Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Kinmont

4.3
450 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Kinmont is the very first sustainable fish and seafood restaurant in Chicago. We believe in ethical fishing practices, and feature rough fish — some of the most sustainable on the planet. Our menu is ever-changing, as we source seafood daily and supplement local fish with ethically sourced product from both coasts. While seafood is our focus, there's still plenty of food for landlubbers, including vegetables, meats and our celebrated burger.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm - 10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 915-0011
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dennis Gutierrez
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Kinmont can accommodate all your special event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Private Event Coordinator: (312) 915-0011
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Sedgwick and Hudson
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample street parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
1.5 blocks west of Chicago/Brown Line
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Contact us for information about special events!
info@kinmontrestaurant.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 450 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve prix fixe dinner. The seafood appetizer was delicious. There was a choice of additional courses and the main was either a filet mignon or skate wing. It was all good, though a little expensive. It is good for a splurge once in a while.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2016

My fiance and I decided to check out Kinmont after receiving a Groupon for the restaurant. I'm an avid seafood lover & my fiance is just starting out so after reading plenty of wonderful reviews, we decided it out be a great spot! The location of the restaurant is a bit secluded so it was no surprise that we were asked several times how we had heard of Kinmont upon arrival. We were taken to our table & cold tap water (with the option for sparkling) was brought swiftly to the table. I could see the waiter giving my fiance a quizzical look & he proceed to refer to us both as "ladies" for the remainder of the evening. Deeply embarrassed by the slip, my baby-faced MALE fiance didn't want to correct our waiter and let it slide for the rest of the night (mostly because we didn't realize we would be addressed as such each and every time our waiter approached the table).
We took advantage of half-off bottles of wine night (most week nights have pretty awesome specials) and I enjoyed a really fabulous Eric Louis sauvignon blanc, chilled table side. To eat we agreed to share the King Crab legs and lobster roll. For an unexplained reason the Crab came out quite a bit later than the roll (even though we asked that they be brought together) but our server was apologetic and the food was tremendous regardless. The roll was buttery and fresh, the crab leg meat was nestled nicely in shell and the mustard that accompanied them was DIVINE. The bill would have been steep had it not been for the wine special, but each item was priced in a way that reflected its quality.
Kinmont would have easily been given a 5 star review if it were based on food alone, however; the snaffu with our waiter put a bit of a damper on the evening for us. Service was otherwise wonderful and I would highly recommend dining at Kinmont and will most likely return again - all I would say is that servers should adopt more gender neutral language when addressing guests especially if a guest has you guessing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Great cozy spot. Overall an excellent dining experience. We had to wait a bit early on for the waiter to attend to us, but the GM noticed and immediately took care of us and the service after that was awesome. Food was very good! Get the crab hush puppies!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was great! we ended up sitting at the bar and the staff was very nice and helpful. bartenders made a great martini. Food was terrific! we have the charcuterie plate-- very, very good-- and crab hush puppies, good. then we split the trout rueben... also very, very good! will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2016

It was quiet but wouldn't recommend for a date night. Service was okay. Good for dollar oyster night. Menu was limited.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our third visit to Kinmont, and it was better than any previous visit. Our server was fabulous, the atmosphere cozy, the food lovely. I'll be returning until I figure out the story of how Margo the fox who sits above the bar got her name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Kinmont to celebrate a birthday. Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Entrees were creative and delicious and the beignets were to die for. Would recommend to a friend and would go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2016

Amazing food! Very tasty cocktails! MUST DINE HERE!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife and I came on a date night and enjoyed our time very much. We were welcomed warmly and led to our table where our server was very kind and personable to us. My wife ordered oysters and the squid ink gnocchi, I had the autumn soup and the catch of the day (Lake Michigan Trout). The food was delicious, though it did take a tiny bit longer than I would have liked. However, it was worth the wait. The evening manager was a little pushy about dessert, but all in all, it didn't bother me much. We will certainly be coming back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2016

