About LA Chapter - Ace Hotel

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

Local and organic ingredients, prepared with both classic and modern techniques, as part of the new food renaissance happening in Los Angeles.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch

Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 3pm; Saturday & Sunday: 7:30am - 3pm

Dinner

Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For larger parties, 15 or more, both dinning and receptions please contact lachaptertables@acehotel.com

Restaurant Photos

Avocado Toast
Dry Aged Burger
Hemingway Daiquiri
Moroccan Scramble
Pan Roasted Chicken
Hazy Shade Of Winter Cocktail
Crispy Chicken Sandwich
Steamed Mussels
Grilled Octopus
ricotta pancakes
Housemade Ricotta
Fries
Scallop Risotto
Petite Chelsea Oysters
Venison Carpaccio
Sweet & Spicy Brussel Sprouts
Apple Crisp
Candy Bar
Duroc Pork Chop
Spring Pea Ravioli
Graceland
Tito's Vodka Martini
Domaine Sainte Lucie Mip Rose
Avocado Toasts With Poached Eggs
Crispy Fingerlings
Candybar
Caramel Panna Cotta
Ricotta And Squash Agnolotti
Malbec Mip Provencal
San Andreas
Lagunitas IPA
Asparagus And Burrata
Baja Halibut
Margarita
Blue Basil Collins
Shishito Peppers
Blueberry Collins
Black and White Cookie
Mocha
Americano
Burger
Sweet & Sour Brussel Sprouts
Ricotta, Fig, Honeycomb
Little Gem salad
lamb steak frittes
Kampachi Crudo
Pastries
beets and burrata
Porchetta
Chocolate Blueberry Tart
Spaghetti ‘Chitarra’ with Sea Urchin
Drink Ingredients
Gouda Cheese Puff
Swashbuckle
Stuffed Rabbit Loin
Kale Salad
Five Leaves Burger
Grilled Lamb Steak
Chopped Kale Salad
Berkshire Pork Chop
Water
Fried Oyster Special
Chitarra, Sea Urchin
Hamachi Crudo
Crab Salad
Uni Chitarra
Rhubard Semifreddo and Pistachio Cake
Octopus

LA Chapter - Ace Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
American
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (37)
hot spot (31)
great for brunch (30)
See All
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (20)
good for groups (19)
special occasion (17)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for outdoor dining (14)
romantic (13)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food is modern American bistro in a casual vibrant and hip setting inside the trendy urban chic Ace Hotel. The Brussels sprouts were notable, as well as the perfectly roasted abs seasoned roasted chicken abd the rare salmon. Creative cocktails were served up by friendly staff with genuine smiles. This is a great LADT spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last R ...

Dined 4 days ago

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last Remaining Seats" and decided to eat nearby so LA Chapter was the pick and wasn't disappointed. Got nice table in the corner so quiet spot, service was great and we made a nice meal out of several appetizers which is always fun to share.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my husband and kiddies here fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I brought my husband and kiddies here for a Father's Day breakfast (it was their first time visiting the place). Everyone enjoyed their meals. The hubs loved the pork chop & egg breakfast; my daughters raved about the ricotta pancakes and hash browns. Overall we enjoyed our meals and will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for pre-show dining on a late Saturday afternoon. Much is made of the restaurant's singular presentation of local, fresh ingredients, served in hip, Downtown revival surroundings, and for the most part the ingredients lived up to their billing. The vegetables and sauces were thoughtfully cooked and flavored. Our dishes, a vegetable risotto and rare sautéed salmon filet, however, seemed indifferent, which, when pushing $30 per entree, was disappointing. The ribeye our daughter ordered, at $31, was the big disappointment; about 1/2" thick, about one-third fat and gristle, generally sub-Sizzler level. Plusses included a helpful. attentive staff, and a comfortable room. On the whole, not bad enough to complain about, with the possible exception of the steak, but the hip vibe doesn't distract enough from the food. We won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll be back!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I booked the reservation quite last minute and the staff was very accommodating. My group initially had 2 groups of 5 however upon our arrival we were able to get the largest table in the house which was upstairs in a somewhat private area. The food was excellent which was a pleasant surprise as the real reason for coming was the downtown view at the upstairs bar. The staff held our table as we waited for tardy guests to arrive and were extremely polite. I had a great time and will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was cold when served. One guest's ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was cold when served. One guest's entree was served well after the others' entrees were served. Quality of the dishes was mediocre, especially given the prices and portion sizes.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

