About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels. Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our cocktail hour from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
12 More
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Fit for Foodies
Mobile
Romantic
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

Special Occasion (73)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Fit for Foodies (62)
See All
Romantic (47)
Great for Lunch (42)
Great for Brunch (39)
Good for Groups (33)
Notable Wine List (18)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tapas (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing. We eat local red snapp ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing. We eat local red snapper with jambalaya. Staff was very friendly . we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I sat at the bar. Regretfully, I cannot ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

I sat at the bar. Regretfully, I cannot recall the bar tender's name. He was an Ace. Prompt, polite, engaging, knowledgeable, and spot on with his recommendations. Kitchen on George is a gem. Nice, clean, contemporary atmosphere, with excellent local cuisine. I recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to return to this restaurant ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined 6 days ago

We continue to return to this restaurant. The food quality and service is consistently very good. It was nice to have a quiet early dinner with great food....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Met my son and daughter in law for lunch ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 6 days ago

Met my son and daughter in law for lunch. It was the perfect portion; we will make it a regular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Historic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always cooked to perfection. ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food is always cooked to perfection. I have never had a bad meal or have had bad service. I would recommend Kitchen on George to anyone. They also have a great wine and adult beverage menu.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and service was superb, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was amazing and service was superb, went for a girls luncheon and will definitely return, it's small but well appointed and staffed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but menu is limited a ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was delicious but menu is limited and they don't change it very often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

The new chef is taking staples off the m ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The new chef is taking staples off the menu like Duck breast. Also changed the duck spring rolls to egg rolls, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been a huge fan since KOG opened. H ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been a huge fan since KOG opened. Have never had a bad meal, had to wait, always EXCELLENT fiis, drinks and service! When out of downers ask for recommendations for dining I always mention KOG.

Keep doing what you're doing...it works!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant spot for a meal, in this c ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very pleasant spot for a meal, in this case a Sunday post church lunch-brunch, but also true at night and other times. We did what we frequently do at lunch here and that is split the superb okra appetizer, a salad (in this case a seasonal pea and beet salad), and a George burger---all very good and 1/2 portions perfect at lunch. Very good service and excellent food, the salad particularly good and a little edgy. Only complaint is that the Alabama law is so ridiculous, even tho we had been to church and had communion we were unable to have a Bloody Mary because it was before noon!!! We knew that before we went---but then there is always hoping!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

These folks really major in customer ser ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

These folks really major in customer service. Ashley was awesome and she made us feel like we were part of a family, she made our experience really special.From the time we set foot in the door, we were treated with excellent customer service. We chose this restaurant based on the Open Table ratings and they did not disappoint. Knowing that we were from out of town, our waiter offered us a sampler platter of their best sellers. The goat cheese grits were off the chart. Everything was delicious and portioned just right. We will definitely come back on our next visit to Mobile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and great service. Best ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding food and great service. Best in the area by far!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food WAS Disappointing. Shrimp and ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food WAS Disappointing. Shrimp and grits drowned in butter. Tough shrimp. The BLT was very sparse on the bacon and the sauce was just so so. Their potato fry's were excellent. I asked the waiter for some mustard for my BLT, he never brought it. It is a great setting. They need to have a serious talk with their chef. For my money I would go to Jacksons in Pensacola for similar food and they knock it out of the park. I would nor recommend to a friend. Too bad, we had high hopes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We dine here at least two times a week f ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We dine here at least two times a week for lunch or dinner. The food is incredible and we love Chef Bryan's fresh catch specials. The service is also outstanding, Marcie is our favorite server.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is like a hidden gem. My anni ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This place is like a hidden gem. My anniversary dinner was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were introduced to it before it requi ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were introduced to it before it required a reservation for Sunday brunch. Still love it. We try to share it with others and especially visitors to the area. It is an out of the way must in a quaint historic neighborhood. The food is always exceptional and far above expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drink were hard to beat, di ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and drink were hard to beat, different, intriguing and just the right sport ion size. It was cozy and intimate. It was the first visit for the friends we were with and they are now new fans.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The best Restauarant in mobile,period we ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The best Restauarant in mobile,period we went after all the good reviews we read.I can see why it isso highly recommend.do not pass it up

