About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (120)
Fit for Foodies (120)
Good for a Date (99)
See All
Authentic (95)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Romantic (74)
Business Meals (67)
Good for Groups (62)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Great for Lunch (54)
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Hot Spot (44)
Worth the Drive (41)
Cozy (34)
Fun (34)
Local Ingredients (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
People Watching (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Tapas (19)
Casual (16)
Fireplace (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
Wood Oven (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Private Room (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Historic (5)
Vegan (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
5191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 17 hours ago

Always a good time! Food is consistent and great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Great service. As usual. Kokkari is always on the agenda each time we visit the City. Has remained consistently enjoyable over the years.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Three childhood best friends celebrated our 50th Birthdays.
Service was superb, fresh & fabulous & perfectly prepared food made for memorable evening. New favorite in The City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

This has become my favorite place in SF. Greek food is a favorite of mine, and the authenticity here is impeccable ! I will be back again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Kokkari is amazing. We come every year on our anniversary. Food is delicious and service is always excellent. Highly recommend the goat stew, if they have it as a special. Great cocktails too!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I am a lamb freak, and no other restaurant does lamb like kokkari!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 4 days ago

Really good food and service, definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Solid food, bold flavors. The appetizers were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 5 days ago

Might be the best restaurant I've ever been to. Impeccable service and amazing Mediterranean food. Not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Our third visit -- our server Frank was great -- very patient and attentive. Appetizers were great but you need to order at lest one per person to have enough to share.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always exceeds expectations Dimitrios the Restaurant Manager makes sure your experience is delightful!

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

After reading reviews, I was hoping for phenomenal instead of very good. Had Octopus, roasted peppers, and lamb. For Greek, I would say 4 / 5. From an overall dining experience, 3.5 / 5.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The place is gorgeous and unusual with several rooms and a big fireplace creating a cozy and simultaneously spacious atmosphere. The food was incredibly flavorful without being too spicy... Balanced and sophisticated. My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We have been coming to Kokkari for years now and it just keeps putting out great food in an great atmosphere with professional service. No wonder it stays so busy. It is out go-to to impress out of town visitors or for a date night. Don't miss the lamb chops!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Simply one of the very best restaurants in San Francisco

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Delicious food, very tasty, perfect service, quiet place very cozy and warm. Fantastic dinner!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We have eaten here many times before. When I asked my wife where she would like to go to celebrate her birthday, she immediately replied Kokarri. We had reservations for 6 pm on a Sunday evening. Arrived a few minutes before 6 pm, seated almost immediately, but we were being steered towards a table that had another couple sitting right next to us, almost as if you were sitting together at a 4-top. My wife immediately noted this and asked if we could sit at the table for two that was right around the corner, 4 steps away, and although closer to the front of the restaurant entrance, it allowed us to not have to be sitting right next to another couple. Wife explained that it was her 60th birthday dinner. The host said he had to check first to see if it wasn't already reserved. Came back and said it was fine and here is the part he added that was totally unnecessary...."but your food will taste exactly the same if you sit at that table or the other table". Duh, it's not about the food, it's about the privacy and atmosphere. I didn't appreciate that snide comment he added. Our waitress was fine. Efficient, somewhat robot like in her recitation of the menu, ingredients, etc., but fine. We splurged and ordered three appetizers. One was a grilled Greek cheese that came out bubbly hot and delicious. The other was grilled octopus which arrived at room temperature, but we were hungry and just gobbled it up. The third was the lamb meatballs. The meatballs were also at room temperature. Fish entrees arrived, mine was warm, wife's was room temperature. A mentally disturbed man with two large backpacks came in and sat down next to the fireplace. He then tried to engage the patrons in conversation when he wasn't talking to himself. They eventually asked him to leave, but there was a little shouting and yelling on his part after he finally left. So....don't think I'll be back there again for a while. There are plenty of other delicious places to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Always a wonderful place to have dinner! The food, service, and ambience is fantastic. We could make an entire meal sharing mezes! But, the main entrees are also wonderful , and shouldn't be missed

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

First time trying authentic Greek food and our server was excellent; very knowledgeable. Food was great and different... Desserts were best part of meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful service! The meatballs were a highlight for our group! We didn't leave a bit of sauce or food on any of our plates! We shared everything family style so that we could all enjoy - I highly recommend the lamb dishes! It's a bit pricey, but for a special occasion, it's well worth it! The service is spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always such a treat to eat here! Brought a friend from out of town and she loved it! She said it was one of the best restaurant she's ever been to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have been to Kokkari the last time we visited SF. We loved our first meal so much that we went back again! We really enjoyed our starters of the spanikopita, gigantes beans, and corn- amazing. We also ordered the chicken and didn't feel it was up the the standard of the last time we had the chicken. In addition, the staff wasn't as nice to us as our first experience. We felt a bit more of "we are doing you a favor" kind of vibe. Nonetheless, the atmosphere and food is generally great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a middle table next to 2 other tables on each side, next to the way leading to the bar, so it was very noisy with too many people standing in that walk way near our table waiting for their table. The restaurant needs to have these people standing somewhere else, since the bar was full when we had dinner. Very uncomfortable with too many people standing close to us.

So it is very hard to have a conversation with my dining companions. We also had a hard time hearing our waitress presenting the specials of the day. And tables are so close to each other so we keep getting waiters/waitresses butts serving for the next table.

The appetizers were very good. The entrees' portion are huge. I had the steak and it was great.
The Ouzo sorbet was excellent.

Overall a good experience with good food but not enough to be in my top 10 list of San Francisco 's restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We loved everything we ate here! Had a nice vegetarian selection for me, as well. Everything was tasty and delicious!! We would definitely come back here next trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Every dish was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Lovely EVERYTHING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Top restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Another great evening at Kokkari. Always a great experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was delicious but pricey. It was very late (11pm) but they sat us and did not rush us. Waiter not quite up to par, but then, it was late. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We been there last night & its a great place & food¡¡

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food is amazing. Great service and variety of authentic Greek dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Although I've been going since opening, no recognition . Kept waiting 20 minutes with reservation. Requested corner table. Shown to middle of room. Rejected table. New table had pieces of food on banquette seat. I pointed out they cleaned. Terrible start. .no apology from management for any of mishaps. Food was fair--not as remembered. Excellent server but that did not make up for errors and no communication from manager for entire evening. Never even said a goodbye to us. We will not be returning.,rude, too rushed to properly get table cleared/clean.,catering to tourists in slap dash was does not translate well to this regular. As an investor in Gary Danko, Cyrus, Postrio, Hawthorne Lane I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Special goat stew over orzo was too salty for me. I guess I was expecting better since we started off with fresh urchin. Service was top notch so the $$$ was worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious food and beautiful ambience. Highly recommend. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I've been to the Kokkari Estiatorio before and left with the best of impressions. Service remains impecable but the food did not seem as impressive this time. The Moussaka was dry and somehow tasteless. The appetizers were ok and so was the dessert. It may have been the choices I made this time but I'm not as inclined to have the restaurant among my first choices when in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

As far as you don't order their specials, you should be set for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 28, 2017

If we are in the city for just one night.. this is always our GO TO restaurant. Our favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. Lamb chops and sausage (the days special) were outsanding.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food & Great service! Our server Katie knew all the right dishes to pick and was great at explaining all the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Service is so bad. Food is ok. For the food and service, is definitely overpriced. I only recommend to visit this place if you don't mind to wait an hour for a decent plate of Mediterranean food and you want to say "I already went there".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.