About La Becasse MI

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

Restaurant Photos

  • Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
  • Duck Margret
  • Cod
  • Coconut Shrimp
Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
Duck Margret
Cod
Coconut Shrimp

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
3 More
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

fit for foodies (53)
special occasion (52)
neighborhood gem (41)
See All
notable wine list (40)
romantic (40)
great for outdoor dining (7)
good for groups (7)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were so pleasantly surprised! This re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were so pleasantly surprised! This restaurant is a local gem! Our food was delicious and so perfectly presented. We also enjoyed the attentive wait staff and the authentic French Country environment! Loved everything about our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LaBecasse USED to be one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

LaBecasse USED to be one of our favorite restaurants when we vacationed in the area. Within a two-week period, we would dine there twice. No longer. USED to love their French Onion Soup. This time, my husband and I both ordered it. Inedible! Dark, dark brown and extremely salty. Then I noticed a short time later that a woman sitting nearby at another table ordered it. You'd never know it was the same soup! Hers looked like ours USED to on previous visits.....golden in color. I think we got the last of last weeks' soup, since we were the first ones to be seated. That's when I got really ticked off and called our server over and complained. You'd think he would have noticed that my husband and I hardly touched our soup. Did he bother to ask.....NO! So I told him what I just wrote and he said he'd tell the chef. The rest of the meal was mediocre. I finally asked him what the chef had to say about the soup and the server said he really didn't have much to say about it and that he'd take it off the bill. VERY POORLY HANDLED. So good-bye, LaBecasse. There are dozens and dozens of really fine places to dine in the area. Our new favorites are BLU, The Boathouse, and Terry's in Charlvevoix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I highly recommend this cute, quaint res ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I highly recommend this cute, quaint restaurant. Wonderful food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but the kitchen was exception ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food but the kitchen was exceptionally slow. Will go back again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We try to go here once a year during our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We try to go here once a year during our annual Michigan vacation, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make sure we have dinner here ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always make sure we have dinner here while we are at Glen Lake. The food is always great and the staff is always welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smashing. Best onion soup we've ever had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Smashing. Best onion soup we've ever had. Lovely dinner and superb service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the best whitefish I have ever tas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had the best whitefish I have ever tasted. It melted in my mouth. The wine special by glass was also outstanding. My husband said the featured dessert was fabulous. A delighted dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and excellent service.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly disappointing! The food was o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Incredibly disappointing! The food was of poor quality and overpriced at that. There were cobwebs in every corner and it looked like the place hadn't been painted in years. Either put some effort into the restaurant or shut it down and focus on your other ventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A hidden gem in the middle of Northern M ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A hidden gem in the middle of Northern Michigan! It reminded me of the small, unassuming towns in the French countryside where a great chef prepares lovely meals for whoever comes to discover great food. Small menu but each dish is perfection and the best representation of fine French cuisine. Warm and lovely servers who enjoy their work and team, Guillaume even came out to check in with the tables to ensure everyone was having a culinary time.

Highly recommend finding the time to eat there. Easily some of the best French food I've found on this side of the Atlantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten in this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have eaten in this restaurant many times over several decades. It has gone through several owners. My experience recently was less than satisfying. My onion soup had sugar in it and was way too sweet. My duck was mediocre and my wife's hanger steak was very tough. We left deciding we would not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful meal! Will recommend to other ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful meal! Will recommend to others and return ourselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A favorite on the Leelanau Peninsula and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A favorite on the Leelanau Peninsula and the "big sister" to Bistro Fou Fou in Traverse City. Food and service is nearly always outstanding. Our whitefish was slightly overcooked but still tasty and beautifully presented. The escargot are awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The warm chocolate cake is a family favo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The warm chocolate cake is a family favorite. However the tarte tatin is possibly the best dessert ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at le becasse the last 20 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have dined at le becasse the last 20 years. Love the small little house the food the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pork chops that were done perf ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I had the pork chops that were done perfectly, and the Hubs had the Whitefish. Both entrées were executed very well with their sides, cooked wonderfully and they were full of flavor. Enjoyed a very good wine recommended by one of the wait staff.

Highly recommended. Excited to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent dining experience. Facilities ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Facilities for handicapped are lacking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent as always! Great wine recomme ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent as always! Great wine recommendation. Veal and hanger steak were perfect. Rhubarb strawberry crisp was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

La Becasse is simply outstanding--the hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

