About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (33)
hot spot (22)
See All
romantic (20)
great for outdoor dining (17)
good for groups (16)
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service1

Bad service, mediocre foods! We had a re ...

Dined 4 days ago

Bad service, mediocre foods! We had a reservation at 5 and there were 2 other tables being served, yet it took 10 minutes before the waiter came by to give us the menu and water. Staffs were looking at their phone or at the outside. When we left we saw the staffs sitting around in the back watching the photographer taking picture of some dish. Truffle suzuki barely has any truffle oil. Price for the rolls are on the high side and fishes are not fresh as compare to the other place we patronized on Westheimer. Desserts were mostly powdered ... U... has 3 times the dessert for the same price point. Would not come back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food. Enjoyed every moment o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food. Enjoyed every moment of it. Compliments to the Chef and Restaurant owner.

food3
ambience3
service2

Good food but very slow service. Simple ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food but very slow service. Simple rolls took 15-20 minutes to arrive and drinks were not filled in a timely manner. They try to be unique with the menu but don't deliver quality service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was amazing and the staff was very ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was amazing and the staff was very attentive. I would go more often if it weren't so expensive, but definitely worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

The sushi/sashimi portions are to small ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The sushi/sashimi portions are to small for the price. a cup of rice, which is really 1/2 of a cup, is $2.5. The fish quality is excellent, but the portions are too small for the price

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

A nice surprise in West Houston. We wer ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

A nice surprise in West Houston. We were visited by the manager and chef and the waitress was knowledgeable and very kind. Will return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting from Austin, from Chicago. One ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Visiting from Austin, from Chicago. One of the best meals I've had in a long long time. Excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh and ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh and exciting. Service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time. Everything we o ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time. Everything we ordered was delicious. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. He recommended menu items that have left us wanting more. I can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely experience

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went there for our wedding anniversary and they treated us very well with some complimentary items. The pre fixe meal special on Sundays is a good deal and everything was very yummy. I did find either thin plastic or a large fish scale in my sushi roll. They were apologetic and offered to make a new one. Our waiter and the hostess were all very nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fsnt freaking tastic

Dined on May 26, 2016

Other than the fact that our server was a bit grimy everything here great! The grimy abet thing want his fault was working really, really hard. I'd back there a ny minute and take new friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food consistently good. Wait staff does ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Food consistently good. Wait staff doesn't rush you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

My new favorite sushi place. I think it ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My new favorite sushi place. I think it is better than Uchi and Kata Robata.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

KUU Experience

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful dinner at Kuu. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was fabulous, every dish better than the next....we tried about four different rolls and all were excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

one of the most creative sushi restauran ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

one of the most creative sushi restaurants in texas

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to KUU for our anniversary and had an outstanding meal. Our server John picked an amazing assortment of dishes for us that were very well presented and delicious. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, as always!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and cocktails are always amazing, staff very helpful if you are overwhelmed by the menu. But once you've been, you will definitely have your favorites!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, b ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and drinks were a bit pricey, but everything was delicious! I went there to celebrate my birthday! I would highly recommend this place. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent sushi fusion!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 8 year anniversary at Kuu. I had heard great reviews, and being that we are both sushi lovers, decided this was a great place for a child free night out. We both ordered a bowl of miso to start, then shared the Kuu, June, and Truffle Suzuki rolls. The Truffle Suzuki was delicious (yellowtail) and melted in your mouth. The June roll was my favorite, as I am a fan of spicy tuna. We also ordered pieces of Hamachi (yellowtail), Bincho (tuna), and Hirame (flounder) Unfortunately, we waited 30 minutes for our last roll (Kuu) to come out. I believe they forgot about it, or it was given to another table. We finally got our roll (we were headed to the theatre after and had to rush out) and the manager was nice enough to comp the roll (we didn't ask, but felt well deserved after waiting so long) Overall, it is pricy compared to other sushi restaurants, but the quality is something that cannot be beat. I have been to Tokyo and eaten at the Tsujiki fish market (where Kuu gets its fish) and it is just as fresh as being right in Tokyo. I definitely would recommend to anyone and cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great food and service!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our server Tao was really knowledgeable and helpful. He made some great suggestions and we enjoyed everything. Love the creativity the chef uses to pair the foods. Really a great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but w ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best sushi I have ever had, pricey but worth it! It is all good, waiters know there stuff! Take their advice on the offerings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's ta ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing! We had the chef's tasting menu (omakase) and all the small dishes were flavorful and original. They were out of the wine we wanted to order, but recommended another one of the same price that we liked even better! We even got an extra dish "for the inconvenience "!! Thank you, KUU, we'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

