About La Caille Restaurant

9565 Wasatch Blvd
Sandy, UT 84092
View Larger Map

La Caille is Utah's premier luxury dining experience. Located on 20 acres of Salt Lake's most coveted Little Cottonwood Canyon property, La Caille's grounds offer breathtaking views, manicured gardens, canyon rivers, lush vineyards, winding brick lanes and authentic French decor. La Caille itself is housed in an 18th century French-inspired Chateau. Guests dine in one of three unique dining rooms and, during summer months, on one of our three spectacular patios. La Caille is a twelve-year AAA Four-Diamond Award recipient and our contemporary French menu and service has earned praise nationwide. La Caille is also a destination restaurant for wine lovers, offering over 850 selections alongside its extensive list of liquors and inspired cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Every Day - 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
3500 E. 9500 S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-1751

Website:
http://www.lacaille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for restaurant guests

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please call or email us to start planning your next gathering.

Restaurant Photos

La Caille Restaurant
Lemon Thyme Brined Chicken
Roasted Cauliflower Risotto
Seared Salmon
Bananas Foster
Cappuccino La Caille
Rack of Lamb on a bed of Ratatouille, Tapenade and Zucchini Flower
French Onion Soup
Cream Puff
Escargot
Kiler Grove Wine Dinner Lamb Course
Bacon Wrapped Sea Scallop
Candy Buffet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please contact us to start planning your next gathering.

La Caille Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

5.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Outdoor Dining
Utah
9 More
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (49)
Scenic View (39)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had an incredible experience. It was our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had an incredible experience. It was our anniversary and the staff and service made it forever memorable .Can't wait for the next occasion to see you all again. Not that we need a special occasion to visit again. BTW Meg was our server and I will be requesting her again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LaCaille is one of my favorite places. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

LaCaille is one of my favorite places. Whether this is for business or pleasure, I am always happy!!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To be honest the only reason we came was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

To be honest the only reason we came was because my wife was given a gift card. We had come for dinner several years ago and had lousy service and mediocre food. Needless to say I wasn't expecting much when we took my parents for brunch last Sunday. Wow has my perception changed. You will always get a pleasant ambiance with La Caille, but the service was exceptional (knowledgeable about the menu, attentive without hovering, no feeling of being rushed) and the food was delicious. Wonderful place for a special occasion. I will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic little restaurant with exqui ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

A fantastic little restaurant with exquisite food and wine. The flambeed desserts and drinks are a fun item to explore and make sure to give yourself some time to walk around the garden. Overall experience was great although on weekends be prepared to bump into a wedding party.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seats are the most uncomfortable I've ev ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Seats are the most uncomfortable I've ever sat on. So much so they really detracted from the evening's experience. They should be replaced immediately.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

La Caille was always a very special plac ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

La Caille was always a very special place to have dinner throughout my days of covering the state on business. That, gulp, was in the 80's and 90's and I enjoyed 5-7 dinners each year. After all this time, pleased to say that it is even better now. New ownership a few years ago freshened everything (including very outdated and sexist waitress uniforms) while keeping all that counts. Special Sunday and Monday night menus (you have to ask) are bargains as is the wine pairing that is optional with it. But even regular a la carte pricing is very good value-for-money when you consider that you are dining in one of the most gorgeous restaurants in the entire country. Needless to say, I hope to return again often.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience. Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. The setting, food and service personnel were outstanding. Found it late in our Utah stay, but will most definitely return again and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going here, our favorite is Sund ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We love going here, our favorite is Sunday brunch. It is beautiful and peaceful. We came this time for our anniversary dinner and it was heaven.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Sunday brunch. The filet eggs ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch. The filet eggs Benedict was incredible as was the French Toast. What a delight. The whole area is prestige. Loved walking through the gardens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic! This review window won't let ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic! This review window won't let me enter enough characters, please fix. La Caille was wonderful in all aspects!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is absolutely beautiful. The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This place is absolutely beautiful. The food is expensive. I can't really comment on the food quality though, because we were literally 7 min late to our reservation and were told the kitchen was closed. We were only able to have dessert which was pretty good. People were still being served food after we sat down but the kitchen was just not making anything else apparently. I did think that was very unreasonable and a little too strict for my taste. Not very customer friendly when it comes to that. I will say that the service is wonderful and the entire place is gorgeous.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

