About Kingside

124 WEST 57TH ST
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Kingside, located on West 57th street, features Chef Marc Murphy's interpretation of New American Cooking, alongside Gerber Group's renowned bar program of handcrafted cocktails. The accessible menu will take its inspiration from Murphy’s childhood, highlighting items that trace back to his French heritage, Italian roots, American schooling and his love of travel. In addition to an extensive raw and crudo bar, appetizers will include charcuterie and cheeses, salads and small plates, while larger entrees will feature pastas, fish and meats with an emphasis on sharing, including some items, such as a 26 oz. Cowboy Ribeye and a Roasted Chicken meant to be ordered for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY
Breakfast & Grab+Go 7am - 11am
Weekend Brunch 11am - 4pm
Lunch 11am - 3pm
Dinner 5pm - 11pm
Bar 11am - 2am

Cross Street:
6th and 7th Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 707-8000

Website:
http://www.kingside-restaurant.com/

Catering:

Public Transit:
A, C, B, D, 1 to 59th Street / Columbus Circle
F to 57th Street
N, Q, R to 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Marc Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Full Restaurant Capacity: 100 people for seated event / 200 people for cocktail event

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas with family and friends at Kingside restaurant. A long with our a la carte menu we will feature delicious Christmas specials such as roast duck, beef tartare and a pastry/cake table. Contact Kingside restaurant to secure your table !

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate Christmas with family and friends at Kingside restaurant. A long with our a la carte menu we will feature delicious Christmas specials such as roast duck, beef tartare and a pastry/cake table. Contact Kingside restaurant to secure your table !

Kingside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.4

ambience

3.6

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Discerning native New Yorkers beware! Re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Discerning native New Yorkers beware! Really disappointing all around. I have come here for breakfast, lunch and dinner on a few occasions and can finally say that it really is a huge disappointment. One would expect more from Marc Murphy.

At 9:30 PM with the bar fairly full with hotel guests the restaurant was empty and we waited 15 minutes to find a hostess. Server seemed busy but only a handful of tables were occupied. Ordered an appetizer, two entrees and a side. Entrees came, empty appetizer plate(s) remained throughout our meal, and the side came after the check arrived. The serve said he wondered what happened to our fried? Isn't that his job? No apology at all from the server. This is a must miss!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Delay in service of drinks and food appr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delay in service of drinks and food approached ridiculous levels. It took 30 minutes to receive our drink order. The food took 1 hour and 15 minutes to deliver (from the time we ordered until it was placed on our table). The restaurant was not even busy. We have been to Kingside multiple times. It is conveniently located and never busy. But after this experience, I don't believe we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Restaurant was empty yet we had to wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant was empty yet we had to wait for our reservation. Every single thing we ordered was wrong. They brought the appetizer along with entree and then waited an uncomfortably long time for the entree to be brought out again. All this the privilege of paying $36 for 3 small pieces of chicken. Very expensive. Next time I'll stick to Red Eye Grill or Molyvos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We arrived at the Viceroy on thanksgivin ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We arrived at the Viceroy on thanksgiving day. We figured that after a full day of travel, eating in the hotel restaurant was a great idea. Our server was very kind, but when the kitchen became slow and nothing was coming out, he wouldn't really make eye contact with us. I did not eat, but my husband sort of nibbled around and did his best to not gag at the coagulated, cold gravy served with the turkey. We did notice that our plate was free of mashed potatoes, so we asked where they were and after he was done pushing his food around, they PR ought a dish of runny purée. Terribly disappointing, and this, our first night of a near week's stay at the hotel. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Poor service - waiter was either uninfor ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Poor service - waiter was either uninformed, disinterested, or both. Never checked on us to see if the food was ok. Starters and drinks were pretty unspecial. The entrees were tasty but the poor service overshadowed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our Waitress Was great!!! Our food was d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our Waitress Was great!!! Our food was delicious and the staff very friendly !

