About Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari (pronounced “Ko-Kar-ee”) is a small fishing village located on the islands of Samos in the Aegean Sea, whose name is derived from the small onions that were once produced in the nearby fields. Its fertile soil and Mediterranean climate translated into an abundance of fresh produce as well as treasured seafood and game. Legend tells that Kokkari is the site where Orion, a mighty hunter and a young man of gigantic stature and great beauty, fell in love with the daughter of the king of Chios. For the love of her, Orion forged the island for wild game and seafood to prepare elaborate banquets in celebration of their love. Today, we hope you will enjoy your own celebration as you dine at Kokkari Estiatorio on food “fit for the Gods” prepared with an Aegean palate and the style of innovative California fare.

200 Jackson St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Greek, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Bar Menu: Monday - Friday: 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Cross Street:
Front St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 981-0983

Website:
http://www.kokkari.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking ($8) evenings from 5:00pm

Executive Chef:
Erik Cosselmon

Private Party Facilities:
The semi-private and private dining areas can accommodate groups from six to two hundred. The restaurant is also available for buy-outs.

Private Party Contact:
Caroline Shea: (415) 981-0983

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kokkari Estiatorio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (122)
Fit for Foodies (116)
Good for a Date (101)
See All
Authentic (97)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Romantic (71)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Business Meals (69)
Good for Groups (57)
Great for Lunch (55)
Notable Wine List (52)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Hot Spot (40)
Cozy (32)
Fun (31)
Healthy (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Bar Seating (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
People Watching (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Fireplace (18)
Tapas (16)
Wood Oven (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Private Room (12)
Casual (10)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (4)
Vegan (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
5139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious! Fresh, vibrant, delicious. The grilled octopus was off the charts, and the tarmasalata so tasty. The lamb chops were tender to the bone. It was a little noisy when we were there, so not as romantic as we remembered. The last we went, they were clearing out the restaurant for a special event and so it was a lot quieter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Brad, our server, made the experience absolutely phenomenal! My friends and I were there for my birthday and we were able to simply tell what characteristics we were looking for in wine, and Brad presented selections that were spot on. The food was amazing and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was great. Probably the best Greek food on the West Coast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent place! Grilled octopus amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We love going there every time we are in San Francisco but this time the food was really bad. Extremely disappointing. The fish was way over cooked, the chicken was dried, the augolemono soup not that good, and the tomatoes in the salad way too ripened. Sadly we will not returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food and service; one of our best meals in San Francisco. Only issue is that we were seated between the two main dining rooms and felt a bit out of touch with the ambiance. Next time, we would not sit there; it distracted from the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a a great meal at Kokarri. It will break the bank but you will be full and very satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the pork chop which was the special for the night but was sooooo dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Greek cooking with top quality California ingredients. The avgolemeno soup was about the best ever. Salad was incredibly fresh and tasty. Lamb chops were done perfectly. Kokkari is a lively, bustling, cheerful place. The menu isn't extensive but everything is fine very well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Each time we are going to be in San Francisco, we make it a point to have lunch or dinner at Kokkari. This has become our favorite dining venue for three reasons:
delicious, well-prepared Greek/Mediterranean food; friendly, professional service from the wait staff; and an energy laden vibe from patrons enjoying wonderful food. This time we were celebrating my wife's birthday, followed up by an evening's entertainment with Tony Bennett. Both our lunch and evening entertainment were incomparable. Perfect!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Kolkata came highly recommended by another foodie and it certainly did not disappoint. Each dish was loaded with layers of flavors and the lamb was savory. Just go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is a fantastic place. The only downside is that it is difficult to get a reservation. Every time I'm there, I'm ecstatic that I have a reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was one of the best meals of my life! Wow! Kokkari knocks it out of the park. The zucchini cakes, octopus and stuffed pita appetizers were delicious. My halibut was phenomenal, and my bfs lamb was perfection...and I don't even like lamb! Went with the classic baklava for dessert. It was great, and not overly sweet.

Our waiter was excellent and service was spot on. They left us alone enough to talk, but someone was always around when we needed anything. This is now a must whenever I'm in San Fran

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food from start to finish was so perfectly executed with great service as well.
We loved everything and even ordered two desserts, which never happens but we didn't want the meal to end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Kokkari was recommended by a friend that travels regularly to San Francisco and is a like-minded "foodie". My wife and I fell in love with the restaurant from the moment we stepped in the door. The concept is warm and inviting. Many tables are situated such that you have close dining "neighbors", which we usually enjoy because we always seem to get into interesting conversations and get tips for visiting whatever city we are in.

Regarding the food, it was creative and exceptional. I felt it was a bit expensive, especially for lunch; although it is San Francisco and I expected it.

