About Kona Grill - The Woodlands

3 Waterway Square
#100
The Woodlands, TX 77380
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Lake Robbins & Woodloch Forest Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 466-4061

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kona Grill - The Woodlands Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (8)
See All
great for lunch (7)
special occasion (6)
fit for foodies (5)
romantic (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting The Woodlands for Ironman Texas ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Visiting The Woodlands for Ironman Texas event. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the service was exellent! The ambiance was lively and the restuarant was hopping on this night!! Everything we ordered was very good. We started with the pot stickers and the chicken satay, followed by sushi voodoo roll and checkerboard roll. Delicious!! The Miso-Sake Seabass with fired rice was very very good!! And, the best part of the evening for a dessert lover like me was the the three layer Carrot Cake!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice birthday lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was reasonably priced, enjoyed the free creme brûlée for birthday diner. Outdoor seating was comfortable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Not impressed.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We dined here for Mother's Day with a group of 11 (including 3 kids). Terrible service. Food was just ok. Server was absolutely terrible. Took forever and multiple things wrong. Probably will not visit again.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I found the whole experience good but no ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I found the whole experience good but nothing exceptional - nice atmosphere and noise level was such that one could talk and hear conversation - a pleasant evening following a movie.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Bad night for cooks and bartenders?.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Tonic flat in a G & T, switched to a martini and it was weak, son had a London mule and said it was weak. Appetizer of lettuce wraps could have used cleaner lettuce, calamari was ok. Kona Chop salad (marked as a specialty) was warm lettuce and chopped chicken without any dressing? No one of the four of us liked what they picked. Hope it was an off-night for the cooks and bartenders, Waiter was ok, the place is kind of cute, but I doubt I will go back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Kona Kool

Dined on April 17, 2016

Looking for great Asian food and a vibrant eating environment, go to Kona. Much healthy and tasty food from chicken to fish and everything in between....steak too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was great. We had ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The overall experience was great. We had the shrimp and lobster sushi as a starter. It was a wonderful combination of flavored. We each had fish. The fish was well prepared. The proportions were perfect! We ended with a dessert that was very tasty. The server was great, providing recommendations throughout the evening. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service3

restaurant was nearly empty when we arri ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived and they gave us the worst table. food and service was great though

food1
ambience3
service1

Waited an hour. Never received service. ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Waited an hour. Never received service. We were ignored. We left without dining.

food5
ambience3
service2

Server was slow and struggled with corre ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Server was slow and struggled with correctly splitting our check. The process to pay took entirely too long.

food5
ambience3
service4

I did not know that if you make a reserv ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

I did not know that if you make a reservation through here, you will be seated in the dining area even though I specified on the requests to be seated outside for happy hour. The server then told us that happy hour doesn't extend inside and we'd have to get up and move outside. I guess we have to try happy hour another time. Overall, the service and food was great!

food4
ambience3
service4

I enjoyed the wine down Wednesday.and th ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

I enjoyed the wine down Wednesday.and the food was very good. Try the gouda fondue. It was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great service and ambiance.

Dined on December 10, 2015

We chose Kona Grill for the celebration of our 48th wedding anniversary. Had never been before and were not disappointed at all. The ambience, the decor, and the energy in the restaurant was great. The flavors in the food that we ordered woke our palettes and was different from similar dishes we had tasted in other restaurants. Simply delicious! The service that night couldn't have been better; i.e. very attentive and met all our requests, and then some. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was very good with fresh sushi ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was very good with fresh sushi and great presentation

food4
ambience4
service4

Kona-nice

Dined on October 31, 2015

Good food selection, well presented, nice atmosphere and good service. I hope too many people don't hear about this or it might become hard to get a table!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Nice spot...love the pad thai. I replace the chicken with tofu. My husband likes their sushi, and that is saying a lot. The Mai tai was so so. Service was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Whenever we want a nice evening out we g ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Whenever we want a nice evening out we go to the Kons Grill. Love their food and the waitstaff is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Sushi in The Woodlands

Dined on September 19, 2015

Great neighborhood spot for good drinks and great sushi, sashimi and creative rolls. Nice fresh seafood well prepared. Service could be a big more attentive but that seems to be the norm these days. We'll go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great quality.

Dined on September 15, 2015

Food was great quality.

food2
ambience2
service5

Dinner - Monday night

Dined on September 7, 2015

It was very quiet, maybe 3 other tables were occupied. The service was good but the food was adequate at best. Our last visit we really enjoyed, it was busy and the food was good. Maybe Monday night wasn't the best night to go. The waitress was excellent but the food was uninspiring. I had the signature steak "Hawain Rib eye" which was very average. I could have cooked it in my backyard. The sushi was nice as was the Pad Thai. There was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't memorable. We will return maybe on a busier night.

food4
ambience4
service4

Outdoor dining at Kona Grill

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

We dined outdoors on a rare cool evening on September 1st. Had the Chilean Sea Bass that is not listed on the menu. You have to ask for it. It comes with crab on top and asparagus and rice as sides. Highly recommend it. The butter cake and ice cream was also a very good dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed the great seating area for ou ...

Dined on August 28, 2015

We enjoyed the great seating area for our party of 10 in the back little room. It felt like we had our own private gathering in the restaurant. Our waiter Austin was great as well.

food5
ambience4
service3

Wait Staff is Hit or Miss

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

My only issue with Kona is the wait staff. It's hit or miss. This last time (for a business lunch) I had to ask three times for an extra set of silverware because an additional person had joined my group. And two times before that I was at a business lunch where we repeatedly had to ask the waitress for numerous things and she pretty much just wasn't listening to what we were asking for. Maybe she was just having a bad day.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

Our waiter was very helpful with the men ...

