About Kona Grill - Tampa

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Live Sports (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I've experienced much better service at Kona Grill. Unfortunately this trip took over an hour.
Food was good, but slightly cold, like it was waiting longer than needed for pick up. This might be due to the fact our waiter was having to cover a large area of tables. It appeared wait staff was short handed. It took over 30 min for my table to receive our meal orders - and we were one of the first tables seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful. Sadly I'm bad with names, but she's a redhead who loves Tupac lol.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were seated for 30 minutes before the first round of drinks showed up.

The waitress forgot one drink, and then avoided the table for 45 minutes. We asked the front desk for a new waitress, but it never happened. The manager, who was about 23 years old with dreadlocks, laughed off our conplaints and did nothing to help the visit. The food took almost two hours to come out, which is nuts since the place was only half full on a Friday night.

The food itself was "okay", but the experience as a whole completely sucked. The bill was almost $100 for dinner and drinks for two, accompanied by awful service.

This was out first, and definitely last, visit to Kona Grill. It was horrible.

Ps: it was our engagement dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Poor service - had to ask 3 times for a glass of water and did not receive a salad that was ordered. Additionally, chicken had weird rubbery and simultameoisly crunchy consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2017

After a bad experience a couple years ago, we decided to give Kona Grill another try. It was pretty busy, so I thought that was a good indication that it would be a positive experience. Well.... not so much. Our waiter was very lack-luster and acted as though he would rather be anywhere but there. While not rude or having an attitude, it was a bit insulting to have someone so disinterested in our night out.
Service aside, the meals were also less than average. Our lettuce wrap appetizer was nasty-the chicken mixture was floating in grease. My son had the flank steak and it was so rough and chewy, it was not enjoyable. I actually took a picture of the meat to illustrate the fat and toughness of the cut. The mashed potatoes were unappetizing as well. The fried rice accompanying my husband's salmon was so greasy and the portion was very small. It actually looked like someone ran to the food court at the mall and got the last little bit in the serving tin.
The mac-n-cheese served with my other son's kids burger was gelatinous and looked like it needed to be put in the microwave. I don't recall if it was our server or a food runner that brought our food to the table, but either way, had any pride in what they were serving, including the chef! I had the tuna, which was actually pretty good, but the broccoli side seemed a though it was frozen broccoli florets, as opposed to fresh broccoli. I will say that the warm bread was awesome!!!!
All in all, it was a very disappointing evening. I am wishing we had chosen a different restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious meal, service was decent however the menu is a tad overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The avocado egg rolls, chopped macadamia chicken salad, and Oriental salad were DELISH!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was slow coming to table, it was said due to the time it takes to cook the burger. If that is standard, you could make note of that on the menu or have the wait staff mention it during the order process. This is important information for those of us who have limited time for lunch. Noise level didn't include loud as an option so I used energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My review says we went to the Charleston location but we did not - we went to the Tampa, FL location.

Was not a good experience! We were impressed by the amount of stars this place got on OpenTable but were not impressed by the restaurant itself. We had a lovely waitress but the service was very slow. The place was DIRTY. The floors, tables, bathroom, and the tables took forever to get bussed after patrons left. Even our table upon arriving was not properly bussed. The food was sub par - most everything seems to be fried and tasted old, not fresh at all. Will not return, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Greatest steak! (Ny strip)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Kona Grill has a great selection of Asian fusion food. Great atmosphere and the bar and outdoor area are great for groups and dates.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Took almost hour to get our food and the order was all screwed up. We are still waiting for the appetizer we ordered. The dinner salad was to arrive prior to the entrees, and it showed up 5 minutes after the entrees. Neither entree was correct....at least they did not charge us for the experience, but we still had to stop somewhere else to get dinner.

Good luck, if you choose to eat at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Definitely disappointed. We have been to Kona Grill several times in the past and enjoyed it. Unfortunately, this last visit was a huge let down. We went with friends who we had not seen in a while. They had never been to Kona so we went on our recommendation.

