About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Starting Jan. 8, Kitchen on George offer a Sunday Brunch Buffet. The menu changes weekly to include seasonal favorites. Check our website & Facebook page for this week's offerings. Reservations suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid Jan 8, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (11)
Casual (10)
Historic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fun (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this place! Everything about it ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 2 days ago

I loved this place! Everything about it was perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic service from our server Sabrin ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service from our server Sabrina. The New Years menu was fantastic, especially the fried oysters.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaraunt with good food nice at ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaraunt with good food nice atmosphere and small enough not to be noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen on George never disappoints. Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kitchen on George never disappoints. The food was wonderful and the service was

excellent! I highly recommend this place, if you have not tried it you are missing out!

The tempura fried okra with soy dipping sauce is an appetizer must!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch! Be sure and try the tempur ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great lunch! Be sure and try the tempura okra-it is incredible! Beautiful space also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Favorite place to eat in town! Always c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Favorite place to eat in town! Always consistently excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken dish was light on meat and o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The chicken dish was light on meat and overdone. The pasta was good and surprisingly a very big meal. Great crab cakes and good dessert. Street parking wasn't an issue on Weds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We came for Sunday Brunch ... a family f ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We came for Sunday Brunch ... a family favorite.

On the plus side ... Our server James was spectacular.

On the negative side ... The beef special (communicated verbally) was grossly overpriced, and unfortunately we did not ask for the price before two members of our party ordered it. As a dish ... it was tasty, well presented and the serving size was appropriate for brunch, but the value did not match the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was remarkable. I was impressed ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was remarkable. I was impressed. Needed a baguette with my foi gras, but other than that, it was very good. The atmosphere was great for a special occasion. The service was wonderful. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious. Th ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. The goat cheese salad is the most interesting and tasty salad I've ever had. The fried oysters were perfectly cooked, and the spicy sauce was a nice complement.

Unless you go at an off time, make reservations. The place is fairly small, and seems to be quite popular, even on a week night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We choose this restaurant based on other ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We choose this restaurant based on other reviews and were pleased. The service was very good and the food was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. There was plenty of options for everyone (menu is online).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best-of-2016 dining experience for my gr ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best-of-2016 dining experience for my group of 10 celebrating daughter-in-law's Master's Degree ceremony at U of South Alabama. Fried okra a must, entrees (including daily special of wreckfish, scallops and shallots) outstanding, service was impeccable. Our only comment would be with respect to the bread offering with meal...very ordinary and not up to the level of all else. That, my friends, is admittedly picking a piece of lint off the collar, so to speak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My party of four got the Duroc Pork Duo, ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My party of four got the Duroc Pork Duo, the Blackened catch of the day (grouper), and the grilled salmon. The bread, the beer, the food, and the service was amazing and we will definitely come back! There is only one thing to add- the salmon dinner was a bit too salty and my mother was just a little disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. Menus were worn. A littl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was ok. Menus were worn. A little pricey for what you get in terms of the amount of food. My beef tenderloin was good but a small serving.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a group of 14. The food and servi ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had a group of 14. The food and service were impeccable! Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall ... typically outstanding, altho ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall ... typically outstanding, although the server was less attentive than normal and somewhat forgetful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had the pasta dish and just too much pas ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Had the pasta dish and just too much paste was also most like me mac n cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent. Our waiter was e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter was excellent. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a nice place in a neighborhood w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a nice place in a neighborhood with several small dining rooms and an outdoor area. Our server was excellent- knew the menu, conversational and attentive but. It overly so. Local seafood dishes were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great as always, however missin ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great as always, however missing several of the items normally found on the menu, like the crawfish stuffed mirliton. Was told the new chief may bring it back. But he has brought some new items also, so maybe the can find another favorite

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is superb. The food, atmosphe ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This place is superb. The food, atmosphere, and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dinner. My tenderlo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. My tenderloin was perfectly cooked. Loved the goat cheese salad. Another party had the scallop special and really enjoyed it. Good wine selection. The service was very friendly and attentive. We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was fantastic and th ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As in the past, the Kitchen on George pr ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 4, 2016

As in the past, the Kitchen on George proved to be an excellent food experience, with particularly good service for our Friday night dinner. We had intended to enjoy happy hour specials, but we were told by the hostess that this was being phased out. Disappointing to hear as that was a favorite of many in the area. We stayed for dinner, enjoying the crab and corn soup, fried oysters, fried okra, and an outstanding new menu addition, the Hudson Valley Foie Gras mousse. Our server, Katherine, was relatively new, but very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. When all of our food came out together, she noticed that we felt somewhat rushed, and promptly suggested that one of the fried items be returned and prepared fresh for us when we were done with the items we were having as our first course. We felt that was very considerate and observant! We really enjoy this neighborhood restaurant and feel like it has only gotten better over the years since it opened. It is also a great dining spot for visitors to Mobile, set in a beautiful and historic neighborhood!

