Kitchen on Cary

4.3
363 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm

Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(804) 643-1315
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Macknight
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
14th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Valentine's Day Prix Fixe Dinner.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: 1/2 off select bottles of wine.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 363 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Everything was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

My husband and I love trying new places and neither of us had been to Kitchen on Cary. We started with the oysters, which I could have had eaten by myself! They were great! We also tried the pork belly donuts. We were a little disappointed. The pork belly was so small it just got lost in the donut. For dinner I tried the pork chop which was very thick and moist. My husband had the meatloaf and said was one of his favorites he’s tried. (He gets meatloaf all over town)
We look forward to bringing our friends back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

I went with my friends for my birthday, and we loved it! i was even given a free dessert :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner and the service was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

FABULOUS. Our service was wonderful, the restaurant had nice acoustics and we did not have to shout to hear each other, and the food was outstanding. What a diverse and great menu. We had trouble picking, but tried the pimento cheese, the Poutine, and the pork/veal/beef meatloaf. All were perfectly prepared. The Poutine is WAY better than The Roosevelt's. We will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Each of the three of us thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The menu changes, which makes for interesting surprises. Our waitress was professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. It was pretty much a flawless meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2018

We came down from Washington DC, and had a business dinner on Wednesday evening that was phenomenal! I chose Kitchen on Cary after being unable to get a reservation at another restaurant. The service and food were impeccable and the atmosphere was perfect for a business meeting. I will definitely consider returning to Kitchen on Cary for dinner in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Wait staff was extremely friendly! Wine and beer selection was decent. I wish that they called to tell me that there was no children’s menu or options especially as I specifically requested a high chair- certainly that would be a dead giveaway, but I know now- this restaurant, while nice and delicious, can no longer be an option for our whole family, as we do have little ones, but is very nice for adults. I love the entree concepts and variety of food options and supporting our local farms!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

The dining experience was very enjoyable at Kitchen on Cary. I had the cajun shrimp and grits which were very good. The service was friendly and attentive. I will be back for round two.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

After visiting the VMFA, we went here for lunch. It was a quiet holiday afternoon and there were only four or five other tables seated. At first we were a bit concerned that the menu would be too avant-garde and esoteric. But the Portuguese had pie, the fried eggplant, the Shenandoah salad, chicken salad and shrimp and grits all proved standard enough and satisfying to all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and the service even if it was a late lunch and they were closing and preparing for dinner. I would recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

This was my first visit and certainly not my last. I tasted a number of menu items - my own and everyone else's. All delicious. I was especially impressed by our waiter who recognized that one person might have a restricted diet, so he checked with the chef on ingredients, and came back to the table to explain the potential (real) problem as well as the chef's suggestion for an alternative sauce. That's the extra mile!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Simply put... food was amazing and staff were perfect. I can't wait to return and enjoy again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

I always love going to Kitchen on Cary. The service and food are always consistently great. Anytime I need a place that I know will deliver on making it great night, I know I can count on Kitchen on Cary!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Great food and service. The shrimp and grits was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

I had a great time celebrating my 22nd birthday with my mother and sister at Kitchen on Cary. The Ruby Slippers cocktail was delicious and the small plates were perfect for sharing; we ordered 4 small plates and it was plenty of food for the 3 of us. I really appreciated the local sourcing. Everything we had was very fresh and tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We went with friends we all had something different Salmon, shrimp, oysters, salads we shared everything, all are plates were clean plenty of food on are plates. The ladies had wine that they really enjoyed. The service was outstanding. The presentation of the plates was outstanding. Overall we will come back again and again. We all had a grand time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Never disappoints. Good food and service. Like that they use food from local farms.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 31, 2017

This was a great restaurant right in the heart of the old historic district. I loved it.
the food was fantastic. And it is farm to table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Went for restaurant week so pricing was reasonable, the cocktails were really good. The food was top knotch!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Restaurant week menu. Oyster appetizer was good as was the mixed green salad. VLP meatloaf was okay. Jerk chicken was good but too much rice. Apple and Asian pear cobbler was delicious. Would recommend lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 27, 2017

It was restuarant week and they were very busy, but neither the service nor the food met my expectations. I will not be going back to this restuarant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 27, 2017

