About La Caille Restaurant

9565 Wasatch Blvd
Sandy, UT 84092
View Larger Map

La Caille is Utah's premier luxury dining experience. Located on 20 acres of Salt Lake's most coveted Little Cottonwood Canyon property, La Caille's grounds offer breathtaking views, manicured gardens, canyon rivers, lush vineyards, winding brick lanes and authentic French decor. La Caille itself is housed in an 18th century French-inspired Chateau. Guests dine in one of three unique dining rooms and, during summer months, on one of our three spectacular patios. La Caille is a twelve-year AAA Four-Diamond Award recipient and our contemporary French menu and service has earned praise nationwide. La Caille is also a destination restaurant for wine lovers, offering over 850 selections alongside its extensive list of liquors and inspired cocktails.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Every Day - 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday Brunch 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
3500 E. 9500 S.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-1751

Website:
http://www.lacaille.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking for restaurant guests

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please call or email us to start planning your next gathering.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

La Caille specializes in well-executed corporate events, spectacular weddings and perfect private parties from 15 - 600 people. We look forward to creating a unique event that will exceed your expectations. Please contact us to start planning your next gathering.

La Caille Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Romantic
Utah
5 More
Scenic View
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Notable Wine List
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

romantic (44)
special occasion (43)
scenic view (28)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (10)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Overall, not quite as good an experience ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall, not quite as good an experience as I expected but still very good. Ambience: The best part of our visit was the location and the building. Beautiful views, valet parking, and the building was country French. You feel as if you have been transported to somewhere in the french countryside yet you're in the middle of Utah. There was a large group in attendance during our visit and the noise spilled down to our cozy fireplace lit room. The building probably wasn't built for this type of operation so I can overlook the noise to a certain extent. Service: It did not flow like one would expect at a higher end restaurant. It seemed choppy and rushed. We felt as if the staff were directed which dishes to push for the evening. It just felt off. I ordered the Fois Gras and the Bouillabaisse. I was served only one piece of toast for my Fois Gras which was a bit bland. 3 pieces would have been better since the pate was significantly larger than the toast. The kitchen was apparently more interested in the look rather than the function. While there was a good sized shrimp, there was zero Lobster in my Bouillabaisse. This perturbed me to no end. The broth flavor was quite good (Just a hint of fennel) and using sea bass as the fish was a great choice, but in my previous experience, if Lobster is advertised, it is prominent in the dish when served. My wife got the filet Mignon and was very pleased with it. She especially loved the truffle fries which were bathed in truffle oil and quite flavorful. The waiter pushed the Creme Brulee for dessert and it was quite good. No berries, or sauce, just the dish. The flavor was very good and rich in vanilla. In the end, I would give La Caille a 7 out of 10 since I had a bit of a different experience than my wife and the prices were not ridiculously high as in some of the east coast French restaurants and therefore were somewhat of a value. The scenery was beautiful and worth the visit alone.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

The presentation of the food was sloppy. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The presentation of the food was sloppy. Felt like a school cafeteria with giant metal tins . Also please add more variety and the drink menus prices too steep.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I was a little late and called to let th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was a little late and called to let them know and they were really accommodating and understanding. They also gave us a nicely wrapped macaron cookie!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my daughter's MSW graduation.

Dined on May 5, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful, the food was great, and Lindsey and Markin were attentive and professional and made our celebration special. LaCaille is our special occasion go to restaurant!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was absolutely amazing!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food with an amazing setting! Great experience and well worth the cost.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Special Occasion Location

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good Food, Good Ambiance, Good Service, High Price If your going for a special occasion make sure you tell them in advance or as you go in the door. Otherwise you will be the ONLY couple who doesn't get a flaming roman candle desert on a large plate that has congratulations or Happy Anniversary written in chocolate . Your spouse will wonder why you are the only person who failed to properly plan for the special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place

Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a beautiful place with great food and wonderful personnel. Everything about this place is amazing, from the drive up through the trees to bleautiful grounds. The service and food was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing service our waiter Meg was incre ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Amazing service our waiter Meg was incredible. And the place in beautiful

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was very kind and helpful. I ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our server was very kind and helpful. It was our first time visiting La Caille, I was celebrating my 21 Birthday and we were amazed by the food quality and the variety of wine list. Will definitely be visiting soon! Thanks for an amazing experience

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Overpriced and Limited Food Selection

