About Kona Grill - Tampa

4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd.
#B-1
Tampa, FL 33607
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service & a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience.
The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, & Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 877-5938

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/

Catering:
We do offering Catering. Contact the restaurant for information.

Parking Details:
There is an adjacent lot next to PWC that you can also park at if our lot is full.

We offer valet parking Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Monica Banker

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kona Grill - Tampa
Ketel One Martini
Barbecue Chicken Flatbread
Wave Roll
Margarita Flatbread
Miso-sake Marinated Sea Bass
Cosmo
Beef Bulgogi Tacos
Asian Slaw
lemon iced tea
Larb Lettuce Wraps
Lettuce Wrap With Larb
Sake Bomb Kirin Light
Hot Sake Carafe
Fire Rock Pale Ale By Kona
Spicy Aoili
Sesame Oil And Cuke Salad
Kikko Man!
Atlantic And Crab Crunch Roll
Larb
Kirin Light 22 Oz.
Flash Fried Calamari With Spicy Aioli
Cheeseburger Sliders
Solo Shrimp Roll
Avocado Egg Roll
Fiery Shrimp Roll
Ketel Dirty With Bleulives
Voodoo Roll
Rock coconut mojito
Spicy Shrimp Roll
Dirty Martini Ceiling Camera Shot
Happy Hour 3Sec Marg
Margherita Flatbread
Sam Cold Snap Draft
Calamari With Aioli
Ketel One Dirty With Bleu Olives
Hot French Fries And Catsup
Who Do Voo Doo Roll?
Voo Doo Yoo Love Roll!
Cheeseburger Slider
Dirty Martini Profile Shot
Kirin Ichiban Draft
Shout Bama Roll
kirin draft beer
Fire Rock Pale Ale Draft
Voo Doo Wide Angle Wife Shot
Rock Candy
Happy Hour Rolls
Lettuce Wrap It Up
Chicken And Shrimp Lettuce Wraps
Chicken And Fish Taco Rolls
HH Marg
Sycamore Lane Chard
Sushi Set Up
Voodoo Roll Swim
Cucumber Salad
Dirty Ketel Martini
Angry Edamame
Seaweed salad
Ahi Tuna Tower
Ice Water Service
Red Velvet Birthday Cupcake
Checkerboard Roll
Kona Chopped Salad
Shrimp Tempura Naruto
Margarita
Bama Roll
ahi poke
Whitefish Ceviche
White Fish Ceviche
Red Bull And Club Soda
Seared Sockeye Sashimi
Yamada Roll
Seven Spice Ahi Tuna
Cold Soda
Deloach Pinot Noir
Thai Beef Salad
Cheeseburger
Hh Menu
Effen Cucumber Mojito
edamame
Sushi Sashimi Combo
Spiced Apple Bread Pudding
Mini Cheesburger
Spicy Yellowtail Roll
Portillo Malbec
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Miso Soup
Fire Shrimp And Spider Tempura Rolls
Kona Calamari
Chicken satay
Pot Stickers
 Shrimp Tempura Naruto Roll And Bama Roll
Yamada Roll, Checkerboard Roll And Fiery Shrimp Roll
Sushi Sampler
Pad Thai
Sushi Rolls
Margarita Pizza
Sashimi Flight
Philadelphia Roll

Kona Grill - Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sort By:
Newest
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

their pasta shrimp dish was to die for a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

their pasta shrimp dish was to die for and is very hardy...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't have the greatest experience. Ove ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Didn't have the greatest experience. Overall, overpriced for atmosphere and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I went to celebrate a friend's birthday. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I went to celebrate a friend's birthday. Everything was great. Our server was very attentive. I would recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We pick Kona Grill often for business lu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We pick Kona Grill often for business lunches, the food and atmosphere are great, location is convenient and the service is always good. Can't go wrong here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the atmosphere were very ni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and the atmosphere were very nice. The waiter that served our party of 8 was a little slow and had to be reminded of several items throughout the evening. We asked a waiter passing our table after our waiter went MIA for a bit to take our group photo and he was a little perturbed despite the fact that the restaurant was NOT busy...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was good, restaurant is beautifu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Service was good, restaurant is beautiful, but the calamari was dry and flavorless. This is not a deal breaker thought. This restaurants happy hour is very nice and food is good. One complain from one experience does not define this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Sangria was good. Sushi was sub-par. Sal ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sangria was good. Sushi was sub-par. Salmon sushi and spicy tuna sushi appeared to be ground up fish without a lot of flavor. The outside is nice. The drink prices are good. The food is ok.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for Sushi, nice location, outstand ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great for Sushi, nice location, outstanding service, enjoyable experience. Geno was a knowledgeable and very professional and personable waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined there after a movie at a fairly ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We dined there after a movie at a fairly early hour on a Saturday evening and the food was delicious and the service was very good and very attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overallfoodwasgretabutservicereallylpwer ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overallfoodwasgretabutservicereallylpwerourexpectations

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Awesome spot and is great for any day of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Awesome spot and is great for any day of the week.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm sorry I would not recommend this pla ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I'm sorry I would not recommend this place to anyone. We were seated near the kitchen across from the sushi bar and on the kitchen windows there were tons of flies. We were completely annoyed the food was not even hot when it was brought to our table. Our waitress didn't have a clue on recommending any good meals and she doesn't eat there and kept disappearing. What a disappointing evening, we couldn't wait to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I came to Kona for my birthday with my f ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I came to Kona for my birthday with my family. The service was spectacular, and the restaurant wasn't crowded or noisy. We went on a Saturday afternoon. I ordered the dragon roll; it was delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to just about anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place was amazing from start to fin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This place was amazing from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Happy Hour and great dishes! O ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent Happy Hour and great dishes! One of those places that you can go and consistently have a good meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for my wife's birthday. She love ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. She loved the food, service, environment, friendly and helpful waitress . It was mid afternoon and it was perfect for us. Yes we will tell friends about our experience there. Thank you!

