About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.labonnetablesd.com/

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just had to go back for our last dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Just had to go back for our last dinner in San Diego. It was just as perfect as on our first visit. The second visit was during the Restaurant Week, and fortunately all the items I wanted to try were on that menu. We both had the onion soup, which was superb and my partner had the Duck confit made to perfection; and I agree with another customer who commented that the Brussel sprouts were delicious, even though they were soft. I had a delicious Steak Frites. The portions were large, and we couldn't even finish the mousse, which was also outstanding. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend La Bonne Table to anyone who loves or would like to experience French food at its best. Congratulations to the restaurant, for the service, the decor and obviously for the food!!

Tags: , Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food and the service lacked. If you' ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and the service lacked. If you're going to be serving $30 entrees then there are expectations that come with that. There was no bus service, we had dirty plates that sat on the table forever. They serve diner butter cold in wrappers. The fish of the day was halibut and it was horrible - could not tell if it was under cooked or over cooked - very rubbery. The steak was OK but had a lot of fat on it. With the other great French restaurants close by we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

My friend and I enjoyed a very nice even ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I enjoyed a very nice evening at La Bonne Table

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First time at this restaurant after hear ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

First time at this restaurant after hearing many good things about it. Had escargot and partner had the salad. Both were great. Escargot had great butter and garlic sauce with a nice bread crumb topping. My wife had the pork chop which was both tasty and moist. I had the bouillabaisse. Outstanding! This is a very intimate restaurant, it is small and cozy. Good for a romantic date. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Like a trip to Paris for dinner. We rea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Like a trip to Paris for dinner. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We read some good reviews and decided to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We read some good reviews and decided to give it a try. The restaurant is smaller than we expected, there might be around 12 tables total, but some of them are put together as 4-tops. The decoration is very European, with many small prints hanging on the wall and it makes the restaurant feel very cozy, inviting and romantic. Service was perfect. Our waiter was always there if we needed him, but not if we didn't. The food was delicious. From beginning to end, everything was amazing. We had a bottle of Sancerre, then as appetizers the escargots and the frisée salad. Both delicious. My partner ordered the pork chop which was incredibly tender and cook to perfection. It was almost as tender as a filet mignon. I had the bouillabaisse, which was also fantastic. There was a lot of seafood, very few potatoes and the broth was fragrant and rich without being overwhelming. We finished the evening with some port wine, grand marnier and we shared the delicious profiteroles. I loved that the creme chantilly wasn't too sweet at all. We are in San Diego on vacation and normally we like to keep trying new places, but I will need to go back for dinner at La Bonne Table again before going home.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing French Restaurant! I took my gi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing French Restaurant!

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and we absolutely loved it!! It has a small intimate feel, there's only about 6-10 tables in this restaurant and it's almost the size of a large living room. Dim lighting and a wonderful staff make this place a must go and will return!

Our waiter, Renaud, was very friendly and professional and gave great service they even comped us a creme brulee for the birthday we celebrated! Would come back just for the service!

Now the food... my girlfriend and I love French food and we've been to a handful of San Diego French restaurants and this is definitely one of our top two places now. Their menu isn't very large but all their dishes are delicious. We started with escargot which had a pesto sauce and puff pastry on top, so good. Then we had french onion soup which was also delicious on a rainy San Diego night with an amazing gruyere crust. I had the steak frites which is a 10oz new york strip, cooked perfectly medium rare, crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside frites, and a slightly spicy, savory green peppercorn gravy... to die for! My girlfriend had the duck confit which had a beautiful crunchy skin that was on top of a bed of tender brussel sprouts in a savory mustard sauce. I never thought I would like soft/boiled/tender brussel sprouts but it was so good! And our complimentary creme brulee was classic and delicious.

Definitely make reservations, don't ever just walk in. Will definitely be coming back here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is great, very intimate for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The setting is great, very intimate for the most part; the only thing that took away from this was the fact that there was a large group of obnoxious college kids next to us, making it anything but an enjoyable volume inside. My date and I enjoyed our appetizers (onion soup & escargot) and wine, but we both ordered the mussels for an entree and agreed that they definitely missed the mark. I'm not at all saying that they were "bad," but they were simply lacking any notable flavor, with the ones on top of the pile even being a little dry. The staff is very friendly and attentive, and they have a perfect wine assortment to go with your meal. All in all, it's probably a great place to go, and if it weren't for the mussels being so mediocre, I would give this place a solid 4 stars, perhaps even 5 if there had been any wow factors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

You cannot find better French in San Die ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

You cannot find better French in San Diego and you cannot find a more charming restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as was the staff.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was amazing as was the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Bread, mussels, bouillabaisse, onion sou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Bread, mussels, bouillabaisse, onion soup all superb. Not at all noisy - easy to have a conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed the porkchops. Very ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the porkchops. Very thick, juicy, great flavor.

The restaurant is intimate with the feel of old Europe decor.