First was just the restaurant itself. Seems to be a lack of concern for the upkeep. The booth we sat in had a horrible odor. Not sure if the carpet was mildewed in the area or what, but it was just really obnoxious. There were four of us in our party, and every menu they gave us was just filthy with food stains and spills.

Second, were the cocktails. I attempted to order three different drinks from the specialty cocktail list and was told they were out of various ingredients in these drinks so none of them could be made. The waitress explained that they were in the process of changing their menu, so they were not restocking things as they ran out of them. iIt was just troublesome that they were out of so much, but yet none of the new items were available either. Big let down.

We ordered two appetizers for the table. They were both from the sushi side and they were pretty good.

Our entries consisted of the filet, the sea bass, the salmon, and more sushi. Everything was just ok. Not horrible, but just not as good as my past experiences at a Kona.

The best part of our meal were the desserts, which were great.

Though we've had good experiences in the past, I think it'll be a while before we try Kona again. With so many amazing choices within a mile radius of this place, why take a chance?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Large menu. Good sushi. Great service. Parking was a challenge (on a Tuesday evening).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I have lunch about once a month at Kona, only because it is walking distance from my office. The service is consistently slow there during the lunch hour, but my experience on this visit was exceptionally poor. Our party of 5 waited 40 minutes from the time our order was taken until the time the food was delivered. We had to flag down the waiter twice to ask why it was taking so long (she seemed to be avoiding us). On this particular day, we were also informed that the only beverage available was water. The waiter told us the soda gun was broken; when we asked for iced tea, we were told that also came from the soda gun and therefore not available. I think Kona Grill has reached a new low. I will not be going back there anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Service was not up to par. We were the first group in (Group of 7) and it took an hour for food to arrive. Orders were wrong or incomplete. No apology from manager or server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Spicy edamame and sushi is great! Except for our server forgetting a roll and our sauces the entire meal it was great. Been there numerous other times without incident. One of my favorite places to enjoy great food and libations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was good overall except the hostess did not seem to take into the size of party. She had to pull 2 tables together (fine, but I would thought that would be done ahead time. ) The table were different heights and shapes. This would make some people sit on a crack and uneven. They made it right, but I was just surprised. A party 6 fit around one of their round tables.... easily. you would think she would know that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

You could tell no one wanted to be at work. The server slammed down our drinks and was not engaged with us at all during the meal. The food was bland and overall it just was not a good experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Arrived at the restaurant at 8:05 pm for my 8:15 pm reservation which I made at 6:40 pm and was asked if I just made my reservation (very rude and snippy).... Needless to say they had given our table away and then at 8:25 pm we were told it was going to be another 25 minutes before they could seat us... as we were leaving the restaurant there were a number of open tables not in use ... went next-door and enjoyed a meal at Del Frisco's instead ... would not go back to Kona Grill ... ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We pick this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and we just traveled over 24 hours. A little put off by hostesses, at first. This restaurant has, essentially, three sections...inside dining, wine bar, and outdoor patio. We read online that they had specials for the patio seating. When we asked the hostesses at the hostess stand one of the ladies advised us to check the patio for seating. They did not even budge to go check the seating for us. I checked the outside patio for seating, and there was not an available table large enough to fit six guests. We told them we would sit inside and they hurriedly found us a table and sat us.

Waitress, Chloe, was outstanding!!! 5-stars. Food was outstanding!!! Kudos to the chef. Kids meals were good, but small portions.

If not for the laziness, 2-stars because I think they had a pulse, of the hostesses, it would have received 5-stars.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great place for Happy Hour ! Location is great as well!

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our server was Chole! Warm, friendly, personable, checked on us several times to make sure we got what we needed!!

