About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels. Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our cocktail hour from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 4:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Gillian Clark

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Enjoy Kitchen on George's Happy Hour Specials M-F, 4-6, including $6 Small Plates at the bar!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Aug 1, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
7 More
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Fit for Foodies
Mobile
Romantic
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

neighborhood gem (98)
fit for foodies (94)
special occasion (88)
See All
romantic (55)
great for lunch (47)
great for brunch (45)
good for groups (39)
hot spot (25)
great for outdoor dining (24)
notable wine list (23)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great, the service was a bi ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was great, the service was a bit slow but totally worth it. We were traveling through Mobile from a beach weekend and we wanted to stop somewhere for a "scenic" brunch. This place was great except the girls from Nola were very excited for the awesome bloody mary bar but we had an 11:15 reservation on a Sunday in Alabama. We aren't use to alcohol limits :) We had bloodies for dessert, and it was great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I chose the restaurant based ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I chose the restaurant based on it's #1 rating in Mobile and we had never heard of it. The atmosphere was pleasant, the staff was knowledgeable, and the food was excellent. The fact that the cooking staff are students from Virginia College Culinary program was a special treat and anyone can tell that they are all passionate about providing a memorable meal and developing return business. The corn and crab bisque was wonderful and the Fried Chicken and Waffles with the Spicy Honey was incredible. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried several small plates ...all out ...

Dined 5 days ago

We tried several small plates ...all outstanding ...my green eyed wife and I loved the ambiance . Staff let us enjoy coctails before ordering and served Dishes with a nice pace . A stop off to remember ....Texas

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Kitchen on George always pleases . It's ...

Dined 5 days ago

Kitchen on George always pleases . It's delicious and there's always very good service. One of our favorite places to eat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mobile Tennis Center hosted the USTA Sta ...

Dined 6 days ago

Mobile Tennis Center hosted the USTA State Playoffs which gave our table of nine a reason to dine at KOG Friday June 24th at 6:00 pm. Our food was outstanding as was our waitress and I'm drawing a blank on her name but included the date and time so she could get a shout out from whomever there who keeps up with feedbacks. The only frustration was the specialty drinks not being made properly. I tried twice but both the French 75 and the Pimm's Cup were not drinkable. I switched to wine and by all means was happy. I will definitely go back should I get to Mobile again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! This was our second vi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant! This was our second visit to Kitchen on George and we were not disappointed with their brunch. The Build Your Own Omelet was very good and the sides were outstanding. The Shrimp and Grits and Fish and Grits were outstanding as was the Fried Chicken on Waffle! The only complaint was that the perfectly fried chicken was not boneless - but it was delicious. Reasonably priced and quality food!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Always a consistent experience at Kitche ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a consistent experience at Kitchen on George only complaint was the pricey cost of a glass of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Nice atmosphere. We really e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food. Nice atmosphere. We really enjoyed it!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mobile is fortunate to have Kitchen on G ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Mobile is fortunate to have Kitchen on George. Innovative dishes prepared with local ingredients that are used knowledgably at the peak of their goodness. My friend and I had a wonderful evening together. We sipped on delicious cocktails, knoshed on yummy appetizers, and chatted happily all while being taken care of by our fabulous server, Ashley. A wonderful dining experience is when everything comes together like puzzle pieces on a table. The chef's skill and knowledge, the manager's coordination of personnel and resources, and your servor's professionalism and timing. We hit the perfect trifecta at Kitchen On George. I had the Lemongrass Ginger Martini which was one of the best martinis I've had in a long line of martinis served from bars in 4 different continents and a spate of Caribbean islands. This one stood out because of the use of fresh ingredients, balance of flavors and a bartender who clearly knows what they are doing. My friend's Garden District Mojito was a long, tall glass of summery goodness, chock full of fresh mint and fruit floating in a frosty glass of sipping heaven. Our server, Ashley was what turned our good girls' night out into a fabulous one. She was personable, attentive and professional. She set my mind at ease and allowed me to trust that what came out of the kitchen would be delicious and in keeping with my food allergy. And that is not a common thing when someone with allergies has to eat out. Thank you Ashley! My friend and I agreed to come back, bring our spouses, and share this island of good eats with other friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined here on several occasions a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have dined here on several occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very good, the food w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The atmosphere was very good, the food was very tasty. Our waitress was very attentive and knowledge about the whole menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for meeting friends and family, or ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great for meeting friends and family, or even for a first date! We met friends for happy hour and had the best time! We ordered one of everything and loved it all! Recommendation: Don't forget about dessert!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner with friends before a s ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious dinner with friends before a show at the Saenger.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous crab and corn soup!

