About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Fit for Foodies (97)
Authentic (93)
See All
Good for a Date (91)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Romantic (65)
Business Meals (59)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Good for Groups (57)
Great for Lunch (51)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Notable Wine List (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Worth the Drive (43)
Cozy (32)
Fun (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Comfort Food (25)
People Watching (24)
Casual (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Tapas (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Seasonal (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Organic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great as many times I have visited. Food on the other hand was off. Meat cooked medium rare when asked for medium. Maybe new hands at the grill??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was slow and the food was below par. We have been there before and we're disappointed with the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

This was the perfect greek/mediterranean meal. I loved everything about this meal. I wish I lived in San Francisco so I could go more often. It is going to be hard to have mediterranean again at another restaurant because I will always compare it to Kokkari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved our meal and the service. It is such a consistent gem in SF.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Our last visit was in 2012. I have always wanted to return. So we took the opportunity on the day we were in town. Our friend, Valerie, was available because her school was closed to the wildfires. We decided to go the mezes route and ordered a lot of different things. The saganaki and the grilled octopus were both fantastic. The latter was tender and not rubbery. We also had three spreads: tzatsiki, favosalata, and taramosalata. The last was the best. All were served with fresh pita. We also tried the lamb souvlaki. It was wonderful. Our server, Todd, took excellent care of us. We had two different wines and Greek coffee. Even the desserts were delicious! This is one of the best places around!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place. It has been a couple of years but WOW this place is amazing, the food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Tapas, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Muy buenas entradas, ordenamos un cryspi zucchini que estuvo fabuloso y hubo que repetirlo. De plato principal el bransino estuvo muy bueno.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Lovely meal lovely table great lighting and a lovely menu and wine list. Overall really good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fantastic place, make your reservations well in advance. All 3 types of lamb we're phenomenal. Grilled sardines were fabulous. Desserts were delicious, service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I have been going to this wonderful restaurant for as long as I can remember. The best branzino and the best service and a top 10 for me and my friends and family. Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Although not as good as our last visit, the service was great. Am hoping this was just an off day. We went for lunch so could not have the Goat Stew which I remember was amazing. Start off with the baked feta with pita instead of bread. I remembered receiving pita, but it is now a menu item that must be ordered (shame). The ambiance is beautiful with large wooden windows that open to let in the breeze. Will definitely give this restaurant another try.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

food is consistently delicious and well prepared. One of my "go to" spots when traveling on biz in San Francisco

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We been many times over the years. It is still my favorite restaurant. I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Indifferent service. Great food. Nice ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was a new experience for me I have never had lamb before, I had the lamb burger, my friend had the lamb kabob, and they both were very tasty, I would definitely come back and try some of the menu items

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Very fond of this place for my higher end, go-to Greek fix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Fantastic food, service, ambiance. Better than we hoped for. Look forward to our next visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in San Francisco, food is really amazing and it is always a busy place. We went for lunch and shared 4 appetizers which was plenty of food for us, perhaps 1 to many. Just great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Always consistent...delicious meal and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Kokkari is always a treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Love Kokkari! only down fall is the restaurant is very warm, not sure if this is due to a lack of AC or the open fire ovens, will dress appropriately next time. But having said that food is outstanding, service incredible. Anna Rose, our server, went above and beyond. Her knowledge of the menu and all the ingredients were superb. Will definitely ask to sit in her section next time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very nice! Both had grilled whole fish with the smelts for appetizers

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Been here twice in two weeks. Fabulous food and excellent service. Kokkari has a warm, bustling, convivial atmosphere and always is packed with devoted patrons. This is a 5-star restaurant in every respect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always a wonderful meal with amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Always a great experience at Kokkari. Service and food was wonderful. Try the lamb riblets!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Nice atmosphere but overrated for food. I guess that expectations are always too high when a restaurant is so hard to get a reservation with, but it is too expensive for a quality of food that is good but nothing out of this world. The baklava was my ultimate test of authenticity and did not pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The food was out standing, service was perfect, attentive but not hovering.
It's a very charming and very personable restaurant. Will always want to go there again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Wonderful food and evening as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Never fail for every special occasions or just another night out with your significant other or group of friends. Every dish cooked to the perfection!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Delicious food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2017

A great dinner and experience. A bit loud but reasaonable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This is a great place. The food is imaginative and the service is attentive without being cloying.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Reading all the reviews I was expecting great Greek food. The food was good but not great. It clearly did not warrant the price. The kolokithikeftedes were oily. The octopus seemed like it was boiled rather then grilled. The fish plate was good. If the price was appropriate for the quality of the food my review would have been more positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We absolutely loved Kokkari. One of the best and most authentic Greek restaurants i have ever been to other than in Greece and homemade Greek cooking! Johnny took great care of us. Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Cumpleaños

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Superb service and food is perfect in every way - 5 star all the way

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was so delicious that I ate here three times on my trip, with different friends and family groups each time! My new favorite place in San Francisco! Great ambiance and nice staff. I definitely recommend it. The octopus was so tender, the best I ever ate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.