About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

fit for foodies (58)
special occasion (49)
romantic (34)
See All
hot spot (32)
good for groups (26)
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

KUU Experience

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner at Kuu. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was fabulous, every dish better than the next....we tried about four different rolls and all were excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

one of the most creative sushi restauran ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

one of the most creative sushi restaurants in texas

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to KUU for our anniversary and had an outstanding meal. Our server John picked an amazing assortment of dishes for us that were very well presented and delicious. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as always!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and cocktails are always amazing, staff very helpful if you are overwhelmed by the menu. But once you've been, you will definitely have your favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, b ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, but everything was delicious! I went there to celebrate my birthday! I would highly recommend this place. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent sushi fusion!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 8 year anniversary at Kuu. I had heard great reviews, and being that we are both sushi lovers, decided this was a great place for a child free night out. We both ordered a bowl of miso to start, then shared the Kuu, June, and Truffle Suzuki rolls. The Truffle Suzuki was delicious (yellowtail) and melted in your mouth. The June roll was my favorite, as I am a fan of spicy tuna. We also ordered pieces of Hamachi (yellowtail), Bincho (tuna), and Hirame (flounder) Unfortunately, we waited 30 minutes for our last roll (Kuu) to come out. I believe they forgot about it, or it was given to another table. We finally got our roll (we were headed to the theatre after and had to rush out) and the manager was nice enough to comp the roll (we didn't ask, but felt well deserved after waiting so long) Overall, it is pricy compared to other sushi restaurants, but the quality is something that cannot be beat. I have been to Tokyo and eaten at the Tsujiki fish market (where Kuu gets its fish) and it is just as fresh as being right in Tokyo. I definitely would recommend to anyone and cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great food and service!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our server Tao was really knowledgeable and helpful. He made some great suggestions and we enjoyed everything. Love the creativity the chef uses to pair the foods. Really a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but w ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but worth it! It is all good, waiters know there stuff! Take their advice on the offerings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's ta ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's tasting menu (omakase) and all the small dishes were flavorful and original. They were out of the wine we wanted to order, but recommended another one of the same price that we liked even better! We even got an extra dish "for the inconvenience "!! Thank you, KUU, we'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

We always like to have dinner there we l ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We always like to have dinner there we like your food

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

First class sushi

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is spectacular. Interesting combinations and fresh, fresh, fresh fish. Melts in your mouth. High prices but if you love sushi, you'll be happy to pay. I wish the service was a notch or two more sophisticated. When you're paying these kinds of prices, you want the service to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to Kuu on a whim after a quick review online and I have to say I was blown away. This was by far the best sushi I have ever had. My girlfriend and I were amazed at how relaxed the and comfortable the environment was. The food was on another level. I can't wait to go back and try anything and everything on there menu. I couldn't imagine anything being close to mediocre. What a amazing restaurant, staff, service and atmosphere. If your looking for a incredible date night or special occasion or just high quality sushi I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KUU is just what we need in this area

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to KUU for the first time for their happy hour and were amazed at how good everything was, and the service was great! We went back two nights later for dinner and sat on the patio. It was a wonderful dining experience. My husband had a delicious cocktail and I had wine. We were 100% pleased with both of our KUU experiences and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phyllis flax

Dined on March 27, 2016

My favorite restUrant in town! I like to go at least once a week. Staff goes out of their way to help and answer all questions

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My whole experience at this restaurant was phenomenal! It looks great, the service is out of this world and the sushi is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sit at the Sushi bar

Dined on March 26, 2016

Sit at the sushi bar, and see Vin do his magic! It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lin ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lines of the acclaimed Nobu restaurants around the world. Good Sake list

