About Kingside

Kingside, located on West 57th street, features Chef Marc Murphy's interpretation of New American Cooking, alongside Gerber Group's renowned bar program of handcrafted cocktails. The accessible menu will take its inspiration from Murphy’s childhood, highlighting items that trace back to his French heritage, Italian roots, American schooling and his love of travel. In addition to an extensive raw and crudo bar, appetizers will include charcuterie and cheeses, salads and small plates, while larger entrees will feature pastas, fish and meats with an emphasis on sharing, including some items, such as a 26 oz. Cowboy Ribeye and a Roasted Chicken meant to be ordered for two.

124 WEST 57TH ST
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY
Breakfast & Grab+Go 7am - 11am
Weekend Brunch 11am - 4pm
Lunch 11am - 3pm
Dinner 5pm - 11pm
Bar 11am - 2am

Cross Street:
6th and 7th Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 707-8000

Website:
http://www.kingside-restaurant.com/

Catering:

Public Transit:
A, C, B, D, 1 to 59th Street / Columbus Circle
F to 57th Street
N, Q, R to 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Marc Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Full Restaurant Capacity: 100 people for seated event / 200 people for cocktail event

Kingside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Orders mixed up twice, no once but three ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Orders mixed up twice, no once but three times. Had to ask for bread, cutlery, etc -- friendly but totally random service. Restaurant half empty at dinner. Auto pilot restaurant that needs a reset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Lunch with coworkers. The wait for food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lunch with coworkers. The wait for food was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Restaurant week portions too small and n ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Restaurant week portions too small and no dessert offered. Food was good but not worth the price given the above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The broccoli salad was to die for as was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The broccoli salad was to die for as was the bolognese. Great find.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surpringly the food did not taste very f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Surpringly the food did not taste very fresh. It was a disappointment considering the price. I wouldn't recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

WHY DIDN'T I GET POINTS FOR THIS DINNER?

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

WHY DIDN'T I GET POINTS FOR THIS DINNER?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

considering 2 of the f people in our par ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

considering 2 of the f people in our party came down with FOOD POISONING, I would NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone other than the health department

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great early on a Saturday. 11:30 am gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great early on a Saturday. 11:30 am great for quiet conversation

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I always enjoy going to Kingside. In the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I always enjoy going to Kingside. In the past I have dined at breakfast but this was my first lunch. The menu is nice, great options and good value. My salad could have used a bit more seasoning but was otherwise fresh and tasty. The standout was the kind service. Our server was a pro and was quite friendly and warm. And the bartender jumped up to seat us and the host team was outgoing and so nice! Impressed by this team, they give great service and should be proud.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for brunch and we experienced horri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for brunch and we experienced horrible experience service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Please keep this my favorite little secr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Please keep this my favorite little secret! Food is excellent, staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I go twice a month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it here, always come back when w ...

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love it here, always come back when we're in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok, definitely not wor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was just ok, definitely not worth what they charge and the service was slow even though the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was good, but the service was just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was just terrible. No drinks, no refills, was unable to answer questions about the menu, had to ask the hostess for a server, and placed almost every dish in front of the wrong person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Christmas Night dinner was fabulous from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Night dinner was fabulous from the service to the food!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chose this restaurant for Christmas dinn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Chose this restaurant for Christmas dinner and service was shockingly disappointing. Thirty minutes after ordering a bottle of wine, our appetizers arrived before anyone at the table had a beverage. Plates of finished courses we not cleared. Scallops and steak were amazing, but something needs to be done with service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Made rsvp and host told us she wasn't ho ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Made rsvp and host told us she wasn't honoring our reservation. Had to ask for manager. Said they were too busy. Then manager seated us. Felt like host wanted to go home. I get it. It was xmas day. But there were other restaurants I could have chosen that were open. If you don't want to work just close the shop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Lovely Christmas breakfast - perfectly p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely Christmas breakfast - perfectly poached eggs & delicious avocado & lox toast.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We go to the Landmarc regularly and were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to the Landmarc regularly and were expecting more of the same great food and service. What a disappointment. The real problem had to do with the deplorable service, which affected our entrees and our whole experience. As we sat down, another table was loudly complaining about the fact that their waiter had gone MIA and their orders were wrong. Their food came out shortly after, but they left. Then it was out turn to be ignored. It took forever for our server to take our drink orders. We asked three times for water. He managed the coffee but forgot the other two drinks until prompted again. Then he disappeared. Once our food finally did show up, one dish was cold--it was the egg sandwich, which was supposed to have melted pimento cheese and hot sausage. And one of the side dishes didn't come out. Usually, a server will check back in on you once entrees have been served...and if anything, that happens too often. Not this guy. I left the table to find him--to find anyone, honestly. The staff were completely inattentive and largely absent. After finally tracking him down, he didn't apologize or anything. I'd thought he would follow me back to my table, pick up the cold food and take it back to the kitchen. Instead, he kept talking to another server. So after a few minutes, I got up and went back over again. After several attempts, I did finally get our forgotten side dish (bacon) and a replacement entree... They clearly microwaved the egg sandwich. The brioche turned hard, and the whole thing reminded me of a sad, vending machine sandwich. "Disgusting" is too complimentary a word to describe it. For $18, the vending machine version would have been more palatable. The bacon--it was cold and greasy once we finally got it. Like that other table, we just wanted to cut our losses and leave. But of course... We couldn't track down anyone for our bill. We did finally spot someone, but she was dealing with the table behind us, who were also complaining. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

