Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

3.7
625 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups
  • Fun
Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 667-5555
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Felamor Simon
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Luakini
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine
What 625 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.5
service
3.4
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

I felt it was overpriced for quality of food you were very crowded around table. The cook did not really care if you were there or not.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was okay but not as good as our past visits. Don't think it will be at the top of our list as in the past. Also you now have to pay for parking if parking on the street is full. Many of the restaurants in the area validate parking for customers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

We made a reservation for 8:30 and were finally seated at 9:45. What’s the point of a reservation? We ordered hot tea which wasn’t actually hot when we got it. It tasted microwaved. We had a round of soup that comes with dinner, also not hot. I was unimpressed with both. The chef at our table finally started cooking after 30 mins of waiting and eating room temp soup and tea. He was great. Very engaging. Like every other teppan style dinner I’ve been to. The food was great. Service and everything about dinner except the main course was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Always a fun time, yummy, and LOTS of food! It was extra nice going on a weeknight, as they weren't very busy and service was quick.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2018

We have always gone to Kobe's when we go to Maui, but we won't go again. As soon as we were taken to our table, I noticed something on my chair and used a napkin to wipe it off. It was blood. I had to wait for a new chair. Our chef was very confused about everyone's order. My husband and I were given the wrong steak. Our friend rice was not cooked and served until we had our main entrees and it was terrible. We we're celebrating our 29 anniversary so it was a very disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Experience was less than memorable. Waiter was very inattentive. The chef was pretty boring and when my wife asked him to do something, he made a face that have the impression that she was bothering him with her request. The food was meh! The atmosphere was meh! It was my birthday and Roland the waiter didn’t even ask if we wanted to order desert. The meal included green tea, he gave us the check and when I asked where my green tea was, he too acted like I was bothering him! He reluctantly brought me the tea. We paid the bill and walked immediately to the gelato place at the end of the road and had a fantastic desert! Thoroughly disappointed with the entire experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The food and service was awesome! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Awesome tepinyaki! Kids had a blast with the amazing table chef.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Kobe is always our number one choice when we visit the island of Maui. Service is great. Food is amazing! Scallop dynamite is to die for! Highly recommend going here for any dinner occasion!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We love places that cook right in front of you!! Staff was really nice but kept mixing up our orders. They forgot my husband’s lobster, so he had to wait a bit for his entire meal to be completed. Also, I like to check cleanliness of bathrooms and the bathrooms were not the best. However, the food was good and cocktails hit the spot.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Dated restaurant
Reservation at 8, waited over 30 min for table. Entertainment was supposed to be at 9:30 though the chef told us that stopped LAST YEAR ( listed currently on their website).

So disappointed with the money I spent .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It took an hour before we even got a bowl of soup. It was the most terrible service experience I’ve ever had.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We ordered fried rice and they gave us white rice instead, which was no big deal. However, when we had asked why we were served fried rice they were extremely rude towards us and they did not come back or try to fix it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We had reservations at 6pm, then was seated at 6:45. We were asked our food maybe at 7 and the chef came by at 7:40. Needless to say, we did not get out of there until 8:45. It was for my daughters dinner. Bummed because it took over 2.45 hours and what was suppose to be a nice dinner ended up in a long dragged out dinner of waiting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Kobe always delivers a high quality meal. The scallops were dreamy!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We had a 7:00 reservation, and they did not seat us until 7:45–45 minutes late. We ordered drinks and food. No drinks (or food) by 8:15. We were starving. We left and got pizza up the street. The hostess was very rude and put out. I would avoid this place. They are not well managed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We had a reservation for 7:00, and still had not been seated at 7:45. Finally got seated, ordered food and drinks, but 30 minutes later still had no drinks, no food. We cancelled our order and went to get pizza!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My husband loves Kobe restaurants and the Maui location did not disappoint us as far as the food was concerned. It was delicious! Everyone was also very nice, but it took over an hour (literally) to get our first drinks served which is ridiculous, and not one mention of a discount or offer to pay for that first drink, nothing. The table next to us got their drinks right away and they arrived long after we did.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We waited 55 minutes before receiving our drinks. Chef was not entertaining at all! Food was good once we received it but we waited over 30 minutes for the Chef to show up. We were not offered sherbert either. I will not return!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Adventure to any other place in Lahaina. This is not worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was good. Not great but good. Service was pretty good as well for a busy Sat night. Not the best Kobe I've ever been too but they all are usually a bit different. Chef was good and entertaining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Love their menu, very entertaining and enjoy their style of cooking. Always Onolicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fun but super smoky upstairs and our chef didn’t do the regular entertaining- just cooked, plated and left.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We have eaten here on other trips to Maui, but left this visit VERY DISAPPOINTED. The steak and shrimp were of low quality in all of our meals. I think they have cheapened their meat to increase profits and it was not good. I would avoid this restaurant based on quality especially given the relatively high cost.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The service was terrible by the waitress, the chef was friendly.