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a great soup--it was really more like a chowder--of fresh crab meat and corn. It's worth a detour ! Scallops were a tad overdone, still good, but not five stars.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a great brunch with family from out of town. The food was phenomenal ... Tasty and excellent presentation. The server (Garret) was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We get by there at least once a month. The food is always great, we usually enjoy one of the specials. For appetizers we love the corn and crab chowder or the shrimp and grits. Both are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Very good food and service for a reasona ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Very good food and service for a reasonable price. If we could change anything about this place it would be to do some acoustical engineering--very difficult to carry on a conversation with friends because of the ambient noise level.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small plates made it fun to sample several things.

Dined on June 1, 2016

We tried the fried goat cheese salad which was tasty. Peas/beet salad was mostly peas with just a beet garnish. Would have liked it the other way around. Shrimp/goat cheese grits were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding! From the frie ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was outstanding! From the fried okra to crab cakes, oysters, Ponchatrain, beet salad, all was wonderful! We'll definitely go back!

food4
ambience5
service5

1st time visitor very impressed! Highly ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

1st time visitor very impressed! Highly recommend fried artichokes, blackened shrimp and grits (lovely perfectly done shrimp) duck shrimp rolls in the small plate! My husband had lemon battered fresh catch was to die for (grouper I believe) and my only complaint was the special ( Royal reds sautéed with potatoes) which I ordered were still shelled and very small and totally unlike any of the royal reds I have had! All in all a very pleasant evening and we will surely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of the best restaurants on the gulf. ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

one of the best restaurants on the gulf. do not miss out on a meal as perfect as this.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a wonderful experience. The foo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall, a wonderful experience. The food was amazing for all courses with a great wait staff. Everyone around our table seemed to be enjoying the place as much as we were. Sorry we do not live in Mobile as it would easily be our favorite spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The salads were fine, but the main cours ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The salads were fine, but the main courses and wine were very disappointing. I ordered the catch of the day, grouper, prepared with light batter and lemon sauce. What arrived looked like an appetizer. (We are used to small portions, but, hey, folks, this was ridiculous!) It resembled fish and chips sans chips. My wife ordered duck breast medium rare. It was delivered to us medium and tough. The side was a gloppy bread pudding. The wines by the glass were ordinary and overpriced. Nothing was terribly wrong with our meal. However, nothing was terribly right either. We skipped dessert and called it an early evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to The Kitchen o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first visit to The Kitchen on George. We went for brunch. The food was wonderful! My friend ordered from the menu and I ordered a special; both were delicious. Our server, Abby, was awesome! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and not the last

Dined on May 22, 2016

The reservation was confirmed by email and phone, which might annoy some, but for this kind of place is critical. Our pleasant experience began with our arrival-- gracious direction to our table, smooth handling of different individuals challenges with the seating arrangements. The booth was wonderful for 6 (5 plus a chair) and could have handled another one or two. Our server was just great-- professional, friendly, and wholly attentive. We had the tempura okra (wow), the crab cakes, the fried artichokes, and the delicious bread to start. People were smiling and munching. Did I mention the cornbread? Not too sweet, melt in your mouth, no need of sauce or butter. The roasted cauliflower salad was amazing-- just the right balance of ingredients. The server recommended the "student creation" of the day-- as a teaching kitchen there can be such an offering. Offer that kid a job-- the mushroom and sweet potato concoction that accompanied the fish was more wonderful than our server had even said. The rest of the food disappeared practically before it could hit the table. We'll be back to savor more-- and maybe save room for dessert this time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional as well as food. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was exceptional as well as food. Decent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greatplacetomeetandeat eattherealitanda ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Greatplacetomeetandeat eattherealitandalwaysenjoy superbfoodandgreatasubience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I have been there several ti ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

My wife and I have been there several times and each time has been excellent. I had the redfish special and the sauce was fantastic (I wanted to lick the dish). My wife had a filet with a great mushroom sauce. Our server,Cameron was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

