About La Cocina International Restaurant

La Cocina International Restaurant offers intimate Fine Dining with a Latin Flair in a Casual Atmosphere.

530 A1A beach Blvd
St. Augustine Beach, FL 32080
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Monday - Friday 8:00am -10:30am, Saturday - Sunday 8:00am - 11:00am
LUNCH: Tuesday - Friday 11:30am-2:30pm, Saturday - Sunday 12pm - 2:30pm
DINNER: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Blvd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 461-8288

Website:
http://www.lacocinarestaurants.com/

Catering:
We thank you for considering La Cocina International Restaurant to hold this important day in your life. With our quality of service and excellent cuisine, we assure you that this day will be unforgettable.
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...

Parking Details:
Complimentary hotel parking

Public Transit:
Old Town Trolley Tours at Castillo Real Hotel stop

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner: Norberto Jaramillo, Chef de Cuisine: Brandon Bennett

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our dining room can hold up to 60 guests for all your specials occasions such as weddings, rehearsals, anniversaries, graduations, holiday parties, and more...

La Cocina International Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely meal as always this past Thursday. Service was excellent The restaurant was very slow so the benefit to us was a quieter than normal atmosphere. Still one of our favorites !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We shared the portabella carpaccio and it was one of the most creative and tasty appetizers we've ever enjoyed. I had the seafood paella and it was superb! Loaded with seafood and just the right spiciness (for me). Tell your waitperson your preference. My wife had the macadamia crusted salmon and she said it too was superb. We shared a delicious dessert and very happy with our choice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

La Cocina is an excellent fine dining restaurant located in a popular beach resort (Castillo Real), but it is a fine dining restaurant with a superb menu prepared by their great chef and cooks, a great wine list, and warm, very friendly, and attentive wait staff. It is business casual to casual dress, (Not bathing suits w/cover-ups and flip-flops!) and is a very popular place for local residents. This restaurant is one of the best in the Saint Augustine/Ponte Vedra/Jacksonville area. Free,easy parking at the hotel is available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Love everything about this restaurant . They always pay attention to everyone's needs.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This restaurant represents an extremely dependable good to very good establishment that never disappoints! Good to very good food, occasionally great. Love the ambience and the service: one can actually conduct a conversation with partners and the wait staff is knowledgeable and NEVER snooty or stuffy! Other restaurants with much more mediocre food could take lessons here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We stayed at the hotel, so decided to try for dinner. Both the boulliabase and fish entrees were fresh and seasoned well. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 2, 2017

WE DID A TAPAS OF APPETIZERS AND THEY WERE EACH (4) FANTASTIC, ESPECIALLY THE LOBSTER BISQUE. DISCOVERED A NEW VEGETABLE "SANGRIA TOMATO" WE HAVE HEARD THAT THE FILET MIGNON IS FANTASTIC, SO WE WILL ORDER NEXT TIME.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food! Great presentation of food! Always get the chef special. Whatever it is it will be great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A wonderful experience! Would recommend to anyone who wants good food in a classy environment

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was our first time here. The service was outstanding, friendly and helpful. I had the Rack of Lamb and thought it was excellent. We started with the cold melon soup which was quite good. The baked Brie was a large portion and prepared a little differently, but quite yummy.

the only drawback was the noise level in the room. It was more than energetic, which is the highest level the scale allows you to pick. It was almost the level of a rock concert. Not a dining experience but a bar level of sound.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful. The entire staff, including the kitchen, are very courteous and efficient. Well trained with positive attitudes. One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Something different. This place is always perfect. This time just ok. I trust it was just an offnighr? Food was average. Usually outstanding

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food is Excellent!
We had the Brie appetizer, pear salad and pompano special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is a superb fine dining restaurant on Anastasia Island in The Castillo Real Hotel, and one of the best restaurants in the area. The food and presentation is spectacular, the service wait staff is very friendly, attentive, and multilingual. Parking at the hotel is simple , easy and free. I highly recommend this restaurant as I'm a frequent patron, and it is very popular with the locals, as some decorum (dress: smart casual) is suggested. Leave young children at home, otherwise, you'll ruin the dining experience and ambiance for yourself , and others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was OK. I had eaten there once before and remember exceptional food. This time not so much. My brother had a chicken thing he really liked. I had the paella, which was sub-par. Mushy

