About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Dale or Carl: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Campbell ›

good for groups (101)
special occasion (77)
kid-friendly (62)
See All
great for lunch (21)
hot spot (18)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (14)
romantic (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We were celebrating my mom's birthday an ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating my mom's birthday and got placed in the corner of the restaurant, which is fine, but our server took 30 minutes to bring out our salad and soups. She was not attentive whatsoever. The food was subpar. Only reason we came here was because Benihana's was overbooked. Not returning again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service

Dined 6 days ago

Went out to eat with my family for Sunday dinner, and decided this was the place for us, we had 10 guest and the service was wonderful and they are on top of everthing, great cooks

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place to celebrate a bi ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was a great place to celebrate a birthday. Loved how the employees went all out to acknowledge the birthday girl.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This place is good and fun place to be e ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place is good and fun place to be entertained but food is not cooked to your order. Food quality and freshness is good but they over cook on the grill. Ex: ordered steak to be modium rare, cooked to medium well. Vigetanle over cooked to be soggy instead of crunch. Shrimps are over cooked also. Other than that, it was great and fun. Cook was well trained with amazing tricks.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3

The food was a bit of a disappointment . ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was a bit of a disappointment . The seafood and meat was cooked in lard and was over salted . You can see that because they cook it in front of you. Preparation was minimal ( fried and seasoned ). The chef was not as skillful in putting on a show with the cutlery as others restaurants that do this kind of gig . The bill was pretty expensive for what you get . Unlikely we would go there or recommend to anyone else .

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Simply put - Disappointing

Dined on May 9, 2016

Brought my wife for Mother's Day. We will certainly not return. I strongly suspect the table-top grill was much hotter than the Chef expected. Almost everything was significantly overdone. Scrambled eggs dark brown like pancakes on bottom when flipped, shrimp starting to blacken when flipped and rubbery overall when served, as were the scallops and lobster. Wife's New York Steak (ordered Medium Rare) did not have a speck of pink in it. The Chef even had a surprised look on his face when he turned over the shrimp and saw it was starting to blacken. I ordered the Filet/Lobster/Scallop combo and my wife had the New York/Lobster/Shrimp (called Mikado Gold on the Mother's Day special menu at $52. Seems it is $14 more to add a 1/3 portion of shrimp to the regular New York Steak and Lobster Combo price. Can't say it was worth it since we never actually got the shrimp). All entrees included an appetizer of shrimp. The Chef apparently noticed he didn't have enough in the original delivery from the kitchen, so he sent back for an additional serving. He started cooking the second portion just as he flipped the first. The first portion was distributed to our table (8 total people) with everyone getting an appetizer portion and those with shrimp in the entrée received their additional portion also - except my wife. I assumed the second portion still cooking was for her, but when it was finished he gave it to another diner. Probably "forgot" who he had shorted her before - or "forgot" that the Mikado Gold special that day included shrimp while the normal Mikado menu item doesn't. The only reason I gave the service a five is the person taking our order and delivering soup, salads and drinks was just fine. I'm not going to count the terrible table service by the Chef in the "service" category as I believe it should be for wait staff. I've eaten at Nijo Castle in Fremont. Same setup but the food was infinitely better prepared and a better value for the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great from family gatherings!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebrating Mother's Day and my Grandson's 6th Birthday. The presentation was Very entertaining and enjoyed by all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than Benihana

Dined on May 8, 2016

A teppan grill with all the action of the other place but with better food

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fun for kids to see food cooked i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always fun for kids to see food cooked in front of us. Mimosas were spot on!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it here!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Kyoto Palace is our go-to place. We love the whole dining experience and always have a great time. Food is prepared especially for you and is scrumptious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great fun food!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was on point as was the food. Prices were average and the ambiance was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, fun...all great! Our only ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food, service, fun...all great! Our only problem was a birthday for 6 year olds at 7pm-8:30 pm. 7 kids plus a baby, 3 mothers ignoring the kids and 3 dads who had the sense to sit at a separate table. Kid friendly is nice but we thought it would be adults at that hour.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

jimhaze13

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food and service was FANTASTIC!! Will definitely be going back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super Fun and entertaining!

Dined on March 26, 2016

This restaurant is a fun place to go and have some good laughs while watching your food being cooked! I usually love the food and we go often, but this trip was a huge bust! The meat was so tough and chewy you couldn't enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Perfect for any occasion!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Loved it! Perfect for any occasion!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wife

Dined on March 25, 2016

As a group it is a very great place with good food!! They should treat the Birthday guest with a free dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Family fun

Dined on March 18, 2016

Always a great time with the kids! Food is yummy and a lot of it... Go hungry!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

everything was good missing thst Diablo ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

everything was good missing thst Diablo sauce

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

Dined on March 1, 2016

The fried rice is awesone. Fun place to go with a group, as the cooks put on a great show. Very enjoyable for all ages.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Fun

