About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: (408) 377-6456

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Energetic

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (49)
Good for Groups (38)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Fun (34)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My daughter had been asking to go to Kyoto Palace for a year now. We decided to celebrate her birthday and the completion of her first week of high school. This place did not disappoint! We had a great chef, who cracked jokes and kept us on our toes the whole time! The food was delicious and all the servers were very kind. A great night was had by everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a good and fun experience. The food tasted good and variety of choices to choose from. Prices are little pricey. The service and chefs are very friendly and nice. I reccomend to come and try them out.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great, kids had a wonderful time and our actual waiter and chef were amazing. Only reson I did not score higher was the attitude of the host when we arrived - He was very short, rude and failed to update us on numerous occasions so we sat down to eat more than an hour after our booking. We were very happy to wait but did not expect to be ignored and have to remind him that we were still there on several occasions. Not the cheapest option and we are there on a fairly regular basis, so expected more. Will probably think twice about going again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was fun. A little too loud to converse or hear our server

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Kyoto Palace never disappoints; great food, great service = great times!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good, a couple of technical problems with the server.
charged us for the other party's things, then did it again. 3rd try was ok.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went to dinner with my family 5 adults, a 2½ yr old toddler and a 6 mth old. Wasn't sure how it was going to work out with the grandkids. Was pleasantly surprised, all went well. My 2½ yr old granddaughter was entertained with the cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I came here b/c i had family visiting from out of town. We were in the corner end. Both groups in front and behind were drunk, noisy and roudy. I was there with my family including 2 children. The cook was great with them but no one was able to hear him well because the people around us were so loud and DRUNK. For the amount we spent i was disappointed by the enviroment at that time. I wish the restuarnt had cut them off at the bar or spoken to them to quiet down

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great n friendly chef n waitress was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our server was great. Super alert and made sure we were satisfied. She came back to the table frequently to check on us which was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We stopped in San Jose over our vacation. Found this gem using Open Table. Very happy with our experience. The restaurant is a little run down, but that is easily forgotten as you are entertained by the freshly prepared supper right before your eyes. We would definitely stop by if we ever come through town again. Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

It was such a wonderful, fun experience. We had both an amazing waitress and chef! It is such a comfortable place filled with laughter. We will all definetly be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Tapas, Healthy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always a favorite but this time was just average. Chef was short on fried rice and had some brought from the back that wasn't as good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food is awesome - but the restaurant is really loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I've been coming here for over 20 years. Love this place. It's like a "Chucky Cheese" for adults. There are constantly happy birthday announcements. Always fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great food and service. This place consistently provides a phenomenal dining experience. Highly recommended

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

They have recently adjusted their menu to include "sides" that include protein only. This makes it a much better option for families with picky eaters. We enjoy the full meal (soup, salad, fried rice, protein and veges) while our youngest could get just steak - he was thrilled. Also they have taken the bean sprouts out of the vege mix which made us all very happy! Great birthday celebration for us this week!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One word pretty much sums up my experience here, average. The menu was pretty standard for a teppanyaki restaurant, but sadly their sake list was very underwhelming. The server was very good and high energy, and came by often enough to ensure water glasses and assorted soft drinks at the table stayed full. The chef, Jose, was probably the highlight of the meal, as to be expected. He made funny jokes, had fun making a chicken out of the eggs with the fried rice, and even took a selfie with one of the table's cell phones. However, I was very disturbed to see him using a broken carving fork as part of his cooking arsenal. Also, his knife wasn't that sharp to start with either. Food wise, everything was very meh. The fried rice I thought was decent, although very garlicky, which I happen to enjoy. My fiance` got the large filet, and she almost had to have him come back and cut up some of the pieces as they were rather large and not bite size. I hate to say it but my favorite part of my meal was the ginger sauce, which was really good and made everything pop a bit. On the whole, would only come back again if there weren't other options in the area, which there are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Awesome as always. Love this place,always have and always will!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Go for the experience. The food is average, but it's a good time. They have lots of menu options for food and cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Love this place!! Great food! Great Service!!!!
It's local for me so I eat there a lot! The know me by name and always fit me in, even when they are super busy and I didn't make a reservation!

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is our birthday celebration dinner place. Everyone loves the food and the entertaining chefs!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Been here so many times, this was a complete let down. For what we paid, the chef gave us less then usual, forgot items and was super low in whole presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Everything was great. Good for big groups and traveling individuals. Would suggest going there if you're in the area. Walking distance from hotels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Competent teppanyaki with good service. My only real complaint was the chef did a haphazard job of cleaning the grill after cooking, which was unpleasant to look at while I was eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous dinner as always! Great for special occasions!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great as always, food on point. When busy service lacks a bit but its worth the wait. Awesome place, even after 30-40 times it doesn't get old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We come here often for dinner sadly this time was not a great experience. The chef did none of the normal fun things like tossing a little egg at people.
The people at our table spoke another language same as the chef so they were engaging him in loud conversation we didn't understand. It was a very special occasion for us I put that in the reservation notes but no one even asked. Very sad we probably will not be going anymore.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was good. Service was decent, although forgot one of our drink orders until almost done. Bar area was run down. Dining area was so loud, literally had to yell at friends 1 seat away because the ambient noise was so high. Not a good place if you want to have a conversation with anyone your going with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent place to celebrate my son's 21st. Lively and fun!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Kyoto Palace was the perfect spot to have a surprise birthday dinner for my friend. She was totally surprised. The only complaint I can make is it took longer than expected to be seated. But I guess that could have been my fault... maybe.

The food was delicious and the chef was funny. Would recommend this location for groups and birthdays.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had a wonderful relaxed dinner with my girlfriend. Met new people and we all laughed and had a great time. i would recommend Kyoto Palace to anyone of any age.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The restaurant is looking a bit tired and is in need of a remodel. The food is good, but we felt the quality and service have declined. The chef we had was OK, but clearly just going through the motions. Now a very average Tappan experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fun place to take your family. The kids were amazed with the ambiance and the chefs. My wife and I enjoyed the scenery as well. We were able to take a bit of a break from always having to be hands on with the kids since they were mesmerized by the chef and his cooking skills.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

we have been celebrating birthdays atg Kyoto for over 15 years and have never been disappointed. The only negative I might have is that the ice cream portions that come with your meal for dessert were a tad bit on the skimpy size for some of the servings, but not all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Kyoto Palace was Awesome! The food was really good and cooked perfectly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a fun dining experience, and the food was wonderful! The lobster was amazing! Thank you for providing such a unique dining experience! All of the staff was pleasant and welcoming!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent service and food was great. The chef congratulated our graduate repeatedly making him feel very special.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Love this place! Great food, entertaining and perfect for family fun, too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.