About La Bonne Table

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
6 More
Romantic
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

neighborhood gem (44)
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (32)
See All
special occasion (26)
notable wine list (9)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
good for groups (2)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfectly cooked classic French food wit ...

Dined 6 days ago

Perfectly cooked classic French food without overpowering sauces. Excellent service and decent (not outrageously priced) wine list. Charming atmosphere and nicely paced. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love La Bonne Table--it's classic Fre ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love La Bonne Table--it's classic French bistro--small, intimate, and inviting. Service was impeccable; the food delicious, and it's on our favorites list. Highly recommended if you enjoy all things French!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience las ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience last Sat. evening - food was delicious and the server was very attentive! We will definitely return -

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is truly a great restaurant! Duck ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

This is truly a great restaurant! Duck confit and pork chop entrees were stunning in their presentation and taste. Escargot also worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

One of the best Duck Confit i've tasted.

Dined on June 12, 2016

One of the best Duck Confit i've tasted.

food4
ambience4
service5

Cozy restaurant with good food and servi ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Cozy restaurant with good food and service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the service was excellent. the food was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

the service was excellent. the food was very good, good enough to warrant another visit to the restaurant. portions were generous and flavors were distinct. the small setting meant that it was quiet, great break from the too big and too noisy places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic French food! Small menu done wel ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Classic French food! Small menu done well! We will certainly be back and invite our French friends to join us. Chef Renault Tristan, a Parisian, really knows how to prepare the classics! Thank you et á bientôt!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

(Better than) Paris in San Diego

Dined on May 18, 2016

Superb, at least the equal of much of the cuisine we had in Paris just a couple of weeks ago. Service is excellent and the atmosphere is intimate and friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming and cozy like you are dini ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Very charming and cozy like you are dining in an old world cottage. Service and food also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

second time...excellent

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

this was our second visit. delicious food and the waiter is also awesome........

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very nice but could have been a little b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice but could have been a little better as no ice tea there

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good duck and lamb, excellent pate.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Small and intimate restaurant. Very nice. Parking can be a challenge since it is in Hillcrest area, but that's not their fault. We had a very pleasant dinner and will definitely return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way.

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent in every way.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Execellent

Dined on April 26, 2016

A wonderful place for any kind of meal with a lover, family or friends. Ambience is wonderful, service superb, and food is excellent. A great place to go to talk and enjoy, there aren't any better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good buy limited menu

Dined on April 20, 2016

La Bonne Table is a very cute restaurant in Hillcrest and the service was good. However, since they serve seasonal food, their menu is not on their website. I found the menu to have a very limited selection so there was only one entree that suited my taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

duck confit craving satisfied

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went here to celebrate our anniversary. Food was perfect, duck confit and French onion soup are perfect. We were greeted by a really nice waiter with champagne in his hands for us. I put on the reservation that it is our anniversary and the complimentary champagne was unexpected but was truly appreciated and enjoyed. Thank you La Bonne for making our special day a truly special one. We will definitely come back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Neighbor Gem

Dined on March 25, 2016

We always enjoy this intimate and unpretentious bistro. the service is impeccable and the food always delicious. It's a great place to dine and converse because it's quiet and quaint with a relaxing vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing...perfect.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was amazing...perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute Frenchy place!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Been here many times, before and after, the place was remodeled! Always enjoy food and services in such a cute, cozy place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I wish the food could match it's cozy decor.

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

First off, Antoinette is very professional and an asset to the place. She is very welcoming. The decor is absolutely right. They got the feel and look right. I felt I was in a little West Village (NYC) restaurant. However, the food was good, but not good enough to make another trip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Bouillabaisse I've eaten and I live ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Best Bouillabaisse I've eaten and I lived in San Francisco for 4 years, where they've a few great French restaurants. Can't wait to have my Duck Confit again though... Love how this place reminds me of Washington, DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bonne Table c'est bonne

Dined on February 28, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. The food was incredible, the service spot-on, and the ambience delightful. Small, intimate setting which I loved. Went with two friends for an evening out. Fro starters, we ordered the French onion soup. Hands down the best I've ever tasted! We then split the steak frites and duck confit. Plenty for all and even had some leftovers. I would recommend this restaurant to pretty much anyone. But I don't think it would be considered a "family" restaurant, since it's so small and a disruptive child would really put a damper on the other diner's evening. A must try!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

French cuisine in Bankers Hill

Dined on February 27, 2016

A cozy French bistro. Would definitely go back again. My only quibble is that from the time we sat down until the main course was served, took 45 minutes. Just a tad long. All told, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very cozy place for romantic date

Dined on February 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the dinner at La Bonne Table. My husband was some sort of sceptical of going to the french place, because he isnt a big fan of this cuisine (all these frogs, etc..). but he really loved his steak, and i was wowed by the duck that i got. And coctails are fantastic! The only thing i didnt like was the table - it was really french=small. Sometimes it was not enough space for our plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

We try to find a reason to come from North County into San Diego so we can have dinner at La Bonne Table. We've been there at least 6 times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The service was a bit slow, but everything else was wonderful. We had the Bouillabaise and Confit de Canard. Both meals were delicious. We'll be returning soon and would recommend this for couples on date night.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Couldnt have asked for a more romantic date night.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Attentive and fantastic service from Yo. Romantic and relaxed atmosphere with lovely French music.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Would be nice if they gave points for Opentable.

