Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Kitchen on George

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Kitchen on George now offers a Sunday Brunch Buffet. The menu changes weekly to include seasonal favorites. Check our website & Facebook page for this week's offerings. Reservations suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 per person + tax & gratuity. $15 children 12 and under. Tea & Sodas included. Special valid Jan 8, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Sundays from 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Local Ingredients (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (21)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Healthy (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

First visit on recommendation of my brother, a chef, while I was passing through. Excellent experience. You think you're on, say, Magazine Street in Nawlins. Was impressed - and pleased to see Mobile supporting such a nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love KOG for every kind of occasion. It's great to be able to walk to a nice restaurant too! Beautiful rooms and nice courtyard option. Servers are attentive and well-trained students at culinary college, as are the kitchen staff. It's a super idea. Menu favorites are retained and we like the use of local ingredients.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went for lunch on Sunday afternoon. Buffet is all that is offered. The food was very good. 2 in the party only wanted a light lunch so $30 was a bit pricey. Did not know that the menu option was not available. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our first time to do the brunch buffet, we thought the selection was excellent and loved the made to order omelette option!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First time to dine here and were not disappointed! Great setting, excellent service and delicious food! Portions were very generous. We had small plates of oysters and of fried artichokes; goat cheese salad and entree of shrimp and sausage jambalaya! Everything tasted great! Finished with coffee and brownie with ice cream and caramel syrup!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Between an appetizer and two meals, this was probably the best food we've eaten in a long time. We try to hit the highly reviewed places, and this was the best out of all of them.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The service was good but the food left a lot to be desired. I had the fish and grits. The grits were full of cream and goat cheese. Too much. There wasn't a grit consistency at all. The fish was really small and over salted. I kept hearing the kitchen discuss a salad that was extremely big and delicious but mine was very small and bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 7, 2017

took a while getting our food due to a pipe that burst in the kitchen. We were told about it and Katherine and the manager apologized. Super nice people. Our desserts were free due to the wait and that was a nice gesture on their part. Will definitely go back because things happen sometimes and it wasn't their fault.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was very good as always. This time it was a little slower and louder, but it was a Saturday evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent so was the service. Waiter gave us a great recommendation for wine. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our waiter was great, food was wonderful, and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Love that corkage fee is available for bringing a special bottle of wine if you'd like

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Shrimp was out of this world! Service was excellent. Creative cocktail list. Food was piping hot and done perfectly! Great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall very good. Sat in bar area and was too noisy for me...will request dining room next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This place never disappoints! We love it for a nice date night.❤

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unique dishes, excellent service. A fine dinner with my wife for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was ok but the portions for the amount we paid on Valentines Day left little to be desired. Will I go back? At some point but I will not return for a limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went Valentine's Day. We had expected a limited menu but not this limited. My husband and I were very disappointed in the limited menu choices and the taste of the food. There was a choice of 2 soups to choose from, 3 entrees and 2 desserts. We both ordered different soups, entrees and desserts to try them all. Food was not what I had expected and we were very disappointed because it was very expensive for what we ordered. Will not be returning nor recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were very pleased with every aspect! Great service, wonderful food and a delightful atmosphere. The portions were very generous, we are well pleased and will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The chef's employ the use of culinary school students and therefore there is a critical eye on all plates served and extra effort being used by those wanting to impress for a grade or future employment. The menu is small for lunch but has many tasty items listed. Our table ordered and enjoyed greatly the fried okra small plate as an appetizer. I would order that again. We ordered the goat cheese salad, the ceasar and the corn soup - all of which were very tasty, moderately priced and well received. For the main course, the small plates mean small plates to be cautious of that if you are a big eater. The crab cakes were awesome although tiny. The spring rolls very well presented and tasty although no filling. The BLT was the largest dish served and was very good. We also ordered the shrimp/grits and fish/grits which are worth a trip back on their own. We finished with warm cherry cheesecake and the bread pudding and those are worth a trip just to enjoy on their own. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for a Valentine's day lunch, it was not crowded and James, our server, made the whole visit worthwhile. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Delicious and inspired food, warm and inviting atmosphere, personal and welcoming service. Kitchen on George was absolutely wonderful. The Caesar salad, for example, was laced with subtle smokiness from tender grilled kale. The blackened shrimp and grits was fabulous, with creamy cheese grits complemented by the subtly spicy yet tender gulf shrimp. The kitchen is staffed by culinary students under the careful tutelage of an outstanding chef, so while I was eating exquisite for I was also feeling like I was supporting education! What a great place, at an affordable price!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was excellent! We had an enjoyable evening - just as I expected.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the food and the experience! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a nice dinner. We were happily surprised with this restaurant. Small, nice atmosphere. Great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The servers were very kind and helpful. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My brother and I met with our younger sister for lunch. Food, service, etc all excellent. Hope to return soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 6, 2017

James our server was wonderful as usual. The food was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great green salad with chevre and green goddess dressing. Shrimp and grits were good, as was the bread pudding. We enjoyed the buffet, but thought it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Used to be amazing. Was so disappointed this time. :(

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Everything was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I always try TripAdvisor top rated restaurants in each town or city we visit. This is the BEST of them all!! Loved it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I like Kitchen on George, but it would be really good if they could provide more vegetarian options. It seems to always be the sandwich, which is often disappointing. This time, the bread was under toasted and soggy. The friend who joined me said she will never go there again. She eats vegetarian and has been disappointed every time she's visited. I had the salmon small plate and the crab cakes small plate and both were very good, but the salmon was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have gone to buffet on Sunday brunch..food was fine but not a fan of buffets..I like to order what I would like from the kitchen. Also, so many people up and down getting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was excellent! You have the option of getting a small plate or a regular dinner. Small plates with a salad was just right! Excellent service and friendly staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was top notch. Edgar was a really good server. I thought it was bad to be charged $3.00 additional for a refill of tea. This is definitely for us a special occasion kind of place. Too expensive for the size of portion to be a regular on our lunch rotation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Charming restaurant in an old house with a lot of character. There was a great selection of appetizers, salads, small plates and entrees. Very friendly staff and there was no rush to order. I would definitely return if I was in the area again and I would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I went with a couple friends for Sunday brunch. They only had a buffet with no menu items. The food was good but the buffet was $30 and they charged $9 for a glass of champagne. There are too many other brunch spots in town with a much better ambiance and exceptional food for a substantially lower price. I will definitely not be back for brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Completely enjoyed our lunch. Food was outstanding along with our service. Will be back soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great service! Excellent seafood, prepared to order and really delicious. We enjoyed crabcakes, duck confit, fried okra, corn & crab chowder and caesar salad. Good wine list ...really enjoyable. Highly recommend . Friendly town...great food.
We'll be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.