About Kitchen on Cary

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

1/2 Off Wine Special - Uncorked & Unplugged!

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy select $5 Small Plates, $3 Well Drinks, $2 off Virginia Craft Beers on Tap, $2 off Wine by the Glass and $2 off Craft Cocktails at the bar Mon-Fri, 4:30-7 pm. 804-643-1315. Excludes Tax and Tip. Free parking at the Cary & 14th Street deck w/ dine-in dinner entrée purchase. Special valid Oct 3, 2016 - Dec 30, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

1/2 Off Wine Special - Uncorked & Unplugged!

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 29, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Every item we ordered was delicious. Bes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Every item we ordered was delicious. Best shrimp & grits ever, wonderful rabbit papperdelle and roasted Brussels sprouts with fresh farm taste. Incredible light but soo rich bread pudding with juicy melt in your mouth blackberries. Attentive service, great advice and a warm, relaxing ambience. I will be going to Richmond just to dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took a few people from out of town th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

We took a few people from out of town there and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar for apps and it was so comfortable, that we stayed there for dinner. The food was terrific - everything we tried was delish. We had several apps from the bar menu....all were great but the brussel sprouts and truffle fries were both so yummy. My husband had the rabbit and he loved it! The bartender and staff were helpful and friendly, and it was an all around great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

creative flavor profiles, superb product ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

creative flavor profiles, superb product, spot on technique, expert service, and a tasteful surrounding...all for a reasonable cost. What more can you ask for. This is truely a gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. The food flavors were very good. They ran out of chicken and we were the first people in the restaurant for dinner. The desserts were very good. But there was no chocolate option. Several people at my table got the salmon and they thought it was very good. I had the meatloaf which was very good.l. We got the empanadas small plates. Our waitress was working the bar and our table so I feel like our service was slow but she was pleasant and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pudding desert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Crab cake appetizer was wonderful - port ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Crab cake appetizer was wonderful - portion and flavor perfect! The portion size and flavor of the Jambalaya was less than desirable. The apple dessert was a nice portion but seasoned too much with nutmeg/allspice and was way too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

5 friends tried Kitchen for Restaurant W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

5 friends tried Kitchen for Restaurant Week. We tried 4 four apps and 4 dinners all were outstanding. Dessert had opportunities. Atmosphere was comfortable and not too loud. Service from Rachel was outstanding...not too much and not too little. We all enjoyed it greatly and have already recommended to friends. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week. Amazing sauce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Amazing sauces!!! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner experience with another ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful dinner experience with another couple for Restaurant Week

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was OUTSTANDING, the service w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING, the service was OUTSTANDING. Very nice place for dinner, highly recommend to any body.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I enjoy trying new restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My son and I enjoy trying new restaurants during Richmond Restaurant Week. We chose Kitchen on Cary for the menu offered and because we had heard good things about it. We were not disappointed. The dinner was delicious, the staff very cordial and the overall décor pleasant, though a bit cold with no carpet to soften the interior space. However, I welcome to chance to return.

Ann D.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent brunch. Waiter very customer o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent brunch. Waiter very customer oriented. Great mimosas. Very nice place. Will definitely eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food preparation. Great and u ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful food preparation. Great and unique cocktails. Comfortable setting with friendly, attentive wait servers.

Free parking in the garage across the street. Live music and 1/2 price bottles of wine on the night (Thursday) we dined. What a value in the heart of RVA.

To make it more cozy, I would like the lighting to be dimmed.

Cheers, -JimM

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great choice for taking family members a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great choice for taking family members and friends for dinner. Seasonal menu, everyone enjoyed their dish; mine was tasteless and needed seasoning on the salmon and sweet potato puree, nevertheless, I'll still visit again. Great service and atmosphere and would love to try the brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in town for the weekend with a fri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was in town for the weekend with a friend and we decided to stop by Kitchen on Cary for brunch as it was close to our hotel and the brunch menu looked delicious. The Bloody Marys were great and they accommodated me and my friend (both vegetarians) by leaving out the beer brined bacon, although that sounds pretty cool for the meat eaters out there. Our waitress was very sweet and even checked with the chef to make recommendations to my friend about which dishes could be altered to be vegetarian. Overall, we both loved our meals and the great service we received. I would definitely come back the next time I'm in Richmond!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and on point. The food was fabulous, fresh, creative and satisfying. We ordered many small plates and shared-- we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Glad to find this restaurant! We enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Glad to find this restaurant! We enjoyed our server, our meal, and the feeling of the room.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Came twice ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Came twice in one week (was staying at the Omni for business). Both of our servers were fantastic and made great recommendations.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant atmosphere, tasty. Attentive s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere, tasty. Attentive service. If visit Richmond again, will likely to go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like this place. The menu is imaginati ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I like this place. The menu is imaginative without going over the edge--tasty, well-prepared and well-presented dishes. The ambiance is nice, with recorded music in the background. The service this time was a little lax, but not uncomfortably so.

