About Kona Grill - Tampa

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Happy Hour (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Waterfront (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food and Chloe was a great server. I would definitely recommend and I would return to this restaurant to check out the happy hour specials and brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waitress was wonderful considering she was slammed with big parties. The food tasted good but the kitchen took too long to get it out. My husband's mashed potatoes and veggies were cold. The restaurant was loud and crowded. Would probably not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great tine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

sfood came out before the apps , When apps came they were cold . Server only came to the table once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I have been here once before so we decided to have dinner again here for Valentine's Day. I made reservations ahead of time, we arrived on time, and still had to wait 15 mins to be sat. When I checked in with the hostess, I was told that it would still be a little bit of a wait because they were waiting "for other patrons to get up". Obviously, we expected a busy night but it was just surprising to know that they would sit tables so close to reservations. Overall, we loved the waiter, our food was delicious as usual and the place was beautiful! We will definitely return just not on any such holiday nights.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience! Our reservation was honored and was seated on time. Food was great cooked just the way I like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Totally unexpected food well done and money well spent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our Dinners took forever to get served, I am guessing because the kitchen was all backed up. When it finally arrived, the plate was sizzling hot, it must have been under a warmer waiting for other meals to complete. Our waitress did all she could, she kept apologizing for the delay. Her service was excellent, she offered free desert, it was a nice gesture but didn't make up for the dried-out piece of fish I had for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Honestly, it would be lower if the food wasn't phenomenal. We came in at 6:00 on a Friday night, before the rush. When we sat, we really liked the feel and flow of the restaurant. After about five minutes of not being greeted by our server (not busy) we were slightly annoyed. We ordered our light fare, drinks, and food at the same time. Our soup and salad came out after about eight minutes, which is perfect and the soup was amazing. Being in the industry, I can understand the delay on food if there's large parties or it's slammed. I watched 20 more minutes go by with no word or apology from our server as to where our food was or would be. I also watched all the tickets come and go through the glass, which would indicate she forgot to put our food in initially. Hostess brought our food and my burger (med) and her Cuban were delicious. She also took an additional 15 once she brought the check to pick the check up from our table to cash us out. Just poor service and no apology for long waits or anything, which is all I would want. Would come back because my burger was amazing, but would hope to get better service in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome time with my wife. Food was great. Love the outdoor atmosphere. Was really relaxing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Giving the food a one star really w as not fair since after waiting an hour for a Cuban sandwich and a salad we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food with stupid big portions. Had an appetizer and basically took my entrée home.

Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a hit with friends! Food and service are reliable. Never disappoints!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Enjoyed the service and consciousness of time, since it was during working hours and many had to return to work. Food was delicious and fresh. Desert size is very generous and we love it, snickers ice cream pie and carrot cake, which Kona treated me and my good friends to one of the deserts because it was my birthday!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was bland, over-cooked and over-sauced. Prior meal was far better but unfortunately this time the kitchen simply didn't appear to care much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday dinner with family. Made a reservation earlier in the day. No wait to be seated, which was nice. Waitress made a few mistakes which were understandable, but still effected the dining experience. Food was good but not great. Two of our parties dinners came out lukewarm and had to ask for them to be reheated. A little on the pricey side. Worth coming only for special occasions or for happy hour, which is only available outside or at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish of the day was a bad choice for me. It was Mahi--which is very bland, although this was fairly fresh-caught. I was in the mood for fish, but I didn't like bok Choy and sticky rice that accompanied it. Nice atmosphere and good service, but not much food for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was good and or server was really sweet and tried his best to stay on top of everything, but the food and drinks too forever and the sashimi didn't really taste as fresh as it could. If I go back it will be happy hour only and not on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (London)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Kona always a go-to choice for friends get together.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmosphere, and great happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Horrible experience! The food took forever, it was cold and bland, and overpriced. It wasn't that crowded however it seemed they were sorely understaffed, the manager was running food to tables. First and last time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had the tomato bisque, it was chunky and not very good. The chicken caesar salad was good. The butter cake was burnt, but they did take it off the bill. The server was nice and the wine was good. A bit overpriced for the quality.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Far too noisy. Food portions small and not a great value. Drinks too expensive. Sadly we've been there for lunch and it was really good. Not sure why the evening was disappointing. Of the 4 of us the only one who enjoyed themselves was the sushi eater. Also, a bit pricey. Service was far, could have been better and it wasn't't that crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great time at Kona. It's one of our favorite places and their food is always amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

good for a chain restaurant. had theater tickets and needed to get out in a timely manner. server was good, but the food was lukewarm, even the soup. wasn't overly impressed. I would not go back if I had the choice, but was good enough to go back if another in my party wanted to try it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The waitress, Cori, and manager, Paul, were amazing. The macadamia nut chicken and Oriental salad were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Took my son for dinner while in Tampa. Was pleasantly surprised! Steve our server was very nice, food was very good, nice atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great drinks and entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cost exceeded taste. The food was of the calibur of a Chili's or Olive Garden, with the taste of the former two winning. At the end of the mean, the waitress charged my card with my friends tab so that small mix up put a damper on the closer. Overall, when I'm paying 50 bucks for a meal, I want the dishes to look beautiful, taste divine and great service. Kona fell short.

