About Kona Grill - The Woodlands

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3 Waterway Square
#100
The Woodlands, TX 77380
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Lake Robbins & Woodloch Forest Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 466-4061

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Thu 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 6:00PM

Kona Grill - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
See All
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

From beginning to end, the service was terrible. 11 of us got together for a birthday, and none of us, or our families or friends, will go back. The restaurant was NOT busy, and I had deliberately made the reservation after the lunch rush. To no avail. One of the more egregious examples occurred when our food was delivered. It was only then that our waiter let my friend know the restaurant did not have the turkey burger she ordered! He could easily have done this when she ordered her food or when he put in her order. However, it looked to us like he forgot her order and was making an excuse. She ordered another meal, on the house, but waited TWO HOURS for food. We thought no manager was on staff because no one came over to apologize, and she only received a curt apology from the waiter. It took our waiter 45 minutes to have our checks ready, only for him to charge the wrong items to the wrong people. When he said that he was going to "shift" our bills around to charge us correctly, we offered to give him our credit cards AGAIN, only for him to tell us that he didn't need our cards because our information was already in the restaurant's system!? Our waiter never brought one friend's credit card back. When she asked him where it was, he asked her if she was sure because he didn't have it. After my friend assured him that she had indeed given him her card, he went scurrying off. Only to come back, 20 minutes later (of course), with her credit card. There are more horrific service stories from our visit, but there's not enough space to detail them all. When I asked to speak to the manager, we found out that it was a woman who we had seen in the background but who had not come over to say anything. She told us she was a new manager (1.5 months)--it showed. Bad experience in all. The good company was the only saving grace. There are plenty of other good restaurants in The Woodlands. Don't waste your time at Kona Grill (unless you've got 2 plus hours to wait for food).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was picky on seating arrangements. Wasn't able to chose seats and not worth the over price service for being located in such a high status area with other expensive choices to choose from. Would avoid at all cost.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great staff. Food was cooked perfectly and brought out in a timely fashion. Waitress was attentive and enthusiastic throughout the whole dinner service

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was disappointed that they were out of sea bass for a Friday night. Also ,the waitresses seemed a bit inexperienced. I have had better service at this Kona Gril before. We ordered a kids chicken and fries and she placed the order as a separate chicken and fries. When the dish arrived we asked her about the fruit included and she looked dumbfounded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time at Kona Grill. Very nice atmosphere, food was good.

The only thing we did not like is it took a while for the food to come out. Food could have been warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service, good food. I will return, there are other things I would like to try on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Manager introduced himself to us and was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our server was not friendly and always gone when we needed something. The food was below average. Edamame was over salted and hard, rice with our entree was hard and dry with no flavor and the creme brûlée was nasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went on 1/22/17. The bartender on duty was excellent and went above and beyond on service. Our waiter however came initially to bring us water. We asked for a minute to order and he never came back, even after 15 minutes. We had to go look for him he was no beers to be seen. When he came after that he didn't apologize, and wasn't that friendly. The food was very good, but the disappointing table service may cause us to not return to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was lacking. Inattentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Gouda dip was gloppy and unappealing; wrong order of sashimi was brought (well after the main course came). Service was not good - it took almost 10 minutes to get his attention to let him know about the wrong sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is my go to place for a great business lunch. I have taken many clients and they always like the food and the service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excelent Food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We stopped in as a last minute decision to eat a week night dinner out. No waiting for a table and helpful friendly service. Enjoyed drinks, appetizer, sushi and entrees at the table. Everything was good. We have dined here previously and will dine here again. We especially like the patio seating in warm weather and happy hour specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food is good, wish the location was better, but they do have valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Perfect family lunch. Sushi was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a surprise birthday party for my wife. We invited 3 other couples. Restaurant was 1/3 full when we got there (7:15pm reservation), and 1/2 full when we left (9:30pm). It took 15 minutes, and a request from our friends to get us some drinks. 5 minutes later they had my wife's wine, but forgot my cocktail. % min later I had my drink. It is now 7:40pm, and we had to flag our waitress down to get some appetizers ordered. Appetizers didn't take but about 10 minutes to come out, so that was good. Appetizers tasted pretty good. So after eating the appetizers, we were ready to order. After about 10 more minutes (now 8pm), we had to flag waitress down again to order. We also requested refilling our drinks. Some of our dinners came out at around 8:35pm, but not mine and one other guests. The waitress said "Sorry, we had 2 big tables come in and it's backed up in the kitchen (paraphrased)." We explained to her that we had ordered over 35 minutes ago, well ahead of the other tables. The last 2 meals came out at around 8:50pm. The food was cold. So we know she just hadn't checked or the chef hadn't put up on the bar to serve yet. I should give this place an over all "poor" rating, but it was good ambiance and appetizers. I however will not be going back. Also, to be fair, I had never been there but all the other couples had been there multiple times and had never experienced this problem. They stated they might give them another chance, but if they mess it up, they would not be going back either. Thanks.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved eating outdoors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food tasted great. Excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was mediocre. No real flavor and the chips were bland. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Really enjoyed it, they were pretty busy and the executive chef ended up waiting on us!! He was very nice and of course steered us right and answered our many questions. will be going back soon.

