Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Vinny Vanucchi's 'Little Italy' - DubuqueVinny Vanucchi's 'Little Italy' - Dubuque
(348)
$$$$
Italian | Dubuque, Dubuque
Booked 3 times today
Woodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - DubuqueWoodfire Grille at Diamond Jo - Dubuque
(380)
$$$$
Steak | Dubuque, Dubuque
Booked 11 times today
Tony Roma's - DubuqueTony Roma's - Dubuque
(11)
$$$$
American | Dubuque, Dubuque
Booked 1 time today

About L. May Eatery

1072 Main St.
Dubuque, IA 52001
View Larger Map

A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Pizzeria, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Open for private groups or catering
Dinner: Sunday, Monday and Thursday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
10th & Main

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(563) 556-0505

Website:
http://www.lmayeatery.com/

Parking Details:
No meters after 5pm.

Executive Chef:
Tony Joos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
More info here:
http://www.lmayeatery.com/groups.html

Restaurant Photos

  • L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
  • L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
  • House Salad - L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
  • Bread And Butter Spread - L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
House Salad - L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA
Bread And Butter Spread - L. May Eatery, Dubuque, IA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri 4:30PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM
Sort By:
S
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the new menu!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Love the new menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner spot

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The menu had changed some since we were last at L May, but the choices were still excellent. We had the pork shanks, and they were fantastic. Our son had the special- also excellent. Our server was attentive and the setting was fun. We saw all kinds of people we hadn't seen in years to make for a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The spinach artichoke dip was delicious as always. The caramel cake dessert was wonderful. They have gluten free options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The L.May is a gem. It is a must try.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I had the special and my girlfriend had the lasagna. Both were excellent!. We had the mixed berry sangria for a before dinner drink, and a chocolate martini to accompany the dessert, which was double chocolate brownie. Everything was awesome. I will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

night out for fish

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2016

LMAy as usual a good meal with great service! We enjoy going here because close to home and we see the special for the week from the emails we get from L May every Thursday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love LMAY

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2016

I love the Vegetable salad, AND the PIZZA is a favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in Dubuque

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We have dined here several times when we stay in Dubuque. The food and atmosphere is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

L.May - consistently wonderful

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 3, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here, and this occasion was no exception. The butternut squash risotto cake was beautiful and delicious, with a crunchy surface and soft interior. It was served on a bed of roasted vegetable and hazelnuts, which was excellent for my vegetarian preferences, but for anyone who simply loves good food. There is always an interesting variety of option on the menu, including some of the traditional favorites, but also a few new seasonal dishes. Good services and environment are simply bonuses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was wonderful. Just the right ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our server was wonderful. Just the right amount of attention. Both meals were delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed and inviting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food props for IA. Chef tried a lit ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food props for IA. Chef tried a little to hard to make interesting cuisine, but fell a bit short. Escargot was drenched in blue-cheese sauce. A little might have been interesting but was drowned in it! Duck cassoulet had andouille and could survive without it! Great meal worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 19, 2016

My favorite place to eat in Dubuque!!!!!

I take all my out of town guests here, and everyone has loved it:)

I am never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2016

The restaurant has more that one room and we were taken to a side room which had 4 tables in it. At one table was a family party of 8, at another table was a party of 2 and another table with a party of 4. We were a party of 2. It was a small room and the party of 4 sitting at the window were so noisy I couldn't hear my husband sitting across from me. The family party was very quiet and polite but this other party was just obvious to every one else. I got up and went to the hostess and said I cannot sit in that room. She agreed they were very loud and said she would move us to another room. She was very nice and helped us move our wine to another table, After that the evening was great. We had the bison meatballs for an appetizer and they were great. For dinner I had the filet minion and my husband had the walleye pike , both were very good and cooked perfect. They also have a nice wine list. It was my husband's birthday and I'm glad I didn't let these noisy dinners ruin our celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Seating

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We thought the food was great!! I was a little disappointed as our table for two was in front of a door! I faced outside with my back to the restaurant. The seating felt cramped . Otherwise we loved it !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

We were visiting Dubuque, and had a single evening to eat out. This restaurant was outstanding! Great service, good food, awesome beer. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This place was amazing! Took my wife there for her 30th birthday, and thankfully we made reservation because the place was full. I noted in the reservation that it was my wife's birthday and they made sure to have a nice table saved for us by the front window and even wrote happy birthday on the table (a surprised dessert came after dinner too)! We arrived a little early but enjoyed a drink at the bar, and our table was ready right at the reservation time. Staff was very friendly and the overall environment was pleasant! Great food with portions that fit the price. So happy I choose this place and highly recommend it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointed

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2016

There are always good meals to be had at L. May. This time was no exception, but what stood out more was the service. We had a reservation for 7, and by 7:15 were not yet at our table. I know this happens from time to time, but it was still awkward milling around the packed bar waiting. We were eventually seated, and the first thing the we were told was that the manager was comping us an appetizer (pulled pork nachos -- very good and plenty for our group). Excellent service continued throughout the evening. When you get consistently good food coupled with really good service, that's a winning combination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My new favorite place!!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2016

