About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels. Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our cocktail hour from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
7 More
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Fit for Foodies
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Overall
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

neighborhood gem (88)
fit for foodies (83)
special occasion (75)
See All
romantic (50)
great for lunch (42)
great for brunch (39)
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (22)
great for outdoor dining (21)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good selection. Looking forward to the m ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Good selection. Looking forward to the menu change as it gets cooler. My guests were pleased with their meal also.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious lunch on a Sunday aft ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a delicious lunch on a Sunday afternoon. I ordered the artichokes, pea shoot and beet salad, biscuits and their special mojito. My husband had the corn and crab soup and the omelette. He loved his too. We shared the amazing key lime pie for dessert. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and went out of their way to accommodate our every request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken was excellent. It woul ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

The fried chicken was excellent. It would have been nice for waiter to ask or inform as to what he pieces would be. My daughter said the waffles were fantastic and I had the salad and soup. Both had great taste. The crab and corn soup was a bit spicy with noticeable taste of white pepper. The salad with goat cheese and candied pecans was very good and had just the right amount of vinaigrette. The only miss was that the waitress was going to bring us blueberry lemon muffins but never did. When we asked she said they were in he oven but she never brought them. Overall it was a great Dunne experience and highly recommend the fried chicken with the Tabasco honey drizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

When every we are traveling through Mobi ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

When every we are traveling through Mobile, we always make a stop at Kitchen on George, the food is outstanding along with the service. The best restaurant we found in Mobile.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My date and I were put in a cubby with a ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My date and I were put in a cubby with another table of two and a table of 6 boisterous diners . Due to the smallness of the space and the acoustics of the space the noise level took away from the talking with my date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great restaurant! Good food and atmosph ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great restaurant! Good food and atmosphere. Kitchen on George is on our list of quality restaurants that we will visit throughout the year.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service. We really enjoyed the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wonderful service. We really enjoyed the historic Mobile feel of building. Nice music background. It was very cold and I would recommend having a sweater or dinner jacket. We were dissapointed with duck spring rolls and fried okra because they were very greasy. The corn chowder was very flavorful and my favorite of the night. Beet and pea salad was refreshing. I ordered crab cakes for main dish but they were fishy tasting in the middle. Black drum ponchatrain had great complex sauce but I felt conecuh overpowered the delicate fish and shrimp. Oustanding service by our waiter and manager Steven. Will definitely try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a table of five people for my bir ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a table of five people for my birthday dinner. We ordered 3 larges plates, 4 small plates, a salad, and one dessert. The small plates were nice for us to taste a few different things. The only recommendation I have is that if the small plate is not enough for everyone to have a bite the server should make the table aware. For example there were four oysters and five people. Everything we ordered was amazing taste wise! Definitely going to be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is too expensive for all that ...

 
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place is too expensive for all that it wants convey as a fine dining restaurant. It is just average to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I have been to Kitchen On George many ti ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have been to Kitchen On George many times. This is the last time! Our waiter was terrible, the food and drinks were very overpriced. We had to sit at the bar to get our

Happy hour drinks. The bartender was as sullen as they come. Obviously, he did not want to be there.

IBelieve me, it is truly not worth the price!!! There is nothing special about the menu. A piece of baked chicken (small piece at that), a blob, and I mean blob of mashed potatoes, and green beans for $22.00. Come on! If it was tasty, that would be a different story. Unfortunately it was not. Bye, bye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Kitchen on George was a wonderful dinner ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Kitchen on George was a wonderful dinner experience for us! The staff is awesome and the atmosphere is sexy. Great for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the service was a bi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was great, the service was a bit slow but totally worth it. We were traveling through Mobile from a beach weekend and we wanted to stop somewhere for a "scenic" brunch. This place was great except the girls from Nola were very excited for the awesome bloody mary bar but we had an 11:15 reservation on a Sunday in Alabama. We aren't use to alcohol limits :)

We had bloodies for dessert, and it was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I chose the restaurant based ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My wife and I chose the restaurant based on it's #1 rating in Mobile and we had never heard of it. The atmosphere was pleasant, the staff was knowledgeable, and the food was excellent. The fact that the cooking staff are students from Virginia College Culinary program was a special treat and anyone can tell that they are all passionate about providing a memorable meal and developing return business. The corn and crab bisque was wonderful and the Fried Chicken and Waffles with the Spicy Honey was incredible. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried several small plates ...all out ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We tried several small plates ...all outstanding ...my green eyed wife and I loved the ambiance . Staff let us enjoy coctails before ordering and served

Dishes with a nice pace . A stop off to remember ....Texas

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen on George always pleases . It's ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Kitchen on George always pleases . It's delicious and there's always very good service. One of our favorite places to eat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mobile Tennis Center hosted the USTA Sta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Mobile Tennis Center hosted the USTA State Playoffs which gave our table of nine a reason to dine at KOG Friday June 24th at 6:00 pm.

Our food was outstanding as was our waitress and I'm drawing a blank on her name but included the date and time so she could get a shout out from whomever there who keeps up with feedbacks.

The only frustration was the specialty drinks not being made properly. I tried twice but both the French 75 and the Pimm's Cup were not drinkable. I switched to wine and by all means was happy.

I will definitely go back should I get to Mobile again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant! This was our second vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant! This was our second visit to Kitchen on George and we were not disappointed with their brunch. The Build Your Own Omelet was very good and the sides were outstanding. The Shrimp and Grits and Fish and Grits were outstanding as was the Fried Chicken on Waffle! The only complaint was that the perfectly fried chicken was not boneless - but it was delicious. Reasonably priced and quality food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a consistent experience at Kitche ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a consistent experience at Kitchen on George only complaint was the pricey cost of a glass of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food. Nice atmosphere. We really e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food. Nice atmosphere. We really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mobile is fortunate to have Kitchen on G ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Mobile is fortunate to have Kitchen on George. Innovative dishes prepared with local ingredients that are used knowledgably at the peak of their goodness. My friend and I had a wonderful evening together. We sipped on delicious cocktails, knoshed on yummy appetizers, and chatted happily all while being taken care of by our fabulous server, Ashley.

