About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (110)
Fit for Foodies (92)
Good for a Date (84)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Authentic (73)
Romantic (71)
Business Meals (69)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Notable Wine List (52)
Fireplace (48)
Good for Groups (48)
Cozy (44)
Worth the Drive (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Wood Oven (40)
Fun (36)
Open Kitchen (32)
Hot Spot (31)
People Watching (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Healthy (22)
Family Style (21)
Private Room (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Seasonal (12)
Casual (10)
Tapas (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Historic (4)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time at kokkari, and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 17 hours ago

This was our second time at kokkari, and first for guests of ours,. We were disappointed! The food was subpar, although presentation lovely. Our lamb chops were lukewarm to Cold and undercooked and grisly. The seafood stew was a little gamey. And the pork chop special of the evening was cooked much more than we would have liked. Desert was good. For the price of the items we expected much better. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Shane was an excellent server (knowledge ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Shane was an excellent server (knowledgeable & friendly)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here. Came here because someo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

First time here. Came here because someone gave me a gift certificate. I will diffently be back. Love the atmosphere and because it was raining when we went it made it cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious but greasy. My la ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious but greasy. My lamb chops were not cooked right and just a little too much oil. That's my only complaint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants! Always a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants! Always amazing food. We had the lamb chomps and loved them so much we ordered then 3 times! The octopus was delicous the greek salads and the dips. Cannot go wrong with this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Family Style, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, , Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places in San Francis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favorite places in San Francisco. Great food, great service. There is a reason why its always busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to detail..classic Greek with ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Attention to detail..classic Greek with touches of creative new flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great . The table ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service were great . The table we were seated at was an afterthought in traffic area too close to next table. Chairs rickety I thought it would break ! Very uncomfortable Servers and patrons going by had to slide sideways We were celebrating our anniversary and made reservation 30 days in advance I was very disappointed I have dined there several times next time I will request a different table

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Always a special place to celebrate a bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a special place to celebrate a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing service and fantastic wine list! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing service and fantastic wine list! Our waiter was great and looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was spectacular, food delicious, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was spectacular, food delicious, and reasonably priced wine list,

The restaurant in not inexpensive, but certainly worth the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been to Kokkari in over a decade ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had not been to Kokkari in over a decade and a dear friend' s birthday occasioned a return for a late afternoon weekday lunch in early, cold (and this time rainy) January. The space is as welcoming as I recall. The wait staff very attentive and knowledgeable. I checked out the menu in advance and was having problems limiting selections. Then our waiter, Andres, mentioned several special items that sounded even more intriguing. We ended up with multiple starters and one main entree for the 3 of us. Loved everything we had including the wine recommendations. Went thinking we would do lamb (can't beat the rack and ribs) but ended up with fabulous mostly non meat lunch. They really know how to do fish here! Loved it and "we will be back."

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was disappointing and service was f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was disappointing and service was fairly slow since they were so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Kokkari is always fabulous. It is one o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Kokkari is always fabulous. It is one of my friends' favorite San Francisco restaurant, so I take her there each year for her birthday. We are never disappointed. The food is out of this world, as is the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kokkari delivers one of the finest dinin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Kokkari delivers one of the finest dining experiences anywhere every time, and tonight was no exception. Spectacular meal from start to finish. They simply nailed it. Best lamb I've ever tasted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in the ci ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in the city . Bar non an awesome place !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took inlaws from Italy and they loved it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Took inlaws from Italy and they loved it! Great food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the lamb chops! Our serve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Really enjoyed the lamb chops! Our server Jeff was very kind and informative about the menu. Overall it was well worth the money for someone who rarely spends in this price range for a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is excellent (farm to table). Best ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food is excellent (farm to table). Best smelts in town, Lamb chops super, Bronzino fresh and super,

Compliments

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible food, incredible service, inc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Incredible food, incredible service, incredible dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly rated but the meat on a spit of t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Highly rated but the meat on a spit of the day was meager, gristly, and bland. Beautiful place food can be exceptional such as the soup or the Greek dishes. More creative fare is uneven. Overpriced and often dissapointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not my first time at Kokkari. I am alway ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Not my first time at Kokkari. I am always being pleasantly surprised. The food is amazing. They will occasionally tweak their menu but it seems that it is always for the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was so excited to take my kids to this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I was so excited to take my kids to this restaurant. I had been a couple times before and loved it. I'm not sure what happened, but the food was horrible. My one son's lamb chop and the potatows were smothered in lemon juice, way too over powering and the other had dry saw dust chicken. The shrimp appetizer was mushy. So disappointing. To make matter worse, our lunch cost $185 for 4 of us. The grilled octopus and soup were great. Our waiter seemed annoyed with us from the beginning. Just couldn't be bothered with us. I was shocked. My previous experiences were fantastic. I wouldn't go here again, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Always a great meal. I always love all ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great meal. I always love all of their starters and one of these days I am going to just order a few of those for my entree. My favorite starter is the stuffed calamari and if they have lamb tongue order it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food paired with excellent ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food paired with excellent service in a great fun atmosphere.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Kokkari never disappoints time ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing! Kokkari never disappoints time and time again! Great food and wonderful services

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Cozy environment, delicious f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful! Cozy environment, delicious food. Felt as if we were in Greece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambiance as usual. Ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance as usual. Have dined here many times over the past years but was a bit disappointed with our server this time. While we didn't feel rushed it felt as though we were being ignored and and at times treated rudely. Hardly a thank you or a polite word from the server, didn't check back to see if the food was good and in the end he forced out a thank you, knowing I'm sure that he sensed we were not happy and his tip depended on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

La comida excelente y el lugar también , ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

La comida excelente y el lugar también , muy recomendable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and great service! Never ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious food and great service! Never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Everything. Our first time and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing. Everything. Our first time and I'm ready to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always considered Kokkari to be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have always considered Kokkari to be one of the best restaurants in San Francisco and our lunch on Thursday did not change our view. We decided to eat just the starters and all four that we selected were excellent. However, the zucchini cakes and flatbread were out of this world.

We also tried the special dessert---lemon meringue pie. It was great!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's a reason everyone loves this pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

There's a reason everyone loves this place. It's awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy buena la comida Muy buen servicio Mu ...

 
 (México)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Muy buena la comida

Muy buen servicio

Muy agradable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal and exceptional service f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful meal and exceptional service from the valet to the waite staff

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Wood Oven, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you know good Greek food, then this i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you know good Greek food, then this is not the place for you. This is more of an Americanised Geeek restaurant - not really authentic at all. However if you have little or no experience with Greek dishes, this is great for getting accustomed to it. Do not take a Greek grandmother here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Kokkari lives up to its high reputation. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Kokkari lives up to its high reputation. The food is sumptious (but expensive as you would expect), and our experience with the service was beyond expectations - from the receptionist, the maitre d' to our table server. They went out of their way to welcome us throughout the dinner. Our table server overheard that it was our wedding anniversary, and without any advanced warning, our deserts arrive with a celebratory candle and a message written in chocolate. A special place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excelente servicio - encargué un ramo de ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excelente servicio - encargué un ramo de flores para mi Esposa y "todo el personal" que nos sirvió estuvo atento a la ocasión.

Extraordinario experiencia TODO MUY BIEN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner with my daughter

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Family dinner with my daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing is all that needs to be said!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing is all that needs to be said!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.