About La Bergerie

218 N. Lee Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, La Bergerie offers a cozy and relaxed setting in a historic brick warehouse. Whether it's an intimate lunch or dinner, a special occasion or business affair, La Bergerie's gracious and attentive staff will make your experience memorable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Basque

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday/Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen and N. Lee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 683-1007

Website:
http://www.labergerie.com/

Entertainment:
A strolling violinist is on hand during special occassions like, Valentine's day, Easter, Mother's day, Xmas Eve and New Year's Eve.

Catering:
Please call the restaurant for details.

Parking Details:
2 Public lots accommodate up to 300 spaces.

Public Transit:
King Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Vincent Damman

Private Party Facilities:
La Bergerie can accommodate up to 50 people in one of the private room. 24 in another room and 150 for the whole restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laurent Janowsky: 7036831007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Hazelnut Souffle
  • Raspberry Souffle
  • Duck
  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Smoked Salmon Terrine
  • John Dory With Juliene Vegetable
Chocolate Souffle
Hazelnut Souffle
Raspberry Souffle
Duck
Butternut Squash Soup
Smoked Salmon Terrine
John Dory With Juliene Vegetable

Promotions

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Every Thursday, we highlight a special menu for $22. 40% off most 750ml bottles under $100. Selections can be viewed on our website under events. Excludes Tax and Tip. Neither entree specials nor wine specials can be combined w/ any other discount. Special valid Apr 4, 2016 - Aug 4, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

La Bergerie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
3 More
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Alexandria ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (73)
notable wine list (52)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (44)
good for groups (21)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, La Bergerie did not disappoint ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, La Bergerie did not disappoint. We have been going there for years, and the food, ambience and service continues to excel. For a quiet dinner or special occasion, it's just hard to beat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant and food is delicious ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing restaurant and food is delicious. And our server Carlos each time gives the best service. It is our favorite place for special occasion and not!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening with great food and ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding evening with great food and service. Carlos and Tony provided superb service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Celebrated a 95th birthday with our fami ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Celebrated a 95th birthday with our family. The table side Cesar salad was wonderful and the birthday boy said it was one of the best French meals he has had-and he has been around! It was so great that the restaurant was quiet and we could hear each other across the table. Service was beautiful, all my per-arranged requests were done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding evening - great food and service

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great French food and wines for every night or a special occasion. The staff was attentive and highly professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a special anniversary/romantic ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for a special anniversary/romantic type dinner on Memorial Day weekend. The place was not busy at all, 16-18 people at most. The ambiance of a nice upscale restaurant. The menu is definitely on a $$$ side, however, you can save 10-20% if you go prix-fix dinner. Food quality and food presentation were very good as expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Did not meet the mark

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I was very much looking forward to the visit, but the experience fell well below expectations. The dining room itself was very nice as was the atmosphere. The service was not bad, but it was not great either. The food was a big disappointment -- particularly for the price. The appetizer was too boring to mention. The coq au vin was something that I have made better at home. One of my companions had the fish, which was reportedly good. The soufflés were quite good. Overall, I might have been somewhat satisfied at half the price, but it was not the fine dining experience I expected at that level.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and exquisite food. A ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and exquisite food. A truly fine experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary. It was amazing! The service (one of our waiters was named Dias) was exceptional. We were waited upon hand and foot, and they gave tremendous recommendations. The chef even sent us free food/dessert (in addition to the starters and dessert we had already ordered) because it was our anniversary. The staff made sure that we felt special. I should also add that a couple seated near us had the most ridiculous requests ("I can't eat meat, vegetables, or butter, what can you serve me?" and "When I said white potatoes I meant FINGERLING potatoes!!!!" to name a few of the things we overheard). That couple's waiter never got frustrated, and took it all in stride. He was a total pro. Our food was unbelievably delicious. Between the two of us we had the champagne, mussels (on the house), Onion Soup, cauliflower couscous with figs, elk medallions, the catch of the day (cod), chocolate mousse, grand marnier souffle, and a chocolate cake with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on it (also on the house). All the flavors were perfectly balanced. It was the best, most satisfying food we had had in over 2 years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited the restaurant for my son's 24th ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Visited the restaurant for my son's 24th birthday. Be fore the food could be served but after ordering he became ill, eventually requiring a trip to the ER. It became unwise to stay for the meal. The staff was phenomenal , they took care of everything, quietly, efficiently and with compassion. My son was very embarrassed but the staff made him comfortable. The meal was packed up for us to take with us. It was delicious despite a lengthy delay before I could get to it. My son's is still on ice. As it turns out he caught a virus active in suburban Maryland where we reside. The ER was packed with others with the same symptoms as my son. A 24 hours bug apparently. We will be back to La Bergerie to try again very soon. Looking forward to it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been coming to this restaurant for 28 years and never have been disappointed. We make it a requirement to return every time we are in the area even though we have moved away. The food is always superb, the staff exacting and friendly. It is our special place, to which we have taken family and friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Surprisingly disappointing

