Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The Side by Side RestaurantThe Side by Side Restaurant
(199)
$$$$
Southern | Tuscaloosa, Tuscaloosa
Booked 11 times today
Perry's Steakhouse & Grille - BirminghamPerry's Steakhouse & Grille - Birmingham
(901)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 40 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - BirminghamRuth's Chris Steak House - Birmingham
(535)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 7 times today
Texas de Brazil - BirminghamTexas de Brazil - Birmingham
(1372)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 36 times today
Hot and Hot Fish ClubHot and Hot Fish Club
(449)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 15 times today
Seasons 52 - BirminghamSeasons 52 - Birmingham
(1334)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 10 times today
The Melting Pot - BirminghamThe Melting Pot - Birmingham
(175)
$$$$
Fondue | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 7 times today
BottegaBottega
(977)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 17 times today
BettolaBettola
(200)
$$$$
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 10 times today
Highlands Bar & GrillHighlands Bar & Grill
(1902)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 18 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Birmingham - Brookwood VillageBRIO Tuscan Grille - Birmingham - Brookwood Village
(497)
$$$$
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 5 times today
Grille 29 BirminghamGrille 29 Birmingham
(425)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 9 times today
Bistro VBistro V
(285)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 4 times today
Village Tavern BirminghamVillage Tavern Birmingham
(1072)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 10 times today
Cocina SuperiorCocina Superior
(184)
$$$$
Mexican / Southwestern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Booked 3 times today

About Kozy's Restaurant

Kozy's is a fine dining restaurant that serves up refined French-American cuisine in cozy surrounds amid vintage décor. Chef Beau Burroughs supervises a seasonal menu that features tasty appetizers such as gulf oysters alongside fresh salad. The main menu comes with an appealing selection of chicken, seafood and steak entrees. Drop by after work and indulge your taste buds with some grilled pork chops or pan roasted chicken breast, served with sweet potatoes and turnip greens. Complement it with some pumpkin cheese cake or a decadent slice of chocolate cake. Cocktails, beer and wine round off the drink menu.

A neighborhood mainstay, Kozy's fits the bill for almost everything, from a leisurely meal to a romantic evening. The restaurant's facilities include a piano bar, with the occasional live music. It also features an outdoor dining area. Kozy's is open Tuesdays to Sundays.

3510 Loop Rd
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35404
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm.

Cross Street:
Woodland Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 556-0665

Website:
http://killionrestaurants.com/kozys

Entertainment:
Kozy's has a piano bar with live music provided on designated days.

Executive Chef:
Beau Burroughs

Private Party Contact:
Tim Kiilion: (205) 556-4112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wish we had known that this was the last day they would be open! We were the last table they served. Staff was very sad. $43 filet had 2 pieces of asparagus. They clearly were spreading out what they had left. Our bill for 5 people was $600 and we certainly would not chosen this place for a graduation celebration if we had known they were closing! Staff was in the back crying. I felt so badly for our waiter he was very upset. But we really felt like we were intruders. We expected a wonderful place to celebrate a milestone and we got a very sad somber experience with spotty service, a limited menu and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2016

After looking for a special occasion place to eat after UA graduation, we decided on Kozy's. We were extremely dissapointed and everyone in our party of six would have preferred to have dined almost anywhere else. When we arrived, we were seated right away. We were in the back section of the restaurant and I would not recommend that as our table was over an air vent. I kid you not, the air vent was located on the floor and blew up on our legs the entire time. There were only three tables in this section and our server was boasting about how we would get great service because he was only in charge of the three tables. It was funny because he came back after 10 minutes to take our order. We didn't see him for most of the meal. When we made our selection from the very limited menu (5 items,) we had four orders of scallops, one duck, and one filet. The scallops and the fillet were decent and the duck was overcooked. Not the quality of food for a $300 lunch. As a side note, the one stall women's and men's bathrooms are right in the middle of the restaurant so if there is a line, you are standing next to someone's table. Please do not be misguided into thinking this is a fine dining establishment and do not do what I did and think this was the best choice for a special occasion, it absolutely was not. Maybe in the evening it is more charming as it would be dimly lit with the piano playing, this is not the same experience for lunch. Truly a disappointment especially with many other good options in the Tuscaloosa area. We will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had accepted a late night reservation for graduation weekend because the restaurant was otherwise booked. The evening graduation ended earlier than expected and we were starving. I called the restaurant to inquire if they had a bar where we could be served appetizers and drinks while we waited for our table. The hostess was nice enough to offer to accommodate us on the patio where they would be happy to serve us, if we desired. We accepted her kind offer and dined alfresco on a lovely evening. Our party had the area to ourselves and enjoyed attentive service, excellent appetizers, dinners, and drinks. We very much appreciated their willingness to accommodate us early.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Menu for the night was very limited. Duck Confit and Grilled Fish were terrific. Filet was served with two large asparagus stalks and three potato fingerlings. Plating leaved a lot to be desired. Even though the filet was very char-broiled, (too dark where I sat to see how black,) it tasted good, but was not worth $38.00

