About La Cocina International Restaurant

La Cocina International Restaurant offers Intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair with a Casual Atmosphere.

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 8:00am -10:30am; Lunch: Tuesday - Sunday: 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We, Thank you for choosing la Cocina Restaurant to hold an important day of your live, With our quality in service and excellent cuisine we assure you that this day will be unforgettable our dining can hold up to 60 guest For all your specials occasions such as Weddings, Rehearsal, Anniversaries, Graduations, Holiday Parties, and more.

Executive Chef:
Julio Banda and Marcel Vizcarra

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Wine

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. Great plate presentation, excellent menu to select from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorite local restaurants.
Excellent food and service. Great deal on Thursday night with bring your own
wine and no corning fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

We had high expectations based on the reviews. The presentation of the entrees was very nice. The staff was pleasant but slow and seemed insufficient for the number of customers. Food was disappointing both in taste and quantity. The salmon was ok but about 6 ounces of salmon for $28 seemed overpriced. I had the salmon and my wife had a chicken dish. The older couple who were with us did not comment on the food. He had a seafood dish with mussels and she also had the salmon. He commented on the cost being high. As the meal went along it became increasing difficult of all of us to hear as the number of customers grew. We actually left so that we could carry on our conversation. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined there for Mothers Day Dinner, with another couple. The food was good, set menu fixed price $49.00 with a few nice selections. The restaurant did call to confirm our reservations and to be sure we knew that it was a fixed menu. Our friends were not happy they were charged $30 for a just "OK" pitcher of White Sangria and the fact that a 20% tip was added to the total bill.
We usually never complain, but my husbands glass of red wine was not drinkable. They were happy to replace with another glass of something else.
My husband said the additional tip of 20% was noted on the menu...but he was the only one that noticed it...we usually tip a little more then 20% did not think they should have added it to the bill.
I have been there for lunch before and its always been lovely. Yes I know it was Mothers Day...Diner for 4 for a little over $300 we all wished we had gone somewhere else.
Note: the chairs are very uncomfortable...they are foldable chairs that move a little with very little padding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were so pleased with everything. Will certainly recommend to all our friends, family and neighbors. So nice to have found you. Thank you for the wonderful Mother's day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Price food, but very good. Excellently prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food, but service very slow(over 2 hours).

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Dinner was amazing! Service was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Took some friends for a payback dinner on a Thursday nite which is free wine corkage nite. My three guests each had the rack of lamb prepared to different temperatures and each was perfect. I had the swordfish special which was the best swordfish I have eaten out in St. Augustine by far served with two jumbo scrimp and served over rice with an et toufee (sp ?)sauce .
Also try their pear salad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Enjoyed our meal and service was very good. No real complaints. Very friendly atmosphere. Restaurant is in the lobby of a hotel but has a stand alone vibe.
You can't go wrong dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I love this place for lunch. Their staff is outstanding, food terrific and atmosphere great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service. No hesitation at all to recommend it. Probably the finest up-scale restaurant in St. Augustine Beach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of our favorites! Always a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best food in St Augustine Florida by far. I always go for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is an expensive restaurant. I had the special which w as red snapper and it was $36, my husband's filet was less ! That being said, the portions are large and my entree was very tasty. Service just so so. The server was nice enough but made us feel rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food average and very over priced service below average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely one of the best choices for dining in St. Augustine, especially on Thursday's when you can bring in your own wine for no corkage fee.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Kind of old and tired. Put us at a table next to a white sheet curtain which a a wine stain right at eye level. Expected more from reviews. Food was fine but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times but generally with a party of six or more. Tonight was a 'date night' with just the two of us. The reservation was honored promptly and we ordered a bottle of wine from their list. Our selected appetizers were served at the appropriate time and followed with entrees pleasantly spaced to allow conversation and a relaxed feeling. AS ALWAYS, the presentation was superb and the meals were delicious. The dining room was not overcrowded and the noise level certainly acceptable. Our server was pleasant, sharp, and professional. What is there not to like about such a great experience?

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was great! Atmosphere was awesome. A very enjoyable night with friends to relax and enjoy a great meal. Service was fantastic. Looking forward to trying there breakfasts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Interesting, we were able to take our own wine with no corking fee that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had high expectations for one of the best rated restaurants in St. Augustine. We had a hard time getting reservations because of its popularity.The wine list is good-we had the pinot noir; the baked brie was excellent, the portobello carpaccio was also very goodThe tilefish special was reported overcooked, the ribeye steaks were sent back for reheating-arrived very rare. The paella was delicious, but small for that dish, with shrimp at 30-40 size, not meeting expectations. Prices for entries were not as high as expected, so the value was good for the quality. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Really enjoyed the decor, food and service. A real surprise....will be definitely coming again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Service was slow. Seated for 15 min before we could persuade anyone to take our order.
Lobster bisque was good, also Filet Mignon, but ribeye was a bit tough. Mains took a long time to arrive - 60 min from ordering, so don't come here if you are short on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The internationally inspired menu at La Cochina means there is something for everyone, though it is certainly not a steak house. My husband enjoyed his rack of lamb and I loved my flounder , topped with shrimp and a fabulous sauce. When we are in St Augustine again, we will return !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our first visit, I started with the ceviche which I felt was a little too sour in taste. My wife had the paella for main and I had the scallops which we both enjoyed but did not feel it was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went here after a matinee from A Classic Theatre. Excellent food preparation and nice sized portions. Intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful Valentines dinner! We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall experience was great
Bleu cheese vinagerette dressing was one of the best I had

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

SEA BASS PRICE OF $45 A BIT HIGH. SEA FOOD IN PASTA WAS FLOATING IN SAUCE, AND VERY LITTLE SEAFOOD, 95% PASTA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Was a pleasant experience, lovely little tucked away gem in the heart of a beach-going surfer district. Nicely decorated with innovative curtains strategically placed between wall tables to create intimacy and quiet. We were disheartened to learn that the oft-raved about, recommended lobster ravioli was not available, but lobster bisque was excellent. Uncertainty about explanation about the availability of lobster was questionable. On a somewhat sour note, the waiter, as pleasant as he was was of very little help when choosing a wine. Red or White is not quite the level of advice one would expect at such a mid-upscale restaurant, and finally we had to get up from the table once, or ask another server to fetch our waiter for service and check. Still overall a cosy spot which we we try again when the lobsters warm up.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We are regulars. Even with the menu change the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

One of my favorite. Always top notch, from service to food. Never disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was excellent! Would go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of our favorite St. Augustine restaurants, and we have a bunch of excellent ones!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I enjoyed this restaurant, however, was a bit disappointed in their service and it was not our waiter, as I believe he was wonderful, however, we could see that he was dealing with many tables and some rather large parties. In addition, I found it rather warm and couldn't wait to leave to feel cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a very enjoyable experience. It was a birthday luncheon for our neighbor. The food was excellent and the waitress was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

dining for special occasions. Seafood dishes well done and large amount. Service 5 stars.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Nice place . Great Food and friendly service a liitle slow in food coming out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was fantastic, we will definitely be going back

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.