Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today
Special offers available. See details

Kona Grill - Tampa

4.3
1005 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Business Meals
  • Good for Groups
Welcome to Kona Grill Tampa, located at MetWest International in the heart of Tampa’s Westshore Business District, across from International Plaza. Visitors and locals can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft the award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Enjoy one of the best happy hours in Tampa on the beautiful, shaded patio. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon - Thurs: 11a-11p
Fri - Sat: 11a-12a
Sun: 11a-10p
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(813) 877-5938
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Monica Banker
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore. Excludes Tax and Tip. appetizer up to a $12 value. join here: http://www.konagrill.com/join-konavore. Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

What 1005 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Had to ask more than once for the empty water glasses to be refilled. Had to ask twice for the bill at the end of the evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

A last-minute stop at 10:30pm (so glad they were still open) provided much more than the "okay" experience we were expecting at that late hour. Service was prompt and on point, and the food was delicious and tasted oh-so-fresh. The decor was comfortable and inviting; maybe next time we'll sit out by the fountain. We look forward to stopping in again when in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good is delicious. Always enjoy dining here

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Server was less than attentive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Server made excellent recommendations and conscientious about our work conversations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent family meal together with exceptional service from Chloe

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Good sushi, very nice, friendly waitstaff. Had a lot of fun too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Great service! Amazing food! Can't remember our waiter's name but he was great. He gave us updates on our order due to backup in the kitchen. I appreciate that!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Ambience, service, and food were excellent. Best grilled Chilean sea bass ever! Highly recommended for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

It was great place Mack our server was pretty good to he accommodated us well. I liked the entres but most are spicy like a surprise. Like the music up beat. This is a place for a younger crowd or middle aged group/family. Will definitely come back. Thanks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Server was very pleasant, food and drinks were delivered promptly and accurately.
Martini's were rather small for the same price as their larger brethren at other restaurants.
Overall it was a fine experience and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food was cold and had to be taken back once. The second time it was no better. The server was very nice and it was not her fault. However, with a bill of $60 for two people this was not ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We live in NY, but each time we visit Tampa, we always eat at least one meal at Kona Grill. This time, it was for an early supper before a Yankees Spring Training game. We were in an out, but it seemed that many people were staying longer and having a great time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food and good service by B.J. Noise (music) level in dining area too high. 1/2 salad portion too large. Extra expense with valet parking added up to rather expensive evening for casual tourist dinner out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Excellent food and service. We had the pad Thai noodles and macadamia nut chicken and recommend both, especially the latter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Had a series of rolls. Nice choices on menu but a little noisy for date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Overall, food was ok but service could be brought up a notch. Good value but nothing to write home about.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Went there for daughters birthday. Wonderful food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We like Kona Grill because it has such a varied menu. Hubby got the Pad Thai, and I got a Cuban sandwich that came with sweet potato fries. I often get their sushi, or fish, and hubby often gets their Jambalaya, which are also excellent. We shared the snickers pie for dessert, which was more than enough for two. Always a great meal with fast and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Disappointing pad Thai and stir fry entrees with shrimp being salad shrimp. Very tiny shrimp. Service not good either.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Kona Grill is a typical large upscale chain. Interesting menu and attractive layout. Very clean place. The challenge is food quality and customer service. Both were lacking last Friday night for us. Too many choices in Tampa to return back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Amazing experience. Great server, service, and food. Tower of tuna, Yamada rolls, Spicy Tempura Shrimp were all huge hits! Best Cuban sandwich around! Bobby was amazing and the Happy Hour specials made it phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The service and food were excellent. The waiter made it a pleasant experience for everyone in our group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Wedding anniversary with spouse and baby

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Great Experience, Food was Perfect and Bejae was SPOT ON!!! Definitely a do over place...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Waiter was excellent! Disappointing they close at 11 on a Saturday night. The bar area was opened so we just moved our party to that location.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Seated promptly, server was nice,extremely loud in the restaurant & food took too long!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great fun food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great ambiance, awesome service, good drinks and fantastic food

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent service, nice setting outside on the water, but the food was very poor!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

They did not have my reservation on Friday afternoon. When I told them it was open table still they could not find our reservation . Very disappointed and it was never happened to us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The food service is always slow. 35 min after ordering we were still waiting. Then they brought food but no salad. Saying kitchen is behind... salad is not even cooked. I font get how that would come after a hot meal. By the time the salad came I was fine with my meal. Server seemed to be trying, but he seemed overwhelmed too. This was lunch service, can’t imagine dinner. Food is good, but they need to get it together.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

A group of 6 of us went for a birthday lunch. All but 2 had never been to Kona before and everyone RAVED about the food!!! I've been going there for years and it is consistently one of my top 5 in Tampa bay!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Excellent, attentive service. Sunday evening happy hour prices were great!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food but far from a great experience.

Every single dish that was delivered to our table was simply fantastic. We had the gouda appetizer, churrasco steak, as well as several variations of sushi and sushi plates. Nothing on any of the plates could be considered just okay, every item was prepared well with a perfect amount of flavor.

The service was lacking but not horrible. Forgetting my drink for the complete meal, having to remind her to bring out one of our dishes, and doing nothing for my daughter's birthday is just some of why I say the service is lacking. I am positive she was informed that it was my daughter's birthday since the hostess mentioned it, I explained in the special instructions that we wanted the focus on her that night since it was her birthday. Additionally, she seemed a bit lost and lacked any energy when asked questions about the menu. Almost seemed like we were bothering her.

I was expecting this place, based on location and menu prices, to be a place I could hold a conversation with people at my table without having to yell. Not the case, this place is loud. It is not somewhere I would take a date or celebrate a special occasion. It didn't help that we were sat next to a loud table, but I think it was because they had no choice considering the noise level in general.

Even though the food was fantastic, I simply couldn't wait to get the bill, which was wrong since it included the cost of the drink I never received, and get out. The food was so good I would consider takeout, but to pay those prices and not get an experience with good food will keep us away.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

No parking. Loud. Service slow. Drinks overpriced. Ordered appetizers, never got them. Good mediocre at best. Avoid this place unless you don't value your money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was great but very loud, even outside.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

We ate out on the patio. The food was food but the service was bad/slow. Our sushi appetizer arrived AFTER our entrees. Drinks slow to arrive no water no cutlery. Missing olive oil.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

awesome time made Valentine's dinner perfect

Dinner portion could of been a little bigger especially sea bass

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26