About Kitchen on Cary

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - May 11, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy select $5 Small Plates, $3 Well Drinks, $2 off Virginia Craft Beers on Tap, $2 off Wine by the Glass and $2 off Craft Cocktails at the bar Mon-Fri, 4:30-7 pm. 804-643-1315. Excludes Tax and Tip. Free parking at the Cary & 14th Street deck w/ dine-in dinner entrée purchase. Special valid Feb 20, 2017 - Jun 20, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three unique seasonally inspired courses & 3 wines, only $30. Join us and see what Chef Michael Macknight has in store. Menu changes weekly. Available from 5-10 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th & Cary Street deck with dinner. Special valid Apr 12, 2017 - Aug 8, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (0)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 15 hours ago

We went for restaurant week. Food was pretty good overall (crab cake, pimento cheese with pork rinds, filet, lamb ragu, bread pudding, and pound cake) although the lamb ragu was a little flavorless. The desserts were definitely the best part. The cocktails were good. It was worth the restaurant week price but we won't be rushing back too soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I was amazed at the number of local farmers that were used for this one restaurant. The food was outstanding. I've passed by the restaurant many times and always wondered how strategically located it was. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and the ambiance. I am not looking forward to experiencing the happy hour setting.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Great service! Recommend for anytime. Not cramped. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Incredibly good food, creative bar and great attention to detail. We don't understand why it's not packed all the time. Richmond has a real gem here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Visiting the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Have had dinner here several times now and I cannot say enough great things about this RVA gem! Menu has a small number of equally delicious entrees prepared with farm fresh sides. The bread pudding is the best we have ever had anywhere. It is now a challenge to try it everywhere to see if Kitchen on Cary remains our favorite.

Tags: Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Creative well prepared menu with touches of traditional Virgina cuisine ; cheerful, attentive young staff.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Terrific food and welcoming, professional staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was excellent or wait staff was great and the food came out Unbelievably fast

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice selection of appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts. Good wine and beer list. We had the grilled salmon special, the gnocchi, and the crab cakes. All were delightful. I also had the apple salad which had nice assortment of apple, gorgonzola cheese, greens and a nice vinagrette. For dessert we had the bread pudding - amazing and the goat cheese cheesecake - light but tasty.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent--very fresh. Great vegetables! And bourbon pecan bread pudding to die for!!

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Was looking for a "hip" place in Richmond to have dinner with my family. I settled on Kitchen on Cary as it was in the Historic Slip and looked interesting. I honestly couldn't understand why this place wasn't packed for Thursday night. We had the duck confit egg rolls and the curried oyster apps, and we all got the lamb chops. Everything was fantastic. They had a nice 1/2 price wine list value priced. Live acoustical guitar. We had a great dinner and would recommend checking out this gem.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with a large group of people. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. Shared 5 appetizers among us and all were delicious, especially the warm bacon bourbon dip. The small plate option of shrimp and grits was a perfect portion. Shrimp was cooked perfectly and the grits were not overly cheesy. The andouile sausage had a nice kick to it and complemented the shrimp perfectly. The special dessert, an Irish trifle with Jameson cake and Bailey's whipped cream was amazing. By far the best dessert at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent and creative menu. St. Patrick's Day specials were fun. Crab cakes superb. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wasn't crowded at all for 12:30 Sunday brunch. Food was good but some was not hot. Nice presentation on plate. No bread served with meal which was surprising.
OK but not a "wow".

