About Kona Grill - Tampa

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was great and added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our nieces first job. The food was great but what made the evening was our waitress Cloe. She was friendly and helpful. I would give her a. A++++. Kona should be glad to have her.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Seated right away 5 minutes early for 515 reservation. Appetizers arrived 20 minutes after order and food order was lost or misplaced. 3 out if 4 meals received after 1 hour wait last meal come 20 minutes later. Manager had no excuse for ball being dropped but he did pickup the tab.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wait staff unprepared for a large number of patrons due to a concert nearby. Food mediocre at best. My friend didn't like her meal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had a 6:00 p.m. reservation and they had run out of menus and they were certainly not crowded. Told to look at Lunch menu and add a few dollars. ??? Drinks at dinner didn't come with a bar napkin, weird. Waiter didn't know if there were specials. No salt and pepper on table. Veggies on plate were corn, onions, leftover spinach and cherry tomatoes, cheap! What happened to this restaurant?

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of our orders came out incorrect and it took almost 20 minutes to get a new sushi platter.
Server did not offer the meal to be comped but we requested it and the meal ended up being comped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was very disappointed that the waitress three time did not get order right. It was my husband birthday. We wait a long time for food and the order was still not right. I received an order I did not place and my daughter did not receive her salad. When I finally got my food I was not hungry so I just took my food home and ate it the next day.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was my first time at Kona Grill and it will definitely be my last. When we walked in we were greeted and sat immediately, on our walk to the table the hostess let us know they were out of dinner menus so we were looking at lunch menus and the prices would be different, not a big deal. Our waiter comes over asks what we would like to drink, they are out of the ingredients for the drink my sister wanted, okay, she orders something else. We order appetizers right away because we were all starving, we also ordered our entrees at the same time. Several minutes pass and our waitor comes back and says hey a lot of orders came in so I'm going to put your entrees in now. We say, sure, whatever. 45 minutes later we are still waiting for our appetizers. Our waitor stopped bringing us drinks so now we're hungry and thirsty. Finally our appetizers come out, we ask for new drinks, and we wait. Then dinner comes maybe 5 minutes later. Still no drinks. Finally we get refills. Our waitor apologizes for the wait and offers to buy us dessert. We decline because we just wanted to get out of there. I will say this, he without us asking, took the apetizers off the bill which was a positive. Still, no excuse for waiting so long and the server being so unattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Wish they didn't change the menu - we loved the salmon salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was great but server disappeared a few times all and all still a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was horrible. Chicken potstickers were dry, flavorless and not fresh. The sushi was tasteless and I not fresh.
Our server was excellent and bent over backwards to make us happy. Unfortunately, the food was below par and not really seeing the value of going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We left before eating. The noise was way to loud, and nobody was paying attention to us. We were so disappointed. The decor was not Hawaiian, more modern , which was also disappointing . We were hoping for a colorful , Hawaiian restaurant, instead it was gray and black colors with loud, thump on the drum, modern music that was not a nice background for dining and relaxing for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My senior manager took me to Kona for lunch and we were unable to eat our meal due to how long it took for the entrees to come out. I've been to other locations and never had an issue with finishing a meal with an hour lunch break. We even asked the server after sitting how long the food would take since we knew we had time constraints and were told "not long at all." A disappointing visit to a place I normally enjoy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Better late then never. My mom, sisters and I came in for an early Mother's Day dinner May 13th. I recommended Kona Grill as I had a good experience the first time. Everything was going well, our server was very nice & on top of our drink orders, he did forget to bring sweetener for my mom's tea. I was the only one who ordered sushi, my order came out first. While I waited hoping everyone else meal would come out it was about 25 mins later before everyone else's food came out, having sushi didn't want to wait, so they watched me eat. Then I ended up having to watch them eat. Sushi is known to make fairly quick, why would they put my order in so early? Also my sisters Pad Thai noodles were not fully mixed, there was a chunk of noodles that did not have sauce on it. During this time our server never stopped by to let us know our food was taking longer then normal or to check on us. Was not a great visit at all, made me look bad for recommending it also.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Konas grill has great food and great service. However they have a happy hour special for bar and outside dining. Outside dining is first come first serve you cannot reserve. So when we went there on Friday night with reservations, I was stunned to learn of happy hour for outside dining only. I think management needs to reconsider this. I will not be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great experience. The sushi was well made, the server was attentive and quick. The only issue was the very hot dining room, but in the restaurant's defense, the bar has an open door and it was 6pm. I would recommend definitely