Oh, and order the butter cake for dessert, it was beyond amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My son, his date and their friends came in before homecoming. It was that even though they had a reservation made well in advance that they waited almost 25 minutes for a table. It was only when got tired of waiting and got up to leave that they told a table was being set for them. Once they say down the food and service were good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very disappointed with entire experience. Went on a Thursday evening around 8:30, maybe 3 other tables in the dining area and it took 40 minutes to get our appetizer . Food was sub par at best . My friend and I split the bill and the next day each of us had 3 charges each on our credit card . The general manager was very apologetic and comped our entire meal. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Fun spot for a Friday night gathering with friends

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Good meal but not great . Menu does have options for almost all tastes . I really liked the sushi and sashimi but a bit disappointed in the fish of the day (snapper) entree.

Beer list is limited and boring and expected a bit more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent experience. Had a great server. Food was very good, just a little pricy. Overall, great place. I will be coming back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I went with my family for Houston Restaurant Week, and would not recommend this. The food was horrible and tasted like it was warmed up frozen food from Costco. I have heard the original menu is OK. Do not go to Houston Restaurant Week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great, it was Friday. Everyone really seemed to enjoy themselves.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Enjoyed lunch with friends. Convenience location. Server "Ivan" was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We get to Kona Grill, no valet & it's raining... I've been craving Chicken Satay for weeks but they were out of the chicken satay...I ordered a sushi roll & the waiter asked - soup or salad with that? I said oh really, so soup or salad comes with the sushi roll? Oh yes ma'am. The salad was teeniny, maybe 2 tablespoons. The coconut macadamia shrimp roll wrapped in soy paper was delicious, however. I was happy that they carried Conundrum white by the glass, but it was overpriced at $13.50 a glass. We ordered a creme brûlée to share - there was no crunchy top - it was more like a pudding...then on top of that, we were charged $7 for my salad AND the waiter claimed he never told me it comes with my roll.

I probably would not come back here for dinner, but would come for happy hour.

What I have enjoyed on past visits: 1)The outdoor dining patio 2)the reverse happy hour/later dining hours 3(all day Sunday happy hour 4)the sushi rolls

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went on a Tuesday night and the crowd was really light...unlike many other popular restaurants in Houston, typically. I know Kona has been at this location for a few years, so am assuming their weekend business is much more vibrant based on their location and perceived rent. Anyway, the service was very slow, which is the primary reason for my rating. Also, I've never had jalapeno slices served on top of sashimi before...definitely not on Japanese sashimi. If you're not fond of jalapenos, be sure to ask the server to leave them off when you order sashimi. Probably won't return unless it's with a group that wants to go there. There are several other sushi establishments in The Woodlands with comparable prices and equal or better sushi...and much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was greeted at the door but waited 15-20 mins for a waiter to even to acknowledge I was there after the fact I had to get up to complain the waiter came so I won't be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The chicken dish that we had was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Kona Grill is a beautiful restaurant. Our server was new and it showed, since she did not know wine or most of the sushi rolls. We came for the sushi and were very disappointed in the extremely small portions for the high price. As avid sushi lovers, we know when we are not getting our money's worth. I can't say the same for other menu items, but I hope it's much better. With that said, I might return due to how nice the atmosphere is but would never order the sushi again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was a disappointing evening. Service was terrible: a long wait to receive menus for everyone at the table followed by another long wait for four drinks. We had ordered three waters and a Sprite. Friends later joined us and the service got worse. I ordered an appetizer (lettuce wraps), a house side salad, and the fresh fish. House side salad came out first, followed immediately by my appetizer. Before I was finished, my entree was served. It was not a pleasant experience with multiple courses sitting in front of me.

