About Koutouki Taverna

10719 - 124 St
Edmonton, AB T5M 0H1
View Larger Map

Koutouki It's All Greek is a family-run Greek restaurant offering up authentic Greek food and a lively atmosphere. We use nothing but the freshest ingredients in our recipes, that are homemade in house daily. The decor is comfortable,welcoming, and resembles a quaint restaurant one might stumble upon when travelling the Greek isles. However, on Fridays and Saturdays when the sun goes down, the energy goes up. Bellydancing, and plate smashing make for an exciting and memorable dining experience.
** As of April 1, 2012 Koutouki will have a No Minor Policy on Friday and Saturday Evenings. **
** As of March 1, 2015 Koutouki is under new management and ownership. **

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Tues -Thurs 4:30pm-10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 4:30pm-11:00pm No Minor Policy
Sunday 4:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
107 Ave 124 Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 452-5383

Website:
http://www.koutouki.ca/

Entertainment:
Our goal is to make you feel as though you have left on vacation for Greece. We offer the best bellydancers this side of the Atlantic, and we will dance you into the streets.

Catering:
We do all kinds of catering, from corporate lunches to wedding receptions. Whether you are looking for a 12 course meal or a couple different dishes, Koutouki will always satisfy. For more information feel free to give us a call or email us. Info@koutouki.ca.

Executive Chef:
Kimon Kemeridis

Private Party Facilities:
As ther restaurant is divided into 2 semi private rooms, we offer private bookings. Whether it be a Christmas party, wedding reception or any other group activity, we can accomodate your needs. You may book half of the restaurant or the whole restaurant, the choice is yours. Rooms are available anytime, upon availability. Contact us for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Georgia or Kimon Kemeridis: 7804525383x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Octopus
  • Calamari
Grilled Octopus
Calamari

Koutouki Taverna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Good for Groups (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great evening at Koutouki - we ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great evening at Koutouki - we were pleased that they had Methos beer (last two times they didn't, which seems weird to me for a Greek joint). We went with the Meze - basically a dinner for two with 5 or maybe 6 courses. All spectacular - we could really just eat their meatballs and potatoes, but everything else is great and flavourful. Good prices too - was $38 pp for the Meze I believe.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very tasty-we were a party of 8 ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was very tasty-we were a party of 8 and after appetizers food came out sporadically for main entrees.

No one lit table candles-asked them 2 x. Finally went to look for the BBQ lighter!

Sorting the Bills was difficult as some items "could not be broken down" to be placed on separate Bills. reasoning was they were large shared items- I think cost could have been added up so every couple still knew what they really owed.

Staff very pleasant and belly dancer was great with the tables-entertaining but no pressure.....

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service were both great on the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food and service were both great on the night we attended. Even had food to go home with due to the large portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Koutouki Taverna was an awesome place to ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Koutouki Taverna was an awesome place to take my mom for her birthday! If you're looking for extra entertainment, make sure to book your table for 8:00 or after, as the belly dancers don't come in until then!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Table mate said ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service. Table mate said the best calamari he's eaten. Chicken Souvlaki is how I remember is from visiting Greece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb souvlaki overcooked, rack of lamb i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lamb souvlaki overcooked, rack of lamb is lamb chops and way overcooked, mousaka stale and bland, saganaki could be complimented with pita, salad was ho-hum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good standard Greek food. Some items hav ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good standard Greek food. Some items have changed since the original owners, I'd say they aren't as tasty, but overall decent. Service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

we decided to visit after hearing it was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

we decided to visit after hearing it was purchased by one of favorite old haunts...its all greek to me on rice howard way... although greek restaurants are always overpriced to me we had a good time and enjoyed the cuisine and entertainment...we most go back in five years if still alive and dining..lol

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food! Great service! Never had a b ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food! Great service! Never had a bad meal or bad experience here! Would (and have) highly recommend Koutouki Taverna on 124 St. to anyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely excellent, every ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was absolutely excellent, everything had amazing flavours. The service was outstanding. Everyone should go there now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant staff. Very accommodating. ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very pleasant staff. Very accommodating. Always a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally love this restaurant. Unfortuna ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Normally love this restaurant. Unfortunately this time was not up to par. Prawns were flavorless, fried cheese was burnt and rubbery, and Greek salad was a big bowl of sliced cucumber. Really? Do you think your guests are stupid? Such a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Everything was fantastic! The food had s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Everything was fantastic! The food had so many layers of flavor making our meals delectible.

The only complaint we have are the chairs, they are extrememly uncomfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and atmosphere.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Décor reminds me of being in Greece. Mattheos was very attentive to our table. Excellent saganaki.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Used to go here often and this was our first visit since change of ownership. Not impressed... While the place looks great. We were there on a quiet Wednesday with a reservation and still got low key bored welcome and then ongoing mediocre service.

