Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About L.A. Chapter

L.A. Chapter is a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, the chef's presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique.

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
7am-10pm Sunday-Thursday
7am-11pm Friday-Saturday

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L.A. Chapter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fun (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is an excellent review for an evening which had a couple of misses -- a martini ordered came out wrong, and my date's fish was initially overcooked. Both were sent back. But there was much to like about the place -- it was hip and cozy and not overdone, and the service was impeccable -- Tommy was our waiter and he not only was understanding, he made the evening more enjoyable. My GF and I both hate sending anything back and having to do so twice in one dinner seemed excessive, but Tommy -- and the host-manager who also stopped by -- were very nice and supportive. Ultimately the fish came out great the second time and my burger was excellent. Lovely place, good people... I was nervous as being in the Ace made me worry about pretentiousness and over-hipsterness, but it ended up being a very nice little neighborhood bistro. Will go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was our first concert at the Ace Theatre. We wanted to eat close to the venue. Made 6:30 Reservations at LA Chapter. The Dinner and Drinks were Fabulous. It was a easy walk next door to the Venue. We Saw 'Chris Thile and Brad Mehldou in the Beauty of the Ols United Artists Theatre.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The best thing about this restaurant is the wait staff- fabulously helpful and dear and attentive
The hostess was charming as well
This is the only reason( and the proximity to the theater at the ACE) that we might try it again
The bar was good- and the appetizer of the ricotta and honey with grilled bread was perfect
But then- such a disappointment!
pastas ( both) were al denta- but tasteless
The hamburger -not special at all- though the fries were good
the mussels devoid of -anything
But the dessert( apple tart )was delicious

A shame- because we would love to come back- for the location --- and the staff ( but sadly - not for the chef)
Perhaps- simply go for appetizer and drinks
And then- dessert ---that would garner the most praise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our server was CC. She was super cool! Great food. The roof top is amazing. I wish I knew it was so cool. I'd have been all the time in the summer. Really overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Service was very slow. Food was burnt. Usually decent food but not for the price

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The tartar was good,loved the sea foam chips. The salmon with the pesto and artichokes made for a nice presentation. Enjoyed the dessert

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a really great experience. A little disappointed that some items we wanted ran out. It was a Firday, 8:00 pm reservation. At that hour the kitchen should be fully stocked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We chose this restaurant for several reasons - great menu selections, proximity to the Ace Theater (for an 8:30 dinner before the Jim Gaffigan show at 10:30) and we were able to easily Snag last minute reservations for four (on a Saturday night no less).

We were delighted with the service, ambiance, drinks and all of the dishes we ordered.

The Sixth (tequila drink) was spectacularly refreshing and we inhaled the meatball and burrata appetizers. My husband loved the flank steak and the pesto pasta dish was good too.

Definitely order their yummy dessert plate which includes amazing lemon iced and chocolate chip cookies, along with a couple of rich, fudgy brownies - absolutely delicious!

Highly recommend this spot!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at LA Chapter. Although they messed up the order a bit and it took longer to receive than anticipated, my friend and I ended up really liking our dishes. I suggest the Mary's Charred Half Chicken, which had a nice spicy kick to it and was just the right portion size for a reasonably hungry adult. Cocktails were also very well done. The restaurant hops on weekend evenings so do not expect a quiet dining experience if you go then. But it's a pretty terrific place to meet before a show at either the Theater at the Ace Hotel or the Orpheum.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ate here only because we were staying in the hotel that night and saw YELP reviews that gave this place 4 stars. Sorry, but these people do not know what they're talking about. The place is tiny and VERY crowded with the seating arrangements. Servers could not get past tables without rubbing up against you or flat out nailing you as they rushed by. Food did not live up to the YELP hype - sorry. Won't ever be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2017

LA Chapter in the Ace Hotel has a charming French bistro feel in the middle of downtown LA down including outside seating on the sidewalk. The food was great. My date had the Halibut with manila clams and I had the PEI mussels in a mild chili broth with fries. Both dishes were very tasty and well prepared. I also recommend a starter plate of Marcona almonds and olives that is quite ample for two or three. The wine list is small but well chosen. At the waiter's suggestion, we had a bottle of Alsace wine, a dry blend of auxerrois and sylvaner grapes that went very well with the seafood and shellfish. Chocolate cake was a classic blackout style cake and large enough to share. It was truly outstanding. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. The food came out very quickly. Unlike most restaurants these days, i never had to touch the bottle of wine. The waiter poured more wine in our glasses as we consumed it.
Altogether a very enjoyable evening. Go to the rooftop bar while you're st the hotel - great views of the city, people watching and a pool.
LA Chapter is HIGHLY recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great for after the concert - made reservations for quick seating. Burger and fries were killer. Fun! The hotel rocks too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Quite pricey for brunch, but the food was flavorful, surprising takes on classic dishes. The cocktails were incredibly good (I'd say worth the $13)... unique concoctions that were so incredibly balanced and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Visited LA Chapter for brunch before a tradeshow on Sunday. It's in an up-and-coming area of DTLA in the Ace Hotel.

I found the brunch menu a bit limiting, but the selections we chose (Burger and a Sausage Scramble) were tasty.

There should be a rating for service as "mixed" because we experienced a bit of a roller coaster ride. When we arrived, it took a long-ish time (longer than it should have) for a server to acknowledge us, let alone come over to take an order. And when she did come over, it was only after she took the order of the table next to us who was seated well after we were.

As we were in a bit of a hurry, we asked to give our full order, not just our beverage order... the server seemed irritated by that. Admittedly, we might have had a bit of an edge after being ignored initially. She was also annoyed that we asked a "which is better" question as we had not been there before. After that we were handed off to another server who was very upbeat and professional, though she did have to contend with a slow kitchen. She was quite apologetic and gracious. Note: the table neighbors also got their food before we did, though we all waited quite a while for our selections.

