About Kitchen on George

351A George St.
Mobile, AL 36604
View Larger Map

Kitchen on George is a dynamic part of Mobile’s vibrant local restaurant scene. Soon to celebrate our 5th anniversary, we've been rated the number one restaurant in Mobile on Trip Advisor!

The restaurant's lunch, dinner and brunch menus change seasonally to focus on fresh, locally sourced and regional cuisine featuring fresh Gulf seafood and other delights. Located in the charming neighborhood of the Oakleigh Garden Historic District, the restaurant is also close to businesses, local attractions, and a few blocks from many downtown area hotels.

Our friendly staff and professional chefs seek to provide guests with a dining experience you'll want to repeat again and again. We have a great selection of wines and cocktails, too! Try our Sunday Brunch, or join us Monday through Friday for our "At the Bar" specials from 4 p.m -- 6 p.m. We're just 4 blocks off Government Street in the heart of Mobile.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday 11:00am - 10:00 pm, Sunday: 10:30 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Savannah

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 436-8890

Website:
http://www.kitchenongeorge.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking located behind the restaurant,

Executive Chef:
Bryan M. Cates

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Kitchen on George is excited to celebrate its 5th anniversary in Mobile, Alabama with a “Wood & Wine” themed Nine-Course Wine Dinner on Wed., Nov. 9!

WHAT: Nine-Course Wine Dinner to Celebrate KOG’s 5th Anniversary

WHEN: Wed., Nov. 9. Two seatings, 5:30 pm & 8:00 pm

WHERE: 351A George Street – Mobile, AL

TICKETS: Tickets are $100 per person plus tax and are available by calling 251-436-8890. (Gratuity not included.)

We'd be thrilled if you joined us for this very special event! Seating limited.

Specials

At the Bar Specials

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

At the Bar Specials

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Weekday Bar Specials available 4-6 pm! Enjoy special pricing on select Small Plates and Beverages. Valid for bar seating only. Excludes Tax and Tip. See website for more information. Special valid Oct 7, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Kitchen on George Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
10 More
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Overall
Mobile
Best Food
Mobile
Best Service
Mobile
Best Ambiance
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

Special Occasion (42)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Romantic (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Historic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall ... typically outstanding, altho ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall ... typically outstanding, although the server was less attentive than normal and somewhat forgetful.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had the pasta dish and just too much pas ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the pasta dish and just too much paste was also most like me mac n cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent. Our waiter was e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Our waiter was excellent. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a nice place in a neighborhood w ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a nice place in a neighborhood with several small dining rooms and an outdoor area. Our server was excellent- knew the menu, conversational and attentive but. It overly so. Local seafood dishes were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great as always, however missin ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great as always, however missing several of the items normally found on the menu, like the crawfish stuffed mirliton. Was told the new chief may bring it back. But he has brought some new items also, so maybe the can find another favorite

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is superb. The food, atmosphe ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This place is superb. The food, atmosphere, and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dinner. My tenderlo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. My tenderloin was perfectly cooked. Loved the goat cheese salad. Another party had the scallop special and really enjoyed it. Good wine selection. The service was very friendly and attentive. We will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was fantastic and th ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, the food was fantastic and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As in the past, the Kitchen on George pr ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on November 4, 2016

As in the past, the Kitchen on George proved to be an excellent food experience, with particularly good service for our Friday night dinner. We had intended to enjoy happy hour specials, but we were told by the hostess that this was being phased out. Disappointing to hear as that was a favorite of many in the area. We stayed for dinner, enjoying the crab and corn soup, fried oysters, fried okra, and an outstanding new menu addition, the Hudson Valley Foie Gras mousse. Our server, Katherine, was relatively new, but very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. When all of our food came out together, she noticed that we felt somewhat rushed, and promptly suggested that one of the fried items be returned and prepared fresh for us when we were done with the items we were having as our first course. We felt that was very considerate and observant! We really enjoy this neighborhood restaurant and feel like it has only gotten better over the years since it opened. It is also a great dining spot for visitors to Mobile, set in a beautiful and historic neighborhood!

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Went with my husband for our 2 year anni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Went with my husband for our 2 year anniversary. Absolutely loved it! Drinks and food were delicious! Service was phenomenal!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing in Memphis and we wanted som ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Vacationing in Memphis and we wanted something with a bit of local flavor. So we chose Kitchen on George after hearing good reviews about it. This is a somewhat small local restaurant that has a varied menu. We chose a goat cheese salad, fried okra, kale Caesar salad, and crab ravioli. Our service was great, with plenty of attention and help with the menu. The food came out in perfect order and was hot and tasty. We were totally pleased with this restaurant and will be looking forward to dining here again on our next trip. Parking was easy on city streets.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great food and service . Fish was excell ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

great food and service . Fish was excellent. Nice selections and options on the menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting ate outside and it was ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Beautiful setting ate outside and it was wonderful. Food was excellent and inventive. The service was friendly and the overall experience a must go

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My children and I dined at Kitchen on Ge ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My children and I dined at Kitchen on George on Friday night. We had the fried oysters and the okra appetizers. They were both delicious. We ordered the fish special and the pasta. Both dishes were great. The service was excellent!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This operator knows what he or she is do ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This operator knows what he or she is doing. Excellent food with novel sauces. We had red snapper with a delicious pear, potato and green pepper pairing in a white sauce and scallops done to a perfect turn. My wife's a chef; I'm an ex-restaurant GM. You can't fool us. Great place.

