About Kinmont

419 W Superior St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Those interested in Fishing, Canoeing, Camping, Exploring, Mountain Climbing, Fire Grilling, Fly Fishing and other "Field and Stream" pursuits should enjoy the newest river north restaurant by Element Collective. Kinmont is proud to source 100% sustainable seafood, heirloom meats and local vegetables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm - 10pm
Sunday 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Between Sedgwick and Hudson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 915-0011

Website:
http://www.kinmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample Street Parking

Public Transit:
1.5 blocks west of Chicago/Brown Line

Executive Chef:
Aaron Cuschieri

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Frances Hathcock for information about special events!
fhathcock@kinmontrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Kinmont can accommodate all your special event needs.

Kinmont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (40)
romantic (29)
See All
special occasion (27)
good for groups (26)
hot spot (10)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great and personal service...make ...

Dined 5 days ago

Really great and personal service...makes you feel right at home. Oysters were perfect and the staff truly knows how to complement the dishes together. Looking forward to my return trip!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters and wonderful dessert!! Love the interesting cocktails as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had visited Kinmont once in the past ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had visited Kinmont once in the past and we were very excited to come back. Superior service, our waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. The menu offered many options including kid friendly alternatives. Main dishes were well executed. However (and very sorry, there were flaws), French fries that were cold and soggy also made their way into the table. Definitely not the worst thing ever. We will certainly come back, get another evil doer ready.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was outstanding and our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable, food was delicious, and ambiance was great. The only thing I could possibly include as negative from this experience was that one of our party complained of the chair being a bit uncomfortable. I will definitely be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food is always outstandi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and food is always outstanding. We love Kinmont!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded Expectations

Dined on April 30, 2016

The shellfish and fish were superb. We got a Kinmont tower and it was outstanding. The whole Branzino was fabulous. The staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. The wine list is good not great, but they have very reasonable corkage. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised by this place.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Both my husband and I got food poisoning from here so I can't recommend it. If we hadn't, I'd probably rate the food a 3.5, service was and ambience were very good. Fish charcuterie was pretty good, I liked the trout spread, tuna was decent and the salmon wasn't very good. Parker house rolls were decent but were room temp even though they come out in a cast iron pan. Ordered white fish with a caper lemon beurre blanc sauce which was awful. Tasted like they poured a jar of capers over it and called it a day. Fish decently cooked but fishy. Crab roll was good on nice warm bread. Beignets were the highlight- warm and pillowy.

food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place! You will not go wrong w ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Love this place! You will not go wrong with the Branzino or the Whitefish.

food4
ambience4
service4

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the gen ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the general manager is amazing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great spot for dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Kinmont with another couple and had a great time. The décor is great, the service was awesome and the food was top notch. Maybe a touch over priced for what we had, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The drink special and quality of those d ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

The drink special and quality of those drinks was great! $5 specialty cocktails on Thursdays, and they were quite tasty - my boyfriend and I tried 6 different ones (3 each) and I think we liked 5 of the 6. The crab hush puppy starter was actually really good. I was hesitant to order it but my boyfriend wanted it. They were well fried with a yummy toppings. For dinner I got the gnocchi and he got the crawfish. Both tasted great, but neither was enough food. We both left feeling a little hungry. We finished it off with key lime pie, which is my favorite dessert and it was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the best!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

This place is awesome! The duck fat rolls, oysters, trout, and salmon were amazing! Service and ambiance were top notch, as well as unique cocktails and wine list. I can not wait to go back soon:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, not great

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall, the food was pretty good. But not dying to go back. Loved the Moroccan rugs hanging from the ceiling.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great quality food/flavors - good prices ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Great quality food/flavors - good prices & promos & attentive service - very small portions. I was fine. Hubby left hungry.

food5
ambience5
service5

Super fresh seafood

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Super fresh seafood

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Might be my new favorite restaurant in Chicago.

