Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (151)
Special Occasion (141)
Historic (94)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Good for a Date (82)
Romantic (81)
Fun (72)
Worth the Drive (65)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Local Ingredients (58)
Cozy (58)
Live Music (58)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Comfort Food (41)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Casual (40)
Great for Lunch (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
People Watching (18)
Scenic View (17)
Seasonal (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great Beer (13)
Fireplace (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Business Meals (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Kings Arm is a tavern in Colonial Williamsburg's Historic Area. The decor and atmosphere are reminiscent of colonial taverns. The staff is friendly and engaging. The food was delicious and more than sufficient. Period musicians entertain guests as they dine. An experience to enjoy in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and entertainment were great. Service was exceptionally good. My one concern - it was VERY noisey.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

An 18th Century experience. Decor and wait staff in 18th century outfits. Menu has 18th century items (peanut soup for example). Excellent prime rib and oyster stuffed filet. Very good salad with champagne vinaigrette dressing (two people said "best dressing I've had". 18th century entertainer wandering musician playing/singing period music. Educational, good food, good service in a restored colonial tavern.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I never write reviews, but this place was so great and our server (George) was so incredible, I had to! I swear he was born in the 1700s! The most friendly people, and the atmosphere and the food was delicious! It was all true to the Revolutionary period, and just the most informative and fun I've ever had at a restaurant, and I have been to many!!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The King's Arm Tavern is a historic landmark known for serving quality dishes representative of the higher class colonial period. Musicians playing period music stop in each dining area for a song or two throughout your dinner and the servers are knowledgeable and courteous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

what a step back in time... absolutely beautiful night incredible service and unbelievable food. it was like we had a time machine!!! the history as you dined was just the right touch. time period decor, limited light as it is lit by candle during dinner hours as well fully time period correct attire. i would recommend this place time and time again. we will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We came here to celebrate our anniversary as this was a place we came early in our romance maybe 25 years ago or so. Surprisingly, I was able to order the same wild game pie that I ordered so many years ago and it was still yummy, but not as memorable as the first time I ordered it. The ambiance also was not what I remembered from long ago. It seemed so much more authentic back then with the candlelit rooms and servers who could go around the room and remember everyone's order without writing anything down. On this trip, we shared a room with several loud families with children, and although we had candlelight, it was still daylight outside, and it just didn't feel as special and authentic as it did before. We ordered a cheese plate as an appetizer that I was especially disappointed in--I was sorry I wasted the calories on standard cheese and hard crackers -- and it made me too full to finish my delicious wild game pie. My recommendation is to skip the appetizer and save the calories for dessert. The bread pudding would have been so much more delicious if I weren't so stuffed when I ate it.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

