About Koutouki Taverna

10719 - 124 St
Edmonton, AB T5M 0H1
View Larger Map

Koutouki It's All Greek is a family-run Greek restaurant offering up authentic Greek food and a lively atmosphere. We use nothing but the freshest ingredients in our recipes, that are homemade in house daily. The decor is comfortable,welcoming, and resembles a quaint restaurant one might stumble upon when travelling the Greek isles. However, on Fridays and Saturdays when the sun goes down, the energy goes up. Bellydancing, and plate smashing make for an exciting and memorable dining experience.
** As of April 1, 2012 Koutouki will have a No Minor Policy on Friday and Saturday Evenings. **
** As of March 1, 2015 Koutouki is under new management and ownership. **

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues -Thurs 4:30pm-10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11:00pm No Minor Policy
Sunday 4:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
107 Ave 124 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 452-5383

Website:
http://www.koutouki.ca/

Entertainment:
Our goal is to make you feel as though you have left on vacation for Greece. We offer the best bellydancers this side of the Atlantic, and we will dance you into the streets.

Catering:
We do all kinds of catering, from corporate lunches to wedding receptions. Whether you are looking for a 12 course meal or a couple different dishes, Koutouki will always satisfy. For more information feel free to give us a call or email us. Info@koutouki.ca.

Executive Chef:
Kimon Kemeridis

Private Party Facilities:
As ther restaurant is divided into 2 semi private rooms, we offer private bookings. Whether it be a Christmas party, wedding reception or any other group activity, we can accomodate your needs. You may book half of the restaurant or the whole restaurant, the choice is yours. Rooms are available anytime, upon availability. Contact us for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Georgia or Kimon Kemeridis: 7804525383x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Koutouki Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

good for groups (22)
special occasion (21)
neighborhood gem (18)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (12)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and atmosphere.

Dined 6 days ago

Décor reminds me of being in Greece. Mattheos was very attentive to our table. Excellent saganaki.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

This was our first time...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Used to go here often and this was our first visit since change of ownership. Not impressed... While the place looks great. We were there on a quiet Wednesday with a reservation and still got low key bored welcome and then ongoing mediocre service. We prefer pretty basic dishes which were fine although the Greek Salad was a bomb... Ho do you mess that up? By cheaping out on ingredients like feta cheese and onions. Yes really. Other dishes were good if not amazing. Do not think will be back soon...

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very happy with the new owners

Dined on April 25, 2016

We booked this restaurant not knowing it had changed owners since our last visit . As it turned out it didn't matter, it was just as terrific as our last visit. We all prefer the Mesa meal. It did not disappoint. There were 6 adults and 2 children in our party and all of us were stuffed when we finished our marvellous meal. It was a little expensive but for a 65 th birthday it was well worth it. Service was also great, and the courses were well timed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I came by for dinner on a Sa ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I came by for dinner on a Saturday night, squeezing in a late reservation through OpenTable. Our server, Georgia, was friendly and the service was excellent even though the restaurant was full. We ordered wine and multiple courses with special instructions and everything came out perfectly and efficiently with at least 4 staff members assisting and checking on us over the course of dinner. The food is simple, traditional and delicious. The furniture and decor could use an update but everything else was perfect. We will be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice evening

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 28th Anniversary. We shared saganaki (a favorite) and it was excellent. We also shared calamari - it was OK. Perhaps I just am not keen on the larger pieces, but it wasn't rubbery or anything negative. We also shared moussaka...knowing that after the two appetizers, we might not have room for a full entree each :) Moussaka was excellent. Our male server was excellent. There when we needed him, but not hovering. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent service and great food. Only ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

excellent service and great food. Only thing the restaurant could improve is the chairs, very uncomfortable wicker chairs with small cushions.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening with a group.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Enjoyed everything. Good food, great service and fun activity. Breaking of plates and exotic dancer! Lots of fun for a group environment!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

