About La Becasse MI

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

Restaurant Photos

  • Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb) - La Becasse MI
  • Duck Margret  - La Becasse MI
  • Cod - La Becasse MI
  • Coconut Shrimp - La Becasse MI
Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb) - La Becasse MI
Duck Margret  - La Becasse MI
Cod - La Becasse MI
Coconut Shrimp - La Becasse MI

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
15 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Romantic
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Northern Michigan
Romantic
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Special Occasion (65)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Romantic (47)
See All
Notable Wine List (44)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our table had the duck, which we agreed ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our table had the duck, which we agreed was the best we'd ever had. The veal noisettes were also incredibly tender and flavorful. Both dishes were served with vegetables including a portion of thinly sliced & stacked potato that made good use of butter and cream. Desserts shared were a delicate pear/almond tart and chocolate creme brûlée. The quality of the French cuisine at this restaurant ensures a return visit.

BTW our server was excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Becasse never disappoints! This is o ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

La Becasse never disappoints! This is one of our absolute favorite restaurants. The menu is always diverse. Fresh, farm to table. Flavors are layered often with a pleasing element of surprise. The building and environment is such that transports you to the south of France somewhere. Worth the drive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live just a few miles away and this i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We live just a few miles away and this is our go to restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. Entrees, service ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently excellent. Entrees, service, desserts, appetizers Somewhat limited menu but nice specials. Fresh local ingredients. Have going here for 15 yrs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

La Becasse is a delightful dinning desti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

La Becasse is a delightful dinning destination. They have an extensive wine list from from very reasonable to break the bank. We enjoyed a seasonal special red and yellow beet Gespacio. the escargot was delightful but not extra ordinary. Make your plans early as it is a deservedly popular spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant ever, amazing fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our favorite restaurant ever, amazing food, attentive staff & an impressive wine list = a delightful dining experience every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful trip to LaBecasse, cle ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another wonderful trip to LaBecasse, clearly the best restaurant in Northern Michigan (and beyond)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the area for a week of vacati ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were in the area for a week of vacation. La Becasse was our best meal on the trip. Superb entres and dessert. Would go there often if we lived in the area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the lamb and it was delicious. Ho ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had the lamb and it was delicious. However, we were disappointed that to change potato selections there was an up charge of $3.50 per person. Never had a restaurant charge to swap potato choices.

Every time we go here there are charges for items that use to come with dinner, charges for extra sauce etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We first dined at this restaurant in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We first dined at this restaurant in the mid 1980's and have been coming back on infrequent trips from Boston, but always look forward to it and are never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our annual "last dinner out in ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our annual "last dinner out in Leelanau before going home" and, as usual, LaBecasse met our expectations. Great food, good wine list, and excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. There was a small issue with ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic. There was a small issue with our meal but they comped us desserts and coffee to make up for it. I would have been happy with the meal even if they didn't do that. A hidden treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dinner we have had in months. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The best dinner we have had in months. The whitefish was excellent. So glad we saved room for dessert! Outstanding wine and service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant Pate was superb Duc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good restaurant

Pate was superb

Duck was good but not great

Whitefish good not great

Nice wine list

Espresso was mediocre

No crema watery espresso

Service was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

La Becasse is a truly classic and classy ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

La Becasse is a truly classic and classy country French restaurant, and we love returning there with special friends when we vacation in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No air-conditioning, due to a power fail ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

