About La Bergerie

218 N. Lee Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, La Bergerie offers a cozy and relaxed setting in a historic brick warehouse. Whether it's an intimate lunch or dinner, a special occasion or business affair, La Bergerie's gracious and attentive staff will make your experience memorable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Basque

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday/Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen and N. Lee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 683-1007

Website:
http://www.labergerie.com/

Entertainment:
A strolling violinist is on hand during special occassions like, Valentine's day, Easter, Mother's day, Xmas Eve and New Year's Eve.

Catering:
Please call the restaurant for details.

Parking Details:
2 Public lots accommodate up to 300 spaces.

Public Transit:
King Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Vincent Damman

Private Party Facilities:
La Bergerie can accommodate up to 50 people in one of the private room. 24 in another room and 150 for the whole restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laurent Janowsky: 7036831007x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Hazelnut Souffle
  • Raspberry Souffle
  • Duck
  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Smoked Salmon Terrine
  • John Dory With Juliene Vegetable
Chocolate Souffle
Hazelnut Souffle
Raspberry Souffle
Duck
Butternut Squash Soup
Smoked Salmon Terrine
John Dory With Juliene Vegetable

Specials

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Every Thursday, we highlight a special menu for $22. 40% off most 750ml bottles under $100. Selections can be viewed on our website under events. Excludes Tax and Tip. Neither entree specials nor wine specials can be combined w/ any other discount. Special valid Aug 5, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

La Bergerie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
1 More
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Alexandria ›

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (45)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Historic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this restaurant! Excellent food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love this restaurant! Excellent food and service.

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Might be the best French food in the DMV ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Might be the best French food in the DMV . Pricey but worth it for the quality

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are huge foodies and have traveled th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We are huge foodies and have traveled the world. Le Bergerie is our favorite restaurant in the DC area. We have brought friends for years and they all love it. Wonderful Basque/French food. Soups, seafood, and souffle. Worth the trip every time!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Late-night Find, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent spot in a quiet part of Alexan ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent spot in a quiet part of Alexandria for attentive service and appetizing menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic French food in an elegant romant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Classic French food in an elegant romantic setting. Our dinner was excellent, especially the lobster flambé prepared table side ! Attentive service and an extensive wine list. Monday and Thursday night specials are a particular value.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Took two business associates there for d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Took two business associates there for dinner 6 months ago and we loved our meals -everything was delicious. Went there tonight for a special occasion and was very disappointed. Will not go back.

My Dover Sole was not fresh. To make up for it, the chef gave my dinner companion a creme brûlée for dessert. Interesting! When we left the restaurant at about 7:30 PM there were only two tables occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We were looking forward to our first eve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were looking forward to our first evening at La Bergerie. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed! It was Restaurant Week and the menu looked very nice. My wife is a big fan of Dover Sole, and it was offered on the menu for an additional fee over the Restaurant Week charge. She has had Dover Sole many places around the world, and it has always been consistently a delicate and delicious dish. The Dover Sole that was prepared at our table was not near the same tasting quality. The waiter called the owner to our table for us to share our concern with the meal. Laurent Janowsky was quite taken aback that we were not totally satisfied with the Sole. He pointed out several people in the restaurant that had the Sole and had "not complained". When we tried to tell him what the issues were, he became very arrogant and walked away. At no time were we offered anything in place of the Dover Sole and in fact, they just took the dish away. The owner never personally returned to our table but made a very insignificant monetary adjustment to our bill. We were not looking for any monetary adjustment and were quite insulted with his arrogant behavior and dismissal of us. We left La Bergerie hungry and quite disgusted with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

La Bergerie is my wife's and my favorite ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

La Bergerie is my wife's and my favorite restaurant, particularly for special occasions (which occur once or twice a month!). The food is authentically French down to the bread. They have a very good wine list, including a nice Sauternes that pairs well with the seared foie gras and our favorite white table wine, Vincent Girardin Bourgogne Chardonnay, but also a reasonable corkage fee so that we can bring in older Bordeaux's (or California Cabs) from our wine cellar. Every time we leave there we agree ... it's the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited La Bergerie during restaurant ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I visited La Bergerie during restaurant week and was impressed. The wine list was superb and the thoughtful server offered multiple suggestions for wine pairings. I opted for the Escargot which was perfectly prepared and extremely tender. Next, I had the crab cake which they kindly offered with vegetables instead of basmati rice and the sauce was rich without overpowering the crab. Finally, I finished with the profiteroles that I cannot even describe because I devoured them too quickly.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the excellent service and the attention that the staff paid to me. The servers worked in tandem taking care of everything and the owner stopped by my table to ensure everything was wonderful. I am new to town and loved that such a lovely place had such great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is definitely on the upsc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The restaurant is definitely on the upscale side, but we went there for a girls get-together during Restaurant week, and it was absolutely a great experience.