I got water with my dish. I was offered a "still" water that didn't taste different from a tap water but cost 4.50. :/

I was with a party of 3, I had the sea bass, my friends had a burger and fries and a curry dish. We shared a shrimp temp roll. The sea bass dish was fine, visually not too appealing but was ok.

For dessert, I at first tried the bread pudding, Four Fivers bread pudding is way better, mine lacked an appealing texture and fresh taste so I then got a short cake which we all agreed was THE BEST thing we tasted that nice. It had finesse and yummy in every bite! My friends got the chocolate cake but also sent it back. (We were going to just deal with it but when the waitress asked as we shared that we felt the dishes were only ok, she offered to switch them out)

My friend commented that she would come back for drinks and sushi as she really enjoyed her drinks. I would maybe come back for the short cake, but I'd rather try somewhere new or go to a favorite spot before coming back to Kona.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The all day happy hour on Sunday was outstanding! The food was great and the service was even better! I recommend the saké sangria and the BBQ chicken flatbread!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It's a great place to be ....

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food ! Came out hot and fast. Our server Kenny was amazing. He anticipated our needs before we even knew we had them!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Spicy, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very good food and great atmosphere. Service could use some improvement but overall great restaurant and value.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food, but lately a lack in the service from the kitchen. Meals really slow to come out, and staff on the floor seems to be overworked or scattered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Dined outside during happy hour. Quiet comfortable seating and the happy hour menu was fantastic. Full portion sizes for half the price. Food came out quick and our server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took my wife and mom to celebrate mom's birthday. Sunday, early, so place was quiet. The food was good, and we were seated and served promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The angry edamame was lit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. She had never been there before. We had not seen each other in several years so had much catching up to do. The waiter was very efficient and could see we wanted to visit. He made sure we had everything we needed and left us to talk. She was impressed with my choice of meeting place. We plan to have lunch there again soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great place for dinner. The food was fresh and healthy. The staff was friendly, attentive and efficient.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was outstanding.. not busy at that time...I would definitely go back again I had sea bass and it was cooked perfectly. Thank you...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love Kona Grill. The food is always unique and delicious and reasonably priced. The service was great, our server was attentive without being overbearing. My only complaint was the noise level-the table closest to our booth had a group of loud people. Overall a very nice experience. I'll be back and will recommend to others.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Be sure to get a reservation. Excellent valet service as well. Really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Organic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was ok, not great. A little pricy for the so so taste. Service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Cloe our server was fantastic. The food was awesome we went for lunch. The egg rolls and kona chopped salad were unbelievable. Well worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Restaurant not crowded at all.

Our server Amber was totally uninformed about menu items, had no idea what the "Tuesday Date Night was about"(there were flyers)

Had to find manager for several questions we had. Bill was incorrect. She was sweet but.......

We had been there before and loved it. Probably won't go back, there are so many great restaurants in the area, why would we?...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Terrible experience when we went for my sisters birthday On Tuesday. Our appetizers never came out and when we asked the waitress where they were she said "oh I didn't hear you" and never seemed to care that she messed up the order after she repeated the appetizers to us after we ordered them. Some of The Macedamia nut chicken did not have the pineapple marmalade on it and some did. One of the dirty martinis ordered came out as a regular martini and then they brought the olive juice on the side and expected us to mix it rather than them fixing the drink. And finally when dessert came I asked what they usually do for birthdays and she said they bring out the Cream brûlée and I said great my sister loves that. She neglected to tell me that it was passion fruit infused. Classic cream brûlée is not infused with passion fruit. Overall it was a very disappointing experience with the worst waitress and attitude and it ultimately ruined our night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Party of 6. Everyone loved their meals and we had a variety of foods between us. We also had appetizers and desserts. All were good. Not super expensive. Good service. Friendly staff. Complimentary valet. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We we're quickly seated. Service was also attentive and quick. Sushi menu and regular menu available. Sushi was excellent and steak and fish from regular menu perfectly cooked. Many sides available and accommodating for special requests. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.