About Kitchenette - Uptown

1272 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027
View Larger Map

Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Please note that we can only hold your table for ten minutes and incomplete tables will be sat until all party members have arrived.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Home cooking

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00AM to 4:30 PM

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM,
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
123rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 531-7600

Website:
http://www.kitchenetterestaurant.com/

Catering:
We do full service catering with custom designed menus to meet all your food service fancies. Check us out on our website kitchenetterestaurant.com to see the variety of special menus we can create.

Public Transit:
Trains 1, A, C, B, D

Buses M60 and M11

Executive Chef:
Ann Nickinson and Lisa Hall

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mac & Cheese Blt - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Farmer Breakfast W Scrambled Eggs W Vegetables And Ranch Sauce, Biscuit W Strawberry Butter, Bacon, Cheese Grits - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Chicken and Waffles. - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Lumber Jane - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cottage Breakfast - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Coffee (House blend, fair trade, certified organic) - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Lumberjack - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cinnamon swirl french toast with caramelized bananas, walnuts and a drizzle of caramel  - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Hot Chocolate - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Kitchenette Special - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
cheesecake with strawberry topping - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Coffee Cake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
BLT - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Hot Apple Cider - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Banana Cream Pie - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cinnamon Swirl French Toast With Sugared Pecans - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
St. John  - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Banana Walnut Cake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Nutter Butter - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Caramel Cappucino - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Farmhouse  Breakfast - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Homemade Granola And Yogurt With Banana Bread - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Brunch at Kitchenette - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Hole In The Bread - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Spinach Feta And Tomato Omlette With Grits & Biscuit - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Tomato and Artichoke Omelette  - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cheesy Grits - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Creme Burlee French Toast - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Oven Roasted Garlic Fries - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Egg Whites On A Biscut - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Winter Wake Up Parfait - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Herb and goat cheese omlette - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Pumpkin Cake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Herb And Goat Cheese Omelette - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Lumberjane - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Hot chocolate with homemade marshmallow - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Kitchenless - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Naughty Naughty Milkshake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Red Velvet Pancakes - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cherry Pie - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cupcake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
buttermilk biscuit - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Butternut Squash And Potato Soup - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
chocolate cupcake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Cappuccino - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Biscuit - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Strawberry Trifle - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Meatloaf - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Shepherd's Pie - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
strawberry shortcake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Red Velvet Cake - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Chocolate Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Strawberry Lemonade - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY
Strawberry Sangria - Kitchenette - Uptown, New York, NY

Specials

Homemade Supper

Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Homemade Supper

Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

We serve homemade supper 7 nights a week from 5pm-10pm. Dishes included Turkey Meatloaf, Crispy Fried Chicken, Mac & Cheese, Lemon Parmesan Chicken, Chicken & Waffle, Burgers, BLT's and more. Don't forget about all of our homemade desserts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ask about our dinner specials!. Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Feb 18, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

10 of our most popular breakfast dishes include coffee and juice before for $12. Monday through Friday from 8am - 11am. Oatmeal porridge, french toast, pancakes, biscuits & gravy, omelets, farmhouse egg breakfast, biscuit sandwiches and more... Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and Tip not included. Not available on Weekday holidays. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Kitchenette - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Casual (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Family Style (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Romantic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kitchenette was a great find. We went fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Kitchenette was a great find. We went for brunch for my birthday and everyone loved it. It was easy to get to, quaint and very cute. The waitress was amazing and took great care of us. Highly recommend the apple cider mimosas! And the food was really great. My friend (who is very picky) said it was the best bacon she had ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Frühstück zum Geburtstag Hatten Blaubee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Frühstück zum Geburtstag

Hatten Blaubeer-Pancakes die waren super lecker!

Der Kaffee war richtig lecker

Bedienung war super freundlich & hilfsbereit

Man hat sich super wohl gefühlt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was a letdown. I had the meatlo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was a letdown. I had the meatloaf, which was dry and not very flavorful. The mashed potatoes had a runny consistency, which made it seem like it was the type you get out of a box. Poor quality and execution make you notice how overpriced the food is. There are better places to eat in the area that cost about the same. This will be my second and last time leaving Kitchenette feeling underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was great! The sweet potato waffle wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was great! The sweet potato waffle was great!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect Simple Quiet Tast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was perfect

Simple

Quiet

Tasty

Friendly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, I would go back. Food was good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall, I would go back. Food was good and options were good. I didn't like how close the tables were to each other. There was no space to walk and servers and customers were colliding. My chair was back to back with my neighbor. I would have liked more space. to spread out a little tables were too snug. I will go back on a day that it is slower.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

My family and I dined here for Christmas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family and I dined here for Christmas Brunch. The space is quite small but that is part of the appeal. The food was delicious and filling. The homemade turkey sausage was quite a treat!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ate there for brunch and the food simply ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ate there for brunch and the food simply smelled bad, as if it had been sitting at the back of a grill for hours accumulating the funk of all other food served before it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This is an amazing, funky, place for som ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is an amazing, funky, place for some of the best southern cooking you will ever eat. Our server was so mu the much fun and made everyone feel like they were at home. Best fried chicken in the city, as it is prepared for each order and done in a skillet the old fashioned way. Be warned that it will take time because of that, but more than worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific: good cooking, warm welcome.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific: good cooking, warm welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This little restaurant is a quirky gem. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This little restaurant is a quirky gem. The food was absolutely fresh and superb (several people ordered different things, ALL excellent). The place is noisy but cheerful. I would definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

LOVED this place! Highly recommend for b ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

LOVED this place! Highly recommend for brunch! Great service, yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Awesome service !! Food was good. .... A ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome service !! Food was good. .... Ambiance horrible if your a party of two people . They literally sit you on top of each other. Too close to others to enjoy your breakfast . I kept getting stepped on , elbowed in the head , hit with other people's jacket etc... very loud almost brings on close quarter anxiety !!!

