Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

KUSAKABE

4.8
231 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies

Kusakabe is a gourmet sushi experience in San Francisco that offers diners a delicious way to taste a style of sushi they may not be familiar with. The chef at Kusakabe serves a prix fixe meal every night that features the Kaiseki style of sushi. After the meal has been served, diners may order additional fare from the a la carte menu.

During their meal, guests at Kusakabe will enjoy freshly made seasonal sushi, including a medium fatty tuna cured in soy sauce, sashimi served with fresh wasabi and onion sauce, Japanese oysters served with caviar and a soup of snap pea and white bean paste. More sushi, including the chef�s choice of the day, completes the meal.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm and 10:00pm
The last seating for dinner is at 8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 757-0155
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mitsunori "Nori" Kusakabe
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Montgomery
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking not available. Street parking or parking lots nearby. (Closest one at Hilton Hotel)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Walking distance from Embarcadero and Montgomery BART stations.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.7

The city's best omakase.

Ratings 8.5-9.0:Now we’re in the range of absolutely excellent restaurants that you might go to more than once a year/lifetime. These restaurants tend to define a city, and make up the places that you absolutely cannot miss if you want to have any credibility as a restaurant-informed person in a major metropolis.
What 231 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Most importantly, the food. Preparation was perfect and every bite was a thrill. Service was attentive, but unobtrusive. Lots of care put into the fish. Will return as fast as we can!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I was born and grew up in Tokyo. For the last 23 years, I have lived in Boston. So, I’m very serious about seafood, particularly sushi. Kusakabe is one of the best sushi places I have ever visited including some in Japan. Our chef Ken san made super delicious sushi. He was also very nice and made my wife and me feel comfortable. We will definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We’re regulars at Kusakabe but unfortunately our last experience has changed our preference and I do not think we will come back. We booked two seats at the bar for our anniversary. The reservation was made a number of days
in advance for anniversary. We arrived on time, but the restaurant then said that there were no seats at the bar because we were one of the last groups at this seating time, despite arriving at the time of our reservations. We sat a table in the aisle, waiters were bumping all night and it killed the atmosphere. Food was fine as usual, but for the price and what you would expect from a restaurant this caliber, Kusakabe fell short.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Just absolutely fantastic in every regard and cannot even begin to recommend more.

Go - you will not regret it.

Best sushi of my life. I’ve eaten a ton around the world, and just terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Brought 3 out of town guests from New York. They were very excited and enjoyed every item of sushi ad well as sushi chef and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Best food I've ever eaten hands down

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 9, 2018

It is amazing how one persons inappropriate behavior can really spoil an evening. I made a reservation for dinner. Arrived 20 minutes late but they said it was no problem and would love the reservation to 6:30. As we were being seated the host told us that we should “probably order the smaller” prix fixe menu because they were very busy and wouldn’t have time for the 11 course menu. We said we wanted the 11 course. We were then told that several of the courses would be served all at the same time. Then at the end of the meal we were told there was only enough time to either order more a la carte or dessert. We were told if we didn’t order more sushi we would be comped dessert. Instead we got our bill for $168 per person. While the food was good (unfortunately a couple of the dishes were completely tasteless$ and the servers were nice, I was astounded that we were put on a time clock for our dinner. If they book too many people that is their problem. At $168 +++ per person that is just outrageous. We will not be back here again. Never have been treated like that before. Are they that desperate to push people out like a cheap diner!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Maybe the best sushi experience I have ever had. Every piece was perfect. A fantastic dining experience. The staff was attentive and professional. I highly recommend sitting at the sushi bar to see thework in progress. An absolute delight!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Best sushi experience I've had in my life. The dishes were both creative and consistently delicious, and the saki pairings really enhanced the flavor of each dish. Absolutely wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Very reasonable price and excellent quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Outstanding food, drink and service. Knowledgeable staff, and friendly. Never felt rushed throughout the entire dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Awesome sushi. Creative and still delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Good service, nice food, so amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2016

Best sushi experience in the city. Do not miss an opportunity to dine here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2016

Easily one of the best omakase menus in San Francisco. The staff is extremely warm and kind and the food is always amazing. It is pricey (2 menu choices of $95 or $150), and with drinks and any add ons, it can get expensive. But it compares very favorably to places we have been in Tokyo - so it is well worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

We couldn't be more pleased with the "Sushi in Kaiseki Style" selection. It was our first visit and we wanted to have the full experience and it was a joy.

The quality of the product was amazing ... we're still delighting in our post sushi-glow ... the toro, the uni (from Japan not Santa Barbara), the Wagyu beef, all of it left our mouths, minds and foodie hearts fully satisfied and impressed.

Ken, our chef at the sushi bar, was incredible! His elucidations about so aspects of the food were wonderful and impressive. But it was his passion, his passion that made the experience. And passion about not only sushi but also about the joy of dining ... no rushing, taking one's time, appreciating and savoring ... what a joy to have had him be our guide through this culinary adventure.

If you enjoyed Ju Ni, you won't be disappointed here. But note, it's a slightly different experience, but in this case different was great!

