Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que - Chicago
129 reviews
Barbecue | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Uncle Julio's - Chicago
44 reviews
Mexican | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Earls Kitchen + Bar - Lincoln Park
20 reviews
Global, International | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Burger Bar Chicago
79 reviews
Burgers | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Balena
1753 reviews
Italian | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Sono Wood Fired
57 reviews
Pizzeria | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Boka
2552 reviews
Contemporary American | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Kings Chicago - Lincoln Park
8 reviews
American | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Trattoria Gianni
706 reviews
Italian | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Goose Island Brewery
257 reviews
American | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Vinci
1255 reviews
Italian | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Summer House Santa Monica
1168 reviews
American | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Oyster Bah
119 reviews
Seafood | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Café Ba-Ba-Reeba
3767 reviews
Tapas / Small Plates | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago
353 reviews
Pizzeria | Lincoln Park, Chicago
Reserve Now

About Kingsbury Street Cafe

1523 N Kingsbury Street
Chicago, IL 60642
View Larger Map

A chic cafe serving the finest breakfast, lunch, brunch and dinner items along with its award winning breads, pastries and desserts. We are located across the street from Whole Foods in Lincoln Park!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 280-1718

Website:
http://www.kingsburystreetcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Daytime: Parking available in the lot to the north of Kingsbury Street cafe for $4 with validation.

Night: Valet service available of $11

Public Transit:
CTA EL Stop at North Ave

Executive Chef:
Rose Duong

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sort By:
Newest
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3

Nothing to get too excited about...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2015

A group of 6 of us went here for Mother's Day brunch a day early on Saturday and I don't know if I would go back. It was VERY loud...we could not even talk to the people we were with, that is how loud it was...Not to mention that we were sitting right in front with everyone waiting staring at us. The service was slow and even the waiter was straining to hear us when taking our order. The food was ok...much better options in this city. I have to say that I was expecting WAY more after all the rave reviews. I like flavor and I feel like that just wasn't there. I think they may need to rethink their potatoes they serve with the breakfast dishes. My son had a chocolate cupcake that tasted like a box mix and was dry...Otherwise, we mostly had breakfast items, but my son did get a burger and I MAY go back and try some of the lunch options.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great brunch place

Dined on April 4, 2015

I went with a group of girlfriends on a Saturday for the first time. I was glad that we can make reservations because a lot of brunch places don't take reservations. The restaurant is located a bit off the beaten path for a restaurant but its great if you are wanting to do a little shopping afterwards. The food was great but I really liked the ambiance and how open the restaurant is. I didn't feel like we were sitting on top of our neighbors which is kind of a problem at some brunch places. I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Oasis

vip
Dined on January 3, 2015

I am made at myself for staring at this place on my way to whole foods and not stopping in for a meal. It is great! The service is fantastic always white intelligent servers that actually seem to care about taking care for you. The white interior is uplifting, energetic and clean. The food is knotches above where it would need to be to make me come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Yummy brunch

Dined on January 1, 2015

We enjoyed Kingsbury Street Cafe. The food is fantastic - we really enjoyed the brunch offerings. The spot is pretty noisy but the food is fine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Parking the only downside

Dined on December 26, 2014

Interesting combination of American brunch food with a hint of Vietnamese cuisine, makes for a delightful brunch experience. Convenient location across the street from a gigantic Whole Foods unfortunately also means street parking is not easy to find. Service was slow and my understanding is that this is due to their having a small kitchen, but when the food arrived it was worth the wait. They accommodated our group of 10 without difficulty. Would definitely recommend and would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

good find

Dined on November 30, 2014

great brunch for meat lovers and veggies alike. the bakery looks like their forte. the lemon pancakes were superb as was the blubbery muffin and chocolate chip merengue. great drink menu as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1

The food was nice but it was really loud ...

vip
Dined on October 29, 2014

The food was nice but it was really loud in there, I was with my Aunt and we had to shout to be heard. The service left a lot to be desired.

food3
ambience4
service4

Nice brunch spot

Dined on October 26, 2014

The food here was creative and very good! We tried many things in our group including the more traditional breakfast, the oatmeal, the croque madame, and a salmon benedict special. I'm not sure about the other members in my group, but my food was tasty but cold. It must have been sitting out for too long before service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Good spot for a business meeting

Dined on October 20, 2014

Overall, it was just what I needed: a nice spot to conduct a lunch business meeting. It was an eleven dollar cab ride from (basically) the John Hancock building. It's also across the street from a Whole Foods, which is nice.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5

Good but really really loud. Worth goin ...

