Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About La Cigogne

Located in the lovely neighborhood of Carroll Gardens, this new french restaurant offers specialties from the North east region of France, Alsace. You will be able to enjoy the most authentic Alsatian cuisine such as Tartes Flambées & Spaetzles. They also offer traditional french dishes including the soup a l'oignon gratinee, salad Nicoise & steak tartare.

Open everyday from 11am to 10pm Monday to Friday with no transition, as well serving a full brunch menu 10 am to 4 pm Saturday & Sunday

This restaurant provides a subtle accent to the elegant bistro décor. The lively bonhomie of the bar area warmly envelops guests as they enjoy a cocktail at the bar or dine leisurely while the chimes of clinking glasses and the Art Deco sconces in the dining room invoke the transporting ambiance of a bustling Bistro In the summer, enjoy an afternoon drink on the charming outdoor terrace while experiencing the spectacular urban sunsets and la joie de vivre.

215 Union Street
Brooklyn, NY 11231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between Henry St & Clinton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 858-5641

Website:
http://www.lacigognenyc.com/

Public Transit:
La Cigogne is located 5 blocks away from the train station Carroll St, Both F & G train stops there.

Executive Chef:
Pascal

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

La Cigogne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
See All
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent, started with the onion soup, then large bowl of mussels which I split then a steak.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Went many times always loved. Now it is terrible. Will never go back. So dissatisfied

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Been meaning to try this place in my neighborhood for years went there and was pleasantly surprised. We sat by the fireplace and the food was excellent had a great time.

Onion soup
Mussels
Steak
Wine

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing! Especially the “Morning High” cocktail...Definitely a neighborhood gem. Will definitely return for the food,drinks and ambience... the only thing that was lacking was the service! But all in all it was a great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Several items we wanted to order were not available. We were told the restaurant had run out of the items but we were not informed before choosing our selections. Noise level was high due to a family with several children who were running around the restaurant. Very disappointed with this dining experience. Had been here for lunch before and enjoyed it that is why we tried dinner. Doubt I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

worst service - spoke w them twice beforehand to let them know it was my wife's birthday -- you would have thought they didn't know we were even at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Terrrific Cobble Hill spot with great service and interesting Alsatian specialties.. good over and over again on multiple visits...Damian runs a terrific local spot with outdoor seating on good days and a fireplace for the wet winter nights...

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

AMazing place, food was great and so was the service. We will be back

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The service was all over the place and the food took a very long time to come out. We ordered the scallops first and they were completely lackluster. We love scallops usually, but these were almost FLAVORLESS! The Nemrod spatzle was delicious - if you are patient enough to wait for it. Also, when we finished our drinks (while waiting for our food to come out) it was quite difficult to get our waiter's attention for a refill - and the restaurant wasn't even full! Disappointing and overpriced.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've enjoyed La Cigogne before but at my last visit, the food prep was definitely off.

Tags: Quick Bite
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with my wife on their outdoor deck. Service was very attentive and professional. I would recommend the tarte flambees champignons with truffle oil and camembert and their steak au poivre!!! Excellent wines from the Alsace region. Will be back to cozy up by the fireplace.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Very cute place! We sat by the fire place and couldnt enjoy more our steak frites and spatzles! Service was on point and very friendly. We ll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Switzerland)·Dined on July 22, 2017

When you go to a French-Alsace restaurant and you are greeted by two French guys who work there you know you are in the right place. I ate here with my parents for brunch and it was excellent. There are a dozen or so egg options, plus healthier options like yogurt and fruits. Service was excellent from our Strasbourgh natice waiter. I’ll be definetly going back for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great, quaint little place beside Carroll Gardens in Brooklyn. We went for brunch and really enjoyed out time. This place is great for groups, dates and get together. Food was delicious and their cappuccino was great! Great place for Brunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Cute little French eatery in Carroll Gardens. Good food, nice atmosphere, and charming wait staff. Went here for a date night on vacation to see my fiance and we both enjoyed the food and had a good time! Prices are decent too!💖💕😉👍

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Romantic place great food... people amazing I do recommend anyone to go and ask for felipe III.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We very much enjoyed visiting. My girlfriend is from the Alsace region and I have spent a lot of time in the region. The food was just like being back home.

