About King's Arm Tavern

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
3 More
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Historic (185)
Special Occasion (133)
Authentic (111)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (71)
Fun (67)
Worth the Drive (58)
Cozy (58)
Live Music (49)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Local Ingredients (40)
Comfort Food (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Kid-friendly (30)
Casual (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Seasonal (25)
Great Beer (25)
Fireplace (21)
Scenic View (21)
People Watching (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Family Style (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

it is located in Colonial Williamsburg.. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

it is located in Colonial Williamsburg....food is prepared as close to authentic era as possible, which is seasoned differently than what we use today...musicians wander around playing, dinner is by candle light, and the hosts are wonderful.. full of information about the times and the location.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of 4 had dinner at 3 of Coloni ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Our party of 4 had dinner at 3 of Colonial Williamsburg's restaurants. King's ArmTavern was by far the best. (The other two were Regency and Christina Campbell's Tavern.) The prime rib was outstanding and the beef tenderloin was very good. Service from John V. was really good too. A Colonial dressed gentleman played and sang just the right amount of time for us to be entertained but not bored (as was the case at Campbell's).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is part of the Historic district at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

This is part of the Historic district at Colonial Williamsburg. Great atmosphere and food. Servers in period costumes. Overall excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wild hame pot pie with venison, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wild hame pot pie with venison, rabbit, and duck. It was very good! Located in historic Colonial Williamsburg. Historic building, servers dress in costumes of the period, and musician/singer performs music from the period. Surprisingly quiet in spite of the high ceilings and wooden floors.

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and period charming experience ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent and period charming experience well worth the visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great experience, great food!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the atmosphere was great, food terrific ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the atmosphere was great, food terrific and waitress and service out standing....my only complaint is that as a handicapped person, the restrooms were on the second floor 2 flights up. Asked if there was not one more accessible, I was told I go out side to the building next store and they had a restroom behind the building we could use..not so great for someone who needs help walking.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had so much fun! The food is pricey b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had so much fun! The food is pricey but it tastes pretty good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated my birthday here.food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated my birthday here.food was good our waitress was really nice and we all enjoyed our meal. I suggest the prime rib. Preordered a birthday carrot cake. Best I ever ate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Scenic View, Historic, Fireplace, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most memorable, wonderful din ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the most memorable, wonderful dining experiences in my 58 years. I thought the authentic 18th century experience would be a cheap tourist trap but I WAS WRONG!!! Romantic? Very! Suspend belief? YES, you will BE in 18th century Colonial Virginia. Food? SUPERB 18th century cuisine and do NOT miss the pecan pie, it is the best pecan pie on the planet Earth and I am not even exaggerating! The service was awesome and I cannot wait to go to the King's Arms tavern again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was an experience; a wonderful, d ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Dinner was an experience; a wonderful, delicious, historic, experience. We always eat at King's Arms Tavern when we visit Williamsburg during Thanksgiving. This is one place where we always love the food and ambience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite of the Williamsburg ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This is my favorite of the Williamsburg taverns. Will not dissappoint you ever.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience, great ambiance, ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A delightful experience, great ambiance, great stuff and tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average, at best. Really disappointed ac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Average, at best. Really disappointed actually. For this price point, is expect better quality. The meat orders were mixed up (the medium rare order was actually medium well and vice versa), and the vegetables were over cooked and floppy. I wish I had cooked at home, would have been much higher quality and flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Very nice atmosphere and good service ho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and good service however food needs a lot of improvement to be worth what you pay for it. We had the game pie which looked nice but was like any frozen meal and pork chop which was poorly prepared . The cheese plate lacked a good presentation and for the cost was a very small portion. We take time to select where we dine and really regret to end up disappointed.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Our dinner during Thanksgiving week at t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our dinner during Thanksgiving week at the King's Arms Tavern was possibly our worst dining experience ever. Our over-eager server talked my husband out of what he originally wanted to order, stating the Cornish hens would be dry and tasteless. He went with the seafood pasta instead, which ended up being bland and overloaded with salt. My dinner, the sea catch special, came out cold and turned out to be also bland except for a heavy sauce on the fish that had a most unpleasant taste and equally displeasing, lingering aftertaste.