It's was my birthday an I had a party of 13, they were able to comfortably accommodate a us. It was the perfect choice for my friends who don't eat beef or pork, everyone was happy with their meal! I had the oysters, crabs legs an trout all were absolutely amazing the trout was to die for an the black eyed peas were a perfect compliment to the dish! I will be back very soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2016

Great service, food, and people. And the atmosphere. Wait, did I mention people? Yeah, that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2016

I saw Kinmont listed on a Zagat review and decided to check it out. It is definitely off the beaten path but once inside we really liked the atmosphere. We started with Oysters which were excellent. My date ordered the goat with Risotto while I choose the Lake Perch Both meals were outstanding. We don't usually order dessert but I had to try the Key Lime Pie and we were both glad we did. The pie was jut the right texture and the crust was perfect.

I would go back in a minute!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2016

Kinmont does not seem to get nearly as much attention as it deserves. It's only "fault" (if you want to call it that) is there is almost nothing on the menu for people who do not like fish. Obviously fish is what they do and they do it very well, better than most in the city, but it is hard to find a group of friends or family where everyone wants fish. That and its location is not ideal (although easily within range of other River North restaurants and night life).

Still, as said, the fish here is as good as you will get in Chicago and they offer a variety of fresh water fish options such as trout and perch and walleye. The fish offered is seasonal so changes fairly often.

The bar area is nice and the bartenders and knowledgeable and friendly.

The one place Kinmont does not do well in is dessert. The selection is extremely limited (two items on offer when I was there).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2016

Why was this place not more crowded? Impeccable service, the food was divine and the atmosphere peaceful. The music was off beat compared to the decor (old country with leather seats) but we were highly impressed with everything. A group of 8 of us we were there for a business dinner and there was never more than 1 other table seated the entire night. An absolute hidden gem!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was great, but the overall food quality was mediocre. We were looking for seafood but only half the group was happy with their meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

Kind of off of the beaten path, so you can find parking right on the street which is awesome. Food was very very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2016

Love coming to Kinmont! The food and service is always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Awesome culinary experience! The best poutine we've ever had!!!!! Every course was delicious and fresh!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2016

The service is wonderful st Kinmont. Each time I've been there for dinner the manager greats us when we check in. On our most recent visit the waiter treated us to a couple of extras since it was a birthday dinner.

The food is solid. Slightly small portions but that is good because it allowed me to have room for their amazing Key Lime Pie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends Sat night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2016

Got the Tower, Branzino, and charcuterie. Everything was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food all around for a meeting on my birthday. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 15, 2016

I love the location of this restaurant, being in a mostly quiet residential part of town away from the hustle and bustle. Also loved the ambiance and décor. The lighting is perfect, the spacing between tables as well. This a space to have a relaxing, casual and romantic dinner.

Our entrées and cocktails were well excellent. The seafood dishes we had: a seafood charcuterie board, the trout, salmon were all tasty (well-seasoned), clean and perfectly portioned. The only drawback during this visit was that the kitchen messed up our order and brought our entrees quite late, but the GM was prompt to apologize. I’ll definitely be going back; I want to explore the more of their menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

I had the salmon, and my mother had the trout. Both were delicious. The wintergreen salad was perfect! The Parkerhouse rolls were yummy! Definitely will visit again. Our server, Jason, was attentive and helpful with his input about menu selections. Plenty of street parking which was a plus!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Kinmont. The fish dishes were excellent. I recommend the perch, salmon, and the trout. The crab roll was extremely salty and borderline not edible. To be safe, just stick with the fish. The appetizers were great and I highly recommend the warm rolls. The mixed drinks were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

Yes, the fish is fresh, but the preparation is outstanding. Really one of the better restaurants in the city. Wine list is not large, but has some very interesting selections.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2016

Cool spot, but all five of us underwhelmed by food. The fish all overcooked and most of the dishes were served barely warm. Service was great, but the food was truly average.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food but portions were a little small for the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

