About Kitchen on Cary

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Tuesday Night Wine Dinner $30, 3 wines, 3 seasonally-inspired courses. Join us and see what Chef Michael Macknight has in store . Menu changes weekly. Available from 5-10 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th & Cary Street deck with dinner. Special valid Dec 10, 2016 - Apr 10, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - May 11, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy select $5 Small Plates, $3 Well Drinks, $2 off Virginia Craft Beers on Tap, $2 off Wine by the Glass and $2 off Craft Cocktails at the bar Mon-Fri, 4:30-7 pm. 804-643-1315. Excludes Tax and Tip. Free parking at the Cary & 14th Street deck w/ dine-in dinner entrée purchase. Special valid Feb 20, 2017 - Jun 20, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Went with a large group of people. Staff was very accommodating and efficient. Shared 5 appetizers among us and all were delicious, especially the warm bacon bourbon dip. The small plate option of shrimp and grits was a perfect portion. Shrimp was cooked perfectly and the grits were not overly cheesy. The andouile sausage had a nice kick to it and complemented the shrimp perfectly. The special dessert, an Irish trifle with Jameson cake and Bailey's whipped cream was amazing. By far the best dessert at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent and creative menu. St. Patrick's Day specials were fun. Crab cakes superb. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wasn't crowded at all for 12:30 Sunday brunch. Food was good but some was not hot. Nice presentation on plate. No bread served with meal which was surprising.
OK but not a "wow".

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice unique menu. Excellent service.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have wanted to come to Kitchen on Cary ever since I found their Instagram! Luckily my parents where in town this past week and my husband and I were able to have a date night. We went on a Tuesday so that I could partake in their wine pairing menu, which was amazing. My husband had their special for the day which was lamb chops. The wine pairing menu is a GREAT value as it is 3 courses and you get a nice size glass of wine with all courses all for $30.00. The staff was great and the manager was very pleasant and personable. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening there and will for sure go back in the near future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner or fun group get together, as was the occasion of our dinner. The menu provides several options and there was no disappointment with any of the selections made. Service was fantastic both at the bar (a couple of us had drinks while waiting for the rest of our party) and our waitress. I have already recommended this spot to several friends and plan to return myself in the very near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Kitchen on Cary is very underrated. The food was local, healthy, tasty,and well presented. There was a pleasant, laid back, ambiance but everything was done very professionally. I hate to write it up because I am giving away my secret spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my 3rd visit to Kitchen on Cary and all 3 times the Food has been great!! The atmosphere was great. The service Fantastic. Love the fact that the food is local!!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice fun and interesting cocktails. Very nice wine selection. Apps and small plates were terrific. Good portions. Good combo of ingredients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok. Limited brunch menu. Bloody Mary's were over priced at $12 each. I don't mind paying for good food and drinks but this wasn't a good place. We were the only table for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Really creative food--my friend and I sat by the front window, which was perfect for conversation and noise level and a two person experience. I had delicious salmon tacos. We devoured fries with truffles. My friend had meatloaf wrapped in bacon which she said was good but wouldn't order again. We liked our apple dessert though the apples were a bit under cooked. Though tasty, the menu seemed overpriced. All in all, pluses and minuses.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic !!! Beautiful place, super helpful staff, delicious food, overall impressive restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was fantastic. No issues, will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for New Year's Eve and it was delicious! The only downside was the ambiance- it was very bright and our table was wobbly. Our table was also a high top which I was not happy about. There are few things I hate more than spending a bunch of money at a restaurant and having it tainted by the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was wonderful! Little slow in getting is our drinks when we arrived, but overall a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food and service great! Highly recommend. Fun for groups.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, the food does not disappoint. It is a nice place to go for a special occasion but it was very crowded and very loud. Thankfully someone finally turned down the Christmas music, but it was still hard to here with all of the people talking at all of the different tables. Had the special - Street tacos, made with blackened salmon - yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was decent but not amazing. The staff was attentive. The restaurant was empty when we were there, only two other tables when we started dinner at 8:30 and no others when we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food, however the restaurant was short staffed. Our waiter did the best he could, but clearly they needed more help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a large group and they were excellent! They were very understanding when we were running a bit late. Great appetizers for splitting and delicious. The eggroll appetizer, pork entree and steak entree were particular hits! They also have really well priced wine. Perfect place for a large group (10) and so accommodating. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was in Richmond for a soccer tournament with my son. Instead of heading to Chipotle for a quick bight with some team mates, we decided to venture out for a good meal. It was well worth it! Delicious, unique local food. Great service. We would have come back the next night, but they were booked for a local event. Definitely try this place! We even bought the preserves made by the sous chef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Every item we ordered was delicious. Best shrimp & grits ever, wonderful rabbit papperdelle and roasted Brussels sprouts with fresh farm taste. Incredible light but soo rich bread pudding with juicy melt in your mouth blackberries. Attentive service, great advice and a warm, relaxing ambience. I will be going to Richmond just to dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We took a few people from out of town there and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The servers are always warm and friendly. The menu offerings are always relevant and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar for apps and it was so comfortable, that we stayed there for dinner. The food was terrific - everything we tried was delish. We had several apps from the bar menu....all were great but the brussel sprouts and truffle fries were both so yummy. My husband had the rabbit and he loved it! The bartender and staff were helpful and friendly, and it was an all around great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

