About L2 Grill - Fantasyland Hotel

17700-87 Avenue - Entrance 51
Edmonton, AB T5T 4V4
View Larger Map



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Lunch: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
177St - 87Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 444-5538

Website:
http://fantasylandhotel.com/dine/l2-grill

Parking Details:
L2 Grill, situated right inside West Edmonton Mall, offers plenty of free parking - look for Area 51

Public Transit:
West Edmonton Mall is a major hub for many local bus routes. In less than five minutes, guests using public transportation can walk through the mall to L2 Grill.

Executive Chef:
Sachin Joshi

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

L2 Grill Restaurant is now accepting reservations for the holiday season. Plan your party (Birthday, Anniversary, wedding, etc...), customize your menu in advance from our Executive Chef. We promise an unforgettable dining experience with our amazing ambiance, decor and service.

L2 Grill - Fantasyland Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (10)
good for groups (9)
great for brunch (7)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
romantic (6)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We always enjoy L2 Grill , sad that the ...

Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy L2 Grill , sad that the ribs were no longer on menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is amazing!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food here was amazing, I went for my birthday with my daughter and it was great. The service was so worth the extra money. The staff was very helpful and I had great service. The drink selection is amazing, and the food...wow!! Must visit again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

It's Okay

Dined on May 21, 2016

If you want a fast meal, then it's okay. Food isn't great, the brunch is like the continental that you'd get at most hotels. Service is okay, nothing special.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

review

Dined on May 20, 2016

Dated decor, calamari was burned, food was overpriced, waiter was very kind but what watched us too closely - felt uncomfortable at times. Not even busy on a Friday, poor locations in the mall.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

not good bang for your buck

Dined on April 17, 2016

So overpriced. Brunch was $30/head. Food was sub par, ingredients weren't very good. Over all, of the 3 people who were there, ALL of us thought it was awful.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Hostess needs customer service training.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The hostess was awful, it's either she didn't have training or she did but she just didn't know what was the right thing to do. We were there maybe about 20 minutes earlier, & the hostess was rude to us, told us that it was still early. So, we had to leave & come back which I get & should not have been problem if she talked to us politely. The food was great, our server was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service

Dined on March 25, 2016

As always, Wallace is, and has been, our favorite server in the Edmonton area. The filet mignon, although only 7 ounces, was delicious! The cream of veg soup was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service put those 2 t ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Good food and good service put those 2 together and you'll have a fantastic evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very romantic

Dined on February 16, 2016

Very romantic

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wallace is Awesome

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our server was Wallace was the highlight of the night. Friendly, energetic, awesome, generous and really made you feel welcome and valued. Food and ambiance were also great for Valentine's Day as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was ok, but not at this pricepoint

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was poor. The menu looked good, but the food was underwhelming. I have visited most of the fine dining options in the area. L2 is in that pricepoint, but the food and service do not hold up. It is a nice room, but that is about all that is first rate.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Romantic, great value

Dined on February 14, 2016

Chose this restaurant based on last minute availability, and open table's great reviews. I was not disappointed. The food was delicious service was great. A bit expensive, but you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

The hostess did everything in her power ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The hostess did everything in her power to help us but the wait staff and manager were a let down at every turn.

food4
ambience4
service4

Family birthday celebration .Four of us ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Family birthday celebration .Four of us had the family platter which was on expensive side but well worth it for what you get. Great place to stay gone come back for sure.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was very tasty, not disappointed at all. Service was friendly and prompt but not intrusive, although one server ( not our main one) I don't think knew much for English. Between appies and meal they even brought out FREE tasters of a sumptuous beef dish and a little sorbet. Only thing off putting I could say is a couple bigger groups with loud kids came through so it dampened the romantic aspect a little but overall was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Had a great birthday celebration at this restaurant. Only thing too watch for - triple check the wine they serve you. There were several different bottles from the same winery, and they brought out the expensive Tempranillo instead of the requested Carmenere. They insisted it was the Carmenere that they were serving. Oh well - not a problem in the end, the service, the food and the wine were very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome experience,definitely we'll come back

Dined on January 30, 2016

great food and presentation.very welcoming staff.they are very polite and specific with the product they're serving which indicates they are knowledgeable with the product they are selling.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent meal

