About L.A. Chapter

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

We partnered with the team behind Brooklyn’s beloved Five Leaves and Palm Springs' roadside diner King's Highway — to create L.A. Chapter, a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, L.A. Chapter presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique. Fresh herbs and colorful accents welcome grace to the plate. Some of our more popular dishes include our dry-aged burger, veggie burger, Ora King salmon, Brussels sprouts, steak, avocado toast, ricotta pancakes and oysters. The menu is complemented by a choice selection of artisanal cocktails, craft beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
7am-11pm everyday

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Avocado Toast - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Hemingway Daiquiri - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Moroccan Scramble - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Pan Roasted Chicken - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Hazy Shade Of Winter Cocktail - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Crispy Chicken Sandwich - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Dry Aged Burger - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
ricotta pancakes - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Housemade Ricotta - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Steamed Mussels - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Octopus - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Scallop Risotto - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Petite Chelsea Oysters - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Venison Carpaccio - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Fries - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Candy Bar - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Apple Crisp - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Duroc Pork Chop - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Spring Pea Ravioli - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Graceland  - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Tito's Vodka Martini - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Domaine Sainte Lucie Mip Rose - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Avocado Toasts With Poached Eggs - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Crispy Fingerlings - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Candybar - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Caramel Panna Cotta - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Ricotta And Squash Agnolotti - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Malbec Mip Provencal - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
San Andreas - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Lagunitas IPA - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Sweet & Spicy Brussel Sprouts - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Margarita - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Asparagus And Burrata - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Baja Halibut - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Black and White Cookie - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Mocha - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Blue Basil Collins - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Shishito Peppers - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Blueberry Collins - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Burger - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Sweet & Sour Brussel Sprouts - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Little Gem salad - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Ricotta, Fig, Honeycomb - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Pastries - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Kampachi Crudo - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Porchetta - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
lamb steak frittes - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
beets and burrata - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Chocolate Blueberry Tart - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Spaghetti ‘Chitarra’ with Sea Urchin - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Chitarra, Sea Urchin - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Fried Oyster Special - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Crab Salad - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Hamachi Crudo - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Five Leaves Burger  - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Chopped Kale Salad - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Grilled Lamb Steak - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Drink Ingredients - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Americano - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Berkshire Pork Chop - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Swashbuckle - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Gouda Cheese Puff - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Uni Chitarra - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Kale Salad - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Stuffed Rabbit Loin - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Water - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Rhubard Semifreddo and Pistachio Cake  - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA
Octopus - L.A. Chapter, Los Angeles, CA

L.A. Chapter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (10)
Historic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Music (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved the space--great atmo. Food, un ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved the space--great atmo. Food, underwhelming. Drinks really good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Second time dining here before a show at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Second time dining here before a show at the Ace Theatre ... outstanding food, friendly and attentive service ... we drove down from NorCal and look forward to doing it again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal here on our thanksgi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a great meal here on our thanksgiving night out. The atmosphere was really nice and the cocktails to die for

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worst service ever

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Worst service ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

6:00 reservation. Friend checked in at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

6:00 reservation. Friend checked in at 5:40. I arrived at 6:10 due to traffic. Seated at 6:15. Server took our order and at 7:15 we left to attend an event at the theater next door only having had a glass of wine. I assume the kitchen staff was very short handed that evening. I chose this restaurant for two reasons, location near the theater and because I had had a good experience and meal here before. Very disappointing to have promised a friend dinner and not able to fulfill my promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The service was a bit slow. The food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The service was a bit slow. The food was average. The Flatiron Steak could have been a better cut of meat

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We loved the feel of the place. Nestled ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We loved the feel of the place. Nestled in DTLA at the Ace Hotel, a beauty in itself. The ricotta pancakes with honeycomb butter were to die for. The brussel sprouts were tasty with a hint of spicy..and the ricotta, pomegranate, fig cheese.. yum! Definitely will revisit! Also head to the rooftop bar Upstairs for a drink and a view of the city

