About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Hawaii
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Good for Groups (40)
Special Occasion (33)
Kid-friendly (28)
See All
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant has always been my favor ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant has always been my favorite. Every year for my anniversary this is where my husband takes me. The best thing about it is, The unique and most outgoing friendly workers they have! The food is amazing every time without fail!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Lahaina, Maui favorite tapanyaki re ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

This Lahaina, Maui favorite tapanyaki restaurant always pleases the palate and offers some lively entertainment by the table chef , too. Your food is prepared for a group of 8... Strangers at first and friends by the end...by a noisy and fun chef with a sharp blade he knows how to use. Food choices include great Kobe beef, chicken, salmon, scallops and lobster, with nice steamed veggies and garlic or plain flavored rice. The prices, like most things in Maui, are a bit steep, but the portions are generous. This is a fun, noisy place to go with a small group to celebrate a birthday or other special occasion or just a nice start to the vacation or the weekend.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our chef at the table was great. Everyth ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our chef at the table was great. Everything else was just ok. Very hot inside. Not much ventilation. Service was ok. Charged for refills. Mixed up our check. Food was ok. Not bad but definitely nothing to write home about. Was disappointed with this Kobe's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It has been a while since we came here. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

It has been a while since we came here. About 15 years. Can't believe how horrible it has become. Dirty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

I have eaten at the Kobe's in San Jose, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have eaten at the Kobe's in San Jose, Honolulu and now Maui. All three places were very good the chef's delightful and fun, the food outstanding at all three. If this is any indication of the quality of Kobe's , I would recommend Kobe's restaurant any where in the world for a fantastic experience.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ate at Kobe around the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I ate at Kobe around the beginning of September 2016. We had a really great chef and waiter. My minor issues do not stem from the service but from the offerings. Being a main-lander, yum-yum sauce is vital to me. So is knowing whether or not my sushi is going to be raw. The sauces they offered essentially tasted the same, except one was spicy. No thanks!! I don't pretend to be an expert in sushi, but I do know enough to know what I'm looking for and what I like. The limited sushi menu offered disappointment in variety. I come from an area where sushi is a true art, and they make large maki-sushi menus because they are able to showcase their talents for mixing ingredients. The sushi I ordered was great, but raw! It was also very plain! Ugh. I don't want raw sushi. I ordered something that 99% of the time is served cooked. There were zero indications of what was raw and what was not. This is largely disappointing. I also don't want boring sushi. If I wanted raw fish and rice I would just do it at home. Decorate it for me. Add some mango sauce. Eel sauce. Something. Anything. Would I eat here again? Yes. Other than needing. Some decent sauce, the food was great and the chef was nice. I would choose somewhere else if I were craving sushi rolls though...

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We showed up this past Tuesday night and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We showed up this past Tuesday night and it was a very slow night for them. With the hurricanes coming near the island, most people were looking to stay inside. The last night of our honeymoon we thought that this would be a nice send off from the norm. Boy were we wrong.

Despite us being 1 of 2 tables at 8pm (quite a suprise, but telling), the whole overall experience was a let down. Our server was quite creepy and tried to up-sell us quite a bit on the food; his take on the steak that normally came with a usual order was "4 ounces of mid-grade beef, but for $12 more you can have something more edible". I ended up getting the kobe upgrade for $14 more and while the meat was pretty good, the chef did no cut off the excess fat that would be done at other chains. The chicken was awful; though seemed to be fully cooked...it was gummy and seemed like very substandard in quality (my wife only had 2 pieces before she stopped eating).

While the chef was no nonsense in his craft, his approach to cooking was very unsanitary; there were a few occasions where his fingers were in our food after cooking and during presentation. He even stepped away from the grill before cooking because the grill wasnt hot enough, but the raw food was left to be circled around by gnats.

The waiter despite his upselling, never informed us that there was a per glass charge for fountain drinks. I found this to be very unprofessional in that he was very quick to upsell us on a lot of the food, which we ended up getting, but didnt even mention the fact that there are no refills on fountain drinks. I sarcastically say that he was gracious enough to "buy us a refilled glass each" for the confusion.

