About La Cocina International Restaurant

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
12 More
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (44)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Recently ate at La Cocina - In the past ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Recently ate at La Cocina - In the past we have been slightly disapointed in our meals but this time the meal was outstanding. I also had asked that it the fish be grilled and not baked and the kitchen was very si very agreeable to this request. We look forward to going to La Cocina again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

a group of 4 of us had dinner here, the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

a group of 4 of us had dinner here, the lobster bisque was fantastic!! My husband thought the mussels were really good also. Salads were a little light on the dressing, and unfortunately we didn't see our server to request more. I got the rack of lamb, it was pretty good,could have used a little more seasoning, my friend got the portobello stuffed ravioli and absolutely love it!! Our other friend got the filet, ordered medium, and it came back really really rare. Our server Anna had no personality, and lacked any kind of warmth...we would definately go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The Paella was wonderful and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Paella was wonderful and the service very good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall this is a very good restaurant. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall this is a very good restaurant. The food and it's presentation were very good as well as the service. If in the area you should not miss eating here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a wonderful restaurant. I am a f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant. I am a frequent patron. The cuisine is continental, always great featured specials, a diverse wine list, and superb, attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was amazing food and staff both !! Port ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Was amazing food and staff both !! Portions were good and the tomato bisque was flippin amazing !!!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Saint Augusti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Saint Augustine never disappoints. The food is as exceptional as its superb presentation. The owner and staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. A visit to LaCocina is a special dining experience, whether it be for a special occasion or simply an evening out as the ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant on Saint Aug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is the best restaurant on Saint Augustine Beach and one of the best in Saint Augustine. The cuisine is superb, always changing with magnificent specials , wonderful food presentations, excellent, attentive staff service, and great chefs! There is a nice wine list and great dessert offerings. I am a frequent patron to this "diamond in the rough", and it is particularly suited for those looking for fine dinning in this area.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals here and know and value a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are locals here and know and value a superior restaurant like this one, La Cocina International. Excellent restaurant. Excellent food, wonderful presentation, ample portions and usually stellar service This time service was great and attentive without being intrusive, they just made a mistake. Unfortunately this time one of the glasses of wine was charged as a bottle of wine, adding about $30 to the bill that we did not actually receive. I discovered it two days after the dinner as I was doing my expenses. I am sorry I did not catch it that night. I guess it pays to go through the bill in detail at the table, which is unfortunate as it detracts from an otherwise stellar evening. Review your bill carefully. Aside from this mistake, a first for us and this restaurant, we commend La Cocina International to you for an wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonderful experience-- great food . G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A wonderful experience-- great food . Great wine....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Consistently good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous appetizers, wine, dinners and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous appetizers, wine, dinners and service! Ambiance is wonderful! Never disapointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent as a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at La Coc ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our first time dining at La Cocina. I chose the restaurant based on the pages and pages of great reviews over a nice long timeline. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. Our waitress was very attentive but not obtrusive. I would have rated the food as exceptional but I ordered a pastry encrusted baked brie appetizer and although tasty, the brie was not warm or even close to being melted inside. That being said, it did not put a damper on lunch.There were 3 of us and we all ordered something different. The soup of the day, cream of beef with gorgonzola was delicious. We all enjoyed our entrees. We also ordered a nice bottle of Rose`champagne that was moderately priced and delicious! We did not mention that we were celebrating my birthday but the waitress overheard us talking about it. At the end of our meal, we all declined dessert because we were over-satiated! 5 minutes later the waitress arrived back at our table with a beautiful decorated serving of a death-by-chocolate style mousse cake, a gift from the management. There were carved strawberry flowers and the chef had eloquently piped 'Happy Birthday' above the cake in red strawberry reduction gel. It was such a nice gesture and says a lot about the manager of La Cocina.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One member of our group ordered filet mi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One member of our group ordered filet mignon. It was so tough he had to send it back. He could not even cut it with a steak knife. Fortunately, they replaced it with a much better steak. It made for an awkward dinner, however, as we had all finished by the time the replacement arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Stayed at the hotel. Ate here for breakf ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Stayed at the hotel. Ate here for breakfast and dinner. Food and service were both excellent on both occasions. I highly recommend! Look forward to traveling there again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years and i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been coming here for years and it never disappoints. The meals are excellent and so is their service. We like the variety of dishes they serve and we like how you never feel rushed. Very nice and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will be hard pressed to find a bette ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

You will be hard pressed to find a better restaurant for food quality and presentation. The chef and/or chefs take pride in their work both from a taste and presentation aspect. Eating a nice dinner inside a hotel does not seem romantic but once you enter the restaurant you can tell by the crowd and the clientele that you have found a gem. You will pay for this fine food but for special occasions you cannot beat the experience. I highly recommend your last night of vacation or a romantic evening with your significant other at this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When first arrived there was large group ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