creative flavor profiles, superb product, spot on technique, expert service, and a tasteful surrounding...all for a reasonable cost. What more can you ask for. This is truely a gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. The food flavors were very good. They ran out of chicken and we were the first people in the restaurant for dinner. The desserts were very good. But there was no chocolate option. Several people at my table got the salmon and they thought it was very good. I had the meatloaf which was very good.l. We got the empanadas small plates. Our waitress was working the bar and our table so I feel like our service was slow but she was pleasant and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pudding desert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Crab cake appetizer was wonderful - portion and flavor perfect! The portion size and flavor of the Jambalaya was less than desirable. The apple dessert was a nice portion but seasoned too much with nutmeg/allspice and was way too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

5 friends tried Kitchen for Restaurant Week. We tried 4 four apps and 4 dinners all were outstanding. Dessert had opportunities. Atmosphere was comfortable and not too loud. Service from Rachel was outstanding...not too much and not too little. We all enjoyed it greatly and have already recommended to friends. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Amazing sauces!!! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful dinner experience with another couple for Restaurant Week

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING, the service was OUTSTANDING. Very nice place for dinner, highly recommend to any body.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My son and I enjoy trying new restaurants during Richmond Restaurant Week. We chose Kitchen on Cary for the menu offered and because we had heard good things about it. We were not disappointed. The dinner was delicious, the staff very cordial and the overall décor pleasant, though a bit cold with no carpet to soften the interior space. However, I welcome to chance to return.
Ann D.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent brunch. Waiter very customer oriented. Great mimosas. Very nice place. Will definitely eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful food preparation. Great and unique cocktails. Comfortable setting with friendly, attentive wait servers.

Free parking in the garage across the street. Live music and 1/2 price bottles of wine on the night (Thursday) we dined. What a value in the heart of RVA.

To make it more cozy, I would like the lighting to be dimmed.

Cheers, -JimM

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great choice for taking family members and friends for dinner. Seasonal menu, everyone enjoyed their dish; mine was tasteless and needed seasoning on the salmon and sweet potato puree, nevertheless, I'll still visit again. Great service and atmosphere and would love to try the brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was in town for the weekend with a friend and we decided to stop by Kitchen on Cary for brunch as it was close to our hotel and the brunch menu looked delicious. The Bloody Marys were great and they accommodated me and my friend (both vegetarians) by leaving out the beer brined bacon, although that sounds pretty cool for the meat eaters out there. Our waitress was very sweet and even checked with the chef to make recommendations to my friend about which dishes could be altered to be vegetarian. Overall, we both loved our meals and the great service we received. I would definitely come back the next time I'm in Richmond!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and on point. The food was fabulous, fresh, creative and satisfying. We ordered many small plates and shared-- we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Glad to find this restaurant! We enjoyed our server, our meal, and the feeling of the room.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.