Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today
Special offers available. See details

Kona Grill - The Woodlands

4.3
266 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Hot Spot
  • Late-night Find
Welcome to Kona Grill at Waterway Square in The Woodlands, TX. Located near The Woodlands Mall. Bring your family in for dinner, grab a drink with friends or enjoy lunch with co-workers on the beautiful, shaded patio. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Come in for one of the best happy hours in The Woodlands. Try one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(281) 466-4061
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lake Robbins & Woodloch Forest Drive
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore. Excludes Tax and Tip. appetizer up to a $12 value. join here: http://www.konagrill.com/join-konavore. Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

What 266 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We come here very often and love this place but this time we came we were a little disappointed. We brought my parents to eat from out of state because they love Shawn and the food and drinks but we were not impressed with the service and my mom's drink was brought back three times before she decided to get something else. We miss Shawn! We know everyone has to have time off and we're fine with having another server, but we just wasn't happy that evening, especially when I gave the server our ticket to validate and when I tried to leave they still charged me. Not happy for that either. My parents came in especially for a treat because they love this place when they come down but now they will not come back unless Shawn is there. We still love the place. It was just an off night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I just wish that our waitress Josephine would have been more engaging. I like the food however I would have liked a bit of help in selection based on her experience. It just wasn’t there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great food and outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Food was great however, service could be better. When I ordered my drink the waitress told me they didn’t have the ingredients so she recommended another drink, ofcourse I wouldn’t turn it down because I don’t want to be rude. When the drink arrived at the table I told the waitress immediately I didn’t like it and she said sorry and proceed to get me a water. When the bill came I saw that they charged me a 5$ drink that I said I wouldn’t drink to the waitress and when I told her that it was charged she said she’d take it off but never did. Next time I’ll just get take out so I don’t have to deal with that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Every time we go there to eat we ask for Shawn. He is awesome and knows what we want before we ask. One of the best guest services there is in The Woodlands area. I recommend Kona Grill to everyone and to ask for Shawn for a great dinning experience! We brought my parents there for my mom's birthday and Shawn had roses waiting for her! Meeting the needs of the guests before they arrive is how to treat the guests. Kudos to Shawn for going that extra mile and overall great job to the whole staff for making this one of our favorite places to go out every week!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

It was my moms birthday and Shaun was our server. It was great! Food, drinks and Shaun were the best as always. Beat place to eat, drink and be treated special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

This is one of our favorite go to places for a late diner. We like the fresh choices and the yummy desserts. Sean always makes our visit extra special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place to have a quiet sit down for a drink or a nice romantic dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Amber was our waitress and she was great! Very fast and very knowledgable. We ordered potstickers and edamame and both came out fast and were well cooked. We ordered 4 sushi rolls (the domino roll, the coconut shrimp roll, another spicy house special/signature, and the lemon one). Both of us were not impressed with any of the rolls. They just didnt blend well flavor and texture wise. One roll was very spicy, one was very blan, and one had raw asparagus which messed up the texture and flavor balance. The only one that was halfway decent was the lemon one. The rolls were fine but not great is all I have to say. We each ordered a dessert. Highly recommend the snickers ice cream pie. The butter cake was not really cake as much as extra sweet corn bread.

The staff and service was excellent. It wad a little noisy as to be expected on a friday night when you get sat next to the private party room.

Overall a moderately good experience for a birthday dinner for 2.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Came out for a friends birthday and had the beeessst server ever, super knowledgable on the menu and constantly checking on us and refilling water and taking drink orders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Sean is the best server! Great food, drinks and service. We go there at least twice a month.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Tried the bento box. Was not like bento boxes I have had in the past. Not sure about the pineapple in the rice and sushi rolls are usually part of it. Miso soup was good. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 13, 2018

This was a waste of time and money to go to Kona Grill. Took my wife out for a date night we were early for our reservation so we sat at the bar. Drinks were good had an appetizer while we waited for our table. We were seated little after 7:30. Waiter greeted us and took our drink order. My wife ordered a wine I got an old fashion. Then she brought us water and took our order. It took 18 min. To get our drinks and 32 min. to get our food. The server only came by once to apologize for our food taking long at 25 min. When the food did arrive my wife’s chicken was room temp and the mash potatoes were cold. She did not want to send it back because at this point she was starving. When we finished the server took our plates and dropped the check did not offer us another drink or dessert. Which my wife wanted. So we paid for the substandard food and left. Got another drink and dessert at Morton’s. Which we will probably just go next time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Didn’t love my salad Will try again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Food and service were great. Nice Private area for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Lunch with my daughter, who resides in Los Angeles. She loved the food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Great overall experience! Sean was a great server and the manager was very helpful when it came to making our evening great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Although our server was nice, the service was not good and the bathrooms were quite dirty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Great service. Nice atmosphere. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Service was poor. Made a reservation a day in advance for 7 people. Only 5 place settings were there upon arrival. 3 requests for additional place settings were made before we got them. Appetizers were late coming out, drink orders were wrong, the light over the table was burnt out. A disappointing experience overall.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Waited a lot

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 16, 2017

This used to be a favorite spot for my family and me but lately the service has gotten so slow and the food quality has gone downhill. Am at a point where I no longer want to give this place a chance anymore.

At our last dinner the food was the worst it has been since I have eaten here. Had the miso sake cod dish - one of their more popular dishes. The rice was dry and “crunchy” and the things mixed in with the rice were dry and old.

