About Kitchen on Cary

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

1/2 Off Wine Special - Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

1/2 Off Wine Special - Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 18, 2017 - Sep 18, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
See All
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Stopped in for late lunch. The brussel sprouts are AMAZING!! Service was great and very accommodating. I didn't love the quiche....it was more like brioche but I appreciated the server warning me that it wasn't a typical quiche. I really enjoy this restaurant. It was my second visit and I will go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent!! Food was outstanding beginning with the appetitizers (fried green tomatoes and fried pimiento fritters), scallops and fried oysters entres and ending with delicious desserts (bread pudding with hard wiskey sauce or peach cobbler). Well worth the hour and half drive to Richmond. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The mixologist served a delicious Ruby Slipper Cocktail of Moonshine,Champagne,Cranberry liquer....delicious.
The local Trout was very good. The scallops were attractively served with a special Risotto...generous!!
One friend loved the Beef appetizer as a meal!!
All good and well recommended!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful meal from grilled asparagus and crispy brussel sprouts to open to peach cobbler and a Macaroon nightcap to close. Food was delicious, if the dinner portions modest in size. Service was great. We enjoyed the experience tremendously. We were glad we'd made a reservation. It was full on a Saturday night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Really good food! The Richmond mule has a real spicy ginger kick and enjoyed the grilled romaine salad and shrimp and grits. Reasonably priced. I would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very carefully prepared healthy food provided in a very open and vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

See Bill, the Manager and introduce yourself, BEFORE you sit down to eat.
He is a good guy that is trying to hire the best kitchen he can afford...Best of everything Bill and hope you amp up your team with a little talent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

My first time here. Met up with friends I hadn't seen in a good while and the waitress was patient and accommodating as we chatted and held her up!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was wxcellent. Would have liked more vegetarian option but what I had was superb. Local ingredients. Excellent place to take out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Family gathering. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great lunch! Excellent menu and wonderful food. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very flexible and great for our large party that made a last minute reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First try at this restaurant. The service was outstanding. The food was decent. Want to try again to see if the food gets better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a delicious lunch. Some of the appetizer portions were not big enough for a group of 8 (the asparagus) and the dining experience put us over our time limit while waiting for the check but overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our bartender/waitress, Rachael was great!She made really good drinks and provided great service throughout the evening.The food was outstanding.There were 3 couples who were all satisfied and felt that it was a great experience.We try a different restaurant each month.Have been doing for 5 years and haven't missed once.Kitchen on Cary is one of our favorite.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always our experience at Kitchen on Cary was remarkable! The food was delicious, service was amazing and the manager (on both visits) came over towards the end of our meal to make sure we had a great time. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a business meal for 7 at Kitchen on Cary. Our waitress was attentive without being bothersome and the food was fantastic. We shared a couple of appetizers and then I got the short rib beef Street Tacos - absolutely delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great happy hour apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. The Prix Fixe menu was grossly overpriced for the quality of food served. Most of us around the table gave our meals about a 5/10. The cocktails were not so great either. In the RVA foodie, craft cocktail scene, you have to be on top of your game at all times. This restaurant misses the mark compared to other local restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch and were very pleased with the selections.We were with friends.The spacing out of our food being served was perfect,which allowed great conversations and relaxation.Everyone was pleased with the taste of the food.Great mohitas!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Kitchen on Cary did not disappoint! Great food, excellent service And quiet atmosphere! Rachel our server was fantastic! Absolutely no rush between courses! Kudos to The Kitchen On Cary for exceeding expectations!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Special event dinner for my son's graduation from college. Seated quickly, nice table, very good noise level. But, our sever seemed very inexperienced. Spilled a drink on my mother. Couldn't keep orders straight. Appetizers were good. I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf which sounded amazing to a meat lover. It was tasteless and boring to be blunt. Other guests did enjoy their meals. After dinner no offer of coffee or dessert, I was just handed the check? Never had that experience before. We were certainly quiet and not a troublesome group so not sure why. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time eating here. It was surprisingly slow and quiet for a Friday evening. The atmosphere was a bit boring. Too much beige paint: the walls, the ceiling, the bar, the brick we're all the same color. The service was very good, the food was average. We had the Oscar fillet and bacon wrapped meatloaf. Glad we tried it out though we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great date night with my husband at The Kitchen on Cary! The staff was cheerful and helpful. The food was good and I appreciated that it was locally grown. The shrimp and grits were fantastic!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All around good experience. We are early diners so place was near empty at 6:00 pm. Food was great and wait staff attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Kitchen on Cary was delightful! The food was fresh, imaginative and delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bacon wrapped Meatloaf was delicious. Went for Restaurant week but had a good variety and enjoyed everything that we ordered. Service was great, good selection of beer and wine.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a fantastic experience, from the time we entered until we paid the check. Service was attentive, and also knowledgeable regarding the menu, which is rare these days. Great opportunity to take advantage of Richmond Restaurant Week, and try a new place for us. I would highly recommend this phenomenal restaurant. A hidden gem in the Slip.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had dinner here after the theatre. It was restaurant week. The menu selections were great. We had fabulous filet after appetizers of fried clams and crab cake. All was delicious. Personable staff. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great meal at KonC. It was Restaurant week and the menu was fabulous. The Lamb Ragu was the winner and it was fantastic. The bread pudding dessert was also outstanding. Really great meal and we cannot wait to return for the full menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food was very good. The atmosphere was quiet good for a romantic dinner. Wait staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was delicious. However the entree portions were very small. We were there for Richmond restaurant week and I can only assume they downsized their portion size for the event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We went for restaurant week. Food was pretty good overall (crab cake, pimento cheese with pork rinds, filet, lamb ragu, bread pudding, and pound cake) although the lamb ragu was a little flavorless. The desserts were definitely the best part. The cocktails were good. It was worth the restaurant week price but we won't be rushing back too soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Taking advantage of restaurant week at an outstanding restaurant. We started off with fried oysters accompanied by a delicious sauce. Then, again, we both had the petite filet topped with crab meat over asparagus. Dessert was chocolate bread pudding. Everything was great. Kudos to Casey, our server. Kitchen on Cary is now one of our go to places.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food didn't live up the menu description. The service was good, but the small portions didn't deliver.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We wanted to support the Richmond Restaurant Week endeavor and chose Kitchen on Cary as our dining place. Extraordinary care and preparation showed through in every morsel! Am anxious to visit again and experience the whole menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was amazed at the number of local farmers that were used for this one restaurant. The food was outstanding. I've passed by the restaurant many times and always wondered how strategically located it was. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and the ambiance. I am not looking forward to experiencing the happy hour setting.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food! Great service! Recommend for anytime. Not cramped. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Incredibly good food, creative bar and great attention to detail. We don't understand why it's not packed all the time. Richmond has a real gem here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.