About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Treat your Sweetheart to a Special Dinner at Kyoto Palace Restaurant! All dinners include unlimited Korbel or Martinelli's Cider and a Red Rose for all Sweethearts (while they last). Dinner prices range from $35-$52 featuring the freshest Seafood, Steaks & Lobster. Kids 10 yrs & under $16 or $18.

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (41)
Fun (33)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Kid-friendly (26)
Good for a Date (20)
Family Style (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (13)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great New Year's experience!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful experience....

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for my husband's birthday. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday. We come here often for special birthdays. Our favorite chef was off on the night, so that was slightly a bummer. But we love the food, especially the fried rice. Always a great time at Kyoto Palace, and we live close so that's a real benefit too. This is a great neighborhood place!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. Usually I share a meal ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice restaurant. Usually I share a meal with my husband or a friend because the portions are large. The fried rice is amazing. Karaoke on Wednesday nights is fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was flavorless. Chef was unengaing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was flavorless. Chef was unengaing. Service was slow. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The food was outstanding. The fried ric ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was outstanding. The fried rice was to die for!!! Would recommend for d food. The place needs remodeling though!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good but the cook assigned to u ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was good but the cook assigned to us was rude & grumpy!!! It's our first time to eat there and expecting a much better service but we were so disappointed! Find another place that has a better service! In fairness to the server, he was great! But the cook! It's a no no! Did not really say anything to him since he's holding those sharp knives!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Kyoto is always a hit! We took our grand ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Kyoto is always a hit! We took our grandparents out for a thank you dinner for the holidays. Always enjoyable, tasty, never disappointing. This time we dared to take our kids (6 & 2). They behaved and loved it. Both the show that was put on and the food. Our 2 year old even tasted fish eggs!! The cuts of meat are always perfect and the portions are bountiful. Kyoto is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always enjoy bringing my staff here fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I always enjoy bringing my staff here for our team lunches and holiday lunch, we not only enjoy the excellent food but the chef's entertainment is the highlight of our lunches every time we visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's not quite up to what it use to be b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

It's not quite up to what it use to be but it is still a fun experience with decent food. I like it for special occasions but won't go as often if they don't improve the quality of their food. This chef was a little less experienced than others and overcooked the shrimp and charred the veggies. The steak was done very nicely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

we had such a great time celebrating my ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

we had such a great time celebrating my son's birthday... His favorite place.. he has celebrated is birthday for several several years now . Never wants to go anywhere else. And that is fine was us.. We love it too. And our chef was Awesome !

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole entertainment dining experienc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The whole entertainment dining experience was great especially for kids and the whole family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Older building. Nothing really new, pro ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Older building. Nothing really new, probably the same 20 years ago. Food isn't bad but nothing spectacular. Definitely overpriced. You are paying for the chef making the meal in front of you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The place was nice and the food was real ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The place was nice and the food was really good. Someone at our table had a 2 year old, so it's pretty kid friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate my daughter's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were there to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Great atmosphere, great food. Nice ambience for celebration dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it's so smokey - wish they would fix the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

it's so smokey - wish they would fix the ventilation

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for my husbands birthday. The re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for my husbands birthday. The restaurant was full of other birthdays, so it is clearly a popular spot for such an occasion. The chef was entertaining. The food was fresh and delicious. Also, they celebrate birthdays by getting the whole restaurant to sing and gifting a slice of cheesecake. Our kids loved it, and my husband was happy. Great experience for all of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Average restuarant... looks like a birt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Average restuarant... looks like a birthday celebration place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Won't be back. Place needs a major upda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Won't be back. Place needs a major update. Food was meh. People were nice. Parking was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value5

It's always such a treat to go here . Ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's always such a treat to go here . Our 7 year old had so much fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat,good service. Had so ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great place to eat,good service. Had so much fun on my b-day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kyoto palace is a great place. You go an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Kyoto palace is a great place. You go and get your food cooked in front of you with a little show. It is great because kids love it and the food tastes great. Price is somewhat expensive, but it is worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is what it is. Very good very pricey, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

It is what it is. Very good very pricey, however that's to be expected. We will go back again however they need to definitely upgrade the cooking tables, or at least repair them.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Kyoto was a bit of a disappointment to m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Kyoto was a bit of a disappointment to me. The service was average. Not particularly special or bad. It was as expected. The food was a bit of a disappointment. The quality was low and to give the food flavor, they used tons of butter and gave you two sauces to add the flavor. Sadly, most of the sauce at the table was not used. It was wasted. The restaurant looked dated and depressing to me. Unfortunately the menu's were so used, food and grease stains all over them. It was really disgusting. I did not get a laminate copy but paper menus. I had to exchange the menu for another slightly better one. Still a stain on it. As far as the chef, they were typical of what you expect at a place like this.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The Professional Chef was quite entertai ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Professional Chef was quite entertaining and fun to watch. The food was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of fun, chefs cooks food right in f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lots of fun, chefs cooks food right in front of you, flips food in your mouth, very funny, great sense of humor. Would definently go again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, , Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The day after the wedding I had a family ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The day after the wedding I had a family dinner with the newlywed couple and my family. We had eleven in the group and four of them were children , ages two to nine. The chief was outstanding, keeping the attention of the children and making them laugh. The waitress also was helpful . She helped us take agroup picture. I will return again and also tell my friends.

