About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - Boise
Kona Grill - Boise

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

special occasion (41)
good for groups (30)
great for outdoor dining (30)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
great for lunch (26)
hot spot (21)
scenic view (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
romantic (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful evening sharing great ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a wonderful evening sharing great food and good drinks with very special friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I got a new plate the burger had no flavor and was missing the bacon that I paid extra for. The french fries were more like bits and pieces rather than full size fries. I won't be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was good and services, love the vil ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good and services, love the village location!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had such a delicious dinner, everythi ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had such a delicious dinner, everything was amazing from appetizers to dessert. We will be sure to come back again......

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server got many things wrong with my hus ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Server got many things wrong with my husband's order. Even managed to mess up his water (put tap water in this cup of soda water when he went to refill it). Served an entirely different dish than what was ordered and didn't take it off the price of our tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Jamie rocks service!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Jamie rocks service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every single time I've been there with m ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Every single time I've been there with more than 5 people the delay on when we get the food and when we are checked on to refill drinks has been ridiculous...

We had 10 people and there was hardly anybody in the restaurant at that time. A group of 4 people sat down and ordered a good 15 minutes after we had placed our order and they received their food about 20 BEFORE we did...

This isn't the first time this has happened...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. And that was even with bacon on it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The employee serving us was very good. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The employee serving us was very good. Her name was Laura. The Mojitos was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is awesome!!! We went for dat ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is awesome!!! We went for date night and will be back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at KG several times and have ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Have eaten at KG several times and have ALWAYS had a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice co ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice conversation. My wife ordered the catch of the day, swordfish, and it didn't have any flavor. My sushi and salad were very good but not good enough to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My abso ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My absolute favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was present, but not overbear ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our waiter was present, but not overbearing. He was knowledgeable and friendly as well. The drinks were spectacular and the food was perfectly adequate. As someone with food allergies, I thought the menu could've been clearer. The clam chowder had carrots, which weren't listed on the menu and which aren't a common addition to clam chowder (and which happen to be a food I'm allergic to). Also, combining nuts and seeds in the same menu notation is a little confusing. I'm allergic to lots of nuts, so in instances where the notation is referring to sesame seeds on the side dish, the notation acted as a deterrent for me because I assumed that it had nuts (until I asked the waiter what the nuts/seeds were in the different dishes that had the notation). The jambalaya was very good, but wasn't strictly jambalaya. Overall, my companion and I had a good dinner and are likely to return.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Denny's look and feel with 5 Star pricin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Denny's look and feel with 5 Star pricing. Both was stained; table not real clean; food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food & setting, disappointing server

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We've been to Kona Grill several times when visiting from out of town. The drinks, food and atmosphere were excellent though our server, Haven, was not up to Kona Grill's standards. He was friendly (when we could get his attention), but made several mistakes throughout the meal.

For starters, we asked for a side salad instead of fries with one meal (happy to pay for the swap), but his reaction was more appropriate if we asked for a side of lobster for free. All four of us actually thought he was joking (he wasn't). He specifically asked if he should bring the salad early, and my friend replied that she wanted it with her meal. So the salad arrives 20 mins before our food, yet ketchup and mustard took at least 15 minutes to track down after the food arrived. My sashimi was smoked salmon instead of fresh salmon. Half the table ordered a second drink. I didn't, but he brought me one any way. He quickly took it away, but any other server would have left it (for free) to avoid the awkwardness. Also, we had to ask for water refills several times.

