Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

"At the Bar" Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Mother's Day Brunch Buffet at Kitchen on George

Sunday May 14, 2017 from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Kitchen on George now offers a Sunday Brunch Buffet. The menu changes weekly to include seasonal favorites. Check our website & Facebook page for this week's offerings. Reservations suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid Jan 8, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

"At the Bar" Specials

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Weekday Bar Specials available Mon-Fri from 4-6 pm! Enjoy $6 select Small Plates and reduced prices on adult beverages. Valid for bar seating only. Excludes Tax and Tip. See website for more information. Special valid Apr 12, 2017 - Aug 11, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Mother's Day Brunch Buffet at Kitchen on George

Sunday May 14, 2017 from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Details

Celebrate you mom with a beautiful Mother's Day Brunch Buffet at Kitchen on George! Designed by award-winning chef, Bryan M. Cates, this local-focused Brunch Buffet will please and delight the entire family. Menu at website. 251-436-8890. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid on Sunday May 14, 2017 from 10:30 AM - 2:30 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Local Ingredients (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Business Meals (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Historic (12)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very good and the food was wonderful. Definitely try the lobster ravioli!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

First time we have been for Sunday Brunch. It was so good. Most food on their regular menu was on the buffet so that was great. Gave us an opportunity to sample several different items.

(We also have had two bridal brunch's at Kitchen on George...it was great.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in recent memory

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Exceptional in every regard! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This is not a negative review. However, considering its' number 1 rating, I think I was expecting more. The food was very good, not exceptional. Service was very good, not exceptional. Ambiance was very good, and again, not exceptional. A definite top 5 but not sure on the number 1 rating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This little gem is well worth a detour when passing through Mobile

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everyone was extremely nice. We were greeted and immediately seated. The hostess had our reservation available and our waitress was phenomenal. The chefs did an amazing job with the food, from the presentation to the taste.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was amazing and service was outstanding. I highly recommend this place to any and everybody.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food & service. Great dinner with family...highly recommend!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Love this restaurant! Nice atmosphere, great service, very good menu choices. Make a reservation for dinner; not necessary for lunch, usually

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

First place I visit when I come in to town. Marshall is an ace!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was really good. It was my first time for brunch since they converted to buffet. I prefer to order off a menu so I doubt I'll be back for brunch as long as they keep this format. It will not keep me away for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Since opening, Kitchen on George lost their first creative chef who worked her magic on kitchen to table food. The restaurant seems to have also given up what was once one of the best happy hours over to Dauphin's. The new chef is also adding a tasting menu. As a Chicagoan who frequently visits this restaurant while in town, I am hoping the new chef keeps some of the amazing food created by the first chef and does not go too upscale with a tasting menu for a neighborhood gem restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We are visiting from Ohio. The menu is small but the food is fabulous. There were 4 in our party and we all tried something different and we're not disappointed. Our waitress was also very friendly and knew the menu and made great recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I am a bit saddened to say this about one of my favorite places to dine in Mobile:
1. When I got the reservation confirmation call, the person on the line was most unhelpful in bending our reservation slightly (i.e. adding a child to our reservation).
2. After my visit to Kitchen on George, my credit card information was compromised and luckily my bank was quick enough to call me and block my card from being misused further. I am not certain that it happened at the restaurant, but my bank is doing a thorough investigation.
I am disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fabulous dining experience! From start to finish we had the attention of our waitress. My Husbamd and I enjoyed our small plate meal and a couple of cocktails. Portions are large, so 3 plates would have been plenty for 2 people but we got 5: okra, duck confit spring rolls and the shrimp bruschetta were our favorites. The blackened ravioli was not blackened in our opinion and were so-so to us. The fried artichokes were ok but we were so full by that point that may have biased us. We cannot wait to go again. Cute restuarant on residential part of town. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First visit on recommendation of my brother, a chef, while I was passing through. Excellent experience. You think you're on, say, Magazine Street in Nawlins. Was impressed - and pleased to see Mobile supporting such a nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love KOG for every kind of occasion. It's great to be able to walk to a nice restaurant too! Beautiful rooms and nice courtyard option. Servers are attentive and well-trained students at culinary college, as are the kitchen staff. It's a super idea. Menu favorites are retained and we like the use of local ingredients.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went for lunch on Sunday afternoon. Buffet is all that is offered. The food was very good. 2 in the party only wanted a light lunch so $30 was a bit pricey. Did not know that the menu option was not available. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our first time to do the brunch buffet, we thought the selection was excellent and loved the made to order omelette option!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time to dine here and were not disappointed! Great setting, excellent service and delicious food! Portions were very generous. We had small plates of oysters and of fried artichokes; goat cheese salad and entree of shrimp and sausage jambalaya! Everything tasted great! Finished with coffee and brownie with ice cream and caramel syrup!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Between an appetizer and two meals, this was probably the best food we've eaten in a long time. We try to hit the highly reviewed places, and this was the best out of all of them.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service was good but the food left a lot to be desired. I had the fish and grits. The grits were full of cream and goat cheese. Too much. There wasn't a grit consistency at all. The fish was really small and over salted. I kept hearing the kitchen discuss a salad that was extremely big and delicious but mine was very small and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 7, 2017

