About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - Boise
Kona Grill - Boise

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
See All
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food, great service, overall great ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 5 days ago

great food, great service, overall great experience. We will come back.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, food was forgotten however it was removed from the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

New waiter Ryan was awesome. The resta ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

New waiter Ryan was awesome.

The restaurant was very busy, but he was attentive and knew the menu well.

The food was very good, and beautifully presented.

Yes, I will dine at Kona Grill again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall satisfied. Made reservation onli ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall satisfied. Made reservation online they called the day before to confirm and there was no issues when we got there the day of. There was a slight delay on our food but it's understandable since they were busy Saturday evening. Great food and great environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic overall experience definitely ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic overall experience definitely will recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservation but when we got there ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had reservation but when we got there our table was next to the kitchen so it was kitchen noise plus the noise of the customers which made it impossible to visit. There was way too much bacon in the zucchini and corn causing it to taste too salty. The salmon was ok but I've had better. Very pricey for what was served. The sushi and the pasta dish were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service. Drinks take too long a ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Terrible service. Drinks take too long and my card was charged when I paid with cash. Tacky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We had reservations at 6:30pm on a Satur ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had reservations at 6:30pm on a Saturday for 10. One in our party didn't arrive and another was a baby, so there were 8 dinners to be served. Seated at 6:40. Drinks and appetizer were ordered, waiter said the bar was behind. Drinks arrived half an hour later. Ordered dinner, some of us ordered sushi, waiter said the sushi bar was behind. After waiting for another half hour, the waiter said the kitchen was behind. When the food arrived, the $30 steak was luke warm, the macadamia nut chicken in the salad was fried until burnt. They took the salad away to make another one, half an hour later, I said to cancel it, everyone was done and I didn't want to eat by myself. They brought out the salad in to-go containers, anyway.

The managers apologized, gave us $20 in gift cards and credited our check for $63. Got home and noticed they charged us twice for the salad...

This is the third and last time we will return to this restaurant. On previous occasions, the service was ALWAYS slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good was cold. Had to send back to have ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good was cold. Had to send back to have warmed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner, celebrating a wed ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great dinner, celebrating a wedding anniversary. The staff was very attentive, but not irritating. Our server was helpful with food and wine selections, helping us decide on a great meal. Dessert was fantastic as well. A great experience for us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a special birthday party. Eva d ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a special birthday party. Eva did a tremendous job helping set up our table. Thank you.

Our server mistook my date for a "guy" as he saw her from behind with her short haircut, AWKWARD! Otherwise it was a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The salmon was delicious, but the sushi ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The salmon was delicious, but the sushi tasted strange to my two guests. The place was very loud--hard to hear the conversation at our table. It took a long time for our initial drink orders to arrive, but the rest of the service was prompt.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After being told that we could sit in th ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

After being told that we could sit in the bar OR the dining room---it didn't matter---then we were told that we could not get the half price appetizer specials b ecause of our seating location. We had arrived early to pick a seat in the what I guess is the "appetizer area" and the hostess said either way we were "good".

The manager literallythrew two free appetizer cards at us fifteen minutes later after we were seated. nice gesture but definitely not heartfelt and didn't even make eye contact.

We waited 45 minutes for our food---salads and sushi. Three of our party of 8 didn't even eat their food it was so bad.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It is so loud and noisy you can't hear e ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is so loud and noisy you can't hear each other talk. The food is great and the employees are very nice and the decor is pretty. The salmon is delicious as is the macadamia chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I had made reservations for 12, our out ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had made reservations for 12, our out of town guests got caught in traffic and were a little late, but they held our table for us. My husband is handicapped and in a wheel chair, they kindly held the door and let us park the chair out of the way. Cody was our very friendly waitress, and two others came by to ask how everything was. I would recommend Kona Grill to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening sharing great ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a wonderful evening sharing great food and good drinks with very special friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I got a new plate the burger had no flavor and was missing the bacon that I paid extra for. The french fries were more like bits and pieces rather than full size fries. I won't be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was good and services, love the vil ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good and services, love the village location!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had such a delicious dinner, everythi ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had such a delicious dinner, everything was amazing from appetizers to dessert. We will be sure to come back again......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server got many things wrong with my hus ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Server got many things wrong with my husband's order. Even managed to mess up his water (put tap water in this cup of soda water when he went to refill it). Served an entirely different dish than what was ordered and didn't take it off the price of our tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Jamie rocks service!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Jamie rocks service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every single time I've been there with m ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Every single time I've been there with more than 5 people the delay on when we get the food and when we are checked on to refill drinks has been ridiculous...

