About Kitchen on Cary

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary’s menu consists of a wide variety of local regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy in small plates or bowls or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation at dinner in 14th & Cary St. deck. (see additional details)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday we offer a seasonal 3 Course Wine & Dinner Pairing Menu for $30, in addition to our regular menu. Wine Dinner Pairing Menu changes weekly.

Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 4:30 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuesday Wine Dinners, 3 Courses, only $30.
Thursday, Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Promotions

Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Unplugged & Uncorked

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for 1/2 price off select bottles of wine 5:30-10:00 p.m. and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 16, 2016 - Oct 13, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (29)
good for groups (24)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (15)
romantic (11)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing. We had a relati ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was amazing. We had a relatively large group (6) and they sat us quickly. We all needed separate checks and it was no problem. The food was great. We particularly liked the macaroni and cheese and the pork rind with pimiento cheese appetizers. If ever in Richmond we would most certainly go again.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was very goo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was very good. The challenge was they were busy with groups and ran out of meals. Also, it was very loud because of so many groups. Otherwise, a very positive experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server made great recommendations on ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our server made great recommendations on appetizers and dinner items. Food delicious and wonderful presentation!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Burger was outstanding, as were the truf ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Burger was outstanding, as were the truffle fries. The duck was out of bounds, but the best part spicy greens and truffle mash. Food so good

food5
ambience5
service5

Had the flatbread for appetizer and pork ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Had the flatbread for appetizer and pork sandwich for dinner. Everything was really great. Service was amazing. Very great experience and we will definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food knowledgable staff Good Happ ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food knowledgable staff Good Happy Hour !

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the service v ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service very good. Upon arriving home, we let our friends know about Kitchen on Cary via Facebook. It was a wonderful experience. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited here on the recommendation of a ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Visited here on the recommendation of a friend. Was not sure what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for a business lunch - quality food without making us choke on the bill! Great Food to Value ratio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit and the food wa ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

This was my second visit and the food was very good and the presentation was very nice. But I want to tell you about one of their cocktails, all of which are very reasonably price. The Richmond Mule was unique and fantastic! A simple combination of Honey Habanero Moonshine and spicy ginger brew and a squeeze of lime, served over ice. The sweetness and bite of the ginger brew goes so well with the heat from the Honey Habanero Moonshine that I could not get enough. I liked it so much I hunted down the ingredients so I could have them at home too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection of locally sourced foods ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great selection of locally sourced foods!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great space, good food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Light and airy, with the warehouse feel preserved and the vintage Richmond photos add to that feeling. Food creative but too carb centric. The crab cake disappointing and not competitive with several other restaurants in Richmond........if you cannot go backfin crab meat at this price it shouldn't be on the menu. Service was energetic and friendly. It is a few details away from being excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Diners

Dined on May 8, 2016

Taylor was our waitress, and she was simply outstanding! The food was wonderful--very delicous, and an interesting menu. The wine selection was strong, with a range of price points. We even splurged and had some delicious dessert. We definitely plan to go again the next time we are in Richmond. I believe they changed chefs not too long ago. The kitchen definitely has its act together!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not great

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We got seated and it took about 15-20 min for somebody to notice us. The waitress apologized and promised the rest of the dinner will be great. Her service was indeed but the food was mediocre at best. We had: a roasted cauliflower appetizer which was promised to be with indian spices: it was barely roasted and forgettable; an asparagus soup cream with mushroom which had a ton of salt, had a full glass of water with it but gave up half way; a crab cake which except the sauce (which was tasty) was as good as Mike's (food cart at MCV) except Mike's is 6 bucks and a hanger steak which was chewy and served with asparagus, the same as the crab cake. I had amazing asparagus but this was not. We skipped desert but had two glasses of wine, ok, but as unremarkable a the rest of the meal . Unfortunately this will be a one time visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Mother's Day dinner and Derby! F ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Perfect Mother's Day dinner and Derby! Food was top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, elegant, and lovely all around.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Last Saturday evening was our first visit to this restaurant. We are always looking for new places to eat in Richmond when we are in town, and this one was exactly what I was looking for. Quiet, spotlessly clean, lovely decor (crisp, simple, yet elegant modern), and impeccable in terms of service and delectability of food. Highly recommend and will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here during RVA Spring Resta ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

First time here during RVA Spring Restaurant Week. Excellent service, food was delicious. Nice surroundings. Will have to try again on Wine Tuesdays night

food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem and will definitely be coming ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Hidden gem and will definitely be coming back as much as possible. Server, management, etc. were amazing...will be back soon!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on April 21, 2016

We went for restaurant week because we had not been before and we're very glad that we did. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 20, 2016

My party and I loved your restaurant week menu. The food was fantastic. Our only complaint was that it took us a little while for our next round of drinks and for plates to be cleared, but overall it was a great experience. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

I can't believe I haven't been here before, the food was delicious, cooked perfectly. The drinks were well made and refreshing, great service and ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service

Dined on April 18, 2016

First visit and took advantage of their restaurant week offerings. More extensive selection and larger portions than we sometimes have found during restaurant week. Excellent cocktails and wine and innovative preparations . Great service - attentive but not rushed or hovering. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always. The food was great! ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent as always. The food was great!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great wine dinner value

Dined on April 5, 2016

We enjoyed our Tuesday wine dinner pre-fixe meal. It was good food and decent wines for a bargain.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Generally underwhelming.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Our first night in Richmond and we really expected more. Everything is served with aioli/mayo so it's a bit monochromatic. Chicken on the house salad was overcooked, very dry and absolutely flavorless. Burger was good...very juicy and flavorful, but otherwise the experience was lackluster.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imaginative cooking without being over the top.

Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed the best fried oysters I have ever had (after a long lifetime of enjoying oysters). Lightly breaded with cornmeal, they were incredibly juicy and delicate. The other dishes (we sampled 5 small plates) we imaginatively delicious. The brussel sprouts were notably flavored with bacon and ale (a surprisingly good pairing). All the dishes were thoughtfully prepared, and service was just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely brunch!

Dined on March 20, 2016

I had gone by the restaurant and commented about eating there for some time. We finally got there for brunch on Sunday and it was lovely. The ambience was great, especially for being right on the corner of a main intersection. The waiter was extremely knowledgable and friendly. The manager was helpful and nearby should we have needed a thing. They had just changed the menu and were on top of it! We had cheese puffs and fried green tomatoes for apps...Delish! Especially the jam for the cheese puffs. My boyfriend and I split the bread pudding French toast and short rib breakfast tacos. Sweet and savory and wonderful! We ate every bit of our meal and loved it. Will def go back again. Want to try the wine pairing meal on Tuesdays :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

New Menu for Spring ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Love this place, but on this particular evening, they had introduced a new menu for Spring which in my opinion needs some tweeking. Servers had not yet tasted the new items and were unable to help with questions. The duck wings were a special, instead of an appetizer on the menu, which we have enjoyed twice now. Still need a dipping sauce! The cauliflower did not live up to my expectations as the yogurt sauce was water downed with no flavor. The meatloaf was as good as the first time, but the mac and cheese appetizer was cold and had to be sent back to be warmed, otherwise, it was tasty. Perhaps the inconsistency in food quality on this particular visit was due to the restaurant being busier. We'll be back, and I urge others to give it a try.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Lauren was just wonderful. Thanks for a ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Lauren was just wonderful. Thanks for a lovely dinner!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Hidden gem... in the slip, but not on the beaten path, so it doesn't seem to get the traffic it deserves. Excellent cocktails... the Peach Old Fashioned was delicious, as was the Basil Manhattan. The menu was a eclectic with delightful offerings making it difficult to choose. We settled on the Duck Wings and Brussels Sprouts for appetizers ... and would have loved a dipping sauce for the wings, but nonetheless, they were delicious ... loved the ginger in the kim chee. The bacon wrapped meatloaf was well prepared with a delicious Marsala gravy and side of mashed potatoes and asparagus, topped with a few onion rings making it the perfect comfort food, and easy to split. Apple cobbler was good, but I order cobblers for the crust! So, all it needs is an ample crust to make it perfection ... the maple, bacon ice cream was a nice touch. Service was perfect, as our server was helpful and informative with questions about dishes. Do yourself a favor and put this little gem on your list of go-to's ... it is definitely worth a try ... We'll be back soon to try some other dishes we were debating upon ...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thursday's Select wines at 1/2 price on ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Thursday's Select wines at 1/2 price on bottles was a welcome surprise! I had a beet salad with salmon added and it was to die for. We split the Brussels sprouts which were delicious as well. Cute, fun place with terrific farm-to-table food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I read the great reviews on Open Table a ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

I read the great reviews on Open Table and took a chance. The restaurant, food, service, and ambiance were all better than expected. We will definitely be returning to Kitchen on Cary.

food4
ambience4
service4

Bacon ice cream!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Bacon ice cream!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fish was going bad and overcooked

Dined on March 1, 2016

Fish was going bad and overcooked. Not good experience.

food5
ambience5
service4

Put this on your list. An excellent eati ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Put this on your list. An excellent eating place.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great VDay Experience!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed the Valentine's prix fixe menu before the snow came down; every plate we had was truly delicious, in addition to being well thought out and beautiful. The space is industrial but modern. Service was great, attentive but not overbearing. The available cocktails were twists on old classics... also very tasty. Look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food is amazing and the value is outstanding.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is amazing and the value is outstanding. The atmosphere is a little cold or clinical. I'm not sure why, it has something about the tables or the configuration of the tables. I've been here for brunch twice and dinner once and every time it has been consitantly good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Food was great ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything was excellent. Food was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Knowledgeable staff. Rel ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious food. Knowledgeable staff. Relaxing and romantic environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and brought out i ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent and brought out in a timely manner. The waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Great restaurant.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, as always. Dessert was not good.

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Two coworkers and I had an excellent dinner. The entree's were, of course, exceptional, and the drinks were well-mixed. Our go-to server, Rachel, remembered that one of my coworkers liked bleu cheese olives in his martini and made some for him without being asked. That is why she is our go-to server, she provides a consistently stellar experience! Unfortunately, we had our first unpleasant KoC experience with the dessert dish. It was a sponge cake with chocolate ganache. It was supposed to come with peanut butter ice cream, but I replaced that with vanilla bean. The scoop of ice cream that I received was so tiny that I had to ask for another. A very unusual experience for us as frequent diners... The dessert arrived as essentially a plate of dry, disconnected and unappealing ingredients. I really couldn't even call it a dessert. Very disappointed. Please, stop with the "fancy", eclectic desserts and simply offer a "normal" chocolate mousse, or multi-layer chocolate cake, or something similar. We'll be much more impressed with a dessert that is familiar and tasty.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.