About Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui

136 Dickenson Street
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Enjoy the exciting art of Japanese Teppanyaki dining. Our talented chefs will prepare delicious steak, chicken, and seafood entrees right at your table. Complete dinners include soup, shrimp appetizer, teppan vegetables, rice, and hot tea. Vegetarian and keiki (kids) menus are available. Sunset dinner specials offered daily at our 5:30 and 6:00 PM seatings. Oku"s fabulous sushi will complete your Japanese dining experience! RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI DINING ONLY!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Sushi, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Daily 5:30pm-10:00pm
Sushi Bar: Daily 5:00pm-11:00pm
RESERVATIONS FOR TEPPANYAKI
DINING ONLY!!

Cross Street:
Luakini

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 667-5555

Website:
http://kobemaui.com/

Entertainment:
Join Auntie Toddy Lilikoi and the Kobe Ohana (family) for Karaoke and dancing every Friday and Saturday night from 9:30 PM until closing. Customers be 21 years with a valid I. D.

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is behind the restaurant. We offer a $5.00 parking reimbursement at the Lahaina Restoration or Republic Parking lots located across the street.

Public Transit:
The Maui Bus stops at the Wharf Shopping center 1/2 block from the restuarant.

Executive Chef:
Felamor Simon

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Kobe Japanese Steak House, Maui Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (33)
special occasion (26)
kid-friendly (19)
See All
fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
romantic (2)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Noise level moderately high only because ...

Dined 6 days ago

Noise level moderately high only because of the style of cooking and the laughter that the chefs bring to the table.

food4
ambience3
service4

The chef was quite amusing. The food was ...

Dined 6 days ago

The chef was quite amusing. The food was well-prepared.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We visit this restaurant every year when ...

Dined 7 days ago

We visit this restaurant every year when we visit Maui and every time I say I am never going to come here again! This time I mean it! First of all, we waited 1 hour even though we had a reservation. There were no explanations or apologies for the long wait. After the long wait, we were very hungry. The quality of the food was terrible. The fried rice tasted burnt and the chicken was chewy dark meat and unflavorable! The whole experience was weird and uncomfortable. Terrible ambience, food quality, and service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy dining at Kobe's. Our fami ...

Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoy dining at Kobe's. Our family has been dining here for years and always enjoyed our experience. Kobe's is always our first choice for family dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value4

Waited 40 minutes to get our order taken ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Waited 40 minutes to get our order taken. Actually had to go back outside to add more time on the parking meter as 2 hours wasn't enough. Had a reservation at 7 and never got seated till 715. One in our party who was sitting on the end got half a bowl of garlic Fried rice because the chef didn't break it down evenly for all. Good restaurant but that was the worse experience so far.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited 30min. too be seated, even tho ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We waited 30min. too be seated, even though we made our reservation on Open table. But it was still worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Kobe's to celebrate my son's ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to Kobe's to celebrate my son's 9th birthday. The last time he was there, he was too young to remember it. Our chef (Chico I think was his name?) was very fun and entertaining, and I appreciated that he paid special attention to my son that night, it made the experience more wonderful then it already was. The food was awesome, the experience was awesome, I can't wait until I can go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and good value (especially for Hawii)

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun chef. Definitely order the egg fried rice! Good for large parties.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Much better place in Lahiana

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a very frustrating evening. We had 8pm reservations, did not get seated till 8:25. Our waitress did not seem in any big hurry to get drinks ordered. After she took our food order, we waited almost 20 more minuets will our chef show up to make the food table side. The chef was awesome, funny and talented. Food was a little more expensive than hibachi grills on the mainland, but that was true everywhere we went. Overall, there is much better food options on Maui that are more extraordinary and taste amazing. Unless you are craving Hibachi type food, do not waist your time or money here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chefs are very entertaining. Got my dish just how I want it. I highly recommend this place. I'd definitely come back here occasionally and or maybe just for my everyday dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Kobe Maui is a tradition for our family ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Kobe Maui is a tradition for our family vacation! This time our chef wasn't as entertaining but the food is always good-hibachi as well as sushi.

food5
ambience5
service4

Good food but horrible service experienc ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food but horrible service experience and wait times for our cook to show up and cook our food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Why?

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was great. The only issue was the cook kept giving portions of food that others at the table ordered and desired to others that did not order. Since we paid the most for our meal, a portion of our garlic rice ($5 extra each) should have not been given to those who ordered steam rice and already had a full bowl of it! It gave part of someone's steak to a person who ordered chicken only. Why?

