About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: (408) 377-6456

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (39)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Fun (25)
Kid-friendly (23)
Family Style (21)
Casual (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We felt a little rushed even though we were seated late but food was very good. Environment is very loud so wouldn't expect to have many conversations more there for the scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very crowded, 30 mins late getting seated despite having a reservation , poor ventilation, poor ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The venue was run down and did not look anything like it's online photos. When we arrived, our table was not ready and we were told we could wait at the bar, without being given an ETA. We had a drink at the bar, which was very busy and there was no where to sit. Standing with our drink, a loud noise appeared, it was karaoke night. We ordered a sushi roll and we're called to our table moments later. Our Chef was definitely in a rush and did not make conversation, he only did one trick, a volcanic onion. I was disappointed with my entire experience other than the taste of my food and the food value.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Other than the shopping center being remodeled, and parking was limited, this was the best Teppan Yaki meal ever! We usually go to Benihaha, this place is closer and much better food wise.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

DELICIOUS!!!! We never leave dissapointed!!! We always have a great time & the chefs are super funny and friendly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Experience was extremely disappointing. Food was mediocre. The guy at the bar was rude. Customer service skills were definitely lacking. The cooking of the food was extremely messy and very basic. Not to mention food didn't look fresh and the entire eating area was dirty. Scallops were undercooked. Orders were getting messed up. Drinks were terrible. I drove an hour and a half to eat at this location because the reviews were great. But it was hands down my worst experience I've had in California thus far. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Casual and comfortable dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Kara Palace what a great restaurant love to take my family there for every day dining and special occasions I definitely recommend this place for you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had very fresh food and good service. We loved the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Always a fun place for Birthday celebrations. Can get pretty expensive, though lots of fun.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This restaurant has been at the location for many moons and appears to have same decor started on opening night to last Saturday night on a Saturday night, February, 2017. Restaurant felt like a choreographed, urged through assembly line. I have been to mass feeding halls with more grace and decorum.

Food is cooked and that was the best part. If one were to revert back to the traditional Japanese service, at least cubes of meat and vegetables will display similar sizes. Similar was not really in the room or on the grille. The "cook, chef" was a qualified slop in his craft. The spatula acoustical was getting to a point I was ready to check myself into a mental institute and forgo the food period, excepting for social grace withholding us to our dinner companions. Butter used for the fried rice was sufficient to feed half of the dining room. I was extremely grateful for ordering the white steamed rice. Oh, by the way, the mushroom soup was made by whom? Salt in soup was in overdrive and balanced flavor probably is in the next chapter in the kitchen's continued self improvement handbook.

Is is the first and last visit for us to this local institution. I will summarize the best part of the dining experience was the bus person on the job every 5 minutes to fill the water glasses. Staff could not get bills To diners quick enough. Even Vegas buffets paled in the efficiency of eat up/pay up/boot. Praise the Lord, feeling was mutual on the separating of the ways.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not worth the price! The service was pretty good. I won't be going back.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Kyoto is good for lunch and dinner. We had a great dinner there the other night.
It's fun watching the chef/cooks do their thing. I want one of those cook tops in my house!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always love the food here and fun place

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The "chef" did next to nothing to encourage laughter or ambiance to his presentation. The rice was overcooked and had little flavor. The shrimp was overdone and had no flavor as well. The soup was too salty. The lobster was not evenly divided between the guests but it was tasty, so were the scallops. The tempura was ok but it was not served with any sauce. The fried oysters were ok, I did not eat any but everyone else seemed to enjoy them. I guess the waitress forgot, The waitress was not overly attentive. One of our party ordered the white rice and she had to get up and find a waiter to get ours for the rice. I use to love this place but it has really gone down hill. I seriously doubt if I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Kyoto Palace is always a good place, our cook was very boring though

