Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About King's Arm Tavern

Originally opened by Jane Vobe in 1772, this authentic reproduction public house serves up a transporting experience for the senses in Colonial Williamsburg. Everything is true to the time period at King’s Arms Tavern, from the fashion sported by servers to the pewter candlesticks—all adding to an air of colonial elegance. Inspired by 18th-century recipes, but with updates to suit 21st-century tastes, tuck in to a chophouse menu featuring prime rib, pork chops, and more.

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburghotels.com/dining/kings-arms-tavern/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (128)
Authentic (127)
Romantic (95)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for a Date (74)
Cozy (68)
Worth the Drive (56)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Fun (48)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Local Ingredients (42)
Seasonal (41)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Comfort Food (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Casual (20)
Live Music (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Scenic View (17)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great Beer (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
People Watching (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

This is one of the colonial taverns. The food is good, the service is excellent, and the rooms are lit by candles. I miss the entertainers that used to wander throughout the tavern playing a few songs in each room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We have visited The King's Arms on many occasions and never been disappointed. The food is consistently great, the colonial atmosphere is lovely and intimate and the service staff are accommodating, knowledgeable and pleasant.
We are usually visiting for a special occasion or a holiday and we are always greeted with a welcoming attitude and are never rushed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Colonial restaurant in colonial setting, authentic atmosphere and good fare!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I struggle about my rating because it COULD BE amazing but they were out of SO MANY items that it is hard to get past that. Our waitress, who was good, explained that it was their last night before being closed for 2 months so they were out of a lot of things... I just don't think that is the way to run a business or gain repeat customers. You should have your entire menu available at all times... especially for an event night like New Year's Eve! I can't say I won't go back if in town again but it was a truly disappointing end to a good few days in Williamsburg.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Overall great. Out of some items. But enjoyed the food a lot. Pork chop was so tender

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

After a 15-minute wait in a parlor room off of the entrance, we (everyone who had 7:45 reservations) were all herded into one dining room. Waitresses arrived and began scurrying around to take drink orders. We overheard one waitress repeatedly telling a table near us about how they were out of various items because this was their last night until reopening in the spring. I agree with another review that said that running out of food (on an already limited menu) seems bad planning especially on New Year's eve. As a group of four, we had only one dish arrive hot; the others were barely lukewarm. Waitress was nice enough but seemed rather overwhelmed. Other than the dimly lit room, there was no other Colonial Williamsburg flavor to the evening ... no strolling performers or historic presentations by the waitress. We could have been eating at Cracker Barrel with the lights off but at five times the cost.

We visit Williamsburg every few years and have always enjoyed the tavern experiences. On this trip, we found the food, service , and ambiance to be lacking. The experience was somewhat like eating at a Disney-themed restaurant. We had several excellent meals outside of the Colonial area. For future visits, we'll eat in the local restaurants rather than the taverns.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very disappointed with the dinner for New Year’s Eve! My vegetable plate was cold another guest had lukewarm prime rib! One of our guests was quite surprised that for what we paid for the meal the quality was not the best. And this was THEIR first time there which was a disappointment for me since I recommended the place. Should have listened to the reviews!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We reserved our dinner to celebrate the New Year. We were quickly seated ( we had made reservations in November) and greeted by a lovely waitress who was quick to make suggestions and easily explained the dining customs of the day. Drinks, entrees ,dessert and our check were served in a timely manner. As recommended , we selected the marinated pork chop. Although the chop was very tender and flavorful, the food was sadly lukewarm. The mashed potatoes appeared to be of the instant variety. The dessert, a chocolate torte, on the other hand , was delicious. Our waitress was informative and delightful but when considering the cost /value of our meal, we would report that we were disappointed. The atmosphere created by the candle light, table setting and ware, period dress of the staff, as well as the performance by the serenading musician, created an authentic environment.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Perfect table seating in small dining room lit by candles, excellent service by period-dressed server knowledgeable in 18th century cuisine, good (though not excellent) cuisine (but it was a holiday evening), our experience was a delight made memorable by ambience, authenticity, and attentive service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Exceptional food, service and atmosphere in the heart of the historic district.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2017

