About La Caille Restaurant

9565 Wasatch Blvd
Sandy, UT 84092
View Larger Map

La Caille is Utah's premier luxury dining experience. Located on 20 acres of Salt Lake's most coveted Little Cottonwood Canyon property, La Caille's grounds offer breathtaking views, manicured gardens, canyon rivers, lush vineyards, winding brick lanes and authentic French decor. La Caille itself is housed in an 18th century French-inspired Chateau. Guests dine in one of three unique dining rooms and, during summer months, on one of our three spectacular patios. La Caille is a twelve-year AAA Four-Diamond Award recipient and our contemporary French menu and service has earned praise nationwide. La Caille is also a destination restaurant for wine lovers, offering over 850 selections alongside its extensive list of liquors and inspired cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Every Day - 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
3500 E. 9500 S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-1751

Website:
http://www.lacaille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for restaurant guests

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please call or email us to start planning your next gathering.

Restaurant Photos

La Caille Restaurant
Lemon Thyme Brined Chicken
Seared Salmon
Roasted Cauliflower Risotto
Bananas Foster
Cappuccino La Caille
Rack of Lamb on a bed of Ratatouille, Tapenade and Zucchini Flower
French Onion Soup
Cream Puff
Escargot
Candy Buffet
Kiler Grove Wine Dinner Lamb Course
Bacon Wrapped Sea Scallop

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please contact us to start planning your next gathering.

La Caille Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Romantic
Utah
6 More
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

romantic (42)
special occasion (42)
scenic view (31)
See All
great for outdoor dining (23)
notable wine list (18)
fit for foodies (17)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Venue, outstanding service. Pricey ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Venue, outstanding service. Pricey, but a great night out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent, but didn't have ti ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Dinner was excellent, but didn't have time to enjoy the grounds. Came back the next morning, Saturday, and had breakfast on the patio. Breakfast was excellent, as well.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and servers were atte ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious and servers were attentive. Good brunch selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Caille is a magical place. The locat ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

La Caille is a magical place. The location is exquisite, and regardless of the season you're transported to another world as you enter the property. In the non-winter months, peacocks and swans wander about beautifully manicured grounds while in the winter it's literally a wonderland. We've been in summer and winter, and they are both equally special. We just had my parents in town this week and had a fantastic meal. The food was exquisite - fresh and flavorful and nicely portioned. I had the scallops and they were amazing, while my father had the lamb which he said was also outstanding - three shanks and they were cooked and seasoned perfectly. My wife had the halibut (fantastic!) and mother had the fillet and it was all excellent, to say the least. Although pricey, La Caille is unique due to the experience, ambiance, service and food, and should be on anyone's list for that "special evening".

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food overall was great, atmosphere was a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food overall was great, atmosphere was amazing. Peacocks roaming around, multiple plants and some lakes. Service was great, as to be expected from a 4 diamond restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This destination restaurant is amazing. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This destination restaurant is amazing. I've never been to a more romantic restaurant in my life. Just driving up to the restaurant on the brick paved road is an experience to remember. Then visiting the chateau, eating a delicious menu, walking the grounds, all of it was splendid. Be sure to walk to grounds, the surroundings of lush greenhouse pavilion, the vineyard, roaming peacocks, and beautiful ponds and lighted pathways are some of the best part of the experience. We spent $150 on the experience for 2 people but it was definitely worth enjoying the delicious food and creating a life long memory.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous romantic dinner here. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a fabulous romantic dinner here. The service and ambience were top notch! We sat on the patio and enjoyed their Summer menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a wonderful anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was a wonderful anniversary dinner. My wife and I found this restaurant while searching on-line. The staff were amazing. The food prepared to perfection. Our after dinner walk on the ground was something to behold.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was expecting more breakfast like food i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was expecting more breakfast like food items and an omelette bar.

Do not eat much meat and spicy chicken did not look great. No choices for salads/dressings. A lot of money for mostly croissants & desserts

