Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
9:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today
Special offers available. See details

La Cocina International Restaurant

4.5
587 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
International
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
La Cocina International Restaurant offers intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair in a Casual Atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
International, Global, International, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BREAKFAST: Monday - Friday 8:00am -10:30am, Saturday - Sunday 8:00am - 11:00am
LUNCH: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday 12pm - 2:30pm
DINNER: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
BRUNCH: every second Sunday of the month
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 461-8288
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef/Owner: Norberto Jaramillo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We thank you for considering La Cocina International Restaurant to hold this important day in your life. With our quality of service and excellent cuisine, we assure you that this day will be unforgettable.
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Beach Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary hotel parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Old Town Trolley Tours at Castillo Real Hotel stop
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...
Additional
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 8:30PM

What 587 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. The spring salad is one of the best I've ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food and service. My sisters birthday was April 20th and I had invited 4 very good friends to join us. Everyone had a wonderful time and the food was delicious.
Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Thank you for making a special day even more special. Everything was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This was our first visit and we will return. My escargot and my husband's lobster bisque were delicious. The escargot was a larger than expected portion with a slightly spicy preparation. Our server suggested the shrimp and grits, which was also a unique preparation. The grits were creamy smooth. I had four huge shrimp wrapped in bacon. the sauce over this was cheesy with tomatoes. It was the best preparation of this dish that I've eaten. My salad was mixed greens and the blue cheese dressing was very light rather than the usual thick style. My husband chose a chicken entree stuffed with spinach. The preparation on the plate with fresh zucchini and mashed potatoes was appealing, and it was delicious.
I was impressed by the team approach of the servers. We needed to be out in time for a concert, and that was accomplished without feeling rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Or go to place for our friends get together! The waitstaff is absolutely fabulous, attentive and engaging. We love the choices on the menu with my favorite being the fillet mignon with the cream mushroom sauce. On Thursday nights you can take your own wine, which certainly reduces your output for retired folks. We go at least once a month if not more

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Surprisingly average food for all the hype surrounding this "international" cuisine restaurant.
Wine options seemed limited. Food menu was only OK. I was disappointed in the food but paid for it like it was gourmet!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The Sunday Brunch is wonderful. The variety of food offered will cover even the discerning tastes. There is a balance of breakfast style food and non breakfast style food. The service is outstanding as well. This wasn’t our first experience and recognized there was a variety of food that differed a bit from the previous experience. All of it was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were looking for a place to go while in St. Augustine Beach area. Found this restaurant online and decided to try it. A nice selection of wines under $40 - we had the Albariño. On the recommendation of our server, we tried the steamed mussels. Very good. The grilled octopus leg had a sweet glaze to it that played nicely against the chorizo hash, mini peppadew peppers and chili oil. The bacon wrapped prawns over cheesy grits with haricots vert and cherry tomatoes - fabulous, although by now we were so full that the bacon, while tasty, was gilding the lily. And since the wife is gluten sensitive, the chef replaced the etouffe saurce with crab bearnaise with chunks of crab. That should totally be a regular thing. We usually have mixed feelings about hotel restaurants, but this one hits all the marks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I would possible classify this restaurants with three stars way over priced Easter Sunday dinner for what you were getting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for Easter dinner and it was amazing. The special menu was so good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Consistently the best restaurant in Saint Augustine, Florida. Wish they would rehang drapery like they used to have. Would add to the intimacy and detract from the ambient noise.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It's hard to really evaluate as we were there for Easter and the menu was limited. We do feel the price was much compared to the value. The food was good and presentation awesome. The waiters and waitresses are really great. I would go again, but may not think of it as my first choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

My relatives came to St Augustine for Easter to visit and they left it to me to choose the restaurant for dinner. Without hesitation I made reservations for La Cocina International Restaurant. As there was six of us, we each chose a different appetizer to sample - all were exquisite! Dinner from the Sea food paella, Rack of Lamb, Filet Mignon to the Chilean Sea Bass, all were cooked to perfection and a feast for the eyes! Desert we each sampled the Crème Brule, - vanilla lemon and chocolate - superb! Above all the service exceeded our expectation. Some may say that the prices are excessive but Victor our server made my 80 year old mother feel like a queen. ---- this is priceless.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

All was very good until server failed to return credit card with check. Server was careless and left card laying next to register. A moment of panic upset a very good evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

If you go order the lobster bisque. We really enjoyed everything we had

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Love this restaurant. always the food is great. One of the best paella's of the area. Prompt service. Very friendly atmosphere. I always keep coming here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Place is very, very dated, past quaint. Service was excellent, but we were there very early, so I think our waitress had time to be attentive. Salad was quite good, i recommend the blue cheese vinegrett dressing. I had the half rack of lamb which was good. Tiara missou for dessert was excellent, highly recommend saving room.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We have dined here a few times and have no complaints. Liked the previous menus better than the current, but the meal was fine. Hopefully they will change it again this spring. Never terrible, but never outstanding. They have definitely put the effort in to make the restaurant nice over the past year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Always wonderful. One of our faves!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Cozy, comfortable dining space. Staff was a bit challenged this night (server forgot our appetizer order) but recovered with the rest of the meal. All 4 entrees were well presented and prepared. Excellent bread here too which is becoming more and more rare these days. Well thought out wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Small restaurant with a fairly compact menu and moderately priced. Had a filet that was cooked to perfection. Service was very good and professional. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Ostrich a must! Dark chocolate truffle chessecake, yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food is reliably excellent. Wonderful presentation, taste, and quality. A little pricy but worth every dollar. We've made this a destination location and restaurant once or twice a year. We are from So. Florida

