About La Bergerie

218 N. Lee Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, Virginia, La Bergerie offers a cozy and relaxed setting in a historic brick warehouse. Whether it's an intimate lunch or dinner, a special occasion or business affair, La Bergerie's gracious and attentive staff will make your experience memorable.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Basque

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:30pm; Friday/Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen and N. Lee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 683-1007

Website:
http://www.labergerie.com/

Entertainment:
A strolling violinist is on hand during special occassions like, Valentine's day, Easter, Mother's day, Xmas Eve and New Year's Eve.

Catering:
Please call the restaurant for details.

Parking Details:
2 Public lots accommodate up to 300 spaces.

Public Transit:
King Street Metro

Executive Chef:
Vincent Damman

Private Party Facilities:
La Bergerie can accommodate up to 50 people in one of the private room. 24 in another room and 150 for the whole restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Laurent Janowsky: 7036831007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Souffle
  • Hazelnut Souffle
  • Raspberry Souffle
  • Duck
  • Butternut Squash Soup
  • Smoked Salmon Terrine
  • John Dory With Juliene Vegetable
Chocolate Souffle
Hazelnut Souffle
Raspberry Souffle
Duck
Butternut Squash Soup
Smoked Salmon Terrine
John Dory With Juliene Vegetable

Promotions

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

DC/Alexandria Restaurant Weeks

Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Aug 28, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Thursday Dinner Date Night Specials - $22

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Every Thursday, we highlight a special menu for $22. 40% off most 750ml bottles under $100. Selections can be viewed on our website under events. Excludes Tax and Tip. Neither entree specials nor wine specials can be combined w/ any other discount. Special valid Aug 5, 2016 - Dec 1, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

DC/Alexandria Restaurant Weeks

Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Aug 28, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

DC RW - Dinner only, 3 courses, $35 Alex RW, Lunch (save for Sunday), 3 course lunch, $20/3-course dinner, $35. Excludes Tax and Tip. Does not include tax/gratuity & beverages. Special valid Aug 15, 2016 - Aug 28, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

La Bergerie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
9 More
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
French
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Romantic
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Special Occasion
Virginia - DC Suburbs
French
Virginia - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Alexandria ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (53)
Notable Wine List (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Octopus salad and creme brulee were fant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 21 hours ago

Octopus salad and creme brulee were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were amazing! We so ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were amazing! We so enjoyed our dinner here, we were planning our next trip before we left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

o Consistently excellent - food, drinks, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

o Consistently excellent - food, drinks, service + ambiance

o Easy parking - on street or garage 1 block away

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the appetizers, salads, soup, a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the appetizers, salads, soup, and desserts. Our waiter was attentive and efficient. It is also a pleasant atmosphere. It was a perfect choice for an outing with our friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was simply amazing. Everything ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was simply amazing. Everything was prepared impeccably. It is an unusual space for the restaurant, as you wouldn't expect it there, but the atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I was elated to see that La Bergerie was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was elated to see that La Bergerie was participating in restaurant week. I had been once before, last year, and it was an absolutely wonderful dining experience. I booked a reservation for a date this past Friday night, and despite them being packed for restaurant week, the menu and service did not languish one bit. I highly recommend it and I will be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We came in for Restaurant Week and were ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We came in for Restaurant Week and were treated like cattle. Service was extremely poor and our server in particular was very rude. Restaurant Week should be a restaurant's opportunity to showcase what they offer. Unfortunately, some restaurants treat the clientele like they are cheap diners looking for a deal. I realize this may be the case for some folks, but the service should be the same no matter what night it is. I would wager this was status quo at this particular restaurant. I am an Old Town resident and this is easily the worst service I have seen in my neighborhood. To top it off, the food was nothing special. Recommendation: skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

La Bergerie provides a consistently love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

La Bergerie provides a consistently lovely dining experience. Their "restaurant week" offerings were all of the highest quality, particularly the blue crab and short ribs. All of the appetizers drew raves. We have been visiting here for over 15 years and with one exception on an Easter afternoon have never received other than a delightful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambience. G ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambience. Great choices and variety for Restaurant Week. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places in the DC area ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorite places in the DC area. Delicious French food, impeccable service, and a cozy atmosphere. Perfect for an intimate evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for special occasion or just for ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Perfect for special occasion or just for a wonderful dinner out, always a v good choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from out of town and La ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and La Bergerie was recommended to us by a person working at the Alexandria Museum Shop who seemed very in tune with the local restaurants and recommended several others that were very good. The service was very good, and while the food was good, we were disappointed. (Surprising since two in our party had dined at the sister restaurant, Del Ray Cafe in Del Ray and raved about it.) For the price, the food should have been outstanding. Our bill including tip was almost $700 for a party of five: three appetizers, five entrees (one was a pasta dish), five desserts and two bottles of wine (not expensive wine). For appetizers, we ordered the scallops, escargot and onion soup. I would order the scallops again; the sauce was wonderful. The best entrees were the veal, the lamb trio and the filet. However the lobster, prepared tableside, seemed undercooked, and our guest picked over what should have been a fabulous entree. The pasta was bland. Of the desserts, the best was the profiteroles. The creme brulee had an off taste, and the burnt sugar was very bitter. The bread pudding was served cold (perhaps that is common, but I don't recall being served "refrigerator cold" bread pudding) and the recipe was obviously quite heavy on eggs. Being a French restaurant, I expected a wonderful rich sauce to accompany the bread pudding. It was more of a drizzle. The crepes were good but "nothing to write home about." For the price, I would chose another restaurant.

