About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: 9072728898x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
1 More
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (39)
good for groups (28)
See All
great for lunch (24)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
romantic (12)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

TriTipWrap

Dined on May 18, 2016

Description of the tri tip wrap sounded good.....the flavors together, not so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch

Dined on May 17, 2016

I am appreciative of Kinley's as one of the few vegan friendly restaurants in town. The falafel burger is great. We had exceptional service. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and this was no exception. We started with the bacon-wrapped dates YUMMY, and the four of us had a variety of menu items. My husband and I LOVED the beet salad. He had it with grilled chicken GREAT LIGHT CHOICE, and I had the Lobster Ravioli DELISH. The Wine list was varied and we each found something to our liking. We would have ordered cocktails if they had been available- DISAPOINTED & surprised. We thought the drinks prices were quite high OUCH. Service was very good. If anything, it was almost too fast. Luckily it wasn't crowded so we were allowed to linger at the end of the meal over coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. I can meet for lunch and be out the door and back to work in 1 hour 15 minutes.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my first time going to Kinley's and I couldn't be happier. The brunch was fantastic! The selection, and quality of that selection was outstanding. I'll be back to try something off their regular menu soon.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an enjoyable brunch with my wife today. The service was good and everyone was very courteous. We have always enjoyed eating here.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always Treated Well

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was nice to go here again. It was a very nice night a our waitress took very good care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night out with friends. W ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a great night out with friends. We really enjoyed the smaller plate options. They really made for trying numerous dishes. Halibut cheeks and lobster ravioli wet delicious. The mocha torte dessert was divine! Service was great from the upbeat host to the wait staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great! Food cooked perfectly. ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Dinner was great! Food cooked perfectly. Calamari and dates to start. Server Kristi was on top of things and super sweet. Will definitely be back!

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Bring A Sleeping Bag

Dined on May 1, 2016

75 minutes after being seated, we still had not received our meals. The waiter only came to our table when we were able to get his attention from across the room. No food and no service. When we informed the manager that we were leaving, he offered no apology. Lots of good restaurants to eat at in Anchorage, but unfortunately, this is not one of them.

food5
ambience4
service4

Service would have received 5 stars - if ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Service would have received 5 stars - if check splitting requests amongst our party of 6 had not been so screwed up.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was very good! The duck was especially delicious - I've not had better at any restaurant! Good ambiance...not too loud but vibrant. Good service. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jan, Anchorage

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great dining experience except it was noisy. There was a group of 12 that were responsible for this! Great food, big salads. I liked the "small plates" which with a salad are perfect for my appetite size.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

halbut dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

The famous halibut dinner you are known for seemed like it was not the same. No cherries sauce was different consistancy

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the food, service and experience.

Dined on April 9, 2016

I will definitely return. The Ahi taco appetizer, halibut dinner and the mocha torte dessert, were my choices of the evening. They bread was so good too! Mmm mmm mmm!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spot on !

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Fantastic meal everything was spot on ! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Top notch Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Top notch Easter brunch

food4
ambience4
service5

Never been to their Easter Brunch and it ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Never been to their Easter Brunch and it was very good... Definitely will return next year.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to take my Dates to Kinley's.

Dined on March 18, 2016

The restaurant is well decorated and the chef always turn out the best plates and the wait staff are courteous and professional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

I love going to Kinley's with friends f ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I love going to Kinley's with friends from work. We usually order and share several appetizers. The bacon-wrapped dates are a must-have for me.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was OK, not great. Most uninspired ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was OK, not great. Most uninspired Greeks salad I have eaten. Dry, tomatoes were poor quality, couldn't find the feta cheese. Onion soup was very rich,not bad but a little to thick. Duck was very good, red cabbage served with it marinated in vinegar hitch was strong. Overall I will not return soon. Never received bread. Soup & salad were served together rather than separate courses. Long wait for main course. Will not return soon.

food5
ambience4
service4

Really great food and good service with ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Really great food and good service with a couple of slip ups but nothing serious. Not very loud when we got there but much louder by the time we were finishing our meal as it became peak hours.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

one and done

Dined on February 21, 2016

We eat out 2-3 times a month usually patronizing old favorites. We decided to shake it up and chose Kinley's because we had never eaten there. We were seated in the corner booth at the front of the restaurant. The stanchion on the left side of the booth is at most 6" from the booth you can't slide into the booth you must climb into the booth . once in the booth the seats were not comfortable. the best part of the meal was the server she was excellent, if it were not for her recommendation to try the calamari as a starter the food portion of the meal would have been a total disappointment. Two of our group of four ordered the chicken, both of us left half of the meal untouched. one ordered short ribs he too only ate half of his meal. My wife ordered the burger asking it to be cooked medium. It was delivered dripping blood red, she sent it back asking it be cooked medium, it was returned a little more done but much closer to medium rare than medium. without alcohol our bill with tip was 48.00. Sorry Kinley's we won't be back.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Unremarkable