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps it's because it was Mothers Day which the restaurant treats as a holiday. The only choice was the four course fixed price menu for a pricey $75. The options on it were unmemorable. The only really good things were the main entrees, which were very tasty. The appetizers were mediocre and the desserts not all that good. When we asked if we could substitute French onion soup for the listed appetizer options, we were told that would be a $5 up charge for each. As if the meal wasnt expensive enough already. The servers were grumpy and not very attentive. Our server repeatedly spilled wine on the tablecloth every time he poured. The place was not all that crowded but the servers acted as though they had had a very long day and just wanted to be done with it. For $75 per person, plus tax, tip and the bottle of wine, not a meal worth the price and not a place I'd go back to. There are other good French restaurants in the area where all the food is good and the service is far better

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Mother's Day Brunch at La Bergerie was so nice. My husband's sons family mentioned recently that they had never had French food, so we arranged to make sure that happened on the next special occasion. Parking in Old Town Alexandria was challenging on Mother's Day afternoon, but I called the restaurant and they graciously advised that our table was waiting for us. The group of 6 enjoyed trying the 'staples' (escargot appetizer, soufflés for dessert) and loved the flavor of everything - including the oft-refilled basket of warm French bread. The fixed price 3 course menu made ordering easier, too. We loved the strolling violin player as well - - nice touch in making it a special celebration. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great fixed menu, well executed service, exceptional value, and off the "overrated King St beaten path!"

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day without an empty table but ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day without an empty table but the service could not have been better. The only regret was that the duck confit did not come as a main course as it was superb. This is the most underrated restaurant in the area. We are regular customers for many years and have never had anything but delicious food prepared uniquely by exceptional service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Dining

Dined on May 8, 2016

La Bergerie is one of the last truly elegant dining experiences in Old Town. The ambiance and service complement the superb food. We never have been disappointed in 25 years from a romantic two or a 50 person reception. They accommodate it all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our fav ....

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food (especially the foie gras with their perfectly matched Sauternes), ambiance and service are the best in Old Town. Their corkage fee is a real plus for us, as we can pair wines from our cellar with excellent dishes. My wife and I enjoy their fabulous dinners in a restaurant where we can actually talk to one another without shouting! Our favorite "go to" place, especially for a special occasion. If you like French food, this is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding wine dinner

Dined on May 4, 2016

This restaurant holds wine dinners featuring vintners and matching the courses to the wines. The May 4 dinner was outstanding in all respects. The hors d'oeuvres included smoked salmon and paté, and the scallop course was perfumed with truffle. Ignoring table manners, I used my bread to sop up every drop of the lemongrass gravy that moistened the fish quenelle course. The rabbit course was accompanied by vegetables of contrasting textures and another savory sauce. The high point for me was the terrific veal chop with a mushroom sauce. Three cheeses rounded out the meal. Service was precise. At $89 for such a meal, including six different premium wines, this was a great value. We have dined here before off the restaurant's regular menu, and although those meals were less spectacular, we have never been disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to La Bergerie for ove ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

I have been going to La Bergerie for over 30 years, and they never disappoint. Food and service is always excellent. It is a wonderful site for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on April 22, 2016

Spent our 25th anniversary returning to dine at La Bergerie, as they hosted our rehearsal dinner in 1991. Restaurant still as lovely as ever, very romantic ambiance and still the finest quality of service. This is not a new restaurant, or a modern style of service...this is old-school in the very best way. Table side preparations by skilled waitstaff, attentive service, and a visit from the owner who was genuine in his wish to see that we were enjoying our visit. The quality of the food was very high for the price. My husband's elk tenderloins were sublime, and at $38 a real steal. My lobster was slightly more, but fresh and tender and every mouthful was a delight. We especially enjoyed the small modern taste tweaks to the entrees, the lemongrass sauce with my lobster, the choice to use elk over beef. I only wish we lived in Virginia, as I would done here on a frequent basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A quick trip to Paris

Dined on April 21, 2016

Exquisite dining, easy to pretend that you have been transported to Paris. Culinary excellence combined with attentive service result in a memorable evening...and no jet lag.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every way

