Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About La Cigogne

Located in the lovely neighborhood of Carroll Gardens, this new french restaurant offers specialties from the North east region of France, Alsace. You will be able to enjoy the most authentic Alsatian cuisine such as Tartes Flambées & Spaetzles. They also offer traditional french dishes including the soup a l'oignon gratinee, salad Nicoise & steak tartare.

Open everyday from 11am to 10pm Monday to Friday with no transition, as well serving a full brunch menu 10 am to 4 pm Saturday & Sunday

This restaurant provides a subtle accent to the elegant bistro décor. The lively bonhomie of the bar area warmly envelops guests as they enjoy a cocktail at the bar or dine leisurely while the chimes of clinking glasses and the Art Deco sconces in the dining room invoke the transporting ambiance of a bustling Bistro In the summer, enjoy an afternoon drink on the charming outdoor terrace while experiencing the spectacular urban sunsets and la joie de vivre.

215 Union Street
Brooklyn, NY 11231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 11:00am

Cross Street:
between Henry St & Clinton St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 858-5641

Website:
http://www.lacigognenyc.com/

Public Transit:
La Cigogne is located 5 blocks away from the train station Carroll St, Both F & G train stops there.

Executive Chef:
Pascal

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

La Cigogne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Fireplace (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My fiance brunched at La Cigogne last Sunday and had a thoroughly pleasant experience! The restaurant front opens onto a raised deck that allows for alfresco dining, and there was enough sunlight to permit dining outside, which allowed for great people watching. The restaurant's menu is Alsatian, and deviates from the rote brunch options of eggs benny, kale salad and pancakes in favor of traditional French/Alps fare cooked extremely well. In a testament to the chef's skill, the scrambled eggs I ordered were some of the most pillowy soft, decadent and perfectly cooked I've had in recent memory. Interesting cocktail list, and the orange juice was fresh-squeezed. We would return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The restaurant is this casual yet chic place. The ambiance is great although a little too dark, however the darkness can make one's dinner experience more energetic and lively. The service there is great and the waiters are extremely patient and helpful. This place is absolutely perfect for an anniversary or, like me, a night out with the girls. Plus for the foodies (like me) it seems like there is always something new to discover... all in all, "La Cigogne" is a must go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

excellent service, good food. Would like to come back for a brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Spaetzle is very good, but don't come here looking for anything else "authentic". Cheese plate described as Camembert and Comte was more like cheap Brie and Monterrey jack. Table (most from France) ordered plenty and nearly everything fell flat. Service was slow, inattentive, and unknowledgeable. Looking for something to eat in the area? Then it's an okay choice. Otherwise stay away.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is our third time dining at the restaurant, and everytime the food was great. Love their cocktails and especially the fireplace. So cozy and warm on a cold winter's day in Brooklyn!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful service, kind people, chill vibe, great food. I had the croque madame for brunch, it was wonderful. The ambiance is great, very cozy with a fireplace on one end of the room, and big windows - great for people watching - on the other. Food focuses on general French fare and Strasbourg-regional options as well. I loved this place and would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Need to shape up the food quality. We were all pretty disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a lovely family brunch with little kids. Great menu with lots of yummy Alsatian options but plenty of other choices too. Our server was friendly and solicitous. Loved sitting near the fireplace!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was great! Cocktails perfect! Ambience so comfortable
Fire was blazing and the patio was open
Something for everyone

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very cosy spot, my date and I loved sitting near the fireplace.

Went for valentine's day. While the food was overall good, I wasn't too impressed by the "Prix Fixe" they were enforcing on this particular day (your mileage will vary). Roasting an artichoke was creative but most of the outside leaves were predictably burnt. The risotto was good, but probably didn't have a place in the limited entrees on a $60 prix fixe. My entree was also cooling fast by the time I got it (it obviously waited a while for my date's entree to be ready) but still warm.

However the staff was very friendly and nice, and even offered us some free wine and a free desert at the end of the night! Everyone can have an off-day, and I'm very interested in the rest of their dining options (which weren't available on V-Day), so I might come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We order steak and salmon, our steak was full of black pepper and my lentils was way to salty. Our tuna was light in color and not deep red .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

terrific french onion soup, great white wines from Alcace. a really good vibe all around!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Such delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Foodies beware: canned black olives and soggy greens constitute the nicoise salad. Owner knows nothing about food and very arrogant. The fireplace and the waiters were fine, but this was an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve - overall not that impressed. Would not go back.

