Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. We celebrated our 6th anniversary recently and have been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor for 4 years in a row!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
WHAT: New Year’s Eve Prix-Fixe Dinner

WHEN: Sunday, Dec. 31, from 4-9:30 p.m.

WHERE: 351A George St. – Mobile, AL

RESERVATIONS: The Prix Fixe dinner is $45 per person plus tax & gratuity. A an optional wine pairing is also available, $28. Please reserve by calling 251-436-8890 or online at www.kitchenongeorge.com (Please note we will be closed for Brunch Dec. 31.)

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve 2017 at Kitchen on George!
Chef Bryan Cates & the culinary team are excited to present our local-focused New Year's Eve Prix Fixe menu and welcome you to make reservations today. $45 per person +tax & gratuity.We will be serving exclusively from this menu on New Year's Eve

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 5 days ago

A fun-filled night with great friends and great asthenosphere ,waitress and service were excellent. Definitely would recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were wonderful. Made a special night even better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great job! Everything we had was fantastic. We’ll be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Took my wife of 48 years - just to bless her. While the price is way outside the scope of my wallet - it was worth it - my wife was very pleased! Thank you!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Our food was great but disappointed we were not asked about having dessert??

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Missed having all the Tapas you once offered on the Menu. Had to get up to remind staff to bring our wine refills. Miss not being able to dine on Sunday evenings. The overhead lighting kept flickering bright, then dim.

All that said, KOG is still a good, relatively quiet place to have a nice meal, and our server was very nice. Unfortunately, Mobile has very few places like it so we'd definitely recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

I love Kitchen on the George. The food and service are always exceptional. I also love the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Love this place, excellent food and the staff is great!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on November 22, 2017

People from Chicago. Use to great local neighborhood restaurant. They were impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 21, 2017

I’m so glad they brought back the Salmon salad to the lunch menu!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2017

My wife and I are foodies, we travel and entertain in our work, and we cook and entertain at home. If it is not as good as we can make at home it is not worth paying for it out. It was Sunday Brunch and we ordered omelets and they arrived at room temperature - the cheese was not even melted. The remainder of the meal was from their Sunday Buffet - the waffles were tough as cardboard, the syrup was cold, some of the biscuits tasted fresh some did not. The overall buffet was not impressive.

The service was great the coffee was great but after two attempts - we are not going back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great place to dine. I’m not a frequent dinner but when I do get out, your restaurant is at the top of my list. Some new items on the menu would be nice.

MFR

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Delicious mahi mahi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

I have enjoyed this restaurant in the past and enjoyed. We started with the Roasted Mushroom soup and Caesar Salad which were both good. Then My daughter had the duck - it was wonderful! I ordered the Risotto and was very disappointed.
Although I would probably go back once more to see if it was just a bad day, I did expect better all the way around.
S

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great service and excellent food. Gary was our Waiter and was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

My husband and I went to the Sunday brunch buffet. I was a little concerned at first because the selection was quite small for the price, but the small selection was made up for with the excellent quality of the food. Everything was beyond delicious; I just wish I could eat more of it. The only thing that was a bummer to me was that there were not any drink specials. I feel that a good brunch should have good drink specials, namely mimosas and bloody Mary’s. That is the reason I gave four stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Food presentation was great. Roasted mushroom soup lacked flavor, west indies salad was a little disappointing. Tempura veggies tasted good but batter was too thick. shrimp and grits was very good. Overall good dining experience...just a few pointers!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We made reservations and arrived an hour early and the whole restaurant was empty. They agreed our early arrival was better for them. We were sat with an empty restaurant with a 2 top table that was not level. My husband went to another room and got napkins to shove under the table. I also asked twice if the crab corn soup had mayo and was told no as the sat it in front of me. So when I discovered my crab cake soaked in it at the bottom I pretty much gagged and do not remotely remember the rest of my 140.00 meal for 2. A nicer table as it wasn’t even a 1/3 full when leaving and menu knowledge would go a long way. I used to rave about this place and I told my husband I don’t know if I can go back. Not for the money spent. To be fair, my specific server did not ill inform me, it was another random person who brought my food. He was very nice. Only bright side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Absolutely love Kitchen on George. It's my favorite place to take out of towners and to celebrate notable occasions. Two years in a row for my birthday brunch. Service is always spectacular and the food is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I have dined at this establishment every time I come into town. The food is always very divine and the service excellent. This time the bar service was at a snails pace and the restaurant seemed tired. The bathroom was not up to par and seriously needed service. I think a layer of paint would help the feel all the way around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great place for quiet meal and will be coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant in a neighborhood setting. Garden to table approach. Try the cream of mushroom soup with smoked Gouda brûlée!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Service was stellar. Fillet, Risoo, and Mushroom soup were the stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had friends with us for their first time and they were very impressed. Unfortunately, there were not many other guest there, probably because they were cleaning up from the little huricane that hit us. We had great service as usual.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

the food just tries to be too fancy and it is way over priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch at Kitchen on George. We each ordered the mixed salad greens and fried oysters on a bed of butter lettuce. The salad was fresh and delicious; the oysters were crisp, tender and well seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always great! We love dining here, food and service always good

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our meal was wonderful!! Our waitress, Sabrina, was a delight!! Great food and great service. We have dined there before, and it is always so great! Everything was cooked perfectly and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It is always fun and the food is always great and Sabrina made it even more special!!! Thanks for another wonderful meal!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was surprising to find this gem in a residential neighborhood. A group went for brunch. Some of the offerings were typical, but several were outstanding, esp the bisque/soup and the grits with shrimp. Unfortunately our waiter was not very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Kitchen on George never disappoints! Great service, great menu, great chef, great neighborhood. Consistently amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good food and service. Nice romantic setting. We had the two specials of the day a scallop and amberjack dish both were great!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding service, ambiance, and food. Thanks to the entire staff at Kitchen On George for a great lunch in celebration of the birthdays of two co-workers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We are always pleased with the food, the staff, and the ambiance. We recommend to others and they are always pleased as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a great time. It was our anniversary, and they treated us like royalty. Food was excellent! The wine was excellent! Wow experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our waitress was professional and helpful. The food was superb! This was our first visit. In fact, we were unaware of the restaurant's existence before Sept. 11. My husband discovered Kitchen on George on a phone app. Then, when he told a friend we had made a reservation for my birthday, the friend exclaimed they had been there and we were going to love it. And guess what....we did!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 10, 2017

"Five stars!" I felt as I left. I used 4 stars only because THIS IS A RESTAURANT THAT, for us locals, IS AT AN UNFAMILIAR TIER OF ACCOMPLISHMENT. We dream of restaurants this crafty. You must go east to perhaps Savannah and west to Bay St. Louis to find this creativity! Of course, being mere mortals, the price is a bit proud. I'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing!!!! Very different options on menu, but does not disappoint. We will be back!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.