Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm Sunday 11 am- 9 pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Quiet Conversation (28)
Cozy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (24)
Authentic (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Consistently delicious food. Duck confit and Pork Chop are our favorites. Good jazz playlist too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

All dishes and drinks were just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 13, 2017

A truly French restaurant. Food was excellent, except for the scargot, service was great. It is a bit pricy but totally worth it. They helped me to celebrate my husband's birthday by making him feel special and giving him a free dessert wine. Specially recommended for couples or small group of friends, the place is small and cozy with a lot of charm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful! Enjoyed my birthday dinner last Saturday night and it was not only delicious but memorable.....inviting, warm, great food, great service. This is a must try - I highly recommend for French countryside ambiance and food. We will always go back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Place. Cheaper than flying to Paris. The decor is great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always excellent. It does remind one of a small place in the French countryside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Another wonderful evening spent with friends. Food was excellent and staff was wonderful. Thank you "Yo" for all your help :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant was everything we thought it would be an more. The service and the food was exceptional. Cannot wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

A friend recommended this restaurant. It's become my "go to" French restaurant in San Diego. We love their bone-in pork chop, it's amazing. We LOVE this place ! ! !

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Just fabulous! Food and service was wonderful. Will definitely be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. Staff is always gracious and there are always special menu items

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I spent our anniversary night there. The dinner was superb! We couldn't finish the plentiful helpings and happily took it home. Honestly, it was as delicious the next day.
Our busboy and waiter were warm and welcoming.
It was, all in all, a lovely experience and I would definitely recommend it and we intend to go back.
Elaine

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

So yummy for dinner that we went there for brunch the next day which was equally yummy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious onion soup and the duck was done to perfection! We will definitely return to try their other menu offerings.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A small and charming French bistro, authentic and friendly with a sophisticated kitchen - what could go wrong?

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A romántic gem in the heart of Hillcrest. If you're looking for a night out in a Bistro of the arrondissement of St. Germain without going to Paris, this is the place. Great food but on top of all, extraordinary ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time at this very small restaurant. Appetizers, onion soup, salad above average. Duck and mussels, average. Service very good. Tables on top of each other, adjoining diners may as well be sitting at your table, everybody hears everybody's conversation.
Shouldn't let surroundings affect meal enjoyment, but it does.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was my second time at La Bonne Table and it was as great as the first time. I went on a Thursday and a Wednesday and both times the restaurant was full by 7:30pm so definitely make a reservation regardless of the day!

The escargot is crazy good (although served literally boiling hot so be careful!). Last time I had the duck confit and this time I had the steak-frites and both were excellent. Service is great; the waiter was very knowledgeable and good at recommending wine pairings that really enhanced each dish. At one point I dropped my fork by accident and was brought a new one before I even had to ask. The crème brulee wasn't quite as bruleed as it could have been so it was a little soft and grainy at the edges, but I'll forgive it because it's absolutely amazing with their Sauternes by the glass.

Overall a great place for a date! The small and low-lit room is nice and romantic. It's on the pricey side but well worth it in my opinion. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food elegant and quaint romantic restaurant. One of my new top destinations for for dinner. I would say that the only weak point at the restaurant is that the waiters need to be stronger they relied heavily upon the head waiter. But overall an excellent restaurant I must in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there on Valentine's Day. Simply excellent. We've been there a few times before and I was concerned that since they were going to be full that things would not be as good as before. I was wrong. Service was excellent. Our two meals were excellent. This is without a doubt one of our top five in San Diego. Love the place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had been there once before and enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Came back with friends and were not disappointed. Food, staff and dining experience was superb. Definitely will return.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of San Diego's hidden gems. My husband and I really enjoy dining here. Exceptional service and great food. Great place for a quiet romantic evening or small group of 4. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Authentic French cuisine, professional and elegant.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Cocktail list superb food and very French quaint and romantic.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Bonne experience! Chose this for pre-theater dining. Food was delicious. I had the frisée salad starter and halibut with asparagus entree paired with a white Bordeaux. Service was excellent. Ambience cozy but can still enjoy a conversation. I will be back. It's small so I recommend a reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love, love, love this place. My husband and I come here often when we want to enjoy in some French fare. The waiter is always very attentive and the food never disappoints. The duck confit and the boudin noir are amazing dishes but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. We've pretty much tasted everything on it and it's all delicious. If you want to transport yourself to a little bistro in Paris and have a taste of France then this is the spot to go to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

