Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (113)
Authentic (62)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (39)
Fun (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Live Music (30)
Cozy (29)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fireplace (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Casual (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great Beer (14)
Family Style (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Scenic View (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Most of the food was delicious expect for the Salmon was overcooked and a bit dry. However, the service and ambiance was exceptional therefore, I would definitely highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Historic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect restaurant for our historical visit to the Williamsburg area.

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, Seasonal, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

I have dined at King's Arm Tavern numerous times and return for the historic ambiance and dishes based on colonial recipes. This restaurant is not inexpensive. However, the quality of the food is delicious. Most recently we had a game pie (venison, duck and rabbit) and a Cornish game hen. The dinner portions tend to be on the large side for kids so we shared two adult dinners among two adults and a child. We wanted to save room for dessert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We were looking for an authentic dining experience with our 8 and 11yo to launch our visit of Colonial Williamsburg. This one might have been fancier than needed and the variance between their kids menu (the standard unhealthy, boring options) and their pricey adult menu, it was clear their intention is not to draw families. Regardless, we avoided the kids menu and found two adult portions and an appetizer split four ways was more than enough food. The game pie was delicious and as large as a small thanksgiving pie. The peanut soup, though interesting is not worth the expense (like runny peanut butter with croutons to dip in)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Visiting Williamsburg , VA and wanted to experience the ambience of the 1800's. I remember eating in this tavern with my parents and sister as a teenager. It was as special as I remembered.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service and atmosphere, and the food we had was delicious. I truly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent colonial experience!!! Could not have bee any better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were a bit disappointed in that this tavern was supposed to be the "premier" tavern in Colonial Williamsburg. Our reservation was for four persons, but only three were able to travel. We were seated at a table for five, and the excess settings were never removed. I ordered the beed tenderloin stuffed with oysters and there was only one small oyster in the steak. The food arrived warm, not hot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our family enjoyed the colonial experience at Kings Arm Tavern. Our server Cherie was very entertaining as well

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've been to the King's Arms Tavern previously and as always the expectations were exceeded by the food and the service. Our server's worked there for almost 40 years and had all sorts of interesting information and anecdotes about the restaurant and Williamsburg in general. This was the first time I've been there with my children and they were enthralled by the stories our waiter told. The food was better than I recalled; everything was delicious. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server was friendly, attentive, and recommended excellent choices. The game pie, which included venison, was wonderful and surprisingly light. If you order dessert, don't miss the meringue! The decor is beautiful and we were entertained by live Colonial music. The only negative is the price. Our children ordered from the children's menu, which meant their meal was free under the package we had, but if they had ordered from the main menu our dinner would have been nearly $300 with tip!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I took the family because it was a dining experience I remembered as a child years ago. However, the service was slow (our reservation was for 8pm.) The atmosphere is of course lovely and the true reason for going. Our food was of course not worth the price we paid. Husband had the pork chop and it was good. The game pie was not tasty and the meat was very tough. The bread pudding was yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place. Wonderful historic atmoaphere. The service is excellent! Food is great. Nice candlelit ambiance!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This restaurant used to serve the best dark rum punches that we have enjoyed for years. Now they have been dropped from the menu. Other items dropped over the years include: rice pudding, creamed spinach, seafood macaroni, and several of their relishes. Disheartening to see the changes in offerings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

very historic setting - food was fabulous - server was even better than the food

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The ambiance was, as anticipated, perfect!! The service and food were excellent. And the musician made the experience the best. We frequently visit Colonial Williamsburg and once in awhile treat ourselves to a dinner at the King's Arms. While the prices are on the high end, our experiences have always been incredible.