La Becasse is simply outstanding--the highlight of our trip Up North! The restaurant is small and cozy with friendly, unobtrusive service. The food is top notch. We started with the onion soup and it was the best we've tasted. Not too salty and not too cheesy. The beet salad was a delight in its minimalism--the varied-colored beets were very lightly dressed allowing the flavors of the beets to shine through. Our party enjoyed the lamb and pork chop for the main course. Dessert was exceptional--the warm chocolate cake encrusted in homemade phyllo is to die for. We're still talking about it. The restaurant is in a remote location, but worth the drive. Even on the Monday night we dined there, nearly every table was full. We were very impressed by our meal and look forward to dining there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We both went with the special for our main course, which was a rabbit ragout. We shared a couple of starters....the onion soup was delicious as was the tomato tart with goat cheese. We also shared the beet salad and house salad. Our waitress was excellent and gave us some great recommendations. We visited on a Tuesday night, so it was not busy or noisy. There were a few open tables. We also shared a dessert, the Apple Tarte Tatin and chose to have it with vanilla ice cream instead of the praline creme fraiche. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to others, especially for a special occasion, as it is a bit pricey......we really enjoy fine dining, so for us, it was perfect. Very cute/quaint oiler house.....we will definitely return another time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply charming! We have wanted to dine ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Simply charming! We have wanted to dine here in years, but never made it. A hidden gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, recommend without ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent restaurant, recommend without hesitation. Service is always good, food is excellent, wine list is great. We've been here 4 times and will return again when we are back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food and service! Food is amaz ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Food is amazing and ambiance is perfect. Wine list is very good with good information to make it not intimidating if you aren't familiar with wine. Wait staff is kind, friendly and attentive. We had an appetizer special (fois gras brûlée) that was out of this world. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to this little restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our first visit to this little restaurant in Maple City. While we enjoyed our meal very much the dining experience was marred by the stifling heat of the room. It was a warm evening (though far from hot), but their air conditioning was not adequate to cool the room to a comfortable temperature. The staff tried to make it more comfortable by opening windows but that helped little. Alas, the food was not as memorable as the heat.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Never a disappointment

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend this restaurant very highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little bit of France in northern Michi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A little bit of France in northern Michigan. Exceptional service. Low key and friendly. Great wine list. We tasted around the menu and enjoyed everything. Only disappointment were overlooked mussels but that was redeemed by every other dish. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Visit!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have eaten at La Becasse several times before and have never been disappointed. This particular visit was outstanding. The perfect mix of attentive service and delicious food. One of my favorite Leelanau County restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was AMAZING! And our waiter was ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was AMAZING! And our waiter was great! my favorite restaurant in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in the middle of nowhere

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary dinner here. We love French Food and to find this restaurant with this outstanding and impressive chef located in the middle of nowhere upper Michigan was a pleasant surprise. We experience the usual West Michigan friendliness and service. The food was delicious and was what we hoped it would be. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have enjoyed it for years- small , ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have enjoyed it for years- small , intimate and excellent food and wine .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Superbe

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is among the very best of the Grand Traverse list of exceptional restaurants. The region has several. La Becasse offers creativity, imagination and uses quality produce. It offers pleasant ambience in a country setting. A small very French restaurant for intimate dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner on a busy Saturda ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a lovely dinner on a busy Saturday night. The food was simple, but lovely and let the flavors speak for themselves. The wine suggestions to pair with the entrees (listed on the menu) were helpful and spot on. Two of us had the duck confit and the third had the hanger steak. Everything was prepared to perfection. We dined at a leisurely pace and really enjoyed being at such a French restaurant in Northern Michigan.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Yet another great meal at Le Becasse! Was there on Saturday and had a lovely meal with attentive service. Had the best whitefish I've ever had. Le Becasse is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feel very European!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Has the fell of a french country bistro in location, food and atmosphere. A perfect wind down after a busy day in northern Michigan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We love La Becasse - This meal was very special since it was our anniversary - and we had a special bonus of it being "Restaurant Week" in Glen Arbor - so, we had a wonderful dinner plus the price was right. Always a great experience with a special local crowd.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still great after more than 20 years

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We've been dining at LaBecasse for more than 20 years. When the current chef/owner took over maybe 10 years ago the transition was flawless. Although the menu changed somewhat over time, the quality of the food and the selection of great French wines has only improved. This restaurant is a unique gem located near beautiful Glen Lake. When you enter the dining room by parting the heavy velvet drape over the front door you are immediately transported into a quaint, charming restaurant that you could find in a village in France. The food and service (Micah our server was perfect) was impeccable and the ambiance delightful. Don't change anything, LaBecasse, and we'll continue to dine there for another 20 years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wonderful service!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Whenever I am up north, I try to eat at La Becasse. It is delicious food, a quaint location, and in the summer there is a beautiful, intimate patio for dining. The rabbit dishes and the duck dishes are always winners. The Cassoulet is MASSIVE. The desserts are amazing. Nothing on the menu is average. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful French Country Cuisine

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

La Becasse specializes in fine French Country Cuisine & has the best offerings of such in northern Michigan, about 20 minutes from Traverse City. It's our favorite place for an intimate dinner for two or with another couple. Lovely & wide wine selection, delightful daily & seasonal specials as well as the regular seasonal menu. Food is out of this world delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and I loved that their produce was organic and from a local. It's worth the drive from Traverse City to eat here. They also have great specials and deals in the winter months. Our server and the restaurant manager made us feel very welcome and taken care of while we were there - great service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.