About Kitchen on Cary

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Blarney Bash at Kitchen on Cary

Saturday Mar 11, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Blarney Bash at Kitchen on Cary

Saturday Mar 11, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Springtime is almost here and the best way to celebrate is with a Blarney Bash! Our Irish-focused menu will be served exclusively Sat, March 11, noon - 8 p.m. Please note the extended hours & see our website for the complete menu!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th and Cary Street Deck. Special valid on Saturday Mar 11, 2017 from 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Tuesday Night Wine Dinner $30, 3 wines, 3 seasonally-inspired courses. Join us and see what Chef Michael Macknight has in store . Menu changes weekly. Available from 5-10 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th & Cary Street deck with dinner. Special valid Dec 10, 2016 - Apr 10, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Unplugged & Uncorked - 1/2 Off Wine Special

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm and live acoustic music 5:30-8:30! Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - May 11, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy select $5 Small Plates, $3 Well Drinks, $2 off Virginia Craft Beers on Tap, $2 off Wine by the Glass and $2 off Craft Cocktails at the bar Mon-Fri, 4:30-7 pm. 804-643-1315. Excludes Tax and Tip. Free parking at the Cary & 14th Street deck w/ dine-in dinner entrée purchase. Special valid Feb 20, 2017 - Jun 20, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Local Ingredients (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kitchen on Cary is very underrated. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Kitchen on Cary is very underrated. The food was local, healthy, tasty,and well presented. There was a pleasant, laid back, ambiance but everything was done very professionally. I hate to write it up because I am giving away my secret spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is my 3rd visit to Kitchen on Cary ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is my 3rd visit to Kitchen on Cary and all 3 times the Food has been great!! The atmosphere was great. The service Fantastic. Love the fact that the food is local!!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, , Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice fun and interesting cocktails. Very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice fun and interesting cocktails. Very nice wine selection. Apps and small plates were terrific. Good portions. Good combo of ingredients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. Limited brunch menu. Bloody ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok. Limited brunch menu. Bloody Mary's were over priced at $12 each. I don't mind paying for good food and drinks but this wasn't a good place. We were the only table for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Really creative food--my friend and I sa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Really creative food--my friend and I sat by the front window, which was perfect for conversation and noise level and a two person experience. I had delicious salmon tacos. We devoured fries with truffles. My friend had meatloaf wrapped in bacon which she said was good but wouldn't order again. We liked our apple dessert though the apples were a bit under cooked. Though tasty, the menu seemed overpriced. All in all, pluses and minuses.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic !!! Beautiful place, super hel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic !!! Beautiful place, super helpful staff, delicious food, overall impressive restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic. No issues, will def ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was fantastic. No issues, will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for New Year's Eve and it w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for New Year's Eve and it was delicious! The only downside was the ambiance- it was very bright and our table was wobbly. Our table was also a high top which I was not happy about. There are few things I hate more than spending a bunch of money at a restaurant and having it tainted by the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was wonderful! Little slow in g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was wonderful! Little slow in getting is our drinks when we arrived, but overall a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service great! Highly recommend ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food and service great! Highly recommend. Fun for groups.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food does not disappoint. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, the food does not disappoint. It is a nice place to go for a special occasion but it was very crowded and very loud. Thankfully someone finally turned down the Christmas music, but it was still hard to here with all of the people talking at all of the different tables. Had the special - Street tacos, made with blackened salmon - yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was decent but not amazing. The ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was decent but not amazing. The staff was attentive. The restaurant was empty when we were there, only two other tables when we started dinner at 8:30 and no others when we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good food, however the restaurant was sh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good food, however the restaurant was short staffed. Our waiter did the best he could, but clearly they needed more help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a large group and they were excel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had a large group and they were excellent! They were very understanding when we were running a bit late. Great appetizers for splitting and delicious. The eggroll appetizer, pork entree and steak entree were particular hits! They also have really well priced wine. Perfect place for a large group (10) and so accommodating. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in Richmond for a soccer tournament ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Was in Richmond for a soccer tournament with my son. Instead of heading to Chipotle for a quick bight with some team mates, we decided to venture out for a good meal. It was well worth it! Delicious, unique local food. Great service. We would have come back the next night, but they were booked for a local event. Definitely try this place! We even bought the preserves made by the sous chef.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every item we ordered was delicious. Bes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Every item we ordered was delicious. Best shrimp & grits ever, wonderful rabbit papperdelle and roasted Brussels sprouts with fresh farm taste. Incredible light but soo rich bread pudding with juicy melt in your mouth blackberries. Attentive service, great advice and a warm, relaxing ambience. I will be going to Richmond just to dine there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took a few people from out of town th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We took a few people from out of town there and everyone had a great time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The servers are always warm and friendly ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The servers are always warm and friendly. The menu offerings are always relevant and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing! Ended up sitting at the bar for apps and it was so comfortable, that we stayed there for dinner. The food was terrific - everything we tried was delish. We had several apps from the bar menu....all were great but the brussel sprouts and truffle fries were both so yummy. My husband had the rabbit and he loved it! The bartender and staff were helpful and friendly, and it was an all around great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