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Quaint, small, romantic, and attentive. The paned glass in the French doors open up to an outside patio, which would be excellent for a warm summer night. We stayed indoors as the outdoor temp was chilly. My girlfriend ordered red wine and I had my usual, sparkling water. She is typically is Malbec drinker, but the waiter suggested she try an alternate red (and offered a taste) and he was right. It's wine, so YMMV. My girlfriend likes Malbec, Syrah, and Lodi Old Vine Zins, so I hope that helps you decide if it's right for you. Our waiter offered bread and butter as we waited. We agreed to have the onion soup, which I've never been a fan of (not here, but in general). Being a nice boyfriend, I agreed to share an order with my SO and I found it to be wonderful. What a surprise. The gruyere was flavorful, the onions were a good texture, and the bread held up. I had the hangar steak, which I found to be prepared amazingly well, pink straight through and with a crispy shell. +1 for the chef! However, the quality of the meat wasn't as amazing as their chef was capable. The peppercorn sauce made up for the minor miss by a landslide. OMG, that sauce. Get some. My girlfriend had a trout almandine and she seemed nonplussed about it. I tried it and it seemed okay, but not very flavorful. Great prep, just sorta plain. I admit that the strong peppercorn sauce that was residually lingering on my palate probably made it taste more plain than it was. Despite my limitations, my girlfriend agreed. She didn't finish her fish. Dessert was the creme brulee and it was very traditional creme brulee... nothing fancy, but good. Our server was prompt, yet not overbearing, which is the way we like it. Anyway, this is the place you want to take a date. It isn't chic, fab, trendy, or modern. It is old school French and it is a place you will like coming to again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Small portions

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

My daughter and I recently had a wonderful lunch at Chez Panisse. She got a pasta dish and I got a pork dish Both were cooked to perfection and however the portions were small. I was still hungry and even the delicious dessert wasn't enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with wonderful food and staff

Dined on February 7, 2016

Boston transplant to San Diego. Had a favorite restaurant there I missed a lot but this will easily take its place. Ambience is good, intimate but not crowded or noisy. Dressed up or casual you won't feel out of place. The staff is wonderful, very helpful, not in a rush and pleasantly friendly. The food is just plain excellent and the portions generous. Also the prices are most reasonable. I think this will be my go to restaurant when guests or family come from out of town or when I want a place to eat with friends. Hard to beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and nice ambiance, wit ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Excellent service and nice ambiance, with delicious food and well-made cocktails. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was mediocre. Dessert (macaron) was ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Food was mediocre. Dessert (macaron) was quite bad. It's texture was dense styrofoam and it tasted overly sweet.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A local Restaurant with ambiance and good food.

Dined on January 31, 2016

We read about the restaurant on-line and wanted to try it out since we love French cuisine and also thought the reviews we also saw on-line were worth a visit. We were not disappointed. Although it’s a very small place with only approximately 22 seats, counting the bar, we were immediately seated at our reservation time. I strongly suggest making reservations. The later the better. My wife and I found the service and food to be quite good and the portions were very ample. My wife ordered duck and I ordered the 16-ounce pork chop that was perfectly cooked the way I asked for it. Make sure you tell them how you wish it cooked otherwise it will be cooked medium well. I like it medium with pink showing. Which is what I asked for and it was cooked exactly to my satisfaction. Try the place out; you won’t be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and Charming

Dined on January 28, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in San Diego. It feels like many of the restaurants I've eaten at in France. It's quiet, even conversations are only whispers, the bar has perfect cocktails every time, and the food is hearty yet delicate. There are two main people doing the bulk of the work--it's extremely thoughtful. I always feel like they took the time to personally prepare something worthy for the most important customer. It's all very intentionally a romantic and charming ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a cozy French dinner at this ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

We enjoyed a cozy French dinner at this home converted to restaurant on a Friday night during Restaurant Week. The dishes offered were traditional bistro food like escargot, french onion soup, steak frites, duck confit, mussels. Everything was delicious and the portions were very generous. The red wines by the glass were young and tart for our taste, so we had to spring for a more expensive bottle. Our waiter was excellent (no small feat during restaurant week) and remembered us from Avenue Five. This resto is a welcome relief from the trendy, formulaic brussel sprouts and pizza eateries. One of our new favorites!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adorable restaurant! Great food and ser ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Adorable restaurant! Great food and service! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ambiance

Dined on January 21, 2016

we had a very romantic evening here...looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply put....excellent

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

We were delighted with this place. It was our first time and we went due to restaurant week. We will be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

accommodating & delicious

Dined on January 20, 2016

we brought our baby in a stroller and they were super hospitable (though he was an angel and slept the entire meal without a peep). server was kind and attentive. food was delicious with huge portions. even received a complimentary birthday drink!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.