About Kingside

124 WEST 57TH ST
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Kingside, located on West 57th street, features Chef Marc Murphy's interpretation of New American Cooking, alongside Gerber Group's renowned bar program of handcrafted cocktails. The accessible menu will take its inspiration from Murphy’s childhood, highlighting items that trace back to his French heritage, Italian roots, American schooling and his love of travel. In addition to an extensive raw and crudo bar, appetizers will include charcuterie and cheeses, salads and small plates, while larger entrees will feature pastas, fish and meats with an emphasis on sharing, including some items, such as a 26 oz. Cowboy Ribeye and a Roasted Chicken meant to be ordered for two.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY
Breakfast & Grab+Go 7am - 11am
Weekend Brunch 11am - 4pm
Lunch 11am - 4pm
Dinner 4pm - 11pm
Bar 11am - 2am

Cross Street:
6th and 7th Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 707-8000

Website:
http://www.kingside-restaurant.com/

Catering:

Public Transit:
A, C, B, D, 1 to 59th Street / Columbus Circle
F to 57th Street
N, Q, R to 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Marc Murphy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Full Restaurant Capacity: 100 people for seated event / 200 people for cocktail event

Kingside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (11)
fit for foodies (11)
great for brunch (9)
See All
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (1)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Kingside. However, I found it ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love Kingside. However, I found it very stingy of the restaurant not to include ANY sides with the steak and salmon main courses. The protein was served on the plate solo... and the price point was not low. Just a few fries and green beans would have been sufficient. This is not the kind of restaurant that should be charging for every extra side dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The cost of the food was not equivalent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The cost of the food was not equivalent to the taste. Nice presentation but lacked taste or quality. It seems everyone in the neighborhood knew not to patronize this restaurant except my party as we were the only ones there and were prevented from going anywhere else because of the credit card hold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall a great dinner date here. Pros ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Overall a great dinner date here. Pros - delicious food, friendly wait staff and nice décor. Cons - portions were on the small side (okay with me, just meant I got dessert) and there was no one in the restaurant. This was not surprising when we sat down (6:30 on a Saturday night) but I would have expected things to pick up by the time we left (8pm). This actually wasn't a con for us since we were having a quiet date night but for those looking for more of scene it may not be the place. A shame because the food was quite good so I hope business picks up! The space has great potential too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was less than great and way too spe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was less than great and way too spendy for what you got. Wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good but waiter was not very at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was good but waiter was not very attentive and nonchalant. Service left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

It was awful.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

It was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I had guests from LA staying near the re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I had guests from LA staying near the restaurant so it was convenient. The waitstaff were pleasant but need additional training when it comes to table settings. The wine list was good and we ordered a bottle, but they don't stock more than 1 bottle of the same wine?

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Breakfast is Better than Lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I made a lunch reservation at Kingside with great anticipation. Early in the morning of the day of my meal, I walked from my hotel to the restaurant to make sure I knew its exact location. When I discovered it was open I went inside and ate breakfast, an egg and sausage sandwich. Although it took a bit longer than I expected to get my food (considering there were very few diners in the restaurant at that time of day) it was well worth the wait. It was excellent. It made me even more excited for what I would eat later at lunch. As good as my breakfast was, my lunch was very disappointing. Again, the wait time for the food was bothersome. However, unlike my breakfast, the food I ate at lunch was mediocre at best. A nondescript salad, an overly seasoned roasted artichoke dish, and a disappointing lobster toast. In summary, with all the good food options in Manhattan to choose from, I cannot recommend this to a fellow diner with the exception of breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

