About Kona Grill - Tampa

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Kona Grill is the place to celebrate with modern twists on classic south of the border favorites. Join us for happy hour on May 5th and enjoy our famous margaritas or taco trio.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (25)
Casual (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
830 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 17 hours ago

Great place but it took forever for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We have always enjoyed excellent meals and service at Kona Grill. Our Macadamia Nut Chicken and Pad Thai Noodles were very good. The desserts are very big. We shared the snickers ice cream pie dessert with Oreo crust: a huge piece, and outstanding,

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a business dinner with an old acquaintance who I had not connected with in a while. Very very good salmon dish and lobster mac. Friendly waitstaff, but I had to introduce myself to them, as none of the waitstaff stopped to ask if we needed anything.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

there before Yankee game, noted others also there heading for the game. service was excellent as was the food. Plan on trying the one here in Sarasota.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

I thought the service was okay considering the amount of people in the restaurant. The sushi was pretty good but our pasta entre was not that great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Looked great from the outside and is positioned alongside a row of great restaurants in Tampa but the food was very bland and uninspired. Ordered the sushi - was ok, most Sushi joints do a better job. The main courses went with the servers recommendations of the two best dishes and they were pretty ordinary. Even the kids did not want to finish theirs. Though its cheaper than other restaurants in the vicinity, still not good value for whats on offer. Not coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Try the Sparkling Sangria! Dined with a group of 7. Service was good and everyone enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My sister in-law and I enjoyed our food selection very much however, the vegetable was corn; not a fan! I can not eat corn and what I did taste of it was much like a #10 can. The "vegetable of the day" should be explained when an order is placed. I asked for broccoli and although our very competent server was most accommodating, I waited approximately 20 minutes for a dish of plain broccoli.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food is excellent but dishes are small and expensive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sushi was terrific, cocktails well made and our waitress was exceptionally pleasant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was OK...the server tried to do a good job, but in the end the service was deplorable and the manager on duty made our experience even worse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very disappointing! Our food took forever to come out and when it did it was below average. The chicken in my pad Thai was very dry and overcooked and the shrimp in my husbands pasta dish was so small you almost missed it! We have dined here before and liked it but don't think we will be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love the ambiance. Food was good. I had the sea bass. My wife had sushi. All good. My daughters flanksteak was overdone. Great hamburgers that our friends had. Desserts were great. Service was great.
I would recommend but have to cook the steak to desired doneness next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great Sushi ...otherwise my swordfish was dry and stiff ! the fennel vegetable wasn't cooked properly ,so couldn't eat it....but ,if you stick to Sushi ,it was outstanding .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was our anniversary. It was in the reservation comments but not acknowledged at all by the restaurant. That was disappointing. My husband's steak was cooked properly (blue). My meal (miso sea bass) was very small but tasty. My drink (cucumber jalapeno margarita) was much too spicy to be enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I've always loved Kona Grill! Lots of good favorites on their menu. Tried the Tuna Sliders today for the first time, though, and that turned out to be a little bland. A hurried lunch might not be a good idea, though, so I wouldn't recommend it on a time crunch. Service takes a while, through no fault of the servers. Still love the place. Ambience is awesome. Noise level could get a little high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Leslie was our server, and simply wonderful. She was very personable and helped make our little party successful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent Service ..lots of choices on menu ..good food and good times

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We needed a place to dine before a flight. It was perfect and the food was great! We took advantage of the happy hour for sushi. The outdoor seating was nice on a beautiful night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food and Chloe was a great server. I would definitely recommend and I would return to this restaurant to check out the happy hour specials and brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful considering she was slammed with big parties. The food tasted good but the kitchen took too long to get it out. My husband's mashed potatoes and veggies were cold. The restaurant was loud and crowded. Would probably not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great tine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

sfood came out before the apps , When apps came they were cold . Server only came to the table once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I have been here once before so we decided to have dinner again here for Valentine's Day. I made reservations ahead of time, we arrived on time, and still had to wait 15 mins to be sat. When I checked in with the hostess, I was told that it would still be a little bit of a wait because they were waiting "for other patrons to get up". Obviously, we expected a busy night but it was just surprising to know that they would sit tables so close to reservations. Overall, we loved the waiter, our food was delicious as usual and the place was beautiful! We will definitely return just not on any such holiday nights.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience! Our reservation was honored and was seated on time. Food was great cooked just the way I like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Totally unexpected food well done and money well spent

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our Dinners took forever to get served, I am guessing because the kitchen was all backed up. When it finally arrived, the plate was sizzling hot, it must have been under a warmer waiting for other meals to complete. Our waitress did all she could, she kept apologizing for the delay. Her service was excellent, she offered free desert, it was a nice gesture but didn't make up for the dried-out piece of fish I had for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Honestly, it would be lower if the food wasn't phenomenal. We came in at 6:00 on a Friday night, before the rush. When we sat, we really liked the feel and flow of the restaurant. After about five minutes of not being greeted by our server (not busy) we were slightly annoyed. We ordered our light fare, drinks, and food at the same time. Our soup and salad came out after about eight minutes, which is perfect and the soup was amazing. Being in the industry, I can understand the delay on food if there's large parties or it's slammed. I watched 20 more minutes go by with no word or apology from our server as to where our food was or would be. I also watched all the tickets come and go through the glass, which would indicate she forgot to put our food in initially. Hostess brought our food and my burger (med) and her Cuban were delicious. She also took an additional 15 once she brought the check to pick the check up from our table to cash us out. Just poor service and no apology for long waits or anything, which is all I would want. Would come back because my burger was amazing, but would hope to get better service in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome time with my wife. Food was great. Love the outdoor atmosphere. Was really relaxing.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Giving the food a one star really w as not fair since after waiting an hour for a Cuban sandwich and a salad we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food with stupid big portions. Had an appetizer and basically took my entrée home.
Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a hit with friends! Food and service are reliable. Never disappoints!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Enjoyed the service and consciousness of time, since it was during working hours and many had to return to work. Food was delicious and fresh. Desert size is very generous and we love it, snickers ice cream pie and carrot cake, which Kona treated me and my good friends to one of the deserts because it was my birthday!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was bland, over-cooked and over-sauced. Prior meal was far better but unfortunately this time the kitchen simply didn't appear to care much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday dinner with family. Made a reservation earlier in the day. No wait to be seated, which was nice. Waitress made a few mistakes which were understandable, but still effected the dining experience. Food was good but not great. Two of our parties dinners came out lukewarm and had to ask for them to be reheated. A little on the pricey side. Worth coming only for special occasions or for happy hour, which is only available outside or at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The fish of the day was a bad choice for me. It was Mahi--which is very bland, although this was fairly fresh-caught. I was in the mood for fish, but I didn't like bok Choy and sticky rice that accompanied it. Nice atmosphere and good service, but not much food for the price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was good and or server was really sweet and tried his best to stay on top of everything, but the food and drinks too forever and the sashimi didn't really taste as fresh as it could. If I go back it will be happy hour only and not on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (London)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Kona always a go-to choice for friends get together.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great atmosphere, and great happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Horrible experience! The food took forever, it was cold and bland, and overpriced. It wasn't that crowded however it seemed they were sorely understaffed, the manager was running food to tables. First and last time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.