About Kona Grill - Boise

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Casual (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Healthy (12)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Spicy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Waterfront (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Usually a great go-to for a family meal. Service was so/so last night , unusually long waits for each course.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

The only good thing I can say about this was the service by our waitress. We were celebrating my wife's Birthday & Fathers Day with my son and his family. Started with drinks and appetizers and from there it went downhill faster than an unlimited drag racer. When entries were served they were cold, tough, and overcooked . It took a hour and 15 minutes for are food to arrive and while the 6 of us were waiting for our food a party of 8 came in and was served and were leaving as we got our food. Waitress was constantly checking with the food expediter and did her best to make it right but was foiled by the kitchen time and time again. Manager did deduct the food that was no good from the bill as a jesture to make up for the poor food and slow service. This was supposed to be a celebration but turned into a nightmare.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Kona Grill several times. The last two times (over the last couple of months), the service was poor. We were there on a Sunday at 3 PM. The restaurant was not that busy and there were several empty tables. Several in our party ordered soup with their meal. It took 25 minutes for the kitchen/wait staff to get our soup out. It took another 25 minutes to get our food orders out. In our party of of 7, 5 people had ordered either a salad or a cold item (sushi). When I asked our waitress why the kitchen was so slow, she didn't know. How could you not know why it took 25 minutes to get soup out and another 25 minutes to get salads out?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for a mid afternoon dinner to celebrate Father's Day. We were greeted warmly at the door. Our server was Jordyn, who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our meal arrived promptly and was delicious. My husband has been quite ill so going out for dinner is a rarity. Kona Grill made his experience pleasant and enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Fathers day

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for Father's Day. The food took forever to get served and my mother-in-law's food was soggy and cold, but it was okay overall. The waitress was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Change up the menu from time to time! Great food. Great location the service is very good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

The waitress seem to not care to be there to help us out with the order was not friendly at all until we checked out she gave us a big smile of course she wanted the tip. I won't be visiting this place again.
It feels like you are in a middle school cafeteria way too noisy.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good food and friendly staff, but it was busy and the kitchen fell behind a bit. We had to wait a long time for our food with two toddlers. Make sure you sign up for their emails and you get a free app or roll (up to $12)!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The restaurant was hoping and food was not delayed by much....yummy til the end

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Absolutely perfect meal. Had the Sweet chili Salmon and have never had a better meal!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We like Kona Grill. They have a great menu and great drinks.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great service and fabulous food

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Looks like the menu has been updated recently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service we were trying to make a movie mentioned it to our waitress and she pushed our order through very quickly. The food was amazing drinks were great and we made the movie on time.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My view as we sat at our two seater table was my wife and a big wall while the rest of the restaurant was behind me. Who ever arranged the eating in that restaurant should have been fired. The lobster and tuna flatbread came out on what tasted like tasteless crackers overloaded with red onion. My wife got an overpriced vegan sushi roll which was apparently overpriced for what she got. The coconut mojito we got apparently has no alcohol in it because I get more sober drinking it after my beer. Overall, this is one overpriced restaurant I will not be going to after this horrible experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service is usually great at Kona Grill. However the last few times I have gone the servers I have had don't really seem to care all that much. They rush thru my order and lack warmth. The last time I went there we celebrated my birthday - I'm not sure if your policy is to give desserts for free for birthdays occasions but I was charged for mine. My server would read back my order to me and half way thru be walking away. As well as when I was telling him my drink order he would walk away in my mid sentence. It wasn't very tasteful and for the price of the food you expect there to be good service. I was really disappointed and certainly caught off guard by the rudeness displayed in the server.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We had a Kentucky Mule and a Radpberry Mango Mojito along with four orders of sushi. Everything was great and full of flavor. The waitress was on top of things and a joy to interact with. We look forward to our next visit!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Dined with out of town friends. The menu offered variety of options for 4 different palates. Food very good, service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Good place to dine with friends but not enough outdoor seating and it is first come first served even with reservations. Don't get the ratatouille, way too spicy!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our server was very attentive! A rare find! The variety of food was awesome. Ambiance was on point.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was tasty and our waiter was a hoot - on the negative side, it took a long time for our food to arrive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Kona grill is one of our favorites so it was the perfect place for my husband's and my Father-in-law's birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Happy Hour and full dinner are both great. Love the Cucumber Mojito. Good menu. Nice outdoor patio when weather permits.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great menu choices, Great atmosphere, and Great presentation, Our waitress "Andrea" was the absolute best.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband took me to Kona's Grill for Mother's Day. We arrived at our reserved time of 12:45, and were seated immediately.
I want to start off by saying that our server was very friendly and I was offered a glass of complimentary champagne shortly after we were seated.
Unfortunately, it took almost an hour to get our food. This can be extremely challenging with two young children. Our server was very apologetic, and would give us updates on the status of our food.
Regardless, it was a little frustrating as we were hoping to make a 2:10 movie and were unable to do so.
So when our food finally came, everybody was pretty hungry and my husband and two daughters enjoyed their food. I ordered my favorite dish, the Macadamia Nut Chicken...I don't know what happened, but my chicken had a rubbery texture, and was actually chewy. The chicken was also really dry and none of the food was hot. My husband said I should say something to the waitress, but I was feeling pretty done with the whole place, and didn't want to make my girls wait any longer. I really enjoyed Kona Grill when they first opened, but my last few visits have been disappointing. :(

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a Mother's Day Brunch with my wife. The waitress got my order incorrect, but offered to "fix" it ... it was not a problem for me, but seemed to be of major concern to the Kona Grill. A manager came by to see if all was really OK .. offered again to "fix it". I declined ... They finally sent over a free dessert .. .A HUGE PIECE OF CARROT CAKE that was excellent ... The mistake was we both got a plate of what my wife ordered. Since this was actually my second choice for a meal, it was no big deal. Too many things in life to worry about besides a small mistake. The staff's concern was admirable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The calamari was fantastic.... better than our sushi. Our server was very sweet and personable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first visit to the Kona Grill but it will not be our last. Everything from the front desk to the server to the food was excellent. We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Family Style, Spicy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food but I would like to see more on the menu especially with different burgers.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was busy and loud, which added to the ambience. There were plenty of wait staff and we were touched by several. Our primary waiter was a bit distracted. He got the order correct. Everyone loved their food. 4 of 5 had steak and it was prepared perfectly. Our seating was at 6pm. We felt just a tad pushed to turn the table.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Server never offered water, no Bread was served, the meat and fish were cut to reduce size, Cut at an angle. The vegetables were over powering spicey , Because of this the sea Bass had no taste.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed my first time at Kono Grill. Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and drinks - excellent service. The restaurant was very loud and very tiring for my mother.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service was great. Ordered lettuce wraps. Lettuce had lots of sand on them. Even after wiping them off with s napkin, still really gritty. Let the sever know and was somewhat surprised no one seemed to care. Unfortunately the lovely
Sushi was tainted by the wraps

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great, Great place...Service and food top shelf you can't go wrong

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server, Jessica was Fantastic. Manager came and chatted. Food was served when ready and at a nice pace so we had time to talk and still felt taken care of.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a great time.
Friends were visiting from out if town and told us to get Kona reservations. The food was terrific, the service was polite. We stayed almost 3.5 hours talking and laughing. Definitely coming back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great as always!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.