About Kitchenette - Uptown

1272 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027
View Larger Map

Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Please note that we can only hold your table for ten minutes and incomplete tables will be sat until all party members have arrived.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Home cooking

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00AM to 4:30 PM

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM,
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
123rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 531-7600

Website:
http://www.kitchenetterestaurant.com/

Catering:
We do full service catering with custom designed menus to meet all your food service fancies. Check us out on our website kitchenetterestaurant.com to see the variety of special menus we can create.

Public Transit:
Trains 1, A, C, B, D

Buses M60 and M11

Executive Chef:
Ann Nickinson and Lisa Hall

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Kitchenette - Uptown
Chicken and Waffles.
Farmer Breakfast W Scrambled Eggs W Vegetables And Ranch Sauce, Biscuit W Strawberry Butter, Bacon, Cheese Grits
Lumber Jane
Cottage Breakfast
Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice
Coffee (House blend, fair trade, certified organic)
Lumberjack
Cinnamon swirl french toast with caramelized bananas, walnuts and a drizzle of caramel
Hot Chocolate
cheesecake with strawberry topping
Kitchenette Special
Coffee Cake
Cinnamon Swirl French Toast With Sugared Pecans
BLT
Banana Cream Pie
Hot Apple Cider
Mac & Cheese Blt
St. John
Banana Walnut Cake
Nutter Butter
Farmhouse  Breakfast
Caramel Cappucino
Homemade Granola And Yogurt With Banana Bread
Brunch at Kitchenette
Hole In The Bread
Spinach Feta And Tomato Omlette With Grits & Biscuit
Tomato and Artichoke Omelette
Cheesy Grits
Creme Burlee French Toast
Oven Roasted Garlic Fries
Egg Whites On A Biscut
Winter Wake Up Parfait
Herb and goat cheese omlette
Pumpkin Cake
Herb And Goat Cheese Omelette
Lumberjane
Hot chocolate with homemade marshmallow
Kitchenless
Cherry Pie
Red Velvet Pancakes
Naughty Naughty Milkshake
Butternut Squash And Potato Soup
Red Velvet Cupcake
buttermilk biscuit
chocolate cupcake
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcake
Biscuit
Cappuccino
Meatloaf
Strawberry Trifle
Shepherd's Pie
strawberry shortcake
Red Velvet Cake
Chocolate Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting
Strawberry Sangria
Strawberry Lemonade

Promotions

Pink Plate Specials

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Buy 1 Get 1 Bloody Mary and Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Homemade Supper

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

10 Breakfast Dishes, $11 each, Before 11am

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Promotions

Pink Plate Specials

Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Monday- Southwest Turkey Salad w/ cumin vinaigrette Tuesday- Pulled Pork Sliders w/ Macaroni Salad Wednesday- Stuffed Zucchini over Cous Cous Thursday- Cubano Panini w/ garlic fries Friday- Fish Tacos with coleslaw. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Fridays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Complimentary Glass of wine With Your Meal. Excludes Tax and Tip. This is only valid with the purchase of a main course dish. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Buy 1 Get 1 Bloody Mary and Mimosa

Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Details
Every Saturday and Sunday from 9am - 4pm we offer buy one get one bloody mary and mimosa. Excludes Tax and Tip. This is a per person offer. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM.
Homemade Supper

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
We serve homemade supper 7 nights a week from 5pm-10pm. Dishes included Turkey Meatloaf, Crispy Fried Chicken, Mac & Cheese, Lemon Parmesan Chicken, Crab Cake Dinner, Burgers, BLT's and more. Don't forget about all of our homemade desserts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ask about our dinner specials!. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
10 Breakfast Dishes, $11 each, Before 11am

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM

Details
10 Hearty Breakfast Dishes to choose from, for $10, which includes coffee and juice. Choose from omelets, waffles, pancakes, french toast, yogurt & granola parfait, bacon egg & cheese biscuit sandwiches, and more. Only $11. Start your day right!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available Monday - Friday only, before 10am. Does not include tax and tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM.

Kitchenette - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New York / Tri-State Area
Great for Brunch
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Upper West Side ›

great for brunch (29)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (12)
See All
kid-friendly (11)
good for groups (6)
fit for foodies (5)
hot spot (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little h ...

