Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About L2 Grill - Fantasyland Hotel



17700-87 Avenue - Entrance 51
Edmonton, AB T5T 4V4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
177St - 87Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 444-5538

Website:
http://fantasylandhotel.com/dine/l2-grill

Parking Details:
L2 Grill, situated right inside West Edmonton Mall, offers plenty of free parking - look for Area 51

Public Transit:
West Edmonton Mall is a major hub for many local bus routes. In less than five minutes, guests using public transportation can walk through the mall to L2 Grill.

Executive Chef:
Sachin Joshi

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L2 Grill - Fantasyland Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Cozy (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Family Style (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was very disappointing. The server tho did an outstanding job, he was a fine dinning quality served.

And the dessert was AMAZING.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Beautiful display at Sunday brunch, this was a perfect pick for an anniversary. I loved everything, best prime rib I've tasted!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tapas, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service and an amazing meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was good. Service was very poor; we had to talk to the manager so we can get servers to clean our empty dishes off the table .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We arrived early and right from the start the staff was very friendly, from the Bottle of wine, to the appetizer and finally the main course, the service was excellent we did not have enough room for dessert as we were stuffed. As this was our first time at L2 I would recommend this restaurant and will be back to try other menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We have always enjoyed our experiences at this restaraunt; awesome food, great service and little things extra that are brought to the table are all appreciated

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a gentleman named Wallace as our server for our date night. He was extremely attentive and provided excellent customer service. Food was good ambiance was quiet nice decor. Very happy with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was perfect. Made a special occasion wonderful and i will definitely be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Greeted promptly and seated. Took a while to get a drink menu....food was good....nothing spectacular for the price. Biggest letdown was no coffee was offered although it was included on the menu for Valentine's day. Not going to return as there are better places that at least offer coffee at the end of a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time there, and it was amazing. The food was perfect, and we will definitely be back, and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing evening, great environment and ambiance inside l2! Will definitely be coming back! Very attentive to our needs being gluten and dairy free! Would recommend this plane to everyone! Keep up the high level of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Went to L2 for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. Wait staff were attentive and yet not intrusive. the menu was well laid out and contained something for everyone. Food came out in a timely manner and was prepared perfectly. No one at our table had anything but positives to say about the food quality. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the fourth year we have enjoyed New Year's Day Brunch at the L2 Grill at Fantasyland Hotel and we'll certainly be back next year! The selection of hot and cold buffet style food is amazing (including seafood) and the desserts are all excellent! (The dessert crepes had me going back for more.) This year there were only ten of us, but other years we've had up to 20. There is something for everyone (including our vegan and gluten-free friends). The price is very reasonable given the selection and quality of food offered at the buffet. We can't think of a better way to bring in the New Year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The choice if food and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a positive outcome with these people. We intend to return many times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Server was very unengaged and distant. Had a 5 course dinner (the only option), but plates just dropped off with no description. Drinks left empty for long periods. None of our dishes were quality checked by any staff. We were out for a nice new years dinner as a couple... Only to be sat beside a screaming baby for the entire duration of our meal. Management was unable to relocate us. The room was loud based on this but otherwise very low energy and had zero atmosphere. Food was average at best. Lamb was decent but over seasoned. Salmon 2nd course was flavourless... The large dollop of mayonnaise(?!!) was the most flavourful ingredient in the dish. Dessert tasted like it was a freezer premade cake. Very uninspired. This was my first experience here and will most likely be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have dined here several times and have enjoyed all of our visits. The food has always been prepared to perfection. The staffs are very friendly and eager to attend to our needs. When we are looking for that special place L2 Grill tops our list. I just love the mouth-watering steaks...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Everything was fabulous!! Can't wait to go back:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love that it was well lit and not dark like so many dining places. Also the menu was ledge-able and had bigger print. It was also very descriptive of menu items! Service was outstanding. All the food had great presentation and arrived hot from the kitchen. The fresh bread rolls were Awesome. My three guests raved about their food but for some reason my Strip Loin arrived as if it was seared overdone on one side. As a cook for Delta hotels the only thing I can think of is that it was microwaved to thaw and was left in to long. I would cut a section of the top and then it was nice tasting. It was weird. No other way to describe it. I wouldn't order the steak again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had Christmas dinner here was not a traditional Christmas meal, but it was amazing and so was the service. Also loved the fact they still had children's menu as the plated dinner was expensive and most children would not eat it.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for this Christmas Dinner and thought the food was very good. My husband did not like the Edamame Cappuccino to start but the rest of the courses made up for it. The White Pumpkin and chocolate slice was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas supper. The starter, Edamame Cappuccino had us a bit confused, but it was so delicious. A salad came next, more or less non-descript. There were three entree's - we chose the Turkey Wellington. It was excellent. Huge portion sizes - neither of us finished and we don't have small appetites. Dessert was a scrumptious pumpkin flavored cake/pie. This was our first time at L2, and will definitely not be the last. The service was great; always attentive, but not in your way at all. I was a bit concerned about the dress code when I first booked, but no worries, whether you're in jeans or a suit. I felt like it would suit everyone. My husband was in jeans, I was in dressier clothes. Christmas was a set cost (I believe $55/person) and the drinks were a bit pricey. I glanced at the regular menu and didn't think the prices were high for the caliber of restaurant. We'll be back for a regular meal, and most definitely for next Christmas!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our only experience has been the Christmas brunch. Food not as good as last year, and more expensive. Some of the 'creative' touches spoiled the dish, i.e., the fruitcake with coconut, the turkey dressing was pathetic, the halibut was dry as paper, the hash browns tasted funny, and too many of the desserts were just different variations of plastic cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Came here in 2015 for Christmas brunch as well. Not as busy this time around, even at noon. Not quite as much food as last year. It would have been nice to have carved turkey to go along with the roast beef. This would make a complete assortment.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Tha ambience was great! Service was terrible!!!!!
Some people may like having the server/waiter hovering over them but not us!
Totally put us all off. Not only was he hovering but he was also very pushy!!!
If he was trying to be 'attentive' to his customers' needs, it didnt appear as such. Very intrusive, distracting and borderline rude. My colleagues were trying very hard to give him the benefit of the doubt but it sure was annoying!!! Would have been a lovely time except for that.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed a lunch with friends, the food was high quality and well presented , loved the vegetable dishes and the salad bar, the sticky date pudding was really delicious. We will dine with you again. Thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great Brunch? At the Mammoth West Ed Mall? Yes