We were seated with people that we didn’t knew, and they shared and mixed our food with theirs even though they knew we were allergic to some food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great food and great chef could use an update but still very good can’t miss

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Terrible! Waited for nearly 2 hours for our food, served us watered down drinks,, and were rude thru the entire time. Worst dining experience ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Staff and food was great. No waits, very attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This place is very outdated, don’t let them seat you upstairs. Terrible seating upstairs, very poor service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We did not enjoy our experience. My husband was served a warm, flat beer. The cook was not dynamic and other than setting an onion on fire, the performance was underwhelming. I don’t eat meat and my meal was cooked with the same utensils as those used for meat and the bean sprouts were cooked in the meat juices because the grill wasn’t wiped off first. Other than that, most in our party liked the taste of the chicken but the steak was tough.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The service, the atmosphere was great, presentation was impressive. My wife’s meal was good. I tried the surf and turf and both the lobster and the steak was just awful. They were both so salty you couldn’t taste the food . For that matter I’ve ate at a lot of high end restaurants from Vancouver to LA and I’ve never had lobster that tasted like a salt lick. I would of sent it back but it was a special occasion and I didn’t want to cause a scene. Your restaurant came highly recommended so I’m going to assume that perhaps you’ve had a glitch from one of your staff. You might want to get a handle on that.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Kobe Steak House is a great place to sit back and be entertained. It is a busy place with activity and people everywhere. The staff are friendly and out chief was great. He took the time to read through each person order to ensure it was correct. The people around the table were clearly enjoying themselves throughout the evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food, expensive like most teppanyaki restaurants, but good quality. Only complaint: reservation was for 6:00pm. We didn’t get seated until probably closer to 6:45. I understand that’s due to the nature of the experience, where people have to vacate the tables so they can be used rather than lingering, but they didn’t mention anything about it until we confronted them asking how much longer we had to wait.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We’ve been there many times and never have had such a bad overall experience. Our “chef” omitted serving some of my order and if fact kept forgetting who ordered what. The food was average at best in comparison to previous experiences there and other like places. There was zero entertainment from the chef which was also disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The service was terrible! We waited 30 mins plus on the chef. The restaurant was old and seemed dirty. They sat us by the kitchen and it smelled.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We enjoyed the cooking! We will be back with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Great experience! Must do if you’re in Lahaina.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 1, 2018

My wife and I have been dinner guests at Kobe's over the last 20 years.

Sadly, we no longer recognized the place during the last visit on 2/28.

The young woman at the reception desk was surly and almost deliberately not helpful with the difficult parking situation adjacent to the restaurant. The chef "phoned it in" on every aspect of the dinner, almost as if his last gig was at Attica prison. There was no warmth and no civility.

We will not be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Bad customer service. We had a reservation but after checking in, it was long wait. They let other party go before us and server was no where to be seen after sitting us to the table. No shabu shabu, no water refill, server for the people they sat next to us after 30+minutes.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 26, 2018

We arrived 10 minutes early for a 6 pm reservation. At 10 after we double checked to make sure they knew we were all there, and got a teenage roll of the eyes response from the hostess. It was almost 630 before we were seated. A friendly waitress took our drink order, returned 20 minutes later with no drinks and promised to take our dinner order and then get our drinks. 15 minutes later, I barked at a new hostess, who seemed to at least care. 10 minutes later we finally got our drinks. When the Chef arrived he reviewed the order and found errors. The waitress promised to correct them quickly, but after appetizers, jokes and stalling, the chef begged 3 different people to help him get the necessary ingredients to continue (a bowl of white rice). At the end, the promised ice cream was never delivered, more drink orders were screwed up, and our waitress was largely non responsive throughout. On the up side, the Chef was very funny, very good and quite enjoyable to watch and the food was FABULOUS. I get "Island Time" and quite appreciate it, but a little "give a damn" would go a long way. I won't Return, there are way too many good options in Lahaina, including the two restaurants next door, to deal with this.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16