About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Campbell ›

good for groups (106)
special occasion (93)
kid-friendly (79)
See All
great for lunch (21)
fit for foodies (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (13)
romantic (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love this place, go there often. One ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love this place, go there often. One thing we didn't like this time was when the server brought us our soup she placed each bowl in the middle of our dinner plates. You ever see the serving trays they use? It's used for everything so all the germs from the tray are now on your dinner plate. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The place didn't smell clean from the mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The place didn't smell clean from the moment the font door opened. Food quality, preparation, seasoning, cleanliness, and the performance were all lacking compared to their commercial chain competitor.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Though we had reservations, there was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Though we had reservations, there was a very long wait to be seated, over 30 minutes. We were eventually seated in a back room that had an odd odor. The food and table service was fine, and the table-side cook was outstanding and hilarious.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Appreciate that they could accommodate a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Appreciate that they could accommodate a group of 10 for a birthday celebration.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleased with my visit to Kyot ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was very pleased with my visit to Kyoto Palace for my older brothers birthday. It was our first time there and I will be back. Our waitress was fantastic, our chef was hilarious, and the food was phenomenal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table for 10 and I have to be g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had a table for 10 and I have to be gluten free. The server knew exactly what kind of soup and salad to bring me and the chef was so thoughtful! He prepped and cooked my food before everyone else's so that mine was not contaminated. :)

Yeah! Great job!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a very talented teppan chef. I've e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Had a very talented teppan chef. I've eaten a lot of teppan, and this guy had moves I've never seen before. It was a great place to celebrate my daughter's 8th birthday.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and so was our waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was great and so was our waiter, but our chef was just rude. He was trying to be funny but it just was not working, he accidentally got some food in my mother's drink and did not even apologized and I even got burned while he was cleaning his stove, just plain rude. But the food, like always, was great. And so was everything else

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Always great experience however I did no ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great experience however I did not include on the people my grandson who's 6 mos. I was surprised they put my guest and I in the middle of the table with my grandson out in the middle of the isle. It was a little weird I never said anything since all the other guests were already seated. So make sure if you want your kids/grandkids at the table you include them in the people part!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I decided to go to Kyoto Palace because ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I decided to go to Kyoto Palace because Benihana was fully booked for 2. So we decided to try Kyoto. We were seated quickly. The ordering was quick along with the food being cooked. It felt rushed and the portions were small and the fried rice was a little burnt. I have to say the waiter and cook were great service wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went there with some family and friends ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went there with some family and friends on a Friday Night. The atmosphere is casual and nice. The presentation of the food by the chef who cooks your meal in front of you was entertaining and fun. The food itself was not exceptional. I had chicken and shrimp...shrimp and chicken were both overdone and bland. I also felt rushed by the servers because they kept asking if I was done with my food when I was half done with something. Perhaps because there is little table room they are trying to keep it cleared efficiently but I felt it was as if I was being hurried to eat and rushed out the door. I prefer a slower paced meal I guess. The main event of the restaurant is watching the chef prepare your meal in front of you and joke though, so if you haven't eaten there before, it is worth a try at least once for that especially if you have kids dining with you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great night out to celebrate a birthday! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great night out to celebrate a birthday! Everyone had fun and left very satisfied! Entertaining for the kids and great food. Service was excellent !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 adults and 3 kids and we all had a ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

2 adults and 3 kids and we all had a very enjoyable time!

The food preparation was very entertaining . All the food was tasty and we had only a little of the fried rice leftover for take home.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I made my reservations on line and it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I made my reservations on line and it was very easy. It has a auto confirmation that lets you know all is good with a time reminder. We got there rite at our scheduled time and we were sat within the minute we arrived. And the food was great and all was good .

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We usually go to Bennihana for my sons b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually go to Bennihana for my sons birthday so thought we would try something different.

The waitress was lovely and was always there checking on us. The chef was hard to understand due to noise level, his more quiet voice and accent. He was not flamboyant or super entertaining as we usually experience in restraurants like this. Was disappointing.

