About Kona Grill - The Woodlands

Welcome to Kona Grill at Waterway Square in The Woodlands, TX. Located near The Woodlands Mall. Bring your family in for dinner, grab a drink with friends or enjoy lunch with co-workers on the beautiful, shaded patio. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Come in for one of the best happy hours in The Woodlands. Try one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

3 Waterway Square
#100
The Woodlands, TX 77380
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Lake Robbins & Woodloch Forest Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 466-4061

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

It's our favorite time of the year! From now until New Year's Eve, for every $50 you spend on gift cards you'll receive a $10 bonus card!. Excludes Tax and Tip. available in each restaurant and online at konagrill.com. Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Kona Grill - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

This used to be a favorite spot for my family and me but lately the service has gotten so slow and the food quality has gone downhill. Am at a point where I no longer want to give this place a chance anymore.

At our last dinner the food was the worst it has been since I have eaten here. Had the miso sake cod dish - one of their more popular dishes. The rice was dry and “crunchy” and the things mixed in with the rice were dry and old.

Worst I’ve had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Love it!!! Everything was awesome service, food and drinks I will definitely come back and recommend this place ....⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was not good. Waited 25 minutes for drinks. Had to ask for silverware/napkins. Water was never refilled. Beer was warm. Had to go to bar to get it resolved. Not the first bad service we have had at Kona.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great restaurant for the whole family! My son turned 17 and this is where he wanted to go to celebrate his birthday. By far his favorite restaurant. The sushi is amazing and every dish I have tried is so yummy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was a overall good service and good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our family gathered for birthday celebrations for a ten year old and 32 year old and it was great for accommodating a variety of tastes. We tried multiple appetizers including the spicy fried calamari, potstickers, avocado egg rolls and tempura shrimp and all were mouthwatering delicious! I had the salmon entree and my husband had the filet that was to die for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was satisfying. Avocado egg rolls and sushi for the appetizer were amazing. The entree portion was delicious as well. I recommend it for those who have not yet checked it out. James did a fantastic job going through the menu as it was our first time there. Will not be the first or last.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Middle of the week date lunch. We sat on the patio on a nice day. The patio was about half full with a few tables inside. Service was miss for us - drinks took forever and my husband would’ve liked a second if the server ever brought one. We had to keep tracking him down - even for napkins and silverware. My sushi roll was recommended but not my favorite - way too much sauce on/around the roll. Too much cream cheese for the ratio. I likely would not visit Kona for sushi again. My husband’s Cuban was good. The chicken/shrimp wraps were the highlight of the meal. They were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great atmosphere, menu and food....service was suuuuper slow..and not a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We arrived and were seated quickly in the booths in the back of the restaurant. It was 20min before a waitstaff greeted us, and that was after I had to get the hostess to let her know. When they finally took our order we placed everything at once. It was another 20min to get our waters. They didn't bring the appetizer we ordered, and when they brought the sushi we didn't get napkins, silverware, or soy sauce. The sushi was decent, I ordered a Cuban sandwich that must have been sitting in the window, because the fries were rock hard. We normally enjoy Kona, but after this experience I don't think we will be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were very disappointed in the service from the moment our group walked in. We made reservations through Open Table for 6 at 4pm. The restaurant was NOT busy at all, so we expected great service. The Host seemed very confused and unprepared, so bad first impression. Although we made the reservation, the staff seemed unaware of the special event. The food was fair at best, service was fair. Except for the woman busing tables, she seemed to be the most attentive. After we paid the check we spoke to the manager. He tried his best to patch the experience, but the damage was done. He offered us gift cards...

We gave the gift cards to our poor college student (although we refused them initially), because we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food was excellent - salad, sushi, chicken. Ashleigh our server took good care of use. BUT, I was disappointed in the old fashioned.

And the birthday carrot cake was awesome, especially with the three candles.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

When we first arrived no hostess. 10 min later she tells us our table is being cleaned, then disappears. Once seated drinks ordered appetizers took forever to get dress bus and the water we were told by server is tap water an always tastes terrible, he suggests bottles water. He was right. As we order, party of 5 we are told 3 separate dishes are no available tonight. Shortly after that he approaches us and states one of our appetizers isn't available either. We receive our appetizers and are told oops one of our main dishes will not be available. Reorder. Once food arrives it is hot and plentiful. A main dish salad that was ordered w/o onions due to allergy has onions on it He wisks it away and brings another. We are told by server manager will take it off bill. Food was excellent but hmmmoverall could have been better

