About Kincaid Grill

6700 Jewel Lake Road
Anchorage, AK 99502
View Larger Map

At Kincaid Grill, you will find the finest in food preparation and uncompromising service. Kincaid Grill is located in a quiet West Anchorage neighborhood which lends itself to its unique sense of personal touches. Kincaid Grill is well known for being one of the finest restaurants in the Anchorage area for its quality preparation of what we call Alaskan Regional cuisine. Combining simple flavors and concentrating on the ingredients at hand, we strive for the ultimate dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Raspberry Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 243-0507

Website:
http://www.kincaidgrill.com/

Catering:
Kincaid Grill offers a full range of off-site catering options. From 25-2500, Kincaid Grill is available to exceed your expectations in fine catering. Please visit our website at www.kincaidgrill.com to view all our catering services.

Parking Details:
Kincaid Grill has its own parking. Parking is complimentary and plentiful.

Public Transit:
Located right next to the Raspberry and Jewel Lake People mover station.

Executive Chef:
Drew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
Our back dining room accommodates up to 40 guests in a private, relaxed setting. We offer complete menu options with wine pairing dinners available. Our chef is happy to put together a memorable menu with paired wines as well as work with you on all dietary and off menu requests. A minimum is required for the exclusive use of the back dining room area. Our chef's table located just off the kitchen accommodates from 6-10 guests and is rapidly becoming a very popular room for that small memorable occasion. No minimum is required for the Chef's table.

Private Party Contact:
Drew Johnson: 9072430507x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Pork Belly
  • Seafood fusion soup
  • King prawns and cheese polenta
  • Chocolate Pot de Creme
Pork Belly
Seafood fusion soup
King prawns and cheese polenta
Chocolate Pot de Creme

Kincaid Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (40)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
romantic (29)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (17)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My compliments to the chef, the food was ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My compliments to the chef, the food was amazing as always. I loved the creativity with my vegan selection. Kincaid Grill never fails to impress. And Kim rocked! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and the service were exceptiona ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and the service were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Probably the best professional waiter we ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Probably the best professional waiter we have seen in Anchorage Alaska over the last 48 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Typically stop here for appetizers and d ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Typically stop here for appetizers and drinks but chose Kincaid for a special birthday dinner. We sat in the back room and the ambiance, service, and food were perfect. This is very subjective and may not reflect the norm but I've been consistently happy with Kincaid and this is the first dining experience in quite a while that didn't fall short somewhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This kitchen always does an outstanding ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This kitchen always does an outstanding job with all of their fish preparations. I have had the salmon with mushrooms many times, as well as scallops and halibut. Teeming with flavor, nicely presented, and never overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Sweet to have such a quality bistro in S ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Sweet to have such a quality bistro in Sand Lake. Quiet atmosphere and good service. Crab cakes were outstanding! Cesar salad was tasty as was the chocolate po de creme. Don't tell your wife, the prettiest hostess on the planet.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our best meal in Anchorage! Th ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our best meal in Anchorage! The food, atmosphere, and service were all amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice place, but the food quality ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A very nice place, but the food quality is exceptional. Exceeded expectations by a mile and highly recommend for that special event where great food will be the center point of a celebration.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had not been here since last summer. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I had not been here since last summer. The food and service have if anything become better. I was greeted warmly, & immediately seated and given menu & wine list. The server explained the nightly specials, which sounded do good it was difficult to choose between the blackened halibut and the seared salmon. I opted for the king crab cakes and the blackened halibut special with broccolini & a bacon jelly....all absolutely mouth -wateringly delicious. The halibut was obviously very fresh, as it was flaky & tender, the outside charred & blackened. The homemade blueberry sorbet with fresh lavender was the perfect ending to a great meal.

Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure. Food is forest and ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a pleasure. Food is forest and outstanding. Go there every weekend posdible

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit to the Kincaide Grill was a re ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our visit to the Kincaide Grill was a real pleasure. This white tablecloth venue with a comfortable dining room, tucked away in a strip mall (what isn't in a strip mall in Anchorage?) is an excellent choice for nice dining experience. The menu is interesting, solid choices if not particularly adventurous, and the wine list covers all the bases. The service was friendly and competent. The food was nicely seasoned and the preparation was well executed and presented on nicely warmed plates, which is just an example of the attention to detail that was paid by the kitchen.

Quibbles: I'm not a big fan of the current style of piling everything into the center of the plate; the sweet potato puree upon the sauteed kale, and the duck on top of it all. Makes for a messy meal and muddles all the flavors of the side dishes.

Surprises; a menu of different coffee varietals prepared as individual cafe presse. A good meal followed by a really good cup of coffee. Only tried one dessert, but if it is any indication, they have a real talent as pastry chef.

You can't go wrong eating here. Be prepared to spend some money, but know that it is well worth the experience. The Kincaid Grill will be on out list of places worth visiting when we return to Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We were in for the first time last Frida ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were in for the first time last Friday (our 15th Anniversary) and everything was fantastic. The service, food, and atmosphere all exceeded expectations. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marvelous in every way. Thanks for as lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Marvelous in every way. Thanks for as lovely evening. The pan seared salmon was incredible!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, as usual. Wait staff ve ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was great, as usual. Wait staff very professional. Came for birthday event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Not a hater but an experienced diner off ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Not a hater but an experienced diner offering an objective viewpoint. Food was fine, not outstanding. Lamb chop appetizer was the highlight. Limited wine list, very few international selections. Exhausting wait of 2 hours for entre to arrive on a Wednesday evening. Small, crowded main dining area. Located in a strip mall and unable to shake the strip mall ambience. Kitchen staff could not keep up with volume. Restaurant tries to be more than its location, facilities and staff will allow. Although, Wait staff are to be applauded.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous food and friendly staff. We ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous food and friendly staff. We had such a good meal our first try we went back later in the week and it was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and waitstaff here are excellen ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and waitstaff here are excellent! By far one of our favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Service is fast and att ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love this place. Service is fast and attentive, food is great, and pricing is in line with many other restaurants of this caliber. Don't let the strip mall setting fool you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I took my family to Kincaid's for a cele ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I took my family to Kincaid's for a celebration since we have not dined there for over a year. Everything about the evening was fantastic. We won't wait another year to visit again.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. The food and service w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great restaurant. The food and service were outstanding. Try the steamer clams, beet salad and chicken over mushroom risotto. Hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nothing completely wowed us and the dish ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

nothing completely wowed us and the dishes were fairly predictable. at this price point, we have fairly high expectations for creativity and execution. my scallops were just slightly overcooked, but otherwise the meal was enjoyable. nothing to write home about, but nothing terrible either.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Normally my experience is 5 stars but my ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Normally my experience is 5 stars but my husbands filet migon was cooked very rare instead of medium rare like he requested. But of course he didn't send it back to be reheated but other that that it was simply superb. The food and service is always excellent. My favorite place to eat in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Crazy SLOW service.

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food. Crazy SLOW service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

It was our first time at the Kincaid Gri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

It was our first time at the Kincaid Grill & won't be our last! The food was excellent with decent portion size. Service was very good. We were celebrating a birthday & this was noted at the time the reservation was made. Usually, there is some recognition, but there was none. Not even a complimentary dessert for the birthday person. Our overall experience was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined for over 3 hours, never feeling ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We dined for over 3 hours, never feeling pushed or rushed. Our server was knowledgeable about the food, and kept her intrusions to a minimum, reading our table correctly that we were there for the evening and we wanted to revel in our celebration. The food was delicious....every bite. I highly recommend the Kodiak scallops and chocolate pot de creme. A delightful evening at our neighborhood restaurant. I recommend it often to our bed and breakfast guests.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love everything that Kincaid grill ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love everything that Kincaid grill has to offer, their service, ambiance, staff and food are all exceptional. They are a great dining experience and we recommend them to anyone who enjoys great expectations. Never a disappointment....S$T

