About La Becasse MI

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

Restaurant Photos

  • Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
  • Duck Margret
  • Cod
  • Coconut Shrimp
Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
Duck Margret
Cod
Coconut Shrimp

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Special Occasion (71)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Romantic (55)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

No air-conditioning, due to a power fail ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

No air-conditioning, due to a power failure, we were told, but other former diners told us the a/c had been out for quite a while. Service was unusually slow, apparently because of a swamped and solitary bartender. Food was swell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was delicious as usual. On pas ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious as usual. On past visits, the service has been outstanding. Unfortunately, it wasn't up to par this time. Don't let that keep you away, though. This can happen during the summer in a tourist destination. The food makes up for the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My meal at La Becasse was spectacular! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My meal at La Becasse was spectacular! Great French restaurant. Fabulous wine! A must dine when in Glen Arbor.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Whitefish was the best, and that is comi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Whitefish was the best, and that is coming from someone who eats whitefish often. The wine list was good for Up North and the overall ambience was inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had delicious steel head trout dinner ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had delicious steel head trout dinners with beet salads. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around. You can't get bet ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent all around. You can't get better food or service anywhere around. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a fabulous dinner to celebrate o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have a fabulous dinner to celebrate our 10 Year Anniversary. It was a wonderful meal, the staff was so friendly and the ambience was nice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant with fant ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant with fantastic food for the Glenlake area...way above all other restaurants in the area. I used Opentable to reserve our table, but I am thinking I need to be able to navigate the site better. I would have made special requests such as outside dining (weather permitting) or not in middle of room to avoid noise level and claustrophic issues. Fortunately for us, out table was perfect, our server was extremely knowledgeable and personable, and the food surpassed any we had had in our two weeks in the Glenlake area...a four star rating. One last thought...having been there several times before, I remember upon being seated, the sever asking if there were any allergy/dietary concerns or if we were vegetarian. This did not happen this time; so, when the special treat came for us, I needed to tell the server that I was vegetarian and did not eat bacon (a little embarrassing)...but the up side was he brought me another one that worked and was very tasty. This might be a question for the servers to ask each time diners are seated...important in today's times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside on the patio which was si ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We ate outside on the patio which was situated next to the woods. Very nice atmosphere and service was excellent. We especially enjoyed the appetizers and desert. It's pricey but the lava cake wrapped in phyllo with ice cream was to die for. We went back the following day just for more desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant by far in the Glen Lake ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best restaurant by far in the Glen Lake region. Outstanding French cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine resturaunt but too noisy. Adding a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fine resturaunt but too noisy. Adding an extra charge when extra tartar sauce was requested was a bit much at this price point. Tables too crowded.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, but service was inat ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent, but service was inattentive and slow

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A local treasure with a wonderful wine l ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A local treasure with a wonderful wine list, great food, and friendly service. Have been there many times and plan to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoyable! The restaurant is ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always enjoyable! The restaurant is very small--had a hard time getting to the restroom because of the tables being very close together and add people, impassable.

The food, excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This classic French country inn gets eve ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This classic French country inn gets everything right. Every selection is inventive, fresh, and delicious. Virtually everything that can be is sourced locally and prepared and presented in a way that lets each ingredient shine through. Service is impeccable. We thought the prices were very reasonable when compared with other area restaurants that fall short of La Becasse's excellence. It was worth the 90 minute drive from Gaylord. but we knew it would be as we had dined there when visiting the Leelanau two years ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply incomparable. A small French coun ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Simply incomparable. A small French country cottage-like setting with a genuine French chef of immense talent. Everything is flawless and delicious. Wonderful staff with no need to be pretentious, since the food speaks for itself. A gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food served in an unassuming cot ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing food served in an unassuming cottage. The wine list went on forever. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a favorite place of ours when on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a favorite place of ours when on vacation in northern Michigan. The food and service are excellent. Tip: share a dessert as they are large even by American standards. It's pricey as well, but such a lovely place for a special event. The French onion soup is delicious - not overpowered by salt like many are. The cheese plate is good for two people, not more. The butter is amazing, as is the bread! I would like to see a few more vegetarian options however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and extremely nice wai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service and extremely nice waiter. 103 Wellington-- made sure our every need was met-- although u were out of Ginger Beer for my anticipated Moscow Mule. I however survived, with another cocktail. Rosoto outstanding!!! I was entertaining friends from Florida who had never been further north thanEast Lansing and Glen Lake is absolutely my favorite spot. It also was their 45tj wedding anniversary that day!!! No complaints

