About Kona Grill - The Woodlands

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3 Waterway Square
#100
The Woodlands, TX 77380
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Lake Robbins & Woodloch Forest Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 466-4061

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kona Grill - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2017

When we first arrived no hostess. 10 min later she tells us our table is being cleaned, then disappears. Once seated drinks ordered appetizers took forever to get dress bus and the water we were told by server is tap water an always tastes terrible, he suggests bottles water. He was right. As we order, party of 5 we are told 3 separate dishes are no available tonight. Shortly after that he approaches us and states one of our appetizers isn't available either. We receive our appetizers and are told oops one of our main dishes will not be available. Reorder. Once food arrives it is hot and plentiful. A main dish salad that was ordered w/o onions due to allergy has onions on it He wisks it away and brings another. We are told by server manager will take it off bill. Food was excellent but hmmmoverall could have been better

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My daughter brought us here to celebrate Fathers Day... it was a good value, delicious, & a perfect afternoon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went there for my 9th anniversary with my wife. We both ordered 3 different drinks from the bar before we finally got one. The waitress kept saying they changed the drink menu and don't have the updated menu yet so she didn't know what they'd still make. When I finally got my drink that was on the menu it didn't have the same ingredients that were stated on the menu. The manager came, and said they changed the way they make the drink on the "new" drink menu. It wasn't good. We ate sushi so my wife ordered plum wine, but of course they didn't have it. How can you be a sushi place and not have plum wine? They put us in a back corner and the lighting was very dim (not a romantic dim). Not sure what they were trying to hide. The food was also just so so. I think our waitress did fine, but the fact that the drink menu was outdated didn't help her. Service was also a little so, but maybe that's because we were in the dark back corner and she couldn't see us. Last time I ate here was about two years ago and the food and drinks were great. Not sure what happened. Hope they can get it together again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Not sure if the holiday weekend left this place without a full staff, but service was not up to par. The bar and lounge area was full, but the restraunt was not. My party of 5 all received their entrees, except myself who ordered sushi. I told my party to go ahead and start without and it was at least 10-15 mins after that before I got one sushi plate (ordered 4 different sushi items). The waiter kept checking and said the sushi chef was backed up. I understand a few mins, but are you kiddding me with a good10-15 mins after the rest of my party got their food, not acceptable for a place like this. The manager did apologize and gave us a discount off our bill. Nice gesture, but I go out to restaurants to eat good food, nice environment, and good service. When that does not happen it really ruins a night out for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Lunched with several co-workers. Food was good but service extremely slow. It took two hours for lunch. It shouldn't take this long.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bring back the Strawberry Basil Lemonade!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME AT THIS LOCATION! I TRULY BELIEVE, SERVICE CREATES THE EXPERIENCE.... I WITNESSED ONE OF THE WORST WAITERS EVER.... WE SAT FOR 8 MINUTES UNTIL A WAITER CAME TO US, HE BROUGHT DRINKS NO STRAWS NO UTENSILS, WE ASKED FOR LEMONS HE BROUGHT ONLY FOUR SLICED LEMONS..... AS WE WAITED FOR FOOD WE ASK HIM TO BRING EXTRA KETCHUP, MAYO, NAPKINS, UTENSILS, EXTRA PLATES, SO WE WOULD T HAVE TO EXPERIENCE FOOD GETTING COLD..... ALL HE BROUGHT OUT WAS UTENSILS.... ASSUMING WE WOULD USE THE CLOTH WRAPPED AROUND UTENSILS AS NAPKINS.....SERVERS BRING OUT FOOD 25 MINUTES LATER STILL NO KETCHUP, STILL NO MAYO, STILL NO NAPKINS....AND HEs NO WHERE TO B FOUND.... NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT LONGER UNTIL CONDIMENTS COME, AS FOOD GETS COLD..... THE ORDER WAS WRONG, NO SALT OR PEPPER ON TABLE.... HE BRINGS OUT THE SALT BUT TELL ME HE WILL SHAKE THE PEPPER ON MY PLATE... WE WERE OUTSIDE SO THE WIND BLEW ALL THE PEPPER ON MY WHITE DRESS SHIRT.... 5 MINUTES LATER, THE COUPLE NEXT TO ME ASK FOR PEPPER AND SALT AND HE SITS IT ON THE TABLE..... I QUIT, IM GETTING ANGRY ALL OVER AGAIN!!! MY EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIBLE!!! WAITER WAS AWFUL!!! HE NEEDS TO B TRAINED AGAIN!