A trip to Colonial Williamsburg isn't complete without a meal at King's Arm Tavern. Excellent food and service, and a great historic atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent time, Great service, highly recommend the Hunters pie!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful tavern. Food was exquisite and prime rib cooked exactly like we asked. Veggies tasty. Service impeccable. Loved it and would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We treated our family during our stay in Williamsburg. It was an enjoyable time; however, our server did not share historical information with us. I know the grandchildren would have really enjoyed learning about colonial times and food preparation. When we dined there previously our server shared lots of interesting information so I chose to return primarily for that purpose.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Our meal was excellent! So flavorful. The peanut soup, as always, was outstanding, and the bread pudding, oh my gosh! My new favorite dessert. George, our waiter, was knowledgeable, helpful, right on top of things, kind, and just a joy to have as our waiter. We love the music, conversation and food at King's Arms Tavern. Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We took our daughters in the 90's and now we were able to take our granddaughters to Williamsburg and Kings Arm Tavern. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Loved our meal. Would highly recommend. Our waitress was excellent, the food was wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It would be nice to "play up" the colonial theme. The atmosphere was great and it would be nice to have the menu reflect the time period more. Use original names of dishes and expand the menu options.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent except for the prime rib and bread. Two in our party ordered prime rib; and although it was tasty, I cannot recommend it because there was too much fat and gristle on both. In addition, I don't know what happened to the Sally Lunn bread. I've eaten lovely Sally Lunn bread many times, even at this establishment, but it was flat and tasteless. The half Cornish hen had very, very little meat. I cook Cornish hen occasionally myself, so I am aware that the meat on them is limited, but my serving was sparse. The sauce on the hen and rice was superb!
We especially liked the vegetables and vegetable soup, sirloin, relishes, root beer, salads, and desserts. Of particular note is the meringue filled with vanilla ice cream (homemade) with strawberries as well as the pecan pie. The presentation of the bread pudding with vanilla sauce was beautiful, and it was tasty and the texture was good.
Our server was friendly and helpful. She suggested and arranged for us to pick up a take-home chocolate tart later that day, and the picking it up went smoothly.
We thoroughly enjoyed the live entertainment and the selections he chose. They were perfect for the colonial setting. He asked if anyone had a request, and one person asked for a minuet. He delivered.
The King's Arms Tavern has been my favorite restaurant for nearly sixty years. I do recommend it. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Live Music, Fun, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Jennifer was amazing! She was so helpful, and full of knowledge. She really made the experience perfect. Her explanations of the customs, food, and circle of beauty made out evening wonderful! The person who played the violin was absolutely amazing- she really made the experience worth the Williamsburg value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a great time at the King's Arms Tavern as usual. The place hit all the usual buttons, with semi-authentic Colonial fare (the Hunter's Pye was great and the peanut soup is always a hit) and wandering musicians. However, they do not rest on their laurels and we were pleased to see the addition of traditional punch bowls to the drinks menu! Martin was a wonderful and attentive server and made sure we always had whatever we needed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was quite slow, but that may have been a management issue rather than our particular server. Otherwise, our server was kind, polite, and knowledgeable about the history of the building and the food. The food and musicians wove a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Took vacation with my boys and they loved the atmosphere. Food and server were excellent , I bit pricey but well worth the experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Kings Arm Tavern is always a great stop in Williamsburg. The food is outstanding and the service is great. The Colonial entertainment is also very nice.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We shared this meal with our nine year old granddaughter. We wanted her to experience what eating in an historic tavern was like. The best part of the visit was our waiter. He was an enthusiastic treasure trove of information about the habits of colonial folks and the history of the tavern. By the time we were leaving there were few people left and he spent a good deal of time talking with us and answering questions. The most disappointing part was the children's menu that only had the standard "kid" stuff: chicken strips, hamburger, pasta, butter, and cheese. This was our last night in the area and our granddaughter had her fill of that! No chance of any veggies or fruit on the plate. No seafood. Nothing that harkened back to colonial times adapted for today's tastes. I'm sure the menu is based on what visitors prefer but it's a shame they cannot have at least one offering for children that is healthy and appropriate. The adult menu is pricey but our meals, tenderloin and pork chop, were good but nothing exceptional for the price. Nice selection of drinks whether alcoholic or not. The music was pleasant and in keeping with the time period. We're glad we went and would encourage others to have the experience but will not likely return if we visit the area soon.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Eat at the taverns the food and atmosphere are fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Special place! This is a restaurant we wouldn't miss when we visit Williamsburg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Different out of the norm food. Very tasty. Desserts were amazing. As the waitress recommended the bread pudding is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

After reading all the good reviews, I have to say we were pretty disappointed. The employees were not friendly and we expected the experience to be fun and it was just plain boring. Our server didn't explain any history of the restaurant at all. The food was very good but that's about it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The colonial atmosphere was enjoyable. The food was very good
The pecan pie was excellent. The salmon was very good. The waitress was quick and very knowable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Mindy did a wonderful job recommending food and providing a pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