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was very tasty - well prepared. We had the Feast for 2 and it was indeed a treat. The complimentary appetizer was a salmon sushi. The lobster was fresh and the tenderloin was done just right. The chocolate treats at the end rounded out a fabulous meal. We will definitely come back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My dining experience at the L2 Grill

Dined on January 18, 2016

What can I say but our experience here was absolutely fantastic. The food was second to none and the service provided by our waiter Wallace was amazingly polite, friendly and efficient. My wife and I were made to feel very special here. I strongly recommend the L2 Grill to everyone. The only negative comment I have was the screaming children in the background. It didn't last too long as these people were leaving. It would be nice to have adult only dining after 8 pm. I have to say though, even with this small disturbance, we had an amazing dining experience. Thank you to our waiter Wallace and all of the staff that made our evening so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the wonderful food!

Dined on January 15, 2016

The beet salad was divine and beautifully presented. Crab cakes were soooo delicious. Warm bread, great service and excellent atmosphere. It's going to be my favorite new restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2

I expected the food to be a lot better t ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

I expected the food to be a lot better then it was...... I love dining out; and LOVE Sunday brunch. So to have low quality food in an establishment that you would expect more from is quite disappointing. The bacon was tough like bad beef jerky; Eggs Benedict was on a dried out old hard bun...... Online I had seen a menu for breakfast as well as the buffet option. We were not given this option by our server. And my friend was basically ignored for the 20 minutes that she was waiting for me. She ordered drinks when she arrived and no one came back to her until I arrived 20 minutes later.... Still empty handed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's small and fairly quite and the serv ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

It's small and fairly quite and the service was great. Wallace was very attentive and we even received a complimentary appetizer. Our compliments to the chief who makes the chocolates. Our food was cooked to perfection. Thank You again for an excellent evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food and service outstanding

Dined on January 1, 2016

All eight of us who dined remarked that both food and service was top notch.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous Food

Dined on December 28, 2015

We had the L2 feast for two and it was by far the most delicious meal we have ever eaten in our lives!! The lobster tail literally melted in my mouth, the jumbo prawns were cooked and seasoned to perfection, the Cajun chicken was sooo tasty and the beef was perfect. The entire feast was mouth watering!! Cannot wait to return and order this again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, a bit pricey

Dined on December 28, 2015

5 of us had a family dinner at L2 with a 6pm booking. Service was polite and prompt from the front desk to our waiter. Two of our party shared the L2 mixed grill for two which was ample and very good. The rest of us had lamb, bison or steak. All meat and seafood cooked properly and the fluffy mashed potatoes were excellent. We enjoyed the meal but it was at the top end of my price range so I am pleased all was cooked to order! Nice presentation too. Only comment is that some of the waiters must have been very new abd didn't know the details of the menu but I'm sure they will be up to speed in a week or two.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was fine

Dined on December 25, 2015

I had high expectations for this restaurant (for some reason) but it was just an average restaurant. The food was alright, they had a crepe station and a omelette station which was nice, and the buffet was ok, but felt very cramped and a little disorganized. There was no mashed potatoes for Christmas dinner! The desserts were good, and the service was fine. Nothing exceptional stood out, it was fine. It was Christmas so it was busy. If I was at West Edm Fantasyland hotel I could see myself going back but I wouldn't go out of my way to go there.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

AWesome!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Our first time here and we love it! The overall service are amazing! We would recommend this!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

No point and only one ate

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

We went to L2 and we were excited about the menu. My husband ordered the short ribs --- well they came tough and he sent them back. Our waitress said the kitchen would have it out in 5 minutes. Well after 20 mins and my husband eating half of mine we said forget it. They didn't even say sorry or offer something to my husband who had waited the whole time we were there. Oh--- and we NEVER got our 1000 points for booking on the website either. Yuck!

food5
ambience5
service5

Hear! Hear!!

Dined on November 24, 2015

Our supper at L2 Grill was truly exceptional! The food was fantastic, the ambiance was lovely, and the service was unlike anything I have ever experienced! Our server, Wallace, went above and beyond! From the fancy drinks for the kids, to the blueberry sorbet to cleanse our palates between dishes, to the in house made chocolate truffles... He was very attentive, and generous. My daughter said she felt like royalty, and I'm so glad she said so, as it defined our experience! Thank You, Wallace, for your efforts! They were very much appreciated!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date

Dined on November 11, 2015

Amazing meal! So great, we wanted to hug the chef. Very accomodating to food allergies. Great atmosphere. It was wonderful for a romantic date! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to dinner to celebrate my wife"s ...

