About Kona Grill - Boise

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Casual (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (14)
Healthy (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
People Watching (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Spicy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fireplace (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Good place to dine with friends but not enough outdoor seating and it is first come first served even with reservations. Don't get the ratatouille, way too spicy!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was very attentive! A rare find! The variety of food was awesome. Ambiance was on point.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was tasty and our waiter was a hoot - on the negative side, it took a long time for our food to arrive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Kona grill is one of our favorites so it was the perfect place for my husband's and my Father-in-law's birthday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Happy Hour and full dinner are both great. Love the Cucumber Mojito. Good menu. Nice outdoor patio when weather permits.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great menu choices, Great atmosphere, and Great presentation, Our waitress "Andrea" was the absolute best.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband took me to Kona's Grill for Mother's Day. We arrived at our reserved time of 12:45, and were seated immediately.
I want to start off by saying that our server was very friendly and I was offered a glass of complimentary champagne shortly after we were seated.
Unfortunately, it took almost an hour to get our food. This can be extremely challenging with two young children. Our server was very apologetic, and would give us updates on the status of our food.
Regardless, it was a little frustrating as we were hoping to make a 2:10 movie and were unable to do so.
So when our food finally came, everybody was pretty hungry and my husband and two daughters enjoyed their food. I ordered my favorite dish, the Macadamia Nut Chicken...I don't know what happened, but my chicken had a rubbery texture, and was actually chewy. The chicken was also really dry and none of the food was hot. My husband said I should say something to the waitress, but I was feeling pretty done with the whole place, and didn't want to make my girls wait any longer. I really enjoyed Kona Grill when they first opened, but my last few visits have been disappointing. :(

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a Mother's Day Brunch with my wife. The waitress got my order incorrect, but offered to "fix" it ... it was not a problem for me, but seemed to be of major concern to the Kona Grill. A manager came by to see if all was really OK .. offered again to "fix it". I declined ... They finally sent over a free dessert .. .A HUGE PIECE OF CARROT CAKE that was excellent ... The mistake was we both got a plate of what my wife ordered. Since this was actually my second choice for a meal, it was no big deal. Too many things in life to worry about besides a small mistake. The staff's concern was admirable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The calamari was fantastic.... better than our sushi. Our server was very sweet and personable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first visit to the Kona Grill but it will not be our last. Everything from the front desk to the server to the food was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Family Style, Spicy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food but I would like to see more on the menu especially with different burgers.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was busy and loud, which added to the ambience. There were plenty of wait staff and we were touched by several. Our primary waiter was a bit distracted. He got the order correct. Everyone loved their food. 4 of 5 had steak and it was prepared perfectly. Our seating was at 6pm. We felt just a tad pushed to turn the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Server never offered water, no Bread was served, the meat and fish were cut to reduce size, Cut at an angle. The vegetables were over powering spicey , Because of this the sea Bass had no taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed my first time at Kono Grill. Great food and service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and drinks - excellent service. The restaurant was very loud and very tiring for my mother.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service was great. Ordered lettuce wraps. Lettuce had lots of sand on them. Even after wiping them off with s napkin, still really gritty. Let the sever know and was somewhat surprised no one seemed to care. Unfortunately the lovely
Sushi was tainted by the wraps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great, Great place...Service and food top shelf you can't go wrong

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server, Jessica was Fantastic. Manager came and chatted. Food was served when ready and at a nice pace so we had time to talk and still felt taken care of.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a great time.
Friends were visiting from out if town and told us to get Kona reservations. The food was terrific, the service was polite. We stayed almost 3.5 hours talking and laughing. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and better service! Great date night atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We came for a business meeting. I planned a month ahead and we still didn't have the service we needed. In addition, I asked for the closed off room for our meeting but was told it was taken. However, it was vacant the entire time our group was there.

Two of our group members ordered the Lobster Mac and it was dry and fishy. We let the waiter know distinctly, she acknowledged it but didn't do anything to fix it. We paid $17 for something that wasn't eaten (or taken with us).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were a group of eight adults and two young boys under 3 years of age. Our waiter was exceptional. He provided just the right amount of attention and was always right there when we needed him. We have always had an excellent experience at the Kona Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Son's 21st birthday

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is always tasty. The service can be a bit hit and miss but mostly the service is above par.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had Sushi but wasn't a great choice. Very average. Willing to go back and try something that might be more of a specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have been here before, and enjoyed it again. The food was very delicious, and I would like to compliment them on their kids meal. Usually the kids meal is pretty dull and has little variety. I was happy to say that my son got the fried shrimp and it was pretty cool in its presentation, even my husband noted it. Our options included many healthier varieties, which I really appreciate, and my son ended up getting the mac and cheese and the carrot sticks for his sides, along with the cutest orange made into a bear you could think of! I had the flank steak and mashed potatoes, with a herb/oil type dip, which was totally delish, and my husband had the tomato bisque which he liked also. My only issue was the drinks and wait time for the food, which seemed pretty long, I know it was Saturday night, and they were pretty busy, but usually these things don't take so long, and my husband got his drink right away, but I didn't get mine until our entrees were out....We love the fish tanks, and that is the first thing my son likes to look at too, so if you like a nice ambiance, you will enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was awesome and so was the service!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my birthday with our daughter and her husband and 2 young children. The fresh fish, sheepshead, was just as delicious as our server, Jon, said it would be. And the "box" entrée for our 2-yr old granddaughter was a delight for her. As requested we got a table close to the fish tank, which she loved. Jon provided excellent service and was attentive throughout our entire evening.

The weather was great and our grandkids enjoyed the time by the fountain before and after our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 6, 2017

5year old Birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I eat at a lot of different restaurants in nampa and Boise area and hands down was the best I have had definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great for birthdays and special occasions

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Ashley was incredible. She took really good care of us and made a simple evening out into a wonderful memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was good, the room we were in was very crowded and too many tables for the space. I often had my arm bumped by others walking by to come/go or by the server. Cocktails were great and our server was friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was great. Service was okay, it took a really long time to get our drinks. We ordered before we got out dinner and we were pretty much done eating when our drinks arrived. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first time at kona grill, the restaurant was clean and the decor was fun. The food was incredible! I had the lemon garlic shrimp penne and my husband had the pad Thai noodles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had a great time with the wife on are date night!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

When we got there for our reservations all the tables next to the window was open but the hostess refused to sit us there. Our waiter was good but we were very dissatisfied due to the rude hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was very loud the night we were there. Food and service was fantastic. But, the noise of the crowd is the weak link. It might be good to create some sort of noise buffer to help quiet it down a bit. No one was rude or anything, just a lot of people enjoying the evening.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.