About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Campbell ›

Good for Groups (94)
Special Occasion (89)
Kid-friendly (79)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Family Style (9)
Casual (8)
Romantic (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

specially our son likes this place but i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

specially our son likes this place but is very noise and hectic, so many tables, waiters running around and all this tapping on the vents is kind of distracting. The food and service are very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food and service. I will refer Kyot ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and service. I will refer Kyoto palace to friend and family occasion. And prize is good.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a birthday celebration and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a birthday celebration and it was his first time there - he had a blast. Thank you for making the evening great for the family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to the restaurant for the first t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I came to the restaurant for the first time this week was very skeptical but had a wonderful experience. Everyone had a great time they put on a wonderful show and the food is excellent I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a birthday here this weekend and it ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had a birthday here this weekend and it was fantastic. Love the food and Jose? Our chef was hysterical.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Kyoto after not having dined th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We tried Kyoto after not having dined there for a very long time. Arrived early and were seated quickly and the staff were all very pleasant. However, the smell of grease and the lack of cleanliness were horrible. Sorry to say we won't be going back. It needs a complete overhaul from ceiling to carpet for cleaning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I was very pleased with the service at K ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was very pleased with the service at Kyoto Palace. I went with my family for my birthday celebration, and everyone was very energetic and nice. Our chef was great, and it was a good experience watching him cook our food right in front of us. The lobster, scallops, and filet mignon were particularly delicious, and I would recommend Kyoto Palace for any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food just wasn't as good as Benihana

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food just wasn't as good as Benihana

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Service and food is sometimes a hit and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service and food is sometimes a hit and miss. This visit was great-- both service and food!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to have an entertaining dinner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fun place to have an entertaining dinner the cook was excellent and very funny. Our kids and grandchildren enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! I would have given ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great time! I would have given a 5 for food, however, my mom said some of it was too dry for her.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best cook!! He did different ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had the best cook!! He did different cooking "tricks" that I hadn't seen before. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group of 9 were seated quickly and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our group of 9 were seated quickly and waited on expertly. As with all teppanyaki places, it was pretty noisy but everyone was having a good time. Food was good but nothing spectacular. My one complaint was it was quite smoky in the dining area. They need to invest in better over grill hoods.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server was awful. We've been there s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was awful. We've been there so many times and we come especially for our kids birthdays as they like the singing. Our server didn't initiate the singing and banging on the hood vent so I had to get up and do it. We brought our own wine and it took her 20 mins to open bottle. We were never asked if we wanted more cocktails. I was very very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Service lacking, we were never asked ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Service lacking, we were never asked how we were doing or for refills, would have had another cocktail, but server was not readily available. Chicken was very different in texture from previous experiences, was it even real? Been going there for years and this was a different experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday, wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Went to celebrate my wife's birthday, with family and friends, dinner was very good. Overall experience 👍👍👍👍👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every year for our one grandsons b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We go every year for our one grandsons birthday! His go to place, always fun and good food

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fast and courteous. Everythi ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was fast and courteous. Everything was very reasonably priced. I will be back for the Kyoto special (one of my favorites), and the unagi nigiri was delicious.

Tip: Parking in lot, usually gets very busy, but it's free and there's plenty of it.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed our meal. I booked a 1,000 poin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Enjoyed our meal. I booked a 1,000 point table, and was only credited with 100 points. I don't know if this was fault of Kyoto Palace or Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've always enjoyed Kyoto Palace for bot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've always enjoyed Kyoto Palace for both the food and the dining experience but we didn't enjoy the dining experience last Friday night as we felt like we were being rushed through the entire meal. Eight of us were there to celebrate my daughter in law's 30th birthday and we brought our own wine since it was a special occasion. Our waitress was intent on refilling half empty wine glasses in an attempt to drain our bottles before dinner was even served, I'm assuming this was so that we would order more. She was friendly but we got the distinct impression throughout the whole meal that we were being rushed so they could fit in the next group. In terms of the food, it was just ok, whereas on other occasions, it was pretty tasty. Not sure what to say other than maybe they were having an off night, but for the $ we spent, I wish we had gone elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good good . Waiter or waitress need to b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good good . Waiter or waitress need to be better. Had to find them to order another glass of wine . And they need to ask will this be on separate tab don't assume we all paying together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I have been here several times and every ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been here several times and every time is an amazing experience. I love it! The food is great, the services is great. I would recommend anyone to try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had never been there before and i made r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

had never been there before and i made reservations to celebrate my husband's birthday. our wait for a table was great, almost immediately. the waitresses are awesome and very attentive. the chef to our surprise and liking spoke Spanish. he was very quiet but attentive and entertaining! the food portions were perfect. it seemed like small amounts but WOW! very filling and we even took some home!

thank you Kyoto and its employees for a wonderful experience! will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always good. I think we h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is always good. I think we had a relatively new cook, as he did engage with our group much. The food was tasty as always and the cost is still reasonable! It's our go to place when we want a place to take a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cook was very sloppy. Was trying to har ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cook was very sloppy. Was trying to hard to be funny. When he was pouring the sauces he made a mess and the sauce was all over the dishes . He also had rice everywhere. He had an extra bowl of fried rice and instead of sharing it with those that had fried rice, he put it off to the side and took it away. I have always loved Kyoto Palace but was very disappointed this time. A very very messy cook. It was disgusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good teppan cooking restaurant. Rather ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good teppan cooking restaurant. Rather expensive for the quality of the food. But always a fun experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was so loud during dinner I couldn't ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was so loud during dinner I couldn't hear my guests when they spoke to me. The server had to repeat everything several times, leaning over the cooktop to get our order. I felt like I was yelling all night.

I enjoyed the experience but I won't be back. It seems that it's become a rowdy party place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great food but it would have been better ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food but it would have been better if the chef didn't toss a piece of very hot scrambled egg in my eye without paying attention to see if I was looking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family loves to go for the shrimp an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our family loves to go for the shrimp and fried rice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, but it felt very hot in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was great, but it felt very hot in the dining room area. Our chef was not as enthusiastic and creative with his cooking as I have experienced before. But everyone at our table enjoyed celebrating my son's birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent Service!!! This is our familie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent Service!!! This is our families favorite place to have dinner!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, great service and amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome food, great service and amazing atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing, as always! We got ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing, as always! We got the special of the night-New York Steak, chicken and scallops. The fried rice never disappoints...it was delicious! The service was great, especially Ashley, one of the managers. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food love this place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place, go there often. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love this place, go there often. One thing we didn't like this time was when the server brought us our soup she placed each bowl in the middle of our dinner plates. You ever see the serving trays they use? It's used for everything so all the germs from the tray are now on your dinner plate. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The place didn't smell clean from the mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The place didn't smell clean from the moment the font door opened. Food quality, preparation, seasoning, cleanliness, and the performance were all lacking compared to their commercial chain competitor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Though we had reservations, there was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Though we had reservations, there was a very long wait to be seated, over 30 minutes. We were eventually seated in a back room that had an odd odor. The food and table service was fine, and the table-side cook was outstanding and hilarious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Appreciate that they could accommodate a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Appreciate that they could accommodate a group of 10 for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.