Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner. Great staff. Will return for another great meal. First time to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The new chef is offering a menu that seems heavy for a very hot August night in Mobile, with lamb, duck, beef, hot soup as well as an expensive complicated sounding fish special and happily the shrimp and grits are still there. There is no salmon sadly. One server had every table so everything was slow and a special request was denied. We hope it gets back to the way we remembered, and soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

I have never had less than a stellar experience at Kitchen on George. This past Tuesday was no exception. Our server was very descriptive of the options, attentive, but not hovering. Excellent meal and a fine, but not stuffy, environment. It is so pleasant to enjoy such wonderful cuisine in the heart of the Oakleigh Historic District, in our beautiful Mobile, Alabama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

5 star potential but I would skip the buffet-only-Sunday-brunch especially without notice as we experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was my second visit, food and service were very good, but it's too noisy for me!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Have patronized Kitchen since it opened. The past two visits to Kitchen were disappointing. This past week I was five minutes late on the reservation, and I received a call from the hostess as I was walking through the door. This was slightly irritating.
Quality and quantity of food is down from prior experiences.
I ordered a Manhattan and the glass was only half full.
Overall experience -- Blah. It will be a awhile before you see me again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The restaurant is quaint, sent in they renovated older house in an older district of downtown Mobile. This makes for a very interesting and unique ambience, but also can be quite noisy and not necessarily a great place for a quiet dinner. The kitchen, staffed with students from a local culinary Institute, produced food was exceptional taste and quality, however the salad that my wife ordered and the sandwich that I ordered for both overdressed reading it to become soggy before it could be eaten. On another note, our waiter was very attentive, but seemed overstretched by the volume of customers he was waiting on.

Overall I found the eating experience to be very pleasant and would return to this establishment again. It offers and exceptional environment and great opportunity for gatherings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Been often and never leave disappointed. From appetizer to dessert the dishes
are creative and tasty.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Kitchen on George is a nice neighborhood place with a cosy feel , usually too cold temperature wise, the food is fantastic yet the service lacks the quality the food makes up for, empty dishes usually are not removed before full plates are delivered, creating chaos on a very small table, often waiters are addressing you standing with their hands in their pockets or leaning on the empty table next to you, servers give me the same feel that retail employees give addressing you when you enter their store because it is part of their law and empty words...

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was very good. It was a little prices for lunch ($15 sandwiches) but the food was excellent. It took a little too long on getting the food out - so it is difficult for a quick lunch during work week.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

This is a restaurant which includes culinary students under the head chef and we loved it. It was just my mom and I for a nice, casual dinner and it was perfect. The food was delicious with creative presentation, great local fare. Next time in Mobile i'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Dinner was delicious. The mushroom soup, Caesar salad, and fried okra were excellent. The lamb, duck, and tenderloin entrees were a hit. Two tenderloins were rare, not medium, but so tasty that we kept them as they were. Desserts were very good, too, especially the orange cheesecake. The only fail was the West Indies salad; it was not marinated. Good service, and atmosphere. A Mobile must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have always LOVED going to Kitchen on George. But this past Sunday's brunch was not like it used to be. It is now a buffet that is WAY OVERPRICED. We had to ask for everything at least one time after ordering (bloody mary, more coffee, etc.) I will say the omelet was good - i was glad to be able to order something that wasn't on the buffet. But this shouldn't have cost more than $12-15. It was $30 and very disappointing. Also, my friend and I were lingering for a bit, thinking that KOG is open until 3 pm like the sign says at the door, but one of the servers told us they close at 2 pm. So we felt like we were being kicked out. I really hate to leave this negative review because I have been a BIG FAN of KOG for years. But the buffet really brings what I considered an "upscale" restaurant into an everyday "get this anywhere on I-10" level. I will not return on Sunday. I MIGHT will still give them a try during week but only after I've talked around to be sure the weekdays are as good as in the past. So sorry, ya'll. But you asked for a review. I can't give a positive one this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was our first time at the brunch buffet and I must say it was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Celebrated my birthday in Alabama. First time here and heard a lot of great reviews so I was eager to try. Amazing food!! I highly recommend this place because they care about you. From farm to table meals to awesome hospitality. I would definitely be back on my next visit. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Kitchen on George was one of my favorite restaurants. We quit going on Sundays because we don't like the buffet and now won't go for lunch other days. New menu is too limited and all my favorite dishes are now gone. Shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We had a great time! The brunch was worth every penny. Very kind and friendly staff. Abby was very attentive to our table. Great food selection for brunch. Bread pudding and Bloody Mary sealed the meal! We will return. The omelettes cooked to order and they looked great although we did not order one because there was more than enough food to choose from the buffet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our second time there and they once again went above and beyond. The food was amazing and the customer service was outstanding. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was excellent. Very fresh. Seasoned and prepared perfectly. Our server was fantastic. Great dining experience. I will definitely go back... I want to try the brunch.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had stopped at this restaurant on our way from Houston to Florida at the beginning of June. It was delicious and everyone was very friendly. So, when our 23 yr old daughter decided to ride back with us to Houston, We knew we had to stop again so she could enjoy the dinner as well. It was equally as wonderful... The staff seem to enjoy their jobs

