About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (108)
Fit for Foodies (97)
Good for a Date (89)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Authentic (72)
Romantic (69)
Business Meals (67)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Notable Wine List (53)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Cozy (47)
Fireplace (46)
Worth the Drive (44)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Wood Oven (42)
Great for Lunch (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Hot Spot (32)
Fun (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Bar Seating (23)
Healthy (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Private Room (22)
Family Style (21)
People Watching (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Tapas (12)
Casual (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4899 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

What a treat! Service and food were amazing. The pork special was to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Every time I am in San Francisco, I ALWAYS come here. Great great food! Never disappoints. The food is always very fresh

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite place in San Fran

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Due to problems with Uber and bad weather we arrived almost 1/2 hour late. Was absolutely no problem. Shown to a very nice table immediately. Friendly and attentive staff. Overall one of our most enjoyable evenings out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

I love this place- Year over year, it never disappoints. The food and service are fabulous. Hard to get in to, but worth the wait!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

This place is the best restaurant I've ever been. Definitely worths the price. Thank you, Kokkari!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Kokkari has been my favorite restaurant in San Francisco since my first visit over 15 years ago. Always my first choice. As a vegetarian, I highly recommend the aginares souvlaki and the galaktoboureko.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

I can't say enough about their lamb dishes, so yummy!! Everything we had was so delicious and their staff is so professional and so friendly, we had a wonderful time!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Exquisitely grilled and prepared fish, authentic appetizers, pleasant and competent wait staff, homey atmosphere. Bravo sas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Not great experience. Kitchen errors resulted in food not coming out st the same time (e.g., 5 minutes apart) waiter forgot one of the appetizers, lamb chops--my usual favorite--were a complete fail and nowhere near the flavor I have come to love at this restaurant. Noise was so loud that I couldn't hear the person sitting on the corner of the table next to me. Wait staff kept bumping into my chair. For the prices charged here, this restaurant used to be outstanding and thus he prices were overlooked. When the lamb chops from Costco taste better and at 1/8 the price, given the overall experience, I can no longer recommend this restaurant. Very sad the historical reputation of the restaurant has overshadowed a significant decline in the food, service, and overall experience. Suggest you consider alternatives when dining out for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing experience overall and our second visit!! Jason our server happened to be the same guy from our first visit last year..he was outstanding in every way possible!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing experience, food, ambiance, service, highly highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

Been wanting to try this place forever! My husband and I don't stray far because we have little kids, but this place was worth it. Love the decor, lively, yet not too pretentious nor too "cool" of a scene. Great combo of locals and visitors alike. The only thing i regret is not saving room for dessert, which i was dying to try! But the appetisers and main dishes that we had were so good we couldn't hold back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this place! I come to San Francisco with a tad bit of frequency, and oddly this restaurant is somewhere that I always choose to come back to. The setting is darling, the service is fabulous, the food is always delicious… What's not to come back to? We shared the ribeye which was delightful and we had The Greek salad, we shared everything and it was a lot of food so it was plenty for both of us. I just live this place !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was outstanding. Service can use improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

I was very disappointed with the quality of food. I have been to this restaurant but quality have gone down significant. For two people we spent over $250 but we left very unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at Kokkari to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We each had a lamb dish and raved about how delicious it was. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine choices and helped us make excellent choices. We sat near a window in the front room near the entrance and open wood fired oven where meats are roasted on a spit, and it is much quieter than in the main dining room adjacent to the open kitchen. The many authentic Greek dishes give you plenty of options from which to choose. The appetizers, main dishes and desserts were equally delicious and perfectly prepared and served. Kokkari will remain on our list of special occasion restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent. The entire experience was fabulous. Have a whole fish!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great restaurant, hard to get a reservation. Service was fantastic as was all the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

Kokkari has always been great and now with Scott Warner as the executive chef, it seems even more fantastic with imaginative and delicious cuisine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

