About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: 408-377-6456x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 4:00PM 4:30PM - 4:30PM

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Jose / Silicon Valley
Best Restaurants in Campbell ›

good for groups (99)
special occasion (82)
kid-friendly (70)
See All
great for lunch (21)
fit for foodies (20)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Kids loved watching the show. We had le ...

Dined 5 days ago

Kids loved watching the show. We had leftovers for days.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent teppanyaki experience! Food was cooked to order, our chef was lively and entertaining and the service was perfect. Will definitely go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only disappointment was we had heard abo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Only disappointment was we had heard about the fathers day special for days prior to going. Our whole group was going to get that. Then to find out it wasn't offered on Fathers Day sunday. Very strange.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely love coming here when we do. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love coming here when we do. I understand you get what you pay for, but it seems as though pricing has gone up again. Not certain why but it would cause me to think about another special occasion in going somewhere else possibly. Hope they can lower their pricing in the future.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought my dad and husband for father ...

Dined 6 days ago

We brought my dad and husband for fathers day. My dad was not thrilled about having such a late dinner (8:30 reservations) but both my husband and my dad where blown away! Not to mention the huge portions of food and the fact that it taste great!!! Definitely a new go to for us. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

It was very loud in the restaurant that ...

Dined 7 days ago

It was very loud in the restaurant that husband and could even speak eachother. The group at our table was miss the chef and causing problems with the chef which ruined the show. And the food also was very bland that night also. We have been there a few times and it was okay but the other night turned us away for awhile..

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kyoto Palace is great, we always go for ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Kyoto Palace is great, we always go for birthdays, parties and special occasions. We've had many graduation dinners. You can dress up and be fancy or go in a t-shirt and jeans, it's entirely up to you and the air suits either. Great place for an anniversary date (which is what we had). It's a little expensive, but given the amount of food it's worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was way overcooked. The scallo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was way overcooked. The scallops were rubbery feeling and not very tasty. I've never had such a bad meal there before. My daughter was very disappointed in her birthday dinner. Even the chef next to ours commented on how the eggs in the fried rice were burnt.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great time celebrating my bf's birthday. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great time celebrating my bf's birthday. Our chef made the night extra special. He was hilarious. As always the food was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Just ok-felt rushed

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had dinner here for my daughter's graduation. We've been here twice before. It was just ok. It was the same old chef's tricks--the same food. I think what bothered me the most was I felt rushed out the door. I was trying to finish my ice cream--which the waitress failed to inform us was included with dinner. (We had to ask) 3 different people came to take my bill and I hadn't even gotten my credit card out yet. I might not have minded, as I know they are trying to turn over the tables but the bill was just about $200.00! If I come and spend $200.00 in your restaurant, please don't push me out the door. The scallops were a little funky--almost an antiseptic taste. Didn't eat them. Everything else was alright-nothing special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing All Around

Dined on June 8, 2016

Whenever we have a special occasion, we always choose Kyoto Palace to celebrate. This time we were celebrating our daughter's 5th grade promotion. As always, the staff were excellent! As well as the food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was really nice how every time we go ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

It was really nice how every time we go we are taken care of. My family and I always have a great time and now our son is old enough (14 months) to enjoy the fun experience. So awesome.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time celebrating our dau ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebrating our daughter's promotion from elementary school. The environment is fun and lively and the chef did a fantastic job with getting everyone to participate in the catching of the food and also cooking a wonderful meal. Look forward to going back soon.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Graduation fun

Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food, good show, lively place! Great way to spend our evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food. Is a bit noisy , and service ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food. Is a bit noisy , and service was a little slow for drinks

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time. Food always great. F ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Always a good time. Food always great. Fun

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We were celebrating my mom's birthday an ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We were celebrating my mom's birthday and got placed in the corner of the restaurant, which is fine, but our server took 30 minutes to bring out our salad and soups. She was not attentive whatsoever. The food was subpar. Only reason we came here was because Benihana's was overbooked. Not returning again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service

Dined on May 23, 2016

Went out to eat with my family for Sunday dinner, and decided this was the place for us, we had 10 guest and the service was wonderful and they are on top of everthing, great cooks

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place to celebrate a bi ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

This was a great place to celebrate a birthday. Loved how the employees went all out to acknowledge the birthday girl.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was beyond amazing for my son ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was beyond amazing for my son's graduation. I am so happy we went to Kyoto Palace. Dale and crew really outdid themselves!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This place is good and fun place to be e ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place is good and fun place to be entertained but food is not cooked to your order. Food quality and freshness is good but they over cook on the grill. Ex: ordered steak to be modium rare, cooked to medium well. Vigetanle over cooked to be soggy instead of crunch. Shrimps are over cooked also. Other than that, it was great and fun. Cook was well trained with amazing tricks.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3

The food was a bit of a disappointment . ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was a bit of a disappointment . The seafood and meat was cooked in lard and was over salted . You can see that because they cook it in front of you. Preparation was minimal ( fried and seasoned ). The chef was not as skillful in putting on a show with the cutlery as others restaurants that do this kind of gig . The bill was pretty expensive for what you get . Unlikely we would go there or recommend to anyone else .