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A total gem. We will definitely go back. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A total gem. We will definitely go back. There were a few tables with families, but I thought it was a wonderful romantic setting. A little piece of France in the midwest.... who knew?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the atmosphere of this small inti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I love the atmosphere of this small intimate restaurant. The house salad was amazing. Service is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits over the years. Everything ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Many visits over the years. Everything was superb, spot on from salads to desserts. Great wine list. I had the veal cooked to perfection; all the dishes were beautifully presented. The warm chocolate cake is beyond description and much different than most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary and the exper ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary and the experience could not have been more perfect! Fantastic waiter, amazing food, excellent wine selection and loved dining outdoors on the cozy, private patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food in a relaxed and comforta ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wonderful food in a relaxed and comfortable environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and wine. Not a place to ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious food and wine. Not a place to go for a quick bite, but a place for experiencing all food can offer. Service is top notch and far exceeding most that you can find in northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was wonderful and the as us ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was wonderful and the as usual, was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here. We drove up from ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our second time here. We drove up from the film festival for some authentic French food. My duck duo was good, the breast was cooked just right, but the thigh and leg were a little overcooked, so I didn't finish it, but that left me with enough room for the other items on the plate and the vacherin for dessert which was heavenly. My husband said his lamb was excellent. This is the closest I have seen to real French cooking in Northern Michigan (I have spent a lot of time in France).

It's pricey, so is only a special occasion meal for us, but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our groupof 8 had a wonderful meal at La ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our groupof 8 had a wonderful meal at La Becasse. The food was delicious and beautifully plated. The service excellent and our server very helpful. The desserts were superb. A definite gem in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third time to enjoy this re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

This was our third time to enjoy this restaurant over the years and it was excellent as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were so pleasantly surprised! This re ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were so pleasantly surprised! This restaurant is a local gem! Our food was delicious and so perfectly presented. We also enjoyed the attentive wait staff and the authentic French Country environment! Loved everything about our dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LaBecasse USED to be one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

LaBecasse USED to be one of our favorite restaurants when we vacationed in the area. Within a two-week period, we would dine there twice. No longer. USED to love their French Onion Soup. This time, my husband and I both ordered it. Inedible! Dark, dark brown and extremely salty. Then I noticed a short time later that a woman sitting nearby at another table ordered it. You'd never know it was the same soup! Hers looked like ours USED to on previous visits.....golden in color. I think we got the last of last weeks' soup, since we were the first ones to be seated. That's when I got really ticked off and called our server over and complained. You'd think he would have noticed that my husband and I hardly touched our soup. Did he bother to ask.....NO! So I told him what I just wrote and he said he'd tell the chef. The rest of the meal was mediocre. I finally asked him what the chef had to say about the soup and the server said he really didn't have much to say about it and that he'd take it off the bill. VERY POORLY HANDLED. So good-bye, LaBecasse. There are dozens and dozens of really fine places to dine in the area. Our new favorites are BLU, The Boathouse, and Terry's in Charlvevoix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I highly recommend this cute, quaint res ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I highly recommend this cute, quaint restaurant. Wonderful food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but the kitchen was exception ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food but the kitchen was exceptionally slow. Will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We try to go here once a year during our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We try to go here once a year during our annual Michigan vacation, and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make sure we have dinner here ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always make sure we have dinner here while we are at Glen Lake. The food is always great and the staff is always welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smashing. Best onion soup we've ever had ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Smashing. Best onion soup we've ever had. Lovely dinner and superb service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the best whitefish I have ever tas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had the best whitefish I have ever tasted. It melted in my mouth. The wine special by glass was also outstanding. My husband said the featured dessert was fabulous. A delighted dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and excellent service.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredibly disappointing! The food was o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Incredibly disappointing! The food was of poor quality and overpriced at that. There were cobwebs in every corner and it looked like the place hadn't been painted in years. Either put some effort into the restaurant or shut it down and focus on your other ventures.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A hidden gem in the middle of Northern M ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A hidden gem in the middle of Northern Michigan! It reminded me of the small, unassuming towns in the French countryside where a great chef prepares lovely meals for whoever comes to discover great food. Small menu but each dish is perfection and the best representation of fine French cuisine. Warm and lovely servers who enjoy their work and team, Guillaume even came out to check in with the tables to ensure everyone was having a culinary time.

Highly recommend finding the time to eat there. Easily some of the best French food I've found on this side of the Atlantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.