Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Kona Grill - El Paso

Welcome to Kona Grill El Paso at The Fountains at Farah. Enjoy your local paradise after a long day at work or day of shopping. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful shaded patio is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

8889 Gateway Blvd West
#1740
El Paso, TX 79925
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thur: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p

Cross Street:
Hawkins Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 249-3803

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/el-paso-tx.aspx

Executive Chef:
Anthony Aveces

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Specials

holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Seasonal Menu

Special valid Nov 29, 2017 - Jan 7, 2018 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore

Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

It's our favorite time of the year! From now until New Year's Eve, for every $50 you spend on gift cards you'll receive a $10 bonus card!. Excludes Tax and Tip. available in each restaurant and online at konagrill.com. Special valid Nov 13, 2017 - Dec 31, 2017 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Seasonal Menu

Special valid Nov 29, 2017 - Jan 7, 2018 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Kona Grill's new seasonal menu full of fresh, new items you're sure to love. Try them all before they're gone! Menu items: Beef Tostadas, Sebastian Roll w/ soft shell shrimp & king crab, Filet Oscar, Pumpkin Ginger Cake, & a seasonal cocktail. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2017 - Jan 7, 2018 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore

Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

Complimentary Appetizer When You Become A Konavore. Excludes Tax and Tip. appetizer up to a $12 value. join here: http://www.konagrill.com/join-konavore. Special valid Jan 8, 2018 - May 8, 2018 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Kona Grill - El Paso Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went for the hubbys birthday this last weekend. Food was delicious, very nice place. Waitress was a little off putting when we ordered 2 sushi rolls...she responded, "just two for the both of you? You're gonna need to order more." Upon receiving the sushi rolls I saw why but I found it rude the way she worded it. Other than that small thing it was a great place, I look forward to returning. We had the shrimp & lobster roll, plus the California roll. Pork sliders to finish if off. Delicious

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Totally love this place! The food is great and different, lot's of options. Awesome service, A++++

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Hot Spot, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Organic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was cold and very subpar not worth the money .. highly upset about this place especially reading alot of good review's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2017

I’m not sure it possible to slice fish carpaccio thin and call it sushi. Come on Kona, if your going to take advantage of us do it with cocktail cost not sushi prices for razor thin fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The waiter that night was very slow and inattentive. Bad service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 23, 2017

the last two times we have had bad experiences. Last night we waited for 30-40 minutes for drinks. they told us the bar was backed up. we went and found a manager and complained and the manager never came to check on us to see if we ever got our drinks. asked for soy sauce three times for edamame . when it came we had finished our edamame. my pizza was cold. had to ask for water refills. desert was fantastic. so sad to see the quality of food and service so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The atmosphere and food were exceptional. It took us a while to order, but the Michael, our waiter, never pressured us. He was thoroughly professional. Once we finally ordered, the two California rolls and seaweed salad were excellent. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was great. Server was a wealth of information and good advice. Went for a friend's birthday and had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

I have visited Kona Grill - El Paso several times and have always left the restaurant totally satisfied. Thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Smell of old fish I could be noticed as we entered. Service was good, but the plates were only OK, nothing that would make me go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The wife and I had our wedding anniversary there and it was wonderful. I had the Macadamia Nut Chicken and it was very flavorful. Our server was very attentive and was there when we needed her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I had been here before and ate the shushi which was great. This time I opted for a meal pan Thia
noodles it was also very tasty it is a large portion so I was able to share. Really like it here

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall pretty good. Pricey, but like most things in life, you get what you pay for...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was very good.
The waiters were way too cold and indifferent. I was very disappointed. Since the moment we entered the restaurant, the waiters and waitresses, ignored my friend and I completely. We were a little bit confused because it was the first time we visited the place and we didn't know if we had to wait to be seated or if we could get our own table. We had to look for a waiter that looked us in the eye and actually notice us to ask them for a table. Very very uncomfortable. I might not go back just because of the poor customer service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sushi didn't have much flavor which means the seafood was probably not the most fresh, but my wife really enjoyed the shrimp and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place. Good food just needs to rev up their service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Thank you to our waitress, Lety. it was a great 1St time experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lettuce wraps and chopped salad were great. Service was a bit lacking....apps came before drinks and server did not seem to know menu based on errors in what was ordered versus received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Have given it many chances.
Only getting worse each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good place to hang with a beautiful check.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Delicious! My son enjoyed the sushi and shashimi. I'm never disappointed when I go and recommend to anyone who enjoys seafood.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, good service, too noisy to hear the company.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food- sea bass, tuna, salmon - everyone's food was excellent. Early Mother's Day celebration. Was able to carry on a conversation without too much noise. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The breeze running through the restaurant was really nice. The food was terrible. Ordered the sea bass and everything tasted like oil. I couldn't eat the rice or vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place to grab a drink and have some excellent food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our first time here for our anniversary, it was awesome! Our waiter was wonderful and so attentive! Food and drinks delicious. We loved it and will be back for sure.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food but service could be better. Have been here on 4 different occasions and each time there was some kind of issue. (Slow service, forgetful staff, not having wines offered available, broken cappuccino machine).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I was very excited to go to Kona Grill. I had heard many good things and had high hopes for this place. I made the reservation to insure we could get a table because it was my husbands birthday and we were celebrating. I was terribly disappointed. The service was terrible and the food was bland. I ordered tea to be told there wasn't any available. Then tried ordering a cocktail to be told the same thing. Tried asking the server what to get since we had never been there but they were not helpful. The place wasn't even full. It ruined our evening and we'll probably never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Party of twelve was accommodated and staff was very attentive as we celebrated a family reunion. Good and drinks were above expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Bar and waiters are always slow, which I have only experienced at the El Paso location. The wait staff is usually very nice but always end up having to wait for drinks and waiters to come to table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A+ atmosphere A+ food. Great date location. Just a little disappointed that a reservation for two had us end up right in front of the door of the main entrance. At least we got to check out the fish.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Reservations were made two weeks prior, with a booth requested. Show up and placed at a table, not a booth. After ten minutes in a restaurant that while busy, was not packed or full, our waiter finally walks up, and with no introduction of himself takes out order. We have been going to Kona for the last three years, and have almost always had wonderful service and a great time, but lately it seems like it is on the decline. Service has gradually decreased, the food is not as good as two years ago, and the entire atmosphere has changed from open and welcoming to a cold and business-like feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed my friends bday dinner. Drinks amd food were extremely pricey but we all enjoyed the atmosphere and company.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My girlfriend and I reserved a table for Valentine's Day dinner. Having a reservation certainly helped us get seated as soon as we walked into the restaurant. The waitress was pleasant and very helpful. She has a bubbly spirit that resonated when serving our table. I would recommend her for any dinning experience. She was knowledgeable and humble in her delivery. The food was of adequate portions, warm and tasty. I've never heard of lobster with Macaroni and Cheese. My girlfriend ordered this plate. She thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant and good service. I tried the macadamia chicken and it's excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The bar was backed up so it took awhile to get our drinks. We were also next to the kitchen so it was pretty loud.

We used the Open Table site to make reservations which I hadn't done before but liked.

The food was great and so was the actual server. I've come here multiple times but this was the first time it wasn't great overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great Happy Hour specials on appetizers and drinks, very attentive staff and they make a great Old Fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Waitress took excellent care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.