It was my birthday. I was there with my family from out of state and friends. Everything was great up until dinner. 4 plates got sent back for being too cold. Was embarrassed and quite disappointed. So here again my family had to wait for 4 plates of food. The server was amazing and very attentive with the error. So when the 4 dishes were finally brought to the table they were steaming hot. Should have been like this in the 1st place. Overall service was amazing I would recommend Kings Arms for the ambiance but I won't come back personally. Very disappointed. The food was not as great as i have heard from friends in the area. I heard alot of people talk about people entertaining in the eating rooms but did not see or hear any kind of music or entertainment what so ever??.... very upset about this

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2017

We were disappointed overall with our dining experience. While the atmosphere and menu are period authentic, our server lacked personality and was not properly trained. The food was average at best with the Hunter's Pie at $33 the best of our group but it was a large pot-pie with a few meat cubes and mostly gravy. One of our group ordered the tenderloin with oysters which is an upcharge but there were apparently no oysters on the plate. A third member had to ask for their meal to be warmed up because it was cold. The solution from the kitchen was to make a new entrée which took longer than it took the rest of us to eat. Much of our experience could have been made more pleasant if not for the surly server. I would not return or recommend this to my friends.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The mashed potatoes and vegetables were cold. I think is was because we had appetizers and food was sitting until we were ready for it. Should not have appetizers

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Loved our experience at this restaurant. The food was delicious and shared the dessert. Loved the ambiance of Colonial Williamsburg

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Initially seated IN a fireplace or close enough. Requested and was granted a place change. Out of appetizer first chosen. Food was lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Colonial ambiance abounds but the food is mediocre (at best) and it's expensive. Tge portions are very small and the food is heavily sauced. Service was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Food came out cold, server was not easily available, no entertainment as in previous visits

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Absolutely wonderful service throughout the meal. I wish I could remember the gentleman’s name. He was attentive and shared good conversation at times. Please thank him for adding to our dining experience.

When we are in Williamsburg, we always eat at this tavern because it holds special memories from our honeymoon almost 45 years ago.

Only drawback was that our table was right beside the door that guest were brought through for the other rooms. It was unseasonably cold and both doors were left open which created a draft. My husband had to keep getting up to close it—not too romantic. Once the back rooms were filled this slowed down a bit until people left.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Very good food in a colonial setting. Wait staff is great and very professional. Will be going back and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Very good sized portions, awesome ambiance and great tasting! Service was exceptional as well.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The menu is Colonial, local and authentic. The flavors were exceptional. Our server was exceptionally helpful and informative, like suggesting saving certain items from the cheese board for use with certain main course items. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Overall, very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Excellent pork chop. Great service in a historic setting. Authentic 18th century food options.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The restaurant was good as usual but there was a table on the other side of the restaurant that was speaking so loud that you could hear their whole conversation. Blow hards that thought they were pretty important.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

21st C reinterpretation works.
Beverage list and food options have improved. Good peanut soup and well executed pork. Use of fresh vegetables a pleasant addition

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Menu needs some change up. Venison was too strong had not been processed properly prior to preparation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Nice candlelight dinner with family in a quiet colonial tavern. Food was very good. Waiter provided plenty of nuggets on the history of Williamsburg and the tavern

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2017

What a dump. Food is horrible.same brown gravy on everything ($32 for bad dorm food) . Cold. Incredibly over priced. The food was so bad that the 12 year old couldn’t eat her grilled cheese. Burned on one side cold on the other.

We had a view of the back room. Trader does bag made “tavern” unbelievable.

Musician stopped in for one song and seemed unexcited.

Service was fine but waitress out of character, co-workers reminded her in front of customers she was going to get big tips.

All in all - sucky. Save your money. McDonald’s is better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2017

The Kings arms tavern is a slice of history right down to the culinary details. Our server Sandy provide proper guidance as to the menu and the history of the food choices. Our meal was prepared per our requests, delivered at temperature. The desserts are interesting and complement the meal selections quite well. Although pricey if you order drinks, the experience is most enjoyable.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

This is difficult. The service is great, ambiance historical, cost is reasonable, a must stop for Colonial Williamsburg vacationing, my meal was awesome but my wife got very sick for two days 20 hours after eating which ruined our short Christmas vacation-our first vacation in 20 years without the children. I will not make a cause and effect claim but will relate that breakfast, lunch, the previous evening meal and the next morning's breakfast were at Colonial Williamsburg restaurants and we eat the same food at home. My wife had the VEGETABLE GRAND MEDLEY. She was not pleased with it saying it tasted odd but it was a unique dish for her so she ate it. 20 hours later she was violently ill with the classic symptoms of food born illness. Look them up-not pretty.