a disappointing business lunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I've been to Kingside about half a dozen times, and I'm writing because I was disappointed this time. The tuna nicoise salad ingredients were all so raw and hard that they were difficult to cut with a knife, tho the tuna itself, what there was of it, was nice. No bread was brought to the table until we asked for it twice. When we finished our lunch a big smear of butter was left in the middle of the table, and neither the bus person nor our wait person thought it was their job to clean it up, tho the wait person brought the bill and the bus person returned to the table to refill our water glasses. The butter just sat there. This was a business meeting and the butter was distracting so finally I used my napkin to clean it up myself. I like the venue, it's a lovely room, but the service and food this last time (April 26, 2016) were a letdown. Don't think I'll go back really soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good spot for lunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Interesting menu options for brunch, including great cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, slow horrid service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were staying next door at the Viceroy so went here both for dinner and brunch. the menu was great, the food tasted really good but our service was awful. For dinner, they forgot part of our food and had to bring it out 10 min after our main course arrived. For brunch, had to flag down server multiple times to take our order, get water, get check, and then when the food came I ordered the bacon & avocado toast and they forgot the avocado. Hmm... important ingredient considering... and by the way, for brunch we were 2 of maybe 6 people in the entire place and still the service was that awful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I was disappointed. I made the reservation at Kingside because it is close to Carnegie Hall. Every year my cousin invites me to share his box seats, so I get dinner. The wheat berries in the warm grain "small plate" were under-cooked. Ron said his scallops were good, but my agnoletti (sp?) were thick and, again under-cooked. The butternut squash filling was delicious, so I cut through the pasta and ate out the filling.

I thought the ambiance and decor were nice, but we won't be going there again. It is a shame because it is so close to CH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

good find

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Service very attentive--food very good--good wine and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The association with such a chic hotel a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The association with such a chic hotel along with the promise of a menu designed by a celebrity chef made my dining experience at Kingside even more disappointing. In brief, the service was sporadic slash odd and the food was amateurish at best. With proximity to stellar NY restaurants like Quality Meats and Il Gattopardo one would think that Marc Murphy would up the ante at this uptown venue but based on tonight's meal he basically folded.

The Ceasar salad with anchovy panini was a promising start but the subsequent entrees quickly let the wind out of my sails. My roasted chicken over polenta was cooked well but unremarkable in both seasoning and size. But it was my dining companion's butternut squash "agnolotti" that were the true low point of the meal. Even in the the worst Italian restaurants I've ever been to, I have never been served such poorly executed pasta. The dough surrounding the filling was so incredibly thick that at its center it was completely raw and the overall shape and size of the agnolotti were nothing like the small rings they purported themselves to be. When the server placed what appeared to be a plate of gyoza in front of my friend we were both taken aback. Had we walked in to Joe's Shanghai by mistake? But alas, that was not the case because that would have actually been delicious and this, my fellow diners, was most certainly not. I won't even bother with the brussel sprouts or the caramel pudding as they're not worth mentioning.

Despite ordering no alcohol we still managed to spend a considerable amount on a mediocre meal. Cuisine aside, the overall value for what we received was beyond low and sadly I'm just going to have to chalk this up as a loss and steer clear in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great ambiance

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bland

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Have been to the Kingside three times in the last month for dinner, and each time is a little less interesting than the last. A $65 organic chicken for two that was on the dry side, over a huge bed of grilled carrots, potatoes and celery with no noticeable attention to flavor or art, marked my last visit. While our waiter was strong, the table settings were poor--appetizer sized plates too small to accommodate chicken breasts and vegetables, and no arrangement made for the bones to be discarded to make room for the next serving from the skillet. Really made a mess. Terribly over-priced. Get the $10 whole chicken from Whole Foods and save yourself $55. You can grill your own carrots and celery and you wouldn't know the difference. I previously tried the ancient grains salad and enjoyed it, until I had serious gas issues the next morning. Maybe there's a reason some ancient grains are not commonly served in the modern world?

On the plus side the cheese board and charcuterie board are both ample and excellent. Go for the drinks, and the bar scene and the small plates and skip the limited main course menu,

which is lacking in appealing options.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

a crown for a King

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

great roasted snails, fried artichoke (hearts) , PORK BELLY yum and lobster pasta special was out of this world

okay wines by the glass selections but could be expanded....

great location for City Center and Carnegie Hall

waiter and overall service was wonderful....we followed his selections

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The Egg Pizza is amazing! Great brunch menu. Lovely neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fresh yet simple