Also, as an FYI, the restaurant seems to appeal to an older crowd (over 50).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This was a birthday dinner for two of ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a birthday dinner for two of our party. Everyone like what they ordered, & wine selection, even for by the glass, was good. Service attentive, & atmosphere nice -- it was Thurs. evening, so not too many people were there, & not too noisy. We all had a very nice experience, a fairly quiet & relaxing evening. My husband & I had not been there for several years, & La Bergerie's still got it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at La Bergerie many times ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have eaten at La Bergerie many times and it never fails to be outstanding food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was such a pleasure dining at La Berg ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was such a pleasure dining at La Bergerie! The food was delicious and the service outstanding! We brought my 4-year old granddaughter with us and she loved it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a memorable dining experience tha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always a memorable dining experience that should be considered for every dining occasion, not just special occasions. The food is of the highest quality and always prepared to perfection, and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Bergerie was, as usual, an outstandin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

La Bergerie was, as usual, an outstanding choice to celebrate a special occasion. For us, this time, it was our 30th wedding anniversary, and the chef and servers made sure it was special ... quite apart from the superb food. The Grand Marnier soufflé is not to be missed for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coukdn't resist the Thursday night date ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Coukdn't resist the Thursday night date special. We were very pleased and especially enjoyed the New Zealand lamb chops this past Thursday. This is an elegant place where you can actually hear what your table mates are saying!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Being seated at our favorite banquette i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Being seated at our favorite banquette in the dining room was the beginning of a successful dining experience. The food was perfectly prepared, as always, and the wait staff was considerate and attentive. We love being at La Bergerie; it is our go-to-place for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming and wonderful French restauran ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Welcoming and wonderful French restaurant that is easy to miss. The food was done to perfection. The service was friendly and not overbearing or overly formal. I will return when I am in Alexandria again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to La Bergerie for our 6th Weddi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to La Bergerie for our 6th Wedding Anniversary. It was quiet and romantic, we could even have a conversation. No TV's, bonus! The food was amazing, I had the 7oz filet with scallops, roasted beet salad and chocolate souffle, omg, YUM! My husband had the sole and french onion soup, and profiteroles. Of course, we shared everything, it was all amazing. The service was great without being intrusive. We never felt rushed. They even gave us a little dessert for our anniversary, nice touch, oh, and they took our photo. This might be our new place to go for our anniversary. We loved it! We would definitely recommend it for special occasions, a little pricey, but we won't go there every week. Check it out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, La Bergerie did not disappoint ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, La Bergerie did not disappoint. We have been going there for years, and the food, ambience and service continues to excel. For a quiet dinner or special occasion, it's just hard to beat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant and food is delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing restaurant and food is delicious. And our server Carlos each time gives the best service. It is our favorite place for special occasion and not!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening with great food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding evening with great food and service. Carlos and Tony provided superb service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated a 95th birthday with our fami ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Celebrated a 95th birthday with our family. The table side Cesar salad was wonderful and the birthday boy said it was one of the best French meals he has had-and he has been around! It was so great that the restaurant was quiet and we could hear each other across the table. Service was beautiful, all my per-arranged requests were done.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding evening - great food and service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great French food and wines for every night or a special occasion. The staff was attentive and highly professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a special anniversary/romantic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for a special anniversary/romantic type dinner on Memorial Day weekend. The place was not busy at all, 16-18 people at most. The ambiance of a nice upscale restaurant.

The menu is definitely on a $$$ side, however, you can save 10-20% if you go prix-fix dinner.

Food quality and food presentation were very good as expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not meet the mark

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was very much looking forward to the visit, but the experience fell well below expectations. The dining room itself was very nice as was the atmosphere. The service was not bad, but it was not great either. The food was a big disappointment -- particularly for the price. The appetizer was too boring to mention. The coq au vin was something that I have made better at home. One of my companions had the fish, which was reportedly good. The soufflés were quite good. Overall, I might have been somewhat satisfied at half the price, but it was not the fine dining experience I expected at that level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent service and exquisite food. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and exquisite food. A truly fine experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dined here for our anniver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here for our anniversary. It was amazing! The service (one of our waiters was named Dias) was exceptional. We were waited upon hand and foot, and they gave tremendous recommendations. The chef even sent us free food/dessert (in addition to the starters and dessert we had already ordered) because it was our anniversary. The staff made sure that we felt special. I should also add that a couple seated near us had the most ridiculous requests ("I can't eat meat, vegetables, or butter, what can you serve me?" and "When I said white potatoes I meant FINGERLING potatoes!!!!" to name a few of the things we overheard). That couple's waiter never got frustrated, and took it all in stride. He was a total pro.

