About Knife & Tine

1417 Fullerton Ave
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Knife & Tine, located in Lincoln Park, serves a menu of New American dishes. The knowledgeable staff, finely curated wine program, and comfortable setting allows guests a fun and approachable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fullerton & Southport

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 697-8311

Website:
http://www.knifeandtine.com/

Public Transit:
Short walk from the Fullerton Red Line stop, near DePaul University's Lincoln Park campus.

Executive Chef:
Paul Caravelli

Private Party Facilities:
Knife & Tine is the perfect venue for any occasion! The restaurant offers small and large group seating. The Atrium, with exposed stone, large windows and sky lights, can seat up to 30 guests, and can accommodate up to 50 guests making it a perfect location for your next cocktail party, corporate meeting, or any celebration.
The Alcove, a private dining room with dark wood finishes and an elegant chandelier, offers a private viewing window of the kitchen, and seats up to eight guests comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Carissa Shaffer: 773-697-8311x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Knife & Tine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (49)
neighborhood gem (45)
good for groups (33)
See All
special occasion (24)
romantic (19)
great for brunch (17)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first visit to knife and tine for ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our first visit to knife and tine for our anniversary dinner. I had noted the occasion in our reservation, and they greeted us with glasses of champagne. We had mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious. I ordered the halibut which was very well prepared. My husband had the shrimp and grits, unusual for Chicago but tastier than many I've had in the south. I will definitely go back. Our server was attentive and made some good wine recommendations to go with our meals. A good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful experience all the way ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a wonderful experience all the way around! We loved our waiter (Griffin) and the owner was totally hands-on, going above and beyond . Everything we ate was great. We especially liked the crab cakes appetizer , the salad with chicken, and the donuts (wow!). Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for an upper tier food exper ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for an upper tier food experience without breaking the credit card like too many foody places.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming at the door, primary waiter wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Welcoming at the door, primary waiter was very attentive, food arrived on time and large portions. The weirdest thing that stuck out was when I ask for new silverware, because I already have used it to eat the donuts, the bust-boy "ask if I had dropped them on the floor?" The look on everyones face at the table was as stunned as mine and I just told him that I order a savory dish and didn't want to reuse them. Regardless it was the topic of conversation for the rest of the meal. Overall was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I had the steak with Chimichurri and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had the steak with Chimichurri and it was beyond delicious and one perfectly!

My friend had the pork belly and he said it was awesome! We will definitely be back!!!

The service was great - we were well taken care of.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They service and food was incredible! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

They service and food was incredible! The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. The food was wonderful and the drink selection was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spontaneous after work dinner with a GF, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Spontaneous after work dinner with a GF, K&T fit the bill perfectly. Menu had a few interesting twists, not the same-old, same-old, would happily dine here again. Only complaint was on the noise level, we sat in the front atrium, which started to get a little loud as it filled up, tough for quiet conversation but certainly not a deal breaker.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent served with a neighbo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent served with a neighborly attitude.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Mediocre restaurant trying to be upscale ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Mediocre restaurant trying to be upscale...and failing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was amazing. The "pretzel" is n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing. The "pretzel" is not really a pretzel, but the best tasting bread I've had in a long time. The fried chicken was amazing. Just all around great food and great drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome little place. Good was outstandi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome little place. Good was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place for the food and the exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love this place for the food and the excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a perfect place to take a job i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This was a perfect place to take a job interviewee. We loved everything. The menu was so unique and there was something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal at Knife & Tine!!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Another amazing meal at Knife & Tine!!! The food is delectable...the James Beard challenge blended burger was outstanding and so was the calamari steak and the key lime doughnut. The cocktail options were so creative. What really sets them apart is the terrific service. So attentive to every detail from the hostess to the bartender to the server to the owner who is ever present front of house. And the dining rooms are gorgeous. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I find the food very consistent, I love ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I find the food very consistent, I love the steak, the biscuits are wonderful, salads are hearty. You can either dress up or dress casual they can accommodate you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We happened to go on the two year annive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We happened to go on the two year anniversary of Knife and Tine. The owners totally get the restaurant business and their market. Food is very high quality but not out of reach price wise. They have great cocktails and some very reasonable wines in addition to some very good ones. The menu doesn't reach and doesn't overwhelm with choices. Service is very good and there is a team atmosphere with the entire serving staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was a twist off your normal ent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our meal was a twist off your normal entrees all jazzed up and delicious. The menu changes which is also nice so you can try different things. Love the place and the brunch is also phenomenal. Enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the atmosphere and the service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I loved the atmosphere and the service was great! The artichoke ravioli was amazing and so was the sour dough pretzel!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good menu - but all food felt like it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

good menu - but all food felt like it was missing something (another ingredient, seasoning, something?). the best thing we had was our one glass of wine each before we ate sub-par bread/butter (too salty butter), very average pretzel with not that great of sauces, popcorn (not nearly as tasty as barrel-house flats), chicken/dumpling (needed so much flavor, at least salt would help) and ravioli (Chicago has way better pasta places, not sure this ravioli was handmade, lacked flavor). I normally love trying dessert but didn't order after this meal - I can't imagine it was good. I wanted to like this place because it is near my house and well decorated but it didn't happen. I will try brunch though - hoping it's good?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Hidden Treasure

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my first time and I'm so glad we found this amazing restaurant. The staff is super friendly, help and down to earth. The food from the appetizers to the main courses was absolutely delicious and very diverse. I highly recommend this fantastic restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Party Success

