Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

"At the Bar" Small Plate & Drink Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

"At the Bar" Small Plate & Drink Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Weekday Bar Specials available Mon-Fri from 4-6 pm! Enjoy $6 select Small Plates and reduced prices on adult beverages. Valid for bar seating only. Excludes Tax and Tip. See website for more information. Special valid Apr 12, 2017 - Aug 11, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Casual (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Historic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
666 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

I was a little disappointed that our 18 year anniversary was not acknowledged at all when I specifically put it in comments when booking. Never even a mention.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

It was good, however the portion sizes are small and expensive. Would like to see a little bit more food on the plate. It was very yummy! However maybe I'm just being greedy! Not an everyday restaurant due to the price. Strictly a special occasion dining venue.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very flavorful and the service was amazing. First time we had been there was very good we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day brunch. Food was very good and fresh, and staff was very good at keeping the buffet well stocked. Service could have been better. Once we mentioned that we hoped to enjoy a leisurely brunch, the server stopped rushing us to order the make your own omelette which was part of the brunch ( the first 15 minutes felt like the server wanted us to hurry up and eat, despite many empty tables - we stayed a total of 90 minutes). The server seemed unaware of things such as refilling empty coffee cups, and we had to ask for more coffee several times. We plan to try again for dinner and hope service is better the second time around.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had never been to the area so this was a first. A friend sent us a gift card to the restaurant because he knew we were foodies. What a wonderful place as the menu and then the food are the best. We tried the 5 item tasting and were treated to some of the best food in a very long time. Wine and beer menu was designed to fit the food selections. All I can finish with is that you need to try it! You will not be disappointed. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I went to this restaurant with 3 business associates based upon a local recommendation. The restaurant is located in a neighborhood zoned area with street parking.
I ordered the crab and corn soup and beef tenderloin. The soup was a thick creamy (very rich) soup that was quite tasty. Three of us ordered the beef tenderloin. A 6 oz piece of meat that was perfect size after finishing that very filling soup. The beef was cooked to what I asked for and was excellent.
The entree menu is a bit limited. The catch of the day was an anchor fish which was described as more of a meaty steak than a light fish so I passed on that.

Recommended.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I found this place online while looking up good places to eat while visiting Mobile AL. I am very pleased with the decision to dine here. We liked the location, the ambiance and the quality of food was exceptional! The shared menu dishes were larger than other farm to restaurants I have been to (positive.)
Lastly, our waiter Duskin was patient and kind. We will visit King on George again. I have already recommended this place to people I met along my weekend visit here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Kitchen on George is always excellent. We had not been there for over a month due to some medical issues for both of us. They have a new menu which was great. The mushroom soup was fabulous. My wife raved about the duck leg.

It took a little more time than usual in being our food. The server kept us informed all along and gave us free dessert because of the wait. The wait was not very long but she went well beyond to make sure we had a good evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The shrimp and grits is just fabulous! The atmosphere was lovely and the service was great!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Fabulous as always. Never had a bad bite. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We enjoyed the buffet style breakfast- however we witnessed at least four different families/customers leave once they found out it was a buffet. This is not well advertised on web page and the customers were confused that it was only buffet style! Other than that great service and the food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had the 80 day aged Steak! It was delicious and the combination of flavors was to divine. The atmosphere was wonderful and the location was perfect! Old Mobile with twist is what we was looking for!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Attended a work lunch here. Food was great but every member of our party was freezing! I noticed that the air was set on 68, colder than I think most diners would prefer. Had the flatbread with seasonal veggies and it was delicious. Would recommend but suggest bringing a jacket!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always love eating here. Our wait staff seemed to need a refresher course on utensil placement, wine glass placement, and NOT talking to the backs of peoples' heads. Otherwise, the food was delicious as always.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Perfect! Simple to make a reservation on line. Awesome staff. Amazing food. Love that the menu changes from time to time. Would highly recommend this establishment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I hate to send a bad review, but my wife and I had one of the worst meals we have ever eaten. Service was good and pleasant. The table we were sitting at was to close to the next one. So, we could hear everything they were discussing. The food was awful. I had a Catfish that was over breaded and lacked a nice taste. My wife ordered a Flatbread that tasted like it contained all the left overs from other entree's. The sad thing is, this was not our first visit to the restaurant and it was always a excellent meal. This was not the case on this evening. $130.00 later and my wife left hungry. This is a restaurant that has a changing menu and that can make it interesting. This particular menu needs to be changed immediately! It will be a while before I ever consider going to it again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our server Ashlee was terrific and most pleasant. I was well pleased with the menu for my taste but the recent menu change does not suit as broad a pallet as the former menu and my company was less pleased.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This has been my favorite restaurant for several years. Definitely a decline in quality and variety of food. Both soups were unappealing in presentation (mushroom was downright nasty looking) Corn and Crab was overcome by seasoning. Salad was drowned in dressing and soft shell crab overcooked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was good except for the West Indies Salad. Do not call it West Indies Salad in Mobile, AL unless it's authentic! #nomayo