We always like to have dinner there we l ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We always like to have dinner there we like your food

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

First class sushi

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is spectacular. Interesting combinations and fresh, fresh, fresh fish. Melts in your mouth. High prices but if you love sushi, you'll be happy to pay. I wish the service was a notch or two more sophisticated. When you're paying these kinds of prices, you want the service to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to Kuu on a whim after a quick review online and I have to say I was blown away. This was by far the best sushi I have ever had. My girlfriend and I were amazed at how relaxed the and comfortable the environment was. The food was on another level. I can't wait to go back and try anything and everything on there menu. I couldn't imagine anything being close to mediocre. What a amazing restaurant, staff, service and atmosphere. If your looking for a incredible date night or special occasion or just high quality sushi I highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

KUU is just what we need in this area

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to KUU for the first time for their happy hour and were amazed at how good everything was, and the service was great! We went back two nights later for dinner and sat on the patio. It was a wonderful dining experience. My husband had a delicious cocktail and I had wine. We were 100% pleased with both of our KUU experiences and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phyllis flax

Dined on March 27, 2016

My favorite restUrant in town! I like to go at least once a week. Staff goes out of their way to help and answer all questions

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My whole experience at this restaurant was phenomenal! It looks great, the service is out of this world and the sushi is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sit at the Sushi bar

Dined on March 26, 2016

Sit at the sushi bar, and see Vin do his magic! It's a bit pricey, but totally worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lin ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent Japanese cuisine along the lines of the acclaimed Nobu restaurants around the world. Good Sake list

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Meal I've Ever Had

Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary (which I mentioned when the hostess called to confirm our reservation) and we were treated so unbelievably well. I suspect that the staff treats everyone with the same level of care and attention from what I noticed, but we truly appreciated the level of service and well wishes. Our server, John (who was wonderful), recommended the 9 course meal where the chef chooses each dish for you. We were not disappointed. Every dish was as delicious as it was visually stunning. It was just a really fun experience. We had a truly magical evening that we won't soon forget. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Spectacular food

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Fresh, fresh, fresh! What more is there to say about a good sushi restaurant? Creative, inventive, too. Great place to get what you love and try something you've never had. Service was spotty even though the restaurant was mostly empty--waiter hard to find, interrupting my guests, bringing us food we didn't order. Inexcusable in my book. But I'll go back anyway, the food is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we tried was mouth watering.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was delicious and well presented. Good buzz without being overly noisy. A special touch was that the manager engaged with each table. I am sure this place will become booked out on a regular basis!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good... I am not a big fan ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was very good... I am not a big fan of tapas but other then this it was a great place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kuu never disappoints. I highly recommen ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Kuu never disappoints. I highly recommend sitting at the sushi bar where you can watch the chefs prepare the dishes. They will even offer you samples of new things they are preparing. A great way to try things you might never have tried.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best sushi in town

Dined on February 28, 2016

We're foodies and serious sushi lovers. This is by far the best sushi place in town. Expensive, yes, but totally worth it. When you go, ask for Tao to be your server. He really knows his stuff, and will take care of you. He explains everything and his recommendations are always spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Nice but very expensive

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Sushi pieces are twice the normal price in Houston but are tasty and high quality. Some of the specialty items are very expensive for almost no food. The tuna tartare has much less tuna than a nigiri tuna: cost $16 vs $4. Service was poor at the sushi bar Most likely will not return

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always perfect! This is ou ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything is always perfect! This is our favorite restaurant in ALL of Houston and quite possibly anywhere. No one does sushi better, not Nobu, not Uchi, no one! My husband and I have been to Five Diamond restaurants and 3 Star Michelin restaurants all over the U.S. and the cuisine created by Chef Lee is on par and in some instances even better than them. I wish more people would realize how awesome this gem is to Houston. This place needs to win all the top spots on OpenTable. I pity the blind who are too trendy to branch out and try a place that hands-down has far better food, service and atmosphere than any other "cool" place in the city. Kuu is an original, not a copy/chain. I LOVE KUU!!!!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Fabulous array of flavors! We had the sushi rolls, Kuu, June, and our favorite, Truffle Roll. Delightful atmosphere, pleasant, but slow service. Will return and try out more! Not just your normal high end sushi, but some wonderful fish dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about KUU. The food is ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Loved everything about KUU. The food is awesome. One of my favorite Japanese restaurant in town.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.