Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Casual (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Family Style (15)
Fun (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun watching food prep at the table. The food was good and reasonably priced. Not happy with the additional $5 charge for garlic fried rice. That was a change with the new menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food. Good people. Excellent conversation with the other diners at the table. It says a lot when the locals come to the restaurant.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

FoOd sever was awful didn't understand the sushi names and terms. Main entree was out before appetizer, never again . Sloppy presentation from r the price, super market sushi more clean presentation . Teppan taki lobster over cooked, the whole experience sucks , never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great place except for the exhaust! I always smell like the food when I leave. Speaking of food...it's always good. They do a nice job.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was good but expensive. Things normally included stateside Are not included here and pricing was more expensive. Chef was not as dynamic either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Exceptional!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and excellent service, we will come back next time in Mauii

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was ok nothing special. Quanity not so great for the value. Portions very small for the price. Service was so-so. This was a one time only visit to try it. I definitely would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My favorite place when I want to celebrate a special occasion. In this case, it was my 66th Birthday.

The food taste good and I like this type of food.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

No Yellow sauce! Made reservations for 7. Didn't get sat until 730. Chefs candor was horrible. Didn't get me or my wifes order correct. Didn't ask anyone at table how they wanted steak cooked. Assumed everyone wanted "medium" and cooked it. Should have went across the street to Bubba Gump shrimp like we did the previous night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The noise level was loud and the chef was not engaged with the table. Was an ok place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The parking was a hassle though we us d the pay parking lot and was reimbursed five dollars though the cost was six. The cook we had did not make the experience well. He did not bring the energy some of the other cooks did. It almost seem as if he did it want to be at work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Local spot with great food/ our friends wont go there but we love it and always have a great time and the food is awesome tasting

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Restaurant definitely could use some updating. Old and musty smelling. Hostess made us wait in lounge where they tried 'to push' drinks! We had reservations but still had to wait. Hostess was not very social for her position. Our Chef was entertaining and our meals were good but overpriced :(

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very fun chef! We go quite often and the chef we had that night was super fun!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was amazing and our chef was very entertaining! The restaurant was not as busy as it usually is, however they were short staffed that night which caused the wait to be much longer than usual. Thankfully the waiter and chef were amazing which smooth over our delayed experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We really enjoyed ! We'll be back for sure. Food was delicious. I ordered steak and scollops and my husband ordered the Opakapaka. Service was great. We didn't need to wait. The only complaint is we live upcountry and the drive was horrible, back to back traffic, but it was worth the drive for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

There was a lot of hype about this being one of the best in Maui. We were very disappointed! It was very noisy, crowded, and uncomfortable. The teppanyaki chef was quite different and definitely had a rehearsed "show". The interaction with the customers was not fluid or easy. The food was cooked one item at a time and not very flavorful. By the time you got the main part you had either eaten the first part or it was cold, we have been to many other teppanyaki restaurants around the US and this was provably at the low end of the spectrum.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love Kobe Steak House. Food is always excellent! Great value and many choices including a Sushi Bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great food, cooks and servers are awesome. Friendly staff. Kobe never disappoints. Love dining at Kobe!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Staff were curt, facility dated, and chef was boring and uninspiring. Initial drink orders were taken and we didn't see the waiter again until we had to ask to pay.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Anniversary, The piña colada was not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This is our children favorite place to eat. We were there celebrating a birthday with our cousin from California as well as my son's acceptance into Kamehameha Schools.

Next time, I will request not being seated upstairs. It is smoky, NOT ENOUGH VENTILATION.
Smoke was in our eyes. It was far from our past experience of being there. We dine there 2-4 times a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Foid was good. Others at the table was great - good conversation with people you don't know.
Got there around 5pm for a 5:30pm reservation- bar was eupposed to be open. Turns out that the bartender was eating at the bar. No one came to take your drink order. Had to go to the bar to make your order and take your own drinks to your table. Waitress didn't show up until around 5:20pm. Bar didn't have good service at all.
Restaurant service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We made an 8:00 reservation to find out that was actually not an 8:00 reservation it was a "whoever gets there first for an 8:00 reservation wins, everyone else waits indefinitely". After 30 minutes of waiting we were the last ones seated despite arriving at 7:50. I'd prefer not making a reservation unless the restaurant intends to honor it. Greeter was neither concerned or apologetic. I'm all about island time but my kids weren't. Made for a tough end to our dinner. Bartenders focused on table orders versus patrons at the bar. Ignored for 15-20 minutes. The food was delish though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall we were disappointed. When we walked in we told the hostess of our reservation then we were ushered over the bar/lounge. First impressions - a couple of drunk locals at the bar, the interior was very dated = definitely needs an upgrade as it looks tired. The table we sat our was sticky. My arm literally stuck to the table. The food was plentiful and good but nothing special. Probably the best part about it was that the staff obviously worked well together to get drinks out and the table cleared quickly and efficiently. We definitely won't go back here again unless they update the place. Looks like it probably hasn't been updated in at least 25 years.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Chef was good, food was good but restaurant desperately needs a renovation !! Also the front hostess left us standing for 10 minuets before we saw anybody upon arrival.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Unfortunately our memories of past dinners were NOT met this time as we always enjoyed the chef prepared filets which were absent this time the filets were not the tender ones we remember.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Admittedly, we had high hopes going into Kobe. We thought it would at least be as nice as our local Hibachi options (in Southwest Michigan), and had hoped it would be even better. We were so disappointed! The restaurant was dated, dimly lit, and run-down. The food had very little flavor. Our chef was a nice guy but very hard to understand. He didn't put on much of a "show" either. This was the worst meal we had during our vacation in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, very friendly staff, and better than average food for a Japanese steak house.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Good food & fun service. Often even with a reservation we have to wait 15 minutes or more to be seated. Tonight we were seated right away which got the evening off to a good start.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome experience as usual. The tepenaki chefs are always goofy & fun. I appreciate that their not over the top trying to impress but just them goofy selves "Island style". Sushi is bomb. The bartenders are rarely very friendly or helpful so I don't recommend sitting at the bar. I call them service bartenders. Meaning it's a service bar for the restaurant rather then customer friendly. Since it's always been that way I've learned to accept it even though I'm a total bar fly and would like the option. Excellent for groups & events. Oh and they cook the scallops perfectly every time 🙂

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Apparently someone called in sick. They were very short-staffed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was awesome!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was almost excellent, well prepared and plenty of it. Steak quality could be better.
Downside is feeling rushed, almost taking your half full wine glass out of your hand at the 1 and a half hour mark.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visit Maui three times a year and normally take guests to Kobe's. We always have a wonderful time with great food. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was good and on par with most hibachi restauarants. Ambiance was very dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great. Hostess needs to learn how to be more polite. She had an attitude. The chef was great, he gave my kids a show. The portions was a lot. Worthy the money. My kids ordered from the kids menu and got a lot of food. It's a awesome place to go for dinner. The decor needs updating and the bathroom needs to be redone. Don't hate it till you try it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I had a lot of fun here, and the food was pretty great! Entertaining and a good value-we left stuffed!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.