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This is my third visit to La Caille. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is my third visit to La Caille. I first discovered the restaurant while on a business trip in 1992. Each time I have business in Salt Lake City I make sure that it includes a visit to the restaurant with colleagues. I recommend it to anyone I know who is visiting the area. It is the best restaurant I have visited on many levels, food, ambiance, service. I always look forward to my dining experiences at La Caille.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and very nice for a romantic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and very nice for a romantic dinner. We will be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was spectacular in every ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our experience was spectacular in every way including the food, ambience, service and setting. It will be ever remembered as a special evening. Everyone did everything to make it perfect. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining Expeience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The grounds of this restaurant is unbelievable, go early to enjoy, the ambiance is unbeatable food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. We dined and were treated like royalty. This restaurant is truly one of a kind and must be visited by everyone, once you go you will return. We live in Orange County California and travel to Salt Lake at least once a year. We never miss our dining experience and every time we go we want to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambience.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Have to go there to experience it. Yes, costly but worth every penny. Food allergies are not a problem for them for I am allergic to fruit and have celiac disease. They even served me gluten- free rolls for dinner, and a gluten-free, fruit-free dessert, both unexpected treats. Unbelievable attentiveness. Loved the outside patio. When it got chilly, they willingly moved us into the inside at a nicely laid table with candle stick, rose in a vase and fine silverware. We enjoyed every minute, and hope to return some day soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our waiter was Marlin, his knowledge and recommendations for dinner were spot on. The lobster bisque, sea bass, and lamb were all recommended and were all amazing. The grounds are a must see after dinner. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch and it was very good. On ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch and it was very good. Only complaint I have is too much food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Superb!!! My second time at the Resto an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Superb!!! My second time at the Resto and my first impression was right. I wish I live in Salt Lake City. ❤️😋😋😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, not quite as good an experience ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall, not quite as good an experience as I expected but still very good.

Ambience: The best part of our visit was the location and the building. Beautiful views, valet parking, and the building was country French. You feel as if you have been transported to somewhere in the french countryside yet you're in the middle of Utah. There was a large group in attendance during our visit and the noise spilled down to our cozy fireplace lit room. The building probably wasn't built for this type of operation so I can overlook the noise to a certain extent.

Service: It did not flow like one would expect at a higher end restaurant. It seemed choppy and rushed. We felt as if the staff were directed which dishes to push for the evening. It just felt off.

I ordered the Fois Gras and the Bouillabaisse. I was served only one piece of toast for my Fois Gras which was a bit bland. 3 pieces would have been better since the pate was significantly larger than the toast. The kitchen was apparently more interested in the look rather than the function. While there was a good sized shrimp, there was zero Lobster in my Bouillabaisse. This perturbed me to no end. The broth flavor was quite good (Just a hint of fennel) and using sea bass as the fish was a great choice, but in my previous experience, if Lobster is advertised, it is prominent in the dish when served. My wife got the filet Mignon and was very pleased with it. She especially loved the truffle fries which were bathed in truffle oil and quite flavorful.

The waiter pushed the Creme Brulee for dessert and it was quite good. No berries, or sauce, just the dish. The flavor was very good and rich in vanilla.

In the end, I would give La Caille a 7 out of 10 since I had a bit of a different experience than my wife and the prices were not ridiculously high as in some of the east coast French restaurants and therefore were somewhat of a value. The scenery was beautiful and worth the visit alone.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The presentation of the food was sloppy. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The presentation of the food was sloppy. Felt like a school cafeteria with giant metal tins . Also please add more variety and the drink menus prices too steep.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I was a little late and called to let th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I was a little late and called to let them know and they were really accommodating and understanding. They also gave us a nicely wrapped macaron cookie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my daughter's MSW graduation.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful, the food was great, and Lindsey and Markin were attentive and professional and made our celebration special. LaCaille is our special occasion go to restaurant!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was absolutely amazing!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food with an amazing setting! Great experience and well worth the cost.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion Location

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Good Food, Good Ambiance, Good Service, High Price

If your going for a special occasion make sure you tell them in advance or as you go in the door. Otherwise you will be the ONLY couple who doesn't get a flaming roman candle desert on a large plate that has congratulations or Happy Anniversary written in chocolate . Your spouse will wonder why you are the only person who failed to properly plan for the special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a beautiful place with great food and wonderful personnel. Everything about this place is amazing, from the drive up through the trees to bleautiful grounds. The service and food was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service our waiter Meg was incre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing service our waiter Meg was incredible. And the place in beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was very kind and helpful. I ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server was very kind and helpful. It was our first time visiting La Caille, I was celebrating my 21 Birthday and we were amazed by the food quality and the variety of wine list. Will definitely be visiting soon! Thanks for an amazing experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced and Limited Food Selection

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter brunch at La Caille. The cost was slightly higher than other premium choices (e.g. Grand America, Sundance) but we were willing to try it. We found the food to be well prepared but the selection was very limited compared to the competition. Service was only OK - we had to remind our server to fill our water several times - and the tables were a bit cramped. The food service lines were jammed into the hallway where people were passing to go to their tables. We were also shocked when we were charged an extra $4 for coffee above an already pricey buffet.

We will not be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

we come to Utah once a year to ski and a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

we come to Utah once a year to ski and alw

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. The service was just ok.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was very good. The service was just ok, think good for olive garden type service. We waited for over 15 minutes even with a reservation. Once we got seated we saw tons of tables. They just didn't want to put us at a four top I guess. Would have been nice to have the choice.