Tags: Live Music, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was good and the service friendly and accommodating. However, lunch portions are small, particularly for the price of the menu items. You pay for the convenience of staying in the historic portion of the village, and the colonial atmosphere. Fun to try once, but would probably eat outside of town on the next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Since we were going to Colonial Williamsburg we wanted to have the full experience, so I thought eating lunch at an "authentic" tavern would be perfect. The building was great, and our server was really nice, telling some historical details about the tavern and the eating experience in the 1700's. However, our meal itself was quite disappointing. Maybe we would have enjoyed it more if we had gotten only the historical entrees, but the "beefsteak" that a couple of us got was nothing more than a hamburger with a patty that wasn't even handmade. It was literally the kind of frozen patties that you buy in bulk at Costco. Not only that, but the bottom bun completely soaked with grease (to the point that I could actually squeeze grease out onto the plate), and the patty itself was charred on the outside and squishy on the inside. Others in the group got fried chicken, pasta with butter, a turkey sandwich, and chicken strips, which all seemed to be fine, but nothing better than, say, your local Dennys. Our server was super sweet, but she got 5 out of our seven orders wrong when she brought them out. After trying to fix everything for over 15 minutes, we just decided to say that it was fine because she was doing the best that she could. Our food took a really long time to come out, and she said that it was because it was so busy, but the room we were in was only half occupied, and when I walked around on my way to the restroom it seemed that way in pretty much the whole building.
We heard some violin music in another room, and she told us that they would come into our room, but they never did. We were there for quite a while, so I'm guessing that it wasn't that they never made it to our dining room, but they finished their shift or something. We really enjoyed the special dessert drinks and family lunch bowl, but that was the best thing about the whole thing. But what really made this such an epic fail was that after tax we paid $138 for our "experience"!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, great service ... make a reservation! Our server was on point.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. The food was outstanding, although a bit pricey, the Colonial Williamsburg historic atmosphere was fun, but our server John really was extraordinary and made our experience really special. I dined with my 4.5 yr old and 16 year old while on vacation and we had a terrific evening.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As with all the Williamsburg property Taverns, you're paying for the experience/atmosphere. We absolutely loved the historic setting - wood tables/chairs with only candles for light, music being played from room to room, etc. That being said, the food prices are absolutely outrageous. You're paying more than a lot of fine dining restaurants ($30+ for most entrees) but the quality is no where near that of fine dining. The dishes aren't creative (which I don't expect them to be, I want close to authenticity for the time period to fit the setting) but they're charging way beyond the quality. There were 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids) and my wife and I decided to share entree because of the high prices. Even sharing entrees, once we added drinks and a dessert (also shared) our bill was well over $100 before tip. Our server was fabulous (Marcin). He was attentive, personable, and interacted well with our children. We were sat quickly (based on our reservation time). Love everything about the experience except the price. One of 2 things needs to happen - the food needs to be VASTLY elevated to fit the $30+ entree prices OR the existing food menu prices need to be dropped.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Historic period atmosphere and live music made for a memorable dining experience. The food was delicious and just the right portions. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a great meal. All of the Colonial Williamsburg taverns charge about $10 more than a regular, high-end restaurant would charge for a dinner course - but that's understandable since the evening is an "event" as well as dinner. This was the third night at one of the CW taverns. So, this time, I ordered a soup and a salad, and it was the perfect amount! Delicious - and not so expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Staff was attentive and polite. Atmosphere offered the period feel . Food - for the price was rather disappointing . Queens cut prime rib ordered medium rare was served the rarest I have ever seen a prime rib served. The accompanying potatoes where over-peppered to the point of being inedible. I had the hunters pie, which was tasty and above average. It was however lukewarm and the pastry top was chewy, doughy -probably needed 3-4 more minutes in oven. I tend to like this sort of pie served in that manner so it was good for me. However, I think the average dinner would be disappointed. Beverage selection was good - the peach rum concoction I had was tasty, as well as the Weekend lager . Strolling fiddle player was entertaining and quite knowledgeable about period music - enjoyable to speak with. Overall a disappointing dining experience due to the food quality. I would advise you get your periods atmosphere throughout the day, and choose a better culinary fare elsewhere for the evening .

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food was decent but definitely not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a delightful meal at King's Arms! We were seated at a table for two next to a window which we were very happy about! Our waitress was excellent, explained the different items on the menu, her knowledge of the history surrounding the Kings Arms and was very pleasant. The wine was good, and we weren't rushed!! A wonderful experience!! We'll be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A great way to enjoy Colonial Williamsburg. Service was fantastic and the kids really enjoyed it and our server was delightful. This completed our stay in Williamsburg. It was also nice to go at night and to walk around after the crowds had subsided.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food for the money. Glad they kept their menu both lunch and dinner. Good size portions to split and save some money. Outstanding bread pudding!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful historical Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg. Our server was outstanding, the food was excellent. Enjoyed the Colonial entertainment as well.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had dined here a few times in the past and had such a lovely time. The staff were in character and they even performed a small skit before we ate which was an entertaining way to experience the history of the time. Well they seem to have moved away from that. During our recent visit, the staff wasn't very friendly and in general - they stopped performing the skit all together. So overall - the experience was disappointing. Other than the ambiance that had a few reminders of colonial days - I feel like the experience lost its charm. The food was ok but considering the fact that they took away most of the remnants of the Tavern experience - I don't think it was worth the price and would not return. This was one of the highlights of our past visits and I'm disappointed that they made some so many changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ambiance was great. Our server was wonderful, I'm sorry I forgot her name. It was so good, we took our family a couple nights later and happened to get the same server. Fun and learned some more history!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had a great time with my family. Will definitely return

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Fun, Fireplace, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We took our granddaughter to Williamsburg to have special time with her and for the opportunity for her to have a learning trip. Having dinner in King's Arm's Tavern was a delightful opportunity to extend the experience for her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fried Chicken was excellent. King Arm's root beer was very good. Kids really liked the pasta with veggies. Make a reservation ahead of time. Perfect stop for lunch. great service.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my son and his family to dinner after a day touring Colonial Williamsburg. We had a wonderful time, from the delicious food, live music, excellent service, and great ambiance everything was perfect! Be sure to make reservation before your trip.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was excellent, and waiter was delightful. Ambience took you back in time, and could almost hear the horses clop-clopping outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We stop in Williamsburg every couple of years and this is our favorite place to have dinner. Historic and some menu items based on historic fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food at this tavern was not that great and was overpriced. Would rrecommend Chownings tavern if you want the tavern experience and better food we had lunch there. There are better restaurants in the merchant Square such as blue Talon bistro and Barrett seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great fun for the family, enjoying Wild Game Pie! Worth the trip back in time to create culinary memories with friends and family over well prepared meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nothing on the menu would bring me back. Nice ambience, but horribly overpriced. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.