About Kona Grill - Tampa

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kona Grill - Tampa
Ketel One Martini
Barbecue Chicken Flatbread
Wave Roll
Margarita Flatbread
Miso-sake Marinated Sea Bass
Beef Bulgogi Tacos
Cosmo
Asian Slaw
lemon iced tea
Larb Lettuce Wraps
Lettuce Wrap With Larb
Sake Bomb Kirin Light
Hot Sake Carafe
Fire Rock Pale Ale By Kona
Sesame Oil And Cuke Salad
Spicy Aoili
Kikko Man!
Atlantic And Crab Crunch Roll
Larb
Kirin Light 22 Oz.
Cheeseburger Sliders
Solo Shrimp Roll
Spicy Shrimp Roll
Dirty Martini Ceiling Camera Shot
Ketel One Dirty With Bleu Olives
Hot French Fries And Catsup
Cheeseburger Slider
Dirty Martini Profile Shot
kirin draft beer
Fire Rock Pale Ale Draft
Sushi Set Up
Ice Water Service
Angry Edamame
Spiced Apple Bread Pudding
Kona Calamari
Flash Fried Calamari With Spicy Aioli
Avocado Egg Roll
Fiery Shrimp Roll
Ketel Dirty With Bleulives
Voodoo Roll
Rock coconut mojito
Margherita Flatbread
Happy Hour 3Sec Marg
Sam Cold Snap Draft
Calamari With Aioli
Who Do Voo Doo Roll?
Voo Doo Yoo Love Roll!
Kirin Ichiban Draft
Shout Bama Roll
Voo Doo Wide Angle Wife Shot
Happy Hour Rolls
Rock Candy
Lettuce Wrap It Up
Chicken And Fish Taco Rolls
HH Marg
Chicken And Shrimp Lettuce Wraps
Sycamore Lane Chard
Cucumber Salad
Voodoo Roll Swim
Dirty Ketel Martini
Seaweed salad
Ahi Tuna Tower
Checkerboard Roll
Red Velvet Birthday Cupcake
Kona Chopped Salad
Shrimp Tempura Naruto
Margarita
White Fish Ceviche
Bama Roll
ahi poke
Whitefish Ceviche
Red Bull And Club Soda
Seared Sockeye Sashimi
Yamada Roll
Seven Spice Ahi Tuna
Cold Soda
Thai Beef Salad
Deloach Pinot Noir
Cheeseburger
Hh Menu
Effen Cucumber Mojito
edamame
Sushi Sashimi Combo
Mini Cheesburger
Spicy Yellowtail Roll
Portillo Malbec
Fire Shrimp And Spider Tempura Rolls
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Miso Soup
Chicken satay
Pot Stickers
Yamada Roll, Checkerboard Roll And Fiery Shrimp Roll
 Shrimp Tempura Naruto Roll And Bama Roll
Sushi Sampler
Pad Thai
Sushi Rolls
Margarita Pizza
Thai Beef Ball Noodles
Houston Roll

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (36)
great for lunch (36)
great for outdoor dining (33)
See All
special occasion (25)
vibrant bar scene (17)
fit for foodies (16)
hot spot (16)
scenic view (13)
romantic (13)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer: potstickers, were just ok not ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Appetizer: potstickers, were just ok not that impressed. Dinner: I had the macadamia nut covered chicken, huge amounts of food. Delicious! My fiancée had the lobster Mac and cheese and it was literally only a side portion. Loved the butter cake for dessert. Overall, was very happy with our decision to try this place will definetly go back.

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

really loud and slow kitchen. Took well ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

really loud and slow kitchen. Took well over an hour to be served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great socializing restaurant!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Friendly staff. Great food options and happy hour selections. Would recommend this restaurant to friends who travel to the Tampa area.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great, with some ambiance things to make it better

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Overall, no big complaints. Areas of improvement all have to do with the sunlight shining into the place in the late afternoon / early evening. Bar area is too bright, and the sun makes it warm in that area. Sitting at a booth in the center, the sun was shining through the windows and blinding my table for about 15 minutes at a certain point. Beyond the sunlight and the indoor temperature, the sushi was very fresh and the steak was fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1

We ordered our appetizer and before we e ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We ordered our appetizer and before we even had a chance to touch it another waiter came out with all of our meals. Then the waitress came and cleared 2 of our parties plates while the other was still finishing her dinner and asked for dessert orders. It seemed as though they were rushing us to get out from the moment we got there. Food was good and the waitress was nice but service all of the food at once and asking for dessert orders before the entire table is finished is not proper dinner etiquette.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great first visit.

Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose the Kona Grill for a large group of family from age 10 to 90 to celebrate a HS graduation. The service was impeccable, the ambiance perfect and the food delicious. Everyone was thrilled.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent quality and generous portions ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent quality and generous portions make Kona a favorite spot. The kids meals are fun and plentiful so my kids enjoy everything.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great sushi

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great sushi

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We got there at 5:30. We were given a c ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We got there at 5:30. We were given a choice of Happy Hour in the bar/outside area or sitting in the dining room. Unfortunately, happy hour drink/food specials are only in the bar. This was disappointing. The pot stickers had stuffing that (I swear) had the texture and flavor of Cat Food. Their Jambalaya has plenty of "heat", but the pieces are cut a little to small. The highlight of the meal was the Brisket Burger with Bacon Jam. Unfortunately it's only on the "Seasonal" Menu, so it might not be there unless you hurry. It should be a permanent item on the menu. While the ambiance is nice -- its sort of dark.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great. Service was incredibly b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great. Service was incredibly bad. Completely disappointing

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5

Always great service and ambiance at Kon ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great service and ambiance at Kona Grill

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent lunch

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was outstanding. Strangely, the red wine by the glass came out warm, almost like a cup of tea that had been sitting out for a little while, hotter than room temperature. We found out that the chiller was broken, a surprise to our server, and they chilled the glasses after that. Otherwise, a great time and the food was terrific. Being able to head to Davidoff afterward for a cigar tied the package together.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with great atmosphere

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had dinner reservations and when we arrived, we were promptly seated. Our waitress took our order right away. Nice atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Outside bar area was busy. Would definately eat here again.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Special Family Night ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Outstanding sushi, sashimi and rolls. Very large selection and discernible quality. Quiet, 1/4 full dining room on a Monday. Our service was outstanding. We ordered across the menu. Sea Bass and Mahi Mahi were highlights. Wine list could be more extensive, but good values.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I took a friend of mine to Kona for the ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

I took a friend of mine to Kona for the first time. She has recently started eating sushi and knew she would love it there. It was delicious as always. Not busy for a Friday night though, which was nice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was absolutely exceptional. They were very Friendly and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food tasty, old lunch specials were better

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

As always the food is tasty. I often visit Kona on work lunches. I enjoyed there old lunch special menu better and better value.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Would not return

Dined on April 2, 2016

Husband order a Cuban - burnt fries it wasn't even a half of a Cuban - coconut sushi missing shrimp- the drinks had so much ice the liquor was watered down- Burger had no seasoning didn't even eat it. Over priced for the Quality of food. Was very disappointed as I picked this place for my birthday dinner. My friends and family said they would not go back. We were a party of 8

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Very good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & happy hour!

Dined on March 26, 2016

BBQ chicken flatbread , macadamia nut salad, Moscow mules, paid Thai, and Snickers pie were amount the items we tried and all were delicious! My husband & I both had leftovers to take home! Great service, beautiful outdoor area, great happy hour options!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I come here all the time with friends & ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

I come here all the time with friends & family and it's always great!! Love Kona Grill

food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Not what i had hoped for...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We sat outside on a Friday night around 8pm to receive the happy hour on drinks & sushi, although it is a pretty and lively atmosphere. Our food took awhile to come out (understandable on a busy night) but when it did come out, I ordered the coconut shrimp sushi roll, there was literally ONE shrimp between 5 rolls. So the 1st and 5th roll had no shrimp in it at all, just rice, cucumber, and mango...the roll was also not on happy hour & was about $15. Also, my boyfriend ordered the pad thai with shrimp (the item is between $20-$30) and it came with tiny, baby shrimp. For a higher class, expensive restaurant I would have expected better. I had a similar experience years ago and thought I would try out again only to be disappointed again. I would only recommend going for cocktails and maybe some appetizers during a happy hour.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1

Waited 1 hour to get the lunch, that's n ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Waited 1 hour to get the lunch, that's not acceptable. Did not receive any excuse or explanation. Cannot recommend to go there, at least not at lunchtime.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

No mention of our special occaision

Dined on March 17, 2016

We reserved ahead of time online and were asked for special comments. We said we were celebrating Zack's 20th anniversary. When we got there, there was no mention about it at all. Why ask if you aren't going to give some recognition. At the very least, the servers could have asked, who is Zack? and Happy Anniversary. Nothing.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good drink, good fun

Dined on March 13, 2016

A great place to eat and hang out. With the outdoor patio seating, there is lots of people watching to be done.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Kids Menu

Dined on March 11, 2016

Arrived at 5:30. Dining area empty. Food - Kona Salad, Lettuce wraps, and Pad Thai were all good. But the best was the kids meal. Our 4 yr old was treated with respect by waiter Bobby. And the food choices and presentation in a classy bento box were awesome. Loved the bonus - orange bear! Will definitely return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yammy

Dined on March 7, 2016

I'm so happy with Chola service and her recommends, I really enjoyed real tasty - Thank you Chola