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions. It was our last "hurrah" in Tuscaloosa celebrating a graduation from the University of Alabama. Of six meals, two were satisfactory, one very good, one below average and two inedible. It was one of our favorite places to eat. I would not recommend it again, nor would I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have always passed by this place and decide to celebrate my engagement there instead of going to Birmingham like normal for fine dining. The appetizers were great! The bread, entree and dessert were lack luster for the price. Was really disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Kozy's. We enjoyed it our first time, as it's off the beaten path, nestled in a nice neighborhood, with live piano music & "cozy" atmosphere. Sadly, this evening our server was like a "deer in the headlights"....asking us to order, after never bringing us menus as we sat waiting to be acknowledged for about 10 minutes, and unapologetic for her neglect the entire evening. We had a reservation for 4, were seated, (without being given menus) as there were several open tables, and yet our server was MIA pretty much the whole evening. After ordering, during which it was clear the waitress wasn't adept regarding the menu, other staff delivered our food, and our waitress popped in once or twice to check in, but never refilled our drinks or water, or even poured our wine. We did enjoy the flavorful mushrooms stuffed with steak appetizer, but the ceviche was unremarkable. Entrees: filets were on par & scallops were very good. After dinner, we ordered the chocolate mousse, crème broulee, & 2 Grand Marnier cordials, which were delivered in snifter glasses, but appeared to be a CLEAR LIQUID, instead of GOLDEN in color. My husband immediately flagged down a different server (as ours was MIA...again) & the drinks were taken away to be replaced. Our waitress later appeared claiming that now they were "out of Grand Marnier"---which means they didn't have enough when we ordered, so they tried to cut it with vodka or something & pass it off as Grand Marnier--at $10 a pop!!! BEWARE!!! Never have we encountered such dishonesty at a restaurant, and as a result, we will not ever return to this establishment! Shame on you, Kozy's!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Had late reservations on a busy parents' weekend. Food took over an hour to arrive after ordering. Sent some back. Have in the past had a great meal at Kozy's, not this time. Server was pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2016

Best restaurant in Tuscaloosa area. Scallops, redfish and duck were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Our party of 8 had a Marvelous time ! The Food, drinks/wine and service were Great !
It IS a Kozy place !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2016

When u see Kozy's from the outside you would never expect what's on the inside. It was so laid back and romantic. The setting is dimly lit with a piano playing in the background. The food was awesome and the service was great as well. I would definitely recommend this nice, quiet, and relaxing date night getaway.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2016

My wife and I went to Kozy's for her 30th birthday as we wanted to go somewhere new and nice. We were blown away by the food, wine, and especially the service. The price was a little more expensive than we were expecting, but in the end it was worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Kozy's is a very special place, like no other. The exterior of the building is unprepossessing, but don't let that put you off. The food is absolutely first-rate: innovative combinations of flavors that make meals memorable. The ambiance is quiet: this is a place for grown-ups, not for kids out for grub & beers. The color scheme in the restaurant is black and white, in tribute to the great era of the movies before technicolor. Photos of Bogart, Cagney, the Hepburns, Lombard &c. cover the walls. The bar is particularly well stocked and Kozy's is famous for its cocktail recipes. If you love a quiet, elegant meal with great service, go to Kozy's. Before the meal ends the chef will pay your table a visit. He delights in making diners happy and is proud of his artistry. The ability to make reservations by the Open Table app is a real plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2016

This was our second trip to Kozy's, both for our anniversary. The first time was perfect; they made us feel special, the food was amazing, the company was wonderful.

