About La Bonne Table

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
French
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
1 More
French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Cozy (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for dinner after a movie. Warm and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for dinner after a movie. Warm and pleasant small interior reminiscent of France. Full bar and reasonable wine choices. Escargot were excellent with plenty of garlic butter and parsley. Bouillabaisse was generous and tasty and the Côte de porc juicy and tender with s side of very rich potatoes augratin. Too full for dessert but chocolate mousse looked quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful French inspired food. Romantic ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful French inspired food. Romantic setting in a small house. Wonderful place to take someone for a special occasion or just for a quiet meal. I loved the duck dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While most of the food was quite delicio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

While most of the food was quite delicious, my steak was not. I ordered the steak "very well done" - yes, I know that steak should not be cooked to this extent, but that's the way I like them. The steak came out with small amount of blood pooling on the top of the meat. When I cut it, the center was pink and cool. This is NOT well done. Very disappointed. I ate the rest of the meal, and took the steak home, where I completed the cooking process and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a quaint little place with an amazi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Such a quaint little place with an amazing kitchen. I had the duck confit, which was simply outstanding. The service was considerate and the setting was calm and almost Parisian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, lovely environment, frie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent food, lovely environment, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. Cozy environment that creates a sense of being away from the hustle and bustle....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the venue. Very fri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love the food and the venue. Very friendly and Yo is a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Read the reviews and had to try it. This ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Read the reviews and had to try it. This place has been in the neighborhood for quite a while, but under different ownership/names. They found the perfect combination of a pleasing wine list, great food (I had the lamb and my friend had the mussels), attentive service, and the perfect French Bistro ambiance. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a lovely experience. Only distr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall a lovely experience. Only distraction was that it was very warm (stuffy) in the restaurant. Our table favorite was the Duck Confit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here several times and La B ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We have been here several times and La Bonne Table never disappoints. Had lamb shank and the pork.....delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is really good - exactly what y ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is really good - exactly what you'd want from a French Bistro. Not fancy, but not casual either. The pork chop was amazing! I love having La Bonne Table in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best. Always good food.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

One of the best. Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small but the food is wonderful!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Small but the food is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty traditional French food! I though ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Tasty traditional French food! I thought the frites dry, the bread was too crisp as if it had sat out a long time. The duck, brussel sprouts and Fr. onion soup was great! We dine here periodically. It seemed like we waited awhile for our entres.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

What a lovely evening! The service and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a lovely evening! The service and food never disappoint at this neighborhood treasure.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bonne Table was fabulous. A friend k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

La Bonne Table was fabulous. A friend kept raving about the place, so my boyfriend took me for my birthday. It was so good, boyfriend took his visiting aunt from Toronto along with his parents there the following week. He had the pork chop on both occasions ... it was divine ! ! !

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great little restaurant; grea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is a great little restaurant; great food, great service and great location.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, French, great decor, good service ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Cozy, French, great decor, good service and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a favorite--perfect little French Bistro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

a favorite--perfect little French Bistro with friendly, attentive service, great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! We were there for Resta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful food! We were there for Restaurant Week, so we got to try a lot of things. The French onion soup was perfect, with a dark rich broth full of onions and lots of melted cheese. My husband loved the escargot and the garlic butter was delicious. I was full after that rich onion soup, so when they served my duck confit -- 2 large duck legs -- with brussel sprouts, I had them pack it up to take home, and we had a whole dinner the next night. My husband had the trout almandine, and enjoyed it. For dessert we had a perfect crème brulee, with lots of sugary crust and a very creamy crème. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just perfect; excellent d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everything was just perfect; excellent drink, memorable food and lovely, soft anbiance. I love small restaurants like this. Very intimate. Service was first rate and the entire establishment was impeccably neat and clean. The best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little place - great food - good s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great little place - great food - good service...!