We prefer pretty basic dishes which were fine although the Greek Salad was a bomb... Ho do you mess that up? By cheaping out on ingredients like feta cheese and onions. Yes really. Other dishes were good if not amazing.

Do not think will be back soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Very happy with the new owners

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We booked this restaurant not knowing it had changed owners since our last visit . As it turned out it didn't matter, it was just as terrific as our last visit. We all prefer the Mesa meal. It did not disappoint. There were 6 adults and 2 children in our party and all of us were stuffed when we finished our marvellous meal. It was a little expensive but for a 65 th birthday it was well worth it.

Service was also great, and the courses were well timed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I came by for dinner on a Sa ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I came by for dinner on a Saturday night, squeezing in a late reservation through OpenTable. Our server, Georgia, was friendly and the service was excellent even though the restaurant was full. We ordered wine and multiple courses with special instructions and everything came out perfectly and efficiently with at least 4 staff members assisting and checking on us over the course of dinner. The food is simple, traditional and delicious. The furniture and decor could use an update but everything else was perfect. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Nice evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 28th Anniversary. We shared saganaki (a favorite) and it was excellent. We also shared calamari - it was OK. Perhaps I just am not keen on the larger pieces, but it wasn't rubbery or anything negative. We also shared moussaka...knowing that after the two appetizers, we might not have room for a full entree each :) Moussaka was excellent. Our male server was excellent. There when we needed him, but not hovering. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent service and great food. Only ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

excellent service and great food. Only thing the restaurant could improve is the chairs, very uncomfortable wicker chairs with small cushions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great evening with a group.

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Enjoyed everything. Good food, great service and fun activity. Breaking of plates and exotic dancer! Lots of fun for a group environment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I cannot say enough good things about th ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant since it went under new management! I was a frequent guest at the old Koutouki Taverna, and while I enjoyed the experience for the majority of my visits, I could not help but notice that most of the dishes served up were all preprepared and just warmed-up or microwaved for serving. This often resulted in try or tasteless entrees and on some nights, it was truly a miserable experience. In other words, the old management simply lost their passion and it was undoubtedly a good thing that they sold the place off. It's a completely different experience under the new management! The food is all fresh and made to order. Tasty, wonderful, and authentic Greek cuisine is consistently served every night I have been there, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves Greek food! Please note, this place has NO Connection with the Koutouki on the southside either, as that is a truly horrible place. The new Koutouki Taverna is now one of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Meh

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had the meze and overall it was good. We really enjoyed the pita, greek salad, dolmades, spanakopita, and chicken. The rest of the dishes were meh. Entertainment began at 8 oclock and it was so loud and disruptive (if you're not into it). It also basically stopped food service so we had to wait well over 30 minutes to get our bill. Next time we would go early so we could leave before the entertainment!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great service (by Diva) and great food b ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great service (by Diva) and great food by the team. We were celebrating my mom's 60th in prep of going to a Mediterranean cruise. The staff st Koutouki was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Used to be so much better :(

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Koutouki used to be my go-to place for authentic Greek eats. Sadly, it has taken a serious turn. I took my mom there for her 65th birthday. We had the meze and the food was pretty 'meh'. The Greek salad tasted like the salad from Opa. The onions were so pungent that it was hard to eat. The spanakopita was tough, over-fried and black on some bits. The only dip that tasted good on our platter was the tzatziki. Also, the portion sizes have shrunk considerably from the Koutouki of yesteryear.

Our server was inattentive and just plain brutal. I informed him early on that it was my mom's 65th birthday and he did nothing to acknowledge it whatsoever, except to say a cursory "happy birthday." There was no reason for the terrible service - the place was half empty (which should have been our first indication that things have gone downhill).

I will say, the bean dish in a tomato sauce was delicious. The belly dancer was also very wonderful and the staff members did a great job engaging the patrons. Sadly, though, this was not enough for us to ever want to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

New owners, new decore...some food changes

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We booked this place 'again' as we have in the past -- we've come here once or twice a year for quite a number of years now. Noticed that the decore and menu had changed since our last visit. Were told new owners...still from Greece took over about a year ago. Nothing too significant changed. The only item on the menu that was slightly different was the dolmades that were now bigger and made with meat. They were okay -- but not what we have had before at this and other Greek places in the city. I would suggest to the new owners to offer two variations....the rice/pine nut smaller version and the meat variety. The keftedes were still tasty and what we remember...only that they were more like little patties, rather than meatballs. But still excellent taste and preparation. Haloumi cheese dish and Ouzo shrimps also superb. Service was excellent and attentive. $100 approx for two people, 4 appies plus a bottle of Boutari with tax and tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

food quality was not the greatest

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Foot quality was not the greatest, many dishes on the MEZE that we did not eat. not worth the price. will rethink going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Normally Koutouki's is great. However th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Normally Koutouki's is great. However this Valentine's Day it was a little disappointing.

