About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Special Occasion
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Campbell ›

Good for Groups (102)
Special Occasion (95)
Kid-friendly (77)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Hot Spot (11)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
785 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our meal. I booked a 1,000 poin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed our meal. I booked a 1,000 point table, and was only credited with 100 points. I don't know if this was fault of Kyoto Palace or Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've always enjoyed Kyoto Palace for bot ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I've always enjoyed Kyoto Palace for both the food and the dining experience but we didn't enjoy the dining experience last Friday night as we felt like we were being rushed through the entire meal. Eight of us were there to celebrate my daughter in law's 30th birthday and we brought our own wine since it was a special occasion. Our waitress was intent on refilling half empty wine glasses in an attempt to drain our bottles before dinner was even served, I'm assuming this was so that we would order more. She was friendly but we got the distinct impression throughout the whole meal that we were being rushed so they could fit in the next group. In terms of the food, it was just ok, whereas on other occasions, it was pretty tasty. Not sure what to say other than maybe they were having an off night, but for the $ we spent, I wish we had gone elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good good . Waiter or waitress need to b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good good . Waiter or waitress need to be better. Had to find them to order another glass of wine . And they need to ask will this be on separate tab don't assume we all paying together.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I have been here several times and every ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been here several times and every time is an amazing experience. I love it! The food is great, the services is great. I would recommend anyone to try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had never been there before and i made r ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

had never been there before and i made reservations to celebrate my husband's birthday. our wait for a table was great, almost immediately. the waitresses are awesome and very attentive. the chef to our surprise and liking spoke Spanish. he was very quiet but attentive and entertaining! the food portions were perfect. it seemed like small amounts but WOW! very filling and we even took some home!

thank you Kyoto and its employees for a wonderful experience! will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always good. I think we h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place is always good. I think we had a relatively new cook, as he did engage with our group much. The food was tasty as always and the cost is still reasonable! It's our go to place when we want a place to take a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Cook was very sloppy. Was trying to har ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Cook was very sloppy. Was trying to hard to be funny. When he was pouring the sauces he made a mess and the sauce was all over the dishes . He also had rice everywhere. He had an extra bowl of fried rice and instead of sharing it with those that had fried rice, he put it off to the side and took it away. I have always loved Kyoto Palace but was very disappointed this time. A very very messy cook. It was disgusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good teppan cooking restaurant. Rather ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good teppan cooking restaurant. Rather expensive for the quality of the food. But always a fun experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was so loud during dinner I couldn't ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was so loud during dinner I couldn't hear my guests when they spoke to me. The server had to repeat everything several times, leaning over the cooktop to get our order. I felt like I was yelling all night.

I enjoyed the experience but I won't be back. It seems that it's become a rowdy party place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Great food but it would have been better ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food but it would have been better if the chef didn't toss a piece of very hot scrambled egg in my eye without paying attention to see if I was looking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family loves to go for the shrimp an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our family loves to go for the shrimp and fried rice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, but it felt very hot in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was great, but it felt very hot in the dining room area. Our chef was not as enthusiastic and creative with his cooking as I have experienced before. But everyone at our table enjoyed celebrating my son's birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent Service!!! This is our familie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent Service!!! This is our families favorite place to have dinner!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, great service and amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome food, great service and amazing atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing, as always! We got ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing, as always! We got the special of the night-New York Steak, chicken and scallops. The fried rice never disappoints...it was delicious! The service was great, especially Ashley, one of the managers. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food love this place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place, go there often. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love this place, go there often. One thing we didn't like this time was when the server brought us our soup she placed each bowl in the middle of our dinner plates. You ever see the serving trays they use? It's used for everything so all the germs from the tray are now on your dinner plate. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The place didn't smell clean from the mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The place didn't smell clean from the moment the font door opened. Food quality, preparation, seasoning, cleanliness, and the performance were all lacking compared to their commercial chain competitor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Though we had reservations, there was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Though we had reservations, there was a very long wait to be seated, over 30 minutes. We were eventually seated in a back room that had an odd odor. The food and table service was fine, and the table-side cook was outstanding and hilarious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Appreciate that they could accommodate a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Appreciate that they could accommodate a group of 10 for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleased with my visit to Kyot ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was very pleased with my visit to Kyoto Palace for my older brothers birthday. It was our first time there and I will be back. Our waitress was fantastic, our chef was hilarious, and the food was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for 10 and I have to be g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a table for 10 and I have to be gluten free. The server knew exactly what kind of soup and salad to bring me and the chef was so thoughtful! He prepped and cooked my food before everyone else's so that mine was not contaminated. :)

