About Kona Grill - El Paso

8889 Gateway Blvd West
#1740
El Paso, TX 79925
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Angus Steaks, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11a-10p
Thurs - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Hawkins Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 249-3803

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/el-paso-tx.aspx

Executive Chef:
Anthony Aveces

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - El Paso, El Paso, TX
Kona Grill - El Paso, El Paso, TX

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards
holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Kona Grill is open during Christmas Eve! We've got it covered so you can enjoy holiday cheer and celebrate this time of year with your loved ones.
*store hours vary. check your local kona grill for dining hours.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM
holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

It's our favorite time of the year! From now until New Year's Eve, for every $100 you spend on gift cards you'll receive a $20 bonus card!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Kona Grill - El Paso Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service. Didn't have a ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service. Didn't have a long wait and our server did an excellent job..

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome! For a busy Friday ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was awesome! For a busy Friday night, service was good. Very friendly wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a business lunch and the variety of ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had a business lunch and the variety of food available was great. Made a reservation and were seated as soon as we got there. The service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

PROS: The food was delicious, with prop ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

PROS: The food was delicious, with proper sized portions (not bite sized and not overwhelmingly large) and lots of flavor. We at across the menu, from sushi, to salads, to pad thai to a sandwich. All was tasty, well prepared, and beautifully served. Our waiter was contiencious and kept our glasses filled, without being overly hovering. Price was about average, or perhaps a little bit more than average, but the food was worth it. Their cocktail menu is thoughtful and fun...with the drinks being well prepared and balanced. The decor is unique and fun, with a flair for the tropical and oceanic. Enjoyed several of the prints and the fish tank especially.

CONS: This restaurant has the open floor plans that are super popular right now, with the equal amounts of noise, from both the kitchen and the clientele. The loudly laughing female diner 4 tables away from me seemed to be laughing right in my ear, as there was nothing within the restaurant to provide the needed sound diminshment to quiet her cackles. So not a place for a quiet romantic dinner, or, IMHO even an important business meeting, as the noise levels preclude any ability to have meaningful conversation without shouting. The tables are also set up a bit close, so you overhear a lot of conversation around you fairly easily.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We truly enjoyed ourselves. Your staff ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We truly enjoyed ourselves. Your staff was wonderful. Thank You.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere was worth the pr ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere was worth the price however our experience was downplayed by the terrible service. Our server had no sense of urgency or attention to her tables.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

No complaints whatsoever! Keep the momen ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

No complaints whatsoever! Keep the momentum going!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

made a reservation the day before, someo ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 29, 2016

made a reservation the day before, someone from the restaurant called in the a.m. the day of to confirm reservation and we still had to wait for them to 'get the table set up' when we arrived...no point in making a reservation

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tonight was our very first time here and ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Tonight was our very first time here and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality service and excellent food we had. We made a reservation for my birthday dinner. Our waiter was very courteous during the entire experience although he did take a bit long to come back and take our order he apologized and sent us home with not one but TWO slices of carrot cake for the inconvenience. Thanks to Rob for taking care of us and being so friendly. The food was excellent. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent restaurant with qualit ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall excellent restaurant with quality food and great service. This is my 2nd time being there and would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aways good service and excellent food. G ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Aways good service and excellent food. Generous portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would try one more time before I really ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Would try one more time before I really tell my friends about it. The waiter did attend to our drinks quickly, but food and bill were slow. Will try again to see if same issue exists or if it was a fluke.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Vegan, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food in a great location. We sat o ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food in a great location. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the cool breeze and listened to a live band that was playing in the common area. Only improvement could be the service. It wasn't terrible, but there were several times we were looking around for our waitress to refill our drinks.

If you don't like sushi they have many other great options such as their burgers, sandwiches, and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Hostess was very accommodating. Kevin, o ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Hostess was very accommodating. Kevin, our server, was exemplary!! Overall a very enjoyable experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have to admit. I was pleasantly surprise ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have to admit. I was pleasantly surprised. I'm used to disappointment with El Paso restaurants, even when they get good reviews.

Food was actually very good and service was nice.

It was a bit like dining on the West coast and I'll be recommending Kona Grill!