Dined on November 2, 2015

We went to dinner to celebrate my wife"s birthday. Our sever, Wallace, was excellent, made us feel so special. He brought us an appetizer, compliments of the chef. Dinner was awesome, so tasty and very attractive presentation, steak & lobster and thai chicken. They also presented my wife with a dessert tray with a candle on it. Thanks to Wallace for making it such special evening. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Went to L2 for Thanksgiving dinner. Service was attentive with both the waiter and bus person watching over our table. We started off with a salad which was not heavy on the dressing (a good thing) followed by the turkey which was a tasty variation of the "bird" with the way they rolled stuffing and ground turkey into the breast meat. Following turkey was the dessert plate followed by truffles to end the evening. My only "complaint" was too much food...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The dessert was a masterpiece!

Dined on October 3, 2015

I decided to take my husband here for his birthday dinner on our way to a concert in Spruce Grove. We had to eat early, so we were the first ones there when the restaurant opened at 5:30 pm. The service, from start to finish, was highly attentive. We were left wanting nothing. I usually ignore the bread, but there was a nice selection and it arrived piping hot, fresh from the oven and absolutely delicious, and served with 3 types of butter, so I couldn't resist. We shared the tempura lamb chop appetizer, which was lovely. Included with our meal, they also brought us a nice amuse bouche and a palate cleansing sorbet. I thought they had a pretty good choice of wines by the glass. For my entree, I had the duck, which was served in quite a large portion, lean and tasty. The accompaniment (kale, beets and other root veggies in a sauce) was a bit too sweet for my taste. I am usually disappointed in dessert (they look great but generally they're just sweet with not a lot of flavour), but the apricot semifreddo was a masterpiece. The apricot flavour was perfect and it had a layer of the tastiest raspberries. The raspberry sauce was bursting with natural flavour. The semifreddo came with "chips" made from crushed almonds (very unique), as well as candied ginger. The candied ginger was unlike any I have ever tasted before - spectacular. There was also a dollop of a mildly flavoured, very thick and rich, whipped cream. All these different flavours synergized beautifully for an unbeatable taste experience. Even though I was very full by this point, I couldn't get enough. Overall,the L2 Grill just a great experience that I would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice overall for a Mall-Hotel-Restaurant

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

Our first visit here - Friday night and 1,000 pts for dining early. Big comfy booth. Really great service. Polite and professional. Meals were well prepared and just the right size. The lamb and bison were both fantastic. No need to order an appetizer as the lovely buns and fancy flavoured butters are enough to fill the void before dinner. Seeing as we were only one of two or three tables that night (again we were in and out early) the chef started us with a complimentary 'tiny bite' and ended the meal with a few homemade chocolates. Dee-lish!! Too bad it is such a ways to go for us living on the northeast end. But we'll probably be back when we have a day of errands that takes us out to the mall. Dinner for two with tax, tip and a bottle of wine, approx. $170.

food3
ambience4
service4

Great Place

Dined on September 13, 2015

Great Place for Sunday Brunch. The food and service was good. Our waiter was very attentive. Good location as well. Would recommend to anyone for Sunday Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was great!

Dined on August 30, 2015

The selection of food was terrific & our server was very attentive to us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

So good!

Dined on July 19, 2015

Our group of 8 ladies visited L2 Grill for our friend's bachelorette. They treated us so well. Everyone raved about their food- even the next day, we were all talking about how delicious it was. Wallace was fantastic. We were even given a complimentary appetizer and chocolates, and the bride-to-be was given a delicious cake with "Congratulations" spelled on it. Definitely recommend- glad we went here and not another not-to-be-named restaurant in West Ed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Night! A Night to Rememeber!

Dined on June 21, 2015

We had came in on Saturday evening to celebrate my boyfriend and my birthday we were amazed on how good the food and drinks were! our server Sultan was amazing what he did for us towards the end of the night was so special and it meant a lot to my boyfriend and I! Thank you Sultan!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

Dined on June 14, 2015

we have been to L2 many times in the past, we found this time to be disappointing, the food quality lacked. it is unlikely that we will be back. :(

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Must go!!

Dined on June 7, 2015

Food was fantastic! Service was second to none in the Edmonton area! My husband and I went for our 14 wedding anniversary and the experience was unforgettable!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.