About Kinley's Restaurant and Bar

3230 Seward Highway
Anchorage, AK 99503
View Larger Map

After graduating from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland, Oregon, Chef Brett Knipmeyer returned to Chicago for a stint at the WORLD RENOWNED CHARLIE TROTTER’S.
After moving to Alaska to be the head chef at Jens Restaurant Brett has now staked his own culinary claim, and named it after his daughter, Kinley.


Kinley's serves fresh Alaskan seafood right from local fisherman, 30 Wines By the Glass, 300 wines by the bottle, and locally brewed beers on tap, as well as a wide selection of Belgian ales


In Kinley's first few years they have been voted Anchorages best new restaurant, best restaurant for wine, and best restaurant for service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 644-8953

Website:
http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available. Please contact Marty Kimball at 907-272-8898.

Parking Details:
We have a large private lot, free to all patrons.

Public Transit:
We have several bus stops within a block or two.

Executive Chef:
Brett Knipmeyer

Private Party Facilities:
Kinley's banquet room can fit up to 48 people for a full sit-down dinner. Details can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/banquets/banquet_room.html

Private Party Contact:
Marty Kimball: 9072728898x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
All special events and menus can be found online at http://www.kinleysrestaurant.com/events/events.html

Restaurant Photos

  • Stuffing Croquettes
  • Bacon Wrapped Dates
  • Vegetarian Entree
  • Torte
  • Halibut
  • Seafood Chowder
Stuffing Croquettes
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Vegetarian Entree
Torte
Halibut
Seafood Chowder

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Kinley's Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
5 More
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

fit for foodies (35)
special occasion (33)
good for groups (30)
See All
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
romantic (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific duck with Secret Squirrel wine. Great service, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was very good.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed our business lunch at Kinley's. The food and service were very good. Our server was especially polite and waited for a lull in conversation before stepping in and asking questions or removing dishes, etc.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Several Gluten Free Options, including G ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Several Gluten Free Options, including Gluten Free Beer! Staff was excellent and attentive throughout the dining experience. I would certainly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an outstanding place! Great all aro ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What an outstanding place! Great all around food and service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as always. It's one of my fav ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very good as always. It's one of my favorite spots for lunch. I just wish that I could get my salad before the meal comes. Even if I request it early, it still comes either right before or with my lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A tasty and convivial business lunch at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A tasty and convivial business lunch at Kinley's. Good food and enough space between tables and booths to allow private conversation. As always, service was smooth and the lunch top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food as always ! Wonderful place, ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food as always ! Wonderful place, one of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant for a sit down dinner. E ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice restaurant for a sit down dinner. Extensive wine list. Good Service. Kid friendly. Only complaint is that portions are a little small.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered from appetizers, small plates ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We ordered from appetizers, small plates, and entree. Not disappointed in anything. Food was excellent, service was awesome. Overall we will go back. Thank you Kinley's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our guests thought it was the best meal ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our guests thought it was the best meal they had on their 2 week visit to Alaska.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had dinner here with friends who arrived ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had dinner here with friends who arrived following a cruise. Couldn't get late-date reservations at our usual places so tried Kinley's at a friends recommendation. Will go back again! Good variety of food choices, well prepared.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Dining at Kinley's is consistenly good. ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Dining at Kinley's is consistenly good. Interesting menu, good selections of beer and wine, personable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The purpose of our visit at Kinley's Res ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The purpose of our visit at Kinley's Restaurant and Bar was for a business dinner. There were 15 of us ordering off of the menu. We really appreciated the great service that we received from Rhonda. She does a fabulous job with a smile on her face. We enjoyed the food and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, the waiter very ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was very good, the waiter very attentive and brought our food quickly. I think it is too expensive for what you get (beer battered halibut was three tiny nuggets). For that, I would prefer to pay $12-$14 range, not $20 for lunch!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Kinley's always has a great menu and I a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Kinley's always has a great menu and I am always full when I leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I met a friend for lunch. Everything was excellent. I could not wait for the bacon wrapped dates, which came as soon as I informed my server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Restaurant for foodies and fish lovers