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My daughter brought us here to celebrate Fathers Day... it was a good value, delicious, & a perfect afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went there for my 9th anniversary with my wife. We both ordered 3 different drinks from the bar before we finally got one. The waitress kept saying they changed the drink menu and don't have the updated menu yet so she didn't know what they'd still make. When I finally got my drink that was on the menu it didn't have the same ingredients that were stated on the menu. The manager came, and said they changed the way they make the drink on the "new" drink menu. It wasn't good. We ate sushi so my wife ordered plum wine, but of course they didn't have it. How can you be a sushi place and not have plum wine? They put us in a back corner and the lighting was very dim (not a romantic dim). Not sure what they were trying to hide. The food was also just so so. I think our waitress did fine, but the fact that the drink menu was outdated didn't help her. Service was also a little so, but maybe that's because we were in the dark back corner and she couldn't see us. Last time I ate here was about two years ago and the food and drinks were great. Not sure what happened. Hope they can get it together again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This place was awesome!!! Had a girls lunch with my gals, this was the perfect place!!! Alex was fantastic, very nice, patient, great server!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Not sure if the holiday weekend left this place without a full staff, but service was not up to par. The bar and lounge area was full, but the restraunt was not. My party of 5 all received their entrees, except myself who ordered sushi. I told my party to go ahead and start without and it was at least 10-15 mins after that before I got one sushi plate (ordered 4 different sushi items). The waiter kept checking and said the sushi chef was backed up. I understand a few mins, but are you kiddding me with a good10-15 mins after the rest of my party got their food, not acceptable for a place like this. The manager did apologize and gave us a discount off our bill. Nice gesture, but I go out to restaurants to eat good food, nice environment, and good service. When that does not happen it really ruins a night out for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Lunched with several co-workers. Food was good but service extremely slow. It took two hours for lunch. It shouldn't take this long.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Bring back the Strawberry Basil Lemonade!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME AT THIS LOCATION! I TRULY BELIEVE, SERVICE CREATES THE EXPERIENCE.... I WITNESSED ONE OF THE WORST WAITERS EVER.... WE SAT FOR 8 MINUTES UNTIL A WAITER CAME TO US, HE BROUGHT DRINKS NO STRAWS NO UTENSILS, WE ASKED FOR LEMONS HE BROUGHT ONLY FOUR SLICED LEMONS..... AS WE WAITED FOR FOOD WE ASK HIM TO BRING EXTRA KETCHUP, MAYO, NAPKINS, UTENSILS, EXTRA PLATES, SO WE WOULD T HAVE TO EXPERIENCE FOOD GETTING COLD..... ALL HE BROUGHT OUT WAS UTENSILS.... ASSUMING WE WOULD USE THE CLOTH WRAPPED AROUND UTENSILS AS NAPKINS.....SERVERS BRING OUT FOOD 25 MINUTES LATER STILL NO KETCHUP, STILL NO MAYO, STILL NO NAPKINS....AND HEs NO WHERE TO B FOUND.... NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT LONGER UNTIL CONDIMENTS COME, AS FOOD GETS COLD..... THE ORDER WAS WRONG, NO SALT OR PEPPER ON TABLE.... HE BRINGS OUT THE SALT BUT TELL ME HE WILL SHAKE THE PEPPER ON MY PLATE... WE WERE OUTSIDE SO THE WIND BLEW ALL THE PEPPER ON MY WHITE DRESS SHIRT.... 5 MINUTES LATER, THE COUPLE NEXT TO ME ASK FOR PEPPER AND SALT AND HE SITS IT ON THE TABLE..... I QUIT, IM GETTING ANGRY ALL OVER AGAIN!!! MY EXPERIENCE WAS HORRIBLE!!! WAITER WAS AWFUL!!! HE NEEDS TO B TRAINED AGAIN!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We didn't end up using the reservation because it was a nice evening so we sat outside. Very nice evening not too loud and the wait staff was nice not to mention the food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It took over 10 minutes on a quiet Sunday at 6 p.m. for our waiter to show up with just water even though there were plenty of empty tables so the slow service seemed unnecessary. We sat outside on the pretty patio. My friend had to ask three times for sweetener for his tea and still never received it. It took quite a long time to receive our dinner and my pasta was killed with garlic and was sprinkled with anemic looking baby shrimp which I wouldn't have ordered if the menu had accurately said "baby shrimp" not just shrimp. My friend ordered the burger with bacon and it arrived with none (even though we were charged for it as a line item on the receipt). We shared an enormous slice of carrot cake which was pretty good. Diners next to us arrived with their large non-service dog who sat inches from me slopping up food and water from the ground-- just unsavory for a restaurant experience even though I am a dog lover. We both agreed that we wouldn't return to Kona Grill again. I woke up the next morning with a horrible stomach ache that I am pretty sure was a result of the pasta/shrimp dish. It's a great location and I wanted to like it so much-- sadly did not.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We had a Waitress from hell for no reason!!! I would have accepted her behavior a little more if she was younger. Her being "old" and rude was uncalled for! The manager giving a round of drinks were good but his approach about the situation wasn't professional!! As stated to the second waitress that took over, if it wasn't my daughter's birthday, I would have walked out. I don't think I will be visiting this location anytime soon unless management and new staff takes over. The woodlands have too many nice places to go with more inviting service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I made reservations for 12, 4 days before...It was a Birthday celebration and pre concert gathering. We arrived at 4:30 and were seated within 15 min. Everything that happened after that was terrible. Our waiter was not ready​ to handle our table by himself. He should of been given another person to help him. Drink orders were slow or forgotten altogether. They only had one bartender so he had to make drinks for everyone at the bar and those seated at tables. They told one person who ordered a filet that it was not sutable to serve, so they had to order something else. They ran out of Miller Lite, although I don't drink it how do you run out? Checks were slow to come and when the manager came over she offered us free dessert. Problem was, that never came either. I've been here many times before as a couple with no problems. However, as a group this was very poor service, with no assistance from management to help the young man who waited on us. The food was fine overall but I'd prefer bad food and great service over good food with bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