V good! Cocktails excellent ! Good menu! ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

V good! Cocktails excellent ! Good menu! V good staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Casual atmosphere. Food generally very g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Casual atmosphere. Food generally very good. Nice bar selections.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived at 10:54 am with a reservatio ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We arrived at 10:54 am with a reservation for brunch. We were told to wait as brunch didn't start till 11. This took over 20 minutes. Once we were finally seated & greeted, we ordered the avocado toast, egg pizza & fruit salad (Nothing crazy). The food took forever to come out. The food was amazing when it did finally come out. However, yet again our check took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

This was such a disappointing experience ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was such a disappointing experience. Service was absolutely horrible, the staff was not only rude but extremely slow and inattentive. I've been to Kingside many times for dinner, this was my first time having brunch there. It was very underwhelming and I would not go back. There was lack of staff, tables needed to be bused and things were left unattended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Group of four needed a place to eat quic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Group of four needed a place to eat quickly before a show at Carnegie hall. We made a reservation for 7 but called to see if we could get a spot at the bar to eat quickly. Even though we arrived at 7:15 the hostess made sure to get us a table in the bar and took our order very quickly so that we would make our show. Burger was very good and the kale and quinoa salad was excellent. Also had an amazing drink. Hot tequila with cider since it was freezing out. Very cool vibe. Beautiful bar design. Extremely accommodating staff. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a noon reservation and arrive at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We had a noon reservation and arrive at 11:45a and the place was empty. The hostess insisted on seating us in the far back corner of the restaurant where we were put on top of another table. When I asked if we could sit in a booth in the center of the restaurant she refused us and told us the server wasn't at the restaurant yet. 10 minutes later she started seating people in those booths. To add to that she was fairly rude and totally unwilling to accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Discerning native New Yorkers beware! Re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Discerning native New Yorkers beware! Really disappointing all around. I have come here for breakfast, lunch and dinner on a few occasions and can finally say that it really is a huge disappointment. One would expect more from Marc Murphy.