Worst I’ve had

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Love it!!! Everything was awesome service, food and drinks I will definitely come back and recommend this place ....⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was not good. Waited 25 minutes for drinks. Had to ask for silverware/napkins. Water was never refilled. Beer was warm. Had to go to bar to get it resolved. Not the first bad service we have had at Kona.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Great restaurant for the whole family! My son turned 17 and this is where he wanted to go to celebrate his birthday. By far his favorite restaurant. The sushi is amazing and every dish I have tried is so yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

It was a overall good service and good meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Our family gathered for birthday celebrations for a ten year old and 32 year old and it was great for accommodating a variety of tastes. We tried multiple appetizers including the spicy fried calamari, potstickers, avocado egg rolls and tempura shrimp and all were mouthwatering delicious! I had the salmon entree and my husband had the filet that was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was satisfying. Avocado egg rolls and sushi for the appetizer were amazing. The entree portion was delicious as well. I recommend it for those who have not yet checked it out. James did a fantastic job going through the menu as it was our first time there. Will not be the first or last.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Middle of the week date lunch. We sat on the patio on a nice day. The patio was about half full with a few tables inside. Service was miss for us - drinks took forever and my husband would’ve liked a second if the server ever brought one. We had to keep tracking him down - even for napkins and silverware. My sushi roll was recommended but not my favorite - way too much sauce on/around the roll. Too much cream cheese for the ratio. I likely would not visit Kona for sushi again. My husband’s Cuban was good. The chicken/shrimp wraps were the highlight of the meal. They were very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, menu and food....service was suuuuper slow..and not a busy night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Oh...yes!!! This is the spot! I have gone here on a family dinner and a girls happy hour and it has been great every time! Can’t wait to go back...one of my favorites!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 22, 2017

We arrived and were seated quickly in the booths in the back of the restaurant. It was 20min before a waitstaff greeted us, and that was after I had to get the hostess to let her know. When they finally took our order we placed everything at once. It was another 20min to get our waters. They didn't bring the appetizer we ordered, and when they brought the sushi we didn't get napkins, silverware, or soy sauce. The sushi was decent, I ordered a Cuban sandwich that must have been sitting in the window, because the fries were rock hard. We normally enjoy Kona, but after this experience I don't think we will be back very soon.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 9, 2017

We were very disappointed in the service from the moment our group walked in. We made reservations through Open Table for 6 at 4pm. The restaurant was NOT busy at all, so we expected great service. The Host seemed very confused and unprepared, so bad first impression. Although we made the reservation, the staff seemed unaware of the special event. The food was fair at best, service was fair. Except for the woman busing tables, she seemed to be the most attentive. After we paid the check we spoke to the manager. He tried his best to patch the experience, but the damage was done. He offered us gift cards...

We gave the gift cards to our poor college student (although we refused them initially), because we won't be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was excellent - salad, sushi, chicken. Ashleigh our server took good care of use. BUT, I was disappointed in the old fashioned.

And the birthday carrot cake was awesome, especially with the three candles.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 18, 2017

When we first arrived no hostess. 10 min later she tells us our table is being cleaned, then disappears. Once seated drinks ordered appetizers took forever to get dress bus and the water we were told by server is tap water an always tastes terrible, he suggests bottles water. He was right. As we order, party of 5 we are told 3 separate dishes are no available tonight. Shortly after that he approaches us and states one of our appetizers isn't available either. We receive our appetizers and are told oops one of our main dishes will not be available. Reorder. Once food arrives it is hot and plentiful. A main dish salad that was ordered w/o onions due to allergy has onions on it He wisks it away and brings another. We are told by server manager will take it off bill. Food was excellent but hmmmoverall could have been better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

My daughter brought us here to celebrate Fathers Day... it was a good value, delicious, & a perfect afternoon!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Went there for my 9th anniversary with my wife. We both ordered 3 different drinks from the bar before we finally got one. The waitress kept saying they changed the drink menu and don't have the updated menu yet so she didn't know what they'd still make. When I finally got my drink that was on the menu it didn't have the same ingredients that were stated on the menu. The manager came, and said they changed the way they make the drink on the "new" drink menu. It wasn't good. We ate sushi so my wife ordered plum wine, but of course they didn't have it. How can you be a sushi place and not have plum wine? They put us in a back corner and the lighting was very dim (not a romantic dim). Not sure what they were trying to hide. The food was also just so so. I think our waitress did fine, but the fact that the drink menu was outdated didn't help her. Service was also a little so, but maybe that's because we were in the dark back corner and she couldn't see us. Last time I ate here was about two years ago and the food and drinks were great. Not sure what happened. Hope they can get it together again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2017

This place was awesome!!! Had a girls lunch with my gals, this was the perfect place!!! Alex was fantastic, very nice, patient, great server!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Not sure if the holiday weekend left this place without a full staff, but service was not up to par. The bar and lounge area was full, but the restraunt was not. My party of 5 all received their entrees, except myself who ordered sushi. I told my party to go ahead and start without and it was at least 10-15 mins after that before I got one sushi plate (ordered 4 different sushi items). The waiter kept checking and said the sushi chef was backed up. I understand a few mins, but are you kiddding me with a good10-15 mins after the rest of my party got their food, not acceptable for a place like this. The manager did apologize and gave us a discount off our bill. Nice gesture, but I go out to restaurants to eat good food, nice environment, and good service. When that does not happen it really ruins a night out for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2017

Lunched with several co-workers. Food was good but service extremely slow. It took two hours for lunch. It shouldn't take this long.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Kona Grill - The Woodlands