About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: 4159810983

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
San Francisco
3 More
Best Ambiance
San Francisco
Mediterranean
San Francisco
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (262)
special occasion (232)
romantic (153)
See All
good for groups (121)
notable wine list (111)
great for lunch (103)
hot spot (90)
neighborhood gem (86)
vibrant bar scene (51)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
4172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot remember our waiters name but h ...

Dined 6 days ago

I cannot remember our waiters name but he was one of the best waiters we ever had in our many years of dining experience. Hope he gets our high, high recommendation. I never fill these out but had to this time because of our waiter

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant but not stuffy. Excellent service.

Dined 6 days ago

Simple food, well prepared. Get the lamb chops. Our waiter was great. They've got their systems perfected. That's why this place is so booked up even though it's expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A very memorable meal. Our waiter was am ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

A very memorable meal. Our waiter was amazing. Such a nice personality. The food perfect!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always stop by when we're in San Fran ...

Dined 7 days ago

We always stop by when we're in San Francisco and we're always happy to be here. Restaurants have a feel, and this one is among the best. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined 7 days ago

Service and ambiance were great. Food was very expensive and my lamb (rotiserrie special) was too well done for my liking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprisingly good food with a Greek emph ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Surprisingly good food with a Greek emphasis but not your neighborhood Greek, high end.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and great food to matc ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fantastic service and great food to match! We are both vegetarians, but our waiter did such an excellent job reciting the specials that we listened to all of them, even those including meat! The food was incredibly flavorful and beautifully presented. The desserts were heavenly. The place had a nice buzz both in the bar and the restaurant but we were able to carry on a conversation without shouting. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Great apps, mediocre pork gyro, meat was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great apps, mediocre pork gyro, meat was dry, lamb casserole was very good. Too bad most of its ordered the gyro;-(

food3
ambience4
service3

Food was good Not particularly Greek ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was good Not particularly Greek Baklava ice cream was great

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server rushed until we put the brake ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server rushed until we put the brakes on. Appetizers showed up minutes after we ordered, before our wine arrived. Not cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my all-time favorite rest ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants. Food is always delicious, and the wait staff are professionals who do this as a career. They know how to navigate the wine list that has many Greek options (they are delicious - trust your server), and they are skillful at pacing. I've made a meal out of just appetizers many times, and that is always satisfying. The wood fired spit turns out exceptional meat, and the whole fish never disappoints. Consistently good, consistently popular. Great for lunch or dinner. There is a beautiful private dining room downstairs for special events or meetings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. They bake their bread, w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food. They bake their bread, which was sinfully good. Grilled brancino and lamb chops were amazing, everything else was very good. Wine list was also good, not confusingly large, but not limited either. Service was very professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Staple

Dined on May 9, 2016

Although I live in Napa, whenever friends come to visit, we make the trek into SF, to have lunch here. It never fails to impress. Highly recommended!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Flavor wise everything was great. Servi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Flavor wise everything was great. Service was wonderful. My husband wished he had extra potatoes with his fish which was the reason he left 1/4 of the fish behind. We were hoping for the food to be more traditional greek. After visiting Greece we thought there would be a family style meat plate with tatziki and pita on the side but I understand being in SF untraditional is what people want. Maybe make that a special one night. Don't get me wrong everything was great. We just wanted to revisit our food memories and it wasn't what we expected.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent ,nice ambiance,good service and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excelent ,nice ambiance,good service and amazing food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Bucket List must

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best if not the best I have ever had the pleasure of dining at. We travel quite a lot having friends & family in Italy, France, Germany, Hawaii, & more, so we have eaten at many restaurants on and off the usual tourist/business circuit all over and rate this as a true dining experience. From the attentive and friendly staff to the unique and varied menu, everything was perfect. Plan ahead to get a reservation and you will not be disappointed. I must also say that we have been several times when we are in San Francisco and this last time we did not even look at the menu, when we heard the specials that was it and they were perfect. Also remember to finish with a cup of greek coffee from the sand urn, truly special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. The tables are somewhat close together which lead to us being able to hear a lot of our neighbors' conversation, but wasn't so loud that we were completely distracted. Service was good as well, but a little bit hands-off until we were finishing the meal. Overall really enjoyed our dining experience and would definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kokkari very very good

