About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (111)
Special Occasion (110)
Fit for Foodies (107)
See All
Authentic (93)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Romantic (78)
Business Meals (76)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Notable Wine List (59)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Good for Groups (49)
Cozy (47)
Great for Lunch (47)
Worth the Drive (45)
Fireplace (42)
Wood Oven (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Bar Seating (35)
Open Kitchen (32)
Fun (30)
Healthy (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
People Watching (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Private Room (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Modern Decor (18)
Casual (17)
Tapas (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Family Style (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Historic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Some of the best lamb you'll ever have. Great service, lovely wines, beautifully prepared Greek standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful on all accounts. Doug greeted my wife and I as we went to our table and made us feel more than welcome. We had just driven in from Monterey (visiting from Houston) and couldn't have had a better experience. This was our second time here and we are making it a staple to visit every time we are in SF. The food was prepared with great care and detail. Everything is delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

There are no secrets, this restaurant is always simply amazing. There are no off day or quiet days
every day the restaurant is thriving with excited
Happy Diners. I had rack of lamb and my wife had
the roasted lamb from the fire place
You must go at some time in your life

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible and authentic Greek food and The service is impeccable. I would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! The food was brilliantly prepared and paired. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

We wanted to try it because of the high rating. The place is beautiful, service is attentive, the food is just ok though. The chicken souvlaki was very average, the end pieces are a bit dry, but the middle piece was a bit raw and pink. Homemade pita was ok, but nothing out standing. Grilled octopus was very tender, but I didn't really like the flavour, and it was sitting on top of a pile of oil which made it a bit greasy. Zucchini cake was pretty good, crispy outside and soft in the middle. Overall I would say it doesn't live up to the hight rating for me, and not quite worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our second time in Kokkari, this time for dinner. Food was really good, everything we ordered, the four of us. We had a nice quiet table in the back. Service was also great, you don't see them, bet they're there when needed, very discreet. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Took my wife here for Mother's Day. Great service, quiet, and good food. Truly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I highly recommend this beautiful restaurant. I came here with my wife for the first time for our wedding anniversary. This was our first time ever trying Greek food and I would say it was amazing. Our waitress was well-informed with the menu and was really on point in giving her recommendations. The food was delicious and well prepared. The atmosphere was perfect and the rest of the staff was very helpful and courteous. My wife and I enjoyed the evening at this wonderful restaurant and will definitely be coming back to try other items on the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Appetizers and dessert were GREAT!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always amazing! Continues to over-deliver and be one of my top picks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fireplace, People Watching, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Must have is the Octopuss and Lamb off the open fire

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have been wanting to come here for a long time and I wasn't disappointed! Everything was delicious, the only problem was choosing what to order. I need to go back just to try more of the items I missed. The place is very loud and they had several large groups which increases the volume. If you are sensitive to the noise, request a table in the front section.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I am a regular diner at Kokkari -- 10 years now. The food is consistently fantastic, the service on-point (the only reason I rated it only "very good" not "outstanding" was that our busser wasn't quite keeping pace with our meal; a quibble in the grand scheme of things, but then again, who likes looking at dirty plates?), and, finally, the room is beautiful and that magic Kokkari lighting makes everybody look great. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I went for a business meal and was very happy that we were seated at a round table. It made the conversation easy to follow and we could avoid the yelling down the table that happens at a long rectangular table. I've heard great things about Kokkari and it did not disappoint. My only complaint was the numerous calls that the restaurant made to confirm my reservation. Normally a restaurant calls once to confirm a reservation the day or two before. I had booked the table a month in advance and got 4 phone calls, 4 days in a row to confirm my reservation. Each time I either answered or called back to confirm. I do understand that tables were in demand that night, but I don't think you need to confirm 4 days in a row.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a wonderful experience here, both the food and the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Kokkari never disappoints! For years Boulevard was my favorite restaurant. Kokkari has past and lapped Boulevard. Appetizers, entrees, dessert & service were flawless!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Never had such good Greek food, not even in Greece.The ambiance is very nice, service gracious and food sublime.
Valerie made our lunch experience even more special with her professional recommendations and constant care.
I will visit San Francisco again just to go to Kokkari.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wow, what a lovely experience! Our server was spot-on, and all of the service was amazing. Food was so delicious and authentic. We had lunch and ordered taziki dip, lamb dolmathes, spanakopita, and moussaka. All were perfect and it was just the right amount for two adults and a 2-year old to share. Lovely ambiance - not cramped like many places in SF. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Visiting San Francisco for the first time, we did not know about this restaurant. We found good reviews on the web and were not disappointed. Very chic restaurant but with a warm ambiance. To me this is a five star restaurant. Exquisite service, very attentive and never rushed. Food was good from beginning to coffee, had three excellent Mezze and a greek salad, and then we shared the main dish. Everything was more than delicious. Price was very reasonable for the quality. Total for two was about $150 with service and we had a glass of wine each. This is certainly one of the best restaurants in San Francisco. Make sure to reserve though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Consistently a five star experience. There aren't enough birthdays and anniversaries in my life - so now we go on Sunday evenings just because!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great place, delicious food, amazing service. We went to celebrate our anniversary and it was fantastic

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a great time. The food, ambiance and service were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Seated promptly. Tables in good position. Wait staff was excellent. Food was excellent but the lamb skewer was not super tinder. Ambiance was nice.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

You can't go wrong with Kokkari! Excellent food and service. We had the Saganaki, Moussaka, lamb kabob. All amazing!
For dessert we had their special, which was strawberry, rhubarb with whipped cream and crushed pistachios on top. Don't even think about even ordering anything else! It's to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on May 5, 2017

Authentic Greek cuisine of a very high standard. Excellent service and setting. We had a blast from start to finish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent meal. Like being back in Greece. Fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This restorant is fantastic. Very proffessional and friendly servers. Our server Abli was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Comida deliciosa!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great dining experience. Excellent food and great service. The octopus melted in my mouth. The staff made me feel very comfortable as I was dining on my own.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We enjoyed mostly appetizers and split a lamb burger which was great.
The server recommended a Greek wine and we loved it too.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My God the best Lamb Chops... Excellent Branzino too. I want to try everything on the menu. The service was superb as well. Majid was the best. I have found my permanent, special occasion spot. Wonderful and memorable dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We had just attended a 42nd St Moon performance, so walking across the street to Kokkari makes for a perfect afternoon and evening. We have always enjoyed our meals there and this time was predictably the same. The waiter suggested a perfect side dish to go with the lamb shank dinner and the dessert he recommended was equally as good. We left satisfied and will return again, soon!

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

An upscale place but very expensive, portions are not as big as the price. Also you have to make a reservation at least 2-3 weeks ahead if you are planning for a weekend or convenient evening time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the most delicious Mediterranean restaurant I have been, truly a great experience !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was hubbies birthday. We had an amazing time, our waitress was friendly, personable, great with suggestions and honest. The food was fantastic. The ambiance was beautiful. Love this place, next time we visit San Francisco this place is a must 💞

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We tried to go to this restaurant about 5 years ago and weren't able to get in. When we knew we were returning to San Francisco, we made reservations early so we wouldn't miss out. It is not cheap, but everything was outstanding. Will definitely go back when we visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very authentic Greek cuisine. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Completely satisfied. The appetizers and entrees were great. We had Octopus and pork sausage appetizers, and then had lamb chops and roasted whole fish entrees.
The atmosphere and service really nice and completed the evening. We would recommend to all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent meal for anniversary dinner. The food and the service could not be better!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.