About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: 9072728898x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Restaurant Photos

  • Stuffing Croquettes
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates
  • Vegetarian Entree
  • Torte
  • Halibut
  • Seafood Chowder
Stuffing Croquettes
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Vegetarian Entree
Torte
Halibut
Seafood Chowder

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM 8:00PM - 8:00PM 8:15PM - 8:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Lunch (26)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks. Both were excellent!!! Large servings as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is consistently very good - the sta ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is consistently very good - the staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but b ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but by our sensibilities the side dishes (vegetables and rice) were unremarkable. Veggies were a little over cooked, and nothing extra to the rice. Friends told us this was a "white tablecloth" place. It wasn't the Thursday night we were there. The server was good ... around enough to be available when needed, but not hovering. Wine presentation was nicely done, a skill that seems to be diminishing. All-in-all, a nice experience, and the bill was less than we often pay at a "nicer" restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Kinley's come through. There ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, Kinley's come through. There is always a vegan entree listed and I can always ask for the kitchen to be creative for me. We had a great dinner and look forward to our next meeting at Kinley's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was just right not pushy or hovering but there when we needed anything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been in Anchorage for several ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had not been in Anchorage for several years, but the Southside Bistro is always a place we stop at when we are here. Dinner was a mix of oysters, mussels, salads, a burger, & a fine Italian wine called Roero Arneis. Our server, Cary, was great, and the food was outstanding. There may be a better restaurant in Anchorage, but I haven't found it yet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a negative experience a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have never had a negative experience at Kinley's. The dinners are fantastic, never over or under prepared. The wine list is excellent. It does get quite loud when the restaurant is full. I have been there for many different occasions, from New Years Eve to after work drinks. I wouldn't recommend for a first date, but for just about any other experience. Keep in mind they only have beer and wine...but the selection for each is awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was great - very attentive staff ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was great - very attentive staff. Nice wine selection and the food was delicious. We wanted something special but still casual for an impromptu date night and this ended up being perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was lovely, very thoughtful a ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The server was lovely, very thoughtful and attentive. The mug my son had tea in broke off at the handle which was a surprise and could have been painful (tea luckily was not hot enough to burn his lap). He went home to change and came back to dinner which they comp'd for us without telling us (had said they would give us the extra appetizer to wait with by kind waiter above..forget his name. They were all very nice.)

It was a nice dinner, and food was good overall. Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was the second time this summer we ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was the second time this summer we met up with friends visiting from out of town for dinner. We love Kinley's because the food is SO good and it is quiet which makes it possible to have a conversation. It is our 'go to' place to take visiting friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never been disappointed by Kinley's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've never been disappointed by Kinley's. It's always a nice quieter place to take out of town business guests. Keep the local fish on the menu!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow lived in Anchorage for 16 years and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wow lived in Anchorage for 16 years and this was our first time at Kinleys. One of the best meals we have ever had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I appreciate the vegetarian, vegan and g ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I appreciate the vegetarian, vegan and gluten free dining options. The food is consistently delicious, creative, and nicely varied, the service always top notch and the atmosphere is nice. Never too loud. Kinley's donates a gift card to my favorite charity, Alaska Literacy Program. Thank you, Kinley's. That's how I discovered you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service is always very good. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service is always very good. The interior is do for a make over, Rather bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. Great service, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's. The food and service were very good. Our server was especially polite and waited for a lull in conversation before stepping in and asking questions or removing dishes, etc.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Several Gluten Free Options, including G ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Several Gluten Free Options, including Gluten Free Beer! Staff was excellent and attentive throughout the dining experience. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an outstanding place! Great all aro ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What an outstanding place! Great all around food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as always. It's one of my fav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good as always. It's one of my favorite spots for lunch. I just wish that I could get my salad before the meal comes. Even if I request it early, it still comes either right before or with my lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A tasty and convivial business lunch at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A tasty and convivial business lunch at Kinley's. Good food and enough space between tables and booths to allow private conversation. As always, service was smooth and the lunch top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food as always ! Wonderful place, ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food as always ! Wonderful place, one of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant for a sit down dinner. E ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice restaurant for a sit down dinner. Extensive wine list. Good Service. Kid friendly. Only complaint is that portions are a little small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered from appetizers, small plates ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We ordered from appetizers, small plates, and entree. Not disappointed in anything. Food was excellent, service was awesome. Overall we will go back. Thank you Kinley's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our guests thought it was the best meal ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our guests thought it was the best meal they had on their 2 week visit to Alaska.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had dinner here with friends who arrived ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had dinner here with friends who arrived following a cruise. Couldn't get late-date reservations at our usual places so tried Kinley's at a friends recommendation. Will go back again! Good variety of food choices, well prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Dining at Kinley's is consistenly good. ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Dining at Kinley's is consistenly good. Interesting menu, good selections of beer and wine, personable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The purpose of our visit at Kinley's Res ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The purpose of our visit at Kinley's Restaurant and Bar was for a business dinner. There were 15 of us ordering off of the menu. We really appreciated the great service that we received from Rhonda. She does a fabulous job with a smile on her face. We enjoyed the food and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, the waiter very ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was very good, the waiter very attentive and brought our food quickly. I think it is too expensive for what you get (beer battered halibut was three tiny nuggets). For that, I would prefer to pay $12-$14 range, not $20 for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Kinley's always has a great menu and I a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Kinley's always has a great menu and I am always full when I leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite spot in Anchorage. Never di ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our favorite spot in Anchorage. Never disappoints. We love that the menu changes and offers rare smart food combinations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I met a friend for lunch. Everything was excellent. I could not wait for the bacon wrapped dates, which came as soon as I informed my server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Restaurant for foodies and fish lovers

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was perfect and presented with flair and competence. Fish and calamari steaks were not overdone. Everything full of flavor. Loved the bacon wrapped dates and calamari steaks. They ave duck and steaks too...everything done was great care. Excellent desserts too. Atmosphere is sophisticated, clean, classically modern. Casual, not fussy. Very attentive, but un intrusive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

TriTipWrap

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Description of the tri tip wrap sounded good.....the flavors together, not so great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I am appreciative of Kinley's as one of the few vegan friendly restaurants in town. The falafel burger is great. We had exceptional service. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and this was no exception. We started with the bacon-wrapped dates YUMMY, and the four of us had a variety of menu items. My husband and I LOVED the beet salad. He had it with grilled chicken GREAT LIGHT CHOICE, and I had the Lobster Ravioli DELISH.

The Wine list was varied and we each found something to our liking. We would have ordered cocktails if they had been available- DISAPOINTED & surprised. We thought the drinks prices were quite high OUCH.

Service was very good. If anything, it was almost too fast. Luckily it wasn't crowded so we were allowed to linger at the end of the meal over coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. I can meet for lunch and be out the door and back to work in 1 hour 15 minutes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my first time going to Kinley's and I couldn't be happier. The brunch was fantastic! The selection, and quality of that selection was outstanding. I'll be back to try something off their regular menu soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an enjoyable brunch with my wife today. The service was good and everyone was very courteous. We have always enjoyed eating here.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Treated Well

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was nice to go here again. It was a very nice night a our waitress took very good care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.