bad management continues

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

LA Chapter continues to suffer from poor management and inconsistent services.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

C- Food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife & came here last Friday prior to a concert next door. The place looks nice with that Downtown LA vibe. But the food was terrible. Ordered the ribeye which was cold and flavorless. It was as if a college student tried cooking for the first time and had no clue what they were doing other that to slap it in an oven. Wife ordered the burger which was also flavorless and below average. Brusselsprouts were good but honestly how hard is it to make those. Could have been a bad night for the chef but we won't be going back.

food3
ambience5
service4

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. But the food had some issues. My date and I had the seafood salad for an appetizer. It was wonderful, no complaints there. But we had the Lamb as our main course and we didn't even get through half of it. It was just a bad cut of meat. Filled with gristle and hard to eat. This didn't help the array of weird toppings included on the meat, the flavors just didn't seem to mix together well. I'd go back and give it another shot but I wont have the lamb again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy my time at Ace!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Love their fresh ricotta and toast as well as their recent side of Brussels sprouts and pecan! I usually dine at Ace in Palm Springs and both are fantastic restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Love love love love. for the cool kids. ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Love love love love. for the cool kids. And those who want to experience five leaves ❤️

food4
ambience4
service4

V good all around from food to service

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

V good all around from food to service

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The worst service I have had in quite some time.

Dined on April 4, 2016

The worst service I have had in quite some time. Seated late, waited a LONG time for drinks, had to ask to order food, still no drinks. Food mediocre for the price. Bummer

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place

Dined on April 4, 2016

Have had dinner there twice and each time has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Tried the avocado toast with the egg on ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Tried the avocado toast with the egg on top and the ricotta pancakes. Everything was delicious . Food is definitely worth the trip . The service was a bit slow. Reception was a bit unorganized and our waitress had to serve all the outdoor tables (10). She came around as much as possible . Overall rate is four stars. I will definitely be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We would definitely go back.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server Adriano was exceptional and the food was phenomenal. We had the lamb ragu pasta and the pork chop.....both were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the atmosphere and architecture

Dined on March 31, 2016

Really looked forward to dinner here and should have researched it a bit more. I'm a vegetarian and there is very little here for us. I ordered the Brussels sprouts side and the fingerling potatoes side, which were very good--nice and crispy and filling--but could have used something with a little protein. A fried tofu dish or something with beans. Even a veggie burger or black bean burger would have been nice. Still, I don't regret that I ate here. When I return, it will most likely be for a drink, only, upstairs because, as I said, the atmosphere and architecture are lovely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food at downtown hotspot

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great waitstaff. Super friendly, not just our waitress, but all of them. Super helpful. Good was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast place

Dined on March 23, 2016

We were staying in the hotel for business and had breakfast at LA Chapter. Food was very good and will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

TRENDY BUT AVERAGE

Dined on March 18, 2016

Tight quarters, average food, over priced. Had the $17 burger; did not hold a candle to my neighborhood $6 burger. Risotto was undercooked.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch and we're pleased. The avocado toast is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Come to be seen, but not for a great meal

Dined on March 4, 2016

Went here with two colleagues and the food was just ok. Bacon wasn't crispy and it was exceptionally greasy, chicken on sandwich was dry and not seasoned sufficiently, salad with buttermilk dressing tasted very much like cucumber and dill. Best thing about lunch was the Bloody Mary. Worst thing - the price. $12 for about a 6 oz drink is overpriced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Brunch Favorite

