About Kitchenette - Uptown

Home style cooking at its best is our mantra. You are met at the door with our abundantly filled pastry cases. The shelves are filled with our homemade layer cakes, flaky pies, iced cupcakes, fruit crisps and so much more to tempt you on your way to a table. Kitchenette can satisfy all your cravings whether it be an oasis from the cold with our own hot chocolate topped with a homemade marshmallow, or a steamy bowl of chicken soup or a hearty meal of turkey meatloaf and mashed potatoes. We are a home away from home. Please note that we can only hold your table for ten minutes and incomplete tables will be sat until all party members have arrived.

1272 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Home cooking

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00AM to 4:30 PM

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM,
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
123rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 531-7600

Website:
http://www.kitchenetterestaurant.com/

Catering:
We do full service catering with custom designed menus to meet all your food service fancies. Check us out on our website kitchenetterestaurant.com to see the variety of special menus we can create.

Public Transit:
Trains 1, A, C, B, D

Buses M60 and M11

Executive Chef:
Ann Nickinson and Lisa Hall

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Homemade Supper

Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

$12 Breakfast - includes juice and coffee

Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Details

10 of our most popular breakfast dishes include coffee and juice before for $12. Monday through Friday from 8am - 11am. Fruit and muffin, french toast, pancakes, biscuits & gravy, omelets, farmhouse egg breakfast, biscuit sandwiches and more... Excludes Tax and Tip. Tax and Tip not included. Not available on Weekday holidays. Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 8:00 AM - 11:00 AM.

Homemade Supper

Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

We serve homemade supper 7 nights a week from 5pm-10pm. Dishes included Turkey Meatloaf, Baby Kale Caesar Salad, Mac & Cheese, Lemon Parmesan Chicken, Chicken & Waffle, Burgers, BLT's and more. Don't forget about all of our homemade desserts!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Ask about our dinner specials!. Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchenette - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

They give a 10% discount for cash! And the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good sangria
Good cornbread
My French toast was a little burnt

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Small place inconspicuously placed in the middle of Morningside Heights. I went for an Easter brunch with family after a church event. Although it was rather small and a tight squeeze for all, the food was excellent and the service was excellent. I would recommend this to anyone looking for good food in a cozy environment.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It is quite a small space, with a long, narrow dining area.
We are literally on top of each other, with a couple of inches between tables.
During brunch the volume of people talking was almost unbearable. It was LOUD!

The food is great, and the service is quite decent - nothing to write home about, but absolutely not bad, either.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was excellent fresh made. Staff was fun and helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We arrived precisely at our reservation time. One of our party if three was four minutes later, but they refused to seat us until the party was complete. This is a growing trend at restaurants which I dislike immensely. It ignores our comfort, and assumes we've lied about how close the remaining people are. I'll never be able to give a 5-star rating to a restaurant for whom this is policy.

Once seated, however, the service was excellent , as was the food. Cocktails in the evening are fantastic, if a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had such a great experience! I came in from NJ to meet with friends and this restaurant was worth the commute. The food was absolutely delicious and the apple pie mimosa was to die for. If you are looking for a brunch place, this is it!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Bad food and even worse service

The food was over-seasoned and stale. The bacon was obviously microwaved. The salad was old and the chicken was cold.

Our server was rude and insulting. He brought us the wrong drink and insisted he was right. He grabbed the bill from the table and crumpled it loudly. I regret leaving any tip at all.

DO NOT GO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Kitchenette was a great find. We went for brunch for my birthday and everyone loved it. It was easy to get to, quaint and very cute. The waitress was amazing and took great care of us. Highly recommend the apple cider mimosas! And the food was really great. My friend (who is very picky) said it was the best bacon she had ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Frühstück zum Geburtstag

