About L.A. Chapter

929 S Broadway
Los Angeles, CA 90015
View Larger Map

We partnered with the team behind Brooklyn’s beloved Five Leaves and Palm Springs' roadside diner King's Highway — to create L.A. Chapter, a lively brasserie just off of Ace’s lobby. Rooted in a fresh, thoughtful focus on locally sourced ingredients, L.A. Chapter presents a menu that introduces nuanced flavors to traditional culinary technique. Fresh herbs and colorful accents welcome grace to the plate. Some of our more popular dishes include our dry-aged burger, veggie burger, Ora King salmon, Brussels sprouts, steak, avocado toast, ricotta pancakes and oysters. The menu is complemented by a choice selection of artisanal cocktails, craft beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
7am-11pm everyday

Cross Street:
9th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 235-9660

Website:
http://lachapter.com/

Parking Details:
Valet $7 for 3 hours or less with restaurant validation.
There are lots adjacent to the restaurant as well.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Avocado Toast
Hemingway Daiquiri
Moroccan Scramble
Dry Aged Burger
Pan Roasted Chicken
Hazy Shade Of Winter Cocktail
Crispy Chicken Sandwich
Steamed Mussels
ricotta pancakes
Grilled Octopus
Housemade Ricotta
Fries
Scallop Risotto
Petite Chelsea Oysters
Venison Carpaccio
Candy Bar
Apple Crisp
Duroc Pork Chop
Spring Pea Ravioli
Graceland
Tito's Vodka Martini
Domaine Sainte Lucie Mip Rose
Avocado Toasts With Poached Eggs
Crispy Fingerlings
Candybar
Caramel Panna Cotta
Ricotta And Squash Agnolotti
Malbec Mip Provencal
San Andreas
Sweet & Spicy Brussel Sprouts
Lagunitas IPA
Margarita
Asparagus And Burrata
Baja Halibut
Blue Basil Collins
Shishito Peppers
Blueberry Collins
Black and White Cookie
Mocha
Burger
Sweet & Sour Brussel Sprouts
Little Gem salad
Ricotta, Fig, Honeycomb
Pastries
Kampachi Crudo
Porchetta
lamb steak frittes
beets and burrata
Chocolate Blueberry Tart
Spaghetti ‘Chitarra’ with Sea Urchin
Americano
Drink Ingredients
Swashbuckle
Gouda Cheese Puff
Kale Salad
Stuffed Rabbit Loin
Five Leaves Burger
Chopped Kale Salad
Grilled Lamb Steak
Berkshire Pork Chop
Water
Chitarra, Sea Urchin
Fried Oyster Special
Crab Salad
Hamachi Crudo
Uni Chitarra
Rhubard Semifreddo and Pistachio Cake
Octopus

L.A. Chapter Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
See All
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (3)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Romantic (2)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. Service was friendly. No ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was great. Service was friendly. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food portion was small for the price. Wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food portion was small for the price. Waiter spilled water on my phone and all over my friend and me but there was no comp of any kind. I asked for a large glass for ice and water 3 times before it was brought over and still was not right. A tiny size of martini was 13 bucks which was expensive even to all my guy friends who drink at bars and restaurants. I had to go home and eat pizza because the portion was small.

I ordered mussels and clams and every piece has shrunk so much there was barely any food to eat.

We only went there to catch a show so I know I won't ever return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Fun and hopping place. Sit at the bar an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fun and hopping place. Sit at the bar and eat, while watching the bartender fix amazing and beautiful cocktails. Pre concert at the ace theatre next door. Excellent.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a half hour late for my reservatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was a half hour late for my reservation, but they kindly held the table open. I have eaten at LA Chapter before and it's always been very good. However, they were a little off with the food this time. I had the wild mushroom app. and it disappointed. It lacked taste. The flat iron steak was loaded with crunchy gristle. I would never had that again! I just look at it as an off night on their part.

The girl who greeted us was fantastic and our waiter got us in and out quickly as we were headed to see Wilco at the Ace Hotel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant is located beneath the A ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is located beneath the Ace Hotel, next door to a theater. We came here to celebrate a friend's birthday. It's a smaller restaurant, more on the intimate side. The service was fantastic, and so was the food. They made some delicious cocktails as well.

