About Kitchenette - Uptown

1272 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027
View Larger Map

Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Please note that we can only hold your table for ten minutes and incomplete tables will be sat until all party members have arrived.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Home cooking

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00AM to 4:30 PM

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM,
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
123rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 531-7600

Website:
http://www.kitchenetterestaurant.com/

Catering:
We do full service catering with custom designed menus to meet all your food service fancies. Check us out on our website kitchenetterestaurant.com to see the variety of special menus we can create.

Public Transit:
Trains 1, A, C, B, D

Buses M60 and M11

Executive Chef:
Ann Nickinson and Lisa Hall

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kitchenette - Uptown
Mac & Cheese Blt
Chicken and Waffles.
Farmer Breakfast W Scrambled Eggs W Vegetables And Ranch Sauce, Biscuit W Strawberry Butter, Bacon, Cheese Grits
Lumber Jane
Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice
Cottage Breakfast
Coffee (House blend, fair trade, certified organic)
Lumberjack
Cinnamon swirl french toast with caramelized bananas, walnuts and a drizzle of caramel
Hot Chocolate
Kitchenette Special
cheesecake with strawberry topping
Coffee Cake
BLT
Hot Apple Cider
Banana Cream Pie
Cinnamon Swirl French Toast With Sugared Pecans
St. John
Banana Walnut Cake
Nutter Butter
Caramel Cappucino
Farmhouse  Breakfast
Homemade Granola And Yogurt With Banana Bread
Brunch at Kitchenette
Hole In The Bread
Spinach Feta And Tomato Omlette With Grits & Biscuit
Tomato and Artichoke Omelette
Cheesy Grits
Creme Burlee French Toast
Oven Roasted Garlic Fries
Egg Whites On A Biscut
Winter Wake Up Parfait
Herb and goat cheese omlette
Pumpkin Cake
Herb And Goat Cheese Omelette
Lumberjane
Hot chocolate with homemade marshmallow
Kitchenless
Naughty Naughty Milkshake
Red Velvet Pancakes
Cherry Pie
Red Velvet Cupcake
buttermilk biscuit
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcake
Butternut Squash And Potato Soup
chocolate cupcake
Cappuccino
Biscuit
Strawberry Trifle
Meatloaf
Shepherd's Pie
strawberry shortcake
Red Velvet Cake
Chocolate Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting
Strawberry Lemonade
Strawberry Sangria

Specials

Pink Plate Specials

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Buy 1 Get 1 Bloody Mary and Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Homemade Supper

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

10 Breakfast Dishes, $11 each, Before 11am

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Specials

Pink Plate Specials

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday- Southwest Turkey Salad w/ cumin vinaigrette Tuesday- Pulled Pork Sliders w/ Macaroni Salad Wednesday- Stuffed Zucchini over Cous Cous Thursday- Cubano Panini w/ garlic fries Friday- Fish Tacos with coleslaw. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal. Excludes Tax and Tip. This is only valid with the purchase of a main course dish. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Buy 1 Get 1 Bloody Mary and Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Details

Every Saturday and Sunday from 9am - 4pm we offer buy one get one bloody mary and mimosa. Excludes Tax and Tip. This is a per person offer. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM.

Homemade Supper

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

We serve homemade supper 7 nights a week from 5pm-10pm. Dishes included Turkey Meatloaf, Crispy Fried Chicken, Mac & Cheese, Lemon Parmesan Chicken, Crab Cake Dinner, Burgers, BLT's and more. Don't forget about all of our homemade desserts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ask about our dinner specials!. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

10 Breakfast Dishes, $11 each, Before 11am

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Details

10 Hearty Breakfast Dishes to choose from, for $10, which includes coffee and juice. Choose from omelets, waffles, pancakes, french toast, yogurt & granola parfait, bacon egg & cheese biscuit sandwiches, and more. Only $11. Start your day right!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available Monday - Friday only, before 10am. Does not include tax and tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM.

Kitchenette - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Brunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper West Side ›

Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charming place near the Columbia campus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Charming place near the Columbia campus with lots of fun food. It has more of a "daytime" atmosphere so I would especially recommend for breakfast and lunch, though I enjoyed my dinner there. The atmosphere is unpretentious and relaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! H ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! Highly recommend it for groups, families, and friends who are down for pancakes, eggs and delicious home fries. They also have bloodies and mimosas buy one get one on the weekends; can't beat that. We look forward to our second visit. And definitely try the pancakes!

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-co ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-cooked food. Brunch never disappoints. Great lattes and chocolate pudding!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette and the discount for Columbia Students

