About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - Boise
Kona Grill - Boise

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Idaho
Most Booked
Boise
Best Restaurants in Meridian ›

Special Occasion (22)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Scenic View (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I have been going here since ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I have been going here since they opened for our date nights and birthday and it's always perfect.Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our birth ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I were celebrating our birthdays and had a gift certificate to Kona Grill. Our waiter was friendly and attentive to our needs. He was perhaps the part of our experience. We were seated at a table next to to the food preparation area which had a low glass partition between us and the noise of pans and dishes in the kitchen. I wear hearing aids so the back ground noise made conversation very difficult. I did not hear our waiter say that there would be a complimentary dessert and ordered a dessert separately. He questioned my order according to my wife but I did not understand therefore we ended up with 2 desserts, which we ate but certainly did not need. The menus were not clear. I ordered one of the flat bread offerings which when I received it looked more like a appetizer than a main course meal. Comparing the menu my wife had with the one I had she had a number of items on her menu that were not on mine. Our reservation was at 4:45 because we wanted to be plenty early to beat the Friday night rush. There were plenty of open seats throughout the restaurant. I would have expected to have been seated in a quieter section, perhaps next to a window. The noisy kitchen area could be saved then for late reservations during crowded times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic as usual. Great table. Excepti ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Fantastic as usual. Great table. Exceptionally good food. Had the Voodoo roll and pot stickers. Generous portion, great ingredients, and served well. Great waiter and shadow in training. Will keep going back. Our umpteenth visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just okay, nothing special. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was just okay, nothing special. I thought the prices were very high for what we got. I ordered two cocktails. The first had very, very little alcohol and did not taste very good at all. The second was a bit better but not something I would come back for. My husband had sushi and said it was alright. I ordered the spinach artichoke pit which was kind of runny without much taste. I also had the margarita flatbread which tasted like it should have but it still was nothing to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great ambience and delicious food. The s ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great ambience and delicious food. The sushi was very good and our server was on top of it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I tried the Lobster Mac n Cheese! Divine ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I tried the Lobster Mac n Cheese! Divine! My husband ordered sushi and said it was really good. We shared the Passionfruit Creme Brûlée. Mmmmmmmm. We are definitely coming back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We walked in right when we were told. Th ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We walked in right when we were told. The biggest problem we had as we were sitting at the table the staff kept trying to give us other peoples food. 4 times. I ordered a dinner salad but never got that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The restaurant itself was nice and the s ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The restaurant itself was nice and the service was excellent. I was not impressed with the food or the food selection at all. I had the chicken and broccoli stir fry and found it spicy and off putting. Nothing else on the menu even remotely interested me. It'd be nice if there was some normal American food on the menu. Seems like they tried to be too exotic with everything. For the price, I won't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating 2 birthdays our ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays our waiter said he would bring 2 birthday deserts

He brought them and they were very good

My complaint is they were supposed to be free, complimentary we were charged 15.50 for both then only a$10.00 credit

Not exactly a complimentary birthday desert 😐

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Your sushi is the best. I love going th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Your sushi is the best. I love going there because I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service despite ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and excellent service despite eating on a busy Friday night. Complimentary dessert for my birthday was a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service, overall great ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

great food, great service, overall great experience. We will come back.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was ok, pricey. Server was great, food was forgotten however it was removed from the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

New waiter Ryan was awesome. The resta ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

New waiter Ryan was awesome.

The restaurant was very busy, but he was attentive and knew the menu well.

The food was very good, and beautifully presented.

Yes, I will dine at Kona Grill again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall satisfied. Made reservation onli ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall satisfied. Made reservation online they called the day before to confirm and there was no issues when we got there the day of. There was a slight delay on our food but it's understandable since they were busy Saturday evening. Great food and great environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic overall experience definitely ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic overall experience definitely will recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservation but when we got there ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had reservation but when we got there our table was next to the kitchen so it was kitchen noise plus the noise of the customers which made it impossible to visit. There was way too much bacon in the zucchini and corn causing it to taste too salty. The salmon was ok but I've had better. Very pricey for what was served. The sushi and the pasta dish were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service. Drinks take too long a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Terrible service. Drinks take too long and my card was charged when I paid with cash. Tacky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We had reservations at 6:30pm on a Satur ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had reservations at 6:30pm on a Saturday for 10. One in our party didn't arrive and another was a baby, so there were 8 dinners to be served. Seated at 6:40. Drinks and appetizer were ordered, waiter said the bar was behind. Drinks arrived half an hour later. Ordered dinner, some of us ordered sushi, waiter said the sushi bar was behind. After waiting for another half hour, the waiter said the kitchen was behind. When the food arrived, the $30 steak was luke warm, the macadamia nut chicken in the salad was fried until burnt. They took the salad away to make another one, half an hour later, I said to cancel it, everyone was done and I didn't want to eat by myself. They brought out the salad in to-go containers, anyway.

