About La Becasse MI

9001 S Dunns Farm Rd
Maple City, MI 49664
View Larger Map

La Becasse is located in Burdickville near Glen Lake in Leelanau County. We serve French country fare in an intimate setting which evokes the sense of being lost in the French country side. We have an award winning wine list, which is heavy on French wines, and features many Michigan wines as well as great picks from around the wine-world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Friday - Tuesday 5-9pm

Open daily during July & August






Cross Street:
CR 616 (Burdickville Road) and CR 675 (S Dunns Farm Road)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(231) 334-3944

Website:
http://www.restaurantlabecasse.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot, which fills up quickly. Additional parking is available on the street.

Executive Chef:
Guillaume Hazael-Massieux

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winter Weekday Specials!
Tuesday night: Cassoulet for Twosday for $40
Wednesday night 2 for 1 main dish
Thursday night 3 courses for $30
Friday night seafood plat du jour & glass of wine $22

Restaurant Photos

  • Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb) - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
  • Duck Margret  - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
  • Cod - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
  • Coconut Shrimp - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
Chowpan (Half Rack of Lamb) - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
Duck Margret  - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
Cod - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI
Coconut Shrimp - La Becasse MI, Maple City, MI

La Becasse MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Food
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Service
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
11 More
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Value
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Most Booked
Northern Michigan / Upper Peninsula
Best Overall
Northern Michigan
Best Food
Northern Michigan
Best Service
Northern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Northern Michigan
Best Value
Northern Michigan
Special Occasion
Northern Michigan
Most Booked
Northern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Glen Arbor / Maple City ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed visiting again after at least ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed visiting again after at least 20 years. It was just as charming as we remembered! The food was delicious and our waiter was terrific!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

One of many visits to La Becasse on a ch ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of many visits to La Becasse on a chilly late fall evening. Pleasantly surprised by learning it was two-for-one night! The service is always friendly and competent. It is a true gem any time of the year but especially because they are open throughout the long winters in northern Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience at La Becasse was wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My experience at La Becasse was wonderful. The food was delicious with many different drinks to choose from. Our waiter was prompt and informative. I will be coming back again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were very good. I w ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and service were very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We love dining at La Becasse...we crave ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We love dining at La Becasse...we crave French ambiance and cuisine. If we lived in Northern Michigan, we'd be there at least once a week!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food as always. Intimate, cozy ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food as always. Intimate, cozy setting and great service. Ask for Bill!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic French fare. Tasty food that is ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Classic French fare. Tasty food that is not fussy. An awesome find in a beautiful location. We had the Beef Burgundy and Pork Chop. The pork chop was thick and very juicy. The beef was super flavorful and tender. We will make this the stopping point for our annual fall color drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This place is simply hard to beat for fr ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This place is simply hard to beat for friendly professional service and fine cuisine. Escargot is exceptional. Make sure you have extra bread because you won't want to leave a single drop of the herb infuse hot butter served with them. Warm chocolate cake ended the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining here for ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My wife and I have been dining here for over twenty five years and that should tell you how special this place is. We have even scheduled trips to the Traverse City area based on being able to get a reservation. We like the balance between casual surroundings and elegant service and menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here often over the years.... ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Have eaten here often over the years....this was a huge disappointment. The pork chop was dry and tough. Pate prepared differently and presentation off.....no crackers, few cornichons, little mustard on plate. Sauce on filet very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

A gourmet gem in the middle of the north ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A gourmet gem in the middle of the north woods. Convivial yet quiet atmosphere. Fabulous menu (owner is French chef), perfect service, lovely people. Elegant food yet casual setting. Great wine list. Each course was a delight. As a bonus, it is easily accessible if you have mobility issue. And staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lights went outit made for a romanti ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The lights went outit made for a romantic but not very warm dinnerim sure if food was it would been marvelous. Staff did a job in the dark

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Power was out, but was a fun candle lit ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Power was out, but was a fun candle lit experience. Enjoyed our evening thouroughly.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointing. Going out to dinner ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very disappointing.

Going out to dinner is about the food and the experience. We had a reservation through Open Table and indicated we were celebrating a birthday. The night started off great with a nice amuse bouche for everyone at the table (and restaurant). Three of us ordered the pre fix menu, which had two choices for starters and entrees and then one dessert option. The food was just okay, not great or amazing. The service pretty much ended when we were served our entrées. Our dirty plates sat in front of us for more than half an hour. Our waitress, Molly, finally came back to our table and said “I was busy doing other things.” Yeah, like not waiting on us. We asked about our desserts from the pre fixe menu and she said very rudely, “I didn’t think you wanted anything. You didn’t order it.” There was one choice of dessert on the pre fixe menu. Dessert is implied, plus I actually did say when I ordered that I wanted the dessert. We were finally served the crème brulee, which was cold and runny.

