About Kyoto Palace Restaurant

We are located in The Pruneyard Shopping Center in Campbell on the second floor since 1976. We are a teppanyaki restaurant where the chef "chops, dices and tosses your food right before your very eyes". We have the most skilled and entertaining chefs in the area. They will interact with you and your guests for that special occasion. It is a great place for birthdays, anniversaries, proms, graduations and best of all a great place to treat yourself to a fun night out. Enjoy great steaks, seafood and lobster. Also, enjoy the freshest and most exotic sushi prepared by masterful Sushi Chefs.

1875 S. Bascom Ave.
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Happy Hour: Monday-Friday: 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM (sorry, no OPEN TABLE reservations accepted for Happy Hour)

Cross Street:
Campbell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 377-6456

Website:
http://www.kyotopalace.com/

Entertainment:
KARAOKE WEDNESDAYS

Every Wednesday night from 7:00 PM- 11:00 PM. Enjoy the best sushi in the area while being entertained by our amateur singers.

Parking Details:
Large surface area parking. Also a 4-level parking structure located 300 yards from our building. Drop off young children and elderly at curbside and park in the structure for easy check in.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of Shopping Center and Hamilton Ave. light rail stop walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Yih Chuang

Private Party Facilities:
We can do wedding receptions or family gatherings up to 180 people on Saturday and Sunday at 11:30 AM until 3:00 PM.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley or Dale: (408) 377-6456

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kyoto Palace Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (48)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (34)
See All
Fun (33)
Good for a Date (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Family Style (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Casual (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Busy, noisy, fun. Not for the hard of hearing or those who are fussy about a spotless environment.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This place was way to load for my enjoyment. The people were screaming, they need to install some sound deadening material somehow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Brought my 2 teenage daughters for dinner and they loved the food. They already want to come back again. Our chef wasn't much of a showman on the grill but I don't care for much of that. A little pricey but worth the occasional visit at least for my wallet. Will be back

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food, fun environment. Little pricy. Great cook, sense of humor. Tasty food , fast service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This was out 3rd time to Kyoto, returning with family for mother's day. We were a party of 10 and several of us had tummy aches that evening. The food quality has gone down! The soup has no flavor! Even the coke seemed watered down as did the sesame sauce. We will not be returning to this restaurant. Had a horrible end to mother's day where I was up with stomach cramps!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place is always a nice change for the normal restaurant and the food is usually pretty good, although not as good as Benihana. This time I had chicken and shrimp. The shrimp was very good, but the chicken was not good, so did not eat it. The other person at our table that had chicken agreed with me. The fried rice and veges were great! If you want a quiet conversation, this is not the place to go. It's hard to hear the person next to you. Others said their food was just ok.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Host hostes very welcoming. Bar tenders are great fast and frienly with prompt service. Food had no flavor very bland. Waitress waiter did not offer the specials nor the drink (champange) that came with entree, until i had asked. Cook seemed depressed no entertaiment and thats what the resturaunt is known for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food. Awesome chef. It was my birthday dinner and was so much fun. We usually go to Benihana and Kyoto palace was just as yummmmmmmy! Basically the same thing. Our chef Jose was so much fun and made it a great birthday! Would definitely recommend Kyoto palace to everyone!! Fabulous food and great fun!!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Kyoto Palace has great food and great customer service. Sue is energetic and fun as a server and Jose is a wonderful and entertaining chef. Ashley the manager is awesome and the owner Dale is personable and greets guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Everyone we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Great service, Great food!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I took my two boys here for dinner as they ask for Benihana often and it's usually booked up. Kyoto Palace was every bit as fun. The service was great and worthy of fine dining. I didn't have to ask for anything twice. The server did an amazing job. The chef put on a good show. The bill was $80 for the three of us despite me ordering the most expensive combo; the kids meals are a great value for the amount of food. I took home enough for lunch for the three of us the next day. No stars off but the location is upstairs and signage was minimal; it took us a few minutes of wandering around to find it. The entire mall is under construction but we didn't have any trouble finding a close parking space out back for our early dinner. And the kids loved looking at the construction equipment. By the end of the meal we realized it was pretty crowded and noisy. The ice cream at the end is always a big hit. We were in and out in about an hour which is usually our limit anyway with the kids.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious food and the chef cooking right in front of you is always a fun experience! Enjoyable, lively atmosphere and an overall great place to spend a birthday or anniversary in a group!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Veggies very small portion
Steak was ok.
Scallops very small portions
But you got a lot of rice.
Value was not there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Come here for birthdays and fun gatherings. Loud - but that is a good thing! This is the place to come with a group and have a fun "experience". Food has remained good over the years. You will easily drop30$+ per person, but everyone leaves stuffed.