Dined on October 13, 2014

Good but really really loud. Worth going but you will be yelling to be heard!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Great breakfast and brunch spot

vip
Dined on October 1, 2014

Really good food and friendly, attentive service. Nice salad and sandwich selection for lunch. Great local spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Was looking forward to trying this plac ...

vip
Dined on September 14, 2014

Was looking forward to trying this place which was featured on "Check Please" The hype was warranted as the food was really top notch. However the noise level was a real deterrent. There were four of us and we couldn't be heard across the table. For me, this will make me think twice about returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on September 1, 2014

Great place for brunch! Lively atmosphere with lots of interesting menu choices. Will definitely return again when we return to Chicago.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

My Favorite Brunch

Dined on August 31, 2014

The location is not the most convenient, but the food is awesome and the space is very lovely and open. You can make reservations, which is a plus if you're trying to find a good brunch spot for groups.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

Brunch at the Kingsbury Street Cafe was ...

vip
Dined on August 16, 2014

Brunch at the Kingsbury Street Cafe was delicious. The deviled eggs were prepared with the utmost care and the paprika/chorizo combination delicately elevates the flavor. It was nice that the agave was served on the side of the chia seed breakfast pudding so that we could choose the our desired sweetness. One bite of the cheddar scones, and we had to place a to-go order to have for later in the day. Request to sit outside on the patio if you prefer a more relaxing brunch experience - it is a little difficult to carry on a conversation inside of the restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service2

Good food, slow service

Dined on August 10, 2014

Food was good, but even with the reservation, it took them 20 min to seat us, despite the fact that several tables were unoccupied. Service continued to be slow throughout our meal, so that made my first impression less positive. I'd try it again because the food was good to see if service improves at all.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on August 9, 2014

There isn't a thing I don't like about Kingsbury St Cafe. The food is delicious, the cocktails for brunch are fantastic (and there are plenty), and it's especially great if you get to sit outside. All around its a perfect place for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

niiiiice

Dined on August 3, 2014

The food was awesome! I had three deviled eggs with chorizo, a steak sandwich with eggs and salad, and lemon blueberry pancakes. I don't even like pancakes, but fell in love with them! They were so damn moist, fluffy, and.........u gotta try em! It tasted like I was eating lemon pound cake from my granny's kitchen! For real. My mojito was good too. Our server was great, though the kitchen was a little behind, the food was worth the wait!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Place

vip
Dined on August 3, 2014

One of our favorite breakfast/brunch spots in the city. Great food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service5

Something for everyone

vip
Dined on July 19, 2014

3rd visit & though it was a Sat., the noise level was lower (better) than prior visits. I love the food & live close by so I'd go more often but can't deal with the noise (the space is beautiful but cavernous). The food runs from well prepared, build your own omelettes to interesting spins on old standbys: love the deviled eggs w/crispy chorizo twists & a touch of cheddar. Some creations should not be on the menu at all: bbq chicken Benedict (IMHO) was amongst the most bizarre brunch creations I've tried- though I did love the salmon hash (I dined with a group of sharers so got to sample lots). Our server was very good - attentive but not obnoxious or pushy - excellent coffee from Coffee& Tea Exchange meant we lingered long.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful find!

Dined on July 13, 2014

We saw an episode of Check Please that featured The Kingsbury Cafe. As we were planning to be in that area, we made a reservation for a Sunday morning. We were most pleased with the menu options, the quality of food preparation, and the exceptional waitstaff. Oh, the baked goods that greet you on display upon entering the restaurant were fabulous! We recommend highly the Kingsbury Cafe.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service3

Adorable place with great food

vip
Dined on June 29, 2014

Super cute, friendly neighborhood spot with creative food and drinks. Other than the (loud) noise factor, and the overwhelming number of children eating there, it's a great find. Every bite (and sip) was delicious. Parking was a challenge, since we didn't know there was an adjacent lot! Now we know for next time, which is a definite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Yumm

vip
Dined on June 15, 2014

We had a great brunch with delicious and fresh food. The dining room is noisy but in a casual easy way. The lemon anglaise pancakes are worth the calories in every respect!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Innovative breakfast place

vip
Dined on June 14, 2014

First time here loved it . Great ingredients and presentation. Bring the family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for Lunch!