Prices on the high side but the value is there. A bonus: Friendly, knowledgeable waiter.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of this restaurant was amaz ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The ambiance of this restaurant was amazing. The food and service was great! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here many times and this l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have eaten here many times and this last time was no as good as past visits. The service was great and very friendly. The food just wasn't up to par.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Meet out of town friend for quick busine ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Meet out of town friend for quick business/social lunch. It couldn't have been better.

Everything was close to perfect. Appreciated the wait staff/hostess and the electricity from two large groups that were "celebrating" a wedding and birthday while we were there.

Remains a favorite!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is always very good ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food and service is always very good. We normally love to go with our fish or seafood choice but this time we both tried meat dishes. My wife got a filet that was wonderful. I had the pork loin and pork belly. It was very good but I like smoked pork belly better.

Their wines are also very good and we almost always have a bottle.

It is one of our favorites so we will be back often

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant. Unique and delicio ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Unique and delicious menu. Super service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional as always!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Exceptional as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was in Mobile on a business trip and f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I was in Mobile on a business trip and found Kitchen on George on some site (yelp or trip advisor I can't recall). It had excellent reviews so I booked a reservation. The food was FANTASTIC. We ordered the shrimp and grits as our appetizer and I had the Pontchartrain catch of the day. Both were excellent. Our waiter was very patient with us as we tried to decide (all sounded fantastic). I highly recommend Kitchen on George and if ever I find myself back in Mobile I will for sure return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to restaurant. Been for lun ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Second visit to restaurant. Been for lunch & dinner. Shrimp & grits best I've had-better than famed Charleston. Fried okra great except served one piece that was stringy and could not be bitten in to. When okra is tough you can tell when you cut it. Heads up in the kitchen!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Opentable had 2 $ next to this restauran ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Opentable had 2 $ next to this restaurant, so I expected something like Chili's prices. That was not the case. The cheapest entree was $25, so my date and I both chose from the "small plate" or appetizer menu. He ordered crab ravioli for around $13 and got exactly 3 raviolis. Needless to say he was not satisfied at the end of his meal. Fortunately there was free bread and olive oil, but I wish our waiter would have refilled the bread basket. Then my date could have at least filled up on bread. Otherwise, the food tasted great and the atmosphere was great. Service was okay, except for the bread and lack of drink refills.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

Excellent! A 10+ experience! I highly ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent! A 10+ experience! I highly recommend The Kitchen on George.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Cozy, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in until my wi ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 8, 2016

From the moment we walked in until my wife and myself left we were treated like we were apart of a family. I love it and my wife wants to go again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found the service excellent and the fo ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I found the service excellent and the food as well. However, it was quite noisy. My mother and I could hardly hear each other over our lunch. Because of this I would not return. Most of the noise came from the kitchen. Perhaps we were not seating in the best area.

I might return again and ask for a different seating area.

Was a bit pricey, but service and food was well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We love Kitchen on George and eat there ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We love Kitchen on George and eat there frequently. This time we had great service from Sabrina.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Mobile! I ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 3, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Mobile! I've never been disappointed with a meal here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, great staff, and, ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, great staff, and, best of all, great meal. Great stop!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fish meal was described as fresh fish ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My fish meal was described as fresh fish with a lemon butter sauce and it was served as a square of fish that was tempura battered and fried, with no sauce that I could tell. Served over some potato swirls, that were like deep fried mashed potatoes squeezed out of a piping tube, sounds good but didn't really compliment the tempura shrimp. Probably should have questioned the fish recipe but my sister felt ill, so we didn't stay long. She ordered a corn crab chowder that was okay.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was amazing. We eat local red snapp ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food was amazing. We eat local red snapper with jambalaya. Staff was very friendly . we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I sat at the bar. Regretfully, I cannot ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I sat at the bar. Regretfully, I cannot recall the bar tender's name. He was an Ace. Prompt, polite, engaging, knowledgeable, and spot on with his recommendations. Kitchen on George is a gem. Nice, clean, contemporary atmosphere, with excellent local cuisine. I recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to return to this restaurant ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We continue to return to this restaurant. The food quality and service is consistently very good. It was nice to have a quiet early dinner with great food....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Met my son and daughter in law for lunch ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Met my son and daughter in law for lunch. It was the perfect portion; we will make it a regular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Historic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always cooked to perfection. ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food is always cooked to perfection. I have never had a bad meal or have had bad service. I would recommend Kitchen on George to anyone. They also have a great wine and adult beverage menu.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and service was superb, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was amazing and service was superb, went for a girls luncheon and will definitely return, it's small but well appointed and staffed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious but menu is limited a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Food was delicious but menu is limited and they don't change it very often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

The new chef is taking staples off the m ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The new chef is taking staples off the menu like Duck breast. Also changed the duck spring rolls to egg rolls, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been a huge fan since KOG opened. H ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been a huge fan since KOG opened. Have never had a bad meal, had to wait, always EXCELLENT fiis, drinks and service! When out of downers ask for recommendations for dining I always mention KOG.

Keep doing what you're doing...it works!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.