Not the kind of dining experience we had come to expect. We will happily return to visit Colonial Williamsburg again but shall make a wide berth around its dining taverns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

A wonderful 18th century experience in d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A wonderful 18th century experience in dining and atmosphere. The fiddle player was great adding to the tavern feel of the meal. It was our waitress' s first night on the job but it was obvious she was well taught by the other staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was amazing and a total fantasti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Service was amazing and a total fantastic experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Historic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was wonderful-- wish I coul ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful-- wish I could remember her name. She was helpful with finding us gluten free options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our evening at the King's Arm. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We loved our evening at the King's Arm. We were celebrating our anniversary after a day touring Colonial Williamsburg. It was a delightful evening with fires burning in the fireplaces and old tunes being played by a guitarist and violinist. Everything about our meal was delicious, generous and beautifully presented. The waitstaff was attentive and accommodating. It was a very memorable dining experience. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

King's Arms Tavern is our favorite in Co ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

King's Arms Tavern is our favorite in Colonial Williamsburg! Marcin and David are awesome! We make sure to have several meals there during our trips. HUZZAH!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud upstairs. Excellent service. Fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Too loud upstairs. Excellent service. Food was fair.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The best dining experience in Williamsbu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The best dining experience in Williamsburg -- and one of the best anywhere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the romantic atmosphere and our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We loved the romantic atmosphere and our wonderful waitress, Kathy, who was a wonderful historian. Food was very good-- particularly the peanut soup!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter forgot our peanut soup and de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The waiter forgot our peanut soup and delivered a salad we did not order. The game pie was excellent. The pork dinner was served Luke warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Historic setting, food and service excel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Historic setting, food and service excellent, noise level was kinda loud but tolerable, dark due to being in a true old bldg, not a dinner to be rushed must enjoy the experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Prime Rib ever! Best pecan pie I've ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best Prime Rib ever! Best pecan pie I've ever had. Complimentary coffee & tea would be nice. The server was excellent, ambiance very nice. Special evening!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Lunch fried chic ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food and service. Lunch fried chicken and dinner prime rib our favorite. Absolutely love the ambiance. Historical candlelight dinner. Servers, storytellers and musicians all in authentic dress. This is our favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

recreated historic tavern with excellent ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

recreated historic tavern with excellent food,drinks and service. Employees are dressed in period costumes and dinner is by candlelight.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal. The salmon was perf ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a great meal. The salmon was perfect, the game pie was very tasty. Our server, Larry, did a great job. We felt like we had a private waiter! We are glad that the meringue with vanilla ice cream and fresh strawberries is back on the menu! Great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Kings Arms is the ultimate Colonial ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Kings Arms is the ultimate Colonial Williamsburg dining experience complete with strolling musicians. The peanut soup is a must!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

wonderful food, wonderful historical amb ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

wonderful food, wonderful historical ambience, i have celebrated an anniversary with my husband, lunch and diiner and most recently with friends. never disappointed. the food is just fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the musicians. Everyon ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really enjoyed the musicians. Everyone was kind to my daughter because she was dressed in period clothing.

Tags: Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed going to Kings Arms Tave ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have enjoyed going to Kings Arms Tavern many times in the past. However this time both my wife and I were served the most inferior quality of prime rib I have ever had. Almost all fat and tough gristle. I hope this was mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing food and great experience at the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing food and great experience at the Kings arm Tavern thid weekend . Everyone was in character and authentic. The food was delectable. We haven't been to the colonial Tavern's for a while and our waiter Stephen made the experience fun and entertaining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very fascinating place to eat ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a very fascinating place to eat a fine meal. Our waitress was quite erudite on the history of Kings Arm Tavern. We were seated in the "private dining area" of the tavern, which would only have been accessible to the well-to-do gentry for back then. I was even more ecstatic to find out that George Washington had once dined in the exact room we were in! As for the food, it was simply delectable and our beef tenderloins were perfectly prepared. The Mrs. Vobe's peanut soup was like peanut butter melting in your mouth. We really enjoyed the pickled hour' derves with warm bread and butter at the beginning of the meal. I would also highly recommend their Rummer drink-it's very potent and sure to appease the palate. The live musicians add a nice historical ambiance to the whole experience. It is spendy, but well worth every penny. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing time celebrating our enga ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an amazing time celebrating our engagement. The staff was very knowledgeable about 18th century dining and made our night extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The big draw for this restaurant is the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The big draw for this restaurant is the history of Colonial Williamsburg. There is live music in the evenings appropriate to the period. The wait staff has been very good to excellent. On this visit, the food was good but not great and you are really paying for the experience and historical context. We have had some very good meals here but the quality has varied over time. With all that said, more times than not, we will dine at least once at a Tavern when we visit Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect end for a mother and son day of ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Perfect end for a mother and son day of laughing and learning in Revolutionary City. The dinner by candle light, strolling musicians, and servers in period dress created an experience to remember. Menu is not expansive, but everything was very good. Make reservations. Great fun!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent as always! The spark ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent as always! The sparkling apple cider, pork chop, bread and butter and pickles watermelon rind are favorites. The best thing though is the pecan pie ala mode. It's the best pie I have ever put in my mouth! The service was not great - our server was a little rude actually, and spoke as if he were totally uninterested. I've had far better servers on other occasions. Worth the drive from NC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.