Food was OK. Service was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good pieces on the menu
Good location
Good service
Escargot too many herbs
Tuna tartare too much sesame
Steak tartare had no egg
Lights too dim
But I'd still go again, thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was hoping this place would be great. The menu looked good and the neighborhood is great. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. But the place lacked substance. The food was completely mediocre. It was not very crowded on a Saturday night, every seat at the bar was empty, which should have been a sign of the food to come.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Accomodating, professional service, good food with unique Alsatian menu (French/German fusion), great cappuccinos and flourless chocolate cake. Cheeseboard and scallop app was delicious. Tarte flambee was great to share as an appetizer (2-3 people) or a light entree. The lighting was very dim and menu print small so it was difficult read. I noticed some people using the flash light on their smart phones. Aside from that we had an overall positive experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

place itself and atmosphere was amazing. I wish I could say the same about the food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great dinner, wonderful ambience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good. Service was slow and sloppy. I don't think the servers are experienced enough to handle a brunch crowd. The location is quaint and the decor is charming. Has potential. Just needs a more discerning eye on service and food presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

i went to La Cigogne after going through a number of review. It did not disappoint. The portions were healthy and good, we enjoyed our meal. The mussels were fantastic and different (try the beer ones). We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service & kitchen are ultra slow. They do some of the best eggs Benedict in Brooklyn, but nothing more.

The slow kitchen & lukewarm service is the norm (we've been a few times hoping things will change), but the last time really will be our last time here. We waited over an hour for our brunch with absolutely no apology from the staff or management. When I inquired what stage the process was at & could I pls cancel the order if it will take more than 10 more minutes, the Manager (Owner?) simply told me it was a busy day, but he'll find out, but then completly forgot about coming back to me. No apology, no feedback.
Other than the eggs Benedict everything else is very mediocre & the flammenkuche bland & tasteless. If you are looking for good French food this is certainly NOT the place to go.
With all the options available in Brooklyn, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food is outstanding at this restaurant and it's great to find this unusual Alsatian cuisine in the New York.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I had the gluten free mushroom and bacon spatzles, it was fabulous. The cream brulee was the best I had in some time. We got there early so we had our choice of seating but when we left the place was much busier. I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Mediocre experience. Restaurant was mostly empty yet service lacked urgency and attention. Highlight of evening was when waiter asked us after starters if we wanted something else although we had previously ordered main courses that never made it to the table. Can't understand such lack of attention and overall caring for clients. Food was lackluster. No flavor. Wouldn't recommend. Neighborhood has much better restaurants to try. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delightful dinner trying all sorts of delicious treats! The seafood spaetzle was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great open sliders to street view - nice upscale french bistro vibe - good tunes - friendly staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a great dining experience here - loved by all!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was tasteless and ambiance felt flat. Service was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The location was convenient. The food was disappointing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Low key and nice if you want to taste the specialties from Alsace (Tartes flambees and spaetzle). The terrace is small but quieter than inside. Friendly service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food & service were both outstanding. My only complaint is the patio doors were open on a hot & humid evening. I would have preferred air conditioning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I want to love this place. I can't. All three times I've been, the service has not only been awful, but also no one there seems to care. They are perpetually understaffed and when something goes wrong, no one even acknowledges it, must less apologizes, takes an item off the bill, or offers to buy a round of drinks. It's like the twilight zone of NYC dining experiences.

That said, the food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed an early Mothers Day meal here, a first visit for all in our group. We had to wait for about 15 minutes after being on-time for our reservation, but were checked on regularly before being seated at a comfortable table. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful, but there was an air that the staff was feeling overwhelmed and disorganized. Everyone enjoyed the food, but everything took a long time to come out. We were there for nearly 2 hours, even though we only had appetizers and dinner with no drinks or dessert. This would be fine on a lingering date, but it felt too long for our group.
All in all, I would return for a date night but not in a group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Met a few friends, for a nice, quiet evening... catching up. Delicious and fun food, all perfect for sharing. Each of us had something we just loved. Wait staff very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Birthday Celebration! Family visiting from Spain, very accommodating and patience waiting while we translated the menu to them. Service was excellent, our waitress was extremely attentive! Food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Found the real Alsatian french food in Carroll Gardens.... tarte flambe Les Champignon was superb. We try to taste a different one each time from the list. Never disappointed.Portion is good to share. We were a family of five. Soup aL'Oignon Gratinee was perfectly done. Old style not salty not too much cheese.
Creative fresh salad was excellent. La Hamburger Strasbourgeoise on pretzel bun with brie was simply delicious. Am glad our daughter lives near this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was tasteless. No salt or pepper. The classic French dish- wasn't French.the waiter was clooless They offered free deserts, for a screwup, but charged anyway. I ordered espresso but never got it
NOT WORTH IT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.