About Kinmont

419 W Superior St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Kinmont is the very first sustainable fish and seafood restaurant in Chicago. We believe in ethical fishing practices, and feature rough fish — some of the most sustainable on the planet. Our menu is ever-changing, as we source seafood daily and supplement local fish with ethically sourced product from both coasts. While seafood is our focus, there's still plenty of food for landlubbers, including vegetables, meats and our celebrated burger.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between Sedgwick and Hudson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 915-0011

Website:
http://www.kinmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Public Transit:
1.5 blocks west of Chicago/Brown Line

Executive Chef:
Dennis Gutierrez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact us for information about special events!
info@kinmontrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Kinmont
  • Kinmont
  • Kinmont
Kinmont
Kinmont
Kinmont

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$1 Oysters

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

$5 Cocktail Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 1/2 off select bottles of wine every Tuesday night!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$1 Oysters

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. $1 Oysters every Wednesday night!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

$5 Cocktail Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Our craft cocktails are only $5 every Thursday!. Special valid Sep 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 7:00PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Kinmont can accommodate all your special event needs.

Kinmont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our third visit to Kinmont and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our third visit to Kinmont and once again it was spectacular. We had a small platter of seafood and everything was so fresh. For dessert we had key lime pie and the beignets. They were decedent and the right amount of sweet. Their cocktails are also awesome. We recommend the Evil Doer. The cost is a good balance. You get more than what you pay for sure.

5 stars for the third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The branzino special was excellent. It ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The branzino special was excellent. It was unusually quiet for a Saturday night, and it made for a delightful meal outside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was amazing. He was knowledge ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. He was knowledgeable about all of the items on the menu and his recommendations were on point. When he found out it was our wedding anniversary, sent us champagne. Very nice touch.

The mixed drinks were amazing. No fillers. Not heavy on the gun. Fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We found this restaurant via a google se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We found this restaurant via a google search on restaurants serving trout in Chicago. The restaurant is hidden away on a street with little traffic. We are glad we found it. The trout and lake michigan perch were excellent. The sides were also very good - I recommend the carrots with pumpkin spice granola. And the house made key lime pie was also excellent. If you are looking for a great seafood restaurant in Chicago that is off the main street, this is the place to go. Also, it is only about 2 blocks to the brown line El train (Chicago street station). Get off at the Superior street exit and walk west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood entrees. Very well prepar ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great seafood entrees. Very well prepared Menu a bit limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here last Saturday night...The at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We ate here last Saturday night...The atmosphere was very casual and the service was good..The food was just okay for me...didn't live up to the price point in my mind. Perhaps this place is better to come for the many daily specials that they have here... like their oyster happy hour and 3$ burger special. We did have a great mussel appetizer...was in a red sauce with fennel and it was excellent. Our entrees were just okay...I had the skate..which had a hint of ammonia in the after taste which is very off putting to me..I've experienced this before in Italy when eating fresh fish and just couldn't get past that aftertaste. Other than the mussels everything else just cowered in taste and quality in my eye...not sure i will try this place again as there are so many great seafood restaurants in Chicago these days

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Love Kinmont! I ate there 2 nights in a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Love Kinmont! I ate there 2 nights in a row. Had such a great time Friday sitting outside. So I went back on Saturday. With a holiday weekend, I knew it was going to be slow. Plus, I really wanted to try the skate special. Delicious! And the burger on Friday night was divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our group's visit at Kinmont was good, b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our group's visit at Kinmont was good, but not great. We dined there on at 8:00pm on Friday, but barely a third of the tables were in use. We opted for the more lively 6-table sidewalk seating. Service was attentive and knowledgeable. We tried a few of the craft cocktails, enjoyed a plate of delicious oysters and not-so-delicious hush puppies. Entrees were also a bit hit-or-miss. The trout was a perfect portion and generously garnished, but the small salmon main left a bit to be desired. We also ordered a side of the squash which was way over-seasoned. I am not a dessert person so I can't speak to the key lime pie that my fellow diners ordered. Overall, Kinmont is good, but falls short of exceptional due to the inconsistency of dish quality

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Greg and Cole were awesome. Great food a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Greg and Cole were awesome. Great food and drink. A true pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New neighborhood fave!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

New neighborhood fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Very attentive and fr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent service. Very attentive and friendly. Good recommendations were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regular visitors to Kinmont, and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are regular visitors to Kinmont, and don't often submit reviews as there seems to be a limit to the number of times we can say how good the food is and how wonderful the staff is. But this past Saturday night we visited with a friend who had never been before. It gave her the opportunity to try three appetizers, three mains, two sides and two desserts. She raved! She loved the room, enjoyed the service and couldn't say enough great things about the food.