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was perfect and presented with flair and competence. Fish and calamari steaks were not overdone. Everything full of flavor. Loved the bacon wrapped dates and calamari steaks. They ave duck and steaks too...everything done was great care. Excellent desserts too. Atmosphere is sophisticated, clean, classically modern. Casual, not fussy. Very attentive, but un intrusive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

TriTipWrap

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Description of the tri tip wrap sounded good.....the flavors together, not so great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I am appreciative of Kinley's as one of the few vegan friendly restaurants in town. The falafel burger is great. We had exceptional service. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have enjoyed the food at Kinley's and this was no exception. We started with the bacon-wrapped dates YUMMY, and the four of us had a variety of menu items. My husband and I LOVED the beet salad. He had it with grilled chicken GREAT LIGHT CHOICE, and I had the Lobster Ravioli DELISH.

The Wine list was varied and we each found something to our liking. We would have ordered cocktails if they had been available- DISAPOINTED & surprised. We thought the drinks prices were quite high OUCH.

Service was very good. If anything, it was almost too fast. Luckily it wasn't crowded so we were allowed to linger at the end of the meal over coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful good, quick friendly service. I can meet for lunch and be out the door and back to work in 1 hour 15 minutes.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my first time going to Kinley's and I couldn't be happier. The brunch was fantastic! The selection, and quality of that selection was outstanding. I'll be back to try something off their regular menu soon.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had an enjoyable brunch with my wife today. The service was good and everyone was very courteous. We have always enjoyed eating here.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Treated Well

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was nice to go here again. It was a very nice night a our waitress took very good care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great night out with friends. W ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a great night out with friends. We really enjoyed the smaller plate options. They really made for trying numerous dishes. Halibut cheeks and lobster ravioli wet delicious. The mocha torte dessert was divine! Service was great from the upbeat host to the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great! Food cooked perfectly. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Dinner was great! Food cooked perfectly. Calamari and dates to start. Server Kristi was on top of things and super sweet. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bring A Sleeping Bag

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

75 minutes after being seated, we still had not received our meals. The waiter only came to our table when we were able to get his attention from across the room. No food and no service. When we informed the manager that we were leaving, he offered no apology. Lots of good restaurants to eat at in Anchorage, but unfortunately, this is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Service would have received 5 stars - if ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service would have received 5 stars - if check splitting requests amongst our party of 6 had not been so screwed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was very good! The duck was especially delicious - I've not had better at any restaurant! Good ambiance...not too loud but vibrant. Good service. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jan, Anchorage

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great dining experience except it was noisy. There was a group of 12 that were responsible for this! Great food, big salads. I liked the "small plates" which with a salad are perfect for my appetite size.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

halbut dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The famous halibut dinner you are known for seemed like it was not the same. No cherries

sauce was different consistancy

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the food, service and experience.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I will definitely return. The Ahi taco appetizer, halibut dinner and the mocha torte dessert, were my choices of the evening. They bread was so good too! Mmm mmm mmm!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spot on !

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Fantastic meal everything was spot on ! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch Easter brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Top notch Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never been to their Easter Brunch and it ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Never been to their Easter Brunch and it was very good... Definitely will return next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love to take my Dates to Kinley's.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The restaurant is well decorated and the chef always turn out the best plates and the wait staff are courteous and professional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love going to Kinley's with friends f ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I love going to Kinley's with friends from work. We usually order and share several appetizers. The bacon-wrapped dates are a must-have for me.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was OK, not great. Most uninspired ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Food was OK, not great. Most uninspired Greeks salad I have eaten. Dry, tomatoes were poor quality, couldn't find the feta cheese.

Onion soup was very rich,not bad but a little to thick. Duck was very good, red cabbage served with it marinated in vinegar hitch was strong.

Overall I will not return soon. Never received bread. Soup & salad were served together rather than separate courses. Long wait for main course.

Will not return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really great food and good service with ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Really great food and good service with a couple of slip ups but nothing serious. Not very loud when we got there but much louder by the time we were finishing our meal as it became peak hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.