About Knife & Tine

1417 Fullerton Ave
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Knife & Tine, located in Lincoln Park, serves a menu of New American dishes. The knowledgeable staff, finely curated wine program, and comfortable setting allows guests a fun and approachable dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fullerton & Southport

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 697-8311

Website:
http://www.knifeandtine.com/

Public Transit:
Short walk from the Fullerton Red Line stop, near DePaul University's Lincoln Park campus.

Executive Chef:
Paul Caravelli

Private Party Facilities:
Knife & Tine is the perfect venue for any occasion! The restaurant offers small and large group seating. The Atrium, with exposed stone, large windows and sky lights, can seat up to 30 guests, and can accommodate up to 50 guests making it a perfect location for your next cocktail party, corporate meeting, or any celebration.
The Alcove, a private dining room with dark wood finishes and an elegant chandelier, offers a private viewing window of the kitchen, and seats up to eight guests comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Carissa Shaffer: 773-697-8311x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Knife & Tine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Romantic (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the food. We were disappointe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We enjoyed the food. We were disappointed to learn when we ordered a second bottle of Patricia Green Pinot Noir that the restaurant had run out. Our next choice was unavailable as well, as were two others. Strange that the restaurant wasn't on top of that.

Also, the men's room was filthy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I came in randomly while ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I came in randomly while we were in the neighborhood and could not have had a better experience. Every dish we ordered was amazing, as well as was the service. Menu has great variety and we loved the atmosphere as well. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always enjoy our dining experience at Knife & Tine ~ the food and service are consistently excellent. Today was no exception ~ our server, Jacob, was professional and personable and our lunch selections were prepared and presented beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sevice was very good..the food was fine, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sevice was very good..the food was fine, but nothing really special. Shrimp and Grits really subpar..chicken was fine..but the dumplings were tasty but too rich. B+ mostly for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambiance and delicious food--can't ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food--can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood restaurant on the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent neighborhood restaurant on the up and coming end of west Fullerton. The kale salad, shrimp and grits and pork chop were excellent. Really good modern ambience. Staff was friendly, efficient and professional. Nice wines by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time visiting Knife and Tine and I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time visiting Knife and Tine and I look forward to going back for dinner. We had a group of 5 ladies and a baby and everyone enjoyed their brunch. Good menu choices and fun brunch cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent brunch items! There were 3 in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent brunch items! There were 3 in our group and we each got something different to share. Each of the items (pumpkin french toast, banana foster pancakes, steak and egg burrito) were super tasty. The brunch experience was also made that much better by the excellent service we had, including never having an empty coffee cup. I will definitely be going back for brunch and will also try Knife & Tine for dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch spot! we took some out of t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great brunch spot! we took some out of town guests here for a leisurely Sunday brunch and it was great. everyone enjoyed their food, and the brunch cocktails were also delicious. will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every dish that we ordered was delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Every dish that we ordered was delicious. The beverage selection is also well thought out and includes something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and good food! My fried ch ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service and good food! My fried chicken was great and BFs pork belly was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

fabulous food / service, as always. D ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2016

fabulous food / service, as always. Dinning area is impeccable

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great gathering of five friends ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had a great gathering of five friends for a birthday celebration! They even made special menus wishing our friend a happy birthday. Service was wonderful and everyone loved the food. The hummus was the best hummus I've ever had but really everything was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Highly recommend. Owner and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food! Highly recommend. Owner and service staff were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

food was great, service not so much. we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

food was great, service not so much. we were at the table 10 minutes before we were even acknowledged and had to ask for water and if he could possibly find our server. never followed through on bringing us out bread. waited again for her to come back and take our order. when we were done it was like she was challenging us to dine and dash. we waited 15 minutes with nothing in front of us for her to bring us our check before i had to walk up there and hand them our money. so i guess the take away is, very good food if you can get it and they dont really care about you or your money. happy eating ya'll

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great evening. Seated immediately and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great evening. Seated immediately and according to reserved time. Very attentive service. Great, unique drink menu. Delicious food. Will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic meal & service! Will definite ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Fantastic meal & service! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't care for the food but didn't me ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I didn't care for the food but didn't mention it because I was in conversation and didn't expect another dish would be different. The waiter was new and knew what he didn't know so he got an expert to answer wine questions, something we appreciated. The wine was VERY GOOD. I believe the area that was almost garden-like would be great fun for people who like noisy environments. I'm glad I tried it and would return for drinks and appetizers.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Make sure you ask for Nicole! She truly ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Make sure you ask for Nicole! She truly added an extra dose of awesome to our dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Knife and Tine was AMAZING! They really ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Knife and Tine was AMAZING! They really treated us to a great time! I had indicated we were going for a combined birthday dinner with myself and two friends. They greeted us with a toast of champagne and also gave us a complimentary massive dessert and coffee cocktail! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was AMAZING! Great ambience, very modern, very relaxed vibe. I would highly recommend and I will be returning!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place. Food was excellent as wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lovely place. Food was excellent as was the service. The shrimp and grits were delicious as was my husband's fried chicken. Would definitely return. Highly recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found Knife and Tine by doing a Google ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I found Knife and Tine by doing a Google search. We are always up for trying new places. I was a bit surprised by the location but once inside, it was very nice. We had a wonderful server and our meal was very good. The prices were very affordable. Overall we had a great experience. We have booked a smaller private room for later this year to have dinner with friends. Very accommodating as far as putting together a set menu. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large family gathering. Food was ok. Ser ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Large family gathering. Food was ok. Service was very slow and noise level made conversation impossible except for the people immediately around you. Nice decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Knife and Tine is fantastic! I wish we c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Knife and Tine is fantastic! I wish we could have stayed longer but we had already made plans to go to the cinema after dinner. I really didn't know much about the restaurant but wow it surpassed our expectations. I mentioned that it was a birthday dinner via Open Table and they greeted my friend with such excitement and even gave him a complimentary toffee cupcake, which was delish! I'll def be back soon.

