Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 4.77mi
  3. Distance: 5.76mi
  4. Distance: 7.37mi

About La Becasse MI

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (45)
Special Occasion (41)
Creative Cuisine (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Cozy (34)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

La Bécasse is an amazing jewel of a restaurant in NW Michigan, on Glen Lake 30 minutes west of Traverse City. For appetizers, we had the handcrafted paté, the cheese board, and olive selection, and for the main course veal noisettes and rack of lamb--for dessert, tart tatin. Quality of ingredients and attention to detail was superb throughout. The cheese plate had a local raclette from Leelanau county, a striking blue cheese from Minnesota, and a French double cream, garnished with quince jam, walnuts, and figs. The paté was rich and aromatic (minced duck in the center), and came with a mixture of cornishons and sweet pickles, and a glorious mustard. Olives were a great contrast of artichoke brine and red pepper brine, with sweet marinated cipollini in the middle. Cocktails (Bordeaux cocktail and Aperol spritz) were subtle and well constructed, and the wine list is extensive, with well curated selections from France and California, but also several local wines from the Traverse bay--these are coming into their own for sure, and not to be overlooked. We had a Chateau Fontaine (Leelanau) Pinot Gris (glass) and a Sancerre (glass) with the paté and cheese, and the Pinot Gris was more than respectable in this company. The bottle of Shady Lane Pinot Noir (also Leelanau peninsula) was a great complement to the main dishes, especially the veal, and rounded into great shape over time. Meanwhile service was unhurried but attentive throughout, and when the mosquitos became a little aggressive late in the evening, we were cheerfully reseated inside. La Bécasse is not inexpensive, but at ~$230 for full meal for two, including cocktails, 2 glasses of wine, a bottle of wine, and a Grand Marnier, this was a great value. The menu is not long, but the wine list is an education, and our dishes were delicious, and beautifully presented. The atmosphere, inside or out, is warm and invites conversation. Great French food, many local ingredients, little pretense.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

In a remote area where choices are slim, small restaurant with good reputation.
Escargot was good, salad good, beef below par, salmon good but nothing out of the ordinary.
From observing other tables we can tell the presentation was very good for all dishes including ours, I'm sure the highly rated reputation is well deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dinner as always! Great service and did a fantastic job catering to a gluten allergy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our fourth time dining at the restaurant. The food is very good and the restaurant is very cozy/nice. Previous experiences were better, primarily due to the server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

I had the duck and my wife the Bass special. We split the dessert and devoured wonderful salads. All was perfect- food, service and ambiance. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant is not worth the drive if staying in Traverse City which has a lot of great restaurants. Menu has a French meal or 2 but not a French restaurant. One entree was great, the other was just ok. All of the staff was attentive. Service was excellent. If you are staying nearby it is a good choice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing as always. Excellent service and scrumptious food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Outstanding culinary artistry in a quaint, countryside setting. We have dined here many times and it is always one of the top three restaurants to visit when we vacation in northern MI. Food is always expertly prepared and the service we had on our last visit was prompt and responsive while providing enough privacy for conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

La Becasse exudes a simple elegance. We are not big wine drinkers so I can't comment though I believe they have an extensive and excellent selection. The food was very good. We shared the purple carrot ginger chilled soup. It was delicious and the texture was amazing. I had the pork chop and my wife had the salmon, both were excellent. The desserts were simply fabulous. I had the Panna Cotta made with mascarpone and goat cheese and my wife had the Warm Chcolate Cake with phyllo crust. Both were amazing and really the best part of the dinner. The service was very good and we really had an enjoyable time. At La Bacasse you slow down and really savor a dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

