Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About La Bonne Table

LA BONNE TABLE is a cozy and intimate restaurant in the heart of the bustling neighborhood of Hillcrest. We serve country french food in a bistro fashion. Our menu consists of classic french dishes, a modest but excellent selection that will change with the seasons. We offer a romantic atmosphere and elegant setting, full bar and french beer on tap. Reservations are recommended as seating is very limited in this exclusive restaurant. ​Bon Appetit!

3696 5th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday -Saturday dinner 5pm-10pm
Sunday brunch 10am-3pm
Sunday dinner 4pm-9pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 260-8039

Website:
http://www.facebook.com/labonnetablesd

Executive Chef:
Renaud Tristan

Additional:
Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Wine

La Bonne Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Cozy (22)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 9 hours ago

Very nice and intimate space. Nicely prepared food coupled with great service. Had the duck, which was prepared well, although some of it was a little overcooked. Still enjoyed it nonetheless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love this restaurant. Great ambience, great service, good food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food, drinks and service are always consistently good.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant with great food, drink and atmosphere. The center cut pork chop is the best, I'm glad I took my servers' recommendation.

I would make La Bonne Table my go to restaurant, if I only lived in San Diego!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here on Sunday and I could not have been more pleased. The server was attentive, gave spot-on recommendations, and helped us celebrate with some champagne (so nice!). The food and dessert were delicious, and the cocktails were very good and reasonably priced. This place has been recommended to me by friends quite a few times, and I am so glad we finally tried it out for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The onion soup was the best I had in years.
Great food and very accommodating.
Totally recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

perfect, small, REAL French food and ambiance. Every course was a flavor rich experience.
Our waiter was exceptional. This is a definite favorite for any occasion!!!
We can hardly wait to come back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

It was our anniversary and we were greeted with a complementary glass of champagne. The service was great as we were the only ones there at 5pm. The trout was disappointing - very bland. I love French cooking and just expected better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went for brunch. Beautiful, quaint location. Excellent meal and service. Relaxing, yet very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Best escargot ever!! Unsurpassed Sazerac! Driven by this place a million times and never stopped. Now I would go out of my way to go there. Refreshingly quiet as well. Top notch ambience! Love this place so much❤️❤️

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fabulous experience! Parking is the only drawback, but this restaurant is not to be overlooked - wonderful ambience, great wine list, incredibly delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food, ambience, and service were fantastic! My fiancé and I ate dinner here for a date night and were not disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our favorite Hillcrest restaurant. Our favorite French restaurant.
We dine here regularly, and sometimes just visit for appetizers and drinks.
Delicious food.
Excellent service.
Consistent quality.
Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The overall experience was a delight. We were promptly seated for our 7 pm reservation. It was our anniversary dinner so a friend had sneakily informed them of that. Within moments we were approached with 2 glasses of champagne and a hearty congratulations from the waiter. We started with the cheese plate, warm Demi baguette and bottle of Pinot blanco. All Lovely. However, the entrees were impeccable and truly the star of the show. I had the duck which is served over Dijon Brussels sprouts. The meat seemed to actually melt in my mouth and was flavored and cooked perfectly. My husband had the pork chop which he also raved about. The sneaky part came in the shape of a creme brûlée that our friend ordered for us as her gift. All in all this was an exceptional dining experience. I can't wait for next "excuse" to come back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

WONDERFUL COMBINATION of good food at a very reasonable price. The duck was very good the mussels were only so so maybe it was the wrong season. However it feels like a real |French restaurant, Service was friendly but a little slow.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is a very charming neighborhood restaurant with great ambience and very well prepared French food. Entrees are limited to five or six, so review the menu before booking. We had a pork entree and a mussel entree and both were delicious and well prepared. Portions were very generous.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Always great food. Lamb chop special was truly amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We love La Bonne Table! Always a great spot for love, life and celebration. The food is outstanding and delishus and the service is impeccable. Totally reasonable and not overpriced but make sure you make reservations because there are only 6 tables which makes this place warm and cozy. A must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was not our first time and will not be the lasr. Food is GREAT and the service is equally good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Oh my goodness, what a find! I was looking for a French restaurant for Bastille Day and found this one on Open Table. This tiny restaurant in the Hillcrest district is simply amazing. Reservations are a must since this place only has around 10 tables. The food and service were exquisite. The menu is classic French with all the choices you would expect. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

