Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Fun (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Kid-friendly (18)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort by
S
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was tasteless, lobster over cooked, steak so tough we threw it out, and fried rice tasted mostly of grease. Nice show but not worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Staff is excellent. Food is great. Spicy Tuna roll is delicious. Dynamite is ono

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

I used to have perfect dinner eveytime I go Kobe but this time, service wasn't that good. We had a resv. At 8:30 but wasn't sat to table till 45minutes later after checking in and we had to wait a hour again for our chef to come to our table. When our chef Manny came around 10 ish, he was worth of the wait. He made our night. Thank you.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The chef was entertaining and the food was very good.
The atmosphere was friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated Valentines Day and everything was great 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had to wait about 10 minutes before we headed to an upstairs table. We were immediately waited on for cocktails and appetizers. Our main entree was taken shortly after that. The Chef kept us amused as he was preparing our meal. The entire evening was fabulous as I would recommend the Kobe Japanese Steak to anyone who desires an evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Manny our chef has a great personality and cooked our food perfectly. Everything was delicious and plentiful

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 11, 2018

A huge amount of food, very delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Fun time and women at front and ones that took our order were great. The cook was excellent and made the experience enjoyable. The steak quality was average and the rice just ok. The soup was more watery and less taste than I usually like. The food quality was not as expected but overall we had a good time and would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Setvice as slow. The bartender was cranky and not very friendly. The food was average, not incredibly special or delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 2, 2018

good food, very good prices. all in all good value

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Love Kobe's.... Delicious food! Wait is usually long even with reservations, but still worth it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2018

We always enjoy the food at Kobe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Food mediocre. Pretty much just garlic and shoyu on everything cooked at the tempannyaki table. Ambiance dated, dirty. Service was standard, not exceptional . Staff didn’t say good bye or thank you when we left.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We go to Kobe's maybe twice a year. The servers are always on it. The chefs are always nice Although our latest Chef was very messy the food tasted really good the garlic fried rice was the best I've had, and his fancy entertainment style was entertaining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The food was great and the prices are not that bad.. HOWEVER, our chef did NO tricks and the only words he spoke to us were to confirm our orders. We were ver disappointed. Then someone in our party ordered sushi instead of the Tepanyaki style and the chef confirmed it, but when he was finished cooking it still wasnt there. We asked the waitress, "Hi, my wifes sushi still hasn't arrived and everyone is almost through with their meal. When can we expect it?" Her reply no joke was this, "So, do you still want it or not?" I walked away before I said something I would regret. Very unhappy with the whole experience. We will not be going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Overall great hibachi chef with quality food and great service. Our family had fun and enjoyed this experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Fun entertaining dining cooked at your shared table! 'ohana style

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2018

This is the second year we celebrated our Bell Choir Director- Pearl’s Birthday - where she eats her heart out- we even enjoyed Sake! Chef Randall was entertaining and server Jackson very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Excelente Japanese food. Teppan table very good, seafood Washington really great. Excellent value. Recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Some chefs are loud and fun and do tricks and then some aren’t. Still a good meal all in all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2018

We always enjoy eating at Kobe’s when we come to Maui! Good conversation with those we share the table with. This time we were all sharing appetizers so we all got to try something different. Very enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Terrible service. Food not seasoned well, everyone at our table had their order messed up. No apologies, just the check. Don't go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Our family & friends eat at Kobe's every year when we vacation in Maui. My grandson's favorite.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2018

We love Kobe's in Rancho Mirage, CA. This is not even close to that location. Server never brought my wife her second drink. The chef was average at best as far as entertaining. The salad is not included. We were there celebrating our 35th anniversary and we told a few people and added it to our reservation. But it was never really acknowledged. The reason we picked Kobe's for our special night is because we used to visit the one in Rancho Mirage all the time when we were first together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2018

I have been coming to Maui for 25 years and amongst all the restaurants that have come and gone, kobe’s Lahaina has always been there. Very good quality food, good chefs, and just a good atmosphere. Yes it’s noisy but I wouldn’t expect less from a Japanese steakhouse where the entertainment and showmanship during the cooking is part of the experience.

