About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: 4159810983

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Zucchini Cakes
Grilled Octopus
Chargrilled Octopus
Grilled Lamb Chops
Baklava
Roasted Porkchop
Appetizers
Lamb Souvlaki
Lemon Chicken & Rice Soup
Amisia Paidakia
Pan Roasted Branzino
Galaktoboureko
Taramosolata, Tzatziki, Melitzanosalata & Hommus with Pita Bread
Chateau La Lagune
Bronzini
Octopodaki Tou Yiorgou
Braised Lamb Shank with Orzo & myzithra
Lamb Chops
Grilled Branzino
Greek Salad
Rotisserie Lamb
Arnisia Plevrakia
Kolokithokeftethes
Souvla Tis Emeras
Flat Bread Plate
Avagolemono Soup
Arnisia Paidakia
Arnisio Souvlaki
Ekmek Kataifi
Karpouzi Me Feta
Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
Taramosalata
Rotisserie Lamb & Lemon Chicken
Katsiki youvetsi
Greek Coffee
Grilled Rosemary Chicken
Saghanaki
Yiaourti Me Meli
Kokinisto Me Manestra
Kokkari Sundae
Chicken Souvlaki
Bread & Olive Oil
Berkshire Pork
rotisserie duck
Fried Peppers
Favosalata
Fried Anchovies
Kotopoulo Souvlas
Dolmathes
Whole fish
Loukoumades
Fig And Peach Salad
Mussels
Lamb Rotisserie Dinner
Beniets
Pita And Dips
Lamb's Tongue
Zucchini Flowers
razor clams
Lentil Soup
Artichoke Souvlaki
Solomos
Fried Smelts
Wood Oven Roasted Prawns with tomato sauce & feta cheese
Semolina Custard In Filo
green peas
Ice Cream Sundae
greek yoghurt
Dessert
Filo Dough. And Ice Cream
Octopus
Chocolate Flourless Cake
Saghanako
Bizelosalata
Fava Beans
Pork Dish
Grilled Mediterranean fish
Saghanaki (Kefalotiri Cheese)
Lamb Riblets
Zucchini Cakes (Kolokithokeftethes)
shrimp in tomato sauce
Avgolemono Soup
Summer Berry Pudding
Horiatiki
Kadayif
Spanokapita
Aginares Souvlaki
Special Meyer Lemon Custard wrapped in Filo & House Made Pistachio Ice Cream
Smelts Special
Rizogalo - Arborio rice pudding w/roasted peach
Moussaka
Baklava ice cream
Kalamari
Gigantes
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Mediterranean
San Francisco
1 More
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (240)
special occasion (217)
romantic (135)
See All
notable wine list (112)
good for groups (105)
great for lunch (91)
hot spot (91)
neighborhood gem (85)
vibrant bar scene (51)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (8)
kid-friendly (8)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
4201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A NO rush, take your time, we want your ...

Dined 3 days ago

A NO rush, take your time, we want your business enough to see that you get what you want, when you want it, how you want it. (certainly the waiter we had 'exuded' that very attitude.) The four of us split three appetizers and four main courses all "family style" (so we all could 'sample'). Everything was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best meals ever! Greek food ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of the best meals ever! Greek food at a whole new level - even great pairings with Greek wines if you're feeling adventurous. Service was very attentive. They made a birthday celebration all the more special.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a really delicious meal. We loved ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a really delicious meal. We loved all the appetizers the most. For the entree, we shared the lamb as well as the fish special. Half the group liked the lamb, the other half thought it was only okay. No one in our group liked the fish- we found it really strong and fishy tasting, and even left a large portion of it. Overall, it was a fantastic meal and I would go back and order mostly just smaller plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a date night! Perhaps not for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for a date night! Perhaps not for a pair of vegetarians. Lots of small plate veggie options but only a few stood out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond amazing!!! Ambiance, service and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Beyond amazing!!! Ambiance, service and food were an A+++

food5
ambience4
service5

We came to Kokkari for our 1st dinner on ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We came to Kokkari for our 1st dinner on our honeymoon in San Fran. Being a fellow Greek, I was excited to try out what I had heard was one of the best Greek restaurants outside of Greece. The food was exceptional as expected and out server Iain was great. No complaints on good or service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, amazing service, and a def ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service, and a definite recommend for a special occasion. Perhaps the best lamb chops I've tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband was looking forward to going ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

My husband was looking forward to going to your restaurant because he had read about the good reviews. We both ordered the oven roasted sea bass. His was fine but mine was lacking in taste and I had to ask for pepper. Instead of having the lemon sauce on the fish it was on the two slices of potato. The fish was supposed to be deboned but I encountered four large bones. I was upset that the waiter never came back to see how we liked the entree but he never asked. Surprised that the baklava was just ok.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Could have been much better. Expectation ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Could have been much better. Expectations were high. Previous two visits were outstanding. This one was somewhat disappointing. Order spanikopita and lamb meatballs as appetizers. Spanikopita was OK but nothing exceptional. Meatballs were tasty, but nothing imaginative in the seasoning. Similar to what I would expect from an average Italian restaurant. Then we shared a salad, which was outstanding, especially the dressing. Main courses - my wife had smelts - super disappointing. Soggy, fishy and nothing imaginative, in terms of sauce or dip. I had the special of the evening - Goat Stew, which was quite good. Dessert - we shared the Baclava. Tasted stale and texture was FAR too dense. I've tasted much better at low-budget delis. So - not sure we need to come back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous fabulous fabulous. My dining c ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Fabulous fabulous fabulous. My dining companion said "why don't we come here every Monday?" He's right - we should.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual it is always a pleasure to dine ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