After spending our 19th Wedding Anniversary there last year, we wanted to spend #20 there as well. Excellent choice, Again! We had the Escargot and Duck Confit with some great Pinot Noir.
The food, service and ambiance were perfect. We'll be back again, hopefully not waiting a whole year .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great service. The onion soup, escargot, and duck are always consistently delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing food & a great, intimate setting! This was our 1st time to La Bonne and we'll definitely be coming back! If you like French food and a unique setting (it's in an old house) then you'll like this place. Prices are reasonable and I'd recommend making a reservation as this place is quite small.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

one of our favorite neighborhood places. Stable menu. Everything is good on it. we have tried most things. I gravitate towards the duck which is just yummy very authentic, very juicy, full of flavor, with nice brussel sprouts accompaniement. Steak, chops, moules , all excellent, so are first courses. My wife had salmon rillettes and salade frisees for a meal and it was great. Fine desert . Fine wine. It is all a short modest menu and wine list.. a classic bistro style, of a few good things well done. We always go back and are never disappointed .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of our favorite places! The food is always great and the service is always exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great place. Small but well run. Good for special occasions. Food was great, best duck I have ever had. Everyone in our party was pleased

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We have been here many times. Consistent excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had the most wonderful mussels in bouillabaisse broth and lamb chops. Best French restaurant in San Diego. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

A great place to celebrate birthdays or anniversaries. Entering this gem immediately transports guests to a small provincial French restaurant, Hillcrest fades away.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our server, Yo, is great as always. He's very attentive and helpful. Our food was delicious, our friend who ordered steak and frites asked for medium rare but steak was medium well. Thankfully they were nice enough to comp her dish. We always have a great experience here and highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We could have been transported to a cozy restaurant in Paris, but we were at the corner of 5th and Pennsylvania in Hillcrest! La Bonne Table is definitely a gem. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food and service.
One thing: They need to get an cappuccino maker for coffee. Otherwise they are terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I must try! Terrific date place. Great food, great service, cozy and warm atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The first time we at there the food was very good and we enjoyed ourselves. But with such a limited menu and not wanting to get the same thing, our choices were more limited. One of the specials was lamb stew. It was just okay but I felt it was overpriced at $26 and was not an exceptionally generous portion. The fish selection was trout and there was no other white fish. My wife does not eat any pork products, is not crazy about mussels and since she eats a lot of fish, she had to order the trout again. The restaurant was fairly busy and the service was great. I recommend it if you have not been there before, but we will take a break for a while and try some of the other French restaurants that have had good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our group of 3 was dining early on a Saturday, so it was very quiet because there were few people at that time. The service was diligent and professional and unobtrusive. Our food was delicious. I had the escargots, which were fabulous and the trout amandine, which was fine. Next time I'll order the moules, which I much prefer to the trout. One friend had the steak frites which was perfect and the other had the special a lamb stew, outstanding. I definitely want to return to explore the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The service was very good and the staff was knowledgeable. We enjoyed a cheese plate and the foie gras and the recommended wine. Dinner was disappointing. I ordered the house special (baked salmon and green beans), but the fish was slightly under cooked and not well seasoned. Green beans were just ok. My wife ordered the duck which was moist and tasty,but the meal was not at all memorable. We ordered dessert and coffee next and again nothing special. I would have preferred smaller portions for both the chocolate mouse and the creme puff/fruit. Coffee was excellent. Total tab was about $150 including tip. Not interested in going back. Much better restaurants in Hillcrest. Still looking for an excellent French restaurant in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Saint cocktail, the foie gras, the duck and the chocolate mousse were exceptional

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I took a friend here for her birthday and we had a fabulous dinner. We were deciding between three French restaurants and selected La Bonne Table based upon the menu and the reviews. We were not disappointed! The food was authentic and the service was excellent. It's a cozy spot ideal for get togethers with close friends or a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our meal was truly fantastic, from the cheese plate to our entrees (the duck confitte and steak frites) and the amazing chocolate mousse. With a bottle from the wine list, it was the perfect place for a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.