Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (100)
Special Occasion (70)
Authentic (61)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Romantic (48)
Cozy (48)
Good for a Date (44)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fireplace (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Fun (27)
Seasonal (26)
Live Music (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Scenic View (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Family Style (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great Beer (10)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Came on St. Patrick's Day, and the Corned Beef and Cabbage special did not disappoint. The corned beef was tender, and the cabbage was actually crispy. Fine meal, and the ambiance was classic Colonial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was luke warm when it arrived. Difficult to read menu; a few more candles would help?

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Dinner was delicious and as always the servers serve as wonderful interpreters. It really makes the whole experience in Williamsburg complete eating in one or all of the historic taverns! Peanut soup is delicious and you cannot go wrong with any of the deserts!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful setting in Williamsburg for dinner or lunch which is what we had. The ambiance was wonderful in the old tavern setting. The Peanut Soup was great in fact we went back again just to have the soup. Great overall setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great service. Nice wine. Great food. Terrific ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great Colonial meal. Enjoyed Colonial singer. Menu fits time period

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a great time and the food was excellent. One of our party had the wild game pie and he really didn't like it....oh, well, next time!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

In beautiful historic Williamsburg. You get what you picture beforehand. Friendly, first-class service in period costume. Great period decor and food. Period entertainer at your table side. Fun intimate evening.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Tavern is part of the Colonial Williamsburg experience serving "period" food. Very large portions of very good food. The peanut soup is unique and far as I know not served at any of the other taverns. It was fantastic. You will not only get fabulous food but also learn history from the very knowledgeable service staff. Our waiter was John and obviously the tavern has just the right people working there. We learned quite a bit from him on dining in the 1760's. The only downside is that it is pricey, but for a unique experience with great food it is worth it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
·Dined on March 13, 2017

Wonderful location. Everyone dressed in period clothing added to the enjoyment. Very friendly staff. Loved the peanut soup. My only suggestion would be to add a bowl option for the peanut soup not just the cup.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed eating in this recreation of an authentic tavern from the 1700's. Our server was delightful and our food outstanding. We were serenaded by a musician with songs that transport diners back in time. Overall, our experience was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Authentic, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Oh, King's Arms... What disappointment. My family and I have been coming to Colonial Williamsburg for all of our individual lives. Unfortunately, King's Arms just did not measure up this time. It can't hold a candle to Shield's or Christiana Campbell's (other authentic and historic taverns in town).

The "Game Pye" was absolutely disgusting. Maybe I'm spoiled being the daughter of a hunter, but the venison was as tough as shoe leather, the rabbit was fatty and sinewy (my mother picked out an entire ounce of fat from her pie), and the sauce was akin to wallpaper paste--flour and water. NOT RED WINE SAUCE AS DESCRIBED. I had the salmon the first night we dined here--it was fine. But DO NOT ORDER THE GAME PYE. They tout it as one of their specialities--yeah, specially disgusting. If you're in Williamsburg, take my hint--DO NOT GO TO KING'S ARMS IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

The service was fine and the music good. They need a new chef ASAP!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were visiting Williamsburg from Memphis with our dear friends and their 11 year old granddaughter. It was her first time to come so we all wanted to take her to a tavern. All of our meals were awesome right down to the homemade peppermint stick ice cream their granddaughter ordered and our server, Sandy, was just perfect!! She made our whole experience so fun and enjoyable!!! Thank you Sandy!!!! Thank you Kings Arms!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Williamsburg restaurants are all about ambiance and the colonial experience. The food is made in a large kitchen across town and only mediocre most of the time, and it is fairly pricey for the quality. We were there with relatives from Texas (adults and children) who enjoyed the experience. Two of us had to send our food back because it was barely warm, and the rest just passed the warm enough measure. However, the second plates of food were warm enough (barely) and Kings Arms compensated for the inconvenience at dessert time. The wait staff was superb throughout. The wonderful peanut soup appetizer and the huge portion of delicious and uncharacteristically light bread pudding made up for the other mediocre food. When I return (only when we have out of town guests) I will stick with soup, maybe a salad, and dessert. Those are what seem to work best there, and they are worth the trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Solid comfort food and good for meat eaters. Beer and wine selection respectable with VA options. Pricey but period entertainment is included.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful service. The prime rib was delicious. A little skimpy on the sides but overall it was excellent and will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love this place. It's a bit pricey but, it's what you pay for the experience. AMAZING food and themed dinners

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 10, 2017

It is a great tavern to eat at in Williamsburg. Great food, service, and live music.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

All of the taverns in Williamsburg are good from our experience. We had a birthday dinner here and it was excellent. All of the dishes were excellent and so was the service. Our server made the dinner special for our nine year old granddaughter by paying special attention to her. The dinner was not cheap but it was well worth the price for us.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had 2 small children with us, which our waitress cared for well. They had historic high chairs with leather belt straps. It is a historic experience all around. Very nice experience. I had the Game Pie, which was very tasty. It did have a few bones in it, which I think were left in there intentionally to add to the historic experience.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