We weren't made aware of the set menu upon making the reservation and were a little surprised with the lack of options for people with dietary restrictions. Was even more surprised when my salmon came on a bed of couscous when I was told it was salmon and "just a bunch of mixed vegetables". When I asked if I could order off the menu, I was told I could try but that most items were not available. The chocolate dipped strawberries & roses were a nice touch.

The belly dancer was great entertainment, but the music was so very loud.

We will be back because we love the food, but likely not for a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great food and service made a romantic d ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service made a romantic dinner perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Like It Use To Be

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Not having sat in the restaurant before I was so looking forward to this. It was a celebration for my step son getting his CPA, so a very special occasion. I had ordered Calamari take out about 4 years prior and it was the best we had ever had, so when it came to ordering, that was a priority. The Calamari was such a disappointment we didn't even eat it all and the Greek salad didn't even taste like a Greek salad. I have since learned that it is no longer owned by the same owners, which probably is why it wasn't as I remembered. When we feel like Greek food again, we will be going back to Yannis on Whyte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Restaurant

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Energetic & fun Greek-style dance performance that is interactive (if you prefer) or can enjoy from afar. The service is wonderful as our server was enthusiastic about explaining the meals & ingredients. Ordering the Mesa is a great way to try so many wonderful dishes for a really fair price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

feast

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

The Meze was a generous portion, what a feast! Great service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

Overall great. Very quiet though - hope the business is ok!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

amazing dinner

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

Couldn't have had a better dinner, we just tried multiple appetizers and they were all fantastic. Good value too, prices were reasonable

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old is new again

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

We hadn't realized that this restaurant was under new ownership, and because we really liked the old place, we were sceptical. But, it is honestly way better.

All the old favourites are still there , but better.

We will be back very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve disappointment

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a group that went for the first sitting on New Years Eve. We were more then a little disappointed with the set menu, but since we had a reservation we stayed. No choices at all is a bit unusual some of the items we did not enjoy.

The music was way too loud when the belly dancer came out for 5 songs or so. That was 20+ minutes when we couldn't speak at all. It was fine to have entertainment, but it was as loud as a nightclub in there so after she was on the otherwise it certain got annoying.

I am not sure if it was just New Years, but we had a waiter that appeared to be new to service. We were not offered anything until our whole party arrived. I think you can usually get a drink in most restaurants even if there is a set menu. Since we arrived a little early we spent 20+ minutes without.

I have read that they are under new owners the food was certainly not horrible, but it is not nearly as good. We went to the same location on 124 St and we liked the food better. Maybe it was because we were not forced into a set menu without our knowledge.

I am not sure why it took so long, but 2 1/2 hours for dinner was way more then we needed. This was after the initial 20 minutes when we didn't get served, but it includes the 25 minutes that we waited to get the cheque we had to ask for twice.

We probably won't be going back anymore to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The place is under new ownership since t ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

The place is under new ownership since the last time I was there, and I found that the quality of food has much improved! Our waitress was charming and we had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing Experience

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

It was my first time to Koutouki and it was amazing. I loved the meal, the service was great. We went to spend time eating and sharing our anniversary so we were in no rush. It is a long process to do the Meze (which is trying a large number of different foods). My husband and I really enjoyed the romantic atmosphere, the belly dancing was amazing along with the plate breaking. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to visit, laugh, eat amazing food and take there time with the whole experience.

I read reviews before making our reservation and noticed that people were upset with the slowness of service and food delivery. We loved that we were left in our little corner alone to talk, snuggle and feed each other.

Thank you for the most enjoyable meal and anniversary I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Used to be Perfect

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Early this year (2015) Koutouki Taverna changed ownership. Those that had run it before, including their chef, moved to California. It used to be one of our favourite restaurants ever and even had our wedding reception dinner there 5 years ago.

Now it's just ok. If you were there prior to Spring 2015 you'll know what I mean.

The ambiance had changed as well: no photos on walls and no more hanging plants.

Plus, we went on a Friday evening. Previously it used to be packed, and vibrant with activity. I think there was about 10 tables or less of people there, probably because patrons that were used to the sublime food before just aren't coming there anymore.

Unfortunately my wife and I will be looking for a different Greek restaurant to go to from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Very nicely decorated. Waitress seemed ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Very nicely decorated. Waitress seemed a bit inexperienced and couldn't answer (nor did she ask) about parking in the lot right next door. Food was good but rice and potatoes a bit salty. Competitive prices. Accommodated a gluten free diet with no problem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Best Dining Spot

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Sevice was great. Food was great. Prices a little bit high but it is well worth the price

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.