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I am never impressed at Konas...their food is mediocre. Drinks were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our server was great and added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We were celebrating our nieces first job. The food was great but what made the evening was our waitress Cloe. She was friendly and helpful. I would give her a. A++++. Kona should be glad to have her.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Seated right away 5 minutes early for 515 reservation. Appetizers arrived 20 minutes after order and food order was lost or misplaced. 3 out if 4 meals received after 1 hour wait last meal come 20 minutes later. Manager had no excuse for ball being dropped but he did pickup the tab.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wait staff unprepared for a large number of patrons due to a concert nearby. Food mediocre at best. My friend didn't like her meal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a 6:00 p.m. reservation and they had run out of menus and they were certainly not crowded. Told to look at Lunch menu and add a few dollars. ??? Drinks at dinner didn't come with a bar napkin, weird. Waiter didn't know if there were specials. No salt and pepper on table. Veggies on plate were corn, onions, leftover spinach and cherry tomatoes, cheap! What happened to this restaurant?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of our orders came out incorrect and it took almost 20 minutes to get a new sushi platter.
Server did not offer the meal to be comped but we requested it and the meal ended up being comped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I was very disappointed that the waitress three time did not get order right. It was my husband birthday. We wait a long time for food and the order was still not right. I received an order I did not place and my daughter did not receive her salad. When I finally got my food I was not hungry so I just took my food home and ate it the next day.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was my first time at Kona Grill and it will definitely be my last. When we walked in we were greeted and sat immediately, on our walk to the table the hostess let us know they were out of dinner menus so we were looking at lunch menus and the prices would be different, not a big deal. Our waiter comes over asks what we would like to drink, they are out of the ingredients for the drink my sister wanted, okay, she orders something else. We order appetizers right away because we were all starving, we also ordered our entrees at the same time. Several minutes pass and our waitor comes back and says hey a lot of orders came in so I'm going to put your entrees in now. We say, sure, whatever. 45 minutes later we are still waiting for our appetizers. Our waitor stopped bringing us drinks so now we're hungry and thirsty. Finally our appetizers come out, we ask for new drinks, and we wait. Then dinner comes maybe 5 minutes later. Still no drinks. Finally we get refills. Our waitor apologizes for the wait and offers to buy us dessert. We decline because we just wanted to get out of there. I will say this, he without us asking, took the apetizers off the bill which was a positive. Still, no excuse for waiting so long and the server being so unattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Wish they didn't change the menu - we loved the salmon salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Last two times we have been the food takes almost an hour to arrive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great but server disappeared a few times all and all still a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was horrible. Chicken potstickers were dry, flavorless and not fresh. The sushi was tasteless and I not fresh.
Our server was excellent and bent over backwards to make us happy. Unfortunately, the food was below par and not really seeing the value of going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We left before eating. The noise was way to loud, and nobody was paying attention to us. We were so disappointed. The decor was not Hawaiian, more modern , which was also disappointing . We were hoping for a colorful , Hawaiian restaurant, instead it was gray and black colors with loud, thump on the drum, modern music that was not a nice background for dining and relaxing for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My senior manager took me to Kona for lunch and we were unable to eat our meal due to how long it took for the entrees to come out. I've been to other locations and never had an issue with finishing a meal with an hour lunch break. We even asked the server after sitting how long the food would take since we knew we had time constraints and were told "not long at all." A disappointing visit to a place I normally enjoy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Better late then never. My mom, sisters and I came in for an early Mother's Day dinner May 13th. I recommended Kona Grill as I had a good experience the first time. Everything was going well, our server was very nice & on top of our drink orders, he did forget to bring sweetener for my mom's tea. I was the only one who ordered sushi, my order came out first. While I waited hoping everyone else meal would come out it was about 25 mins later before everyone else's food came out, having sushi didn't want to wait, so they watched me eat. Then I ended up having to watch them eat. Sushi is known to make fairly quick, why would they put my order in so early? Also my sisters Pad Thai noodles were not fully mixed, there was a chunk of noodles that did not have sauce on it. During this time our server never stopped by to let us know our food was taking longer then normal or to check on us. Was not a great visit at all, made me look bad for recommending it also.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.