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed our early dinner befor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very much enjoyed our early dinner before a show at Carnegie Hall. Very reasonably priced, absolutely delicious food & cocktails and very cute decor. I will gladly go back and try the many other menu items I had trouble deciding between and will happily recommend to my friends & family looking for a good restaurant near Carnegie Hall.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Kingside for a post TCS NYC Mar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We chose Kingside for a post TCS NYC Marathon get together. Kingside is ascetically attractive and looks to have a very fun vibe. The bar area is beautify and the decor is clean and sharp looking!! Sadly that is where it stopped for us. We were (are) a family of 6. We were getting together from far and wide to celebrate 2/6 of the family running the marathon; a big day in NYC. The excitement stopped there. The restaurant was less than 1/4 full with plenty of wait staff (not meant to bash them) but the food took forEVER to arrive. The orders were simple (as is the menu, which was why we chose Kingside) and we had hoped for faster/better service. After asking when would the food arrive, we pushed our chairs back and bonded with the next table (the only other marathoners in the restaurant). Line would be around the block if this issue could be repaired. Too many other options in Manhattan for a repeat; sorry Kingside.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

A little noisy, which I had encountered ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A little noisy, which I had encountered before at Kingside. Maybe because of marathon? Also, food took a little too long to be served.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I am not sure in what world this place w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I am not sure in what world this place would be recommended but WARNING: this is not a place to go if you want service, food, or a smile. People were leaving the restaurant as we walked in. There were three groups in front of us and no server, hostess, or employee to be found for 25 minutes. Finally a server walked by and ignored everyone who had reservations asking about being seated. There were people standing up waiting for someone to take their order. They had actually been seated and were waiting 30 minutes to have their order taken. Beyond ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The staff was wonderful as was the atmos ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The staff was wonderful as was the atmosphere! The portions were pretty small but the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server could have not jammed us with the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Server could have not jammed us with the check so early in meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I have wanted to try Kingside for a whil ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have wanted to try Kingside for a while. So when a friend was visiting from London and staying in a hotel nearby, it seemed like a good place to meet for Sunday brunch. And I was not disappointed. The bartender was friendly and fun and the restaurant was not overcrowded as some Manhattan brunch spots can be. In fact, it was a little light on the brunch crowd, but that probably made the dining experience better. We had such a nice time at the bar that we forwent the table and had brunch at the bar. I recommend the passion fruit Bellini and the frittata (bacon & cheddar). My friend had the breakfast pizza and the house gin & tonic. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. I definitely will go back even if just for the chance to have a quiet u-n-rushed brunch (and a passion fruit bellini!).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The atmosphere was fun, the music was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The atmosphere was fun, the music was great. The lights were turned down too low -- romantic setting which contrasts with the casual tiled room. The food was very good, but overall the meal was pricey for what it was. Recommend the charcuterie and cheese plates, the crispy artichokes (though lose the soggy fried zucchini that came with), the kale salad, the steak for two (though too expensive). We went for pre-theatre, and it was a good choice with a short walk to our destination.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Lunch menu is limited not rushing to go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Lunch menu is limited not rushing to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I wasn't happy with the value or service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I wasn't happy with the value or service. Waitress took our order and was nice but not that helpful. A different server plopped the food on the table with no eye contact or presentation. We had a big bill for 2 prix fixe dinners and half bottle wine. The "big" plate only had 3 scallops. They were delicious. Spent $80. Lucky husbands weren't with us or they would be hungry. Desserts were big and out of proportion to the meal, too big and too sweet. Unable to eat. Soup starter tomato soup acidic but no bread or crackers offered, had to flag down waitress at bottom of bowl to get bread. I will not be returning . Meal was overpriced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was good, service was lacking and w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was good, service was lacking and we were not given water. We had to ask and wait a long time. Otherwise, everything else was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Too pricey for the fare /food and the am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Too pricey for the fare /food and the ambiance is so ordinary .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Although we were excited to have lunch a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Although we were excited to have lunch at a Marc Murphy restaurant, we were extremely underwhelmed by our experience at Kingside. Our waiter was nonchalant and we had to flag him down on several occasions to get service that would normally be provided at any restaurant that was functional. The food while tasty was sparse - a $29 prix-fixe lunch choice of tomato-eggplant soup came in a small half-filled cup and the main course consisted of two medium size scallops in a sauce. Definitely not a good value for the money. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I love the kale, goat cheese and olive s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I love the kale, goat cheese and olive salad with grilled chicken. It's so fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went there for brunch with friends. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went there for brunch with friends. The restaurant was very well decorated and had a pleasant interior - however the atmosphere was dull and we were one of the only tables there. The food varied a lot, certain dishes were pretty good others not so much. However neither the size nor the quality of any of the dishes we had lived up to their respective price tags. Overall average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really terrible, watery tasteless pasta. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Really terrible, watery tasteless pasta. Plus, overpriced. Took really long to get water. I try to be understanding, but they should staff up -- especially at their prices. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

All the food was excellent, from the bla ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 8, 2016