Tags: Disabled Access, , Comfort Food, Authentic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were celebrating my son's 27th birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were celebrating my son's 27th birthday. We wanted to do something different. He had been here n said let try. Food portion small but good. My order was missing rice. We eventually got it. We has my sister who was handicapped n slow to eat. I felt rush to leave.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nor the best night. Drink too sweet. Sal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nor the best night. Drink too sweet. Salmon over cooked. Not fun table. Nice cook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Showed up early to enjoy a cocktail. Tab ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Showed up early to enjoy a cocktail. Table was ready 30 minutes early. Said I wanted to enjoy a drink waiter said well it's ready now. No big deal except I was charged full price on the drinks where they were happy hour prices in the bar. Not right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The restaurant was very noisy, the decor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The restaurant was very noisy, the decor looked like it needed to be cleaned or updated. It looked like there was some grease residue covering the walls making the Asian decor dingy. We thought the fan above our table was not pulling out the smoke so there was smoke from the cooking at our side of the table. I think the food is a bit overpriced but freshly cooked obviously. I didn't think my cocktail was worth $12.

The wait staff was really attentive, they were on top of our order even though our table was full.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place for celebrating birthday's, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great place for celebrating birthday's, especially for children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Because of they style of cooking at the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Because of they style of cooking at the table, there is a fast paced feel which can detract from having a slow relaxing dinner. I can bet very load and difficult to have simple conversation. The restaurant definitely serves the purpose of an energetic fun place to go that other don't offer.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

You come for the experience at these typ ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

You come for the experience at these types of specialty restaurants. Kyoto Palace has a nice ambiance. Service is pretty good. There are a lot of food combinations to choose from, but this is no fine dining experience. Food is good, but not excellent. It's a fun experience to have and great for special celebrations. It should be noted that, when full, the restaurant is LOUD. You'll definitely need to shout at your dining mates. All in all, a fun experience. We'll go back if someone requests it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went for my son's birthday, we waited ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went for my son's birthday, we waited a half an hour even though we had reservations. Our rice showed up after the table chef was finished. The food was very mediocre, nobody liked their food. The only good thing was the fried rice and the cocktails.

The wait staff were nice but not too prompt. Also, the interior of the restaurant is very run down and doesn't look clean. One of the walls on the East end of the restaurant was not a finished wall, but ply wood. That must be a code violation.

I don't think I'll be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The restaurant was VERY noisy, so don't ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The restaurant was VERY noisy, so don't expect to have a conversation with anyone but the person right next to you. Also, it really depends on what chef you get. Many of them were entertainers as well. Unfortunately, we had a a grumpy Russian chef who never smiled or engaged us at all. The food is good, but you pay for the performance element of the cooking process. This guy just went through the motions and looked like he'd rather be at the dentist than cooking for us. A big disappointment for my friend's 80th birthday. 😢

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The host/hostess were great but the cook ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The host/hostess were great but the cook (Enrique) made us all feel like we were "bothering" him. He did NONE of the things that the other cooks were doing. He spun an egg and that was it! The food was ok but not work what we paid. The wait staff never came around to refill our drinks or check on anything. Our whole party was disappointed with the entire experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good except for the sa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was very good except for the salad and the soup. The lettuce was very wet which made the salad inedible and the watery soup was cold.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

it was my sons bday and our chef did no ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

it was my sons bday and our chef did no clanking with the utensils or nor did he put on a show, i don't think he smiled once.

the food was okay i ordered medium rare filiet mignon and it was so raw i could not eat it. sorry i would have liked to rate higher but simple > our chef sucked!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Came here for a birthday dinner. Reserv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Came here for a birthday dinner. Reserved a table for 10 at 8 oclock at night. The restaurant had my whole party wait almost 40 minutes! Didn't get seated until almost 9pm didn't start eating until going on almost 945 since they do Cook the food right in front of you. Very disappointed in that since I did have a reservation. Nevertheless the food was good. Next time I go back maybe they'll haveit together

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.