This will be a spot I’ll continue to frequent every time I’m on Thebes island

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2018

We've been here a bunch of times before but this was seriously the worst dining experience ever. We didn't get a chef until an hour after our reservation time (we were all sitting at the table for one hour and no one came to check on us), the wrong chef started cooking for us, they undercooked our food (and argued when we simply asked for it to be cooked more), and got our bill wrong. Simply the worst experience ever. Unfortunately we don't plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I love Kobe's!!! It is so much fun to come with a group of friends celebrating a birthday or special event. We had a party of 16 so it was perfect because that fits exactly 2 tables and we had 2 personal chefs. They cook right in front of you, giving you a great show and delicious food!!!! I always get the steak and shrimp with garlic fried rice. It comes with a soup and a huge portion of veggies all cooked in front of you! This is a fun place for groups!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I'm surprised to see the negative reviews. We are 3/3 for great experiences here. 2 of our visits were with the whole family of 6-7. We came at 5:30 and got the early bird deal. The kids all had virgin drinks and the wife and I each had a cocktail. With a 20% tip we were out for about $250. On Maui that's an outstanding value for a full meal including a simple soup, shrimp and veggie appetizers, yummy entrees, and an entertaining show of preparing the food. We had no room for dessert!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2018

They were really busy. The waitress was so busy that she didn't take the time to go over the 3 different parties orders. Our cook was confused. When we asked for help, she replied, "i'm too busy" and kept walking away. We haven't been in a while but this was just a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Service was awful. Our table had to get up to refill our own water glasses twice. Appetizer arrived after we were almost done with meal. Server never came back for a second drink order. We ate upstairs, which was so confined that cooks and wait staff had to squeeze behind us each time they needed to enter kitchen. Chef at table was not prepared and had to go back to retrieve items we had ordered several times. A local who frequents this restaurant told us it has gone downhill in the past few years. For the price, our experience was just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Service was horrible, we had to ask for water two times, the 2nd time we had to get our own water. Our appetizer shrimp dynamite came when our main meal was done. The steamed rice for the meal was given after we we're finish eating. Not good at all, we go there 5 times a year for birthdays , we spent $229, this unexceptable. I really feel compensation is warranted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We had a 6:30 reservation and they keep seating people in front of us. We did not get seated until 7:30 and the service was very slow, did not get done until 8:45.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2018

I don’t like to leave negative reviews but this one is warranted. Reservation was at 7:30 PM. Arrived at 7:30. Didn’t get seated until 8:00. Our chef didn’t get to us until 8:40. My husband went to the bar to get a drink which was not crowded. The bar tender ignored him while he was taking to someone at the bar for at least 5 minutes that appeared to be another employee or friend hanging out. He looked at my husband several times and looked away. It was obvious he was trying not to wait in him and another guest. He continued to talk to the female guest until my husband said, “can I get a drink from you?” He then took his order. My husband gave a $20 bill for a $9.35 bill. The waiter gave him a $10 bill in change (giving himself his own tip). At that point my husband was so frustrated he just walked away and did not ask for the remaining change and did not leave additional tip. The bartender went beyond rude and was just disrespectful and no one should be treated this way. I probably should have told management about the bartender but we were there for a nice family night out on our vacation and didn’t want to dampen the evening. Wouldn’t recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Always great food - have been coming here for years

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We were very disappointed with the sushi. It was the worst sushi we have ever tasted. The rice was terrible tasting; we’ve never had salmon sushi served with lemon and it was terrible. My son couldn’t eat his food because it was so bad. My husband could barely eat his and left a lot on his plate.
I had the chicken & shrimp dinner and it was good but the chef kept tapping his knives against the grill which made a very loud ringing sound that was unbearable. We won’t be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Great! Great food, great service, great fun. Made reservations, got there early for drink in the lounge, they took us about 5 minutes before our time. Lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Bad service. Long wait for cook. I hope that’s not the norm for them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Always the best for birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Service was poor server are not there to see how we r doing.it takes 1 hour to take the food order need learning skills

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.