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Simply put - Disappointing

Dined on May 9, 2016

Brought my wife for Mother's Day. We will certainly not return. I strongly suspect the table-top grill was much hotter than the Chef expected. Almost everything was significantly overdone. Scrambled eggs dark brown like pancakes on bottom when flipped, shrimp starting to blacken when flipped and rubbery overall when served, as were the scallops and lobster. Wife's New York Steak (ordered Medium Rare) did not have a speck of pink in it. The Chef even had a surprised look on his face when he turned over the shrimp and saw it was starting to blacken. I ordered the Filet/Lobster/Scallop combo and my wife had the New York/Lobster/Shrimp (called Mikado Gold on the Mother's Day special menu at $52. Seems it is $14 more to add a 1/3 portion of shrimp to the regular New York Steak and Lobster Combo price. Can't say it was worth it since we never actually got the shrimp). All entrees included an appetizer of shrimp. The Chef apparently noticed he didn't have enough in the original delivery from the kitchen, so he sent back for an additional serving. He started cooking the second portion just as he flipped the first. The first portion was distributed to our table (8 total people) with everyone getting an appetizer portion and those with shrimp in the entrée received their additional portion also - except my wife. I assumed the second portion still cooking was for her, but when it was finished he gave it to another diner. Probably "forgot" who he had shorted her before - or "forgot" that the Mikado Gold special that day included shrimp while the normal Mikado menu item doesn't. The only reason I gave the service a five is the person taking our order and delivering soup, salads and drinks was just fine. I'm not going to count the terrible table service by the Chef in the "service" category as I believe it should be for wait staff. I've eaten at Nijo Castle in Fremont. Same setup but the food was infinitely better prepared and a better value for the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great from family gatherings!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a wonderful time celebrating Mother's Day and my Grandson's 6th Birthday. The presentation was Very entertaining and enjoyed by all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than Benihana

Dined on May 8, 2016

A teppan grill with all the action of the other place but with better food

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fun for kids to see food cooked i ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always fun for kids to see food cooked in front of us. Mimosas were spot on!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it here!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Kyoto Palace is our go-to place. We love the whole dining experience and always have a great time. Food is prepared especially for you and is scrumptious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great fun food!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Service was on point as was the food. Prices were average and the ambiance was great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, fun...all great! Our only ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Food, service, fun...all great! Our only problem was a birthday for 6 year olds at 7pm-8:30 pm. 7 kids plus a baby, 3 mothers ignoring the kids and 3 dads who had the sense to sit at a separate table. Kid friendly is nice but we thought it would be adults at that hour.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

jimhaze13

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food and service was FANTASTIC!! Will definitely be going back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super Fun and entertaining!

Dined on March 26, 2016

This restaurant is a fun place to go and have some good laughs while watching your food being cooked! I usually love the food and we go often, but this trip was a huge bust! The meat was so tough and chewy you couldn't enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Perfect for any occasion!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Loved it! Perfect for any occasion!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wife

Dined on March 25, 2016

As a group it is a very great place with good food!! They should treat the Birthday guest with a free dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Family fun

Dined on March 18, 2016

Always a great time with the kids! Food is yummy and a lot of it... Go hungry!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

everything was good missing thst Diablo ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

everything was good missing thst Diablo sauce

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

Dined on March 1, 2016

The fried rice is awesone. Fun place to go with a group, as the cooks put on a great show. Very enjoyable for all ages.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Fun

Dined on February 28, 2016

Always have fun coming here. Great food, good service and a great people watching venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was good except for the New Yor ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was good except for the New York steak. It was tough and hard to chew. Disappointing. The service was excellent. If you order beef, order the filet mignon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great iconic spot. Noisy, busy, everyone ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great iconic spot. Noisy, busy, everyone having a good time . The tepanaki seating promotes a friendly exchange, adding to the good experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebratory Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Kyoto. And we will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.