About LA Chapter - Ace Hotel

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

We partnered with the team behind Brooklyn’s beloved Five Leaves and Palm Springs' roadside diner King's Highway — to create L.A. Chapter, a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, Executive Chef Ricardo Valdes presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique. Fresh herbs and colorful accents welcome grace to the plate. Garum salts the brussels sprouts, hibiscus and nasturtium fragrance the duck breast, tahini and kumquats exalt the tuna. Subtle incongruities in flavor are at the heart of what makes L.A. Chapter a thoroughly American restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
7am-11pm everyday

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
if you’re looking to accommodate more than 16 guests,
contact events.dtla@acehotel.com to hear about our event spaces.

Restaurant Photos

Avocado Toast
Hemingway Daiquiri
Dry Aged Burger
Moroccan Scramble
Pan Roasted Chicken
Hazy Shade Of Winter Cocktail
Crispy Chicken Sandwich
Steamed Mussels
Grilled Octopus
ricotta pancakes
Housemade Ricotta
Fries
Scallop Risotto
Petite Chelsea Oysters
Venison Carpaccio
Apple Crisp
Candy Bar
Duroc Pork Chop
Spring Pea Ravioli
Graceland
Tito's Vodka Martini
Domaine Sainte Lucie Mip Rose
Avocado Toasts With Poached Eggs
Crispy Fingerlings
Sweet & Spicy Brussel Sprouts
Candybar
Caramel Panna Cotta
Ricotta And Squash Agnolotti
Malbec Mip Provencal
San Andreas
Lagunitas IPA
Margarita
Asparagus And Burrata
Baja Halibut
Blue Basil Collins
Shishito Peppers
Blueberry Collins
Black and White Cookie
Mocha
Americano
Burger
Sweet & Sour Brussel Sprouts
Ricotta, Fig, Honeycomb
Little Gem salad
lamb steak frittes
Kampachi Crudo
Pastries
beets and burrata
Porchetta
Chocolate Blueberry Tart
Spaghetti ‘Chitarra’ with Sea Urchin
Drink Ingredients
Gouda Cheese Puff
Swashbuckle
Stuffed Rabbit Loin
Kale Salad
Five Leaves Burger
Grilled Lamb Steak
Chopped Kale Salad
Berkshire Pork Chop
Water
Chitarra, Sea Urchin
Fried Oyster Special
Hamachi Crudo
Crab Salad
Uni Chitarra
Rhubard Semifreddo and Pistachio Cake
Octopus

LA Chapter - Ace Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Downtown / South and East LA
American
Downtown / South and East LA
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (30)
hot spot (22)
great for brunch (21)
See All
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (17)
special occasion (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (13)
romantic (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I surprised my husband with tickets to s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

I surprised my husband with tickets to see Bela Fleck and Chris Thile at The Theater at Ace for his 45th birthday. I wasn't sure what to do about dinner before the show until I found L.A. Chapter. Our dining experience was everything I'd hoped it would be and more. The food was delectable and perfectly prepared. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional while maintaining that relaxed L.A. vibe. One of the staff members came to check on us during the meal and she was absolutely lovely and genuine. I can't thank you enough for making my husband's birthday an experience that, as he put it, we'll be "remembering and thinking over for a long, long time." And we know we'll be back for more!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Being at the Ace, I assumed this restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Being at the Ace, I assumed this restaurant would be sufficiently "hipster" and it was. But not annoyingly so. Also, hip places make me think that they are going to think too highly of themselves and often times the service reflects this. This was NOT the case here. The service was great. The perfect balance of attentiveness and privacy. Everything we needed we had quickly. The server was extremely nice and the food was perfect: temperature, flavor, presentation. Overall this was a very satisfying experience all around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I always love coming here. The ricotta p ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always love coming here. The ricotta pancakes and the avocado toast are to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and the most fabulous server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, and the most fabulous server Tommy Kiely. Was a really nice dining experience. Our third time there, we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Valet members stole a rolex watch ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Valet members stole a rolex watch out of my cars center console during a 9 minute stay at the hotel. Horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had a great, juicy burger and fries. Per ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great, juicy burger and fries. Perfect selection of wine, cocktails and craft beer. Cool atmosphere. Definitely a DTLA gem.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, late night find, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm sure the menu is for someone out the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I'm sure the menu is for someone out there but not for us. The flavors just missed the mark and our waiter, from Italy, shouldn't diss a the United States.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