All the food was excellent, from the black truffle pasta, to the pork chop to the roasted chicken. However the service was a bit off with food not arriving together and the venue was exceptionally loud, despite being rather empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Loved my experience here so much! the Fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Loved my experience here so much! the Food was incredible. The restaurant is beautiful. I'm torn, I want everyone to know about it because its amazing, but I don't want anyone to know about it because I don't want to have a "wait time". You can't have your cake and eat it too!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tuna fish club and french fries. I g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The tuna fish club and french fries. I get that meal at least once a month. Amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant was very accommodating mo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The restaurant was very accommodating moving our arrival time around. The food was really good and the waitress was great at making recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

excellent tuna fish sandwich. one of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

excellent tuna fish sandwich. one of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Marc Murphy needs to go back to culinary ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Marc Murphy needs to go back to culinary school. Kingside's food is lousy. The kale salad tasted like a plate of grass, the seafood brodo was tasteless and the peach in the peach pie tasted like canned apples with tons of cinnamon added to cover up a tinned flavor. The thin, unripe peach slices that accompanied it were an insult. Murphy needs to spend less time on TV and more in the kitchen, if he can cook at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Amazing brunch in midtown!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing brunch in midtown!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had the restaurant week menu -- kale s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I had the restaurant week menu -- kale salad, chicken, peach pie for $42.00. I also had a glass of Pinot Grigio. My friend ordered scallops @$36.00 and received 3 small scallops. She also ordered a side of Asparagus. Food was good, but should have been a larger portion of scallops. Total bill with tip was close to $150.00. A little pricey for the amount of food served.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I love Kingside. However, I found it ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love Kingside. However, I found it very stingy of the restaurant not to include ANY sides with the steak and salmon main courses. The protein was served on the plate solo... and the price point was not low. Just a few fries and green beans would have been sufficient. This is not the kind of restaurant that should be charging for every extra side dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The cost of the food was not equivalent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The cost of the food was not equivalent to the taste. Nice presentation but lacked taste or quality. It seems everyone in the neighborhood knew not to patronize this restaurant except my party as we were the only ones there and were prevented from going anywhere else because of the credit card hold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall a great dinner date here. Pros ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall a great dinner date here. Pros - delicious food, friendly wait staff and nice décor. Cons - portions were on the small side (okay with me, just meant I got dessert) and there was no one in the restaurant. This was not surprising when we sat down (6:30 on a Saturday night) but I would have expected things to pick up by the time we left (8pm). This actually wasn't a con for us since we were having a quiet date night but for those looking for more of scene it may not be the place. A shame because the food was quite good so I hope business picks up! The space has great potential too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was less than great and way too spe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was less than great and way too spendy for what you got. Wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good but waiter was not very at ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was good but waiter was not very attentive and nonchalant. Service left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

It was awful.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2016

It was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I had guests from LA staying near the re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2016

I had guests from LA staying near the restaurant so it was convenient. The waitstaff were pleasant but need additional training when it comes to table settings. The wine list was good and we ordered a bottle, but they don't stock more than 1 bottle of the same wine?

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Breakfast is Better than Lunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I made a lunch reservation at Kingside with great anticipation. Early in the morning of the day of my meal, I walked from my hotel to the restaurant to make sure I knew its exact location. When I discovered it was open I went inside and ate breakfast, an egg and sausage sandwich. Although it took a bit longer than I expected to get my food (considering there were very few diners in the restaurant at that time of day) it was well worth the wait. It was excellent. It made me even more excited for what I would eat later at lunch. As good as my breakfast was, my lunch was very disappointing. Again, the wait time for the food was bothersome. However, unlike my breakfast, the food I ate at lunch was mediocre at best. A nondescript salad, an overly seasoned roasted artichoke dish, and a disappointing lobster toast. In summary, with all the good food options in Manhattan to choose from, I cannot recommend this to a fellow diner with the exception of breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

a disappointing business lunch

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2016

I've been to Kingside about half a dozen times, and I'm writing because I was disappointed this time. The tuna nicoise salad ingredients were all so raw and hard that they were difficult to cut with a knife, tho the tuna itself, what there was of it, was nice. No bread was brought to the table until we asked for it twice. When we finished our lunch a big smear of butter was left in the middle of the table, and neither the bus person nor our wait person thought it was their job to clean it up, tho the wait person brought the bill and the bus person returned to the table to refill our water glasses. The butter just sat there. This was a business meeting and the butter was distracting so finally I used my napkin to clean it up myself. I like the venue, it's a lovely room, but the service and food this last time (April 26, 2016) were a letdown. Don't think I'll go back really soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good spot for lunch

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Interesting menu options for brunch, including great cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.