About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (131)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Good for a Date (97)
See All
Authentic (94)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Romantic (77)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Business Meals (65)
Good for Groups (63)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Great for Lunch (55)
Hot Spot (48)
Notable Wine List (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Fun (32)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
People Watching (22)
Casual (21)
Tapas (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Seasonal (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Organic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful food and evening as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Never fail for every special occasions or just another night out with your significant other or group of friends. Every dish cooked to the perfection!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

A great dinner and experience. A bit loud but reasaonable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This is a great place. The food is imaginative and the service is attentive without being cloying.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Reading all the reviews I was expecting great Greek food. The food was good but not great. It clearly did not warrant the price. The kolokithikeftedes were oily. The octopus seemed like it was boiled rather then grilled. The fish plate was good. If the price was appropriate for the quality of the food my review would have been more positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We absolutely loved Kokkari. One of the best and most authentic Greek restaurants i have ever been to other than in Greece and homemade Greek cooking! Johnny took great care of us. Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Cumpleaños

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Superb service and food is perfect in every way - 5 star all the way

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

It was so delicious that I ate here three times on my trip, with different friends and family groups each time! My new favorite place in San Francisco! Great ambiance and nice staff. I definitely recommend it. The octopus was so tender, the best I ever ate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The best of SF! I would have every business lunch and dinner at Kokkari if I could.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

A little pricey, but you don't mind as the food is so fresh and well prepared...not over sauced, we had the grilled octopus, lamb riblets, stewed giant beans and grilled sea bass... all delish...Jeff, our waiter was wonderful, personable, helpful, attentive without hovering... a keeper!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The service was extremely slow. I had to ask the waiter where our lunch was, and all we had were salads. The food was very good. The restaurant is loud and if you are two then most of the seats are right next to another twosome making it extremely difficult to hear if you have any issues with that. Food very good, noise very bad. Service questionable, but that may have been a fluke. They were certainly nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Always an enjoyable lunch. I have never been disappointed and this is my 6th time dining there. Kokkari is one of my favorite San Francisco restaurants. The food is tasty and the service is good. I was happy on my recent visit that the server looked at my reason for dining there that I selected when making my reservation. We celebrated an anniversary. That was a nice touch that took a little more effort than other restaurant servers have in the past. I will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This place is excellent. Very nice and attentive service, and the food was really incredible: flavorful and fresh and nicely presented. We had a few appetizers, the lentil soup and tomato salad, and they were all fabulous. We shared the moussaka, which was the best we've had outside of Greece, heart and smoky and creamy. The prices are quite reasonable too. Go!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The BEST Greek food I've ever had! Book in advance!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! I can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful Mediterranean cuisine. Excellent grilled and rotisserie lamb and fish dishes. Very complete menu. Would recommend it for special occasions or higher end dinners. Some tables are close together but the ambiance is positive and there is a high end tavern/bistro atmosphere. Very Nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I took my boyfriend to Kokkari last weekend for his birthday. Its his favorite restaurant. And my first time eating there. We had the Smoked Salmon, chickpea and pita appetizer, and the goat stew. The food was great! However, booking the reservation a month in advance, and explaining them 3x that it is for a special birthday occasion, they did nothing special, no Happy Birthday from the restaurant for my special guy at all. Just another dinner. The food was excellent, service was good except for the extreme lack of attention to details. Why does a restaurant even bother asking for special occasion details if they don't follow through with anything?!

I will think twice next time I need to book with them for a special occasion...

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had very high expectations going in. They were met and then some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The lamb chops are amazing. Little crowded and had a large group one table over that was a little loud but overall a great experience and we will be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I can't say enough about how much I enjoy this place. Good amazing, service excellent, atmosphere superbe. Great for business lunches and to impress out of town guests. Five ⭐️S

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food is amazing! The service is attentive but snobby.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Love the ambience! Cozy and great for intimate conversation. Food is superb, especially octopus and sea bass! Would like to try the lamb next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Kokkari Estiatorio is a great restaurant with authentic Greek/Mediterranean food. We really enjoyed the food, ambiance, and service.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was one of the best meals ever! I loved every item: dolmas, spanokopita, peach salad and lamp chops.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very nice beautiful food and very helpful and friendly service

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

They always have been amazing. I love their chocolate sundae it is just outof this world. I always order salmon and what can I say? It is jusy out of this world . It is must go restaurant me and my husband only go their on special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Some of the best fish and appetizers I have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

First it must be said that Kokkari is my favorite restaurant. Period. Love. It. I bring everyone there who is visiting. And I still will,for the menu, the service and general atmosphere. All top-notch. It was just this ONE time, I have to say I was SLIGHTLY disappointed. As we were finishing our drinks and wanted to ask our waiter for our check, we didnt see our waiter FOREVER (We think he was waiting for us to finish but a fruit fly had flown into my friend's wine halfway through so she wasnt able to finish it) and so we had to flag down a front desk person to bring us our check. We informed this person of the fruit fly in wine and he didnt say 'oh sorry for that' or anything he just said. 'Ill take it and bring you your check.' And he did. but the glass of wine was still on there. It was ok...but it wasnt acknowledged and then they forgot to bring us our to -go bags. we had gotten a cab and then as we were leaving WE, remembered and had to go back and ask. Anyway, usually Kokkari service is seamless, smooth and flawless and so this was disappointing. I will go back, of course, but hope its just better than it was this time. thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was great, as expected. Frank, our server, was FANTASTIC!! He was knowledgeable, friendly, welcoming, and provided the personal touch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I came here to celebrate my friend's graduation. I've been here before and it was great then and it continues to amaze me how good everything is. All I need is another excuse to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great Greek fine dining restaurant. Always busy. Can be very noisy so perhaps not the best place for a romantic dinner but otherwise great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Best restaurant in SF, IMHO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Recommend that you split the appetizer, Peinirli, as it was phenomenal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I and my wife wen there to cerebrate our recent wedding and could not be happier. Foods were great and the service was top notch. Price at this place might be on the high side but worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food, well-oiled machine, in a good way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Quality food. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.