About Kokkari Estiatorio

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: 4159810983

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Kokkari Estiatorio
Zucchini Cakes
Grilled Octopus
Chargrilled Octopus
Grilled Lamb Chops
Baklava
Roasted Porkchop
Appetizers
Lemon Chicken & Rice Soup
Amisia Paidakia
Pan Roasted Branzino
Lamb Souvlaki
Taramosolata, Tzatziki, Melitzanosalata & Hommus with Pita Bread
Galaktoboureko
Chateau La Lagune
Bronzini
Octopodaki Tou Yiorgou
Braised Lamb Shank with Orzo & myzithra
Grilled Branzino
Rotisserie Lamb
Greek Salad
Arnisia Plevrakia
Kolokithokeftethes
Souvla Tis Emeras
Flat Bread Plate
Avagolemono Soup
Lamb Chops
Ekmek Kataifi
Karpouzi Me Feta
Dulce de Leche Ice Cream
Taramosalata
Arnisio Souvlaki
Arnisia Paidakia
Rotisserie Lamb & Lemon Chicken
Katsiki youvetsi
Grilled Rosemary Chicken
Greek Coffee
Saghanaki
Yiaourti Me Meli
Kokinisto Me Manestra
Kokkari Sundae
Chicken Souvlaki
Bread & Olive Oil
Berkshire Pork
rotisserie duck
Fried Peppers
Favosalata
Fried Anchovies
Kotopoulo Souvlas
Dolmathes
Whole fish
Loukoumades
Fig And Peach Salad
Mussels
Lamb Rotisserie Dinner
Beniets
razor clams
Lentil Soup
Artichoke Souvlaki
Solomos
Fried Smelts
Wood Oven Roasted Prawns with tomato sauce & feta cheese
Semolina Custard In Filo
green peas
Ice Cream Sundae
greek yoghurt
Dessert
Filo Dough. And Ice Cream
Octopus
Chocolate Flourless Cake
Saghanako
Bizelosalata
Fava Beans
Pork Dish
Grilled Mediterranean fish
Saghanaki (Kefalotiri Cheese)
Lamb Riblets
Zucchini Cakes (Kolokithokeftethes)
shrimp in tomato sauce
Avgolemono Soup
Summer Berry Pudding
Horiatiki
Kadayif
Spanokapita
Aginares Souvlaki
Special Meyer Lemon Custard wrapped in Filo & House Made Pistachio Ice Cream
Smelts Special
Rizogalo - Arborio rice pudding w/roasted peach
Moussaka
Pita And Dips
Baklava ice cream
Kalamari
Gigantes
Strawberry Rhubarb Tart
Goat Stew
Sokolatina

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
San Francisco Bay Area
Mediterranean
San Francisco
1 More
Most Booked
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Financial District / Embarcadero ›

fit for foodies (235)
special occasion (210)
romantic (131)
See All
notable wine list (117)
good for groups (114)
neighborhood gem (88)
great for lunch (86)
hot spot (83)
vibrant bar scene (43)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
4236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time and it was as g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time and it was as good as the first, all the dishes were very good, the quality of the food is very nice and tasty . The service couldn't be better. Looking forward for the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family and I had a wonderful lunch he ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

My family and I had a wonderful lunch here. We sat in front of the spit with 2 lambs roasting and the kids loved it. Our server, Monique, was wonderful! We ordered several plates to try a variety. The cheese Saghanaki was ohh soo good. Other highlighs were: the chopped salad, the meat balls, and the Pastitsio. For dessert: Baklava, Yiaourti me Meli, and Loukoumades. The restaurant is beautiful, very homey and romantic, particularly where we sat. The service was extraordinary and the food superb!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. A real gem.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience. A real gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did all small plates to get the best ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We did all small plates to get the best of the best in tastes. All dishes were flavorful except the Greek salad and Spanakopita .. both were dull on flavor. Order anything else. It's delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Kokkari is wonderful. I have been going ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Kokkari is wonderful. I have been going to this restaurant since it opened in 1998. (I think this is right)

Check Kokkari out and see for yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best service I can recall, phenomenal ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best service I can recall, phenomenal experience all the way through!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kokkari was recommended by a local and d ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Kokkari was recommended by a local and did not disappoint. Try something you haven't before! Portions are large so sharing is encouraged by the staff. We loved all of it! Best Tzatziki sauce I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Kokkari. Great food, amazing ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love Kokkari. Great food, amazing service and a good buzz!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful!! Probably the best lamb chop ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful!! Probably the best lamb chops ever! Salad was very unique with green figs and tuberous greens--all seasoned perfectly. Beautiful dining room and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lambchops were very fatty. Artichoke sou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lambchops were very fatty. Artichoke souvlaki was good. Lunch prices seemed a little high, as did wines by the glass. Our server did not do much to help identify gluten-free options.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A trip to SF SHOULD not be considered co ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A trip to SF SHOULD not be considered complete without a meal at Kokkari...from the moment you walk in the door, until you've finished the last morsel of your dessert, this place does not disappoint. Excellent food, excellent service, great wines by the glass, perfect room. Love it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at Kokkari ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was my first time dining at Kokkari and it was an excellent experience. I plan to come back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but expensive. The wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was very good but expensive. The waitstaff was great

