About Kona Grill - Boise

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Casual (25)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (22)
People Watching (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Spicy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Great vibe and fun outdoor seating. Apps were good, but wine was sent back warm, as in almost hot. Dinners included some sushi and traditional bar food and was very good. Biggest downer was slow service - inattentive really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic! Robin did a great job as our waitress. Very friendly and efficient. Food orders were correct except that I did order octopus sushi and was billed for it but it was not delivered (didn't notice until after I left). Otherwise, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

we found plastic in one of our rolls of sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Stephanie was great tonight! Food was good. Very excited to try my fudge brownie that I ordered to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

As always food was amazing and staff was excellent. Best restaurant in Boise area. Always busy which is great, food is done right, and selection is perfect. Sushi is out of this world! It's worth it just for the Sushi. Staff and Managers are always smiling and always making sure guest are greeted. 10/10

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service! menu offers a perfect variety. good atmosphere. sushi rice was a little loose. Sushi as a whole was not cold enough. great flavor though.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I try out various sushi restaurants every other Friday and enjoyed our experience at the Kona Grill. We were especially pleased with our server, she was very helpful in making our choices and frequently checked back with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is the first time I've had Sushi at Kona and it's the last. Overpriced, warm rolls of 99% rice that were so big there is no way to eat them with chopsticks. Leave sushi to the experts please!
On a bright note, the chop salad was magnificent -a definite must order, and it's large enough to split!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Kona needs to improve on their service - our waitress was barely attentive or helpful!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

For 32.50 you'd think the Filet would taste like a Filet. I asked for med and it came out med well. My husband asked for med rare and it came out med to med well. The restaurant was very loud. The sushi was rolled too loose, so when you put in soy sauce, it fell apart. The server that was a signed to our table didn't deliver our food and only came back a couple Times. The blonde girl in the blue dress that delivered our food conversated and made our experience better than the person that was originally assigned. We had to ask for salt and pepper.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Celebrated my adult niece's birthday at KG. Food was good, with lots of variety. I had Pad Thai, which was very authentic. Noise level was my only real complaint as we had a party of 9 seated at a long table, near the door and bar. Impossible to hear anything unless it was shouted, which was probably why it was so noisy. LOL!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Waitress was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was disappointed that you can't reserve outdoor seating. The chicken salad my dad ordered did not have any chicken in it. They were good at offering refills.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was bland, salad was warm, took much too long to get our order. Won't be going there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Work meeting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This restaurant has a good variety on the menu, the food quality is good and well priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server, Garrett, was great; the miso-sake sea bass is out-of-this world! It is just...LOUD, otherwise I would've marked the ambiance one star higher.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sushi is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Unfortunately, our business dinner was on Tuesday night, which is apparently the discounted movie night at the theater across the way. The wait for the sushi rolls that were ordered was 40 MINS!!! WOW! There was also a wait for the rest of the food but it was the wait for the sushi that was quite disappointing. Food is good. Eclectic variety. NOTE to SELF though: Don't dine there on Tuesday nights!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Usually a great go-to for a family meal. Service was so/so last night , unusually long waits for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The only good thing I can say about this was the service by our waitress. We were celebrating my wife's Birthday & Fathers Day with my son and his family. Started with drinks and appetizers and from there it went downhill faster than an unlimited drag racer. When entries were served they were cold, tough, and overcooked . It took a hour and 15 minutes for are food to arrive and while the 6 of us were waiting for our food a party of 8 came in and was served and were leaving as we got our food. Waitress was constantly checking with the food expediter and did her best to make it right but was foiled by the kitchen time and time again. Manager did deduct the food that was no good from the bill as a jesture to make up for the poor food and slow service. This was supposed to be a celebration but turned into a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been to Kona Grill several times. The last two times (over the last couple of months), the service was poor. We were there on a Sunday at 3 PM. The restaurant was not that busy and there were several empty tables. Several in our party ordered soup with their meal. It took 25 minutes for the kitchen/wait staff to get our soup out. It took another 25 minutes to get our food orders out. In our party of of 7, 5 people had ordered either a salad or a cold item (sushi). When I asked our waitress why the kitchen was so slow, she didn't know. How could you not know why it took 25 minutes to get soup out and another 25 minutes to get salads out?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for a mid afternoon dinner to celebrate Father's Day. We were greeted warmly at the door. Our server was Jordyn, who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our meal arrived promptly and was delicious. My husband has been quite ill so going out for dinner is a rarity. Kona Grill made his experience pleasant and enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers day

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day. The food took forever to get served and my mother-in-law's food was soggy and cold, but it was okay overall. The waitress was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

$50 per person is what we paid and I think it was a bit much for what we got....wait, I had an
Appetizer, drink, dessert, coffee, club sandwich. That is a lot! OK. Forget about the costly comment. It was actually pretty good for all of that.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Change up the menu from time to time! Great food. Great location the service is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The waitress seem to not care to be there to help us out with the order was not friendly at all until we checked out she gave us a big smile of course she wanted the tip. I won't be visiting this place again.
It feels like you are in a middle school cafeteria way too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good food and friendly staff, but it was busy and the kitchen fell behind a bit. We had to wait a long time for our food with two toddlers. Make sure you sign up for their emails and you get a free app or roll (up to $12)!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The restaurant was hoping and food was not delayed by much....yummy til the end

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Absolutely perfect meal. Had the Sweet chili Salmon and have never had a better meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We like Kona Grill. They have a great menu and great drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We hadn't been in for a few years because of our last experience with the food not being great. I was bummed that we still weren't pleased with the food. My husband ordered the NY strip and I had the lobster mac n cheese.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great service and fabulous food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Looks like the menu has been updated recently!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great service we were trying to make a movie mentioned it to our waitress and she pushed our order through very quickly. The food was amazing drinks were great and we made the movie on time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My view as we sat at our two seater table was my wife and a big wall while the rest of the restaurant was behind me. Who ever arranged the eating in that restaurant should have been fired. The lobster and tuna flatbread came out on what tasted like tasteless crackers overloaded with red onion. My wife got an overpriced vegan sushi roll which was apparently overpriced for what she got. The coconut mojito we got apparently has no alcohol in it because I get more sober drinking it after my beer. Overall, this is one overpriced restaurant I will not be going to after this horrible experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service is usually great at Kona Grill. However the last few times I have gone the servers I have had don't really seem to care all that much. They rush thru my order and lack warmth. The last time I went there we celebrated my birthday - I'm not sure if your policy is to give desserts for free for birthdays occasions but I was charged for mine. My server would read back my order to me and half way thru be walking away. As well as when I was telling him my drink order he would walk away in my mid sentence. It wasn't very tasteful and for the price of the food you expect there to be good service. I was really disappointed and certainly caught off guard by the rudeness displayed in the server.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We had a Kentucky Mule and a Radpberry Mango Mojito along with four orders of sushi. Everything was great and full of flavor. The waitress was on top of things and a joy to interact with. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Dined with out of town friends. The menu offered variety of options for 4 different palates. Food very good, service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.