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My friends and I are never disappointed at La Cocina! We have had many girlfriend birthday lunches there and are always greeted by a friendly, efficient staff , the meals are always exceptional with great attention to presentation! Highly recommended by us "locals"!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was our first time at La Cocina. Unfortunately, after we had ordered, we learned that there was only one left of their signature avocado stuffed with seafood salad. Three of the four of us had ordered it. So two of us split that entree and split shrimp crepes. The kitchen did not do the split for us, although we told the waiter that was what we wanted to do. So it was a bit awkward doing it at our table. I actually preferred the crepes to the seafood salad. My husband thought the chicken tacos were fine but nothing special. Our other friend ordered the Waldorf salad and asked for Tabasco. Unfortunately, the restaurant was out of that so he settled for a different hot sauce. We enjoyed the zucchini curry soup of the day even more than our lunch entrees. Because the reviews have been excellent, I assume that our mediocre experience was a fluke and we might go back to try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were looking for a nice anniversary dinner in a break from touristy and beach food joints and we found a perfect gem! Made reservations one hour prior and we're seated by name in cozy old world dining room. The specials of the night, the snapper and the buco osso, were perfectly prepared and presented and the creme brule, omg! The server, a young lady with an accent, was very attentive and pleasant. It was the most enjoyabe meal we ve had all vacation and will make a point of returning, both to St Augustine and to La Cosina!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food and friendly wait staff.
A quiet, hidden gem😃

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great plate presentation, excellent menu to select from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

One of our favorite local restaurants.
Excellent food and service. Great deal on Thursday night with bring your own
wine and no corning fee.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had high expectations based on the reviews. The presentation of the entrees was very nice. The staff was pleasant but slow and seemed insufficient for the number of customers. Food was disappointing both in taste and quantity. The salmon was ok but about 6 ounces of salmon for $28 seemed overpriced. I had the salmon and my wife had a chicken dish. The older couple who were with us did not comment on the food. He had a seafood dish with mussels and she also had the salmon. He commented on the cost being high. As the meal went along it became increasing difficult of all of us to hear as the number of customers grew. We actually left so that we could carry on our conversation. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined there for Mothers Day Dinner, with another couple. The food was good, set menu fixed price $49.00 with a few nice selections. The restaurant did call to confirm our reservations and to be sure we knew that it was a fixed menu. Our friends were not happy they were charged $30 for a just "OK" pitcher of White Sangria and the fact that a 20% tip was added to the total bill.
We usually never complain, but my husbands glass of red wine was not drinkable. They were happy to replace with another glass of something else.
My husband said the additional tip of 20% was noted on the menu...but he was the only one that noticed it...we usually tip a little more then 20% did not think they should have added it to the bill.
I have been there for lunch before and its always been lovely. Yes I know it was Mothers Day...Diner for 4 for a little over $300 we all wished we had gone somewhere else.
Note: the chairs are very uncomfortable...they are foldable chairs that move a little with very little padding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were so pleased with everything. Will certainly recommend to all our friends, family and neighbors. So nice to have found you. Thank you for the wonderful Mother's day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Price food, but very good. Excellently prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food, but service very slow(over 2 hours).

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Dinner was amazing! Service was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Took some friends for a payback dinner on a Thursday nite which is free wine corkage nite. My three guests each had the rack of lamb prepared to different temperatures and each was perfect. I had the swordfish special which was the best swordfish I have eaten out in St. Augustine by far served with two jumbo scrimp and served over rice with an et toufee (sp ?)sauce .
Also try their pear salad.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Enjoyed our meal and service was very good. No real complaints. Very friendly atmosphere. Restaurant is in the lobby of a hotel but has a stand alone vibe.
You can't go wrong dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I love this place for lunch. Their staff is outstanding, food terrific and atmosphere great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch for one can be awkward (or worse), but La Cocina made my experience simply delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service. No hesitation at all to recommend it. Probably the finest up-scale restaurant in St. Augustine Beach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of our favorites! Always a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best food in St Augustine Florida by far. I always go for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is an expensive restaurant. I had the special which w as red snapper and it was $36, my husband's filet was less ! That being said, the portions are large and my entree was very tasty. Service just so so. The server was nice enough but made us feel rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food average and very over priced service below average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food and service. Definitely one of the best choices for dining in St. Augustine, especially on Thursday's when you can bring in your own wine for no corkage fee.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Kind of old and tired. Put us at a table next to a white sheet curtain which a a wine stain right at eye level. Expected more from reviews. Food was fine but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My wife and I have been here many times but generally with a party of six or more. Tonight was a 'date night' with just the two of us. The reservation was honored promptly and we ordered a bottle of wine from their list. Our selected appetizers were served at the appropriate time and followed with entrees pleasantly spaced to allow conversation and a relaxed feeling. AS ALWAYS, the presentation was superb and the meals were delicious. The dining room was not overcrowded and the noise level certainly acceptable. Our server was pleasant, sharp, and professional. What is there not to like about such a great experience?

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was great! Atmosphere was awesome. A very enjoyable night with friends to relax and enjoy a great meal. Service was fantastic. Looking forward to trying there breakfasts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.