Dined on March 22, 2016

Excellent seafood, fantastic service, and awesome drinks! Very cool, laid back, and unique atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before the Show

Dined on March 19, 2016

Nice location, service was great and the food was exceptional. We all sort of went out on a limb with our fish selections, i.e. not what fish we normally pick, and everyone was pleased with their selection. The trout and the Lake Superior White fish were both outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent food. Polite staff, but dishes ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent food. Polite staff, but dishes were slow coming out of the kitchen. Would go again, with plenty of time.

food4
ambience4
service4

Every time I go here, and I like their f ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Every time I go here, and I like their food, they are always out of something on the menu. The most recent visit--they were out of carrots; the time before they were out of one the fish dishes. This visit, they screwed up two of our four entries. Although they eventually got it right and apologized, it took 15minutes to get the correct entries, so two of our diners were almost done with their meals by the time the other two correct entries were delivered. For out trouble, they should have offered us something at least like a free desert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kenmont fresh fish restaurant

Dined on March 6, 2016

Celebrated our 36th anniversary at Kenmont and enjoyed every minute. Our son recommended it to us and he wasn't wrong. Saturday night 7pm reservations, plenty of street parking right out front, blue jeans and a dark shirt for the staff, our "business casual" dress felt right in place. Our waitress was very friendly. My wife had the white fish catch of the day and I had the crab with gnocchi pasta. Both items were to die for. On top of that they comped us a dessert plate which include a slice of Key Lime pie. The best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A distinct style, not for us

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are pescetarians, and we like to eat lowfat. So there weren't too many options for us here because they even put meat in some of the side dishes, such as pork in the collard greens. The trout I ordered came with a creamy risotto. The salmon my husband ordered came with cheese and an egg and some kind of Spanish onion, green pepper and tomato sauce. The only salad on the menu came with an onion cider vinaigrette, the onion flavor was overpowering. The prep style here seems a bit fussy (over prepped?) for our taste, a lot of the entrees and sides come with cheese or butter or sauce or onions. Just not our style. Service was very good, though :-)

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid food and bar offerings

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went on a Saturday around 8 and at least three of the things we not available as they had sold out. With that said, we still really enjoyed our food -hush puppies were outstanding and the catch of the day was perfectly cooked. The cocktails were spot on and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. It was noisy though, as there was a private party in the back half of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Mediocre food but great service

Dined on February 27, 2016

Appetizer with potato focaccia was hard as if it was left overnight. The sauce on the pumpkin ravioli was overly rich.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

horrible

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Whatever you are thinking, do not waste your money and time. We waited 15 minutes for a seat, we saw several open tables on the way to our seating. Sat down, ordered the boquerones appetizer that was more of a bland bread spread than anything else. No spiciness or unique taste , just bland. I ordered the burger (NOTHING SPECIAL) and my date ordered the whitefish. It might have been 3 oz. small helping, no taste just fish. I know-, it’s whitefish. Dining out should include something different then what you get @ White Castle. Somehow the General Manager must have figured out our displeasure (we didn’t complain) he came over and attempted small talk. Don’t waste your time. The waiter was casual, and the decor was nice. But really they need to redo the menu and offer more than bland small portions.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy parking, Fantastic service, Excelle ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Easy parking, Fantastic service, Excellent food- A great date night!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great fish average sides

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I both ordered the white fish and were very happy with it. He found the filet to be pretty small but it was the right size for me. We also had the potatoes and the carrots. Both were good but not as great as the fish. I would want to go back for the fish but the sides would need to be a little better as the fish is not enough by itself. The service was slow but the waiter had the entire back room. I am not sure if they were understaffed or if that is normal. It clearly was not his fault as he had too much on his plate, but it did put a slight damper on the evening when we were sitting with empty drinks. The dessert sounded delicious, but I was full from the meal so did not get a chance to try. Would like to go back and try the burger as it looked appealing at the table next to me.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Kinmont!! GM Gregory & our server A ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Love Kinmont!! GM Gregory & our server Alex both fantastic. Can't wait to return.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Too much fluff, not enough to back it up

Dined on February 21, 2016

We came here for my wife's birthday and let our server know this when we arrived. He said it was several other people's birthday as well that night. The drinks were very small, even the glassware, but the prices were the same if not higher than most other Chicago restaurants/bars. The listing for the restaurant hyped that they had a lobster tail and that it was included in the package we purchased. We had a 7:45 reservation and they were already out of the lobster and another side item. The appetizer, bisque, and both entrees we ordered were fine but were nothing great or that I would mention again to anyone. After dinner, as I mentioned it was my wife's birthday, we did not see a dessert we loved but the waiter did not bring or offer anything for her birthday. Although, we saw the "other birthday" sundays going out to other tables. This was just a very lack luster experience. Do not recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was spotlighted in Chica ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant was spotlighted in Chicago Food Mag! My experience was great and I really enjoyed myself.

