About Kitchenette - Uptown

1272 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027
View Larger Map

Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Please note that we can only hold your table for ten minutes and incomplete tables will be sat until all party members have arrived.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Home cooking

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00AM to 4:30 PM

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM,
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
123rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 531-7600

Website:
http://www.kitchenetterestaurant.com/

Catering:
We do full service catering with custom designed menus to meet all your food service fancies. Check us out on our website kitchenetterestaurant.com to see the variety of special menus we can create.

Public Transit:
Trains 1, A, C, B, D

Buses M60 and M11

Executive Chef:
Ann Nickinson and Lisa Hall

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

10 of our most popular breakfast dishes include coffee and juice before for $12. Monday through Friday from 8am - 11am. Oatmeal porridge, french toast, pancakes, biscuits & gravy, omelets, farmhouse egg breakfast, biscuit sandwiches and more... Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and Tip not included. Not available on Weekday holidays. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Kitchenette - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Sunday Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Family Style (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Bad food and even worse service

The food was over-seasoned and stale. The bacon was obviously microwaved. The salad was old and the chicken was cold.

Our server was rude and insulting. He brought us the wrong drink and insisted he was right. He grabbed the bill from the table and crumpled it loudly. I regret leaving any tip at all.

DO NOT GO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Kitchenette was a great find. We went for brunch for my birthday and everyone loved it. It was easy to get to, quaint and very cute. The waitress was amazing and took great care of us. Highly recommend the apple cider mimosas! And the food was really great. My friend (who is very picky) said it was the best bacon she had ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Frühstück zum Geburtstag

Hatten Blaubeer-Pancakes die waren super lecker!

Der Kaffee war richtig lecker

Bedienung war super freundlich & hilfsbereit

Man hat sich super wohl gefühlt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was a letdown. I had the meatloaf, which was dry and not very flavorful. The mashed potatoes had a runny consistency, which made it seem like it was the type you get out of a box. Poor quality and execution make you notice how overpriced the food is. There are better places to eat in the area that cost about the same. This will be my second and last time leaving Kitchenette feeling underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was great! The sweet potato waffle was great!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was perfect

Simple

Quiet

Tasty

Friendly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall, I would go back. Food was good and options were good. I didn't like how close the tables were to each other. There was no space to walk and servers and customers were colliding. My chair was back to back with my neighbor. I would have liked more space. to spread out a little tables were too snug. I will go back on a day that it is slower.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family and I dined here for Christmas Brunch. The space is quite small but that is part of the appeal. The food was delicious and filling. The homemade turkey sausage was quite a treat!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ate there for brunch and the food simply smelled bad, as if it had been sitting at the back of a grill for hours accumulating the funk of all other food served before it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is an amazing, funky, place for some of the best southern cooking you will ever eat. Our server was so mu the much fun and made everyone feel like they were at home. Best fried chicken in the city, as it is prepared for each order and done in a skillet the old fashioned way. Be warned that it will take time because of that, but more than worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific: good cooking, warm welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This little restaurant is a quirky gem. The food was absolutely fresh and superb (several people ordered different things, ALL excellent). The place is noisy but cheerful. I would definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

LOVED this place! Highly recommend for brunch! Great service, yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome service !! Food was good. .... Ambiance horrible if your a party of two people . They literally sit you on top of each other. Too close to others to enjoy your breakfast . I kept getting stepped on , elbowed in the head , hit with other people's jacket etc... very loud almost brings on close quarter anxiety !!!

The service was Excellent !!!

I won't return just due to the seating ... if you like seating like this then you will be fine ! I don't like hearing everything your neighbor is taking about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

You can never go wrong here. The food is creative, comforting and unbelievably yummy. Everything tastes as good as you hope it will in your imagination. From light flaky biscuits, to savory sausage, to fragrant pumpkin waffles, to fresh and light milkshakes, and everything in between, everything I've ever eaten here is "to perfection."

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Great place for casual weekend brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Kitchenette was great! Food was fantastic and service was extremely fast. I loved the atmosphere. This restaurant is suited for all ages. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Charming place near the Columbia campus with lots of fun food. It has more of a "daytime" atmosphere so I would especially recommend for breakfast and lunch, though I enjoyed my dinner there. The atmosphere is unpretentious and relaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! Highly recommend it for groups, families, and friends who are down for pancakes, eggs and delicious home fries. They also have bloodies and mimosas buy one get one on the weekends; can't beat that. We look forward to our second visit. And definitely try the pancakes!

