About Kincaid Grill

6700 Jewel Lake Road
Anchorage, AK 99502
View Larger Map

At Kincaid Grill, you will find the finest in food preparation and uncompromising service. Kincaid Grill is located in a quiet West Anchorage neighborhood which lends itself to its unique sense of personal touches. Kincaid Grill is well known for being one of the finest restaurants in the Anchorage area for its quality preparation of what we call Alaskan Regional cuisine. Combining simple flavors and concentrating on the ingredients at hand, we strive for the ultimate dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Raspberry Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 243-0507

Website:
http://www.kincaidgrill.com/

Catering:
Kincaid Grill offers a full range of off-site catering options. From 25-2500, Kincaid Grill is available to exceed your expectations in fine catering. Please visit our website at www.kincaidgrill.com to view all our catering services.

Parking Details:
Kincaid Grill has its own parking. Parking is complimentary and plentiful.

Public Transit:
Located right next to the Raspberry and Jewel Lake People mover station.

Executive Chef:
Drew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
Our back dining room accommodates up to 40 guests in a private, relaxed setting. We offer complete menu options with wine pairing dinners available. Our chef is happy to put together a memorable menu with paired wines as well as work with you on all dietary and off menu requests. A minimum is required for the exclusive use of the back dining room area. Our chef's table located just off the kitchen accommodates from 6-10 guests and is rapidly becoming a very popular room for that small memorable occasion. No minimum is required for the Chef's table.

Private Party Contact:
Drew Johnson: 9072430507x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Kincaid Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
15 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Notable Wine List
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (58)
fit for foodies (48)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
romantic (37)
notable wine list (29)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

(Just) Once in a lifetime

Dined 5 days ago

Good food, decent, mildly annoying server. We started with the two soups on the menu, house gumbo and seafood fusion. Both were very good. The gumbo had a slightly bitter background flavor...couldn't tell if it was by design, or if some had burnt on the bottom of the pot...I like a little char flavor, so it was good regardless. Then after some non-event salads we had the fresh troll caught King Salmon "from the stakine river". I'm pretty sure it was steamed as it was very hot all the way through yet still moist right to the edge. It was accompanied with some small potatoes...very good. All told the bill for the two of us was ~$150...a bit pricey for the location (strip mall) and the food, but overall worth it for our 32nd anniversary. I don't think we'll be back at that price point, but worth going once.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent - explosion of flavors.

Dined 6 days ago

Hat's off to the chef. Every course was another round of fabulousness. The seafood fusion soup was the best seafood soup I have ever had. I live in the neighborhood and will definitely be back for more of that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Eats

Dined on May 14, 2016

Local restaurant with great food (and dessert). Great for dinner, or appetizers and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 12, 2016

The Kincaid Grill is located in an unassuming little strip mall off Raspberry and Sand Lake. This little Gem of a restaurant became known to me by word of mouth and by the way you will need reservations to get a table. The atmosphere was casual but classy. Service was top notch but stingy with the bead): We had the BBQ halibut with grilled brussel sprouts and mash potatoes along with a serving of shrimp gumbo. All of which was excellent. The menu was not priced but the prices were fair. They had a fair selection of wine and the on tap beer was superb. All in all a very enjoyable meal and would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were a group of four and each ordered a different meal and all were excellent. Nice dining area, attentive waiter, great food......we will go again

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing (but only once)

Dined on April 24, 2016

Made this reservation based on advertised tasting menu. Had a relatively early reservation (6:45), but tasting menu sold out by that time. Otherwise, enjoyed the evening. Suggest the chef plan ahead and anticipate higher demand on the weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Again!!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Took family and it was wonderful. Best service and great food as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 23, 2016

The meal was excellent. The server was busy at other tables chatting a Long time while we waited. It was our anniversary but there was no mention until we were leaving and walking out the door. It did not feel particularly special to us. We will go elsewhere for our next anniversary dinner. I guess disappointment sums up our overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service, ok food

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was excellent, very attentive to our table. Poached pear salad was awesome, had to debate with the server on doness of my steak I wanted well done no pink and he told me the chef will cook it med-well so I changed to a different steak with request for well done and and it still came out rare, sent it back 15 min later it came back and it still was pinker then I enjoy but the rest of our table was done eating. They did take it off the bill so that was nice.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was ok, but not spectacular or up t ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Food was ok, but not spectacular or up to the usual level we enjoy there. The steak was loaded with fat and grisle. My gumbo was bitter. About the service....why would you sit a couple next to a large group discussing business all evening when there were plenty of other tables in the same area?

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kincaid Grill dinner for two

Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyed a special birthday dinner for two. We enjoyed clams and soup, and the fresh halibut special entree was delicious. Price was more reasonable than we expected. Service was great, although a touch leisurely, but we were in no hurry. A positive experience, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good

Dined on April 2, 2016

Kincaid Grill very quickly became one of our go to neighborhood place to dine. We like it for the food, atmosphere, wait staff and bonus points that we can carry on a conversation without out a lot of racket going on.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant atmosphere and upscale service. ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Elegant atmosphere and upscale service. We will return much more.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently creative and elegant. One o ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Consistently creative and elegant. One of the few quiet restaurants where guests can enjoy conversation with one another.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

My compliments to the chef for yet another fantastic gourmet vegan meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on March 11, 2016

From the moment we walked in on Thursday evening to the moment we left. If you have not been, do not let the strip mall location fool you! The inside is classy and comfortable. There is a small bar area so don't plan to go in with a big group and hang out at the bar. It's not that kind of place. If you are looking for a place that is intimate, this is it. The service is attentive but not in your face.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kincaid Grill is intimate and one of the best