Dined on August 27, 2015

Our waiter was very helpful with the menu. Delicious apps and meal. We enjoyed the "Wine Down Wednesday" special and appreciate the validated parking.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

great place

Dined on August 23, 2015

This was our 1st time here and will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Drinks!!

Dined on August 19, 2015

This restaurant has an outstanding food and drink menu! The outdoor patio is great for groups or a happy hour get together and there are so many food and drink choices at such a great price!! This is the BEST Happy Hour in The Woodlands!! The private dining room is a great way to have a quiet event for whatever you are celebrating and the staff is so friendly and attentive. The flatbreads and sushi should not be missed...especially the corn and goat cheese flatbread...YUMMMMM!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Consistently good

Dined on August 16, 2015

This was our fourth time at Kona and it is very consistent, the food is always good, tastes fresh and is always the correct temperature. Service is good as well, not too much "in your face" but available when needed. A little too much upsell this time but we can deal with it. Good choices, especially for food allergies. Noise level can be a little loud at times and I wish their patio area was covered but all in all another good dinner.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

Dined on August 12, 2015

My second visit to Kona. It took over 10 minutes for a waiter to come to the table upon being seated. (It wasn't that busy but his focus was on a party of 8 seated nearby). We ordered three different Sushi Rolls. The most expensive one ordered at $15.50 was unremarkable. We actually re read the menu to make sure we received the correct one on two of the rolls. The bulgogi tacos lacked flavor, the shell way too chewy and greasy, and the meat a poor cut. The avocado eggs rolls were fine, but there are better. Again, these were very chewy. May need to change the oil in the deep fryer?! The dipping sauce for the egg rolls had too much vinegar. Very loud, poor service (also had to wait an extended time for the food and check), extremely over priced for the quality. We will not return! We eat out 10-12 times per week and I rarely leave reviews.

food3
ambience3
service2

Bad Night at Kona Grill

Dined on August 9, 2015

Saturday night was tough for Kona Grill. Our server worked a huge area by herself, thus it took forever to get waited on, get drinks, get food, etc. She apologized a lot. Not a good sign. We were seated in the "back 40", and the food was barely adequate for a couple of our diners. Nobody seemed to get our wine order correct. I may try this place again, but I'll wait awhile.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic the lobster Mac and cheese was ...

vip
Dined on July 28, 2015

Fantastic the lobster Mac and cheese was great

food4
ambience5
service4

Fist time to Kona. Tried their reverse h ...

vip
Dined on July 25, 2015

Fist time to Kona. Tried their reverse happy hour that starts at 9:00 PM. Was very good with a large selection of drinks and appetizers at half price. Service was also good and was able to enjoy their outdoor seating area with family.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch with Friends

Dined on July 15, 2015

Kona is a great place to meet friends for lunch. The menu has many things to choose from. Always attentive service and consistently good food. Location very convenient.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All round great place to eat and enjoy c ...

Dined on July 10, 2015

All round great place to eat and enjoy catching up with friends. Nice ambience and quiet enough to enable good conversation. This is my third time - once with a large group, once with my husband and this last time with a couple of girlfriends. Each time the service has been excellent. Wine list was also varied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service2

Service Poor

Dined on July 7, 2015

Normally service is really good at Kona but our server on this visit was not very good. No personality and did not attend to the table very well at all. Food was good as always. Wish they would bring back the rock shrimp appetizer that was a special last month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Shelley and Jasmine

Dined on July 7, 2015

Shelley was our server she was awesome she always had a smile on her face and seem to make us laugh I would recommend anybody who goes to that restaurant asked for her as a server you won't be disappointed. We ask to speak to a manager and one came over her name was Jasmine she was very friendly very polite and we just wanted to compliment Shelleys service but Jasmine was just as funny nice and hospitable that we have to compliment her as well this is why we are writing this . Kona grill makes you feel welcome and like you're part of the family they have a great happy hour menu and I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Kona Grill - not for Father's Day

Dined on June 21, 2015

We made reservations for the 6 of us in advance for Father's Day. It didn't matter, there was no table ready for us when we arrived. The restaurant was perhaps 30 % occupied. They placed us in a room which did not have proper air conditioning. The over worked waitress did her best but it seemed to take forever to get anything from the bar or kitchen. We ordered from the lunch menu, nothing special for Father's day. When we were finished, the check was processed improperly, taking money off a gift card that was presented but not credited to the final bill! Perhaps this is a place to come for Happy Hour but certainly not a place to have a nice lunch

food5
ambience5
service5

I went with a group of 12, and we had a ...

Dined on June 14, 2015

I went with a group of 12, and we had a great time.....and sunday is happy hour all day. The prices were great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Birthday at Kona

Dined on June 10, 2015

Good food, energetic atmosphere. Definitely not a quiet romantic place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Nice lunch menu. The food was pretty goo ...

Dined on June 10, 2015

Nice lunch menu. The food was pretty good but nothing special. Solid B

food3
ambience3
service3

Disapoining

Dined on May 30, 2015

It was my husband's birthday (and our wedding anniversary), so, I informed you when I made a booking, however, there are no service for this at all. At least, I wanted you to say "Happy Birthday" to my husband. I am not going to visit this restaurant for special occasions in future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.