A wonderful dining experience is when everything comes together like puzzle pieces on a table. The chef's skill and knowledge, the manager's coordination of personnel and resources, and your servor's professionalism and timing. We hit the perfect trifecta at Kitchen On George.

I had the Lemongrass Ginger Martini which was one of the best martinis I've had in a long line of martinis served from bars in 4 different continents and a spate of Caribbean islands. This one stood out because of the use of fresh ingredients, balance of flavors and a bartender who clearly knows what they are doing.

My friend's Garden District Mojito was a long, tall glass of summery goodness, chock full of fresh mint and fruit floating in a frosty glass of sipping heaven.

Our server, Ashley was what turned our good girls' night out into a fabulous one. She was personable, attentive and professional. She set my mind at ease and allowed me to trust that what came out of the kitchen would be delicious and in keeping with my food allergy. And that is not a common thing when someone with allergies has to eat out. Thank you Ashley!

My friend and I agreed to come back, bring our spouses, and share this island of good eats with other friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have dined here on several occasions a ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have dined here on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very good, the food w ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The atmosphere was very good, the food was very tasty. Our waitress was very attentive and knowledge about the whole menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for meeting friends and family, or ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great for meeting friends and family, or even for a first date!

We met friends for happy hour and had the best time! We ordered one of everything and loved it all!

Recommendation: Don't forget about dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner with friends before a s ...

 
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious dinner with friends before a show at the Saenger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous crab and corn soup!

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a great soup--it was really more like a chowder--of fresh crab meat and corn. It's worth a detour ! Scallops were a tad overdone, still good, but not five stars.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb Brunch

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great brunch with family from out of town. The food was phenomenal ... Tasty and excellent presentation. The server (Garret) was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We get by there at least once a month. The food is always great, we usually enjoy one of the specials. For appetizers we love the corn and crab chowder or the shrimp and grits. Both are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and service for a reasona ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good food and service for a reasonable price. If we could change anything about this place it would be to do some acoustical engineering--very difficult to carry on a conversation with friends because of the ambient noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Small plates made it fun to sample several things.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We tried the fried goat cheese salad which was tasty. Peas/beet salad was mostly peas with just a beet garnish. Would have liked it the other way around. Shrimp/goat cheese grits were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding! From the frie ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was outstanding! From the fried okra to crab cakes, oysters, Ponchatrain, beet salad, all was wonderful! We'll definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time visitor very impressed! Highly ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

1st time visitor very impressed! Highly recommend fried artichokes, blackened shrimp and grits (lovely perfectly done shrimp) duck shrimp rolls in the small plate! My husband had lemon battered fresh catch was to die for (grouper I believe) and my only complaint was the special ( Royal reds sautéed with potatoes) which I ordered were still shelled and very small and totally unlike any of the royal reds I have had! All in all a very pleasant evening and we will surely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

one of the best restaurants on the gulf. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

one of the best restaurants on the gulf. do not miss out on a meal as perfect as this.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a wonderful experience. The foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall, a wonderful experience. The food was amazing for all courses with a great wait staff. Everyone around our table seemed to be enjoying the place as much as we were. Sorry we do not live in Mobile as it would easily be our favorite spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salads were fine, but the main cours ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The salads were fine, but the main courses and wine were very disappointing. I ordered the catch of the day, grouper, prepared with light batter and lemon sauce. What arrived looked like an appetizer. (We are used to small portions, but, hey, folks, this was ridiculous!) It resembled fish and chips sans chips. My wife ordered duck breast medium rare. It was delivered to us medium and tough. The side was a gloppy bread pudding. The wines by the glass were ordinary and overpriced.

Nothing was terribly wrong with our meal. However, nothing was terribly right either. We skipped dessert and called it an early evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was my first visit to The Kitchen o ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first visit to The Kitchen on George. We went for brunch. The food was wonderful! My friend ordered from the menu and I ordered a special; both were delicious. Our server, Abby, was awesome! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time and not the last

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The reservation was confirmed by email and phone, which might annoy some, but for this kind of place is critical. Our pleasant experience began with our arrival-- gracious direction to our table, smooth handling of different individuals challenges with the seating arrangements. The booth was wonderful for 6 (5 plus a chair) and could have handled another one or two. Our server was just great-- professional, friendly, and wholly attentive. We had the tempura okra (wow), the crab cakes, the fried artichokes, and the delicious bread to start. People were smiling and munching. Did I mention the cornbread? Not too sweet, melt in your mouth, no need of sauce or butter. The roasted cauliflower salad was amazing-- just the right balance of ingredients. The server recommended the "student creation" of the day-- as a teaching kitchen there can be such an offering. Offer that kid a job-- the mushroom and sweet potato concoction that accompanied the fish was more wonderful than our server had even said. The rest of the food disappeared practically before it could hit the table. We'll be back to savor more-- and maybe save room for dessert this time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional as well as food. ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was exceptional as well as food. Decent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatplacetomeetandeat eattherealitanda ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Greatplacetomeetandeat eattherealitandalwaysenjoy superbfoodandgreatasubience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have been there several ti ...

 
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife and I have been there several times and each time has been excellent. I had the redfish special and the sauce was fantastic (I wanted to lick the dish). My wife had a filet with a great mushroom sauce. Our server,Cameron was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

would go again

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Nice friendly neighbor place to have a good meal and enjoy your friends company.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.