I didn't realize this until I saw a bunch of people continuously going up an elevator near our table, but there's a really cool rooftop lounge in the same building called "Upstairs". After dinner, we rode the elevator up to the lounge to find that it had a beautiful view of downtown, a huge bar, a DJ playing fun hip hop, and even a pool should anyone want to take a dip.

Our evening was great! Great dinner followed by an unexpected night at a lounge!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really enjoyed it.innovative and good fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

really enjoyed it.innovative and good food .

thanks for the good service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Found my meal very sat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time visit. Found my meal very satisfying, well-prepared and ample enough for sharing. Had a great cocktail too - forget it's name but the one with Pisco. I'll be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Unfortunately the service was very poor. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unfortunately the service was very poor. It was a bummer, we were a party of 7, my daughter birthday. Slow service, borderline ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great atmosphere and food was good, howe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and food was good, however service needs improvement. It was not very busy, but immediately felt rushed by our server. The first time finally approaching the table, he went right into asking for our food orders instead of welcoming us and asking if we'd like to start with a drink. After that, we barely saw him again (someone else brought out the food) and had to flag him down twice for another round of drinks or other needs. Meanwhile, we could see him standing around socializing with other staff members the entire evening. It feels like the staff/management doesn't care how customers are treated or about their experience ... They just know people will come because it's the ACE so don't put forth much effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The host was a little rude and pretentio ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The host was a little rude and pretentious. I arrived and let him know I had a reservation , he barely let me squeeze in a word to give my name and that I had a reservation through open table. I asked if I could sit outside and he quickly said there were not any seats in the shade . I had been waiting for my friend out side the restaraunt prior to my reservation and saw a few seats or at least the option to move an umbrella outside . So I let it go and took a table inside. And We were seated in a very rocky unstable table but I was having brunch with my friend so we made the best of it and the excellent service from the waitress more than made up for the rude host.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

loud music, avoid the dry pancake. very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

loud music, avoid the dry pancake.

very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value5

We ordered the mussels and there were ho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We ordered the mussels and there were horrible. Half had not opened. There were huge chunks of bread and a pile of cilantro and no broth. Absolutely a pathetic presentation and completely missed the mark on taste. The worst I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

I love Ace Hotel for meals and after att ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love Ace Hotel for meals and after attending an event at night. This was my first time having breakfast there and it was great. I enjoyed the ricotta pancakes with Earth, Wind & Fire playing in the background.

My guest loved this and the rooftop so much, she vowed to return one evening with her husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hip spot in downtown in a cool and old e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hip spot in downtown in a cool and old eclectic building. After finishing breakfast head upstairs to the rooftop bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent .. Just needed better ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent .. Just needed better air conditioning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had the egg Sandwich and a glass of rose ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

had the egg Sandwich and a glass of rose- perfect brunch fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was lack-luster, there was an un ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was lack-luster, there was an unpleasant loud humming noise that was possibly air conditioning. Only one dish out of three was good, two separate wines were bad enough o send back, overall vibe of the place was flat. Will certainly not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Avocado toast with added poached eggs, D ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Avocado toast with added poached eggs, Delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I surprised my husband with tickets to s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I surprised my husband with tickets to see Bela Fleck and Chris Thile at The Theater at Ace for his 45th birthday. I wasn't sure what to do about dinner before the show until I found L.A. Chapter. Our dining experience was everything I'd hoped it would be and more. The food was delectable and perfectly prepared. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional while maintaining that relaxed L.A. vibe. One of the staff members came to check on us during the meal and she was absolutely lovely and genuine. I can't thank you enough for making my husband's birthday an experience that, as he put it, we'll be "remembering and thinking over for a long, long time." And we know we'll be back for more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Being at the Ace, I assumed this restaur ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Being at the Ace, I assumed this restaurant would be sufficiently "hipster" and it was. But not annoyingly so. Also, hip places make me think that they are going to think too highly of themselves and often times the service reflects this. This was NOT the case here. The service was great. The perfect balance of attentiveness and privacy. Everything we needed we had quickly. The server was extremely nice and the food was perfect: temperature, flavor, presentation. Overall this was a very satisfying experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I always love coming here. The ricotta p ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always love coming here. The ricotta pancakes and the avocado toast are to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and the most fabulous server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, and the most fabulous server Tommy Kiely. Was a really nice dining experience. Our third time there, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drinks at Upstair Bar and dinner at LA C ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Drinks at Upstair Bar and dinner at LA Chapter is a very pleasant experience and one that does not seem to be much written about. But the drinks are great and the food is way better than I expected. It's no Breslin (NY ACE) but mighty tasty nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The Valet members stole a rolex watch ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Valet members stole a rolex watch out of my cars center console during a 9 minute stay at the hotel. Horrible

