Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Casual (14)
Fun (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
489 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The chef was fantastic. However, the reservations were a bit late, which was alright, but it took 45 minutes to get our first dish/soup, which was completely flavorless. The server wasn't too attentive. We asked for a cold glass for the beer, which was never brought. Refills took forever to come and didn't come until the chef actually left to tell the waiter. The grill was pretty dirty from the last party and we had to ask them to wipe down and clean the grill before cooking our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 13, 2017

典型的なアメリカ風Teppanyakiで期待はあまりしてなかったが、それを差し引いても鉄板が黒焦げでメンテされておらず、シェフの料理の仕方もとても雑だった。
ミディアムレアがオススメと言っておきながら、ウェルダンになってしまっており、これには憤慨した。
客の回転を高めるため鉄板の温度をとても高く設定してると見られ、客席にも熱が伝わって来て不快だった。
この地域では、カアナパリのシェラトンホテル内の鉄板焼きレストランの方がマシであった。

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome jon in catering to my son's 12th Birthday party.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Way to hot, waited 30 mins for the soup almost 45 min for the chef.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The restaurant just smelled gross inside. To me it just seemed that they have not done a good cleaning for a very long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food (filet and lobster) was superb. However, their air conditioning was not working and it was 88 degrees inside. We were surprised they didn't offer free dinks or dessert to thank us for sweating through a meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I was disappointed with this restaurant. I have been to many Japanese Steak houses and this was by far the worst. The service from the minute we walked in the door was horrible at best. The waiter that took our drink orders was not only rushing us but down right rude to a group of four that was seated next to us. The food was mediocre. The only saving grace was the cook was entertaining. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. I wish I would have read the Yelp reviews before making my reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our chef was multilingual which really helped knowing we had a Japanese family with us. Very professional with fun, quirky humor while he was working. One of the best experiences at Kobes I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Centrally located in Lahaina, Maui. Parking is nearby but need to pay. The hostess was friendly, wait staff all polite and quick. Service was great with fun presentation with cooking and style with teppanyaki style.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The best vegetables on the island my 11 year old and 13 year old ate all of their veggies and even wanted more . The food is spot on and we are going back for a second visit tonight i would highly recommend the fried rice and filet great food with mostly locals

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food and atmosphere was great, but the wait time was not.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I dislike the space. You need to space it out a little bit more. Even the cooks practically stand back to back. You need to up the A.C. a bit to make it cooler. But food great, chefs awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was outstanding and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

La comida estuvo deliciosa, atención increíble, te ofrecen un show con los cuchillos mientras preparan tu comida, en general una buena experiencia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Kobe's is fun, entertaining dining! The chef prepares the meal right at the table. If you are familiar with teppanyaki style dining, then you know it is a treat. Food is very tasty and we'll prepared, plus we got treated to the biggest "volcano" this side of the big island. A fun, delicious evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The restaurant delivered what we were looking for and the food was good. The service was rough, which was a result of the many people they were rolling through the place. Our desserts came as we were eating oir second bite of dinner. The ambience was rough for the same reason. Everything is a little tired/cheap. However, given all that they did deliver a good Tepanyaki meal that met our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

There is always a wait for the table even with reservations. The food and service great and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went to Kobe Steak House because the kids love Benihanas We were on a family vacation
so we wanted to entertain the kids. The restaurant was dismal. We sat down at a table and
little black bugs went running across our plates. We would have left but the kids were so excited. The food was awful and the cook was sweating profusely as he cooked. The chef tried to flip a bowl of rice and missed and caught it in his sweaty hand and then served it to one of the guests at our table. Yuck. Save your time and money We couldn't wait to leave. Because of the bugs the owner paid for our drinks. Not much of a consolation It was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

great fun...good entertainment... not good for quiet conversation... or much conversation as it's really a dinner show by a skilled chef with a great sense of humor... good fresh food cooked right in front of you ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Kobe is the epitome of average. They did a good job, but nothing set it apart from any other hibachi place. I probably would have given this four stars instead of three if it hadn't have been for the enormous wait before being seated.

