HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

KUSAKABE

4.9
221 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (4)
  • Authentic (3)
  • Creative Cuisine (2)

Kusakabe is a gourmet sushi experience in San Francisco that offers diners a delicious way to taste a style of sushi they may not be familiar with. The chef at Kusakabe serves a prix fixe meal every night that features the Kaiseki style of sushi. After the meal has been served, diners may order additional fare from the a la carte menu.

During their meal, guests at Kusakabe will enjoy freshly made seasonal sushi, including a medium fatty tuna cured in soy sauce, sashimi served with fresh wasabi and onion sauce, Japanese oysters served with caviar and a soup of snap pea and white bean paste. More sushi, including the chef�s choice of the day, completes the meal.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm and 10:00pm
The last seating for dinner is at 8:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 757-0155
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mitsunori "Nori" Kusakabe
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Montgomery
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking not available. Street parking or parking lots nearby. (Closest one at Hilton Hotel)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Walking distance from Embarcadero and Montgomery BART stations.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 221 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9  based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Very reasonable price and excellent quality

Report
Helpful
Thunderhawk (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Outstanding food, drink and service. Knowledgeable staff, and friendly. Never felt rushed throughout the entire dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (London)
5.0  Dined on December 18, 2017

Good service, nice food, so amazing!

Report
Helpful
vipMatt (Houston)
5.0  Dined on July 8, 2016

Best sushi experience in the city. Do not miss an opportunity to dine here.

Report
Helpful
vipPaulT (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on July 2, 2016

Easily one of the best omakase menus in San Francisco. The staff is extremely warm and kind and the food is always amazing. It is pricey (2 menu choices of $95 or $150), and with drinks and any add ons, it can get expensive. But it compares very favorably to places we have been in Tokyo - so it is well worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
Bill945 (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2016

We couldn't be more pleased with the "Sushi in Kaiseki Style" selection. It was our first visit and we wanted to have the full experience and it was a joy.

The quality of the product was amazing ... we're still delighting in our post sushi-glow ... the toro, the uni (from Japan not Santa Barbara), the Wagyu beef, all of it left our mouths, minds and foodie hearts fully satisfied and impressed.

Ken, our chef at the sushi bar, was incredible! His elucidations about so aspects of the food were wonderful and impressive. But it was his passion, his passion that made the experience. And passion about not only sushi but also about the joy of dining ... no rushing, taking one's time, appreciating and savoring ... what a joy to have had him be our guide through this culinary adventure.

If you enjoyed Ju Ni, you won't be disappointed here. But note, it's a slightly different experience, but in this case different was great!

Enjoy!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2016

Great dishes and great service. Felt special the whole night.

Report
Helpful
vipDisappointed (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on June 7, 2016

Second visit this year and better than the first! Always surprises me with new fish choices. OMASAKE rivals Tokyo. Amazing experience and exquisite level of detail expressed in the food and sake. Ken was an outstanding sushi master. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
vipZeyaY (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on June 2, 2016

Have been here twice now. Best sushi in SF.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food. Loved watching the chefs prepare the food. Overall experience was really enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on May 23, 2016

Kusakabe has wonderful sushi chefs who take delight in explaining each creation. But in this price range the expectations are very high, and unfortunately the quality of fish does not quite make the grade. We ordered the Grande Omikase to get the full experience. IMO this was a mistake as the few extra pieces do not really justify paying 50% more. In fact I felt overstuffed at the end, so much so that it was difficult to enjoy the Grande Finale of Wagyu beef and Toro sushi. Speaking of Toro, I was pretty disappointed to see a major vein running up the center of the fish (I saw this was true for the Toro that everyone else received, too). I'm sorry, but you would never see that in a high end sushi restaurant in Japan. The whole point of dining in these places is to enjoy a quality of fish that you cannot find in your average neighborhood joint. Now to be fair the atmosphere is nice, the staff is attentive, and the menu features many price points for sake. The food itself is beautiful (though the tourist taking photos of every piece are a bit annoying). Some of the sushi is really, really good, and the all important rice is top quality. But I could do without the Hassan middle course in a box which just seemed like filler. For half the price this would be a steal, but at this price point you quite a expect a bit more.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on May 23, 2016

We flew in from Seattle to eat here, and we weren't disappointed at all. Our chef Brian was very engaging and made the dining experience great. All of the food was delicious and after the omakase he suggested great items off of the a la carte. We had a really great time and will definitely ask for Brian if we are ever back in town and find ourselves back at Kusakabe. Definitely recommend brian for your chef! This place is for sure worth the $$.

Report
Helpful
vipeats123 (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on May 19, 2016

This was my second time here. Everything was beautifully presented and delicious again. Service was a little, hmm, I'll say relaxed. It's nice not to feel hurried, but at the same time, sometimes you want to order a drink or add on. We had 8:15pm reservations, I believe there are two seatings each evening. We had to wait a little bit to be seated and since the restaurant is so small, we waited outside, there was another larger party waiting just inside the door and spilling out into the doorway. My friend and I aren't large eaters so the portions were perfect for us, but I've heard from larger eaters that the $95 omakase menu is not filling. At the end of the meal if you would like to order more, you can add more ala carte. Last time I went at the end of February and this time it was mid-May, the menus were definitely varied which goes right along with using seasonal ingredients, everything was super fresh and great quality. My favorite dish of the night was the Crispy Alaskan Kinki with Maitake Dashi Soup. Fish was crisp and tender, mushrooms were flavorful and broth was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
vipLuv2eat (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on May 18, 2016

There's no question how Kusakabe-san was able to garner his Michelin status within two years: It's because he has elevated sushi and seafood to a celestial level. His creativity and combination of flavors are unmatched.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 11, 2016

The sushi rice has too much vinegar in it, corrupted many of the textures of the fish...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 11, 2016

Our dinner was fantastic. We loved every course, ranging from known things done exceptionally well to new and unique dishes. Very romantic for our anniversary!

Report
Helpful
Vigs (Jacksonville)
5.0  Dined on May 10, 2016

Kusakabe was easily the best sushi restaurant I've ever been to! The staff was was kind and knowledgeable and took their time to explain what was being served by the chef. I will never forget the culinarily experience that I had here!

Report
Helpful
vipRAH75 (Minneapolis)
2.0  Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was above average but really nothing special. Many of the Omakase preparations were very forgettable. Service was OK but the staff was extremely rude and nonprofessional. Would not recommend it..

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful from start to finish!!! Best meal of my life

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 3, 2016

The sushi are absolutely on spot. The proportion of the seafood and rice is very well balanced. The food is mostly traditional Japanese but with a little twist, but not overly done. Definitely try the grand omakase! And if you're a sake person, definitely ask the waiter to give you some inputs on what sake to pair with your meal. Of course, sit at the bar!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12