Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Saturday dinner 5pm-10pm
Sunday brunch 10am-3pm
Sunday dinner 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.facebook.com/labonnetablesd

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (25)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent French cuisine & service. We had the French onion soup (delicious) and the mussels & pork chop, which was super thick and perfectly cooked! The pomme frites were rather thick, resembling more of an Irish French fry, but we aren't complaining. Will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Charming hidden gem. Ordered 3 different entrees and an appetizer and all were beyond delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (México)·Dined on November 4, 2017

La Bonne Table is authentic French cuisine, nothing less. It is not especially pretentious, though: the chef allows their food to speak for them. Everything from the baguette served first, through the appetizers, and on to the main course was absolutely delicious, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked. This was our second visit. We will be back. Soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great find! We have been there twice in 2 weeks. Great food, service, and great wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2017

As always, wonderful ambience, terrific food and great cocktails and wine. Au revoire until next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was not very tasty. Cafe Bleu if it still exists was the place for French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Excellent for supper pre theater. Superb duck confit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food was authentic and phenomenal. The restaurant is quaint, yet exceptional. The service was great, as well as the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We loved our entrees: double pork chop and duck! Lovely French Bistro flare; hearty and satisfying. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Wonderful little place. The food is superb, the service efficient and friendly. Reliable. Delicious.
The best French onion soup in San Diego. Other great items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Delicious food Want to go back and try some other selections on the menu. The trout was wonderful and the pork chop and mussels got rave reviews too. We will definitely be back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Authentic French Food in a Lovely Atmosphere. Quaint converted home. Excellent service and food quality. Cocktails were likewise impressive.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is my third time here and it never disappoints. I keep bringing new colleagues, friends, relatives and everyone enjoys the food and ambience. Highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2017

La Bonne Table is a small fairly quiet spot for people who enjoy fine dining and quiet conversation. I encourage staff to encourage a quiet ambiance because there are so few places in San Diego where friends can eat together and talk without yelling across the table. The only difficulty is finding parking downtown, but we all lucked out and found meters or a lot.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Spectacular as usual - my son took his grandparents for first time dinner.....loved it! What's not to love about this special neighborhood gem?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

La Bonne Table is a very small French restaurant with excellent food. They have the best French Onion soup you'll ever find. We were there for Restaurant Week and all of the Prix Fix meals were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We visited on a Friday night during restaurant week. Our dinner was quite nice. The braised short ribs were divine. I'd certainly return to explore the menu further.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Loved our dinner, from the escargot to the juicy pork chop, the sumptuous short ribs we enjoyed every bite. We enjoyed a course wine pairing too. Love the feeling of being in a small french restaurant, from the balcony with traditional wicker seats to the photos from Paris. We absolutely loved or experience!!! Thx

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

When you want a cute or romantic spot this quaint restaurant should be on the top of your list. Make reservations because it's delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

NUMBER 1 RESTAURANT IN HILLCREST AREA ... EXCEPTIONAL QUALITY FRENCH CUISINE

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Simply amazing! The food was delicious from start to finish. The bread was warm and tasty. The onion soup was delicious. The pork chop so tender. The chocolate mousse melted in my mouth. Overall delicious!!!!! Also wonderful service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Mom date during restaurant week, everything was fantastic :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic brunch with unlimited mimosas, delicious bread, and a duck confit hash that had all of the flavor with none of the grease - perfect! Enjoyed eating on the patio overlooking the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue on a beautiful Sunday afternoon. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our waiter, VICTOR, was attentive and went out of his way to make our visit perfect. GF and I met up for brunch to catch up on 'life' and we both SO enjoyed our meal. I had the Asparagus w/poached eggs and it was perfect. Next time, I plan to get the veg-hash w/ poached eggs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Hidden gem! Great food, champagne split, wheat beer on tap. No complaints!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Very nice and intimate space. Nicely prepared food coupled with great service. Had the duck, which was prepared well, although some of it was a little overcooked. Still enjoyed it nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love this restaurant. Great ambience, great service, good food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food, drinks and service are always consistently good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant with great food, drink and atmosphere. The center cut pork chop is the best, I'm glad I took my servers' recommendation.

I would make La Bonne Table my go to restaurant, if I only lived in San Diego!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here on Sunday and I could not have been more pleased. The server was attentive, gave spot-on recommendations, and helped us celebrate with some champagne (so nice!). The food and dessert were delicious, and the cocktails were very good and reasonably priced. This place has been recommended to me by friends quite a few times, and I am so glad we finally tried it out for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The onion soup was the best I had in years.
Great food and very accommodating.
Totally recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

perfect, small, REAL French food and ambiance. Every course was a flavor rich experience.
Our waiter was exceptional. This is a definite favorite for any occasion!!!
We can hardly wait to come back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

It was our anniversary and we were greeted with a complementary glass of champagne. The service was great as we were the only ones there at 5pm. The trout was disappointing - very bland. I love French cooking and just expected better

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went for brunch. Beautiful, quaint location. Excellent meal and service. Relaxing, yet very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Best escargot ever!! Unsurpassed Sazerac! Driven by this place a million times and never stopped. Now I would go out of my way to go there. Refreshingly quiet as well. Top notch ambience! Love this place so much❤️❤️

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fabulous experience! Parking is the only drawback, but this restaurant is not to be overlooked - wonderful ambience, great wine list, incredibly delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food, ambience, and service were fantastic! My fiancé and I ate dinner here for a date night and were not disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our favorite Hillcrest restaurant. Our favorite French restaurant.
We dine here regularly, and sometimes just visit for appetizers and drinks.
Delicious food.
Excellent service.
Consistent quality.
Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The overall experience was a delight. We were promptly seated for our 7 pm reservation. It was our anniversary dinner so a friend had sneakily informed them of that. Within moments we were approached with 2 glasses of champagne and a hearty congratulations from the waiter. We started with the cheese plate, warm Demi baguette and bottle of Pinot blanco. All Lovely. However, the entrees were impeccable and truly the star of the show. I had the duck which is served over Dijon Brussels sprouts. The meat seemed to actually melt in my mouth and was flavored and cooked perfectly. My husband had the pork chop which he also raved about. The sneaky part came in the shape of a creme brûlée that our friend ordered for us as her gift. All in all this was an exceptional dining experience. I can't wait for next "excuse" to come back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

WONDERFUL COMBINATION of good food at a very reasonable price. The duck was very good the mussels were only so so maybe it was the wrong season. However it feels like a real |French restaurant, Service was friendly but a little slow.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.