Our food was unbelievably delicious. Between the two of us we had the champagne, mussels (on the house), Onion Soup, cauliflower couscous with figs, elk medallions, the catch of the day (cod), chocolate mousse, grand marnier souffle, and a chocolate cake with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on it (also on the house). All the flavors were perfectly balanced. It was the best, most satisfying food we had had in over 2 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited the restaurant for my son's 24th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Visited the restaurant for my son's 24th birthday. Be fore the food could be served but after ordering he became ill, eventually requiring a trip to the ER. It became unwise to stay for the meal. The staff was phenomenal , they took care of everything, quietly, efficiently and with compassion. My son was very embarrassed but the staff made him comfortable. The meal was packed up for us to take with us. It was delicious despite a lengthy delay before I could get to it. My son's is still on ice. As it turns out he caught a virus active in suburban Maryland where we reside. The ER was packed with others with the same symptoms as my son. A 24 hours bug apparently. We will be back to La Bergerie to try again very soon. Looking forward to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Great Evening

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been coming to this restaurant for 28 years and never have been disappointed. We make it a requirement to return every time we are in the area even though we have moved away. The food is always superb, the staff exacting and friendly. It is our special place, to which we have taken family and friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly disappointing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps it's because it was Mothers Day which the restaurant treats as a holiday. The only choice was the four course fixed price menu for a pricey $75. The options on it were unmemorable. The only really good things were the main entrees, which were very tasty. The appetizers were mediocre and the desserts not all that good. When we asked if we could substitute French onion soup for the listed appetizer options, we were told that would be a $5 up charge for each. As if the meal wasnt expensive enough already. The servers were grumpy and not very attentive. Our server repeatedly spilled wine on the tablecloth every time he poured. The place was not all that crowded but the servers acted as though they had had a very long day and just wanted to be done with it. For $75 per person, plus tax, tip and the bottle of wine, not a meal worth the price and not a place I'd go back to. There are other good French restaurants in the area where all the food is good and the service is far better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Lovely Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our Mother's Day Brunch at La Bergerie was so nice. My husband's sons family mentioned recently that they had never had French food, so we arranged to make sure that happened on the next special occasion. Parking in Old Town Alexandria was challenging on Mother's Day afternoon, but I called the restaurant and they graciously advised that our table was waiting for us. The group of 6 enjoyed trying the 'staples' (escargot appetizer, soufflés for dessert) and loved the flavor of everything - including the oft-refilled basket of warm French bread. The fixed price 3 course menu made ordering easier, too. We loved the strolling violin player as well - - nice touch in making it a special celebration. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great fixed menu, well executed service, exceptional value, and off the "overrated King St beaten path!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day without an empty table but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day without an empty table but the service could not have been better. The only regret was that the duck confit did not come as a main course as it was superb. This is the most underrated restaurant in the area. We are regular customers for many years and have never had anything but delicious food prepared uniquely by exceptional service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Dining

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

La Bergerie is one of the last truly elegant dining experiences in Old Town. The ambiance and service complement the superb food. We never have been disappointed in 25 years from a romantic two or a 50 person reception. They accommodate it all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our fav ....

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food (especially the foie gras with their perfectly matched Sauternes), ambiance and service are the best in Old Town. Their corkage fee is a real plus for us, as we can pair wines from our cellar with excellent dishes. My wife and I enjoy their fabulous dinners in a restaurant where we can actually talk to one another without shouting! Our favorite "go to" place, especially for a special occasion. If you like French food, this is the place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding wine dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This restaurant holds wine dinners featuring vintners and matching the courses to the wines. The May 4 dinner was outstanding in all respects. The hors d'oeuvres included smoked salmon and paté, and the scallop course was perfumed with truffle. Ignoring table manners, I used my bread to sop up every drop of the lemongrass gravy that moistened the fish quenelle course. The rabbit course was accompanied by vegetables of contrasting textures and another savory sauce. The high point for me was the terrific veal chop with a mushroom sauce. Three cheeses rounded out the meal. Service was precise. At $89 for such a meal, including six different premium wines, this was a great value.

We have dined here before off the restaurant's regular menu, and although those meals were less spectacular, we have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to La Bergerie for ove ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I have been going to La Bergerie for over 30 years, and they never disappoint. Food and service is always excellent. It is a wonderful site for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.