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice unique menu. Excellent service.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have wanted to come to Kitchen on Cary ever since I found their Instagram! Luckily my parents where in town this past week and my husband and I were able to have a date night. We went on a Tuesday so that I could partake in their wine pairing menu, which was amazing. My husband had their special for the day which was lamb chops. The wine pairing menu is a GREAT value as it is 3 courses and you get a nice size glass of wine with all courses all for $30.00. The staff was great and the manager was very pleasant and personable. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening there and will for sure go back in the near future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner or fun group get together, as was the occasion of our dinner. The menu provides several options and there was no disappointment with any of the selections made. Service was fantastic both at the bar (a couple of us had drinks while waiting for the rest of our party) and our waitress. I have already recommended this spot to several friends and plan to return myself in the very near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Kitchen on Cary is very underrated. The food was local, healthy, tasty,and well presented. There was a pleasant, laid back, ambiance but everything was done very professionally. I hate to write it up because I am giving away my secret spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my 3rd visit to Kitchen on Cary and all 3 times the Food has been great!! The atmosphere was great. The service Fantastic. Love the fact that the food is local!!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice fun and interesting cocktails. Very nice wine selection. Apps and small plates were terrific. Good portions. Good combo of ingredients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok. Limited brunch menu. Bloody Mary's were over priced at $12 each. I don't mind paying for good food and drinks but this wasn't a good place. We were the only table for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Really creative food--my friend and I sat by the front window, which was perfect for conversation and noise level and a two person experience. I had delicious salmon tacos. We devoured fries with truffles. My friend had meatloaf wrapped in bacon which she said was good but wouldn't order again. We liked our apple dessert though the apples were a bit under cooked. Though tasty, the menu seemed overpriced. All in all, pluses and minuses.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic !!! Beautiful place, super helpful staff, delicious food, overall impressive restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was fantastic. No issues, will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for New Year's Eve and it was delicious! The only downside was the ambiance- it was very bright and our table was wobbly. Our table was also a high top which I was not happy about. There are few things I hate more than spending a bunch of money at a restaurant and having it tainted by the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was wonderful! Little slow in getting is our drinks when we arrived, but overall a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food and service great! Highly recommend. Fun for groups.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, the food does not disappoint. It is a nice place to go for a special occasion but it was very crowded and very loud. Thankfully someone finally turned down the Christmas music, but it was still hard to here with all of the people talking at all of the different tables. Had the special - Street tacos, made with blackened salmon - yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was decent but not amazing. The staff was attentive. The restaurant was empty when we were there, only two other tables when we started dinner at 8:30 and no others when we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food, however the restaurant was short staffed. Our waiter did the best he could, but clearly they needed more help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a large group and they were excellent! They were very understanding when we were running a bit late. Great appetizers for splitting and delicious. The eggroll appetizer, pork entree and steak entree were particular hits! They also have really well priced wine. Perfect place for a large group (10) and so accommodating. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was in Richmond for a soccer tournament with my son. Instead of heading to Chipotle for a quick bight with some team mates, we decided to venture out for a good meal. It was well worth it! Delicious, unique local food. Great service. We would have come back the next night, but they were booked for a local event. Definitely try this place! We even bought the preserves made by the sous chef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Every item we ordered was delicious. Best shrimp & grits ever, wonderful rabbit papperdelle and roasted Brussels sprouts with fresh farm taste. Incredible light but soo rich bread pudding with juicy melt in your mouth blackberries. Attentive service, great advice and a warm, relaxing ambience. I will be going to Richmond just to dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We took a few people from out of town there and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The servers are always warm and friendly. The menu offerings are always relevant and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar for apps and it was so comfortable, that we stayed there for dinner. The food was terrific - everything we tried was delish. We had several apps from the bar menu....all were great but the brussel sprouts and truffle fries were both so yummy. My husband had the rabbit and he loved it! The bartender and staff were helpful and friendly, and it was an all around great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

creative flavor profiles, superb product, spot on technique, expert service, and a tasteful surrounding...all for a reasonable cost. What more can you ask for. This is truely a gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. The food flavors were very good. They ran out of chicken and we were the first people in the restaurant for dinner. The desserts were very good. But there was no chocolate option. Several people at my table got the salmon and they thought it was very good. I had the meatloaf which was very good.l. We got the empanadas small plates. Our waitress was working the bar and our table so I feel like our service was slow but she was pleasant and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pudding desert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.