About Kinmont

419 W Superior St
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Those interested in Fishing, Canoeing, Camping, Exploring, Mountain Climbing, Fire Grilling, Fly Fishing and other "Field and Stream" pursuits should enjoy the newest river north restaurant by Element Collective. Kinmont is proud to source 100% sustainable seafood, heirloom meats and local vegetables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between Sedgwick and Hudson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 915-0011

Website:
http://www.kinmontrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Ample Street Parking

Public Transit:
1.5 blocks west of Chicago/Brown Line

Executive Chef:
Dennis Gutierrez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact us for information about special events!
info@kinmontrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Kinmont
  • Kinmont
Kinmont
Kinmont

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Kinmont can accommodate all your special event needs.

Kinmont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (42)
fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (21)
See All
good for groups (19)
romantic (17)
great for outdoor dining (7)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved Kinmont when it first opened, bu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I loved Kinmont when it first opened, but the flavors have gone downhill since then. If I want good seafood, I'd rather go to Nico Osteria, or even Fish Bar, Oyster Bah or Half Shell would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Knowledgeable & attentive wait staff. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Knowledgeable & attentive wait staff. Great bar. First time there, defiantly will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The host staff picked up on my last name ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The host staff picked up on my last name changing and brought champagne to our table to celebrate our marriage. Service was great, food was delicious, particularly the mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kinmont is a gem! The food is always ama ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Kinmont is a gem! The food is always amazing, the burger is the best I have ever tasted, yes it's better than Au Cheval, the fish is always fresh, the oysters are always delicious! Their wine menu is awesome and the people that work there are the BEST! Greg, the manager, is magic, he always makes us feel welcome, and we get a 5 star treatment every time we go there! Greg and his team, create a wonderful dining experience every time! An absolute must, hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected much more than what I received ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Expected much more than what I received with Kinmont. Great service, but when you combine that with overpriced food, and a half empty restaurant at peak hours it ultimately did not give me the value for my money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Branzino, Hush Puppies, and Scallops wer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Branzino, Hush Puppies, and Scallops were great. Would recommend stressing severly if you have dietary restrictions, or allergies, as mine were over-looked. I was appalled when I noticed bacon in my dish after asking multiple times for NO bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We made a last minute reservation here b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We made a last minute reservation here because it was close to where we lived and we were very impressed with our experience. The service and the food were fantastic and we would recommend this place to anyone. Very friendly staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Kinmont does not disappoint. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

As always, Kinmont does not disappoint. The service, food, and drinks were great.

I tried their lobster roll for the first time and it was delish! It came with chips, which were also amazing! Kudos to Dennis and the team!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun date

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My boyfriend and I love oysters, and these were delicious. We did order the seafood platter, which was great the crab was a bit dry. Other than that, service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great. Was craving oysters for my birthday and this place delivered. They had a large variety of oysters which was fantastic. Only problem I had was that they ran out of certain fish that were on the menu, but I guess that is expected when there is a certain quantity of fresh coming in each day. The Lobster Rolls could also have used a little more lobster meat. It was more heavy on the bread side, which was delicious by the way, but a little more lobster meat goes a long way. Service was great. Waiters were very friendly and knowledgeable. I had a few old fashion's that were delicious. Overall great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great and personal service...make ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Really great and personal service...makes you feel right at home. Oysters were perfect and the staff truly knows how to complement the dishes together. Looking forward to my return trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Delicious fresh fish, excellent oysters and wonderful dessert!! Love the interesting cocktails as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had visited Kinmont once in the past ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had visited Kinmont once in the past and we were very excited to come back. Superior service, our waitress was helpful and knowledgeable. The menu offered many options including kid friendly alternatives. Main dishes were well executed. However (and very sorry, there were flaws), French fries that were cold and soggy also made their way into the table. Definitely not the worst thing ever. We will certainly come back, get another evil doer ready.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was outstanding and our waiter was incredibly knowledgeable, food was delicious, and ambiance was great.

The only thing I could possibly include as negative from this experience was that one of our party complained of the chair being a bit uncomfortable. I will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food is always outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service and food is always outstanding. We love Kinmont!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded Expectations

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The shellfish and fish were superb. We got a Kinmont tower and it was outstanding. The whole Branzino was fabulous. The staff could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. The wine list is good not great, but they have very reasonable corkage. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised by this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Both my husband and I got food poisoning from here so I can't recommend it.

If we hadn't, I'd probably rate the food a 3.5, service was and ambience were very good.

Fish charcuterie was pretty good, I liked the trout spread, tuna was decent and the salmon wasn't very good.

Parker house rolls were decent but were room temp even though they come out in a cast iron pan.

Ordered white fish with a caper lemon beurre blanc sauce which was awful. Tasted like they poured a jar of capers over it and called it a day. Fish decently cooked but fishy.

Crab roll was good on nice warm bread.