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creative food choices never dissapoint.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Kincaid Grill is one of my favorite restaurants in Alaska. I am never disappointed about going for dinner. Chef Drew Johnson is one of the most creative in Anchorage. I have never had a bad or even mediocre meal at Kincaid Grill. The food looks beautiful when it is delivered and you can tell it never sits in the kitchen; because it is always "hot off the grill". The staff is knowledgeable about their menu and special offerings, AND the wine of course.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

(Just) Once in a lifetime

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Good food, decent, mildly annoying server. We started with the two soups on the menu, house gumbo and seafood fusion. Both were very good. The gumbo had a slightly bitter background flavor...couldn't tell if it was by design, or if some had burnt on the bottom of the pot...I like a little char flavor, so it was good regardless. Then after some non-event salads we had the fresh troll caught King Salmon "from the stakine river". I'm pretty sure it was steamed as it was very hot all the way through yet still moist right to the edge. It was accompanied with some small potatoes...very good. All told the bill for the two of us was ~$150...a bit pricey for the location (strip mall) and the food, but overall worth it for our 32nd anniversary. I don't think we'll be back at that price point, but worth going once.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was excellent - explosion of flavors.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Hat's off to the chef. Every course was another round of fabulousness. The seafood fusion soup was the best seafood soup I have ever had. I live in the neighborhood and will definitely be back for more of that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good Eats

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Local restaurant with great food (and dessert). Great for dinner, or appetizers and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Really everything is good here. I haven' ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Really everything is good here. I haven't tried anything that I didn't like. My favorite is the scallops. They are always cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The Kincaid Grill is located in an unassuming little strip mall off Raspberry and Sand Lake. This little Gem of a restaurant became known to me by word of mouth and by the way you will need reservations to get a table. The atmosphere was casual but classy. Service was top notch but stingy with the bead): We had the BBQ halibut with grilled brussel sprouts and mash potatoes along with a serving of shrimp gumbo. All of which was excellent. The menu was not priced but the prices were fair. They had a fair selection of wine and the on tap beer was superb. All in all a very enjoyable meal and would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A nice evening

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were a group of four and each ordered a different meal and all were excellent. Nice dining area, attentive waiter, great food......we will go again

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing (but only once)

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Made this reservation based on advertised tasting menu. Had a relatively early reservation (6:45), but tasting menu sold out by that time. Otherwise, enjoyed the evening. Suggest the chef plan ahead and anticipate higher demand on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Again!!

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Took family and it was wonderful. Best service and great food as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The meal was excellent. The server was busy at other tables chatting a Long time while we waited. It was our anniversary but there was no mention until we were leaving and walking out the door. It did not feel particularly special to us. We will go elsewhere for our next anniversary dinner. I guess disappointment sums up our overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great service, ok food

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was excellent, very attentive to our table. Poached pear salad was awesome, had to debate with the server on doness of my steak I wanted well done no pink and he told me the chef will cook it med-well so I changed to a different steak with request for well done and and it still came out rare, sent it back 15 min later it came back and it still was pinker then I enjoy but the rest of our table was done eating. They did take it off the bill so that was nice.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was ok, but not spectacular or up t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was ok, but not spectacular or up to the usual level we enjoy there. The steak was loaded with fat and grisle. My gumbo was bitter.

About the service....why would you sit a couple next to a large group discussing business all evening when there were plenty of other tables in the same area?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Kincaid Grill dinner for two

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyed a special birthday dinner for two. We enjoyed clams and soup, and the fresh halibut special entree was delicious. Price was more reasonable than we expected. Service was great, although a touch leisurely, but we were in no hurry. A positive experience, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

always good

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Kincaid Grill very quickly became one of our go to neighborhood place to dine. We like it for the food, atmosphere, wait staff and bonus points that we can carry on a conversation without out a lot of racket going on.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.