About Kinmont

419 W Superior St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Kinmont is the very first sustainable fish and seafood restaurant in Chicago. We believe in ethical fishing practices, and feature rough fish — some of the most sustainable on the planet. Our menu is ever-changing, as we source seafood daily and supplement local fish with ethically sourced product from both coasts. While seafood is our focus, there's still plenty of food for landlubbers, including vegetables, meats and our celebrated burger.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between Sedgwick and Hudson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 915-0011

Website:
http://www.kinmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
1.5 blocks west of Chicago/Brown Line

Executive Chef:
Dennis Gutierrez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact us for information about special events!
info@kinmontrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL
Kinmont - Kinmont, Chicago, IL

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$1 Oysters

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

$5 Cocktail Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 1/2 off select bottles of wine every Tuesday night!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$1 Oysters

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. $1 Oysters every Wednesday night!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

$5 Cocktail Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Our craft cocktails are only $5 every Thursday!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 7:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Kinmont can accommodate all your special event needs.

Kinmont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our third visit to Kinmont, and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our third visit to Kinmont, and it was better than any previous visit. Our server was fabulous, the atmosphere cozy, the food lovely. I'll be returning until I figure out the story of how Margo the fox who sits above the bar got her name.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Kinmont to celebrate a birthday. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went to Kinmont to celebrate a birthday. Friendly, knowledgeable wait staff. Entrees were creative and delicious and the beignets were to die for. Would recommend to a friend and would go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Very tasty cocktails! MUST ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food! Very tasty cocktails! MUST DINE HERE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came on a date night and e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife and I came on a date night and enjoyed our time very much. We were welcomed warmly and led to our table where our server was very kind and personable to us. My wife ordered oysters and the squid ink gnocchi, I had the autumn soup and the catch of the day (Lake Michigan Trout). The food was delicious, though it did take a tiny bit longer than I would have liked. However, it was worth the wait. The evening manager was a little pushy about dessert, but all in all, it didn't bother me much. We will certainly be coming back again!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's was my birthday an I had a party of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It's was my birthday an I had a party of 13, they were able to comfortably accommodate a us. It was the perfect choice for my friends who don't eat beef or pork, everyone was happy with their meal! I had the oysters, crabs legs an trout all were absolutely amazing the trout was to die for an the black eyed peas were a perfect compliment to the dish! I will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service, food, and people. And the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service, food, and people. And the atmosphere. Wait, did I mention people? Yeah, that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I saw Kinmont listed on a Zagat review a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I saw Kinmont listed on a Zagat review and decided to check it out. It is definitely off the beaten path but once inside we really liked the atmosphere. We started with Oysters which were excellent. My date ordered the goat with Risotto while I choose the Lake Perch Both meals were outstanding. We don't usually order dessert but I had to try the Key Lime Pie and we were both glad we did. The pie was jut the right texture and the crust was perfect.

I would go back in a minute!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kinmont does not seem to get nearly as m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Kinmont does not seem to get nearly as much attention as it deserves. It's only "fault" (if you want to call it that) is there is almost nothing on the menu for people who do not like fish. Obviously fish is what they do and they do it very well, better than most in the city, but it is hard to find a group of friends or family where everyone wants fish. That and its location is not ideal (although easily within range of other River North restaurants and night life).

Still, as said, the fish here is as good as you will get in Chicago and they offer a variety of fresh water fish options such as trout and perch and walleye. The fish offered is seasonal so changes fairly often.

The bar area is nice and the bartenders and knowledgeable and friendly.

The one place Kinmont does not do well in is dessert. The selection is extremely limited (two items on offer when I was there).

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Why was this place not more crowded? Imp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Why was this place not more crowded? Impeccable service, the food was divine and the atmosphere peaceful. The music was off beat compared to the decor (old country with leather seats) but we were highly impressed with everything. A group of 8 of us we were there for a business dinner and there was never more than 1 other table seated the entire night. An absolute hidden gem!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, but the overall f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great, but the overall food quality was mediocre. We were looking for seafood but only half the group was happy with their meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Kind of off of the beaten path, so you c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Kind of off of the beaten path, so you can find parking right on the street which is awesome. Food was very very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love coming to Kinmont! The food and ser ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Love coming to Kinmont! The food and service is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome culinary experience! The best po ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Awesome culinary experience! The best poutine we've ever had!!!!! Every course was delicious and fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is wonderful st Kinmont. Ea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service is wonderful st Kinmont. Each time I've been there for dinner the manager greats us when we check in. On our most recent visit the waiter treated us to a couple of extras since it was a birthday dinner.

The food is solid. Slightly small portions but that is good because it allowed me to have room for their amazing Key Lime Pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with fri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with friends Sat night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got the Tower, Branzino, and charcuterie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Got the Tower, Branzino, and charcuterie. Everything was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food all around for a meeting on m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food all around for a meeting on my birthday. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the location of this restaurant, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I love the location of this restaurant, being in a mostly quiet residential part of town away from the hustle and bustle. Also loved the ambiance and décor. The lighting is perfect, the spacing between tables as well. This a space to have a relaxing, casual and romantic dinner.