Very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great ambiance, my go-to whe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, my go-to when in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy La Bonne Table. Drove f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We always enjoy La Bonne Table. Drove from Escondido to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, well prepared, professio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Delicious food, well prepared, professional wait staff, relaxing dining. What a pleasure to participate at this table. This is an experience that has raised the bar. I can't wait to return. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, , Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bonne Table is my new favorite. I lov ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 9, 2016

La Bonne Table is my new favorite. I love French food and wine and I love food that starts with high-quality ingredients which are then treated respectfully. I especially love the aperitifs and plan to work my way through their list. The Vol-au-Vent is a lovely little starter and the pork chop is a huge blessing for carnivores. The service is discreet and complete, and the wine list has good French wines at reasonable prices. What's not to like?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. The pork was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a great experience. The pork was truly delicious with the wonderful potatoes (Dauphinoise?) Mr. Yo was a gracious host, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I went to La Bonne Tab ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to La Bonne Table and felt as if we walked back in time. The restaurant definitely has an aged feeling and I was so happy that I left my jeans at home and we both decided to dress up a bit. Perfect lighting created intimacy for 2 or warmth for 2 old friends in search of fine dining to fortify great conversation. The food, it was rich, flavorful and worth ordering more bread so that even the sauce wouldn't go to waste. The waiter above all, was humble, friendly and attentive to the entire room's needs. It was as if he allowed you to create the perfect night you and your date envisioned by being there right on time!

Leave your jeans at home, bring your date to La Bonne Table and step back into time for fine dining. Rinse and Repeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for dinner after a movie. Warm and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for dinner after a movie. Warm and pleasant small interior reminiscent of France. Full bar and reasonable wine choices. Escargot were excellent with plenty of garlic butter and parsley. Bouillabaisse was generous and tasty and the Côte de porc juicy and tender with s side of very rich potatoes augratin. Too full for dessert but chocolate mousse looked quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful French inspired food. Romantic ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful French inspired food. Romantic setting in a small house. Wonderful place to take someone for a special occasion or just for a quiet meal. I loved the duck dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While most of the food was quite delicio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

While most of the food was quite delicious, my steak was not. I ordered the steak "very well done" - yes, I know that steak should not be cooked to this extent, but that's the way I like them. The steak came out with small amount of blood pooling on the top of the meat. When I cut it, the center was pink and cool. This is NOT well done. Very disappointed. I ate the rest of the meal, and took the steak home, where I completed the cooking process and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a quaint little place with an amazi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Such a quaint little place with an amazing kitchen. I had the duck confit, which was simply outstanding. The service was considerate and the setting was calm and almost Parisian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, lovely environment, frie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent food, lovely environment, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. Cozy environment that creates a sense of being away from the hustle and bustle....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the venue. Very fri ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love the food and the venue. Very friendly and Yo is a delight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a lovely experience. Only distr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall a lovely experience. Only distraction was that it was very warm (stuffy) in the restaurant. Our table favorite was the Duck Confit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Read the reviews and had to try it. This ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Read the reviews and had to try it. This place has been in the neighborhood for quite a while, but under different ownership/names. They found the perfect combination of a pleasing wine list, great food (I had the lamb and my friend had the mussels), attentive service, and the perfect French Bistro ambiance. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times and La B ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We have been here several times and La Bonne Table never disappoints. Had lamb shank and the pork.....delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is really good - exactly what y ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is really good - exactly what you'd want from a French Bistro. Not fancy, but not casual either. The pork chop was amazing! I love having La Bonne Table in the neighborhood.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best. Always good food.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

One of the best. Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small but the food is wonderful!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Small but the food is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty traditional French food! I though ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Tasty traditional French food! I thought the frites dry, the bread was too crisp as if it had sat out a long time. The duck, brussel sprouts and Fr. onion soup was great! We dine here periodically. It seemed like we waited awhile for our entres.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

What a lovely evening! The service and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a lovely evening! The service and food never disappoint at this neighborhood treasure.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bonne Table was fabulous. A friend k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

La Bonne Table was fabulous. A friend kept raving about the place, so my boyfriend took me for my birthday. It was so good, boyfriend took his visiting aunt from Toronto along with his parents there the following week. He had the pork chop on both occasions ... it was divine ! ! !

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great little restaurant; grea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is a great little restaurant; great food, great service and great location.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, French, great decor, good service ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Cozy, French, great decor, good service and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a favorite--perfect little French Bistro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

a favorite--perfect little French Bistro with friendly, attentive service, great food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, , Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! We were there for Resta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful food! We were there for Restaurant Week, so we got to try a lot of things. The French onion soup was perfect, with a dark rich broth full of onions and lots of melted cheese. My husband loved the escargot and the garlic butter was delicious. I was full after that rich onion soup, so when they served my duck confit -- 2 large duck legs -- with brussel sprouts, I had them pack it up to take home, and we had a whole dinner the next night. My husband had the trout almandine, and enjoyed it. For dessert we had a perfect crème brulee, with lots of sugary crust and a very creamy crème. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was just perfect; excellent d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Everything was just perfect; excellent drink, memorable food and lovely, soft anbiance. I love small restaurants like this. Very intimate. Service was first rate and the entire establishment was impeccably neat and clean. The best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little place - great food - good s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great little place - great food - good service...!

One little note to the owners - that's also why only 4 stars overall. The pretty small menue needs to change - it is the same for too long and now is fall and should have a fall menu as well...;-) I know you can do it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.