We all make mistakes, but after the first few I expected him to pay a little more attention. The rest of the wait staff was super responsive in his absence. The last straw was how long it took to get our check. He was laughing it up with the diners at the table next to us, yet couldn't make eye contact with us when he rushed by our table. I will probably return to Kona Grill, but I won't sit in Haven's section.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Always eccellent, all seasons with meals ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always eccellent, all seasons with meals of excellent presentation and flavor

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always great. An ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food and service is always great. And we enjoyed a great time dining on the patio with great weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wasn't super impressed with the menu, t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wasn't super impressed with the menu, there isn't a lot to choose from.. I don't remember exactly what I ordered but I do remember it was pretty greasy and I didn't eat too much of it.. The dessert was also a bit subpar as compared to what I would expect coming out of a restaurant like that.. over all, food needs work. Next time I'll stick with Yard House.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food! Too loud :(

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was great. All four of us ordered something different and everyone had an outstanding meal. Great flavors & presentation. Atmosphere way too loud. I could not even hear the person sitting right in front of me/facing me, speaking right at me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Ashley was Awesome

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While our Pad Thai was a little underwhelming, the chicken was burned, the rest of our meal was fantastic. Our server Ashley was great...friendly, personable, and very helpful. We didn't mention the Pad Thai to her but I'm sure she would have taken it back and brought us back a new serving.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was slow and the food took over a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Waiter was slow and the food took over an hour to get to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday here. Had a great waiter and the food was excellent! We had a broad spectrum of food ranging from sushi to steak and all entrees were excellent.

Definitely will be back and recommend Kona for anyone who has a celebration or just great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I did not complain or send it back, but when the manager asked about the meal and I told him, he was apologetic and offered a free dessert. I appreciate his attempt to make the situation right.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

They took away my delicious tuna dish! I ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

They took away my delicious tuna dish! It was my favorite so that makes me sad but the lettuce wraps are amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor Management...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our waiter was fine...but he had to be called over...because he WASN'T our waiter.

That is Management's problem...our waiter made up for it by jumping in!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. The negative was the slow an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food. The negative was the slow and unattentive Server and Wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Good waitress

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Good waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The food was outstanding! Definitely wor ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was outstanding! Definitely worth it for a nice dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was ok

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We ordered sushi and it was ok . It was a little Spendy and we were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Pre-Movie Dinner

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

As a group of four, we enjoyed dinner, wine, beer, and dessert before heading to the movies. The restaurant was bustling on a Saturday night, but we were still able to have a conversation without being drowned out by the restaurant. Overall delicious food (try the Snickers pie!), good portion sizes, and great service!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took forever to get lunch food for a group of 7

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Took forever to get lunch food for a group of 7 and the portions were much smaller than expected and compared to other restaurants. The quality and taste of the food was excellent, just expensive and a long wait time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food but ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is always very good. Most the folks that work at Kona are very nice and very caring and responsive. A bar drink was forgotten and we had to ask twice ... things happen. All appetizers were put on my bill when some should have been split out. The hostess was a bit of a 'super model' type with an air of 'snobiness.'

Overall we enjoy Kona Grill. The manager is fantastic we've always had very good experiences with the staff.

Drinks are a bit too watered-down though.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Ok

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant is almost always full, it is a very nice place but the food was not as expected; it's more fame than tasting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, food was awesome, ov ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent service, food was awesome, overpriced but nice for special occasions!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A GREAT BIRTHDAY!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Celebrated our son's 47th birthday here and what a wonderful evening. Great service, even better food, care for details to make our dining special. AND, a crème brulee for dessert for the birthday man. (No he did not have to share! We ordered one too. And NO singing by the wait staff!!!!) This was our first visit to Kona, but we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit Idaho 5x/yr..I dine here 5x/yr

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food, staff, ambience is great! The variety on the menu and the open kitchen are a plus!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nurse Becca

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The wait staff was very kind, and my interview went well. I was able to hire a partner for my check for cancer clinic within a professional and relaxing atmosphere. The food tastes delicious, and I would definitely recommend this location for business meetings of any kind.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Cold Food

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband ordered his usual Jambalaya...and it was COLD. He should have sent it back, but didn't. The other meals in our party were great!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It's good food if you can wait

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The alcoholic drinks were great and they are flexible with making drinks that are not on the menu. The appetizer, which happened to be dumplings, came quick and were great. We decided to order sushi for our entree and we had to wait 1 hour after the appetizer to get it. It was great sushi, it just took very long.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.