About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: (907) 272-8898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We will be serving a 5 course Prix Fixe menu with an optional wine pairing for Valentine's Day. There will be no regular dinner menu that evening. Bring your special someone in on this special day!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great find in Anchorage. Enjoyed the Cal ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great find in Anchorage. Enjoyed the Calamari and Almond Halibut. I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was not busy on a Saturd ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant was not busy on a Saturday at 645pm which was great. The server was OK but it took a while for him to warm up. 2 dishes that we ordered were missing items and bread was promised to our table but it took 2 reminders to get it delivered. The food was good and we were not rushed to eat. The calamari steak was amazing and I couldn't get enough of that sauce! The Beet Salad was really good as well. We thought the rockfish would have the wasabi in it but it did not. It was an OK dish.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was good. French onion soup was mai ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was good. French onion soup was mainly cheese. Parisian spinach salad was excellent. Halibut was perfect. Duck was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. A full liqu ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. A full liquor license would be nice though.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Kinley's is always awesome. The chef alw ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Kinley's is always awesome. The chef always accommodates my vegan request. This place is a jewel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and the service were excellent. I gave the suggestion that they should offer 'small' plates with a desert like they do their entrees. Great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Love the dates wrapped in bacon. Very a ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Love the dates wrapped in bacon. Very accommodating to food request changes..i.e. No cheese, no tomato, etc. nice restaurant for a special evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated New Years Eve with the Kin ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Years Eve with the Kinleys special dinner, it was absolutely FANTASTIC! The service was excellent, the server was friendly, the 5 course meal and wine pairing was superb! I can't wait to go back for dinner or lunch! I would highly recommend Kinleys !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Kinley's several times an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have been to Kinley's several times and have yet to be disappointed. From the lobster ravioli to the decadent desserts, it's hard to go wrong at this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Didn't hit their usual ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love this place. Didn't hit their usual great mark but it's once in many visits. So will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food good and high priced. Service very ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food good and high priced. Service very slow. Took an hour to get our entrée after the appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

We always enjoy Kinley's. The menu has ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We always enjoy Kinley's. The menu has lots of options, including small plates, and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am re-sending this as the first try I ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I am re-sending this as the first try I missed some questions and don't think my review went through. The best thing about our dining experience was our food server. He was very kind and offered suggestions for the things I could eat. He was aware of my allergies and actually cared. He made our 30th Anniversary a good one. It was first time there as I have many food allergies and rarely eat out. A friend recommended your restaurant. Please thank our server for giving us a very lovely evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this place! Great food and s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I just love this place! Great food and service every time. An Anchorage gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I have been patronizing Kinley's for man ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I have been patronizing Kinley's for many years and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bacon wrapped dates were tasty. Caesar s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bacon wrapped dates were tasty. Caesar salad comes with anchovies. 👍🏼Wine selection limited. Ambience is poor. We were seated in a room in the back which was very cold. They were nice enough to reseat us in the bar near the wood stove, however, the whole place reminded me of my college apartment from the eighties. So, meh, I probably wouldn't go there on a date again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This was our first visit to Kinley's and ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Kinley's and it definitely won't be the last. The wait staff was very nice and always attentive. I had the filet mignon and it was cooked perfectly. My husband had the halibut and he loved it. We decided to splurge and each get a dessert, and they were both magnificent.

Great food! We will definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable! The main course took a little while but I knew this and was in no hurry to dine and dash. The meals were good, but I think next time I'd just do small plates and appetizers with wine pairing.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazing! The calamari is not fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was amazing! The calamari is not fried and served in strips in a wonderful sauce. Portions were generous. Good beer and wine menu as well. Service was great too. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a wonderful evening for our Annivers ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Had a wonderful evening for our Anniversary! Loved the spinach salad and the halibut and my hubby enjoyed the Cesar's salad and the beef fillet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good food and and service but it ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall good food and and service but it took a long time to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our waitress recommended a wine we had n ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our waitress recommended a wine we had not tried before. It was great. The mocha dessert was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite place to take my friends to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My favorite place to take my friends to lunch! Very good selection of food options,friendly staff and great service!!

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Kinley's always serves excellent food. I ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Kinley's always serves excellent food. I had a new item this time, a Thai Fried Chicken with Thigh meat. Sweet and Spicy. Very good. The deserts had to be taken home when half done due to the richness. I like the addition of small plates. It gives a few excellent options for more choices and not more food.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server did not come over for a while and ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Server did not come over for a while and then was not very attentive. Good food though.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was great, wine was impressive and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was great, wine was impressive and the service was fabulous!

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon and quinoa dish, salmon ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I had the salmon and quinoa dish, salmon cooked just right and a large portion. My husband had the halibut cheeks, nice portion and very tasty also! Our server Rhonda was very good, pretty impressed by the staff. Will go again when it's just us two (no kiddos).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service, as usual. Pr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Wonderful food and service, as usual. Prefer booth to table because acoustics can make it hard to hear when the place is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service. Three of our party of eigh ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good service. Three of our party of eight were not able to join. Our waiter was accommodating to our request to be moved to smaller seating. We all enjoyed our meals from refreshing salads to spicy Thai chicken. Next time we will have to save room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The double chop was perfection , great f ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The double chop was perfection , great flavors!! And the calamari was also spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The staff was nice. The service was good ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The staff was nice. The service was good.

We order halibut . The fish was not season and the sauce was too salty and too oily. No balance of flavor. We had beet salad which was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Kinsey's Restaurant is one of Anchorage' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Kinsey's Restaurant is one of Anchorage's best. The food is excellent, creative and the menu is never boring . The service is efficient and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable. It remains one of my favorite Anchorage restaurants.

Tags: Disabled Access, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sea food dishes and great sele ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent sea food dishes and great selection of salads. Service was terrific. Friendly wait staff and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I go this this place fairly regularly an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I go this this place fairly regularly and the food is consistently good. I think it's great value for the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had the Beet Salad and Halibut Cheeks. Both were excellent!!! Large servings as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food is consistently very good - the sta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is consistently very good - the staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but b ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Main course (Halibut) was perfect, but by our sensibilities the side dishes (vegetables and rice) were unremarkable. Veggies were a little over cooked, and nothing extra to the rice. Friends told us this was a "white tablecloth" place. It wasn't the Thursday night we were there. The server was good ... around enough to be available when needed, but not hovering. Wine presentation was nicely done, a skill that seems to be diminishing. All-in-all, a nice experience, and the bill was less than we often pay at a "nicer" restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Kinley's come through. There ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, Kinley's come through. There is always a vegan entree listed and I can always ask for the kitchen to be creative for me. We had a great dinner and look forward to our next meeting at Kinley's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was just right not pushy or hovering but there when we needed anything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been in Anchorage for several ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had not been in Anchorage for several years, but the Southside Bistro is always a place we stop at when we are here. Dinner was a mix of oysters, mussels, salads, a burger, & a fine Italian wine called Roero Arneis. Our server, Cary, was great, and the food was outstanding. There may be a better restaurant in Anchorage, but I haven't found it yet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.