About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: 4159810983

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Zucchini Cakes
Grilled Octopus
Chargrilled Octopus
Grilled Lamb Chops
Baklava
Roasted Porkchop
Appetizers
Lemon Chicken & Rice Soup
Amisia Paidakia
Pan Roasted Branzino
Lamb Souvlaki
Chateau La Lagune
Bronzini
Grilled Lamb Riblets
Octopus Grilled With Olive Oil Lemon And Fresh Oregano
Octopodaki Tou Yiorgou
Braised Lamb Shank with Orzo & myzithra
Taramosolata, Tzatziki, Melitzanosalata & Hommus with Pita Bread
Galaktoboureko
Watermelon and Feta Salad
Grilled Branzino
Arnisia Plevrakia
Kolokithokeftethes
Rotisserie Lamb
Souvla Tis Emeras
Flat Bread Plate
Avagolemono Soup
Greek Salad
Arnisio Souvlaki
Ekmek Kataifi
Karpouzi Me Feta
Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
Taramosalata
Katsiki youvetsi
Rotisserie Lamb & Lemon Chicken
Arnisia Paidakia
Grilled Rosemary Chicken
Lamb Chops
Greek Coffee
Saghanaki
Kokinisto Me Manestra
Kokkari Sundae
Yiaourti Me Meli
Chicken Souvlaki
Bread & Olive Oil
Berkshire Pork
rotisserie duck
Fried Anchovies
Favosalata
Fried Peppers
Kotopoulo Souvlas
Dolmathes
Whole fish
Loukoumades
Fig And Peach Salad
Mussels
Lamb Rotisserie Dinner
Beniets
razor clams
Lentil Soup
Artichoke Souvlaki
Solomos
Fried Smelts
Wood Oven Roasted Prawns with tomato sauce & feta cheese
Semolina Custard In Filo
green peas
Ice Cream Sundae
greek yoghurt
Filo Dough. And Ice Cream
Dessert
Chocolate Flourless Cake
Octopus
Saghanako
Bizelosalata
Fava Beans
Pork Dish
Grilled Mediterranean fish
Saghanaki (Kefalotiri Cheese)
shrimp in tomato sauce
Zucchini Cakes (Kolokithokeftethes)
Lamb Riblets
Avgolemono Soup
Summer Berry Pudding
Horiatiki
Kadayif
Spanokapita
Aginares Souvlaki
Special Meyer Lemon Custard wrapped in Filo & House Made Pistachio Ice Cream
Smelts Special
Rizogalo - Arborio rice pudding w/roasted peach
Moussaka
Pita And Dips
Baklava ice cream
Gigantes
Kalamari

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
San Francisco
2 More
Mediterranean
San Francisco
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

Fit for Foodies (225)
Special Occasion (223)
Romantic (142)
See All
Notable Wine List (122)
Good for Groups (113)
Neighborhood Gem (98)
Great for Lunch (96)
Hot Spot (95)
Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Late-night Find (15)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
4289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kokkari honored my request for a quiet t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Kokkari honored my request for a quiet table as one of the diner's is hearing impaired. We were seated comfortably in a corner table and while the restaurant was lively, it was not difficult for us to converse. The food and service were excellent. Our waitress was very polite and patient as we made our way through the menu.

The rotisserie chicken and lamb kabobs are definitely worth another return visit. I have dined here several times and never been disappointed. Admittedly, it is a bit pricey but at least, I did not feel cheated by the food, the ambiance or the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is contemporary-California -G ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant is contemporary-California -Greek style of cuisine. Different from more classical Moussaka, on the sweet side as sugar or honey is added but I am not a chef so could be other ingredients to give it the sweetness.

Grilled fish is excellent but price is $40 which is high. Try other restaurant for grilled fish and compare.

Decor is pleasant and charming. It is an expensive restaurant in San Francisco and popular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We absolutely enjoyed our meal at Kokkar ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

We absolutely enjoyed our meal at Kokkari! My husband and I were in SF celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary and this was one of two special meals we had planned. It definitely lived up to our expectations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and it was abso ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit and it was absolutely delicious. No complaints, excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still fabulous. Everything was had was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Still fabulous. Everything was had was done to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent on all fronts and consistent b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent on all fronts and consistent beyond any other restaurant in SF over two decades. Preferred over most Michelin 2+ star restaurants primarily due to the unique and extraordinary warmth and authentically Greek ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere,friendly staff and great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good atmosphere,friendly staff and great food and wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Kokkari! Our meal was beyond deli ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love Kokkari! Our meal was beyond delicious. Great service, a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there while visiting San Francisco ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went there while visiting San Francisco for lunch. It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch with a friend. Was immediatel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Had lunch with a friend. Was immediately seated when we arrived. Our waiter was very attentive and took very good care of us. The food was great, as it always is. We really enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere of the restaurant. A great place to meet friends and enjoy a fantastic meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An overall great experience , top notch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

An overall great experience , top notch service with delightful food. a bit pricey

but great for any special occasion.

The main gems :

Whole fish - Lavraki

Arthichoke - we ordered 2!

