About King's Arm Tavern

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
4 More
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Romantic
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (186)
Romantic (98)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
See All
Kid-friendly (69)
Good for Groups (65)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Scenic View (45)
Historic (42)
Great for Lunch (31)
Authentic (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Live Music (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

OUR SERVER WAS OUTSTANDING AND SPENT TIM ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

OUR SERVER WAS OUTSTANDING AND SPENT TIME SHARING HISTORICAL TRIVIA THROUGHT OUR MEAL.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a bit disappointed that there was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was a bit disappointed that there was not more history involved in the dining experience. More unusual authentic choices with an explanation of their historical significance would have been nice .

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service at the King's Arms was not p ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service at the King's Arms was not particularly good. The young man waiting on us was somewhat hard to understand and confused our orders. (I realize he was an exchange student, but his language skills did take away from the experience.) He also apparently had not been trained how to serve a bottle of wine. The food was acceptable (prime rib in my case), but not exceptional. We very much enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant and would probably return on our next visit to Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Everyone should experience this! Good f ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everyone should experience this! Good food, Billie best waitress!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

While visiting the Historic Triangle, my ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

While visiting the Historic Triangle, my family (3 adults and 5 children ages 2to 10) wanted to have an authentic colonial meal. The King's Arms Tavern was a wonderful experience for us all! Prices were great on the Young Patriots (kids') menu, with most a little over $7.00. Each kid's meal included an entree as well as fruit, applesauce, or French fries, and a drink. Chicken strips, Thomas Jefferson's mac and cheese, hot dog, and a sirloin steak (cost a little more) were quickly gobbled up. The adults had roast beef and a seafood pasta dish! Everything was well prepared and delicious.

We were seated immediately and our server (Katie?) attended to our every need. The servers were dressed in colonial outfits and the menu was explained and questions were answered. A strolling guitar player highlighted the evening when he stopped at our table to sing and play Yankee Doodle!

Visiting the King's Arms Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg was an experience we'll always remember!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Food is wonderful and t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love this place! Food is wonderful and the feel is so authentic and fun!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my husband and I second visit h ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my husband and I second visit here and it was wonderful. The atmosphere is amazing and the food is great. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Williamsburg!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great beef dinners. Thoroughly enjoyed ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great beef dinners. Thoroughly enjoyed the relishes too. Very good waiter. Could answer all sorts of questions about both the food and the history. Pricey, but OK for special occasions. We would definitely recommend Kings Arms and will go back if we are in the Williamsburg area.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 35th Anniversary we had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Celebrating our 35th Anniversary we had a very enjoyable evening --good food , nice entertainment , a waiter who took very good care of us --a great experience

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't eaten at King's Arms Tavern in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I hadn't eaten at King's Arms Tavern in 7 years and was greatly disappointed this trip. I was with a friend who is on a special diet and asked if one of the side dishes could be changed. No, we were told, nothing on any of the listed dinners could be changed. It seemed the request upset the waiter as he was less than friendly from there on out.

The food was average. This place once had terrific food. Both my friend, who had the "special" dinner and myself who had crab cakes (not even average but bad) were disappointed.

The upside was the singer who walked through and a man who taught us about 18th century toasts. Also the restaurant itself is delightful.

All said I won't return to King's Arms. I am sad about that.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It was our 45th anniversary. The waitres ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was our 45th anniversary. The waitress was not only informative but her suggestions were right on. Loved the colonial dress, the live music brought everyone together in the room. The food was very good and will come again when in Williamsburg.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service, food, music, ambian ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding service, food, music, ambiance, plus a history lesson! Our family sampled everything on the menu and although the dining choices are limited, they are all outstanding. We enjoyed the cocktails (wine spritzer and the Mum's beer) and unique colonial desserts as well. Our server Bobbie was knowledgeable and attentive. Our children were mesmerized and enjoyed the kids menu and experiencing American History.

Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to area very nice... wil ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our first time to area very nice... will come back, we are from hiltonhead, vacation

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent cuisine. Historicwilliamsburgc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent cuisine. Historicwilliamsburgcomes alive

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What you are paying for is the experienc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

What you are paying for is the experience of dining in an "authentic" 18th century tavern, the ambience etc. The food while filling, with good portions, was mediocre. The waitress we had was very hard to hear and I found myself paying more attention to the other waitstaff. The musicians were great. Next time we will dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent overall experience. Enjoyed i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The King's Arm food and service is alway ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The King's Arm food and service is always fantastic, it never disappoints. The overly large napkin bibs and the lite candles add to a perfect experience. The desserts are by far some of the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love historic Williamsburg and dine a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We love historic Williamsburg and dine at all of the Taverns. KAT was exceptional! The food was delicious and our server was polite, friendly and on top of things. We were treated to special music and a visit by an interpreter who played a traveler. He instructed us on the proper way to dine and how to make a memorable toast. It was a delightful evening and worth the cost.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! We were 4 adults an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a great time! We were 4 adults and 4 kids. They were very kid friendly. We had fun tying the table cloth sized napkins around our necks like they did in Colonial times. That was pre-dry cleaning, so it made sense to cover your entire outfit! There was live music from the period, and a man came by dressed in period garb to answer any questions we had. The food was good, if a little expensive, but we really went there for the atmosphere more than the food anyway.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When in Colonial Williamsburg area, we a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

When in Colonial Williamsburg area, we always stop to have dinner here. They serve authentic peanut soup which is delicious. The food is served in the atmosphere of the colonies and the servers dress in the costumes of the time.