I cannot say enough good things about th ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant since it went under new management! I was a frequent guest at the old Koutouki Taverna, and while I enjoyed the experience for the majority of my visits, I could not help but notice that most of the dishes served up were all preprepared and just warmed-up or microwaved for serving. This often resulted in try or tasteless entrees and on some nights, it was truly a miserable experience. In other words, the old management simply lost their passion and it was undoubtedly a good thing that they sold the place off. It's a completely different experience under the new management! The food is all fresh and made to order. Tasty, wonderful, and authentic Greek cuisine is consistently served every night I have been there, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves Greek food! Please note, this place has NO Connection with the Koutouki on the southside either, as that is a truly horrible place. The new Koutouki Taverna is now one of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had the meze and overall it was good. We really enjoyed the pita, greek salad, dolmades, spanakopita, and chicken. The rest of the dishes were meh. Entertainment began at 8 oclock and it was so loud and disruptive (if you're not into it). It also basically stopped food service so we had to wait well over 30 minutes to get our bill. Next time we would go early so we could leave before the entertainment!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service (by Diva) and great food b ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great service (by Diva) and great food by the team. We were celebrating my mom's 60th in prep of going to a Mediterranean cruise. The staff st Koutouki was great.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Used to be so much better :(

Dined on February 28, 2016

Koutouki used to be my go-to place for authentic Greek eats. Sadly, it has taken a serious turn. I took my mom there for her 65th birthday. We had the meze and the food was pretty 'meh'. The Greek salad tasted like the salad from Opa. The onions were so pungent that it was hard to eat. The spanakopita was tough, over-fried and black on some bits. The only dip that tasted good on our platter was the tzatziki. Also, the portion sizes have shrunk considerably from the Koutouki of yesteryear. Our server was inattentive and just plain brutal. I informed him early on that it was my mom's 65th birthday and he did nothing to acknowledge it whatsoever, except to say a cursory "happy birthday." There was no reason for the terrible service - the place was half empty (which should have been our first indication that things have gone downhill). I will say, the bean dish in a tomato sauce was delicious. The belly dancer was also very wonderful and the staff members did a great job engaging the patrons. Sadly, though, this was not enough for us to ever want to come back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New owners, new decore...some food changes

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We booked this place 'again' as we have in the past -- we've come here once or twice a year for quite a number of years now. Noticed that the decore and menu had changed since our last visit. Were told new owners...still from Greece took over about a year ago. Nothing too significant changed. The only item on the menu that was slightly different was the dolmades that were now bigger and made with meat. They were okay -- but not what we have had before at this and other Greek places in the city. I would suggest to the new owners to offer two variations....the rice/pine nut smaller version and the meat variety. The keftedes were still tasty and what we remember...only that they were more like little patties, rather than meatballs. But still excellent taste and preparation. Haloumi cheese dish and Ouzo shrimps also superb. Service was excellent and attentive. $100 approx for two people, 4 appies plus a bottle of Boutari with tax and tip.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

food quality was not the greatest

Dined on February 21, 2016

Foot quality was not the greatest, many dishes on the MEZE that we did not eat. not worth the price. will rethink going there again.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Normally Koutouki's is great. However th ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Normally Koutouki's is great. However this Valentine's Day it was a little disappointing. We weren't made aware of the set menu upon making the reservation and were a little surprised with the lack of options for people with dietary restrictions. Was even more surprised when my salmon came on a bed of couscous when I was told it was salmon and "just a bunch of mixed vegetables". When I asked if I could order off the menu, I was told I could try but that most items were not available. The chocolate dipped strawberries & roses were a nice touch. The belly dancer was great entertainment, but the music was so very loud. We will be back because we love the food, but likely not for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service made a romantic d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service made a romantic dinner perfect

