About La Boheme

8400 Santa Monica Blvd.
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Semi-private booths downstairs and rock star booths upstairs are surrounded by stunning views of crystal chandeliers and a glowing fireplace. Arguably one of the most romantic spots in L.A., the garden patio boasts a fireplace of its own beautifully framed by roses and greenery...a definite al fresco paradise. Expect a warm welcome, impeccable service, unparalleled cuisine, and chic crowd at this prime destination. Prepare to stimulate all of your senses at La Boheme.

The menu is unique, multifaceted and is considered “New American with European Influences.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
*Closed Mondays*

Happy Hour:
5:00pm to 7pm - Tuesday to Sunday

Cross Street:
Orlando

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 848-2360

Website:
http://www.labohemeweho.com/

Parking Details:
$6.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Walter Greenwood. Leonardo Daniele, "Chef De Cuisine".

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Dine LA.

Restaurant Photos

Roasted Chicken with Potatoes
Miso Glazed Salmon
crab cake
Sea Scallops With Spinach And Endamame
Calamari
French Onion Soup
Cosmopolition
Roasted Lamb
Butterscotch Pudding Parfait
Mussells In Garlic White Wine
Pan Roasted Duck
Oysters on the Half Shell
Heritage Pork Chop
Valrhona Chocolate Cake

Private Dining

We have perfected the art of private parties! The magnificent La Boheme can be all yours whether you are celebrating an anniversary, birthday, wedding or corporate event. Your invited guests will step into a work of art and feast on gastronomical delights. Contact us for private event details.

La Boheme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

romantic (22)
great for outdoor dining (20)
special occasion (18)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (5)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. All staff were friendly ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. All staff were friendly and gracious but

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was great but service terrible , mi ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great but service terrible , mistake with every order , multiple staff all trying to make up for the poor service from the guy waiting our table

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at La Bohe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at La Boheme. The staff is warm and welcoming. The new chef and new menu are really terrific. We used both the Dine LA menu and regular menu. The avocado lobster salad and the duck tartine appetizer were both delicious! Our entrees were the fish of the day (branzino) and the porcini Ragu pasta which were also very good.

Cheesecake for dessert was smooth and creamy but not too sweet--just the way it should be.

Hope to eat in their beautiful patio on our next visit but it was too hot outside this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found La Boheme online and loved every ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I found La Boheme online and loved everything about it. The ambiance both inside and out, food, and service were outstanding; and I will return. My friends and I celebrated my birthday there, and it was magical. Next time I go, I'm bringing my dog to yappy hour on Sunday. I can't wait to dine on the patio with him and have special food prepared for dogs. Thank you, La Boheme for doing such a great job!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

this is really a neighborhood gem, still ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

this is really a neighborhood gem, still. not flashy, just comfortable and low-key. Eat outside if weather and seating permit...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was so bland and gross. Definitely ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was so bland and gross. Definitely not worth the price. Way to expensive for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We had great food, and great service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had great food, and great service. I brought two of my business partners from Italy to the restaurant--the host was able to converse with them in Italian--terrific! We enjoyed the outdoor patio, and the fact that the restaurant wasn't noisy and bostrious on a Saturday night. We ate early at 7:30, so that was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

William and his staff were amazing. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

William and his staff were amazing. The duck breast, the savory crepe and the prosciutto wrapped prawns were delicious. I will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great.. it was our first ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The waiter was great.. it was our first time. we had ask for his opinion on food and he nailed it even with the dessert. Great day husband and I

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great, service too.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was great, service too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

William, the Manager, is so friendly and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

William, the Manager, is so friendly and welcoming and definitely adds to the great atmosphere of the place. There is a great ambiance inside the venue but we always opt to sit outside in the charming courtyard - complete with fairy lights, fire and fountain ! There is a new chef and the food was excellent !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for our 5th a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I came here for our 5th anniversary. We had both been here before and like the food, but this experience was beyond our expectations. The new chef and General Manager have made huge changes to this West Hollywood standard. The food was exceptional: gourmet fair with complex flavors and stunning presentation. Our waiter, Arthur, was knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive without being intrusive. Overall, one of the best dining experiences we've had in LA. Definitely recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and ambiance.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I went here for my birthday dinner. Not only was the food absolutely amazing but the services was excellent. We had a vegan in the group and the waiter was so kind as to explain all the vegan options to them and make everyone's lives easier. The place itself is absolutely stunning. I especially loved the chandeliers. Lovely place to dine at :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very mediocre. Not a very good ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was very mediocre. Not a very good menu. Limited number of entree choices and salads too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Beautiful restaurant, and kind wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, and kind wonderful staff.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch was lacking

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined a La Boheme on a number of occasions over the years and I am afraid to say that it's better days are behind them. The mother's day brunch menu, a pri fixe, was very limited for the price charged. One glass of mimosa upon arrival, I thought was rather skimpy. We dined in the main room since the sun was beaming on to the patio which there apparently weren't umbrellas to provide shade. The service was friendly, but seamed a bit harried and not very attentive.

