About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
See All
Fun (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Family Style (14)
Casual (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ordered steak and shrimp (mine was fi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered steak and shrimp (mine was filet) and it was very tasty. Lots of vegetables, well cooked, and the garlic rice is GREAT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and staff. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and staff. The restaurant was very smoky which as a person with asthma this was an issue. I love the meal experience but due to a complication with staffing we were left waiting for over an hour before our mains started. Unfortunate circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

It isn't what it used to be. The tempan ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

It isn't what it used to be. The tempanyaki was fun but the caliber of food and how it was cooked was dismal.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Kobe Restaurant remains after many many ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Kobe Restaurant remains after many many years a tried & true wonderful eating experience. Good service & food are always delight & fun.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and entertainment. We have s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and entertainment. We have special tastes and they were happy to accommodate our special requests. We will definitely dine here again on future visits.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service has horrible and the food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The service has horrible and the food wasn't any better. Don't waste your money. It took 45 minutes after we were seated to just get the drink orders correct.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We live on Maui and eat here frequently! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We live on Maui and eat here frequently! All of the chefs are excellent and the food is always ono.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kobi steakhouse in Maui has great food a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Kobi steakhouse in Maui has great food and an excellent atmosphere to have dinner. The chef's entertain the 8 people at the table and explain how they are cooking your dinner. Cutting the shrimp or making a volcano out of onions make for an enjoyable time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM. Check ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM. Check in was great. We were seated right away. We sat with another family that were a lot of fun. Our teppanyaki chef was "punny" which my kids liked. Our server was very accomodating to kamaaina and took very good care of us. The only bad thing is that i put on the reservation that it was my wifes birthday but it was not acknowledged. Fun night with good food and great service. I will be going back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was just ok. Nice to see that they offered a vegetarian option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

We enjoyed our filet and scallops dinner ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoyed our filet and scallops dinner at Kobe's. Everything was fresh and tasty. We came here last year and and also enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of Food and service was grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The quality of Food and service was great nice place to dine.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiting for 32 min to be seated was a bi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Waiting for 32 min to be seated was a bit too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our visit to Kobe's in Maui was for my b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our visit to Kobe's in Maui was for my birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The chef at our table did an excellent job of entertaining us and doing special techniques for my birthday. Food was excellent and as always plenty to eat!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first experience using Open ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was my first experience using Open Table to make a reservation online. The process was pleasantly quick and easy. Unfortunately, Kobes drastically overbooked with a wait in excess of an hour for seating and service. Since this was a special occasion, I was willing to wait for my visiting guest to enjoy the entertainment of teppanyaki dining for the first time. My second disappointment came with the lack of personality and experience of our chef. The food was cooked well, however the chef at Kobe is expected to be a performer, and ours was nothing more than a cook rushed in and out failing at minimal performance guidelines. The traditional onion volcano became a bonfire on the table and when the chef tried to create the illusion a second time it failed a second time. Kobe has been an exciting tradition for family celebrations for us, so I will be returning and taking my chances at least once more to give Kobe a chance at meeting the high standards I have come to expect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Teppanyaki restaurant, so you expect to ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Teppanyaki restaurant, so you expect to be seated with strangers, but it was so tight that it felt like a middle seat on an Asian airline. Poor ventilation, hot, smoky, and sticky tabletop. It was expensive so I expected excellent food, but with the exception of the shrimp, the food was almost inedible. We were a party of six, and we all ate just a few bites. Steak was low quality and fish was rubbery. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Opakapaka is a must have. The portions ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Opakapaka is a must have. The portions are very generous. Always a good time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were visiting Maui from San Diego and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We were visiting Maui from San Diego and chose to go here since we love the Kobe in Rancho Mirage in California. We all loved the night and the food was fantastic. Great place to go for casual attire but great food in huge portions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our cook was trying to be nice, but thei ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our cook was trying to be nice, but their were two women at our table, which one claimed she was not a carnivore and ordered sushi as her dinner. The cook kept offering and giving her samples of shrimp, vegetables, chicken, and offered steak to her. They were the same size samples as the other six people at the table had ordered and paid for. I did not appreciate it, since everyone else at the table paid for a larger dinner. I have never had that happen before, the other woman ordered tofu, but he did not offer a sample to the other six. Normally the cook separates the dinner by the guests and what you ordered you get, not trying to give everyone a sample. We had come in on a early bird dinner and had a coupon for ten dollars off and instead of giving the coupon back and saying it did not apply, they changed our bill to the regular price and then used the coupon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was awful. Having eaten this ty ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food was awful. Having eaten this type of food for over 50 years, the one thing you could count on was reliability. The meat was so bad it could easily have been from an animal other than a cow. The chicken was dry and the rest was bland. I wouldn't go back and have already told anyone who would listen to stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

One of my very favorites in Maui , we co ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

