About La Boheme

8400 Santa Monica Blvd.
West Hollywood, CA 90069
View Larger Map

Semi-private booths downstairs and rock star booths upstairs are surrounded by stunning views of crystal chandeliers and a glowing fireplace. Arguably one of the most romantic spots in L.A., the garden patio boasts a fireplace of its own beautifully framed by roses and greenery...a definite al fresco paradise. Expect a warm welcome, impeccable service, unparalleled cuisine, and chic crowd at this prime destination. Prepare to stimulate all of your senses at La Boheme.

The menu is unique, multifaceted and is considered “New American with European Influences.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, European

Hours of Operation:
Sunday & Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
*Closed Mondays*

Happy Hour:
5:00pm to 7pm - Tuesday to Sunday

Cross Street:
Orlando

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 848-2360

Website:
http://www.labohemeweho.com/

Parking Details:
$6.00 per car

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch!

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We have perfected the art of private parties! The magnificent La Boheme can be all yours whether you are celebrating an anniversary, birthday, wedding or corporate event. Your invited guests will step into a work of art and feast on gastronomical delights. Contact us for private event details.

La Boheme Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

romantic (23)
special occasion (20)
great for outdoor dining (16)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (7)
good for groups (6)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, service too.

Dined a day ago

Food was great, service too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

William, the Manager, is so friendly and ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

William, the Manager, is so friendly and welcoming and definitely adds to the great atmosphere of the place. There is a great ambiance inside the venue but we always opt to sit outside in the charming courtyard - complete with fairy lights, fire and fountain ! There is a new chef and the food was excellent !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for our 5th a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I came here for our 5th anniversary. We had both been here before and like the food, but this experience was beyond our expectations. The new chef and General Manager have made huge changes to this West Hollywood standard. The food was exceptional: gourmet fair with complex flavors and stunning presentation. Our waiter, Arthur, was knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive without being intrusive. Overall, one of the best dining experiences we've had in LA. Definitely recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and ambiance.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Place

Dined on May 15, 2016

I went here for my birthday dinner. Not only was the food absolutely amazing but the services was excellent. We had a vegan in the group and the waiter was so kind as to explain all the vegan options to them and make everyone's lives easier. The place itself is absolutely stunning. I especially loved the chandeliers. Lovely place to dine at :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Food was very mediocre. Not a very good ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was very mediocre. Not a very good menu. Limited number of entree choices and salads too.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant, and kind wonderful ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, and kind wonderful staff.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Mother's Day Brunch was lacking

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined a La Boheme on a number of occasions over the years and I am afraid to say that it's better days are behind them. The mother's day brunch menu, a pri fixe, was very limited for the price charged. One glass of mimosa upon arrival, I thought was rather skimpy. We dined in the main room since the sun was beaming on to the patio which there apparently weren't umbrellas to provide shade. The service was friendly, but seamed a bit harried and not very attentive. I was surprised on arrive to find that It was a rather empty house, on what should have been a very busy day for them. I can only assume the word is out about the decline of what was once a very fine and hip restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Diner

Dined on May 8, 2016

La Boheme was a perfect dinner experience. The food, service and ambiance were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite venue

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been coming here for years not only on personal occasions but have recommended you to business colleagues for corporate dinners etc. I feel it's such a gem in our city and I live just around the corner. The ambiance is beautiful, and the music is lovely. I do, however, find that the energy in the restaurant is always a bit different. Not sure if it's based on who is working at the moment or what the determining factor is. My favorite is when the music is playing at a level that creates excitement and love when the servers spin and whirl the orbs on the gyroscope, something I've missed on my last three visits. I look forward to my next experience at La Boheme. Each trip is extraordinarily memorable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Place for Any Occasion

Dined on May 1, 2016

Nothing bad to be said about La Boheme! While the owner of the restaurant is still the same, I heard they recently changed over much of the staff, including the executive chef and managers. What a change! The new menu is superb; a dish for every taste. Happy hour is also one of the best I have seen; every day of the week except Mondays (they're closed). The small bites are all delicious and the cocktail list is so creative. The main menu has a dish for every craving and price point, and the value is incredible. I had the La Boheme Burger, and it is TO DIE FOR. Home-made bacon jam? Yes. They have also made slight changes to the decor, and what a difference. Newly refurbished booths, new lighting, and more decor. Very well done! I would highly recommend this place for any occasion, whether you're meeting up with friends for a drink, a family meal, a romantic date, an anniversary dinner, or a birthday celebration. This should be the new hot spot for all the locals here in West Hollywood. It is perfect. Our wait staff was so attentive, from the waiter to the busser, to the food runner, and even the manager made several warm-hearted stops at our table to make sure everything was going well. They were also very anticipatory to ours needs, always knowing what we needed before we had to ask. The best service I have had in a long time. Food came out hot and delicious, the drinks were excellent and delivered fast. You could tell it was a family of staff; everyone was helping each other out, laughing together, and seemed generally happy to be working with each other. I could not have asked for a better experience! I will DEFINITELY be back again, and again. Thank you, La Boheme! See you soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Great place