My companions felt like some of the drinks were on the weak side, though. Gotta watch that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Athan provided excellent serv ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server Athan provided excellent service. Although the restaurant was busy, he never made us wait or feel like we were a bother, he had a great sense of humor and was very attentive to our dining needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place. Good food. Appropriate for f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice place. Good food. Appropriate for families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were unfortunately seated near the ki ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were unfortunately seated near the kitchen which had a venting problem. During our entire stay we were treated to smoky air from the grill. Our waitress was very slow even though the restaurant was not crowded and the food was mediocre. I heard good things about this restaurant but that afternoon it was fairly poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great restaurant, great food, just the n ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great restaurant, great food, just the noise level was too high, the restaurant could need some acoustic panels :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was so-so; expensive, but sushi was ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was so-so; expensive, but sushi was great and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent sea bass with an Asian flare, ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent sea bass with an Asian flare, including fried rice and sautéed vegetables. Calamari also good; sushi okay. Limited, but interesting wine options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When I arrived I told the hostess that I ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 11, 2016

When I arrived I told the hostess that I had a reservation and she replied with we don't have a reservation at the moment. I then asked well can you accommodate with a booth and stated that all booths were full. I was getting really upset with the service because I had already showed her the confirmation code and an email stating I had a reservation. Frustrated with the service I sat down with my dinner date at a random spot in front of the sushi bar and when finally a waiter came to ask for our drinks I told him if we could sit at a booth because we had a reservation. If it wasn't for the waiter having found us a booth I probably would of left. But as soon as we sat down we had the best drinks and food this city could have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A birthday, a new job & an early retirement

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 10, 2016

This review might sound really negative. Overall, however, our experience was very good!

We were a group of ten [industry] coworkers gathering to celebrate three events (see title). Although we requested the patio to take advantage of happy hour (HH) pricing on apps and drinks Kona's policy for the patio is first-come, first-served. Although I arrived at 4:00pm, since it was a Friday, the patio was already packed. So, in adhering to Kona's policy of we will not seat you until 75% of your party is present the early arrivals started with cocktails at the bar. I took the initiative to notify the hostess when we had 7 people present so that she could set-up a table for 10. It took a while for the bartender to close out our tabs so that we could move into the restaurant. The server was both friendly and accommodating. Both the food and the ambiance were fantastic! Just before we were paying-out (separate tabs) I ordered a round of shots. For the last round, and to get all of our dinner checks, seemed to take an inordinate amount of time. Nevertheless, I would recommend Kona to anyone wanting haute cuisine in an energetic environment with decent service. Cheers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Awesome place

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a great place to find decent sushi in El Paso. Food was great and drinks but our server seemed to disappear from time to time for long periods. I also ordered edamame that was never brought out...but overall great place to eat and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Air Conditioning much too cold and very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Air Conditioning much too cold and very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Not what expected

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was not good at all, I get better sushi at the Chinese buffet. Service wasn't great, they didn't check in on us often. My boyfriend said he has eaten at several know grills in different cities and the one in El Paso was by far terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great Dinner

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Visited here a few times. Sat at the bar inside. Good service. Had the salad which was fantastic and had some sushi/sashimi and also fabulous! Service was great and food wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun restaurant with good food, don't get sushi

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Kona Grill has a vibrant bar, nice cocktails and good food. Try a dinner salad over the sushi. The pizza oven was broken when we went in May. Service is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the atmosphere, drink choices, an ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the atmosphere, drink choices, and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Jelly

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 29, 2016

My salmon was prepared just right. The flavor was awesome. Sushi for appetizers were delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is great. Service overall fair. Food fair.

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Place and ambiance were great. Service was fair. Drinks and food took too long to arrive. Food itself was fair as well. Not worth the money we paid. I was a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was outstanding. A huge impr ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The service was outstanding. A huge improvement from previous outings. New menu items were available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They changed they're menu and discontinu ...

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 11, 2016

They changed they're menu and discontinued their Hawaiian rib eye. Very disappointed in the steaks now offered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Love the food!

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 7, 2016

This is the second time we came here. It's because we love the food. But what I don't understand is why we can't have the price of happy hour for selected appetizer in the dining area. Would probably take a while again for us to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good experience

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 1, 2016

The Macadamia Nut Chicken is always great. Prices good for a business dinner as well as a family. Fountains at Farrah is a nice location for this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced for the taste. My ch ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was overpriced for the taste. My chicken and broccoli was the worse I have ever had any where. I couldn't even finish it. It was so hot and spicy and tasteless. My husband took there for a date night. We spent a lot of money for tasteless food. Will never go there again. Waste of money and drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Dinner at Kona

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and courteous.

My wife and I had a very nice and romantic dinner.

Enjoyed our evening very much...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good but overpriced...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall experience was okay.. My husband was not happy with his ribeye steak.. It was hard to cut and very fatty.. I enjoyed my Macadamian nut chicken. The atmosphere was okay but we sat next to the kitchen where it was awkward having a young girl rolling silverware right next to us...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not impressed

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was so-so not as great as I expected for such a popular place. The food was ok, but nothing that I would select again. They did have a kid friendly menu which I was happy with, but overall I would not rush back to eat here. The server I had was not too friendly or personable. The manager came around and greeted us. I felt like we were being rushed out so they could seat the other guests who were standing around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not romantic at all only good for groups

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Very disappointed got sat next to a huge party of 20 on a date

Night not cool also parents were letting those kids runaround and we had a sitter not what I expected

Will go on happy hour instead

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.