Overall, this place was not worth the $40 a person we spent when we could have done a different competitor with a much better experience. I would not recommend this place at all to anyone looking for a teppenyaki alternative than other chains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The service was excellent!!! Our server ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The service was excellent!!! Our server was very attentive to any of our needs! Our chef was absolutely incredible he put on a great show the entire family loved . Best service we've had in years at Kobe steakhouse . Can't wait to return .😀

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was terrible We have been to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place was terrible

We have been to Kobe steakhouses in so cal so we expected a much better meal and experience

Just awful

Service was terrible

Food wasn't great

Waste of $$

Don't go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service is always awesome! This time we ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service is always awesome! This time we had a new waiter. Extremely rude to our party of 9, even the group next to us looked over. We the requested another waiter! Totally awesome, he has been there a while! Always friendly and great service!! Chico out chef rocked it!! Awesome personality and skills my kids loved him. Food is always on point!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the tappenyaki experience an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always love the tappenyaki experience and our waiter put on a good show. Although the menu options are pricy for upgrades (fish, scallops etc) we were all more than happy with the standard steak and chicken option. Loads of food for hungry teenagers with tasty sauces as accompaniments. I would recommend and dine here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our chef was nice, but our server did no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our chef was nice, but our server did not seem very interested and brought out the wrong food.

the price was too high for the quality of food presented. will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was a great experience for us dining ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was a great experience for us dining this way and we would do it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a good group of couples at my table ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a good group of couples at my table , no loud or boastful people. Food always taste awesome at Kobe!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Friendly, good food, first time visitor ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Friendly, good food, first time visitor on vacation with family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is very noisy and not air con ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place is very noisy and not air conditioned well. The tables are very tight and the service is extremely slow. The table Chef did well although he was paying far to much attention to a women at the table and treated the rest of us as an afterthought. We paid extra for garlic rice but then he gave it away to others that did not pay. It's the typical Japanese Steak House but as a choice in Maui we regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food, entertaining Teppanyaki chef ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, entertaining Teppanyaki chef, waitress did a good job, but forgot our drinks a few times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service is lacking, as soon as we were s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service is lacking, as soon as we were seated waiter asked us if we were ready to order, no welcome or menu suggestions. He actually told us to order quickly because there are only so many chefs in the restaurant. Food was decent, shrimp appetizer was better quality than shrimp served with entree. Steaks were tender. Showman ship of teppanyaki cook was lackluster, we brought our young children there for the fun dining experience, they left unexcited, I felt like the chef was trying to cook as fast as he could to move into the next table. Not my most memorable teppanyaki experience, but there are not may options in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food was OK, but they need to hire more ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was OK, but they need to hire more chefs. The place was packed and we all had to wait for chefs to finish one table or two before they could rotate to our table.

One particular wait staff needs to be fired for not being more savey in how he communicates to customers regarding the wait time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Fairly typical Japanese Steak House. Fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fairly typical Japanese Steak House. Food was good, however we were seated over 30 minutes late and really didn't get our order taken until close to 1 hour after our reservation time. If you are in LHaina and want a Japanese steak house, this will do ... But not that recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Mai Tai tasted like cough medicine. Port ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Mai Tai tasted like cough medicine. Portion of protein part of meal was small.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

if you like mushrooms and onions, the v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

if you like mushrooms and onions, the veggies are great. if you like green veggies, you're out of luck. show is average: volcano onion, lots of clanging of metal, not too much else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Only thing to complain about was not bei ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Only thing to complain about was not being seated promptly. Notified the hostess that the entire party arrived however was seated 15 min later after other large groups arrived after. It was a bad start to my dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was great! The owner is so pers ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Service was great! The owner is so personable and makes you feel very welcome. Our chef was funny

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time we visit Maui we always make i ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Each time we visit Maui we always make it a point to come to Kobe's for at least one dinner it's always a great experience seeing the temp in Yaki chefs do their thing and always the food is great we especially like the hostess and her bright and beaming greeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Havebeenherebeforewhenitwasbetter. Servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Havebeenherebeforewhenitwasbetter. Servicewasveryslow, didn'tgetourdrinksuntiltheendofthemeal, weweren'taskedifwewanteddesert, andwewerecelebratinga50thbirthdayandnothingwasdonespecialforthat, placeistiredlookingandneedsanpeoplenexttoussatforover40Minusesbeforegettingachef.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