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our chef was amazing as well as the table host. Fun time was had by all. Thank you!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We came for a special Valentine treat for our kids. Overall everything was good. Only complaint was the chicken got burnt. Every person who ordered chicken complained. I didn't realise or I would have said something. The kids were entertained and we enjoy seeing them happy so it was worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! We've been coming here for years. Fried rice is spectacular!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'm Never disappointed coming here. The food is always delicious, the atmosphere is always upbringing and fun, I'm always having a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Celebrated Valentine's Day, had a delicious dinner. Our chef definitely knew how to bring the flavors out in the food. The chicken fried rice was fabulous and my filet Mignon was cooked how I ordered it. They had unlimited champagne which was really nice and all the ladies got a red rose. Would highly recommend if you want a good satisfying meal. Great place to celebrate a special occasion but note it tends to be a little on the loud side.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service and super good food. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I loved our chef and it was such a fun way to enjoy dinner! Went for moms birthday and it was a bit noisy, so not a lot of conversations across the table, but it was fun

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ordered Mai tai's on the waiter's recommendation horrible couldn't drink them. Cook burnt the eggs and added them to the fried rice, couldn't eat it. Salad dressing gross, couldn't eat it. Best part was the green tea ice cream. They bought it. Eight of celebrating a birthday, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A very nice place, doing very well, with good people working there. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is high quality, but not very plentiful for the price. It's always entertaining. I highly suggest the happy hour and early bird specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine and eat at Kyoto Palace. Would recommend the restaurant to all my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fun birthday spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I always enjoy Kyoto Palace. I have been a fan of Japanese Steak Houses and Open grilling since I was very young. I only wish they had the pinkish shrimp sauce I remember from when I was a kid.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food is always delicious. The hibatchi cooks are fun too. I would eat here seven days a week if I could.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

What a fantastic place for dinner. I eat here every chance I get.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

2 stars is generous. The only thing worse than the food was the service. Had to ask soooo many times to just get water. The chef thinks he's funny, but it just translated into not caring about what he was supposed to be doing... cooking. Food was burned and either over or under seasoned. He took the lid off the soy sauce bottle to "throw" some on the fried rice. I think he was trying to be funny. At least half a bottle worth came out. His facial expression made it clear that wasn't what was supposed to happen, then he kept going. The result was horribly salty rice. Then he wanted to stop and take selfies while the food burned. Steak was slathered in garlic butter, but lacked salt and pepper. Worst meal I've ever had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Felt a little rushed. Wait staff began bringing dishes for next party while we were still finishing our meal. Food was very good. Chef put on a fun show for kids. Great family dining. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Initially, things did not go well because their was some confusion on my part in not letting them know once everyone arrived, after I realized this (we had already been waiting for close to 30 minutes ) they informed me that we would be seated shortly. After 20 minutes passed I went to speak with the manager who was very accommodating and professional. We were finally seated (an hour after our reservations) but the manager was gracious enough to send us ample quantity of appetizers at no charge. For this reason, I want to commend the manager for this gesture and we did have a nice time celebrating my daughter's birthday! Good job to the manager!!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Every thing and everyone was excellent!!! Love this place!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I've been coming here since I was 3 years old and have celebrated many many special occasions over the years. I love the restaurant, the food, the ambiance, and the talented chefs. However, our server for my birthday dinner this most recent trip was terrible. She didn't check up on us, forgot to bring us the water we requested, and forgot to bring my friend's Sprite he ordered. Her attitude was horrible. She seemed angry and short tempered, and was upset when we asked if we got ice cream and responded by saying "I already asked you if you wanted dessert and you said no. So now you want it?" Her tone was disrespectful and rude. We were all disappointed by the service, especially since it was for a birthday dinner.
Otherwise our chef was wonderful and the food was great as always. I will continue to come back, but hope she is not my server again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Lots of show, but food was pretty basic. We were stuck at the back, so not ideal. Chef was funny and entertaining, but spoke very little English.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great New Year's experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful experience....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday. We come here often for special birthdays. Our favorite chef was off on the night, so that was slightly a bummer. But we love the food, especially the fried rice. Always a great time at Kyoto Palace, and we live close so that's a real benefit too. This is a great neighborhood place!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.