Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

About La Becasse MI

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Authentic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Historic (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 2 days ago

We make a point of dining here every time we are in the Traverse City area. In fact over the past 30+ years we've dined here, sometimes it's the reason we come to Traverse City. One of our favorite restaurants of all time.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were staying in the area and a friend recommended this restaurant for my husband's birthday. Our server Micha was exceptional and​ so was the food! Nice wine/ drink selection and elegant food preparation. Nice experience!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for Mother's Day. The service was great, the food was great, and I will dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A true gem of a French bistro. Simple elegance and casual class. Guillaime and his staff always offer an incredible menu and very reasonably priced wine selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fine dining experience. Very flavorful food. On the pricy side. We all had the beef burgundy. Mine had 2 very fatty pieces.For the price the meat should have been better quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tables are a little too close for comfort if you get a difficult neighbor, and our bill of $185.00 was a little hefty for more than an occasional dinner. However, the service and food are absolutely outstanding, and we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We dined at La Becasse for the last night of Restaurant Week. Three course meal for $30 and well worth it! One of the dessert choices was Blueberry Lemon Parfait. A truly great meal with great service. We have already made a reservation for later this month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We've eaten here before and have never been disappointed. The menu has something for everyone. The service is always excellent. This is our go to birthday spot!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food, not pretentious. A fantastic chef with a strong team around him. A wonderful wine List reasonably priced.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I've been coming here for 18 years, and this was one of the best meals I've ever had at La Becasse. The beef shoulder tender was perfectly cooked, and the cod gnocchi I had for my appetizer was exceeded only by my wife's steak tartare. Truly a Glen Lake gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This is our favorite Leelanau area fine-dining restaurant. Great atmosphere for our tastes (quiet) and excellent food always! Had beef shoulder and pork chop for dinner, steak tartar and Cod for appetizers and Cream brulee and raspberry-lemon parfait for dessert as part of a $30 three course meal deal (Glen Lake Restaurant Week). This was a tremendous value as the servings were not diminished at all and the flavors were perfect. Service, as always, was excellent: attentive, helpful, friendly, yet gave us the privacy we wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Could not have asked for a better experience. Wonderful food. Beautiful
Presentation. Impeccable service. A true delight

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fantastic meal, wonderful atmosphere, amazing server.....a magnificent gem in northern Michigan ! Absolutely our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great cozy atmosphere. Amazing wine list. Food was delicious. Was expecting upscale French dining and got country French dining which was a pleasant surprise. Will come back to try more dishes! Great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious food and notable wine with impeccable service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday. They had a special eight course paired with wine dinner that was thoughtfully designed and professionally executed. Bill was our waiter, he was great, attentive, cheerful, and a pleasure to share our dining experience with.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our anniversary dinner couldn't have been better. Food was fabulous. ambiance wonderful and Bill, our server was the best! We are planning to return soon . Your restaurant is our new favorite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fun, Historic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wonderful Evening at La Becasse at beautiful Glen Lake. One of our favorite restaurants and a special bonus of having 2 for 1 dinners on Wednesday nights off season. The entrees come with a house salad and our dinners were both delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I never bother to write reviews but this is well worth the drive from anywhere. Ambiance is upscale but comfortable and not at all pretentious. Staff is very knowledgeable and professional but laid back. Don't be afraid to let them take the reigns.

Wine list is full of fantastic regional French offerings. Do some homework before you dine or consult the staff. There's just so many great bottles it can be a bit daunting.

Food was outstanding from start to finish. I love escargot and order it wherever I can find it, but none in the US have ever really stood out before. This is authentic, not smothered with cheese, and is so much more tender than any other I've had here. Either they are smuggling in the good stuff, serving an unknown local treasure, or Guillaume just really knows how to cook escargot. Best pate maison I've had yet. Simply presented with cornichon, some greens, and stone ground mustard. The cassoulet was on another level entirely. Make sure you order the cassoulet no matter how full you are. The ultimate comfort food.

If you love classic French cooking you owe it to yourself to take a drive out here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always delicious! Stopped in last minute and as it's off season we had no problem getting a table. My son had the beef burgundy which was amazing. Try the house bib salad it doesn't disappoint!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

An experience at La Becasse is a great treat . The moment you walk in you are pleasantly greeted and seated. Service is excellent and well versed with being there but not overly. Food is outstanding. Just the right amount of everything; portion and seasoning. To top it off the chef will visit you at your table if you request .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Been here twice this winter and have really enjoyed it. The pate, hanger steak and beef burgundy are delicious! It is a very small restaurant and menu. Nice wine list. Staff is great! The chef/owner comes out to speak with the guests which is a very nice touch. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always a treat. They do a great job in an area that is very seasonal. But for those of us who live or visit Leelanau in the off season it is a real treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our meal was excellent as always!! Due to the bad weather, we were the only table seated and our service from Vicky was just THE BEST!! Our service is always THE BEST, but it was so nice to visit with Vicky and get to know her a little more. It is one of our favorite places...very special and we're never disappointed!! WE LOVE IT!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This restaurant is so delightful and never disappoints! The food is always delicious and feels like such a treat to dine here. The service is wonderful, too. Couldn't be more perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I had the grilled hanger steak done rare and it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

An absolute gem! Been dining here for over 15 years and La Becasse continues to be our favorite restaurant hands down. Everything on the menu is exceptional and prepared with passion! A rare find where the atmosphere is quaint and the flavors are elevated to an uncommon degree. Can't rave enough about this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful setting for a special Valentine's Day getaway. The beef burgundy was to die for...I savored every bite. The restaurant was beautiful, the staff professional, and the menu very diverse. Well done.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I have been twice , never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As always a wonderful meal and experience. we do this with our
friends every year and we are never disappointed. my favorite place to dine hands
down.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was FABULOUS.... and Bill our waiter was very personable and made our experience exceptional... five stars!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great cocktails too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful Winter Evening! We were up in Northern Michigan overnight and felt really lucky that La Becasse had a Tuesday night special off season. The food was delicious and hearty (we had the cassolette and wine for 2 for $55). Service was perfect - we added a beet salad which was delicious but really didn't need it since the cassolette was so filling. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently good food and attentive service. Great wine list. Happy to have it open year around as many businesses are closed during the winter in northern Michigan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our annual New Year's Eve dinner at La Becasse! Always delicious, always terrific service, excellent quality- one of the few we can rely on in the region. The small space can become quite loud , depending on the crowd, yet we try to snag a table in a back corner. La Becasse is a Fave, winter, spring, summer or fall!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Becky was our server and she was delightful. She was very friendly and made some excellent suggestions regarding the wine and food menu. The authentic french cuisine was one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. Everything was prepared perfectly as described. We will definitely dine here again. The restaurant is quite quaint and cozy, so be prepared for an intimate farmhouse feel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice intimate environment for dinner with my wife. All the food was delicious except my beef tenderloin was mediocre, not worth the $48. Dinner here in June was across the board wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Bacasse never disappoints! The escargot is a spectacular start to any entree. We both had fish, the whitefish and the salmon--both were delicious. The atmosphere is small and personal and the service is top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely as always. Cassoulet highly recommended! Wonderful bottle of Cartenac, very reasonably priced. Cozy ambiance, very good service. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed visiting again after at least 20 years. It was just as charming as we remembered! The food was delicious and our waiter was terrific!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.