Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 50 times today

King's Arm Tavern

4.4
1847 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Romantic
Originally opened by Jane Vobe in 1772, this authentic reproduction public house serves up a transporting experience for the senses in Colonial Williamsburg. Everything is true to the time period at King’s Arms Tavern, from the fashion sported by servers to the pewter candlesticks—all adding to an air of colonial elegance. Inspired by 18th-century recipes, but with updates to suit 21st-century tastes, tuck in to a chophouse menu featuring prime rib, pork chops, and more.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(855) 546-7748
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Linwood Blizzard
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CW Buses Only
Additional
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 1847 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We visit the King’s Arms whenever we are I. Williamsburg. The food is great and we always get a little history mixed in. A true Colonial Williamsburg experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I finally treated myself to a dinner here after a conference at Colonial Williamsburg. It was well worth it. I tried to order "period food" from the 1700's, things I would never cook at home. The Game Pie was excellent. The history lessons included my my server James were my favorite part if the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

A long time since our last visit, but everything we remembered and more. The food was incredibly delicious, served piping hot. We both had the game pie, a decades old classic favorite. Wonderful ambiance, great food, and surrounded by history made for a perfect evening. I would highly recommend for any special occasion, but do yourself and everyone else a favor and leave the kids at home. The place has a very adult flavor, and most kids are not prepared for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

An outstanding experience! Great service, interesting menu, attentive staff. If you're in Williamsburg, its well worth it. Authentic!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The food seemed overpriced for the portions and ingredients. However, we considered the price worth it considering the atmosphere and feel of stepping back in time. The waitress we had took the time to educate us a couple times, sometimes when we asked and sometimes just because she knew it was our first visit.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

Very slow service, waited over an hour for a drink. Food came nearly two hours after we arrived. So dark you couldn’t see, nor could the waitress who spilt hot soup on dining guests and dropped things. Very overpriced!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Pricey but totally worth it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Great service. Maybe authentic colonial food. But over cooked, small portions and overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Very good meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great restruant in Colonial Williamsburg.Food and service was great. Good prime rib and drinks. We were their to celebrate the Colonial Williamsburg Burgesses event.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food was very tasty and the setting had great atmosphere. Reservation was respected on time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We had a table in one of the side rooms and was rather cozy. The authenticity of the tavern felt appropriate for the time period.
Our server was knowledgeable about the place and took the time to tell us a few interesting things.
Overall, a pleasant experience, but it was still a touristy place, and considering the price of the entree's, it was overpriced from our mid-western perspective. It was disappointing that my wife's entree contained canned mushrooms. And my $40 beef tenderloin had the unmistakable taste and texture of too much tenderizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We absolutely loved our experience at the King’s Arms! We truly felt like we stepped back in time and our waitress was wonderful. She educated us about food and dining in the 18th century. There was a violin player who shared some period music. Icing on the cake was their ability to accomodate our gluten free diet. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

It was our 42nd wedding anniversary. The ambience was perfect and the meal was delicious. We live in Williamsburg and,always enjoy a meal in the taverns.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

I went their to have a romantic birthday dinner for my wife, but we could hardly hear each other. I know it’s not the restaurant’s fault but we were in a room with a man who thought everyone in the room wanted to hear what he was talking about. The noise from below traveled up the stairwell which also distracted from the atmosphere. The food was excellent. No recognition was given that we were celebrating unlike another place visited in the area. We usually visit this place when in the area. Disappointing this time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 9, 2018

My husband and I have been coming here since high school over 35 years and it’s just so sad to see that it has become “just a restaurant “ they have taken the charm away that we love so much. It use to be a total experience but now it’s just WAY overpriced so so food. We cancelled our reservations to the other taverns.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Food was OK. Our server did a good job. Just seemed too expensive for what we got. You are paying more because of where it is located (Colonial Williamsburg).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good was good. Waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. Food was expensive but not much more than I expected. Nice ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

An experience in fine dining in the colonial setting! Excellent menu, entrees cooked to perfection. Delicious drinks and desserts, highly recommend the Kings Arms Coffee with dessert to top off a wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had dinner here while sightseeing Colonial Williamsburg. It didn’t disappoint both in food and atmosphere. The only dish I wasn’t particularly fond of was the peanut soup which is one of the things they are known for. The beef tenderloin was amazing and the bread pudding and chocolate fudge cake were inhaled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Absolutely amazing! Food, service, and ambience are top notch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