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Went with my husband for our 2 year anni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Went with my husband for our 2 year anniversary. Absolutely loved it! Drinks and food were delicious! Service was phenomenal!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing in Memphis and we wanted som ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Vacationing in Memphis and we wanted something with a bit of local flavor. So we chose Kitchen on George after hearing good reviews about it. This is a somewhat small local restaurant that has a varied menu. We chose a goat cheese salad, fried okra, kale Caesar salad, and crab ravioli. Our service was great, with plenty of attention and help with the menu. The food came out in perfect order and was hot and tasty. We were totally pleased with this restaurant and will be looking forward to dining here again on our next trip. Parking was easy on city streets.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great food and service . Fish was excell ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

great food and service . Fish was excellent. Nice selections and options on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting ate outside and it was ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful setting ate outside and it was wonderful. Food was excellent and inventive. The service was friendly and the overall experience a must go

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My children and I dined at Kitchen on Ge ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My children and I dined at Kitchen on George on Friday night. We had the fried oysters and the okra appetizers. They were both delicious. We ordered the fish special and the pasta. Both dishes were great. The service was excellent!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This operator knows what he or she is do ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This operator knows what he or she is doing. Excellent food with novel sauces. We had red snapper with a delicious pear, potato and green pepper pairing in a white sauce and scallops done to a perfect turn. My wife's a chef; I'm an ex-restaurant GM. You can't fool us. Great place.

Prices on the high side but the value is there. A bonus: Friendly, knowledgeable waiter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of this restaurant was amaz ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The ambiance of this restaurant was amazing. The food and service was great! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here many times and this l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have eaten here many times and this last time was no as good as past visits. The service was great and very friendly. The food just wasn't up to par.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Meet out of town friend for quick busine ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Meet out of town friend for quick business/social lunch. It couldn't have been better.

Everything was close to perfect. Appreciated the wait staff/hostess and the electricity from two large groups that were "celebrating" a wedding and birthday while we were there.

Remains a favorite!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always very good ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food and service is always very good. We normally love to go with our fish or seafood choice but this time we both tried meat dishes. My wife got a filet that was wonderful. I had the pork loin and pork belly. It was very good but I like smoked pork belly better.

Their wines are also very good and we almost always have a bottle.

It is one of our favorites so we will be back often

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant. Unique and delicio ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Unique and delicious menu. Super service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional as always!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Exceptional as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in Mobile on a business trip and f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I was in Mobile on a business trip and found Kitchen on George on some site (yelp or trip advisor I can't recall). It had excellent reviews so I booked a reservation. The food was FANTASTIC. We ordered the shrimp and grits as our appetizer and I had the Pontchartrain catch of the day. Both were excellent. Our waiter was very patient with us as we tried to decide (all sounded fantastic). I highly recommend Kitchen on George and if ever I find myself back in Mobile I will for sure return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to restaurant. Been for lun ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Second visit to restaurant. Been for lunch & dinner. Shrimp & grits best I've had-better than famed Charleston. Fried okra great except served one piece that was stringy and could not be bitten in to. When okra is tough you can tell when you cut it. Heads up in the kitchen!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Opentable had 2 $ next to this restauran ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Opentable had 2 $ next to this restaurant, so I expected something like Chili's prices. That was not the case. The cheapest entree was $25, so my date and I both chose from the "small plate" or appetizer menu. He ordered crab ravioli for around $13 and got exactly 3 raviolis. Needless to say he was not satisfied at the end of his meal. Fortunately there was free bread and olive oil, but I wish our waiter would have refilled the bread basket. Then my date could have at least filled up on bread. Otherwise, the food tasted great and the atmosphere was great. Service was okay, except for the bread and lack of drink refills.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.