About La Bonne Table

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
8 More
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Service
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

Neighborhood Gem (46)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (33)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very little place, cozy if you don't min ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very little place, cozy if you don't mind having people right next to you. Sorry to say, but we were not impressed with the quality of the food. We ate the mussels (frozen) with fries (also frozen), lamb chops (Costco type), and the duck thighs (well cooked and with good flavor). As per the desserts, we also a sad experience. We ordered the chocolate mousse (very bitter with too much cream on top), and the creme brulee (nice caramelized top layer with fruit, but not the right consistency - liquid like). The service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic all around. Would highly reco ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic all around. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the french decor - quiet and relax ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

loved the french decor - quiet and relaxing - delicious food served by a very attentive waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small outside patio but great seating fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Small outside patio but great seating for fun atmosphere, great wine. Reservations a must.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Busy night, but the food was mostly bri ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Busy night, but the food was mostly brilliant, as usual. One of our favorites in San Diego now. Beef and fries were terrific, as was the pork chop. Onion soup was good, but I don't know how to improve it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious French provincial - a small bu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious French provincial - a small but excellent menu. The night I went they had an appetizer special, a salmon rillettes, that I could happily live on. My lamb and my wife's pork chop were cooked and seasoned perfectly. Portions were surprisingly American-sized, but that's what doggie bags are for.

Atmosphere is friendly and informal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Good food food and atm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great experience. Good food food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met a few friends there. We had a wonde ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Met a few friends there. We had a wonderful meal, the service was excellent. Very quaint

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. It got fantastic reviews o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed. It got fantastic reviews on OpenTable, Yelp & TripAdvisor, with several people saying that it was better than any meal they'd eaten in Paris. Well, I honestly don't know where in Paris those folks have dined, because my wife & I regularly rent an apartment in the City of Light, and by the standards of the bistros there, La Bonne Table is - at best - middle of the road. Service was great, pleasant & quietly efficient. However, the food was mediocre - not terrible, but far from memorable. Wine was inexpensive, and it showed. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Loved the food, loved the service, loved ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved the food, loved the service, loved the vibe. Would have given it 5 stars but it was a very hot evening and the fans were inadequate to cool the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Warning, this place does not have air co ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Warning, this place does not have air conditioning. Came here 7 months pregnant with my friend whose also 7 months pregnant on a hot day. Open air only, and they don't have iced tea! It was very hot. They only serve soft drinks from the bottle. Food was good, but I didn't find it overly authentic. Would probably be a nice date night on a cooler evening, but probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Very disappointed in the food. Just so- ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Just so-so and it was not inexpensive. Overcooked duck and highly seasoned lamb chops. Wait staff was attentive, but restaurant is not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food and service were very good. And the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food and service were very good. And the pricing very reasonable. There is no aircon so only negative was the heat. We will go again - but not till it cools down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As usual it was an excellent meal. Yo ag ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

As usual it was an excellent meal. Yo again, as usual, wast he perfect hot/server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended. If you are seeking a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Highly recommended. If you are seeking a great French meal in a relaxed atmosphere, this is your place. The service is top notch and you will feel well taken care of by everyone on staff at La Bon. Don't expect the bar crowd here, this is a quaint and classy place for a great meal and some good wine. You will feel your tough week or tough day of work peel away after dining here. Keep up the terrific work La Bon Table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to La Bonne Table for dinner bef ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went to La Bonne Table for dinner before going to the Old Globe. Dinner was terrific ! Great food and wonderful, attentive service. We'll be going back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm a huge fan of Bonne Table and it nev ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I'm a huge fan of Bonne Table and it never disappoints. Fantastic Onion Soup, a new lobster in puff pastry appetizer to die for, and our party had lamb chops, steak frites and duck confit, each perfect. Servers Yo and Victor took fantastic care of us as we sat on a patio table and watched the world go by while feasting on amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had mussels and short ribs. Both were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had mussels and short ribs. Both were delicious, although the serving sizes were too large.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfectly cooked classic French food wit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Perfectly cooked classic French food without overpowering sauces. Excellent service and decent (not outrageously priced) wine list. Charming atmosphere and nicely paced. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love La Bonne Table--it's classic Fre ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love La Bonne Table--it's classic French bistro--small, intimate, and inviting. Service was impeccable; the food delicious, and it's on our favorites list. Highly recommended if you enjoy all things French!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience las ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience last Sat. evening - food was delicious and the server

was very attentive!

We will definitely return -

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is truly a great restaurant! Duck ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is truly a great restaurant! Duck confit and pork chop entrees were stunning in their presentation and taste. Escargot also worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Duck Confit i've tasted.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of the best Duck Confit i've tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Cozy restaurant with good food and servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Cozy restaurant with good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

the service was excellent. the food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

the service was excellent. the food was very good, good enough to warrant another visit to the restaurant. portions were generous and flavors were distinct. the small setting meant that it was quiet, great break from the too big and too noisy places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic French food! Small menu done wel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Classic French food! Small menu done well! We will certainly be back and invite our French friends to join us. Chef Renault Tristan, a Parisian, really knows how to prepare the classics! Thank you et á bientôt!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

(Better than) Paris in San Diego

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Superb, at least the equal of much of the cuisine we had in Paris just a couple of weeks ago. Service is excellent and the atmosphere is intimate and friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very charming and cozy like you are dini ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Very charming and cozy like you are dining in an old world cottage. Service and food also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second time...excellent

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

this was our second visit. delicious food and the waiter is also awesome........

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice but could have been a little b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice but could have been a little better as no ice tea there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good duck and lamb, excellent pate.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Small and intimate restaurant. Very nice. Parking can be a challenge since it is in Hillcrest area, but that's not their fault. We had a very pleasant dinner and will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent in every way.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Execellent

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

A wonderful place for any kind of meal with a lover, family or friends. Ambience is wonderful, service superb, and food is excellent. A great place to go to talk and enjoy, there aren't any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good buy limited menu

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

La Bonne Table is a very cute restaurant in Hillcrest and the service was good. However, since they serve seasonal food, their menu is not on their website. I found the menu to have a very limited selection so there was only one entree that suited my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

duck confit craving satisfied

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We went here to celebrate our anniversary. Food was perfect, duck confit and French onion soup are perfect. We were greeted by a really nice waiter with champagne in his hands for us. I put on the reservation that it is our anniversary and the complimentary champagne was unexpected but was truly appreciated and enjoyed. Thank you La Bonne for making our special day a truly special one. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighbor Gem

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We always enjoy this intimate and unpretentious bistro. the service is impeccable and the food always delicious. It's a great place to dine and converse because it's quiet and quaint with a relaxing vibe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing...perfect.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was amazing...perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cute Frenchy place!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Been here many times, before and after, the place was remodeled! Always enjoy

food and services in such a cute, cozy place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish the food could match it's cozy decor.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

First off, Antoinette is very professional and an asset to the place. She is very welcoming.

The decor is absolutely right. They got the feel and look right. I felt I was in a little West Village (NYC) restaurant. However, the food was good, but not good enough to make another trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Best Bouillabaisse I've eaten and I live ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Best Bouillabaisse I've eaten and I lived in San Francisco for 4 years, where they've a few great French restaurants. Can't wait to have my Duck Confit again though... Love how this place reminds me of Washington, DC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.