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one block away from the Orpheum the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Only one block away from the Orpheum theater with valet parking right next door. Energetic young staff, gourmet dishes. Beyond expectations. Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient location to the Ace Theater. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Convenient location to the Ace Theater. Great steak, burger. The cocktail I ordered was also very good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place looked nice but the service wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The place looked nice but the service was too slow, me and my wife had dinner for our anniversary, and food took more than 40 minutes to arrive, we just asked for the check as the food came to avoid being late for the halloween screening of Nosferatu, we still ran late. You cant fix the past. Too bad.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

went to the restaurant as it was pre the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

went to the restaurant as it was pre theatre. L.. Opera presentation. Enjoyed but, but, seating is crowded,

Tags: People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unfortunately, we were a 1/2 hour late f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Unfortunately, we were a 1/2 hour late for our reservation. I called and let them know that we were going to be late, and didn't really know exactly what time we'd get there. They couldn't have been nicer. We were seated quickly after we arrived, and then, of course, we were in a hurry to get to the theatre and the service was amazing--even though it was super crowded! I was thinking of ordering the chicken and waitress said it would take 20 minutes extra, so I ordered the salmon. Only problem, I found, was that it was sooo noisy! Good, interesting food, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great little place in The Ace Hotel in L ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great little place in The Ace Hotel in Los Angeles. Great if you are going next door to see a show.

Food was really good, and wait staff really friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pancake + avocado toast!! Heaven!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Pancake + avocado toast!! Heaven!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

T he Ricotta pancakes are sensational

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

T he Ricotta pancakes are sensational

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate there because attending show at thea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ate there because attending show at theater next door - so was convenient and menu looked interesting. Brussle Sprouts were very good. The rest was well only Ok. disappointed, as a resident of downtown L.A. I am always hoping to find new gems - but this isnt one of them. I will say nice service however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The worst service ever by an obnoxious s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The worst service ever by an obnoxious server. We walked out before ordering our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was horrible. Waiter looked ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service was horrible. Waiter looked and acted overly exhausted and left mid-shift. The waitress who picked up the table, 20-30mins after our last request, was not hospitable either. You get less than you pay for here.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This place had great food and positive a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This place had great food and positive atmosphere. A lot of fun + it's in the Ace Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the staff tried their best. really nice ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

the staff tried their best. really nice people. but the place was so packed and the meal was real hurried. its small and packed. real busy. not lacking for business. but too much for me. I am sure others would enjoy it, but its not for me. I only tried the burger as that was the only thing that would not take 25 to 30 minutes. the other items could have been good too but they were not recommended to me. Its a decent burger but in and out would blow it away.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Dinner before our show at the Theater. R ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Dinner before our show at the Theater. Recommend reservations. Staff friendly and very helpful. We were seated quickly and had our food in no time at all. Waitstaff was attentive. Food was excellent and prices were good (mains under $30).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual dinner before attending a concert ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Casual dinner before attending a concert at The Theater at Ace Hotel in Los Angeles. Menu is diverse and server was knowledgeable on options. Seating was comfortable but basic and presentation of entrees was very appetizing. We sat down at 5:30 pm and it was fairly quiet until about an hour later when the place filled up. This restaurant is located on the first floor of the Ace Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 8 had a great time and enjo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our party of 8 had a great time and enjoyed our table on the 2nd floor. Make sure all parties arrive on time because they will not seat you until everyone arrives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely awesome! I loved the vintage ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Absolutely awesome! I loved the vintage feel - the checkered floors - the overall charm of the restaurant - the gold tables - and of course the phenomenal food! The staff is super friendly as well! Everyone there was smiling - so positive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience but food is just ok.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great ambience but food is just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was awesome and the drinks w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The service was awesome and the drinks we're amazing. The ambiance would have been great too if it we're not for the fact that the mezzanine level was occupied by a group of completely irritating LOUD, not just a little noise loud but shouting loud, people. I was on an anniversary date with my girlfriend and I literally could not hear her from across the table. The shouting was as if we had gone to a sports bar on Super Bowl Sunday. I asked three times if someone could ask them to just tone it down a bit. I was told they had rented out the whole mezzanine so nothing could be done then the manger had talked to them, they would be leaving at 7:15pm and even that security would talk to them and the noise level never went be low many people talking very loudly.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Great afternoon. Go to the Upstairs Lou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great afternoon. Go to the Upstairs Lounge for a drink first. Great views and ambience. Lunch was wonderful. Highly recommend the Avocado Toast and Ricotta Pancakes. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was friendly. No ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was great. Service was friendly. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food portion was small for the price. Wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food portion was small for the price. Waiter spilled water on my phone and all over my friend and me but there was no comp of any kind. I asked for a large glass for ice and water 3 times before it was brought over and still was not right. A tiny size of martini was 13 bucks which was expensive even to all my guy friends who drink at bars and restaurants. I had to go home and eat pizza because the portion was small.