I understand our waitress was busy with a group of high school kids having homecoming dinner, and I’m sure that they got great service, but it shouldn’t have been at our expense. We received no apology. No happy birthday. No thank you. I expected better at this price and left very disappointed. Hopefully this was just an off night, as we had been here before and had a good experience. Unfortunately with this experience, it will be a while before we return again if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Superb menu, wait staff, wine list, dess ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Superb menu, wait staff, wine list, dessert. The perfect place for an evening dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal at La Becasse. W ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another fantastic meal at La Becasse. We went for our 12th wedding anniversary and had a great time. The Beef Burgendy and Duck two ways were delicious. The service was excellent as always. This is the best restaurant in Northwest Michigan if not the whole state.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Excellent food and servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great evening. Excellent food and service. Nice wine list including wine by the glass. Server was very efficient and knowledgeable about menu items.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This Resturant always has fantastic food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This Resturant always has fantastic food. This is our forth time at this Resturant. The wine selection was just amazing with large selection of wine. The food is alway very good and the setting is fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A dining Gem. Dining at LaBecasse makes ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A dining Gem. Dining at LaBecasse makes the occasion special. From the warm welcome, the menu, food, wine list, service, cozy atmosphere, always a memorable evening. Thanks to Chef Guillaume Hazael-Massieux and the entire staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly service. We were running late f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Friendly service. We were running late for our reservation. Cell service was spotty so I couldn't find their number to call and let them know we were running late, but they called to confirm the reservation and held it open for us. Once we arrived, we had excellent service (prompt, friendly, waiter checked on us frequently), a nice table, and the good was served in a proper rotation. Servers didn't remove our plates prematurely. Was a very nice meal. The salmon was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

La Becasse continues to be both busy and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2016

La Becasse continues to be both busy and understaffed. The wait staff does its best but the wait for a greeting and a drink order is regularly too long. We pressed our hostess into service and she was gracious about helping out. By metropolitan standards, La Becasse is very expensive but in season it can get away with it so who's to blame them and there we are.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

La Becasse is terrific. Try the whitefis ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

La Becasse is terrific. Try the whitefish and you'll order it every time you go there. Our waiter was Micah -- excellent !

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Becasse is a gem. My husband and I w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2016

La Becasse is a gem. My husband and I were vacationing on the Leelanau Peninsula, and chose La Becasse because of its outdoor presence and its promise of French food. We were not disappointed. From our one-bite amuse bouche, we knew that we were right where we wanted to be. I enjoyed the house butter lettuce salad, and whitefish with basmati rice. My husband enjoyed the same salad, and the pork chop with a goat cheese side. Then we shared some warm chocolate cake. Throughout our dinner, our waiter, Micah, was attentive and personable.

We visited on a Tuesday evening, and the restaurant was full and lively. I definitely recommend making a reservation for this jewel of a restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, and our server Bill ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was great, and our server Bill was fantastic. Even though the place was packed, we were never neglected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely find. Warm attentive service, w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

A lovely find. Warm attentive service, well-prepared local food, a cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

quaint place great food ambiance and ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

quaint place great food ambiance and service,

even though it is out of the way

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've eaten there several times. Usual ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We've eaten there several times. Usually it's excellent. Last week it was average. And the small room was very noisy. We'll be back, but probably not as often. The price warrants outstanding, and this time it fell short.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our table had the duck, which we agreed ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our table had the duck, which we agreed was the best we'd ever had. The veal noisettes were also incredibly tender and flavorful. Both dishes were served with vegetables including a portion of thinly sliced & stacked potato that made good use of butter and cream. Desserts shared were a delicate pear/almond tart and chocolate creme brûlée. The quality of the French cuisine at this restaurant ensures a return visit.

BTW our server was excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La Becasse never disappoints! This is o ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 17, 2016

La Becasse never disappoints! This is one of our absolute favorite restaurants. The menu is always diverse. Fresh, farm to table. Flavors are layered often with a pleasing element of surprise. The building and environment is such that transports you to the south of France somewhere. Worth the drive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live just a few miles away and this i ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We live just a few miles away and this is our go to restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent. Entrees, service ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently excellent. Entrees, service, desserts, appetizers Somewhat limited menu but nice specials. Fresh local ingredients. Have going here for 15 yrs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

La Becasse is a delightful dinning desti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

La Becasse is a delightful dinning destination. They have an extensive wine list from from very reasonable to break the bank. We enjoyed a seasonal special red and yellow beet Gespacio. the escargot was delightful but not extra ordinary. Make your plans early as it is a deservedly popular spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant ever, amazing fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our favorite restaurant ever, amazing food, attentive staff & an impressive wine list = a delightful dining experience every time we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful trip to LaBecasse, cle ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Another wonderful trip to LaBecasse, clearly the best restaurant in Northern Michigan (and beyond)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the area for a week of vacati ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were in the area for a week of vacation. La Becasse was our best meal on the trip. Superb entres and dessert. Would go there often if we lived in the area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the lamb and it was delicious. Ho ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had the lamb and it was delicious. However, we were disappointed that to change potato selections there was an up charge of $3.50 per person. Never had a restaurant charge to swap potato choices.

Every time we go here there are charges for items that use to come with dinner, charges for extra sauce etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We first dined at this restaurant in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We first dined at this restaurant in the mid 1980's and have been coming back on infrequent trips from Boston, but always look forward to it and are never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our annual "last dinner out in ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was our annual "last dinner out in Leelanau before going home" and, as usual, LaBecasse met our expectations. Great food, good wine list, and excellent service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. There was a small issue with ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic. There was a small issue with our meal but they comped us desserts and coffee to make up for it. I would have been happy with the meal even if they didn't do that. A hidden treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best dinner we have had in months. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The best dinner we have had in months. The whitefish was excellent. So glad we saved room for dessert! Outstanding wine and service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.