About KUU Restaurant

947 Gessner
Suite A180
Houston, TX 77024
View Larger Map

Former Nobu London Chef Adison Lee brings his imagination to life with his restaurant KUU in Houston. Chef Adison Lee uses unique flavor combinations to take you on a journey of culinary excellence. Features a seasonal menu and responsibly fished seafood from local fishermen and the world famous Tsukiji Fish Market in Japan. KUU is committed to serving small, sharable plates with stimulating flavors and plating. Our devotion to responsibly sourcing our products shows through the ever evolving seasonal menu. KUU will be offering an extensive list of imported sakes and wines along with our hand crafted cocktail menu by our mixologist.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm- 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
I 10

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 461-1688

Website:
http://www.kuurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We have both valet and an attached garage

Executive Chef:
Adison Lee

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • KUU Restaurant, Houston, TX
KUU Restaurant, Houston, TX

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

KUU Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in West Side ›

Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Spicy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought a special date for a nice dinn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

I brought a special date for a nice dinner on a Sunday evening. I requested a special quiet romantic table and KUU delivered. Service and food were excellent, wine was perfect, great ambiance and made for a perfect date! Thank you KUU, we will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurent experience was incredible ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurent experience was incredible. Our server, Zach was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and knew how to take care of us! We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The grilled edamame was the best I've ever had in my life, and the sushi was so fresh and bold flavors. The pork belly: also the best I've ever had. Nothing could've made it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stephanie was our server. At the end of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Stephanie was our server. At the end of the meal she told us she just got out of training and we were the first table she waited on. She was amazing. N vet would have known it was her first night on the job. Food was great, service was prompt. Parking was easy. Will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not only is

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Not only is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go with several people so that you can s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Go with several people so that you can share many different dishes. The variety is awesome and well worth experimenting with dishes you might not try on your own. The wait staff can be very helpful in explaining each dish. I'm going for lunch next time to see how it is compared to dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening. Our server Emilie was ver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

great evening. Our server Emilie was very good and we (as always) enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Kuu numerous times. Each ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We've eaten at Kuu numerous times. Each time seems to be better than the previous meal. Everything on the menu is extremely fresh and imaginative. If you want Uchi without the wait, this is your spot. There are always off the menu specials depending on what is freshest that day. Do yourself a favor and try it out. It's a great place for drinks at the bar before or after dinner in the dining room. The interior is beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi is always fresh and the highes ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The sushi is always fresh and the highest quality. My son was a little disappointed because they failed to prepare the Hot Rocks for the table side filet but the rest of the meal was a 10.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kuu just seems to get better and better ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Kuu just seems to get better and better every time! We love Julio and Ricky! Thanks for all the great suggestions. Our favorite sushi in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is quite good, and the special ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is quite good, and the special fish selections are unique and flavorful. Service is attentive and quite good. The place itself is attractive if a bit Spartan. The menu is creative and not the run of the mill sushi bar. It may not be Oouchi, but it is pretty close.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our meals at Kuu are always exceptional. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our meals at Kuu are always exceptional. The food is interesting and of the highest quality. Julio is one of the best servers in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

KUU is my favorite restaurant! I live v ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

KUU is my favorite restaurant! I live very close and try to go as often as possible. The waiters are terrific and the manager always brings us a new unusual dish to try. Can't beat that! Perfection!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife got food poisoning after eating ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My wife got food poisoning after eating there. The food tasted good and the service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went solely for the salmon we tasted at ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Went solely for the salmon we tasted at the Chronicle's culinary event... sadly the exact dish isn't on the menu. Very pricey for the size of the dishes - would be worth it if they were exceptional. I felt like KUU is an Uchi wannabe, but no comparison. The salmon sashimi was the best thing - melted in my mouth! Cocktails were good but not worth $12-15. Dishes came out back to back - ate everything so fast that we were still hungry! Decided we needed a "real" dinner somewhere else... except the waiter was nowhere to be found to get the check. After 10 minutes we flagged down a hostess and manager - neither could find him! Manager brought the check and gave no apology?! Finally paid and went elsewhere. I would actually return just for the salmon... but probably won't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Awesome! We had Omakase for 4 people an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome! We had Omakase for 4 people and we were served 8 courses of very creative, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Drinks were watered down, food was not ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Drinks were watered down, food was not as good, all around and service was terrible.

