About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • KUU Restaurant, Houston, TX

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Tapas (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would rate this as a top 3 sushi stops ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I would rate this as a top 3 sushi stops in Houston. A MUST have is the mushroom dish which is 100% better than the description in the menu. It is the perfect dish to end a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great night out for my husban ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was a great night out for my husband's birthday! We went as a group of 8, and had the perfect table setup for all of us. The wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and very attentive. The food was fantastic and the ambiance was great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a nice restaurant to s ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was looking for a nice restaurant to spend my 8 yr anniversary with my wife and we came across KUU. We never been there before nor heard of it, but my wife and I are very grateful we ended up choosing KUU for our anniversary dinner. Great menu, friendly staff and very nice environment for our special occasion. Rick the General Manager went as far as congratulating us with a few glasses of champagne and a house favorite entrée. Thank you RICK! Food was great, looking forward to eating at KUU in the near future. Highly recommend you do the same!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High quality fish but very pricey. I don ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

High quality fish but very pricey. I don't think the price quality ratio is worth it honesty. Nice decor, we sat outside in the patio area which is very cozy. But I won't be returning.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I really like Kuu. The place is nice, th ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

I really like Kuu. The place is nice, the bar great, service awesome and food delicious. The girl at the bar is super super nice, wish i could catch her name. Social hour on mondays is great, and size of dishes is fair and enough for you to try different things. I'll come back soon

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service! Great Food!.....our s ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Excellent service! Great Food!.....our server, Emily, was great explaining my wife and I the menu and suggesting Japanese beers. We had a great dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter suggested us to order the Urc ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our waiter suggested us to order the Urchin, without telling us the cost. It was good, but $75.- for three little pieces of Urchin Sashimi, come on.

That really leaves a sour taste in our mouth after we left.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was wonderful, I will definite ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful, I will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always outstanding service and fabulo ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always outstanding service and fabulous food. What a delight to have a restaurant of this caliber in Houston. Kuu has become our favorite Japanese restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Service. Intimate ambiance. We ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic Service. Intimate ambiance. Well decorated and well dressed crowd. Very impressive. Food was fantastic and definitely worth more than the price. Solid drink menu. Definitely book ahead for the best tables and they cater to special occasions. This is a gem amongst Houston's finest.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal. Best sushi in town!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Another great meal. Best sushi in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food. Too expensive for small ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food. Too expensive for small portion sizes.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

So Yummy. The food is very fresh. Presen ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

So Yummy. The food is very fresh. Presentation is amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Regular weekly attendee at Kuu and it is ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Regular weekly attendee at Kuu and it is consistently fresh and delicious. Best sushi in Texas area and comparable to five stars New York and Las Vegas top sushi restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good the food and service in gene ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Really good the food and service in general. Got a bit dissappointed that social hour wasnt running that monday. Will be in other opportunity. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent place to celebrate special day ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate special days, this time was my wife Bday and it was really special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always!

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server seemed very nervous (possibly new ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Server seemed very nervous (possibly new?) and wasn't very helpful with suggestions. He was very attentive at first but then disappeared for long periods of time. Restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night at 8pm. Food was ok....very overrated and very expensive. Wine list was mediocre. Would not go back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Kuu is an amazing restaurant. We went th ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Kuu is an amazing restaurant. We went there for a low key b-day lunch celebration. In one word: Perfect. Great food, impecable service, and great ambience. Thanks to Kuu's manager and staff for doing such a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KUU is simply amazing. The food is deli ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

KUU is simply amazing. The food is delicious and creative. We had the rock shrimp appetizer--addictive. The sushi is outstanding with very high quality fish and rice. As a treat, they fly in special fish daily from the Tsukiji market in Tokyo daily. I've had this treat twice. If you enjoy sushi, this is something to try.

The bloody mary was excellent.

Last but not least, the service was impeccable. Christine gave us wonderful service. She is very helpful navigating the large menu and understanding some of the unusual fish available. Many thanks to Christine.

