About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: (408) 377-6456

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (45)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (29)
See All
Fun (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Kid-friendly (23)
Family Style (22)
Casual (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Kyoto is good for lunch and dinner. We had a great dinner there the other night.

It's fun watching the chef/cooks do their thing. I want one of those cook tops in my house!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Always love the food here and fun place

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The "chef" did next to nothing to encourage laughter or ambiance to his presentation. The rice was overcooked and had little flavor. The shrimp was overdone and had no flavor as well. The soup was too salty. The lobster was not evenly divided between the guests but it was tasty, so were the scallops. The tempura was ok but it was not served with any sauce. The fried oysters were ok, I did not eat any but everyone else seemed to enjoy them. I guess the waitress forgot, The waitress was not overly attentive. One of our party ordered the white rice and she had to get up and find a waiter to get ours for the rice. I use to love this place but it has really gone down hill. I seriously doubt if I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Kyoto Palace is always a good place, our cook was very boring though

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our chef was amazing as well as the table host. Fun time was had by all. Thank you!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! We've been coming here for years. Fried rice is spectacular!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm Never disappointed coming here. The food is always delicious, the atmosphere is always upbringing and fun, I'm always having a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated Valentine's Day, had a delicious dinner. Our chef definitely knew how to bring the flavors out in the food. The chicken fried rice was fabulous and my filet Mignon was cooked how I ordered it. They had unlimited champagne which was really nice and all the ladies got a red rose. Would highly recommend if you want a good satisfying meal. Great place to celebrate a special occasion but note it tends to be a little on the loud side.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service and super good food. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved our chef and it was such a fun way to enjoy dinner! Went for moms birthday and it was a bit noisy, so not a lot of conversations across the table, but it was fun

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ordered Mai tai's on the waiter's recommendation horrible couldn't drink them. Cook burnt the eggs and added them to the fried rice, couldn't eat it. Salad dressing gross, couldn't eat it. Best part was the green tea ice cream. They bought it. Eight of celebrating a birthday, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A very nice place, doing very well, with good people working there. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is high quality, but not very plentiful for the price. It's always entertaining. I highly suggest the happy hour and early bird specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine and eat at Kyoto Palace. Would recommend the restaurant to all my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fun birthday spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I always enjoy Kyoto Palace. I have been a fan of Japanese Steak Houses and Open grilling since I was very young. I only wish they had the pinkish shrimp sauce I remember from when I was a kid.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food is always delicious. The hibatchi cooks are fun too. I would eat here seven days a week if I could.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

What a fantastic place for dinner. I eat here every chance I get.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

2 stars is generous. The only thing worse than the food was the service. Had to ask soooo many times to just get water. The chef thinks he's funny, but it just translated into not caring about what he was supposed to be doing... cooking. Food was burned and either over or under seasoned. He took the lid off the soy sauce bottle to "throw" some on the fried rice. I think he was trying to be funny. At least half a bottle worth came out. His facial expression made it clear that wasn't what was supposed to happen, then he kept going. The result was horribly salty rice. Then he wanted to stop and take selfies while the food burned. Steak was slathered in garlic butter, but lacked salt and pepper. Worst meal I've ever had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Felt a little rushed. Wait staff began bringing dishes for next party while we were still finishing our meal. Food was very good. Chef put on a fun show for kids. Great family dining. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Initially, things did not go well because their was some confusion on my part in not letting them know once everyone arrived, after I realized this (we had already been waiting for close to 30 minutes ) they informed me that we would be seated shortly. After 20 minutes passed I went to speak with the manager who was very accommodating and professional. We were finally seated (an hour after our reservations) but the manager was gracious enough to send us ample quantity of appetizers at no charge. For this reason, I want to commend the manager for this gesture and we did have a nice time celebrating my daughter's birthday! Good job to the manager!!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every thing and everyone was excellent!!! Love this place!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I've been coming here since I was 3 years old and have celebrated many many special occasions over the years. I love the restaurant, the food, the ambiance, and the talented chefs. However, our server for my birthday dinner this most recent trip was terrible. She didn't check up on us, forgot to bring us the water we requested, and forgot to bring my friend's Sprite he ordered. Her attitude was horrible. She seemed angry and short tempered, and was upset when we asked if we got ice cream and responded by saying "I already asked you if you wanted dessert and you said no. So now you want it?" Her tone was disrespectful and rude. We were all disappointed by the service, especially since it was for a birthday dinner.

