About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

fit for foodies (35)
special occasion (31)
romantic (15)
See All
hot spot (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
good for groups (8)
great for lunch (8)
notable wine list (8)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good to great food, mediocre to weak ser ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined a day ago

Good to great food, mediocre to weak service.

Creative Japanese dishes similar to Uchi. There is a greater variety of components and a broader menu. The quality of most of the food is great, but there is the occasional piece that doesn't live up to the billing. I particularly liked the Softshell crab tempura, the Tuna appetizer, the Golden beet and peach appetizer, and the Hammachio (which I thought was the best hamachi/jalapeno preparation I've had--and this is something I have at every Japanese restaurant). But the Akaushi (seared wagyu) was very, very raw and chewy. The Butternut squash miso soup was too rich, even for someone who likes butternut squash soups as much as I do. And even the signature Kuu roll was difficult to eat with the lobster mushy and visually unappealing.

For an upscale sushi restaurant, the service should be much better. Glasses of water and hot tea were not replenished regularly. Orders were confused. Dirty sushi plates were not replaced. Also, my waitress was pushy and off-putting when she claimed that I specifically asked for sushi instead of sashimi for two special items, which was not the case.

Although the restaurant is beautiful and stylish, the ambiance is ruined by robata-style grilling that filled the area of the restaurant I was eating at with a strong smoky odor. The only other sushi restaurant that I've been to that had the same problem was KA Sushi in the Heights.

Overall, a promising restaurant that needs to correct a few things to be a worthy competitor to Uchi, Kata Robata and MF Sushi. At this point, I even prefer Uptown Sushi to this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Small portions serve big flavor. We love ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Small portions serve big flavor. We love this place. Try the hammacio and kanpaccio. The hot rock is a fun favorite too. The shishito peppers are like a roulette game - will it be mild or will you get the one hot one of the bunch? Try our go to rolls are the June roll and Truffle Suzuki, but only if you're a fan of truffles.

The service is always friendly and prompt in this super tidy and pleasant setting. The bonus for us is the easy to access location. I highly recommend Kuu for sushi if you're wanting something a bit different and innovative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and even better service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic food and even better service. We've become regulars. We love Qua! Great waiter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Service was very good - ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was very good - we had a large group and it seemed like sometimes it took a while for the food to come out. Our server was great - we kept him very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great menu with a wide variety of dishes ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great menu with a wide variety of dishes. We had a mixed group of eaters (cooked/uncooked) and all found a couple of dishes they enjoyed. Very helpful waitstaff for picky eaters. Some exceptional summer influenced items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, the foodds was ok but it was sp ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall, the foodds was ok but it was special enough for pricing. Some of foods lacked flavor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was very good but for the price, th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was very good but for the price, the portions were very small. Felt like other notable Japanese restaurants like Uchi and Izakaya in the Houston area gives a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Kuu is a fantastic upscale Japanese rest ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Kuu is a fantastic upscale Japanese restaurant in the Spring Branch area in Houston, Texas. My experiences eating here are usually nothing short of 5 star, however, I was very disappointed with the service last two times I had been here. Both times involved the waiter forgetting our orders (and our drinks!) and having us re-order our food. The whole ordeal took at least an hour and a half. Also note that the restaurant does not have the ventilation HVAC systems that it should - you will come out smelling like kobe beef hotrock, even if you don't order it at your table. For as pricey this menu is, it's typically worth it, but not when you have terrible service. By all other means, the restaurant is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We had the omakase menu; starting at $10 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had the omakase menu; starting at $100/person. Their omakase is a little different than the ones we had in LA, where the chef gives you everything until you say stop. Here the server picks the dishes for you to be within the budget ($100); it may go over $100 depending on what the server picks out for you. Our server did a great job, though. Food was great, but some dishes were too fusion (for me). Sushi Zo in LA is still the No. 1 place for me.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Bad service, mediocre foods! We had a re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Bad service, mediocre foods! We had a reservation at 5 and there were 2 other tables being served, yet it took 10 minutes before the waiter came by to give us the menu and water. Staffs were looking at their phone or at the outside. When we left we saw the staffs sitting around in the back watching the photographer taking picture of some dish.

Truffle suzuki barely has any truffle oil. Price for the rolls are on the high side and fishes are not fresh as compare to the other place we patronized on Westheimer. Desserts were mostly powdered ... U... has 3 times the dessert for the same price point. Would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Exceptional food. Enjoyed every moment o ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional food. Enjoyed every moment of it. Compliments to the Chef and Restaurant owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food but very slow service. Simple ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food but very slow service. Simple rolls took 15-20 minutes to arrive and drinks were not filled in a timely manner. They try to be unique with the menu but don't deliver quality service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was amazing and the staff was very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing and the staff was very attentive. I would go more often if it weren't so expensive, but definitely worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The sushi/sashimi portions are to small ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The sushi/sashimi portions are to small for the price. a cup of rice, which is really 1/2 of a cup, is $2.5. The fish quality is excellent, but the portions are too small for the price