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The decor is simple diner set in an old style NYC; booths, subway tile, piping, etc. The service was friendly, professional and prompt yet casual. The prices were NYC typical a bit high. The food was fresh, simply prepared and plentiful. Two opportunities: the food lacked spices which let the ingredients speak for themselves but depending on what you order you could have a very bland meal. The biggest disappointment was that Marc did not have any signed cookbooks available for his fans. As a celebrity chief this is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

good food and good prices-lovely atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant for a midtown lunch. Varied menu with something for everyone. Our waiter was attentive to food allergies and dislikes. Prices were moderate and ambiance was nice. It was quite during lunch. Met with Marcus, the manager, and he even took the time to take pictures of us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Birthday dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This was an outstanding experience! We were greeted with warmth and professionalism. Our waiter was attentive and offered poetic descriptions of the menu. We all loved our entree's and I especially liked the extra attention paid to my sweetheart on his birthday. The entire experience was a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in NYC!! Loved the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Some of the best food in NYC!! Loved the food, the service and the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cocktails

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Disappointing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Surprised at the low quality given it's a Mark Murphy place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Shaved brussel sprouts were outstanding

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Shaved brussel sprouts were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing dinner and a perfect way to cele ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing dinner and a perfect way to celebrate vday with my wife. The grille cheese is a must!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great lunch in NYC

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Great quick lunch in NYC. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. I ordered the warm grain salad and was not disappointed. Prices were reasonable for the area. The ambiance was great for lunch and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE BEST!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We had such a wonderful experience at Kingside! We were treated to the best service and a sampling of incredibly delicious plates. We especially want to thank Chef Steve and our server, Mike... and all the other people who treat their customers like royalty! A fun place with amazing food and service. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food needs help- great bar for drink ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

The food needs help- great bar for drinks - skip dinner and just do drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Worth the trip

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Chef Marc Murphy gets it right with his take on an American Bistro. Food was great, server was very knowledgeable and gave my guest and I the space we needed to talk, talk some more and then review the menu and order. Everything was cooked perfectly and each bite was a treat to be savored. We could have shared one dessert, but they had a special skillet cookie that we just had to sample. Worth it for sure! Lively bar scene, great food and if you are sleepy after a big meal, just stumble into the boutique hotel next door for some shut-eye. Then you can sample their breakfast (which I hear is very good) the next morning...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with out-of-town friend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Convenient location. Excellent hostess. Great salad and burger. Good tuna. Relaxed atmosphere - didn't rush us. Only drawback is somewhat pricey for basic meal.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

An innovative menu with delicious select ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

An innovative menu with delicious selections like lobster cobb salad, scallops, tuna tartare appetizer and the tuna entre, and great burgers and fries. We also loved the wine selections and inspired cocktails. Our server was very helpful and competent and he enhanced our experience. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still one of my Favorites

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Love this place. Love the staff and the food! Elphin, Anthony and Kadeesha continue to shine.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Our server was great! Attentive, accommodating and knowledgeable of the lunch menu and drink menu.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was incredibly accommodating a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The staff was incredibly accommodating and was prepared with the highchair we requested for the infant in our group. The food was as delicious as we've come to expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kingside crown slips

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Arrived at a near empty kingside for breakfast and found uninterested staff and bang average food. Everything took an eternity to arrive at the table & even a polite request for some ketchup (twice!) fell on death ears. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Best food ever! Appetizers, main dishes ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Best food ever! Appetizers, main dishes and the desserts are amazing! Everyone who meets us here, loves it. This is a favorite for after theater also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Comparatively speaking...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We had been to this place in the past, and recommended it as a meet-up place with family. This visit was a little disappointing. The service was mediocre. There were a few comments about the menu that started, "We're out of.." This was a 7:00 pm Friday evening dinner.

Meals were ok.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

One of our servers was in training, and the duo was very attentive and thorough.

I ordered the oatmeal with banana compote, and it would have been much better with a higher banana to oatmeal ratio.

My guest's granola was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to dine with friends!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We chose to dine at Kingside for a late lunch because we had friends coming from out of town and it's close to Grand Central. They came with their 6 year old and we found the staff to be very accommodating when we asked for a booth instead of the table they had set for our party of 6. The 6 year old loved the menu options and enjoyed his spaghetti. Cocktails were innovative and fun. We all had lovely entrees, the burger, banh mi and chicken sandwich were all relish and the charcuterie board was great to share. The ambiance was quiet - perfect for catching up! We will definitely be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.