we used to love this place , no more

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow at the start. 15 minute ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service was slow at the start. 15 minutes and they had not taken our drink order. The waitress came by and told us that the host didn't tell her she was our server. I asked if she could tell her manager. She did, and a few minutes later the manager came with a complementary plate of edamame. After that little hiccup food was awesome as usual. And half way through our course they bring another complimentary plate. Awesome! Can't complain. Kuu is not inexpensive, but the quality is undeniable. I always get disappointed whenever I go to any other Japanese restaurant. Don't hesitate to dine at Kuu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First off, our waitress was probably the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

First off, our waitress was probably the nicest girl ever and was super helpful in explaining the menu. I wish she my waitress at every restaurant because she was seriously that good. I can't say enough good things about her. She was definitely the best part of the whole experience while dining there.

    Overall the food was very good, however, I didn't really care for the  small plates as they were insanely overpriced and just not that memorable if I'm to be honest. If you go, definitely go for the sushi rolls as that is probably the only thing really worth the money. The Japanese beer selection is also pretty good. The interior design is amazing and the entire staff were very welcoming and polite. If I go back it would only be for the sushi rolls. Everything else I could go without.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good service not so good. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was very good service not so good. Omitted ordered dishes, very slow

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We seem to enjoy Kuu more and more each ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We seem to enjoy Kuu more and more each time we have dinner there! It was just awesome!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so impressed with the quality of t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was so impressed with the quality of this sushi restaurant. We visited last Saturday for my boyfriend's Birthday dinner and were amazed at the freshness and intricate flavors of the dishes we were served. We will definitely be back again! Looking forward to sitting in their lovely patio area for our next occasion when it cools down a bit! A new favorite for us. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We ordered a mix of sushi, sashimi, spec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We ordered a mix of sushi, sashimi, specials and cooked food between the four of us. All of us enjoyed the food we did get....when we finally got it, however the quality or presentation was not SO fantastic as to justify prices that were 30-50% higher than similar. The table management was a disaster which ruined the experience and made you sorry to have spent money there. While certainly some of our table ordered more food than the others, those with less sat and watched for 20 minutes between their own orders while plate after plate was delivered across the table. Its awkward to be eating while some of your table hasn't had not one dish served out of three in the last half hour. Oddly, the cold dishes took the longest to be delivered and were served on akwardly large format bowls or plates when the table was only 30" x 30" for four people. Cocktail pours were stingy. Dirty plates were not cleared in a timely manner nor were the empty cocktail glasses. No one wiped the table of condensation when clearing drinks and eating utensils were not replaced once removed. The place is well appointed but loud, we had difficulty communicating with our server due to the noise level. Complaints were not taken seriously and nothing was comped on the bill as a meaningful amend. If you enjoy 2 hour dinners that cost an arm and a leg, and the other leg while leaving you hungry, KUU is tha place for YUU.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Awesome food, ambiance, service, and win ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Awesome food, ambiance, service, and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time the service has ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was the first time the service has been poor. The food is great but they forgot one of our dishes and had a limited wine supply.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

The food at KUU is really fresh and beau ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food at KUU is really fresh and beautifully presented. Our server was very attentive and knowledgable. Some of the best sushi I've had in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to KUU to celebrate o ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I went to KUU to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had reservations and requested a booth. When we arrived the hostess kindly let us know that the table before us was enjoying their conversation and the table wasn’t ready. We were not in a rush so we went to the bar for a glass of wine. The bartender (Terrance) recommended 3 wines and gave us a taste. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised all three wines were excellent. He was so knowledgeable about the wines that we asked him about the food. We were very impressed that he knew just as much about the food menu, so we decided to stay at the bar for dinner. All food was excellent and service was amazing…. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Tapas menu. Sushi is very fre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful Tapas menu. Sushi is very fresh. All fruit and vegetables are seasonal. The herbs are grown in house too. The service was 5 star.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and service !

