Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Kona Grill - El Paso

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Angus Steaks, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

8889 Gateway Blvd West
#1740
El Paso, TX 79925
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thur: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p

Cross Street:
Hawkins Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 249-3803

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/el-paso-tx.aspx

Executive Chef:
Anthony Aveces

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Kona Grill is the place to celebrate with modern twists on classic south of the border favorites. Join us for happy hour on May 5th and enjoy our famous margaritas or taco trio.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 12:30PM 4:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 12:30PM 4:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Kona Grill - El Paso Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good food but service could be better. Have been here on 4 different occasions and each time there was some kind of issue. (Slow service, forgetful staff, not having wines offered available, broken cappuccino machine).

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was very excited to go to Kona Grill. I had heard many good things and had high hopes for this place. I made the reservation to insure we could get a table because it was my husbands birthday and we were celebrating. I was terribly disappointed. The service was terrible and the food was bland. I ordered tea to be told there wasn't any available. Then tried ordering a cocktail to be told the same thing. Tried asking the server what to get since we had never been there but they were not helpful. The place wasn't even full. It ruined our evening and we'll probably never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Party of twelve was accommodated and staff was very attentive as we celebrated a family reunion. Good and drinks were above expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Bar and waiters are always slow, which I have only experienced at the El Paso location. The wait staff is usually very nice but always end up having to wait for drinks and waiters to come to table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A+ atmosphere A+ food. Great date location. Just a little disappointed that a reservation for two had us end up right in front of the door of the main entrance. At least we got to check out the fish.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Reservations were made two weeks prior, with a booth requested. Show up and placed at a table, not a booth. After ten minutes in a restaurant that while busy, was not packed or full, our waiter finally walks up, and with no introduction of himself takes out order. We have been going to Kona for the last three years, and have almost always had wonderful service and a great time, but lately it seems like it is on the decline. Service has gradually decreased, the food is not as good as two years ago, and the entire atmosphere has changed from open and welcoming to a cold and business-like feeling.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed my friends bday dinner. Drinks amd food were extremely pricey but we all enjoyed the atmosphere and company.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I reserved a table for Valentine's Day dinner. Having a reservation certainly helped us get seated as soon as we walked into the restaurant. The waitress was pleasant and very helpful. She has a bubbly spirit that resonated when serving our table. I would recommend her for any dinning experience. She was knowledgeable and humble in her delivery. The food was of adequate portions, warm and tasty. I've never heard of lobster with Macaroni and Cheese. My girlfriend ordered this plate. She thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant and good service. I tried the macadamia chicken and it's excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The bar was backed up so it took awhile to get our drinks. We were also next to the kitchen so it was pretty loud.

We used the Open Table site to make reservations which I hadn't done before but liked.

The food was great and so was the actual server. I've come here multiple times but this was the first time it wasn't great overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great Happy Hour specials on appetizers and drinks, very attentive staff and they make a great Old Fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Waitress took excellent care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Restaurant very nice, food delicious good quality, went for friends birthday made
a reservation when we got there no one new about reservation, friends whom recommended this restaurant called the restaurant to see if anything could be done for the birthday person and no one or anything was ever mentioned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Horrible experience, will not be coming back. The waiter was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went to have their appetizers and a few adult beverages. For the price and choices, you can't beat Kona!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I began with the Taco Trio which was great. The pulled pork one was my favorite so, I'd save that one for last. I then continued with the Kona Churrasco Steak which was good. Others at the table had the Pepperoni Flat Bread and their Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin. We then finished off with their massive Carrot Cake and amazing Seasonal Pumpkin Parfait. They should make it permanent or a version of it because it was amazing.

The service was great as was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For the first time, me and my wife had an amazing New Year dinner at Kona grill.
The waiters / waitresses where very proper and informed about their menu.
It was a bit nosey, but hey it easy New Years, we all get nosey for that day.
And the food was just fantastic. If I had all the money in the world I would eat there every day.
Overall : it's a great place to take your love ones and friends, and have a nice conversational talk with your fancy meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent as well as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 31, 2016

End of year lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I ordered the pad Thai and although it tasted authentic it was so very overpriced. I have traveled to Thailand many times and for that , I could get four plates of pad Thai in Thailand! I would be nice if there were a few items on the menu that were not so high priced for budget minded individuals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first visit and will go again. Not a once a week type of place but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A bit pricey for the portion. Very friendly service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very good moderate price restaurant. Sea Bass was very good. Btw, one piece of carrot cake was enough for three people and was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food, great service. Didn't have a long wait and our server did an excellent job..

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was awesome! For a busy Friday night, service was good. Very friendly wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had a business lunch and the variety of food available was great. Made a reservation and were seated as soon as we got there. The service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on November 4, 2016

PROS: The food was delicious, with proper sized portions (not bite sized and not overwhelmingly large) and lots of flavor. We at across the menu, from sushi, to salads, to pad thai to a sandwich. All was tasty, well prepared, and beautifully served. Our waiter was contiencious and kept our glasses filled, without being overly hovering. Price was about average, or perhaps a little bit more than average, but the food was worth it. Their cocktail menu is thoughtful and fun...with the drinks being well prepared and balanced. The decor is unique and fun, with a flair for the tropical and oceanic. Enjoyed several of the prints and the fish tank especially.

CONS: This restaurant has the open floor plans that are super popular right now, with the equal amounts of noise, from both the kitchen and the clientele. The loudly laughing female diner 4 tables away from me seemed to be laughing right in my ear, as there was nothing within the restaurant to provide the needed sound diminshment to quiet her cackles. So not a place for a quiet romantic dinner, or, IMHO even an important business meeting, as the noise levels preclude any ability to have meaningful conversation without shouting. The tables are also set up a bit close, so you overhear a lot of conversation around you fairly easily.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great sushi, wonderful environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We truly enjoyed ourselves. Your staff was wonderful. Thank You.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food and atmosphere was worth the price however our experience was downplayed by the terrible service. Our server had no sense of urgency or attention to her tables.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 16, 2016

No complaints whatsoever! Keep the momentum going!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 29, 2016

made a reservation the day before, someone from the restaurant called in the a.m. the day of to confirm reservation and we still had to wait for them to 'get the table set up' when we arrived...no point in making a reservation

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Tonight was our very first time here and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality service and excellent food we had. We made a reservation for my birthday dinner. Our waiter was very courteous during the entire experience although he did take a bit long to come back and take our order he apologized and sent us home with not one but TWO slices of carrot cake for the inconvenience. Thanks to Rob for taking care of us and being so friendly. The food was excellent. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall excellent restaurant with quality food and great service. This is my 2nd time being there and would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Aways good service and excellent food. Generous portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Would try one more time before I really tell my friends about it. The waiter did attend to our drinks quickly, but food and bill were slow. Will try again to see if same issue exists or if it was a fluke.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Vegan, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food in a great location. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the cool breeze and listened to a live band that was playing in the common area. Only improvement could be the service. It wasn't terrible, but there were several times we were looking around for our waitress to refill our drinks.

If you don't like sushi they have many other great options such as their burgers, sandwiches, and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Hostess was very accommodating. Kevin, our server, was exemplary!! Overall a very enjoyable experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have to admit. I was pleasantly surprised. I'm used to disappointment with El Paso restaurants, even when they get good reviews.
Food was actually very good and service was nice.
It was a bit like dining on the West coast and I'll be recommending Kona Grill!

My companions felt like some of the drinks were on the weak side, though. Gotta watch that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.