Our entrées and cocktails were well excellent. The seafood dishes we had: a seafood charcuterie board, the trout, salmon were all tasty (well-seasoned), clean and perfectly portioned. The only drawback during this visit was that the kitchen messed up our order and brought our entrees quite late, but the GM was prompt to apologize. I’ll definitely be going back; I want to explore the more of their menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I had the salmon, and my mother had the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I had the salmon, and my mother had the trout. Both were delicious. The wintergreen salad was perfect! The Parkerhouse rolls were yummy! Definitely will visit again. Our server, Jason, was attentive and helpful with his input about menu selections. Plenty of street parking which was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our 2nd visit to Kinmont. The f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Kinmont. The fish dishes were excellent. I recommend the perch, salmon, and the trout. The crab roll was extremely salty and borderline not edible. To be safe, just stick with the fish. The appetizers were great and I highly recommend the warm rolls. The mixed drinks were excellent.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Yes, the fish is fresh, but the preparat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Yes, the fish is fresh, but the preparation is outstanding. Really one of the better restaurants in the city. Wine list is not large, but has some very interesting selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool spot, but all five of us underwhelm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Cool spot, but all five of us underwhelmed by food. The fish all overcooked and most of the dishes were served barely warm. Service was great, but the food was truly average.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but portions were a little sma ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good food but portions were a little small for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful experience start to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a delightful experience start to finish! The decor was visually appealing, the food delicious and yummy touches like granola on carrots!. Will definitely eat here again. Server was knowledgable and we listened to his suggestions and benefited from them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dinner experience, including ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

A wonderful dinner experience, including the space, the staff and the food. We walked by the restaurant a few days earlier and decided to check it out. It is a 15 minute walk (less than a mile) west of the busier State Street and Michigan Avenue restaurant scene in a quieter residential/art studio neighborhood. The menu our night had only a dozen plus well thought out mains ranging from $15 sandwiches to a $35 filet mignon, but the ~$25 fish options are the stars. All nicely paired with sides and served promptly by a gracious wait staff. Specialty menu drinks were really good - try the sangria. A manager, Gregory, was also making the rounds asking names and shaking hands. Not a large dining space but availability seems good even on weekends. We'll be back and maybe make it to dessert next time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat at the bar and ordered our meal. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We sat at the bar and ordered our meal. Our bartender gave us drink and food recommendations which were fantastic! Food was amazing as was the personable attitude for the bar staff! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third visit to Kinmont and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our third visit to Kinmont and once again it was spectacular. We had a small platter of seafood and everything was so fresh. For dessert we had key lime pie and the beignets. They were decedent and the right amount of sweet. Their cocktails are also awesome. We recommend the Evil Doer. The cost is a good balance. You get more than what you pay for sure.

5 stars for the third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The branzino special was excellent. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The branzino special was excellent. It was unusually quiet for a Saturday night, and it made for a delightful meal outside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was amazing. He was knowledge ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. He was knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu and his recommendations were on point. When he found out it was our wedding anniversary, sent us champagne. Very nice touch.

The mixed drinks were amazing. No fillers. Not heavy on the gun. Fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We found this restaurant via a google se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We found this restaurant via a google search on restaurants serving trout in Chicago. The restaurant is hidden away on a street with little traffic. We are glad we found it. The trout and lake michigan perch were excellent. The sides were also very good - I recommend the carrots with pumpkin spice granola. And the house made key lime pie was also excellent. If you are looking for a great seafood restaurant in Chicago that is off the main street, this is the place to go. Also, it is only about 2 blocks to the brown line El train (Chicago street station). Get off at the Superior street exit and walk west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood entrees. Very well prepar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great seafood entrees. Very well prepared Menu a bit limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here last Saturday night...The at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We ate here last Saturday night...The atmosphere was very casual and the service was good..The food was just okay for me...didn't live up to the price point in my mind. Perhaps this place is better to come for the many daily specials that they have here... like their oyster happy hour and 3$ burger special. We did have a great mussel appetizer...was in a red sauce with fennel and it was excellent. Our entrees were just okay...I had the skate..which had a hint of ammonia in the after taste which is very off putting to me..I've experienced this before in Italy when eating fresh fish and just couldn't get past that aftertaste. Other than the mussels everything else just cowered in taste and quality in my eye...not sure i will try this place again as there are so many great seafood restaurants in Chicago these days

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love Kinmont! I ate there 2 nights in a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love Kinmont! I ate there 2 nights in a row. Had such a great time Friday sitting outside. So I went back on Saturday. With a holiday weekend, I knew it was going to be slow. Plus, I really wanted to try the skate special. Delicious! And the burger on Friday night was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our group's visit at Kinmont was good, b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our group's visit at Kinmont was good, but not great. We dined there on at 8:00pm on Friday, but barely a third of the tables were in use. We opted for the more lively 6-table sidewalk seating. Service was attentive and knowledgeable. We tried a few of the craft cocktails, enjoyed a plate of delicious oysters and not-so-delicious hush puppies. Entrees were also a bit hit-or-miss. The trout was a perfect portion and generously garnished, but the small salmon main left a bit to be desired. We also ordered a side of the squash which was way over-seasoned. I am not a dessert person so I can't speak to the key lime pie that my fellow diners ordered. Overall, Kinmont is good, but falls short of exceptional due to the inconsistency of dish quality

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Greg and Cole were awesome. Great food a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Greg and Cole were awesome. Great food and drink. A true pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New neighborhood fave!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

New neighborhood fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Very attentive and fr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent service. Very attentive and friendly. Good recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regular visitors to Kinmont, and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are regular visitors to Kinmont, and don't often submit reviews as there seems to be a limit to the number of times we can say how good the food is and how wonderful the staff is. But this past Saturday night we visited with a friend who had never been before. It gave her the opportunity to try three appetizers, three mains, two sides and two desserts. She raved! She loved the room, enjoyed the service and couldn't say enough great things about the food.

We were glad she enjoyed herself and it was really nice to hear her say the thing we should say more often...THIS IS A GREAT RESTAURANT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good @ service are very good. Location o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good @ service are very good. Location off the beaten track. Prices on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Perfectly prepared whole branzino and tr ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Perfectly prepared whole branzino and trout entrees. Amazing flavors. Terrific sides as well. And great service.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.