The staff is very attentive and really tries to accommodate your every wish. The wine list goes for pages and pages, they don't have a cocktail menu though, they just make what you want.

The food was really good, too, although we weren't particularly impressed with the swordfish they offered as part of the Restaurant week menu. It was just good, not outstanding though.

I loved that the noise level in the restaurant is very low - there is some music but it is barely audible, so you can easily hold a conversation even at a larger table.

Overall we were very pleased with the service and the food presentation, very nice place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and were seated quickly, even though the restaurant was full. The food was delicious. A great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined because want to try something ne ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I dined because want to try something news, and saw the reviews were very good, but kind of disappointed. It was restaurant week, and they charge breads and those breads were 4 small slices regular breads not any special, and crab cake had too much flour in it, but the mushroom soup was very good, I think they are cheap for doing the restaurant week menu and charge everything extra on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent as always. We've been coming h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent as always. We've been coming here for years and expect to continue doing so.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bergerie was a wonderful evening duri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

La Bergerie was a wonderful evening during Restaurant week. The service was wonderful and the restaurant located upstairs is cozy and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I have dined at La Bergerie many times i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I have dined at La Bergerie many times in the last seven year with friends, family and business associates. It is usually very good but not this time. We arrived at 5:30 PM as scheduled and waited until 5:45 PM when the doors were finally opened. There were three couples waiting and we were all then seated immediately. Our waiter greeted us warmly and recognized us from previous visits shaking our hands. I ordered a glass of wine and then we placed our order. I ordered the whole lobster which was extra according to the Restaurant Week Menu. It turned out to be the smallest lobster to ever swim in the ocean. We never saw our waiter again until the end of the meal and I had to ask another waiter for a second glass of wine. The manager/owner (?) warmly chatted table side with the other two couples who were seated at the same time that we were but he never stopped by our table - strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a late lunch near the end of their s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a late lunch near the end of their service and it was absolutely divine from beginning to end...Laurent has assembled a wonderful team and they're delivering the goods in this quaint French Bistro setting that may be a little hard to find from the street, but it is well worth the effort. The wine list is extensive and appropriately curated for the cuisine and the value of what is offered is second to none in Old Town. If you are willing to spend a few $'s to get the real thing done by people who know what they're doing, this is the place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to La Bergerie several times o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I've been to La Bergerie several times over the last 2 years and I've never been disappointed. Lovely restaurant, friendly staff and the food is top notch. GO!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Old Town!! Best ingre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Best restaurant in Old Town!! Best ingredients, attentive polite service and fabulous ambience .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Octopus salad and creme brulee were fant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Octopus salad and creme brulee were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for restaurant week. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We went here for restaurant week. The food and service were great, and the baguette was cut all the way through, so we didn't have to tear off each slice of bread.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sole was great

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Sole was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service were amazing! We so ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The food and service were amazing! We so enjoyed our dinner here, we were planning our next trip before we left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

o Consistently excellent - food, drinks, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

o Consistently excellent - food, drinks, service + ambiance

o Easy parking - on street or garage 1 block away

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the appetizers, salads, soup, a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We loved the appetizers, salads, soup, and desserts. Our waiter was attentive and efficient. It is also a pleasant atmosphere. It was a perfect choice for an outing with our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was simply amazing. Everything ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was simply amazing. Everything was prepared impeccably. It is an unusual space for the restaurant, as you wouldn't expect it there, but the atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I was elated to see that La Bergerie was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was elated to see that La Bergerie was participating in restaurant week. I had been once before, last year, and it was an absolutely wonderful dining experience. I booked a reservation for a date this past Friday night, and despite them being packed for restaurant week, the menu and service did not languish one bit. I highly recommend it and I will be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We came in for Restaurant Week and were ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came in for Restaurant Week and were treated like cattle. Service was extremely poor and our server in particular was very rude. Restaurant Week should be a restaurant's opportunity to showcase what they offer. Unfortunately, some restaurants treat the clientele like they are cheap diners looking for a deal. I realize this may be the case for some folks, but the service should be the same no matter what night it is. I would wager this was status quo at this particular restaurant. I am an Old Town resident and this is easily the worst service I have seen in my neighborhood. To top it off, the food was nothing special. Recommendation: skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