While the food looked good and tasted good, I felt the plate value for the $15 price on the Merguez Scramble was not great. I would have liked one more egg and two fewer pieces of pita.

I can't recommend brunch experience, but the dinner menu looks interesting. Some server hospitality and kitchen speed/efficient training is definitely in order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Wondeful staying..! Great location, great food and good service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

service was a bit slow at times but the pancakes & cocktails were all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Bonne soirée ... service ok ... mais bruyant et chère !!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Ordered the avi-toast which was delicious, drinks were okay and felt like the waiter was rushing us out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed lunch at LA Chapter after shopping for jewelry down the street. This place is fantastic! We enjoyed the service and food very much...Bravo! Message to the Chef: Keep on Pickling!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2017

They changed their packages, I didn't like the new lemon whatever pancakes. The coffee I got was sitting there for a whiles it was the worse I ever had. Nothing amazing about the service. I woundt go back. I used to like going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

absolutely love coming here when in DTLA! menu is always creative and delicious and you cannot be the cool chic atmosphere! cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very disappointed. The menu is very limited and the portions are tiny though what we got was tasty. We just had to eat slowly to spread out the time. We asked for bread and were told it would be a dollar extra which was fine except we got one piece of regular loaf bread cut in half. When I asked the manager why the bread was so poorly presented he said that LA people don't order bread anymore...umm, no, not close to being true. There is a lot they can do to make this a really good place to eat. Time to think what they have done over.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I find the menu here to be a bit limited. Had a good hamburger fries and great cocktails before a screening in the theatre and what a theatre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

AMAZING!!! We loved it! My sister and I split the kale salad, fingerling potatoes, and street corn and it was DELICIOUS!!! It was also my first time having a South Park Shandy and it was really refreshing -- loved it all! Staff was friendly and attentive. Restaurant was cute and clean. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I came here for a late dinner after the show we saw next door at the ACE Theatre next door. We had made a reservation for 11:00pm however, we arrived about 15 minutes early. We were greeted promptly and seated immediately at a nice table for 2 near the window.

They were serving an abbreviated late night menu. We shared the Avocado Toast starter and a Mary's Half Chicken. All I can say is - wow! Both very good. The chicken was top chef! It was perfectly cooked, juicy and deboned except for the leg. The skin slightly crispy and perfectly seasoned.

The restaurant filled up quickly after we arrived with the show next door having let out. Service remained excellent even with the sudden increase in patrons and our waiter was attentive and we never felt rushed.

Both of us were pleasantly surprised at the elevated dining experience and cuisine and we are looking forward to coming back for a full dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I were at LA Chapter before the Dita von Teese show.
The drinks at the bar were delicious and served in vintage looking glasses.
We moved to a window seat for dinner. The menu is short, but we both found something we liked on it. My husband had a pork ragu pasta that reminded us both of our trip to Florence, Italy. I tried the chimichuri hangar steak. It was delicious.
The portions were on the smaller side, which I liked. No leftovers to worry about during the show.
We would definitely come here again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The service was exceptional. Our order was delivered very quickly. Small plates but nicely presented.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

My wife and I love this place! It never disappoints! We visit often. Can't wait to go again! Perfect place to get dinner before a show at the Ace Theater!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food. Probably will come back. Hopefully they accommodate table request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

L.A. Chapter is a terrific place for conversation and people watching. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The food is a little pricey but delicious. I would recommend it for special occasions and getting together with friends.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

I have eaten there twice and both times the food was delicious. The drinks are wonderful as well. Service was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The ricotta pancakes are amazing!!! one of the best ones I've ever had, however their egg dishes are boring. This place is really cute, we sat outside and it was very nice. I expected more from the place, but oh well, still good though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Superb! Huge portions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I've been once before for dinner prior to a show at the Ace, but this time I went for lunch. Both menus are great and the food is tasty. I'd recommend the beet and burrata salad (and add avocado) for a light, summer lunch.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very disappointed by non-meat / non-chicken options. As pescatarians we were pretty excited by the menu advertised on OpenTable (knowing full well that it might not be exactly but would expect it to come close). I had a spaghetti type dish and my partner had the Halibut - the only 2 non-meat options on the menu. Spaghetti dish was falvourful but halibut was overpriced for an underwhelming 2" x 2" piece of fish for $30.
Service was great and space was exactly what I was hoping for - just a shame the restaurant offerings let it all down.

Sadly I don't think I'll go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We stayed at the Ace & this was the perfect place for both breakfast and dinner as we didn't want to venture far from the hotel because of our work schedules. Service & food were both excellent & it was uber convenient (because we didn't have to take an Uber! Had drinks on the roof & made our way down for a great, reasonably priced, yummy meal. Simple menu with perfect options for our small group. We ordered several dishes/ sides/ apps & all shared. The avocado toast for breakfast was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Overall, excellent experience. Look forward to returning to try other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good place to eat before an event at the theater next door, or one of the other nearby venues. The food is good and exactly what you expect from the menu, cocktails are reasonably priced (although the wine is overpriced and fairly uninspired) and the panna cotta was an excellent way to end the meal. Gets pretty noisy as it fills up, largely due to the tile decor and the closely packed tables, and the service can be hit or miss at that point but you're not there for fine dining or the romantic bistro feel...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love this place so much. A lovely brush go to. The food and coffee is fantastic, but the ambiance is what really sells it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and service! Will definitely go there again... The Ragu pasta was yummy!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Business Meals, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.