Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm Sunday 11 am- 9 pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Cozy (31)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (22)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 8 hours ago

Our meal was truly fantastic, from the cheese plate to our entrees (the duck confitte and steak frites) and the amazing chocolate mousse. With a bottle from the wine list, it was the perfect place for a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We were not impressed with the outside of the building but the food was fantastic and the service perfect. Overall, ambience was good and a very enjoyable evening. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I had the lamb stew, which was a special of the evening. Phenomenal! My wife and cousin each had the pork chop and raved about it and the potatoes. We have dined here many times and the food and Mr. Yo's attention never vary....always excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Superb duck

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was very good, the service was excellent, the restaurant is cozy and quaint and not loud at all (although you have to take into account that there wasn't anyone at the bar). I certainly will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food. And great service. Had fabulous pork chop

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Classic neighbor French bistro with owner in the kitchen and two experienced, excellent servers.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is the third time we've enjoyed this restaurant. The staff is attentive, the food excellent and the service is excellent. This restaurant has a small seating capacity so reservations are a must for late week and weekends. Our friend reported the martini was excellent. When it is full the "noise" level is higher but not uncomfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We went to La Bonne Table for my boyfriend's birthday and he could have not been happier. Everything was absolutely perfect from the service to the ambiance to the food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our second visit to La Bonne Table and it continues to impress. Refined cocktail list and excellent food with friendly service are always a winning combination for me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This restaurant is small, quaint and intimate. Parking is limited and on the street. The food was good and so was the service. I expected the fries to be better, but they were just ok but the trout was good, and the bone in rib eye was ok.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Chose this quaint French restaurant to celebrate our anniversary while vacationing in San Diego (Escondido) at the Welk Resort. Changed our reservations four times while finally deciding on La Bonne Table and so glad we did. The drive in rush hour was an hour (Padres game night) but so worth it. The menu was somewhat limited but everything we had from appetizers to dessert was fabulous and the portions were quite generous at a comparatively small cost. Service was friendly, efficient and attentive. Definitely one of the best meals we have ever had. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was good. We both had the trout almondine. The fish was moist and flavorful and topped with asparagus spears. The decor was intimate and cozy. However, for the prices charged, the restaurant could spend some money to reupholster their chairs. They look as if they were salvaged from a thrift shop with splits and cracks on the seat bottoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had dined here before and was quite pleased. I was looking for a special place for an Easter lunch, and this was perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Consistently excellent. The mussels are always excellent as was the Steak au poivre . Service is always great. We were lucky to get a same day reservation

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had read many glowing reviews about this neighborhood restaurant and finally decided to go with some friends. We were not disappointed! First, the ambiance of the place is darling and I noticed at least 3 young couples who looked as if they were on a romantic celebration or a first date. Second, the servers are helpful but not obtrusive which is nice since the place is very small. Third, everything we ordered was delicious, from the french onion soup, the salmon, the frisbee salad which was outstanding and the duchess and trout almandine. To cap it off we had a giant profiterole which we split 4 ways and was the perfect way to end our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Adorable French restaurant with authentic décor and wonderful food. Reservations are highly recommended since this is a small and intimate place. The lovely interior has a set of French doors that open onto the outside terrace with a few tables that overlook 5th Avenue. The food is authentic French, escargot, foie gras and the best French baguette. We loved the delicious Frisee salad with toasted goat cheese and the kitchen kindly split the special of the evening for us which was a perfectly cooked 16oz Rib Eye steak with pomme frites that were obviously hand cut and possibly fried in duck fat(?). Excellent. We will make this one of our frequent dining spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was very good and the service was too. I found it kind of hard to have a quiet conversation though because of the noise level, but i think it was probably due to the small space and a table of 4 being very loud and others had to raise their voices to converse, so it just snowballed. Very good experience though, and I loved the quaint little old house it's in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Remind me of the ol' Quebec

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

cute, small restaurant reminded us of France. food and service were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

No special occasion brought us to the restaurant. We liked the menu and both order duck. Our waiter was good, attentive, and not intrusive.

Our only objection to the ambiance was that it's noisy. People at the bar were loud and so were two couples having dinner by the front window. The restaurant advertises as "QUIET", but it isn't. Maybe a signs on the tables reminding people to keep their voices down in deference to other diners might be a good idea.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Super good small balanced menu . I love the duck . Moules great . So is steak boudin noir all of it!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Consistently delicious food. Duck confit and Pork Chop are our favorites. Good jazz playlist too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

All dishes and drinks were just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A truly French restaurant. Food was excellent, except for the scargot, service was great. It is a bit pricy but totally worth it. They helped me to celebrate my husband's birthday by making him feel special and giving him a free dessert wine. Specially recommended for couples or small group of friends, the place is small and cozy with a lot of charm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful! Enjoyed my birthday dinner last Saturday night and it was not only delicious but memorable.....inviting, warm, great food, great service. This is a must try - I highly recommend for French countryside ambiance and food. We will always go back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Place. Cheaper than flying to Paris. The decor is great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always excellent. It does remind one of a small place in the French countryside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Another wonderful evening spent with friends. Food was excellent and staff was wonderful. Thank you "Yo" for all your help :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant was everything we thought it would be an more. The service and the food was exceptional. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A friend recommended this restaurant. It's become my "go to" French restaurant in San Diego. We love their bone-in pork chop, it's amazing. We LOVE this place ! ! !

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Just fabulous! Food and service was wonderful. Will definitely be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. Staff is always gracious and there are always special menu items

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I spent our anniversary night there. The dinner was superb! We couldn't finish the plentiful helpings and happily took it home. Honestly, it was as delicious the next day.
Our busboy and waiter were warm and welcoming.
It was, all in all, a lovely experience and I would definitely recommend it and we intend to go back.
Elaine

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

So yummy for dinner that we went there for brunch the next day which was equally yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious onion soup and the duck was done to perfection! We will definitely return to try their other menu offerings.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A small and charming French bistro, authentic and friendly with a sophisticated kitchen - what could go wrong?

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A romántic gem in the heart of Hillcrest. If you're looking for a night out in a Bistro of the arrondissement of St. Germain without going to Paris, this is the place. Great food but on top of all, extraordinary ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time at this very small restaurant. Appetizers, onion soup, salad above average. Duck and mussels, average. Service very good. Tables on top of each other, adjoining diners may as well be sitting at your table, everybody hears everybody's conversation.
Shouldn't let surroundings affect meal enjoyment, but it does.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was my second time at La Bonne Table and it was as great as the first time. I went on a Thursday and a Wednesday and both times the restaurant was full by 7:30pm so definitely make a reservation regardless of the day!

The escargot is crazy good (although served literally boiling hot so be careful!). Last time I had the duck confit and this time I had the steak-frites and both were excellent. Service is great; the waiter was very knowledgeable and good at recommending wine pairings that really enhanced each dish. At one point I dropped my fork by accident and was brought a new one before I even had to ask. The crème brulee wasn't quite as bruleed as it could have been so it was a little soft and grainy at the edges, but I'll forgive it because it's absolutely amazing with their Sauternes by the glass.

Overall a great place for a date! The small and low-lit room is nice and romantic. It's on the pricey side but well worth it in my opinion. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.