Dined 3 days ago

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little homegrown eccentricity. Loved the peach rhubarb compote on my waffle and hubby's pancakes were filled with fat fresh berries. The pancake by itself was super tasty. Fun, spunky staff makes you feel like you are at your local diner that was just taken over by a gourmand from the big city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and the food just wasn't that good. The sausage was delicious, but the cheese grits were undercooked, the French toast was overcooked, and everything needed salt.

food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

food5
ambience5
service5

Always one of our favs! Recommend the ch ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Always one of our favs! Recommend the chicken and waffles.

food5
ambience5
service5

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausag ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausage are a must have!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Kitchenette for a few years and have always enjoyed the experience. It's cozy, tasty and a great spot for brunch. PS. They do a great Thanksgiving pickup service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favorite is pretty much all the time, the incredible no nonsense cooking is worth a little wait. To. Die. For. Breakfasts. Real biscuits and gravy. Grits are an acquired taste - well, it's the texture really - but the Kitchenette cheesy grits are amazing. Even the Yankee grits novices in our group liked them. And then there are the stupendous desserts. Yes, they are pricey. But you won't find a better tasting cake anyplace in Manhattan. Cake to linger over. But we took it to go, since we felt guilty about staying too long when others were waiting. Good coffee. Cheerful, fast-paced service. Noisy but cute tin ceiling. DO MAKE A RESERVATION, especially for three or more.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ok.

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute place -- lots of charm. Food was average. Host and server very nice but slow- no hurries here. We ordered two different burgers, mac and cheese with buffalo mozz, chicken with waffles, waffles with compote: all okay, no swoons. Red velvet cake and strawberry milkshake are exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We have come here twice so far and we go ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have come here twice so far and we got the same waiter both times and it's great. Albert M was our waiter and he gives excellent customer service! Try the mimosas and the protein plate. The ice cream is def to die for.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Brunch, but waited with a reservation.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived to a very busy scene with lots of people waiting to be seated for their 11:30, 12:00, and 12:30 reservations. Although we waited 40 minutes after our reservation time. We enjoyed a delicious meal which arrived very quickly. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. For Sunday Brunch, I would try to get here earlier in the morning or after the lunch rush.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy Yumm Yumm

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Yummy Yumm Yumm

food5
ambience5
service5

Fish Tacos on Friday fun food, great pla ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Fish Tacos on Friday fun food, great place for comfort food.

food3
ambience3
service1

My waitress was abrupt and rude, I'm so ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

My waitress was abrupt and rude, I'm so disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, excellent waiter! A litt ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good food, excellent waiter! A little tight for our party of 7. Definitely on the tourist lists! Great Easter meal for our party of 3 adults and 4 teens/tweens.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy Family Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first experience at the Kitchenette Uptown and we had a wonderful Brunch! We will definitely that on our list of restaurants to visit again when we are in NYC. The service was great and the food was delicious:-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Weekend Breakfast

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Met a friend her family there for breakfast. Menu is fabulous and it's very kid friendly. In addition to having great options, the food was cooked to perfection! I highly recommend. #BonApetit

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great for brunch

Dined on March 5, 2016

I came here with a friend for brunch this past weekend. It took a bit of time to be seated but after that, the service was good. The waitress was really nice and funny. I had the chicken and waffles and it was delicious. The space is small so it may not be ideal for groups but the food is really good. I would return.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1

Ordered 2 mimosas, they were out of cham ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Ordered 2 mimosas, they were out of champagne. They substituted with super watered down sangria. Ordered hot chocolate with marshmallows, they were out of marshmallows. Ordered french toast, they gave me pancakes. No amount of blueberries or syrup could fix the pancakes or French toast. I chose this restaurant because of the great ratings and feedback. Maybe they had an off day but I would never eat at or recommend this place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on February 21, 2016

Delicious! The biscuits and grits are outstanding. I also loved the frequent coffee refills!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

This was a unique experience. Very crowd ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was a unique experience. Very crowded and small and they need more staff. It was so crowded- wouldn't recommend for an intimate experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food, friendly service. Luckil ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good food, friendly service. Luckily we used Open Table for a reservation because there was a long line for walk ins.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Comfort Food

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

kitchenette Uptown has really first rate traditional, homestyle "comfort food. Not fancy but really good. Also excellent baked goods, particularly cakes and cornbread. Be sure to leave room for dessert.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, group bookings, neighbourhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy!