This was not a stomach bug. My wife remained in her room much of the next day, we cancelled several dinner reservations and she could not participate in several planned activities. This meal was on Wed. 12/27 and although my wife tried to eat on Fri. 12/29 her first real meal was on Sat. 12/30, a planned Christmas breakfast at Kings Tavern. We kept this reservation as it was our last day and we wanted a face to face conversation with a manger. Breakfast was fine and we met with a manger who took down our concerns & comments and contact information. Sadly, no one followed up with us.

I started with "This is difficult" because we donate regularly to the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and we believe Colonial Williamsburg is a historical and educational gem. We planned and really looked forward to this short Christmas vacation together but this event ruined it. We can only hope that quality controls are in place to ensure food safety at all times.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2017

A magical Christmas Eve dinner. Our waiter was knowledgeable and service was wonderful

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2017

While the ambiance was what one would expect from an 18th Century restaurant, the food left much to be desired. We had heard how great the prime rib was so that was my choice for the Christmas Eve dinner. Unfortunately, it was nothing but gristle and fat. The pork that my wife ordered was very tough and lacked flavor. To top it off, both were only lukewarm when served. I should have known that the meals cater to tourists only and do not have any resemblance to fine dining even though the prices are reflective of a better restaurant. The provisions were poor quality cooked with little imagination. As with all of the taverns, the wait staff is so anxious to turn the table that you will be in and out in under 35 minutes, even when you ask them to slow down.My suggestion to any reader is to ask someone in the commercial shops below the historic district where they eat when they want a nice meal and restaurant. We did, and found several wonderful spots.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Kings Arms is on the must do list every time visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Most authentic and the meals are outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2017

A great colonial-era dining experience. The wait staff was wonderful: funny, friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was what you'd imagine a colonial-era tavern to be. The food was delicious, and portions were ample. We went at Christmas time, which added to the festive spirit. We'd definitely go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We enjoy the period of time the restaurant is set in and the cuisine that goes with it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Because it is a little distance from our home, we only frequent this restaurant once or maybe twice a year. The food and service is great. The dining décor is set up to be authentic for the period, wooden tables and chairs, candles, etc. There are strolling musicians playing instruments and singing songs of thee period. The waiter is very attentive. The atmosphere is casual, however if this is a special occasion, you can dress up and not feel out of place.
I had their salmon which was excellent and of course I am a bit partial to the peanut soup. My partner had the Cornish hen (Mrs. Vobes Dinner) which came with an appetizer and desert.
Note this is not an inexpensive restaurant, but definitely worth the experience.
I will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We have eaten at King's Arm Tavern many times for our annual wedding anniversary trip to Williamsburg. This time it was a great disappointment. My dinner was slightly warm and the cornish hen was tough and dry. Although I was served a replacement that was warmer it was still tough and dry. Our server did not follow our instructions to not rush us through our cocktails, was not very enthusiastic about the menu offerings, did not recommend the prime rib and Beef Tenderloin which we would have preferred, and overall did not compare favorably with our past servers. We sorely missed the music/entertainment. I read recent unfavorable reviews and did not beleive them :( However, as it stands, we do not plan to return next year as it is no longer worth the time and our $150+.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The food is always good at the Kings Arms, and you cannot beat the atmosphere, if you like Colonial buildings. Eating there is a special treat each time we are there. We were delighted to have Lydia, our favorite server serve us again. She helped my husband on a previous visit when he had a medical emergency. The whole staff is wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We love going to colonial Williamsburg and enjoying the Christmas decorations and the over all ambience. Kings arms is one of the best restaurants there. SANDY did a great job!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Excellent food, service, and historic venue.
We celebrated our 45th consecutive year of dining with our family at the Kings Arms Tavern.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.