At 9:30 PM with the bar fairly full with hotel guests the restaurant was empty and we waited 15 minutes to find a hostess. Server seemed busy but only a handful of tables were occupied. Ordered an appetizer, two entrees and a side. Entrees came, empty appetizer plate(s) remained throughout our meal, and the side came after the check arrived. The serve said he wondered what happened to our fried? Isn't that his job? No apology at all from the server. This is a must miss!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Delay in service of drinks and food appr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delay in service of drinks and food approached ridiculous levels. It took 30 minutes to receive our drink order. The food took 1 hour and 15 minutes to deliver (from the time we ordered until it was placed on our table). The restaurant was not even busy. We have been to Kingside multiple times. It is conveniently located and never busy. But after this experience, I don't believe we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Restaurant was empty yet we had to wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant was empty yet we had to wait for our reservation. Every single thing we ordered was wrong. They brought the appetizer along with entree and then waited an uncomfortably long time for the entree to be brought out again. All this the privilege of paying $36 for 3 small pieces of chicken. Very expensive. Next time I'll stick to Red Eye Grill or Molyvos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We arrived at the Viceroy on thanksgivin ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We arrived at the Viceroy on thanksgiving day. We figured that after a full day of travel, eating in the hotel restaurant was a great idea. Our server was very kind, but when the kitchen became slow and nothing was coming out, he wouldn't really make eye contact with us. I did not eat, but my husband sort of nibbled around and did his best to not gag at the coagulated, cold gravy served with the turkey. We did notice that our plate was free of mashed potatoes, so we asked where they were and after he was done pushing his food around, they PR ought a dish of runny purée. Terribly disappointing, and this, our first night of a near week's stay at the hotel. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Poor service - waiter was either uninfor ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Poor service - waiter was either uninformed, disinterested, or both. Never checked on us to see if the food was ok. Starters and drinks were pretty unspecial. The entrees were tasty but the poor service overshadowed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our Waitress Was great!!! Our food was d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our Waitress Was great!!! Our food was delicious and the staff very friendly !

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed our early dinner befor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our early dinner before a show at Carnegie Hall. Very reasonably priced, absolutely delicious food & cocktails and very cute decor. I will gladly go back and try the many other menu items I had trouble deciding between and will happily recommend to my friends & family looking for a good restaurant near Carnegie Hall.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Kingside for a post TCS NYC Mar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We chose Kingside for a post TCS NYC Marathon get together. Kingside is ascetically attractive and looks to have a very fun vibe. The bar area is beautify and the decor is clean and sharp looking!! Sadly that is where it stopped for us. We were (are) a family of 6. We were getting together from far and wide to celebrate 2/6 of the family running the marathon; a big day in NYC. The excitement stopped there. The restaurant was less than 1/4 full with plenty of wait staff (not meant to bash them) but the food took forEVER to arrive. The orders were simple (as is the menu, which was why we chose Kingside) and we had hoped for faster/better service. After asking when would the food arrive, we pushed our chairs back and bonded with the next table (the only other marathoners in the restaurant). Line would be around the block if this issue could be repaired. Too many other options in Manhattan for a repeat; sorry Kingside.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

A little noisy, which I had encountered ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A little noisy, which I had encountered before at Kingside. Maybe because of marathon? Also, food took a little too long to be served.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I am not sure in what world this place w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I am not sure in what world this place would be recommended but WARNING: this is not a place to go if you want service, food, or a smile. People were leaving the restaurant as we walked in. There were three groups in front of us and no server, hostess, or employee to be found for 25 minutes. Finally a server walked by and ignored everyone who had reservations asking about being seated. There were people standing up waiting for someone to take their order. They had actually been seated and were waiting 30 minutes to have their order taken. Beyond ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The staff was wonderful as was the atmos ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The staff was wonderful as was the atmosphere! The portions were pretty small but the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great! Consistent.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great! Consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server could have not jammed us with the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Server could have not jammed us with the check so early in meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I have wanted to try Kingside for a whil ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have wanted to try Kingside for a while. So when a friend was visiting from London and staying in a hotel nearby, it seemed like a good place to meet for Sunday brunch. And I was not disappointed. The bartender was friendly and fun and the restaurant was not overcrowded as some Manhattan brunch spots can be. In fact, it was a little light on the brunch crowd, but that probably made the dining experience better. We had such a nice time at the bar that we forwent the table and had brunch at the bar. I recommend the passion fruit Bellini and the frittata (bacon & cheddar). My friend had the breakfast pizza and the house gin & tonic. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. I definitely will go back even if just for the chance to have a quiet u-n-rushed brunch (and a passion fruit bellini!).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The atmosphere was fun, the music was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere was fun, the music was great. The lights were turned down too low -- romantic setting which contrasts with the casual tiled room. The food was very good, but overall the meal was pricey for what it was. Recommend the charcuterie and cheese plates, the crispy artichokes (though lose the soggy fried zucchini that came with), the kale salad, the steak for two (though too expensive). We went for pre-theatre, and it was a good choice with a short walk to our destination.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.