I was surprised on arrive to find that It was a rather empty house, on what should have been a very busy day for them. I can only assume the word is out about the decline of what was once a very fine and hip restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Happy Diner

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

La Boheme was a perfect dinner experience. The food, service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite venue

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been coming here for years not only on personal occasions but have recommended you to business colleagues for corporate dinners etc. I feel it's such a gem in our city and I live just around the corner.

The ambiance is beautiful, and the music is lovely. I do, however, find that the energy in the restaurant is always a bit different. Not sure if it's based on who is working at the moment or what the determining factor is. My favorite is when the music is playing at a level that creates excitement and love when the servers spin and whirl the orbs on the gyroscope, something I've missed on my last three visits.

I look forward to my next experience at La Boheme. Each trip is extraordinarily memorable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Place for Any Occasion

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Nothing bad to be said about La Boheme! While the owner of the restaurant is still the same, I heard they recently changed over much of the staff, including the executive chef and managers. What a change! The new menu is superb; a dish for every taste. Happy hour is also one of the best I have seen; every day of the week except Mondays (they're closed). The small bites are all delicious and the cocktail list is so creative. The main menu has a dish for every craving and price point, and the value is incredible. I had the La Boheme Burger, and it is TO DIE FOR. Home-made bacon jam? Yes. They have also made slight changes to the decor, and what a difference. Newly refurbished booths, new lighting, and more decor. Very well done! I would highly recommend this place for any occasion, whether you're meeting up with friends for a drink, a family meal, a romantic date, an anniversary dinner, or a birthday celebration. This should be the new hot spot for all the locals here in West Hollywood. It is perfect. Our wait staff was so attentive, from the waiter to the busser, to the food runner, and even the manager made several warm-hearted stops at our table to make sure everything was going well. They were also very anticipatory to ours needs, always knowing what we needed before we had to ask. The best service I have had in a long time. Food came out hot and delicious, the drinks were excellent and delivered fast. You could tell it was a family of staff; everyone was helping each other out, laughing together, and seemed generally happy to be working with each other. I could not have asked for a better experience! I will DEFINITELY be back again, and again. Thank you, La Boheme! See you soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Great place

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

La Boheme is the perfect place to meet friends and / or special occasion. The beef selections are simply the best every time. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time but not the last

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Loved this place, great food and service. The steak was one the best I've ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Birthday Special

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

went here for my birthday & could not have been more accommodating from beginning to end, everyone was kind & engaging & attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to vegans

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I had looked up the menu online to see if there were vegan options only to get to the restaurant to find that the menu was totally changed and did not offer vegan options When we pointed out this problem our waitress she went to speak to the chef and came back with a special vegan menu printed up especially for us. The food turned out to be delicious and ambiance is unique Lovely quiet patio . Good place to take out-of-town guests

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

we always have the nicest experience at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

we always have the nicest experience at La Boheme, always treated very special, new menu is great and accommodating for food allergies. great drinks also.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the lamb and sea bass. The portion o ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Had the lamb and sea bass. The portion of sea bass was huge and the lamb super tiny. Both were very tasty. The ambiance was pretty but the music was horrible, like a bad club.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

what a disappointment

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Ate here perhaps 6 years ago and I remember elegant dining. This time it seemed drab and forsaken. Main dining room needs serious updates. Was the hostess dressed for a kid's party or what?

Waiter got appetizer order wrong 3 times. Finally told us kitchen had run out of an ingredient mentioned in the menu. Did they think we just wouldn't notice?

My date asked for prosciutto. They brought a bowl of bacon bits. I kid you not. Bacon bits. At this point I was dialing other restaurants but my date didn't want to make a scene. Main courses killed the evening once and for all. Her fish was swimming in oil and my pasta had been undone by chewy beef and apparently a whole salt cellar. I called another restaurant and they agreed to seat us last-minute.

