About King's Arm Tavern

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
3 More
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

special occasion (195)
romantic (94)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
neighborhood gem (60)
good for groups (57)
kid-friendly (47)
scenic view (40)
great for lunch (33)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
746 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

By far the best place to dine in histori ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

By far the best place to dine in historic Williamsburg. Our waiter, Marty, was fabulous.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service we received from our waiter ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service we received from our waiter David was amazing. We loved the historical aspect of the meal and learned a lot from our dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely an expensive restaurant, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Definitely an expensive restaurant, but the food absolutely lived up to the price. Particularly try the meat pie and the syllabub!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is good, but it is not as good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food is good, but it is not as good as the price would indicate. I had the pork chops, which were thin and not exceptional; although the $32 price indicated they should have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Enjoyed a nice dinner with friends. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner with friends. The food was very good and the staff was friendly and attentive. We did wonder why Caesar Salad was on the menu. The portions were generous and the roving musicians made sure to engage all the tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overpriced for only average fare. Not a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overpriced for only average fare. Not a good value. I have eaten at other Colonial Williamsburg restaurants with good experience. This one was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We always enjoy dining in Colonial Willi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We always enjoy dining in Colonial Williamsburg - taking us back to a time of fine etiquette and dining

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I live in Williamsburg and c ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My wife and I live in Williamsburg and chose the King's Arms Tavern to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. We've dined there several times over the years and enjoyed the experience.

Although the menu has changed since our last visit some years ago, we were pleased to see the prime rib still offered. Of all restaurants anywhere, The King's Arms has the best prime rib. The fresh chopped horseradish is the perfect complement to this fine beef cut. Since we both like it medium rare, we ordered it rare and it was served just right- medium rare.

Our server was from Romania and we both enjoyed talking with her and never felt rushed. Our food was served at the proper time, neither too fast or too slow.

Be prepared to spend a lot of money. It was worth it to us on this very special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Salmon badly over salted. Fine experienc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Salmon badly over salted. Fine experience otherwise.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very pleased with the menu and t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were very pleased with the menu and the atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you cannot see well, I would say choo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

If you cannot see well, I would say choose another place for evening dinner. Dinner though is amazing, candlelight, prime rib. Enough said.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Had a reservation from 2 weeks earlier a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a reservation from 2 weeks earlier and waited at least 45 minutes to be seated

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

unbelievably noisy!!!! Don't let them pu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

unbelievably noisy!!!! Don't let them put you in the little room upstairs. AC not worth a hoot Prime rib tasted like it was cooked in liquid smoke!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value4

Always a great visit. Our server explai ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a great visit. Our server explained some of the history behind the tavern and the items on the menu, and the live entertainment was enjoyed by all in our room, from youngest to oldest.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we brought our grandsons ages 12 & 8 to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

we brought our grandsons ages 12 & 8 to willianmsburg on vacation-----the restaurant is a great Williamsburg experience----some history and good food

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our time at the King's ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at the King's arm tavern. The entertainment was very engaging. We had been there before and were a little disappointed with the rummer, not sure if something changed in the past 10 years, but the food was very good and the service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun Williamsburg experience with live en ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fun Williamsburg experience with live entertainment and music. Service is very slow and food average at best. Go for lunch not dinner. Terrible value.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Everything is good but I come for the Hu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything is good but I come for the Hunters Game Pie. It's not something you can get anywhere else and it's fabulous!. I also love the the authentic relishes served as a starter and the Sally Lynn Bread. The historical ambiance is fun with the explanations of colonial food prep and the yard square napkins. There's also live colonial musicians moving from room to room. My favorite of the historic taverns in CW.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you are looking for a place to step b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

If you are looking for a place to step back in time and enjoy a good meal this is the place to visit. It is a little on the pricey side but it is still worth the experience. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food. Good atmosphere. Part of a gr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food. Good atmosphere. Part of a great educational experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My husband and I have been comIng to Wil ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I have been comIng to Williamsburg together for 25 years (he for 45 years.) We have eaten at all of your taverns on various occasions. This trip was my mother's first time to Williamsburg & we couldn't wait to take her to the tavern. We had previewed the menus online since we had been away for ten years. We thought that King's Arms looked the most like the old traditional menu. We were