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Greek food and this restaurant kn ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I love Greek food and this restaurant knows how to cook.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although my friend, Blondie and I have c ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although my friend, Blondie and I have come here several times for our monthly meet up lunches, we decided this would be the perfect place to celebrate her retirement after 45 years of dedicated work as a registered nurse. Everyone at the restaurant is exceptional...from the person greeting patrons at the reception desk, to the waiters, busboys, and anyone else who comes in contact with guests. The menu has so many wonderful choices...its really a difficult decision! The waiters have always been spot on woth descriptions,and reccommendations. I have never had anything that wasn't " the best" I've ever tasted of whatever. Yummy! It is a great restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! One of my favorite sp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Never disappoints! One of my favorite spots in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 20 min to be seated, even with re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Waited 20 min to be seated, even with reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful delicious meal. Great location ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful delicious meal. Great location. Easy city parking. Friendly, efficient waitress, Candles on our desserts for our Birthday celebration. Finest Greek food in San Francisco.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! We have been tryi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! We have been trying for two years to get a reservation. By chance, we decided to go to the city at the last minute and they had an opening. Well it was definitely worth the wait! I had the lamb chops, we also tried the goat stew and rotisserie lamb. All amazing! The fried cheese was incredible, although extremely rich. Our server was one of the best! Darling young woman with so much knowledge about food and Europe and made the visit so enjoyable. She never rushed us! Would most definitely return-if we can get another reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently visited on a vacation to SF. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Recently visited on a vacation to SF. This restaurant was highly recommended by every one across the board. Food was ok but not memorable. Gigantes were bland. Octopus was ok. Lamb chops were decent. Having been to Greece many times, I can honestly say I had better dishes at the tavernas where Yia Yia was cooking in the kitchen. All in all...over rated, over priced, and disappounting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of my most favorite places. Was the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my most favorite places. Was the place I selected to eat to celebrate my retirement. The lamb chops were great like usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have a better option for my fan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Couldn't have a better option for my fancy honeymoon dinner! Excellent food, best lamb in my live!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambiance were exquisite. Howeve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food and ambiance were exquisite. However, service felt rushed to get another seating in. Courses were brought out immediately after each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

A special thanks to the staff for a beau ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A special thanks to the staff for a beautiful evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Delicious!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Absolutely Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good. The appetizers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was really good. The appetizers had a kick to them and were very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food and service was excellent. The expe ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent. The experience was great. The only thing I would change is that the bar crowd leaks into the front dining room making it very loud. People sitting at tables near the bar have people at the bar standing right above them while they are trying to eat. Some remodeling of the bar needs to happen for a more designated section.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ate at a lot of great places on my rec ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I ate at a lot of great places on my recent trip to San Francisco, but my meal at Kokkari was the best. The food was amazing--I had a lamb shank and my partner had several of the smaller plates instead of an entrée--as was the service. This is a large restaurant, but the food and the atmosphere did not suffer. Be sure to book your reservations a month in advance--that's when they open up, and the good dates and times go fast!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in for my birthday on Tuesday ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We came in for my birthday on Tuesday night. Once seated, we needed to ask for our server to order some wine. We ordered Artichoke and Eggplant appetizer. The Eggplant tasted great but the artichoke had spiny bits that couldn't be chewed or swallowed. Octopus appetizer. This was OK but nothing special. We ordered the Lamb Chops wich were so salty and chewy we left them on the plate. We also ordered the whole fish which was so salty we left it on the plate. Our server never stopped by to check on our food or experience. We were crammed between 2 other couples. Our server obviously ignored the fact that we were not enjoying our food and Ushered us out with our bill. Thanks but no thanks. I would definately have trouble recommending this restaurant for the service or the food. Hopefully, you can start living up to the Yelp reviews. To say we expected an entirely different experience is an understatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Impeccable Greek cuisine. Fresh and qua ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Impeccable Greek cuisine. Fresh and quality products. Amazing grilled octopus, and whole fish cooked perfectly. Friendly, professional and helpful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of my favorites, this recent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always one of my favorites, this recent visit found the kitchen to likely have been overwhelmed, resulting in several of the dishes to either not be warm or overcooked. The restaurant was happy to reheat and replace an overcooked dish, but the situation was unfortunate.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not the best waiting area, but luckily w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Not the best waiting area, but luckily we didn't have to wait long. The rest of our dining experience was flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always my favorite. Consistent food, gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always my favorite. Consistent food, great environment . Seafood is always fresh.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A NO rush, take your time, we want your ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A NO rush, take your time, we want your business enough to see that you get what you want, when you want it, how you want it. (certainly the waiter we had 'exuded' that very attitude.) The four of us split three appetizers and four main courses all "family style" (so we all could 'sample'). Everything was very good. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals ever! Greek food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

One of the best meals ever! Greek food at a whole new level - even great pairings with Greek wines if you're feeling adventurous. Service was very attentive. They made a birthday celebration all the more special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a really delicious meal. We loved ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was a really delicious meal. We loved all the appetizers the most. For the entree, we shared the lamb as well as the fish special. Half the group liked the lamb, the other half thought it was only okay. No one in our group liked the fish- we found it really strong and fishy tasting, and even left a large portion of it. Overall, it was a fantastic meal and I would go back and order mostly just smaller plates!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for a date night! Perhaps not for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great for a date night! Perhaps not for a pair of vegetarians. Lots of small plate veggie options but only a few stood out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beyond amazing!!! Ambiance, service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Beyond amazing!!! Ambiance, service and food were an A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to Kokkari for our 1st dinner on ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We came to Kokkari for our 1st dinner on our honeymoon in San Fran. Being a fellow Greek, I was excited to try out what I had heard was one of the best Greek restaurants outside of Greece. The food was exceptional as expected and out server Iain was great. No complaints on good or service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, amazing service, and a def ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing food, amazing service, and a definite recommend for a special occasion. Perhaps the best lamb chops I've tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.