When first arrived there was large group that was quite noisy, but noise level was great after that. Pretty inside. I had the ribeye and it was excellent. We had some local wine and it was also excellent. Overall a perfect spot to our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were 2 couples celebrating wedding ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

There were 2 couples celebrating wedding anniversaries. We were given a lovely table with a pool view. Our server was Casha (from Poland). She was an excellent server. The restaurant was very accommodating with our dining requests. The food was excellent. It was a very memorable night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true find for a sophisticated ,but fri ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A true find for a sophisticated ,but friendly restaurant

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and ambiance like always. H ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome food and ambiance like always. Highly recommended. Better do reservations if you want to go there for special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were at Crescent Beach heading back t ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were at Crescent Beach heading back towards Jacksonville & wanted to stop somewhere on way for a casual lunch. Searched open table, found La Cocina and made reservation. First pleasant surprise was it was located in a very nice and new hotel. Second surprise was the lovely dining room with gorgeous spanish style decor, beautiful. Staff delightful, prompt and attentive, extremely pleasant. Biggest surprise of all was the food. Lobster bisque among the best I've ever tasted & we often visit Forbes 4 and 5 star restaurants; bisque was superb with lots of lobster and generous for "cup." I also had a Thai chicken salad that was awesome with subtle flavors, huge freshly cooked piece of chicken brest, and a wonderful huge salad. Wife had chilled zucchini soup that was great and a chicken salad served in a piece of hollowed out pineapple all wonderful. This turned out to be a terrific lunch. Can't wait to return for dinner; looked at dinner menu that looks great and very reasonable. Called our sons who often visit the area to tell them our find. From our perspective this was an awesome find. Dfeinitely will return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

La Cocina is a very good restaurant and a real find in St Augustine. The presentation is as nice as any restaurant you'll find and the service is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great evening. Food was very del ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was great evening. Food was very delicious and tasty. The courses were gorgeous and exquisite. Service was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu! Very good experience. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent menu!

Very good experience.

Best Sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the lamb, it was absolutely wonderful. There were people there in blazers, and some in tank tops. You can dress it up or down and still enjoy the luxury of a small intimate elegant venue. Its located in a beautiful hotel near the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anas ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

La Cocina is the best restaurant on Anastasia Island in St Augustine. We have dined there many times over the last 10 years. Our meals have always been excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I looked at images and reviews online, i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I looked at images and reviews online, it was better than I hoped it would be. Will rank it as one of my best dining experiences from start to finish. Never rushed food was superb and our service was top notch. Going again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointing visit. I thought the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A disappointing visit. I thought the food was just OK, nothing more. The wines we had were not good! Our waiter was exceptional, very congenial and friendly. He was the bright spot there. The ambiance seemed a bit dark and maybe a bit dated. My Caesar salad was not cool and crisp but was warmer than it should be. My appetizer, the cerviche was mediocre. My entree, Paella, was non-distinctive. I wouldn't go back or recommend it. Thank you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I wo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

La Cocina is a fabulous restaurant. I would highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was peti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was awesome. Sea bass size was petite compared to other restaurants. Best osso buco. Taste was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of the best dinners my boyfriend and I have ever had!!! The service, ambiance and food were all amazing. Will recommend and be back for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dine here often when st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My husband and I dine here often when staying in St Augustine. We are always delighted with the food and service that we receive here. Along with great flavor, the presentation is always great. The red sangria is amazing. It has a touch of cinnamon that gives it a unique flavor. Once again, we were very happy with our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was deliciously prepared and ta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The meal was deliciously prepared and tasted fantastic! Impeccable service ~ from the waiter to the bus service!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

La Cocina far exceeded our expectations. Very knowledgeable, professional staff, very good wine selection, and extraordinary food. Fresh and well-prepared, with a presentation that you would expect to find in New York.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

La Cocina is our go to restaurant for fine dining on the island.... Food is outstanding, service is excellent... Can be a bit noisy at times... Dinner can be a bit pricey but lunch and breakfast are quite reasonable..... Never had a bad meal or experience in five years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is always top notch; nev ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant is always top notch; never a disappointment; prices are reasonable. I don't know of a comparable dining experience anywhere in the area, especially for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around! Best Sangria in St ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent all around!

Best Sangria in St. Augustine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For Father's Day ( or actually the nigh ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

For Father's Day ( or actually the night before ).

Excellent food, preparation , and presentation .

The head chef was open for questions , especially about the special "monster fish".

We were there for a family occasion but I've also been there for a romantic night with my wife .

I see why it is ranked number one in Saint Augustine Beach .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.