About Kona Grill - El Paso

8889 Gateway Blvd West
#1740
El Paso, TX 79925
View Larger Map

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Angus Steaks, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed: 11a-10p
Thurs - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Hawkins Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 249-3803

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/el-paso-tx.aspx

Executive Chef:
Anthony Aveces

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - El Paso
Kona Grill - El Paso

Kona Grill - El Paso Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

great for outdoor dining (14)
good for groups (12)
special occasion (10)
See All
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (9)
fit for foodies (6)
romantic (6)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Food was so-so; expensive, but sushi was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was so-so; expensive, but sushi was great and service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent sea bass with an Asian flare, ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent sea bass with an Asian flare, including fried rice and sautéed vegetables. Calamari also good; sushi okay. Limited, but interesting wine options.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

When I arrived I told the hostess that I ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

When I arrived I told the hostess that I had a reservation and she replied with we don't have a reservation at the moment. I then asked well can you accommodate with a booth and stated that all booths were full. I was getting really upset with the service because I had already showed her the confirmation code and an email stating I had a reservation. Frustrated with the service I sat down with my dinner date at a random spot in front of the sushi bar and when finally a waiter came to ask for our drinks I told him if we could sit at a booth because we had a reservation. If it wasn't for the waiter having found us a booth I probably would of left. But as soon as we sat down we had the best drinks and food this city could have.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A birthday, a new job & an early retirement

Dined on June 10, 2016

This review might sound really negative. Overall, however, our experience was very good! We were a group of ten [industry] coworkers gathering to celebrate three events (see title). Although we requested the patio to take advantage of happy hour (HH) pricing on apps and drinks Kona's policy for the patio is first-come, first-served. Although I arrived at 4:00pm, since it was a Friday, the patio was already packed. So, in adhering to Kona's policy of we will not seat you until 75% of your party is present the early arrivals started with cocktails at the bar. I took the initiative to notify the hostess when we had 7 people present so that she could set-up a table for 10. It took a while for the bartender to close out our tabs so that we could move into the restaurant. The server was both friendly and accommodating. Both the food and the ambiance were fantastic! Just before we were paying-out (separate tabs) I ordered a round of shots. For the last round, and to get all of our dinner checks, seemed to take an inordinate amount of time. Nevertheless, I would recommend Kona to anyone wanting haute cuisine in an energetic environment with decent service. Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome place

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a great place to find decent sushi in El Paso. Food was great and drinks but our server seemed to disappear from time to time for long periods. I also ordered edamame that was never brought out...but overall great place to eat and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Air Conditioning much too cold and very ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Air Conditioning much too cold and very uncomfortable.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Not what expected

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was not good at all, I get better sushi at the Chinese buffet. Service wasn't great, they didn't check in on us often. My boyfriend said he has eaten at several know grills in different cities and the one in El Paso was by far terrible

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Visited here a few times. Sat at the bar inside. Good service. Had the salad which was fantastic and had some sushi/sashimi and also fabulous! Service was great and food wonderful!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun restaurant with good food, don't get sushi

Dined on May 4, 2016

Kona Grill has a vibrant bar, nice cocktails and good food. Try a dinner salad over the sushi. The pizza oven was broken when we went in May. Service is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

I love the atmosphere, drink choices, an ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love the atmosphere, drink choices, and food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jelly

Dined on April 29, 2016

My salmon was prepared just right. The flavor was awesome. Sushi for appetizers were delicious

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Place is great. Service overall fair. Food fair.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Place and ambiance were great. Service was fair. Drinks and food took too long to arrive. Food itself was fair as well. Not worth the money we paid. I was a little disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding. A huge impr ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The service was outstanding. A huge improvement from previous outings. New menu items were available.

food1
ambience3
service4

They changed they're menu and discontinu ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

They changed they're menu and discontinued their Hawaiian rib eye. Very disappointed in the steaks now offered!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the food!