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

La Boheme is the perfect place to meet friends and / or special occasion. The beef selections are simply the best every time. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time but not the last

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Loved this place, great food and service. The steak was one the best I've ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Birthday Special

Dined on April 8, 2016

went here for my birthday & could not have been more accommodating from beginning to end, everyone was kind & engaging & attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice to vegans

Dined on April 3, 2016

I had looked up the menu online to see if there were vegan options only to get to the restaurant to find that the menu was totally changed and did not offer vegan options When we pointed out this problem our waitress she went to speak to the chef and came back with a special vegan menu printed up especially for us. The food turned out to be delicious and ambiance is unique Lovely quiet patio . Good place to take out-of-town guests

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we always have the nicest experience at ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

we always have the nicest experience at La Boheme, always treated very special, new menu is great and accommodating for food allergies. great drinks also.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Had the lamb and sea bass. The portion o ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Had the lamb and sea bass. The portion of sea bass was huge and the lamb super tiny. Both were very tasty. The ambiance was pretty but the music was horrible, like a bad club.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

what a disappointment

Dined on March 19, 2016

Ate here perhaps 6 years ago and I remember elegant dining. This time it seemed drab and forsaken. Main dining room needs serious updates. Was the hostess dressed for a kid's party or what? Waiter got appetizer order wrong 3 times. Finally told us kitchen had run out of an ingredient mentioned in the menu. Did they think we just wouldn't notice? My date asked for prosciutto. They brought a bowl of bacon bits. I kid you not. Bacon bits. At this point I was dialing other restaurants but my date didn't want to make a scene. Main courses killed the evening once and for all. Her fish was swimming in oil and my pasta had been undone by chewy beef and apparently a whole salt cellar. I called another restaurant and they agreed to seat us last-minute. Manager and waiter apologized and begged us to come back. Nothing doing. We got dressed up for this but we should've suspected something when a WH restaurant was half empty at 7 on a Friday. Major reboot needed.

food4
ambience5
service4

Dined at this restaurant on Saturday eve ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Dined at this restaurant on Saturday evening. We were greeted upon entering the restaurant. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful interior decor. Loved the fireplace and ceiling chandeliers. The food was amazing! Loved the Mac n cheese and the lobster with fettuccine. The only thing I was hoping for was larger portions. For the amount of money you pay, there should be larger portions.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Wonderful service, sticker shock dinner.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderfully professional and friendly host, service staff. Actually made the evening. Quite a sticker shock for what the prix fix meal consisted of.....starter, small steak, dessert, 2 bottles of sparkling water....$224.00 for 2 people before tip.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

I was a little skeptical after reading s ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I was a little skeptical after reading some reviews about decor, service and food. I was more than pleasantly surprised. First impression - I travel to NYC a lot and it reminded me of a NYC type of restaurant. Decor was fine and did not look shabby or old at all. We were sat immediately and our waiter came promptly. Took our drink (jalepeño Martini - yum!) and appetizers (marinated olives & Charcuterie plate - both out of this world good!) and those were brought promptly as well. When we were ready to order our dinner entrées our waiter was very helpful. I chose the lobster fettuccini, I told him I was not crazy about the "truffle oil" he took it upon himself to do light oil. Which not only did I appreciate it but, my dish was absolutely delicious and perfectly portioned. My husband went with the Osso Bucco, yes, small but, in the end he even remarked it was a perfect portion and "really good!" Honestly, this is very European portioning. We had room for dessert, me the Panna Cotta with Meringue a top - OMG!!!! To die for dessert. My hubby the butterscotch pudding - also, very good! Although I was inhaling & enjoying my dessert so, didn't give my husbands much effort. Altogether, we will be back. Very pleased, food was great and I loved our experience! The restaurant is fun, lively and depending on your seating can be romantic.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was great, especially the young lady...