Enjoy!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Great dishes and great service. Felt special the whole night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2016

Second visit this year and better than the first! Always surprises me with new fish choices. OMASAKE rivals Tokyo. Amazing experience and exquisite level of detail expressed in the food and sake. Ken was an outstanding sushi master. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2016

Have been here twice now. Best sushi in SF.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food. Loved watching the chefs prepare the food. Overall experience was really enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2016

Kusakabe has wonderful sushi chefs who take delight in explaining each creation. But in this price range the expectations are very high, and unfortunately the quality of fish does not quite make the grade. We ordered the Grande Omikase to get the full experience. IMO this was a mistake as the few extra pieces do not really justify paying 50% more. In fact I felt overstuffed at the end, so much so that it was difficult to enjoy the Grande Finale of Wagyu beef and Toro sushi. Speaking of Toro, I was pretty disappointed to see a major vein running up the center of the fish (I saw this was true for the Toro that everyone else received, too). I'm sorry, but you would never see that in a high end sushi restaurant in Japan. The whole point of dining in these places is to enjoy a quality of fish that you cannot find in your average neighborhood joint. Now to be fair the atmosphere is nice, the staff is attentive, and the menu features many price points for sake. The food itself is beautiful (though the tourist taking photos of every piece are a bit annoying). Some of the sushi is really, really good, and the all important rice is top quality. But I could do without the Hassan middle course in a box which just seemed like filler. For half the price this would be a steal, but at this price point you quite a expect a bit more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2016

We flew in from Seattle to eat here, and we weren't disappointed at all. Our chef Brian was very engaging and made the dining experience great. All of the food was delicious and after the omakase he suggested great items off of the a la carte. We had a really great time and will definitely ask for Brian if we are ever back in town and find ourselves back at Kusakabe. Definitely recommend brian for your chef! This place is for sure worth the $$.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2016

This was my second time here. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious again. Service was a little, hmm, I'll say relaxed. It's nice not to feel hurried, but at the same time, sometimes you want to order a drink or add on. We had 8:15pm reservations, I believe there are two seatings each evening. We had to wait a little bit to be seated and since the restaurant is so small, we waited outside, there was another larger party waiting just inside the door and spilling out into the doorway. My friend and I aren't large eaters so the portions were perfect for us, but I've heard from larger eaters that the $95 omakase menu is not filling. At the end of the meal if you would like to order more, you can add more ala carte. Last time I went at the end of February and this time it was mid-May, the menus were definitely varied which goes right along with using seasonal ingredients, everything was super fresh and great quality. My favorite dish of the night was the Crispy Alaskan Kinki with Maitake Dashi Soup. Fish was crisp and tender, mushrooms were flavorful and broth was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2016

There's no question how Kusakabe-san was able to garner his Michelin status within two years: It's because he has elevated sushi and seafood to a celestial level. His creativity and combination of flavors are unmatched.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2016

The sushi rice has too much vinegar in it, corrupted many of the textures of the fish...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. We loved every course, ranging from known things done exceptionally well to new and unique dishes. Very romantic for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2016

Kusakabe was easily the best sushi restaurant I've ever been to! The staff was was kind and knowledgeable and took their time to explain what was being served by the chef. I will never forget the culinarily experience that I had here!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was above average but really nothing special. Many of the Omakase preparations were very forgettable. Service was OK but the staff was extremely rude and nonprofessional. Would not recommend it..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish!!! Best meal of my life

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2016

The sushi are absolutely on spot. The proportion of the seafood and rice is very well balanced. The food is mostly traditional Japanese but with a little twist, but not overly done. Definitely try the grand omakase! And if you're a sake person, definitely ask the waiter to give you some inputs on what sake to pair with your meal. Of course, sit at the bar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2016

This is quickly becoming my favorite in the entire city. Amazing atmosphere, served by the legendary Chef Kusakabe himself. Treated my parents and my Japanese mother thought the food was equal to the best sushi and sashimi she has in Japan.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for an amazing experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 14th anniversary here earlier this week. Our server, Gabriella, was amazing. The food was outstanding...the freshness, quality, attention to detail were superb. I can't think of enough adjectives to describe it. Sushi is our favorite food and we have dined at many of the top restaurants in San Francisco. It's been a while since we've been blown away, but Kusakabe comes close. We understand why they have a Michelin worthy.

One single complaint I have is the pace at which the food came. There was so much of it and would have loved to have more time in between the courses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to Kusakabe for my birthday celebration. We got the Grand Omakase for $150/ppl and I ordered a 4 oz sake (for $14). The Grand Omakase has an excellent mix of sushi, sashimi, and hot appetizers. The fish was so fresh, and I have to say it is one of the best I have had in bay area. The desserts were equally heavenly, we had both the yuzu sorbet and black sesame ice cream. Comparing this to Omakase ($200/ppl menu), we both like Kusakabe more (maybe it just happens that Kusakabe's selection of food fits our tastebuds better). All in all, Kusakabe is well worth the price and we would come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Although not inventive, the sushi was fresh and tasty. The Grand Omakase had lots of toro and a bit of uni. The wait staff was sufficient, but at times it was difficult to understand the descriptions when they were speaking so softly and from me to my companion. Between the both of us, we probably heard half of what the waitress was describing. The most annoying thing was that we were celebrating my friend's birthday which I stated during the confirmation call. Why call to confirm if you aren't going to note it? The desserts were also disappointing. Next time I would just get the Omakase and order a la carte afterwards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing, we had the 95 usd omakase and it was awesome. Delicious Sake and the kabocha dessert too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2016

Above expectations. Just was at NYC in 2 stars and this is far best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2016

Kusakabe recently changed their Omakase menu; what used to be the $95 omakase is now the $150 one (quite steep price increase!). The new $95 omakase is missing a few items (like the wagyu beef) and has fewer sushis. Other than that, the food is delicious as before.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2016

Kusakabe is a must visit in San Francisco. Making reservations is simple and enjoying this restaurant is even more effortless. The service, the food, the atmosphere and the dessert (!!!) are all beyond excellent. Michelin star anyone? Oh, yeah, they've got that too. I can't stop dreaming of the mind-blowing wagyu... Seriously... You haven't lived until you've eaten this heavenly treat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. We sat at the sushi bar right in front of Chef Mistunori, he was such a great host. All of the staff were amazing. I can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything was ah-mazing! Sushi so fresh and tasty... Melts in your mouth. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6