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a company dinner for 6 employees and spouses and one last-minute addition to our party. although I had attempted to use the online to add the person, the restaurant did not get the additional person; however, they quickly added the place setting and chair. Although Kincaid Grill is a small restaurant, service is very good and accommodating. Food and wine questions were answered knowledgeably.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good times at Kincade grill

Dined on March 2, 2016

Very good dinner. Small portions but prepared to perfection. It is a tradition now for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary at Kincaid Grill. Recommend everyone that is looking for a fine dining experience in Anchorage give it a try. The only problem is that parking can be a little tough.....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 28, 2016

As always, Kincaid Grill delivered! The food, service, and overall experience is amazing! Makes us forget we're in Alaska.....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, as usual.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Been here several times in the last 3 years and I was glad to see that the food and the service are still top notch. I always go with sea food but this time decided to try the braised short ribs. They were excellent. First time I had something different than sea food was I was gladly impressed. Steamed clams in coconut curry broth is excellent. I always ask for extra thai chilis for an extra kick, be careful, they are really hot. Oven roasted Oyster are also excellent, you can't go wrong with any of the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Bad night in the kitchen

Dined on February 24, 2016

Normally the food is really good. But this time the wait was really long to get our food. We were told the kitchen was running behind, however when we got our food my friends steak was cold and my duck was only lukewarm. A really disappointing night. Disappointment is understandable when paying $20 for your whole mean, but unacceptable when your tab is over $100.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Great Food

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

We can always count on Kincaid Grill for great food in a comfortable environment. Good size portions and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

everything was top notch

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great. Wish the original menu was avalible. The portions for the vday menu were a little small. Everything was great though. Our server was the best. I will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a lovely Valentine's Day meal. Taster menu was wonderful. The service was exemplary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite for this group of foodies.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We dine out quite a bit. If you want a meal or appetizer that you don't walk away from disappointed or feeling cheated, go to this little hole in the wall on Jewel Lake. It is the very best in Anchorage, and we have tried them all from the down to basics of Taco King (which we enjoy as our fast food stop) to the Top of Alyeska (which we love for the view)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kincaid grill is a precious gem!

Dined on February 7, 2016

We have eaten @ Kincaid grill many times, they are exquisite. Atmosphere, acousticly, service and food are number one. Best hands down in alaska! S&T

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Kincaid Grill is one of my favorite rest ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Kincaid Grill is one of my favorite restaurants. I'm not just talking in Anchorage, I'm talking anywhere. It rivals restaurants in Seattle, Portland, & Las Vegas. Which is saying a lot, as those cities have numerous really good restaurants. The food presentation at KG is superb. It is always plated beautifully. You can't wait to dig in based solely on what it looks like. Then when you taste it you're in for a real treat. Every dish I've ever had there has been mouthwatering and full of delicious and enticing flavors. They have a fabulous wine list to compliment your meal regardless of what you order. Save room for dessert if you can, you won't be disappointed. Here are some of my personal favorites: Seafood Fusion Soup, Poached Pear Salad, King Prawn, Fresh Alaskan Salmon, Chocolate Bourbon Soufflé. Enjoy!

food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a very good dining experience.

Dined on February 5, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine they were excellent. The one thing we were not happy with is that the chairs are uncomfortable. There needs to be more padding on the seat bottoms.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Delicious

Dined on January 29, 2016

Everyone needs to make a living, but I'd love to enjoy Kincaid Grill without feeling like I was paying for the owner's yacht. Nonetheless, the place was almost full, so I must just be a cheapskate ($250 plus tip for 3). The service and cuisine was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Kinkaid Grill

Dined on January 24, 2016

My wife and I have always enjoyed our times at Kinkaid Grill. Service is always exceptional and the food very well prepared and delicious !! This last time I had the Seafood stew dish, Cioppino, and it was the best I've ever eaten!!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was good, but not outstanding

Dined on January 17, 2016

Nothing notable to set it apart from any other fine dining restaurant. Service was on the slow side. Menu seemed uninspired.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful Dinner

Dined on January 13, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and everyone had a very nice time. I was most impressed that our waiter spoke to the chef concerning substitutions with the menu. The food and wine were wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always

Dined on January 10, 2016

Kincaid Grill was amazing as always. This visit was for my birthday, my family enjoyed the food as much as I did. I had the special which was Rockfish and the preparation was lovely. Our server had a large group in addition to other tables but his service was still impeccable. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Find

Dined on January 10, 2016

First visit. Excellent experience. Not cheap. But we'll worth the money. Our sever was knowledgeable and helped us make good decisions. Food plating and preparation was very good. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional!

Dined on January 8, 2016

We have been wanting to go to Kincaid Grill for years and we finally did to celebrate my husband's birthday. Everything was perfect! Our server was very professional yet pleasant and friendly. The food was outstanding! We will definitely go there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner and service. The food ...

Dined on January 8, 2016

Fantastic dinner and service. The food was excellent. The beef Wellington is a must try.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad to be there again!

Dined on January 7, 2016

I haven't been there in a few years and that's a mistake! We'll visit Kincaid Grill more frequently in the future. Wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Wonderful taster-menu for New Year's Eve. Great food. Our favorites were the arugula/leak soup with a scallop and the filet. Dessert was great also. Least favorite was the ravioli. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a Pleasure!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a lovely dinner with friends. The chef did an AMAZING job with my vegan cannoli :) Thank you for always being accommodating and creative. The service was OUTSTANDING, I know we all appreciated and enjoyed the wine suggestions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place to celebrate a special occasion

Dined on December 30, 2015

Fabulous as always! Freshest oysters. Loved the seafood fusion soup-could have stopped there, it is so divine. Scallops rocked. My husband had a perfect fillet. They treated us to desserts for our anniversary. I had the chocolate souffle and loved it, though I'm not really a chocolate fan. Yummy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.