A friend of mine ordered pork tenderloin medium-well. It was served rare and she requested it be sent back to the kitchen. It eventually came back well done (close enough).

After what seemed like rushing us out of the restaurant, we then waited 25 minutes for the check plus another 5 minutes for my credit card to be returned. Paying to leave should be the easiest and most efficient process in a restaurant. $110 for two adults and two kids plus an additional fee for parking more than two hours did not make for a pleasant evening with such poor service.

The Woodlands has plenty of great restaurants; tonight in my experience, this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very ordinary food and service. Disappointing for a regular night, the fact it was a birthday was ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Made a reservation online for my mother's birthday, was roughly 10 mins late due to parking. Was greeted by a friendly face and immediately sat. Quickly greeted by our waitress and was asked if we were first timers(I was), our waitress gave suggestions based on what we liked. Ended up ordering sushi and an appetizer. Overall the food was great for the price,the ambiance was intimate, the only complaint I had was that our waitress didn't check back in with us as often as I felt she should. I needed a refill for about 45 mins and finally got one when we were leaving and it wasn't to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service is horrible. The food prices are too high for average tasting entrees. There are definitely other great tasting, friendly service restaurants to visit and dine with in The Woodlands.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 4, 2016

My family (5) ate here prior to a concert at The Pavilion. We were greeted and seated promptly. Appetizers (lettuce wraps and artichoke dip) were both excellent. Everyone selected a different main course (sea bass, pizza, oriental salad, hamburger) and thought their meal was delicious. Our server, LIbby, was attentive but not over-bearing.

We'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Really bad service, long time to take the order, long time to serve, then they bring everything at the same time including the deserts!!!! And then they were in a hurry because they close and want us to be out of there!!!! Bad, bad, bad!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food! Great waitress (Fred)! We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Visiting The Woodlands for Ironman Texas event. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the service was exellent! The ambiance was lively and the restuarant was hopping on this night!! Everything we ordered was very good. We started with the pot stickers and the chicken satay, followed by sushi voodoo roll and checkerboard roll. Delicious!! The Miso-Sake Seabass with fired rice was very very good!! And, the best part of the evening for a dessert lover like me was the the three layer Carrot Cake!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was reasonably priced, enjoyed the free creme brûlée for birthday diner. Outdoor seating was comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined here for Mother's Day with a group of 11 (including 3 kids). Terrible service. Food was just ok. Server was absolutely terrible. Took forever and multiple things wrong. Probably will not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2016

I found the whole experience good but nothing exceptional - nice atmosphere and noise level was such that one could talk and hear conversation - a pleasant evening following a movie.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Tonic flat in a G & T, switched to a martini and it was weak, son had a London mule and said it was weak. Appetizer of lettuce wraps could have used cleaner lettuce, calamari was ok. Kona Chop salad (marked as a specialty) was warm lettuce and chopped chicken without any dressing? No one of the four of us liked what they picked. Hope it was an off-night for the cooks and bartenders, Waiter was ok, the place is kind of cute, but I doubt I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Looking for great Asian food and a vibrant eating environment, go to Kona. Much healthy and tasty food from chicken to fish and everything in between....steak too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Great happy hour went before a concert at the woodlands

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

The overall experience was great. We had the shrimp and lobster sushi as a starter. It was a wonderful combination of flavored. We each had fish. The fish was well prepared. The proportions were perfect! We ended with a dessert that was very tasty. The server was great, providing recommendations throughout the evening. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.