About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - Boise, Meridian, ID
Kona Grill - Boise, Meridian, ID

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards
holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Kona Grill is open during Christmas Eve! We've got it covered so you can enjoy holiday cheer and celebrate this time of year with your loved ones.
*store hours vary. check your local kona grill for dining hours.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM
holiday gift card promotion

Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

It's our favorite time of the year! From now until New Year's Eve, for every $100 you spend on gift cards you'll receive a $20 bonus card!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 14, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

Good for a Date (22)
Casual (19)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing everything! My boyfriend took me ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing everything! My boyfriend took me out for my birthday and it was wonderful, had an amazing server, great food, and beautiful decor inside, 10/10 experience

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Fun, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great dining experience, But ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, great dining experience,

But number one Excellence is the Staff, Especially the Senior management. allowing special conditions for the dining experience for such a special award dinner for family and friends.

Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience we had was wonderf ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The dining experience we had was wonderful.

The filet was the best tasting and I have been to many high priced restaurants, also the carrots and mushrooms were great. I would definitely recommend everyone to try it, you will go back like I will

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to dinner to celebrate my friends b ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went to dinner to celebrate my friends birthday. I wanted to order another drink but the waiter was no where to be seen and service was pretty slow to be honest. Our waiter didn't really check up on us to see if we wanted more drinks or not, so that was kinda disappointing. Other than that the food was very good, and loved the atmosphere. :) I will still go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived for our reservation right on ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived for our reservation right on time but weren't seated until 15-20 mins later. It seemed the hostess forgot about us but when we complained, we were seated right away and given a complimentary appetizer on the house. We appreciated Kona Grill taking care of us that way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed everything except the noise. Way ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed everything except the noise. Way too noisy to carry on much of a conversation without almost yelling.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I dine and entertain at Kona Grill often ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I dine and entertain at Kona Grill often. The food is consistently excellent and service is great. The seasonal specials are creative and tasty. The restaurant has an excellent location in The Village at Meridian. The patio faces the fountain and had warmers that make the dining pleasant even when the weather is cool.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. All 3 of us had the sal ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very good food. All 3 of us had the salmon lunch. They offer the birthday girl a dessert, but they don't have any non-dairy options.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud. Busy; thus slow.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Loud. Busy; thus slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I took my wife for a belated birthday di ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I took my wife for a belated birthday dinner, the food was delicious...I had the pork tenderloin, she had the salmon. It was the first time we'd ordered something besides sushi (which is wonderful!) our server Chase was first class and catered to our every need. We will return!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really looking forward to the happ ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was really looking forward to the happy hour menu. I ended up extremely disappointed when I found out I couldn't order happy hour specials in the reserved dining area. I see no reason why that can't be accommodated. I had only previously dined in the bar area but made reservations since the kids were coming with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Kona grill has great food but the prices ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Kona grill has great food but the prices are a little steep. Overall we enjoy going to Kona Grill.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Mike, our Server was outstanding; couldn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Mike, our Server was outstanding; couldn't have asked for a better Server. The Miso-Sake Sea Bass is absolutely fabulous-it is, by far, the very best sea bass I've ever eaten.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have continuously invited friends, fam ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I have continuously invited friends, family and business associates to dine at the Kona Grill and have continuously been more than impressed; the food is excellent, the presentation delightful and the service very personable.

Calamari, followed by Miso-Sake sea bass and encrusted chicken breasts!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was over cooked, including appetize ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was over cooked, including appetizers. The sea bass, besides being overlooked had a strong ammonia flavor indicating it was spoiled. Was my wife's birthday and didn't want to spoil her evening, otherwise I would have complained. Service was good, but not coming back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Our steamed rice was undercooked. Our f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our steamed rice was undercooked. Our fried rice was overcooked - there were clumps of dried out rice that looked like it was sitting in the bottom of the pan. I ordered the miso sea bass and my portion was very small. I had ordered it before and this time it was a huge disappointment. Food was very greasy too.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This was a dinner to celebrate my mom's ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was a dinner to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday and it was fabulous!! The service was outstanding and the food was excellent! They made this dinner more than special---it was a wonderful memorable event!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time going to Kona Gri ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is the third time going to Kona Grill. First time was awesome, somewhat less the next 2 times! The place is visually appealing. The wait staff tries but seems overwhelmed. Forgot our appetizer, which finally came with the main courses! Hubbies fish was wonderful, but everyone else's was just ok!!! Don't know if i will go back again!?

