Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Saturday dinner 5pm-10pm
Sunday brunch 10am-3pm
Sunday dinner 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.facebook.com/labonnetablesd

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (37)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Authentic (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Cozy (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic French food in a peaceful & beautiful setting. Great service, nice wine & drink list and lots of charm. Must try!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

This tiny bistro is a true gem for San Diego! It’s as close to Paris as we can get here in Southern CA! Must make reservation...at least 10 people were turned away at door while we were there! Small but very select menu and the food is outstanding as is the service! Lets please keep this special restaurant thriving !!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Week night visit, 7:00 pm , glad we reserved as tables & bar were quite full with diners our table was available as reserved. Service was excellent, intelligent and friendly, attentive but not bothersome. Dining and bar share a common space and there are a couple of tables in alcoves off the main space. Overall, though full, the restaurant is conducive to conversation. Food was very good, quite authentic French style. Wines well chosen both by bottle & glass, appropriately priced. We will go back without a doubt.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Yo has been a incredible host. The small, intimate atmosphere of a real French bistro is present at La Bonne Table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2018

We were there on a Wednesday evening and I would suggest you always make a reservation as the dining area is relatively small. The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed the service there. We had the Fromage plate and Escargo to start and the cheese was especially good! I like escargo and the preparation with a puff pastry on top is great dish. She had the Trout Almondine and I had the Entrecote. Both were excellent and the portion was perfect in size. I have to say though the Trout was exceptionally good because of course I had to try some of it.

Just this morning I recommended La Bonne Table to a friend who was thrilled to hear of this little gem in the Hillcrest area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Could have been in Paris...delightful in every way!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Awesome spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Delicious authentic French food. Personal service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

La Bonne Table is ALWAYS AMAZING! I have not once been disappointed, I have dined here more than 50 times.... The ambiance is awesome for dates and special occasions, quaint cozy setting and the food and cocktails are on point at all times!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2018

My wife and I wanted a quiet, romantic dining spot to celebrate my birthday.
The restaurant delivered on this and some.
We were both first given a complimentary glass of champagne to start our evening.
Our waiter was very attentive and friendly.
The French menu offers several choices for both starters and entrees and we both thoroughly enjoyed all that we ordered. I had the braised lamb shank in a delicious wine sauce that was just wonderful and very filling. The lamb shank is rich so I would recommend a light starter choice.
I had the French onion soup to start, which was delicious but might have chosen something a bit lighter had I known how rich and delicious the lamb shank was going to be.
The restaurant ambience was just right with low-level jazz music playing in the background and although the restaurant was almost full when we arrived, the noise level remained quiet throughout the evening. It seems everyone was there to enjoy the quiet ambience.
For us, this was a great dining experience and so glad it is so near to our North Park residence. A true neighborhood gem!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2018

As though one were visiting a dear French friend who loves to cook. Unpretentious, classically-done comfort food prepared by a chef with a confident hand. Service was also excellent; not obsequious, just gracious. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Reynaud and his wife have done a great job transforming his bar/restaurant into this quaint French restaurant. The brunch menu offers nice options and I'm hard to please when it comes to breakfast fare. I had the poached eggs and asked for them firm - they were almost as firm as I'd like but I'd be more emphatic next time. I plan to try the salad next time though. Everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Simply wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2017

So quaint & darling! Brought my husband & he loved it. We felt as if we were in a friends home. Loved the ambiance, music, service. Attentive but not overbearing. The pork chops melted in my mouth. I couldn’t believe the delicious flavor, so pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Third time here and everything was just perfect. Menu is small but a good selection of French classics very well prepared. Just spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2017

second time hoping to be good. I hope they do not have this bad of night in the kitchen for their sake as it is a nice small place that should really be outstanding and not marginal for waht it is representing. unfortunately, nothing new, limited same menu for years! this time all we ordered was badl. overcooked trout with way too many bones of every size left in, and overly oily at same time. sides were nonexistent in taste. lamb was also overcooked an poor choice of pieces. foi gras jus ok, although repetitive special. to add insult to the night, creme brulee had been made up many hours before and hard and no taste! after ordered, it was brought out in literally 30 seconds, stone cold and no freshness. when asked to talk to the manager or chef (which is same person I understand) he refused to come out even though we were the only people in the restaurant at that time. There are many alternative restaurants in the city for this faire and price to try before coming back. i really was hoping for a special date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Our New Favorite! We went to La Bonne Table before the theatre and were all impressed. My husband said their duck confit was the best he's had outside of Paris (perfectly done, crisp skin, moist inside, generous portion), my trout almondine melted in the mouth, the double cut pork chop was beautiful and tender with dauphinois potatoes that were to die for. The pork rillettes took me right back to France - very authentic and delicious, as were the escargot in garlic/parsley butter. Desserts are simple, traditional and very good. Limited but nice winelist, and classic French cocktails are a nice touch. We'll definitely be back!