We popped in during what happened to be restaurant week. Even with the prix fixe menu, it was hard to choose what to order because everything sounded delicious. My dining companion and I were both delighted with our choices. I had brussels sprouts with bleu cheese and bacon, which was really yummy. The house gnocchi with Swiss chard, mushrooms, and squash was delicate and flavorful, and not drowning in liquid. Just right. The bread pudding was warm and velvety, balanced by a not too sweet, but perfectly rich bourbon caramel sauce.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Hip restaurant with great food. Services was excellent and the food was delicious. The menu was slimmed down for Restaurant Week, but it did have everything that they server regularly including the must have meatloaf.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Amazing food. Very creative dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Superb dinner during Richmond restaurant week! From appitizer to entree to dessert everything was great. I had oysters and short ribs and bread pudding. My friend had pimento cheese and bacon wrapped meat loaf and pear and apple cobbler. It was all outstanding! Service was great, atmosphere was good. I'm coming back here again soon!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 22, 2017

Food took forever, despite there only being 3 tables sat in the restaurant. All of our burgers were ordered medium and all came out like well-done bricks. The menu said all burgers came with fries, but the waitress served them with a chickpea salad and it wasn't until halfway through the meal that a manager realized there were supposed to be fries and put an order in for them. The spiced pickles were omitted.

Menu looked really appealing, but the product was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

This is a lovely little spot that focuses on service and food. Really enjoy it every time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 14, 2017

After the reviews and great looking pictures on Yelp...we decided to celebrate our anniversary there. Big disappoint. Menu was very limited. The waiter was very nice and when he didn't have answers, he quickly found out. The interior was very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

We had an excellent time at Kitchen on Cary. From beginning (happy hour) to end (dessert), the meal and service were fantastic. We tried two appetizers and five entrees. There wasn't a leftover to be found. Excellent experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2017

Our team eats at Kitchen on Cary about every 10 days for the past two years. Always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, great staff and great location. Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd what the hell else can I say to use 50 characters.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers were amazing, including the grilled romaine, fried green tomatoes, and eggplant fries....not so much the pork buns. Entrees were also mixed..... hits: gnocchi and pork chop....misses : fried chicken and hanger steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was amazing, and knowing it was mainly from local sources made it better. I will definitely be coming back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 9, 2017

I was curious about this restaurant for many years, but because we are not locals I couldn't resist going to my favorites when in the aria in stead of trying new choices.
This time I made sure I try this place, but unfortunately can not say I am glad I did.
To me restaurants bring you different levels of experience: a)WOW, b)GREAT, c) GOOD, d)NOT SO GOOD, e)NOT GOOD, & f)BAD.
This place fits to experience c) which is GOOD. But for people who have just few days to spend in Richmond, it's a pity to experience just GOOD, when you know the places that give you a WOW experience. And that's why we are not planing to return. But If I'd live nearby I would come here once in a while.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a great time for my husband's birthday ! The service was phenomenal. We had Brussels sprouts and the apple salad to start. My husband had the special of NY strip and shrimp with horseradish mashed potatoes and sugar snap beans. I had the other special of Tennessee hot chicken with Mac n cheese. We also had great drinks - their old fashioned is unbelievable!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The server was very nice but obviously not updated on all specials on menu. I had wanted to go to The Kitchen on Cary for the hot chicken special that was a Tuesday dinner I missed but decided to check out on next Friday. The other waiter mentioned Nashville hot chicken as part of special which we weren't given, if I had known, I would have ordered. I had already ordered another meal and didn't want to change since already done, such a waste of food and $ to change after one dish done so I ordered the chicken to go. The hanger steak I had was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Recommend going with the special. The menu items are good but the specials are amazing and really shine since the ingredients are at peak. We had a corn and lemon risotto with trout that was amazing g. Perfectly seasoned and balanced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2017

One of my favorite lunch spots in downtown Richmond. Excellent food, service and environment! Love the jazz music playing in the background; it was not loud but soothing and made for a relaxing lunch. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Stopped in for late lunch. The brussel sprouts are AMAZING!! Service was great and very accommodating. I didn't love the quiche....it was more like brioche but I appreciated the server warning me that it wasn't a typical quiche. I really enjoy this restaurant. It was my second visit and I will go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by Kitchen on Cary