About Kitchen on Cary

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Off Wine Special - Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three unique seasonally inspired courses & 3 wines, only $30. Join us and see what Chef Michael Macknight has in store. Menu changes weekly. Available from 5-10 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th & Cary Street deck with dinner. Special valid Apr 12, 2017 - Aug 8, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Off Wine Special - Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 18, 2017 - Sep 18, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Family gathering. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very flexible and great for our large party that made a last minute reservation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First try at this restaurant. The service was outstanding. The food was decent. Want to try again to see if the food gets better

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a delicious lunch. Some of the appetizer portions were not big enough for a group of 8 (the asparagus) and the dining experience put us over our time limit while waiting for the check but overall a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always our experience at Kitchen on Cary was remarkable! The food was delicious, service was amazing and the manager (on both visits) came over towards the end of our meal to make sure we had a great time. We will definitely be going back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a business meal for 7 at Kitchen on Cary. Our waitress was attentive without being bothersome and the food was fantastic. We shared a couple of appetizers and then I got the short rib beef Street Tacos - absolutely delicious!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service and food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great happy hour apps

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. The Prix Fixe menu was grossly overpriced for the quality of food served. Most of us around the table gave our meals about a 5/10. The cocktails were not so great either. In the RVA foodie, craft cocktail scene, you have to be on top of your game at all times. This restaurant misses the mark compared to other local restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch and were very pleased with the selections.We were with friends.The spacing out of our food being served was perfect,which allowed great conversations and relaxation.Everyone was pleased with the taste of the food.Great mohitas!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Kitchen on Cary did not disappoint! Great food, excellent service And quiet atmosphere! Rachel our server was fantastic! Absolutely no rush between courses! Kudos to The Kitchen On Cary for exceeding expectations!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Special event dinner for my son's graduation from college. Seated quickly, nice table, very good noise level. But, our sever seemed very inexperienced. Spilled a drink on my mother. Couldn't keep orders straight. Appetizers were good. I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf which sounded amazing to a meat lover. It was tasteless and boring to be blunt. Other guests did enjoy their meals. After dinner no offer of coffee or dessert, I was just handed the check? Never had that experience before. We were certainly quiet and not a troublesome group so not sure why. Will not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time eating here. It was surprisingly slow and quiet for a Friday evening. The atmosphere was a bit boring. Too much beige paint: the walls, the ceiling, the bar, the brick we're all the same color. The service was very good, the food was average. We had the Oscar fillet and bacon wrapped meatloaf. Glad we tried it out though we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had a great date night with my husband at The Kitchen on Cary! The staff was cheerful and helpful. The food was good and I appreciated that it was locally grown. The shrimp and grits were fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All around good experience. We are early diners so place was near empty at 6:00 pm. Food was great and wait staff attentive without being intrusive.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Kitchen on Cary was delightful! The food was fresh, imaginative and delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bacon wrapped Meatloaf was delicious. Went for Restaurant week but had a good variety and enjoyed everything that we ordered. Service was great, good selection of beer and wine.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a fantastic experience, from the time we entered until we paid the check. Service was attentive, and also knowledgeable regarding the menu, which is rare these days. Great opportunity to take advantage of Richmond Restaurant Week, and try a new place for us. I would highly recommend this phenomenal restaurant. A hidden gem in the Slip.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had dinner here after the theatre. It was restaurant week. The menu selections were great. We had fabulous filet after appetizers of fried clams and crab cake. All was delicious. Personable staff. Will definitely go again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great meal at KonC. It was Restaurant week and the menu was fabulous. The Lamb Ragu was the winner and it was fantastic. The bread pudding dessert was also outstanding. Really great meal and we cannot wait to return for the full menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was very good. The atmosphere was quiet good for a romantic dinner. Wait staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was delicious. However the entree portions were very small. We were there for Richmond restaurant week and I can only assume they downsized their portion size for the event.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We went for restaurant week. Food was pretty good overall (crab cake, pimento cheese with pork rinds, filet, lamb ragu, bread pudding, and pound cake) although the lamb ragu was a little flavorless. The desserts were definitely the best part. The cocktails were good. It was worth the restaurant week price but we won't be rushing back too soon.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Taking advantage of restaurant week at an outstanding restaurant. We started off with fried oysters accompanied by a delicious sauce. Then, again, we both had the petite filet topped with crab meat over asparagus. Dessert was chocolate bread pudding. Everything was great. Kudos to Casey, our server. Kitchen on Cary is now one of our go to places.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food didn't live up the menu description. The service was good, but the small portions didn't deliver.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We wanted to support the Richmond Restaurant Week endeavor and chose Kitchen on Cary as our dining place. Extraordinary care and preparation showed through in every morsel! Am anxious to visit again and experience the whole menu!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was amazed at the number of local farmers that were used for this one restaurant. The food was outstanding. I've passed by the restaurant many times and always wondered how strategically located it was. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and the ambiance. I am not looking forward to experiencing the happy hour setting.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food! Great service! Recommend for anytime. Not cramped. Will be going back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Incredibly good food, creative bar and great attention to detail. We don't understand why it's not packed all the time. Richmond has a real gem here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Visiting the area

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Have had dinner here several times now and I cannot say enough great things about this RVA gem! Menu has a small number of equally delicious entrees prepared with farm fresh sides. The bread pudding is the best we have ever had anywhere. It is now a challenge to try it everywhere to see if Kitchen on Cary remains our favorite.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Creative well prepared menu with touches of traditional Virgina cuisine ; cheerful, attentive young staff.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Terrific food and welcoming, professional staff

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was excellent or wait staff was great and the food came out Unbelievably fast

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice selection of appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts. Good wine and beer list. We had the grilled salmon special, the gnocchi, and the crab cakes. All were delightful. I also had the apple salad which had nice assortment of apple, gorgonzola cheese, greens and a nice vinagrette. For dessert we had the bread pudding - amazing and the goat cheese cheesecake - light but tasty.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent--very fresh. Great vegetables! And bourbon pecan bread pudding to die for!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Was looking for a "hip" place in Richmond to have dinner with my family. I settled on Kitchen on Cary as it was in the Historic Slip and looked interesting. I honestly couldn't understand why this place wasn't packed for Thursday night. We had the duck confit egg rolls and the curried oyster apps, and we all got the lamb chops. Everything was fantastic. They had a nice 1/2 price wine list value priced. Live acoustical guitar. We had a great dinner and would recommend checking out this gem.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with a large group of people. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. Shared 5 appetizers among us and all were delicious, especially the warm bacon bourbon dip. The small plate option of shrimp and grits was a perfect portion. Shrimp was cooked perfectly and the grits were not overly cheesy. The andouile sausage had a nice kick to it and complemented the shrimp perfectly. The special dessert, an Irish trifle with Jameson cake and Bailey's whipped cream was amazing. By far the best dessert at the table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent and creative menu. St. Patrick's Day specials were fun. Crab cakes superb. Definitely recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wasn't crowded at all for 12:30 Sunday brunch. Food was good but some was not hot. Nice presentation on plate. No bread served with meal which was surprising.
OK but not a "wow".

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.