extremely disappointed with the quality of the food. Our children, ages 16 and 18, ate only a few bites of their game pie & my husband said his tasted little like the ones he had eaten in the past. The pies were undercooked. Their peanut soup was only fair. My mom and I had the beef tenderloin. The beef itself was excellent, as was our vegetable soup. However, the beans were cold with little flavor & we did not care for the cinnamon type spice on the potatoes. Dessert was good. We paid $330 for our meal, so we did not get our money's worth. Our server was great! He knows the history of colonial cuisine and we enjoyed hus service. He was the highlight of the evening. We preferred the music when it was played throughout, without explanation, as if we were actually dining in the colonial period. We love Colonial Williamsburg so we will be back soon. But, we will not dine in a tavern again. From now on we will eat in our favorite local restaurant. Thank you for hearing our concerns. We wish we had a better review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Our favorite tavern when visiting Willia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our favorite tavern when visiting Williamsburg. Great food service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu; colonial atmosphere which ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Limited menu; colonial atmosphere which felt too staged unlike Christiana Campbell's Tavern nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at the King's Arms during a famil ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate at the King's Arms during a family vacation to Colonial Williamsburg. It was a great experience and the food and service were very good. A bit expensive, but keep in mind you are paying for the uniqueness of the experience and the entertainment during dinner. Very similar to Christina Campbell's -- if we had known that we might have chosen one or the other instead of doing both.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Way way way too loud and sporadic servic ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Way way way too loud and sporadic service but otherwise good - (not great) - meat not served medium rare as requested but well done instead (overlooked ) also a large amount was thick fat not meat. So, enjoy it but I preferred Christiana Campbell's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten at the King's Arms on a va ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten at the King's Arms on a variety of occassions in the past. Years ago they made an Oyster pie that our family loves. However it is no longer on the regular menu. We called ahead and requested that dish and they honored it for us. It was as wonderful as we remembered. Thanks to the Chef and staff for making our family visit just a little extra special.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. Very small portions. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was good. Very small portions. The service was great and our server was very nice and attentive. There are 3 floors, so if you can't do stairs, ask to be seated on the main floor. I do not believe there is an elevator.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Really fun place to go with surprisingly ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Really fun place to go with surprisingly good food. It's a neat thing to try with your kids, and a nice educational dinner as well. Our server did a great job of explaining dining in colonial times, and a musician also came in to entertain with a few songs. Very fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. It was mostly the envianc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was good. It was mostly the enviance of knowing how long the tavern was there and the food of the times. Beer was expensive and overall expensive but for a dinner and the atmosphere it was worth it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great Colonial Williamsburg Tavern exp ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great Colonial Williamsburg Tavern experience! The food was amazing and our server was wonderful. More on the food - every dish was at the perfect temperature and it stayed that way! Also, the coffee was nice and hot when served - a big plus in my book. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience. Food was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. Food was great, our waiter was terrific and presented some history of the place. Entertainment played and moved around the room. My granddaughter was entertained

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous restaurant. Our favorite of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A fabulous restaurant. Our favorite of the tavern resaurants in Williamsburg. The food was the most authentic to the period as was the tavern itself. A favorite thing was the live period music being played while we were there and the live re-enactor who goes from table to table. ALthough we didn't have children, ,loved how these people engaged other children into period activities.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited King's Arm several times ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have visited King's Arm several times over the years. Each time was memorable. The food, service and atmosphere have always been great. This time we were back with our grand daughter to celebrate her 10th birthday. Although she is a picky eater and zeroed in on the chicken nuggets as her dinner course, we had a great time and she has already expressed fond memories of the experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience for the family, wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderful experience for the family, waiter was informative about the historical aspects and super courteous. Nice place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, our waitress was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was delicious, our waitress was superb, and the ambiance was wonderful (and historic). Having said that, the prices are outrageous and border on gouging. Yes, you get terrific food in a historical setting, but compared to the size of the portions, it's almost not worth it. I would recommend The King's Tavern only with great reservations and words of caution.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Too pricey for the amount of food you ge ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Too pricey for the amount of food you get. Atmosphere was fun. Service was great. But I'd do lunch there instead of dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

My favorite restaurant (tavern) in the h ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant (tavern) in the historic area of Colonial Williamsburg. I have never had a disappointing meal or visit and we're there at least 8 times a year.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Calamari and me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was outstanding. Calamari and meals were well prepared. Oysters were substandard.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely overpriced for the small amoun ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Extremely overpriced for the small amount of food you get. The filet mignon tasted like charcoal. It was horrible. Green beans were so thin I couldn't pick them up with my fork. Potatoes were severely dried out with no flavor.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Better than expected for a tourist resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Better than expected for a tourist restaurant geared to volume production

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.