About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (37)
special occasion (21)
kid-friendly (16)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
romantic (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Much better than expected from other rev ...

Dined 4 days ago

Much better than expected from other reviews. Kids loved the food and the show. Adults too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun, entertaining and great fresh ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Always fun, entertaining and great fresh food. The chef at the tepan range is always god natured and oerforms great trick with knives and the food. If you like a lively dinner with other people or a tBle of eight friends or family, it is wonderful. Not quite what a first or romantic date should be, however.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place for the family!

Dined 6 days ago

Fun place for the family!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

The experience was fun, the food was ok. A bit overpriced IMO. Too much butter and soy sauce, felt a bit heavy after. In general it was good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Portion sizes be more bigger especially ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Portion sizes be more bigger especially for big eaters.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Purchase chef was great! We had a blast ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Purchase chef was great! We had a blast and the food was excellent!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly management, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent service, friendly management, timely, good and talented chef

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Offers good value to locals

Dined on May 6, 2016

While noted for their meat/steaks, their scallops are among the best on the island. And their fish/scallop combo with a locals discount is a very good value at under $25. If you like your meat rare or on the rarer side, you have to watch the chef carefully as they tend to overcook.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fresh, but salty

Dined on May 6, 2016

We live in West Maui so we eat at the Oku sushi bar about once a month and like to take visiting friends and family to the Kobe teppanyaki. Fun and entertaining and food is reasonable for Maui. Chef put salt and pepper on everything and drowned it all with soy sauce and butter. I don't mind the butter since it enhances beef and fish flavor but the soy sauce made everything so salty and amost inedible. I ordered the big combo with steak, scallops and lobster and had leftovers for lunch the next day. The lobster and scallops were fresh - just ruined from the soy sauce, and the beef was super tender and cooked perfect - again, ruined from the soy sauce. Same thing with the garlic fried rice - more soy sauce. Will definitely visit again but I would ask chef to not put any soy sauce on the food. There is no reason fresh food should be killed with soy sauce. It is flavorful enough with the salt, pepper, butter and its own flavor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place to be for special occassion

Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrate special occassions at Kobes. Enjoy the food and the atmosphere. We really enjoy the way the food is cooked and it is entertaining to watch the chefs as they prepare your meal in front of you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1

Made a reservation for 7:30 the restaura ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Made a reservation for 7:30 the restaurant was running behind and seemed to be short staffed. When we finally sat down we waited at least an hour to get a chef at our table. They sat us with a local couple and they were very very rude. To be fair tho we visit Maui every year and this was the first time we've had such a bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ono grindz, funny chef & full opus

Dined on April 17, 2016

We love Kobe! The food is always good. The kids have a blast and the chef is great at entertaining them. Super funny! I forgot his name (Ferdinand ?) but he's an old timer there. Did an excellent job at making our table laugh and made us yummy food! Would definitely recommend for families with kids. Also Henadina was great too! Very friendly, and made us feel comfortable. Great service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Kobe was very disappointing!,

Dined on April 11, 2016

I always wanted try Kobe. Very poor quality Japanese steak house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner here. Our chef was fu ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Had a great dinner here. Our chef was funny and very entertaining. Food was cook wonderfully and we all had a great time. Probably some of the best steak I've had.

food4
ambience3
service3

Our chef wasn't very entertaining. I've ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our chef wasn't very entertaining. I've had really great chefs in the past and they did all sorts of tricks. This time the guy didn't seem very interested. It was a bummer since we had took up a whole grill table with one group. Food is great though and reasonably priced.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Good meal

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Kobe. It's expensive, that's for sure, but so is pretty much everything in Hawaii. We ended up getting the Kobe Steak and Chicken Combo. Might as well go big, it was delicious and highly recommend it for only $14 more than the normal cut.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food good, server and cook not so good

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server did not know the menu so we basically trained him regarding the Sea Food lovers add on. Cook was also new, so his performance was not that great, local people like to eat the shrimp tails, he had cut them off and threw them away prior to cooking for us.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

Subpar food for this style restaurant. ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Subpar food for this style restaurant. Very little energy from the cook. Very crowded and cramp tables.

food4
ambience3
service4

Always a consistent fresh good meal! The ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Always a consistent fresh good meal! The place though needs an update looks & smells old, but good friendly service!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Meh...mixed review

Dined on March 27, 2016

First, teppanyaki is almost always a good show. Our chef was entertaining and most of the support staff were decent. However, our waitress was clearly untrained or this industry is just not her calling. Just putting in an order was an ordeal and she took over 45 minutes to bring a drink. Really ruined what was otherwise a good dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always great! The chefs are funn ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food is always great! The chefs are funny and interactive.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food...reasonable pricing..great cook

