About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (143)
Special Occasion (98)
Authentic (95)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Romantic (66)
Cozy (65)
Good for a Date (59)
Worth the Drive (52)
Fun (48)
Seasonal (38)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Fireplace (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Live Music (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Local Ingredients (23)
Casual (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great Beer (18)
Scenic View (15)
People Watching (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Family Style (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New Year's Dinner

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our servicer, Marty, made the evening m ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our servicer, Marty, made the evening memorable by sharing historical information we had never heard even though we had been to King's Arms many times.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the quiet ambiance of the tavern. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved the quiet ambiance of the tavern. Food was great and our server was amiable. We enjoyed our meal! One of our favorite places to eat in Colonial Williamsburg!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very, very good meal. My wife e ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall very, very good meal. My wife enjoyed her beef tenderloin. I always opt for the game pie;... delicious venison, rabbit and duck!!! Nice merlot wine pairing. The tasty, warm bread pudding was 'big enough for 2'. And the syllabub is a treat. Our server was attentive and engaging. Candlelit dining can be casual. Great date-night atmosphere. This is our favorite tavern in Williamsburg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 2nd trip to King's Arms (to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our 2nd trip to King's Arms (to celebrate New Year's Eve). On our first trip, our waiter was very knowledgeable & greatly enhanced our experience by explaining to 18th century habits, food & the experience of dining in an 18th century tavern. Our waitress on this trip was very nice, but did none of the above, while we noticed another waiter doing what our waiter had done on our previous trip, so were disappointed in our experience. Our salt bowl was almost empty when we arrived, but was filled after we requested it. The food was "OK" but nothing outstanding. Don't know if we will make a 3rd trip

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We hadn't been here in many years but it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We hadn't been here in many years but it was all we remembered. We were in an alcove so very private. The service was great and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit overpriced but it was goo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced but it was good. The main course should include a salad or soup at least. Approx $50 per person with soup, main, and desert, without drinks. Service was very fast but it kinda felt rushed. We were back in a corner on the second floor so there was not a ton of ambiance. We could hear music in other rooms but they did not get to ours. Overall it was nice but like I said before, a bit pricey for what you get.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a great time !! Fabulous experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a great time !! Fabulous experience - would recommend to friends and family

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Clearly the most authentic period meals ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Clearly the most authentic period meals of all the colonial restaurants in the restoration area.. Service was good but not great. Noise level was very distracting. Breaking the room sizes into smaller groups certainly can help but it only takes one loud person to be a distraction. Enjoyed the period music of the strolling performers who were also educational. Certainly on the A list of attractions for any visit to Williamsburg. Probably not a ideal destination for children as prices are clearly on the upper side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A taste of Colonial times with staff in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A taste of Colonial times with staff in period costumes. Food was good not exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated immediately. Upstairs. Wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were seated immediately. Upstairs. Waitress was fair but I overheard a waiter at another table giving lots of history and very animated. Appetizers mushroom friccasee was aswesome! Loud upstairs. Fireplace would have been nice to have been light. Best apple cider ever. Very pricey

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

If it's all about the food for you, then ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

If it's all about the food for you, then go because the food is wonderfully prepared and presented. Ingredients are fresh and sometimes unique in an effort to create dishes available in the 1700s. Desserts are delicious and also historically-inspired. If the atmosphere counts, then you will likely enjoy the novelty of the 1700s early-America setting which includes everything from the building, dishes and menu to the servers and other staff in period costume. There are also strolling musicians and interpreters that offer a short sequence of pieces or conversation related to the time period. The servers are outstanding and also deliver information about the establishment, the menu, customs and practices of the period. The experience will feed your belly and your mind.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fireplace, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fun, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Game Pye was great!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Game Pye was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, entertaining servers, learne ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great meal, entertaining servers, learned a little about history in historic Williamsburg, VA and dining they way they did 200 years ago. The food, "bourbon pork chop" for me was excellent. Very nice historic ambiance and servers & music in period costume made for a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came with 13 and 16 yr old grandchild ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We came with 13 and 16 yr old grandchildren. Menu way too obscure for them. Kids menu was for under 12 and was too kiddie anyway. For the expense we were disappointed. The rummer drink was good but not as good as Chownings and Campbells. I split a prime rib with my Grandson to give him a reasonable choice even though I had already had a beef choice the night before. Larry, our waiter, kindly split our meal ahead of time. Candlelight is always a welcoming ambiance. The seafood special was a salmon dish but it was farm raised..this is a no no at those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We took a rare vacation with our adult c ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We took a rare vacation with our adult children and got reservations for Kings Arms Tavern. It was the most wonderful, memorable dinner we have had. The kids loved the food and the atmosphere and said it was "the best dinner we have ever had". Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and ambiance but reservat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance but reservations needed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner even though our ta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner even though our table location could have been nicer. Our waiter wasn't the most pleasant fellow and could have been more engaging. We enjoyed the muscian very much and had a pleasant experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

