About Kitchen on Cary

Located in the Historic Shockoe Slip in downtown Richmond, Kitchen on Cary is the home of award-winning Executive Chef Michael Macknight. Our menu features of a wide variety of local & regionally sourced, contemporary American food, which guests can enjoy as small plates or as larger, traditional entrées.

Complimentary parking validation after 5 pm at the 14th & Cary St. deck. (Valid w/ purchase of dinner entree.)

1331 East Cary Street
Richmond, VA 23219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday Lunch: 11:30 am - 2 pm Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Saturday: Dinner: 4:30 pm - 10 pm
Sunday Brunch 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Happy Hour, Mon.-Fri., 4:30-7:00pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 643-1315

Website:
http://www.kitchenoncary.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday's is Unplugged & Uncorked! The soft acoustic sounds of Legendary Richmond Guitarist Thomas Coleman & 1/2 Priced Select Bottles of Wine from 5 - 10 pm

Parking Details:
We validate parking after 5 P.M. at the parking garage at the corner of 14th St. and E. Cary, diagonally across the street from the restaurant. (dine in only, purchase of dinner entree.)

Executive Chef:
Michael Macknight

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Richmond Restaurant Week: Oct. 24-30.
Happy Hour: M-F, 4:30-7pm. $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials at the bar.
Tuesday: Wine Dinners, 3 local-focused courses including wine $30.
Thursday: Unplugged & Uncorked. 1/2 off select bottles of wine and live acoustic guitar music.

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Richmond Restaurant Week Prix-Fixe Event

Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Oct 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1/2 Off Wine Special Every Thursday

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Tuesday Wine Dinner

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three unique seasonally inspired courses & 3 wines, only $30. Join us and see what Chef Michael Macknight has in store. Menu changes weekly. Available from 5-10 p.m. Excludes Tax and Tip. Complimentary validated parking in the 14th & Cary Street deck with dinner. Special valid Oct 3, 2017 - Dec 19, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Richmond Restaurant Week Prix-Fixe Event

Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Oct 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Celebrate Richmond Week with our fresh-focused prix-fixe menu for only $29.17! $4.17 of each meal purchased is donated to FeedMore. (Central Virginia Food Bank and Meals on Wheels.) Please note we're serving exclusively from this menu Oct. 23-29. Excludes Tax and Tip. Due to popular demand we've added an extra dinner service Sun., Oct. 30, 5-9pm!. Special valid Oct 23, 2017 - Oct 29, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1/2 Off Wine Special Every Thursday

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for half-off select bottles of wine from 5-10 pm. Free validated parking in the 14th & Cary St. deck with purchase of dinner entree. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 5, 2017 - Dec 28, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour - $5 Small Plates & Drink Specials

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy select $5 Small Plates, $3 Well Drinks, $2 off Virginia Craft Beers on Tap, $2 off Wine by the Glass and $2 off Craft Cocktails at the bar Mon-Fri, 4:30-7 pm. 804-643-1315. Excludes Tax and Tip. Free parking at the Cary & 14th Street deck w/ dine-in dinner entrée purchase. Special valid Oct 2, 2017 - Dec 29, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Kitchen on Cary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Business Meals (9)
Casual (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

After the reviews and great looking pictures on Yelp...we decided to celebrate our anniversary there. Big disappoint. Menu was very limited. The waiter was very nice and when he didn't have answers, he quickly found out. The interior was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had an excellent time at Kitchen on Cary. From beginning (happy hour) to end (dessert), the meal and service were fantastic. We tried two appetizers and five entrees. There wasn't a leftover to be found. Excellent experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our team eats at Kitchen on Cary about every 10 days for the past two years. Always good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, great staff and great location. Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd what the hell else can I say to use 50 characters.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers were amazing, including the grilled romaine, fried green tomatoes, and eggplant fries....not so much the pork buns. Entrees were also mixed..... hits: gnocchi and pork chop....misses : fried chicken and hanger steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was amazing, and knowing it was mainly from local sources made it better. I will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I was curious about this restaurant for many years, but because we are not locals I couldn't resist going to my favorites when in the aria in stead of trying new choices.
This time I made sure I try this place, but unfortunately can not say I am glad I did.
To me restaurants bring you different levels of experience: a)WOW, b)GREAT, c) GOOD, d)NOT SO GOOD, e)NOT GOOD, & f)BAD.
This place fits to experience c) which is GOOD. But for people who have just few days to spend in Richmond, it's a pity to experience just GOOD, when you know the places that give you a WOW experience. And that's why we are not planing to return. But If I'd live nearby I would come here once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a great time for my husband's birthday ! The service was phenomenal. We had Brussels sprouts and the apple salad to start. My husband had the special of NY strip and shrimp with horseradish mashed potatoes and sugar snap beans. I had the other special of Tennessee hot chicken with Mac n cheese. We also had great drinks - their old fashioned is unbelievable!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The server was very nice but obviously not updated on all specials on menu. I had wanted to go to The Kitchen on Cary for the hot chicken special that was a Tuesday dinner I missed but decided to check out on next Friday. The other waiter mentioned Nashville hot chicken as part of special which we weren't given, if I had known, I would have ordered. I had already ordered another meal and didn't want to change since already done, such a waste of food and $$ to change after one dish done so I ordered the chicken to go. The hanger steak I had was delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Recommend going with the special. The menu items are good but the specials are amazing and really shine since the ingredients are at peak. We had a corn and lemon risotto with trout that was amazing g. Perfectly seasoned and balanced.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of my favorite lunch spots in downtown Richmond. Excellent food, service and environment! Love the jazz music playing in the background; it was not loud but soothing and made for a relaxing lunch. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Stopped in for late lunch. The brussel sprouts are AMAZING!! Service was great and very accommodating. I didn't love the quiche....it was more like brioche but I appreciated the server warning me that it wasn't a typical quiche. I really enjoy this restaurant. It was my second visit and I will go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent!! Food was outstanding beginning with the appetitizers (fried green tomatoes and fried pimiento fritters), scallops and fried oysters entres and ending with delicious desserts (bread pudding with hard wiskey sauce or peach cobbler). Well worth the hour and half drive to Richmond. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The mixologist served a delicious Ruby Slipper Cocktail of Moonshine,Champagne,Cranberry liquer....delicious.
The local Trout was very good. The scallops were attractively served with a special Risotto...generous!!
One friend loved the Beef appetizer as a meal!!
All good and well recommended!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful meal from grilled asparagus and crispy brussel sprouts to open to peach cobbler and a Macaroon nightcap to close. Food was delicious, if the dinner portions modest in size. Service was great. We enjoyed the experience tremendously. We were glad we'd made a reservation. It was full on a Saturday night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Really good food! The Richmond mule has a real spicy ginger kick and enjoyed the grilled romaine salad and shrimp and grits. Reasonably priced. I would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very carefully prepared healthy food provided in a very open and vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