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had a great, juicy burger and fries. Per ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great, juicy burger and fries. Perfect selection of wine, cocktails and craft beer. Cool atmosphere. Definitely a DTLA gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm sure the menu is for someone out the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I'm sure the menu is for someone out there but not for us. The flavors just missed the mark and our waiter, from Italy, shouldn't diss a the United States.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

The food = better than expected The nois ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food = better than expected

The noise level = quieter than expected

The vibe = more accessible/less pretentious than expected

Well played, Ace.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is convenient if attending an event ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is convenient if attending an event at the ACE theater, but it is just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Dined at The LA Chapter with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food is modern American bistro in a casual vibrant and hip setting inside the trendy urban chic Ace Hotel. The Brussels sprouts were notable, as well as the perfectly roasted abs seasoned roasted chicken abd the rare salmon. Creative cocktails were served up by friendly staff with genuine smiles. This is a great LADT spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last R ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Finally got to the Ace Hotel for "Last Remaining Seats" and decided to eat nearby so

LA Chapter was the pick and wasn't disappointed. Got nice table in the corner so quiet spot,

service was great and we made a nice meal out of several appetizers which is always fun to

share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my husband and kiddies here fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I brought my husband and kiddies here for a Father's Day breakfast (it was their first time visiting the place). Everyone enjoyed their meals. The hubs loved the pork chop & egg breakfast; my daughters raved about the ricotta pancakes and hash browns. Overall we enjoyed our meals and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

LA Chapter was a convenient choice for pre-show dining on a late Saturday afternoon. Much is made of the restaurant's singular presentation of local, fresh ingredients, served in hip, Downtown revival surroundings, and for the most part the ingredients lived up to their billing. The vegetables and sauces were thoughtfully cooked and flavored. Our dishes, a vegetable risotto and rare sautéed salmon filet, however, seemed indifferent, which, when pushing $30 per entree, was disappointing. The ribeye our daughter ordered, at $31, was the big disappointment; about 1/2" thick, about one-third fat and gristle, generally sub-Sizzler level. Plusses included a helpful. attentive staff, and a comfortable room. On the whole, not bad enough to complain about, with the possible exception of the steak, but the hip vibe doesn't distract enough from the food. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I'll be back!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I booked the reservation quite last minute and the staff was very accommodating. My group initially had 2 groups of 5 however upon our arrival we were able to get the largest table in the house which was upstairs in a somewhat private area. The food was excellent which was a pleasant surprise as the real reason for coming was the downtown view at the upstairs bar. The staff held our table as we waited for tardy guests to arrive and were extremely polite. I had a great time and will definitely come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold when served. One guest's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was cold when served. One guest's entree was served well after the others' entrees were served. Quality of the dishes was mediocre, especially given the prices and portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

bad management continues

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

LA Chapter continues to suffer from poor management and inconsistent services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

C- Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife & came here last Friday prior to a concert next door.

The place looks nice with that Downtown LA vibe. But the food was terrible. Ordered the ribeye which was cold and flavorless. It was as if a college student tried cooking for the first time and had no clue what they were doing other that to slap it in an oven.

Wife ordered the burger which was also flavorless and below average.

Brusselsprouts were good but honestly how hard is it to make those.

Could have been a bad night for the chef but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the ambiance and spirit selection. But the food had some issues. My date and I had the seafood salad for an appetizer. It was wonderful, no complaints there. But we had the Lamb as our main course and we didn't even get through half of it. It was just a bad cut of meat. Filled with gristle and hard to eat. This didn't help the array of weird toppings included on the meat, the flavors just didn't seem to mix together well. I'd go back and give it another shot but I wont have the lamb again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Always enjoy my time at Ace!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Love their fresh ricotta and toast as well as their recent side of Brussels sprouts and pecan! I usually dine at Ace in Palm Springs and both are fantastic restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love love love love. for the cool kids. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Love love love love. for the cool kids. And those who want to experience five leaves ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

V good all around from food to service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

V good all around from food to service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.