The food = better than expected The nois ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food = better than expected

The noise level = quieter than expected

The vibe = more accessible/less pretentious than expected

Well played, Ace.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is convenient if attending an event ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is convenient if attending an event at the ACE theater, but it is just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food is modern American bistro in a casual vibrant and hip setting inside the trendy urban chic Ace Hotel. The Brussels sprouts were notable, as well as the perfectly roasted abs seasoned roasted chicken abd the rare salmon. Creative cocktails were served up by friendly staff with genuine smiles. This is a great LADT spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last R ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last Remaining Seats" and decided to eat nearby so

LA Chapter was the pick and wasn't disappointed. Got nice table in the corner so quiet spot,

service was great and we made a nice meal out of several appetizers which is always fun to

share.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my husband and kiddies here fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I brought my husband and kiddies here for a Father's Day breakfast (it was their first time visiting the place). Everyone enjoyed their meals. The hubs loved the pork chop & egg breakfast; my daughters raved about the ricotta pancakes and hash browns. Overall we enjoyed our meals and will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for pre-show dining on a late Saturday afternoon. Much is made of the restaurant's singular presentation of local, fresh ingredients, served in hip, Downtown revival surroundings, and for the most part the ingredients lived up to their billing. The vegetables and sauces were thoughtfully cooked and flavored. Our dishes, a vegetable risotto and rare sautéed salmon filet, however, seemed indifferent, which, when pushing $30 per entree, was disappointing. The ribeye our daughter ordered, at $31, was the big disappointment; about 1/2" thick, about one-third fat and gristle, generally sub-Sizzler level. Plusses included a helpful. attentive staff, and a comfortable room. On the whole, not bad enough to complain about, with the possible exception of the steak, but the hip vibe doesn't distract enough from the food. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I'll be back!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I booked the reservation quite last minute and the staff was very accommodating. My group initially had 2 groups of 5 however upon our arrival we were able to get the largest table in the house which was upstairs in a somewhat private area. The food was excellent which was a pleasant surprise as the real reason for coming was the downtown view at the upstairs bar. The staff held our table as we waited for tardy guests to arrive and were extremely polite. I had a great time and will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold when served. One guest's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was cold when served. One guest's entree was served well after the others' entrees were served. Quality of the dishes was mediocre, especially given the prices and portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

bad management continues

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

LA Chapter continues to suffer from poor management and inconsistent services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

C- Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife & came here last Friday prior to a concert next door.

The place looks nice with that Downtown LA vibe. But the food was terrible. Ordered the ribeye which was cold and flavorless. It was as if a college student tried cooking for the first time and had no clue what they were doing other that to slap it in an oven.

Wife ordered the burger which was also flavorless and below average.

Brusselsprouts were good but honestly how hard is it to make those.

Could have been a bad night for the chef but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. But the food had some issues. My date and I had the seafood salad for an appetizer. It was wonderful, no complaints there. But we had the Lamb as our main course and we didn't even get through half of it. It was just a bad cut of meat. Filled with gristle and hard to eat. This didn't help the array of weird toppings included on the meat, the flavors just didn't seem to mix together well. I'd go back and give it another shot but I wont have the lamb again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Always enjoy my time at Ace!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Love their fresh ricotta and toast as well as their recent side of Brussels sprouts and pecan! I usually dine at Ace in Palm Springs and both are fantastic restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love love love love. for the cool kids. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Love love love love. for the cool kids. And those who want to experience five leaves ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

V good all around from food to service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

V good all around from food to service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The worst service I have had in quite some time.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The worst service I have had in quite some time. Seated late, waited a LONG time for drinks, had to ask to order food, still no drinks. Food mediocre for the price. Bummer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Love this place

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Have had dinner there twice and each time has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Tried the avocado toast with the egg on ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Tried the avocado toast with the egg on top and the ricotta pancakes. Everything was delicious . Food is definitely worth the trip . The service was a bit slow. Reception was a bit unorganized and our waitress had to serve all the outdoor tables (10). She came around as much as possible . Overall rate is four stars. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We would definitely go back.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server Adriano was exceptional and the food was phenomenal. We had the lamb ragu pasta and the pork chop.....both were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the atmosphere and architecture