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great French restaurant with entrees and desserts associated with France, all delicious and elegantly presented with quiet and relaxing ambiance. Wonderful for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional meal as always. One of t ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

An exceptional meal as always. One of the best restaurants in the area. The food was delicious - each course came with a beautiful presentation. One of the delights of dining-out is to have a meal you might not fix at home. La Bergerie offers the unique in preparation and type. Service was impeccable.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was simply amazing! All meals order ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was simply amazing! All meals ordered were delicious and very authentic. Highly recommended.

food3
ambience5
service4

Appetizer and dessert was terrific. I h ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Appetizer and dessert was terrific. I had the filet and it was very tough. My lunch guest had the lamb and felt it was more mutton than a spring lamb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Evening

Dined on March 25, 2016

A great evening of excellent food and superb service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a group lunch event

Dined on March 17, 2016

Our office group went to celebrate a birthday lunch. The restaurant is not open for lunch unless a group of 8 or more makes a reservation; as a consequence we had impeccable service in a quiet atmosphere with fabulous food. I strongly recommend Le Bergerie for your large group luncheon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dinning

Dined on March 16, 2016

A very elegant, quiet and romantic establishment. Food is beautifully presented and delicious. The atmosphere and service is more memorable than than the food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding French food

Dined on March 11, 2016

It was really very nice - food was spot on and service was wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice..

Dined on March 11, 2016

There was a corporate party going on when we arrived which had the staff a bit busy. It took a while for the staff to get to us. However, when they did, they were very kind, courteous, and attentive. The food was fantastic. The place was very intimate and romantic. I wouldn't recommend small children.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Carlos and his staff took great care of ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Carlos and his staff took great care of us. The meal was one of the best I have had in recent memory.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very classic french restaurant, great wait staff

Dined on March 5, 2016

Delicious food. I got the french onion soup and seabass. Waiter was very helpful in talking us through the specials, and treated us with such wonderful attention to detail. Only complaint is that it felt that they were rushing our table, took away my friend's filet mignon when there was still 1/4 left and didn't ask if she wanted it boxed up.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Lovely quiet place for conversation.

Dined on March 3, 2016

Special carrot soup was delicious - full flavors. Ahi tuna was over cooked but not bad, even then. The raspberry soufflé was beautiful and excellent.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely intimate and romantic birthday dinner!

Dined on March 3, 2016

La Bergerie never dissapoints. One of the few places that still does table side preparation--caesar salad, flambed lobster. And I love souffle-- especially the Gran Marnier. Great wine list too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bergerie Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 12 year anniversary at La Bergerie and really enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal, nice atmosphere and service. The food was exceptional, definitely would recommend for special occasions, celebrations or simply going out on a date. We really liked their house red wine and coffee was outstanding . I finally had a great cappuccino, equivalent to what I would get in Europe. the atmosphere was very relaxing, we were not rushed to eat and leave, like in many chain restaurants. We loved La Bergerie and highly recommend this place!. -

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

A disappointment.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was dreadful, and the food was mediocre, at best. La Bergerie needs to start over, beginning with hiring and training new wait staff. When I go to a toney French restaurant, I do not wish to have a server place escargot in front of me and say, "Snails." That was a minor offense compared to how the main server treated us. He ignored us.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is a classic French restaurant with a classic French menu. Some would say it's a bit old fashioned but I disagree. You will find all the standards like French Onion Soup, Pate, Pigeon, etc. We loved the fish of the day (Bass), the rest of the table ordered Pigeon and Lamb. We ordered desserts (Crepe Suzette served table side, flambe, chestnut ice cream, profiteroles). The service was not rushed. The restaurant is comfortably decorated but not casually so. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

French restaurant in the heart of old town

Dined on February 15, 2016

This service is good and attentive. The presentation includes flamed vegetables and some preparations near the table. I had the chef's style gnocchi which was somewhat dissapointing in that the dumpling consisted of at least 50% semolina flour. I was expecting more pototo. We came on a snowy day and the sidewalk was covered in ice. So this needs attention. However, comparing to Bastille and now gone Chez Andre, La Bergerie stacks up well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Delight

Dined on February 14, 2016

Classy and romantic; excellent menu; wonderful service; reasonable prices. The manager is terrific! The booths offer a particularly nice ambiance, with lots of privacy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

We ate here over Valentine's Day weekend. We ordered off the special menu and the food was delicious. We both had the steak which was cooked to perfection. We ended the meal with cappuccinos which we are still raving about. The highlight of the meal wasn't the food but the service. It was outstanding! We will definitely come back for another special dinner in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.