Beignets were the highlight- warm and pillowy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! You will not go wrong w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Love this place! You will not go wrong with the Branzino or the Whitefish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the gen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fish charcuterie is a must. Greg the general manager is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot for dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Kinmont with another couple and had a great time. The décor is great, the service was awesome and the food was top notch. Maybe a touch over priced for what we had, but we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The drink special and quality of those d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The drink special and quality of those drinks was great! $5 specialty cocktails on Thursdays, and they were quite tasty - my boyfriend and I tried 6 different ones (3 each) and I think we liked 5 of the 6. The crab hush puppy starter was actually really good. I was hesitant to order it but my boyfriend wanted it. They were well fried with a yummy toppings. For dinner I got the gnocchi and he got the crawfish. Both tasted great, but neither was enough food. We both left feeling a little hungry. We finished it off with key lime pie, which is my favorite dessert and it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's the best!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This place is awesome! The duck fat rolls, oysters, trout, and salmon were amazing! Service and ambiance were top notch, as well as unique cocktails and wine list. I can not wait to go back soon:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall, the food was pretty good. But not dying to go back. Loved the Moroccan rugs hanging from the ceiling.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great quality food/flavors - good prices ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Great quality food/flavors - good prices & promos & attentive service - very small portions. I was fine. Hubby left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super fresh seafood

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Super fresh seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Might be my new favorite restaurant in Chicago.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Excellent seafood, fantastic service, and awesome drinks! Very cool, laid back, and unique atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner before the Show

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Nice location, service was great and the food was exceptional. We all sort of went out on a limb with our fish selections, i.e. not what fish we normally pick, and everyone was pleased with their selection. The trout and the Lake Superior White fish were both outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Polite staff, but dishes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent food. Polite staff, but dishes were slow coming out of the kitchen. Would go again, with plenty of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Every time I go here, and I like their f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Every time I go here, and I like their food, they are always out of something on the menu. The most recent visit--they were out of carrots; the time before they were out of one the fish dishes.

This visit, they screwed up two of our four entries. Although they eventually got it right and apologized, it took 15minutes to get the correct entries, so two of our diners were almost done with their meals by the time the other two correct entries were delivered. For out trouble, they should have offered us something at least like a free desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Kenmont fresh fish restaurant

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Celebrated our 36th anniversary at Kenmont and enjoyed every minute. Our son recommended it to us and he wasn't wrong. Saturday night 7pm reservations, plenty of street parking right out front, blue jeans and a dark shirt for the staff, our "business casual" dress felt right in place. Our waitress was very friendly. My wife had the white fish catch of the day and I had the crab with gnocchi pasta. Both items were to die for. On top of that they comped us a dessert plate which include a slice of Key Lime pie. The best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A distinct style, not for us

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are pescetarians, and we like to eat lowfat. So there weren't too many options for us here because they even put meat in some of the side dishes, such as pork in the collard greens. The trout I ordered came with a creamy risotto. The salmon my husband ordered came with cheese and an egg and some kind of Spanish onion, green pepper and tomato sauce. The only salad on the menu came with an onion cider vinaigrette, the onion flavor was overpowering. The prep style here seems a bit fussy (over prepped?) for our taste, a lot of the entrees and sides come with cheese or butter or sauce or onions. Just not our style. Service was very good, though :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Solid food and bar offerings

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We went on a Saturday around 8 and at least three of the things we not available as they had sold out. With that said, we still really enjoyed our food -hush puppies were outstanding and the catch of the day was perfectly cooked. The cocktails were spot on and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. It was noisy though, as there was a private party in the back half of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mediocre food but great service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Appetizer with potato focaccia was hard as if it was left overnight. The sauce on the pumpkin ravioli was overly rich.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

horrible

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Whatever you are thinking, do not waste your money and time. We waited 15 minutes for a seat, we saw several open tables on the way to our seating. Sat down, ordered the boquerones appetizer that was more of a bland bread spread than anything else. No spiciness or unique taste , just bland. I ordered the burger (NOTHING SPECIAL) and my date ordered the whitefish. It might have been 3 oz. small helping, no taste just fish. I know-, it’s whitefish. Dining out should include something different then what you get @ White Castle. Somehow the General Manager must have figured out our displeasure (we didn’t complain) he came over and attempted small talk. Don’t waste your time. The waiter was casual, and the decor was nice. But really they need to redo the menu and offer more than bland small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Easy parking, Fantastic service, Excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Easy parking, Fantastic service, Excellent food- A great date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish average sides

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I both ordered the white fish and were very happy with it. He found the filet to be pretty small but it was the right size for me. We also had the potatoes and the carrots. Both were good but not as great as the fish. I would want to go back for the fish but the sides would need to be a little better as the fish is not enough by itself. The service was slow but the waiter had the entire back room. I am not sure if they were understaffed or if that is normal. It clearly was not his fault as he had too much on his plate, but it did put a slight damper on the evening when we were sitting with empty drinks. The dessert sounded delicious, but I was full from the meal so did not get a chance to try. Would like to go back and try the burger as it looked appealing at the table next to me.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love Kinmont!! GM Gregory & our server A ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Love Kinmont!! GM Gregory & our server Alex both fantastic. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too much fluff, not enough to back it up

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We came here for my wife's birthday and let our server know this when we arrived. He said it was several other people's birthday as well that night. The drinks were very small, even the glassware, but the prices were the same if not higher than most other Chicago restaurants/bars. The listing for the restaurant hyped that they had a lobster tail and that it was included in the package we purchased. We had a 7:45 reservation and they were already out of the lobster and another side item. The appetizer, bisque, and both entrees we ordered were fine but were nothing great or that I would mention again to anyone. After dinner, as I mentioned it was my wife's birthday, we did not see a dessert we loved but the waiter did not bring or offer anything for her birthday. Although, we saw the "other birthday" sundays going out to other tables. This was just a very lack luster experience. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant was spotlighted in Chica ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant was spotlighted in Chicago Food Mag! My experience was great and I really enjoyed myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I attended the Valentine's Day event. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I attended the Valentine's Day event. The prix fixe meal was beyond amazing, and also was at a great price! This was my introduction to Kinmont, and I will most definitely be a regular now when I crave seafood. Every dish was phenomenal, especially the scallop ceviche (it's a must have). Service was also wonderful, both our server and the GM who came by to chat and introduce himself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.