About La Becasse MI

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

Restaurant Photos

  • Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
  • Duck Margret
  • Cod
  • Coconut Shrimp
Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb)
Duck Margret
Cod
Coconut Shrimp

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

fit for foodies (41)
special occasion (34)
notable wine list (30)
See All
neighborhood gem (29)
romantic (26)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We ...

Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed this restaurant very much. We both went with the special for our main course, which was a rabbit ragout. We shared a couple of starters....the onion soup was delicious as was the tomato tart with goat cheese. We also shared the beet salad and house salad. Our waitress was excellent and gave us some great recommendations. We visited on a Tuesday night, so it was not busy or noisy. There were a few open tables. We also shared a dessert, the Apple Tarte Tatin and chose to have it with vanilla ice cream instead of the praline creme fraiche. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to others, especially for a special occasion, as it is a bit pricey......we really enjoy fine dining, so for us, it was perfect. Very cute/quaint oiler house.....we will definitely return another time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply charming! We have wanted to dine ...

Dined 6 days ago

Simply charming! We have wanted to dine here in years, but never made it. A hidden gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant, recommend without ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent restaurant, recommend without hesitation. Service is always good, food is excellent, wine list is great. We've been here 4 times and will return again when we are back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! Food is amaz ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Food is amazing and ambiance is perfect. Wine list is very good with good information to make it not intimidating if you aren't familiar with wine. Wait staff is kind, friendly and attentive. We had an appetizer special (fois gras brûlée) that was out of this world. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first visit to this little restauran ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our first visit to this little restaurant in Maple City. While we enjoyed our meal very much the dining experience was marred by the stifling heat of the room. It was a warm evening (though far from hot), but their air conditioning was not adequate to cool the room to a comfortable temperature. The staff tried to make it more comfortable by opening windows but that helped little. Alas, the food was not as memorable as the heat.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never a disappointment

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend this restaurant very highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

A little bit of France in northern Michi ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

A little bit of France in northern Michigan. Exceptional service. Low key and friendly. Great wine list. We tasted around the menu and enjoyed everything. Only disappointment were overlooked mussels but that was redeemed by every other dish. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Visit!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I have eaten at La Becasse several times before and have never been disappointed. This particular visit was outstanding. The perfect mix of attentive service and delicious food. One of my favorite Leelanau County restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING! And our waiter was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was AMAZING! And our waiter was great! my favorite restaurant in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Gem in the middle of nowhere

Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary dinner here. We love French Food and to find this restaurant with this outstanding and impressive chef located in the middle of nowhere upper Michigan was a pleasant surprise. We experience the usual West Michigan friendliness and service. The food was delicious and was what we hoped it would be. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

We have enjoyed it for years- small , ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have enjoyed it for years- small , intimate and excellent food and wine .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superbe

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is among the very best of the Grand Traverse list of exceptional restaurants. The region has several. La Becasse offers creativity, imagination and uses quality produce. It offers pleasant ambience in a country setting. A small very French restaurant for intimate dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely dinner on a busy Saturda ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a lovely dinner on a busy Saturday night. The food was simple, but lovely and let the flavors speak for themselves. The wine suggestions to pair with the entrees (listed on the menu) were helpful and spot on. Two of us had the duck confit and the third had the hanger steak. Everything was prepared to perfection. We dined at a leisurely pace and really enjoyed being at such a French restaurant in Northern Michigan.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Yet another great meal at Le Becasse! Was there on Saturday and had a lovely meal with attentive service. Had the best whitefish I've ever had. Le Becasse is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Feel very European!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Has the fell of a french country bistro in location, food and atmosphere. A perfect wind down after a busy day in northern Michigan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

We love La Becasse - This meal was very special since it was our anniversary - and we had a special bonus of it being "Restaurant Week" in Glen Arbor - so, we had a wonderful dinner plus the price was right. Always a great experience with a special local crowd.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still great after more than 20 years

Dined on April 29, 2016

We've been dining at LaBecasse for more than 20 years. When the current chef/owner took over maybe 10 years ago the transition was flawless. Although the menu changed somewhat over time, the quality of the food and the selection of great French wines has only improved. This restaurant is a unique gem located near beautiful Glen Lake. When you enter the dining room by parting the heavy velvet drape over the front door you are immediately transported into a quaint, charming restaurant that you could find in a village in France. The food and service (Micah our server was perfect) was impeccable and the ambiance delightful. Don't change anything, LaBecasse, and we'll continue to dine there for another 20 years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, wonderful service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Whenever I am up north, I try to eat at La Becasse. It is delicious food, a quaint location, and in the summer there is a beautiful, intimate patio for dining. The rabbit dishes and the duck dishes are always winners. The Cassoulet is MASSIVE. The desserts are amazing. Nothing on the menu is average. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful French Country Cuisine

Dined on March 4, 2016

La Becasse specializes in fine French Country Cuisine & has the best offerings of such in northern Michigan, about 20 minutes from Traverse City. It's our favorite place for an intimate dinner for two or with another couple. Lovely & wide wine selection, delightful daily & seasonal specials as well as the regular seasonal menu. Food is out of this world delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food and I loved that their produce was organic and from a local. It's worth the drive from Traverse City to eat here. They also have great specials and deals in the winter months. Our server and the restaurant manager made us feel very welcome and taken care of while we were there - great service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going here for over twenty years..a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Been going here for over twenty years..always a pleasure ...the food is just right..they don't over reach...spot on

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited on a snowy valentine's night. With candles lit on every table, the ambiance was fitting for the occasion. Roasted chestnuts and pate to start, duck and lamb for entrées. Very yummy, sad we had to miss dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant LaBecasse

Dined on January 10, 2016

The chef and staff are always professional and creative. This is a destination restaurant in tiny Burdickville near the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore which was voted the most beautiful place in America on GMA in 2011.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A welcome treat on a cold winter night

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We have been to La Becasse many times and are overwhelmed by the dedication of the staff to open on winter evenings up north in Michigan that would deter sane people from going out. It was a real treat with great food and very good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was wonderful, ou ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

The entire experience was wonderful, our waiter was extraordinary, food superb. Great winter specials too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will Return, no doubt!

