Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Kitchen on George

4.5
800 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. We celebrated our 6th anniversary recently and have been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor for 4 years in a row!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(251) 436-8890
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bryan M. Cates
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Savannah
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking located behind the restaurant,
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Valentine's Day Prix Fixe Dinner - Reservations strongly suggested. Feb. 14.
"At the Bar" Drink specials and $6 Bar Snacks, M-F, 4-6 pm. (Bar seating only.)
Chef's Monday Tasting Menu - three or five courses with a hyper-local focus.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 800 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I came here for Sunday brunch with friends. They had a mimosa and Bloody Mary bar on the menu which is why we chose this restaurant in the first place but when we got there we were told that it was put on the menu prematurely and they didn’t actually know when it would begin. Also, the bloody Mary’s we ordered were bland. The mimosas were good and the food was amazing. The servers were super pleasant and attentive. It was a bit chilly but nothing a cardigan couldn’t fix. Overall, we enjoyed our meal and would go back, preferably when they finally start their mimosa/Bloody Mary bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Sabrina was outstanding as our waitress

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I took my mom here for a late mother's day celebration. She absolutely loved her dishes, but mine were okay at best. My appetizer was the vegetable tempura and main course the shrimp and girts. How does one mess up shrimp and grits? My mom had the carb and corn soup, amber jack fish of the day, and cheesecake. If you dine here pass on the shrimp and girts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

When making your reservation, request Sabrina. She has the warmest and friendliest attitude. You won’t be disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

An exceptional venue in the Mobile Garden District!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is generally good here but the stuffed banana French toast was way too sweet that both my mother and I could not eat it, should have been served with sauce on the side and accompanied with some bacon

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food at KOG was simply amazing. The service on the other hand was dreadful. Our cocktails took over 10 minutes to receive and we were the only table in the back dining room. We were then asked to place our entree orders when we ordered apps with the assurance our meal would be spaced out to enjoy the evening. Before our second round of drinks showed up and before we'd finished our apps our entrees were brought to the table. We didn't get a chance to discuss a wine pairing with our sever before the main course because she was MIA. The food though was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Omg. The salmon and Brie salad was delicious. Thinly Sliced pears, hiding the delectable salmon mousse that surprises your mouth with flavor. Oh, the perfect slice of Brie which has been slightly torched was beautiful. Savor this with a nice Sauvignon Blanc. Done. Done. And Done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Delicious, freshly prepared, good variety including great fresh seafood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Good food for lunch. However, there are few fresh vegetable and fruit options or other low-calorie options. There was one salad on the menu; a Caesar -like salad. I ordered the vegetable plate which consisted of rice, mushrooms and artichokes for $15. It was tasty but expensive for what was served. My friend ordered shrimp and grits which is good if you like it creamy and buttery. It seemed to me the restaurant is avoiding buying anything fresh such as bread (which is not served for lunch) or vegetables and fruits. What is the implication?

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was of good quality and was well prepared. The service was slow, our appetizers did not arrive until our entrees and the wait for the check was too long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great food and service in an intwresting area. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

My wife and I were in town for a conference and stopped in for dinner. We loved it so much we went back the very next night also. Food, service, everything is fantastic!
When in Mobile, we will go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always enjoy. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Kitchen on George is ALWAYS a wonderful experience. Food and service are both great. Looking forward to the next time we go!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner and were sorry we weren't going to be in Mobile long enough for another visit All three courses we had were just lovely. Creative cooking with a southern twist. Can't wait to get back here for another visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

While the food was very good the presentation of the crab salad and the amount provided was less than expected. It paled in comparison to the shrimp and corn soup.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We were in town for our son's wedding. It was St. Patrick's day and we were looking for lunch that was not outside and crowded. This fit the bill perfectly. Great food and atmosphere. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Nice find. Good food, a little bit shy of better than good. Nice comfortable feel. I would go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The service was terrible. Our server was not pleased to be serving us and threw cutlery down at us. The food was good but thhe way we were treated ruined our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Have been to this place three times and I have never been disappointed. Lovely place. Will return when I am in Mobile.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Good wait staff; observant but not intrusive
Noise a bit more than I would like for a business dinner, but I could have mentioned that to the Maitre d’ and been seated in a quieter spot, so that’s NOT a negative.
Food outstanding; definitely note the changes in the menu, which are in keeping with the season. Fish very fresh and appropriately cooked and served with complimentary flavors and textures.
Definitely warrants a return trip or two; may become a standard for us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Since the first time KOG opened I was disappointed in the food. It has always been one of my favorite places and I have always loved the food. However, this trip my husband and I were not impressed with the taste. I had Bouillabaisse and my husband had the Black drum meals and neither one of them had much flavor. We will got back because everyone has a bad day now and then.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Prefer buffet brunch, we came last year for brunch thoroughly enjoyed brunch. We ordered from menu this time some in our party were not satisfied.

