Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Family Style (15)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (0)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We made an 8:00 reservation to find out that was actually not an 8:00 reservation it was a "whoever gets there first for an 8:00 reservation wins, everyone else waits indefinitely". After 30 minutes of waiting we were the last ones seated despite arriving at 7:50. I'd prefer not making a reservation unless the restaurant intends to honor it. Greeter was neither concerned or apologetic. I'm all about island time but my kids weren't. Made for a tough end to our dinner. Bartenders focused on table orders versus patrons at the bar. Ignored for 15-20 minutes. The food was delish though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall we were disappointed. When we walked in we told the hostess of our reservation then we were ushered over the bar/lounge. First impressions - a couple of drunk locals at the bar, the interior was very dated = definitely needs an upgrade as it looks tired. The table we sat our was sticky. My arm literally stuck to the table. The food was plentiful and good but nothing special. Probably the best part about it was that the staff obviously worked well together to get drinks out and the table cleared quickly and efficiently. We definitely won't go back here again unless they update the place. Looks like it probably hasn't been updated in at least 25 years.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Chef was good, food was good but restaurant desperately needs a renovation !! Also the front hostess left us standing for 10 minuets before we saw anybody upon arrival.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Unfortunately our memories of past dinners were NOT met this time as we always enjoyed the chef prepared filets which were absent this time the filets were not the tender ones we remember.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great atmosphere, very friendly staff, and better than average food for a Japanese steak house.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Good food & fun service. Often even with a reservation we have to wait 15 minutes or more to be seated. Tonight we were seated right away which got the evening off to a good start.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome experience as usual. The tepenaki chefs are always goofy & fun. I appreciate that their not over the top trying to impress but just them goofy selves "Island style". Sushi is bomb. The bartenders are rarely very friendly or helpful so I don't recommend sitting at the bar. I call them service bartenders. Meaning it's a service bar for the restaurant rather then customer friendly. Since it's always been that way I've learned to accept it even though I'm a total bar fly and would like the option. Excellent for groups & events. Oh and they cook the scallops perfectly every time 🙂

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Apparently someone called in sick. They were very short-staffed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was almost excellent, well prepared and plenty of it. Steak quality could be better.
Downside is feeling rushed, almost taking your half full wine glass out of your hand at the 1 and a half hour mark.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visit Maui three times a year and normally take guests to Kobe's. We always have a wonderful time with great food. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was good and on par with most hibachi restauarants. Ambiance was very dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 24, 2017

My husband and I had a lot of fun here, and the food was pretty great! Entertaining and a good value-we left stuffed!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 23, 2017

No white meat chicken, yuck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We have enjoyed this type of dining for many years, but I must say that this was the first time we have ever been seated at the table with a greasy, dirty, cooking surface to look at. Every other restaurant has a perfectly cleaned cooktop as soon as the meal is over. Our chef took one swipe with a wet towel before he started but it still was greasy , with food stuck in the middle. We were very tempted to leave, but it was late. This should be taken care of immediately!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our chef was entertaining and our food was great! I'll definitely be back next time I visit Maui.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a lot of fun. Food was great, and exciting to watch them entertain & cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Disappointing! Onions were not fully cooked. Ordered medium rare steak but it was very rare. The cook seemed to rush through all the preparation. Not interested in coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Although we had to wait a bit and the kitchen staff got our order a bit wrong the chef and food was AMAZING! We would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This time we were seated right away (on past occasions we have had to wait 20 minutes with a reservation), chef was fun & food was good & plentiful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing First Experience, Thank You to Chef Eddie We'll Be Back Everytime. Combination of Great Quality of Food and Service. High Expectations For our Next Visit..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef screwed up. I asked for no soy sauce on my potion of food and he put it on anyway. He forgot to give me cooked onions and then got another raw onion and. Arely cooked it for me. He forgot to cook two steaks for two people . He was not as skilled in entertaining with utensils as chef on our dining experience the prior month. Others at table also felt it was not the best dining e perience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food and server was very good. we waited 1 1/2 hours to be served any food. Reservations were for 730 never saw the cook until 9 PM. Needs a total renovation very tired and out dated restaurant. the only friendly person there was Josh our server. The cook never spoke didn't in the least seem to be very happy to be cooking for us. This was supposed to be a fun restaurant but was not in the least.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

one server wouldnt give me a spoon to stir my tea, kept saying use chopstick multiple times. Chef wanted to go home