Dined on March 7, 2016

This is the second time we came here. It's because we love the food. But what I don't understand is why we can't have the price of happy hour for selected appetizer in the dining area. Would probably take a while again for us to be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good experience

Dined on March 1, 2016

The Macadamia Nut Chicken is always great. Prices good for a business dinner as well as a family. Fountains at Farrah is a nice location for this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was overpriced for the taste. My ch ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was overpriced for the taste. My chicken and broccoli was the worse I have ever had any where. I couldn't even finish it. It was so hot and spicy and tasteless. My husband took there for a date night. We spent a lot of money for tasteless food. Will never go there again. Waste of money and drive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Kona

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and courteous. My wife and I had a very nice and romantic dinner. Enjoyed our evening very much...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food is good but overpriced...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall experience was okay.. My husband was not happy with his ribeye steak.. It was hard to cut and very fatty.. I enjoyed my Macadamian nut chicken. The atmosphere was okay but we sat next to the kitchen where it was awkward having a young girl rolling silverware right next to us...

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not impressed

Dined on February 6, 2016

The service was so-so not as great as I expected for such a popular place. The food was ok, but nothing that I would select again. They did have a kid friendly menu which I was happy with, but overall I would not rush back to eat here. The server I had was not too friendly or personable. The manager came around and greeted us. I felt like we were being rushed out so they could seat the other guests who were standing around.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Not romantic at all only good for groups

Dined on January 24, 2016

Very disappointed got sat next to a huge party of 20 on a date Night not cool also parents were letting those kids runaround and we had a sitter not what I expected Will go on happy hour instead

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I will never return

Dined on January 23, 2016

I was over charged on my bill, but didn't notice until the next day. Service was sub par as was the food. I expected more for $100 dinner, but this left a lot to be desired!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor overall

Dined on January 14, 2016

Staff did not know the menu, brought hot tea with no hot water in kettle. Stir fry dish was over cooked and dry and had no flavor. Had to keep asking for refills on drinks. The name KONA is Hawaiian and there was nothing Hawaiian about this place. Will not return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appreciated service and quality

Dined on January 1, 2016

I had been to kona grill quite a few times yet this was the first time I made a reservation for a group of 10 people for NYE. It was an convenient and quick reservation, the hostess confirmed my reservation and was very helpful. The day of the reservation the hostess was clear about the availability of my reservation and even followed up with me when our table was ready. Our server was apt and accommodating. The food has always been on point and I simply love going to this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

dissapointed

Dined on December 30, 2015

We made reservations to celebrate our anniversary. Although we were seated quickly, the ambiance wasn't what it used to be. The fireplace was off even though it was very cold outside, and the food was average. Dinner at Kona has been our anniversary tradition since it opened here, unfortunately we may have to find a new tradition.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable atmosphere

Dined on December 26, 2015

I had the lettuce wraps which were fabulous. One of our party had the Chef salad [called something else]. She said it was delicious. Another person had the shrimp and macadamia nut encrusted chicken tacos and she had a problem. The chicken taco was great but her 2 tacos that were supposed to be shrimp were something else, not quite sure what it was, but they replaced the mystery tacos with shrimp tacos that were very good and took her lunch off the bill. We had a great time and the service was wonderful,

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

service was average at best

Dined on December 19, 2015

For the amount we spent that night we have higher expectations for service. We prefer to have 1 server but diff people came to our table. We had to keep asking for things.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Baby shower dinner

Dined on December 16, 2015

This was a surprise dinner for a dear friend coming in from out of town. She loved the food, ambiance and service was amazing. We brought in balloons and a cake, and it was ok. We really appreciate it. We were a group of 6 indecisive women, but our waitress was patient and got our order perfectly. She also helped with all the pictures she took for us. It was a great evening. Will definitely be back over and over and share the word that you guys are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Grad Celebration

Dined on December 12, 2015

We were celebrating a graduation and everything was perfect!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here!!!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