I ordered mussels and clams and every piece has shrunk so much there was barely any food to eat.

We only went there to catch a show so I know I won't ever return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fun and hopping place. Sit at the bar an ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fun and hopping place. Sit at the bar and eat, while watching the bartender fix amazing and beautiful cocktails. Pre concert at the ace theatre next door. Excellent.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a half hour late for my reservatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was a half hour late for my reservation, but they kindly held the table open. I have eaten at LA Chapter before and it's always been very good. However, they were a little off with the food this time. I had the wild mushroom app. and it disappointed. It lacked taste. The flat iron steak was loaded with crunchy gristle. I would never had that again! I just look at it as an off night on their part.

The girl who greeted us was fantastic and our waiter got us in and out quickly as we were headed to see Wilco at the Ace Hotel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant is located beneath the A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is located beneath the Ace Hotel, next door to a theater. We came here to celebrate a friend's birthday. It's a smaller restaurant, more on the intimate side. The service was fantastic, and so was the food. They made some delicious cocktails as well.

I didn't realize this until I saw a bunch of people continuously going up an elevator near our table, but there's a really cool rooftop lounge in the same building called "Upstairs". After dinner, we rode the elevator up to the lounge to find that it had a beautiful view of downtown, a huge bar, a DJ playing fun hip hop, and even a pool should anyone want to take a dip.

Our evening was great! Great dinner followed by an unexpected night at a lounge!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really enjoyed it.innovative and good fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

really enjoyed it.innovative and good food .

thanks for the good service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Found my meal very sat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time visit. Found my meal very satisfying, well-prepared and ample enough for sharing. Had a great cocktail too - forget it's name but the one with Pisco. I'll be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Unfortunately the service was very poor. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unfortunately the service was very poor. It was a bummer, we were a party of 7, my daughter birthday. Slow service, borderline ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great atmosphere and food was good, howe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and food was good, however service needs improvement. It was not very busy, but immediately felt rushed by our server. The first time finally approaching the table, he went right into asking for our food orders instead of welcoming us and asking if we'd like to start with a drink. After that, we barely saw him again (someone else brought out the food) and had to flag him down twice for another round of drinks or other needs. Meanwhile, we could see him standing around socializing with other staff members the entire evening. It feels like the staff/management doesn't care how customers are treated or about their experience ... They just know people will come because it's the ACE so don't put forth much effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The host was a little rude and pretentio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The host was a little rude and pretentious. I arrived and let him know I had a reservation , he barely let me squeeze in a word to give my name and that I had a reservation through open table. I asked if I could sit outside and he quickly said there were not any seats in the shade . I had been waiting for my friend out side the restaraunt prior to my reservation and saw a few seats or at least the option to move an umbrella outside . So I let it go and took a table inside. And We were seated in a very rocky unstable table but I was having brunch with my friend so we made the best of it and the excellent service from the waitress more than made up for the rude host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

loud music, avoid the dry pancake. very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

loud music, avoid the dry pancake.

very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value5

We ordered the mussels and there were ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We ordered the mussels and there were horrible. Half had not opened. There were huge chunks of bread and a pile of cilantro and no broth. Absolutely a pathetic presentation and completely missed the mark on taste. The worst I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

I love Ace Hotel for meals and after att ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love Ace Hotel for meals and after attending an event at night. This was my first time having breakfast there and it was great. I enjoyed the ricotta pancakes with Earth, Wind & Fire playing in the background.

My guest loved this and the rooftop so much, she vowed to return one evening with her husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.