Otherwise our chef was wonderful and the food was great as always. I will continue to come back, but hope she is not my server again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lots of show, but food was pretty basic. We were stuck at the back, so not ideal. Chef was funny and entertaining, but spoke very little English.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday. We come here often for special birthdays. Our favorite chef was off on the night, so that was slightly a bummer. But we love the food, especially the fried rice. Always a great time at Kyoto Palace, and we live close so that's a real benefit too. This is a great neighborhood place!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice restaurant. Usually I share a meal with my husband or a friend because the portions are large. The fried rice is amazing. Karaoke on Wednesday nights is fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was flavorless. Chef was unengaing. Service was slow. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was outstanding. The fried rice was to die for!!! Would recommend for d food. The place needs remodeling though!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was good but the cook assigned to us was rude & grumpy!!! It's our first time to eat there and expecting a much better service but we were so disappointed! Find another place that has a better service! In fairness to the server, he was great! But the cook! It's a no no! Did not really say anything to him since he's holding those sharp knives!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Kyoto is always a hit! We took our grandparents out for a thank you dinner for the holidays. Always enjoyable, tasty, never disappointing. This time we dared to take our kids (6 & 2). They behaved and loved it. Both the show that was put on and the food. Our 2 year old even tasted fish eggs!! The cuts of meat are always perfect and the portions are bountiful. Kyoto is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I always enjoy bringing my staff here for our team lunches and holiday lunch, we not only enjoy the excellent food but the chef's entertainment is the highlight of our lunches every time we visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It's not quite up to what it use to be but it is still a fun experience with decent food. I like it for special occasions but won't go as often if they don't improve the quality of their food. This chef was a little less experienced than others and overcooked the shrimp and charred the veggies. The steak was done very nicely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

we had such a great time celebrating my son's birthday... His favorite place.. he has celebrated is birthday for several several years now . Never wants to go anywhere else. And that is fine was us.. We love it too. And our chef was Awesome !

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The whole entertainment dining experience was great especially for kids and the whole family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Older building. Nothing really new, probably the same 20 years ago. Food isn't bad but nothing spectacular. Definitely overpriced. You are paying for the chef making the meal in front of you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The place was nice and the food was really good. Someone at our table had a 2 year old, so it's pretty kid friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were there to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Great atmosphere, great food. Nice ambience for celebration dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

it's so smokey - wish they would fix the ventilation

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday. The restaurant was full of other birthdays, so it is clearly a popular spot for such an occasion. The chef was entertaining. The food was fresh and delicious. Also, they celebrate birthdays by getting the whole restaurant to sing and gifting a slice of cheesecake. Our kids loved it, and my husband was happy. Great experience for all of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Average restuarant... looks like a birthday celebration place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Won't be back. Place needs a major update. Food was meh. People were nice. Parking was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's always such a treat to go here . Our 7 year old had so much fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place to eat,good service. Had so much fun on my b-day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Kyoto palace is a great place. You go and get your food cooked in front of you with a little show. It is great because kids love it and the food tastes great. Price is somewhat expensive, but it is worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It is what it is. Very good very pricey, however that's to be expected. We will go back again however they need to definitely upgrade the cooking tables, or at least repair them.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Kyoto was a bit of a disappointment to me. The service was average. Not particularly special or bad. It was as expected. The food was a bit of a disappointment. The quality was low and to give the food flavor, they used tons of butter and gave you two sauces to add the flavor. Sadly, most of the sauce at the table was not used. It was wasted. The restaurant looked dated and depressing to me. Unfortunately the menu's were so used, food and grease stains all over them. It was really disgusting. I did not get a laminate copy but paper menus. I had to exchange the menu for another slightly better one. Still a stain on it. As far as the chef, they were typical of what you expect at a place like this.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Professional Chef was quite entertaining and fun to watch. The food was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lots of fun, chefs cooks food right in front of you, flips food in your mouth, very funny, great sense of humor. Would definently go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.