My husband and I have dined at Kings Arms many time over the years. We were in Williamsburg celebrating our anniversary. Kings Arms was our choice for our anniversary dinner. It was a wonderful evening the food, service and music could not have been better!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. If you're looking for genuine colonial dining, this is the place. The staff, ambiance and food were all superb. I recommend going at night, so you experience dining by lantern light, and getting the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always a joy to dine by candlelight in an early colonial setting.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was a bit of a walk from where we had to park, but it was great... If you want to try to "turn back the clock", this place makes it easier. The food was well prepared, and I did NOT leave hungry. My wife was likewise thrilled as well. A little pricey for dinner, well priced for lunch. STILL- if you want authentic, this is one place you can get it:>:> Peter

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 6, 2017

In fairness, I think the period restaurants had just reopened the week prior to our visit. But, beyond the colonial setting...just awful! Our server was a terrific personality...but...we ordered our fool and it didn't come forever. She keep checking on it, she said...but...when it arrived, it was barely warm. It had clearly been sitting somewhere for some time. She took our plates back to the kitchen and it was all "replated", she said. The food quality was average even with the second go at it. Very disappointing performance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

First class restaurant with a historical ambiance right down to the salt cellar which needs to be scooped up like sugar. Dishes were prepared like in colonial times with candle light the only illumination. Very knowledgable waiter who told us Syllabub was a Martha Washington favorite. Game pye was well done as was the peanut soup. Recorder and guitar music was nice background.

Worth every nickel even though it was a pricey nickel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Located in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, a truly fun experience. Our waiter has worked there 41 years and was very knowledgeable and had some fun stories. Food was very good

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

Any time we are in Williamsburg we try to go to Kings Arms....Love this place!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our servicer, Marty, made the evening memorable by sharing historical information we had never heard even though we had been to King's Arms many times.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved the quiet ambiance of the tavern. Food was great and our server was amiable. We enjoyed our meal! One of our favorite places to eat in Colonial Williamsburg!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall very, very good meal. My wife enjoyed her beef tenderloin. I always opt for the game pie;... delicious venison, rabbit and duck!!! Nice merlot wine pairing. The tasty, warm bread pudding was 'big enough for 2'. And the syllabub is a treat. Our server was attentive and engaging. Candlelit dining can be casual. Great date-night atmosphere. This is our favorite tavern in Williamsburg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our 2nd trip to King's Arms (to celebrate New Year's Eve). On our first trip, our waiter was very knowledgeable & greatly enhanced our experience by explaining to 18th century habits, food & the experience of dining in an 18th century tavern. Our waitress on this trip was very nice, but did none of the above, while we noticed another waiter doing what our waiter had done on our previous trip, so were disappointed in our experience. Our salt bowl was almost empty when we arrived, but was filled after we requested it. The food was "OK" but nothing outstanding. Don't know if we will make a 3rd trip

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We hadn't been here in many years but it was all we remembered. We were in an alcove so very private. The service was great and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced but it was good. The main course should include a salad or soup at least. Approx $50 per person with soup, main, and desert, without drinks. Service was very fast but it kinda felt rushed. We were back in a corner on the second floor so there was not a ton of ambiance. We could hear music in other rooms but they did not get to ours. Overall it was nice but like I said before, a bit pricey for what you get.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a great time !! Fabulous experience - would recommend to friends and family

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Clearly the most authentic period meals of all the colonial restaurants in the restoration area.. Service was good but not great. Noise level was very distracting. Breaking the room sizes into smaller groups certainly can help but it only takes one loud person to be a distraction. Enjoyed the period music of the strolling performers who were also educational. Certainly on the A list of attractions for any visit to Williamsburg. Probably not a ideal destination for children as prices are clearly on the upper side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

A taste of Colonial times with staff in period costumes. Food was good not exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Casual, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were seated immediately. Upstairs. Waitress was fair but I overheard a waiter at another table giving lots of history and very animated. Appetizers mushroom friccasee was aswesome! Loud upstairs. Fireplace would have been nice to have been light. Best apple cider ever. Very pricey

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

If it's all about the food for you, then go because the food is wonderfully prepared and presented. Ingredients are fresh and sometimes unique in an effort to create dishes available in the 1700s. Desserts are delicious and also historically-inspired. If the atmosphere counts, then you will likely enjoy the novelty of the 1700s early-America setting which includes everything from the building, dishes and menu to the servers and other staff in period costume. There are also strolling musicians and interpreters that offer a short sequence of pieces or conversation related to the time period. The servers are outstanding and also deliver information about the establishment, the menu, customs and practices of the period. The experience will feed your belly and your mind.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fireplace, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fun, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.