About Knife & Tine

1417 Fullerton Ave
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Knife & Tine, located in Lincoln Park, serves a menu of New American dishes. The knowledgeable staff, finely curated wine program, and comfortable setting allows guests a fun and approachable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fullerton & Southport

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 697-8311

Website:
http://www.knifeandtine.com/

Public Transit:
Short walk from the Fullerton Red Line stop, near DePaul University's Lincoln Park campus.

Executive Chef:
Paul Caravelli

Private Party Facilities:
Knife & Tine is the perfect venue for any occasion! The restaurant offers small and large group seating. The Atrium, with exposed stone, large windows and sky lights, can seat up to 30 guests, and can accommodate up to 50 guests making it a perfect location for your next cocktail party, corporate meeting, or any celebration.
The Alcove, a private dining room with dark wood finishes and an elegant chandelier, offers a private viewing window of the kitchen, and seats up to eight guests comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Carissa Shaffer: 773-697-8311x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Knife & Tine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (19)
Great for Brunch (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love this restaurant! The menu is in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We love this restaurant! The menu is interesting, the service is always so friendly, and everything is delicious! We don't live nearby, but we make it a point to have a meal there if we're going to be anywhere nearby. Just had brunch for the first time today, and it was outstanding. I particularly loved the chilaquiles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved everything about this place, the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I loved everything about this place, the food and service were both wonderful and I have already verbal recommended this place to multiple people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The peppers were unlike anything I have ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The peppers were unlike anything I have ever had and would highly recommend! The in-house dessert donut was fantastic! Every house cocktail we had was very well made. (BT Royale, Bonfire, and one other whisky based one). Service was exceptional, fast, and friendly. Great for date night or to grab an app and a cocktail at the bar. No one was in blue jeans and had an aire of upper-crust modern american cuisine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome prices for over the top amazing ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Awesome prices for over the top amazing food! Kate greeted us with a smile and got the evening started by pointing us in the right direction with the drink selection. The menu hit all the right notes, and there was something for everyone. One of my guests had the bone-in pork chop, and it was flavored and cooked to perfection. I had the cheesy shrimp and grits, and it easily upheld and surpassed the southern tradition. Finally, the cauliflower salad was brite and refreshing. Our tab was under $80 with drinks. I could spend at least that amount just for myself at other Chicago restaurants, and not even come close to the complete dinning experience I had at Knife & Tine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was absolutely fantastic fro ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was absolutely fantastic from the bartender to the server. The owner even came over to see if things were going well. The food was good, not great . We sat in the rotunda area and that was cozy and lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Had dinner the first time on 8/9. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had dinner the first time on 8/9. It was really good. I was surprised by the menu selections - lots to chose from. I liked the adult beverage list. Nice place for a weekend dinner or a gathering with some friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really, really great service. Everyone d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really, really great service. Everyone did a fabulous job. Great suggestions on pairing wines.

My burger was excellent. Didn't care for the fries, soggy. Husband really liked the crab cakes and his skirt steak. My muscles were Ok but not great. Am a muscles snob. Many around us were really into the fried chicken. Must be good.

Loved the setting and are looking forward to out next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

A real surprise regarding the great food ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A real surprise regarding the great food and service. This place is a hidden gem! It could go head to head with the most successful restaurants in River North or the West Loop. The prices were very reasonable for the high quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extrordinary service, flawless wine list ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Extrordinary service, flawless wine list and fun environment. This restaurant was a referral from a friend and I will most definitely recommend moving forward.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find. Excellent food and service. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great find. Excellent food and service. Totally enjoyable dinner. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service, and even better food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Incredible service, and even better food! I highly recommend the chicken & dumplings, the apple glazed pork belly, and any bottle of wine. The staff was funny and informative, and there are TVs in their main dining room if you want to catch a Cubs game. :) Toward the end of the night, they dim the lights -- perfect spot for a delicious and romantic date.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch here is so so good. Shrimp and gr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch here is so so good. Shrimp and grits was delicious. Craft cocktails and a lovely atmosphere. Reasonable price and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to knife and tine for ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our first visit to knife and tine for our anniversary dinner. I had noted the occasion in our reservation, and they greeted us with glasses of champagne. We had mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious. I ordered the halibut which was very well prepared. My husband had the shrimp and grits, unusual for Chicago but tastier than many I've had in the south. I will definitely go back. Our server was attentive and made some good wine recommendations to go with our meals. A good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful experience all the way ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a wonderful experience all the way around! We loved our waiter (Griffin) and the owner was totally hands-on, going above and beyond . Everything we ate was great. We especially liked the crab cakes appetizer , the salad with chicken, and the donuts (wow!). Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for an upper tier food exper ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for an upper tier food experience without breaking the credit card like too many foody places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcoming at the door, primary waiter wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Welcoming at the door, primary waiter was very attentive, food arrived on time and large portions. The weirdest thing that stuck out was when I ask for new silverware, because I already have used it to eat the donuts, the bust-boy "ask if I had dropped them on the floor?" The look on everyones face at the table was as stunned as mine and I just told him that I order a savory dish and didn't want to reuse them. Regardless it was the topic of conversation for the rest of the meal. Overall was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I had the steak with Chimichurri and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I had the steak with Chimichurri and it was beyond delicious and one perfectly!