No air-conditioning, due to a power failure, we were told, but other former diners told us the a/c had been out for quite a while. Service was unusually slow, apparently because of a swamped and solitary bartender. Food was swell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was delicious as usual. On pas ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious as usual. On past visits, the service has been outstanding. Unfortunately, it wasn't up to par this time. Don't let that keep you away, though. This can happen during the summer in a tourist destination. The food makes up for the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My meal at La Becasse was spectacular! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My meal at La Becasse was spectacular! Great French restaurant. Fabulous wine! A must dine when in Glen Arbor.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Whitefish was the best, and that is comi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Whitefish was the best, and that is coming from someone who eats whitefish often. The wine list was good for Up North and the overall ambience was inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had delicious steel head trout dinner ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had delicious steel head trout dinners with beet salads. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around. You can't get bet ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent all around. You can't get better food or service anywhere around. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a fabulous dinner to celebrate o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have a fabulous dinner to celebrate our 10 Year Anniversary. It was a wonderful meal, the staff was so friendly and the ambience was nice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant with fant ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant with fantastic food for the Glenlake area...way above all other restaurants in the area. I used Opentable to reserve our table, but I am thinking I need to be able to navigate the site better. I would have made special requests such as outside dining (weather permitting) or not in middle of room to avoid noise level and claustrophic issues. Fortunately for us, out table was perfect, our server was extremely knowledgeable and personable, and the food surpassed any we had had in our two weeks in the Glenlake area...a four star rating. One last thought...having been there several times before, I remember upon being seated, the sever asking if there were any allergy/dietary concerns or if we were vegetarian. This did not happen this time; so, when the special treat came for us, I needed to tell the server that I was vegetarian and did not eat bacon (a little embarrassing)...but the up side was he brought me another one that worked and was very tasty. This might be a question for the servers to ask each time diners are seated...important in today's times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside on the patio which was si ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We ate outside on the patio which was situated next to the woods. Very nice atmosphere and service was excellent. We especially enjoyed the appetizers and desert. It's pricey but the lava cake wrapped in phyllo with ice cream was to die for. We went back the following day just for more desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant by far in the Glen Lake ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best restaurant by far in the Glen Lake region. Outstanding French cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine resturaunt but too noisy. Adding a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fine resturaunt but too noisy. Adding an extra charge when extra tartar sauce was requested was a bit much at this price point. Tables too crowded.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, but service was inat ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent, but service was inattentive and slow

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A local treasure with a wonderful wine l ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A local treasure with a wonderful wine list, great food, and friendly service. Have been there many times and plan to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoyable! The restaurant is ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always enjoyable! The restaurant is very small--had a hard time getting to the restroom because of the tables being very close together and add people, impassable.

The food, excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This classic French country inn gets eve ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This classic French country inn gets everything right. Every selection is inventive, fresh, and delicious. Virtually everything that can be is sourced locally and prepared and presented in a way that lets each ingredient shine through. Service is impeccable. We thought the prices were very reasonable when compared with other area restaurants that fall short of La Becasse's excellence. It was worth the 90 minute drive from Gaylord. but we knew it would be as we had dined there when visiting the Leelanau two years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply incomparable. A small French coun ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Simply incomparable. A small French country cottage-like setting with a genuine French chef of immense talent. Everything is flawless and delicious. Wonderful staff with no need to be pretentious, since the food speaks for itself. A gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food served in an unassuming cot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing food served in an unassuming cottage. The wine list went on forever. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a favorite place of ours when on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a favorite place of ours when on vacation in northern Michigan. The food and service are excellent. Tip: share a dessert as they are large even by American standards. It's pricey as well, but such a lovely place for a special event. The French onion soup is delicious - not overpowered by salt like many are. The cheese plate is good for two people, not more. The butter is amazing, as is the bread! I would like to see a few more vegetarian options however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and extremely nice wai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and extremely nice waiter. 103 Wellington-- made sure our every need was met-- although u were out of Ginger Beer for my anticipated Moscow Mule. I however survived, with another cocktail. Rosoto outstanding!!! I was entertaining friends from Florida who had never been further north thanEast Lansing and Glen Lake is absolutely my favorite spot. It also was their 45tj wedding anniversary that day!!! No complaints

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A total gem. We will definitely go back. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A total gem. We will definitely go back. There were a few tables with families, but I thought it was a wonderful romantic setting. A little piece of France in the midwest.... who knew?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the atmosphere of this small inti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I love the atmosphere of this small intimate restaurant. The house salad was amazing. Service is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits over the years. Everything ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Many visits over the years. Everything was superb, spot on from salads to desserts. Great wine list. I had the veal cooked to perfection; all the dishes were beautifully presented. The warm chocolate cake is beyond description and much different than most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary and the exper ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and the experience could not have been more perfect! Fantastic waiter, amazing food, excellent wine selection and loved dining outdoors on the cozy, private patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food in a relaxed and comforta ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful food in a relaxed and comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and wine. Not a place to ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious food and wine. Not a place to go for a quick bite, but a place for experiencing all food can offer. Service is top notch and far exceeding most that you can find in northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.