Very disappointed, to hear you are not having buffet anymore. Will rethink my location for Sunday brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Excellent food and service at a value price. Can’t ask for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

This place was a pleasant surprise. Off the beaten path in downtown Mobile. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, attentive, and sweet. The drinks were really good. The food was some of the best we have had in a long time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It was our anniversary dinner. The server was attentive after the initial drink order and the food was very good in quality and the execution of the dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

My family met to host my cousin who is a mom to be and Kitchen on George was the perfect spot. So casual and comfy! Food and drinks were amazing as always. Service was impeccable! Thank you KOG!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Service was great. Our waiter recommended a great, reasonably priced bottle of wine. The food was good but a tad over-salted. My husbands fish was extremely dry but it had good flavor. Overall good food and great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This was a second time attending service at Kitchen on George. The food was just as well as I remembered, service was top notch; however, the noise level was a little more rambunctious than I remember as we were seated near the bar.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2018

We have been going here for years and this is the first time we have left hungry and disappointed. We ordered the lettuce wrap appetizer , a beef tenderloin and the duck breast with vegetables for my wife. When her dish arrived, there was a smallish breast and 5 carrots along with a very small portion of the other veggies. The appetizer appeared to have more food than her entree. While the food tasted great, the portion was hardly worth $30+.

Please be careful with what you order and ask about portion sizes before you order.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was excellent however the service was so impersonal and unfriendly it shaded the evening. Whilst it was also very busy there was a church like atmosphere inside with diners appearing afraid to be heard. Great food but not so atmosphere and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

I have been looking forward to dining at Kitchen on George for almost a year now and with belated Valentines Day dinner as a great excuse, my wife and I were excited about going.
The location is a little bit outside of downtown Mobile so if staying at a hotel, you would need to drive or cab it over. It is right down the street from the Oakleigh Museum grounds so you could make it an afternoon and early dinner thing.
The ambience was great although a few style choices were a bit off(what is with those oversized lighting fixtures in the center dining room?) The center room was quieter than the large room and the bar area if that suits you.
As for the food.....this was very imaginative and flavorful. Tempura veggies to start and they were abundant with 2 dipping sauces. Green beans and mushrooms. Nicely done.
Main course were both very good with my wife having the leg of duck with cherry sauce and my choice of bouillabaisse being one of my favorite dishes. The serving of seafood in the bouillabaisse was abundant but the broth was only a small amount. It tasted great with the smell of saffron wafting over the bowl but a little more would have been just right.
Bread and butter were provided but almost as an after thought when I saw the table next to us being served theirs.
In fact if there was one prevailing issue at KOG, it was the service. When we sat down the table cloth had a good sized stain from the prior diner. We asked to be relocated to a nearby table but we were refused as the empty tables were spoken for I guess. I had to run out to fetch my wife's wrap since we were under an A/C vent that would not stop despite our request to turn it down.
I understand that this restaurant uses culinary students and I totally support that as my son is a former culinary student who also worked in the dining room and kitchen. Maybe a little better coaching would help.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Kitchen on George never disappoints. The food and service are always good, and I love the location and the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Awesome atmosphere and experience. Food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great experience all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We were extremely pleased with our meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Service was great, atmosphere was good except for a light bulb that kept flickering from dim to bright close to our table, other tables noticed it as well, food was outstanding, will definitely go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Edgar was our waiter and he was outstanding. Our cocktails were simply delicious. We had the mushroom sup. the salmon brie salad and the shrimp and grits. All were wonderful. The farm to table aspect of the dining experience sets it apart. The lively, fun atmosphere makes it a joyous event to dine at Kitchen on George. The portions are perfect and the prices are fair. We will be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Super rich sauces. Service was uneven

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Kitchen on George