Food is served hot and the presentation makes you feel like you are back in colonial times.

There is a musician that goes to each room and plays a song from colonial times. Also, they have an individual visiting the tables to make you feel like you are speaking with someone that could have been at the tavern during the time one of the founding fathers was there. He is knowledgeable and offers insight on how things were during colonial times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Kings Arms Tavern is the GEM of Colo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Kings Arms Tavern is the GEM of Colonial Williamsburgh. The menu is largely original Colonial recipes with current menus if you wish. The waiters are in period dress, and are delightful. This is the only Tavern (restaurant) that serves original Shephards Game Pie.

Dont pass this up when in Colonial Williamsburgh.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just as wonderful as it was on ou ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It was just as wonderful as it was on our previous trip. The food, service and entertainment was excellent. We can't wait for our next visit this is one tavern we will always dine at it's quite enjoyable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The last time we were in Williamsburg, w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The last time we were in Williamsburg, we went to this tavern with our 3 kids. There were two characters acting the part of colonial residents. It was so enjoyable that we didn't mind spending the money. This trip, I took myself and 2 teenage girls. The cost of dinner/tip for the three of us was $146. We are all small. The portions were fine for us--no doggie bags, AND there was no entertainment, except some boring music. Like I said, I didn't mind spending the money because of the entertainment; but there was no entertainment.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Everything was wonderful although I was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everything was wonderful although I was disappointed that the special anniversary arrangements I made for my wife got bestowed upon another couple. Lost a star for that detail. Server was very historically accurate and I loved his story-telling approach to his service. This was our first time dining in the revolutionary city. Much too expensive for the family but a nice treat for my wife and I.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely wonderful food and friendly s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food and friendly staff! We will definitely be back next time we are in Williamsburg!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the salmon special. It was slight ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had the salmon special. It was slightly overcooked and the crab sauce was salty. My son had the vegetarian pasta. The flavour was nice but there were very few noodles. The dish was mostly sauce and vegetables. Our desserts were nice (chocolate cake and pecan pie). For the price of the meal, I expected it to be slightly better than it was. The ambiance was lovely and our waitress was very knowledgeable and pleasant.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun place to our 9 year old granddaughte ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fun place to our 9 year old granddaughter !!!!

We all the colonial atmosphere and would come again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was exquisite the server George ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was exquisite the server George was unbelievable by far the best waiter ever he was extremely knowledgeable and just great to deal with. Beer and wine were perfect. Thank you for a great experience

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great experience - fun to have a histo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A great experience - fun to have a historic meal in historic Williamsburg - easy parking nearby if not staying on site

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The noise level was somewhat high, howev ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The noise level was somewhat high, however the service, food, wine, and ambiance were excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The King's Arms is a 1770's tavern resta ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The King's Arms is a 1770's tavern restaurant in the historic district of Williamsburg, VA. Dinner includes "visits" by 1770's people and music. Some of the wait staff provides a detailed explanation of the historic significance of the food and the tavern itself (ours did not, which is why we gave 4 stars for service). The food was great and the service was attentive. It is a little more expensive than some of the other taverns, but it is supposed to have been the "best" restaurant of the time. Among other things, we learned the derivation of the phrase "tying one on"--hint: check out the size of the "napkin". A really nice experience! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful evening with both great food a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful evening with both great food and ambience. George, our waiter, was full of historical info and very attentive. 'Rum Runner' was a big hit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always start the W&M school year with ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We always start the W&M school year with a dinner in Colonial Wiiliamsburg. Nice to have a colonial experience and delicious dinner. The music and colonial atmosphere makes it perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 40th wedding anniversary. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our 40th wedding anniversary. We've been to Kings Arms several times and each has been a pleasant experience.

Peanut soup is the best!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have enjoyed more live entertainme ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Would have enjoyed more live entertainment in our room. Next room over was having a fun, somewhat rowdy time and we just had a very quiet guitarist for a short period.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our wait person was wonderful to teach u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our wait person was wonderful to teach us a little about colonial times. She was fun and not intrusive.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pedestrian at best. The prime r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was pedestrian at best. The prime rib, for $35, was as small of a portion I have ever seen. The pop-over was cold, and the service slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We have always enjoyed visiting Colonial ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have always enjoyed visiting Colonial Williamsburg, and set aside at least one nice dinner at one of the town's taverns. Selection is often by their menu offerings, especially when the grandkids accompany us. We very much enjoyed the King's Arm on this trip - great food and drink, a very pleasant and knowledgable server, live period-style roving musicians, and all the colonial ambience one could possibly ask for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fine but the food was not go ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was fine but the food was not good. Definitely a tourist trap. The main course (prime rib) was uneditable. Not worth what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The ambience is quite nice - takes you b ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The ambience is quite nice - takes you back to colonial times. Nice music but hard to concentrate due to noise level in the small room. Food was fresh but no flavor to it. Dessert was pecan pie and that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.