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was delicious - I had sushi & m ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious - I had sushi & my husband had steak & we were both very happy with our plates. Would go back again!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great evening full of laughs an ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a great evening full of laughs and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, but the noise level was way, ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Nice place, but the noise level was way, way too loud. Couldn't even hear the waitress!

Jambalaya wasn't quite as good as usual...not much spice to it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had heard such wonderful things that I ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had heard such wonderful things that I had already formed this high opinion . Unfortunately I was disappointed. It was nice but I doubt I go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My wife and I have been going here since ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My wife and I have been going here since they opened for our date nights and birthday and it's always perfect.Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our birth ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our birthdays and had a gift certificate to Kona Grill. Our waiter was friendly and attentive to our needs. He was perhaps the part of our experience. We were seated at a table next to to the food preparation area which had a low glass partition between us and the noise of pans and dishes in the kitchen. I wear hearing aids so the back ground noise made conversation very difficult. I did not hear our waiter say that there would be a complimentary dessert and ordered a dessert separately. He questioned my order according to my wife but I did not understand therefore we ended up with 2 desserts, which we ate but certainly did not need. The menus were not clear. I ordered one of the flat bread offerings which when I received it looked more like a appetizer than a main course meal. Comparing the menu my wife had with the one I had she had a number of items on her menu that were not on mine. Our reservation was at 4:45 because we wanted to be plenty early to beat the Friday night rush. There were plenty of open seats throughout the restaurant. I would have expected to have been seated in a quieter section, perhaps next to a window. The noisy kitchen area could be saved then for late reservations during crowded times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic as usual. Great table. Excepti ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Fantastic as usual. Great table. Exceptionally good food. Had the Voodoo roll and pot stickers. Generous portion, great ingredients, and served well. Great waiter and shadow in training. Will keep going back. Our umpteenth visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just okay, nothing special. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was just okay, nothing special. I thought the prices were very high for what we got. I ordered two cocktails. The first had very, very little alcohol and did not taste very good at all. The second was a bit better but not something I would come back for. My husband had sushi and said it was alright. I ordered the spinach artichoke pit which was kind of runny without much taste. I also had the margarita flatbread which tasted like it should have but it still was nothing to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great ambience and delicious food. The s ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great ambience and delicious food. The sushi was very good and our server was on top of it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I tried the Lobster Mac n Cheese! Divine ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I tried the Lobster Mac n Cheese! Divine! My husband ordered sushi and said it was really good. We shared the Passionfruit Creme Brûlée. Mmmmmmmm. We are definitely coming back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We walked in right when we were told. Th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We walked in right when we were told. The biggest problem we had as we were sitting at the table the staff kept trying to give us other peoples food. 4 times. I ordered a dinner salad but never got that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The restaurant itself was nice and the s ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The restaurant itself was nice and the service was excellent. I was not impressed with the food or the food selection at all. I had the chicken and broccoli stir fry and found it spicy and off putting. Nothing else on the menu even remotely interested me. It'd be nice if there was some normal American food on the menu. Seems like they tried to be too exotic with everything. For the price, I won't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating 2 birthdays our ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays our waiter said he would bring 2 birthday deserts

He brought them and they were very good

My complaint is they were supposed to be free, complimentary we were charged 15.50 for both then only a$10.00 credit

Not exactly a complimentary birthday desert 😐

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Your sushi is the best. I love going th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Your sushi is the best. I love going there because I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service despite ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and excellent service despite eating on a busy Friday night. Complimentary dessert for my birthday was a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service, overall great ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 22, 2016

great food, great service, overall great experience. We will come back.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, food was forgotten however it was removed from the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

New waiter Ryan was awesome. The resta ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 18, 2016

New waiter Ryan was awesome.

The restaurant was very busy, but he was attentive and knew the menu well.

The food was very good, and beautifully presented.

Yes, I will dine at Kona Grill again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall satisfied. Made reservation onli ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall satisfied. Made reservation online they called the day before to confirm and there was no issues when we got there the day of. There was a slight delay on our food but it's understandable since they were busy Saturday evening. Great food and great environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic overall experience definitely ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic overall experience definitely will recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservation but when we got there ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had reservation but when we got there our table was next to the kitchen so it was kitchen noise plus the noise of the customers which made it impossible to visit. There was way too much bacon in the zucchini and corn causing it to taste too salty. The salmon was ok but I've had better. Very pricey for what was served. The sushi and the pasta dish were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service. Drinks take too long a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Terrible service. Drinks take too long and my card was charged when I paid with cash. Tacky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.