About La Baguette Bistro

7408 N May Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
View Larger Map

Serving the metro for twenty eight years, La Baguette Bistro is the go-to place for Sunday brunch, cakes beyond compare, pastries and fine wine.

The Euro-casual ambiance with its ever-changing art gallery is comfortable yet elegant, and the dark, cozy bar area invites leisurely drinks after work. Regulars flock to La Baguette Bistro for the Croque Madam & Monsieur sandwiches, Chicken Crepes and toothpick-thin French fries ("frites"). Daily specials keep them interested.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary European, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00am - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 8:00am - 11:00pm

Sunday: 9:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
May Ave & Grand Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(405) 840-3047

Website:
http://www.labaguettebistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Alain Buthion

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a celebratory gathering with family and friends or business meeting among colleagues, La Baguette Bistro can accommodate your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8779181675

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

La Baguette Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
Neighborhood Gem
Oklahoma City
Best Restaurants in Oklahoma City ›

neighborhood gem (19)
great for brunch (15)
special occasion (15)
See All
great for lunch (13)
fit for foodies (12)
notable wine list (11)
romantic (10)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2

Service was verrrrry slow. Thought of it ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was verrrrry slow. Thought of it as a good thing when we first got there...since we wanted a nice long & romantic evening out, but then became annoyed. Our drinks were empty for lonnng periods of time, we didn't get a steak knife delivered with our steak, & my food was cold (I got the veggie sandwich). Things like that make the long check backs to our table a disappointment. I just had them box up my food to-go since my date was finished with his meal before they checked back to see how we were doing. They gave us a free ($3.50) dessert and I never ended up getting my last ordered glass of wine. Atmosphere was okay. Some booth and table placements are awkward & the music is so soft that it's hard not to overhear other tables' conversations over yours. Probably won't be going back anytime soon..which is a bummer because LaBaguette was once one of our favorite special occasion spots :(

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Saturday night dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good. Server was very nice but must have been new. He did not seem to be very familiar with the menu. Could not pronounce some of the food. But he was very nice and attentive. Just needs to brush up with a mentor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We are never disappointed with the food. ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We are never disappointed with the food. The steaks are delicious and dessert is a must, even if there is no room.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant...it is consisten ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

I love this restaurant...it is consistently awesome!

food4
ambience4
service5

I always prefer breakfast at this repeat ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

I always prefer breakfast at this repeater. We brunch here often. Dinner this time was really good though too. Always impeccable service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoying a Leisurely Lunch

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

A dear friend and colleague and I, enjoyed a leisurely lunch at La Baguette, recently. Our waitstaff, a gentleman, took our orders in a timely way and was solicitous but not cloying. We enjoyed our entrees. My friend had a lunch salad and I enjoyed one of their burgers. Both entrees were satisfying and both were very filling. There were other tables and booths in proximity, but the conversation levels were low and everyone seemed to be having an intimate and enjoyable meal, as were we. We chatted for almost two hours without intrusions. This was a satisfying excursion with good, fresh, properly seasoned food, a lovely ambiance that was not stuffy, but pleasantly attentive to our needs without being intrusive. La Baguette continues to be one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Viva la Baguette!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server was very attentive and our fo ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Our server was very attentive and our food was good portions and delectable. The ambiance is comfortable and the bakery is full of wonderful items.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Brunch

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Nice to have a great brunch on a week day. Food was very good and lovely presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Recent Lunch at La Baquette

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Recently, I enjoyed a leisurely lunch with a dear friend. It was lovely in every respect. One of my long-time server/friends accommodated us with a lovely, private booth, with a view of the street, but not near the front door. Our server was spot on, attentive but not cloying, nor overly present. My guest and I started by sharing a salmon plate...fresh, light and yummy with a glass of white wine for (my guest). I thoroughly enjoyed the chicken crepes as my main course and my guest enjoyed the house burger immensely. Because I was full, but didn't want to "miss dessert", I took a sponge cake with pineapple and filled with lots of cream in the layers, home, and devoured it later in the evening...absolutely delicious! La Baguette hit a "luncheon home run" and I will look forward to other opportunities to dine during a future breakfast, lunch, or dinner. "Viva La France!"

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wine-dinner pairing at La Baguette is delightful

Dined on February 25, 2016

While we enjoy casual dinners at LaBaguette, their speicial wine dinners are really great. The one we had this evening was wonderful with a superior selection of courses matched with a nice combination of red and white wines. Dessert and port were exceptional. Michel and Alain do it right!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We got a nice booth in the back. Very mu ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We got a nice booth in the back. Very much enjoyed our visit. French onion was amazing, save room for dessert!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our Favorites in OKC

Dined on February 11, 2016

La Baguette is always good! We eat there a lot and the food and service are always very good and very consistent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fabulous French!