See Bill, the Manager and introduce yourself, BEFORE you sit down to eat.
He is a good guy that is trying to hire the best kitchen he can afford...Best of everything Bill and hope you amp up your team with a little talent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

My first time here. Met up with friends I hadn't seen in a good while and the waitress was patient and accommodating as we chatted and held her up!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was wxcellent. Would have liked more vegetarian option but what I had was superb. Local ingredients. Excellent place to take out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Family gathering. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great lunch! Excellent menu and wonderful food. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very flexible and great for our large party that made a last minute reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First try at this restaurant. The service was outstanding. The food was decent. Want to try again to see if the food gets better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was a delicious lunch. Some of the appetizer portions were not big enough for a group of 8 (the asparagus) and the dining experience put us over our time limit while waiting for the check but overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our bartender/waitress, Rachael was great!She made really good drinks and provided great service throughout the evening.The food was outstanding.There were 3 couples who were all satisfied and felt that it was a great experience.We try a different restaurant each month.Have been doing for 5 years and haven't missed once.Kitchen on Cary is one of our favorite.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always our experience at Kitchen on Cary was remarkable! The food was delicious, service was amazing and the manager (on both visits) came over towards the end of our meal to make sure we had a great time. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a business meal for 7 at Kitchen on Cary. Our waitress was attentive without being bothersome and the food was fantastic. We shared a couple of appetizers and then I got the short rib beef Street Tacos - absolutely delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great happy hour apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. The Prix Fixe menu was grossly overpriced for the quality of food served. Most of us around the table gave our meals about a 5/10. The cocktails were not so great either. In the RVA foodie, craft cocktail scene, you have to be on top of your game at all times. This restaurant misses the mark compared to other local restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch and were very pleased with the selections.We were with friends.The spacing out of our food being served was perfect,which allowed great conversations and relaxation.Everyone was pleased with the taste of the food.Great mohitas!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Kitchen on Cary did not disappoint! Great food, excellent service And quiet atmosphere! Rachel our server was fantastic! Absolutely no rush between courses! Kudos to The Kitchen On Cary for exceeding expectations!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Special event dinner for my son's graduation from college. Seated quickly, nice table, very good noise level. But, our sever seemed very inexperienced. Spilled a drink on my mother. Couldn't keep orders straight. Appetizers were good. I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf which sounded amazing to a meat lover. It was tasteless and boring to be blunt. Other guests did enjoy their meals. After dinner no offer of coffee or dessert, I was just handed the check? Never had that experience before. We were certainly quiet and not a troublesome group so not sure why. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time eating here. It was surprisingly slow and quiet for a Friday evening. The atmosphere was a bit boring. Too much beige paint: the walls, the ceiling, the bar, the brick we're all the same color. The service was very good, the food was average. We had the Oscar fillet and bacon wrapped meatloaf. Glad we tried it out though we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had a great date night with my husband at The Kitchen on Cary! The staff was cheerful and helpful. The food was good and I appreciated that it was locally grown. The shrimp and grits were fantastic!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All around good experience. We are early diners so place was near empty at 6:00 pm. Food was great and wait staff attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Kitchen on Cary was delightful! The food was fresh, imaginative and delicious. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bacon wrapped Meatloaf was delicious. Went for Restaurant week but had a good variety and enjoyed everything that we ordered. Service was great, good selection of beer and wine.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a fantastic experience, from the time we entered until we paid the check. Service was attentive, and also knowledgeable regarding the menu, which is rare these days. Great opportunity to take advantage of Richmond Restaurant Week, and try a new place for us. I would highly recommend this phenomenal restaurant. A hidden gem in the Slip.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.