A wonderful, family friendly environment. We have been there many times before and it's always the same: The food is delicious and reminiscent of the Colonial period and they happily accommodated my picky eating son! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I have eaten at this restaurant numerous times over the years and always look forward to it. This time was a different experience that left us disappointed. We were seated by the back of house kitchen prep doors so that several times every minute, a waitstaff member would open the doors and blind us with the fluorescent lighting and expose the ugly behind the seems modern day workings of the restaurant. It really killed the vibe of being "back in Colonial times candlelight" experience. Beyond that, for a restaurant that primarily serves beef, our steaks that were ordered medium rare were cooked well done with no pink in the middle. In addition, the usual musical accompaniment that often strolls through the dining rooms did not make an appearance during our time there. This is a meal that cost my young family close to a couple of hundred dollars and carried a certain expectation of experience and quality of food. It was the last night of our vacation and sad to have it end so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waiter MADE the night. He was a pleasure to deal with, efficient, fun, and related a lot of historical details for us. The mean was excellent, and historic. The King's Arms Tavern was a lovely place to spend an evening out with my husband.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Although food was good, it was way overpriced for the portion sizes and we were very rushed. Spent $100 and we were out of there in under an hour. I wouldn't go back, nothing special.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is my 2nd time dining here. I brought friends along the 2nd time. The waiter and other staff were sporting the garb to fit well with the theme of the Colonies. The restaurant has candle lit ambiance and a fiddler played merry music of the times as well. The waiter told us historical stories in a light, interesting way and was very attentive to us. The food was comfort and delicious. Try the peanut soup and meat pie. Yum. Also the bread pudding was excellent. Just a great evening to spend with friends or family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful and special EXCEPT for the main part of our meal - the prime rib. All 3 adults in our group ordered the prime rib, and we were extremely disappointed. There was a large amount of fat on each of our cuts - we ended up with our bread plates literally piled high with inedible greasy fat, and also gristle. For the price, we expected better, and this took away from the rest of the meal, which was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Fabulous food. Good portions. Great drinks. Lovely service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a lovely time with one exception. We have been coming to the Colonial Williamsburg taverns for over 40 years when we are in town. We always enjoy a Rummer (alcoholic drink) and as usual ordered one. The one we received was about half to a third the normal size and tasted different. We even ordered a second one which was the same way. The next evening at another tavern in Williamsburg, we ordered the same drink to see if indeed the drink had been changed and discovered it was the way we always remembered it. We decided that there was a problem with the bar at King's Arms the night before. Other than this, it was a wonderful dinner with an old menu item back on the menu- oyster stuffed filet of beef!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Half of the restaurant was closed for a special occasion. We were seated upstairs in a very small " warm room". The servers had to use backstairs to the kitchen for everything they needed. If we were told this in advance we would have gone another evening. We went on the 4th of July with expectations to be out of there in time to see the fireworks. The meal took 2 and one half hours for 2 people. The food was "ok" but certainly not the wait or inconveince. The servers were working very hard to keep up with the crowd. Unfortunately many families with young children had a difficult time due to the heat in the room and the wait for the food. Many crying and tired toddlers. It was just my husband and myself but I would have left if we had young children with us. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone after our experience there. Management should have just shut down the restaurant to the public for that evening. The least they could have done was explain that to the patrons before thet were seated. We really enjoy Colonial Williamsburg and our stay here has been great. Unfortunately I feel we spent a lot of money on a ok meal with regrets. After this experience and no apology or explanation only just from the server we will not be returning there. A night we were looking forward to and considered special turned into a disaster with us running to be able to see the fireworks. I'm being honest about this because it is an expensive restaurant and families should be aware of this. Management should take this into consideration when planning special events and inform the patrons before time and allow them to decide whether or not they wish to dine there. They may loose some revenue in closing to the public that night but I would not want to see anyone else go thru this experience. It was also not fair to their wait staff who were extremely hot and tired fro running up and down the stairs. They could have had a few more employees on that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Taverns used to be special because interpreters in costumes circulated and talked to diners about tavern life i 18th century. Now that this attraction has been discontinued, taverns are just another expensive restaurants with uncomfortable chairs.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Another excellent meal. Nice to see a non- vegetarian soup option (chicken vegetable) which was very good. The game pie, although smaller than in previous years, is still outstanding and still a hearty size. Nice that you can order a potion of vegetables on the side if you wish. The bread pudding and meringue shell are still my favouates. Great service provided by our waitress, friendly, attentive but also paced the evening well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our food was certainly acceptable, but nothing particularly noteworthy, especially in a venue known for authentic nutritional offerings. Our server, whose name I don't remember (but who studied at Bowling Green State University), was superb. Overall, he made the evening memorable.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.