About Kona Grill - Boise

3573 E Longwing Lane #140
Meridian, ID 83646
View Larger Map

Please Note: Kona Grill can not reserve patio seating.

Kona Grill offers diners freshly prepared food, personalized service, and a warm contemporary ambiance that creates an exceptional, yet affordable dining experience. The diverse menu includes a wide variety of mainstream American dishes, as well as a variety of entrees and appetizers with an international influence. Specialties include Baked Sea Bass in a miso-sake marinade, Filets, Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin, and Kona Grill's signature dish - Macadamia Nut Chicken. Kona Grill also features an award-winning sushi menu containing all of the traditional favorites plus several unique dishes created by talented sushi chefs.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs: 11a-10p
Fri - Sat: 11a-11p
Sun: 11a-10p

Cross Street:
Eagle Rd & Fairview Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 922-6511

Website:
http://www.konagrill.com/restaurants/boise-id.aspx

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kona Grill - Boise, Meridian, ID

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 1:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:30PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:30PM

Sat 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:30PM

Kona Grill - Boise Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (18)
Casual (18)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Waterfront (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loud venue with food that was missing fl ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 2 days ago

Loud venue with food that was missing flavor. While the menu described the food well, and the bill was large enough that I expected well cooked food, the flavor was bland and tired. Rubber chicken, a gooey flavorless sauce, and what tasted like reconstituted potatoes. Servers did try hard though, and the cocktails were great.. their kitchen lets them down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was awesome, but service was slow w ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome, but service was slow when the restaurant seems not that busy. It was also lunch hour, so we were hoping for a bit faster service to get back to work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very accommodating to our group of six. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Very accommodating to our group of six. Fast service and food was excellent. I couldn't finish my hamburger, it was so large.. we've been.at your restaurant a good number of times and will continue. Bill. Klimback

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

First visit to Kona Grill left us very p ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 10, 2017

First visit to Kona Grill left us very pleased. Friendly wait staff, cool environment and great food. We started with edamame, My husband ordered grilled salmon over bowtie Pasta, I had the pad Thai, and we shared the kona salad with macadamia crusted chicken. Everything was delicious and very generous portions

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Luke warm. Sat up at serving statio ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food Luke warm. Sat up at serving station over 10 minutes. 2 in party of 5 returned meal and left without eating. Good waitress. Manager did remove the 2 meals from bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

I ordered a dish with Bass and the fish ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I ordered a dish with Bass and the fish was decidedly turning bad. Loved the h'ordeurves and the wind. I kept the rice and veggies from the fish dish and just went without the fish. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good. Pleasant service and good foo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very good. Pleasant service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great post-snowshoe dinner ther ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a great post-snowshoe dinner there. The kids loved their Bento boxes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was New Year's Eve. Made reservation ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve. Made reservation on Open Table app which was easy but when I needed to change I couldn't figure how through app, so that maybe operator error. Called restaurant and changed the number of guest. We arrived early to have drink, because we were childless this evening, and was seated at our table early. The food was great for the pricing. Our friend had a Mai Tai which he didn't like - Red Robin makes them better. Lemon Garlic pasta was delicious. PanSeared Tuna was great, and my fresh Salmon with Grape/Avacado salsa was good. Had ran out of desserts by 8 pm which was a tad disturbing. We don't normally have dessert but because it was a special night was looking forward to something. Would go again and would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for New Years Eve before going t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Eve before going to the movie. The food was excellent. It was a little noisy but a fun atmosphere. The service was good and we didn't have to wait long for our food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I would say that all of the food was jus ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I would say that all of the food was just average. The waitress was very good but the fried chicken and the macadamia chicken were a bit overcooked and really just average. I want to like this place but honestly there are too many places in front of it to really justify giving it another try (today was my 3rd try). My son did say the sushi and roll he had were good but he is 15 and we'll what I saw and tasted were once again just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had an excellent meal, and our server ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an excellent meal, and our server was perfect.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was friendly and the food was ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The staff was friendly and the food was good. I especially enjoyed the creamy basil soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food was wonderful and our waitress ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our food was wonderful and our waitress sweet and helpful. Will return

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In this price point, both service and fo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

In this price point, both service and food quality should be much better. We had a 6:30 reservation and waited 20 minutes to be seated. The bar ran out of 2 different bottles of wine we tried to order. Just a bad experience all around and with entrees and sandwiches priced between $14-35, you should just get much better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was horrible but the service wa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was horrible but the service was great!

Overall I probably would go back but just for happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Great food and experience as always. I ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food and experience as always. I had the Coho wild-caught salmon and my wife had her favorite white-bean and chicken chili and we finished with our favorite butter cake dessert. It was Christmas Eve and we had the last available reservation for the evening. We were well cared for and did not feel rushed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I miss the Sea Bass menu item from Summe ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I miss the Sea Bass menu item from Summer '16. The current miso-sake sea bass is a poor comparison. Last summer's sea bass was literally the best that several of us had ever tasted. Please bring it back!

