Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Kokkari EstiatorioKokkari Estiatorio
(5138)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 115 times today
House of Prime RibHouse of Prime Rib
(7798)
$$$$
Steak | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Booked 160 times today
CotognaCotogna
(1738)
$$$$
Italian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 48 times today
Wayfare TavernWayfare Tavern
(4165)
$$$$
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 88 times today
Roka Akor - San FranciscoRoka Akor - San Francisco
(699)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 39 times today
CoquetaCoqueta
(1601)
$$$$
Spanish | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 112 times today
TrestleTrestle
(707)
$$$$
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 57 times today
PABU - San FranciscoPABU - San Francisco
(604)
$$$$
Japanese | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 35 times today
BIXBIX
(2750)
$$$$
American | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 48 times today
Zuni CafeZuni Cafe
(5042)
$$$$
Modern European | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Booked 78 times today
Rich TableRich Table
(1220)
$$$$
Californian | Civic Center / Hayes Valley / Van Ness, San Francisco
Booked 46 times today
La Mar Cebicheria PeruanaLa Mar Cebicheria Peruana
(3908)
$$$$
Peruvian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 90 times today
Leo's Oyster BarLeo's Oyster Bar
(230)
$$$$
Seafood | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 25 times today
PerbaccoPerbacco
(4961)
$$$$
Italian | Financial District / Embarcadero, San Francisco
Booked 30 times today
Foreign CinemaForeign Cinema
(5160)
$$$$
Californian | Mission, San Francisco
Booked 164 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About KUSAKABE

Kusakabe is a gourmet sushi experience in San Francisco that offers diners a delicious way to taste a style of sushi they may not be familiar with. The chef at Kusakabe serves a prix fixe meal every night that features the Kaiseki style of sushi. After the meal has been served, diners may order additional fare from the a la carte menu.

During their meal, guests at Kusakabe will enjoy freshly made seasonal sushi, including a medium fatty tuna cured in soy sauce, sashimi served with fresh wasabi and onion sauce, Japanese oysters served with caviar and a soup of snap pea and white bean paste. More sushi, including the chef�s choice of the day, completes the meal.

584 Washington Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm and 10:00pm
The last seating for dinner is at 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Montgomery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 757-0155

Website:
http://www.kusakabe-sf.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking not available. Street parking or parking lots nearby. (Closest one at Hilton Hotel)

Public Transit:
Walking distance from Embarcadero and Montgomery BART stations.

Executive Chef:
Mitsunori "Nori" Kusakabe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Best sushi experience in the city. Do not miss an opportunity to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Easily one of the best omakase menus in San Francisco. The staff is extremely warm and kind and the food is always amazing. It is pricey (2 menu choices of $95 or $150), and with drinks and any add ons, it can get expensive. But it compares very favorably to places we have been in Tokyo - so it is well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We couldn't be more pleased with the "Sushi in Kaiseki Style" selection. It was our first visit and we wanted to have the full experience and it was a joy.

The quality of the product was amazing ... we're still delighting in our post sushi-glow ... the toro, the uni (from Japan not Santa Barbara), the Wagyu beef, all of it left our mouths, minds and foodie hearts fully satisfied and impressed.

Ken, our chef at the sushi bar, was incredible! His elucidations about so aspects of the food were wonderful and impressive. But it was his passion, his passion that made the experience. And passion about not only sushi but also about the joy of dining ... no rushing, taking one's time, appreciating and savoring ... what a joy to have had him be our guide through this culinary adventure.

If you enjoyed Ju Ni, you won't be disappointed here. But note, it's a slightly different experience, but in this case different was great!

Enjoy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great dishes and great service. Felt special the whole night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Second visit this year and better than the first! Always surprises me with new fish choices. OMASAKE rivals Tokyo. Amazing experience and exquisite level of detail expressed in the food and sake. Ken was an outstanding sushi master. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Have been here twice now. Best sushi in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food. Loved watching the chefs prepare the food. Overall experience was really enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Kusakabe has wonderful sushi chefs who take delight in explaining each creation. But in this price range the expectations are very high, and unfortunately the quality of fish does not quite make the grade. We ordered the Grande Omikase to get the full experience. IMO this was a mistake as the few extra pieces do not really justify paying 50% more. In fact I felt overstuffed at the end, so much so that it was difficult to enjoy the Grande Finale of Wagyu beef and Toro sushi. Speaking of Toro, I was pretty disappointed to see a major vein running up the center of the fish (I saw this was true for the Toro that everyone else received, too). I'm sorry, but you would never see that in a high end sushi restaurant in Japan. The whole point of dining in these places is to enjoy a quality of fish that you cannot find in your average neighborhood joint. Now to be fair the atmosphere is nice, the staff is attentive, and the menu features many price points for sake. The food itself is beautiful (though the tourist taking photos of every piece are a bit annoying). Some of the sushi is really, really good, and the all important rice is top quality. But I could do without the Hassan middle course in a box which just seemed like filler. For half the price this would be a steal, but at this price point you quite a expect a bit more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2016