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Really looked forward to dinner here and should have researched it a bit more. I'm a vegetarian and there is very little here for us. I ordered the Brussels sprouts side and the fingerling potatoes side, which were very good--nice and crispy and filling--but could have used something with a little protein. A fried tofu dish or something with beans. Even a veggie burger or black bean burger would have been nice. Still, I don't regret that I ate here. When I return, it will most likely be for a drink, only, upstairs because, as I said, the atmosphere and architecture are lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food at downtown hotspot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great waitstaff. Super friendly, not just our waitress, but all of them. Super helpful. Good was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We were staying in the hotel for business and had breakfast at LA Chapter. Food was very good and will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TRENDY BUT AVERAGE

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Tight quarters, average food, over priced.

Had the $17 burger; did not hold a candle to my neighborhood $6 burger. Risotto was undercooked.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Yum

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch and we're pleased. The avocado toast is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Come to be seen, but not for a great meal

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Went here with two colleagues and the food was just ok. Bacon wasn't crispy and it was exceptionally greasy, chicken on sandwich was dry and not seasoned sufficiently, salad with buttermilk dressing tasted very much like cucumber and dill. Best thing about lunch was the Bloody Mary. Worst thing - the price. $12 for about a 6 oz drink is overpriced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A Brunch Favorite

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

LA Chapter is one of my favorite brunch spots. While the menu is not huge, all the dishes are consistently delicious. The service is always attentive and friendly. And while it's a pretty hip atmosphere, the staff is always overly welcoming and sweet to my 4 year old daughter. The ricotta pancakes with honeycomb butter is not to be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our meal was pretty hit or miss...especially the orecchiette pasta--5 measly, chewy, undercooked pods. Really disappointing! Wish I took a picture. 😳

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Could be fabulous

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

My overall dining experience at LA Chapter was ok. We had scallops as an appetizer. Amazing. I had the Special which was Sea Bass which was fabulous. The cocktails were rather small and expensive, yet incredibly tasty. I would have scored this restaurant higher had the Hostess and Waiter been more friendly and interested in being at work.

I do recommend eating at LA Chapter. The Chef is fantastic.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The hippest breakfast in DTLA. Great foo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The hippest breakfast in DTLA. Great food and drinks in the sunny lobby of ACE Hotel. Great service and the perfect vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What changed between June 2015 & Feb 2016

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We stayed in June of 2015 and ate every meal there. The food was amazing. This year dinner and snacks were mediocre and didn't resemble anything like what we ate in June. Breakfast was the only repeat for us for convenience. Love Love Love the hotel and will stay there again but forget dining. The rooftop is still the best ever but the snack food again is mediocre. The shishito peppers didn't resemble anything of their previous self nor did the avocado toast which in June was fresh avocado. Now it's old or packaged. WHY? Hoping next year is an improvement. I believe in them and will always give it one more try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

eastcoast4diner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

First visit to this energetic restaurant. Friendly staff and excellent food. Be sure to ride the elevator to roof to view the bar and pool. Interesting menu - will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Small space, beautiful local, & delicious food!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I had brunch here with a friend & loved everything we had! We got the Little Gem salad, Avocado toast, Grilled cheese & fries... it was alot but it was delicious! All was so good but the Avocado toast was my favorite.

The actual space is small so seating was tight, we had to squeeze through to get to our table, but the couch seating against the wall was comfy. Our server was attentive and the actual location is so Art Deco beautiful. Wish I had more time to explore the hotel!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food.Great - Amazing - service .

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We want to Red Hot Chili Peppers, and stopped for dinner.I didnt expect much,but wow, what a surprise. Wonderful food in a cool space with absolutely wonderful amazing service.It was a perfect night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service Was Way Better Than The Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

The breakfast food was quite spotty, but my server Ben was the saving grace. I ordered the namesake Chapter Breakfast with two eggs, bacon, grilled chorizo sausage, and whole wheat toast. The eggs and bacon were ho-hum, but the chorizo sausage casing was so thick and tough that I had to ask Ben for a steak knife. The toast was also too tough and dry. Maybe I should've tried the Avocado Toast instead, but I'm weary of that tough, over toasted bread. The tables by the windows are extremely snug and small so big-boned people need not attempt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.