HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 115 times today

Kokkari Estiatorio

4.8
5497 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion (101)
  • Authentic (99)
  • Fit for Foodies (91)
Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 981-0983
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Erik Cosselmon
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Front St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 5497 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8  based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service very consistent every time we dine there

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined 4 days ago

Service was great but food was disappointing and over priced

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

One of the best restaurants in San Francisco.

Report
Helpful
Maurizio (Miami)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Really delicious and great food
The specials salads and The lamb

Report
Helpful
Lark (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Who doesn't love Kokkari? It is authentically Greek and the service is always incredible. We come back every year on our anniversary because we had our wedding party there :).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately the food was hit-or-miss and overpriced for what it was. Probably would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Was fantastic!! Have been trying to get in for a while & finally did. Was definitely worth it. We can’t wait to go again!!

Report
Helpful
vipNoteasilyAmusd (San Diego)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Had been to Kokkari at night for dinner and for special occasions- wine tastings etc.
This was a bit if a last minute pick on open table and we were very happy to see there was a table available. Were first in restaurant and given a great larger table on window. Appreciate the fact that they weren't 'saving' for some sort of special guest. A practice I've witnessed at other otherwise fine establishments. Also the two tops aren't tiny as is very much the case elsewhere.
Very attentive! Waiter was helpful and personable.
Wine by the glass is reasonable and some full bottles seem well priced.
Now the food!!!
Absolutely superlative. One of the best lunch dates I've had with my wife in many years. Each dish was a hit. None was over spiced nor bland. Each had its own unique flavor characteristics which in turn combined well with each other. Given the cuisine, my wife asked for a small plate of olives ( not on menu) and we were quickly brought some of the best we'd ever had. I'd thought to have some fish as it seems to be a specialty but I felt a need to revert to my favorite lamb chops and was rewarded with two larger and perfectly prepared pieces that were obviously prepared over a live fire - delicious! We will now look to frequent kokkari much more often as we certainly could have all the dishes that sounded as good as what we did get to enjoy. Large restaurant that doesn't seem so and it's very well appointed yet feels quite comfortable. Most highly recommended on all counts.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in SF. Lovely service, delicious food expertly prepared. The only thing that put a damper on our evening was the couple next to us who kept complaining and arguing the entire time. Our tables were very close with a standing lamp in n between, so their arguing was difficult to ignore. They kept hitting the lamp shade and I thought the lamp was going to fall over on top of me. Please remember that when you go to a nice restaurant and proceed to argue loudly for 90 minutes you ruin the evening for everyone around you. We were really looking forward to our evening out at Kokkari - they miserable and rude people sitting next to us were not what we anticipated. Nothing restaurant or staff could do, but it made our evening uncomfortable nonetheless.

Report
Helpful
Operalover (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent Greek food. Will definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
JoanneH 
5.0  Dined on February 17, 2018

Beautiful place, wonderful food, exemplary service. Efxadisto!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

LOVE eating here! Always a treat. Deliciously prepared local food.

Report
Helpful
MiguelC 
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

Our waiter Max was attentive and very helpful with helping us navigate the menu. Ian the manager was a heck of a host and the food was absolutely stupendous. Loved the lamb chops!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

It was my husband’s birthday and the dinner and ambience was amazing. Definitely get the grilled octopus and any lamb dish is amazing. When I made the reservation on Open Table I made a comment that it was for a birthday and when we received our dessert they remembered and wrote happy birthday on the plate, it was so thoughtful. The staff was super attentive, definitely have to go back again.

Report
Helpful
sharon (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Love to go to dinner at this place but need reservations far in advance. The food and service are impeccable.

Report
Helpful
Eveeve (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was Excellent, Service was Great, Love this place

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Amazing. I really loved everything we tried.
They have many vegetarian appetizers and just one main course vegetarian, but you can't go wrong just ordering a few appetizers if you are vegetarian as I am.

It seems to be a place to eat great lamp chops. My husband is a picky eater and he loved the one he tried.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Ontime seating needs to improve at your restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Birthday. Excellent dinner and evening

Report
Helpful
SwissGuy (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Excellent restaurant, superb service, best food in town...

Report
Helpful
vipEvelyn (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Always amazing. Come up from Newport Beach just to have dinner at Kokkari. Always fabulous food...fabulous service...and always fun. My favorite all time, BEST EVER!!

Report
Helpful
IrinaM (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

My experience at Kokkari was amazing. Not only the food was very tasty but service was amazing. I went there for my birthday dinner and wasn't disappointed at all. I couldn't find one bad thing to say about it. Thanks for a great birthday!!!

Report
Helpful
mituls (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Nice food and great service. Wait staff was excellent and very very professional.

Report
Helpful
vipCherylhawaii (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Jeff provided outstanding and attentive service. The whole branzino was fantastic, as was the avgolemono. We enjoyed our anniversary dinner very much!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Perfect as always!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent food, service and ambience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Always excellent service! And always excellent food. Been here many times but this time tried a few new exciting dishes along with all the beloved classics. Kataifi ek mek divine dessert and goat stew were the two awesome new dishes we tried. Can’t wait to go back again.

Report
Helpful
vipSSPa (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Always outstanding in every way. There was an initial glitch because the people at our table weren't leaving, so they seated us at a different table. But as soon as "our" table was ready... everything was fabulous. Great server, great food, great service. No negatives. plus - Yum!!!!

Report
Helpful
vipMLBJ (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Kokkari never disappoints. Have been coming to this gem for many years. It is our go-to destination for special occasions thanks to the wonderful service and always delicious food. The appetizers are always great, especially the beans, the zucchini cakes, the meatballs, and the various mediterranean dips. The lamb special is gigantic but tasty and the whole fish options are always among our favorites. Will keep coming back, when we are luck enough to get a reservation!

Report
Helpful
viptopocurls (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

I was taken out to lunch for my birthday. The two of us shared two appetizers, a salad and one main dish. It was plenty of food.

The service was less than attentive. There were two times when our dishes were basically thrown on the table with no acknowledgement of us at all.

The food was average, the prices were not! Our best dish of the day was the Jerusalem artichokes that we’re sautéed with preserved lemon and bacon bits. We had the prawn appetizer. The prawns were tasteless.

For our main dish we had a whole fish, a bream which was a bit dried out. Dessert of fresh fruit and coffee was good.

I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
184