About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Family Style (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been coming here for almost 40 years. We ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Been coming here for almost 40 years. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kobe is a chain of Japanese restaurants ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Kobe is a chain of Japanese restaurants where they cook your food right in front of you on the giant griddle. You will have more than enough to eat as the portions are huge.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent quality and quantity. Friendly ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent quality and quantity. Friendly, courteous service. We had 5:30 Open Table reservation and seated as soon as we arrived. Great value for the amount of tasty food.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit to Kobe Japanese Steakhouse ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

First visit to Kobe Japanese Steakhouse with family, including daughter, son in law , wife and grandson , who is almost three. We had a 5:30 reservation, and were seated promptly...server was professional, friendly, and efficient..also knowledgeable about the wines in stock, the chef was friendly and entertaining, and the food was first rate, very good. Best restaurant meal in Maui by miles and miles. We were sitting near locals( always a good sign) , and I ordered Filet of beef and sea scallops, with garlic fried rice ...YUM!!!!!!!!! This will be a mandatory visit next trip to Maui.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This tepanyaki style restaurant is alway ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This tepanyaki style restaurant is always fun in downtown Lahaina on Maui's West Side. The food is wonderful, the chefs are good as well as engertaining as they prepare the food for the tables of eight diners. It is a fun place to go with a group of eight. Our only complaint is that whenever we are a party of just two people, who have reservations, invariably we are told to wait in the bar area for a minimum of fiteen and often thirty minutes. We see other people who are seated right away as walk-ins while we wait for another six people to show up to fill a table.

In this regard, we understand the restaurant's format and the dilemma that a party of two must create for them. But if we are interested in sitting down for dinner at a planned time, this restaurant always disappoints and as such, we choose to eat elsewhere.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great! Lovedthefood

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great! Lovedthefood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess & I think Manager were very rude ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Hostess & I think Manager were very rude. Our waiter and chief were amazing. Service was slow took 1 hour for the chief to start cooking. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

The wait for the meal took over an hour. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The wait for the meal took over an hour. Terrible service (my son never got his 2nd bowl of rice) and we never received our miso soups - none for all 5 of us!! Don't go here ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Waited for more than one hour before the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waited for more than one hour before the chef showed up. Their excuse was we are busy tonight. We sat by the bathroom entrance and kitchen entrance which were right next to each other. Food was excellent once served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

Kobe's is great, however if you expect t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Kobe's is great, however if you expect to be seated right away and dislike to take the risk of waiting for you teppanyaki, I suggest you go else where.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We went to celebrate my sister in laws b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to celebrate my sister in laws birthday. And our experience was beyond horrible. This is the second time our experience was like this. If you are wanting to wait 1 1/2 hours long this would be the place for you. The food was okay but the service is horrible. This elder gentlemen in the check in claims to be the manager does not know how to empathize with his guests. My 4 year old was getting hungry from waiting he could have atleast offered. Miso soup and rice while we wait to be seated. Then when we were seated they have reduced our party to 5 instead of the 6 I originally reserved for. You see these other people that came after us being seated while my four year old starves.

Solutions to make your restaurant better:

  1. Time management: do not make times available on open table if your not gonna honor it.

  2. Customer service: fire the people or train them better. Train them to empathize with their guests with children.

    I will not be coming back here. If you are wanting teppanyaki style go to teppanyaki Don at the Sheraton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Best Christmas Eve meal! We had such a g ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Best Christmas Eve meal! We had such a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly cook; excellent meal. The Kobe ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Friendly cook; excellent meal. The Kobe steak was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food Waited an hour before ea ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent Food

Waited an hour before eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Although we had a reservation, we had to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Although we had a reservation, we had to wait one hour for the chef from the time our reservation was at. We had an allergy and the chef made two mistakes with it. The scallops were over cooked. Not all chefs were equally enthusiastic and trained, some were excellent and some were not. If it is your birthday they do a nice job celebrating you by giving you free ice cream and singing to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We waited 45 even with a reservation. Th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We waited 45 even with a reservation. The chef took a long time to come to the table and he didn't know any of the tricks. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Made reso for 6:30, seated at 7:00, did ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Made reso for 6:30, seated at 7:00, did not even start preparing dinner until 8:10. Others at our table left before dinner arrived. Hostess was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Restaurant did comp one meal, but still, experience was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Fun experience with friends or group Ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Fun experience with friends or group