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter brunch at La Caille. The cost was slightly higher than other premium choices (e.g. Grand America, Sundance) but we were willing to try it. We found the food to be well prepared but the selection was very limited compared to the competition. Service was only OK - we had to remind our server to fill our water several times - and the tables were a bit cramped. The food service lines were jammed into the hallway where people were passing to go to their tables. We were also shocked when we were charged an extra $4 for coffee above an already pricey buffet. We will not be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

we come to Utah once a year to ski and a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

we come to Utah once a year to ski and alw

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was very good. The service was just ok.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was very good. The service was just ok, think good for olive garden type service. We waited for over 15 minutes even with a reservation. Once we got seated we saw tons of tables. They just didn't want to put us at a four top I guess. Would have been nice to have the choice. They started closing up while there were like four tables of people still in the building. We had a 8pm reservation and they seat people until 8:45pm. In theory there should have been people arriving well after us but we were the last ones. The staff just seemed like they wanted to go home. Be warned they do free valet parking so bring cash for tips. Why haven't valets figured out how to do some kind of Samsung pay or something. I haven't carried cash for years, sorry valet guy.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

friday night date night

Dined on March 26, 2016

food was delish. server was great and knowledgable. WHY AREN'T THE MACAROONS ON THE DESSERT MENU??? it was so yummy. i wanted more.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Good but not worth the price

Dined on March 4, 2016

There are many restaurants in Salt Lake that produce as exceptional a meal served by well-trained and cordial staff, but none of them are so arrogant as to charge this much. Our meals were delicious, but $40-$50 for a small entree with no side dishes or salad is just not worth the money. I have had many equally nice meals in many high-end SLC restaurants for substantially less.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place for celebrating a special occasion!

Dined on February 20, 2016

No complaints except waitress didn't point out that entrees came w/AMPLE side dishes when I started to order side dishes. To her credit, she at least removed the cost of one of the two side dishes from the bill, tho it would have been appreciated if she had removed them both, as we never ate any of either of the side dishes. Otherwise, our 10-15' late arrival (bad traffic) was graciously accommodated for, not being rushed & the complimentary birthday dessert were all very much appreciated. Recommend you go there a little early to walk around the grounds - beautiful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at La Caille numerous time ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have eaten at La Caille numerous times over the years and it has always been one of our favorites for service and ambience, however, the food has, up until now, not been at the same level! I could not be more pleased to say at our last visit the food was some of the best we have ever tasted! Five stars all the way around!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still stunning after all these years.......

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

This MUST be the best ambiance in the state; fortunately, the food matches the aesthetic appeal. If you're looking for a 'deal', go elsewhere. La Caille is not a budget restaurant and if money is a concern when making dining choices you'll do yourself a favor by not going there in the first place. Having said that, we find no other restaurant in the city provides the combination of atmosphere and excellent food that La Caille can provide. We were there for the Valentine special menu this week, both of us had the prime rib and it was the best we've had in years. Service has always been excellent and this evening was no exception. This is a special restaurant for ANY special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Night Out

Dined on February 15, 2016

I will just start off and say, the restaurant and surroundings are absolutely beautiful. we were a few minutes early for our reservation, but were seated immediately. The food was amazing, everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection. My only knock on the whole experience would be, after you eat the bread, most places come and brush off crumbs (kind of a cleanup) and after i had finished my drink partially through the main course, and our server never asked or was came back until we were about done with the desert, and still never asked if we needed another drink. and had simply brought us our check, and didn't bother to see if we wanted after dinner drinks, we usually like to finish our meal with a glass of scotch or baileys and coffee . Most higher end restaurants in the area we have been to, this seemed to be a normal thing. Anyway the experience was good, I would probably go back. but you can go the say Market Street Grill and get similar food and better service for quite a bit less. or head up to Sundance Tree room for the same price, and get better service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect Evening.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Once again the La Caille was a Perfect experience. From the moment my wife and I pulled into the long and enchanting driveway and as we pulled up to the European gem and greeted with first class service that is to be expected coming from a 5 star restaurant. The food was wonderful and amazing and all in all our experience at this fabulous establishment was a well deserved and a perfect evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Things at La Caille have change in the last 5 yrs

Dined on February 14, 2016

Just not the same quality food under this new ownership group. Still the most romantic restaurant one could imagine in our area, but just not nearly as good of food as it once served.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic, romantic night out

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have wanted to visit La Caille for a long time. We finally made it there for valentine's this year, it did not let us down. Beautiful grounds on the drive in, professional treatment once we arrived, wonderful gourmet food and excellent wait service. I would highly recommend it. Just don't wait as long as we did to try it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Honestly I just wish I could get my $300 back.

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my first time at La Caille and I was expecting a good to great meal but unfortunately it was just overly expensive mediocre food. The ambiance and food presentation is great but the actual food is just terrible. There wasn't one thing that my wife and I had that we would ever want to try again. When you pay nearly $300 for a Valentines Day prefix course you certainly expect to enjoy some of the food. Save your money and go to Ruth's Chris, Bambara, Copper Onion or even Olive Garden for that matter.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

La Caille

Dined on February 10, 2016

We have been wanting to go here for years. Out of towners and skiers so we finally made it. It is a beautiful venue but the GPS didn't help much. It was a pretty slow night with only 4 couples there but the service was excellent (thanks Malin) and the food very good. The French onion soup was killer as was the beet salad. The rack of lamb was very good but I've had better and my date had the duck and she said it was good but she has had better. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We went here for a quiet birthday brunch and were blown away by the location, staff, and food. I had mentioned in my OpenTable reservation that it was her birthday and didn't bring it up again with the staff when I got there and they brought out a complimentary dessert. The staff gives you the space and time to enjoy your food, they are attentive but not overly eager to move you along, and they ensure that you can have as much of a moment as you want. The food was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful.

