowledgeable and pleasant server. We had a very nice Thanksgiving dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Thanksgiving feast served in f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic Thanksgiving feast served in four delicious courses. First time there - won't be the last. Great service and delightful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here since before thanksgivin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First time here since before thanksgiving. The menu has changed. So some of the favorites have been taken off. Fruits de Mar which was a very good meal is gone along with the Lobster Ravioli. Rack of Lamb was not flavorful as I felt it should be. Too much salt content in salad and entree. One of my favorites but not as good as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Great food, presentation and service. Mo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, presentation and service. Moderately priced and worth it. Would recommend this to anybody looking for a great dinner out with that special one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The presentation of the plate.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The presentation of the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had dinner here last Sa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here last Saturday night. We had reservations for 5:45pm and arrived a few minutes early. We were seated right away. We both had the Crab Bisque for starters and it was AWESOME! I ordered the Frutos Del Mar, which was a lot of perfectly cooked seafood- a lobster tail, 6 shrimp, Clams and Mussels served over mashed potatoes. What was I thinking?! That was so much food, every morsel was tasty! (I did have to share that with the Mr.) He ordered the Crab Crusted Snapper and he loved it. We then shared the Creme Brulee', oh my!!!! Have you every had a Creme Brulee' served with a scoop of raspberry sorbet, a sprig of mint and a bit of white chocolate? It very well could be the best dessert I have ever ordered in a restaurant. No kidding. Service was as wonderful as the food. We will be returning when we are back down that way.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.