About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Kitchen on George now offers a Sunday Brunch Buffet. The menu changes weekly to include seasonal favorites. Check our website & Facebook page for this week's offerings. Reservations suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid Jan 8, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Cozy (17)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Historic (12)
Healthy (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall very good. Sat in bar area and was too noisy for me...will request dining room next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 5 days ago

This place never disappoints! We love it for a nice date night.❤

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unique dishes, excellent service. A fine dinner with my wife for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was ok but the portions for the amount we paid on Valentines Day left little to be desired. Will I go back? At some point but I will not return for a limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went Valentine's Day. We had expected a limited menu but not this limited. My husband and I were very disappointed in the limited menu choices and the taste of the food. There was a choice of 2 soups to choose from, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. We both ordered different soups, entrees and desserts to try them all. Food was not what I had expected and we were very disappointed because it was very expensive for what we ordered. Will not be returning nor recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very pleased with every aspect! Great service, wonderful food and a delightful atmosphere. The portions were very generous, we are well pleased and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The chef's employ the use of culinary school students and therefore there is a critical eye on all plates served and extra effort being used by those wanting to impress for a grade or future employment. The menu is small for lunch but has many tasty items listed. Our table ordered and enjoyed greatly the fried okra small plate as an appetizer. I would order that again. We ordered the goat cheese salad, the ceasar and the corn soup - all of which were very tasty, moderately priced and well received. For the main course, the small plates mean small plates to be cautious of that if you are a big eater. The crab cakes were awesome although tiny. The spring rolls very well presented and tasty although no filling. The BLT was the largest dish served and was very good. We also ordered the shrimp/grits and fish/grits which are worth a trip back on their own. We finished with warm cherry cheesecake and the bread pudding and those are worth a trip just to enjoy on their own. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for a Valentine's day lunch, it was not crowded and James, our server, made the whole visit worthwhile. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious and inspired food, warm and inviting atmosphere, personal and welcoming service. Kitchen on George was absolutely wonderful. The Caesar salad, for example, was laced with subtle smokiness from tender grilled kale. The blackened shrimp and grits was fabulous, with creamy cheese grits complemented by the subtly spicy yet tender gulf shrimp. The kitchen is staffed by culinary students under the careful tutelage of an outstanding chef, so while I was eating exquisite for I was also feeling like I was supporting education! What a great place, at an affordable price!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was excellent! We had an enjoyable evening - just as I expected.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the food and the experience! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a nice dinner. We were happily surprised with this restaurant. Small, nice atmosphere. Great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The servers were very kind and helpful. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My brother and I met with our younger sister for lunch. Food, service, etc all excellent. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 6, 2017

James our server was wonderful as usual. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great green salad with chevre and green goddess dressing. Shrimp and grits were good, as was the bread pudding. We enjoyed the buffet, but thought it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Used to be amazing. Was so disappointed this time. :(

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Everything was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I always try TripAdvisor top rated restaurants in each town or city we visit. This is the BEST of them all!! Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I like Kitchen on George, but it would be really good if they could provide more vegetarian options. It seems to always be the sandwich, which is often disappointing. This time, the bread was under toasted and soggy. The friend who joined me said she will never go there again. She eats vegetarian and has been disappointed every time she's visited. I had the salmon small plate and the crab cakes small plate and both were very good, but the salmon was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have gone to buffet on Sunday brunch..food was fine but not a fan of buffets..I like to order what I would like from the kitchen. Also, so many people up and down getting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was excellent! You have the option of getting a small plate or a regular dinner. Small plates with a salad was just right! Excellent service and friendly staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was top notch. Edgar was a really good server. I thought it was bad to be charged $3.00 additional for a refill of tea. This is definitely for us a special occasion kind of place. Too expensive for the size of portion to be a regular on our lunch rotation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Charming restaurant in an old house with a lot of character. There was a great selection of appetizers, salads, small plates and entrees. Very friendly staff and there was no rush to order. I would definitely return if I was in the area again and I would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went with a couple friends for Sunday brunch. They only had a buffet with no menu items. The food was good but the buffet was $30 and they charged $9 for a glass of champagne. There are too many other brunch spots in town with a much better ambiance and exceptional food for a substantially lower price. I will definitely not be back for brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Completely enjoyed our lunch. Food was outstanding along with our service. Will be back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great service! Excellent seafood, prepared to order and really delicious. We enjoyed crabcakes, duck confit, fried okra, corn & crab chowder and caesar salad. Good wine list ...really enjoyable. Highly recommend . Friendly town...great food.

We'll be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Crab cakes are delicious and the perfect size for lunch, along with the Kale Caesar salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Superb meal ... prepared to perfection. Very clean and comfortable setting with easy street side parking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I loved this place! Everything about it was perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service from our server Sabrina. The New Years menu was fantastic, especially the fried oysters.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaraunt with good food nice atmosphere and small enough not to be noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kitchen on George never disappoints. The food was wonderful and the service was

excellent! I highly recommend this place, if you have not tried it you are missing out!

The tempura fried okra with soy dipping sauce is an appetizer must!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great lunch! Be sure and try the tempura okra-it is incredible! Beautiful space also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Favorite place to eat in town! Always consistently excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The chicken dish was light on meat and overdone. The pasta was good and surprisingly a very big meal. Great crab cakes and good dessert. Street parking wasn't an issue on Weds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We came for Sunday Brunch ... a family favorite.

On the plus side ... Our server James was spectacular.

On the negative side ... The beef special (communicated verbally) was grossly overpriced, and unfortunately we did not ask for the price before two members of our party ordered it. As a dish ... it was tasty, well presented and the serving size was appropriate for brunch, but the value did not match the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was remarkable. I was impressed. Needed a baguette with my foi gras, but other than that, it was very good. The atmosphere was great for a special occasion. The service was wonderful. Thanks for a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. The goat cheese salad is the most interesting and tasty salad I've ever had. The fried oysters were perfectly cooked, and the spicy sauce was a nice complement.

Unless you go at an off time, make reservations. The place is fairly small, and seems to be quite popular, even on a week night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We choose this restaurant based on other reviews and were pleased. The service was very good and the food was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. There was plenty of options for everyone (menu is online).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best-of-2016 dining experience for my group of 10 celebrating daughter-in-law's Master's Degree ceremony at U of South Alabama. Fried okra a must, entrees (including daily special of wreckfish, scallops and shallots) outstanding, service was impeccable. Our only comment would be with respect to the bread offering with meal...very ordinary and not up to the level of all else. That, my friends, is admittedly picking a piece of lint off the collar, so to speak.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My party of four got the Duroc Pork Duo, the Blackened catch of the day (grouper), and the grilled salmon. The bread, the beer, the food, and the service was amazing and we will definitely come back! There is only one thing to add- the salmon dinner was a bit too salty and my mother was just a little disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was ok. Menus were worn. A little pricey for what you get in terms of the amount of food. My beef tenderloin was good but a small serving.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had a group of 14. The food and service were impeccable! Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Overall ... typically outstanding, although the server was less attentive than normal and somewhat forgetful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Had the pasta dish and just too much paste was also most like me mac n cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter was excellent. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a nice place in a neighborhood with several small dining rooms and an outdoor area. Our server was excellent- knew the menu, conversational and attentive but. It overly so. Local seafood dishes were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great as always, however missing several of the items normally found on the menu, like the crawfish stuffed mirliton. Was told the new chief may bring it back. But he has brought some new items also, so maybe the can find another favorite

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.