About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (20)
Casual (20)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fireplace (6)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently good ambiance, service and food! My favorite place to eat at The Village in Meridian.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Had Kona Filet. It was a bad cut. There was a lot of chewy fat on the steak. Service and dining area nice. Wife's sushi was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food good server always a fun time. Had a great experience for a date night with my wife. I enjoyed our serve and super helpful in decideing on the menu. Enjoyed how busy it was, as weird as that sounds, because it was a buzzing place and super exciting to see a lot of happy people

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a really good time at dinner. We went a little late so it was pretty rowdy and loud but still fun. We sat by the fish tank which was an awesome experience. I loved watching the fish. The food was the best I've eaten in Boise and I will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Ambience and food worthy of a college dining hall at fine dining prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very nice place and good food for their prices, some things were too spicy. Great service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had to wait several minutes at table before waitress showed up. Did not bring or offer ice water, had to request it. Food was good. Service was not great. Server was friendly enough, but certainly nothing special.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is good, especially sushi rolls and steak. Great apps. Service is inconsistent and average.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed our second visit to the Kona Grill. My only criticism is that our drinks toom a looong time to arrive but it was very busy and for this it is totally forgiveable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, atmosphere and people absolutely love this place and will be back for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hostess need a better attitude . The server was okay . Overall one of my favorite restaurants but staff needs better customer service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first time to eat at Kona Grill. Sorry to say both meals the macadamia chicken and lemon garlic shrimp penne were tasteless there was no flavor. The Anago shrimp tempura roll was tasteless and the shrimp was still hot. The dragon roll was just as bad. The chicken and shrimp lettuce wraps were great with lots of flavor and the butter cake was moist and sweet. This meal was a lot of money and ended up in the trash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food. Good service. Most enjoyable

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My family and I really enjoy our visits to the Kona Grill. Excellent meal selections, drinks, desserts, and service. Really like the Table Reservation System.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a great first date night experience. Staff was friendly, we were seated immediately. Food and drink were great, and we had a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server, Michael, was very knowledgeable and friendly. Just the right amount of attention, without being intrusive. We also appreciated the complimentary birthday dessert!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The decor was nice but not memorable enough to compensate for the lackluster food and service model. The three dishes my party ordered were quite plain. We did enjoy the starter, angry-style edamame.The pad thai was extremely bland and entirely Americanized (sambal was brought to brighten it up but even it was sweet and bland. I finally achieved a bit of heat with red pepper flakes but had lost interest by that point), brussell sprouts were tasteless, as was the kahuna burger (bacon was forgotten). The service was disjointed and ill-prepared. I can't see returning as there are other restos getting it more "right".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service great. The only negative was the noise level. We wanted to talk with the couple we invited to dinner and it was super hard to hear each other. All food was awesome. Loved the coconut mojito. Great suggestion by the server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Hard to find and parking was challenging. Very loud due mostly to how packed it was. Clothing of some of the employees was a bit riske for young eyes. Great variety on the menu. Beer list could use some improvement. Pretty spendy but would go again to try out some of the other dishes that looked excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This place has never disappointed me. Excellent food, atmosphere and service. Food is fresh, well presented, tasty... can't ask for anything more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I loved our server, she was AMAZING! Service was slow however but for a Saturday evening I can understand. Thanks for an incredible birthday dinner, with all my favorite people!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were seated in the middle of a dozen loud children under 4

Yikes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Made a reservation the day before hoping for the best. We wanted to not sit in the middle of the restaurant after three different tables offered in the middle, we sat in the middle I could tell it was due to server rotation. There were five wall tables not sat all night. Everything was fine just not impressive.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Loud venue with food that was missing flavor. While the menu described the food well, and the bill was large enough that I expected well cooked food, the flavor was bland and tired. Rubber chicken, a gooey flavorless sauce, and what tasted like reconstituted potatoes. Servers did try hard though, and the cocktails were great.. their kitchen lets them down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was awesome, but service was slow when the restaurant seems not that busy. It was also lunch hour, so we were hoping for a bit faster service to get back to work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very accommodating to our group of six. Fast service and food was excellent. I couldn't finish my hamburger, it was so large.. we've been.at your restaurant a good number of times and will continue. Bill. Klimback

