About King's Arm Tavern

416 E Duke of Gloucester St
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

After Jane Vobe opened the King’s Arms Tavern in 1772, it became one of the town’s most genteel establishments. She once described it as a place “where the best people resorted.” Today, the tavern remains true to her words. From the finest furnishings to the most gracious service, the King’s Arms Tavern offers musical entertainment in an elegant environment.

Enter the rustic reproduction tavern and be greeted by a server dressed in the fashion of the 18th century. Hear “the news of the day” from a citizen of Williamsburg. Choose from a chophouse menu, featuring prime rib, pork chops, and roasted lamb.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Thursday - Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Thursday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/historic-dining-taverns/kings-arms/

Parking Details:
Tavern parking is located on Francis Street adjacent to the tavern.

Public Transit:
CW Buses Only

Executive Chef:
Chef Linwood Blizzard

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Wine

King's Arm Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Food
Williamsburg
4 More
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Most Booked
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (217)
Romantic (115)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Kid-friendly (67)
Scenic View (54)
Great for Lunch (39)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Brunch (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was pedestrian at best. The prime r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was pedestrian at best. The prime rib, for $35, was as small of a portion I have ever seen. The pop-over was cold, and the service slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We have always enjoyed visiting Colonial ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We have always enjoyed visiting Colonial Williamsburg, and set aside at least one nice dinner at one of the town's taverns. Selection is often by their menu offerings, especially when the grandkids accompany us. We very much enjoyed the King's Arm on this trip - great food and drink, a very pleasant and knowledgable server, live period-style roving musicians, and all the colonial ambience one could possibly ask for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fine but the food was not go ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was fine but the food was not good. Definitely a tourist trap. The main course (prime rib) was uneditable. Not worth what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The ambience is quite nice - takes you b ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The ambience is quite nice - takes you back to colonial times. Nice music but hard to concentrate due to noise level in the small room. Food was fresh but no flavor to it. Dessert was pecan pie and that was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waitress was charming and filled wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waitress was charming and filled with interesting history information. The musician was delightful, playing 3-4 instruments from the colonial period with a little history about the tavern music.

We were a little disappointed in the food. Meats were excellent but veggies were almost raw and specialty drink was not tasty. The bread was fair. Room temperature was very warm and since it was 95+ outside for 2 days we needed the cooler temp for relief.

Proximity in Williamsburg was perfect.

Hope this goes to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We took some visiting friends to King's ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We took some visiting friends to King's Arm Tavern to celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary. We all had a very lovely time. Our server, Larry, was most accommodating and made our guests feel very special. Our friends were presented with an anniversary card and a special musical request by the very talented musician, who sang, played the flute and several variations of a traveling violin like instruments. The food was good but was definitely outdone by the atmosphere and service. I would say that if you are visiting CW you don't want to miss the opportunity to dine in one of the colonial dining establishment and King's Arm Tavern certainly is a special one to try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

nice atmosphere and colonial style. menu ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

nice atmosphere and colonial style. menu was way to short.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was okay, ambiance was great. Woul ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was okay, ambiance was great. Would visit again

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought my Mother and Father in Law f ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We brought my Mother and Father in Law for their 50th Wedding Anniversary. The food was outstanding. The song that sung was to my In Laws was beautiful. My husband and I celebrated our third year anniversary at Kings Arms 2 years ago and we had the same wonderful treatment. Awesome all the way around1 Thanks so much for everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and lovely entertainment. Woul ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food and lovely entertainment. Would recommend to others visiting the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked this restaurant despite mixed r ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I booked this restaurant despite mixed reviews--more good than bad--and the higher price range compared to others for a special dinner while on vacation. I was really hoping to get an authentic colonial experience, as that is how it is billed. I was a bit disappointed.

The restaurant was able to seat us, a party of 5, perfectly on time for our reservation, which was appreciated. Our sever was sweet. Dessert was fantastic. These were the good things.