Overall, an outstanding and exceptional experience. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Went on a Sunday which was ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Outstanding. Went on a Sunday which was perfect as the crazed was small and it was easy to get in. The Sunday pairing special is also a great deal! This place is surely in the running for best sushi place in town...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The amberjack with mandarin sections and ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The amberjack with mandarin sections and grapes was absolutely fabulous. The mushroom dish and beet salad are definitely worth ordering again. They also have selections directly from the Tokyo fish market. Skip the foie - not as good as having it the French way. Worth going!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I brought a special date for a nice dinn ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

I brought a special date for a nice dinner on a Sunday evening. I requested a special quiet romantic table and KUU delivered. Service and food were excellent, wine was perfect, great ambiance and made for a perfect date! Thank you KUU, we will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurent experience was incredible ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The restaurent experience was incredible. Our server, Zach was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and knew how to take care of us! We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The grilled edamame was the best I've ever had in my life, and the sushi was so fresh and bold flavors. The pork belly: also the best I've ever had. Nothing could've made it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stephanie was our server. At the end of ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Stephanie was our server. At the end of the meal she told us she just got out of training and we were the first table she waited on. She was amazing. N vet would have known it was her first night on the job. Food was great, service was prompt. Parking was easy. Will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only is

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Not only is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go with several people so that you can s ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Go with several people so that you can share many different dishes. The variety is awesome and well worth experimenting with dishes you might not try on your own. The wait staff can be very helpful in explaining each dish. I'm going for lunch next time to see how it is compared to dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening. Our server Emilie was ver ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

great evening. Our server Emilie was very good and we (as always) enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Kuu numerous times. Each ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

We've eaten at Kuu numerous times. Each time seems to be better than the previous meal. Everything on the menu is extremely fresh and imaginative. If you want Uchi without the wait, this is your spot. There are always off the menu specials depending on what is freshest that day. Do yourself a favor and try it out. It's a great place for drinks at the bar before or after dinner in the dining room. The interior is beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi is always fresh and the highes ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

The sushi is always fresh and the highest quality. My son was a little disappointed because they failed to prepare the Hot Rocks for the table side filet but the rest of the meal was a 10.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kuu just seems to get better and better ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

Kuu just seems to get better and better every time! We love Julio and Ricky! Thanks for all the great suggestions. Our favorite sushi in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is quite good, and the special ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is quite good, and the special fish selections are unique and flavorful. Service is attentive and quite good. The place itself is attractive if a bit Spartan. The menu is creative and not the run of the mill sushi bar. It may not be Oouchi, but it is pretty close.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

KUU was better than I imagined. We had ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

KUU was better than I imagined. We had a group of six and shared multiple small plates. Lots of exciting tastes and fun. Food came out individually, so that as we finished one plate, the next was arriving. This kept everything lively. We sat in the bar area where there are special prices during happy hour, so we kept the plates coming. We ordered a number of dishes off the happy hour menu, but also dug into the regular (much larger) menu and everything was beautifully presented, wonderfully and creatively conceived and executed and super-tasty! Highly recommend KUU for quick, casual eats AND for special occasions!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals at Kuu are always exceptional. ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our meals at Kuu are always exceptional. The food is interesting and of the highest quality. Julio is one of the best servers in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

KUU is my favorite restaurant! I live v ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

KUU is my favorite restaurant! I live very close and try to go as often as possible. The waiters are terrific and the manager always brings us a new unusual dish to try. Can't beat that! Perfection!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife got food poisoning after eating ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

My wife got food poisoning after eating there. The food tasted good and the service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went solely for the salmon we tasted at ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Went solely for the salmon we tasted at the Chronicle's culinary event... sadly the exact dish isn't on the menu. Very pricey for the size of the dishes - would be worth it if they were exceptional. I felt like KUU is an Uchi wannabe, but no comparison. The salmon sashimi was the best thing - melted in my mouth! Cocktails were good but not worth $12-15. Dishes came out back to back - ate everything so fast that we were still hungry! Decided we needed a "real" dinner somewhere else... except the waiter was nowhere to be found to get the check. After 10 minutes we flagged down a hostess and manager - neither could find him! Manager brought the check and gave no apology?! Finally paid and went elsewhere. I would actually return just for the salmon... but probably won't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Awesome! We had Omakase for 4 people an ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome! We had Omakase for 4 people and we were served 8 courses of very creative, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Drinks were watered down, food was not ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Drinks were watered down, food was not as good, all around and service was terrible.

we used to love this place , no more

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow at the start. 15 minute ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was slow at the start. 15 minutes and they had not taken our drink order. The waitress came by and told us that the host didn't tell her she was our server. I asked if she could tell her manager. She did, and a few minutes later the manager came with a complementary plate of edamame. After that little hiccup food was awesome as usual. And half way through our course they bring another complimentary plate. Awesome! Can't complain. Kuu is not inexpensive, but the quality is undeniable. I always get disappointed whenever I go to any other Japanese restaurant. Don't hesitate to dine at Kuu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.