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

A nice surprise in West Houston. We wer ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A nice surprise in West Houston. We were visited by the manager and chef and the waitress was knowledgeable and very kind. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Visiting from Austin, from Chicago. One ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Visiting from Austin, from Chicago. One of the best meals I've had in a long long time. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh and exciting. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time. Everything we o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time. Everything we ordered was delicious. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. He recommended menu items that have left us wanting more. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Went there for our wedding anniversary and they treated us very well with some complimentary items. The pre fixe meal special on Sundays is a good deal and everything was very yummy. I did find either thin plastic or a large fish scale in my sushi roll. They were apologetic and offered to make a new one. Our waiter and the hostess were all very nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fsnt freaking tastic

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Other than the fact that our server was a bit grimy everything here great! The grimy abet thing want his fault was working really, really hard. I'd back there a ny minute and take new friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food consistently good. Wait staff does ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Food consistently good. Wait staff doesn't rush you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My new favorite sushi place. I think it ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My new favorite sushi place. I think it is better than Uchi and Kata Robata.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

KUU Experience

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner at Kuu. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was fabulous, every dish better than the next....we tried about four different rolls and all were excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of the most creative sushi restauran ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

one of the most creative sushi restaurants in texas

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to KUU for our anniversary and had an outstanding meal. Our server John picked an amazing assortment of dishes for us that were very well presented and delicious. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and cocktails are always amazing, staff very helpful if you are overwhelmed by the menu. But once you've been, you will definitely have your favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, but everything was delicious! I went there to celebrate my birthday! I would highly recommend this place. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent sushi fusion!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 8 year anniversary at Kuu. I had heard great reviews, and being that we are both sushi lovers, decided this was a great place for a child free night out. We both ordered a bowl of miso to start, then shared the Kuu, June, and Truffle Suzuki rolls. The Truffle Suzuki was delicious (yellowtail) and melted in your mouth. The June roll was my favorite, as I am a fan of spicy tuna. We also ordered pieces of Hamachi (yellowtail), Bincho (tuna), and Hirame (flounder)

Unfortunately, we waited 30 minutes for our last roll (Kuu) to come out. I believe they forgot about it, or it was given to another table. We finally got our roll (we were headed to the theatre after and had to rush out) and the manager was nice enough to comp the roll (we didn't ask, but felt well deserved after waiting so long)

Overall, it is pricy compared to other sushi restaurants, but the quality is something that cannot be beat. I have been to Tokyo and eaten at the Tsujiki fish market (where Kuu gets its fish) and it is just as fresh as being right in Tokyo. I definitely would recommend to anyone and cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent! Great food and service!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Our server Tao was really knowledgeable and helpful. He made some great suggestions and we enjoyed everything. Love the creativity the chef uses to pair the foods. Really a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but worth it! It is all good, waiters know there stuff! Take their advice on the offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's ta ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's tasting menu (omakase) and all the small dishes were flavorful and original. They were out of the wine we wanted to order, but recommended another one of the same price that we liked even better! We even got an extra dish "for the inconvenience "!! Thank you, KUU, we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always like to have dinner there we l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We always like to have dinner there we like your food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First class sushi

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is spectacular. Interesting combinations and fresh, fresh, fresh fish. Melts in your mouth. High prices but if you love sushi, you'll be happy to pay. I wish the service was a notch or two more sophisticated. When you're paying these kinds of prices, you want the service to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to Kuu on a whim after a quick review online and I have to say I was blown away. This was by far the best sushi I have ever had. My girlfriend and I were amazed at how relaxed the and comfortable the environment was. The food was on another level. I can't wait to go back and try anything and everything on there menu. I couldn't imagine anything being close to mediocre. What a amazing restaurant, staff, service and atmosphere. If your looking for a incredible date night or special occasion or just high quality sushi I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KUU is just what we need in this area

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to KUU for the first time for their happy hour and were amazed at how good everything was, and the service was great! We went back two nights later for dinner and sat on the patio. It was a wonderful dining experience. My husband had a delicious cocktail and I had wine. We were 100% pleased with both of our KUU experiences and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phyllis flax

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My favorite restUrant in town! I like to go at least once a week. Staff goes out of their way to help and answer all questions

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My whole experience at this restaurant was phenomenal! It looks great, the service is out of this world and the sushi is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sit at the Sushi bar

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Sit at the sushi bar, and see Vin do his magic! It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lines of the acclaimed Nobu restaurants around the world. Good Sake list

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Best Meal I've Ever Had

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary (which I mentioned when the hostess called to confirm our reservation) and we were treated so unbelievably well. I suspect that the staff treats everyone with the same level of care and attention from what I noticed, but we truly appreciated the level of service and well wishes.

Our server, John (who was wonderful), recommended the 9 course meal where the chef chooses each dish for you. We were not disappointed. Every dish was as delicious as it was visually stunning. It was just a really fun experience.

We had a truly magical evening that we won't soon forget. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.