Service was great. Music was a little noisy, but they turned it down a bit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING FOOD!!! ESPECIALLY THE SUSHI!!!! ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

AMAZING FOOD!!! ESPECIALLY THE SUSHI!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent, drinks were amazi ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was excellent, drinks were amazing, the atmosphere was fantastic! The only problem both me and my partner had was that the sushi was awful. I've been to several other places that offer sushi, but Kona Grill just couldn't get it right. The tuna was way too mushy, and the rice was way too soggy. But, I have gone to Kona Grill for other food and they are exceptional on everything else they make!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night celebrating my daughters bir ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great night celebrating my daughters birthday with all our family. Waitress was outstanding, food was a little slow but gave us time to chat.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Solid sushi. Best we have had in Boise a ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Solid sushi. Best we have had in Boise and we have looked all over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Kona Grill is favorite for good food, in ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Kona Grill is favorite for good food, interesting choices and helpful, friendly staff. Went there before a movie, spent a fun time with appetizers, dessert and wonderful main courses.

Recommend it and will go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent in every way. Great food, and ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent in every way. Great food, and server! Manager stopped by twice to make sure everything was good

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Thursday night with a reser ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went on a Thursday night with a reservation. It was very crowded and very loud. We waited a long time for our food to arrive. We were told twice it was because there was a big party in front of us. my husband and I both had something from the Seasonal Menu and we were disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Unfortunately some of us had ordered sal ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Unfortunately some of us had ordered salads and the quality was poor, salad not fresh lettuce limp, chicken that is usually crisp was not and this was before a lot of people was around 1:00. The manger was very apologetic when he saw the live bug covered with dressing in one of the salads. Did a just the bill and gave two free desserts. The waitress was very apologetic and was so kind. Needless to say it was not her fault and we did tip her very well. Have eaten there a lot and food usually good. Sometimes the waitresses in the bar area are not very good unless men are around. There are so many awesome restaurants in this area so the car load of ladies will not be going to this one again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing everything! My boyfriend took me ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Amazing everything! My boyfriend took me out for my birthday and it was wonderful, had an amazing server, great food, and beautiful decor inside, 10/10 experience

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Fun, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, , Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great dining experience, But ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, great dining experience,

But number one Excellence is the Staff, Especially the Senior management. allowing special conditions for the dining experience for such a special award dinner for family and friends.

Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience we had was wonderf ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The dining experience we had was wonderful.

The filet was the best tasting and I have been to many high priced restaurants, also the carrots and mushrooms were great. I would definitely recommend everyone to try it, you will go back like I will

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to dinner to celebrate my friends b ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went to dinner to celebrate my friends birthday. I wanted to order another drink but the waiter was no where to be seen and service was pretty slow to be honest. Our waiter didn't really check up on us to see if we wanted more drinks or not, so that was kinda disappointing. Other than that the food was very good, and loved the atmosphere. :) I will still go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We arrived for our reservation right on ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We arrived for our reservation right on time but weren't seated until 15-20 mins later. It seemed the hostess forgot about us but when we complained, we were seated right away and given a complimentary appetizer on the house. We appreciated Kona Grill taking care of us that way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed everything except the noise. Way ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed everything except the noise. Way too noisy to carry on much of a conversation without almost yelling.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The salads are great! It is a great plac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The salads are great! It is a great place to go and hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I dine and entertain at Kona Grill often ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I dine and entertain at Kona Grill often. The food is consistently excellent and service is great. The seasonal specials are creative and tasty. The restaurant has an excellent location in The Village at Meridian. The patio faces the fountain and had warmers that make the dining pleasant even when the weather is cool.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. All 3 of us had the sal ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very good food. All 3 of us had the salmon lunch. They offer the birthday girl a dessert, but they don't have any non-dairy options.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loud. Busy; thus slow.

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Loud. Busy; thus slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I took my wife for a belated birthday di ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I took my wife for a belated birthday dinner, the food was delicious...I had the pork tenderloin, she had the salmon. It was the first time we'd ordered something besides sushi (which is wonderful!) our server Chase was first class and catered to our every need. We will return!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really looking forward to the happ ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was really looking forward to the happy hour menu. I ended up extremely disappointed when I found out I couldn't order happy hour specials in the reserved dining area. I see no reason why that can't be accommodated. I had only previously dined in the bar area but made reservations since the kids were coming with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Kona grill has great food but the prices ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Kona grill has great food but the prices are a little steep. Overall we enjoy going to Kona Grill.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Mike, our Server was outstanding; couldn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Mike, our Server was outstanding; couldn't have asked for a better Server. The Miso-Sake Sea Bass is absolutely fabulous-it is, by far, the very best sea bass I've ever eaten.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.