About La Cocina International Restaurant

La Cocina International Restaurant offers intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair in a Casual Atmosphere.

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Monday - Friday 8:00am -10:30am, Saturday - Sunday 8:00am - 11:00am
LUNCH: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday 12pm - 2:30pm
DINNER: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We thank you for considering La Cocina International Restaurant to hold this important day in your life. With our quality of service and excellent cuisine, we assure you that this day will be unforgettable.
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking

Public Transit:
Old Town Trolley Tours at Castillo Real Hotel stop

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner: Norberto Jaramillo, Chef de Cuisine: Brandon Bennett

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 10:30PM

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 4, 2017

La Cocina is consistently wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome tasting seafood priced mid to $20's to mid $30's. I tried the Bouillabaisse which is a tomato fennel broth over fettuccine loaded with shrimp, mussels, clams, grouper & calamari. I will be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Seafood paella lacks flavor. Asked for lamb chops to be cooked medium came backmedium rare, no flavor. Employees did not appear to be happy to work there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was our anniversary and we celebrated with our dear friends. Victor our waiter was fantastic, personable and very attentive. We all agreed the food was delicious. The lobster bisque, paella, salmon, and gambas and grits were superb. All came temperature hot and all the food was served at the same time. La Cocina didn't rush us.
It was a relaxing evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was prefect for the occasion the filet was out of this world the chicken was well cooked. Presentations were classy and modern. The waitress was friendly took care of our needs asked us over and over if we need anything. The espresso creme was soooo good we went back the next morning for breakfast. Very consistent on making some tasty perfectly made food

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful place for fabulous food and and incredible service! Attentiveness to a perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We had a wonderful time! The chef and wait staff were fabulous!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with outstanding service, delicious appetizers and entrees and a very pleasant setting to enjoy this for any occasion.
The friendly and very pleasant staff makes it memorable..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Personable service with a diverse menu of classics with a twist. An unexpected gem of a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A perfect dinner to celebrate husband's birthday. Food was all delicious, very personable waiter. Only tiny neg. was the $5 plate split charge we were not told about (2 appies & 1 entree & 2 bottles of vino...we sure spent enough they should not have charged us this.)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our waitress was a student at Flagler and was knowledgeable, personable and the absolute best. We should have wrote this review while her name was fresh in our minds (Julia?) Pretty Asian girl with glasses and knew the menu inside out. If we were locals we would ask for her every time we came back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Everything about this place is AMAZING. We ordered Lobster Bisque and Coconut crusted mahi. Everything was top notch. Desserts included vanilla creme brulee and pineapple casserole. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful chef and delicious meals. The service was first class.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our dinner experience was wonderful, as usual! Will be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My overall experience was good, the food was not as impressive as I hoped for the price and the decor a bit drab. The service was good. Ordered the octopus which was not as tender as I expected and the flavors we're good, but a little too strong (fishy octopus, heavy ragu that overwhelmed the palate). The portabella carpaccio was an interesting concept but I think the mushrooms were a little slimy and may have tasted better cut thinner as a meat carpaccio would be, with more than just 6 pieces...
I love ostrich normally but despite cooking it with a very rare sear, I found it chewy, which can commonly be found in a meat with so little fat. I also think this should have been prepared in thinner slices to ease the mastication process.

I'm being picky here when it comes to cuisine. Seemed like a popular place with happy guests and pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Super slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My friend enjoyed our lunch very much. It was actually an accident that we went there, but we were so glad we did and I told my husband that we need to return for a lunch. Only issue was the noise because of several groups, but that couldn't be helped.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This is the best restaurant in St Augustine. The food is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very good restaurant. Service was excellent due to friendliness and helpfulness. Victor made the dinner successful by providing recommendations based on our likes. The food was very good. The lobster bisque is a must! The pear salad was very good. We had the filet mignon and fish special. Both were prepared beautifully. The filet melted in the mouth and the fish was delicious. Dessert was rich. I would recommend to try La Cocina for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We took our friend to celebrate her 91st birthday. The wait staff is ever so pleasant, engaging and attentive. The rack of lamb and filet mignon were delicious and the lemon creme brûlée absolutely decadent. Victor is the best!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I love to eat here whenever possible & to introduce friends & family to this gem in St. Augustine Beach. The staff, food, & ambiance are the very best.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a great time! It is such a joy to find a restaurant that has excellent food and service, PLUS you can actually carry on a conversation with each other. Perfect ambiance! We were celebrating my sister's birthday and had not warned the wait staff of our event (although I did mention it in my Open Table reservation). As the busgirl was clearing our dishes, I asked her to let the chef know about our birthday celebration. Within minutes, a lovely cake was served with a beautifully scrolled "Happy Birthday" on the plate. We were amazed! Truly a special evening to remember always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