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We didn't end up using the reservation because it was a nice evening so we sat outside. Very nice evening not too loud and the wait staff was nice not to mention the food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It took over 10 minutes on a quiet Sunday at 6 p.m. for our waiter to show up with just water even though there were plenty of empty tables so the slow service seemed unnecessary. We sat outside on the pretty patio. My friend had to ask three times for sweetener for his tea and still never received it. It took quite a long time to receive our dinner and my pasta was killed with garlic and was sprinkled with anemic looking baby shrimp which I wouldn't have ordered if the menu had accurately said "baby shrimp" not just shrimp. My friend ordered the burger with bacon and it arrived with none (even though we were charged for it as a line item on the receipt). We shared an enormous slice of carrot cake which was pretty good. Diners next to us arrived with their large non-service dog who sat inches from me slopping up food and water from the ground-- just unsavory for a restaurant experience even though I am a dog lover. We both agreed that we wouldn't return to Kona Grill again. I woke up the next morning with a horrible stomach ache that I am pretty sure was a result of the pasta/shrimp dish. It's a great location and I wanted to like it so much-- sadly did not.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had a Waitress from hell for no reason!!! I would have accepted her behavior a little more if she was younger. Her being "old" and rude was uncalled for! The manager giving a round of drinks were good but his approach about the situation wasn't professional!! As stated to the second waitress that took over, if it wasn't my daughter's birthday, I would have walked out. I don't think I will be visiting this location anytime soon unless management and new staff takes over. The woodlands have too many nice places to go with more inviting service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I made reservations for 12, 4 days before...It was a Birthday celebration and pre concert gathering. We arrived at 4:30 and were seated within 15 min. Everything that happened after that was terrible. Our waiter was not ready​ to handle our table by himself. He should of been given another person to help him. Drink orders were slow or forgotten altogether. They only had one bartender so he had to make drinks for everyone at the bar and those seated at tables. They told one person who ordered a filet that it was not sutable to serve, so they had to order something else. They ran out of Miller Lite, although I don't drink it how do you run out? Checks were slow to come and when the manager came over she offered us free dessert. Problem was, that never came either. I've been here many times before as a couple with no problems. However, as a group this was very poor service, with no assistance from management to help the young man who waited on us. The food was fine overall but I'd prefer bad food and great service over good food with bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My first visit to this restaurant. Loved the menu. Great salads and sandwiches available. Service was very pleasant. Not hurried, but a really nice accommodating waitress. Thank you for a pleasant visit. I would definitely return and recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good food. Nice atmosphere. A bit pricey on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Closed for a gas problem. Completely understand--however, if someone has made reservations, you need to call and let them know the store is now closed and/or do not take reservations in the first place.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Poor, poor service and poor value overall. 2+ hrs with no special requests, well over $200 for family of 4 but the food here is not high end - average food prep, below average service, empty space, kitchen staff seemed disinterested despite open kitchen concepts, speed of service extremely slow. Some issues with (young) management not dealing with conflicting info we had received at check in about happy hour rates despite where we were seated. The 'manager' offered to pay for our desert. We ordered 3 desserts for group of 4, but they only paid for 1 dessert. More disappointment - what happened to customer service anymore? Likely will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If would have been an enjoyable evening but our waitress got cut off in mid sentence by another waitress who came up and completely sharked her table. So the first waitress just walked off.. she appeared very sweet and I believe would have been the better waitress. The other waitress was terrible.. we had to others to find our waitress orders were not right the bar had to bring drinks from the bar because she didn't deliver them in a reasonable time frame. I never use these comment areas but I will never let Cindy wait on us again. She was however topic of our conversation for the night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We reserved a table for 4, then one hour earlier, found out a friend's daughter was coming too. I revised the reservation on line, but when we reached the restaurant, they said they only had the table for 4 that I had already reserved. Frankly, the hostesses were not accommodating at all. We sat on the patio and had a great time, but I would have liked a bit more effort from the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food..great service..will be on the return list to visit!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Just not impressed with this place. The food is overpriced, wine glasses were smelling stale and the ambiance wasn't enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

