About La Cocina International Restaurant

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Special Occasion
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
5 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fireplace (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good...but i am allergic to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was good...but i am allergic to most shell fish so have to be careful and all fish had crab or scallops or shrimp with it. Ate meat

The service was excellent...

The Decor a bit dated

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great ambience. The food was excellent a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience. The food was excellent and our server did a very good job. Lobster bisque with a shot of sherry hit the spot!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an anniversary meal, and it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for an anniversary meal, and it was a wonderful occasion, from the time we were seated until we walked out the door. The service was excellent and all of the staff were friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was pleasant, with seasonal instrumental music which was not overpowering for conversation. The presentation for all courses was beautiful and displayed attention to detail. The food itself was also delicious. When I sent my sister pictures of our meal, she wrote, "Wow, beautiful, tell me where did you go!" Would definitely recommend, and when in the area, would go again!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first visit to La Cocina and I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my first visit to La Cocina and I thought It a pleasant restaurant. The food was good, the wine list acceptable, the waiting staff attentive. I thought the décor could be refreshed but overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I made this Thanksgiving reservation bas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I made this Thanksgiving reservation based on what was available that I could find on-line as we were travelling in unfamiliar territory. We were very pleased. Pretty dining room, good food, knowledgeable and pleasant server. We had a very nice Thanksgiving dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Thanksgiving feast served in f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic Thanksgiving feast served in four delicious courses. First time there - won't be the last. Great service and delightful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, presentation and service. Mo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, presentation and service. Moderately priced and worth it. Would recommend this to anybody looking for a great dinner out with that special one.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The presentation of the plate.

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The presentation of the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had dinner here last Sa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here last Saturday night. We had reservations for 5:45pm and arrived a few minutes early. We were seated right away. We both had the Crab Bisque for starters and it was AWESOME! I ordered the Frutos Del Mar, which was a lot of perfectly cooked seafood- a lobster tail, 6 shrimp, Clams and Mussels served over mashed potatoes. What was I thinking?! That was so much food, every morsel was tasty! (I did have to share that with the Mr.) He ordered the Crab Crusted Snapper and he loved it. We then shared the Creme Brulee', oh my!!!! Have you every had a Creme Brulee' served with a scoop of raspberry sorbet, a sprig of mint and a bit of white chocolate? It very well could be the best dessert I have ever ordered in a restaurant. No kidding. Service was as wonderful as the food. We will be returning when we are back down that way.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very, very good food. This restaurant is ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very, very good food. This restaurant is quaint and lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great presentation, great tasting food a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great presentation, great tasting food and best restaurant in St Augustine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant on Anasta ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant on Anastasia Island, & one of the best in St. Augustine. The cuisine is splendid with specials almost daily. They have a very nice wine selection to complement the dinner. The service is friendly, knowledgable, & attentive. This is a fine dining restaurant & is very popular with the local residents of St. Augustine Beach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was good and very knowledgabl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waiter was good and very knowledgable. The brie appetizer was very good. Hubby's fish special just ok. Spinach stuffed ravioli with lobster tail just ok. Did not get dessert. Had high hopes but feel let down by the main courses. Probably wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Quiet dinner with my Brother after footb ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Quiet dinner with my Brother after football game on road trip. Drinks, Appetizers. Soup, Salad, unique Main courses. Food as pretty as flavorfull. Quiet, service superb, large portions. Top ranked, good choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had lunch at the Real Castillo on Novem ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Had lunch at the Real Castillo on November 4th. The dining room is elegant, linens on tables.

The presentation of the food is very attractive, and the food is delicious.

The wait person was professional and attentive, the experience was positive, it has become our favorite restaurant in St.Augustine.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit. LaCocina is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was our second visit. LaCocina is a top notch dining experience. Ambience is great and food is as good if not better than anything we've ever experienced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on Anastasia Island, & o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Best restaurant on Anastasia Island, & one of the best in Saint Augustine. This is a popular spot for locals looking for fine dining. The cuisine is continental and superb with specials virtually daily. The wine selection will easily complement the dinner selection. The appetizers & desserts are splendid. The service is very attentive and friendly. The is a restaurant that I visit quite often, and I am always pleased.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at La Co ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our second time dining at La Cocina. This is a small intimate restaurant at the Castillo Real Hotel in St. Augustine, FL. The food is outstanding and the presentation is so creative (almost too pretty to eat....almost). Our waiter Victor was attentive and personable. We were attending a concert after our meal and Victor ensured that our food was delivered on time so we didn't have to rush. The prices are comparable for the area but they don't skimp on quality or quantity. None of us had room for desert.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has a Latino flair in ambiance. Wind ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It has a Latino flair in ambiance. Wind and beer only but a a great selection. Food is very good and excellent presentation. They need to hire more help. Staff was overwhelmed and bus help need more training in the art of fine dining. A bit Of a wait but food is excellent

