Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

La Bonne Table

4.8
382 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday -Saturday dinner 5pm-10pm
Sunday brunch 10am-3pm
Sunday dinner 4pm-9pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 260-8039
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Renaud Tristan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pennsylvania
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 382 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our first visit and plan to return in the near future. Lovely meal and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Always love this place! Excellent service. Delicious food. Love, love the escargot and the duck. I consistently recommend it as a special restaurant for fine dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Marvelous food and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent food and service. Wait staff is attentive to customers needs. I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Amazing cozy night date spot. Extremely courteous and kind

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent service and food. They gave us some complimentary drinks as it was my daughters birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This is somewhat of a hidden gem. We were here about 7 months ago and it was empty. We usually don't return to a restaurant no matter how good we want to keep trying new places. But our first choice right down the street had a 90 min wait for a party of 3. Quickly got on Open Table found reservation in 15 mins available and had another fantastic brunch. People continued to walk in and were seated, while down the street at the Hash place people were still in line when we walked back toward Balboa park. Highly recommend.
Great Menu and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went twice in our one week vacation to San Diego. Enjoy the specialty cocktails and the wine pairing option - not premium wines but well paired. The onion soup was sinful. We ate the pork chop, the trout, the mussels and the steak, all delicious. The menu is quite limited and we explored most of it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This is one of San Diego's "jewels". The place is cozy and quaint. The service is fantastic. The food is delicious--every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Lovely little place. Felt like we were back in Paris. Delicious food. Great service. And a perfect French 75! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I got there early so i expected the food would be great as it was not busy. The onion soup was typical with lots of cheese but nothing special. I had a salad which was very ordinary. The dressing was not special. The 2 stars is because I had the trout which was not fresh (fishy taste which shows lack of freshness). The trout was overcooked in a very unappealing sauce which added very little flavor. A fine restaurant would never offer trout as a main course when there are so many better choices of fish to serve in San Diego. I was totally disappointed with my dinner and cannot recommend this restaurant. I went there based on the glowing reviews I read online. The people that wrote these revues should try other French restaurants which are far better so they can write more informed reviews.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. The menu is small, but each dish is beautifully prepared. The service is impeccable. The ambiance is quiet and sophisticated. The staff is attentive but not hovering. This is our go-to place for out-of -town guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great gem in Hillcrest. Small but intimate. Service is terrific and food really hits mark for French with country flair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Unexpected jewel. Food and service were excellent and we could actually hear each other speak. Plan to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Bonne Table never disappoints. Incredible food, fair prices, great servers, good wine. Always a perfect time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great service, fabulous and authentic French food. My French born wife loved the French specialties. The French Onion soup was as good as anything we've had in France! Small restaurant but did not feel crowded. Quiet for conversation - which is becoming rare!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

What a lovely place to be. The food and ambiance transported us and allowed us to feel as if we had discovered a lovely cafe in a quiet French neighborhood. The service was pleasant and the food was impeccable. Looking forward to another meal there in the near future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We had a wonderful experience here. Very gracious staff and delicious French cuisine. The restaurant is quite small which makes for a very romantic setting. Can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

What a gem this is!! As close to Paris as we can get here in San Diego!! Don’t miss this great food experience!! Bon appetit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great restaurant. Very very nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great location, very authentic decor, delicious food, and impeccable service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We had a wonderful time! Cozy, charming set up. Authentic French food and ambiance. Great service. We Went to celebrate my husband’s birthday and they were super attentive with us. When in San Diego, we will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Excellent atmosphere. The food is incredible. One of my most favorite restaurants when visiting San Diego. Extremely attentive wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Another great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I have eaten at La Bonne table many times and have never been disappointed yet. The food is excellent and the ambiance is also very good. I truly love coming here

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The food and wine tasting was excellent. I would like to see new things on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Wonderful as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Charming, quaint, bistro. Great for a date or with friends, as we were, for brunch or lunch. All round pleasant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Very good brunch, but the service was a bit slow for such a small place. Given that, really need to get a reservation. Anxious to try it for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always great with everything

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

This is a small, intimate setting with great service and excellent food! One could feel transported to Paris!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I've been twice now and both times it was a great experience. Traditional French food, great wine at good prices. The menu changes seasonally so I can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent service great food pleasant atmosphere try the lamb shank delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

I enjoy going to this locally adorable restaurant. Their menu is creative, cheeses are delicious and they have a good wine selection. We were very surprised to have such large entree's. Usually, French equates to small plates. Neither of us were able to finish our meal. I had the lamb. Though, it was tender, I thought it lacked depth of flavor. My son had the mussels, it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines dinner was pre-fixe at $65 pp and choices were varied with something yummy for every taste bud. Lobster bisque starter was fantastic and salad was salad, meh. Salmon entree and steak frites were great, dessert was included. I opted for wine pairing ($25 extra) and should have specified red wine preferences as I was served two whites, which were fine, but my fault for not being specific. The serving staff aims to please, so feel free to ask questions. Ambiance is total charmsville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We have been wanting to try this place for a while now, especially since we live within walking distance. So, we made Valentine's Day reservations a month ahead. It was great and we will definitely be back. It is very authentic French cuisine, very intimate and pleasant. Wine selection was very nice and the service was friendly and prompt. You won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This place continues to wow us. My husband and I have tried many eateries across San Diego and this one always comes out on top. The service is excellent, the food is consistently fresh and delicious and the atmosphere of the place is relaxing and attractive. It's almost like sitting in a best friend's living room for dinner. The wait staff has not changed for years; the two gentlemen who serve take great care of us without going overboard. We also like that they have a small menu with good selections; I'm always wary of a place that offers a huge number of dishes--how can the chef specialize in all of them? Anyway....this is our go to restaurant.....it's five stars in our book.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 12, 2018

The main objection I had to this place was the price. We paid over 100$ for two of us. The "30$ and under" quote is rather ridiculous. We had an entree and soup each. We had no salad and no wine!
On the other hand the food was delicious. The pork chops were excellent, as was the potato/cheese side. My companion also loved the onion soup, though I did not like the use of brown bread in it instead of white and wish I had been given an option.
Most of the other tables were occupied when we arrived, and so the noise level was a bit high. It diminished to a good level by the time we were finished with our meal.
The waiter was very attentive and obliging.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

One of our favorites! Superb from service, food, ambiance, wine, etc. Top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

We are regular visitors and are never disappointed. The menu is small so it gets lots of attention from the chef. The staff are efficient and attentive. It is a good special occasion venue.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by La Bonne Table