Dined on January 6, 2016

In the dead of winter, my husband celebrates his birthday so my search for something special for him must be especially special---and this was, without a doubt. Since it was early January, we did not expect a crowded restaurant, especially for a destination restaurant, and we found after an hour we had the restaurant to ourselves. Near the beautiful Sleeping Bear Dunes through scenic heavily wooded roads, this destination is a true gem. The welcome was warm and the champagne prepared our appetites for wonderful, traditional French food. Our waiter----warm, humorous and yet sensitive to our celebratory evening---was a true professional. Once you pass the heavy velvet curtain at the entryway, you find yourselves in a simple but elegant dining room. We'll be back many, many more times and are thankful that they have a sister restaurant 'Bistro Fou fou' in Traverse City as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine French Food in the North Woods

Dined on January 3, 2016

La Becasse, located in Leelanau County, Michigan not far from Glen Arbor, is among the finest dining offerings in an area rich in superb dining opportunities. My wife and I have dined there three or four times and have never been disappointed. For us, it is a "special occasion" destination where we expect to pay more than we ordinarily would, but we get the value that comes with the expectation. (Prices seem to me to be well considered and certainly not "through the roof." Daily specials that are within most budgets are part of the regular menu.) Every aspect of the dining experience (including the rustic French countryside-like setting) is exceptional ranging from the expected traditional French appetizers to entrees that are carefully prepared to desserts that will take your breath away. Go to the restaurant's web site for a view of a sample menu. The wine list is among the very finest I have seen anywhere in the world. I always rely on the staff to make a wine recommendation that is within my budgetary limitations, and they have hit a home run each time. For those who might have a high end budget, you will find the kind of adventures you seek relative to seasoned and rare wines. At least twice we have had the opportunity to speak with the very engaging Chef, including on our most recent visit. He is one who obviously loves his work, and apparently surrounds himself with employees who share his vision for providing an evening that is memorable in its entirety. There are a number of great culinary experiences awaiting you in Leelanau County, however La Becasse is one that should be at the top of your list when planning your visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite authentic French restaurants!

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

The service is outstanding, the food is absolutely amazing and the restaurant is charming. French Onion soup here is top notch, white fish is amazing, escargots are perfect and very fresh, and I've never never been disappointed by dessert. Having traveled all over France, this restaurant feels like it belongs in Lyon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A thing of beauty is a joy forever.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Intimate experiences are rare and continue to be more so. Treat the special people in your life to an authentic meal, a cozy cottage artisan restaurant and a connectedness to embrace long after dessert has settled. This is a special place with magical smells and earthy vitality.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Fine Dining

Dined on December 11, 2015

A great place for a fine dining experience. Outstanding food and presentation. The food, ambiance and service guarantee a pleasurable evening that a relaxing meal provides.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Christmas Dinner for Boss & wife . . .

Dined on December 8, 2015

Excellent service! Very personable waiter - very helpful in decision making - food was as good as it always is and we are making La Becasse our Traditional Christmas dinner spot! My husband already knows what he will order next year!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was fine, not remarkable. Glasses o ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was fine, not remarkable. Glasses of champagne came out flat -- waiter should have noticed it on his own. Room was tired. Not the same restaurant it used to be.

food5
ambience4
service5

still great

Dined on November 8, 2015

A cold November Saturday night and nothing has changed. Food was great service was great as always. We truly enjoy going here whenever we visit our second home in Glen Arbor

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Disappointed

Dined on November 6, 2015

I have had very good meals here before but I ordered the fish special and it was over-cooked and very dry. Beet salad was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Food and service were very good. However ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

Food and service were very good. However they were limited in their servings. We had dinner at 7pm but they were already out of some items on the menu. I'm not sure why you would take reservations and not know how much food you would need.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great like usual.

Dined on October 27, 2015

Been coming here since it opened way back when and have never been disappointed......

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint little restaurant with wonderful ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Quaint little restaurant with wonderful food. Loved the building. Had a delightful server. Was a little surprised by a few people's appearance. Most people were dressed appropriately for dinner while a few folks looked like they just came from a high school football game with a down vest or jeans and a sweatshirt. Small distraction.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always a very pleasant, low key but h ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

As always a very pleasant, low key but high end experience. Food is always top notch with excellent wine selection. Will keep coming back.

food5
ambience3
service5

Always excellent when we've been there

Dined on October 15, 2015

This was our 4th trip to LeBecasse and it was memorable as usual. Service is always great, and the food way above average. The two highlights on this night were the melt in your mouth tenderloin and the best Creme Brulee we've ever had. The building is not what you would expect for fine dining, but the food coming from the kitchen is what counts. Just pretend you are in a small town bistro in the French countryside. It's part of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Special food request

Dined on October 3, 2015

La Becasse is one of our very favorite restaurants because of the food. It is always exceptional. At our last visit, we brought a person with challenging dietary restrictions. I called a couple of days ahead to discuss our particular needs. Vicki was most understanding and noted all of our concerns. Our guest had selected a menu item first, but would have ordered what the restaurant recommended. They made it all so easy... and we felt secure that the food would arrive without the damaging ingredients. Our waitress was most accommodating and it all went very smoothly. Dinner was enjoyed completely!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.