This time, the service was indifferent bordering on ignoring us, while our waitress preferred talking to the next table about the bad night she'd had Saturday; my dinner was burnt (although I must acknowledge that my partner was delighted with hers), and the place felt like a tomb.

I don't intend to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Kozy's, as always, is just THE place to go for date night/girls night in Tuscaloosa. The wine, cocktails, and food.. Oh my! Always so spectacular!! The Exec. Chef David is amazing and so nice. He does everything in his power accommodate to our needs. The service is always spot on. Five out of five stars! Two thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have previously been very pleases with Kozy's. Sunday night the booth was so small I could not get my legs past the table center leg. When my steak arrived it was cooked as requested but it was so cold it must have been prepared an hour earlier.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine's atmosphere, dining in an intimate booth 12 by the fireplace. From the oysters, Ceasar salad, filet mignon to Creme Brule -each course was better than the last. Katey was engaging, attentive and responsive. Fabulous evening! No, we're not getting paid to say this. Honest review from a couple who travels to Tuscaloosa to spend our special occasion at Kozy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:30 on the Saturday the 13th. We arrived at 7:20, checked in with the hostess, and took a seat at the bar. It was 8:30 before we were called for our table. Total time spent in the restaurant was just over 3 hours. The food however was wonderful as always. We weren't really in a hurry so the time factor didn't bother us that much...we just thought it unusual that it took that long to get seated with a reservation. We will still go to Kozy's for our special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I chose Kozy's for our Valentine's dinner. This was our first visit and enjoyed our evening very much. We were able to make reservations via Open Table so that prompted our choice - that, plus the 'word of mouth' reputation that this would be a nice spot to celebrate Valentine's Day (on Saturday night).

They had a limited menu so there were not many choices. We split the mushrooms for an appetizer and both had the filet for our main course. Both were delicious. The filet was very tender and was a generous portion. The only struggle we had was choosing between creme brulee or bread pudding for dessert. The creme brulee won out and was delicious, though the bread pudding also looked pretty tasty.

We were a little older than most of the young folks celebrating that night, but the atmosphere certainly lived up to the name - very cozy!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I highly recommend Kozy's for an excellent meal. Wonderful ambiance. And a nostalgic evening of past year's of Hollywood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Slow service, average food. I was hoping for so much more! There are many other choices that are much better in Tuscaloosa. Don't waste your money or time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great date night spot. Food is great and the atmosphere is even better. Can't leave without the mushrooms and the duck.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2016

This is a hidden, romantic spot in Ttown. The little house was a surprise on the inside. A lovely piano player played the night away as we dined. The food was good, but we can be quite a food snob ourselves. The wait staff was the only missing piece. I love European dinning and taking ones time; don't be in a hurry to go any where. The poor waitress was a little distressed with the tables and everything was her favorite; it was a broken record to the other tables. They did have a great selection of beverages and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Wonderful meal! My boyfriend and I say at the bar and enjoyed a cheese course, filet, and short rib. Love this place, it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2016

This trip to Kozy's exceeded expectations. Food was a 10+. Its the best chef in Tuscaloosa. We love it because its on Open Table and one of the few Tuscaloosa establishments that take reservations. . Its a great time of year to go without all of the out of town traffic. Just a local gem with a great wine list and bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2016

Three of us had Fillet. Two had Salad and one soup all excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2016

We had so much fun and the owner came out and met us and gave my fiancé a free drink for his birthday. We had such a great night and can't wait to go back. The filet mignon was so delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2015

The setting was romantic, noise level was low so you could have a normal toned conversation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2015