2 birthdays coincided, so we decided on the nearby L2, and what a pleasant surprise that was. The L2 brunch was a tad cheaper because we were a tad older: seniors. Salads featured Waldorf, potato, kale, 4-bean, shell pasta, rice with veggies, and lean pink lox. And more anti-salads --tilapia in a chili warm sauce, pink roast beef with Yorkshire Pudding, chicken roasted to cotton candy tenderness, a ton of escalloped 'taters, and the ubiquitous l bacon, eggs, and sausages, diced 'taters, excellent breads in a dozen forms, pancakers and French toasties. Yum, indeed, plus the usual suspects apple and OJ juices, coffees, and teas. Quality was very good-to-excellent.
OK? Did I forget anything your group might care about? Desserts, oh, cheesecake for the birthday boys only, mit eine kleine serenade, but for everyone tiny crème b. cups, mandarin cream cups, chocolate chunky cakelets, lemon meringue, ... I ate 5 desserts because after 6 you could die. Once upon a time, the L2 Sunday Brunch offered even more varieties of foods and sweets, and heart soups, too. But now there probably is less waste and fewer choices, none of which matters since what exists is really a pleasingly plump feast at a reasonable price, served by careful, considerate servers. One query: No spoons in sight at table? Why? Go, enjoy, eat up a storm, and ask for a spoon for the coffee or dessert... there're free.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Once again a great experience with excellent food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This restaurant was by far one of the best I've experienced in Edmonton! The atmosphere was relaxing and the decor is beautiful. Our server, Wallace was so pleasent and treated us extremely well. My peppercorn steak was to die for-- SO delicious! Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful elegance throughout the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing food and customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Many choice of food and taste good. Great services.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent meal serviced by an outstanding professional waiter. Rare to find such a knowledgeable waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I attended supper with a group of seven women who are all involved with a provincial not-for-profit organization. After a long and mentally exhausting day the atmosphere, menu and service brought back our energy. Everyone found something on the menu and the food was excellent. The group choices ranged from steak to shellfish to chicken to salmon and everything was done to perfection. Presentation was superb and a wonderful time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We ordered steak and it was amazing. Mine was a little under cooked but my boyfriends was spectacular. The service was wonderful. Our server was very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It was a beautiful place with great food!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service superb due to the fact we were the only patrons at 6 pm on a Friday night? The food was excellent; everything was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went for brunch on our wedding anniversary and were treated very well. My wife particularly enjoyed her egg white omelette while I particularly enjoyed the fresh pancakes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was a surprise. It is in a hotel in a mall. The food was great and the service attentive and very good. The meal was excellent. We celebrated our anniversary and they went all out. It was truly a surprise as to the great food and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were there for Sunday Brunch. Terrific food and a wonderful experience. If there was one thing I would recommend is that, if the venue allows a 1:00 pm reservation, then the food should remain available until 2:15 or 2:30, and not dismantled at 2:00. We found we were a little rushed, but other than that, all was fantastic. Would definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and the staff made us feel so special. They were kind, accommodating and courteous. It made our special occasion that much better. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.