Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (148)
Special Occasion (130)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
See All
Good for a Date (77)
Romantic (75)
Cozy (68)
Fun (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Worth the Drive (53)
Local Ingredients (49)
Casual (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Good for Groups (40)
Comfort Food (39)
Live Music (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Scenic View (20)
Seasonal (20)
People Watching (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great Beer (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Business Meals (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

First-rate service, excellent food. Part of the Williamsburg experience, worth the splurge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was quite wonderful including Leon. We had a special alcove that was cute and cozy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Must visit when in Williamsburg. This is the most beautiful of the four taverns in Colonial Williamsburg. Wonderful candlelight only atmosphere. Excellent service! Most enjoyable!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The history makes this place a must visit. The knowledgeable, friendly service makes it wonderful. This was a great way for the family to wrap up our trip to Colonial Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, ambience, and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my second time at the king's Arms. We had the whiskey brined pork chop. A friend had the Oyster wrapped beef. . Both were excellent. The lemon desert was wonderful. It is worth traveling from California to Virginia to eat at The King's Arms.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We come here from New York on a yearly basis. Always one of the highlights of our trips. Good ambiance, great service, and always the best food. Worth the trip alone.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. Food was good, and atmosphere authentic. A good special occasion restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went as a family . The girls loved the special drinks they ordered. Portion size were perfect , food was delicious. The waitress was very informed and was just perfect. We had a table in the back cove area and had candle light dinner . The noise would have been perfect if it wasn't for the baby at the other table . I guess I should have notice that before we sat down and requested a new seat. Having children of my own , I understand but paying over 150.00 for a meal , I really don't want to hear a baby screeching ! Other than that it was perfect . Did I say that the bread pudding was the most amazing thing ever .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Wonderful ambience, excellent food and service. We were seated next to a large and boisterous family and our server moved us quickly and discretely. The only criticism I have is that there were a couple of servers who were engaging in personal chit chat quite loudly very near the dining area. Overall I give it high marks. I was pleasantly surprised; I expected it to be atmospheric but didn't expect the food to be so good.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Certainly a Colonial experience. Our waiter was fun. The food indicative of the time but not particularly tasty.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Location, history,food, drink...wonderful.
Music and servers delightful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

The fact that this restaurant is themed to the Colonial Williamsburg setting makes this a fun and authentic experience. However, the food quality, although not terrible, simply does not live up to the prices. The peanut soup seems to be a signature dish...yum for peanut lovers.

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

A special place good for a special occasion or just any time. This was a return trip to Kings Arms Tavern for my wife and me on one of our periodic getaways to Colonial Wiliamsburg. This or one of the other historic inns is a must for at least one evening meal to capture a bit more of life in 17th century Virginia. This was another memorable experience with excellent food and service. The menu included some of the usual colonial dishes such as peanut soup and Shephard's Pie (which I enjoyed) as well as other more modern American dishes like baked salmon and prime rib (my wife's pick). Our server was well practiced in playing the role of an inn server of the period. His friendly banter added much to the experience. We found the prices very much in line with other quality restaurants, especially considering the unique setting and atmosphere. We will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This evening I ate inside the tavern. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The strolling musician (a fiddler) was enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very disappointed in the food and service. Prime rib gravy was very salty and vegetables needed to be cooked longer. Christiana Campbell's had entertainment and much better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great server with historical experience. Fun and different. Long established formula.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Authentic, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had the opportunity to eat food such as venison rabbit and duck Have never had before. My husband says it was the best prime rib he has had in a long time. Loved the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had an opportunity to tour Williamsburg so we wanted to eat in a Williamsburg tavern. We enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was good. Candle light. Drinks were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I attended the outdoor pig roast. The food was good, especially the pork. The live music was also enjoyable. It was buffet style with plenty of everything that was served.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Like nearly everything in historic Williamsburg, the attention to detail was impressive. Our server, Mindy, was attentive and knowledgeable about the era, explaining menu items, table settings and dining practices reflective of early American times. It was a very good evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We chose this restaurant for a family reunion dinner in Williamsburg. We wanted the family to have a true colonial tavern dining experience. We enjoyed the menu choices, the candle-lit dining room and the costumed staff, along with the strolling musician.....exactly like in colonial times. The food was good and typical of the period; our waitress attentive. Did she tell us she was a "serving wench?" :-) Can't remember. It was a thoroughly delightful evening and I would encourage anyone with family coming to Williamsburg to eat at King's Arm Tavern or any of the other working taverns in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent old world charm. The ambience was wonderful and the food exquisite. Well worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2017

