Kokkari Estiatorio

4.8
5673 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Fit for Foodies
Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30am -2:30pm
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday, 5:30pm -11:00pm
Saturday, 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu:
Monday - Friday, 2:30pm - 5:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 981-0983
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Erik Cosselmon
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Front St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
7.8

Come to Kokkari Estiatorio in the Financial District to feel like a big shot. Maybe even throw on a suit and tie. It's a Greek temple of lamb.

Ratings 7.5-8.0:These are restaurants that are reliable, tasty, and particularly good for whatever we have deemed them “Perfect For.” Hit up a 7.7 for Date Night with confidence, as long as you don’t need the restaurant to be the most interesting thing that happens that night.
What 5673 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress was AWESOME! Really terrific. Top servers I have had in SF this year. Made the visit a real treat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

this great restaurant seems to have upped their game for lunch! though the regular menu has always featured fresh ingredients, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented, the daily specials this season are superb. and how wonderful it is to be served a great meal by attentive, highly experienced waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and warm service. Very accommodating to special requests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Kokkari is great!
It actually exceeded my expectations the decor, ambience and the food was super.
The service was excellent thanks to Julian and the team.
I had the octopus for appetizer which is one of their signature dishes and the lamb chops also a signature for my mains. Highly recommend both

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I’m usually not a fan of Greek food, but this restaurant is the exception. Everything was wonderful. I would definitely dine here again. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Kokkari has been one of my favorite restaurants in the SF Area for over a decade. Their service and attention to details are second to none. Their food is ultimately making the crowd loves going back time and time again. Their roasted lamb was tender, flavorful and juicy, outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

As always, Kokkari never disappoints! I love the old world rustic, but sophisticated warmth of this place. The food and service is always good. The drinks are well made, strong and they have a great wine list...I highly recommend trying it out if you've never been.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The setting is beautiful. I love all the decor and the ambiance.
I was here 7 years ago and loved it, but this week was very disappointing. The food was only ok, the portions are VERY small and the prices VERY high for the amount you get. I ordered lamb souvlaki medium rare and it was raw !
My husband ordered lamb chops which were very small and only two ! Hardly worth $32.00. We also had the zucchini cakes (you get two) which were good but the size of a silver dollar... glad we had a gift certificate that covered all except the tip...no need to go again.
Did I mention the parking is terrible ?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Our waiter was the absolute best. He recommended the most delicious dishes and wine. The zucchini cakes, fried eggplant, lamb skewers, fish, pork chop and dessert all had the best flavor. I can’t wait to go back again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Used to be great. Service is slow. Food is overpriced. Overdressed, pretentious crowd for mediocre taverna food. Needs a reboot and a tasting menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Awesome place. Loved having the lamb entrees in various forms. The grilled Octopus and Zucchini cakes were delicious. Wine list is extensive if you buy a bottle. Limited selection if buying by the glass. I'd highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent food and service we will return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

This is my first time in San Francisco, and the first restaurant to visit. Way to set the bar!!! The great service and wonderful uniquely creative cuisines made this such an amazing birthday.

Thank you,
Dash S.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Overall we had a wonderful experience! Seated right away for our 930 reservation in a second dining room that allows you to view the kitchen staff at work!

You would expect there to be a lot of noise coming from the line/workers but that wasn't the case at all!!! You can tell the Chef has total command of his staff - Very professional!

Food and ambiance were amazing - Decor was subtle and complimented the atmosphere of the building. We could hear the Greek music playing throughout the building but it wasn't so loud that it took over our conversation. Food was on point, start to finish - Nothing lacked flavor and presentation was fantastic.

Will definitely come back next time we're in SF!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Delicious food, varied menu, beautiful room and skilled and attentive service. Kokkari has been one of my favorite restaurants for many years. It is always a great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 23, 2018

As visitors in town, we enjoyed our experience at Kokkari! The was food was delicious and the ambiance was cozy. The grilled branzino is a must have and the filo dough stuffed with cream with a side of pistachio ice cream was absolutely divine. The only drawback was the 20 minute wait when we arrived to the restaurant despite the fact that we had a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Kokkari always delivers, great food, great service !!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

One if the best dining experiences I have had in a while! Everything was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Really good food. Their whole fish was exceptional. Lamb was delicious too. Also tried multiple appetizers, they do not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Food and service were amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The food and service and ambience were all exceptional. The sommelier was so approachable and reasonable! Food was delicious and innovative without being pretentious. Loved the lively atmosphere, it could still enjoy conversation. Pasta dishes were over the top as was the porchetta!
A definite repeat restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

This is the second time we visited Kokkari..
It was great both times. My wife have the baked chicken and I had the rotisserie pork.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Just a bit loud at lunchtime if they could suppress the volume that would be awesom

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Incredible food as always and perfect service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Beautiful delicious food, great service, highly recommend it, celebrated my 51st birthday here, we had a great time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

A wonderful anniversary dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Friends birthday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

This is one of my favorite restaurants in SF and always will be. I’ve been over a dozen times and somehow my experience just keeps getting better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Sister visiting from London

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Very nice atmosphere and really good food. Service was friendly and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Amazing greek food with a particular ambience tone and a perfect service. You need to try the specialties and ask for recomendations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was amazing and service was also excellent

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We've been to Kokkari 3 times in about 4 years. This will probably be our last. It's simply not good enough or high enough quality for what they charge. Portions are skimpy, a lamb souvlaki does not even come with pita or rice, the chicken is all alone on the plate except for two potato wedges. Any neighborhood Greek restaurant in a place like NYC does better for a quarter of the price. Tables for two are mostly very cramped and too close to each other. The service is good but not outstanding and the ambiance is nice but with so many amazing restaurants in San Francisco there's not much reason to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We love Greek food and kokkari is the best. Start with friedhalloumi cheese and follow with lamb a good red wine and you'll be happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Couldn’t have had better service. The food was simply amazing. This was my third time at this restaurant, but the first time I planned ahead and made a reservation. The other times we were seated at the bar, while the food was still excellent, the seating arrangement was not ideal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

As a Greek American, I can confidently say that this is the best Greek restaurant in America ... hands down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Amazing ambiance and great food. We went for our 2nd Anniversary and my wife was very pleased with this place. Very romantic place, great food, and excellent customer service. If you want to make someone feel special then take her/him to this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

I would highly recommend Kokkari for a special occasion lunch or dinner. The food was amazing and service lovely. We tried four different appetizers (the pan fried cheese, dolmathes, stuffed pita, and the octopus) and they were all divine. My spouse had the lamb for his main and he said it was phenomenal. I kept it light with soup after all the appetizer fun, which tasted very fresh and bright.

It was my spouse's birthday, which I noted on our OpenTable reservation, and they brought out a special dessert at the end of our meal, which was a wonderful touch.

My only one (small) issue: our seat wasn't exactly intimate. I understand that this is a very popular restaurant but I was much closer to a woman in the couple next to us than I was to my own spouse. Occasionally it was hard to hear. Still overall a great experience. Excited to go back for another occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great food, great service, amazing atmosphere! We'll be back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Overall it is a very good restaurant but can be extremely noisy and it would be good to reserve some of the more quiet tables. The shghanaki and lavraki is always great and we like the galaktoboureko dessert. Cannot ger better Greek food and the overall experience is a very good one.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
142