We flew in from Seattle to eat here, and we weren't disappointed at all. Our chef Brian was very engaging and made the dining experience great. All of the food was delicious and after the omakase he suggested great items off of the a la carte. We had a really great time and will definitely ask for Brian if we are ever back in town and find ourselves back at Kusakabe. Definitely recommend brian for your chef! This place is for sure worth the $$$.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2016

This was my second time here. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious again. Service was a little, hmm, I'll say relaxed. It's nice not to feel hurried, but at the same time, sometimes you want to order a drink or add on. We had 8:15pm reservations, I believe there are two seatings each evening. We had to wait a little bit to be seated and since the restaurant is so small, we waited outside, there was another larger party waiting just inside the door and spilling out into the doorway. My friend and I aren't large eaters so the portions were perfect for us, but I've heard from larger eaters that the $95 omakase menu is not filling. At the end of the meal if you would like to order more, you can add more ala carte. Last time I went at the end of February and this time it was mid-May, the menus were definitely varied which goes right along with using seasonal ingredients, everything was super fresh and great quality. My favorite dish of the night was the Crispy Alaskan Kinki with Maitake Dashi Soup. Fish was crisp and tender, mushrooms were flavorful and broth was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 18, 2016

There's no question how Kusakabe-san was able to garner his Michelin status within two years: It's because he has elevated sushi and seafood to a celestial level. His creativity and combination of flavors are unmatched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2016

The sushi rice has too much vinegar in it, corrupted many of the textures of the fish...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. We loved every course, ranging from known things done exceptionally well to new and unique dishes. Very romantic for our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Kusakabe was easily the best sushi restaurant I've ever been to! The staff was was kind and knowledgeable and took their time to explain what was being served by the chef. I will never forget the culinarily experience that I had here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was above average but really nothing special. Many of the Omakase preparations were very forgettable. Service was OK but the staff was extremely rude and nonprofessional. Would not recommend it..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish!!! Best meal of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2016

The sushi are absolutely on spot. The proportion of the seafood and rice is very well balanced. The food is mostly traditional Japanese but with a little twist, but not overly done. Definitely try the grand omakase! And if you're a sake person, definitely ask the waiter to give you some inputs on what sake to pair with your meal. Of course, sit at the bar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is quickly becoming my favorite in the entire city. Amazing atmosphere, served by the legendary Chef Kusakabe himself. Treated my parents and my Japanese mother thought the food was equal to the best sushi and sashimi she has in Japan.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for an amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 14th anniversary here earlier this week. Our server, Gabriella, was amazing. The food was outstanding...the freshness, quality, attention to detail were superb. I can't think of enough adjectives to describe it. Sushi is our favorite food and we have dined at many of the top restaurants in San Francisco. It's been a while since we've been blown away, but Kusakabe comes close. We understand why they have a Michelin worthy.

One single complaint I have is the pace at which the food came. There was so much of it and would have loved to have more time in between the courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to Kusakabe for my birthday celebration. We got the Grand Omakase for $150/ppl and I ordered a 4 oz sake (for $14). The Grand Omakase has an excellent mix of sushi, sashimi, and hot appetizers. The fish was so fresh, and I have to say it is one of the best I have had in bay area. The desserts were equally heavenly, we had both the yuzu sorbet and black sesame ice cream. Comparing this to Omakase ($200/ppl menu), we both like Kusakabe more (maybe it just happens that Kusakabe's selection of food fits our tastebuds better). All in all, Kusakabe is well worth the price and we would come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Although not inventive, the sushi was fresh and tasty. The Grand Omakase had lots of toro and a bit of uni. The wait staff was sufficient, but at times it was difficult to understand the descriptions when they were speaking so softly and from me to my companion. Between the both of us, we probably heard half of what the waitress was describing. The most annoying thing was that we were celebrating my friend's birthday which I stated during the confirmation call. Why call to confirm if you aren't going to note it? The desserts were also disappointing. Next time I would just get the Omakase and order a la carte afterwards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing, we had the 95 usd omakase and it was awesome. Delicious Sake and the kabocha dessert too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Above expectations. Just was at NYC in 2 stars and this is far best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2016

