Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (17)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Casual (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (3)
Romantic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Hostess was very unfriendly. Waiter, not much personality. Chef great!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a hot night in there. We were all sweating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

we book at 7.30, arrived on time. Get our seat at 8.45pm
Have to wait for our food for 1.30 hours.
Stake was so bad, service was so poor. don't do it

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My son loves the onion volcano! That's why he wanted to celebrate his 12th Birthday at Kobe's! We loved everything!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have been to several other Kobe restaurants in the past, and this one was my least favorite. It was still a solid dinner, but everything was a little less (except the bill). Fried rice was extra, no free refills on coke, no salad, no dessert. The food itself was tasty and our chef was fun and engaging, but not my first choice given the options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiters and the owner were F&$@)(?! Rude. The great family we sat at the table with were treated poorly and should have had their meal comped. The restaurant has the audacity to charge you extra for coke refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This has got to be the worst service and food we have ever has, had a reservation st 7:30 not seated till 8:30 no water or anything till 9. So dissapointing for the whole table they took 20% off because they knew it was terrible kept apologizing, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Worst dining experience I have had in a long time! Words service I have ever had!

Food was ok at best! Will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The restaurant ambiance would benefit from being updated. We went a few years back and the lights were low and it had an "experience " vibe which is why we looked forward to returning. This time it was bright, not terribly clean and one of the loudest places. You could not hear one another. It was almost unbearable. The chefs banged around with no rhyme or reason. You could tell everyone was becoming edgdy so we left.
The food quality was just ok but for the cost you expect more overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very smoky, service was slow, waiters were rude, the cook was nice but thats about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We celebrated 4th of July with our family, it was great! Our Chef was amazing, I'm sorry but I forgot his name. He did say he just started working there about a a week or two before we got there, he was very good & very entertaining! Especially someone who just started! We always go there for dinner & he was one of the best chefs so far, the only problem we all have is sometimes it's a little hard to understand what a lot of the chefs are saying I guess it could be strong accent or language barrier, but they are all nice & they all can cook! Thanks Kobe Staff we love eating there as do all the family & friends we bring in. See you soon! Aloha! JD Ohana

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Super fun! Food and chief were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The place is filthy
They are rude
We waited over 1 hr with reservation
Avoid avoid avoid
You are better off at subwsy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food, with a bit of confident showmanship (cooking utensil juggling, speedy slice/dice) from the cook/preparer. Our grandkids loved the performance going on in front of them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was good, very tight space with much to be desired when it comes to service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Not what I remember from 18 yrs ago when we were here last. Our cook seemed to be rushed and careless. "Threw" sesame seeds at my son unexpectedly as a joke??? My son didn't like it one bit! We were splattered with hot oil because he was being careless. I asked for garlic fried rice but didn't get it. The shrimp tastes fishy, the fish was bland and dry and overall was probably one of the worst teppanyaki places I've been to. We loved it here 18 yrs ago and wanted to share the experience with our kids but was definitely disappointed. Will not be coming back nor recommending this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is always good, the chefs are good at what they do..including entertaining. The restaurant staff is efficient. But if you make a reservation for your party of fewer than 8 people (for a full table) , you can usually count on showing up on time for your reservation, then being asked to sit in the bar area and wait on average a half hour to be seated, then another 15 minutes to get your drinks and appetizer soup, and another 15 minutes later, the chef shows up and starts the show. So...if you want a leisurely paced evening, this works great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our great granddaughter loves the presentation. It was her 5th birthday. We also had gone on her 3rd birthday also.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This place was disappointing and the most disgusting teppan restaurant I've ever been to. It started with the server covered in sweat taking our drink order. He was covered in sweat and it was dripping off of his face. He had shaking hands and was either new or drunk or nervous. The chef then came and again was unsanitary with the amount of sweat. The restaurant is poorly ventilated and hotter than any other teppan restaurant I have been to. The chef was a beginner and the show was a joke. Couldn't believe I wasted a night here with all the oceanfront and much better options in Lahaina. Never ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Japanese steakhouses are great family fun and the food was excellent and abundant. 2 of my family are gluten free and they had GF soi sauce to accommodate. They also let me leave car in lot to walk around town which was very nice of them. I highly recommend. You'll have a blast

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was good wait times and service made me want to walk out but sheer hunger kept me in place Won't come back unless I have 4hours to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall, a fun dining experience with quality food. It's always neat to watch the chef work his magic while slicing and dicing. However, the restaurant is starting to age. The decor could use an update and the existing ventilation system is just not adequate. You'll have to take a shower after dinner to avoid smelling like the food for the rest of the night - but I still think it's worth the experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The atmosphere was nice. The service was bad. We felt unworthy and was not treated like the rest just because the way we were dressed. They have sat us at a table where it was only two of us and gave us a trainee when we could've joined the tourist on the other tables where there was room and didn't have the chef cook yet. Everyone else at the other table had great, fun entertainments by the chefs but we did not have any entertainment at our table and it was very quiet and awkward. My beef was supposed to be medium rare but it was over cooked and dry. Our veggies were also salty so I wasn't able to eat it. Please improve your service. Everyone should be treated the same.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wonderful food! Great atmosphere!! My husband and I enjoyed our time here and we will be visiting again.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was mediocre. Service was poor. They also charge $5 extra for each person for friend rice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

the cook was very entertaining and all of the food was delicious and HOT off the burner.
Very enjoyable evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Fun watching food prep at the table. The food was good and reasonably priced. Not happy with the additional $5 charge for garlic fried rice. That was a change with the new menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food. Good people. Excellent conversation with the other diners at the table. It says a lot when the locals come to the restaurant.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

FoOd sever was awful didn't understand the sushi names and terms. Main entree was out before appetizer, never again . Sloppy presentation from r the price, super market sushi more clean presentation . Teppan taki lobster over cooked, the whole experience sucks , never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great place except for the exhaust! I always smell like the food when I leave. Speaking of food...it's always good. They do a nice job.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was good but expensive. Things normally included stateside Are not included here and pricing was more expensive. Chef was not as dynamic either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Exceptional!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great food and excellent service, we will come back next time in Mauii

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was ok nothing special. Quanity not so great for the value. Portions very small for the price. Service was so-so. This was a one time only visit to try it. I definitely would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My favorite place when I want to celebrate a special occasion. In this case, it was my 66th Birthday.

The food taste good and I like this type of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful hibachi grill with impressive chefs and excellent service. I also greatly appreciated that one of the busboys also helped teach the entire table how to use chopsticks and eventually provided some of us with the chopsticks with rubber bands for those that gave up.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

No Yellow sauce! Made reservations for 7. Didn't get sat until 730. Chefs candor was horrible. Didn't get me or my wifes order correct. Didn't ask anyone at table how they wanted steak cooked. Assumed everyone wanted "medium" and cooked it. Should have went across the street to Bubba Gump shrimp like we did the previous night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The noise level was loud and the chef was not engaged with the table. Was an ok place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The parking was a hassle though we us d the pay parking lot and was reimbursed five dollars though the cost was six. The cook we had did not make the experience well. He did not bring the energy some of the other cooks did. It almost seem as if he did it want to be at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Local spot with great food/ our friends wont go there but we love it and always have a great time and the food is awesome tasting

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.