La Bergerie provides a consistently love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

La Bergerie provides a consistently lovely dining experience. Their "restaurant week" offerings were all of the highest quality, particularly the blue crab and short ribs. All of the appetizers drew raves. We have been visiting here for over 15 years and with one exception on an Easter afternoon have never received other than a delightful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambience. G ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambience. Great choices and variety for Restaurant Week. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places in the DC area ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorite places in the DC area. Delicious French food, impeccable service, and a cozy atmosphere. Perfect for an intimate evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasion or just for ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Perfect for special occasion or just for a wonderful dinner out, always a v good choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from out of town and La ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and La Bergerie was recommended to us by a person working at the Alexandria Museum Shop who seemed very in tune with the local restaurants and recommended several others that were very good. The service was very good, and while the food was good, we were disappointed. (Surprising since two in our party had dined at the sister restaurant, Del Ray Cafe in Del Ray and raved about it.) For the price, the food should have been outstanding. Our bill including tip was almost $700 for a party of five: three appetizers, five entrees (one was a pasta dish), five desserts and two bottles of wine (not expensive wine). For appetizers, we ordered the scallops, escargot and onion soup. I would order the scallops again; the sauce was wonderful. The best entrees were the veal, the lamb trio and the filet. However the lobster, prepared tableside, seemed undercooked, and our guest picked over what should have been a fabulous entree. The pasta was bland. Of the desserts, the best was the profiteroles. The creme brulee had an off taste, and the burnt sugar was very bitter. The bread pudding was served cold (perhaps that is common, but I don't recall being served "refrigerator cold" bread pudding) and the recipe was obviously quite heavy on eggs. Being a French restaurant, I expected a wonderful rich sauce to accompany the bread pudding. It was more of a drizzle. The crepes were good but "nothing to write home about." For the price, I would chose another restaurant.

Also, as an FYI, the restaurant seems to appeal to an older crowd (over 50).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a wonderful meal. I am remiss in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. I am remiss in writing this review, I was just asking my husband if we could go back. It is quite a drive for us from Bethesda (45+ minutes) but totally worth the drive.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a birthday dinner for two of ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for two of our party. Everyone like what they ordered, & wine selection, even for by the glass, was good. Service attentive, & atmosphere nice -- it was Thurs. evening, so not too many people were there, & not too noisy. We all had a very nice experience, a fairly quiet & relaxing evening. My husband & I had not been there for several years, & La Bergerie's still got it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at La Bergerie many times ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have eaten at La Bergerie many times and it never fails to be outstanding food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was such a pleasure dining at La Berg ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was such a pleasure dining at La Bergerie! The food was delicious and the service outstanding! We brought my 4-year old granddaughter with us and she loved it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a memorable dining experience tha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a memorable dining experience that should be considered for every dining occasion, not just special occasions. The food is of the highest quality and always prepared to perfection, and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bergerie was, as usual, an outstandin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

La Bergerie was, as usual, an outstanding choice to celebrate a special occasion. For us, this time, it was our 30th wedding anniversary, and the chef and servers made sure it was special ... quite apart from the superb food. The Grand Marnier soufflé is not to be missed for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coukdn't resist the Thursday night date ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Coukdn't resist the Thursday night date special. We were very pleased and especially enjoyed the New Zealand lamb chops this past Thursday. This is an elegant place where you can actually hear what your table mates are saying!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Being seated at our favorite banquette i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Being seated at our favorite banquette in the dining room was the beginning of a successful dining experience. The food was perfectly prepared, as always, and the wait staff was considerate and attentive. We love being at La Bergerie; it is our go-to-place for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.