Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Kingside

Kingside, located on West 57th street, features Chef Marc Murphy's interpretation of New American Cooking, alongside Gerber Group's renowned bar program of handcrafted cocktails. The accessible menu will take its inspiration from Murphy’s childhood, highlighting items that trace back to his French heritage, Italian roots, American schooling and his love of travel. In addition to an extensive raw and crudo bar, appetizers will include charcuterie and cheeses, salads and small plates, while larger entrees will feature pastas, fish and meats with an emphasis on sharing, including some items, such as a 26 oz. Cowboy Ribeye and a Roasted Chicken meant to be ordered for two.

124 WEST 57TH ST
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
OPEN DAILY
Breakfast & Grab+Go 7am - 11am
Weekend Brunch 11am - 4pm
Lunch 11am - 3pm
Dinner 5pm - 11pm
Bar 11am - 2am

Cross Street:
6th and 7th Avenues

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 707-8000

Website:
http://www.kingside-restaurant.com/

Catering:

Public Transit:
A, C, B, D, 1 to 59th Street / Columbus Circle
F to 57th Street
N, Q, R to 5th Avenue

Executive Chef:
Marc Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Full Restaurant Capacity: 100 people for seated event / 200 people for cocktail event

Kingside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Love taking clients to Kingside for an easy dining experience. Menu isn't huge, which is good, wine list is spot on. Great cocktails and decor!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was mediocre at best. Three people at our table sent the burger back. The burger had zero flavor and the meat wasn't seasoned at all. The crispy artichokes came out soggy and there was no sauce to go with it. Would've been great with an aioli instead of just lemon. The lemon made it even more soggy. The kids pasta with butter and cheese came out drenched in butter and the pasta was all stuck together and hard. Service lacked as well. We had to hunt down our server because she brought all the apps out and no sharing plates. I have worked for Scott Gerber at one of his bars and was shocked that the service was so bad. We went through a lot of training before we were even allowed on to the floor. Service was always number one at all of his bars. Needless to say, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very frustrating. Even with reservation, getting seated was slow with plenty of empty tables. Host was completely rude. Had 3 different waiters for reasons that were never explained. And in nearly empty restaurant they sat us by the only other tables with people.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Low key ((can actually hear a conversation). Lovely decor and right near Carnegie Hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food was pricey and not special. There are restaurants with far better food for the same cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was incredibly slow. Food was good, but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent spot for quality lunch! The Tuna Melt was excellent, service was spot on, overall excellent place with chic french bistro decor. Highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Impersonal greeting. Hostess argued about reservation date and time until showed her confirmation on phone.
Food unimaginative and still offering winter vegetables with entrees.

All in all, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The panacakes and bacon are delicious but not cheap....we ordered 3 coffees upon arrival and they took about 20 minutes to make despite there only being a handful of people in the restaurant. The almond croissant was poor, and service was really terrible for the price you pay.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food, but the restaurant was EMPTY on a Saturday night, which left us wondering if something was wrong. I would recommend it for the food. Maybe it's more of a weeknight spot?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

How I’m treated during Restaurant Week or at a special prix fixe meal determines whether or not I return to a place. At Kingside, the two-item $29 prix fixe lunch did not limit the hospitality or curtail the service. We enjoyed cauliflower soup to start and then I had a scrumptious serving of roasted scallops; my companion relished her perfectly cooked skirt steak. Service was pleasant, not overbearing. We’ll return for more.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Just my favorite in the middle of 57th street!!! Certainly coming back and bringing friends!!!!

Tags: Vegan, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Too expensive!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Totally enjoyed our Sunday brunch at Kingside--fantastic, fresh food--good portions, cooked perfectly. Had plenty of room, and the noise level was just right so we could talk and hear each other. The eggs florentine, eggs benedict and the fritatta were all winners (and came with a small salad on the side). Loved that the hollandaise was hot, not too heavy, and served on the side. Fresh fruit cup was generous and included blueberries, blackberries and strawberries--yum. Maple bacon, breakfast potatoes and the sausage were also delicious. Our waiter was very helpful and friendly. We felt welcome and totally unrushed, which was the icing on the cake. Highly recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time eating at this place. Food was simple and good. Service a little overeager. We felt a tiny bit rushed. But other than that, great. Also cocktails were inventive and amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I've been here a few times in the past and had better food. Salad and sides were not as evenly seasoned as they should be, couldn't really taste my Brussels sprout salad, and the mushrooms and roasted sprouts were over-sauced and salted. Our server was nice, place was mostly empty on a Friday at lunch, kind of weird for midtown. Better for Happy Hour and dinner I think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Arrived to practically empty restaurant. Maitre d greeted us then immediately walked away and dealt with other stuff (including refilling somebody's coffee). Then dealt with a customer issue....then dealt with another customer who came in after our party (he'd left something behind)...then walked away again without speaking to us...in the end I walked to other member of staff and asked for us to be seated (5 minutes waiting by now). All the while 2 or 3 other members of staff were wandering around. We were finally seated...no apology. Ambience not great. No music. Food was great. Pancakes excellent. But lame, rude greeting left a bad taste: If we had known another place in the neighborhood we would have walked, but were with family and didn't want to make it unpleasant for them. Overall a sorry experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Orders mixed up twice, no once but three times. Had to ask for bread, cutlery, etc -- friendly but totally random service. Restaurant half empty at dinner. Auto pilot restaurant that needs a reset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lunch with coworkers. The wait for food was too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Restaurant week portions too small and no dessert offered. Food was good but not worth the price given the above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The broccoli salad was to die for as was the bolognese. Great find.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Surpringly the food did not taste very fresh. It was a disappointment considering the price. I wouldn't recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