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great menu! Great food! Great service! We enjoyed our meal very much-

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I loved my experience at this place
Very friendly environment and the food was great

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Kitchen on George consistently delights with entrees and service.
Alyssa was attentive, professional and made our evening relaxed. Great job!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wasn't expecting a buffet and that was the only option. Would not have made reservations if I had known that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dreadful experience.

Food took ages to get to the table and when it did the steak and potato cake were burnt beyond recognition. I wish I could post a picture here to show just how bad it was - completely inedible. Search for my Facebook review for pictures (if they haven't taken it down).

The other dish was supposed to be braised chicken and it looked like the worst fish fingers you could imagine. Clearly overcooked in old oil and grey throughout. not one sign of any white chicken meat remaining.

They comped our meals but we still ended up paying $80 for a couple of cocktails, a beer and 2 glasses of wine.

Definitely in the "never again" category.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

On our last trip to Mobile we enjoyed an evening at KOG, it was fabulous in all aspects. We returned a +year later to find nothing had changed. By the middle of your first course you realize why they are number 1 in Mobile and deservedly so. thanks to the entire staff for a great meal and evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was a perfect location for a nice dinner and the food was delicious. Service was also great. Food was cooked to perfection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was my second time eating at Kitchen on George. My first visit was excellent. Food was great and plenty of it. . This time my food was good but my entree was only a few small pieces of steak, and two domino size potato pieces. There was not enough food to qualify as an entree. It should have been called an appetizer. I had to order salad seperately. My wife had fish. She was pleased with her portion and her side.
My advice to the chefs at Kitchen on George is give the customers a fair size entree and side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fried oysters were cooked perfectly eight to an order, fried artichoke hearts, duck spring roll delicious and shrimp bruschetta was the only one hard to eat but good. It was still too much food for both of us but yummy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I was excited to finally try this restaurant. Overall I was pleased and I would plan to return but there were small hiccups with nearly everything we ordered. The burger was medium well instead of medium rare, the jambalaya pasta was swimming in a pool of grease. The brownie dessert was unpleasantly crunchy like it had just come out of the microwave. The bill showed "open liquor" when I ordered a non alcoholic drink. The server was friendly but gone for long periods of time so I didn't have the opportunity to have the issues addressed. Overall mostly small issues but I was expecting more of a five-star experience and found it to be 3-4 stars instead.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was very good and the food was wonderful. Definitely try the lobster ravioli!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time we have been for Sunday Brunch. It was so good. Most food on their regular menu was on the buffet so that was great. Gave us an opportunity to sample several different items.

(We also have had two bridal brunch's at Kitchen on George...it was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in recent memory

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Exceptional in every regard! Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This is not a negative review. However, considering its' number 1 rating, I think I was expecting more. The food was very good, not exceptional. Service was very good, not exceptional. Ambiance was very good, and again, not exceptional. A definite top 5 but not sure on the number 1 rating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This little gem is well worth a detour when passing through Mobile

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everyone was extremely nice. We were greeted and immediately seated. The hostess had our reservation available and our waitress was phenomenal. The chefs did an amazing job with the food, from the presentation to the taste.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was amazing and service was outstanding. I highly recommend this place to any and everybody.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food & service. Great dinner with family...highly recommend!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love this restaurant! Nice atmosphere, great service, very good menu choices. Make a reservation for dinner; not necessary for lunch, usually

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.