We had a delightful experience start to finish! The decor was visually appealing, the food delicious and yummy touches like granola on carrots!. Will definitely eat here again. Server was knowledgable and we listened to his suggestions and benefited from them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

A wonderful dinner experience, including the space, the staff and the food. We walked by the restaurant a few days earlier and decided to check it out. It is a 15 minute walk (less than a mile) west of the busier State Street and Michigan Avenue restaurant scene in a quieter residential/art studio neighborhood. The menu our night had only a dozen plus well thought out mains ranging from $15 sandwiches to a $35 filet mignon, but the ~$25 fish options are the stars. All nicely paired with sides and served promptly by a gracious wait staff. Specialty menu drinks were really good - try the sangria. A manager, Gregory, was also making the rounds asking names and shaking hands. Not a large dining space but availability seems good even on weekends. We'll be back and maybe make it to dessert next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2016

We sat at the bar and ordered our meal. Our bartender gave us drink and food recommendations which were fantastic! Food was amazing as was the personable attitude for the bar staff! Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our third visit to Kinmont and once again it was spectacular. We had a small platter of seafood and everything was so fresh. For dessert we had key lime pie and the beignets. They were decedent and the right amount of sweet. Their cocktails are also awesome. We recommend the Evil Doer. The cost is a good balance. You get more than what you pay for sure.
5 stars for the third time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

The branzino special was excellent. It was unusually quiet for a Saturday night, and it made for a delightful meal outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. He was knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu and his recommendations were on point. When he found out it was our wedding anniversary, sent us champagne. Very nice touch.

The mixed drinks were amazing. No fillers. Not heavy on the gun. Fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2016

We found this restaurant via a google search on restaurants serving trout in Chicago. The restaurant is hidden away on a street with little traffic. We are glad we found it. The trout and lake michigan perch were excellent. The sides were also very good - I recommend the carrots with pumpkin spice granola. And the house made key lime pie was also excellent. If you are looking for a great seafood restaurant in Chicago that is off the main street, this is the place to go. Also, it is only about 2 blocks to the brown line El train (Chicago street station). Get off at the Superior street exit and walk west.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

Great seafood entrees. Very well prepared Menu a bit limited.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 3, 2016

We ate here last Saturday night...The atmosphere was very casual and the service was good..The food was just okay for me...didn't live up to the price point in my mind. Perhaps this place is better to come for the many daily specials that they have here... like their oyster happy hour and 3$ burger special. We did have a great mussel appetizer...was in a red sauce with fennel and it was excellent. Our entrees were just okay...I had the skate..which had a hint of ammonia in the after taste which is very off putting to me..I've experienced this before in Italy when eating fresh fish and just couldn't get past that aftertaste. Other than the mussels everything else just cowered in taste and quality in my eye...not sure i will try this place again as there are so many great seafood restaurants in Chicago these days

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2016

Love Kinmont! I ate there 2 nights in a row. Had such a great time Friday sitting outside. So I went back on Saturday. With a holiday weekend, I knew it was going to be slow. Plus, I really wanted to try the skate special. Delicious! And the burger on Friday night was divine!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 2, 2016

Our group's visit at Kinmont was good, but not great. We dined there on at 8:00pm on Friday, but barely a third of the tables were in use. We opted for the more lively 6-table sidewalk seating. Service was attentive and knowledgeable. We tried a few of the craft cocktails, enjoyed a plate of delicious oysters and not-so-delicious hush puppies. Entrees were also a bit hit-or-miss. The trout was a perfect portion and generously garnished, but the small salmon main left a bit to be desired. We also ordered a side of the squash which was way over-seasoned. I am not a dessert person so I can't speak to the key lime pie that my fellow diners ordered. Overall, Kinmont is good, but falls short of exceptional due to the inconsistency of dish quality

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

Greg and Cole were awesome. Great food and drink. A true pleasure.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12