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Not Like It Use To Be

Dined on February 14, 2016

Not having sat in the restaurant before I was so looking forward to this. It was a celebration for my step son getting his CPA, so a very special occasion. I had ordered Calamari take out about 4 years prior and it was the best we had ever had, so when it came to ordering, that was a priority. The Calamari was such a disappointment we didn't even eat it all and the Greek salad didn't even taste like a Greek salad. I have since learned that it is no longer owned by the same owners, which probably is why it wasn't as I remembered. When we feel like Greek food again, we will be going back to Yannis on Whyte.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on January 31, 2016

Energetic & fun Greek-style dance performance that is interactive (if you prefer) or can enjoy from afar. The service is wonderful as our server was enthusiastic about explaining the meals & ingredients. Ordering the Mesa is a great way to try so many wonderful dishes for a really fair price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

feast

Dined on January 18, 2016

The Meze was a generous portion, what a feast! Great service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great experience

Dined on January 11, 2016

Overall great. Very quiet though - hope the business is ok!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing dinner

Dined on January 11, 2016

Couldn't have had a better dinner, we just tried multiple appetizers and they were all fantastic. Good value too, prices were reasonable

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Old is new again

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

We hadn't realized that this restaurant was under new ownership, and because we really liked the old place, we were sceptical. But, it is honestly way better. All the old favourites are still there , but better. We will be back very soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

New Years Eve disappointment

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a group that went for the first sitting on New Years Eve. We were more then a little disappointed with the set menu, but since we had a reservation we stayed. No choices at all is a bit unusual some of the items we did not enjoy. The music was way too loud when the belly dancer came out for 5 songs or so. That was 20+ minutes when we couldn't speak at all. It was fine to have entertainment, but it was as loud as a nightclub in there so after she was on the otherwise it certain got annoying. I am not sure if it was just New Years, but we had a waiter that appeared to be new to service. We were not offered anything until our whole party arrived. I think you can usually get a drink in most restaurants even if there is a set menu. Since we arrived a little early we spent 20+ minutes without. I have read that they are under new owners the food was certainly not horrible, but it is not nearly as good. We went to the same location on 124 St and we liked the food better. Maybe it was because we were not forced into a set menu without our knowledge. I am not sure why it took so long, but 2 1/2 hours for dinner was way more then we needed. This was after the initial 20 minutes when we didn't get served, but it includes the 25 minutes that we waited to get the cheque we had to ask for twice. We probably won't be going back anymore to be honest.

food4
ambience4
service5

The place is under new ownership since t ...

Dined on November 2, 2015

The place is under new ownership since the last time I was there, and I found that the quality of food has much improved! Our waitress was charming and we had a wonderful time.

food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing Experience

Dined on November 1, 2015

It was my first time to Koutouki and it was amazing. I loved the meal, the service was great. We went to spend time eating and sharing our anniversary so we were in no rush. It is a long process to do the Meze (which is trying a large number of different foods). My husband and I really enjoyed the romantic atmosphere, the belly dancing was amazing along with the plate breaking. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to visit, laugh, eat amazing food and take there time with the whole experience. I read reviews before making our reservation and noticed that people were upset with the slowness of service and food delivery. We loved that we were left in our little corner alone to talk, snuggle and feed each other. Thank you for the most enjoyable meal and anniversary I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

Used to be Perfect

Dined on October 31, 2015

Early this year (2015) Koutouki Taverna changed ownership. Those that had run it before, including their chef, moved to California. It used to be one of our favourite restaurants ever and even had our wedding reception dinner there 5 years ago. Now it's just ok. If you were there prior to Spring 2015 you'll know what I mean. The ambiance had changed as well: no photos on walls and no more hanging plants. Plus, we went on a Friday evening. Previously it used to be packed, and vibrant with activity. I think there was about 10 tables or less of people there, probably because patrons that were used to the sublime food before just aren't coming there anymore. Unfortunately my wife and I will be looking for a different Greek restaurant to go to from now on.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Very nicely decorated. Waitress seemed ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