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have to find our way back here more ofte ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have to find our way back here more often (it's not exactly around the corner for us). What a pleasant surprise. We went on the recommendation of "foodies" (chefs and otherwise) and were not disappointed. Attentive service, generous portions and, oh yeah..good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! The host, the bar tender, our server...everyone! The food was incredible, and the ambiance was darling. Plus they take brunch reservations and are moderately priced! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor service and terrible chili and stal ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Poor service and terrible chili and stale cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Everything was tasty - the only thing I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was tasty - the only thing I didn't like was the sausage - too mealy texture for me. The waitress Julie (sp?) was the best - sweet, attentive, and funny! Would definitely go back for more to try the rest of the menu (we did brunch - even the grits were good!).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Authentic food and great, caring service ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Authentic food and great, caring service. We just happened to pick the place out of the blue on a Friday night and loved it so much we went back AGAIN on Saturday. Nothing fake - very genuine, with plenty of comfort food choices with some modern twists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Simple food choices with fresh ingredien ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simple food choices with fresh ingredients. The biscuits are definitely made with love :) Try the coffee cake, it is on another level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Cool vibe in this comfort food establish ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Cool vibe in this comfort food establishment. Always something delicious! Make a reservation because it fills up quickly at peek hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little homegrown eccentricity. Loved the peach rhubarb compote on my waffle and hubby's pancakes were filled with fat fresh berries. The pancake by itself was super tasty. Fun, spunky staff makes you feel like you are at your local diner that was just taken over by a gourmand from the big city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and the food just wasn't that good. The sausage was delicious, but the cheese grits were undercooked, the French toast was overcooked, and everything needed salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always one of our favs! Recommend the ch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always one of our favs! Recommend the chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausag ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausage are a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Kitchenette for a few years and have always enjoyed the experience. It's cozy, tasty and a great spot for brunch.

PS. They do a great Thanksgiving pickup service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favorite is pretty much all the time, the incredible no nonsense cooking is worth a little wait. To. Die. For. Breakfasts. Real biscuits and gravy. Grits are an acquired taste - well, it's the texture really - but the Kitchenette cheesy grits are amazing. Even the Yankee grits novices in our group liked them. And then there are the stupendous desserts. Yes, they are pricey. But you won't find a better tasting cake anyplace in Manhattan. Cake to linger over. But we took it to go, since we felt guilty about staying too long when others were waiting. Good coffee. Cheerful, fast-paced service. Noisy but cute tin ceiling. DO MAKE A RESERVATION, especially for three or more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Ok.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute place -- lots of charm. Food was average. Host and server very nice but slow- no hurries here. We ordered two different burgers, mac and cheese with buffalo mozz, chicken with waffles, waffles with compote: all okay, no swoons. Red velvet cake and strawberry milkshake are exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have come here twice so far and we go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have come here twice so far and we got the same waiter both times and it's great. Albert M was our waiter and he gives excellent customer service! Try the mimosas and the protein plate. The ice cream is def to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch, but waited with a reservation.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived to a very busy scene with lots of people waiting to be seated for their 11:30, 12:00, and 12:30 reservations. Although we waited 40 minutes after our reservation time. We enjoyed a delicious meal which arrived very quickly. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. For Sunday Brunch, I would try to get here earlier in the morning or after the lunch rush.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Yummy Yumm Yumm

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Yummy Yumm Yumm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish Tacos on Friday fun food, great pla ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Fish Tacos on Friday fun food, great place for comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My waitress was abrupt and rude, I'm so ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

My waitress was abrupt and rude, I'm so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Very good food, excellent waiter! A litt ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good food, excellent waiter! A little tight for our party of 7. Definitely on the tourist lists! Great Easter meal for our party of 3 adults and 4 teens/tweens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

dishes are good but nothing special, a t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

dishes are good but nothing special, a tad overpriced but the $11 before 11 breakfast is great. very comfy southern feel.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Yummy Family Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first experience at the Kitchenette Uptown and we had a wonderful Brunch! We will definitely that on our list of restaurants to visit again when we are in NYC. The service was great and the food was delicious:-)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Weekend Breakfast

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Met a friend her family there for breakfast. Menu is fabulous and it's very kid friendly. In addition to having great options, the food was cooked to perfection! I highly recommend. #BonApetit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I came here with a friend for brunch this past weekend. It took a bit of time to be seated but after that, the service was good. The waitress was really nice and funny. I had the chicken and waffles and it was delicious. The space is small so it may not be ideal for groups but the food is really good. I would return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Ordered 2 mimosas, they were out of cham ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Ordered 2 mimosas, they were out of champagne. They substituted with super watered down sangria. Ordered hot chocolate with marshmallows, they were out of marshmallows. Ordered french toast, they gave me pancakes. No amount of blueberries or syrup could fix the pancakes or French toast.

I chose this restaurant because of the great ratings and feedback. Maybe they had an off day but I would never eat at or recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Delicious

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Delicious! The biscuits and grits are outstanding. I also loved the frequent coffee refills!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a unique experience. Very crowd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a unique experience. Very crowded and small and they need more staff. It was so crowded- wouldn't recommend for an intimate experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Very good food, friendly service. Luckil ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good food, friendly service. Luckily we used Open Table for a reservation because there was a long line for walk ins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Comfort Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

kitchenette Uptown has really first rate traditional, homestyle "comfort food. Not fancy but really good. Also excellent baked goods, particularly cakes and cornbread. Be sure to leave room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Yummy!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Perfect spot to meet some old friends for brunch. We sat for a long time and the coffee kept coming. All of our egg dishes were well prepared, the bacon was crisp and the biscuits......so good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice neighborhood place with friendly se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Nice neighborhood place with friendly service, hood sized portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great authentic food. Good service, grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Great authentic food. Good service, great local find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great spot, awesome food. Relaxed, casua ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great spot, awesome food. Relaxed, casual, not formal nor private for a business meeting, but the service and food overcame that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

amazing food. many great options to choose from.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was so tasty. Great service. Bring cash you get 10% off the check. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.