Dined on February 2, 2016

We ate at La Caille to celebrate our 52nd wedding anniversary. It was a snowy night and not many were braving the storm. La Caille was quiet and the food was great. La Caille made our celebration very special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

La Caille Never Disappoints!

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I took my cousin to La Caille for her birthday. This is the third or fourth time I've been to the restaurant. It's always AMAZING!! The food is phenomenal, the ambiance can't be beat and the service always outstanding & personal. La Caille grounds are beautiful! What a special evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a very nice meal. Wait staff was at ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Had a very nice meal. Wait staff was attentive and professional. The meal was well paced and very savory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special date night

Dined on January 3, 2016

Beautiful property and excellent food! Romantic spot for a special date night. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

The X mas eve dinner menu was very ordin ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

The X mas eve dinner menu was very ordinary compared to last year. I certainly felt that it was not worth the money we paid. We will not be back. Our service was very very ordinary. The waiter had too many tables he was waiting on and it was nearly impossible to get his attention.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Not what I was hoping for

Dined on December 16, 2015

my husband and I went here on a mini vacation. It was beautiful and had just snowed. I loved the ambiance. We were seated right by the fire and because of the heavy snow were the only ones in the restaurant for a good portion of our meal. The music was nice and set a romantic and relaxed atmosphere. Service was fabulous, though our host was not as welcoming or amicable as I would have expected at such a place. The food was the low spot of the evening. I love trying new foods and eateries and will pay good money for the experience. I did not feel the food they offered was worth the $250 tab. At $50 per person per course the food should wow. While the food was "good", I was hoping for more than that. What could have been a wonderful experience felt pretentious. I feel I paid for the name instead of the food. Overall this experience fell flat for me.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on December 14, 2015

I have been going to La Caille sporadically for about 40 years, as a special occasion restaurant. Sunday was my wife's birthday, and I wanted her to feel special. It was a very nice evening, a table by the fireplace, and fine food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on December 13, 2015

Went for my birthday and was not disappointed. Beautiful scenery, amazing service, and the food was to die for! Our waitress, Meg, was seriously the most wonderful person I've ever met! Super fun, helpful, and kind. The manager filled both requests as to where I wanted to sit and the confirmation call was greatly appreciated. I will definitely be coming back as soon as I can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

Dined on December 6, 2015

Our lamb chops and Peking Duck were excellent. Wines very good. And server was wonderful - attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Food prep

Dined on November 29, 2015

Ordered the sea bass. Came out a bit dry. Companion ordered tenderloin medium well but came out medium rare. Ambience was wonderful. Server was terrific.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful special occasion meal!

Dined on October 24, 2015

We chose La Caille for a special family occasion. We were a party of 13 including 4 children. The restaurant was extremely accommodating and provided a lovely setting for our meal. Everyone agreed the food was wonderfully delicious with lots of small extras that made the evening that much more memorable. We had a lovely room to ourselves and attentive service. We could not have been more pleased. Although we could have had a less expensive meal elsewhere, I don't think we could have had a more enjoyable evening or meal anywhere else! Thank you La Caille!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Les Is More

vip
Dined on October 21, 2015

Since the new ownership took over the restaurant isn't what it used to be. Not crowded anymore as the food is just okay and not great like in the past. One waiter took care of all tables thus slow overall service. Need to go back to what made this a very special place with themed "uniforms" for the help. This went from a must go restaurant to one that you can now easily forget about. Filet Mignon seemed more like eye roast in texture. Expensive for what you get in food and lack of atmosphere. The grounds are fantastic but that's it.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

10 years

Dined on October 10, 2015

good food, great service, fantastic atmosphere. this is my fist time at La Caille, and having discover thei gem, I am a returning customer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

Outstanding ambiance

Dined on October 3, 2015

The restaurant is beautiful and romantic, it is great for a special occasion. The food was not the best, it is just good. The service is okay but not outstanding. They have a great wine and drinks selection. I believe that for the location, atmosphere and cost the quality of food and service does not meet the expectations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

BEYOND AMAZING!

Dined on September 13, 2015

Skipped over this for dinner with a group because of the price but knew we wanted to try it. Absolutely incredible and beyond amazing!! Will return and plan to stay in the cottage!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

30 year employ anniversary dinner

Dined on September 12, 2015

Super job. Food was great and we weren't rushed. All the servers were upbeat and pleasant. Very nice event for us. Nice job!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.