Definitely worth trying.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This place is amazing. One of the best d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is amazing. One of the best dinners in a long time. Service was great, not intrusive, informative and friendly. Great quality food. Wish I could eat there every week. Please open one in Charlotte, NC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very disappointing dinner & b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was a very disappointing dinner & based on our experience would not recommend the restaurant. We went on Tuesday for the 3 course dinner while wine was crisp and cold, the tomato salad over dressed & bland, crab cakes very mushy, but the cream corn/ham dish delicious as was dessert. The special for the evening coconut grouper was undercooked really one piece was raw. Waitress rude and argumentative. The only positives were the wine & the manager, but food not worth returning for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We have been trying to get to this resta ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been trying to get to this restaurant for some time now and we weren't disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were all great. We shared several small plates, followed by delicious desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here to celebrate my mom's birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went here to celebrate my mom's birthday and parents anniversary. The service was great, speedy and attentive. The food was stellar and overall we enjoyed ourselves. Definitely will be back again! We also enjoyed the live music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had great service and the ambience is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had great service and the ambience is nice, but the food was so so. It was a little on the salty side, but the restaurant has potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Sara B was the Awesome!!! :)

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sara B was the Awesome!!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very bad service. The staff forgot abou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2016

very bad service. The staff forgot about our table--the waitresses were apparently confused over which waitress was supposed to serve us. Service was then slow and food about average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We wanted to check out a new place to ea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2016

We wanted to check out a new place to eat that was not run of the mill. Kitchen on Cary definitely delivered. I had the pork shoulder and my girlfriend had a really good dish. I can not remember what she had because I was so in love with the pork shoulder and Brussel sprouts . We split the apple salad to start. Our server Rachel was fantastic! We highly recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing. We had a relati ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was amazing. We had a relatively large group (6) and they sat us quickly. We all needed separate checks and it was no problem.

The food was great. We particularly liked the macaroni and cheese and the pork rind with pimiento cheese appetizers.

If ever in Richmond we would most certainly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was very goo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was very good. The challenge was they were busy with groups and ran out of meals. Also, it was very loud because of so many groups. Otherwise, a very positive experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server made great recommendations on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server made great recommendations on appetizers and dinner items. Food delicious and wonderful presentation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Burger was outstanding, as were the truf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Burger was outstanding, as were the truffle fries. The duck was out of bounds, but the best part spicy greens and truffle mash. Food so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Had the flatbread for appetizer and pork ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Had the flatbread for appetizer and pork sandwich for dinner. Everything was really great. Service was amazing. Very great experience and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food knowledgable staff Good Happ ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food knowledgable staff

Good Happy Hour !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent and the service v ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service very good. Upon arriving home, we let our friends know about Kitchen on Cary via Facebook. It was a wonderful experience. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited here on the recommendation of a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Visited here on the recommendation of a friend. Was not sure what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for a business lunch - quality food without making us choke on the bill! Great Food to Value ratio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit and the food wa ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 23, 2016

This was my second visit and the food was very good and the presentation was very nice. But I want to tell you about one of their cocktails, all of which are very reasonably price. The Richmond Mule was unique and fantastic! A simple combination of Honey Habanero Moonshine and spicy ginger brew and a squeeze of lime, served over ice. The sweetness and bite of the ginger brew goes so well with the heat from the Honey Habanero Moonshine that I could not get enough. I liked it so much I hunted down the ingredients so I could have them at home too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of locally sourced foods ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great selection of locally sourced foods!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great space, good food

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Light and airy, with the warehouse feel preserved and the vintage Richmond photos add to that feeling. Food creative but too carb centric. The crab cake disappointing and not competitive with several other restaurants in Richmond........if you cannot go backfin crab meat at this price it shouldn't be on the menu.

Service was energetic and friendly. It is a few details away from being excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.