I shouldn't tell you this because it's going to get busier than ever, but I Love, love, love this restaurant! Make your reservation and go!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Difficult to book a reservation, but it's easy to see why. Everything about our special dinner was fantastic. The restaurant is gorgeous and cozy inside. The food is outstanding! We loved everything about our recent Kokkari experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is incredible- our waiter was a bit pompous and not very friendly but the delicious food overcomes any lack of personality on his part. Kudos to the kitchen!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

A wonderful treat to have great food, service and ambiance. We will be back the next trip to San Francisco.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very delicious lamb chops, as usual, and wonderful execution, atmosphere and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been to Kokkari many times and it is always a treat. A recent business meal with a discriminating D.C. client was a home run because my client loved the ambiance, service, and delicious Mediterranean food as much as I do. Two days later I am still eating the tasty leftovers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

Authentic Greek food taken up a notch! Everything was completely delicious. Melt-in-your-mouth lamb, plump and delicate octopus, saganaki brought sizzling on cast iron to the table. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great setting. I felt under-dressed and will dress up next time I go here.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

The food was good but not exceptional. Remember it as much better. Desserts were the best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Kokkari was delicious! Service was great! Our server was very attentive and very knowledgeable of all the dishes. All the dishes from the appetizers to our main course were all prepared perfect. Can't wait to go back! YUM!

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in SF! Food and service is always amazing. Must haves - grilled octopus, baked feta, dips, zucchini cakes, grilled branzino, and lamb chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

San Francisco offers many options for dining. This is one of the truly exceptional experiences in terms of food, service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very reliable. Every meal I have ever eaten there has been terrific

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent as always, the lemon chicken and saganaki are absolute musts!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Good moussaka, share if you order appetizers.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

This was our second time at kokkari, and first for guests of ours,. We were disappointed! The food was subpar, although presentation lovely. Our lamb chops were lukewarm to Cold and undercooked and grisly. The seafood stew was a little gamey. And the pork chop special of the evening was cooked much more than we would have liked. Desert was good. For the price of the items we expected much better. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our first time there and will definitely return. We loved our Booth #2. Bartender knew how to make my favorite cocktail - a Blood & Sand. Many bartenders do not.

Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

Shane was an excellent server (knowledgeable & friendly)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time here. Came here because someone gave me a gift certificate. I will diffently be back. Love the atmosphere and because it was raining when we went it made it cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was delicious but greasy. My lamb chops were not cooked right and just a little too much oil. That's my only complaint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! Always amazing food. We had the lamb chomps and loved them so much we ordered then 3 times! The octopus was delicous the greek salads and the dips. Cannot go wrong with this place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Healthy, Family Style, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

GREAT❤ Will b there again

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

One of my favorite places in San Francisco. Great food, great service. There is a reason why its always busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Attention to detail..classic Greek with touches of creative new flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service were great . The table we were seated at was an afterthought in traffic area too close to next table. Chairs rickety I thought it would break ! Very uncomfortable Servers and patrons going by had to slide sideways We were celebrating our anniversary and made reservation 30 days in advance I was very disappointed I have dined there several times next time I will request a different table

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a special place to celebrate a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing service and fantastic wine list! Our waiter was great and looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was spectacular, food delicious, and reasonably priced wine list,

The restaurant in not inexpensive, but certainly worth the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had not been to Kokkari in over a decade and a dear friend' s birthday occasioned a return for a late afternoon weekday lunch in early, cold (and this time rainy) January. The space is as welcoming as I recall. The wait staff very attentive and knowledgeable. I checked out the menu in advance and was having problems limiting selections. Then our waiter, Andres, mentioned several special items that sounded even more intriguing. We ended up with multiple starters and one main entree for the 3 of us. Loved everything we had including the wine recommendations. Went thinking we would do lamb (can't beat the rack and ribs) but ended up with fabulous mostly non meat lunch. They really know how to do fish here! Loved it and "we will be back."

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.