Peter was our waiter. He was friendly and efficient. His recommendations were spot on. He may have had us order one too many dishes; we left stuffed. However, we won't be back to San Francisco for a while and are glad we tasted all we did. When we do return, we are sure to repeat Kokkari.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great food! Loved the dessert menu and the wine list

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful menu with delicious food. Nice atmosphere and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I could not rate this restaurant highly enough. The setting is tasteful and elegant. The service impeccable. The food absolutely delicious. The only regret was that we had to leave.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and as usual we enjoyed the food, ambience and service. Peter went out of his way to not make us feel rushed and provided excellent professional service. It was very much appreciated. See you again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always look forward to returning to Kokkari! Fabulous authentic Greek food & great wait staff! Would love to recommend a particular dish, but everything is great. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great ambiance and service. Food was tasty but it wasn't hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was great as usual. Our waiter, Chris was great. Love this restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The staff was superb, and our server, Matthew and host Doug were extremely gracious and attentive! I would highly recommend the succulent Berkshire rotisserie pork if its available on their specials of the day. We also found the chicken lemon soup to be the perfect balance, not too lemony and a wonderful creamy texture. I'm a grape leaves fan so the grape leaves stuffed with local duck breast was a nice spin on the traditional fillings. We look forward to our next experience there when we visit SF.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very silly inattentive waiter. Food was OK. Very hot in restaurant!! Staff spending more time visiting each other than serving. Used to be favorite--not anymore 😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and attentive service. Goat stew was fantastic. Wife's chicken was cold. Manager noticed she was not satisfied before we said anything and had it heated up quickly...all turned out good. Unique special for desert. Would definitely go back for a special time out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of the best Greek restaurants we have ever experienced throughout the country!!! Amazing selections of entrees and traditional dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The highly-rated Kokkaria did not disappoint with food quality, plating and variety. A modern Greek-inspired menu with many small plates or entrees to choose from. We ordered the corn and feta, potatoes and Greek salad to begin. Our entrees (the halibut and the lamb chops) met our expectations in that all food was delicious and fresh with nice and simple nuanced spicing and flavor combinations allowing the freshness and high quality of ingredients to impress. Our table service was really good, pleasant and low-key but attentive. Very professional. Our server responded with knowledge to our menu inquires on dishes and wine pairing but without aggressive up-selling. Very nice.

The only negatives were 1) our table was distinctly uncomfortable-crowded closely to another couple- almost a 4-top setup- who were not appearing to enjoy themselves. We understand space constraints, but Kokkari has a huge footprint and eliminating a couple of tables would contribute to a better experience for those diners crowded into the front dining room and 2)we stopped by on a walk earlier in the day for a drink at the bar and the bartender was very unfriendly, and seemed to be expressing a perceived disinterest in his job. This wasn't necessarily directed only at us, but at others at the bar as well. There is no excuse for this absence of hospitality, I don't care what restaurant you serve in or how you misunderstand snobbish poor service for upscale attitude.

We will definitely return for the food and good table service, but will likely skip the preprandial bar drink unless we see a friendlier face mixing.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Was looking forward to trying after so many good reviews. Took a couple of weeks to get a reserve. with all of that said, we were disappointed with the food quality and preparation especially at these prices. The lamb shank was overcooked, dry and somewhat flavorless. The shish kebab was just ok with gristle in each piece. I've had much better quality of lamb at Dish Dash in Mt. view or even from Costco cooking myself. Lamb was more like you'd expect at a cheap trattoria in Greece. It did bring back memories of a wonderful trip though! Did like the zucchini cakes and stuffed calamari and the Moussaka was quite nice, not overly greasy as some can be, however it was a little under-spiced. Doughnut balls were delightful and the apricot fig crumble had a total of 1 fig and somewhat sour apricots which was a shock, maybe too much lemon -- would skip that "special" dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I've been here many times. They were off their game this time. The kitchen most likely suffered from not having a supervising chef on as it was the day before the fourth of July.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent taste on everything we had. Beautiful restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had an amazing meal as usual. I have never eaten at Kokkari when anything wasn't absolutely wonderful! Our waiter Peter was phenomenal!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Organic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Just incredible! Our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This has to be one of the best restaurants in SFO!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolutely fabulous! A twist on Greek that ups the authenticity factor. Open fire with roasting ducks and chickens. Such s farm homestead feel. Great decor and great service! Food is succulent. Will be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Hot Spot, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very good Greek food and diverse menu. Awesome service and beautiful interior.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Organic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great restaurant and atmosphere . Service was exceptional !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Well prepared food and good wait staff. I did find it odd the waiter tried to talk us out of our entre choice and into more expensive ones. As per usual I made a reservation as far in advance as possible and got a table by the kitchen service area and right at the intersection of two very busy pathways so my chair was bumped by the waitstaff all evening. Probably won't go back. It was a birthday and the people at the next table got a lovely desert, we got nothing. Oh well. At these prices I would rather go to a cheaper restaurant and have lower expectations that are met rather than high prices and high expectations that are not met.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great spot to celebrate our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I hadn't been in 10 years and it was just as delicious as I remembered...how often can you say that?! The service was spot on, food delicious and the ambiance lively but not obnoxious.
It will DEFINATELY be a regular spot now that I am back in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This is a gem.
Excellent service and a great experience
Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.