Dined on February 14, 2016

at the door! She was very patient with us being slightly late. And being mine and wife's first time, she put us in a very good spot upstairs.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic ambiance with great servic ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very romantic ambiance with great service. The food was very tasteful and the Salmon was perfection. Would recommend for a date night

food1
ambience4
service1

Service was unbelievably poor and slow a ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was unbelievably poor and slow and management didn't even care

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Used to be something now it's not

Dined on February 13, 2016

Have gone here several times over the last decade - but WOW did this place go downhill! Some of the worst service ever, had to ask repeatedly for things from wine glasses to ordering. Inside the place smelled like cigarette smoke. Spoke to the manager about bad service and smoke his response was it's my second day! Bad form if you are a manager than handle it let the customer know you've got it taken care of. To boot the food was sub-par and not cheap. It's unusual for an LA restaurant to be around a long time that was why we liked this place but I am guessing it won't be long before someone else takes this place over because it needs HELP.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent. Change in the decor ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Change in the decor is much better now they've taken down the red acrylics lighting

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect for first date night

Dined on February 7, 2016

food was whatever, but it is very romantic, it will be great to take a girl out for your first date, or a special occasion

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Bravo, Cafe La Boheme! We had a cocktail party on the patio for 25 guests to celebrate our daughters college graduation. The cocktail and appetizer assortments were delicious and delivered by a very professional and friendly wait staff. The managers made sure everything was running smoothly and that all our needs were met. The patio is a beautiful and relaxing space for a party or dinner for two with its own fireplace, mellow music, and romantic lighting. There are also an abundance of outdoor heaters to make sure everyone is comfortable. After our party ended, some of our guests stayed and we shared some of the regular menu items like the La Boheme burger (can't find the words to describe it!), a couple of pasta dishes, and some other appetizers. Everything was prepared perfectly and artfully plated. If you haven't been to La Boheme recently, you are missing out on a gem of a restaurant. And, with the warm weather approaching, finding a restaurant with such a beautiful outdoor patio for happy hour or dinner is remarkable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service2

Took my friend there for her birthday on ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Took my friend there for her birthday on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was empty, however, it took them over an hour to bring our food out. My salmon was raw and I had to send it back. At that point I didn't want to eat anything else so we just walked out. Also in the instructions I had put down for them to bring out a cake and a candle for my friend's birthday, which never happened. Definitely not worth price either. Do yourself a favor and dine elsewhere with better food.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The wait staff was kind of awkward, not ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The wait staff was kind of awkward, not just one person. All the food was delicious and I would return for another meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite Spot!

Dined on January 25, 2016

La Boheme is one of my favorite restaurants. It's beautiful and romantic, and the food is delicious!! It always feels like a special occasion when I come here, even when it isn't.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Not the Same

Dined on January 17, 2016

I have dined here man times over the years since it first opened. Those first years it was incredible. The service, ambience, and food all top notch. The service is still pretty good, but the decor seems worn and a but tacky now and the food just edible. I have been a fan of theirs for many years. If they got a new chef and a better menu, it would help tremendously.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

It's not what it used to be...

Dined on January 6, 2016

I frequented this restaurant years ago and it was excellent from it's service to it's food. I recently moved back into the area and I wanted to surprise my husband for his birthday by taking him to what I hoped would still be a classy and elegant restaurant so I booked a reservation. I must admit, when you first walk in, it's still a beautiful restaurant, but you shouldn't look too closely at the decor. The seams had ripped in multiple spots in our booth making it look both cheap and unkempt. The waitress, although very nice, was not really on top of her game. She struggled with basic questions on the menu and used server slang. There were only three tables, yet we waited too long to put in a drink order and to get water for the table. The food, however, is delicious but the portions are very small for the price. I think the menu prices reflect a day gone by for this restaurant and I am not sure that the current prices match the experience that can be received today. It was great to visit an old favorite, but there are new restaurants which will allow you to feel you are getting your money's worth, especially if the occasion is a special one

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love it there. The food, wine , ambi ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

We love it there. The food, wine , ambiance everything

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

La Boheme

Dined on December 27, 2015

I always thought this restaurant would be super fancy and expensive, but it turns out to be pretty reasonable; not cheap, but not outrageous. The ambience is cool, nice booths facing out so everyone gets a view of the room and the lovely fireplace. The food was good, nothing amazing but nothing awful and the wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A hidden jem

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

This is a great restaurant on Santa Monica Blvd. The atmosphere is wonderful with a great bar and happy hour. The dining room is very tastefully decorated with a great atmosphere. The food and the service are excellent, the staff is very attentive. The food is excellent with an imaginative menu to choose from. This is definitely a restaurant we will return to when in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

One of my favorite places to go for special days.

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

I have been go to La Boheme since it opened. Love it for special occasions and romantic dinners. Great ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, amazing food, great serv ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great ambiance, amazing food, great service. We had a really nice experience.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing

Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a bougie restaurant with a super weird aesthetic. For all of that I would expect Salmon that wasn't frozen and completely overcooked. Just wasn't worth the $$$.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent French style s ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent food. Excellent French style service. A bit noisy when we were there.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.