An amazing meal yet again. Perhaps the most perfectly prepared scallops I have ever had. Attentive service and delicious drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Our daughter just graduated from from Alabama and we went on Yelp to make reservations someplace given we knew it would be a busy weekend. VERY FEW restaurants take reservations, but Kozy's did. We were BLOWN away by what we found. GREAT service, a great menu, solid winelist and terrific food. You would never know it driving by and we NEVER went there in 4 1/2 of having a student there. This is a must do while in Tuscaloosa. Great decor and had a piano player on Saturday night. Will be a memory of ours for great reasons!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2015

We had a party of 7 and the service was great! Food was very good as always. Our family likes to go to Kozy's for special occasions in Tuscaloosa because it is off the beaten path and not in the middle of the Tuscaloosa and University scene! Fun night with a delicious meal :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2015

I love is place! It's so quaint and the food and service is amazing! Can't get enough of their filet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2015

We were more than delighted with Food service and ambiance. Next time we are in town this is definitely the place to dine. D. Hunter

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2015

A wonderful meal and a lovely experience, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Wonderful meal, service, and ambiance in this neighborhood restaurant. Especially enjoyed the oyster appetizer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 23, 2015

It has been several years since I have dined at Kozy's. The last time I visited the food was not great but I wanted to give them another chance because I love the atmosphere and the food has been excellent in the past.

First course was a Caesar Salad. The lettuce seamed fresh but the salad was soaking wet with dressing. There was also a unidentified orange colored sauce on the bottom of the plate. Don't know what it was but it did not go with salad and it gave it an odd flavor. The white anchovies on the salad did not taste very good, it seemed like maybe the can had been opened for a while. I usually love anchovies but I could not eat these. My wife nor myself could eat all of our salads.

Second Course. I had the crispy duck. The duck was cooked and tasted okay but it was very dry. I eat a lot of duck at many different restaurants and this seemed to be a low quality or just not very fresh. The potato cake served with the duck had a good flavor but the potatoes were raw (crunchy) in the middle and burned on the outside. The cabbage was very bland and disappointing.
My wife had the filet. The meat and sides all had a good flavor and seemed fresh. The filet had a large piece of inedible gristle on it. This is very unusual for a $35 filet. The filet was soaking in a sauce that was good but it was WAY too much sauce and took away from the dish.

Third course. My wife and I shared the crème brulee. This was the best of the courses. It was cooked properly and had the classic texture and taste the we expect from this dessert

Service. The server was courteous and helpful but lacked the appropriate training for this caliber of restaurant.

Unfortunately I will not be returning to Kozy's anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Everything was wonderful about the place. I have fond memories of other game day weekends and eating here. The food does not disappoint, the seating however made the experience less palatable. We were seated up front in booths too close together so that leg room was compromised and the seats had lost their spring. This should NOT ruin your evening, but was a set back. Great service and terrific meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2015

We arrived with our 7 month daughter and the staff went above and beyond to make us and her comfortable. From letting us sit outside to bringing our food quickly, they made it easy to dine with her even though it is not your typical kid friendly restaurant. The food as always was out of this world but the service was particularly incredible when we could have caused consternation. thank you kozys!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2015

We had a reservation and we waited 20 minutes before they sat us (4). The gentleman who greeted us, told us he was waiting for a table to leave, they were just finishing dessert, it would just be a moment. I noticed that there was an empty table available, and there were no other people waiting to be seated. Wrong choices by management. It just got worse from there. We had a very unpleasant experience. We waited 45 minutes for appetizers. I ordered the crab cerviche, which was an avocado salad sprinkled with crab, nothing special about it. Service was very slow. Apparently there were problems in the kitchen, and they had run out of basic things, and served what they thought was equivalent.
For my entree , I ordered the grouper special, when it finally arrived, the fish was uncooked, and the vegetables were saturated in salt, making it inedible . We also ordered the vegetable plate, which was 90% grits and 10% vegetables. The management apologized for the "off night", and told us that there would not be a check. Overall, the piano player was the nicest touch about this place, everything else left something to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2015

A nice restaurant in a quaint little house far enough away to avoid the university crowd. Food and service were good and quiet enough to converse. Overall, a great night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.