One little note to the owners - that's also why only 4 stars overall. The pretty small menue needs to change - it is the same for too long and now is fall and should have a fall menu as well...;-) I know you can do it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A truly great place to eat. Lamb was th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A truly great place to eat. Lamb was the best I've had in years. My wife had the pork chop which was delicious, and so large, I got to have some the next day too. Mr. Yo, the dining room manager was a very gracious host and very helpful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service from Yo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and wonderful service from Yo, a great and friendly server. Best onion soup, best pork chop, best duck confit, everything is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very little place, cozy if you don't min ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very little place, cozy if you don't mind having people right next to you. Sorry to say, but we were not impressed with the quality of the food. We ate the mussels (frozen) with fries (also frozen), lamb chops (Costco type), and the duck thighs (well cooked and with good flavor). As per the desserts, we also a sad experience. We ordered the chocolate mousse (very bitter with too much cream on top), and the creme brulee (nice caramelized top layer with fruit, but not the right consistency - liquid like). The service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Fantastic all around. Would highly reco ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic all around. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the french decor - quiet and relax ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2016

loved the french decor - quiet and relaxing - delicious food served by a very attentive waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small outside patio but great seating fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Small outside patio but great seating for fun atmosphere, great wine. Reservations a must.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Busy night, but the food was mostly bri ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Busy night, but the food was mostly brilliant, as usual. One of our favorites in San Diego now. Beef and fries were terrific, as was the pork chop. Onion soup was good, but I don't know how to improve it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious French provincial - a small bu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious French provincial - a small but excellent menu. The night I went they had an appetizer special, a salmon rillettes, that I could happily live on. My lamb and my wife's pork chop were cooked and seasoned perfectly. Portions were surprisingly American-sized, but that's what doggie bags are for.

Atmosphere is friendly and informal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Good food food and atm ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great experience. Good food food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met a few friends there. We had a wonde ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Met a few friends there. We had a wonderful meal, the service was excellent. Very quaint

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed. It got fantastic reviews o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Disappointed. It got fantastic reviews on OpenTable, Yelp & TripAdvisor, with several people saying that it was better than any meal they'd eaten in Paris. Well, I honestly don't know where in Paris those folks have dined, because my wife & I regularly rent an apartment in the City of Light, and by the standards of the bistros there, La Bonne Table is - at best - middle of the road. Service was great, pleasant & quietly efficient. However, the food was mediocre - not terrible, but far from memorable. Wine was inexpensive, and it showed. Won't be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Loved the food, loved the service, loved ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Loved the food, loved the service, loved the vibe. Would have given it 5 stars but it was a very hot evening and the fans were inadequate to cool the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Warning, this place does not have air co ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Warning, this place does not have air conditioning. Came here 7 months pregnant with my friend whose also 7 months pregnant on a hot day. Open air only, and they don't have iced tea! It was very hot. They only serve soft drinks from the bottle. Food was good, but I didn't find it overly authentic. Would probably be a nice date night on a cooler evening, but probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Very disappointed in the food. Just so- ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. Just so-so and it was not inexpensive. Overcooked duck and highly seasoned lamb chops. Wait staff was attentive, but restaurant is not worth the cost.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food and service were very good. And the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food and service were very good. And the pricing very reasonable. There is no aircon so only negative was the heat. We will go again - but not till it cools down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

As usual it was an excellent meal. Yo ag ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 19, 2016

As usual it was an excellent meal. Yo again, as usual, wast he perfect hot/server.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended. If you are seeking a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Highly recommended. If you are seeking a great French meal in a relaxed atmosphere, this is your place. The service is top notch and you will feel well taken care of by everyone on staff at La Bon. Don't expect the bar crowd here, this is a quaint and classy place for a great meal and some good wine. You will feel your tough week or tough day of work peel away after dining here. Keep up the terrific work La Bon Table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to La Bonne Table for dinner bef ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We went to La Bonne Table for dinner before going to the Old Globe. Dinner was terrific ! Great food and wonderful, attentive service. We'll be going back soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm a huge fan of Bonne Table and it nev ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I'm a huge fan of Bonne Table and it never disappoints. Fantastic Onion Soup, a new lobster in puff pastry appetizer to die for, and our party had lamb chops, steak frites and duck confit, each perfect. Servers Yo and Victor took fantastic care of us as we sat on a patio table and watched the world go by while feasting on amazing food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.