All I can say is.....I LOVE THIS PLACE!! The owners and the staff are so friendly and fun and the food is amazing. You won't find a dish that you won't simply love. We can't wait until we can dine outside this summer. Looking forward to our next visit.........and it will be real soon!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Great Experience

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 28, 2016

I love LMay. The staff is outstanding and always very accomadating. We were late for our reservation but they still got us in. The ambience is intimate and cozy and the food is always delicious. They have great cocktails, great menu and always make you feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We dine there frequently and have never had a bad meal. The wait staff and the bar staff are very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"L" is for Love this place!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 28, 2016

L May never disappoints. Whether it's for a group or dining for two, the entire dining experience is top notch. I've never had a bad meal, and the service has always been exceptional. I highly recommend L May!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite place

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2016

LMay is always our first choice for a nice evening out! Excellent pizza!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant evening, great food and ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 21, 2016

A very pleasant evening, great food and service. Very accommodating and I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L. May Eatery

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was great as always. The pork shank was fall off the bone tender and the dessert was out of this world! Service was very good and our waitress was very friendly and happy to give suggestions. Our friends came with us this time and were quite satisfied! Would definitely recommend trying this place if you are ever in Dubuque!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great romantic dinner spot.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2016

One of our go-to places for a romantic dinner, or a dinner with a small group. Friendly bartenders who make good drinks, super decent beer and wine lists. Staff is just awesome, never even had mediocre service.

And, the menu offerings rotate often, so there always seems to be something new to try out, and what comes out does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L. May Eatery Valentines Special

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Only thing I didn't like was the special menu for Valentines but other than that it was way nice. Asked for a nice cozy table and got the booth in the corner with pillows...nice. Date had the Chicken & Dumplings and she said it was fantastic...I had the beef tips special. All the food was hot and good and we left full.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Accommodating and delicious!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I booked our reservation for one of the busiest days of the year--Valentines Day. But then a snow storm intervened on our travels from another state. When I called to change the reservation, l May was incredibly understanding. They responded , "just get here when you get here and drive safe!" When we arrive more than an hour late, we mere greeted by the owner and ushered to a primo table. The meal was terrific and wait staff was gracious and knowledgeable. Without a doubt, this is the best restaurant in the region!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always like dining in Dubuque at L May

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food, wine and service. Need I say more about this best restaurant in Dubuque. We will be back soon I am sure of it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine Perfection

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Four of us went on Valentine's Day. We were from out-of-town. There was no hub bub or rush that usually occurs at restaurants on these holidays. In fact, our server was outstanding. The food outstanding - filets to dream about. The drinks, appetizers and desserts were terrific. Service was fast and the spot was in a holiday spirit. A great find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines dinner

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We chose LMAY for Valentines day dinner. It us a step up from our usual Saturday night dinning out. They offered special drinks for the occasion which was very good. My husband ordered a Margarita which he said was excellent. I ordered salmon with vegetables which was very good. He ordered filet mignon which was bigger than he expected, very good also. I also ordered red velvet cheesecake which was amazing! Service very good. Will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Weekend

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2016

What a beautiful night we spent at LMay! My husband and I enjoyed our dinner and much needed time together. We loved having Nate as our server, and Chef Tony did an amazing job on the food!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I chose L. May for our Valentine's Day dinner prior to attending a show in Dubuque. We were travelling in from out of town. This was the perfect level for the night. We were seated quickly, our server was attentive and the food was excellent. Will definitely be back and try some of the non-Valentine day menu offerings. The atmosphere was romantic and we were able to hold a nice conversation even when they were at their busiest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food and a great way to spend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious food and a great way to spend Valentine's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I drove from out of town to eat dinner here. Nate was an awesome server who was spot on with his recommendations. The food was delightfully delicious. Great beer and wine selections at this place. We will definitely be back. Thanks for the welcoming hospitality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Potion, drink special which was delicious

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Filet mignon is absolutely delicious! Melts in your mouth! The drink special, Love Potion, was fantastic and very refreshing! I love the red pepper butter!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2016

Always a good experience at LMay. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town guests

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Always fun to take out of town people to knowing they will be impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best places in town! Not only ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2016

One of the best places in town! Not only is the food amazing, the ambiance and service is top notch and extremely hard to beat. If you are lucky enough to get Andrea as your server, you are guaranteed to have an exquisite experience - although, it is pretty much a guarantee to have an incredible time regardless (but Andrea is awesome :) )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So-so

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 2, 2016

My experience was mixed. The bread was dry. The waitress was friendly but slow and she forgot something, but then didn't charge me for it when I reminded her so that made up for it. The lobster lasagna was good but I'm not sure it deserves the moniker of house specialty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Missing music

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We love LMay although some background music would have made it much nicer. Felt like something was missing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a fabulous restaurant with terri ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant with terrific and creative food and warm and inviting ambiance. My favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.