Dined on March 19, 2016

We are Kamaaina n love going to Kobe as often as possible

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fun place to have a meal with ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

This is a fun place to have a meal with friends and family always great food

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Memorable Birthday

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great place for our family to gather and celebrate a special birthday. Our chef was very accommodating and everyone enjoyed their dinner selections. We appreciated the Kama'aina discount and we will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1

Waited 35 minutes even with reservation. ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Waited 35 minutes even with reservation. The lady at the reception only found out that a table was ready when I asked how long more to wait. Then she said, "oh table is ready". Hibachi took too long. By the time everything was cooked, everone at the table had lost their appetite and got the food to go. We were seated at 8:20pm and food was cooked and on our plates by 9:35pm. Funniest moment, one girl at the table asked the waitress to bring the checks and the waitress comes back with chopsticks. 😄

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Kobe Maui

Dined on February 27, 2016

The difficult part of this review is the comparison to similiar places in the 48 states like Behinana. The food is OK. Not great, but not bad. A little short on flavor. Took quite a while to have some service at the table. At least 30 minutes. Cook was very good once he got there. Kobe seems old and outdated. Lighting is very dingy

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Vacation

Dined on February 21, 2016

This experience was fine, but after eating there would rather spend our money at a restaurant with open air seating. We have had fine experiences at Kobe type restaurants in the past and for this night were looking for a different type of food than we had been eating while on vacation. While on Maui, we will however, next time, choose another place to eat as it is a little dark inside, away from the beach and although service was friendly enough, it didn't make us feel like we would want to return.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot. Food was fun and they are ac ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Great spot. Food was fun and they are accomodatig for kids. Sunset special was nice prcing. Would go back for sure.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Very long waits

Dined on February 15, 2016

Despite having a reservation we weren't seated for 40 minutes. Once seated it was another 20 minutes before we had orders placed or really anything more than water. Once chef came to our table he did a great job and food was good. It was a busy night, but wait times were excessive.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Other than getting seated 45 minutes past our reservation time, Kobe's was great. I'm sure if it hadn't been valentine's day we would have been seated on time. Atmosphere was great and so was the food. The chef was very entertaining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Been quite some time since we've been he ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Been quite some time since we've been here. Decided to come here for Valentines Day. Had a nice meal - my wife had scallops and rib eye steak, I had shrimp and filet mignon. We were served our dinner as ordered but the couple next to us endured at least three mistakes on their order. The room was warm as usual being next to the cook top. Overall, we enjoy our dining experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, boring show

Dined on February 10, 2016

The food was good. The garlic fried rice was excellent. The chef didn't put on much of a show compared to similar restaurants we have dined at.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Early bird specials nice.

Dined on February 9, 2016

Early bird specials make it a draw. Would be nice to have a couple more options. Didn't like that the sirloin was cut super thin. Kinda makes it hard to have anything but well done. Soup had no flavor. Have had better at other similar restaurants. All in all good place to go.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Great food at a reasonable price. Cooks are very entertaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We got a dud

Dined on January 31, 2016

Fun environment, good food. Our chef was unenthusiastic and really ruined the excitement associated with this type of Japanese Steakhouse, though. Looking around, the other chefs seemed much more engaging and fun and were much more what we expected when making reservations at this restaurant. Not worth the $100 bill.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Don't be in a hurry

Dined on January 28, 2016

we arrived at our appointed time of 6:00pm and were seated shortly thereafter.We were asked about drinks and they were quick to come . HOWEVER our chef didn't arrive until 6:45 and was confused as to our orders. We did't begin to eat until 7:15 .When we got our bill we were surprised to be billed full charge for our meal and not given the early meal discount,also had an extra charge for rice and ice cream. It was after 8:30 before we were done.We will think twice before we go back and have plenty of time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Make sure you get $10 off coupon for 2 T ...

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Make sure you get $10 off coupon for 2 Teppanyaki entrees from Maui gold, which you get copy of on newsstands for free on Front St. Also, the Teppanyaki dishes are very good and great portions so very good value!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kobe always has good quality food, and t ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Kobe always has good quality food, and talented and entertaining chefs who prepare your food right in front of you. You sometimes may have to wait for a table of 8 to fill up, even if you make specific time reservations. Still, it is worth the wait and a fun way to entertain a small group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding chef, otherwise average at best

Dined on January 18, 2016

Our chef at the table was great. Real showman. Other service staff poor. Food was tasty as a rule, but expensive. Simple items included at other similar restaurants like fried rice, usually included were extra.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.