Kona Grill - Tampa

4.3
1022 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Lunch
Welcome to Kona Grill Tampa, located at MetWest International in the heart of Tampa’s Westshore Business District, across from International Plaza. Visitors and locals can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft the award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Enjoy one of the best happy hours in Tampa on the beautiful, shaded patio. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Thurs: 11a-11p
Fri - Sat: 11a-12a
Sun: 11a-10p
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 877-5938
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Monica Banker
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1022 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Our server Eric was fast, friendly and attentive without being pushy. We enjoyed our food, cheeseburger, bbq chicken flatbread and cheeseburger sliders and my mom said that she would definitely visit again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant with varied menu. Something for everyone. The wait staff is kind and courteous. You must save room for dessert. They have the best carrot cake.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food and atmosphere were good. But service not so good. Slow coming out. My son's meal came out 10 minutes before mine and my husbands. The server had cigarette breath. He gave us our bill before desserts came out.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Terrible food and Terrible Service. Food had no flavor. No ambiance. It's no wonder the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We enjoy Kona Grill for Sunday lunch. The happy hour many on food is great deal. Surprisingly large selection on dishes. We had a flat bread and sushi. Sushi quality was quite nice. We eat raw and everythibg tasted fresh.
Chef has done some interesting combinations of ingredients and flavors. Nice to have something different rather the normal sushi bar selections.f

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Kona Grille Tampa never disappoints! Food always good and service by Chloe is the BEST!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Poorest dining experience I’ve had since the last time I went to Denny’s. Not to throw off on Denny’s, but the sushi was if it came from a Midwest state - not fresh and little flavor. Top it off, the waiter would not level the table, soy sauce spilled through the gaps in the table and ruined my loafers. Top that off, the waiter disappeared, had to ask for water from the manager and waited 20 minutes for the bill. Miserable experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

I found the atmosphere to be friendly and welcoming and the Serving Staff all had an upbeat energy about them, coupled with occasional and appropriate humorous interjections. The food cam promptly and was enjoyed by all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The food is excellent. The service is good. There is many round tables great for groups.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Kona Grill goes above and beyond with their food. The cost is reasonable for the area. The food presentation and taste is exceptional. The atmosphere is lively. The service is good. I've eaten here many times and have never had a disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very cheerful staff

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was just ok. Service was good. Was seated promptly . Ambience and lifting was off.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Chloe was our waiter- she is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great for a quick bite on lunch break. Good food and nice environment to carry conversation over a meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Tom and his staff are the best that why everybody that come out of town to visit me I take them to this Kona Grill. It's my favorite place for the past 3 years

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Ther service was slow. There was no one in the restaurant and they sat us in the back next to a table hat would be full of prom kids that shared he same waiter as us. We were the only people sat in that area and at least 6 waiter waitress were all standing around talking. It took more than 15 minutes for someone to Figure our who’s table it was. Again NO ONE SITTING IN THE FROMT of the restaurant. We ordered our food and mine came raw...and cold in the middle. While the meal was comped the attitude was flimsy at best. I will never go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great sushi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Had to ask more than once for the empty water glasses to be refilled. Had to ask twice for the bill at the end of the evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

A last-minute stop at 10:30pm (so glad they were still open) provided much more than the "okay" experience we were expecting at that late hour. Service was prompt and on point, and the food was delicious and tasted oh-so-fresh. The decor was comfortable and inviting; maybe next time we'll sit out by the fountain. We look forward to stopping in again when in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good is delicious. Always enjoy dining here

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Server was less than attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Server made excellent recommendations and conscientious about our work conversations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent family meal together with exceptional service from Chloe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Good sushi, very nice, friendly waitstaff. Had a lot of fun too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great service! Amazing food! Can't remember our waiter's name but he was great. He gave us updates on our order due to backup in the kitchen. I appreciate that!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Ambience, service, and food were excellent. Best grilled Chilean sea bass ever! Highly recommended for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

It was great place Mack our server was pretty good to he accommodated us well. I liked the entres but most are spicy like a surprise. Like the music up beat. This is a place for a younger crowd or middle aged group/family. Will definitely come back. Thanks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Server was very pleasant, food and drinks were delivered promptly and accurately.
Martini's were rather small for the same price as their larger brethren at other restaurants.
Overall it was a fine experience and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food was cold and had to be taken back once. The second time it was no better. The server was very nice and it was not her fault. However, with a bill of $60 for two people this was not ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We live in NY, but each time we visit Tampa, we always eat at least one meal at Kona Grill. This time, it was for an early supper before a Yankees Spring Training game. We were in an out, but it seemed that many people were staying longer and having a great time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food and good service by B.J. Noise (music) level in dining area too high. 1/2 salad portion too large. Extra expense with valet parking added up to rather expensive evening for casual tourist dinner out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Excellent food and service. We had the pad Thai noodles and macadamia nut chicken and recommend both, especially the latter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Had a series of rolls. Nice choices on menu but a little noisy for date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Overall, food was ok but service could be brought up a notch. Good value but nothing to write home about.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Went there for daughters birthday. Wonderful food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We like Kona Grill because it has such a varied menu. Hubby got the Pad Thai, and I got a Cuban sandwich that came with sweet potato fries. I often get their sushi, or fish, and hubby often gets their Jambalaya, which are also excellent. We shared the snickers pie for dessert, which was more than enough for two. Always a great meal with fast and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Disappointing pad Thai and stir fry entrees with shrimp being salad shrimp. Very tiny shrimp. Service not good either.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Kona Grill is a typical large upscale chain. Interesting menu and attractive layout. Very clean place. The challenge is food quality and customer service. Both were lacking last Friday night for us. Too many choices in Tampa to return back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Amazing experience. Great server, service, and food. Tower of tuna, Yamada rolls, Spicy Tempura Shrimp were all huge hits! Best Cuban sandwich around! Bobby was amazing and the Happy Hour specials made it phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26