We highly recommend spending a meal here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Horrible service disaster place dot go ever.
Food never came it's mediocrity
ANyway

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Waiters were really nice and all French : perfect !!! The place is really nice. Nice French restaurant !! Perfect to celebrate. Merci, I will come back again and recommend it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very very spotty service and very disorganized. No one seemed to run the restaurant. Once we manage to get some attention, the food was decent but hardly from Alsace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My fiance brunched at La Cigogne last Sunday and had a thoroughly pleasant experience! The restaurant front opens onto a raised deck that allows for alfresco dining, and there was enough sunlight to permit dining outside, which allowed for great people watching. The restaurant's menu is Alsatian, and deviates from the rote brunch options of eggs benny, kale salad and pancakes in favor of traditional French/Alps fare cooked extremely well. In a testament to the chef's skill, the scrambled eggs I ordered were some of the most pillowy soft, decadent and perfectly cooked I've had in recent memory. Interesting cocktail list, and the orange juice was fresh-squeezed. We would return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The restaurant is this casual yet chic place. The ambiance is great although a little too dark, however the darkness can make one's dinner experience more energetic and lively. The service there is great and the waiters are extremely patient and helpful. This place is absolutely perfect for an anniversary or, like me, a night out with the girls. Plus for the foodies (like me) it seems like there is always something new to discover... all in all, "La Cigogne" is a must go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

excellent service, good food. Would like to come back for a brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Spaetzle is very good, but don't come here looking for anything else "authentic". Cheese plate described as Camembert and Comte was more like cheap Brie and Monterrey jack. Table (most from France) ordered plenty and nearly everything fell flat. Service was slow, inattentive, and unknowledgeable. Looking for something to eat in the area? Then it's an okay choice. Otherwise stay away.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is our third time dining at the restaurant, and everytime the food was great. Love their cocktails and especially the fireplace. So cozy and warm on a cold winter's day in Brooklyn!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful service, kind people, chill vibe, great food. I had the croque madame for brunch, it was wonderful. The ambiance is great, very cozy with a fireplace on one end of the room, and big windows - great for people watching - on the other. Food focuses on general French fare and Strasbourg-regional options as well. I loved this place and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Need to shape up the food quality. We were all pretty disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a lovely family brunch with little kids. Great menu with lots of yummy Alsatian options but plenty of other choices too. Our server was friendly and solicitous. Loved sitting near the fireplace!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great! Cocktails perfect! Ambience so comfortable
Fire was blazing and the patio was open
Something for everyone

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very cosy spot, my date and I loved sitting near the fireplace.

Went for valentine's day. While the food was overall good, I wasn't too impressed by the "Prix Fixe" they were enforcing on this particular day (your mileage will vary). Roasting an artichoke was creative but most of the outside leaves were predictably burnt. The risotto was good, but probably didn't have a place in the limited entrees on a $60 prix fixe. My entree was also cooling fast by the time I got it (it obviously waited a while for my date's entree to be ready) but still warm.

However the staff was very friendly and nice, and even offered us some free wine and a free desert at the end of the night! Everyone can have an off-day, and I'm very interested in the rest of their dining options (which weren't available on V-Day), so I might come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We order steak and salmon, our steak was full of black pepper and my lentils was way to salty. Our tuna was light in color and not deep red .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

terrific french onion soup, great white wines from Alcace. a really good vibe all around!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Such delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Foodies beware: canned black olives and soggy greens constitute the nicoise salad. Owner knows nothing about food and very arrogant. The fireplace and the waiters were fine, but this was an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve - overall not that impressed. Would not go back.

Food was OK. Service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good pieces on the menu
Good location
Good service
Escargot too many herbs
Tuna tartare too much sesame
Steak tartare had no egg
Lights too dim
But I'd still go again, thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was hoping this place would be great. The menu looked good and the neighborhood is great. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. But the place lacked substance. The food was completely mediocre. It was not very crowded on a Saturday night, every seat at the bar was empty, which should have been a sign of the food to come.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Accomodating, professional service, good food with unique Alsatian menu (French/German fusion), great cappuccinos and flourless chocolate cake. Cheeseboard and scallop app was delicious. Tarte flambee was great to share as an appetizer (2-3 people) or a light entree. The lighting was very dim and menu print small so it was difficult read. I noticed some people using the flash light on their smart phones. Aside from that we had an overall positive experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

place itself and atmosphere was amazing. I wish I could say the same about the food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.