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

K on G is still batting a thousand, and that's saying a lot based on the number of times I've been here. Clearly a top 3 choice in Mobile. I still contend their fried oysters with aoli are the best in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Very creative boutique food in a charming cottage in the historic Oalleigh neighborhood. It's clearly a local favorite and the food was good to great, with friendly and capable service. Recommended

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I was a little disappointed that our 18 year anniversary was not acknowledged at all when I specifically put it in comments when booking. Never even a mention.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was good, however the portion sizes are small and expensive. Would like to see a little bit more food on the plate. It was very yummy! However maybe I'm just being greedy! Not an everyday restaurant due to the price. Strictly a special occasion dining venue.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food and great service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was very flavorful and the service was amazing. First time we had been there was very good we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went for Father's Day brunch. Food was very good and fresh, and staff was very good at keeping the buffet well stocked. Service could have been better. Once we mentioned that we hoped to enjoy a leisurely brunch, the server stopped rushing us to order the make your own omelette which was part of the brunch ( the first 15 minutes felt like the server wanted us to hurry up and eat, despite many empty tables - we stayed a total of 90 minutes). The server seemed unaware of things such as refilling empty coffee cups, and we had to ask for more coffee several times. We plan to try again for dinner and hope service is better the second time around.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had never been to the area so this was a first. A friend sent us a gift card to the restaurant because he knew we were foodies. What a wonderful place as the menu and then the food are the best. We tried the 5 item tasting and were treated to some of the best food in a very long time. Wine and beer menu was designed to fit the food selections. All I can finish with is that you need to try it! You will not be disappointed. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I went to this restaurant with 3 business associates based upon a local recommendation. The restaurant is located in a neighborhood zoned area with street parking.
I ordered the crab and corn soup and beef tenderloin. The soup was a thick creamy (very rich) soup that was quite tasty. Three of us ordered the beef tenderloin. A 6 oz piece of meat that was perfect size after finishing that very filling soup. The beef was cooked to what I asked for and was excellent.
The entree menu is a bit limited. The catch of the day was an anchor fish which was described as more of a meaty steak than a light fish so I passed on that.

Recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I found this place online while looking up good places to eat while visiting Mobile AL. I am very pleased with the decision to dine here. We liked the location, the ambiance and the quality of food was exceptional! The shared menu dishes were larger than other farm to restaurants I have been to (positive.)
Lastly, our waiter Duskin was patient and kind. We will visit King on George again. I have already recommended this place to people I met along my weekend visit here!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The fried okra was in a heavier batter than previous visits which was okay. The duck spring rolls wrapper is too thick. The wrapper was soggy when it came out and got soggier by being placed in the sauce. The lighter skin wrapper would have stayed crispy. When we asked about specials the response was the amberjack was fod and "some sort of cheesy pasta" was the other special. The lamb was good, the amberjack pontchartrain was good. Risotto was advertised as local spring vegetables but had pickled carrots and some mushrooms. Nothing local about either item in our area this time of year. The addition of beurre Blanca and olive oil on the over cooked and gummy risotto was too oily and contributed nothing. The risotto had the texture of glue and the consistency of rice pudding. Was looking for some of the special food we see posted as we are frequent diners and like to see new things. Nothing like the food we see posted on Facebook page.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Kitchen on George is always excellent. We had not been there for over a month due to some medical issues for both of us. They have a new menu which was great. The mushroom soup was fabulous. My wife raved about the duck leg.

It took a little more time than usual in being our food. The server kept us informed all along and gave us free dessert because of the wait. The wait was not very long but she went well beyond to make sure we had a good evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The shrimp and grits is just fabulous! The atmosphere was lovely and the service was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Fabulous as always. Never had a bad bite. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We enjoyed the buffet style breakfast- however we witnessed at least four different families/customers leave once they found out it was a buffet. This is not well advertised on web page and the customers were confused that it was only buffet style! Other than that great service and the food was delicious!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I had the 80 day aged Steak! It was delicious and the combination of flavors was to divine. The atmosphere was wonderful and the location was perfect! Old Mobile with twist is what we was looking for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Attended a work lunch here. Food was great but every member of our party was freezing! I noticed that the air was set on 68, colder than I think most diners would prefer. Had the flatbread with seasonal veggies and it was delicious. Would recommend but suggest bringing a jacket!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always love eating here. Our wait staff seemed to need a refresher course on utensil placement, wine glass placement, and NOT talking to the backs of peoples' heads. Otherwise, the food was delicious as always.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Perfect! Simple to make a reservation on line. Awesome staff. Amazing food. Love that the menu changes from time to time. Would highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I hate to send a bad review, but my wife and I had one of the worst meals we have ever eaten. Service was good and pleasant. The table we were sitting at was to close to the next one. So, we could hear everything they were discussing. The food was awful. I had a Catfish that was over breaded and lacked a nice taste. My wife ordered a Flatbread that tasted like it contained all the left overs from other entree's. The sad thing is, this was not our first visit to the restaurant and it was always a excellent meal. This was not the case on this evening. $130.00 later and my wife left hungry. This is a restaurant that has a changing menu and that can make it interesting. This particular menu needs to be changed immediately! It will be a while before I ever consider going to it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.