Hatten Blaubeer-Pancakes die waren super lecker!
Der Kaffee war richtig lecker
Bedienung war super freundlich & hilfsbereit
Man hat sich super wohl gefühlt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was a letdown. I had the meatloaf, which was dry and not very flavorful. The mashed potatoes had a runny consistency, which made it seem like it was the type you get out of a box. Poor quality and execution make you notice how overpriced the food is. There are better places to eat in the area that cost about the same. This will be my second and last time leaving Kitchenette feeling underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was great! The sweet potato waffle was great!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was perfect
Simple
Quiet
Tasty
Friendly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall, I would go back. Food was good and options were good. I didn't like how close the tables were to each other. There was no space to walk and servers and customers were colliding. My chair was back to back with my neighbor. I would have liked more space. to spread out a little tables were too snug. I will go back on a day that it is slower.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My family and I dined here for Christmas Brunch. The space is quite small but that is part of the appeal. The food was delicious and filling. The homemade turkey sausage was quite a treat!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ate there for brunch and the food simply smelled bad, as if it had been sitting at the back of a grill for hours accumulating the funk of all other food served before it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is an amazing, funky, place for some of the best southern cooking you will ever eat. Our server was so mu the much fun and made everyone feel like they were at home. Best fried chicken in the city, as it is prepared for each order and done in a skillet the old fashioned way. Be warned that it will take time because of that, but more than worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Terrific: good cooking, warm welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This little restaurant is a quirky gem. The food was absolutely fresh and superb (several people ordered different things, ALL excellent). The place is noisy but cheerful. I would definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

LOVED this place! Highly recommend for brunch! Great service, yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Awesome service !! Food was good. .... Ambiance horrible if your a party of two people . They literally sit you on top of each other. Too close to others to enjoy your breakfast . I kept getting stepped on , elbowed in the head , hit with other people's jacket etc... very loud almost brings on close quarter anxiety !!!

The service was Excellent !!!

I won't return just due to the seating ... if you like seating like this then you will be fine ! I don't like hearing everything your neighbor is taking about

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

You can never go wrong here. The food is creative, comforting and unbelievably yummy. Everything tastes as good as you hope it will in your imagination. From light flaky biscuits, to savory sausage, to fragrant pumpkin waffles, to fresh and light milkshakes, and everything in between, everything I've ever eaten here is "to perfection."

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Great place for casual weekend brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Kitchenette was great! Food was fantastic and service was extremely fast. I loved the atmosphere. This restaurant is suited for all ages. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Charming place near the Columbia campus with lots of fun food. It has more of a "daytime" atmosphere so I would especially recommend for breakfast and lunch, though I enjoyed my dinner there. The atmosphere is unpretentious and relaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Organic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Kitchenette was delicious brunch food! Highly recommend it for groups, families, and friends who are down for pancakes, eggs and delicious home fries. They also have bloodies and mimosas buy one get one on the weekends; can't beat that. We look forward to our second visit. And definitely try the pancakes!

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Bustling atmosphere serving good home-cooked food. Brunch never disappoints. Great lattes and chocolate pudding!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the brunch options at Kitchenette and the discount for Columbia Students

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have to find our way back here more often (it's not exactly around the corner for us). What a pleasant surprise. We went on the recommendation of "foodies" (chefs and otherwise) and were not disappointed. Attentive service, generous portions and, oh yeah..good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everyone was so sweet at Kitchenette! The host, the bar tender, our server...everyone! The food was incredible, and the ambiance was darling. Plus they take brunch reservations and are moderately priced! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Poor service and terrible chili and stale cornbread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was tasty - the only thing I didn't like was the sausage - too mealy texture for me. The waitress Julie (sp?) was the best - sweet, attentive, and funny! Would definitely go back for more to try the rest of the menu (we did brunch - even the grits were good!).

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Authentic food and great, caring service. We just happened to pick the place out of the blue on a Friday night and loved it so much we went back AGAIN on Saturday. Nothing fake - very genuine, with plenty of comfort food choices with some modern twists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simple food choices with fresh ingredients. The biscuits are definitely made with love :) Try the coffee cake, it is on another level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Cool vibe in this comfort food establishment. Always something delicious! Make a reservation because it fills up quickly at peek hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had brunch. Regular fare with a little homegrown eccentricity. Loved the peach rhubarb compote on my waffle and hubby's pancakes were filled with fat fresh berries. The pancake by itself was super tasty. Fun, spunky staff makes you feel like you are at your local diner that was just taken over by a gourmand from the big city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very loud, waitress was overworked, and the food just wasn't that good. The sausage was delicious, but the cheese grits were undercooked, the French toast was overcooked, and everything needed salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food, great desserts. Fun ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always one of our favs! Recommend the chicken and waffles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.