What was a major fail was the entrees. The menu really did not offer a lot, and only a couple of dishes would fit the time period. Two ordered steak medium well, both were burnt. One ordered prime rib medium, it was well done and tough. The salmon was cooked perfectly. Everything was served cold.

Ambience was only half appropriate. Honestly, I've had a more authentic experience dining in the colonial era restaurant at Walt Disney world

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We came to Williamsburg to celebrate my ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We came to Williamsburg to celebrate my mother's 82nd birthday. King's Arm Tavern is one of the restaurants in Colonial Williamsburg my parents recommend to visitors. The Hunter's Pie and Prime rib were excellent. Pork chop was not worth the price. Nothing on the plate had much flavor. The mojito and the rum drink were very delicious (and very strong). Our waitress was sweet, but from Romania (I think) and was very difficult to understand because of the noise and her accent. She did not add much to the experience and we found ourselves listening to the server at the next table explain the dishes and his stories to go along with the history of the dish or the tavern.

I called ahead to see if something special could be done for my mother's birthday. They took her name as if they were going to post a Happy Birthday sign, but nothing was there that we could see. I had to ask again after we had arrived and were seated to see if anything special is done for birthdays. Towards the end of dinner, a fiddle player serenaded my mother for her birthday, which made her feel special. Then played several other songs, including a sing-along, which was fun. He was very talented, as was the second fiddler who joined in. Overall, it was a very nice way to celebrate a birthday and experience Colonial Williamsburg.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service and amazing food. The ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food. The kids absolutely loved it. Yes, it is pricey but you are getting more than food; you are getting a history lesson. Very entertaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the King's Arms, and this is always ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love the King's Arms, and this is always a must when we are in WIlliamsburg. Never dissapoints, the ambiance is wonderful and takes you back in time

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband, daughter and I thoroughly enjoy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Husband, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the King's Arm Tavern. The peanut soup was so smooth and tasty. Hub and I had Mrs Vobes dinner and daughter had the vegetarian pasta dish. All were excellent. We topped it off with homemade ice cream and sorbet. A great time with good colonial music! We will definitely return on our next visit to Williamsburg!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I suggest the game pie entree and the po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I suggest the game pie entree and the pork chop entree. Both we super delicious and full of flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was pretty bad, sadly. I had a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was pretty bad, sadly. I had a pasta with vegetables and a Parmesan butter sauce. The sauce had separated into clumps and had no flavor. The vegetables were huge pieces of zucchini and squash (both undercooked) and enormous slices of onions and peppers, kind of like you see in fajitas. My son's tavern potatoes were soggy after we specifically asked form them extra crispy and amazingly so were his fried chicken strips. The one musician who came into the room where we were eating seemed like someone who couldn't wait for his summer job to end. The waitress was the best part. She was friendly and efficient. But for those prices it was a huge, huge let down in terms of the olde tavern experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The ambiance was fun. The waiters and w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The ambiance was fun. The waiters and waitresses wore traditional colonial dress and there were musicians performing throughout our meal. The portion sizes were small and VERY overpriced, though we loved the peanut soup and pecan pie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Friends visiting from Montana wanted to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Friends visiting from Montana wanted to go to the Kings Arm. I thought it was pricy and the food, while good, had a very small variety of vegetables (I was disappointed). But, there is something really nice about eating in an atmosphere of centuries ago, yet with air conditioning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful historic tavern with the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful historic tavern with the best servers in Williamsburg. A must for the entire colonial experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful experience, enjoyed the ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Had a wonderful experience, enjoyed the atmosphere and historic experience. Our children loved the new experience, and I enjoyed a trip down memory lane, it was a repeat experience for me! The staff was wonderful !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special restaurant with excellent ...

