Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 0.72mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Kona Grill - El Paso

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Angus Steaks, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill’s signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken.
Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

8889 Gateway Blvd West
#1740
El Paso, TX 79925
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sun - Thur: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p

Cross Street:
Hawkins Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 249-3803

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/el-paso-tx.aspx

Executive Chef:
Anthony Aveces

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wine

Kona Grill - El Paso Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall pretty good. Pricey, but like most things in life, you get what you pay for...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Thank you to our waitress, Lety. it was a great 1St time experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good place to hang with a beautiful check.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, good service, too noisy to hear the company.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good food- sea bass, tuna, salmon - everyone's food was excellent. Early Mother's Day celebration. Was able to carry on a conversation without too much noise. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great place to grab a drink and have some excellent food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our first time here for our anniversary, it was awesome! Our waiter was wonderful and so attentive! Food and drinks delicious. We loved it and will be back for sure.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Good food but service could be better. Have been here on 4 different occasions and each time there was some kind of issue. (Slow service, forgetful staff, not having wines offered available, broken cappuccino machine).

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was very excited to go to Kona Grill. I had heard many good things and had high hopes for this place. I made the reservation to insure we could get a table because it was my husbands birthday and we were celebrating. I was terribly disappointed. The service was terrible and the food was bland. I ordered tea to be told there wasn't any available. Then tried ordering a cocktail to be told the same thing. Tried asking the server what to get since we had never been there but they were not helpful. The place wasn't even full. It ruined our evening and we'll probably never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Party of twelve was accommodated and staff was very attentive as we celebrated a family reunion. Good and drinks were above expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A+ atmosphere A+ food. Great date location. Just a little disappointed that a reservation for two had us end up right in front of the door of the main entrance. At least we got to check out the fish.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Reservations were made two weeks prior, with a booth requested. Show up and placed at a table, not a booth. After ten minutes in a restaurant that while busy, was not packed or full, our waiter finally walks up, and with no introduction of himself takes out order. We have been going to Kona for the last three years, and have almost always had wonderful service and a great time, but lately it seems like it is on the decline. Service has gradually decreased, the food is not as good as two years ago, and the entire atmosphere has changed from open and welcoming to a cold and business-like feeling.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I reserved a table for Valentine's Day dinner. Having a reservation certainly helped us get seated as soon as we walked into the restaurant. The waitress was pleasant and very helpful. She has a bubbly spirit that resonated when serving our table. I would recommend her for any dinning experience. She was knowledgeable and humble in her delivery. The food was of adequate portions, warm and tasty. I've never heard of lobster with Macaroni and Cheese. My girlfriend ordered this plate. She thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant and good service. I tried the macadamia chicken and it's excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The bar was backed up so it took awhile to get our drinks. We were also next to the kitchen so it was pretty loud.

We used the Open Table site to make reservations which I hadn't done before but liked.

The food was great and so was the actual server. I've come here multiple times but this was the first time it wasn't great overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Waitress took excellent care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Restaurant very nice, food delicious good quality, went for friends birthday made
a reservation when we got there no one new about reservation, friends whom recommended this restaurant called the restaurant to see if anything could be done for the birthday person and no one or anything was ever mentioned.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Horrible experience, will not be coming back. The waiter was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I began with the Taco Trio which was great. The pulled pork one was my favorite so, I'd save that one for last. I then continued with the Kona Churrasco Steak which was good. Others at the table had the Pepperoni Flat Bread and their Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin. We then finished off with their massive Carrot Cake and amazing Seasonal Pumpkin Parfait. They should make it permanent or a version of it because it was amazing.

The service was great as was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For the first time, me and my wife had an amazing New Year dinner at Kona grill.
The waiters / waitresses where very proper and informed about their menu.
It was a bit nosey, but hey it easy New Years, we all get nosey for that day.
And the food was just fantastic. If I had all the money in the world I would eat there every day.
Overall : it's a great place to take your love ones and friends, and have a nice conversational talk with your fancy meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 31, 2016

End of year lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I ordered the pad Thai and although it tasted authentic it was so very overpriced. I have traveled to Thailand many times and for that , I could get four plates of pad Thai in Thailand! I would be nice if there were a few items on the menu that were not so high priced for budget minded individuals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first visit and will go again. Not a once a week type of place but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Very good moderate price restaurant. Sea Bass was very good. Btw, one piece of carrot cake was enough for three people and was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Great food, great service. Didn't have a long wait and our server did an excellent job..

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was awesome! For a busy Friday night, service was good. Very friendly wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had a business lunch and the variety of food available was great. Made a reservation and were seated as soon as we got there. The service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on November 4, 2016

PROS: The food was delicious, with proper sized portions (not bite sized and not overwhelmingly large) and lots of flavor. We at across the menu, from sushi, to salads, to pad thai to a sandwich. All was tasty, well prepared, and beautifully served. Our waiter was contiencious and kept our glasses filled, without being overly hovering. Price was about average, or perhaps a little bit more than average, but the food was worth it. Their cocktail menu is thoughtful and fun...with the drinks being well prepared and balanced. The decor is unique and fun, with a flair for the tropical and oceanic. Enjoyed several of the prints and the fish tank especially.

CONS: This restaurant has the open floor plans that are super popular right now, with the equal amounts of noise, from both the kitchen and the clientele. The loudly laughing female diner 4 tables away from me seemed to be laughing right in my ear, as there was nothing within the restaurant to provide the needed sound diminshment to quiet her cackles. So not a place for a quiet romantic dinner, or, IMHO even an important business meeting, as the noise levels preclude any ability to have meaningful conversation without shouting. The tables are also set up a bit close, so you overhear a lot of conversation around you fairly easily.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great sushi, wonderful environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We truly enjoyed ourselves. Your staff was wonderful. Thank You.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 29, 2016

made a reservation the day before, someone from the restaurant called in the a.m. the day of to confirm reservation and we still had to wait for them to 'get the table set up' when we arrived...no point in making a reservation

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall excellent restaurant with quality food and great service. This is my 2nd time being there and would definitely go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Would try one more time before I really tell my friends about it. The waiter did attend to our drinks quickly, but food and bill were slow. Will try again to see if same issue exists or if it was a fluke.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Vegan, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Hostess was very accommodating. Kevin, our server, was exemplary!! Overall a very enjoyable experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have to admit. I was pleasantly surprised. I'm used to disappointment with El Paso restaurants, even when they get good reviews.
Food was actually very good and service was nice.
It was a bit like dining on the West coast and I'll be recommending Kona Grill!

My companions felt like some of the drinks were on the weak side, though. Gotta watch that!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server Athan provided excellent service. Although the restaurant was busy, he never made us wait or feel like we were a bother, he had a great sense of humor and was very attentive to our dining needs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Nice place. Good food. Appropriate for families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent sea bass with an Asian flare, including fried rice and sautéed vegetables. Calamari also good; sushi okay. Limited, but interesting wine options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on June 11, 2016

When I arrived I told the hostess that I had a reservation and she replied with we don't have a reservation at the moment. I then asked well can you accommodate with a booth and stated that all booths were full. I was getting really upset with the service because I had already showed her the confirmation code and an email stating I had a reservation. Frustrated with the service I sat down with my dinner date at a random spot in front of the sushi bar and when finally a waiter came to ask for our drinks I told him if we could sit at a booth because we had a reservation. If it wasn't for the waiter having found us a booth I probably would of left. But as soon as we sat down we had the best drinks and food this city could have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.