About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: 9072728898x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Restaurant Photos

  • Stuffing Croquettes - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
  • Vegetarian Entree - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
  • Torte - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
  • Halibut - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
  • Seafood Chowder - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Stuffing Croquettes - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Bacon Wrapped Dates - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Vegetarian Entree - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Torte - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Halibut - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK
Seafood Chowder - Kinley's Restaurant and Bar, Anchorage, AK

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Kinley's will be open on New Year's Eve for a special celebration. Come ring in the new year with us!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been patronizing Kinley's for man ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I have been patronizing Kinley's for many years and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacon wrapped dates were tasty. Caesar s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bacon wrapped dates were tasty. Caesar salad comes with anchovies. 👍🏼Wine selection limited. Ambience is poor. We were seated in a room in the back which was very cold. They were nice enough to reseat us in the bar near the wood stove, however, the whole place reminded me of my college apartment from the eighties. So, meh, I probably wouldn't go there on a date again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This was our first visit to Kinley's and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Kinley's and it definitely won't be the last. The wait staff was very nice and always attentive. I had the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly. My husband had the halibut and he loved it. We decided to splurge and each get a dessert, and they were both magnificent.

Great food! We will definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable! The main course took a little while but I knew this and was in no hurry to dine and dash. The meals were good, but I think next time I'd just do small plates and appetizers with wine pairing.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazing! The calamari is not fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was amazing! The calamari is not fried and served in strips in a wonderful sauce. Portions were generous. Good beer and wine menu as well. Service was great too. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a wonderful evening for our Annivers ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had a wonderful evening for our Anniversary! Loved the spinach salad and the halibut and my hubby enjoyed the Cesar's salad and the beef fillet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good food and and service but it ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall good food and and service but it took a long time to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our waitress recommended a wine we had n ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our waitress recommended a wine we had not tried before. It was great. The mocha dessert was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite place to take my friends to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My favorite place to take my friends to lunch! Very good selection of food options,friendly staff and great service!!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kinley's always serves excellent food. I ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Kinley's always serves excellent food. I had a new item this time, a Thai Fried Chicken with Thigh meat. Sweet and Spicy. Very good. The deserts had to be taken home when half done due to the richness. I like the addition of small plates. It gives a few excellent options for more choices and not more food.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server did not come over for a while and ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Server did not come over for a while and then was not very attentive. Good food though.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was great, wine was impressive and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was great, wine was impressive and the service was fabulous!

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon and quinoa dish, salmon ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had the salmon and quinoa dish, salmon cooked just right and a large portion. My husband had the halibut cheeks, nice portion and very tasty also! Our server Rhonda was very good, pretty impressed by the staff. Will go again when it's just us two (no kiddos).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service, as usual. Pr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wonderful food and service, as usual. Prefer booth to table because acoustics can make it hard to hear when the place is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service. Three of our party of eigh ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good service. Three of our party of eight were not able to join. Our waiter was accommodating to our request to be moved to smaller seating. We all enjoyed our meals from refreshing salads to spicy Thai chicken. Next time we will have to save room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The double chop was perfection , great f ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The double chop was perfection , great flavors!! And the calamari was also spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The staff was nice. The service was good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The staff was nice. The service was good.

We order halibut . The fish was not season and the sauce was too salty and too oily. No balance of flavor. We had beet salad which was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Kinsey's Restaurant is one of Anchorage' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Kinsey's Restaurant is one of Anchorage's best. The food is excellent, creative and the menu is never boring . The service is efficient and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. It remains one of my favorite Anchorage restaurants.

Tags: Disabled Access, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sea food dishes and great sele ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent sea food dishes and great selection of salads. Service was terrific. Friendly wait staff and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I go this this place fairly regularly an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I go this this place fairly regularly and the food is consistently good. I think it's great value for the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks. Both were excellent!!! Large servings as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is consistently very good - the sta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is consistently very good - the staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but b ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but by our sensibilities the side dishes (vegetables and rice) were unremarkable. Veggies were a little over cooked, and nothing extra to the rice. Friends told us this was a "white tablecloth" place. It wasn't the Thursday night we were there. The server was good ... around enough to be available when needed, but not hovering. Wine presentation was nicely done, a skill that seems to be diminishing. All-in-all, a nice experience, and the bill was less than we often pay at a "nicer" restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Kinley's come through. There ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, Kinley's come through. There is always a vegan entree listed and I can always ask for the kitchen to be creative for me. We had a great dinner and look forward to our next meeting at Kinley's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was just right not pushy or hovering but there when we needed anything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been in Anchorage for several ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had not been in Anchorage for several years, but the Southside Bistro is always a place we stop at when we are here. Dinner was a mix of oysters, mussels, salads, a burger, & a fine Italian wine called Roero Arneis. Our server, Cary, was great, and the food was outstanding. There may be a better restaurant in Anchorage, but I haven't found it yet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a negative experience a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have never had a negative experience at Kinley's. The dinners are fantastic, never over or under prepared. The wine list is excellent. It does get quite loud when the restaurant is full. I have been there for many different occasions, from New Years Eve to after work drinks. I wouldn't recommend for a first date, but for just about any other experience. Keep in mind they only have beer and wine...but the selection for each is awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was great - very attentive staff ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was great - very attentive staff. Nice wine selection and the food was delicious. We wanted something special but still casual for an impromptu date night and this ended up being perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was lovely, very thoughtful a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The server was lovely, very thoughtful and attentive. The mug my son had tea in broke off at the handle which was a surprise and could have been painful (tea luckily was not hot enough to burn his lap). He went home to change and came back to dinner which they comp'd for us without telling us (had said they would give us the extra appetizer to wait with by kind waiter above..forget his name. They were all very nice.)

It was a nice dinner, and food was good overall. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was the second time this summer we ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was the second time this summer we met up with friends visiting from out of town for dinner. We love Kinley's because the food is SO good and it is quiet which makes it possible to have a conversation. It is our 'go to' place to take visiting friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been disappointed by Kinley's ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've never been disappointed by Kinley's. It's always a nice quieter place to take out of town business guests. Keep the local fish on the menu!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow lived in Anchorage for 16 years and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wow lived in Anchorage for 16 years and this was our first time at Kinleys. One of the best meals we have ever had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I appreciate the vegetarian, vegan and g ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I appreciate the vegetarian, vegan and gluten free dining options. The food is consistently delicious, creative, and nicely varied, the service always top notch and the atmosphere is nice. Never too loud. Kinley's donates a gift card to my favorite charity, Alaska Literacy Program. Thank you, Kinley's. That's how I discovered you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is always very good. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service is always very good. The interior is do for a make over, Rather bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. Great service, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's. The food and service were very good. Our server was especially polite and waited for a lull in conversation before stepping in and asking questions or removing dishes, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Several Gluten Free Options, including G ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Several Gluten Free Options, including Gluten Free Beer! Staff was excellent and attentive throughout the dining experience. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an outstanding place! Great all aro ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 17, 2016

What an outstanding place! Great all around food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as always. It's one of my fav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good as always. It's one of my favorite spots for lunch. I just wish that I could get my salad before the meal comes. Even if I request it early, it still comes either right before or with my lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.