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Organic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in a repurposed house ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The restaurant is in a repurposed house in a quaint neighborhood. The bar and ambiance were great. We were seated next to a very noisy birthday party and politely asked to be moved. Thank you to the staff that understood our desire not to shout at each other over our drinks. The happy hour special cocktail was amazing. Order the blackened shrimp and grits for an amazing shareable plate. The duck was the best preparation I've ever had. The pork was over cooked (ordered as suggested by the server) so skip this option. My brother had the Pontchartrain red snapper and he loved it. We finished with key lime pie and the brownie. Both were perfect. All in all, a wonderful meal! We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband was in Mobile for work and it ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband was in Mobile for work and it was our third anniversary so I drove down... This was an excellent place for us to celebrate!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great neighborhood restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is a great neighborhood restaurant in the historic Oakleigh neighborhood. Delicious salads (I love the Brie and Salmon), excellent small plates, such as crispy calamari, fried oysters (excellent), fried okra, as well as regular entree dishes are served, and they have the creamiest shrimp and grits you'll ever find. KOG serves lunch, dinner, and has a great happy hour from 4 -6 weekdays, with half price specialty drinks and small plate specials at a very reasonable price. (Called drinks are not included however). An excellent choice off the beaten path in a beautiful old neighborhood close to downtown Mobile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great! The service was okay ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was great! The service was okay. I personally felt like it could have been better. This was my first visit, but I really can't say I received a good vibe to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Key lime pie was amazing

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Key lime pie was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OMG. One of the best dining experiences ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

OMG. One of the best dining experiences there in a long time. Ashley was our waitress. She knew everything about the "fresh Gulf fish" on the menu. She was attentive but not overly attentive to be in the way.

I was a little disappointed in the Southern Sampler. The West Indies was not like the traditional one from Mobile's Bayley's restaurant. The salad with goat cheese was everything I expected. Love all food is as local as they can get it.

I ordered the Ponchatrain dish. Never had cobia before but it was everything Ashley said it would be. Loved the sauce with shrimp and Conecuh sausage.

Mojito was one of the best I've ever had.

My friend had the pork rilletos or something like that. They tasted like Golden Flake brand. When you order "cracklings" from the Dumb Waiter they are actually cracking. I didn't taste the "dip" that came with it. Companion also had the Ponchatrain dish. Loved it.

Since we were asked to move from our table to accommodate a party of 12 coming shortly sweet Ashley comped our dessert. Companion had the brûlée and I had the white chocolate bread pudding with cherries.

Both were OUTSTANDING.

Ashley was icing on the cake. She made an outstanding dining experience even better. We will return!

However, the party of 12 barely 21 giggling noisy girls drove us out of there much quicker than we wanted to go. Wish there was someway to fix the noise level. As we exited there was a table of about 8 in the front that was real loud, too. It was a lose - lose on noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Great place for a birthday celebration!! ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for a birthday celebration!!! It was my first time to visit. I was very impressed. I treated two family members whose birthdays were days apart. The service was grand. They both were treated with a birthday desert of their choice. I will be back. I loved the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This neighborhood restaurant is a find. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This neighborhood restaurant is a find. Excellent food, great service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The duck was amazing. Excellent wine lis ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The duck was amazing. Excellent wine list and the bartender served the best Maker's Mark Old Fashioned cocktail I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding experience at Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding experience at Sunday brunch. Excellent food and service. Will definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wrote an email to them indicating i th ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I wrote an email to them indicating i thought we may have been overcharged but they have not responded. Also, food portion was way too small. Fool me once shame on me, won't get the chance to fool me again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

This establishment is newer on the food ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This establishment is newer on the food scene in downtown Mobile and this was my second visit. I was thoroughly impressed with the service on both occasions and the food is impeccable as always! I look forward to eating at Kitchen on George soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of Japanese visiting Mob ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were a group of Japanese visiting Mobile for a convention. We shared our entrees, so that we could taste and enjoy different dishes....and they were all very delicious!!

They had prepared a large table for us as requested and the atmosphere of the restaurant was also very nice. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely dinner there on a Friday ni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a lovely dinner there on a Friday night for my birthday. Salmon and brie salad was delicious, as was the blackened shrimp and grits. Nice local beer selection. Marble cheesecake was a bit grainy, so would love to try another dessert on our next trip. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding, howe ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service were outstanding, however the table of 7 we were seated next to, were unreasonably loud, spoiling the evening. We asked to be reseated, but nothing was available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Meal and drinks were great as always. Sa ...

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Meal and drinks were great as always. Sabrina was super attentive and my guest had an amazing first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed with the size and dep ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I was disappointed with the size and depth of the wine list. I was hoping for a greater selection.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I expected more from KOG. And for goodn ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I expected more from KOG. And for goodness sake get a stout or porter added to your beer selection. Little disappointed in the food this time. Better luck next time I suppose.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We love Kitchen on George . Food was all ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We love Kitchen on George . Food was all good , service too .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food and service were excellent. This is a fun and unique location in an old house located in the garden district neighborhood of Mobile.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our food was delicious. The wine and coc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our food was delicious. The wine and cocktails were fabulous. Our service was very good. A wonderful experience , except for the noise.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food!! Wonderful selection of ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food!! Wonderful selection of gluten-free items!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.