The managers apologized, gave us $20 in gift cards and credited our check for $63. Got home and noticed they charged us twice for the salad...

This is the third and last time we will return to this restaurant. On previous occasions, the service was ALWAYS slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good was cold. Had to send back to have ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good was cold. Had to send back to have warmed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner, celebrating a wed ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had a great dinner, celebrating a wedding anniversary. The staff was very attentive, but not irritating. Our server was helpful with food and wine selections, helping us decide on a great meal. Dessert was fantastic as well. A great experience for us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a special birthday party. Eva d ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was a special birthday party. Eva did a tremendous job helping set up our table. Thank you.

Our server mistook my date for a "guy" as he saw her from behind with her short haircut, AWKWARD! Otherwise it was a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The salmon was delicious, but the sushi ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The salmon was delicious, but the sushi tasted strange to my two guests. The place was very loud--hard to hear the conversation at our table. It took a long time for our initial drink orders to arrive, but the rest of the service was prompt.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

After being told that we could sit in th ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

After being told that we could sit in the bar OR the dining room---it didn't matter---then we were told that we could not get the half price appetizer specials b ecause of our seating location. We had arrived early to pick a seat in the what I guess is the "appetizer area" and the hostess said either way we were "good".

The manager literallythrew two free appetizer cards at us fifteen minutes later after we were seated. nice gesture but definitely not heartfelt and didn't even make eye contact.

We waited 45 minutes for our food---salads and sushi. Three of our party of 8 didn't even eat their food it was so bad.

Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

It is so loud and noisy you can't hear e ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is so loud and noisy you can't hear each other talk. The food is great and the employees are very nice and the decor is pretty. The salmon is delicious as is the macadamia chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I had made reservations for 12, our out ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I had made reservations for 12, our out of town guests got caught in traffic and were a little late, but they held our table for us. My husband is handicapped and in a wheel chair, they kindly held the door and let us park the chair out of the way. Cody was our very friendly waitress, and two others came by to ask how everything was. I would recommend Kona Grill to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening sharing great ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a wonderful evening sharing great food and good drinks with very special friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food wasn't cooked to order, and when I got a new plate the burger had no flavor and was missing the bacon that I paid extra for. The french fries were more like bits and pieces rather than full size fries. I won't be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was good and services, love the vil ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was good and services, love the village location!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had such a delicious dinner, everythi ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had such a delicious dinner, everything was amazing from appetizers to dessert. We will be sure to come back again......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server got many things wrong with my hus ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Server got many things wrong with my husband's order. Even managed to mess up his water (put tap water in this cup of soda water when he went to refill it). Served an entirely different dish than what was ordered and didn't take it off the price of our tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Jamie rocks service!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Jamie rocks service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every single time I've been there with m ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Every single time I've been there with more than 5 people the delay on when we get the food and when we are checked on to refill drinks has been ridiculous...

We had 10 people and there was hardly anybody in the restaurant at that time. A group of 4 people sat down and ordered a good 15 minutes after we had placed our order and they received their food about 20 BEFORE we did...

This isn't the first time this has happened...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The burger had no taste at all. Zero. And that was even with bacon on it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The employee serving us was very good. ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The employee serving us was very good. Her name was Laura. The Mojitos was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is awesome!!! We went for dat ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is awesome!!! We went for date night and will be back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at KG several times and have ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Have eaten at KG several times and have ALWAYS had a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice co ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was loud. Too loud to have a nice conversation. My wife ordered the catch of the day, swordfish, and it didn't have any flavor. My sushi and salad were very good but not good enough to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My abso ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

LOVED the macadamia nut chicken. My absolute favorite!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but loud environment

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food but loud environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.