About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: (408) 377-6456

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (42)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Groups (33)
See All
Fun (32)
Kid-friendly (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Family Style (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 14 hours ago

Great as always, food on point. When busy service lacks a bit but its worth the wait. Awesome place, even after 30-40 times it doesn't get old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good. Service was decent, although forgot one of our drink orders until almost done. Bar area was run down. Dining area was so loud, literally had to yell at friends 1 seat away because the ambient noise was so high. Not a good place if you want to have a conversation with anyone your going with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent place to celebrate my son's 21st. Lively and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

Kyoto Palace was the perfect spot to have a surprise birthday dinner for my friend. She was totally surprised. The only complaint I can make is it took longer than expected to be seated. But I guess that could have been my fault... maybe.

The food was delicious and the chef was funny. Would recommend this location for groups and birthdays.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful relaxed dinner with my girlfriend. Met new people and we all laughed and had a great time. i would recommend Kyoto Palace to anyone of any age.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant is looking a bit tired and is in need of a remodel. The food is good, but we felt the quality and service have declined. The chef we had was OK, but clearly just going through the motions. Now a very average Tappan experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Fun place to take your family. The kids were amazed with the ambiance and the chefs. My wife and I enjoyed the scenery as well. We were able to take a bit of a break from always having to be hands on with the kids since they were mesmerized by the chef and his cooking skills.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

we have been celebrating birthdays atg Kyoto for over 15 years and have never been disappointed. The only negative I might have is that the ice cream portions that come with your meal for dessert were a tad bit on the skimpy size for some of the servings, but not all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Kyoto Palace was Awesome! The food was really good and cooked perfectly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a fun dining experience, and the food was wonderful! The lobster was amazing! Thank you for providing such a unique dining experience! All of the staff was pleasant and welcoming!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent service and food was great. The chef congratulated our graduate repeatedly making him feel very special.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Love this place! Great food, entertaining and perfect for family fun, too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

A great family experience, we celebrate birthdays here. We love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great restaurant, but sitting next to strangers in a really loud restaurant can detract from the overall experience. Food and servers are always great. A little pricy, but still give it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Had an 8:00 reservation got seated at 8:45, three chefs working for 9 tables, we waited an hour and a half for service before we left and went to taco bravo, much better service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Busy, noisy, fun. Not for the hard of hearing or those who are fussy about a spotless environment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This place was way to load for my enjoyment. The people were screaming, they need to install some sound deadening material somehow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Brought my 2 teenage daughters for dinner and they loved the food. They already want to come back again. Our chef wasn't much of a showman on the grill but I don't care for much of that. A little pricey but worth the occasional visit at least for my wallet. Will be back

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, fun environment. Little pricy. Great cook, sense of humor. Tasty food , fast service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was out 3rd time to Kyoto, returning with family for mother's day. We were a party of 10 and several of us had tummy aches that evening. The food quality has gone down! The soup has no flavor! Even the coke seemed watered down as did the sesame sauce. We will not be returning to this restaurant. Had a horrible end to mother's day where I was up with stomach cramps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is always a nice change for the normal restaurant and the food is usually pretty good, although not as good as Benihana. This time I had chicken and shrimp. The shrimp was very good, but the chicken was not good, so did not eat it. The other person at our table that had chicken agreed with me. The fried rice and veges were great! If you want a quiet conversation, this is not the place to go. It's hard to hear the person next to you. Others said their food was just ok.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Host hostes very welcoming. Bar tenders are great fast and frienly with prompt service. Food had no flavor very bland. Waitress waiter did not offer the specials nor the drink (champange) that came with entree, until i had asked. Cook seemed depressed no entertaiment and thats what the resturaunt is known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day. The menu was a "holiday" menu and was on average $40 to $45 a plate. I'd heard good things about this restaurant. We enjoy this type of cooking and food so we decided to try it. The restaurant looked old and dark. Our server didn't bring spoons with our soup didn't get our drink or food order correct. I'm glad we tried it. I don't think that we'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Awesome chef. It was my birthday dinner and was so much fun. We usually go to Benihana and Kyoto palace was just as yummmmmmmy! Basically the same thing. Our chef Jose was so much fun and made it a great birthday! Would definitely recommend Kyoto palace to everyone!! Fabulous food and great fun!!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Kyoto Palace has great food and great customer service. Sue is energetic and fun as a server and Jose is a wonderful and entertaining chef. Ashley the manager is awesome and the owner Dale is personable and greets guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everyone we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Great service, Great food!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I took my two boys here for dinner as they ask for Benihana often and it's usually booked up. Kyoto Palace was every bit as fun. The service was great and worthy of fine dining. I didn't have to ask for anything twice. The server did an amazing job. The chef put on a good show. The bill was $80 for the three of us despite me ordering the most expensive combo; the kids meals are a great value for the amount of food. I took home enough for lunch for the three of us the next day. No stars off but the location is upstairs and signage was minimal; it took us a few minutes of wandering around to find it. The entire mall is under construction but we didn't have any trouble finding a close parking space out back for our early dinner. And the kids loved looking at the construction equipment. By the end of the meal we realized it was pretty crowded and noisy. The ice cream at the end is always a big hit. We were in and out in about an hour which is usually our limit anyway with the kids.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food and the chef cooking right in front of you is always a fun experience! Enjoyable, lively atmosphere and an overall great place to spend a birthday or anniversary in a group!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Veggies very small portion
Steak was ok.
Scallops very small portions
But you got a lot of rice.
Value was not there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Come here for birthdays and fun gatherings. Loud - but that is a good thing! This is the place to come with a group and have a fun "experience". Food has remained good over the years. You will easily drop30$+ per person, but everyone leaves stuffed.

GET A RESERVATION. DO NOT TRY AND DROP IN!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another very successful family celebration! A good time for all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to House of Genji on 1st street in SJ, but wanted a place closer to home. I always seem to forget this is in the pruneyard..great place to take a date....lots of fun, chef's are entertaining, staff always making sure your water is refilled....we enjoyed the group bday singing...just a blast

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was really substandard. Three small shrimp is an appetizer? The sauces are terrible - the scallops were flavorless and needed garlic butter. Veggies were almost non-existent. Next time I want teppanyaki I will go to House of Genji.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The dining part of the meal was fine, however the white male bartender in the lounge was very inattentive, not really that friendly or hospitable, and a little too busy chatting up his friend about the baseball game that was on TV. He should be greeting people as they come into the bar, and when they sit down, instead of waiting for them to say excuse me to get some help from him... And asking him about happy hour, he just gave us the menus without a word and with a not very pleasant look on his face.
The Asian sushi Bar bartender was great and offered up service right away. Thumbs up to him!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was very good here. The hibachi was yummy and the sushi rolls were a good size. The hibachi chef was very colorful and entertaining. However, this place is in serious need of a makeover!! Dirty carpet throughout, low ceilings, very dated. I believe it's been in business for around 20 years and it looks as if nothing has been updated since it opened. I would not go back, because of the ambiance. Would rather spend date night at a nicer restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What's not to love? FRESH meat, veggies and seafood cooked right before your eyes! Garlic fried rice- this may be the only reason you need, it is so good,don't skimp on this one. The drinks are very high quality, great wine and beer list, fun bar just to watch a game and get snacks. It's usually about $35 per person so we don't go often but when we do we enjoy it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome food, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the food and the ambience !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was my sister's birthday and we had a fun time! The food was good, the staff were attentive and friendly , and the food did not disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday dinner, but this particular night there were several celebrations and I feel as though the chef and server didn't treat my friends birthday with as much celebration as the others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.