One of my very favorites in Maui , we come here every time we visit Maui! !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exhaust fan was not doing its job and th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Exhaust fan was not doing its job and the smoke from the cooking was blowing right on us. There were no other seats so we were stuck with trying to make the best of it.. Had to shower and launder our clothes to clear the smell and coating of cooking oil.. Otherwise a great place we always enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I am a MauI native and i am blessed to h ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I am a MauI native and i am blessed to have been raised in different cultures. I enjoy eating all my cultural cuisines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, not great but ok. Chef look ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was ok, not great but ok. Chef looked like he was inexperienced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This restaurant has always been my favor ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This restaurant has always been my favorite. Every year for my anniversary this is where my husband takes me. The best thing about it is, The unique and most outgoing friendly workers they have! The food is amazing every time without fail!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Lahaina, Maui favorite tapanyaki re ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This Lahaina, Maui favorite tapanyaki restaurant always pleases the palate and offers some lively entertainment by the table chef , too. Your food is prepared for a group of 8... Strangers at first and friends by the end...by a noisy and fun chef with a sharp blade he knows how to use. Food choices include great Kobe beef, chicken, salmon, scallops and lobster, with nice steamed veggies and garlic or plain flavored rice. The prices, like most things in Maui, are a bit steep, but the portions are generous. This is a fun, noisy place to go with a small group to celebrate a birthday or other special occasion or just a nice start to the vacation or the weekend.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chef at the table was great. Everyth ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our chef at the table was great. Everything else was just ok. Very hot inside. Not much ventilation. Service was ok. Charged for refills. Mixed up our check. Food was ok. Not bad but definitely nothing to write home about. Was disappointed with this Kobe's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It has been a while since we came here. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 21, 2016

It has been a while since we came here. About 15 years. Can't believe how horrible it has become. Dirty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I have eaten at the Kobe's in San Jose, ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have eaten at the Kobe's in San Jose, Honolulu and now Maui. All three places were very good the chef's delightful and fun, the food outstanding at all three. If this is any indication of the quality of Kobe's , I would recommend Kobe's restaurant any where in the world for a fantastic experience.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate at Kobe around the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I ate at Kobe around the beginning of September 2016. We had a really great chef and waiter. My minor issues do not stem from the service but from the offerings. Being a main-lander, yum-yum sauce is vital to me. So is knowing whether or not my sushi is going to be raw. The sauces they offered essentially tasted the same, except one was spicy. No thanks!! I don't pretend to be an expert in sushi, but I do know enough to know what I'm looking for and what I like. The limited sushi menu offered disappointment in variety. I come from an area where sushi is a true art, and they make large maki-sushi menus because they are able to showcase their talents for mixing ingredients. The sushi I ordered was great, but raw! It was also very plain! Ugh. I don't want raw sushi. I ordered something that 99% of the time is served cooked. There were zero indications of what was raw and what was not. This is largely disappointing. I also don't want boring sushi. If I wanted raw fish and rice I would just do it at home. Decorate it for me. Add some mango sauce. Eel sauce. Something. Anything. Would I eat here again? Yes. Other than needing. Some decent sauce, the food was great and the chef was nice. I would choose somewhere else if I were craving sushi rolls though...

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We showed up this past Tuesday night and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We showed up this past Tuesday night and it was a very slow night for them. With the hurricanes coming near the island, most people were looking to stay inside. The last night of our honeymoon we thought that this would be a nice send off from the norm. Boy were we wrong.

Despite us being 1 of 2 tables at 8pm (quite a suprise, but telling), the whole overall experience was a let down. Our server was quite creepy and tried to up-sell us quite a bit on the food; his take on the steak that normally came with a usual order was "4 ounces of mid-grade beef, but for $12 more you can have something more edible". I ended up getting the kobe upgrade for $14 more and while the meat was pretty good, the chef did no cut off the excess fat that would be done at other chains. The chicken was awful; though seemed to be fully cooked...it was gummy and seemed like very substandard in quality (my wife only had 2 pieces before she stopped eating).

While the chef was no nonsense in his craft, his approach to cooking was very unsanitary; there were a few occasions where his fingers were in our food after cooking and during presentation. He even stepped away from the grill before cooking because the grill wasnt hot enough, but the raw food was left to be circled around by gnats.

The waiter despite his upselling, never informed us that there was a per glass charge for fountain drinks. I found this to be very unprofessional in that he was very quick to upsell us on a lot of the food, which we ended up getting, but didnt even mention the fact that there are no refills on fountain drinks. I sarcastically say that he was gracious enough to "buy us a refilled glass each" for the confusion.

Overall, this place was not worth the $40 a person we spent when we could have done a different competitor with a much better experience. I would not recommend this place at all to anyone looking for a teppenyaki alternative than other chains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The service was excellent!!! Our server ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service was excellent!!! Our server was very attentive to any of our needs! Our chef was absolutely incredible he put on a great show the entire family loved . Best service we've had in years at Kobe steakhouse . Can't wait to return .😀

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was terrible We have been to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place was terrible

We have been to Kobe steakhouses in so cal so we expected a much better meal and experience

Just awful

Service was terrible

Food wasn't great

Waste of $$

Don't go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service is always awesome! This time we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service is always awesome! This time we had a new waiter. Extremely rude to our party of 9, even the group next to us looked over. We the requested another waiter! Totally awesome, he has been there a while! Always friendly and great service!! Chico out chef rocked it!! Awesome personality and skills my kids loved him. Food is always on point!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the tappenyaki experience an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always love the tappenyaki experience and our waiter put on a good show. Although the menu options are pricy for upgrades (fish, scallops etc) we were all more than happy with the standard steak and chicken option. Loads of food for hungry teenagers with tasty sauces as accompaniments. I would recommend and dine here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our chef was nice, but our server did no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our chef was nice, but our server did not seem very interested and brought out the wrong food.

the price was too high for the quality of food presented. will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a great experience for us dining ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was a great experience for us dining this way and we would do it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a good group of couples at my table ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a good group of couples at my table , no loud or boastful people. Food always taste awesome at Kobe!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly, good food, first time visitor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Friendly, good food, first time visitor on vacation with family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is very noisy and not air con ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place is very noisy and not air conditioned well. The tables are very tight and the service is extremely slow. The table Chef did well although he was paying far to much attention to a women at the table and treated the rest of us as an afterthought. We paid extra for garlic rice but then he gave it away to others that did not pay. It's the typical Japanese Steak House but as a choice in Maui we regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.