Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

About La Becasse MI

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

An experience at La Becasse is a great treat . The moment you walk in you are pleasantly greeted and seated. Service is excellent and well versed with being there but not overly. Food is outstanding. Just the right amount of everything; portion and seasoning. To top it off the chef will visit you at your table if you request .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Been here twice this winter and have really enjoyed it. The pate, hanger steak and beef burgundy are delicious! It is a very small restaurant and menu. Nice wine list. Staff is great! The chef/owner comes out to speak with the guests which is a very nice touch. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always a treat. They do a great job in an area that is very seasonal. But for those of us who live or visit Leelanau in the off season it is a real treat.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our meal was excellent as always!! Due to the bad weather, we were the only table seated and our service from Vicky was just THE BEST!! Our service is always THE BEST, but it was so nice to visit with Vicky and get to know her a little more. It is one of our favorite places...very special and we're never disappointed!! WE LOVE IT!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This restaurant is so delightful and never disappoints! The food is always delicious and feels like such a treat to dine here. The service is wonderful, too. Couldn't be more perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I had the grilled hanger steak done rare and it was outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful setting for a special Valentine's Day getaway. The beef burgundy was to die for...I savored every bite. The restaurant was beautiful, the staff professional, and the menu very diverse. Well done.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I have been twice , never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As always a wonderful meal and experience. we do this with our
friends every year and we are never disappointed. my favorite place to dine hands
down.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was FABULOUS.... and Bill our waiter was very personable and made our experience exceptional... five stars!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great cocktails too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Wonderful Winter Evening! We were up in Northern Michigan overnight and felt really lucky that La Becasse had a Tuesday night special off season. The food was delicious and hearty (we had the cassolette and wine for 2 for $55). Service was perfect - we added a beet salad which was delicious but really didn't need it since the cassolette was so filling. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently good food and attentive service. Great wine list. Happy to have it open year around as many businesses are closed during the winter in northern Michigan.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved our annual New Year's Eve dinner at La Becasse! Always delicious, always terrific service, excellent quality- one of the few we can rely on in the region. The small space can become quite loud , depending on the crowd, yet we try to snag a table in a back corner. La Becasse is a Fave, winter, spring, summer or fall!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Becky was our server and she was delightful. She was very friendly and made some excellent suggestions regarding the wine and food menu. The authentic french cuisine was one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. Everything was prepared perfectly as described. We will definitely dine here again. The restaurant is quite quaint and cozy, so be prepared for an intimate farmhouse feel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice intimate environment for dinner with my wife. All the food was delicious except my beef tenderloin was mediocre, not worth the $48. Dinner here in June was across the board wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 29, 2016

La Bacasse never disappoints! The escargot is a spectacular start to any entree. We both had fish, the whitefish and the salmon--both were delicious. The atmosphere is small and personal and the service is top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely as always. Cassoulet highly recommended! Wonderful bottle of Cartenac, very reasonably priced. Cozy ambiance, very good service. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed visiting again after at least 20 years. It was just as charming as we remembered! The food was delicious and our waiter was terrific!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of many visits to La Becasse on a chilly late fall evening. Pleasantly surprised by learning it was two-for-one night! The service is always friendly and competent. It is a true gem any time of the year but especially because they are open throughout the long winters in northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My experience at La Becasse was wonderful. The food was delicious with many different drinks to choose from. Our waiter was prompt and informative. I will be coming back again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and service were very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We love dining at La Becasse...we crave French ambiance and cuisine. If we lived in Northern Michigan, we'd be there at least once a week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food as always. Intimate, cozy setting and great service. Ask for Bill!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Classic French fare. Tasty food that is not fussy. An awesome find in a beautiful location. We had the Beef Burgundy and Pork Chop. The pork chop was thick and very juicy. The beef was super flavorful and tender. We will make this the stopping point for our annual fall color drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This place is simply hard to beat for friendly professional service and fine cuisine. Escargot is exceptional. Make sure you have extra bread because you won't want to leave a single drop of the herb infuse hot butter served with them. Warm chocolate cake ended the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for over twenty five years and that should tell you how special this place is. We have even scheduled trips to the Traverse City area based on being able to get a reservation. We like the balance between casual surroundings and elegant service and menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Have eaten here often over the years....this was a huge disappointment. The pork chop was dry and tough. Pate prepared differently and presentation off.....no crackers, few cornichons, little mustard on plate. Sauce on filet very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A gourmet gem in the middle of the north woods. Convivial yet quiet atmosphere. Fabulous menu (owner is French chef), perfect service, lovely people. Elegant food yet casual setting. Great wine list. Each course was a delight. As a bonus, it is easily accessible if you have mobility issue. And staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The lights went outit made for a romantic but not very warm dinnerim sure if food was it would been marvelous. Staff did a job in the dark

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Power was out, but was a fun candle lit experience. Enjoyed our evening thouroughly.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Superb menu, wait staff, wine list, dessert. The perfect place for an evening dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointing.
Going out to dinner is about the food and the experience. We had a reservation through Open Table and indicated we were celebrating a birthday. The night started off great with a nice amuse bouche for everyone at the table (and restaurant). Three of us ordered the pre fix menu, which had two choices for starters and entrees and then one dessert option. The food was just okay, not great or amazing. The service pretty much ended when we were served our entrées. Our dirty plates sat in front of us for more than half an hour. Our waitress, Molly, finally came back to our table and said “I was busy doing other things.” Yeah, like not waiting on us. We asked about our desserts from the pre fixe menu and she said very rudely, “I didn’t think you wanted anything. You didn’t order it.” There was one choice of dessert on the pre fixe menu. Dessert is implied, plus I actually did say when I ordered that I wanted the dessert. We were finally served the crème brulee, which was cold and runny.

I understand our waitress was busy with a group of high school kids having homecoming dinner, and I’m sure that they got great service, but it shouldn’t have been at our expense. We received no apology. No happy birthday. No thank you. I expected better at this price and left very disappointed. Hopefully this was just an off night, as we had been here before and had a good experience. Unfortunately with this experience, it will be a while before we return again if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another fantastic meal at La Becasse. We went for our 12th wedding anniversary and had a great time. The Beef Burgendy and Duck two ways were delicious. The service was excellent as always. This is the best restaurant in Northwest Michigan if not the whole state.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great evening. Excellent food and service. Nice wine list including wine by the glass. Server was very efficient and knowledgeable about menu items.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This Resturant always has fantastic food. This is our forth time at this Resturant. The wine selection was just amazing with large selection of wine. The food is alway very good and the setting is fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A dining Gem. Dining at LaBecasse makes the occasion special. From the warm welcome, the menu, food, wine list, service, cozy atmosphere, always a memorable evening. Thanks to Chef Guillaume Hazael-Massieux and the entire staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Friendly service. We were running late for our reservation. Cell service was spotty so I couldn't find their number to call and let them know we were running late, but they called to confirm the reservation and held it open for us. Once we arrived, we had excellent service (prompt, friendly, waiter checked on us frequently), a nice table, and the good was served in a proper rotation. Servers didn't remove our plates prematurely. Was a very nice meal. The salmon was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2016

La Becasse continues to be both busy and understaffed. The wait staff does its best but the wait for a greeting and a drink order is regularly too long. We pressed our hostess into service and she was gracious about helping out. By metropolitan standards, La Becasse is very expensive but in season it can get away with it so who's to blame them and there we are.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

La Becasse is terrific. Try the whitefish and you'll order it every time you go there. Our waiter was Micah -- excellent !

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.