About Kona Grill - Boise

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Kona Grill is the place to celebrate with modern twists on classic south of the border favorites. Join us for happy hour on May 5th and enjoy our famous margaritas or taco trio.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Kona Grill crafts the perfect celebration for lasting memories. Bring your mom to Kona for lunch or dinner to say "thank you" for all of her hard work. Can't dine with us that weekend? Receive a $10 bonus card when you buy a $50 gift card between April 24th and June 18th. Give the gift Kona.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Casual (20)
See All
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (12)
Fun (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Healthy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fireplace (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Spicy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 19 hours ago

Our server, Jessica was Fantastic. Manager came and chatted. Food was served when ready and at a nice pace so we had time to talk and still felt taken care of.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time.
Friends were visiting from out if town and told us to get Kona reservations. The food was terrific, the service was polite. We stayed almost 3.5 hours talking and laughing. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and better service! Great date night atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We came for a business meeting. I planned a month ahead and we still didn't have the service we needed. In addition, I asked for the closed off room for our meeting but was told it was taken. However, it was vacant the entire time our group was there.

Two of our group members ordered the Lobster Mac and it was dry and fishy. We let the waiter know distinctly, she acknowledged it but didn't do anything to fix it. We paid $17 for something that wasn't eaten (or taken with us).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were a group of eight adults and two young boys under 3 years of age. Our waiter was exceptional. He provided just the right amount of attention and was always right there when we needed him. We have always had an excellent experience at the Kona Grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Son's 21st birthday

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is always tasty. The service can be a bit hit and miss but mostly the service is above par.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had Sushi but wasn't a great choice. Very average. Willing to go back and try something that might be more of a specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Have been here before, and enjoyed it again. The food was very delicious, and I would like to compliment them on their kids meal. Usually the kids meal is pretty dull and has little variety. I was happy to say that my son got the fried shrimp and it was pretty cool in its presentation, even my husband noted it. Our options included many healthier varieties, which I really appreciate, and my son ended up getting the mac and cheese and the carrot sticks for his sides, along with the cutest orange made into a bear you could think of! I had the flank steak and mashed potatoes, with a herb/oil type dip, which was totally delish, and my husband had the tomato bisque which he liked also. My only issue was the drinks and wait time for the food, which seemed pretty long, I know it was Saturday night, and they were pretty busy, but usually these things don't take so long, and my husband got his drink right away, but I didn't get mine until our entrees were out....We love the fish tanks, and that is the first thing my son likes to look at too, so if you like a nice ambiance, you will enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was awesome and so was the service!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great time celebrating my birthday with our daughter and her husband and 2 young children. The fresh fish, sheepshead, was just as delicious as our server, Jon, said it would be. And the "box" entrée for our 2-yr old granddaughter was a delight for her. As requested we got a table close to the fish tank, which she loved. Jon provided excellent service and was attentive throughout our entire evening.

The weather was great and our grandkids enjoyed the time by the fountain before and after our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 6, 2017

5year old Birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I eat at a lot of different restaurants in nampa and Boise area and hands down was the best I have had definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great for birthdays and special occasions

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our server Ashley was incredible. She took really good care of us and made a simple evening out into a wonderful memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was good, the room we were in was very crowded and too many tables for the space. I often had my arm bumped by others walking by to come/go or by the server. Cocktails were great and our server was friendly.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was great. Service was okay, it took a really long time to get our drinks. We ordered before we got out dinner and we were pretty much done eating when our drinks arrived. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first time at kona grill, the restaurant was clean and the decor was fun. The food was incredible! I had the lemon garlic shrimp penne and my husband had the pad Thai noodles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had a great time with the wife on are date night!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

When we got there for our reservations all the tables next to the window was open but the hostess refused to sit us there. Our waiter was good but we were very dissatisfied due to the rude hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was very loud the night we were there. Food and service was fantastic. But, the noise of the crowd is the weak link. It might be good to create some sort of noise buffer to help quiet it down a bit. No one was rude or anything, just a lot of people enjoying the evening.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had a great experience. I went for my birthday with some friends and had a blast. Great food and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service. Was rather loud but not unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Delicious trout special & the jambalaya is always a hit.
Go for Wine Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wait staff was great, food was awesome, a little loud with music, but not enough to stop conversations.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Consistently good ambiance, service and food! My favorite place to eat at The Village in Meridian.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Had Kona Filet. It was a bad cut. There was a lot of chewy fat on the steak. Service and dining area nice. Wife's sushi was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food good server always a fun time. Had a great experience for a date night with my wife. I enjoyed our serve and super helpful in decideing on the menu. Enjoyed how busy it was, as weird as that sounds, because it was a buzzing place and super exciting to see a lot of happy people

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a really good time at dinner. We went a little late so it was pretty rowdy and loud but still fun. We sat by the fish tank which was an awesome experience. I loved watching the fish. The food was the best I've eaten in Boise and I will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ambience and food worthy of a college dining hall at fine dining prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very nice place and good food for their prices, some things were too spicy. Great service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had to wait several minutes at table before waitress showed up. Did not bring or offer ice water, had to request it. Food was good. Service was not great. Server was friendly enough, but certainly nothing special.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is good, especially sushi rolls and steak. Great apps. Service is inconsistent and average.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed our second visit to the Kona Grill. My only criticism is that our drinks toom a looong time to arrive but it was very busy and for this it is totally forgiveable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, atmosphere and people absolutely love this place and will be back for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hostess need a better attitude . The server was okay . Overall one of my favorite restaurants but staff needs better customer service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first time to eat at Kona Grill. Sorry to say both meals the macadamia chicken and lemon garlic shrimp penne were tasteless there was no flavor. The Anago shrimp tempura roll was tasteless and the shrimp was still hot. The dragon roll was just as bad. The chicken and shrimp lettuce wraps were great with lots of flavor and the butter cake was moist and sweet. This meal was a lot of money and ended up in the trash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food. Good service. Most enjoyable

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My family and I really enjoy our visits to the Kona Grill. Excellent meal selections, drinks, desserts, and service. Really like the Table Reservation System.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.