We were glad she enjoyed herself and it was really nice to hear her say the thing we should say more often...THIS IS A GREAT RESTAURANT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good @ service are very good. Location o ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good @ service are very good. Location off the beaten track. Prices on the high side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Perfectly prepared whole branzino and tr ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Perfectly prepared whole branzino and trout entrees. Amazing flavors. Terrific sides as well. And great service.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious fish!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great atmosphere and delicious fish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our raw seafood was not consumable. We h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our raw seafood was not consumable. We had a major issue with cleanliness of the oysters and weren't even given a discount on the overall bill. The bar staff was very nice and knowledgeable. I will not be returning and will not be recommending the restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was ok, but not great. For the pric ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was ok, but not great. For the price it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was phenomenal! Crab Hush Puppi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was phenomenal! Crab Hush Puppies are a must, definitely the best hush puppies I've ever had! Service was pretty great! Definitely will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing, fresh seafood in an adorable la ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing, fresh seafood in an adorable laid back environment. All of the yummy you love about the expensive seafood spot, minus a few $$s and the stuffiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started off with the fish charcuterie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We started off with the fish charcuterie and roasted mussels. Both were very good, but the fish charcuterie was the best we have ever had. For dinner we had the catch of the day whitefish and skuna salmon. Both were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved Kinmont when it first opened, bu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved Kinmont when it first opened, but the flavors have gone downhill since then. If I want good seafood, I'd rather go to Nico Osteria, or even Fish Bar, Oyster Bah or Half Shell would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Knowledgeable & attentive wait staff. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Knowledgeable & attentive wait staff. Great bar. First time there, defiantly will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The host staff picked up on my last name ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The host staff picked up on my last name changing and brought champagne to our table to celebrate our marriage. Service was great, food was delicious, particularly the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kinmont is a gem! The food is always ama ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Kinmont is a gem! The food is always amazing, the burger is the best I have ever tasted, yes it's better than Au Cheval, the fish is always fresh, the oysters are always delicious! Their wine menu is awesome and the people that work there are the BEST! Greg, the manager, is magic, he always makes us feel welcome, and we get a 5 star treatment every time we go there! Greg and his team, create a wonderful dining experience every time! An absolute must, hidden gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected much more than what I received ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Expected much more than what I received with Kinmont. Great service, but when you combine that with overpriced food, and a half empty restaurant at peak hours it ultimately did not give me the value for my money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Branzino, Hush Puppies, and Scallops wer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Branzino, Hush Puppies, and Scallops were great. Would recommend stressing severly if you have dietary restrictions, or allergies, as mine were over-looked. I was appalled when I noticed bacon in my dish after asking multiple times for NO bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We made a last minute reservation here b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made a last minute reservation here because it was close to where we lived and we were very impressed with our experience. The service and the food were fantastic and we would recommend this place to anyone. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Kinmont does not disappoint. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, Kinmont does not disappoint. The service, food, and drinks were great.

I tried their lobster roll for the first time and it was delish! It came with chips, which were also amazing! Kudos to Dennis and the team!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun date

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I love oysters, and these were delicious. We did order the seafood platter, which was great the crab was a bit dry. Other than that, service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great. Was craving oysters for my birthday and this place delivered. They had a large variety of oysters which was fantastic. Only problem I had was that they ran out of certain fish that were on the menu, but I guess that is expected when there is a certain quantity of fresh coming in each day. The Lobster Rolls could also have used a little more lobster meat. It was more heavy on the bread side, which was delicious by the way, but a little more lobster meat goes a long way. Service was great. Waiters were very friendly and knowledgeable. I had a few old fashion's that were delicious. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great and personal service...make ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Really great and personal service...makes you feel right at home. Oysters were perfect and the staff truly knows how to complement the dishes together. Looking forward to my return trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters and wonderful dessert!! Love the interesting cocktails as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had visited Kinmont once in the past ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had visited Kinmont once in the past and we were very excited to come back. Superior service, our waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. The menu offered many options including kid friendly alternatives. Main dishes were well executed. However (and very sorry, there were flaws), French fries that were cold and soggy also made their way into the table. Definitely not the worst thing ever. We will certainly come back, get another evil doer ready.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was outstanding and our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable, food was delicious, and ambiance was great.

The only thing I could possibly include as negative from this experience was that one of our party complained of the chair being a bit uncomfortable. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food is always outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and food is always outstanding. We love Kinmont!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded Expectations

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The shellfish and fish were superb. We got a Kinmont tower and it was outstanding. The whole Branzino was fabulous. The staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. The wine list is good not great, but they have very reasonable corkage. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised by this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Both my husband and I got food poisoning from here so I can't recommend it.

If we hadn't, I'd probably rate the food a 3.5, service was and ambience were very good.

Fish charcuterie was pretty good, I liked the trout spread, tuna was decent and the salmon wasn't very good.

Parker house rolls were decent but were room temp even though they come out in a cast iron pan.

Ordered white fish with a caper lemon beurre blanc sauce which was awful. Tasted like they poured a jar of capers over it and called it a day. Fish decently cooked but fishy.

Crab roll was good on nice warm bread.

Beignets were the highlight- warm and pillowy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! You will not go wrong w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Love this place! You will not go wrong with the Branzino or the Whitefish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the gen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the general manager is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot for dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Kinmont with another couple and had a great time. The décor is great, the service was awesome and the food was top notch. Maybe a touch over priced for what we had, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.