7:30 pm reservation. Soup not served til ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

7:30 pm reservation. Soup not served till 9pm. Waiter charged another parties saki to my bill and then asked the other party if they would pay me in cash so he wouldn't have to correct the bill. I told them to leave it on mine and not to worry about it. I spoke to the manager and it was obvious he was worthless. I'm responsible for store operations in 5,000 retail stores across America and in 85 countries. Would never be tolerated in my organization.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Reservation for 7:30 didn't get seated t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Reservation for 7:30 didn't get seated till 8pm so why have you reservation time

Food was good sushi menu very limited

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Only bad part was even with a reservatio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Only bad part was even with a reservation we still to wait about 40 minutes to be seated. Besides that everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We came here for a birthday dinner, buy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner, buy wish we hadn't, it was quite disappointing, we made a reservation with open table, but was useless, as we were seated 45 minutes later, the hostess was clueless, they were very behind with their service, short staffed and were giving us the short end of the stick, we noticed several people who walked in way after got seated, we were seated till the very end, the table we got came with many children and the cook was absolutely dull, even rude! very rude, not fun, he asked how I wanted my steak done, said well done, he responded ah come back tomorrow... Not funny... Then he gave most of the vegetables to one person and short changed us a lot when serving the food, never again will we come back here, it took him forever to start cooking and get to our grill.... we were there for over 2 hours, not right, we had another place to go, but didn't make it after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Noise level moderately high only because ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Noise level moderately high only because of the style of cooking and the laughter that the chefs bring to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef was quite amusing. The food was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The chef was quite amusing. The food was well-prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We visit this restaurant every year when ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We visit this restaurant every year when we visit Maui and every time I say I am never going to come here again! This time I mean it! First of all, we waited 1 hour even though we had a reservation. There were no explanations or apologies for the long wait. After the long wait, we were very hungry. The quality of the food was terrible. The fried rice tasted burnt and the chicken was chewy dark meat and unflavorable! The whole experience was weird and uncomfortable. Terrible ambience, food quality, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always enjoy dining at Kobe's. Our fami ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Kobe's. Our family has been dining here for years and always enjoyed our experience. Kobe's is always our first choice for family dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited 40 minutes to get our order taken ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Waited 40 minutes to get our order taken. Actually had to go back outside to add more time on the parking meter as 2 hours wasn't enough. Had a reservation at 7 and never got seated till 715. One in our party who was sitting on the end got half a bowl of garlic Fried rice because the chef didn't break it down evenly for all. Good restaurant but that was the worse experience so far.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

We waited 30min. too be seated, even tho ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We waited 30min. too be seated, even though we made our reservation on Open table. But it was still worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Kobe's to celebrate my son's ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to Kobe's to celebrate my son's 9th birthday. The last time he was there, he was too young to remember it. Our chef (Chico I think was his name?) was very fun and entertaining, and I appreciated that he paid special attention to my son that night, it made the experience more wonderful then it already was. The food was awesome, the experience was awesome, I can't wait until I can go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good value (especially for Hawii)

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun chef. Definitely order the egg fried rice! Good for large parties.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Much better place in Lahiana

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a very frustrating evening. We had 8pm reservations, did not get seated till 8:25. Our waitress did not seem in any big hurry to get drinks ordered. After she took our food order, we waited almost 20 more minuets will our chef show up to make the food table side. The chef was awesome, funny and talented. Food was a little more expensive than hibachi grills on the mainland, but that was true everywhere we went. Overall, there is much better food options on Maui that are more extraordinary and taste amazing. Unless you are craving Hibachi type food, do not waist your time or money here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food and service was great!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chefs are very entertaining. Got my dish just how I want it. I highly recommend this place. I'd definitely come back here occasionally and or maybe just for my everyday dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.