By far the best restaurant in the Leelanau penninsula. If you haven't been you must visit this Glen lake landmark!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A very quaint and charming restaurant tucked away on the Southeast side of Big Glen Lake. Service was very friendly and food was excellent. A couple of us got the Striped Sea Bass and it was incredible. The seasoning and citrus butter sauce on top knocked it out of the park. Still thinking about how good that was. The creme brulee was excellent too. The only critique we had was that the interior seemed a bit outdated and could use a renovation. But overall it was an excellent dinner and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My wife and I visit every year while vacationing in Leland. As always, the meal at La Becasse was the best of the week. We had halibut and whitefish and an amazing Rose. Thanks to the team at La Becasse, see you soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Pork chop was excellent, as was the halibut special. Duck was just okay. Pate and mussels both very good. Poultry fuisse and Gigondas were both tremendous

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Modern French cuisine, excellently prepared and served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time eating here and was a great experience. Delicious food, great service, and nice experience overall. Thought it'd be a little more upscale ambiance but still nice and more than just casual. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Wonderful spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was the second time we've eaten at the restaurant, and it is memorable every time. An excellent menu, well-prepared with attention to detail. A beautiful balance of flavors. We had the duck and lamb entrees. Delicious! Thank you for an authentic French country meal in an inviting and warm environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Top quality French food. The tables are very close, and the people at the next table (as well as their waitress) were very loud, and intrusive.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Awesome food and service, as usual. We wanted to take our time and our waitress was very amenable. The veal was delicious and we also enjoyed the strawberry parfait.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I drive 400 twice a year to enjoy this authentic French cuisine. I believe Chef Guillame is one of the finest French chefs anywhere. Nothing in NYC or Chicago compares.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We hadn't been there in probably 20 years. The food was excellent but the building is lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 21, 2017

More than a neighborhood gem. It's a world gem. We were there 25 years ago and made it a point to find it again. A dining experience of a lifetime.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants anywhere. Authentic French country cuisine in the Great North Woods!

Lots of local ingredients and always special preparation with Chef's attention to detail.

Excellent wine list and recommendations provided if needed.

Always memorable, never disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our meal was excellent! We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A must visit when in Glen Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Out of the world food and not snobby! Beautiful area and creative and delectable cuisine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic food, cozy atmosphere, beautiful drive, thoughtful chef, all around cool experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is not only the best restaurant in the Traverse area, it is one of the best restaurants anywhere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Every bite was spectacular. We shared two appetizers: gravlax (some of the best ever, thickly sliced) and fiddlehead ferns with mushrooms (wonderful sauce). The house salad may have been the best dinner salad ever: butter lettuce, small bits of red onion, sesame seeds. That's it. Every bite was perfection. We loved the hanger steak and the whitefish as our mains, but imagine everything to be done at the highest level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had reservations at 6 with some great friends. Drinks and food came quickly and were all superior. Chef sat with us until 11 and talked about many topics. What a great evening. You owe it to yourself to try " La Becasse".


Fred Ray

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We make a point of dining here every time we are in the Traverse City area. In fact over the past 30+ years we've dined here, sometimes it's the reason we come to Traverse City. One of our favorite restaurants of all time.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were staying in the area and a friend recommended this restaurant for my husband's birthday. Our server Micha was exceptional and​ so was the food! Nice wine/ drink selection and elegant food preparation. Nice experience!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went there for Mother's Day. The service was great, the food was great, and I will dine there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A true gem of a French bistro. Simple elegance and casual class. Guillaime and his staff always offer an incredible menu and very reasonably priced wine selections.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fine dining experience. Very flavorful food. On the pricy side. We all had the beef burgundy. Mine had 2 very fatty pieces.For the price the meat should have been better quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tables are a little too close for comfort if you get a difficult neighbor, and our bill of $185.00 was a little hefty for more than an occasional dinner. However, the service and food are absolutely outstanding, and we enjoyed ourselves very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We dined at La Becasse for the last night of Restaurant Week. Three course meal for $30 and well worth it! One of the dessert choices was Blueberry Lemon Parfait. A truly great meal with great service. We have already made a reservation for later this month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We've eaten here before and have never been disappointed. The menu has something for everyone. The service is always excellent. This is our go to birthday spot!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food, not pretentious. A fantastic chef with a strong team around him. A wonderful wine List reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.