It was amazing, food and service was ter ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was amazing, food and service was terrific and the setting awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful celebration for my hu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful celebration for my husbands 60th birthday and our 34th wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding! Our server gave us plenty of time to enjoy our dinner. I should have given her a warning when we arrived that we had a deadline to leave because we had people waiting at home to surprise my husband. Once informed, she got right on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had been to this restaurant 20 years a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had been to this restaurant 20 years ago and remembered it as the best dining experience I had ever had. So, when returning to the area, we decided to try it again. You can't beat the setting, the beautiful grounds and outside dining area. We loved the whole vibe. However, my husband's halibut and my duck were overcooked. I was a little disappointed as I had such high expectations. That was offset by the excellent service, special touches during the meal and the overall environment. How do you beat peacock families visiting you while you eat!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This is such an amazing place. The resta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is such an amazing place. The restaurant and gardens are like an oasis right outside of Salt Lake City. The service and ambiance is as good as I have ever seen. The food was good, steak was actually over-cooked, but everything else was great. The lobster tail was so good, a nice surprise in such a land locked location. I wish it was near my home in Tennessee.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening. What a beautifu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a lovely evening. What a beautiful place. Loved food. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Simply one of the top five dinning exper ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Simply one of the top five dinning experiences of our lives!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was pleasantly surprised as I had not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised as I had not been there in years.. I will be coming back on a regular basis! The brunch experience was perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful setting, lovely meal, exemplar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

beautiful setting, lovely meal, exemplary service (Lindsey!)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining was wonderful. The overall am ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The dining was wonderful. The overall ambiance was so great. It was my first time visiting La Caille after hearing about it for many years, and it certainly won't be my last.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening was absolutely magical. It w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our evening was absolutely magical. It was an experience that I will cherish for the rest of my life. Thank you to the entire wait staff for being so happy, attentive, fun, kind and just really making our night extra special. The scenery was gorgeous. The food was delicious. It was really an incredible night. Thank you so much La Caille again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Venue, outstanding service. Pricey ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great Venue, outstanding service. Pricey, but a great night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent, but didn't have ti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner was excellent, but didn't have time to enjoy the grounds. Came back the next morning, Saturday, and had breakfast on the patio. Breakfast was excellent, as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and servers were atte ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious and servers were attentive. Good brunch selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Caille is a magical place. The locat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

La Caille is a magical place. The location is exquisite, and regardless of the season you're transported to another world as you enter the property. In the non-winter months, peacocks and swans wander about beautifully manicured grounds while in the winter it's literally a wonderland. We've been in summer and winter, and they are both equally special. We just had my parents in town this week and had a fantastic meal. The food was exquisite - fresh and flavorful and nicely portioned. I had the scallops and they were amazing, while my father had the lamb which he said was also outstanding - three shanks and they were cooked and seasoned perfectly. My wife had the halibut (fantastic!) and mother had the fillet and it was all excellent, to say the least. Although pricey, La Caille is unique due to the experience, ambiance, service and food, and should be on anyone's list for that "special evening".

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food overall was great, atmosphere was a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food overall was great, atmosphere was amazing. Peacocks roaming around, multiple plants and some lakes. Service was great, as to be expected from a 4 diamond restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This destination restaurant is amazing. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This destination restaurant is amazing. I've never been to a more romantic restaurant in my life. Just driving up to the restaurant on the brick paved road is an experience to remember. Then visiting the chateau, eating a delicious menu, walking the grounds, all of it was splendid. Be sure to walk to grounds, the surroundings of lush greenhouse pavilion, the vineyard, roaming peacocks, and beautiful ponds and lighted pathways are some of the best part of the experience. We spent $150 on the experience for 2 people but it was definitely worth enjoying the delicious food and creating a life long memory.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous romantic dinner here. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a fabulous romantic dinner here. The service and ambience were top notch! We sat on the patio and enjoyed their Summer menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a wonderful anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was a wonderful anniversary dinner. My wife and I found this restaurant while searching on-line. The staff were amazing. The food prepared to perfection. Our after dinner walk on the ground was something to behold.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was expecting more breakfast like food i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was expecting more breakfast like food items and an omelette bar.