The baked feta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a second time visitor, I was pleased ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As a second time visitor, I was pleased to learn that the quality of the food remained steady. And it is great to find a place that stays open late.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time here and have hea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my first time here and have heard several compliments about this restaurant. I went for my girlfriends birthday and it was a great occasion. The ambience is great. The portion sizes are OK.. not great, but OK. It's decently priced, but has some expensive meals. The grilled octopus was great, but was a small portion for the price you pay. It's one of the most popular dishes I think.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Best meal we had on our trip. Chris wa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal we had on our trip. Chris was our waiter. Fantastic Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have always heard only rave reviews of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have always heard only rave reviews of Kokkari, but never had the opportunity to make it sooner. Our waiter was delightful and VERY knowledgable about the menu and details of the food. The food was truly amazing and memorable and surely did not disappoint. I cannot wait to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved everything about this place. Be ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I loved everything about this place. Being Greek, I'm very picky about my Greek food haha. The food was authentic and amazing. The wine from Santorini was unbelievable. Service was awesome. The galaktoboureko was some of the best I've ever had in my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love this restaurant! Great f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant! Great food and lovely wine list. Always a must for a special occasion or person.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kokkari continues to amaze! Always exce ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Kokkari continues to amaze! Always excellent in all ways every day for all these years. Food continues to be excellent with seasonal specials. Tradiional Greek specials are done as they should be. The Spanikopita is always crisp and delicate. Grilled meats are perfectly cooked and spiced. Always attentive service. Kokkari is always fun and vibrant - excellent for either a special occasion or an after work simple dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dining experience, service, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outstanding dining experience, service, presentation, and just plain old yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was wonderful. Server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything we ate was wonderful. Servers recommendation for wine was great. I called ahead and told them it was for a birthday and they wrote happy birthday on dessert without me having to remind our server. Will def come back again since we didn't order enough food the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food overpriced for quality and portion. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food overpriced for quality and portion. Lamb chops that are 45 bucks were not any better than the corner greek place in houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Visiting from a SW state. Food was good ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Visiting from a SW state. Food was good, but didn't seem to be of quality it was two years ago. Service was rather rushed, and our "special occasion" didn't receive an acknowledgement, so that was disappointing. Lamb is still excellent, as were cocktails.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, vibe, and service. Love the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, vibe, and service. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service. If yu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. If yu want Greek this is it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, it was excellent. The fish I o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As usual, it was excellent. The fish I ordered couldn't have been any better. I will return at the first opportunity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined here last time we were in San F ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We dined here last time we were in San Francisco and couldn't wait to dine there on this trip! This is our favorite all around restaurant in San Francisco! We decided to sample several appetizers and then share a salad and entrée. Of course, we couldn't resist finishing with their delicious yogurt dessert! Fabulous evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions, date ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place for special occasions, dates or romantic dinner. Pricey, but worth it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The standards are so high!! They never f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The standards are so high!! They never fail. Good , ambience , service are exceptional. Branzino is out of this world. Best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, everything we order was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Delicious food, everything we order was excellent. Decor well appointed and spacious. Staff was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a bit pricey for what it us. Had a $100. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

a bit pricey for what it us.

Had a $100.00 voucher and still ending up spending $40.00 for lunch for 2, WOW!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food is good as usual, service was decen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food is good as usual, service was decent. Watermelon salad, Moussaka, Whole Sea Bream with a bottle of Kistler Charddonay and the Kokkari Sundae were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Everything about our dining experience ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was top-notch. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful, the fried cheese appetizer was incredible, and the whole fish grilled with citrus was terrific. All this in a beautiful atmosphere with wooden beams and a blazing fireplace. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this restaurant. It was the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I just love this restaurant. It was the place my husband took me to 16 years ago to propose and have been thrilled to come back time and time again. The decor and atmosphere are warm and inviting...as if you were in someone's cozy yet beautiful home. The service is impeccable...the wait staff always checking to make sure your meal and experience is to your liking. And the food is prepared perfectly...interesting flavor combinations combined with traditional fare. Portions are just the right size. You know they must be doing something right when after 16+ years the place is still packed with satisfied dining guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic meal! The lamb chops a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a fantastic meal! The lamb chops alone are worth a long journey to get to. The roasted fish, stuffed grape leaves, watermelon feta, grilled octopus, heirloom and cherry tomato salads, stuffed calamari, fried smelt, lamb riblets, and of course dessert, baklava ice cream and stuffed filo fried with ice cream. Certainly a lot for two people, but we ate everything! Service was excellent as well, thank you Jordan. He orchestrated the meal perfectly. Can't wait to take others there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were outstandin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. This is easily one of my favorites in SF. We had the grilled octopus and fresh peaches for appetizers; the lamb chops and goat stew for entrees; and flourless chocolate cake for desert. All of it was divine. Highly recommend. Thank you to the staff for making my boyfriend's birthday an amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to have a special ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is a great place to have a special lunch or dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good meal. Have never been disa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always a good meal. Have never been disappointed. Reservations recommended. Best Greek restaurant in SF . Can be a little pricey but what is not in SF.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant Loce the food

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great restaurant

Loce the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The word to describe this place is WONDE ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The word to describe this place is WONDERFUL! They are hitting on all cylinders & have been for quite some time. I do not see how it could be any better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Very good restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.