Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

About La Becasse MI

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (56)
Special Occasion (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Creative Cuisine (48)
Worth the Drive (46)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Cozy (42)
Romantic (42)
Local Ingredients (40)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (33)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Casual (12)
Seasonal (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Was hyped as a high quality gourmet restaurant. Food was average, prices were above

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing as always! One of the best. Authentic, fresh, fantastic blend of flavors in every bite.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I've not visited the area in a while and Le Becasse even longer. They have improved over the years and we had memorable meal. Love the apertif list and food was superb; service even more so. The check was even a pleasant surprise- quite reasonable for the quality. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Beautiful meal from start to finish. Modest comfy setting. Excellently prepared food and extensive wine list.
A special meal in the Glen Arbor area!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We schedule our "last meal" of our summer stay in Leelanau at La Becasse. It has never failed to satisfy, both in service and food. The menu is always wide with excellent choices, the wine list is superb, and the service is impeccable. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had not been here in years, but we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent meal. From the fresh lettuce to the tuna to the fabulous desserts, we will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Delightful!
Excellent and authentic French cuisine, Duck Duo was memorable. Can't wait to have another visit. Plesant staff and unhurried enjoying delicious appetizers, drinks and dessert. For Sleeping Bear Dunes locals and visitors, La Bècasse is a special treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a wonderful dining option around Glen Lake and we've been coming here through several owners. The only "miss" this visit were the appetizer specials: The mussels tasted "off" - maybe not as fresh as they should've been. And while the scallops were delicious, there were only two and they were on the (very) small side.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by friends and we had high expectations on the food and service - these expectations were not only met but well exceeded. The setting is cozy and romantic, the food was exceptional and the wait staff are knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great meal in all levels. The food, service, and ambiance combine to make this a truly special place to dine up north.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful food, service, company. Very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

A friend recommended La Becasse to us and we were not disappointed! The food and service were outstanding - especially the duo duck, escargot, lamb and halibut, which was a special that day. We ordered a chocolate molten cake for dessert that arrived with a candle on it for my birthday! It's a small restaurant and the dining area is simple, but made elegant with pristine and starched white table cloths and nice table accessories. More could be done with a few pieces of art relating to Provence., but I'm a "detail" person. We had to take an early reservation (6:15) as that was all that was left. If you want to dine here, be sure to book ahead! We had a leisurely meal and the place filled to capacity quickly. I have only one suggestion and that is that they pay a bit more attention to the exterior. Window boxes held somewhat bedraggled plants with little blooming and the beds/shrubs were in need of trimming and weeding. A fresh coat of paint wouldn't hurt either..... Overall, it was a lovely and special evening, and we would highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Everything we tried was top-notch, wine, appetizers, entrees, and desserts

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Consistently fine cuisine with unpretentious, attentive service in a beautiful, cozy, French country-like setting. One of the very best restaurant in northwestern Michigan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 16, 2017

As usual, our dining experience was outstanding!!! Everything about it was perfect!! Thankyou!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Incomparable food, staff, and setting. Simply the best in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have gone to La Becasse for many years. It seems like this year the menu is very limited. Rarely do we ever see the owner of La Becasse, since he has another restaurant in Traverse City. The quality seems not to be the same great level. Service continues to be outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Still the best in the area. Great foot and great service. Try the patio if it's nice out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We return to this restaurant every year when we vacation at Glen Lake. The food is fantastic. This year we have a fantastic server who paced our meal perfectly and provided exceptional guidance regarding our food and wine, in addition to, lively and entertaining, yet not intrusive conversation. Really the perfect combination of food and service. If you don't eat here when you are in the area, you are missing a true jewel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Had a great meal with friends. Loved the Hanger Steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

A longtime favorite which has remained excellent throughout. Delicious. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Classy restaurant with great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We come here twice a year and we are NEVER disappointed. Our favorite restaurant. Period.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have eaten here many times. It is always fabulous. Chef Guillaume and crew are consistently excellent. A great N. Michigan experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My first disappointment at my very favorite restaurant. I have never returned an entree and my white fish/ vegetables were so salty I returned my dish to the kitchen. I ate the fish under the main dish. We were comped but my dining experience was ruined that evening. Hopefully this is a one time .... hope to be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always a good experience. Been here with girlfriends and my husband. Great food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Eatin in 100's of European and so xalled fine dining american and Canadian restaurants and the food here from the appetizers to the deserts was incredible in flavor, combination, doneness, portion and level. Awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent food and great service by Micah. We enjoyed the appetizers, cocktails, wine and entrees. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Attentive service and outstanding meal The mussels were a very good appetizer. Definitely will return

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2017

High quality food served with artful presentation in a country setting. Highly attentive service. Extensive international wine list, including local Michigan wines.

Both the Grilled Rack of Lamb and Baked Tarragon Encrusted Whitefish were excellent. The Profiteroles, filled with vanilla ice cream and covered with Belgian bittersweet chocolate sauce, were a nice finish to an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

very nice time, food was excellent.
Although we live 40 mins away it ws worth the drive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

This was our second time coming to La Becasse for an anniversary. I cannot say enough positive things about this restaurant. The service staff is personable and professional, the food is always outstanding, wine list is great, and it's perfect for a romantic dinner together. We did not feel that anything was overpriced. The food exceeded expectations as always. We plan to go for our next anniversary as well!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Delightful setting. Great service and wonderful cocktails. Our dinner was spot on and delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Awesome French food. Excellent fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere without the pricey French cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Warmly welcomed and seated we enjoyed the lovely and cozy atmosphere for a few minutes till Christina, our waitress arrived. She took great care of us - very friendly and informative. Extensive wine list! Christina had great suggestions. Two of us had the grilled salmon special of the day, and two of us the beef shoulder tenders. We all loved our meals! This was our first visit here and we will look forward to returning!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This restaurant is consistently great. I have never been disappointed with a meal there. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Amazing food, great service - a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My husband and I went to La Bacasse for out 41st wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent. The service was good. The deserts are to die for. Wine was a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for and it was very good. I hope to go back again. It was nice to go to a place that the clientele wasn't in blue jeans and t-shirts. It was upscale, but not formal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Awesome, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.