About Kona Grill - Boise

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Casual (23)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
People Watching (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Scenic View (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Spicy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Authentic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
622 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It took 30 minutes to get our drinks. The children got dinner 25 minutes before the adults did. The waiter blamed it all n the hostess saying she should have told us the Sushi was way behind.

I always love the food at Kona but the customer service needs a lot of work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time dining here since it opened years ago. I have always been turned away by the long wait times. Now I see why. Everything was just awesome. Drink service was fast, the food was amazing!! And deserts were awesome. Plus our waitress was on top of everything. I will be eating here again but will alway make a reservation before I do.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Kona always has graat service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A girlfriend and I wanted a cocktail and light appetizers sat at the bar ordered margarita s and flatbread which were good

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a great waiter who was engaging and funny. Service was fast. Food was tasty. Great kids menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Expensive, but food was good. Service was slow because it was way busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I thought the food was okay, but not great, except for the smoked gouda fondue, that was awesome. The drinks and dinner were just average, especially for the price. the service was great and out waitress was very nice

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great vibe and fun outdoor seating. Apps were good, but wine was sent back warm, as in almost hot. Dinners included some sushi and traditional bar food and was very good. Biggest downer was slow service - inattentive really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fantastic! Robin did a great job as our waitress. Very friendly and efficient. Food orders were correct except that I did order octopus sushi and was billed for it but it was not delivered (didn't notice until after I left). Otherwise, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

we found plastic in one of our rolls of sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Stephanie was great tonight! Food was good. Very excited to try my fudge brownie that I ordered to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always food was amazing and staff was excellent. Best restaurant in Boise area. Always busy which is great, food is done right, and selection is perfect. Sushi is out of this world! It's worth it just for the Sushi. Staff and Managers are always smiling and always making sure guest are greeted. 10/10

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service! menu offers a perfect variety. good atmosphere. sushi rice was a little loose. Sushi as a whole was not cold enough. great flavor though.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Asian receptionist was so awesome. She set our group up absolutely the way we wanted it. Very polite and approachable! Our waiter was very helpful with the new menu. I asked him about one of the main dish, and he replied that's a very delicious meal! The dessert was way to awesome. I am very pleased with our night at the Kona Grill....aloha!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Seasonal, Tapas, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My daughter and I try out various sushi restaurants every other Friday and enjoyed our experience at the Kona Grill. We were especially pleased with our server, she was very helpful in making our choices and frequently checked back with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is the first time I've had Sushi at Kona and it's the last. Overpriced, warm rolls of 99% rice that were so big there is no way to eat them with chopsticks. Leave sushi to the experts please!
On a bright note, the chop salad was magnificent -a definite must order, and it's large enough to split!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Kona needs to improve on their service - our waitress was barely attentive or helpful!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

For 32.50 you'd think the Filet would taste like a Filet. I asked for med and it came out med well. My husband asked for med rare and it came out med to med well. The restaurant was very loud. The sushi was rolled too loose, so when you put in soy sauce, it fell apart. The server that was a signed to our table didn't deliver our food and only came back a couple Times. The blonde girl in the blue dress that delivered our food conversated and made our experience better than the person that was originally assigned. We had to ask for salt and pepper.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Celebrated my adult niece's birthday at KG. Food was good, with lots of variety. I had Pad Thai, which was very authentic. Noise level was my only real complaint as we had a party of 9 seated at a long table, near the door and bar. Impossible to hear anything unless it was shouted, which was probably why it was so noisy. LOL!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Waitress was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was disappointed that you can't reserve outdoor seating. The chicken salad my dad ordered did not have any chicken in it. They were good at offering refills.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was bland, salad was warm, took much too long to get our order. Won't be going there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Work meeting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This restaurant has a good variety on the menu, the food quality is good and well priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server, Garrett, was great; the miso-sake sea bass is out-of-this world! It is just...LOUD, otherwise I would've marked the ambiance one star higher.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sushi is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Unfortunately, our business dinner was on Tuesday night, which is apparently the discounted movie night at the theater across the way. The wait for the sushi rolls that were ordered was 40 MINS!!! WOW! There was also a wait for the rest of the food but it was the wait for the sushi that was quite disappointing. Food is good. Eclectic variety. NOTE to SELF though: Don't dine there on Tuesday nights!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Usually a great go-to for a family meal. Service was so/so last night , unusually long waits for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The only good thing I can say about this was the service by our waitress. We were celebrating my wife's Birthday & Fathers Day with my son and his family. Started with drinks and appetizers and from there it went downhill faster than an unlimited drag racer. When entries were served they were cold, tough, and overcooked . It took a hour and 15 minutes for are food to arrive and while the 6 of us were waiting for our food a party of 8 came in and was served and were leaving as we got our food. Waitress was constantly checking with the food expediter and did her best to make it right but was foiled by the kitchen time and time again. Manager did deduct the food that was no good from the bill as a jesture to make up for the poor food and slow service. This was supposed to be a celebration but turned into a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been to Kona Grill several times. The last two times (over the last couple of months), the service was poor. We were there on a Sunday at 3 PM. The restaurant was not that busy and there were several empty tables. Several in our party ordered soup with their meal. It took 25 minutes for the kitchen/wait staff to get our soup out. It took another 25 minutes to get our food orders out. In our party of of 7, 5 people had ordered either a salad or a cold item (sushi). When I asked our waitress why the kitchen was so slow, she didn't know. How could you not know why it took 25 minutes to get soup out and another 25 minutes to get salads out?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for a mid afternoon dinner to celebrate Father's Day. We were greeted warmly at the door. Our server was Jordyn, who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our meal arrived promptly and was delicious. My husband has been quite ill so going out for dinner is a rarity. Kona Grill made his experience pleasant and enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers day

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day. The food took forever to get served and my mother-in-law's food was soggy and cold, but it was okay overall. The waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

$50 per person is what we paid and I think it was a bit much for what we got....wait, I had an
Appetizer, drink, dessert, coffee, club sandwich. That is a lot! OK. Forget about the costly comment. It was actually pretty good for all of that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Change up the menu from time to time! Great food. Great location the service is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The waitress seem to not care to be there to help us out with the order was not friendly at all until we checked out she gave us a big smile of course she wanted the tip. I won't be visiting this place again.
It feels like you are in a middle school cafeteria way too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good food and friendly staff, but it was busy and the kitchen fell behind a bit. We had to wait a long time for our food with two toddlers. Make sure you sign up for their emails and you get a free app or roll (up to $12)!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The restaurant was hoping and food was not delayed by much....yummy til the end

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolutely perfect meal. Had the Sweet chili Salmon and have never had a better meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We like Kona Grill. They have a great menu and great drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.