My friend had the pork belly and he said it was awesome! We will definitely be back!!!

The service was great - we were well taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They service and food was incredible! Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

They service and food was incredible! The staff went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. The food was wonderful and the drink selection was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spontaneous after work dinner with a GF, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Spontaneous after work dinner with a GF, K&T fit the bill perfectly. Menu had a few interesting twists, not the same-old, same-old, would happily dine here again. Only complaint was on the noise level, we sat in the front atrium, which started to get a little loud as it filled up, tough for quiet conversation but certainly not a deal breaker.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent served with a neighbo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent served with a neighborly attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Mediocre restaurant trying to be upscale ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Mediocre restaurant trying to be upscale...and failing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was amazing. The "pretzel" is n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing. The "pretzel" is not really a pretzel, but the best tasting bread I've had in a long time. The fried chicken was amazing. Just all around great food and great drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome little place. Good was outstandi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome little place. Good was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place for the food and the exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love this place for the food and the excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a perfect place to take a job i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This was a perfect place to take a job interviewee. We loved everything. The menu was so unique and there was something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing meal at Knife & Tine!!! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Another amazing meal at Knife & Tine!!! The food is delectable...the James Beard challenge blended burger was outstanding and so was the calamari steak and the key lime doughnut. The cocktail options were so creative. What really sets them apart is the terrific service. So attentive to every detail from the hostess to the bartender to the server to the owner who is ever present front of house. And the dining rooms are gorgeous. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I find the food very consistent, I love ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I find the food very consistent, I love the steak, the biscuits are wonderful, salads are hearty. You can either dress up or dress casual they can accommodate you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We happened to go on the two year annive ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We happened to go on the two year anniversary of Knife and Tine. The owners totally get the restaurant business and their market. Food is very high quality but not out of reach price wise. They have great cocktails and some very reasonable wines in addition to some very good ones. The menu doesn't reach and doesn't overwhelm with choices. Service is very good and there is a team atmosphere with the entire serving staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was a twist off your normal ent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our meal was a twist off your normal entrees all jazzed up and delicious. The menu changes which is also nice so you can try different things. Love the place and the brunch is also phenomenal. Enjoy!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the atmosphere and the service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I loved the atmosphere and the service was great! The artichoke ravioli was amazing and so was the sour dough pretzel!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good menu - but all food felt like it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

good menu - but all food felt like it was missing something (another ingredient, seasoning, something?). the best thing we had was our one glass of wine each before we ate sub-par bread/butter (too salty butter), very average pretzel with not that great of sauces, popcorn (not nearly as tasty as barrel-house flats), chicken/dumpling (needed so much flavor, at least salt would help) and ravioli (Chicago has way better pasta places, not sure this ravioli was handmade, lacked flavor). I normally love trying dessert but didn't order after this meal - I can't imagine it was good. I wanted to like this place because it is near my house and well decorated but it didn't happen. I will try brunch though - hoping it's good?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Hidden Treasure

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my first time and I'm so glad we found this amazing restaurant. The staff is super friendly, help and down to earth. The food from the appetizers to the main courses was absolutely delicious and very diverse. I highly recommend this fantastic restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Party Success

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday surprise! We recently dined for my father's birthday- and had 2 guests surprise him who flew in from NYC. The team was so helpful in getting them sat ahead of time so we could surprise him at the table- the private room was perfect and unexpected! The team was so engaging, even the server asst who joked about keeping us hydrated was friendly and wonderful. Food was great, and the team coordinated a bottle of wine that was purchased by someone else to have sent to the table. Thank you for everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious pork belly, deviled eggs, frie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Delicious pork belly, deviled eggs, fried chicken and awesome apple dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cute restaurant. Their little indoo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very cute restaurant. Their little indoor patio area was the ideal spot for our Saturday morning brunch. The coffee was hot and they kept my cup filled throughout the meal. The food was delicious and there wasn't an up charge to swap out the bfast fries for fruit. We recommend the omelet & bananas foster pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was awesome and the food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere was awesome and the food was good. Very interesting takes on southern favorites.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been to Knife and Tine several t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I have been to Knife and Tine several times and it is always excellent. The portions are large enough and they have an interesting and varied menu. I am addicted to their pork chop which is always delicious. Desserts are also good. We have taken several friends there and they go back. Its informal and friendly and so far, not too loud. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great spot in Lincoln Park

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great find in Lincoln Park. The food was so delicious! I went with friends and we had a big lunch earlier that day, so we shared apps, had drinks & ordered a couple desserts to share. Everything was prepared perfectly and was wonderful. The staff was professional and very pleasant too. I would be interested in trying brunch there on my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.