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Meal I've Ever Had

Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary (which I mentioned when the hostess called to confirm our reservation) and we were treated so unbelievably well. I suspect that the staff treats everyone with the same level of care and attention from what I noticed, but we truly appreciated the level of service and well wishes. Our server, John (who was wonderful), recommended the 9 course meal where the chef chooses each dish for you. We were not disappointed. Every dish was as delicious as it was visually stunning. It was just a really fun experience. We had a truly magical evening that we won't soon forget. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Spectacular food

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Fresh, fresh, fresh! What more is there to say about a good sushi restaurant? Creative, inventive, too. Great place to get what you love and try something you've never had. Service was spotty even though the restaurant was mostly empty--waiter hard to find, interrupting my guests, bringing us food we didn't order. Inexcusable in my book. But I'll go back anyway, the food is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we tried was mouth watering.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was delicious and well presented. Good buzz without being overly noisy. A special touch was that the manager engaged with each table. I am sure this place will become booked out on a regular basis!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good... I am not a big fan ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was very good... I am not a big fan of tapas but other then this it was a great place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kuu never disappoints. I highly recommen ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Kuu never disappoints. I highly recommend sitting at the sushi bar where you can watch the chefs prepare the dishes. They will even offer you samples of new things they are preparing. A great way to try things you might never have tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best sushi in town

Dined on February 28, 2016

We're foodies and serious sushi lovers. This is by far the best sushi place in town. Expensive, yes, but totally worth it. When you go, ask for Tao to be your server. He really knows his stuff, and will take care of you. He explains everything and his recommendations are always spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Nice but very expensive

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Sushi pieces are twice the normal price in Houston but are tasty and high quality. Some of the specialty items are very expensive for almost no food. The tuna tartare has much less tuna than a nigiri tuna: cost $16 vs $4. Service was poor at the sushi bar Most likely will not return

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always perfect! This is ou ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything is always perfect! This is our favorite restaurant in ALL of Houston and quite possibly anywhere. No one does sushi better, not Nobu, not Uchi, no one! My husband and I have been to Five Diamond restaurants and 3 Star Michelin restaurants all over the U.S. and the cuisine created by Chef Lee is on par and in some instances even better than them. I wish more people would realize how awesome this gem is to Houston. This place needs to win all the top spots on OpenTable. I pity the blind who are too trendy to branch out and try a place that hands-down has far better food, service and atmosphere than any other "cool" place in the city. Kuu is an original, not a copy/chain. I LOVE KUU!!!!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Fabulous array of flavors! We had the sushi rolls, Kuu, June, and our favorite, Truffle Roll. Delightful atmosphere, pleasant, but slow service. Will return and try out more! Not just your normal high end sushi, but some wonderful fish dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about KUU. The food is ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Loved everything about KUU. The food is awesome. One of my favorite Japanese restaurant in town.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There is the right combination of "cooke ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

There is the right combination of "cooked" and "uncooked" Japanese food. My wife an i were looking for a place not a 100% raw food. We loved this place and highly recommend it for an special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I enjoyed eating here. The food was delicious. Though we did not have a table and had dinner at the bar, the bartender knew all the plates and suggested really good ones

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2

The whole seating experience with the ho ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The whole seating experience with the hostess ruin the Valentine's Day dinner mood for my wife and I. We had a reservation for 2 at 8:00pm, and we got there 15-20 minutes early hoping to be seated promptly. We were told to grab a drink at the bar and the hostess will get us when our table is ready. There were no seats at the bar, no waiting area except for outside the restaurant so we went outside to wait. As we were waiting for our table, several parties went in and got seated. We can see there are open tables inside the restaurant, we just don't know why they won't seat us earlier than our reservation time. The whole point of OpenTable is to be seated when you get to the restaurant with as little wait time as possible. I understand if we got there late and had to wait for another table, but we were there early and there are open tables available.

food3
ambience3
service2

For the second time in the past couple o ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

