About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels. Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our cocktail hour from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
11 More
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Fit for Foodies
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

Neighborhood Gem (87)
Special Occasion (82)
Fit for Foodies (79)
See All
Romantic (56)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Brunch (38)
Notable Wine List (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant is in a repurposed house ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined a day ago

The restaurant is in a repurposed house in a quaint neighborhood. The bar and ambiance were great. We were seated next to a very noisy birthday party and politely asked to be moved. Thank you to the staff that understood our desire not to shout at each other over our drinks. The happy hour special cocktail was amazing. Order the blackened shrimp and grits for an amazing shareable plate. The duck was the best preparation I've ever had. The pork was over cooked (ordered as suggested by the server) so skip this option. My brother had the Pontchartrain red snapper and he loved it. We finished with key lime pie and the brownie. Both were perfect. All in all, a wonderful meal! We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great! The service was okay ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great! The service was okay. I personally felt like it could have been better. This was my first visit, but I really can't say I received a good vibe to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Key lime pie was amazing

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Key lime pie was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG. One of the best dining experiences ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

OMG. One of the best dining experiences there in a long time. Ashley was our waitress. She knew everything about the "fresh Gulf fish" on the menu. She was attentive but not overly attentive to be in the way.

I was a little disappointed in the Southern Sampler. The West Indies was not like the traditional one from Mobile's Bayley's restaurant. The salad with goat cheese was everything I expected. Love all food is as local as they can get it.

I ordered the Ponchatrain dish. Never had cobia before but it was everything Ashley said it would be. Loved the sauce with shrimp and Conecuh sausage.

Mojito was one of the best I've ever had.

My friend had the pork rilletos or something like that. They tasted like Golden Flake brand. When you order "cracklings" from the Dumb Waiter they are actually cracking. I didn't taste the "dip" that came with it. Companion also had the Ponchatrain dish. Loved it.

Since we were asked to move from our table to accommodate a party of 12 coming shortly sweet Ashley comped our dessert. Companion had the brûlée and I had the white chocolate bread pudding with cherries.

Both were OUTSTANDING.

Ashley was icing on the cake. She made an outstanding dining experience even better. We will return!

However, the party of 12 barely 21 giggling noisy girls drove us out of there much quicker than we wanted to go. Wish there was someway to fix the noise level. As we exited there was a table of about 8 in the front that was real loud, too. It was a lose - lose on noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great place for a birthday celebration!! ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for a birthday celebration!!! It was my first time to visit. I was very impressed. I treated two family members whose birthdays were days apart. The service was grand. They both were treated with a birthday desert of their choice. I will be back. I loved the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This neighborhood restaurant is a find. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This neighborhood restaurant is a find. Excellent food, great service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The duck was amazing. Excellent wine lis ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The duck was amazing. Excellent wine list and the bartender served the best Maker's Mark Old Fashioned cocktail I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding experience at Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding experience at Sunday brunch. Excellent food and service. Will definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wrote an email to them indicating i th ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I wrote an email to them indicating i thought we may have been overcharged but they have not responded. Also, food portion was way too small. Fool me once shame on me, won't get the chance to fool me again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This establishment is newer on the food ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This establishment is newer on the food scene in downtown Mobile and this was my second visit. I was thoroughly impressed with the service on both occasions and the food is impeccable as always! I look forward to eating at Kitchen on George soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of Japanese visiting Mob ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were a group of Japanese visiting Mobile for a convention. We shared our entrees, so that we could taste and enjoy different dishes....and they were all very delicious!!

They had prepared a large table for us as requested and the atmosphere of the restaurant was also very nice. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely dinner there on a Friday ni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a lovely dinner there on a Friday night for my birthday. Salmon and brie salad was delicious, as was the blackened shrimp and grits. Nice local beer selection. Marble cheesecake was a bit grainy, so would love to try another dessert on our next trip. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding, howe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service were outstanding, however the table of 7 we were seated next to, were unreasonably loud, spoiling the evening. We asked to be reseated, but nothing was available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Meal and drinks were great as always. Sa ...

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Meal and drinks were great as always. Sabrina was super attentive and my guest had an amazing first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with the size and dep ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was disappointed with the size and depth of the wine list. I was hoping for a greater selection.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I expected more from KOG. And for goodn ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I expected more from KOG. And for goodness sake get a stout or porter added to your beer selection. Little disappointed in the food this time. Better luck next time I suppose.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We love Kitchen on George . Food was all ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love Kitchen on George . Food was all good , service too .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent. This is a fun and unique location in an old house located in the garden district neighborhood of Mobile.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was delicious. The wine and coc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our food was delicious. The wine and cocktails were fabulous. Our service was very good. A wonderful experience , except for the noise.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food!! Wonderful selection of ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food!! Wonderful selection of gluten-free items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All our food was excellent from the temp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

All our food was excellent from the tempura fried okra to dessert. The corn and crab soup is my favorite! Great atmosphere and service. Look forward to another visit next time we are in Mobile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too cold inside. Flies inside too. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Way too cold inside. Flies inside too. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

Very accommodating to our group of 12. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very accommodating to our group of 12. We had our own room with a view of the patio. The food was delicious. The server was very nice and was able to split all of our checks accurately. The 20% gratuity was added but we tipped more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of our 4 dinners were quite good. A ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All of our 4 dinners were quite good. As we're the appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Higher priced meal, but that was expect ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Higher priced meal, but that was expected with thefarm to table concept. However, the freshness of the food was not evident and the food lacked flavor. I ordered the blackened shrimp and grits, as well as the fried oysters.