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-cooked food. Brunch never disappoints. Great lattes and chocolate pudding!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette and the discount for Columbia Students

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have to find our way back here more often (it's not exactly around the corner for us). What a pleasant surprise. We went on the recommendation of "foodies" (chefs and otherwise) and were not disappointed. Attentive service, generous portions and, oh yeah..good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! The host, the bar tender, our server...everyone! The food was incredible, and the ambiance was darling. Plus they take brunch reservations and are moderately priced! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Poor service and terrible chili and stale cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was tasty - the only thing I didn't like was the sausage - too mealy texture for me. The waitress Julie (sp?) was the best - sweet, attentive, and funny! Would definitely go back for more to try the rest of the menu (we did brunch - even the grits were good!).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Authentic food and great, caring service. We just happened to pick the place out of the blue on a Friday night and loved it so much we went back AGAIN on Saturday. Nothing fake - very genuine, with plenty of comfort food choices with some modern twists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simple food choices with fresh ingredients. The biscuits are definitely made with love :) Try the coffee cake, it is on another level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Cool vibe in this comfort food establishment. Always something delicious! Make a reservation because it fills up quickly at peek hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little homegrown eccentricity. Loved the peach rhubarb compote on my waffle and hubby's pancakes were filled with fat fresh berries. The pancake by itself was super tasty. Fun, spunky staff makes you feel like you are at your local diner that was just taken over by a gourmand from the big city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and the food just wasn't that good. The sausage was delicious, but the cheese grits were undercooked, the French toast was overcooked, and everything needed salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always one of our favs! Recommend the chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Personable staff. Tasty, filling food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great brunch! The homemade turkey sausage are a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We've been coming to Kitchenette for a few years and have always enjoyed the experience. It's cozy, tasty and a great spot for brunch.

PS. They do a great Thanksgiving pickup service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2016

As overcrowded as this neighborhood favorite is pretty much all the time, the incredible no nonsense cooking is worth a little wait. To. Die. For. Breakfasts. Real biscuits and gravy. Grits are an acquired taste - well, it's the texture really - but the Kitchenette cheesy grits are amazing. Even the Yankee grits novices in our group liked them. And then there are the stupendous desserts. Yes, they are pricey. But you won't find a better tasting cake anyplace in Manhattan. Cake to linger over. But we took it to go, since we felt guilty about staying too long when others were waiting. Good coffee. Cheerful, fast-paced service. Noisy but cute tin ceiling. DO MAKE A RESERVATION, especially for three or more.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Cute place -- lots of charm. Food was average. Host and server very nice but slow- no hurries here. We ordered two different burgers, mac and cheese with buffalo mozz, chicken with waffles, waffles with compote: all okay, no swoons. Red velvet cake and strawberry milkshake are exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We have come here twice so far and we got the same waiter both times and it's great. Albert M was our waiter and he gives excellent customer service! Try the mimosas and the protein plate. The ice cream is def to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived to a very busy scene with lots of people waiting to be seated for their 11:30, 12:00, and 12:30 reservations. Although we waited 40 minutes after our reservation time. We enjoyed a delicious meal which arrived very quickly. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. For Sunday Brunch, I would try to get here earlier in the morning or after the lunch rush.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Yummy Yumm Yumm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Fish Tacos on Friday fun food, great place for comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2016

My waitress was abrupt and rude, I'm so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good food, excellent waiter! A little tight for our party of 7. Definitely on the tourist lists! Great Easter meal for our party of 3 adults and 4 teens/tweens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

dishes are good but nothing special, a tad overpriced but the $11 before 11 breakfast is great. very comfy southern feel.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our first experience at the Kitchenette Uptown and we had a wonderful Brunch! We will definitely that on our list of restaurants to visit again when we are in NYC. The service was great and the food was delicious:-)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Met a friend her family there for breakfast. Menu is fabulous and it's very kid friendly. In addition to having great options, the food was cooked to perfection! I highly recommend. #BonApetit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I came here with a friend for brunch this past weekend. It took a bit of time to be seated but after that, the service was good. The waitress was really nice and funny. I had the chicken and waffles and it was delicious. The space is small so it may not be ideal for groups but the food is really good. I would return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Amazing food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Ordered 2 mimosas, they were out of champagne. They substituted with super watered down sangria. Ordered hot chocolate with marshmallows, they were out of marshmallows. Ordered french toast, they gave me pancakes. No amount of blueberries or syrup could fix the pancakes or French toast.

I chose this restaurant because of the great ratings and feedback. Maybe they had an off day but I would never eat at or recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.