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Love the food and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with coworkers after work to take a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Went with coworkers after work to take a colleague visiting from Australia. Great happy hour. Server was knowledgeable on food and alcohol pairings.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Tapas, Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was interesting and what we ord ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The menu was interesting and what we ordered was executed well. However, what kept this experience from being four star was the lower quality of service. A more educated and helpful waiter would have greatly enhanced the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is fresh and very nicely prepar ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is fresh and very nicely prepared. Our only issue was only one of two of our last dishes came on time and we had to wait about 25 minutes to get the second dish, despite several conversations with wait staff. Since the food is not cooked, no real reason to have to wait like that. The cocktails were okay, but some were just weird tasting. Wine selection is decent.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The chef was delightful- sushi was delic ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The chef was delightful- sushi was delicious,

different and expensive with very small portions. It was extremely quiet and they were out of stock with one of husband's favorite whiskies. $100/pp was high especially since we were still a bit hungry when we left .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite sushi places in Houst ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of my favorite sushi places in Houston. It's located way far away from where we live but it's worth the drive. Super fresh and super flavorful. Very creative dishes and service is always great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Due to my great experience with a busine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Due to my great experience with a business luncheon at KUU and my wife's fondness for Japanese and Indian food, I chose KUU for our 25th Anniversary dinner.

We were welcomed with a kind note card on our arrival and complementary Champagne. Very thoughtful.

John, our server, was friendly, engaging and professional. He was very knowledgeable about the entire menu. He was willing and able to answer all of our questions. He invited so to order one or two items at a time as we saw fit.

As each was delivered, it was well explained by the server who delivered it.

The food was fantastic...well prepared, tasty and very fresh. We had scallops, crispy duck, yellowtail and a few other items that I do not remember right now.

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner. We plan to return and highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a quite area and it was jus ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We requested a quite area and it was just perfect. Service was amazing. We were a group of 8 and we had more than 3 waiters assisting our table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Kuu. You've got to have the special ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love Kuu. You've got to have the specialty rolls. My favorites are Truffle Suzuki (you can't taste the truffle-don't worry about truffle overwhelming the dish) and the Poseidon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service as always

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and great service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is really nice. Everything ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food here is really nice. Everything I had was tasty and I absolutely love that my yellowtail sashimi was served on ice. The plates are tapas like, so you get to try some different things. The only issue I had was there was too much sauce poured over the rolls. I prefer my rolls without sauce. Other than that, definitely a great spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good to great food, mediocre to weak ser ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good to great food, mediocre to weak service.

Creative Japanese dishes similar to Uchi. There is a greater variety of components and a broader menu. The quality of most of the food is great, but there is the occasional piece that doesn't live up to the billing. I particularly liked the Softshell crab tempura, the Tuna appetizer, the Golden beet and peach appetizer, and the Hammachio (which I thought was the best hamachi/jalapeno preparation I've had--and this is something I have at every Japanese restaurant). But the Akaushi (seared wagyu) was very, very raw and chewy. The Butternut squash miso soup was too rich, even for someone who likes butternut squash soups as much as I do. And even the signature Kuu roll was difficult to eat with the lobster mushy and visually unappealing.

For an upscale sushi restaurant, the service should be much better. Glasses of water and hot tea were not replenished regularly. Orders were confused. Dirty sushi plates were not replaced. Also, my waitress was pushy and off-putting when she claimed that I specifically asked for sushi instead of sashimi for two special items, which was not the case.

Although the restaurant is beautiful and stylish, the ambiance is ruined by robata-style grilling that filled the area of the restaurant I was eating at with a strong smoky odor. The only other sushi restaurant that I've been to that had the same problem was KA Sushi in the Heights.

Overall, a promising restaurant that needs to correct a few things to be a worthy competitor to Uchi, Kata Robata and MF Sushi. At this point, I even prefer Uptown Sushi to this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The sushi here is average, but the cooke ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The sushi here is average, but the cooked food was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.