About Kona Grill - Boise

Welcome to Kona Grill in The Village at Meridian. Enjoy your local paradise after work or a day of shopping. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful patio overlooking Fountain Square is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Casual (22)
See All
Fun (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
People Watching (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Scenic View (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Spicy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Kona grill had outstanding service. The whole crew was incredably polite. Over all amazing date night thanks kona!

Tags: Spicy, Quick Bite, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our daughter's birthday here and the food was delicious with very large portions. The Jambalaya was the favorite with a nice spicy kick to it. The lemon garlic shrimp penne was good but a little too strong on the lemon side. The service was excellent! Our waitress checked on us a lot and was quick to fix a wrong dish in no time. And the free birthday dessert was a nice bonus too. We had a very nice time here and will be back again to try more dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

My family and i very much enjoyed celebrating my daughter's 17th birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went in a group of 6 (triple date night). The atmosphere was very nice, quiet and inviting. I will definitely be back. I am sad that I did not get to order a dessert, I heard the carrot cake is to die for.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our first time there! We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service, good food and great drinks! Waiter was fun and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our dining experience was very good! It was a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have eaten here many times and appreciate the ability to book through open table, as they get long lines at times. Food is very nicely prepared and presented. Quite good service. Excellent happy hour in the bar and patio, overlooking the water features in the upscale retail development known as the "Village".

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service, awesome food, great ambiance. Perfect for high class and cost friendly dining

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food just wasn't as good as it normally is!! We go to Kona all the time. Service was good just a little slow. But it was Saturday night & busy as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Love Kona Grill!!! My number one spot to go, even with the kids.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

It took 30 minutes to get our drinks. The children got dinner 25 minutes before the adults did. The waiter blamed it all n the hostess saying she should have told us the Sushi was way behind.

I always love the food at Kona but the customer service needs a lot of work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was my first time dining here since it opened years ago. I have always been turned away by the long wait times. Now I see why. Everything was just awesome. Drink service was fast, the food was amazing!! And deserts were awesome. Plus our waitress was on top of everything. I will be eating here again but will alway make a reservation before I do.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Kona always has graat service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A girlfriend and I wanted a cocktail and light appetizers sat at the bar ordered margarita s and flatbread which were good

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a great waiter who was engaging and funny. Service was fast. Food was tasty. Great kids menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Expensive, but food was good. Service was slow because it was way busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I thought the food was okay, but not great, except for the smoked gouda fondue, that was awesome. The drinks and dinner were just average, especially for the price. the service was great and out waitress was very nice

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great vibe and fun outdoor seating. Apps were good, but wine was sent back warm, as in almost hot. Dinners included some sushi and traditional bar food and was very good. Biggest downer was slow service - inattentive really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fantastic! Robin did a great job as our waitress. Very friendly and efficient. Food orders were correct except that I did order octopus sushi and was billed for it but it was not delivered (didn't notice until after I left). Otherwise, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

we found plastic in one of our rolls of sushi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Stephanie was great tonight! Food was good. Very excited to try my fudge brownie that I ordered to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always food was amazing and staff was excellent. Best restaurant in Boise area. Always busy which is great, food is done right, and selection is perfect. Sushi is out of this world! It's worth it just for the Sushi. Staff and Managers are always smiling and always making sure guest are greeted. 10/10

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service! menu offers a perfect variety. good atmosphere. sushi rice was a little loose. Sushi as a whole was not cold enough. great flavor though.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Asian receptionist was so awesome. She set our group up absolutely the way we wanted it. Very polite and approachable! Our waiter was very helpful with the new menu. I asked him about one of the main dish, and he replied that's a very delicious meal! The dessert was way to awesome. I am very pleased with our night at the Kona Grill....aloha!

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Seasonal, Tapas, Healthy, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My daughter and I try out various sushi restaurants every other Friday and enjoyed our experience at the Kona Grill. We were especially pleased with our server, she was very helpful in making our choices and frequently checked back with us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is the first time I've had Sushi at Kona and it's the last. Overpriced, warm rolls of 99% rice that were so big there is no way to eat them with chopsticks. Leave sushi to the experts please!
On a bright note, the chop salad was magnificent -a definite must order, and it's large enough to split!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Kona needs to improve on their service - our waitress was barely attentive or helpful!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

For 32.50 you'd think the Filet would taste like a Filet. I asked for med and it came out med well. My husband asked for med rare and it came out med to med well. The restaurant was very loud. The sushi was rolled too loose, so when you put in soy sauce, it fell apart. The server that was a signed to our table didn't deliver our food and only came back a couple Times. The blonde girl in the blue dress that delivered our food conversated and made our experience better than the person that was originally assigned. We had to ask for salt and pepper.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Celebrated my adult niece's birthday at KG. Food was good, with lots of variety. I had Pad Thai, which was very authentic. Noise level was my only real complaint as we had a party of 9 seated at a long table, near the door and bar. Impossible to hear anything unless it was shouted, which was probably why it was so noisy. LOL!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Waitress was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was disappointed that you can't reserve outdoor seating. The chicken salad my dad ordered did not have any chicken in it. They were good at offering refills.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was bland, salad was warm, took much too long to get our order. Won't be going there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Work meeting.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This restaurant has a good variety on the menu, the food quality is good and well priced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server, Garrett, was great; the miso-sake sea bass is out-of-this world! It is just...LOUD, otherwise I would've marked the ambiance one star higher.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The sushi is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Unfortunately, our business dinner was on Tuesday night, which is apparently the discounted movie night at the theater across the way. The wait for the sushi rolls that were ordered was 40 MINS!!! WOW! There was also a wait for the rest of the food but it was the wait for the sushi that was quite disappointing. Food is good. Eclectic variety. NOTE to SELF though: Don't dine there on Tuesday nights!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Usually a great go-to for a family meal. Service was so/so last night , unusually long waits for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The only good thing I can say about this was the service by our waitress. We were celebrating my wife's Birthday & Fathers Day with my son and his family. Started with drinks and appetizers and from there it went downhill faster than an unlimited drag racer. When entries were served they were cold, tough, and overcooked . It took a hour and 15 minutes for are food to arrive and while the 6 of us were waiting for our food a party of 8 came in and was served and were leaving as we got our food. Waitress was constantly checking with the food expediter and did her best to make it right but was foiled by the kitchen time and time again. Manager did deduct the food that was no good from the bill as a jesture to make up for the poor food and slow service. This was supposed to be a celebration but turned into a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.