In this age of trend, fad & follow La Bonne Table stays true & embraces a cuisine of tradition & delivers it with a gracious humbleness, confidence & grace that makes you want for visit more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was as close to a perfect meal as we could have asked for. Best duck confit I have ever tasted (even better than the many duck dishes we had in Paris). Absolutely delicious. The wait staff was on top of every item - never intrusive and always gracious. However, it was not really a formal feel. It felt more like we were having dinner with a very attentive family. Cannot recommend La Bonne Table enough. Exceeded every one of my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Been coming here for great French meals and wonderful services for many years!
Never a disappointment!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was fabulous! And in a quaint and quiet environment. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was excellent. my first time but i will be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just had to go back for our last dinner in San Diego. It was just as perfect as on our first visit. The second visit was during the Restaurant Week, and fortunately all the items I wanted to try were on that menu. We both had the onion soup, which was superb and my partner had the Duck confit made to perfection; and I agree with another customer who commented that the Brussel sprouts were delicious, even though they were soft. I had a delicious Steak Frites. The portions were large, and we couldn't even finish the mousse, which was also outstanding. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend La Bonne Table to anyone who loves or would like to experience French food at its best. Congratulations to the restaurant, for the service, the decor and obviously for the food!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and the service lacked. If you're going to be serving $30 entrees then there are expectations that come with that. There was no bus service, we had dirty plates that sat on the table forever. They serve diner butter cold in wrappers. The fish of the day was halibut and it was horrible - could not tell if it was under cooked or over cooked - very rubbery. The steak was OK but had a lot of fat on it. With the other great French restaurants close by we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed a very nice evening at La Bonne Table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time at this restaurant after hearing many good things about it. Had escargot and partner had the salad. Both were great. Escargot had great butter and garlic sauce with a nice bread crumb topping. My wife had the pork chop which was both tasty and moist. I had the bouillabaisse. Outstanding! This is a very intimate restaurant, it is small and cozy. Good for a romantic date. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Like a trip to Paris for dinner. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We read some good reviews and decided to give it a try. The restaurant is smaller than we expected, there might be around 12 tables total, but some of them are put together as 4-tops. The decoration is very European, with many small prints hanging on the wall and it makes the restaurant feel very cozy, inviting and romantic. Service was perfect. Our waiter was always there if we needed him, but not if we didn't. The food was delicious. From beginning to end, everything was amazing. We had a bottle of Sancerre, then as appetizers the escargots and the frisée salad. Both delicious. My partner ordered the pork chop which was incredibly tender and cook to perfection. It was almost as tender as a filet mignon. I had the bouillabaisse, which was also fantastic. There was a lot of seafood, very few potatoes and the broth was fragrant and rich without being overwhelming. We finished the evening with some port wine, grand marnier and we shared the delicious profiteroles. I loved that the creme chantilly wasn't too sweet at all. We are in San Diego on vacation and normally we like to keep trying new places, but I will need to go back for dinner at La Bonne Table again before going home.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing French Restaurant!

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we absolutely loved it!! It has a small intimate feel, there's only about 6-10 tables in this restaurant and it's almost the size of a large living room. Dim lighting and a wonderful staff make this place a must go and will return!

Our waiter, Renaud, was very friendly and professional and gave great service they even comped us a creme brulee for the birthday we celebrated! Would come back just for the service!

Now the food... my girlfriend and I love French food and we've been to a handful of San Diego French restaurants and this is definitely one of our top two places now. Their menu isn't very large but all their dishes are delicious. We started with escargot which had a pesto sauce and puff pastry on top, so good. Then we had french onion soup which was also delicious on a rainy San Diego night with an amazing gruyere crust. I had the steak frites which is a 10oz new york strip, cooked perfectly medium rare, crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside frites, and a slightly spicy, savory green peppercorn gravy... to die for! My girlfriend had the duck confit which had a beautiful crunchy skin that was on top of a bed of tender brussel sprouts in a savory mustard sauce. I never thought I would like soft/boiled/tender brussel sprouts but it was so good! And our complimentary creme brulee was classic and delicious.

Definitely make reservations, don't ever just walk in. Will definitely be coming back here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The setting is great, very intimate for the most part; the only thing that took away from this was the fact that there was a large group of obnoxious college kids next to us, making it anything but an enjoyable volume inside. My date and I enjoyed our appetizers (onion soup & escargot) and wine, but we both ordered the mussels for an entree and agreed that they definitely missed the mark. I'm not at all saying that they were "bad," but they were simply lacking any notable flavor, with the ones on top of the pile even being a little dry. The staff is very friendly and attentive, and they have a perfect wine assortment to go with your meal. All in all, it's probably a great place to go, and if it weren't for the mussels being so mediocre, I would give this place a solid 4 stars, perhaps even 5 if there had been any wow factors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.