creative flavor profiles, superb product ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

creative flavor profiles, superb product, spot on technique, expert service, and a tasteful surrounding...all for a reasonable cost. What more can you ask for. This is truely a gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times. The food flavors were very good. They ran out of chicken and we were the first people in the restaurant for dinner. The desserts were very good. But there was no chocolate option. Several people at my table got the salmon and they thought it was very good. I had the meatloaf which was very good.l. We got the empanadas small plates. Our waitress was working the bar and our table so I feel like our service was slow but she was pleasant and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Entree was delivered cold! The bread pudding desert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Crab cake appetizer was wonderful - port ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Crab cake appetizer was wonderful - portion and flavor perfect! The portion size and flavor of the Jambalaya was less than desirable. The apple dessert was a nice portion but seasoned too much with nutmeg/allspice and was way too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

5 friends tried Kitchen for Restaurant W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

5 friends tried Kitchen for Restaurant Week. We tried 4 four apps and 4 dinners all were outstanding. Dessert had opportunities. Atmosphere was comfortable and not too loud. Service from Rachel was outstanding...not too much and not too little. We all enjoyed it greatly and have already recommended to friends. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week. Amazing sauce ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Went for restaurant week. Amazing sauces!!! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner experience with another ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful dinner experience with another couple for Restaurant Week

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was OUTSTANDING, the service w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING, the service was OUTSTANDING. Very nice place for dinner, highly recommend to any body.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son and I enjoy trying new restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My son and I enjoy trying new restaurants during Richmond Restaurant Week. We chose Kitchen on Cary for the menu offered and because we had heard good things about it. We were not disappointed. The dinner was delicious, the staff very cordial and the overall décor pleasant, though a bit cold with no carpet to soften the interior space. However, I welcome to chance to return.

Ann D.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent brunch. Waiter very customer o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent brunch. Waiter very customer oriented. Great mimosas. Very nice place. Will definitely eat there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food preparation. Great and u ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful food preparation. Great and unique cocktails. Comfortable setting with friendly, attentive wait servers.

Free parking in the garage across the street. Live music and 1/2 price bottles of wine on the night (Thursday) we dined. What a value in the heart of RVA.

To make it more cozy, I would like the lighting to be dimmed.

Cheers, -JimM

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great choice for taking family members a ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great choice for taking family members and friends for dinner. Seasonal menu, everyone enjoyed their dish; mine was tasteless and needed seasoning on the salmon and sweet potato puree, nevertheless, I'll still visit again. Great service and atmosphere and would love to try the brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in town for the weekend with a fri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was in town for the weekend with a friend and we decided to stop by Kitchen on Cary for brunch as it was close to our hotel and the brunch menu looked delicious. The Bloody Marys were great and they accommodated me and my friend (both vegetarians) by leaving out the beer brined bacon, although that sounds pretty cool for the meat eaters out there. Our waitress was very sweet and even checked with the chef to make recommendations to my friend about which dishes could be altered to be vegetarian. Overall, we both loved our meals and the great service we received. I would definitely come back the next time I'm in Richmond!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and on point. The food was fabulous, fresh, creative and satisfying. We ordered many small plates and shared-- we will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Glad to find this restaurant! We enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Glad to find this restaurant! We enjoyed our server, our meal, and the feeling of the room.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Came twice ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food and service. Came twice in one week (was staying at the Omni for business). Both of our servers were fantastic and made great recommendations.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant atmosphere, tasty. Attentive s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere, tasty. Attentive service. If visit Richmond again, will likely to go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like this place. The menu is imaginati ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I like this place. The menu is imaginative without going over the edge--tasty, well-prepared and well-presented dishes. The ambiance is nice, with recorded music in the background. The service this time was a little lax, but not uncomfortably so.

Definitely worth trying.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This place is amazing. One of the best d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is amazing. One of the best dinners in a long time. Service was great, not intrusive, informative and friendly. Great quality food. Wish I could eat there every week. Please open one in Charlotte, NC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very disappointing dinner & b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was a very disappointing dinner & based on our experience would not recommend the restaurant. We went on Tuesday for the 3 course dinner while wine was crisp and cold, the tomato salad over dressed & bland, crab cakes very mushy, but the cream corn/ham dish delicious as was dessert. The special for the evening coconut grouper was undercooked really one piece was raw. Waitress rude and argumentative. The only positives were the wine & the manager, but food not worth returning for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We have been trying to get to this resta ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been trying to get to this restaurant for some time now and we weren't disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were all great. We shared several small plates, followed by delicious desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.