As usual it is always a pleasure to dine here. This time our service was exceptional with a server who truly knew his wine and was friendly and accommodating . All items on the Mezedes list are great , no matter what you pick. Galaktoboureko is not to be missed as dessert !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were fantastic. This wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service and food were fantastic. This was hands down the best Greek food I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious . Our serv ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is always delicious . Our server was friendly and attentive. We always feel comfortable from the moment we walk in. This is a great place for both lunch and dinner. The bar is always fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always a wonderful time

Dined on June 9, 2016

As always a wonderful time

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Delightful. Food and service wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

If you like lamb chops, you are in for a ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

If you like lamb chops, you are in for a real treat! Best chops I have ever eaten! Recommend ordering several appetizers and sharing. The grilled octopus was tender and worth trying along with the other Greek specialties. Wine list was amazing! $$$$ but worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing a must in SF

Dined on June 3, 2016

Always amazing a must in SF

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server (s) were all top-notch, parti ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our server (s) were all top-notch, particularly our main one...the food was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

opa!

Dined on May 30, 2016

truly delicious, authentic greek food in a beautiful dining room

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Came Highly Recommended

Dined on May 30, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed our vacation in San Francisco and Kokkari came highly recommended for those who love Greek food. I personally appreciated the service and attention given from the hostesses to the server (I wish I could remember her name) to the manager who was courteous enough to see that we were satisfied with our visit. I will definitely continue on the recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend Kokkari

Dined on May 29, 2016

We ordered an appetizer with beans w red sauce, can't remember name; but it was sooo good! Foods ordered were a pork dish (special for the evening) and lamb chops (3), all dishes came with potatoes

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently a Delight!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my second visit and it met expectations which rarely happens when I return to a restaurant a second time. The first time my boyfriend visited San Francisco I picked this spot for a date night after hearing so many positive things. Both of us had a great time and we enjoyed everything about our waitstaff and our dishes. He came to visit so naturally we wanted to go back for our date night and we we more than pleased again! We tried new dishes and dessert this time and it was excellent. The only experience I would change are the attitudes of the hostess'. They are the customers first experience and both times, they have had snooty attitudes and lack no greeting. They should set your expectations when you check in that although you have a reservation, they will come get you and lead you to your table when it is ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

We have been going to Kokkari for both l ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been going to Kokkari for both lunches and dinner. The food never disappoints.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good place with great food and nice ambi ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Good place with great food and nice ambience. Large groups, friends dinner and date for.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a great lunch with wonderful ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We enjoyed a great lunch with wonderful service. The traditional greek entree's were spectacular. You will need reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved almost everything about the place except...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was great, waiter was very nice, low key, not in a rush, told us to take our time and we enjoyed it all. What I don't like is the snooty hostess who attempts to greet you. She is way, way too full of herself, not very friendly, and she needs a reality check. Just to avoid her, I'm going to try other places. Sorry, ma'am, but you're not "all that."

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely fabulous! Firs ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything was absolutely fabulous! First time going to San Fran and I would come back because of this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3

A month in advance reservation - the tab ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

A month in advance reservation - the table was a high traffic table- actually the same table interviews are held at. They made us wait 15 min at the bar where there was no room for us. Wondering if the treatment would've been different if we made a reservation directly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot remember our waiters name but h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I cannot remember our waiters name but he was one of the best waiters we ever had in our many years of dining experience. Hope he gets our high, high recommendation. I never fill these out but had to this time because of our waiter

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant but not stuffy. Excellent service.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Simple food, well prepared. Get the lamb chops. Our waiter was great. They've got their systems perfected. That's why this place is so booked up even though it's expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A very memorable meal. Our waiter was am ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

A very memorable meal. Our waiter was amazing. Such a nice personality. The food perfect!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always stop by when we're in San Fran ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We always stop by when we're in San Francisco and we're always happy to be here. Restaurants have a feel, and this one is among the best. Looking forward to next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service and ambiance were great. Food was very expensive and my lamb (rotiserrie special) was too well done for my liking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprisingly good food with a Greek emph ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Surprisingly good food with a Greek emphasis but not your neighborhood Greek, high end.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and great food to matc ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fantastic service and great food to match! We are both vegetarians, but our waiter did such an excellent job reciting the specials that we listened to all of them, even those including meat! The food was incredibly flavorful and beautifully presented. The desserts were heavenly. The place had a nice buzz both in the bar and the restaurant but we were able to carry on a conversation without shouting. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Great apps, mediocre pork gyro, meat was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great apps, mediocre pork gyro, meat was dry, lamb casserole was very good. Too bad most of its ordered the gyro;-(

food3
ambience4
service3

Food was good Not particularly Greek ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was good Not particularly Greek Baklava ice cream was great

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server rushed until we put the brake ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server rushed until we put the brakes on. Appetizers showed up minutes after we ordered, before our wine arrived. Not cool.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my all-time favorite rest ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants. Food is always delicious, and the wait staff are professionals who do this as a career. They know how to navigate the wine list that has many Greek options (they are delicious - trust your server), and they are skillful at pacing. I've made a meal out of just appetizers many times, and that is always satisfying. The wood fired spit turns out exceptional meat, and the whole fish never disappoints. Consistently good, consistently popular. Great for lunch or dinner. There is a beautiful private dining room downstairs for special events or meetings.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. They bake their bread, w ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food. They bake their bread, which was sinfully good. Grilled brancino and lamb chops were amazing, everything else was very good. Wine list was also good, not confusingly large, but not limited either. Service was very professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.