Food was okay. Over cooked but flavorful.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

I usually have a very good if not excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I usually have a very good if not excellent meal here. This time it was not as flavorful. The chef usually engages the group and does funny and interesting tricks, however this time our chef was silent. I would recommend it, however hopefully they get a different chef.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ugh. What an awful experience! We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Ugh. What an awful experience! We had a lackluster "chef" who could barely hold his utensils. In my reservation, and when we arrived, I explained we were celebrating TWO birthdays in our party of 6. Every table around us received a piece of cake and a loud rendition of "Happy Birthday". My boys kept asking if they were going to get a Happy Birthday, too. We sat and waited, and waited, and waited. Our waitress never came by, so I finally had to ask the hostess to bring out something. Oh, and the food is mediocre at best. Everything tastes the same and is bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

This place is sad. I have been coming he ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place is sad. I have been coming here since was a kid and it looks like it. The flat tops are all shot out. The carpet is beat. It is in desperate need of a make over. The staff lack any charm or charisma. I do not plan on going back any time soon unless my dad takes the family for birthday like he used to when I was a kid.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value5

Our meals were prepared perfectly, which ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our meals were prepared perfectly, which included shrimp, chicken, filet and lobster.

My only complaint is the bland vegetables that are cooked with the meals. They've been using the same vegetables for as long as i can remember. Maybe mix it up a bit with green beans, bok choy, etc. Overall, a very good dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kids loved watching the show. We had le ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Kids loved watching the show. We had leftovers for days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food was cooked to order, our chef was lively and entertaining and the service was perfect. Will definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Only disappointment was we had heard abo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Only disappointment was we had heard about the fathers day special for days prior to going. Our whole group was going to get that. Then to find out it wasn't offered on Fathers Day sunday. Very strange.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love coming here when we do. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Absolutely love coming here when we do. I understand you get what you pay for, but it seems as though pricing has gone up again. Not certain why but it would cause me to think about another special occasion in going somewhere else possibly. Hope they can lower their pricing in the future.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We brought my dad and husband for father ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We brought my dad and husband for fathers day. My dad was not thrilled about having such a late dinner (8:30 reservations) but both my husband and my dad where blown away! Not to mention the huge portions of food and the fact that it taste great!!! Definitely a new go to for us.

Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very loud in the restaurant that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very loud in the restaurant that husband and could even speak eachother. The group at our table was miss the chef and causing problems with the chef which ruined the show. And the food also was very bland that night also. We have been there a few times and it was okay but the other night turned us away for awhile..

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

Kyoto Palace is great, we always go for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Kyoto Palace is great, we always go for birthdays, parties and special occasions. We've had many graduation dinners. You can dress up and be fancy or go in a t-shirt and jeans, it's entirely up to you and the air suits either. Great place for an anniversary date (which is what we had). It's a little expensive, but given the amount of food it's worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was way overcooked. The scallo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was way overcooked. The scallops were rubbery feeling and not very tasty. I've never had such a bad meal there before. My daughter was very disappointed in her birthday dinner. Even the chef next to ours commented on how the eggs in the fried rice were burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great time celebrating my bf's birthday. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great time celebrating my bf's birthday. Our chef made the night extra special. He was hilarious. As always the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just ok-felt rushed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had dinner here for my daughter's graduation. We've been here twice before. It was just ok. It was the same old chef's tricks--the same food. I think what bothered me the most was I felt rushed out the door. I was trying to finish my ice cream--which the waitress failed to inform us was included with dinner. (We had to ask) 3 different people came to take my bill and I hadn't even gotten my credit card out yet. I might not have minded, as I know they are trying to turn over the tables but the bill was just about $200.00! If I come and spend $200.00 in your restaurant, please don't push me out the door. The scallops were a little funky--almost an antiseptic taste. Didn't eat them. Everything else was alright-nothing special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing All Around

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Whenever we have a special occasion, we always choose Kyoto Palace to celebrate. This time we were celebrating our daughter's 5th grade promotion. As always, the staff were excellent! As well as the food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was really nice how every time we go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

It was really nice how every time we go we are taken care of. My family and I always have a great time and now our son is old enough (14 months) to enjoy the fun experience. So awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time celebrating our dau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebrating our daughter's promotion from elementary school. The environment is fun and lively and the chef did a fantastic job with getting everyone to participate in the catching of the food and also cooking a wonderful meal. Look forward to going back soon.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Graduation fun

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food, good show, lively place! Great way to spend our evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Is a bit noisy , and service ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food. Is a bit noisy , and service was a little slow for drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a good time. Food always great. F ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Always a good time. Food always great. Fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my mom's birthday an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's birthday and got placed in the corner of the restaurant, which is fine, but our server took 30 minutes to bring out our salad and soups. She was not attentive whatsoever. The food was subpar. Only reason we came here was because Benihana's was overbooked. Not returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Outstanding service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Went out to eat with my family for Sunday dinner, and decided this was the place for us, we had 10 guest and the service was wonderful and they are on top of everthing, great cooks

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This was a great place to celebrate a birthday. Loved how the employees went all out to acknowledge the birthday girl.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.