About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for a Date (103)
Fit for Foodies (97)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Romantic (82)
Authentic (73)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Business Meals (66)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Notable Wine List (56)
Fireplace (52)
Wood Oven (51)
Cozy (50)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for Groups (47)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Open Kitchen (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Fun (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Healthy (25)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Family Style (21)
Private Room (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Tapas (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Casual (14)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Historic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, but their portions are getting smaller and smaller, and the prices higher and higher. A little chicken kabob is $24 at lunch? There are so many great places to eat, and their prices are more reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a pleasure and never disappointing. The food and ambience along with excellent service always makes this a MUST STOP when visiting the Bay area, no trip would be considered complete without at least one meal here. Practically perfect in every way...

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Other than the noise level, everything was great.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

El retaurante es muy famoso y con justa razon, excelente ambiente, muy buen servicio, deliciosa la comida, gente bonita... no se puede pedir mas!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. We arrived ealry and our table was ready. The three of us shared appetizers. I was a great experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Kokkari is an absolutely lovely spot with impeccable food and service. I enjoyed an octopus appetizer which was absolute perfection as well as a chicken souvlaki (slightly overcooked but delicious still) Lunch was topped off with a baklava ice cream that was bursting with bits of baklava.....a perfect end to a lovely lunch. I would have offered 5 stars but did NOT like the fact that a diner was in the restaurant with a dog under her table. Not a service dog, but a companion animal at a table of five ladies. I find this behavior repugnant in a fine dining establishment. I don't eat with my own dogs in the room and I absolutely don't want to pay for a beautiful experience and be forced to eat with a stranger's dog gazing at me. I highly recommend and adjustment to the pet policy.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service is phenomenal! Took my fiance for her birthday and every plate was fantastic. We has the octopus, zucchini cakes, grilled sea bass and rotisserie lamb. Our waiter was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and provided great service. We want to go back as soon as possible.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely love their food! Grilled egg plant and artichokes, baked Brie and their specials were yummy! Wish we lived in SF!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious! Felt hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best spots in SF for those who are discerning eaters. If you like lamb then this is definitely your place to eat. Yikes their lamb is absolutely the best. Very good service, menu, and ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service here excellent! Food is also good. I will definitely come back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great, attentive service. The food was delicious, our waiter gave some good recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I had a nice experience at Kokkari. We both had the chicken lemon soup, definitely tasted home made. I had the charred octopus appetizer as an entree, my husband had the lamb riblets appetizer as an entree, both were delicious! We shared dessert of baklava with vanilla iced cream plus a small pitcher of hot fudge to drizzle over it! Our waiter was very personable and helpful. Beautiful restaurant with nice ambiance. We'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Kokkari is always worth the wait to get a table! The best dining experience in the city!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My Dad and I were visiting San Francisco and were recommended this place by a friend. Both of us wanted to eat vegetarian food and Kokkari had several options. The service was quick and efficient, the food was very good. It seemed to be quite a power-hub, with lots of well-dressed people. They have two large rooms, the front one, with the bar, is quite energetic and busy, and inner one has more dinner tables and is slightly more quiet. Recommend early reservations!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent flavor from appetizers to desserts. A favorite for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent service throughout our lunch. Spicy meatballs and spanokopitra were delicious. My wife enjoyed her Beet salad.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

had mixed starters. food was good Greek fare. I was probably expecting it to be more interesting from reviews and price. fairly stock standard offering. have had better. took an hour to be served food which seemed long for a late lunch sitting. ambience good. her comfortable service was unassuming which was appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I never miss a chance to eat here when I visit San Francisco. It never disappoints! Lunch and dinner are fabulous. The best Mediterranean food you'll ever have in the states.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great meal! Food was good dishes are simple and just done well. Waiter was really great. They brought us free dessert because we were on our honeymoon, really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This restaurant is really a five star experience. The customer service was flawless and the whole experience from being shown to the table to the experienced wait staff was so memorable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Spent my birthday dinner here. It is always delicious, beautiful atmosphere, and service is great. It is my favorite restaurant in SF!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on March 8, 2017

pretty mediocre compared to reviews. expensive for quality/taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had a great time. The staff was excellent. Took my girlfriend for her birthday, couldn't have been happier.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food is always great here but the service is really what makes this restaurant a cut above the rest. This is one of my go-to restaurants in SF when I'm visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The snapper was loaded with bones. Very difficult to eat.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Not much to say. Kokkari is a classic. You owe it to yourself to dine here at least once while in San Francisco.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in San Francisco, consistent quality dining since 2000.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

excellent dinner. we decided to go for our 5th wedding anniversary, the service is 5 stars, the lamb is the best.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent service - made a reservation for my boyfriend's bday and they remembered to put a candle in our dessert without me mentioning it on the day. Truly knowledgeable about the food and wine menus. Felt intimate with a rustic charm. Food was great, as expected!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful experience. I will absolutely return to your restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The quintessential civilized meal: delicious food, vibrant atmosphere that doesn't interfere with conversation, perfect service..... this restaurant has it all. Highly recommended!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Not recommended if you can't eat dairy. I didn't try most of the dishes we ordered as there was cheese everywhere. I can't eat gluten, but the giant basket of complimentary bread was very inviting.

The noise level is very high, it was tiring to keep the conversation with my friends going. Average age of clientele is probably 40+.

Overall, it's a great restaurant. I wish their menu and/or staff would cater better for food allergies.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Richard- and Tara make the difference the food and rest of the staff make up the rest

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Cozy, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We really liked the pan-fried cheese dish and also the octopus appetisers. We were here for a family special occasion and they gave us a great table, accommodated us when we were unavoidably a few minutes late, and served the food very promptly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Four of us had an exceptional lunch! Our server, Monique was fantastic! We love the ambiance of this lovely restaurant, however, the food is the BEST!! Authentic Greek faire. Can't wait to come back,

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Wonderful dining experience - only flaw, diners at adjacent table were extremely loud :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in San Francisco.
I couldn't come back because they didn't have available table .
I strongly recommend that restaurant, they have a creative cuisine.
Congratulations!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The food was great and the service was first class.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always the most amazing staff ...
I can't say enough about this exceptional restaurant maybe the best I've ever been to and I've been around the block once or twice .
Love you all keep knocking it out of the park !
Mrs Harker

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.