First visit to this restaurant I gave it 5* all the way in the food, service and our over all experience. We loved it so much we decide to take our friends there on their special occasion. Was not happy with our waiter from the get go. Slow on everything from delivering food, drinks including refills on water/tea plus not taking dirty plates off the table. Three out of 4 were not happy with our entrees. My lamb was not tender as last experience plus not cooked the way I asked. Husband agreed his lamb was bland. My Ceviche was more like a salad. Our friend ordered the antipasti for an entree but it only came out with cheese and meat. The only enjoyment we got was the lobster bisque which was excellent. Like I said the first time we went there we thought the place was fantastic. This time I would not recommend anyone to go there. Maybe it was an off night since it was the weekend. The first time we went was a weekday ...unfortunately we will not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food wasn't bad, but it didn't compare to other restaurants in the area, especially for the price. The service was outstanding and the plating was beautiful. Unfortunately, the noise level was very loud which made it difficult for casual conversation and the flavor profiles weren't spectacular. I wouldn't make a special trip to dine here, but I would go back if someone else scheduled the dinner plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The by the glass wine selection is not at all good. There are few choices. My husband and I both had salads (he-Greek & me-pear). We didn't like either of these. The entrees were both very good. He had the lamb chops, and I had the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My friends and I took my niece there for her birthday lunch. Food was spectacular, beautifully prepared and presented. The waitress was attentive but not hovering. She brought a lovely birthday dessert, which was gratis and we ordered an inventive pineapple/ice cream dessert that was served in half the pineapple scooped out. My niece and her husband headed back there today!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food is excellent as is service. Lack of soft material makes echo in hard scraped floors and walls. We are foodies and we believe this to be best food in the St. Augustine area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our meals were perfect. The filet was the best we have ever had. Wonderful meals

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Such an eclectic menu with excellent presentation. The staff are friendly and informative. The food fantastic. One of my favorite places to each in St. Augustine (from a local's perspective).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Lovely meal as always this past Thursday. Service was excellent The restaurant was very slow so the benefit to us was a quieter than normal atmosphere. Still one of our favorites !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We shared the portabella carpaccio and it was one of the most creative and tasty appetizers we've ever enjoyed. I had the seafood paella and it was superb! Loaded with seafood and just the right spiciness (for me). Tell your waitperson your preference. My wife had the macadamia crusted salmon and she said it too was superb. We shared a delicious dessert and very happy with our choice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

La Cocina is an excellent fine dining restaurant located in a popular beach resort (Castillo Real), but it is a fine dining restaurant with a superb menu prepared by their great chef and cooks, a great wine list, and warm, very friendly, and attentive wait staff. It is business casual to casual dress, (Not bathing suits w/cover-ups and flip-flops!) and is a very popular place for local residents. This restaurant is one of the best in the Saint Augustine/Ponte Vedra/Jacksonville area. Free,easy parking at the hotel is available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant . They always pay attention to everyone's needs.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This restaurant represents an extremely dependable good to very good establishment that never disappoints! Good to very good food, occasionally great. Love the ambience and the service: one can actually conduct a conversation with partners and the wait staff is knowledgeable and NEVER snooty or stuffy! Other restaurants with much more mediocre food could take lessons here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We stayed at the hotel, so decided to try for dinner. Both the boulliabase and fish entrees were fresh and seasoned well. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

WE DID A TAPAS OF APPETIZERS AND THEY WERE EACH (4) FANTASTIC, ESPECIALLY THE LOBSTER BISQUE. DISCOVERED A NEW VEGETABLE "SANGRIA TOMATO" WE HAVE HEARD THAT THE FILET MIGNON IS FANTASTIC, SO WE WILL ORDER NEXT TIME.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food! Great presentation of food! Always get the chef special. Whatever it is it will be great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A wonderful experience! Would recommend to anyone who wants good food in a classy environment

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our first time here. The service was outstanding, friendly and helpful. I had the Rack of Lamb and thought it was excellent. We started with the cold melon soup which was quite good. The baked Brie was a large portion and prepared a little differently, but quite yummy.

the only drawback was the noise level in the room. It was more than energetic, which is the highest level the scale allows you to pick. It was almost the level of a rock concert. Not a dining experience but a bar level of sound.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful. The entire staff, including the kitchen, are very courteous and efficient. Well trained with positive attitudes. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.