HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

L. May Eatery

4.6
951 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies

About

L. May Eatery is a pizza restaurant in Dubuque, Iowa that features a market driven menu offering gourmet comfort food, cocktails, wine and craft beer. The restaurant features an upscale, yet casual environment in which to enjoy a meal with family or friends.

L. May Eatery serves lunch and dinner daily and offers a wide assortment of appetizers, soup and salads, main entr�es, pizza pies, sides and dessert on the menu. Appetizers and small plate choices include artichoke and spinach dip, mussels, soup du jour, roasted winter salad and cheesecake bruschetta. L. May Eatery�s main course options include Long Island duckling, salmon, chipotle steak lasagna, supreme pizza, Isle of Capri pizza and pulled pork mac and cheese pizza.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fusion / Eclectic, Pizzeria, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Open for private groups or catering
Dinner: Sunday, Monday and Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(563) 556-0505
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tony Joos
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
10th & Main
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
No meters after 5pm.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
More info here:
http://www.lmayeatery.com/groups.html
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 951 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6  based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Barry (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on April 21, 2016

Love the new menu!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 15, 2016

The menu had changed some since we were last at L May, but the choices were still excellent. We had the pork shanks, and they were fantastic. Our son had the special- also excellent. Our server was attentive and the setting was fun. We saw all kinds of people we hadn't seen in years to make for a perfect evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 9, 2016

The spinach artichoke dip was delicious as always. The caramel cake dessert was wonderful. They have gluten free options.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 9, 2016

I had the special and my girlfriend had the lasagna. Both were excellent!. We had the mixed berry sangria for a before dinner drink, and a chocolate martini to accompany the dessert, which was double chocolate brownie. Everything was awesome. I will be returning.

Report
Helpful
magic (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 8, 2016

LMAy as usual a good meal with great service! We enjoy going here because close to home and we see the special for the week from the emails we get from L May every Thursday!

Report
Helpful
viptfoto (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 7, 2016

I love the Vegetable salad, AND the PIZZA is a favorite!

Report
Helpful
GreenG (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on April 7, 2016

We have dined here several times when we stay in Dubuque. The food and atmosphere is great.

Report
Helpful
RLCWI (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on April 3, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here, and this occasion was no exception. The butternut squash risotto cake was beautiful and delicious, with a crunchy surface and soft interior. It was served on a bed of roasted vegetable and hazelnuts, which was excellent for my vegetarian preferences, but for anyone who simply loves good food. There is always an interesting variety of option on the menu, including some of the traditional favorites, but also a few new seasonal dishes. Good services and environment are simply bonuses.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Milwaukee)
5.0  Dined on March 26, 2016

Our server was wonderful. Just the right amount of attention. Both meals were delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed and inviting!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food props for IA. Chef tried a little to hard to make interesting cuisine, but fell a bit short. Escargot was drenched in blue-cheese sauce. A little might have been interesting but was drowned in it! Duck cassoulet had andouille and could survive without it! Great meal worth a visit!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Memphis)
5.0  Dined on March 19, 2016

My favorite place to eat in Dubuque!!!!!
I take all my out of town guests here, and everyone has loved it:)
I am never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
lcjc (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on March 14, 2016

The restaurant has more that one room and we were taken to a side room which had 4 tables in it. At one table was a family party of 8, at another table was a party of 2 and another table with a party of 4. We were a party of 2. It was a small room and the party of 4 sitting at the window were so noisy I couldn't hear my husband sitting across from me. The family party was very quiet and polite but this other party was just obvious to every one else. I got up and went to the hostess and said I cannot sit in that room. She agreed they were very loud and said she would move us to another room. She was very nice and helped us move our wine to another table, After that the evening was great. We had the bison meatballs for an appetizer and they were great. For dinner I had the filet minion and my husband had the walleye pike , both were very good and cooked perfect. They also have a nice wine list. It was my husband's birthday and I'm glad I didn't let these noisy dinners ruin our celebration.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2016

We thought the food was great!! I was a little disappointed as our table for two was in front of a door! I faced outside with my back to the restaurant. The seating felt cramped . Otherwise we loved it !!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on March 12, 2016

We were visiting Dubuque, and had a single evening to eat out. This restaurant was outstanding! Great service, good food, awesome beer. Will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Des Moines)
5.0  Dined on March 11, 2016

This place was amazing! Took my wife there for her 30th birthday, and thankfully we made reservation because the place was full. I noted in the reservation that it was my wife's birthday and they made sure to have a nice table saved for us by the front window and even wrote happy birthday on the table (a surprised dessert came after dinner too)! We arrived a little early but enjoyed a drink at the bar, and our table was ready right at the reservation time. Staff was very friendly and the overall environment was pleasant! Great food with portions that fit the price. So happy I choose this place and highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
64