Dined on June 5, 2014

Love the fresh, citrusy taste of the quinoa salad! Servings are generous and the servers are pleasant, helpful and prompt. Noise level is a bit too energetic when the restaurant gets crowded - we could barely hear each other across the table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Lunch Spot

vip
Dined on May 16, 2014

Hadn't tried Kingsbury for lunch... The food is always good and the service is friendly and generally attentive. Lunch is probably my least favorite time to visit...the place was packed with 30 something moms and their kids. Been there, done that! I'll stick to brunch on the weekend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience1
service5

Great Find

Dined on May 4, 2014

Kingsbury Street Cafe is a hidden gem. The food is creative and great service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Pleasant

vip
Dined on May 2, 2014

This was a good place to meet a friend. & chat. The egg dishes, oatmeal & sandwiches we've tried were good.

food5
ambience3
service3

Eat and Leave

Dined on April 6, 2014

Went to Kingsbury for brunch on a recommendation. The food was absolutely delicious and filling. The mimosas served after 10AM were amazing. I had the MoMo. The restaurant was bright and airy which complemented the energy of the crowd. Our server was very friendly and personable. The only negative about the experience was that towards the end of my party's meal the servers, who were not ours, began to be a bit pushy as in "encouraging" us to leave. To be honest, my party found it quite rude for other servers in the restaurant to begin clearing our plates and consistently asking us if we needed anything else. Again, to note, our server was great, but the others servers left such a bad taste in mouth that I will never go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Just go & enjoy!!

Dined on April 2, 2014

A beautiful modern room, the food was fresh and perfectly cooked. The 'hood is hip and the server personable. Bakery goods were out of this world and super cheap (biggie muffin only $2.75!). Can't wait to go back for lunch. Our breakfast table neighbor was Ina Pickney (sp?), so you know the food HAS to be great. Hard to park cause of the over-developed neighborhood, but the valet next door at the strip joint is only $5 - so use it. Look for me, cause I'm going back soon - GoGoGirl xoxo

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went back the very next day!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2014

We went for brunch on a whim and were blown away by the food! Very high quality for what you pay for. A great selection of breakfast and lunch. We liked everything we ordered. The next day, we went back for more and made an appointment for Saturday brunch as well. 3 times in a week since our first visit. It's that good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service2

Poor service

vip
Dined on March 23, 2014

I was really excited to try your restaurant - my friends and I go to brunch on Sundays pretty regularly. The restaurant has a great ambience - very sunny, open atmosphere that reminds me of spring and summer time. However, the service really needs to be improved. Out waitress was very unfriendly. In addition, she, had to be reminded to bring our drinks after the entrees came out. I also asked for a substution for the meat that was included with the eggs since I'm vegetarian but was told there were no substitutions. Most restaurants will offer at least something or at least offer cheese or a veggie to be scrambled into the eggs. It's unfortunate because great ambience and good food won't make up for poor service.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Reservation for 10!

Dined on March 16, 2014

I was able to make a reservation for 10 and able to adjust it when a few of my friends backed out. It's an awesome brunch spot and one of the few that would let us reserve a table for such a large group. Everyone enjoyed their food and the chilaquiles were delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience1
service3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 14, 2014

Food average, noise unbearable. I would not go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Eggs

Dined on March 8, 2014

All around great experience. This is my new favorite brunch spot! I hesitate to write a review because I don't want other people finding out about it!

food4
ambience5
service5

The Server

Dined on March 6, 2014

Jenny and the guy with her were both TERRIFIC. She was totally helpful, quick and a delight to speak with. A server like that can make the whole experience more pleasurable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Brunch

Dined on March 2, 2014

I would highly recommend for brunch. Great food in a spacious setting. Had brunch with 4 adults and 3 kids, and our table was quite spacious. The food was excellent, and the service was attentive. The only minor flaw was that all of our food did not come our at the same time, but the kids food came first which was good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Try the special!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2014

While everything sounded great on the regular menu, I would strongly encourage you to try the French toast special. It changes, but this week it was a decadent chocolate, strawberry, crème anglaise creation. It was so gorgeously presented that I hesitated digging in. Others at the table got the Café breakfast and the Moo, Cluck, sandwich. All of which were delicious and well executed. We would definitely return to try other items. Oh--we did have a peanut butter muffin for "dessert" that was a peanut butter lover's paradise. WOW! You must try one of their baked goods, too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Sunday brunch

Dined on February 16, 2014

We enjoyed the deviled egg appetizer, quinoa with kale and sunny-side-up eggs, lemon-blueberry pancakes, steak and peppers sandwich, along with a side of maple-glazed bacon, melon-ginger fruit drink and Ethiopian drip coffee. All was delicious, with great service. The fresh baked bread was wonderful. The food was very high quality, well prepared and well presented. Nice artwork on the walls, and well-lit with big sunny windows in the front of the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

B.A.L.T.

Dined on February 14, 2014

this was my 2nd time at Kingsbury st cafe. I ordered the BALT sandwich.. OMG! SOOOOO GOOD! my husband ordered the burger, he asked for it to be prepared "medium" it came out "well done" the burger also wasn't seasoned well

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.