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

First class act! Thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Lobster bisque, escargots and creme brûlée were phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I kept seeing this restaurant being recommended on Opentable so we decided to try it. Walking into hotel it’s very beautiful. We had a reservation and were seated right away. We waited quite awhile for a server, it was apparent they were short staffed. I saw that so we decided to be ready and order all at once. My husband ordered a Heineken. Waitress came back and said they were out.
He chose another type of beer, second time waitress came back and said they were out of that as well. He settled on something they did have.
We placed our order and were given bread. Very good with an herb butter.
Our appetizers took quite awhile and they forgot my husbands soup. They brought it out with appetizer. We finished and then they forgot my salad. I reminded them and it was brought out.
The appetizers were great. My fav was the baked Brie.
Dinner came and my steak was good. My husbands meal while Good was disappointing because he ordered the Paella and many of the mussels and clams were just empty. Not in the dish. Just empty.
We ordered the chocolate cheesecake to share ( FABULOUS, probably the best I’ve had)
I asked for dessert and check while
My husband was still eating his dinner because the service was so slow and we were trying to make a movie across town.
Overall I am not sure I’d go back. So many places out there and it is not cheap. With the tip the bill was almost $200 so we expect the meal to be on point and service to be better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The chef was amazing! My sister is vegan and he came out and made her a special dish. They even gave us complimentary wine while we were waiting. Amazing service and even more amazing food. Definitely definitely worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Perfect experience for my mother’s 80th birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Seated immediately two great servers lucia and victor food was excellent awesome service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We live in Saint Augustine and enjoy this restaurant so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

DELICIOUS FOOD, WELL-PREPARED, BEAUTIFUL PRESENTATION, IMPECCABLE SERVICE. THIS WOULD BE 5 STARS ALL AROUND WERE IT NOT FOR THE NOISE LEVEL WHEN THE DINING ROOM IS FULL.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The lunch menu isn't necessarily Latin food based. There are staples - ceviche, cuban bread, tres leches cake. I'm not going to talk about the food we had (it was really good by the way). I must talk about the service. It was outstanding. My wife and I brought our 7 month old son to meet an old friend for lunch. Katja immediately brought out a booster seat for us and asked if there was anything we needed. Then, she took things to another level: she brought out avocado for our voracious little guy! Heck, the kitchen even cut the pieces of avocado into easily held and digestible chunks. It's service like that why we'd return to this restaurant when we find ourselves near the St. Augustine Beach in the future!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

This is an outstanding, classy restaurant right in the middle of Saint Augustine Beach. The international cuisine is upscale and prepared to perfection. Space is limited so reservations are recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

La Cocina was our choice for a quiet Valentine's Day dinner. Although they had created a limited five course menu, there was sufficient variety to please all palates. Food was carefully prepared and each course was delicious. I can't say enough good things about our server, Victor. He was pleasant, polite and attentive without being intrusive. As a special treat for Valentine's Day, La Cocina offered dessert and coffee on their open-air terrace where a delightful guitarist was serenading us with heartfelt ballads. What a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Made a reservation for Valentine's Dinner on the recommendation from a friend. Did not know that it was a pre fixed 5 course menu at $79.99 per person. Asked if we could order from the menu and the waiter said "no". We weren't planning on spending that much for dinner. At that price I expected it to be "over the moon" food and it wasn't. We were very disappointed!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Went for Valentine's Dinner. Food was exceptional. Talked to locals who said it is the "place everyone comes to eat that live in St. Augustine". Evening only fell flat when we went upstairs to get dessert. One selection and no place to sit. Set up in workout room it seems. Was cold so no one went outside to enjoy the music which was good. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I brought my wife here for valentine's day. The 5 course meal was amazing! Absolutely the best meal we have ever enjoyed!

The server (Jorge) was excellent. Everything was brought out prompty.

We absolutely recommend LA Cocinas to anyone!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We selected this restaurant for Valentine and Anniversary celebration do to their menu selections. But the restaurant decided to have a fixed price menu for the Valentine Day, we wished the restaurant would have informed us of this change prior to our visit. We felt this being price gouging and poor food selection from the special menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Celebrated Valentines Day and a birthday. Everything about this restaurant is superb. Rack of lamb presented beautifully and prepared perfectly. If you’ve never been You are in for a treat

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

They were unable to find our reservation but still sat us immediately.

However, we were sat with 10 minutes before we left due to no server acknowledging us.

The menu is extremely expensive and very limited.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Excellent meal! Very good service. Alcohol limited to wine and beer. Acoustics a little loud. But, overall a very enjoyable evening!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15