Steak and shrimp was very flavoed

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Kobe every time we visit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We have been to Kobe every time we visit Maui. They have great food and the chefs are fabulous with their cooking skills and entertaining personalities. Very similar to Benihana. Chefs cook the food in front of you. Really enjoyed the holiday decorations this year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Das Fleisch war auf den Punkt gebracht u ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Das Fleisch war auf den Punkt gebracht und recht zart. Der Reis etwas knoblauchlastig. Angenehmes Ambiente und guter Service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been going here for years. They ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We have been going here for years. They seem to be cutting corners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed having a casual dinner here i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We enjoyed having a casual dinner here in Lahaina. The Sunset Menu is an excellent value and we met other travelers for a fun evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my girlfriend's birthday. She, he ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was my girlfriend's birthday. She, her 94 year old father and I had a blast. Love the fun of teppan style dinning. Good food, good chef, good company of the other people seated at the grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ordered steak and shrimp (mine was fi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We ordered steak and shrimp (mine was filet) and it was very tasty. Lots of vegetables, well cooked, and the garlic rice is GREAT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and staff. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great food and staff. The restaurant was very smoky which as a person with asthma this was an issue. I love the meal experience but due to a complication with staffing we were left waiting for over an hour before our mains started. Unfortunate circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

It isn't what it used to be. The tempan ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It isn't what it used to be. The tempanyaki was fun but the caliber of food and how it was cooked was dismal.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

I usually think of Teppanyaki as a fun p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I usually think of Teppanyaki as a fun place to go, not necessarily for the food but for the experience. This time however, the food, particularly the fish, was remarkably delicious. It was the best food I had during my 10 day stay in Hawaii.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Kobe Restaurant remains after many many ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Kobe Restaurant remains after many many years a tried & true wonderful eating experience. Good service & food are always delight & fun.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and entertainment. We have s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and entertainment. We have special tastes and they were happy to accommodate our special requests. We will definitely dine here again on future visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service has horrible and the food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The service has horrible and the food wasn't any better. Don't waste your money. It took 45 minutes after we were seated to just get the drink orders correct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We live on Maui and eat here frequently! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We live on Maui and eat here frequently! All of the chefs are excellent and the food is always ono.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kobi steakhouse in Maui has great food a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Kobi steakhouse in Maui has great food and an excellent atmosphere to have dinner. The chef's entertain the 8 people at the table and explain how they are cooking your dinner. Cutting the shrimp or making a volcano out of onions make for an enjoyable time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM. Check ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM. Check in was great. We were seated right away. We sat with another family that were a lot of fun. Our teppanyaki chef was "punny" which my kids liked. Our server was very accomodating to kamaaina and took very good care of us. The only bad thing is that i put on the reservation that it was my wifes birthday but it was not acknowledged. Fun night with good food and great service. I will be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was just ok. Nice to see that they offered a vegetarian option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

We enjoyed our filet and scallops dinner ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoyed our filet and scallops dinner at Kobe's. Everything was fresh and tasty. We came here last year and and also enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of Food and service was grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The quality of Food and service was great nice place to dine.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiting for 32 min to be seated was a bi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiting for 32 min to be seated was a bit too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our visit to Kobe's in Maui was for my b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our visit to Kobe's in Maui was for my birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The chef at our table did an excellent job of entertaining us and doing special techniques for my birthday. Food was excellent and as always plenty to eat!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first experience using Open ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was my first experience using Open Table to make a reservation online. The process was pleasantly quick and easy. Unfortunately, Kobes drastically overbooked with a wait in excess of an hour for seating and service. Since this was a special occasion, I was willing to wait for my visiting guest to enjoy the entertainment of teppanyaki dining for the first time. My second disappointment came with the lack of personality and experience of our chef. The food was cooked well, however the chef at Kobe is expected to be a performer, and ours was nothing more than a cook rushed in and out failing at minimal performance guidelines. The traditional onion volcano became a bonfire on the table and when the chef tried to create the illusion a second time it failed a second time. Kobe has been an exciting tradition for family celebrations for us, so I will be returning and taking my chances at least once more to give Kobe a chance at meeting the high standards I have come to expect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Teppanyaki restaurant, so you expect to ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Teppanyaki restaurant, so you expect to be seated with strangers, but it was so tight that it felt like a middle seat on an Asian airline. Poor ventilation, hot, smoky, and sticky tabletop. It was expensive so I expected excellent food, but with the exception of the shrimp, the food was almost inedible. We were a party of six, and we all ate just a few bites. Steak was low quality and fish was rubbery. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.