Manager and waiter apologized and begged us to come back. Nothing doing. We got dressed up for this but we should've suspected something when a WH restaurant was half empty at 7 on a Friday. Major reboot needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Dined at this restaurant on Saturday eve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Dined at this restaurant on Saturday evening. We were greeted upon entering the restaurant. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful interior decor. Loved the fireplace and ceiling chandeliers. The food was amazing! Loved the Mac n cheese and the lobster with fettuccine. The only thing I was hoping for was larger portions. For the amount of money you pay, there should be larger portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful service, sticker shock dinner.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderfully professional and friendly host, service staff. Actually made the evening. Quite a sticker shock for what the prix fix meal consisted of.....starter, small steak, dessert, 2 bottles of sparkling water....$224.00 for 2 people before tip.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

I was a little skeptical after reading s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was a little skeptical after reading some reviews about decor, service and food. I was more than pleasantly surprised. First impression - I travel to NYC a lot and it reminded me of a NYC type of restaurant. Decor was fine and did not look shabby or old at all. We were sat immediately and our waiter came promptly. Took our drink (jalepeño Martini - yum!) and appetizers (marinated olives & Charcuterie plate - both out of this world good!) and those were brought promptly as well. When we were ready to order our dinner entrées our waiter was very helpful. I chose the lobster fettuccini, I told him I was not crazy about the "truffle oil" he took it upon himself to do light oil. Which not only did I appreciate it but, my dish was absolutely delicious and perfectly portioned. My husband went with the Osso Bucco, yes, small but, in the end he even remarked it was a perfect portion and "really good!" Honestly, this is very European portioning. We had room for dessert, me the Panna Cotta with Meringue a top - OMG!!!! To die for dessert. My hubby the butterscotch pudding - also, very good! Although I was inhaling & enjoying my dessert so, didn't give my husbands much effort. Altogether, we will be back. Very pleased, food was great and I loved our experience! The restaurant is fun, lively and depending on your seating can be romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Staff was great, especially the young lady...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

at the door! She was very patient with us being slightly late. And being mine and wife's first time, she put us in a very good spot upstairs.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic ambiance with great servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very romantic ambiance with great service. The food was very tasteful and the Salmon was perfection. Would recommend for a date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was unbelievably poor and slow a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was unbelievably poor and slow and management didn't even care

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Used to be something now it's not

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Have gone here several times over the last decade - but WOW did this place go downhill!

Some of the worst service ever, had to ask repeatedly for things from wine glasses to ordering. Inside the place smelled like cigarette smoke. Spoke to the manager about bad service and smoke his response was it's my second day! Bad form if you are a manager than handle it let the customer know you've got it taken care of. To boot the food was sub-par and not cheap.

It's unusual for an LA restaurant to be around a long time that was why we liked this place but I am guessing it won't be long before someone else takes this place over because it needs HELP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was excellent. Change in the decor ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Change in the decor is much better now they've taken down the red acrylics lighting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

perfect for first date night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

food was whatever, but it is very romantic, it will be great to take a girl out for your first date, or a special occasion

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Bravo, Cafe La Boheme! We had a cocktail party on the patio for 25 guests to celebrate our daughters college graduation. The cocktail and appetizer assortments were delicious and delivered by a very professional and friendly wait staff. The managers made sure everything was running smoothly and that all our needs were met. The patio is a beautiful and relaxing space for a party or dinner for two with its own fireplace, mellow music, and romantic lighting.

There are also an abundance of outdoor heaters to make sure everyone is comfortable.

After our party ended, some of our guests stayed and we shared some of the regular menu items like the La Boheme burger (can't find the words to describe it!), a couple of pasta dishes, and some other appetizers. Everything was prepared perfectly and artfully plated.

If you haven't been to La Boheme recently, you are missing out on a gem of a restaurant. And, with the warm weather approaching, finding a restaurant with such a beautiful outdoor patio for happy hour or dinner is remarkable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my friend there for her birthday on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Took my friend there for her birthday on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was empty, however, it took them over an hour to bring our food out. My salmon was raw and I had to send it back. At that point I didn't want to eat anything else so we just walked out.

Also in the instructions I had put down for them to bring out a cake and a candle for my friend's birthday, which never happened.

Definitely not worth price either. Do yourself a favor and dine elsewhere with better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The wait staff was kind of awkward, not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The wait staff was kind of awkward, not just one person. All the food was delicious and I would return for another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A Favorite Spot!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

La Boheme is one of my favorite restaurants. It's beautiful and romantic, and the food is delicious!! It always feels like a special occasion when I come here, even when it isn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.