This please is BEAUTIFUL, is so so nice. I love the customer service they provide you, they make you feel VIP all the time. I have to recommend KONA GRILL with a 5 star award.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious but the service w ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

The food was delicious but the service was a bit overwhelmed with so many people. My waiter was very attentive but he himself needed help attending some tables.

food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food. Cocktails are below par

Dined on October 1, 2015

Kona grill has an excellent menu and I have to admit that the food there was excellent... We took several appetizers and entrees and put all on te table for all to share... Great food... In fact: excellent food... Pass on the cocktails or stick to wine though...

food4
ambience5
service5

Really nice vibe, great outdoor seating

Dined on August 22, 2015

I went here for lunch, finding it on Open Table and it was close to my hotel. It was Saturday at 12:30 and I was seated right away. They were nice enough to charge my phone. My water was never empty and they they never rushed me but always made sure I was taken care of. I got a sushi roll and cerviche, which was very good, but I wouldn't say outstanding. The price tag is a bit steep considering it's El Paso (similar to the prices I'm use to in Chicago), but maybe that's just my perception since everything else seems so much cheaper than in Chicago.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Good overall

Dined on August 18, 2015

The atmosphere and service was really great. We ordered the cheese fondue appetizer and loved it with the pretzel bites, though we didn't think apples fit with the dish at all. I got the shrimp/lemon cream penne dish and did not like it at all. It was far too spicy (even for El Paso), and otherwise flavorless. The only hint of lemon in the dish was the two slices of lemon on top. However, dragon roll was very good. I would bet most of the food is better than the penne, so I'd definitely go back to try more. Great restaurant overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place Great Menu

Dined on August 13, 2015

This is a great place to eat when everyone wants to eat something different. The menu is very diverse and has everything from Sushi to Cuban Sandwiches or Pizzas or even steaks. The great this is they do it all well. Also great place to grab a drink after work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Good Food, Great Environment must go at least once

Dined on August 6, 2015

Great environment and nice vibe. Service was on point and food was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great management

Dined on August 1, 2015

It was a Friday night & my wife & I needed a night out for dinner, so I reserved a table at Kona Grill, knowing it would be busy. My reservation was made for 7:30 and we arrived at 7:40 and were told that the table reservations were running a little behind, we were then given a pager and waited in the waiting area. I knew this could happen and was ok with it since it was a Friday night and everyone would be out having dinner. First the female manager visited us within 5-10 minutes of learning of our situation and was very apologetic and told us that we would be the first to be seated once a table was available. We waited about 15 minutes more and were sat at a table. The Male manager, I believe his name was Jason, also came to our table and apologized for the delay in getting seated and offered us a complimentary appetizer. We enjoyed the service and the great food, and just though that the management recognizing that they were a little busy and behind just made the night even better. It's the small things like this that make us enjoy our evenings at Kona Grill every time we visit for dinner. Dinner was great, Sushi was great, Drinks were great... Thanks!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating

Dined on June 28, 2015

One of our party ordered the Jambalaya, being in El Paso, we are all used to food with a kick, but it was way too spicy! Our waitress, switched it out for the awesome Macadamia Nut Chicken, with no questions are complaints. We were given just the right amount of attention, without, so much that we felt our conversations interupted.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Kona is splashing at the fountains!

Dined on June 14, 2015

Kona has really good food and bar scene. It is a bit expensive but the flavors are worth the $$

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Graduation dinner

Dined on June 14, 2015

Nice location for a celebration dinner. Tasty food, abiet a little overpriced. Personally, I don't think any authentic sushi should have cream cheese in it, nor should it have an overwhelming amount of rice comparatively. Spider roll and Catapillar roll was tasty. Pad Thai was a bit sweet and spicy Server was mostly very attentive, but sometimes would walk by the table and completely ignore me trying to get his attention. Table was also placed directly under vent and spent the entire evening with cold air blowing in my face - which was quite uncomfortable.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.