WHY DIDN'T I GET POINTS FOR THIS DINNER?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great early on a Saturday. 11:30 am great for quiet conversation

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I always enjoy going to Kingside. In the past I have dined at breakfast but this was my first lunch. The menu is nice, great options and good value. My salad could have used a bit more seasoning but was otherwise fresh and tasty. The standout was the kind service. Our server was a pro and was quite friendly and warm. And the bartender jumped up to seat us and the host team was outgoing and so nice! Impressed by this team, they give great service and should be proud.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for brunch and we experienced horrible experience service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Please keep this my favorite little secret! Food is excellent, staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I go twice a month!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love it here, always come back when we're in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was just ok, definitely not worth what they charge and the service was slow even though the place was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was good, but the service was just terrible. No drinks, no refills, was unable to answer questions about the menu, had to ask the hostess for a server, and placed almost every dish in front of the wrong person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Night dinner was fabulous from the service to the food!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Chose this restaurant for Christmas dinner and service was shockingly disappointing. Thirty minutes after ordering a bottle of wine, our appetizers arrived before anyone at the table had a beverage. Plates of finished courses we not cleared. Scallops and steak were amazing, but something needs to be done with service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Made rsvp and host told us she wasn't honoring our reservation. Had to ask for manager. Said they were too busy. Then manager seated us. Felt like host wanted to go home. I get it. It was xmas day. But there were other restaurants I could have chosen that were open. If you don't want to work just close the shop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely Christmas breakfast - perfectly poached eggs & delicious avocado & lox toast.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to the Landmarc regularly and were expecting more of the same great food and service. What a disappointment. The real problem had to do with the deplorable service, which affected our entrees and our whole experience. As we sat down, another table was loudly complaining about the fact that their waiter had gone MIA and their orders were wrong. Their food came out shortly after, but they left. Then it was out turn to be ignored. It took forever for our server to take our drink orders. We asked three times for water. He managed the coffee but forgot the other two drinks until prompted again. Then he disappeared. Once our food finally did show up, one dish was cold--it was the egg sandwich, which was supposed to have melted pimento cheese and hot sausage. And one of the side dishes didn't come out. Usually, a server will check back in on you once entrees have been served...and if anything, that happens too often. Not this guy. I left the table to find him--to find anyone, honestly. The staff were completely inattentive and largely absent. After finally tracking him down, he didn't apologize or anything. I'd thought he would follow me back to my table, pick up the cold food and take it back to the kitchen. Instead, he kept talking to another server. So after a few minutes, I got up and went back over again. After several attempts, I did finally get our forgotten side dish (bacon) and a replacement entree... They clearly microwaved the egg sandwich. The brioche turned hard, and the whole thing reminded me of a sad, vending machine sandwich. "Disgusting" is too complimentary a word to describe it. For $18, the vending machine version would have been more palatable. The bacon--it was cold and greasy once we finally got it. Like that other table, we just wanted to cut our losses and leave. But of course... We couldn't track down anyone for our bill. We did finally spot someone, but she was dealing with the table behind us, who were also complaining. Avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

V good! Cocktails excellent ! Good menu! V good staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Casual atmosphere. Food generally very good. Nice bar selections.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We arrived at 10:54 am with a reservation for brunch. We were told to wait as brunch didn't start till 11. This took over 20 minutes. Once we were finally seated & greeted, we ordered the avocado toast, egg pizza & fruit salad (Nothing crazy). The food took forever to come out. The food was amazing when it did finally come out. However, yet again our check took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was such a disappointing experience. Service was absolutely horrible, the staff was not only rude but extremely slow and inattentive. I've been to Kingside many times for dinner, this was my first time having brunch there. It was very underwhelming and I would not go back. There was lack of staff, tables needed to be bused and things were left unattended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Group of four needed a place to eat quickly before a show at Carnegie hall. We made a reservation for 7 but called to see if we could get a spot at the bar to eat quickly. Even though we arrived at 7:15 the hostess made sure to get us a table in the bar and took our order very quickly so that we would make our show. Burger was very good and the kale and quinoa salad was excellent. Also had an amazing drink. Hot tequila with cider since it was freezing out. Very cool vibe. Beautiful bar design. Extremely accommodating staff. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.