Do not eat much meat and spicy chicken did not look great. No choices for salads/dressings. A lot of money for mostly croissants & desserts

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This is my third visit to La Caille. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is my third visit to La Caille. I first discovered the restaurant while on a business trip in 1992. Each time I have business in Salt Lake City I make sure that it includes a visit to the restaurant with colleagues. I recommend it to anyone I know who is visiting the area. It is the best restaurant I have visited on many levels, food, ambiance, service. I always look forward to my dining experiences at La Caille.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and very nice for a romantic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and very nice for a romantic dinner. We will be coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was spectacular in every ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was spectacular in every way including the food, ambience, service and setting. It will be ever remembered as a special evening. Everyone did everything to make it perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining Expeience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The grounds of this restaurant is unbelievable, go early to enjoy, the ambiance is unbeatable food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. We dined and were treated like royalty. This restaurant is truly one of a kind and must be visited by everyone, once you go you will return. We live in Orange County California and travel to Salt Lake at least once a year. We never miss our dining experience and every time we go we want to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambience.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Have to go there to experience it. Yes, costly but worth every penny. Food allergies are not a problem for them for I am allergic to fruit and have celiac disease. They even served me gluten- free rolls for dinner, and a gluten-free, fruit-free dessert, both unexpected treats. Unbelievable attentiveness. Loved the outside patio. When it got chilly, they willingly moved us into the inside at a nicely laid table with candle stick, rose in a vase and fine silverware. We enjoyed every minute, and hope to return some day soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our waiter was Marlin, his knowledge and recommendations for dinner were spot on. The lobster bisque, sea bass, and lamb were all recommended and were all amazing. The grounds are a must see after dinner. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch and it was very good. On ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch and it was very good. Only complaint I have is too much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Superb!!! My second time at the Resto an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Superb!!! My second time at the Resto and my first impression was right. I wish I live in Salt Lake City. ❤️😋😋😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, not quite as good an experience ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall, not quite as good an experience as I expected but still very good.

Ambience: The best part of our visit was the location and the building. Beautiful views, valet parking, and the building was country French. You feel as if you have been transported to somewhere in the french countryside yet you're in the middle of Utah. There was a large group in attendance during our visit and the noise spilled down to our cozy fireplace lit room. The building probably wasn't built for this type of operation so I can overlook the noise to a certain extent.

Service: It did not flow like one would expect at a higher end restaurant. It seemed choppy and rushed. We felt as if the staff were directed which dishes to push for the evening. It just felt off.

I ordered the Fois Gras and the Bouillabaisse. I was served only one piece of toast for my Fois Gras which was a bit bland. 3 pieces would have been better since the pate was significantly larger than the toast. The kitchen was apparently more interested in the look rather than the function. While there was a good sized shrimp, there was zero Lobster in my Bouillabaisse. This perturbed me to no end. The broth flavor was quite good (Just a hint of fennel) and using sea bass as the fish was a great choice, but in my previous experience, if Lobster is advertised, it is prominent in the dish when served. My wife got the filet Mignon and was very pleased with it. She especially loved the truffle fries which were bathed in truffle oil and quite flavorful.

The waiter pushed the Creme Brulee for dessert and it was quite good. No berries, or sauce, just the dish. The flavor was very good and rich in vanilla.

In the end, I would give La Caille a 7 out of 10 since I had a bit of a different experience than my wife and the prices were not ridiculously high as in some of the east coast French restaurants and therefore were somewhat of a value. The scenery was beautiful and worth the visit alone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The presentation of the food was sloppy. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The presentation of the food was sloppy. Felt like a school cafeteria with giant metal tins . Also please add more variety and the drink menus prices too steep.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.