They started closing up while there were like four tables of people still in the building. We had a 8pm reservation and they seat people until 8:45pm. In theory there should have been people arriving well after us but we were the last ones. The staff just seemed like they wanted to go home.

Be warned they do free valet parking so bring cash for tips. Why haven't valets figured out how to do some kind of Samsung pay or something. I haven't carried cash for years, sorry valet guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

friday night date night

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

food was delish. server was great and knowledgable.

WHY AREN'T THE MACAROONS ON THE DESSERT MENU??? it was so yummy. i wanted more.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not worth the price

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

There are many restaurants in Salt Lake that produce as exceptional a meal served by well-trained and cordial staff, but none of them are so arrogant as to charge this much. Our meals were delicious, but $40-$50 for a small entree with no side dishes or salad is just not worth the money. I have had many equally nice meals in many high-end SLC restaurants for substantially less.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely place for celebrating a special occasion!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

No complaints except waitress didn't point out that entrees came w/AMPLE side dishes when I started to order side dishes. To her credit, she at least removed the cost of one of the two side dishes from the bill, tho it would have been appreciated if she had removed them both, as we never ate any of either of the side dishes.

Otherwise, our 10-15' late arrival (bad traffic) was graciously accommodated for, not being rushed & the complimentary birthday dessert were all very much appreciated.

Recommend you go there a little early to walk around the grounds - beautiful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at La Caille numerous time ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We have eaten at La Caille numerous times over the years and it has always been one of our favorites for service and ambience, however, the food has, up until now, not been at the same level! I could not be more pleased to say at our last visit the food was some of the best we have ever tasted! Five stars all the way around!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still stunning after all these years.......

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This MUST be the best ambiance in the state; fortunately, the food matches the aesthetic appeal. If you're looking for a 'deal', go elsewhere. La Caille is not a budget restaurant and if money is a concern when making dining choices you'll do yourself a favor by not going there in the first place. Having said that, we find no other restaurant in the city provides the combination of atmosphere and excellent food that La Caille can provide. We were there for the Valentine special menu this week, both of us had the prime rib and it was the best we've had in years. Service has always been excellent and this evening was no exception. This is a special restaurant for ANY special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Night Out

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I will just start off and say, the restaurant and surroundings are absolutely beautiful. we were a few minutes early for our reservation, but were seated immediately. The food was amazing, everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection. My only knock on the whole experience would be, after you eat the bread, most places come and brush off crumbs (kind of a cleanup) and after i had finished my drink partially through the main course, and our server never asked or was came back until we were about done with the desert, and still never asked if we needed another drink. and had simply brought us our check, and didn't bother to see if we wanted after dinner drinks, we usually like to finish our meal with a glass of scotch or baileys and coffee . Most higher end restaurants in the area we have been to, this seemed to be a normal thing. Anyway the experience was good, I would probably go back. but you can go the say Market Street Grill and get similar food and better service for quite a bit less. or head up to Sundance Tree room for the same price, and get better service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

A perfect Evening.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Once again the La Caille was a Perfect experience. From the moment my wife and I pulled into the long and enchanting driveway and as we pulled up to the European gem and greeted with first class service that is to be expected coming from a 5 star restaurant. The food was wonderful and amazing and all in all our experience at this fabulous establishment was a well deserved and a perfect evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Things at La Caille have change in the last 5 yrs

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Just not the same quality food under this new ownership group. Still the most romantic restaurant one could imagine in our area, but just not nearly as good of food as it once served.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic, romantic night out

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We have wanted to visit La Caille for a long time. We finally made it there for valentine's this year, it did not let us down. Beautiful grounds on the drive in, professional treatment once we arrived, wonderful gourmet food and excellent wait service. I would highly recommend it. Just don't wait as long as we did to try it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly I just wish I could get my $300 back.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my first time at La Caille and I was expecting a good to great meal but unfortunately it was just overly expensive mediocre food. The ambiance and food presentation is great but the actual food is just terrible. There wasn't one thing that my wife and I had that we would ever want to try again. When you pay nearly $300 for a Valentines Day prefix course you certainly expect to enjoy some of the food. Save your money and go to Ruth's Chris, Bambara, Copper Onion or even Olive Garden for that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

La Caille

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

We have been wanting to go here for years. Out of towners and skiers so we finally made it. It is a beautiful venue but the GPS didn't help much. It was a pretty slow night with only 4 couples there but the service was excellent (thanks Malin) and the food very good. The French onion soup was killer as was the beet salad. The rack of lamb was very good but I've had better and my date had the duck and she said it was good but she has had better. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.