Dined on February 20, 2016

The overall experience was OK but not what I had expected based on previous visits. The food - I had halibut and spouse had pork shop - was good but not great. The portions differed, the porkchop was a huge meal with lots of potatoes and a big double bone chop. Taste OK but a bit bland. The halibut was good with a nice crispy crust. The rice was dull and dry, the veggies ok, cooked nicely al dente but big hunks. Would have tried dessert but server disappeared for several minutes and we decided to call it a night. Odd beer selection.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Birthday lunch

Dined on February 16, 2016

Treated my friend to a delicious lunch at Kinley's for her birthday. Our server was amazing and she went home very happy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, with gluten & dairy Free choices

Dined on February 16, 2016

Wife and I eat out about 5 night a week although we tend to stick to wine and appetizers. We invited a party of eight to dinner on valentines day and everything was just absolutely perfect. Even the gluten dairy free person was amazed with the food and the fact the staff had no issue with her request. Knowledgeable and attentive staff make a big difference. Hope your experience is as good as ours

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic and the paired wines ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was fantastic and the paired wines with our meal were well done! The wait staff was on top of things as well. As soon as there was any want or need (empty plate, low water, replacement silverware) they were there without even asking. Best Resteraunt experience I've had in town!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second year we spent our Val ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This is our second year we spent our Valentine's Day dinner at Kinleys. The food was delicious and portions was great. The food came out nice and fast and service was excellent. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and service. Forgot the silve ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food and service. Forgot the silverware and knives before the food was served but the overall experience made up for it

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Valentines Treat

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Finding a restaurant on a popular day like Valentines Day is always a challenge. We chose Kinleys because they offered a special, though pricey menu, then chose a time during the late afternoon before the rush. We were quite satisfied with the multiple course menu and wine pairing. This is not a stylish restaurant, even for Anchorage, but is trustworthy and for this special time, it was a treat. The service was high quality and we did not feel rushed. We may do it again!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was great as was the food. A lot of food and fresh very good value. Extensive wine and beer lists. Nice dinning experience, it was quite and you can have a conversation and hear each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, service, but...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had visited on NYE and decided to go back. We went for an early V-day dinner and sat at the bar for a few minutes while we waited. We chose the croquettes and each had a glass of wine seeing they were $5/glass. Croquettes were delicious! We were seated and ordered a delicious beet salad and for entrees the scallops with mango (tasty but overcooked, sorry) and my short ribs with noodles were delicious, but were definitely not short ribs -- it was pot roast. Our server did alert me it was going to be like pot roast. I loved it anyway but will be careful to ask next time if we decide to visit. We rec'd our check and were taken aback at the amount. Something was not right; thinking since it was happy hour still, we would get our wine at the advertised price of $5/glass. My husband was offered the big beautiful wine selection, which he enjoyed. I also enjoyed my sav blanc. Not to claim bait/switch or false or lack of advertising this special, we were astounded to see my wine was at full price and my husband's was $16.50 a glass! This is our oversight and we should have asked the bartender for the price at the onset, but I think a little card would have helped us as patrons. We are a little gun-shy about visiting again, but we did like the food.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a very enjoyable dinner!! Delicio ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

It was a very enjoyable dinner!! Delicious!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

50/50

Dined on February 6, 2016

there were 4 of us. 2 liked their meal 2 where ok with meal. Friends said the Duck was great and also the Braut dinner. Halibut meal was over cooked but sauce was great. Filet mignon was dry and cold. Bacon on top of steak was very dried out. Very hard. Potato were actually burnt in places, had no special appeal. Service was good.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ribeye and Scallops

Dined on February 5, 2016

Have dined here 3 times over the last 4 years, had the Ribeye each time, and it is always excellent. They had a mushroom sauce that went below the steak which was superb and blended with the flavor perfectly. I always like the ambiance, calming blue. It's classy without trying too hard. A calm, unique vibe that successfully straddles upscale and casual, with a tilt towards upscale. Scallops - cooked well, but only got 3 for $36... I wanted to rate the value at 2 stars, but the wife feels it's a 4, due to there only being 3 authorized Alaska Scallop vendors. The sides are always excellent as well. Very happy overall. Definitely will go back for a special occasion, but only for special occasion as the prices are too high for us to go regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a business meeting - our ...

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Great place for a business meeting - our special request for a table was promptly honored and staff was very keyed into the fact that there were business discussions going on

food3
ambience4
service5
value5

An Off Night

Dined on January 30, 2016

Staff was great, ambience was good, but the food wasn't as delicious as it could've been. My vegetables were undercooked (I like al dente, but these required a knife to cut through the carrots, cauliflower, and broccoli) and the halibut was just okay. I've eaten there before and really enjoyed the food, so I think it was just an off night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on January 20, 2016

We went to Kinleys for my moms birthday. We ordered a number of plates and everything we ordered was delicious. Servers were very attentive. It was a great birthday dinner experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good service with a very nice server.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Service was good that night. Server was attentive to refilling iced tea, checking on us several times. Food was very good. Satisfying. Dessert, a mocha torte, was decadent and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was awesome as always.

Dined on January 15, 2016

Kinley's is one of my favorite go-to places for lunch. The only issue that I experienced was that we ordered salad and soup before our meal, even asked about it once while we waited, but they never came out. This is the second time this has happened. However, the taste of the Halibut Bacon Sandwich out-weighed the lack of salad! I'll continue to go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.