Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (140)
Authentic (93)
Special Occasion (91)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Romantic (58)
Good for a Date (54)
Worth the Drive (46)
Live Music (45)
Fun (43)
Local Ingredients (39)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Cozy (31)
Kid-friendly (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Fireplace (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great Beer (14)
Family Style (14)
People Watching (12)
Scenic View (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food is amazing!!! We had our first anniversary and I got some serious brownie points for this great historic place!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Great - just wouldn't have the oysters in the tenderloin again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was quite mediocre and service was slow and incorrect. Very disappointed and won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We always enjoy our visit to Kings Arms. The Peaniy soup is to die for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice place to experience the Williamsburg atmosphere. Great service and the servers know about the history of the tavern. Kathy our server was A+

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten at other Williamsburg restaurants and this one was not good. We were put up in a room that looked like an old bedroom. No special atmosphere and food that was not hot. Waitstaff was not good. They seemed to be tired of their jobs.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

I made probably my 8th visit to the Inn this past weekend. As always , the entire experience was wonderful. Service, hospitality, setting and food were again fantastic. I did notice however, that from my first visit years ago, the peanut soup used to be served in a soup dish, but now in a soup cup. Just a sign of the times I guess. The Kings Arms Inn is a must stop for anyone in the vicinity of Colonial Williamsburg. When I am there again, I will be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dining and historical ambiance! The portion sizes were more than adequate, and roasted game hen full of flavor. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about his menu with an awesome sense of humor to match. Worth the visit! Five stars!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a waiter who explained alot from the colonial time. He was friendly and was very knowledgeable about the colonial foods. Thank you for a great evening. We were celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice ambience to the restaurant, and the meal itself was great. Our server was knowledgeable of the food, and made sure we understood what we were ordering. He also told use some interesting stories about eating back in colonial times that I was unaware of. All in all an enjoyable experience for people that are visiting Colonial Williamsburg and want a taste of the old days.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal and a fun experience

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent pork and strawberries but otherwise over priced and mediocre food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Williamsburg every few years and Kings Arms Tavern is always on our list. Food is always good. The game pie is very good. My husband had the Pork chop which was outstanding. Very unusual and full of flavor...no fat. Very good all the way around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We go for the atmosphere and service as much as the food. Having dinner at one of the historic taverns is a great Williamsburg experience and This one is our favorite!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

4th time there over the years. Won't go back. Sat upstairs. Escort to 2nd fl way ahead of us. Tough climb as we are best 70 but we're not asked if we could do it. Hot! Sweating but room we entered thru fine. Asked for steak stuffed w/oysters. Arrived w/o. Told server to skip them but they arrived later on side and I was charged tho asked to skip. Bread baked sometime ago. For $100 won't go back. No one seemed to care

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I have always enjoyed the King's Arms. This time was no exception. The service, food and fiddle music were perfectly in tune with a Colonial Williamsburg experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The last time I was there, jfk was president and I was on a Girl Scout trip. There sure were a lot of school kids there last week. I was in a small room away from them. Only 1 crying baby and not a lot of atmosphere. I probably had the same meal I had 55 years ago: soup, 1/2 a Cornish game hen, veggies and dessert. The peanut soup was excellent and I got the recipe for it. There's not much meat on Cornish game hens. My friend had the venison, rabbit and duck pie, which he enjoyed. We split the bread pudding for dessert. The bill, including one drink each, tax and tip came to $120. When leaving, we saw musicians playing in other sections of the restaurant, but not ours, which was in a far corner of the 2nd floor.
This is an experience everyone should have once or twice in a lifetime.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always our favorite restaurant in Historic Williamsburg., VA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have been here before, but as usual had a great meal and a fanulous tome

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great restaurant at Colonial Williamsburg with food prepared as it might have been done in the 1700-1800's.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Ambiance and service was good. The roasted potatoes were rock hard, the vegetables were cold and under cooked. The prime rib was tough and the steak knife was dull. Had to fight for the meat. Dessert meringue was rock hard.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great meal, service great. On the pricy side. Unique experience in dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great Mother's Day dinner at King's Arms Tavern. Service was impeccable. We loved the strolling musician.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely amazing! The food was okay. Nothing special to run back to. The atmosphere was 100% colonial to where they dress the part. Overall, we felt welcomed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A taste of the 18th century with period music. Period costumed service staff and musicians.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my mother there for Mother's day dinner and the ambiance, food, service was excellent. This is my second visit and definitely a must if you are visiting Williamsburg!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lots of historic details in the cuisine and a very knowledgeable waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fun atmosphere in Colonial Williamsburg ! Excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went here for a graduation celebration. Tasty food, beautiful setting and very fitting for William & Mary grads who have lived essentially in the CW (Colonial Williamsburg) for 4 years but often ignore it. Interesting staff stories - had a good time and good food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was overall a fun place to eat. The beer selection was interesting, and it was a different experience. There was a violin/fiddle player that came into the room and performed a few songs, and another colonial character that spoke to the guests and posed for pictures. A true colonial Williamsburg experience. I just wish the food had been better. The steaks lacked flavor, the cornish game hen had been starved, apparently, and it was expensive - entrees running $30+. Our server was great, and we weren't sorry we went, but it doesn't warrant a second visit, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love the Kings Arms! It is always part of our graduation festivities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I don't recommend the steak and oysters. Other choices are much better.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We went with family on a visit to Williamsburg. We wanted to try the Historic Taverns etc. The choice of wines and food were very limited and the food was prices and not great. Fun experience but we've done it.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner at Kings Arm Tavern in Williamsburg Va, on May 11th, 2017. We ate upstairs in a room that felt like a private dining space. James was our waiter and was attentive to all our needs. We have been vacationing in Wliiamsburg sine 1977. We have eaten in the tavern each time we are there., probably 10 or 12 times. We enjoy the restaurant so much that we also ate lunch there on May 11th. Carolyn was our very attentive server. We had a table that looked right out on Duke of Gloucester Street.
We stayed at the Brick House Tavern and it made it very convenient to walk down the street for dinners. It rained that day and it was cozy in the Tavern. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I've been to Kings Arms many times, and have enjoyed each dining experience. I really feel like I'm transported back to the Colonial Era. Keep it up!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The best, most authentic items in my mind are the Mrs V?? dinner and the Hunter's Pye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sister and brother in laws 34th anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always a treat to dine at the King's Arms when we visit Colonial Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A delicious dinner. We took our 8 month old grandson and he was enthralled with the candles. We live in Williamsburg and this Is a family favorite! Huzzah!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Historic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, outstanding food and great drinks and our waitress, Lynette, was perfect and so friendly. Celebrated our anniversary and my birthday and had tableside
Music and they arranged a candle in my dessert. Highly recommended. Was sorry to hear that the "powers to be" are doing away with the music in all the taverns in the historic district. They really need to think that over and get their heads in straight. Not a wise
Move in their part.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.