GET A RESERVATION. DO NOT TRY AND DROP IN!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Another very successful family celebration! A good time for all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to House of Genji on 1st street in SJ, but wanted a place closer to home. I always seem to forget this is in the pruneyard..great place to take a date....lots of fun, chef's are entertaining, staff always making sure your water is refilled....we enjoyed the group bday singing...just a blast

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was really substandard. Three small shrimp is an appetizer? The sauces are terrible - the scallops were flavorless and needed garlic butter. Veggies were almost non-existent. Next time I want teppanyaki I will go to House of Genji.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The dining part of the meal was fine, however the white male bartender in the lounge was very inattentive, not really that friendly or hospitable, and a little too busy chatting up his friend about the baseball game that was on TV. He should be greeting people as they come into the bar, and when they sit down, instead of waiting for them to say excuse me to get some help from him... And asking him about happy hour, he just gave us the menus without a word and with a not very pleasant look on his face.
The Asian sushi Bar bartender was great and offered up service right away. Thumbs up to him!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was very good here. The hibachi was yummy and the sushi rolls were a good size. The hibachi chef was very colorful and entertaining. However, this place is in serious need of a makeover!! Dirty carpet throughout, low ceilings, very dated. I believe it's been in business for around 20 years and it looks as if nothing has been updated since it opened. I would not go back, because of the ambiance. Would rather spend date night at a nicer restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What's not to love? FRESH meat, veggies and seafood cooked right before your eyes! Garlic fried rice- this may be the only reason you need, it is so good,don't skimp on this one. The drinks are very high quality, great wine and beer list, fun bar just to watch a game and get snacks. It's usually about $35 per person so we don't go often but when we do we enjoy it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Awesome food, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the food and the ambience !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was my sister's birthday and we had a fun time! The food was good, the staff were attentive and friendly , and the food did not disappoint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday dinner, but this particular night there were several celebrations and I feel as though the chef and server didn't treat my friends birthday with as much celebration as the others

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a great time! Great food and entertainment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Kyoto has been a hit or miss for us, but then all the South Bay Teppan places have been. This time, Easter Dinner (yeah, one of those), was actually well done. Maybe that is the trick...go when they don't expect it.
The food was good, sometimes we think the best of the three, but the 'show' is severely lacking, as in all of the teppan restaurants. Sometimes, we think OSHA should be on trump's cancel list: gone: spearing the lemon on the knife, gone, the onion volcano that actually flames, gone, juggling serving forks and knives in front of the table.....

OK, I had teppan in Taiwan, where who cared about the food, the show was worth the price of the meal. Although the food was also excellent. But that was then, and this is now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place was awesome for Easter Sunday!! My family loved it and will be back again!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Kyoto's is a fun restaurant to share lunch or dinner with friends and family (lively, comical and good food).

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Kyoto Palace for a birthday celebration and since I hadn't been to Pruneyard in awhile , I was very surprised to see that the parking lot closest to the restaurant and in the center of the shopping center was closed and nothing but dirt. This is a busy center, so parking was a real challenge and some of the guests were out of towners who had never been to the center. The reservation was for 10, but unfortunately, the number of guests included one extra (11 instead of 10). We were seated before all of the guests arrived, and the table had chairs for 8, although 9 were present, so we had to request another chair. When the other 2 arrived, we had to squeeze into the small table, and some had to eat on the very corners of the table. The waiter was engaging, although he didn't do all of the tricks and it was so loud, we couldn't hear him well and he couldn't hear us. As a result, one of the steaks was cooked medium well instead of medium rare. He was quick to redo the steak, though. Despite the crowding and loud atmosphere, it was still enjoyable, but not good for a larger party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great quality and not over salted, my salad leaves were wet, so the dressing on top blended with the water in the bowl was was runny . He made close attention not to mix the seafood area of the grill with meat, I don't like my chicken tasting like my shrimp. The ice-cream was even good. However the ventilation was extremely poor, and the hood over the grills didn't seem to be working as smoke was billowing out the sides on to the ceiling.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food. Enjoyed the dinner. A little loud but was worth the noise.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Enjoyable as always! A little noisy but when you have little ones that is a good thing! We went for our grandson's 8th birthday and had a great time. He loves watching the food being prepared right in front of him, especially the onion volcano!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We usually go twice a month . Great food and Great service. We love the people who work there .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food are excellent. I just have a little complain about the sauce, its salty.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good way to send our family off on their new adventure

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was excellent but the waitress was very slow and forgot our salad until we had to remind her.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was ok. Friday lunch, not many people. Our chef just kind of "dialed in" the performance since the table had only 3 of us (and our attention was split between the cooking and the toddler). The food was alright, but a little bit on the salty side. I can imagine it would be more fun with a few more patrons at the table, cheering on the performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good time great service

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good Service overall, food very tasty only thing is the ventilation system needs to be upgraded a little too smokey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My bad review is due to ordering the scallops. They came and they were "coins", not a scallop. They had been sliced horizontally about 3 - 4 times to turn 1 scallop into several. They were maybe 1/4 inch thick. Our chef was great, not his fault. Service was good. I just can't get over the scallop. I ordered the filet mignon & scallops, one of their most expensive items listed. I don't mind paying good money, but when I do, I don't like feeling like I've been taken. I won't ever return. There are too many other teppanyaki restaurants available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.