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

AMAZING Macadamia Chicken, much better than steak

Dined on March 6, 2016

I went to Kona Grill (Tampa) with a friend of mine last Saturday night. I had been there before for Happy Hour for work and such, but never stuck around for dinner before. We started with the chicken potstickers (seared chicken & vegetable dumplings, asian slaw, traditional soy dipping sauce), which were very tasty but dry on the inside compared to traditional potstickers. We had to put the sauce inside the potstickers to enjoy them more. We also ordered the Grilled apple and brie flatbread, which was not my favorite because I don't love brie, but I'm sure if you like texture and the taste then you will love it as it had a strong taste. The apples were dehydrated and a little sour, but the cheese and apples played well off of each other. The Raspberry Crush martini (three olives raspberry vodka, triple sec, lime) I had was delicious, and I am not much of a drinker at all. I ordered the Hawaiian Ribeye (teriyaki marinated, house mashed potatoes, seasonal vegetables, grilled pineapple) and my friend ordered the Macadamia Nut Chicken (house mashed potatoes, seasonal vegetables, shoyu cream, pineapple-papaya marmalade). I really wanted the chicken, but we each ordered something different so that we could try each other's entree. The Macadamia Nut Chicken was one of the most delicious entrees that I have EVER had ANYWHERE. It is up at the top of my list with (Tampa) Rusty Pelican's short ribs. The steak was not bad, but it wasn't as good or flavorful as I had hoped it would be. I have had better steak (at Texas de Brazil next door, for example). The steak was more expensive than the chicken (about $30 vs. $20), so I was pretty let down. Unfortunately we did not have room for dessert or I would have definitely tried some. Overall, it was a great experience. I like how they offer Happy Hour specials and their full dinner menu at the same time, and that they stay open late. We were able to drive to Blue Martini after dinner, which is very close across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Kevin was an awesome server!! Fun, atte ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Kevin was an awesome server!! Fun, attentive, and went the extra mile for our party! Ask for Kevin when you go there, he's the best!

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was not great for the prize of money you pay. Not impressed with the sushi at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service.

Dined on March 2, 2016

We had the Macadamia Nut Chicken and Pad Thai Noodles and both were outstanding. We shared the Cappuccino Pie--so delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Great service and food. Very notable Sushi menu. Great for outdoor dinning as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Worst service EVER!!

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

I went here for dinner and we were a party of 3 and totally ignored. Service was horrible!! Our waiter had a party of 12 and ignored us. 30 mins for apps and dinner came out cold. Then the bill came and it had other meals on it that weren't ours. I will never go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kona grill hip restaurant with awesome food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Kona Grill is excellent all around. Has great sushi, hip and modern atmosphere. My wife and I love to visit for happy hour and have great happy hour drinks and apps at an awesome value, half priced apps. And the food is pretty darn good (love the Flatbread pizzas and the bolgori beef Korean tacos so good!!) and great variety, service always excellent, and sitting outside highly recommended for the gorgeous city line view. Even if it's cold outside the have heaters outside to keep you warm. Great for kids too, our kids love the food and the atmosphere. Great place to go with friends as well. Haven't eaten much of the entrees, as we usually go for happy hour, even on saturdays. Always a top notch and fun experience at Kona. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster and shrimp roll is great and ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The lobster and shrimp roll is great and the fondue appetizer is wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fresh sushi & tasty flatbread. ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent fresh sushi & tasty flatbread. Delicious pineapple Hawaiian ribeye steak & sweet potato fries with shrimp sauce. Chloe our server was very professional and prompt. Nice wine list with reasonable prices.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great service was great

Dined on February 23, 2016

Food was great service was great

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Mediocre

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the daily fresh fish which was Swordfish. Hers was grilled and mine was blackened. Her piece was a decent thickness and about 2 inches in diameter. It came with an interesting medley of vegetables and rice. The vegetables were at room temperature and the rice was tasteless. My piece of fish was about a quarter of an inch thick and dried out, if it hadn't been blackened I am sure I could see light thru it. I indicated I don't like rice and was given a list of alternative starches. At first I asked for sweet potato fries and then changed my mind and asked for the garlic mashed potatoes. My plate arrived with the sweet potato fries which would have gotten cold if I waited for someone to ask how everything was. The waiter was attentive (but severely overloaded).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

service mediocre and food overpriced

Dined on February 19, 2016

booked online and asked for a booth. was sat at a table. asked them to wish my husband a happy birthday they didnt. not very attentive, waitress took our glass and never brought back. had to ask several times for straws, lemon, and chopsticks. for the price of an entree and appetizer I expected better service.

food5
ambience4
service1

Food was outstanding, as was the ambianc ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was outstanding, as was the ambiance. I had the Korean barbecue chicken which was absolutely great, as were the pot stickers as an appetizer. Good selection from the menu. Our server though was extremely slow. We had to stare him down a few times as we saw him standing around instead of getting things like our water or condiments for which we previously asked. It was not busy at all. However, we did see that there is a Kona Grill closer to where we live and will definitely give the chain a try once again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.