Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm Sunday 11 am- 9 pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Cozy (31)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

After spending our 19th Wedding Anniversary there last year, we wanted to spend #20 there as well. Excellent choice, Again! We had the Escargot and Duck Confit with some great Pinot Noir.
The food, service and ambiance were perfect. We'll be back again, hopefully not waiting a whole year .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service. The onion soup, escargot, and duck are always consistently delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

one of our favorite neighborhood places. Stable menu. Everything is good on it. we have tried most things. I gravitate towards the duck which is just yummy very authentic, very juicy, full of flavor, with nice brussel sprouts accompaniement. Steak, chops, moules , all excellent, so are first courses. My wife had salmon rillettes and salade frisees for a meal and it was great. Fine desert . Fine wine. It is all a short modest menu and wine list.. a classic bistro style, of a few good things well done. We always go back and are never disappointed .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of our favorite places! The food is always great and the service is always exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great place. Small but well run. Good for special occasions. Food was great, best duck I have ever had. Everyone in our party was pleased

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We have been here many times. Consistent excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had the most wonderful mussels in bouillabaisse broth and lamb chops. Best French restaurant in San Diego. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A great place to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries. Entering this gem immediately transports guests to a small provincial French restaurant, Hillcrest fades away.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our server, Yo, is great as always. He's very attentive and helpful. Our food was delicious, our friend who ordered steak and frites asked for medium rare but steak was medium well. Thankfully they were nice enough to comp her dish. We always have a great experience here and highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We could have been transported to a cozy restaurant in Paris, but we were at the corner of 5th and Pennsylvania in Hillcrest! La Bonne Table is definitely a gem. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.
One thing: They need to get an cappuccino maker for coffee. Otherwise they are terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I must try! Terrific date place. Great food, great service, cozy and warm atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The first time we at there the food was very good and we enjoyed ourselves. But with such a limited menu and not wanting to get the same thing, our choices were more limited. One of the specials was lamb stew. It was just okay but I felt it was overpriced at $26 and was not an exceptionally generous portion. The fish selection was trout and there was no other white fish. My wife does not eat any pork products, is not crazy about mussels and since she eats a lot of fish, she had to order the trout again. The restaurant was fairly busy and the service was great. I recommend it if you have not been there before, but we will take a break for a while and try some of the other French restaurants that have had good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our group of 3 was dining early on a Saturday, so it was very quiet because there were few people at that time. The service was diligent and professional and unobtrusive. Our food was delicious. I had the escargots, which were fabulous and the trout amandine, which was fine. Next time I'll order the moules, which I much prefer to the trout. One friend had the steak frites which was perfect and the other had the special a lamb stew, outstanding. I definitely want to return to explore the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service was very good and the staff was knowledgeable. We enjoyed a cheese plate and the foie gras and the recommended wine. Dinner was disappointing. I ordered the house special (baked salmon and green beans), but the fish was slightly under cooked and not well seasoned. Green beans were just ok. My wife ordered the duck which was moist and tasty,but the meal was not at all memorable. We ordered dessert and coffee next and again nothing special. I would have preferred smaller portions for both the chocolate mouse and the creme puff/fruit. Coffee was excellent. Total tab was about $150 including tip. Not interested in going back. Much better restaurants in Hillcrest. Still looking for an excellent French restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Saint cocktail, the foie gras, the duck and the chocolate mousse were exceptional

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I took a friend here for her birthday and we had a fabulous dinner. We were deciding between three French restaurants and selected La Bonne Table based upon the menu and the reviews. We were not disappointed! The food was authentic and the service was excellent. It's a cozy spot ideal for get togethers with close friends or a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our meal was truly fantastic, from the cheese plate to our entrees (the duck confitte and steak frites) and the amazing chocolate mousse. With a bottle from the wine list, it was the perfect place for a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing food. Great service service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were not impressed with the outside of the building but the food was fantastic and the service perfect. Overall, ambience was good and a very enjoyable evening. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I had the lamb stew, which was a special of the evening. Phenomenal! My wife and cousin each had the pork chop and raved about it and the potatoes. We have dined here many times and the food and Mr. Yo's attention never vary....always excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best duck ever. Exquisite trout and salmon too. Lovely French onion soup.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Superb duck

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was very good, the service was excellent, the restaurant is cozy and quaint and not loud at all (although you have to take into account that there wasn't anyone at the bar). I certainly will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food. And great service. Had fabulous pork chop

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Classic neighbor French bistro with owner in the kitchen and two experienced, excellent servers.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This is the third time we've enjoyed this restaurant. The staff is attentive, the food excellent and the service is excellent. This restaurant has a small seating capacity so reservations are a must for late week and weekends. Our friend reported the martini was excellent. When it is full the "noise" level is higher but not uncomfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We went to La Bonne Table for my boyfriend's birthday and he could have not been happier. Everything was absolutely perfect from the service to the ambiance to the food. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Our second visit to La Bonne Table and it continues to impress. Refined cocktail list and excellent food with friendly service are always a winning combination for me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant is small, quaint and intimate. Parking is limited and on the street. The food was good and so was the service. I expected the fries to be better, but they were just ok but the trout was good, and the bone in rib eye was ok.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Chose this quaint French restaurant to celebrate our anniversary while vacationing in San Diego (Escondido) at the Welk Resort. Changed our reservations four times while finally deciding on La Bonne Table and so glad we did. The drive in rush hour was an hour (Padres game night) but so worth it. The menu was somewhat limited but everything we had from appetizers to dessert was fabulous and the portions were quite generous at a comparatively small cost. Service was friendly, efficient and attentive. Definitely one of the best meals we have ever had. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was good. We both had the trout almondine. The fish was moist and flavorful and topped with asparagus spears. The decor was intimate and cozy. However, for the prices charged, the restaurant could spend some money to reupholster their chairs. They look as if they were salvaged from a thrift shop with splits and cracks on the seat bottoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had dined here before and was quite pleased. I was looking for a special place for an Easter lunch, and this was perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Consistently excellent. The mussels are always excellent as was the Steak au poivre . Service is always great. We were lucky to get a same day reservation

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had read many glowing reviews about this neighborhood restaurant and finally decided to go with some friends. We were not disappointed! First, the ambiance of the place is darling and I noticed at least 3 young couples who looked as if they were on a romantic celebration or a first date. Second, the servers are helpful but not obtrusive which is nice since the place is very small. Third, everything we ordered was delicious, from the french onion soup, the salmon, the frisbee salad which was outstanding and the duchess and trout almandine. To cap it off we had a giant profiterole which we split 4 ways and was the perfect way to end our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Adorable French restaurant with authentic décor and wonderful food. Reservations are highly recommended since this is a small and intimate place. The lovely interior has a set of French doors that open onto the outside terrace with a few tables that overlook 5th Avenue. The food is authentic French, escargot, foie gras and the best French baguette. We loved the delicious Frisee salad with toasted goat cheese and the kitchen kindly split the special of the evening for us which was a perfectly cooked 16oz Rib Eye steak with pomme frites that were obviously hand cut and possibly fried in duck fat(?). Excellent. We will make this one of our frequent dining spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 4, 2017

It was very good and the service was too. I found it kind of hard to have a quiet conversation though because of the noise level, but i think it was probably due to the small space and a table of 4 being very loud and others had to raise their voices to converse, so it just snowballed. Very good experience though, and I loved the quaint little old house it's in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Remind me of the ol' Quebec

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 4, 2017

cute, small restaurant reminded us of France. food and service were excellent

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.