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Not the best experience. Friendly staff but it took too long to receive all the meals ordered at the table. The service and food quality has definitely declined. Good place for happy hour and some sushi outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have dined at Kona Grill on several occasions and the food has been consistently high quality. This time I ordered the macadamia crusted chicken and it was terrific - tender and moist, good flavor. My companions had the crusted pork tenderloin (almonds in this crust) and the Asian-style sea bass. They were very happy with their entrees as well. All came with mashed potato or rice and then the seasonal vegetable. I was allowed to substitute my seasonal veg for asparagus without any problem. The service was good - especially when the server proactively addresses the puny piece of fish the kitchen attempted to send out as acceptable (it was about 2 ounces, max). He had a good personality. The restaurant was clean and becoming quite busy as we were leaving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

the food was good, the waitress was very good, however, it took a long time for appetizers and then entrees as well. I felt like we were there for hours.
A good atmosphere, very loud but there was a table of 10 people set up right next to our booth which I think most of the noise came from there.
I would go back if I was in the area.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service provided by Bobby! Food was delicious! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One dinner was sent back because the Mahi Mahi was over cooked and dry...the replacement came after all others had finished eating and were ready to leave. One dinner was given the server to package for taking home...it was never returned! We waited 30 minutes to have desserts served...they never came! The manager gave us several discounts, but the evening left a bad taste in everyone's mouths

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Kona Grill. We had good food and great service the first time, so we came back with different friends for dinner. Bobby at the bar was friendly and great at suggesting a drink when I wanted to try something different. Our server Mel was so funny and sweet! She was attentive without being intrusive, and very helpful with food recommendations. I would definitely recommend Kona Grill to friends for an eclectic menu, great atmosphere, and beyond 5 star service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Healthy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Server Jonathan was excellent. He was courteous and refilled beverages repeatedly without us asking. Several of our group had salads that were large and very good. They were more than enough for lunch. However, to obtain the fish special we had to purchase an entrée that seemed overpriced for its value. The lunch crowd was very energetic and, as a result, it made normal conversations difficult. Dinner might be more subdued.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We came with family to celebrate my mothers birthday. The experience and waiter was amazing. All the food was delicious. Will definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very beautiful and fancy. Great for a date, with free valet parking.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Daughter graduated Pre-k

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is my second time eating here. On both occasions I was not impressed with the food. The fish fish I had on my first visit was not fresh and the sushi I had for lunch yesterday was not up to par. Save your money and visit one of the many other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The place looks not only dated, but also not very clean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We arrived and they did not have our reservations from open table. The food and service were "so-so".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was great, would definitely come back and recommend

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very disappointed. Table was dirty, knife had food dry on it. Appetizer was brought out with soup. Waitress should know not to bring both at same time. Wasn't busy but service was slow. Macadamia crusted chicken was a bit dry. Steak was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Generally, Kona has good food, and a nice environment. But lately, especially at lunch, the food delivery is poor. This time waited 25 minutes for our appetizer (pot stickers). My first time trying the Churrasco, the meat temp (I ordered Medium) was all over the place, super well done on the end to nearly raw on the other. The carrots and mashed potatoes were tasty though. I think that I will stick with the dishes I have lied in the past and not venture out on the menu again if we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had a great time, however the food orders took forever to come out. I know I had a large party but this was the first time it took that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Waiter dropped our drinks. Very slow to get our food. Service was not like it has been in the past. We have been here numerous times without any problems and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I particularly enjoyed my server's sense of humor and patience with me deciding what I wanted from such a unique menu as his first table of the day. I had a great time and will definitely be returning for more business lunches in the future.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was very slow as we sat at only one of three tables with diners. The bar area was fairly busy but we received no bread or any attention while we waited 40 minutes for an entree and a dinner salad. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great happy hour! I really enjoyed my sushi, it was super fresh and delicious! I will definitely be returning to try the other menu items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good variety of food that should appeal to wide group. Friendly wait staff. Restaurant wasn't that full but food service was very slow but we were all busy chatting so wasn't a big deal. Again, not very full but noise level was pretty high considering. I would recommend though, especially for a group of co-workers or friends.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fantastic food and a wide variety to choose from. It is my team's new go-to for our business lunches. I always get the Big Kahuna Burger...A little messy but delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.