Kusakabe recently changed their Omakase menu; what used to be the $95 omakase is now the $150 one (quite steep price increase!). The new $95 omakase is missing a few items (like the wagyu beef) and has fewer sushis. Other than that, the food is delicious as before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Kusakabe is a must visit in San Francisco. Making reservations is simple and enjoying this restaurant is even more effortless. The service, the food, the atmosphere and the dessert (!!!) are all beyond excellent. Michelin star anyone? Oh, yeah, they've got that too. I can't stop dreaming of the mind-blowing wagyu... Seriously... You haven't lived until you've eaten this heavenly treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. We sat at the sushi bar right in front of Chef Mistunori, he was such a great host. All of the staff were amazing. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything was ah-mazing! Sushi so fresh and tasty... Melts in your mouth. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2016

One of the best meals of my life. Definitely the best sushi I've ever had. Each piece is so thoughtfully conceived and prepared. The servers appreciate the level of the cuisine. I would call it high art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2016

if u want that every bit of your sushi is an explosion of flavours ... well then you are in the right place! this place deservese respect !!

eddie osmani

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Spectacular as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I've never had an omasake sushi experience before and I felt like this was a really great way to start. The sushi itself was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. The paired sake experience was exactly what I had wanted and I'll say that this was a wonderful addition to the meal and really added to my dining pleasure. I was told the sake pairing was new, I would keep it as this was really enjoyable! With added sushi selections and dessert, total time that we took was 3 hours. I have to say that after paying the bill ($1000+) I felt that it was tacky that I was asked to leave to accommodate the 2nd seating of the night. This was done in a very nice way by the host and I totally understood but it would be better and could have been avoided if we were told at the beginning that we would need to vacate our seats by a certain time or if that was written somewhere for me to easily see.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2016

My husband invited my city friends to join us to celebrate my birthday. He ordered the $150 tasting menu for each of us. Everyone was delighted with the sushi selection. My favorite dish was the octopus. It was so tender and flavorful. The Ken sake was the best I've ever had. I thought I just didn't like sake. I guess I just didn't like bad sake. Our server was very welcoming and informative. The relaxed atmosphere at our table was really enjoyable. We couldn't wait for each dish to come out! Each slice of fish was like butter, and melted on my tongue. The beef slices were delicious and intriguing. The quantity of food was perfect, not too little nor too much. We sat at a table, but the sushi counter looked pretty cool. That will be my next visit. Besides the food, I really liked the laid back atmosphere and high level of professionalism. No attitude. I felt like I was visiting my best friend's restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Good food

Very knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2016

The food was fine, but not at all exciting and not worth the price (and we are rarely ones to complain about the cost of a meal). We went to Sakesan sushi a couple days later and enjoyed it much more. One high point of Kusakabe was the service, which was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 29, 2016

A very diverse, fresh and inventive menu that we enjoyed with the lovely sake pairing. The only negative was that they were out of eel that night. Service was very attentive and informative but not overbearing. We are planning to return very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Waited two months to get a reservation but worth the wait. Food was great and service impeccable. Ate at a table but the bar seem like it was more fun to engage with the chefs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Outstanding service and dishes were delicious☺ Especially Toro melted in my mouth!! Definitely will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2016

An amazing omakase with some of the best seasoned sushi I have had in the city. For those looking to ONLY eat sushi, I would stay away. Their set menu includes a lot of non-sushi plates such as soup. You could do a la carte but price-wise, it's more economical to go with the omakase and get filled up.

Highly recommend to any hardcore sushi lovers! This place is not for those who like "rolls."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2016

I was absolutely delighted to read about Kusakabe before my husband and I headed back to SF. I knew that I wanted to partake in the Omakase experience after reading all the reviews. I can understand why this restaurant has earned a Michelin star. Each course was beautifully presented and we took the time to savor each item as it was meant to be eaten. I highly suggest the Sake pairing. We had no idea how smooth Sake could be and each glass melded with each course beautifully. I highly recommend Kusakabe but, be warned, the price tag will be high (but worth it).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2016

I was not particularly hungry, and feeling a little queasy (read: hungover), and actually considered cancelling our reservation. Thank goodness I didn't because we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here thanks to top-notch food and the excellent chef! We had counter seats 1 to 3 with Bryan and he was engaging and informative. I especially enjoyed the king salmon and wild yellowtail - they were exquisitely prepared such that the flavors were perfectly balanced! Highly, highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.