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

LA Chapter is one of my favorite brunch spots. While the menu is not huge, all the dishes are consistently delicious. The service is always attentive and friendly. And while it's a pretty hip atmosphere, the staff is always overly welcoming and sweet to my 4 year old daughter. The ricotta pancakes with honeycomb butter is not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Meh...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Our meal was pretty hit or miss...especially the orecchiette pasta--5 measly, chewy, undercooked pods. Really disappointing! Wish I took a picture. 😳

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Could be fabulous

Dined on February 24, 2016

My overall dining experience at LA Chapter was ok. We had scallops as an appetizer. Amazing. I had the Special which was Sea Bass which was fabulous. The cocktails were rather small and expensive, yet incredibly tasty. I would have scored this restaurant higher had the Hostess and Waiter been more friendly and interested in being at work. I do recommend eating at LA Chapter. The Chef is fantastic.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

The hippest breakfast in DTLA. Great foo ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The hippest breakfast in DTLA. Great food and drinks in the sunny lobby of ACE Hotel. Great service and the perfect vibe.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

What changed between June 2015 & Feb 2016

Dined on February 20, 2016

We stayed in June of 2015 and ate every meal there. The food was amazing. This year dinner and snacks were mediocre and didn't resemble anything like what we ate in June. Breakfast was the only repeat for us for convenience. Love Love Love the hotel and will stay there again but forget dining. The rooftop is still the best ever but the snack food again is mediocre. The shishito peppers didn't resemble anything of their previous self nor did the avocado toast which in June was fresh avocado. Now it's old or packaged. WHY? Hoping next year is an improvement. I believe in them and will always give it one more try.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

eastcoast4diner

Dined on February 10, 2016

First visit to this energetic restaurant. Friendly staff and excellent food. Be sure to ride the elevator to roof to view the bar and pool. Interesting menu - will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Small space, beautiful local, & delicious food!

Dined on February 7, 2016

I had brunch here with a friend & loved everything we had! We got the Little Gem salad, Avocado toast, Grilled cheese & fries... it was alot but it was delicious! All was so good but the Avocado toast was my favorite. The actual space is small so seating was tight, we had to squeeze through to get to our table, but the couch seating against the wall was comfy. Our server was attentive and the actual location is so Art Deco beautiful. Wish I had more time to explore the hotel!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food.Great - Amazing - service .

Dined on February 6, 2016

We want to Red Hot Chili Peppers, and stopped for dinner.I didnt expect much,but wow, what a surprise. Wonderful food in a cool space with absolutely wonderful amazing service.It was a perfect night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Service Was Way Better Than The Food

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

The breakfast food was quite spotty, but my server Ben was the saving grace. I ordered the namesake Chapter Breakfast with two eggs, bacon, grilled chorizo sausage, and whole wheat toast. The eggs and bacon were ho-hum, but the chorizo sausage casing was so thick and tough that I had to ask Ben for a steak knife. The toast was also too tough and dry. Maybe I should've tried the Avocado Toast instead, but I'm weary of that tough, over toasted bread. The tables by the windows are extremely snug and small so big-boned people need not attempt.

food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Didn't meet our expectations

Dined on January 31, 2016

Problems with the reservations. Time we requested was not honored & restaurant changed it last minute even though we mentioned at the time of the reservation it would be a birthday celebration. Also, never informed the upstairs would be occupied by a private party. Which was the only reason we chose to dine there. Food was ok for the price, nothing special. Service was great!- nice waitress, very helpful.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Pretty good food, but management lacking

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food is pretty good here. I ate lunch and dinner within 2 days because I was staying at the hotel. The lunch was great, and the dinner was terrible. It was like a night and day experience. Lunch server...great. Dinner server...terrible. They were busy at night, the hostess was clueless and the manager was more concerned with being a hipster than the experience of his patrons. Dinner for 3 women was $366.00...should come with some stellar service.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to LA Chapter several times n ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We've been to LA Chapter several times now, and have not been disappointed! This time around, we had a dinner reservation at 5:30pm before a show at 7:30pm. The restaurant was super busy, but our server was very sweet and patient. You could tell that all the servers knew it would be a busy night, and everyone did a great job of getting food out in a timely manner, without feeling rushed. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

NOT the place for pre-theatre dinner!