The ambience and the fact that some others enjoyed their meal would prompt me to give them another try

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I have been to Kitchen on George before ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I have been to Kitchen on George before and loved it. This visit, however, was beyond disappointing. Table was not ready when we got there, so we went to the bar and sat..and sat...and sat before finally being asked if we wanted a cocktail. I had to follow up with the hostess to get the table that we had reserved. Our server was not very friendly even while I continued to say thank you, please, etc. every time she was at the table. When I asked if my salmon could be blackened instead of grilled, you would have thought I asked for the moon. You have blackened salmon as an appetizer, so it shouldn't be a big deal to blacken my entrée piece. Once our meal arrived, my salmon was blackened, but the potato and turnip au gratin was stone cold. I sent it back, and when it was returned, the au gratin was warm, but not hot. Also, the three pieces of asparagus were so undercooked, one almost went off the plate when I attempted to cut it and was not seasoned. My business guest had the chicken which the bartender raved about. She advised it needed a good five minutes less cooking as it was very dry. We had to ask our server what the dessert specials were as it was not offered. We ordered two of the blueberry cobblers, which was actually a blueberry cake, not a cobbler. I bake and know the difference. The other person with us also said her cheesecake was "soft". None of us finished dessert. The only saving grace for the night was the goat cheese grits in the shrimp and grits appetizer. All three of us ordered that and wished it was on the menu as an entree'. With regard to the ambiance, our table was right next to the server's station looking up at the upstairs. That paired with the flies buzzing (there were two) was the icing on the cake. I don't know when I will go back and definitely won't be doing any business dinners there until I know the quality has improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good selection. Looking forward to the m ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good selection. Looking forward to the menu change as it gets cooler. My guests were pleased with their meal also.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delicious lunch on a Sunday aft ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a delicious lunch on a Sunday afternoon. I ordered the artichokes, pea shoot and beet salad, biscuits and their special mojito. My husband had the corn and crab soup and the omelette. He loved his too. We shared the amazing key lime pie for dessert. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and went out of their way to accommodate our every request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken was excellent. It woul ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The fried chicken was excellent. It would have been nice for waiter to ask or inform as to what he pieces would be. My daughter said the waffles were fantastic and I had the salad and soup. Both had great taste. The crab and corn soup was a bit spicy with noticeable taste of white pepper. The salad with goat cheese and candied pecans was very good and had just the right amount of vinaigrette. The only miss was that the waitress was going to bring us blueberry lemon muffins but never did. When we asked she said they were in he oven but she never brought them. Overall it was a great Dunne experience and highly recommend the fried chicken with the Tabasco honey drizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I had the "soup" of the day and it was s ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the "soup" of the day and it was supposed to be beef stew and it was more like beef both with huge slices of carrots. It was not satisfying at all. I was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend that at all. For my entree I had the grilled salmon. The grill marks were very pronounced which made the piece of fish taste burned. I understand they wanted to have a pretty presentation but don't sacrifice flavor and taste for aesthetics. Over all I was very disappointed and dissatisfied with the meal. I didn't send anything back because I didn't want to make a fuss about it because I know it is a teaching kitchen. I just won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

When every we are traveling through Mobi ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

When every we are traveling through Mobile, we always make a stop at Kitchen on George, the food is outstanding along with the service. The best restaurant we found in Mobile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food without an exceptionall ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Exceptional food without an exceptionally HIGH price!!!!!! Was very interested in a tapas type of meal, and ordered the entire appetizer menu. IT WAS A GREAT!!! fleshing and very new flavored dishes!!!!! HIGHLY recommended to anyone!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time dining at Kitchen on George a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time dining at Kitchen on George and it was absolutely amazing. Quaint location and amazing local food. Everything was fresh and delectable. Our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful in meal decision-making. I will definitely go again when I'm in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I were put in a cubby with a ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My date and I were put in a cubby with another table of two and a table of 6 boisterous diners . Due to the smallness of the space and the acoustics of the space the noise level took away from the talking with my date.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great restaurant! Good food and atmosph ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great restaurant! Good food and atmosphere. Kitchen on George is on our list of quality restaurants that we will visit throughout the year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service. We really enjoyed the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Wonderful service. We really enjoyed the historic Mobile feel of building. Nice music background. It was very cold and I would recommend having a sweater or dinner jacket. We were dissapointed with duck spring rolls and fried okra because they were very greasy. The corn chowder was very flavorful and my favorite of the night. Beet and pea salad was refreshing. I ordered crab cakes for main dish but they were fishy tasting in the middle. Black drum ponchatrain had great complex sauce but I felt conecuh overpowered the delicate fish and shrimp. Oustanding service by our waiter and manager Steven. Will definitely try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a table of five people for my bir ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a table of five people for my birthday dinner. We ordered 3 larges plates, 4 small plates, a salad, and one dessert. The small plates were nice for us to taste a few different things. The only recommendation I have is that if the small plate is not enough for everyone to have a bite the server should make the table aware. For example there were four oysters and five people. Everything we ordered was amazing taste wise! Definitely going to be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is too expensive for all that ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place is too expensive for all that it wants convey as a fine dining restaurant. It is just average to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I have been to Kitchen On George many ti ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I have been to Kitchen On George many times. This is the last time! Our waiter was terrible, the food and drinks were very overpriced. We had to sit at the bar to get our

Happy hour drinks. The bartender was as sullen as they come. Obviously, he did not want to be there.

IBelieve me, it is truly not worth the price!!! There is nothing special about the menu. A piece of baked chicken (small piece at that), a blob, and I mean blob of mashed potatoes, and green beans for $22.00. Come on! If it was tasty, that would be a different story. Unfortunately it was not. Bye, bye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Kitchen on George was a wonderful dinner ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Kitchen on George was a wonderful dinner experience for us! The staff is awesome and the atmosphere is sexy. Great for a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.