vip
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A very special restaurant with excellent food and gracious service. The timely entertainment makes it a complete experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was excellent. Food was very go ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was very good, atmosphere was pleasant, and the performers were entertaining.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were terribly disappointed in the qua ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were terribly disappointed in the quality of the food. The meat dishes were not worth the $36 price point. Even the kids would not eat the kids steak and they love steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great experience however food prices out ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great experience however food prices outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was marginal. My steak was over ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was marginal. My steak was overcooked and fairly tough for a $36 tenderloin. My wife's was barely edible. She had the pork chop and left over half . Terribly disappointing. I would not recommend this restaurant. We wanted to have a good meal with a Williamsburg experience, but had bad food. The dessert of bread pudding was lacking flavor. It's sauce reminded me of a thin cinnamon role icing. There's plenty of options outside the colonial part that are excellent in comparison. The appetizer of charcuterie was the best part of the meal. Sad since that's a mostly just cheese you could buy at any grocery store.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Our family visited King's Arm Tavern whi ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our family visited King's Arm Tavern while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was a bit pricey, but expected for a restaurant in the historical area, with food, dress, and music from the Colonial period. Be sure to taste the pickled watermelon. We each enjoyed our meal and would recommend the restaurant for the food and Colonial atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, historic tavern with average and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great, historic tavern with average and overpriced food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Lovely colonial atmosphere but the food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Lovely colonial atmosphere but the food is pricey and good but not great. Menu is limited but there is a kids menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had our whole family in Williamsburg. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had our whole family in Williamsburg. Eleven of us ate at King's Arms Tavern. It was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was great. My wife and I ce ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The ambiance was great. My wife and I celebrated our 51 anv. We were serenaded by two troubadours and toasted by a gentleman of the period. We received an aniv. card from you and our server jennie was tops.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere to enjoy colonial times ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great atmosphere to enjoy colonial times. Have timeshare at Kings Creek and in Williamsburg at least once a year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Open table said the only availability wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Open table said the only availability was 7:30. But we arrived at 6:30 after killing time with small kids--not the easiest--and they sat us right away. Other diners who came after us got their water, introductions, and the history of the place first. Our waiter seemed distant and not "into it" like the others. He picked up a little as time went on but there wasn't much to his portion of the evening and listening to other diners, we missed out on a lot. The pork chop itself was satisfactory but the sides were like that from a hospital cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We have eaten here several times and jus ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have eaten here several times and just love it every time. I love the location right in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg. And having the colonial theme with the servers and musicians playing music in the rooms is just so delightful. We can not get enough of the Colonial Taverns! And their peanut soup is just AMAZING!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Our waiter was excel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was delicious. Our waiter was excellent and helped us with the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a favorite of ours to visit while ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It is a favorite of ours to visit while in Colonial Williamsburg, however, it has gotten quite pricey and the menu is fairly limited. Truly you go for the atmosphere more than the food. We are a family of four and the only thing that really appealed to us on the menu was the beef tenderloin which happens to be one of the most expensive of menu items, but the others were very close in price anyway. It was good, but not spectacular. The best part of the entire meal - aside from the ambiance and the entertainment table-side, including the waiter and musician, was the dessert. We ordered the holy moly which is chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup with fresh strawberries and four spoons. We gobbled it up fairly quickly and it was indeed delicious. I would say you should go, if it is in your budget, to King's Arms once while you're on vacation in Williamsburg. We found a much better value and tasty meals as well at the Dog Street Pub down the street which we dined at 3 times during our stay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was great as always. Our waitress ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great as always. Our waitress had a thick russian accent and it was her first night. She was struggling. This was ok with us as we had eaten here before and did not need to be explained the williamsburg experience at this restaurant, but I felt for others who had never been there. They would probably not go back and I would not had that been my first experience there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We loved everything about this quaint Wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We loved everything about this quaint Williamsburg tavern! The server was so knowledgeable about the history of the food and time, the kids learned so much and so did we!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

King's Arm Tavern - take me back to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

King's Arm Tavern - take me back to the good 'ol days. The game pie was excellent and very filling. Our entire table enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second time I have been to t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is the second time I have been to the Kings Arms. Food is better than all historical taverns that I have been to. We enjoyed the server's knowledge and really enjoyed the peppermint ice cream.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.