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

The chef was great and talked to everybo ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The chef was great and talked to everybody around him while he was cooking.

food4
ambience4
service4

Much better than expected from other rev ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Much better than expected from other reviews. Kids loved the food and the show. Adults too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fun, entertaining and great fresh ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always fun, entertaining and great fresh food. The chef at the tepan range is always god natured and oerforms great trick with knives and the food. If you like a lively dinner with other people or a tBle of eight friends or family, it is wonderful. Not quite what a first or romantic date should be, however.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place for the family!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fun place for the family!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

The experience was fun, the food was ok. A bit overpriced IMO. Too much butter and soy sauce, felt a bit heavy after. In general it was good.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Portion sizes be more bigger especially ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Portion sizes be more bigger especially for big eaters.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Purchase chef was great! We had a blast ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Purchase chef was great! We had a blast and the food was excellent!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly management, ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent service, friendly management, timely, good and talented chef

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Offers good value to locals

Dined on May 6, 2016

While noted for their meat/steaks, their scallops are among the best on the island. And their fish/scallop combo with a locals discount is a very good value at under $25. If you like your meat rare or on the rarer side, you have to watch the chef carefully as they tend to overcook.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Fresh, but salty

Dined on May 6, 2016

We live in West Maui so we eat at the Oku sushi bar about once a month and like to take visiting friends and family to the Kobe teppanyaki. Fun and entertaining and food is reasonable for Maui. Chef put salt and pepper on everything and drowned it all with soy sauce and butter. I don't mind the butter since it enhances beef and fish flavor but the soy sauce made everything so salty and amost inedible. I ordered the big combo with steak, scallops and lobster and had leftovers for lunch the next day. The lobster and scallops were fresh - just ruined from the soy sauce, and the beef was super tender and cooked perfect - again, ruined from the soy sauce. Same thing with the garlic fried rice - more soy sauce. Will definitely visit again but I would ask chef to not put any soy sauce on the food. There is no reason fresh food should be killed with soy sauce. It is flavorful enough with the salt, pepper, butter and its own flavor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place to be for special occassion

Dined on May 4, 2016

We celebrate special occassions at Kobes. Enjoy the food and the atmosphere. We really enjoy the way the food is cooked and it is entertaining to watch the chefs as they prepare your meal in front of you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1

Made a reservation for 7:30 the restaura ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Made a reservation for 7:30 the restaurant was running behind and seemed to be short staffed. When we finally sat down we waited at least an hour to get a chef at our table. They sat us with a local couple and they were very very rude. To be fair tho we visit Maui every year and this was the first time we've had such a bad experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ono grindz, funny chef & full opus

Dined on April 17, 2016

We love Kobe! The food is always good. The kids have a blast and the chef is great at entertaining them. Super funny! I forgot his name (Ferdinand ?) but he's an old timer there. Did an excellent job at making our table laugh and made us yummy food! Would definitely recommend for families with kids. Also Henadina was great too! Very friendly, and made us feel comfortable. Great service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Kobe was very disappointing!,

Dined on April 11, 2016

I always wanted try Kobe. Very poor quality Japanese steak house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner here. Our chef was fu ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Had a great dinner here. Our chef was funny and very entertaining. Food was cook wonderfully and we all had a great time. Probably some of the best steak I've had.

food4
ambience3
service3

Our chef wasn't very entertaining. I've ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Our chef wasn't very entertaining. I've had really great chefs in the past and they did all sorts of tricks. This time the guy didn't seem very interested. It was a bummer since we had took up a whole grill table with one group. Food is great though and reasonably priced.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Good meal

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Kobe. It's expensive, that's for sure, but so is pretty much everything in Hawaii. We ended up getting the Kobe Steak and Chicken Combo. Might as well go big, it was delicious and highly recommend it for only $14 more than the normal cut.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food good, server and cook not so good

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our server did not know the menu so we basically trained him regarding the Sea Food lovers add on. Cook was also new, so his performance was not that great, local people like to eat the shrimp tails, he had cut them off and threw them away prior to cooking for us.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

Subpar food for this style restaurant. ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Subpar food for this style restaurant. Very little energy from the cook. Very crowded and cramp tables.

food4
ambience3
service4

Always a consistent fresh good meal! The ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Always a consistent fresh good meal! The place though needs an update looks & smells old, but good friendly service!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Meh...mixed review

Dined on March 27, 2016

First, teppanyaki is almost always a good show. Our chef was entertaining and most of the support staff were decent. However, our waitress was clearly untrained or this industry is just not her calling. Just putting in an order was an ordeal and she took over 45 minutes to bring a drink. Really ruined what was otherwise a good dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always great! The chefs are funn ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food is always great! The chefs are funny and interactive.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food...reasonable pricing..great cook

Dined on March 19, 2016

We are Kamaaina n love going to Kobe as often as possible

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a fun place to have a meal with ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

This is a fun place to have a meal with friends and family always great food

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Memorable Birthday

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great place for our family to gather and celebrate a special birthday. Our chef was very accommodating and everyone enjoyed their dinner selections. We appreciated the Kama'aina discount and we will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1

Waited 35 minutes even with reservation. ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Waited 35 minutes even with reservation. The lady at the reception only found out that a table was ready when I asked how long more to wait. Then she said, "oh table is ready". Hibachi took too long. By the time everything was cooked, everone at the table had lost their appetite and got the food to go. We were seated at 8:20pm and food was cooked and on our plates by 9:35pm. Funniest moment, one girl at the table asked the waitress to bring the checks and the waitress comes back with chopsticks. 😄

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.