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant! The menu is in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love this restaurant! The menu is interesting, the service is always so friendly, and everything is delicious! We don't live nearby, but we make it a point to have a meal there if we're going to be anywhere nearby. Just had brunch for the first time today, and it was outstanding. I particularly loved the chilaquiles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved everything about this place, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I loved everything about this place, the food and service were both wonderful and I have already verbal recommended this place to multiple people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The peppers were unlike anything I have ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The peppers were unlike anything I have ever had and would highly recommend! The in-house dessert donut was fantastic! Every house cocktail we had was very well made. (BT Royale, Bonfire, and one other whisky based one). Service was exceptional, fast, and friendly. Great for date night or to grab an app and a cocktail at the bar. No one was in blue jeans and had an aire of upper-crust modern american cuisine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome prices for over the top amazing ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Awesome prices for over the top amazing food! Kate greeted us with a smile and got the evening started by pointing us in the right direction with the drink selection. The menu hit all the right notes, and there was something for everyone. One of my guests had the bone-in pork chop, and it was flavored and cooked to perfection. I had the cheesy shrimp and grits, and it easily upheld and surpassed the southern tradition. Finally, the cauliflower salad was brite and refreshing. Our tab was under $80 with drinks. I could spend at least that amount just for myself at other Chicago restaurants, and not even come close to the complete dinning experience I had at Knife & Tine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was absolutely fantastic fro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was absolutely fantastic from the bartender to the server. The owner even came over to see if things were going well. The food was good, not great . We sat in the rotunda area and that was cozy and lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Had dinner the first time on 8/9. It was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had dinner the first time on 8/9. It was really good. I was surprised by the menu selections - lots to chose from. I liked the adult beverage list. Nice place for a weekend dinner or a gathering with some friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really, really great service. Everyone d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really, really great service. Everyone did a fabulous job. Great suggestions on pairing wines.

My burger was excellent. Didn't care for the fries, soggy. Husband really liked the crab cakes and his skirt steak. My muscles were Ok but not great. Am a muscles snob. Many around us were really into the fried chicken. Must be good.

Loved the setting and are looking forward to out next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

A real surprise regarding the great food ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

A real surprise regarding the great food and service. This place is a hidden gem! It could go head to head with the most successful restaurants in River North or the West Loop. The prices were very reasonable for the high quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extrordinary service, flawless wine list ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Extrordinary service, flawless wine list and fun environment. This restaurant was a referral from a friend and I will most definitely recommend moving forward.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find. Excellent food and service. ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great find. Excellent food and service. Totally enjoyable dinner. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service, and even better food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Incredible service, and even better food! I highly recommend the chicken & dumplings, the apple glazed pork belly, and any bottle of wine. The staff was funny and informative, and there are TVs in their main dining room if you want to catch a Cubs game. :) Toward the end of the night, they dim the lights -- perfect spot for a delicious and romantic date.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch here is so so good. Shrimp and gr ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Brunch here is so so good. Shrimp and grits was delicious. Craft cocktails and a lovely atmosphere. Reasonable price and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to knife and tine for ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our first visit to knife and tine for our anniversary dinner. I had noted the occasion in our reservation, and they greeted us with glasses of champagne. We had mussels as an appetizer and they were delicious. I ordered the halibut which was very well prepared. My husband had the shrimp and grits, unusual for Chicago but tastier than many I've had in the south. I will definitely go back. Our server was attentive and made some good wine recommendations to go with our meals. A good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Knife &Tine was pretty wonderful. We sa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Knife &Tine was pretty wonderful. We sat in their very airy inside courtyard in front, and it was beautiful. Very simply decorated and high ceilings so it's not too noisy. The food was great, and the service was better than average. We'll definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

What a wonderful experience all the way ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

What a wonderful experience all the way around! We loved our waiter (Griffin) and the owner was totally hands-on, going above and beyond . Everything we ate was great. We especially liked the crab cakes appetizer , the salad with chicken, and the donuts (wow!). Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.