We like the food so much we would like to let the chef knows, it was exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for our 40th wedding annivers ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went there for our 40th wedding anniversary. Very nice experience. Sea bass was the HIGHLIGHT, it was AWESOME!!!! Had fn

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was ok. There were two very large g ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was ok. There were two very large groups there, so it was extremely loud and everyone who wasn't a part of the groups had their food delayed. It took over a half hour just to get drinks and another half hour to get appetizers. Food was ok, nothing special to write about. We expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Average exp. There was fly on wine and w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Average exp. There was fly on wine and waitress was not much worried and said one mechanical apology.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Appetizer: potstickers, were just ok not ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Appetizer: potstickers, were just ok not that impressed. Dinner: I had the macadamia nut covered chicken, huge amounts of food. Delicious! My fiancée had the lobster Mac and cheese and it was literally only a side portion. Loved the butter cake for dessert. Overall, was very happy with our decision to try this place will definetly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

really loud and slow kitchen. Took well ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

really loud and slow kitchen. Took well over an hour to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great socializing restaurant!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Friendly staff. Great food options and happy hour selections. Would recommend this restaurant to friends who travel to the Tampa area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, with some ambiance things to make it better

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Overall, no big complaints. Areas of improvement all have to do with the sunlight shining into the place in the late afternoon / early evening. Bar area is too bright, and the sun makes it warm in that area. Sitting at a booth in the center, the sun was shining through the windows and blinding my table for about 15 minutes at a certain point. Beyond the sunlight and the indoor temperature, the sushi was very fresh and the steak was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We ordered our appetizer and before we e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We ordered our appetizer and before we even had a chance to touch it another waiter came out with all of our meals. Then the waitress came and cleared 2 of our parties plates while the other was still finishing her dinner and asked for dessert orders. It seemed as though they were rushing us to get out from the moment we got there. Food was good and the waitress was nice but service all of the food at once and asking for dessert orders before the entire table is finished is not proper dinner etiquette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great first visit.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose the Kona Grill for a large group of family from age 10 to 90 to celebrate a HS graduation. The service was impeccable, the ambiance perfect and the food delicious. Everyone was thrilled.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality and generous portions ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent quality and generous portions make Kona a favorite spot. The kids meals are fun and plentiful so my kids enjoy everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We got there at 5:30. We were given a c ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We got there at 5:30. We were given a choice of Happy Hour in the bar/outside area or sitting in the dining room. Unfortunately, happy hour drink/food specials are only in the bar. This was disappointing.

The pot stickers had stuffing that (I swear) had the texture and flavor of Cat Food. Their Jambalaya has plenty of "heat", but the pieces are cut a little to small. The highlight of the meal was the Brisket Burger with Bacon Jam. Unfortunately it's only on the "Seasonal" Menu, so it might not be there unless you hurry. It should be a permanent item on the menu.

While the ambiance is nice -- its sort of dark.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great. Service was incredibly b ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great. Service was incredibly bad. Completely disappointing

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Always great service and ambiance at Kon ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always great service and ambiance at Kona Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent lunch

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was outstanding. Strangely, the red wine by the glass came out warm, almost like a cup of tea that had been sitting out for a little while, hotter than room temperature. We found out that the chiller was broken, a surprise to our server, and they chilled the glasses after that. Otherwise, a great time and the food was terrific. Being able to head to Davidoff afterward for a cigar tied the package together.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food with great atmosphere

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had dinner reservations and when we arrived, we were promptly seated. Our waitress took our order right away. Nice atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Outside bar area was busy. Would definately eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Family Night ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Outstanding sushi, sashimi and rolls. Very large selection and discernible quality. Quiet, 1/4 full dining room on a Monday. Our service was outstanding. We ordered across the menu. Sea Bass and Mahi Mahi were highlights. Wine list could be more extensive, but good values.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I took a friend of mine to Kona for the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I took a friend of mine to Kona for the first time. She has recently started eating sushi and knew she would love it there. It was delicious as always. Not busy for a Friday night though, which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was absolutely exceptional. They were very Friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food tasty, old lunch specials were better

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

As always the food is tasty. I often visit Kona on work lunches. I enjoyed there old lunch special menu better and better value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Would not return

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Husband order a Cuban - burnt fries it wasn't even a half of a Cuban - coconut sushi missing shrimp- the drinks had so much ice the liquor was watered down-

Burger had no seasoning didn't even eat it. Over priced for the Quality of food. Was very disappointed as I picked this place for my birthday dinner. My friends and family said they would not go back. We were a party of 8

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Very good!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food & happy hour!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

BBQ chicken flatbread , macadamia nut salad, Moscow mules, paid Thai, and Snickers pie were amount the items we tried and all were delicious! My husband & I both had leftovers to take home! Great service, beautiful outdoor area, great happy hour options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I come here all the time with friends & ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I come here all the time with friends & family and it's always great!! Love Kona Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.