Dined on February 28, 2016

Always have fun coming here. Great food, good service and a great people watching venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was good except for the New Yor ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was good except for the New York steak. It was tough and hard to chew. Disappointing. The service was excellent. If you order beef, order the filet mignon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great iconic spot. Noisy, busy, everyone ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great iconic spot. Noisy, busy, everyone having a good time . The tepanaki seating promotes a friendly exchange, adding to the good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebratory Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Kyoto. And we will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time. Just wish we could a ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a good time. Just wish we could ask for JOSE each time!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tradition

Dined on February 15, 2016

This will forever be our Birthday and Valentines Day spot. Love the staff and chefs! Best lemon drops in SJ!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good place to go, great food an ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always a good place to go, great food and nice/fun staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun night... Great food!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Place was great... food was delicious! Will definately be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

We come here often. Usually for special ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We come here often. Usually for special occasions. Our fav chef is Jose! He always takes care of us and is super funny. Ask for Jose and you will see why. Food is always great. Service frm waiting staff is slow and limited but jose always flags them down for us. =) we will def eat here again

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

High price for food value

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was a birthday gathering. Fun for everyone socially. I had a very so so vegetarian meal for a big price. Everyone said their food was good. Probably will find different venue for next celebration.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a Birthday!

Dined on February 2, 2016

There is always lots of singing because it's a great place to go for a birthday. I think every table had a birthday guest all night long! Was fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Cook favored customer, unfair to rest

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was good, portions good, cook showed favoritism (she wasn't that cute) gave her more food then the rest of us. He tossed an egg down my shirt into my bra....

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun for kids or celebration

Dined on January 29, 2016

Typical Tepan Yaki restaurant. All chefs do similar antics with bouncing knives and spatulas on cooking surface. While they make volcano from onion rings they do not set fire to small amount of Sake as the cooks do at House of Genji. Instead they just let some water steam off. Chef did try repeatedly to bounce a piece of egg into mouths of cooperating customers he wasn't very adept at it. Food was cooked ok, large filet mignon was tough.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Fried rice is the bomb! Food is yummy!

Dined on January 24, 2016

Food is delicious! But some of the waitresses are just awful!!! Have to keep asking for things. Have to flag them down to get more drinks. They don't follow up to ask if you need anything else. Once in a while u get a great one but their service definitely isn't consistent.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Server was great. Chef not so much.

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our server Maddy was fantastic, but the gentleman cooking our food was quite rude with a few of our guests at our table. At one time I think he thought he was being funny or clever by handing one of the ladies at our table food and then taking it away to give it to one of the gentlemen we were dining with. When we asked what was going on he said men eat first. Funny thing, we had this same chef on another occasion and proceeded to pick on her last time as well. Made for an uncomfortable eating experience until he was done with our food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Birthday

Dined on January 19, 2016

I made a reservation, but it still took 20 minutes to be seated. Being my husband's birthday, and that I had brought family I was hoping for a lively, and entertaining experience since they cook in front of you. Waitress seemed tired, and brought our rice out too early so it was near cold when meal was cooked. They were short cooks (that come to table) so we waited and waited. My daughter finished her water, and the waitress was no where to be found, so my son got up and found a water pitcher and filled it and brought it back to table. Then, waitress appeared frustrated and asked what the problem was. I told her, and also mentioned why is it taking so long? Then she went and grabbed a cook and brought him to our table. She then mentioned, see, I got you a cook, and became more friendly. Cook was okay. Funny as times, but also seemed tired and going through motions. Waitress did sing happy birthday and was funny. She brought cake with candle. We had asked her for Strawberry ice cream also, and she forgot. It was not the fun night I had envisioned, and i would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a Date

Dined on January 4, 2016

I took my daughter and girlfriend here before going back to work for the new year. It was a sound choice because the food was great, wait time (if reserved) was short, and the chef was funny. It wasn't too loud and I had plenty of elbow room.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite Birthday Spot

Dined on January 2, 2016

This is the one place I want to go to on my birthday. The food is delicious, the chefs are entertaining, the atmosphere is friendly and the whole experience is fun! I always recommend this as the best dining spot for celebrating! For all of us with birthdays on New Year's Day, Kyoto offers a chance for a full table.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

New Years eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food! Disappointed with the the edit even though I had reservation. Waited in the bar with family had a drink. Noticed the Christmas wreaths look a little worn on the walls. Could have freshen then ip a little with a bow pine cones something. Christmas tree need more color to it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was Taylor she was very ple ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our waitress was Taylor she was very pleasant and extremely helpful.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not as great as it used to be...

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We loved this place even dealing with the inevitable smell that gets into all your clothes to take home with you. We still love the taste of filet mignon and the fried rice on the teppan cooking. That being said, it feels like they have gotten a bit on the cheap side on the fried rice when it costs you another $3.50 added to the meal. Barely any vegetables get added, but ridiculous amount of butter (all of which I don't think you need). The chefs are still loads of fun, but I don't think they ever have enough servers or busing personnel. You'll get one drink and spend the rest of the night flagging down someone to help. I'm also scared to take a closer look at the carpet because it looks totally black from filth. It's time for a refresh and focus on quality versus quantity.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.