food5
ambience5
service5

I attended the Valentine's Day event. Th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I attended the Valentine's Day event. The prix fixe meal was beyond amazing, and also was at a great price! This was my introduction to Kinmont, and I will most definitely be a regular now when I crave seafood. Every dish was phenomenal, especially the scallop ceviche (it's a must have). Service was also wonderful, both our server and the GM who came by to chat and introduce himself.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great date! And wonderful waiter but one complaint

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went with my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and we had such a cute and fun date. The food was great. We went with the Trout and the Fillet Mignon and shared with each other. We tried their specialty drinks--the shaken and the stirred and they were both so good. We also tried Oyster. Our waiter picked out 3 different kinds for us to try because I told him we were new to this and he was very helpful! We ended our dinner by splitting a slice of keylime pie which was also delicious. All around a great date night and nice restaurant. My only complaint was that when we arrived, even with a reservation, we had to wait 15 minutes but we were fine with that. The problem was when the hostess took us to our table it was all the way in the back corner by the kitchen. We told her that we would like a different table which she accommodated but we had to wait another 10-15 minutes to be seated and we did end up getting a perfect table in the middle of the restaurant. It was just disappointing that with a reservation, they would seat us in the worst spot in the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Come early, freshest specials can run out

Dined on February 14, 2016

When we arrived for a 7:45 pm reservation on Saturday night, 3 out of 4 fresh seafood choices on the menu were stamped "sold out". I appreciate their philosophy of only serving very fresh food and responsible ordering, but I don't eat meat and I came for the highly recommended seafood. The manager tried to fill in a few entrees, but they were quite a bit less exciting than the original specials--trout, not lobster, salmon, not redfish. The crab hush puppies were a great appetizer, the service was very attentive, the ambiance very pleasant. I'd give it another chance, maybe a little earlier or on a weeknight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I have dined at kinmont many times with friends and family and have always had a great experience. On 2/13 we had a 7:30 reservation for 6 people including 2 couples who drove in from the suburbs. The first thing we noticed when we were seated was that on the menu , 4-5 items werealready sold out. By the time our server came by, 2 more items were sold out and he recommended we order quickly to insure other food did not become unavailable. But that didn't work either and now our options were extremely limited. We literally found ourselves considering leaving but being Valentines weekend, we knew it would be tough to get in anywhere. So we stayed. The manager apologized but I am not sure how a restaurant runs out of at least half of its menu including most entrees before 8:00 on a Saturday night. Especially the seafood items when that is what they are known for. The food we did order was very good and our server was extremely attentive and apologetic. It was simply disappointing and honestly embarrassing as I recommended the restaurant. I honesty expected a lot more.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Some stumbles but good steak.

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We went the day before Valentine's. Strangely, their mussels were cooked with anise liqueur instead of pastis, making them sweet like candy and obscuring the Nueske's bacon - yuck. My wife's lobster dish was bland, as was the ceviche, which they at first forgot to bring. Lobster bisque was unaccountably spicy, a distraction. The tenderloin steak special with béarnaise was perfectly grilled and delicious. We noticed they kept trying to seat everyone that came in in the same corner, which many were not accepting gracefully. Their choice of music (Sinatra-type songs) was a little distracting and not really suited to fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food was good but under seasoned. Th ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good but under seasoned. There was a good amount of crab and lobster portions. Took 45 minutes to get our entree

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Oysters were great. My butternut squash ravioli didn't wow me. Nothing really in the ravioli very flat, needed salt. But person I was with really enjoyed the red fish. Service was good , drinks were good, I will be back

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!! Been three times and h ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Love this place!! Been three times and have to say for being in river north the vibe that you get in here is that of a relaxed yet refined neighborhood restaurant. Everyone is so friendly!! Not to mention food has been delicious every time! The hush puppies and the trout with risotto are to die for. Really good coffee and dessert, too! I would recommend this place hands down to many of the other seafood places in chi. You will not have a better, down to earth, friendly welcoming atmosphere with a such a tasty meal. Love this place and cannot wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible meal!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Incredible meal!

food5
ambience4
service5

I'll keep it simple. There were four of ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

I'll keep it simple. There were four of us - we had appetizers, dinner and dessert and thoroughly enjoyed all.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food and cocktails were delicious. The ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food and cocktails were delicious. The setting is comfortable but not fancy- wait staff wear jeans.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.