We were seated half an hour after our reservation time (which we had showed up for five minutes early). Then it took probably 10 more minutes before a server took drink orders.

We actually almost left. I even called another place from our table to see about getting in.

But then, in a surprising twist, our hibachi chef came to our table within probably 10 minutes of us ordering! That was amazing and completely unexpected. We were glad.

He was a good chef. Friendly. Not overly entertaining. The food was good, but not great. My steak wasn't seasoned, and the fried rice was kind of odd. Maybe had some onions in it?

The price paid was actually better than most places like this.

Would I return? Probably if in Maui and wanting hibachi. Because it's one of only two hibachi grills and the other is way too expensive.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Outstanding food, service and friendliness of the staff. Great value.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Cook was funny! Food was good. Great place to celebrate a special occasion with teenagers as ambiance is energetic. Plus if u go late they have Karaoke after 10pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love going to kobes...wish we had one in town. The staff is friendly n helpful

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Arrived on time for our 7pm reservation. Had to wait half an hour at the bar before being shown to our table, then another 45 minutes at the table before the chef showed up. The restaurant needs to take fewer reservations - or employ more chefs. Staff at the front desk were off-hand and could care less that the whole experience felt a little like herding cattle. The food was okay but unfortunately didn't make up for the poor service. Overall, a very disappointing experience. As one other reviewer said, with so many wonderful dining experiences to be had on Maui, give this one a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was average at best. Service was aweful. I would not recommend this restaurant at all. Waiter took our order and I think we actually laid on eyes on him once more, when it came time to pay. We are from California and eat at Benihana regularly, Kobe could learn something from them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and service and a fun place to take family for a night out. Highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fun with the tepanyaki. The chef did a good job and made us a nice vulcano of an onion :) The husband and I been to Kobe several times before (25 and 20 years ago) Now we got to show our daughters. It was as good as we remembered it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Overall a good exoerience. The kids loved the volcano, ate all their food, and was very happy. We loved the sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 25, 2017

If I could give this place ZERO stars, I would. Absolutely ATROCIOUS service. The waitress snarled at us when we asked for water. We sat for 65 minutes without any food. We finally walked out without eating. AWFUL. Don't eat here. So many better and wonderful places on Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Very friendly atmosphere...Fun and entertaining family dining experience as well! If you have young kids who you are trying to gently expose picky eaters to seafood this would be a great fun experience for them...They also offer steak and chicken choices...We will probably go twice this trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was very good but didn't enjoy being seated with another family. That kinda ruined our fun experience. The chef was good, server was slow but I think she was covering a lot of tables. So, not her fault

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The atmosphere was lively. the people that worked there were friendly and attentive.
We loved the cook who prepared the food. He was very interactive with the patrons. The food was delicious. Overall, it was a great meal. One of the best we had on the island.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Hostess was very unfriendly. Waiter, not much personality. Chef great!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a hot night in there. We were all sweating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

we book at 7.30, arrived on time. Get our seat at 8.45pm
Have to wait for our food for 1.30 hours.
Stake was so bad, service was so poor. don't do it

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My son loves the onion volcano! That's why he wanted to celebrate his 12th Birthday at Kobe's! We loved everything!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have been to several other Kobe restaurants in the past, and this one was my least favorite. It was still a solid dinner, but everything was a little less (except the bill). Fried rice was extra, no free refills on coke, no salad, no dessert. The food itself was tasty and our chef was fun and engaging, but not my first choice given the options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiters and the owner were F&$@)(?! Rude. The great family we sat at the table with were treated poorly and should have had their meal comped. The restaurant has the audacity to charge you extra for coke refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This has got to be the worst service and food we have ever has, had a reservation st 7:30 not seated till 8:30 no water or anything till 9. So dissapointing for the whole table they took 20% off because they knew it was terrible kept apologizing, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Worst dining experience I have had in a long time! Words service I have ever had!

Food was ok at best! Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.