Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

"At the Bar" Small Plate & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Specials

"At the Bar" Small Plate & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Weekday Bar Specials available Mon-Fri from 4-6 pm! Enjoy $6 select Small Plates and reduced prices on adult beverages. Valid for bar seating only. Excludes Tax and Tip. See website for more information. Special valid Oct 2, 2017 - Dec 29, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Kitchen on George now offers a Sunday Brunch Buffet. The menu changes weekly to include seasonal favorites. Check our website & Facebook page for this week's offerings. Reservations suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid Oct 8, 2017 - Dec 17, 2017 on Sundays from 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Romantic (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely love Kitchen on George. It's my favorite place to take out of towners and to celebrate notable occasions. Two years in a row for my birthday brunch. Service is always spectacular and the food is amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I have dined at this establishment every time I come into town. The food is always very divine and the service excellent. This time the bar service was at a snails pace and the restaurant seemed tired. The bathroom was not up to par and seriously needed service. I think a layer of paint would help the feel all the way around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for quiet meal and will be coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant in a neighborhood setting. Garden to table approach. Try the cream of mushroom soup with smoked Gouda brûlée!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was stellar. Fillet, Risoo, and Mushroom soup were the stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had friends with us for their first time and they were very impressed. Unfortunately, there were not many other guest there, probably because they were cleaning up from the little huricane that hit us. We had great service as usual.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

the food just tries to be too fancy and it is way over priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch at Kitchen on George. We each ordered the mixed salad greens and fried oysters on a bed of butter lettuce. The salad was fresh and delicious; the oysters were crisp, tender and well seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always great! We love dining here, food and service always good

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our meal was wonderful!! Our waitress, Sabrina, was a delight!! Great food and great service. We have dined there before, and it is always so great! Everything was cooked perfectly and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It is always fun and the food is always great and Sabrina made it even more special!!! Thanks for another wonderful meal!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was surprising to find this gem in a residential neighborhood. A group went for brunch. Some of the offerings were typical, but several were outstanding, esp the bisque/soup and the grits with shrimp. Unfortunately our waiter was not very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Kitchen on George never disappoints! Great service, great menu, great chef, great neighborhood. Consistently amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good food and service. Nice romantic setting. We had the two specials of the day a scallop and amberjack dish both were great!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding service, ambiance, and food. Thanks to the entire staff at Kitchen On George for a great lunch in celebration of the birthdays of two co-workers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We are always pleased with the food, the staff, and the ambiance. We recommend to others and they are always pleased as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a great time. It was our anniversary, and they treated us like royalty. Food was excellent! The wine was excellent! Wow experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our waitress was professional and helpful. The food was superb! This was our first visit. In fact, we were unaware of the restaurant's existence before Sept. 11. My husband discovered Kitchen on George on a phone app. Then, when he told a friend we had made a reservation for my birthday, the friend exclaimed they had been there and we were going to love it. And guess what....we did!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 10, 2017

"Five stars!" I felt as I left. I used 4 stars only because THIS IS A RESTAURANT THAT, for us locals, IS AT AN UNFAMILIAR TIER OF ACCOMPLISHMENT. We dream of restaurants this crafty. You must go east to perhaps Savannah and west to Bay St. Louis to find this creativity! Of course, being mere mortals, the price is a bit proud. I'll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing!!!! Very different options on menu, but does not disappoint. We will be back!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was great and the service excellent. If I had one negative it was my Husband order his beef well done and it had a very pink middle. He did not eat his meat because of that. But everything else was beyond amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner night at this little quaint restaurant. At first glance it looks like a house in the middle of the neighborhood, but once you open the doors you see what all the hype is about. I started out with the West Indies, and even though the portion was small it was pretty good. Then I ordered the chicken pasta ( ribbon). It was smaller than I expected, but I took my time with it and enjoyed every bite. Then I topped the meal off with a very good brownie covered with 2 scoops of Ice cream.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Kitchen on George was absolutely delicious. Went above and beyond our expectations. Definitely the best dining experience I have had in Mobile thus far.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We always enjoy dining with Kitchen On George. The restaurant serves outstanding meals and couples that with exceptional service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful, unique foods, beautifully presented and delivered fresh from the stove still steaming.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Kitchen on George was absolutely amazing!!!! We did the tasting menu with wine pairings. Instead of choosing 5 dishes for ourselves, we had the chef choose. We were not disappointed! Each dish was perfectly cooked with a beautiful presentation. My wife(who does not eat fish) loved the blackened Amberjack. You will not be disappointed with this choice. Thanks to Dusken(our server) and the chef for a great evening!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

From Ohio. Great example of the fresh food from around mobile. Kudos to chef!!! Must try it. Definitely will be back next time in AL

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Truly a distinguished menu. One of the few places that did not feel crowded or too loud. We had an enjoyable, upscale birthday lunch with great conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great dinner. Great staff. Will return for another great meal. First time to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The new chef is offering a menu that seems heavy for a very hot August night in Mobile, with lamb, duck, beef, hot soup as well as an expensive complicated sounding fish special and happily the shrimp and grits are still there. There is no salmon sadly. One server had every table so everything was slow and a special request was denied. We hope it gets back to the way we remembered, and soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I have never had less than a stellar experience at Kitchen on George. This past Tuesday was no exception. Our server was very descriptive of the options, attentive, but not hovering. Excellent meal and a fine, but not stuffy, environment. It is so pleasant to enjoy such wonderful cuisine in the heart of the Oakleigh Historic District, in our beautiful Mobile, Alabama.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

5 star potential but I would skip the buffet-only-Sunday-brunch especially without notice as we experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was my second visit, food and service were very good, but it's too noisy for me!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Have patronized Kitchen since it opened. The past two visits to Kitchen were disappointing. This past week I was five minutes late on the reservation, and I received a call from the hostess as I was walking through the door. This was slightly irritating.
Quality and quantity of food is down from prior experiences.
I ordered a Manhattan and the glass was only half full.
Overall experience -- Blah. It will be a awhile before you see me again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The restaurant is quaint, sent in they renovated older house in an older district of downtown Mobile. This makes for a very interesting and unique ambience, but also can be quite noisy and not necessarily a great place for a quiet dinner. The kitchen, staffed with students from a local culinary Institute, produced food was exceptional taste and quality, however the salad that my wife ordered and the sandwich that I ordered for both overdressed reading it to become soggy before it could be eaten. On another note, our waiter was very attentive, but seemed overstretched by the volume of customers he was waiting on.

Overall I found the eating experience to be very pleasant and would return to this establishment again. It offers and exceptional environment and great opportunity for gatherings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Been often and never leave disappointed. From appetizer to dessert the dishes
are creative and tasty.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Kitchen on George is a nice neighborhood place with a cosy feel , usually too cold temperature wise, the food is fantastic yet the service lacks the quality the food makes up for, empty dishes usually are not removed before full plates are delivered, creating chaos on a very small table, often waiters are addressing you standing with their hands in their pockets or leaning on the empty table next to you, servers give me the same feel that retail employees give addressing you when you enter their store because it is part of their law and empty words...

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was very good. It was a little prices for lunch ($15 sandwiches) but the food was excellent. It took a little too long on getting the food out - so it is difficult for a quick lunch during work week.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.