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I only gave a 1-star for service because I wanted it to stand out as "crappy" for ONE individual... the GM. Everything else was awesome, we had an amazing cook! 5 stars to the rest of the staff there... so friendly as always! The only problem was that they forgot to bring out my added order of scallops, we asked about it as the chef was cooking and he immediately called the GM that was standing near him to put in the order. We heard him ask the GM if he could bring out an add-on scallops, the GM said okay, but he NEVER came back. The GM was kind of just standing around and looked lost? After waiting some time the cook then asked a server to grab it and it came FAST. Boo to the crappy GM. Not our first bad service from the GM. His employees work way harder than him all the time. We are locals and go there often and see it all. Kobe's is always our go-to spot.... minus the GM.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Our chef - and I failed to get his name - was FABULOUS! He greeted us with zeal, and never stopped. His volcano birthday onion stack was a mile high and the eternal flame lasted the whole time that we sang Happy Birthday. Our birthday girl who turned 86 even drank all three flavors of the flavored sake sampler. From the beginning broth to the final cup of hot tea, the entrees included, opakapaka, kobe beef, chicken, shrimp, with sauces, and vegetables grilled to perfection. We rolled out with memories that will bring us back. Manager Alan Steen remembered that I mentioned that I was coming, when we had stopped in for karaoke in December, and followed up with a personal phone call! Good food, good service, good FUN! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Arrived on time for reservation, but was banished to the somewhat seedy bar to wait for twenty minutes. Ordered sashimi appetizer which never arrived. Others at our table had the same disappointment. Our chef, Chico, went through the motions and visibly expressed his displeasure to his support staff for not providing the full complement of ingredients. Teppanyaki shrimp appetizer was not plated until the main course was dished out. Our dinner mates were terrific, and several were from other island restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great Chef Eddie entertained us. We met a couple from Michigan on our table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Been coming here for almost 40 years. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Kobe is a chain of Japanese restaurants where they cook your food right in front of you on the giant griddle. You will have more than enough to eat as the portions are huge.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent quality and quantity. Friendly, courteous service. We had 5:30 Open Table reservation and seated as soon as we arrived. Great value for the amount of tasty food.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

First visit to Kobe Japanese Steakhouse with family, including daughter, son in law , wife and grandson , who is almost three. We had a 5:30 reservation, and were seated promptly...server was professional, friendly, and efficient..also knowledgeable about the wines in stock, the chef was friendly and entertaining, and the food was first rate, very good. Best restaurant meal in Maui by miles and miles. We were sitting near locals( always a good sign) , and I ordered Filet of beef and sea scallops, with garlic fried rice ...YUM!!!!!!!!! This will be a mandatory visit next trip to Maui.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This tepanyaki style restaurant is always fun in downtown Lahaina on Maui's West Side. The food is wonderful, the chefs are good as well as engertaining as they prepare the food for the tables of eight diners. It is a fun place to go with a group of eight. Our only complaint is that whenever we are a party of just two people, who have reservations, invariably we are told to wait in the bar area for a minimum of fiteen and often thirty minutes. We see other people who are seated right away as walk-ins while we wait for another six people to show up to fill a table.
In this regard, we understand the restaurant's format and the dilemma that a party of two must create for them. But if we are interested in sitting down for dinner at a planned time, this restaurant always disappoints and as such, we choose to eat elsewhere.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great! Lovedthefood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Hostess & I think Manager were very rude. Our waiter and chief were amazing. Service was slow took 1 hour for the chief to start cooking. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The wait for the meal took over an hour. Terrible service (my son never got his 2nd bowl of rice) and we never received our miso soups - none for all 5 of us!! Don't go here ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Kobe's is great, however if you expect to be seated right away and dislike to take the risk of waiting for you teppanyaki, I suggest you go else where.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waited for more than one hour before the chef showed up. Their excuse was we are busy tonight. We sat by the bathroom entrance and kitchen entrance which were right next to each other. Food was excellent once served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to celebrate my sister in laws birthday. And our experience was beyond horrible. This is the second time our experience was like this. If you are wanting to wait 1 1/2 hours long this would be the place for you. The food was okay but the service is horrible. This elder gentlemen in the check in claims to be the manager does not know how to empathize with his guests. My 4 year old was getting hungry from waiting he could have atleast offered. Miso soup and rice while we wait to be seated. Then when we were seated they have reduced our party to 5 instead of the 6 I originally reserved for. You see these other people that came after us being seated while my four year old starves.
Solutions to make your restaurant better:
1. Time management: do not make times available on open table if your not gonna honor it.
2. Customer service: fire the people or train them better. Train them to empathize with their guests with children.
I will not be coming back here. If you are wanting teppanyaki style go to teppanyaki Don at the Sheraton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Best Christmas Eve meal! We had such a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.