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

First time visit for our guests who were ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First time visit for our guests who were impressed that such a nice restaurant would be found in a hotel. We were warmly greeted, and seated at a nicely set table. Conversation was easy in this low noise level room. All four of us agreed that our meals were delicious, and we were well attended to by our waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food wasn't as healthy as I hoped. L ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food wasn't as healthy as I hoped. Lots of salt and too much sauce to feel good about the meal. It was decent sized but minimal vegetables. Vegetables should be half plus of the meal

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, wine, atmosphere better ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food, wine, atmosphere better during the week.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My son and daughter in law took me there ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My son and daughter in law took me there for my birthday. It was outstanding. A lovely place great decor and food, service was great as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our recent meal was at least the fourth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our recent meal was at least the fourth one we had at La Cocina. The restaurant continues to impress our guests and us. All four of us loved our food and the service. The staff read my note that we were celebrating my husband's birthday again at La Cocina and gave him a delicious piece of cake.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After two weeks of outdoor beach dining, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

After two weeks of outdoor beach dining, La Cocina was a refreshing change. Intimate and very authentic to the Spanish feel with exceptional food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

consistently excellent. very creative me ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

consistently excellent. very creative menu with fresh ingredients.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Recently ate at La Cocina - In the past ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Recently ate at La Cocina - In the past we have been slightly disapointed in our meals but this time the meal was outstanding. I also had asked that it the fish be grilled and not baked and the kitchen was very si very agreeable to this request. We look forward to going to La Cocina again soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a quiet Wednesday night in St. Au ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

It was a quiet Wednesday night in St. Augustine, the end of a long five day road trip from Baltimore, through Richmond, Kitty Hawk NC, Charleston SC and Savannah GA. Having come via two well known culinary cities, I had low expectations. Trip Advisor rated La Cocina numero uno, so we booked it for our final meal.

I had the rack of lamb. It was superb, served with a wonderful mint based glaze. They were able to provide me a side of mint jelly as well ...mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I can not describe how wonderful it was - juicy, tender and tasty.

My friend had the paella. Here, expectations were high. Both of us were sorely disappointed as the rice was dry and the seafood as well. So sad. It was edible, but nothing special and certainly not what a Spanish Restaurant of high caliber as La Cocina should be producing. SHAME.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

a group of 4 of us had dinner here, the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

a group of 4 of us had dinner here, the lobster bisque was fantastic!! My husband thought the mussels were really good also. Salads were a little light on the dressing, and unfortunately we didn't see our server to request more. I got the rack of lamb, it was pretty good,could have used a little more seasoning, my friend got the portobello stuffed ravioli and absolutely love it!! Our other friend got the filet, ordered medium, and it came back really really rare. Our server Anna had no personality, and lacked any kind of warmth...we would definately go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The Paella was wonderful and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Paella was wonderful and the service very good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall this is a very good restaurant. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Overall this is a very good restaurant. The food and it's presentation were very good as well as the service. If in the area you should not miss eating here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a wonderful restaurant. I am a f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant. I am a frequent patron. The cuisine is continental, always great featured specials, a diverse wine list, and superb, attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was amazing food and staff both !! Port ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Was amazing food and staff both !! Portions were good and the tomato bisque was flippin amazing !!!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Saint Augusti ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Saint Augustine never disappoints. The food is as exceptional as its superb presentation. The owner and staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. A visit to LaCocina is a special dining experience, whether it be for a special occasion or simply an evening out as the ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant on Saint Aug ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is the best restaurant on Saint Augustine Beach and one of the best in Saint Augustine. The cuisine is superb, always changing with magnificent specials , wonderful food presentations, excellent, attentive staff service, and great chefs! There is a nice wine list and great dessert offerings. I am a frequent patron to this "diamond in the rough", and it is particularly suited for those looking for fine dinning in this area.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals here and know and value a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are locals here and know and value a superior restaurant like this one, La Cocina International. Excellent restaurant. Excellent food, wonderful presentation, ample portions and usually stellar service This time service was great and attentive without being intrusive, they just made a mistake. Unfortunately this time one of the glasses of wine was charged as a bottle of wine, adding about $30 to the bill that we did not actually receive. I discovered it two days after the dinner as I was doing my expenses. I am sorry I did not catch it that night. I guess it pays to go through the bill in detail at the table, which is unfortunate as it detracts from an otherwise stellar evening. Review your bill carefully. Aside from this mistake, a first for us and this restaurant, we commend La Cocina International to you for an wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonderful experience-- great food . G ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A wonderful experience-- great food . Great wine....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Consistently good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous appetizers, wine, dinners and ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fabulous appetizers, wine, dinners and service! Ambiance is wonderful! Never disapointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent as a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent as always. Most enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.