Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About L.A. Chapter

L.A. Chapter is a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, the chef's presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique. Fresh herbs and colorful accents welcome grace to the plate. Garum salts the brussels sprouts, hibiscus and nasturtium fragrance the duck breast, tahini and kumquats exalt the tuna. Subtle incongruities in flavor are at the heart of what makes L.A. Chapter a thoroughly American restaurant. Some of our more popular dishes include our dry-aged burger, veggie burger, Ora King salmon, Brussels sprouts, steak, avocado toast, ricotta pancakes and oysters. The menu is complemented by a choice selection of artisanal cocktails, craft beer and wine.

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
7am-11pm everyday

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L.A. Chapter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
People Watching (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (10)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and beer selection. Happy hour was great. Anywhere that does bone marrow well is a good bet, but they delivered on all accounts. Great place,

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch menu is amazing! Try the ricotta pancakes. This dish is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined here because we were seeing a show at the Ace Theater. Was pleasantly surprised with the food. Seating upstairs was a bit odd. Music a little too loud. Overall, interesting dishes and friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to hotel for a night. saw Amiee Mann at the theater next door. Had dinner prior. Everyone , from the valet ,front desk, upstairs ,restaurant and I mean everyone knew their role in making a very nice weekend happen for my daughter and myself. Thank you !!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food is average. The steak had zero flavor even with the chimichurri, the pea shoots with it wasn't a good paring and the potatoes tasted like card board.

The kale salad was bomb though, and our waiter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Been here 4 times now. The food is below average at best. I've tried different items on the menu and it's all just blah. It's over priced for end product for sure. Only reason we go is it's convenient to the Ace for concerts. But we won't be going back.

It's a cool vibe. The food is just not good. $30 halibut should not be dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The cocktails were extremely small, especially given the premium price, and they were out of both the dishes my companion and I wished to order - and our reservation was at 6:30PM! When we expressed our disappointment, the waiter blamed the event that was happening in the theater (hadn't they known about it for a while?) and said that it was just a reason to come back. That, along with other service issues are clearly reasons NOT to go back, though I am sad about that. The same dining companion and I had an excellent meal at LA Chapter in 2016 and we were hoping our dinner this time would confirm LA Chapter as a go-to restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was great but both my colleague and I ended up feeling sick within 2 hours. I spoke with the restaurant manager who apologized to me and promised to follow up by that evening. She never did. This creates a feeling that I don't matter to the restaurant. I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Perfect spot to hit on its own or before a show at the Ace.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The Brussel sprouts were absolutely delicious. The salmon was wonderful too and the waiter was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing as usual!! The salmon is a must! Great staff! Thank you !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wow,what a great find.7 minutes from LA LIVE / Staples but a world away from the hectic crowds and tourists.Sidewalk or inside dining. Lot of cool and interesting people walking around seemed hip right near theaters.We usually go places right at Staples area but been there done that. Our waitress was great and the burger and chicken sandwich both very good.We will definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. Food was great. Server was funny and extremely quick. Went up to the rooftop after brunch for a drink which offered amazing views of downtown.

Would recommend, will probably come back another time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went post-theater for dinner. We were seated right away for our reservation. Good wine list and interesting menu. Drinks brought out relatively quickly. The only issue was the waiter - a lot of attitude. I can't eat dairy or pork so when there is a word on the menu I don't understand I ask because, in the past, I've inadvertently ordered something I'm allergic to. There was one word I didn't understand and so I asked "what is this" and he very slowly pronounced it. So I replied, "yes, but what is it?" He rolled his eyes (literally), signed and said "sausage". Guess not knowing every possible word for "sausage" means I'm not quite hip enough to hang out here.
Regardless, they were able to make the dish without it. We were very pleased with our food and the wine and other than the attitude, people seemed pleasant. Service was a little slow, which I expected after having read the reviews.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