For the second time in the past couple of weeks we went to KUU and encountered snooty front of house staff - the first time they tried to seat us at the bar even though we had a reservation, the second time we were told that it's quite normal to have to sit at the bar for 15 mins beyond the booked time anyway..... Service was disjointed - slow bar service, then the wrong drinks, then no drink at all for one of our party who in the end couldn't be bothered going through the painful process to actually get a drink. The food was really disappointing - on our original visit (even though we weren't thrilled with the frontdesk staff,) the food had actually been excellent. This time the rolls were dressed heavy handedly and the other dishes were neither here or there in terms of taste. The salmon sashimi on both visits was the only consistent thing and it was delicious both times. We can only assume that the kitchen was overwhelmed and understaffed - the bar was definitely under staffed. Such a shame.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The atmosphere was really nice and moder ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The atmosphere was really nice and modern, but the food was just okay. It can get expensive very quickly. I will not dine there again. It was not a good value.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restuarant

Dined on February 13, 2016

We got to celebrate our engagement at this restaurant. We had warm greetings, great service and excellent food. There is indoor and outdoor seating in a nice upscale environment. They asked us what the dining occasion was and without hesitation, we were brought 2 glasses of champagne and 2 complimentary dishes: Hirataki and the parmesean umimasu...really fresh and nicely plated. We also ordered the Miso Black Cod (OMG out of this world good!), Poseidon Roll (really good!) and Tsukigi selection (14 pieces of fresh fish from Japan...OMG I wish I had more)...all of it was phenomenal! I really can not stop raving about this place. The portions are what you would expect with high end sushi restaurants, but no complaints here. I enjoyed every moment. The dishes are pretty pricey, but you definitely get what you paid for: high quality, fresh fish paired with ingredients that make your palette sing! I can't wait to come back to try some of their other dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

High Quality Sushi and Excellent Service

Dined on February 12, 2016

KUU was a surprising and accidental find on our part. Sushi aficionados will be sated by the quality offering and innovative take on classic nigiri, sashimi and maki options. The cold appetizers offer something different, on trend without necessarily being 'trendy'. Service staff is knowledgeable and friendly and the pace is good for a relaxing and comfortable meal where the focus is on the food and company. Highly recommended for the next time you want a splurge that is worth the expense.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum

Dined on February 11, 2016

I have been to Kuu a few times. It is delicious and have yet to have anything that wasn't fantastic. Wait staff is very helpful if you need recommendations on menu items as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

fantastic sushi and rolls.

Dined on February 9, 2016

the sushi was as fresh and taste as any I've ever had. great atmosphere, clean & not too loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sushi and great service!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Excellent Sushi and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Taste Bud explosion

Dined on February 7, 2016

I love to eat; seriously love great tastes' Came here on recommendation from my daughter and with the 1st morsel I was truly blown away by the flavor combinations; best in Houston by far; not a place to come and gorge yourself and feel fat when you leave but is a place your tongue will thank you for!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice for date night but sushi was underwhelming

Dined on February 7, 2016

Its a nice place for a date night. The ambiance and decor are good, although, I had to subtract a star for the fact that we were seated at this tiny booth right next to the hostess stand which was distracting, less than romantic and cold every time someone opened the door (which was often). The appetizers and starters were good and they were fun. They are unique and unlike what you would get at most sushi restaurants. But the sushi and sashimi itself was bland and lacked any real flavor. It almost felt like the had "washed" it or something. It would be a great place for sushi beginners or for people who like the idea of sushi more than they like the taste of sushi. We actually enjoy the different flavors of the fish so we were disappointed. That being said, the cuts were good and clean and everything seemed fresh. There wasn't a single piece that was chewy or inedible and the service was very good. I enjoyed the evening but it probably won't be my first choice next time we go out for sushi.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KUU is definitely art

Dined on February 7, 2016

Beautiful sushi, every bite was a little piece of art with so many flavors. It was soooo good, we will definetly go back. We had butternut squash soup, 5 rolls KUU, rin, and I can't remember the rest but so good. The bacon wrapped scallops and sea bass and salmon nigiri was also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.