About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (118)
Good for a Date (112)
Fit for Foodies (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Authentic (84)
Romantic (79)
Business Meals (66)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Notable Wine List (60)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Worth the Drive (51)
Fireplace (49)
Good for Groups (46)
Cozy (46)
Wood Oven (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Open Kitchen (36)
Hot Spot (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Fun (30)
Healthy (24)
People Watching (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Family Style (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Private Room (18)
Casual (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Tapas (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Seasonal (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
4988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Has remained the best Greek restaurant in the city if not one of the best overall. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent greek food in a great ambiance
and great service. The building is magnificent and this gives a very uplifting feeling
The saganaki and octapus appetizers were great
The lamb is always good and the spit roasted lamb that they have now ( for Easter) was delicious

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is delicious across the board. They have the best olive oil that you could eat alone by the spoonful. Only drawbacks for me: got there early for a 5:30 rez, had a hard time getting to the bar due to a private reception party, leaving no other guests any room to approach and order a drink. Then, at 5:30, a dozen newly arriving guests were seated first and I had to ask to be seated; the hosts forgot about me I suppose. However the waiter was on point and the rest of the experience was terrific.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and pleasant ambiance along with good service, we will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the fresh ingredients! The Greek salad was delightful. The grilled octopus was just done right. I finished the whole fish!! Our server was knowledgeable and had a sense of humor. Great dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible table, right next to the serving station. Didn't live up to expectations. Food was good not great. Kokkari potatoes were essentially steak fries... pita was excellent as was the baklava. Rotisserie lamb was good, but extremely fatty... for $40 you'd think they could carve out the fat.

There are better options in SF, overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delish! We ordered the grilled octopus and pork belly for appetizer - both were so good! We ordered lamb chops and goat stew and they were really good. Both were tender and didn't have any after tastes of lamb and goat meats.

No wonder Kokkari has 5 star reviews because food and service are great! I would highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Hasn't disappointed...I hope it never will. Worth every penny!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Long weekend in San Fransisco. Three restaurants in three nights. All 3 will come up in your searches of best restaurants. By far the best. Very good service, food and atmosphere. Only restaurant were a "manager" actually stopped to ask us about our dinner. Really good Malbec at tremendous price. Waiter brought the bottle so I could get information.
California cable car line is not a very far walk from the restaurant. A neat way to get there depending on where your staying.
Would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Phenomenal all around. Some of the best mediterranean I've ever had.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was my 4th experience and once again did not let me down. This i s a must go and do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Amazing food!! The Branzino sea bass is my favorite meal ever! The zucchini cakes, and chopped salad are also yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Went for a lunch meeting with two clients. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was pleasant and warm. The waiter was knowledgeable (though a little brusque to one of my clients at one point).

It's one of my favorite spots in the city, and I'll for sure come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wow! Just Wow. This is my new favorite restaurant. Everything was just perfect. The service was impeccable and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Even tho the wine we chose was on the low end of their price range, it was delicious and our server, Jillian, decanted it for us to make it more enjoyable in a shorter time frame. Will definitely be back AND soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Surprised that we sat for 10 mins with no water, bread, or greeting. We had to flag down a host to get our waiter. Given we were headed to Hamilton we were a bit rushed after that initial wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants, anywhere! Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Since we moved to San Francisco, many of our friends and even strangers have referred to Kokarri as the best restaurant in town. The place sure has a following. We were not disappointed by the wonderful service and the overall ambiance. The lamb chops were exemplary and my wife's Branzino was delicious and very well-prepared. My only gripe was over the total value of the meal. $46.00 for a broiled fish entree, no matter how delicious, is a lot of money. So make sure you pay down your credit card balance before you make a res for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great meal! Also, check out their cookbook!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Exceptional food, service, setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Solid flavors in all dishes ordered. Service was attentive but I thought my server was a little arrogant, or at least that's the energy I got.
Tons of gluten free options

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best service in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in awhile! The small plates were very good but the steak was the best I've ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Welcoming staff. Accommodating. Great service. Good good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful food and excellent service by Michael!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Disappointed. Have been there on other occasions and was wowed. Maybe you need to be in a large group to enjoy the loud ambiance and tasty appetizers, but it's not suitable for a romantic anniversary dinner.😢

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were a little disappointed with the service. We felt that we were being rushed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Kokkari never disappoints. The food is very fresh and wonderfully prepared and the service is great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious appetizers but I was disappointed by the moussaka -> so much potato with little eggplant. Nice flavor but not the best representation of the dish. I bit expensive but a lovely wine list and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I've eaten at Kokkari hundreds of times since its opening in the ...(90s?).
With so many opportunities, I can think of only a couple of disappointments, none impacting the overall positive experience of the day.
Probably, my favorite all-time restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The restaurant is too big. Some of the appetizers were very good, some just ok.
The server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Superb service, excellent food, great atmosphere. Good wine list. Simply a wonderful evening out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

They are super accommodating if you have reservations. Food was amazing! I love the grilled octopus and fried smelt. Last but not least, the lamb chops are phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Delicious food and terrific ambiance. A reliable choice to visit again and again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great special occasion. Food was awesome and great value corkage fee!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Kokkari is the BOMB. Every aspect of our dinner there was wonderful, the food the personnel our waiter the ambience. This place is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We recently dined here for my husband's 60th. The food, service and ambiance were perfect. The restaurant even gave us a beautiful dinner by the window. I am so pleased I managed to get in here - we were only in San Francisco for a few days (part of a holiday from Australia). The menu options were fabulous too - I don't eat meat but there were plenty of choices. Again - I highly recommend this establishment - for small intimate dinners such as our or larger groups - it's perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Disappointing. The octopus starter was great, as were the zucchini cakes. However, the lamb shank with orzo was a big let down. Initially it came out luke warm so it was sent back. Second attempt was hot but the orzo was far too salty. I can handle a fair amount of salt in my food without complaining, but this was a bit silly. Such a shame as the lamb was cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I would come here every time I'm in San Francisco--the front room is gorgeous, warm, inviting, smells savory, roaring fire, wood floors, wood ceilings, cozy tables, lively bar, sexy/romantic lighting with a beautiful amber glow, and the noise level does not hamper conversation or intimacy--which means this is a place that knows how to do it Right. And the food is as tasty as the presentation...everything is deliberate, distinct and delicious. I Can Not Say More. Just Go! (when are you opening in L.A.?)

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This place is an institution. While it has recently attracted a preponderance of checkered button up shirted, puffer-vested, large watch-wearing gentlemen, all that fades away when you savor your first bite of lamb chop.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We love the vibrant favors of Kokkari. Have eaten here many time, and taken out of town guests here, they almost always say that's it's their favorite SF meal.
Consistently good food, and the service is as good as the food. Love that!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.