King's Tavern is in a small, very old building with an interesting history which includes skeletons and ghosts. You order at the bar with your table number (picnic style tables), and servers bring your food and drinks. The menu of food selections is somewhat limited - one page and drinks are on the back. The flatbread pizzas are absolutely great. Tea and water are served in a carafe. We liked the tavern and the food very much. I would definitely eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Kings Arms was great. We had a bit of concern it was going to be a bit hokey (mid evil times like), but that was not the case whatsoever. We had a blast, the food was good, the server humorous and knowledgeable, we were able to sit back and enjoy the ambiance never once feeling rushed. The education from Williamsburg spilled over into dinner in which our education was continued. We were throughly impressed and would return to Kings Arm Taverns or another Williamsburg dining establishment on our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We love this tavern. We dine here each time we visit Colonial Williamsburg. The service and food is always excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We had an enjoyable meal at The King’s Arm Tavern. Food was good; waitstaff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The service and selection for us was great - steak for my son and my wife and I shared the Game Pie - which was excellent (duck, lamb and chicken in a nice hearty brown sauce with fresh vegetables- the crust was excellent on the pie and the entree Wilma’s tender and juicy.

The bread was light and airy a wonderful experience-

The peanut soup was a definite for everyone (without allergies of course)

And the Kings Arm punch bowl was delicious- the hint of ginger was as refreshing and brought a smile to both my wife and myself.

Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

My childs grilled cheese sandwich was so hard and crusty he couldn't eat it.
Dessert was disappointing.....did not seem fresh and did not have the hot fudge as stated

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Lunch during a trip to Colonial Williamsburg. Our server was outstanding. The peanut soup was delicious! We weren’t crazy about our where our table was located. Otherwise it was an enjoyable meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food was very good and our waitress excellent. However...despite making a reservation 2 weeks out, the front desk seemed surprised (they had our reservation in the computer). We were seated in a hallway upstairs-right next to the bathroom. There was a large school group in another room near by and there was constant traffic to the bathroom-loud, noisy-we had a hard time hearing our conversations and the bathroom line extended so that people were basically standing around our table. I was extremely disappointed with the front desk for this treatment. In addition there was plenty of seating elsewhere and they should have been better prepared for our arrival. When spending a lot of money to dine at one of these restaurants especially looking forward to the the ambiance, this seating was not acceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

King's Arms Tavern is a great historic dining location. It is a must if you are visiting Colonial Williamsburg. The tavern is lit by candlelight so you get the full experience. Period fare is cooked wonderfully. The Peanut Soup and Jefferson's Brandy Spiked Bread Pudding are must-haves. Our server was a delight. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

A wonderful memory. Food, sounds, smells are all authentic. Our server was very accomodating to our 4 and 6 year old. Food is excellent. Peanut soup as i remember. Stories by our server and history told helped make the evening memorable. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

It's been many years since I have eaten at The King's Arms Tavern; however, the food did not disappoint. It was still as delicious as ever. The waitress was most hospitable and knowledgeable of the menu and the food preparation. The only concern I had was that I had a reservation for 1:30 but was not seated until 2:00. Walk-ins were seated before my party, which I did not appreciate. When I inquired about that, the hostess told me that they didn't take reservations, but I politely showed her my confirmation. It did not seem to make too much of a difference to her. Maybe Open Table needs to check in to the Tavern's reservation policy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This is a wonderful place to sit and relax and eat a lovely meal in a historical setting. My wife and I love coming here and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great 18th century ambience, delicious food and excellent service. We can’t wait to return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter dinner. Definitely not for every day for it was a high price point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The portions were small and the prices high. Presentation and taste were lacking. My mint Julep had no mint (it did have lots of bourbon) — I tried to send it back but told my expectations were wrong?!?! Food choices in general at Colonial Williamsburg seem very poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Easter dinner. Marcin provided some of the best service that we have ever had. Knowledgeable, efficient, a pleasure to speak with. He took the time to give us some historical background about the Tavern, napkins and dining in 1770s, which we found most interesting. Our meals were superb. My husband had beef medallions and I had the roast pork shank which just fell off the bone. The pecan pie was the best I ever had. Amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was good but overpriced. Music was nice. Expected it to be more elegant but I guess the plainless was authentic.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was terrible considering the exorbitant price. Duckling was like a tasteless chicken and prime rib was very tough and also tasteless. Perhaps the poor food quality made it more authentic for the colonial era.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We very much enjoyed our special meal during our Williamsburg vacation. Our server was extremely helpful as we debated about what drinks and food to order. The food was delicious, but there seemed to be a problem with the kitchen, because it took a very long time to get our food during each course. We didn’t mind because we were on vacation and the food was worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47