They provided good food, quick service despite being very busy, and a friendly wait staff. This was a great find for a cozy lunch break.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Terrific place for pre-show cocktails and dinner with theatre right next door. Great energy, lively environment, and retro decor. Reasonably priced menu and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Pre Van Morrison dinner at LA Chapter, great dinner, great night, loved the retro LA feel! A little disappointed that we had a lot of time to kill and the rooftop lounge was never suggested by the hostess. I missed that while researching the venue:( Other than that, great food, great service, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The vegetarian options were really limited. The food was not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Disappointing. Food barely average; our shisto peppers were under-cooked. Good cocktails.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This is a great place for dinner before a show. The prices were not outrageous but the food had a high end flavor profile. Great service. Highly recommend reservations if your catching as show as it got quite busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a nice breakfast here on Sunday . The food was good and the service was good but the noise level is tremendously loud. I would go back again .

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place and food. Great place to eat before the theater inside the Ace Hotel.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our experience here was awesome, especially for the first time! Great service & a super cool ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Very nice looking restaurant. The brussell sprouts were great. The chicken which was suppose to be half a chicken was very small and not enough to share. The loud music made it hard to hear
and participate in a conversation without raising your voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The ricotta pancakes were divine. I enjoyed my brunch cocktail as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was good, but nothing blew me away. The clams and mussells could have used a little extra flavor, the salmon was quite good and fresh, and the burger was tasty. The atmosphere feels a bit like a Starbucks more than a restaurant, not quite the cozy romantic place I was hoping for. A good place to go if you're in downtown and don't want to spend a fortune for good decent food.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was great and exactly what I planned for the evening , except that is was Grammy night and the rooftop bar was closed for a private party. Will definitely go back and this time around get to check out the rooftop bar

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

wonderful place! i highly recommend for brunch. My group sat there for almost 2 hours drinking coffee and eating the yummy food

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very eclectic vibe! The host was extremely friendly and accommodating! The server was knowledgably about the menu and was very friendly. Food was terrific. Had the falafel sandwich , my friend had the crispy chicken sandwich . We had sashito peppers to start. The sashito peepers were outstanding. My sandwich was terrific, and my friend loved his too!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They cooked my eggs just as I like them :) Attentive service, but not overbearing, Overall fun atmosphere and good experience.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Can't go wrong with anything on the menu but the ricotta pancakes are the best.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Experience was overall great - except that we had a reservation (they even called to confirm the day before) and then we had to wait 20 minutes and they didn't even have a table in the main dining area available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I went there for dinner and then for brunch the following day. The upstairs rooftop bar is great and has amazing cocktails. However, LA Chapter is only okay. The food wasn't very good and the service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is why I love Open Table! Having participated in the DTLA Women's March, I whipped open the app in an attempt to find someplace nearby for sustenance. I'd never heard of this restaurant but it was only three blocks away AND they immediately confirmed my res for a party of EIGHT (mostly unheard of when booking via OT) 20 minutes from the time of booking. Arrived on time and there was a very long line of people waiting for tables. We breezed in, were seated right away, and received excellent service from Maria. Food was good, as were the drinks. I would highly recommend LA Chapter!! 👍🏼👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

my new favorite place in DTLA. I'll be back often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great ambiance great service and great food! I would definitely recommend to all my friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Historic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loved this restaurant. Got there early and went to rooftops bar of the Ace Hotel (restaurant is attached to hotel). Great sunset location, great atmosphere. Dinner was early, so restaurant was not too busy. Decor was nothing like website. Website is bright and diner looking. At night, it takes on a whole different feel.Its warm and mellow and fresh all in one. Food was very good. Highly recommend the Linguini al Cacciuco. Great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Super neat place!! Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love the Ace Hotel
Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My friends and I went to L.A. Chapter for dinner on New Year's Eve and the food was amazing. The three of us shared some different items, so we got to have a delicious taste of several different things and will definitely return for more. The service was delightful and our waiter, Ben, was so caring and informative about ingredients and making sure we had a wonderful experience - which we did.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.