Dined on February 9, 2016

We have always loved La Baguette for Sunday brunch. It is now a favorite lunch spot. Our service was a little slow for a work-day lunch; the food more than makes up for it, however. A fabulous dining experience! You have to try the chocolate mousse cake; worth every bite!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Quiet Night for a Delicious Meal

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed a delicious, early dinner prior to going to a concert. Our server "Jeb", I believe, was, attentive and steered us towards excellent choices. I started with the delicious crab salad, followed by the "small plate" trout. My friend enjoyed a pasta dish. I enjoyed the sauvignon blanc that complimented my seafood choices. Service was attentive but not cloying or intrusive. There was only one mishap by another server. (When I made the reservation, I asked for a quiet booth for me and my guest, for talking.) There was only one other couple in the dining room, in a spacious booth, when I arrived. The young server tried to seat us at a tiny table with chairs (in between two booths). I told him that was not acceptable and reiterated my original request, pointing to one of many empty booths that could accommodate us. He made the change. But that should not have happened. Nonetheless, we will return. Jeb was great, and our food was delicious and served in a timely, nonintrusive manner. Viva La France!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was good service was not. Our waite ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Food was good service was not. Our waiter was inattentive and aloof.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful service, quaint di ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great food, wonderful service, quaint dining, amazing bakery.

food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely delicious food in a somewhat ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Absolutely delicious food in a somewhat upscale environment. Service is professional yet welcoming. Perfect for a special occasion or holiday. Also be sure to check out the bakery!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bistro at its best

Dined on December 19, 2015

Classic bistro food to perfection; we both had filets, cooked perfectly to order, with an original and delicious side of "pommes a tròis". Only negative was too-close seating along the wall, especially since an adjoining able of 10 or 12 was too close and loud for any intimate conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always as good as OKC gets.

Dined on December 15, 2015

Only one very slightly disappointing meal in years and years of taking meals at La Baguette. Can't beat that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

French cuisine and more

Dined on December 12, 2015

My wife and I ate here for the first time on a Saturday night in December. We wanted to eat a place close to the wedding we needed to attend in the Village at 7:00 pm. I made a reservation at 5:30 pm. Our service was slow enough that we did not leave the restaurant until 6:45 pm. That was after we turned down an offer of dessert at 6:35 pm. Next time, we will allow more time to dine. The food was excellently cooked and arranged on the plate. We started with the roasted beets appetizer. Chopped roasted beets mixed with onions in an oil-based dressing were formed into a small cylinder. The chef wrapped two thin strips of cucumber around the beet mixture. It was served with a sprinkle of cheese and sunflower seeds on top and some small toasts. Our entrees came with soup or salad. She got the Caesar salad, while I got the bistro salad. She loves Caesar salad, and this one met her standards. I got the house vinaigrette dressing on the bistro salad. There was enough dressing to make it tasty but not so much that it overwhelmed everything else. Having two grapes is a nice addition to the mix of flavors in the salad. There was also complimentary french bread. We did not think it was anything special, though. Even though they claim to bake it in their restaurant, it doesn't taste much better than what you would find at a local grocery store bakery. In particular, it was served at room temperature. For our entrees, we had both of the specials. She got the veal chop with dijon gravy, polenta, and asparagus. I got the baked grouper with mussels over rice with tomato and fennel stew. It was decorated with two fried spinach leaves; they were fun to eat! I asked for a substitution of whipped turnip potatoes instead of rice and was not charged extra. The tomato and fennel stew was a nice complement for the grouper.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Place!

Dined on November 21, 2015

La Baguette is consistent. Their lunch and dinner dishes are well prepared, flavorful, and the right size. On our last visit, I tried the veal cheeks. As Joe, our waiter, described it, similar to short ribs, but more flavorful...he was right. Joe is very knowledgeable about food, the dishes served and wines, he is there but not overbearing. One of our "go to" restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning

Dined on November 1, 2015

My fiancé and I went to this restaurant for our four year anniversary. It was a great spot, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, our waiter went over all of the specials and made suggestions that were really helpful. The food was beyond phenomenal and afterwords we had some cake from their bakery and it was some of the best cake I've ever had. Definitely five out of five stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

La Baguette Bistro is always quaint & co ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

La Baguette Bistro is always quaint & cozy with decadent entrée's that never disappoints. Also Terry is the greatest waiter in OKC who gives the best service hands down!

food2
ambience3
service3

Food not up to snuff!

Dined on September 30, 2015

Lunched with 2 friends. The salads were ho hum. Something was missing and we aren't sure what....the soup was good but all in all we felt like we probably wouldn't be coming back for lunch in a while.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome!!