Yeah! Great job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a very talented teppan chef. I've e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Had a very talented teppan chef. I've eaten a lot of teppan, and this guy had moves I've never seen before. It was a great place to celebrate my daughter's 8th birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and so was our waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was great and so was our waiter, but our chef was just rude. He was trying to be funny but it just was not working, he accidentally got some food in my mother's drink and did not even apologized and I even got burned while he was cleaning his stove, just plain rude. But the food, like always, was great. And so was everything else

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Always great experience however I did no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great experience however I did not include on the people my grandson who's 6 mos. I was surprised they put my guest and I in the middle of the table with my grandson out in the middle of the isle. It was a little weird I never said anything since all the other guests were already seated. So make sure if you want your kids/grandkids at the table you include them in the people part!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I decided to go to Kyoto Palace because ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I decided to go to Kyoto Palace because Benihana was fully booked for 2. So we decided to try Kyoto. We were seated quickly. The ordering was quick along with the food being cooked. It felt rushed and the portions were small and the fried rice was a little burnt. I have to say the waiter and cook were great service wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there with some family and friends ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went there with some family and friends on a Friday Night. The atmosphere is casual and nice. The presentation of the food by the chef who cooks your meal in front of you was entertaining and fun. The food itself was not exceptional. I had chicken and shrimp...shrimp and chicken were both overdone and bland. I also felt rushed by the servers because they kept asking if I was done with my food when I was half done with something. Perhaps because there is little table room they are trying to keep it cleared efficiently but I felt it was as if I was being hurried to eat and rushed out the door. I prefer a slower paced meal I guess. The main event of the restaurant is watching the chef prepare your meal in front of you and joke though, so if you haven't eaten there before, it is worth a try at least once for that especially if you have kids dining with you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great night out to celebrate a birthday! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great night out to celebrate a birthday! Everyone had fun and left very satisfied! Entertaining for the kids and great food. Service was excellent !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 adults and 3 kids and we all had a ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

2 adults and 3 kids and we all had a very enjoyable time!

The food preparation was very entertaining . All the food was tasty and we had only a little of the fried rice leftover for take home.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I made my reservations on line and it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I made my reservations on line and it was very easy. It has a auto confirmation that lets you know all is good with a time reminder. We got there rite at our scheduled time and we were sat within the minute we arrived. And the food was great and all was good .

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We usually go to Bennihana for my sons b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually go to Bennihana for my sons birthday so thought we would try something different.

The waitress was lovely and was always there checking on us. The chef was hard to understand due to noise level, his more quiet voice and accent. He was not flamboyant or super entertaining as we usually experience in restraurants like this. Was disappointing.

Food was okay. Over cooked but flavorful.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

I usually have a very good if not excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I usually have a very good if not excellent meal here. This time it was not as flavorful. The chef usually engages the group and does funny and interesting tricks, however this time our chef was silent. I would recommend it, however hopefully they get a different chef.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ugh. What an awful experience! We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Ugh. What an awful experience! We had a lackluster "chef" who could barely hold his utensils. In my reservation, and when we arrived, I explained we were celebrating TWO birthdays in our party of 6. Every table around us received a piece of cake and a loud rendition of "Happy Birthday". My boys kept asking if they were going to get a Happy Birthday, too. We sat and waited, and waited, and waited. Our waitress never came by, so I finally had to ask the hostess to bring out something. Oh, and the food is mediocre at best. Everything tastes the same and is bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

This place is sad. I have been coming he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place is sad. I have been coming here since was a kid and it looks like it. The flat tops are all shot out. The carpet is beat. It is in desperate need of a make over. The staff lack any charm or charisma. I do not plan on going back any time soon unless my dad takes the family for birthday like he used to when I was a kid.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value5

Our meals were prepared perfectly, which ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our meals were prepared perfectly, which included shrimp, chicken, filet and lobster.

My only complaint is the bland vegetables that are cooked with the meals. They've been using the same vegetables for as long as i can remember. Maybe mix it up a bit with green beans, bok choy, etc. Overall, a very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kids loved watching the show. We had le ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Kids loved watching the show. We had leftovers for days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food was cooked to order, our chef was lively and entertaining and the service was perfect. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.