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I usually go to Kokkari at least once a month. Has fabulous lamb and always has two or three good fish dishes on the menu. Everyone seems to love this restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very Busy and Very Noisy!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Although we had requested a quiet table and arrived at 11:45 am for lunch, soon after we were seated, two men were seated at the next table about two feet away from us. Their voices were so loud, as was the noise level throughout the restaurant, that we were unable to carry on a conversation. Our food was good, with the exception of the petrale sole. Service was somewhat slow but cordial.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience was out of this world!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Ambience was out of this world!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive but worth it

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great food and great portions and the service was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is consistently excellent; the ser ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Food is consistently excellent; the service is knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection and service.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great selection and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always excellent -- our server was top 10 ever

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

always excellent food and our server was top-10 ever - she was amazing - the hostess needs an attitude adjustment (don't bring your life-challenges to your incoming customers --- or get another job please - hostess job is the first face you see and should have a smile on it at all costs, not an unwelcoming scowl) and the bartenders need to stop chit-chatting for 5 straight minutes while their customers sit patiently at the bar waiting to be acknowledged (we were only people at the bar on a late Sunday night .. not acceptable to ignore your patrons while you talk about your date the previous night and then give us attitude when YOU were ready to chat with us) . Food is always amazing, main servers are always amazing, atmosphere is always outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful interior and wonderful food.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The interior of Kokkari is beautiful and it has a relaxing atmosphere. The food is excellent and the presentation is attractive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner here last night. Really a nice menu with many options including for vegetarians. We shared some great app's then moved on to our main course. It was not a cheap night but at least we had a wonderful dinner so it was worth it. I will be going back again after I save some money!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service

Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful service

food5
ambience5
service5

Open, airy dining room with helpful staf ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Open, airy dining room with helpful staff. We ordered lamb tongue, grilled octopus and giant beans for starters. The giant beans were the stand out- Deliciously done with memorable seasoning. The lamb tongue and octopus were good by not the best I've had. For dinner my husband had the goat stew- which was full of flavor and perfectly cooked. I had the whole brassino fish, which was expertly grilled and deboned. For dessert- Greek yogurt and balklava ice cream. Nice finish to a satisfying meal. Our waiter suggested a nice Greek wine they went well with our meal. Overall excellent meal and we were happy that it meet our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5

fantastic!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding overall restaurant

Dined on April 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants overall that I've ever be to. The food, service, wine and cocktail selection, service and ambiance are all fantastic. I have recommended this restaurant to everyone I know who may be in the SF area and absolutely will not travel in to SF w/o going to this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Favorite

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Our family loves Kokkari--we come here for birthdays, anniversaries and just to have a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was attentive, but not pushy. Fo ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Service was attentive, but not pushy. Food was exquisite. Loved the feta!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gift certificate well spent

Dined on April 12, 2016

Best place to bring someone who l ows good food. Great waiter🍷😄

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An all round terrific dining experience

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Extremely attentive service, with good suggestions, notable Greek wines and a friendly atmosphere that makes you want to return

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to spend a romantic date

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great place to spend a romantic date, the service was supreme, the food was quite good, I order the special and it was really good, my wife order a grilled whole fish, it had a couple bones left but nothing bad, over all the food is really good and it's priced appropriately

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Makes any night feel like a special night

Dined on April 9, 2016

The prawns are to die for and the zucchini cakes are amazing. We have the lamb they cooked on rotisserie for hours and it was amazing. The wine list is vast and the service is friendly and professional. Every time I've been lucky enough to have dinner at Kokarri, I'm left more and more impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful !

Dined on April 6, 2016

Georgie our waiter was excellent!! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, really great space that ad ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Amazing food, really great space that adds to the experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

The food was amazing! Lamb shank so tender it fell off the bone, the goat stew with very subtle flavors, and the lamb rotisserie was incredible!! Finish it off with a delightful dessert of Baklava ice cream, can't be beat! Excellent, friendly, respectful service to top if off!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.