coming to Williamsburg 22+ years, a shame to see some of the changes over time like, slice of ham gone, music strolling gone, late seating gone, 2017 PC culture getting into interpruters telling of the story which ruins the story, if they cant tell the tale of 1776 with out apologizing for slavery to the group they need to find another job, it was what it was in 1776 and that is why the tourist come to learn about 1776.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Another great experience provided by this restaurant. Our server "Pooh" was perfect as usual (she had our table last year). A bit noisy due to 2 large parties in a small room. Disappointed that "Christiana" is no longer there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was excellent as always. The server was excellent as well.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner with another couple and were well taken care of by our server. The drinks were very good and the food was excellent and we shared tastes all around. It's perfect for dinner and we were sat in the paneled main room on the first floor so as the light changed over to night outside, the lighting inside was only candlelight. A very good dining experience in Colonial Williamsburg!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Kings Arms Tavern is a great way to sample the look and feel of Colonial life in Williamsburg without sacrificing great food. My only regret is that I did not save room for dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our time at this tavern was very worth while. Although you needed to make a reservation to get seated, you found yourself at your table within 2 minutes. The drinks, food and atmosphere reflected a tavern back in the days when Colonists came to eat. Meals were well prepared and tasted great. Servers were able to take you back to the days of old Colonial Williamsburg and tell you everything about those early days. If you are seeking a true tavern dating back in time, this is the tavern to visit.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It has been a while since I've been to the taverns in Williamsburg so things might have changed. I used to go to Shields Tavern and there was music and many servers singing and talking about history. At Kings Arms there was no music or singing, and barely any talks on history. It was just restaurant with servers in costume wanting to get us fed and out. Very disappointing.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Like stepping back in time. Staff were informative and added to the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Acceptable food at best. Especially for the price. I've had much better for a whole lot less. I don't mind spending for good food, but when I do, it had better be good. Nothing about the food was wrong or bad (the stoat/pork chops might have been a little dry), it just wasn't worth the money. The quality and quantity of the food wasn't justified. I had to tell myself that the ambience, which is very nice and really the reason to go there, was what I was paying for. $130 for 2 people to have a somewhat acceptable meal is tough for me to get over, though. I would have had no problem with the cost if the meal had been very good, which is what I was expecting. Another inch or inch and a half to the half inch pork chop and to have it cooked where it was juicy and flavorful, would have satisfied me for the price. Unfortunately, it was a half inch thick, dry chop. Tasted fine, but I could have done that with minimal effort on a bad cooking day at home.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We visited Williamsburg over Labor Day Weekend from Kansas City. We loved dining here because it gave us a glimpse of Colonial life and the food was excellent. Great atmosphere and we felt like we were back in time. I would highly recommend going there if you are visiting Colonial Williamsburg!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding restaurant and wonderful service. We have eaten here before and were pleased to come again when we were in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was an outstanding dining experience -wonderful menu -excellent service -authentic historic surrounding- couldn't have wished for such a wonderful evening - it was just such a lovely great evening !!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Loved it!!!!! Got some history, a fantastic meal and dessert! Pricy but worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Nice place on main street...cozy..and romantic..staff very nice and frienly.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This was a great choice for dining with our grandchildren in Williamsburg. The staff give you information on what a tavern was like in colonial times, and what foods people ate then.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. We enjoyed the ambiance and decor. A nice way to end the day after touring Colonial Williamsburg. Great pork chops and desserts.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.