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Second time we've dined at LA Chapter before Ace performance. Again, disastrous (foolish me). Nice servers--but food arrived at weirdly spaced time (1 entree arrived minues after ordering, before others in our party served appetizers). Food decent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious but....

Dined on January 29, 2016

We were happy to finally get a reservation before a performance at the theater. We only had 60 minutes and wanted to finish in a timely manner. The set menu seemed the quickest way to go but some of us wanted to try everything we we ordered a couple of set menus to share. The server told us they didn't allow sharing but since they were swamped she would let us this one time. We more than made up for it in drink orders and even sharing it was more food than we could eat. That was the only 'uncomfortable' thing that evening. Despite being busy service was fine and the food was simply amazing

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

DTLA's growing food scene

Dined on January 29, 2016

I must say I almost didn't have dinner here due to the fact that I had to ask for the manager because of what was said to me by the young lady who seated me. The manager was apologetic and my actual server was amazing. The atmosphere has an old school feel, very ecelectic and although it feels like a total hipster spot when you first enter it's totally a spot that anyone would be comfortable in. The food was superb and so are the cocktails

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food - poor service

Dined on January 26, 2016

Wonderful breakfast. It's the service that killed it all. Non-attentive, basically non-existent service. Took 20 minutes to acknowledge us. 10 minutes for drinks. Never checked on us once our food was finally serviced, never refilled iced tea. We had to hunt him down for the check. However, the restaurant is adorable and the food top notch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE

Dined on January 24, 2016

AMAZING FOOD! THE RICOTTA PANCAKES WERE GORGEOUS, SO WAS THE RICOTTA APPETIZER WITH HONEYCOMB. I REALLY LIKED THE AVOCADO TOAST, IT HAD A DISTINCT TASTE TO IT, NOT SOMETHING LIKE I WOULD MAKE AT HOME. WE LOVED THE DRINKS UPSTAIRS ON THE ROOFTOP WHILE WE WERE WAITING, ALTHOUGH THE BARTENDERS UP THERE WERE PRETTY RUDE... ACTUALLY REALLY RUDE. OVERALL, LOVE THIS PLACE AND THE ACE HOTEL IN GENERAL. I WOULD DEF RECOMMEND THIS PLACE FOR A GIRLS DAY OUT!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Meh

Dined on January 24, 2016

It was truly a group effort at LA Chapter that cintributed to our horrible dinner experience. The waiter was slow at best, he messed up our drinks and dishes ordered. They managed to burn our bread and burger and my buckwheat spätzle looked so much like dog doo, I wish I could upload the picture I took to make friends laugh. Our drinks took forever and were delivered melted and watered down. I sat at the table with no plate for nearly 5 minutes after the other 3 people in my party had already been served their entree. They brought us the wrong drinks, the wrong entrees and the wrong dessert. They were seriously off! To top it off, they charged us twice for the burger they burned and managed to overcharge my credit card (my friend paid in cash and I charged the remainder... They charged me for the whole amount and took the $50!). Thank goodness I double checked our bill and my credit card receipt. Natasha was awesome, she seemed to be the only person aware of the mistakes they were making. I understand the trials of being busy on a Saturday night. I also understand that people make mistakes. What I have a hard time with is that after so many errors, not one effort was made by the team at LA Chapter to improve our experience and possibly entice us to return to their restaurant (I will not). The silver lining is there are so many awesome options in Downtown Los Angeles, you won't miss this one.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.