would go again

Dined on May 16, 2016

Nice friendly neighbor place to have a good meal and enjoy your friends company.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It had been a while since I went to brun ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It had been a while since I went to brunch at Kitchen on George and I was definitely not disappointed. We had a late reservation at 3 pm (they close at 4) and everyone was great (from hostess to server) and made us feel welcome even though we seemed to be the latest table. Their Bloody Mary was delicious -- house made mix, and garnished with pickled okra, olive, lemon, lime, and a delicious shrimp and crispy piece of bacon. That was a great start to a delicious brunch. I opted for the cauliflower and goat cheese salad -- and was VERY impressed with the combination of favors, and perfectly fried goat cheese balls. The others with me started with the beet salad, Caesar salad, and crab and corn soup. The soup was DELICIOUS but needed to be hotter, I liked the beet salad flavor a lot but I think I would've preferred more pea shoots and beets and less black eyed peas, but it was still very good. I didn't try the Caesar but my friend said it was good. For our mains we got the crab cake, blackened salmon, delta scramble, and I got the shrimp and grits with added poached eggs. My shrimp and grits were good but not as rich and goat cheese-y as I remember -- but don't get me wrong, I was very happy with them. I shared one of my added poached eggs with my friend who got the blackened salmon, and she said it was a great addition. We all enjoyed our main entrees and will definitely be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was with a group of 6. We each ordere ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was with a group of 6. We each ordered different items from the menu and they were all wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Decided to try Kitchen on George based ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Decided to try Kitchen on George based on the excellent reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. Our appetizers of duck confit spring rolls in Thai sauce and Alabama fried oysters in a sirracha aioli were excellent. The Cesar salad was perfect. The grilled cauliflower salad was complimented with a very tasty fried goat cheese - delicious but the cauliflower could have been grilled a bit more to bring out the flavor. For dinner the house signature dinner Pontchartrain catch of the day was very unique, blended well with a sizable piece of fish which was flavorful. The dish had a local sausage which added a robust and unique smokey flavor. Delicious, highly recommend. The other dinner was a small plate appetizer of shrimp and goat cheese grits. Lip smacking delicious. Rich so don't double it as a dinner, the small plate will be more than satisfying as i couldn't even finish it. The shrimp were flavorful and cooked to perfection. Along with dinner we ordered a craft tripel beer and a local ipa recommended by Phillip our server. An adequate selection of beers and wines. Excellent service and attention. We hope to return soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a bad experience at Kit ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at Kitchen on George. We brought an out-of-town speaker this most recent time and you all did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best dining experience I've had in Mobile in years. The waitress was really helpful and attentive. The price was a tad high, but for a special occasion, it was reasonable. The food was amazing- even the bread and olive oil was some of the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for adult dinning. Best dinner in Mobile.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great for adult dinning. Farm to table foods. There isn't a better place for dinner in Mobile. We didn't have to ask for anything. Our server was spot on. Food came out in a timely manner. Did not feel rushed. And as always, the taste was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will return

Dined on May 9, 2016

Hidden gem. Although I live in Mobile, I had never heard of Kitchen on the George, found it on Tripadvisor and I'm so glad I did. This place was awesome. The food was spectacular. The environment divine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was superb!

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time at this restaurant and the food was incredible. Very tasty, well presented, and good portions. Large selection of items. Particularly liked the Small Plates/Share items. Very well-sized. Only complaint was noise - big loud table of 10 near us. But we were so involved in eating, we did not need to talk!!! Will recommend to all who live/visit Mobile.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mobile Jewel

Dined on May 1, 2016

The most yummy food ever. We had blueberry cobbler! We also had chicken and waffles and fish and grits. Everything was perfectly cooked and presented by young culinary students. The prices were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Couple of Hits & Some Big Misses

Dined on May 1, 2016

Hits: 1. Service. Wait staff helpful, knowledgeable, and attentive without crossing into intrusiveness; bartenders friendly and highly skilled. Exactly as expected at an upscale eatery. 2. Jambalaya Shrimp Pasta. Well-executed: shrimp beautifully cooked; pasta al dente. Bold spices and deep flavors. Absurdly decadent. Spicy, but exactingly balanced by savory richness. Massive portion (hooray for leftovers!). Misses: 1. Pork Belly Rillettes. Rendered to proper texture, but monochromatic and criminally bland: a single, overwhelming note of creamy fattiness sadly unrelieved by seasoning (salt!), spice, or herbs. Served at traditional room temperature (ours was slightly cool), the chicharones and toasted ciabatta could not offset an off-putting consistency fat begins to melt. Think: mouthful of unflavored, congealed lard ... on toast. 2. Duck Confit Spring Rolls. This is upscale dining - not Golden Corral. But for $9, even well-heeled diners expect more than 2 cigarello-thin spring rolls cut in half and stood on end in a failed attempt to gloss over the miserly portion. Served hot and crispy with a tasty sauce, but the imperceptible duck confit fails to distinguish this dish from any halfway-decent Asian-American restaurant fare. 3. Seared Duck Breast. Utterly lacking in seasoning (again, salt!), spice, herbs, or maillard. Ordered and cooked medium, but significant subcutaneous fat somehow left un-rendered and skin side not crisped properly, resulting in rubbery texture. 4. Gruyere Bread Pudding (Side). Savory offering that disappoints mostly due to insufficient seasoning (for the last time, salt!!!) and depth. Bread pudding should be soft, rich, smooth, and custardy - pudding-like, in other words - and not a dry-ish panzonella salad missing the fresh herbs and veggies. Considering the dish is entitled "Gruyere Bread Pudding", Gruyere was noteworthy only for its absence from the the dish's texture or flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A real Gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Kitchen on George. We liked it so much we brought 32 friends to share the experience on May 3. They all loved it too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.