Very nicely decorated. Waitress seemed a bit inexperienced and couldn't answer (nor did she ask) about parking in the lot right next door. Food was good but rice and potatoes a bit salty. Competitive prices. Accommodated a gluten free diet with no problem.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Best Dining Spot

Dined on October 18, 2015

Sevice was great. Food was great. Prices a little bit high but it is well worth the price

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Mekes was great

Dined on October 16, 2015

We were a group of six, five of whom had the Mekes where they bring out a variety of Greek food starting with a Greek salad followed by many courses with the finale begin the lamb and potatoes. The food was excellent and the spacing of the food allowed us to have a wonderful, not rushed conversation over dinner. Considering all the food we got the $34 each was a great value.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants in Edmonton!

Dined on September 27, 2015

Fantastic food, service and entertainment. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3

Dissapointing

Dined on September 20, 2015

I heard really good comments about the restaurant so I decided to try it out. The food was over priced but it was very good though I just dont think its worth the price.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Try mama's deserts!

Dined on September 3, 2015

This is an amazing resturant. Plan for 90 mins and do it right. You won't regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Evening to socialize

Dined on September 3, 2015

It was a great place to bring a group of people to a relaxing restaurant with great service and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Their meza meal is incredible. Good vari ...

Dined on August 27, 2015

Their meza meal is incredible. Good variety and very tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food and table service were excellent!

Dined on August 16, 2015

Would highly recommend this restaurant for good food, large portion size, value and service. Very friendly people.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy Appetizers!

Dined on August 14, 2015

Enjoyed a great night feasting on appetizers and greek salad. Two of us shared a medium greek salad and enough to take home to enjoy for lunch the next day! Fantastic food, good service and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Decent Greek food experience

Dined on August 9, 2015

Pretty good Greek food. Limited beverage selection. If you like the noise and all that goes with belly dancing and smashing plates, you will like this place more than I did.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and plenty of it!

Dined on July 30, 2015

We came here for a family birthday meal - 5 of us, thankfully we were really hungry! We were welcomed and given a great table in the corner. We noticed other families there too. Our server had some great recommendations for us, and two in our party had the shared tapas, which was great...and something we all tried. Everything was delicious, there was no room for dessert, so we'll just have to come back another time! Thank for a lovely escape to Greece.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Not the same Koutouki!!!

Dined on July 25, 2015

Booked here for our anniversary, as it was a favorite when we lived in the Metro Edmonton area a few years ago. Sat down , ordered a drink looked at the menu and were totally shocked (that's not a good thing) at the prices that were being charged for the menu offerings. A perfect example is charging $32.00 for Moussaka which is basically a poor man;s Greek dinner. Souvlaki offerings in the $27.00 to $28.00 range (Expensive for a "kebab" with salad, and potatoes/rice.) We decided no full meal and instead ordered pita, hummus and tzatziki with a 6oz Tsantali white wine and a 9oz Retsina accompanied by an order of dolmathes. Have to admit that they were some of the better dolmathes tasted anywhere (even Greece). It is such a shame that a restaurant that was lively and had an outgoing family staff had barely 10 people in it at 6:45pm on a Friday evening. This is what I believe is a chain restaurant trying to live off the well established reputation of a family's hard work. Debit machine indicated "It's All Greek to Me", a chain restaurant should not be deceiving customers into believing they were someone who they were not by using the old name. Server advised they changed ownership a month before

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Greek!

Dined on July 23, 2015

The food was great, the atmosphere is amazing, the servers were attentive even though you could tell that there must have been a staffing issue because service was a bit on the slow side but all in all an amazing meal with many good memories. Will be back again with a large group for the Meze!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Greek food

Dined on June 25, 2015

This was our first time at this restaurant. We went for supper with a group of friends. The service was outstanding, very, very friendly. The food was delicious. The only down point was that the day we went is was a very hot day, and the air conditioning was not working, thus, the place was very warm, fans were not working. We had to leave early because it was just too hot inside :(

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.