From beginning to end, the service was terrible. 11 of us got together for a birthday, and none of us, or our families or friends, will go back. The restaurant was NOT busy, and I had deliberately made the reservation after the lunch rush. To no avail. One of the more egregious examples occurred when our food was delivered. It was only then that our waiter let my friend know the restaurant did not have the turkey burger she ordered! He could easily have done this when she ordered her food or when he put in her order. However, it looked to us like he forgot her order and was making an excuse. She ordered another meal, on the house, but waited TWO HOURS for food. We thought no manager was on staff because no one came over to apologize, and she only received a curt apology from the waiter. It took our waiter 45 minutes to have our checks ready, only for him to charge the wrong items to the wrong people. When he said that he was going to "shift" our bills around to charge us correctly, we offered to give him our credit cards AGAIN, only for him to tell us that he didn't need our cards because our information was already in the restaurant's system!? Our waiter never brought one friend's credit card back. When she asked him where it was, he asked her if she was sure because he didn't have it. After my friend assured him that she had indeed given him her card, he went scurrying off. Only to come back, 20 minutes later (of course), with her credit card. There are more horrific service stories from our visit, but there's not enough space to detail them all. When I asked to speak to the manager, we found out that it was a woman who we had seen in the background but who had not come over to say anything. She told us she was a new manager (1.5 months)--it showed. Bad experience in all. The good company was the only saving grace. There are plenty of other good restaurants in The Woodlands. Don't waste your time at Kona Grill (unless you've got 2 plus hours to wait for food).

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was picky on seating arrangements. Wasn't able to chose seats and not worth the over price service for being located in such a high status area with other expensive choices to choose from. Would avoid at all cost.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great staff. Food was cooked perfectly and brought out in a timely fashion. Waitress was attentive and enthusiastic throughout the whole dinner service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was disappointed that they were out of sea bass for a Friday night. Also ,the waitresses seemed a bit inexperienced. I have had better service at this Kona Gril before. We ordered a kids chicken and fries and she placed the order as a separate chicken and fries. When the dish arrived we asked her about the fruit included and she looked dumbfounded.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time at Kona Grill. Very nice atmosphere, food was good.
The only thing we did not like is it took a while for the food to come out. Food could have been warmer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service, good food. I will return, there are other things I would like to try on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Manager introduced himself to us and was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our server was not friendly and always gone when we needed something. The food was below average. Edamame was over salted and hard, rice with our entree was hard and dry with no flavor and the creme brûlée was nasty.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went on 1/22/17. The bartender on duty was excellent and went above and beyond on service. Our waiter however came initially to bring us water. We asked for a minute to order and he never came back, even after 15 minutes. We had to go look for him he was no beers to be seen. When he came after that he didn't apologize, and wasn't that friendly. The food was very good, but the disappointing table service may cause us to not return to dine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was lacking. Inattentive server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Gouda dip was gloppy and unappealing; wrong order of sashimi was brought (well after the main course came). Service was not good - it took almost 10 minutes to get his attention to let him know about the wrong sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is my go to place for a great business lunch. I have taken many clients and they always like the food and the service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excelent Food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We stopped in as a last minute decision to eat a week night dinner out. No waiting for a table and helpful friendly service. Enjoyed drinks, appetizer, sushi and entrees at the table. Everything was good. We have dined here previously and will dine here again. We especially like the patio seating in warm weather and happy hour specials.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food is good, wish the location was better, but they do have valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Perfect family lunch. Sushi was really good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a surprise birthday party for my wife. We invited 3 other couples. Restaurant was 1/3 full when we got there (7:15pm reservation), and 1/2 full when we left (9:30pm). It took 15 minutes, and a request from our friends to get us some drinks. 5 minutes later they had my wife's wine, but forgot my cocktail. % min later I had my drink. It is now 7:40pm, and we had to flag our waitress down to get some appetizers ordered. Appetizers didn't take but about 10 minutes to come out, so that was good. Appetizers tasted pretty good. So after eating the appetizers, we were ready to order. After about 10 more minutes (now 8pm), we had to flag waitress down again to order. We also requested refilling our drinks. Some of our dinners came out at around 8:35pm, but not mine and one other guests. The waitress said "Sorry, we had 2 big tables come in and it's backed up in the kitchen (paraphrased)." We explained to her that we had ordered over 35 minutes ago, well ahead of the other tables. The last 2 meals came out at around 8:50pm. The food was cold. So we know she just hadn't checked or the chef hadn't put up on the bar to serve yet. I should give this place an over all "poor" rating, but it was good ambiance and appetizers. I however will not be going back. Also, to be fair, I had never been there but all the other couples had been there multiple times and had never experienced this problem. They stated they might give them another chance, but if they mess it up, they would not be going back either. Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved eating outdoors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food tasted great. Excellent server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was mediocre. No real flavor and the chips were bland. We won't go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.