Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

Originally opened by Jane Vobe in 1772, this authentic reproduction public house serves up a transporting experience for the senses in Colonial Williamsburg. Everything is true to the time period at King’s Arms Tavern, from the fashion sported by servers to the pewter candlesticks—all adding to an air of colonial elegance. Inspired by 18th-century recipes, but with updates to suit 21st-century tastes, tuck in to a chophouse menu featuring prime rib, pork chops, and more.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburghotels.com/dining/kings-arms-tavern/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (154)
Authentic (153)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
See All
Good for a Date (99)
Romantic (98)
Cozy (86)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Worth the Drive (70)
Fun (69)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Local Ingredients (51)
Casual (43)
Comfort Food (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Kid-friendly (28)
Seasonal (27)
Scenic View (25)
Great Beer (24)
Live Music (23)
Great for Lunch (17)
People Watching (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

This is a must if you like good foor and ambiance! We had lunch and dinner here. The Fried chicken is pure comfort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful start to a brief vacation before a family Thanksgiving

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

An authentic yet delicious dinner capped our special family day discovering Colonial Williamsburg. The staff was also warm and authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Wee love eating at the Colonial Williamsburg taverns, especially during the holidays. Only complaint is that the noise levels in the upstairs rooms are terrible. You can hear every conversation at every table. However, the food is excellent and the staff knowledgeable. If you are lucky, get Susan for your waitress. She has been there 20 years and is a wealth of information. Definitely recommend for Christmas Day brunch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Special birthday with entire family. New menu that we all liked.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional Good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife's & my first time to Williamsburg in several years. Made reservations in advance & could not be happier with my choice. Great food & drink. George, our waiter, was courteous, attentive & very knowledgeable on historical facts.
We will most definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. We have done this about 10 Times. We enjoy going.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Live Music, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, service and atmosphere were great. I would highly recommend King's Arms Tavern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner with a side of history! Food was excellent and the atmosphere outstanding. Had the Prime Rib, cooked perfectly. Great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The only suggestion I have to make it even better would be to have a few less tables to the room. It was a bit cramped. Our server was Leon and he was very good. Our food was wonderful and cooked perfectly to order. It was overall a good experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2017

One of our favorites taverns when visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Food is always interesting. Recommend the peanut soup and chicken and mushroom soup. The pork chops were delicious and tender. Pleasant evening listening to the historical music also. Christine the waitress was informative and efficient as well kind. Will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Hadn't been to Colonial Williamsburg in years and when we go we take in at least one period tavern - this trip the King's Arms. The atmosphere is well, colonial of course. The waiter was very knowledgeable and provided some good recommendations. The food was very good. I had peanut soup hunter's pie, and tavern ale. My wife had a shank of pork.

The experience met our expectations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

My server, Sherri, could not have been more wonderful and was the best part of a great experience. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal (peanut soup, game pie, the peach orange punch and even the relishes!) the ambiance was terrific and I would definitely recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great Food, All staff dressed in period attire. Historical property

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent. A must place to go if you enjoy lovely ambiance, great food, and great service. Follow the recommendations of the servers and experiment dishes that you normally would not try. Portions are good size, we shared our soup, main dish and the dessert, still perfectly filling and satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

This historical tavern was the perfect ending to our day at colonial Williamsburg, the atmosphere and staff are absolutely fantastic and the food was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

very nice restaurant that give the real feeling of "Williamsburg" a little pricey, but everyplace in Williamsburg is pricey.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Was seated in a hallway next to a noisy women’s restroom Wine selection was VERY poor. Otherwise - food exceptional - service excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

As usual great dining experience in an amazing atmosphere. Good food, good service, good stories!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Our server, whose name I believe was Michael, was really wonderful. He added a great deal to our experience and the pork chop he recommended to me was superb. The musician was also fine. I know there was another seating after ours, but we never felt rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Good colonial atmosphere by candlelight with excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner with my wife celebrating our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Great colonial theme foods. Historic candle light ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

While our prime rib was served only lukewarm, it was good. Server was outstanding in knowledge and service. Great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food was good but, for the price it should be. It wasn't great. Dessert was very good. It was on the high side for pricing for four of us with drinks and tip $310.00 one drink each no wine.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

My daughter and I were in Williamsburg for the history, so we thought we'd try a historical tavern. This place didn't disappoint. It was pricy, but the food was good and the service was attentive.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Enjoyed the hunter’s pie and the pork chop entrees. Pork chop served a little too cool but hunter’s pie was delicious. Waitress was very congenial and helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. He gave lots of background information about the dishes and the history behind different customs and expressions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved everything about it from the ambience to the amazing food to the incredible staff and the amazing setting. We even got to watch the fife and drum Corps March passed us from the window by our table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Special dinner with family visiting from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

We took my visiting sister and her husband out to dinner. The service was very good. My husband’s prime rib was very fatty. My mashed potatoes and vegetables were ice cold. We didn’t say anything at the time because of our guests. A musician came in and played three songs. We were there 2 hours.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

This is always a wonderfully authentic tavern restaurant with delicious food. When in Williamsburg, this is where you need to dine!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Excellent! Great meal and excellent service especially on Halloween night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Disappointed in prime rib this weekend and in April. Too much fat both times for price. Overall experience and rest of meal and service were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Wonderful restaurant and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I have been here before so I knew what to expect. We were forgotten! I made reservations month in advance for my 35th wedding anniversary. In the past our table was ready, a card on the table, entertainment during dinner. They stuck us and two other couples in a room they don't use, we directed traffic when people came through looking for the bathroom, the server was flaky, no entertainment, and we were freezing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Overall it was a nice experience. My husband's game pye was excellent as was our salads and bread pudding dessert. I was disappointed in my prime rib as it needed more seasoning, it was very bland. It lacked that nice roasted crust on the edge that would give it more flavor. Even the gravy didn't elevate the taste. The restrooms need directional signs once you climb the stairs. Obviously this is an issue as, when I asked the waitress for directions, the diners all laughed. She apparently was asked this same question multiple times.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We went to King's Arm Tavern on our Anniversary and came back 11 years later and found it still to be a magical place. The ambiance and food are fantastic and helps you feel like you are back in the Colonial period.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.