The service was Excellent !!!

I won't return just due to the seating ... if you like seating like this then you will be fine ! I don't like hearing everything your neighbor is taking about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

You can never go wrong here. The food i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

You can never go wrong here. The food is creative, comforting and unbelievably yummy. Everything tastes as good as you hope it will in your imagination. From light flaky biscuits, to savory sausage, to fragrant pumpkin waffles, to fresh and light milkshakes, and everything in between, everything I've ever eaten here is "to perfection."

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. Grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Great place for casual weekend brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, , Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Kitchenette was great! Food was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Kitchenette was great! Food was fantastic and service was extremely fast. I loved the atmosphere. This restaurant is suited for all ages. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming place near the Columbia campus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Charming place near the Columbia campus with lots of fun food. It has more of a "daytime" atmosphere so I would especially recommend for breakfast and lunch, though I enjoyed my dinner there. The atmosphere is unpretentious and relaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! H ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! Highly recommend it for groups, families, and friends who are down for pancakes, eggs and delicious home fries. They also have bloodies and mimosas buy one get one on the weekends; can't beat that. We look forward to our second visit. And definitely try the pancakes!

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-cooked food. Brunch never disappoints. Great lattes and chocolate pudding!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, , Great for Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette and the discount for Columbia Students

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have to find our way back here more ofte ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have to find our way back here more often (it's not exactly around the corner for us). What a pleasant surprise. We went on the recommendation of "foodies" (chefs and otherwise) and were not disappointed. Attentive service, generous portions and, oh yeah..good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! The host, the bar tender, our server...everyone! The food was incredible, and the ambiance was darling. Plus they take brunch reservations and are moderately priced! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service and terrible chili and stal ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Poor service and terrible chili and stale cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Everything was tasty - the only thing I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was tasty - the only thing I didn't like was the sausage - too mealy texture for me. The waitress Julie (sp?) was the best - sweet, attentive, and funny! Would definitely go back for more to try the rest of the menu (we did brunch - even the grits were good!).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Authentic food and great, caring service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Authentic food and great, caring service. We just happened to pick the place out of the blue on a Friday night and loved it so much we went back AGAIN on Saturday. Nothing fake - very genuine, with plenty of comfort food choices with some modern twists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Simple food choices with fresh ingredien ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simple food choices with fresh ingredients. The biscuits are definitely made with love :) Try the coffee cake, it is on another level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Cool vibe in this comfort food establish ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Cool vibe in this comfort food establishment. Always something delicious! Make a reservation because it fills up quickly at peek hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little homegrown eccentricity. Loved the peach rhubarb compote on my waffle and hubby's pancakes were filled with fat fresh berries. The pancake by itself was super tasty. Fun, spunky staff makes you feel like you are at your local diner that was just taken over by a gourmand from the big city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and the food just wasn't that good. The sausage was delicious, but the cheese grits were undercooked, the French toast was overcooked, and everything needed salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always one of our favs! Recommend the ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always one of our favs! Recommend the chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausag ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausage are a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Kitchenette for a few years and have always enjoyed the experience. It's cozy, tasty and a great spot for brunch.

PS. They do a great Thanksgiving pickup service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2016

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favorite is pretty much all the time, the incredible no nonsense cooking is worth a little wait. To. Die. For. Breakfasts. Real biscuits and gravy. Grits are an acquired taste - well, it's the texture really - but the Kitchenette cheesy grits are amazing. Even the Yankee grits novices in our group liked them. And then there are the stupendous desserts. Yes, they are pricey. But you won't find a better tasting cake anyplace in Manhattan. Cake to linger over. But we took it to go, since we felt guilty about staying too long when others were waiting. Good coffee. Cheerful, fast-paced service. Noisy but cute tin ceiling. DO MAKE A RESERVATION, especially for three or more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Ok.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute place -- lots of charm. Food was average. Host and server very nice but slow- no hurries here. We ordered two different burgers, mac and cheese with buffalo mozz, chicken with waffles, waffles with compote: all okay, no swoons. Red velvet cake and strawberry milkshake are exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have come here twice so far and we go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have come here twice so far and we got the same waiter both times and it's great. Albert M was our waiter and he gives excellent customer service! Try the mimosas and the protein plate. The ice cream is def to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch, but waited with a reservation.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived to a very busy scene with lots of people waiting to be seated for their 11:30, 12:00, and 12:30 reservations. Although we waited 40 minutes after our reservation time. We enjoyed a delicious meal which arrived very quickly. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. For Sunday Brunch, I would try to get here earlier in the morning or after the lunch rush.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Yummy Yumm Yumm

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Yummy Yumm Yumm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.