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 10, 2017

First visit to Kona Grill left us very pleased. Friendly wait staff, cool environment and great food. We started with edamame, My husband ordered grilled salmon over bowtie Pasta, I had the pad Thai, and we shared the kona salad with macadamia crusted chicken. Everything was delicious and very generous portions

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food Luke warm. Sat up at serving station over 10 minutes. 2 in party of 5 returned meal and left without eating. Good waitress. Manager did remove the 2 meals from bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I ordered a dish with Bass and the fish was decidedly turning bad. Loved the h'ordeurves and the wind. I kept the rice and veggies from the fish dish and just went without the fish. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very good. Pleasant service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a great post-snowshoe dinner there. The kids loved their Bento boxes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve. Made reservation on Open Table app which was easy but when I needed to change I couldn't figure how through app, so that maybe operator error. Called restaurant and changed the number of guest. We arrived early to have drink, because we were childless this evening, and was seated at our table early. The food was great for the pricing. Our friend had a Mai Tai which he didn't like - Red Robin makes them better. Lemon Garlic pasta was delicious. PanSeared Tuna was great, and my fresh Salmon with Grape/Avacado salsa was good. Had ran out of desserts by 8 pm which was a tad disturbing. We don't normally have dessert but because it was a special night was looking forward to something. Would go again and would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Eve before going to the movie. The food was excellent. It was a little noisy but a fun atmosphere. The service was good and we didn't have to wait long for our food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I would say that all of the food was just average. The waitress was very good but the fried chicken and the macadamia chicken were a bit overcooked and really just average. I want to like this place but honestly there are too many places in front of it to really justify giving it another try (today was my 3rd try). My son did say the sushi and roll he had were good but he is 15 and we'll what I saw and tasted were once again just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an excellent meal, and our server was perfect.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The staff was friendly and the food was good. I especially enjoyed the creamy basil soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our food was wonderful and our waitress sweet and helpful. Will return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

In this price point, both service and food quality should be much better. We had a 6:30 reservation and waited 20 minutes to be seated. The bar ran out of 2 different bottles of wine we tried to order. Just a bad experience all around and with entrees and sandwiches priced between $14-35, you should just get much better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was horrible but the service was great!

Overall I probably would go back but just for happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and experience as always. I had the Coho wild-caught salmon and my wife had her favorite white-bean and chicken chili and we finished with our favorite butter cake dessert. It was Christmas Eve and we had the last available reservation for the evening. We were well cared for and did not feel rushed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I miss the Sea Bass menu item from Summer '16. The current miso-sake sea bass is a poor comparison. Last summer's sea bass was literally the best that several of us had ever tasted. Please bring it back!

Service was great. Music was a little noisy, but they turned it down a bit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

AMAZING FOOD!!! ESPECIALLY THE SUSHI!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was excellent, drinks were amazing, the atmosphere was fantastic! The only problem both me and my partner had was that the sushi was awful. I've been to several other places that offer sushi, but Kona Grill just couldn't get it right. The tuna was way too mushy, and the rice was way too soggy. But, I have gone to Kona Grill for other food and they are exceptional on everything else they make!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great night celebrating my daughters birthday with all our family. Waitress was outstanding, food was a little slow but gave us time to chat.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Solid sushi. Best we have had in Boise and we have looked all over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Kona Grill is favorite for good food, interesting choices and helpful, friendly staff. Went there before a movie, spent a fun time with appetizers, dessert and wonderful main courses.

Recommend it and will go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great food, and server! Manager stopped by twice to make sure everything was good

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went on a Thursday night with a reservation. It was very crowded and very loud. We waited a long time for our food to arrive. We were told twice it was because there was a big party in front of us. my husband and I both had something from the Seasonal Menu and we were disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Unfortunately some of us had ordered salads and the quality was poor, salad not fresh lettuce limp, chicken that is usually crisp was not and this was before a lot of people was around 1:00. The manger was very apologetic when he saw the live bug covered with dressing in one of the salads. Did a just the bill and gave two free desserts. The waitress was very apologetic and was so kind. Needless to say it was not her fault and we did tip her very well. Have eaten there a lot and food usually good. Sometimes the waitresses in the bar area are not very good unless men are around. There are so many awesome restaurants in this area so the car load of ladies will not be going to this one again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Amazing everything! My boyfriend took me out for my birthday and it was wonderful, had an amazing server, great food, and beautiful decor inside, 10/10 experience

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Fun, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.