took a while getting our food due to a pipe that burst in the kitchen. We were told about it and Katherine and the manager apologized. Super nice people. Our desserts were free due to the wait and that was a nice gesture on their part. Will definitely go back because things happen sometimes and it wasn't their fault.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was very good as always. This time it was a little slower and louder, but it was a Saturday evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent so was the service. Waiter gave us a great recommendation for wine. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our waiter was great, food was wonderful, and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love that corkage fee is available for bringing a special bottle of wine if you'd like

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Shrimp was out of this world! Service was excellent. Creative cocktail list. Food was piping hot and done perfectly! Great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall very good. Sat in bar area and was too noisy for me...will request dining room next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place never disappoints! We love it for a nice date night.❤

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unique dishes, excellent service. A fine dinner with my wife for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was ok but the portions for the amount we paid on Valentines Day left little to be desired. Will I go back? At some point but I will not return for a limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went Valentine's Day. We had expected a limited menu but not this limited. My husband and I were very disappointed in the limited menu choices and the taste of the food. There was a choice of 2 soups to choose from, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. We both ordered different soups, entrees and desserts to try them all. Food was not what I had expected and we were very disappointed because it was very expensive for what we ordered. Will not be returning nor recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very pleased with every aspect! Great service, wonderful food and a delightful atmosphere. The portions were very generous, we are well pleased and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The chef's employ the use of culinary school students and therefore there is a critical eye on all plates served and extra effort being used by those wanting to impress for a grade or future employment. The menu is small for lunch but has many tasty items listed. Our table ordered and enjoyed greatly the fried okra small plate as an appetizer. I would order that again. We ordered the goat cheese salad, the ceasar and the corn soup - all of which were very tasty, moderately priced and well received. For the main course, the small plates mean small plates to be cautious of that if you are a big eater. The crab cakes were awesome although tiny. The spring rolls very well presented and tasty although no filling. The BLT was the largest dish served and was very good. We also ordered the shrimp/grits and fish/grits which are worth a trip back on their own. We finished with warm cherry cheesecake and the bread pudding and those are worth a trip just to enjoy on their own. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for a Valentine's day lunch, it was not crowded and James, our server, made the whole visit worthwhile. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious and inspired food, warm and inviting atmosphere, personal and welcoming service. Kitchen on George was absolutely wonderful. The Caesar salad, for example, was laced with subtle smokiness from tender grilled kale. The blackened shrimp and grits was fabulous, with creamy cheese grits complemented by the subtly spicy yet tender gulf shrimp. The kitchen is staffed by culinary students under the careful tutelage of an outstanding chef, so while I was eating exquisite for I was also feeling like I was supporting education! What a great place, at an affordable price!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was excellent! We had an enjoyable evening - just as I expected.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the food and the experience! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.