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday surprise! We recently dined for my father's birthday- and had 2 guests surprise him who flew in from NYC. The team was so helpful in getting them sat ahead of time so we could surprise him at the table- the private room was perfect and unexpected! The team was so engaging, even the server asst who joked about keeping us hydrated was friendly and wonderful. Food was great, and the team coordinated a bottle of wine that was purchased by someone else to have sent to the table. Thank you for everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious pork belly, deviled eggs, frie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious pork belly, deviled eggs, fried chicken and awesome apple dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cute restaurant. Their little indoo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very cute restaurant. Their little indoor patio area was the ideal spot for our Saturday morning brunch. The coffee was hot and they kept my cup filled throughout the meal. The food was delicious and there wasn't an up charge to swap out the bfast fries for fruit. We recommend the omelet & bananas foster pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was awesome and the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome and the food was good. Very interesting takes on southern favorites.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been to Knife and Tine several t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I have been to Knife and Tine several times and it is always excellent. The portions are large enough and they have an interesting and varied menu. I am addicted to their pork chop which is always delicious. Desserts are also good. We have taken several friends there and they go back. Its informal and friendly and so far, not too loud. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great spot in Lincoln Park

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great find in Lincoln Park. The food was so delicious! I went with friends and we had a big lunch earlier that day, so we shared apps, had drinks & ordered a couple desserts to share. Everything was prepared perfectly and was wonderful. The staff was professional and very pleasant too. I would be interested in trying brunch there on my next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moms day dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This place had great reviews. We missed restaurant week so decided to make a reservation for Mothers Day dinner. The menu looked exciting as the wine list did. We ordered an appetizer. He asked for an entree order. We told the waiter we would wait to order something else when it arrived. The crab cakes arrived and we said we would like a cup of soup and then a Caesar salad. I emphasized we did not want to be rushed and to bring out separately. He asked us again for an entree order. We said later. Well, the soup and salad arrived before we finished the appetizer. He checked with us and asked for an entree order again. We said we had not decided. This was not true. We did not want anything else to come before we ate the soup and salad.

We had finished those items and placed an entree order. It took a while for the table to be cleared and fresh tableware presented. Our entrees came out well prepared with a nice presentation. My disappointment was the " greens" with the shrimp and grits was just a garnish of fresh arugula.

After we had finished I went to the ladies room and when I came back our plates had been cleared. My husband asked for 2 boxes but he took our plates. I like to box my own leftovers so I can organize the reheating. Yes I do! When we got home I inspected the boxes. Everything was just dumped upside down. The food was good and we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Great first time experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Really great first-time experience. Their menu was just the right amount of choices without being too overwhelming. The food was delicious, and the bar program was great too. I'd recommend trying the Bee's Knees cocktail. The staff was also exceptionally friendly and attentive. We'll be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inviting & Charming

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

A lovely place for lunch with friends. Allison, our server, was delightful and attentive. The menu was intriguing and enticing. The popcorn and deviled eggs were delicious. The fish tacos, cioppino and croque in a hole were gorgeous in presentation and very tasty. Highly recommend. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and beverages at Knife and Tine were great. We went for dinner and were both very satisfied and very full after our meals, portion sizes are good. Smaller restaurant but they were accommodating groups, which was good to see. Bar area was nice and there was even a small semi-private room in the back of the restaurant for larger groups, too. Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Knife and Tine for my husband ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We went to Knife and Tine for my husbands birthday. He loves places that have interesting menus-different but not too out there. The food was AMAZING and the service just as wonderful. Everything was so flavorful and cooked perfectly. I called the waiter over when my husband stepped away so I could ask for a birthday dessert. Before I even said the words the waiter told me "I just put in the birthday dessert so that should be out soon" I didn't even have to ask! The oatmeal cookies and salted Carmel shake- TO DIE FOR. great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A terrific experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a terrific experience at Knife and Tine. The service was attentive and informative but not obtrusive. I had the beer can chicken and my girlfriend had the pork belly. Simply terrific!

A bonus is you can bring your own bottle for a reasonable corkage fee. Go to Knife and Tine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ...OK... But I wouldn't rus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was ...OK... But I wouldn't rush back for it. The service was great but it doesn't really justify a mediocre meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Overall average to good

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I really liked the ambiance of the room. Food was very good. Service was erratic . it took way too long to bring soup. The bill was

incorrect the first time. For Chef's week this was no deal,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent food and outstanding service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Pork Belly and it was so perf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We had the Pork Belly and it was so perfect and tender. Also the deviled eggs were a pretty unique appetizer option and they were delicious. The menu had some interesting combinations of food but I'm glad we explored them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My boyfriend and i went to knife and tin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

My boyfriend and i went to knife and tine for chef week. We sat in the beautiful atrium for lunch. The menu options for chef week were wonderful. A lot of variety and great quality items. Each course was delicious and of stellar quality. Our waitress, allison, was super friendly and did a great job accommodating us. All in all we had a superb experience here and will recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice neigborhood restaurant

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Went there on a Sunday night with family. We enjoyed our food my wife really enjoyed her mussels app. Service was on point and the manger came around couple of times and check on the table make sure we are happy with our meal. Friendly place, nice menu selections and the seating is very comfortable. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On the Fence About This Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I came here with a friend for brunch and we were sat in the room to the left with the skylights and exposed stone walls. It was beautiful! We couldn't stop commenting on the lights, the walls, the cutlery. Unfortunately, those are all we loved about this restaurant. We were with a few other groups in this section and because of the acoustics, it was LOUD. The brunch selection was lacking, the food itself was only all right and not worth the price (Cinnamon-Swirl pancakes that didn't taste like cinnamon and had a mountain of cream cheese frosting for $10 is a bit much), my friend's pancakes weren't cooked all the way through, and I only got one cup of coffee during our meal, which was a major disappointment as coffee was $2.00. I would say if you aren't hungover, have a large budget with moderate food and service expectations, this would be a great spot. However, we did decide to give it another try for their wine selection. We're hoping their night scene will sit better with us.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.