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Perfect spot to meet some old friends for brunch. We sat for a long time and the coffee kept coming. All of our egg dishes were well prepared, the bacon was crisp and the biscuits......so good!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice neighborhood place with friendly se ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Nice neighborhood place with friendly service, hood sized portions.

food4
ambience5
service4

Great authentic food. Good service, grea ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Great authentic food. Good service, great local find

food5
ambience2
service5

Great spot, awesome food. Relaxed, casua ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Great spot, awesome food. Relaxed, casual, not formal nor private for a business meeting, but the service and food overcame that

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing food. many great options to choose from.

Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was so tasty. Great service. Bring cash you get 10% off the check. Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find for Christmas in NYC

Dined on December 25, 2015

This was an unexpected Christmas Day gift in the form of great food and great service for those of us in NYC for Christmas. Dustin was an outstanding server who added such flair to our outstanding Christmas Brunch. The Apple Pie Mimosa was a great touch. Hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows for my kids. The pancakes were delicious. The turkey sausage was the best I have ever had. Highly recommended for locals and out of towners.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

FUN FOR BRUNCH

Dined on December 12, 2015

Kitchenette Uptown is a lot of fun for brunch. The menu is full of delicious comfort food options. The staff is super friendly, and the service is very good. My only complaint is the noise level . . . We go here whenever we're in the neighborhood--I just wish we lived closer!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service1

I love This place been MANY times..FOOD ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

I love This place been MANY times..FOOD is great..CAKES are wonderful SERIVCE this time was terrible ... Server was SO SWEET and adorable but OMG NOT A waitress !!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Wait staff..makes all the difference!

Dined on October 25, 2015

Great little find for brunch and lunch. Loved the neighborhood vibe on Amsteerdam.... Delicious treats, cakes, milkshakes..fun Sunday find. Despite what has been said about Open Table reservations....ours was honored and with a gracious hostess and one fabulous waitress (Judith?) who used to be a caterer...It showed...and we made sure she knew how pleased we were with the food and her awesome service...we will be back...soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Our server was a bit rude and we felt ki ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Our server was a bit rude and we felt kind of rushed, but the food was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was really, but that was our cho ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Brunch was really, but that was our choice. Regardless it wasn't rushed. Great country diner feel with that off street convenience. I touch of southern spice to traditional brunch fare. And smoooooth coffee.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food: Problems honoring reservation times

Dined on September 27, 2015

The food is great and the ambiance is fun. Busy, busy but fun, fun. However, we made a reservation through Open Table for 5 people. I know it can be difficult to manage seating precisely but we were not seated until 30 minutes after our reservation time. In fact, walk-ins were seated in the same amount of time as we were leaving us with the question, "What is the value of using Open Table and making a reservation at Kitchenette?" The answer: apparently none.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress had a delightful personalit ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

The waitress had a delightful personality and energy. The food was excellent.

food2
ambience4
service4

Underwhelmed

Dined on August 22, 2015

I dined here three years ago and really enjoyed it. This time I was underwhelmed with the food and the process for making reservations. I made a brunch reservation Saturday around 10:00 AM for that afternoon. When we arrived we were told they do not honor reservations made after 9:00 AM. This information should have been posted on their website or perhaps they should remove the OpenTable reservation option all together. Our server was fantastic, but the food was average.

food4
ambience4
service4

Comfy diner-style UWS/Harlem brunch joint

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

Brought Mt parents and a friend here on a Sunday for brunch and everyone was pleased. Nice atmosphere, not too busy but busy enough to have some activity around and the food was prepared well. Great grits.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that KITCHEN...ETTE!

Dined on August 9, 2015

We used to go to the downtown Kitchenette, and the. They closed. Went uptown once and waited a long time to get in, so made a reservation this time. Good idea! The Highland Falls eggs, with an indulgent side of cheese grits, was fabulous, and my husband loved his pancakes with multiberries! Good strong but not bitter coffee, but no decaf...so rink accordingly! My husband had had his regular coffee at home before we walked the almost 3 miles up there, so he drank water.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a pleasure

vip
Dined on July 30, 2015

Simple and delicious, never a disappointment. Will go back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.