The steak frites was a bit of a letdown - a bit too chewy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. We dined for dinner and it was so great that we came back two days later for a birthday brunch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2017

First time we came for brunch. Several innovative menu items. We had the duck confit hash and poached eggs and the asparagus with poached eggs. Both were elegantly presented and delicious. Spicy Bloody Mary was indeed spicy! I liked it. Good coffee too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2017

This charming restaurant is one of our favourite places to eat in San Diego. Excellent across the board. Best Duck Confit in San Diego ! Thanks for providing San Diego diners with such a delightful spot!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2017

I've had dinner here twice and loved it both times.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Six of us had a holiday dinner at La Bonne Table, a charming and intimate local French bistro. The entire experience really exceeded our expectations. Street parking was fairly easy (watch the meters as they operate until 8 pm). The cozy charm was perfect for our small group dinner. We let the server suggest a classic red blend wine and it was yummy ($65/bottle). We each had something different as entree and everyone raved. Moules with chunks of lobster in the bisque broth was out-of-this-world. So were the fresh, hot fries. Others had huge, thick tender pork chop; super fresh trout; lamb shank that was tender and delicious; and a huge hunk of tender duck with leg and thighs. For dessert we all shared great chocolat mousse and cream brulee. La Bonne Table is perfect for a romantic dinner, but I wouldn't recommend for groups larger than 6 as it would get a bit loud and lose the cozy touch. Keep it small and enjoy an evening of romance and excellent, fine French food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2017

This restaurant is one of our favorites in a San Diego. It is small, friendly and the food is outstanding. It is our place to go, especially for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We went for brunch and it was out of this world. I wanted almost everything on the menu! Can't recommend anything because there is no bad options here. Our lovely waiter, Victor, couldn't do enough to serve us, and was super sweet too. Great place for any occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Very much enjoyed La Bonne Table. Everything we had (the escargot, the steak, the mussels, and the chocolate mousse) was very tasty. The service was excellent. It's not cheap, but I consider it among the top restaurants in Hillcrest.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

As usual, La Bonne Table delivers a beautiful experience - relaxed, cozy atmosphere, excellent service and extraordinary food. The chef accommodated my friend, who is a vegetarian, with a lovely dish, and my duck was perfect - crisp on the outside and tender on the inside.
If you can't make it to Paris for dinner, come here instead. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Love love this cozy Parisian cafe, food is always amazing, the Saint cocktail is spectacular, ambience is very reminiscent of a casual yet romantic french cafe. Great for a date or a casual pop in for dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Had a lovely dining experience with friends - we loved that we could have a conversation and hear each other. In addition, food was delicious - service was warm and timed perfectly. Can’t wait to come back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Small but nice french restaurant. The pork chop steak was tender and delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent French cuisine & service. We had the French onion soup (delicious) and the mussels & pork chop, which was super thick and perfectly cooked! The pomme frites were rather thick, resembling more of an Irish French fry, but we aren't complaining. Will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Charming hidden gem. Ordered 3 different entrees and an appetizer and all were beyond delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on November 4, 2017

La Bonne Table is authentic French cuisine, nothing less. It is not especially pretentious, though: the chef allows their food to speak for them. Everything from the baguette served first, through the appetizers, and on to the main course was absolutely delicious, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked. This was our second visit. We will be back. Soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great find! We have been there twice in 2 weeks. Great food, service, and great wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2017

As always, wonderful ambience, terrific food and great cocktails and wine. Au revoire until next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was not very tasty. Cafe Bleu if it still exists was the place for French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent for supper pre theater. Superb duck confit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food was authentic and phenomenal. The restaurant is quaint, yet exceptional. The service was great, as well as the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We loved our entrees: double pork chop and duck! Lovely French Bistro flare; hearty and satisfying. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Wonderful little place. The food is superb, the service efficient and friendly. Reliable. Delicious.
The best French onion soup in San Diego. Other great items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Delicious food Want to go back and try some other selections on the menu. The trout was wonderful and the pork chop and mussels got rave reviews too. We will definitely be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.