King's Arms always provides a great dini ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

King's Arms always provides a great dining experience. We had the Tavern Dinner this time which consisted of the roast cornish game hen and it was delicious. The peppermint stick ice cream was very special as well. The waiter was friendly and informative. I highly recommend visiting there when in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to experience the colonial se ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice place to experience the colonial setting. Food was average, served room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it. Especially the giant napkins ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Loved it. Especially the giant napkins and the great service.

The food was tasty too - Peanut soup was interesting and the salmon was very good.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding ambiance, welcomjbg environm ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Outstanding ambiance, welcomjbg environment, knowledgeable professional servers, friendly and inviting, good food and presentation, reasonable for historic value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Server was great, informative! Food was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Server was great, informative! Food was ok but still enjoyable.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Party of 5 adults. Located in downtown ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Party of 5 adults. Located in downtown Colonial W-burg. Candle - lit upstairs dining room. Loved the cocktails, simple menu, Hunters pot pie, prime rib, tenderloin... the yard sq napkins. The ice cream dessert was to die for (peppermint)! With reservations we got seated right away (Xmas eve 7 pm). Service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Two views: I thoroughly enjoyed all. W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Two views: I thoroughly enjoyed all. Wife would like to have more choices than 6 entrees....she did not like the bony Cornish gam hen nor her sample of my pork chop. Peanut soup is a great novelty but closely resembles microwaved peanut butter. Server George was great and very informative. Pecan pie rivals our favorite dessert dish at Goode Company in Houston. All around 3 1/2 stars!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food. Absolutely superb servic ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Delicious food. Absolutely superb service. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going to the taverns in Col ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been going to the taverns in Colonial Williamsburg for about 15 years. In the past 3 years, the quality of the experience has plummeted. We used to get a very good, historical presentation, including wait staff that were in the character of the times, musicians that came through, played music and gave insight into the music of the period, and much interaction with the patrons throughout the course of the evening.

On Christmas Eve, they seemed to be going through the motions, but did not make it seem as though it were Christmas Eve. Maybe they didn't want to be working because they wanted to be home with their families...the food was decent, but, for the money, certainly not wonderful. This seems to be the trend, and I don't think that we will be going back there or to Christiana Campbell's anytime soon.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Prime rib under cooked-very red. Other ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Prime rib under cooked-very red. Other meal (pork chop) excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loud. Otherwise very authentic and enjoy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loud. Otherwise very authentic and enjoyable. Very pricey!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second time here and we lov ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our second time here and we love it. We try to come every time we stay in Colonial Williamsburg for a while. This time it was a little harder because our daughter is in a wheelchair.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding evening, great peanut soup, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding evening, great peanut soup, great service from Mindy. Good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very special experience. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was a very special experience. The atmosphere and service were wonderful!! The food was fresh high quality and superbly prepared. Ice cream for dessert it was the best I ever had. It was magical!!!!

Tags: Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good journey back in time to eat by ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A good journey back in time to eat by candlelight and listen to 17th century period music played by musicians in period costume. The food is good, but the prices are high. It is worth a least one visit, though I go once or twice a year.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We dine here every year, on the request ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We dine here every year, on the request of our grown children. It is part of their Christmas present, since it is expensive. The staff is wonderful, the food good and the live music is special! Magic!

Highly recommend for special occasions! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My mom and I were in Colonial Williamsbu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My mom and I were in Colonial Williamsburg for our Christmas vacation and we ate a King's Arm for dinner one evening, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was wonderful and so were the drinks! Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the original tavern and told us a little more about CW that we did not know before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, it was a pleasure dining with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always, it was a pleasure dining with you. We always look forward to the game pye. Surely, our favorite!

See you in the spring and Merry Christmas!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, , Great Beer, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very special evening at the Kin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a very special evening at the King's Arms. The food, service, and music were all wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and they sat us almo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had reservations and they sat us almost exactly in time. Very pleased about that. Our waiter was nice and played the part authentically. Food was very good and service was quick, but overpriced. Ambiance was nice, but staff should consider removing service trays and stands which were semi permanently set up and an eye sore.

All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Kind of like a historic Disney World hot ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Kind of like a historic Disney World hotel Disney World hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb service and very good food. Charm ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Superb service and very good food. Charming colonial atmosphere marred only by the loud voices of nearby children.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.