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Food was great.... This is a "fancy-type" restaurant but my dining companion tonight was my 16 mo old... They were very kind and were gracious to provide (upon request) faster than average service to accomodate us... The waitstaff were friendly, informative and kind; the food was awesome (as usual)...and

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good Brunch

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

This was our first time there. We took friends visiting from Phoenix. It was an excellent brunch. We will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service4

disappointed

vip
Dined on August 31, 2015

Im not new to this restaurant, but new for lunch/brunch. Service was great but disappointed in their food. Not the same high quality food this restaurant had been known for.....to include the presentation.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for intimate birthday celebration

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

La Baguette was the perfect spot for me to bring my husband for an intimate dinner in celebration of his upcoming birthday. I wanted something quiet for a chance to enjoying visiting with him. It fit that "want" perfectly. The food was savory as always. We both enjoyed the specials that night... a red snapper and salmon. Another special reason I wanted to bring him to La Baguette was to show him the current gallery that is on display. They are featuring an artist that I am intrigued with and knew he would be too. We are making arrangements to purchase one of the paintings now. Our service was personable and we were treated like friends. We always appreciate that. Thanks for continuing to provide a wonderful experience for Oklahoma City dinners. -Heather Davis

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

We eat here frequently... Great food great atmosphere....we eat here with our very well-behaved toddler and they are gracious and kind to him and us at this date-oriented but family-friendly restaurant... They master it all :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A favorite.

Dined on August 29, 2015

After 13 years in OKC, La Baguette remains our favorite restaurant for ambiance, food, and wine. We often see friends there.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Katie

Dined on August 21, 2015

Over priced, tiny portion sizes, loud. They gave me 2 asparagus spears. 5 is one serving.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a Special Lunch

Dined on August 21, 2015

5 ladies celebrated here together for lunch. Everyone loved their food, and the service was great. Desserts are special too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

My favorite OKC restaurant!!

Dined on August 8, 2015

Have had several dinners here along with a recent birthday lunch for my friend. We waited a little while for the hostess to seat us, thus the 4 stars. Otherwise service was excellent. Food was wonderful as always. They kindly brought a cake slice as a surprise for my friend's birthday. Please note: I brought a French business associate here a couple of yrs ago and she loved it!!! She was very impressed with the food and the wine list and thought it was very authentic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorites.

Dined on July 24, 2015

We visit La Baguette once a month or so. We like the setting, convenience, staff, food, and wine list. It's sad to learn that Eric (maitre de ..sp?) is leaving. He created most of the French ambiance and will be missed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great burgers

Dined on July 21, 2015

I usually get the corsican burger everyrime and I love their shoestring fries(or pomme frites), but I have had some of their other menu items(the steak is great) and they are good as well. There are still a few things I want to try, so I will continue to frequent this establishment. It is a great local lunch spot.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on July 18, 2015

This was our first time at La Baguette and we will definitely be coming back! The service was outstanding and the food was delicious! I had the Omelet Royale. I thought it was exquisite. I now want to go back to try something different on the menu. If you are looking for new and different and quality service, then this is your place!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2

Could have been better.

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

Being that this is a French restaurant, Bastille Week is a celebration that this establishment embraces. It is during this week that I decided to dine here. The service was very lousy. It was busy, yes. But it seemed incredibly disorganized. After sitting there for fifteen minutes without being greeted by a waiter, we reached out to a manager passing by. The waiter who came up a few minutes later asked if we had been helped, and then proceeded to take our orders by saying "I guess I will be your waiter tonight." I never did get the ratatouille I ordered. The ravioli I did get was very good but it was a very small dish that left me rather hungry. The ambience was dark and private (which is something I like). I will give this place another chance, I just hope they do better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Very Good but Not Great Dining

vip
Dined on July 8, 2015

It has been a while since we've given La Baguette a try. We used to eat here a lot and then a few years ago the food became average. It is a Wednesday evening and it is packed. Most diners seem to be loyal customers with favorite dishes. The crowd is a little older. Immediately seated. Nice attentive server. Specials sound great. Cocktails are good. Negroni and some French bubbly. Special French cheese on fresh local heirloom tomatoes needs some extra flavor. The oil and balsamic drizzle is just that. French onion soup is very good. Baguettes and butter always good. Goat cheese salad entree is ok but goat cheese phylo is cold. Victoria fettuccine is ok but needs more flavor. Shrimp are large and meaty. In the past brunch is good, crepes and omelette sate staples. Filets in various presentations are popular. Good but still needs work. Like I said it was packed with happy regular customers. Everyone has different tastes. Mine require some more flavor even if subtle.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

I won't be coming back

vip
Dined on July 7, 2015

Everyone loves to take their mom out somewhere special for lunch on occasion. I made the mistake of bringing her here. Our server WAS SO RUDE. Oh my god, this man was so rude and demeaning and condescending, if my mother hadn't been there I would have had that man fired on the spot for treating me like that. Oh and your vegetarian sandwich. You pre-make them. Isn't that great for vegetarians such as myself who are allergic to mushrooms and ended up just having a salad when I wanted a meal. Heaven forbid I ask our delightful server (if I could remember his name I would put him on blast) if I could have the sandwich without mushrooms. Who knew slapping some veggies on two pieces of bread was so time consuming it has to be made in advance. My mother asked for no pesto on her chicken sandwich and it came out with pesto. I am never coming here again. I don't have to go out to eat and pay for a meal if I want to be treated like a nuisance. I get that it is French food but do you really need such uppity waiters to go along with it?

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

This is a quaint neighborhood restaurant with great food and bakery.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.