My first visit to this restaurant. Loved the menu. Great salads and sandwiches available. Service was very pleasant. Not hurried, but a really nice accommodating waitress. Thank you for a pleasant visit. I would definitely return and recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good food. Nice atmosphere. A bit pricey on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Closed for a gas problem. Completely understand--however, if someone has made reservations, you need to call and let them know the store is now closed and/or do not take reservations in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Poor, poor service and poor value overall. 2+ hrs with no special requests, well over $200 for family of 4 but the food here is not high end - average food prep, below average service, empty space, kitchen staff seemed disinterested despite open kitchen concepts, speed of service extremely slow. Some issues with (young) management not dealing with conflicting info we had received at check in about happy hour rates despite where we were seated. The 'manager' offered to pay for our desert. We ordered 3 desserts for group of 4, but they only paid for 1 dessert. More disappointment - what happened to customer service anymore? Likely will not be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

If would have been an enjoyable evening but our waitress got cut off in mid sentence by another waitress who came up and completely sharked her table. So the first waitress just walked off.. she appeared very sweet and I believe would have been the better waitress. The other waitress was terrible.. we had to others to find our waitress orders were not right the bar had to bring drinks from the bar because she didn't deliver them in a reasonable time frame. I never use these comment areas but I will never let Cindy wait on us again. She was however topic of our conversation for the night!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We reserved a table for 4, then one hour earlier, found out a friend's daughter was coming too. I revised the reservation on line, but when we reached the restaurant, they said they only had the table for 4 that I had already reserved. Frankly, the hostesses were not accommodating at all. We sat on the patio and had a great time, but I would have liked a bit more effort from the restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food..great service..will be on the return list to visit!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Just not impressed with this place. The food is overpriced, wine glasses were smelling stale and the ambiance wasn't enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

From beginning to end, the service was terrible. 11 of us got together for a birthday, and none of us, or our families or friends, will go back. The restaurant was NOT busy, and I had deliberately made the reservation after the lunch rush. To no avail. One of the more egregious examples occurred when our food was delivered. It was only then that our waiter let my friend know the restaurant did not have the turkey burger she ordered! He could easily have done this when she ordered her food or when he put in her order. However, it looked to us like he forgot her order and was making an excuse. She ordered another meal, on the house, but waited TWO HOURS for food. We thought no manager was on staff because no one came over to apologize, and she only received a curt apology from the waiter. It took our waiter 45 minutes to have our checks ready, only for him to charge the wrong items to the wrong people. When he said that he was going to "shift" our bills around to charge us correctly, we offered to give him our credit cards AGAIN, only for him to tell us that he didn't need our cards because our information was already in the restaurant's system!? Our waiter never brought one friend's credit card back. When she asked him where it was, he asked her if she was sure because he didn't have it. After my friend assured him that she had indeed given him her card, he went scurrying off. Only to come back, 20 minutes later (of course), with her credit card. There are more horrific service stories from our visit, but there's not enough space to detail them all. When I asked to speak to the manager, we found out that it was a woman who we had seen in the background but who had not come over to say anything. She told us she was a new manager (1.5 months)--it showed. Bad experience in all. The good company was the only saving grace. There are plenty of other good restaurants in The Woodlands. Don't waste your time at Kona Grill (unless you've got 2 plus hours to wait for food).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was picky on seating arrangements. Wasn't able to chose seats and not worth the over price service for being located in such a high status area with other expensive choices to choose from. Would avoid at all cost.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great staff. Food was cooked perfectly and brought out in a timely fashion. Waitress was attentive and enthusiastic throughout the whole dinner service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I was disappointed that they were out of sea bass for a Friday night. Also ,the waitresses seemed a bit inexperienced. I have had better service at this Kona Gril before. We ordered a kids chicken and fries and she placed the order as a separate chicken and fries. When the dish arrived we asked her about the fruit included and she looked dumbfounded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our first time at Kona Grill. Very nice atmosphere, food was good.
The only thing we did not like is it took a while for the food to come out. Food could have been warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good service, good food. I will return, there are other things I would like to try on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Manager introduced himself to us and was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Our server was not friendly and always gone when we needed something. The food was below average. Edamame was over salted and hard, rice with our entree was hard and dry with no flavor and the creme brûlée was nasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.