We had 10 people and there was hardly anybody in the restaurant at that time. A group of 4 people sat down and ordered a good 15 minutes after we had placed our order and they received their food about 20 BEFORE we did...

This isn't the first time this has happened...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. And that was even with bacon on it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The employee serving us was very good. ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The employee serving us was very good. Her name was Laura. The Mojitos was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is awesome!!! We went for dat ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is awesome!!! We went for date night and will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at KG several times and have ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Have eaten at KG several times and have ALWAYS had a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice co ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice conversation. My wife ordered the catch of the day, swordfish, and it didn't have any flavor. My sushi and salad were very good but not good enough to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My abso ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My absolute favorite!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but loud environment

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food but loud environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was present, but not overbear ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was present, but not overbearing. He was knowledgeable and friendly as well. The drinks were spectacular and the food was perfectly adequate. As someone with food allergies, I thought the menu could've been clearer. The clam chowder had carrots, which weren't listed on the menu and which aren't a common addition to clam chowder (and which happen to be a food I'm allergic to). Also, combining nuts and seeds in the same menu notation is a little confusing. I'm allergic to lots of nuts, so in instances where the notation is referring to sesame seeds on the side dish, the notation acted as a deterrent for me because I assumed that it had nuts (until I asked the waiter what the nuts/seeds were in the different dishes that had the notation). The jambalaya was very good, but wasn't strictly jambalaya. Overall, my companion and I had a good dinner and are likely to return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Denny's look and feel with 5 Star pricin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Denny's look and feel with 5 Star pricing. Both was stained; table not real clean; food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food & setting, disappointing server

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We've been to Kona Grill several times when visiting from out of town. The drinks, food and atmosphere were excellent though our server, Haven, was not up to Kona Grill's standards. He was friendly (when we could get his attention), but made several mistakes throughout the meal.

For starters, we asked for a side salad instead of fries with one meal (happy to pay for the swap), but his reaction was more appropriate if we asked for a side of lobster for free. All four of us actually thought he was joking (he wasn't). He specifically asked if he should bring the salad early, and my friend replied that she wanted it with her meal. So the salad arrives 20 mins before our food, yet ketchup and mustard took at least 15 minutes to track down after the food arrived. My sashimi was smoked salmon instead of fresh salmon. Half the table ordered a second drink. I didn't, but he brought me one any way. He quickly took it away, but any other server would have left it (for free) to avoid the awkwardness. Also, we had to ask for water refills several times.

We all make mistakes, but after the first few I expected him to pay a little more attention. The rest of the wait staff was super responsive in his absence. The last straw was how long it took to get our check. He was laughing it up with the diners at the table next to us, yet couldn't make eye contact with us when he rushed by our table. I will probably return to Kona Grill, but I won't sit in Haven's section.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Always eccellent, all seasons with meals ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always eccellent, all seasons with meals of excellent presentation and flavor

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always great. An ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food and service is always great. And we enjoyed a great time dining on the patio with great weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wasn't super impressed with the menu, t ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wasn't super impressed with the menu, there isn't a lot to choose from.. I don't remember exactly what I ordered but I do remember it was pretty greasy and I didn't eat too much of it.. The dessert was also a bit subpar as compared to what I would expect coming out of a restaurant like that.. over all, food needs work. Next time I'll stick with Yard House.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food! Too loud :(

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was great. All four of us ordered something different and everyone had an outstanding meal. Great flavors & presentation. Atmosphere way too loud. I could not even hear the person sitting right in front of me/facing me, speaking right at me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Ashley was Awesome

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While our Pad Thai was a little underwhelming, the chicken was burned, the rest of our meal was fantastic. Our server Ashley was great...friendly, personable, and very helpful. We didn't mention the Pad Thai to her but I'm sure she would have taken it back and brought us back a new serving.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was slow and the food took over a ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Waiter was slow and the food took over an hour to get to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday here. Had a great waiter and the food was excellent! We had a broad spectrum of food ranging from sushi to steak and all entrees were excellent.

Definitely will be back and recommend Kona for anyone who has a celebration or just great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I did not complain or send it back, but when the manager asked about the meal and I told him, he was apologetic and offered a free dessert. I appreciate his attempt to make the situation right.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.