About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Special Occasion
Boise
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

special occasion (57)
good for groups (37)
great for lunch (35)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
great for outdoor dining (29)
hot spot (29)
romantic (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
scenic view (16)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (9)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is always great. An ...

Dined 2 days ago

The food and service is always great. And we enjoyed a great time dining on the patio with great weather.

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great Food! Too loud :(

Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. All four of us ordered something different and everyone had an outstanding meal. Great flavors & presentation. Atmosphere way too loud. I could not even hear the person sitting right in front of me/facing me, speaking right at me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley was Awesome

Dined 7 days ago

While our Pad Thai was a little underwhelming, the chicken was burned, the rest of our meal was fantastic. Our server Ashley was great...friendly, personable, and very helpful. We didn't mention the Pad Thai to her but I'm sure she would have taken it back and brought us back a new serving.

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

Waiter was slow and the food took over a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Waiter was slow and the food took over an hour to get to our table.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday here. Had a great waiter and the food was excellent! We had a broad spectrum of food ranging from sushi to steak and all entrees were excellent. Definitely will be back and recommend Kona for anyone who has a celebration or just great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The salmon was extremely over cooked. I did not complain or send it back, but when the manager asked about the meal and I told him, he was apologetic and offered a free dessert. I appreciate his attempt to make the situation right.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They took away my delicious tuna dish! I ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

They took away my delicious tuna dish! It was my favorite so that makes me sad but the lettuce wraps are amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor Management...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Our waiter was fine...but he had to be called over...because he WASN'T our waiter. That is Management's problem...our waiter made up for it by jumping in!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Great food. The negative was the slow an ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food. The negative was the slow and unattentive Server and Wait staff.

food3
ambience3
service5

Good waitress

Dined on April 17, 2016

Good waitress

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was outstanding! Definitely wor ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was outstanding! Definitely worth it for a nice dinner date.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was ok

Dined on April 10, 2016

We ordered sushi and it was ok . It was a little Spendy and we were not impressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Pre-Movie Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

As a group of four, we enjoyed dinner, wine, beer, and dessert before heading to the movies. The restaurant was bustling on a Saturday night, but we were still able to have a conversation without being drowned out by the restaurant. Overall delicious food (try the Snickers pie!), good portion sizes, and great service!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Took forever to get lunch food for a group of 7

Dined on March 18, 2016

Took forever to get lunch food for a group of 7 and the portions were much smaller than expected and compared to other restaurants. The quality and taste of the food was excellent, just expensive and a long wait time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food but ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is always very good. Most the folks that work at Kona are very nice and very caring and responsive. A bar drink was forgotten and we had to ask twice ... things happen. All appetizers were put on my bill when some should have been split out. The hostess was a bit of a 'super model' type with an air of 'snobiness.' Overall we enjoy Kona Grill. The manager is fantastic we've always had very good experiences with the staff. Drinks are a bit too watered-down though.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ok

Dined on March 12, 2016

The restaurant is almost always full, it is a very nice place but the food was not as expected; it's more fame than tasting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service, food was awesome, ov ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent service, food was awesome, overpriced but nice for special occasions!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A GREAT BIRTHDAY!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Celebrated our son's 47th birthday here and what a wonderful evening. Great service, even better food, care for details to make our dining special. AND, a crème brulee for dessert for the birthday man. (No he did not have to share! We ordered one too. And NO singing by the wait staff!!!!) This was our first visit to Kona, but we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit Idaho 5x/yr..I dine here 5x/yr

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food, staff, ambience is great! The variety on the menu and the open kitchen are a plus!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nurse Becca

Dined on February 24, 2016

The wait staff was very kind, and my interview went well. I was able to hire a partner for my check for cancer clinic within a professional and relaxing atmosphere. The food tastes delicious, and I would definitely recommend this location for business meetings of any kind.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Cold Food

Dined on February 22, 2016

My husband ordered his usual Jambalaya...and it was COLD. He should have sent it back, but didn't. The other meals in our party were great!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

It's good food if you can wait

Dined on February 21, 2016

The alcoholic drinks were great and they are flexible with making drinks that are not on the menu. The appetizer, which happened to be dumplings, came quick and were great. We decided to order sushi for our entree and we had to wait 1 hour after the appetizer to get it. It was great sushi, it just took very long.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Confusion

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our service was good, unfortunately it seemed as though the wait staff was a little confused. We had someone else's food and drinks brought to our table several times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Time

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was great. Our server was outstanding. We had a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Successful Wolfpack Night Out

Dined on February 20, 2016

We were seated quickly, sushi was exceptional, and our waiter Kyle was great! We're kind of a oddball group but he played along and made it fun to enjoy our dinner. We will be prowling the place again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Welcome All

Dined on February 20, 2016

Kona can meet the needs for all types of individuals. The sushi is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sushi time !

Dined on February 19, 2016

our waiter was amazing and the food was on spot ! your team was great all around :)

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

date night

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have 8 kids and when my wife and I get a chance to go out and enjoy an evening together, we decide to go to kona grill because not only is the food great but the service and atmosphere is the best for us to relax and not talk about our kids but to fall in love with each other again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent! The waitress was ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was excellent! The waitress was very attentive and the service was prompt. The décor was very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines

Dined on February 15, 2016

We at a very enjoyable night. The ambience was great. The staff was great.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Loud, spicy menu, but great service

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was really loud, hard to hear, I could not eat my BBQ Chicken because it was way too spicy, they did not offer to help fix it, and it was pricey. Not a good place for romance.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated next to the kitchen and p ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated next to the kitchen and prepping station for dinnerware, whereas several seats were available in other locations. Staff need to be conscientious of their guests and not how waiting areas are covered. Food was good as we experienced several items. Lobster Mac was really good! Sushi was OK and offered several varieties and some unique to Kona. We will go back, although pick your seating rather than be seated if you have a choice.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and setting

Dined on February 14, 2016

I love coming to Kona because of their delicious food and how beautiful the view is.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent, but it took over an ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was excellent, but it took over an hour to get our food.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and how long it took for t ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service and how long it took for the food to come out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lived it- as always

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lived it- as always

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Disappointing food

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our server was awesome, the décor lovely but our food was not good at all. We got a mediocre appetizer, 2 unappealing sushi rolls and a so so dessert. We were very disappointed. It was our anniversary so I was very bummed out that the restaurant I chose was this bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent As Always

Dined on February 10, 2016

We usually only eat here on special occasions, as it is a little too pricey for our budget. But we love the sushi here, and that we don't have to drive downtown. The Village is the perfect little getaway!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The entree and drinks were delicious!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The entree and drinks were delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Fun Time

Dined on February 3, 2016

I had gone to Kona Grill for my birthday, since we don't go to often. Every time that I have gone has been fantastic! The servers are always nice and kind, even if they aren't your server! Also, two different people came around to check and make sure that everyone was having a good time and that all was good~ If I could, I would go there all the time for the food and the atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.