About Kona Grill - Tampa

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Kona Grill is the place to celebrate with modern twists on classic south of the border favorites. Join us for happy hour on May 5th and enjoy our famous margaritas or taco trio.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Kona Grill crafts the perfect celebration for lasting memories. Bring your mom to Kona for lunch or dinner to say "thank you" for all of her hard work. Can't dine with us that weekend? Receive a $10 bonus card when you buy a $50 gift card between April 24th and June 18th. Give the gift Kona.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Tue 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Happy Hour (26)
Casual (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Business Meals (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (0)
Sort By:
S
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

This is my second time eating here. On both occasions I was not impressed with the food. The fish fish I had on my first visit was not fresh and the sushi I had for lunch yesterday was not up to par. Save your money and visit one of the many other restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very disappointed. Table was dirty, knife had food dry on it. Appetizer was brought out with soup. Waitress should know not to bring both at same time. Wasn't busy but service was slow. Macadamia crusted chicken was a bit dry. Steak was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Generally, Kona has good food, and a nice environment. But lately, especially at lunch, the food delivery is poor. This time waited 25 minutes for our appetizer (pot stickers). My first time trying the Churrasco, the meat temp (I ordered Medium) was all over the place, super well done on the end to nearly raw on the other. The carrots and mashed potatoes were tasty though. I think that I will stick with the dishes I have lied in the past and not venture out on the menu again if we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had a great time, however the food orders took forever to come out. I know I had a large party but this was the first time it took that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Waiter dropped our drinks. Very slow to get our food. Service was not like it has been in the past. We have been here numerous times without any problems and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I particularly enjoyed my server's sense of humor and patience with me deciding what I wanted from such a unique menu as his first table of the day. I had a great time and will definitely be returning for more business lunches in the future.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was very slow as we sat at only one of three tables with diners. The bar area was fairly busy but we received no bread or any attention while we waited 40 minutes for an entree and a dinner salad. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great happy hour! I really enjoyed my sushi, it was super fresh and delicious! I will definitely be returning to try the other menu items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good variety of food that should appeal to wide group. Friendly wait staff. Restaurant wasn't that full but food service was very slow but we were all busy chatting so wasn't a big deal. Again, not very full but noise level was pretty high considering. I would recommend though, especially for a group of co-workers or friends.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Fantastic food and a wide variety to choose from. It is my team's new go-to for our business lunches. I always get the Big Kahuna Burger...A little messy but delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Avocado rolls were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We looked at the menu online and felt that they had a great looking menu.

THe Calamari app was some of the worst that I have ever had.
All bread and oil nothing inside ?
All of us ordered varied meals and were less than impressed

To be honest this was very disappointing across the board.

THe staff was great but what's the point of complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place but it took forever for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and drinks. The happy hour specials are good and I have never been disappointed with anything on the happy hour. Sometimes the service is a little poor, but the food makes up for it. It's really a fun place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have always enjoyed excellent meals and service at Kona Grill. Our Macadamia Nut Chicken and Pad Thai Noodles were very good. The desserts are very big. We shared the snickers ice cream pie dessert with Oreo crust: a huge piece, and outstanding,

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Had a business dinner with an old acquaintance who I had not connected with in a while. Very very good salmon dish and lobster mac. Friendly waitstaff, but I had to introduce myself to them, as none of the waitstaff stopped to ask if we needed anything.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

there before Yankee game, noted others also there heading for the game. service was excellent as was the food. Plan on trying the one here in Sarasota.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I thought the service was okay considering the amount of people in the restaurant. The sushi was pretty good but our pasta entre was not that great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Looked great from the outside and is positioned alongside a row of great restaurants in Tampa but the food was very bland and uninspired. Ordered the sushi - was ok, most Sushi joints do a better job. The main courses went with the servers recommendations of the two best dishes and they were pretty ordinary. Even the kids did not want to finish theirs. Though its cheaper than other restaurants in the vicinity, still not good value for whats on offer. Not coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Try the Sparkling Sangria! Dined with a group of 7. Service was good and everyone enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My sister in-law and I enjoyed our food selection very much however, the vegetable was corn; not a fan! I can not eat corn and what I did taste of it was much like a #10 can. The "vegetable of the day" should be explained when an order is placed. I asked for broccoli and although our very competent server was most accommodating, I waited approximately 20 minutes for a dish of plain broccoli.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food is excellent but dishes are small and expensive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Sushi was terrific, cocktails well made and our waitress was exceptionally pleasant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was OK...the server tried to do a good job, but in the end the service was deplorable and the manager on duty made our experience even worse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very disappointing! Our food took forever to come out and when it did it was below average. The chicken in my pad Thai was very dry and overcooked and the shrimp in my husbands pasta dish was so small you almost missed it! We have dined here before and liked it but don't think we will be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love the ambiance. Food was good. I had the sea bass. My wife had sushi. All good. My daughters flanksteak was overdone. Great hamburgers that our friends had. Desserts were great. Service was great.
I would recommend but have to cook the steak to desired doneness next time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great Sushi ...otherwise my swordfish was dry and stiff ! the fennel vegetable wasn't cooked properly ,so couldn't eat it....but ,if you stick to Sushi ,it was outstanding .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It was our anniversary. It was in the reservation comments but not acknowledged at all by the restaurant. That was disappointing. My husband's steak was cooked properly (blue). My meal (miso sea bass) was very small but tasty. My drink (cucumber jalapeno margarita) was much too spicy to be enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I've always loved Kona Grill! Lots of good favorites on their menu. Tried the Tuna Sliders today for the first time, though, and that turned out to be a little bland. A hurried lunch might not be a good idea, though, so I wouldn't recommend it on a time crunch. Service takes a while, through no fault of the servers. Still love the place. Ambience is awesome. Noise level could get a little high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Leslie was our server, and simply wonderful. She was very personable and helped make our little party successful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent Service ..lots of choices on menu ..good food and good times

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We needed a place to dine before a flight. It was perfect and the food was great! We took advantage of the happy hour for sushi. The outdoor seating was nice on a beautiful night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food and Chloe was a great server. I would definitely recommend and I would return to this restaurant to check out the happy hour specials and brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful considering she was slammed with big parties. The food tasted good but the kitchen took too long to get it out. My husband's mashed potatoes and veggies were cold. The restaurant was loud and crowded. Would probably not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great tine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

sfood came out before the apps , When apps came they were cold . Server only came to the table once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I have been here once before so we decided to have dinner again here for Valentine's Day. I made reservations ahead of time, we arrived on time, and still had to wait 15 mins to be sat. When I checked in with the hostess, I was told that it would still be a little bit of a wait because they were waiting "for other patrons to get up". Obviously, we expected a busy night but it was just surprising to know that they would sit tables so close to reservations. Overall, we loved the waiter, our food was delicious as usual and the place was beautiful! We will definitely return just not on any such holiday nights.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great experience! Our reservation was honored and was seated on time. Food was great cooked just the way I like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Totally unexpected food well done and money well spent

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our Dinners took forever to get served, I am guessing because the kitchen was all backed up. When it finally arrived, the plate was sizzling hot, it must have been under a warmer waiting for other meals to complete. Our waitress did all she could, she kept apologizing for the delay. Her service was excellent, she offered free desert, it was a nice gesture but didn't make up for the dried-out piece of fish I had for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.