Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

About Kimball's Kitchen

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Modern Decor (2)
Waterfront (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Food service for entrée very slow. Over 75 minutes to get main course. Way to long! Bread service took over 30 minutes. We were told they were baking more, and when it finally came out it was not warm. Also might think about having bread server fill water glasses. Seemed very under staffed. Our water glasses ran dry on two occasions and we noticed at one point there was NO servers in the entire dining area. If you want big steak house prices - provide the same level of service.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

First class restaurant, high quality food and service. Table next to window (as requested) afforded extraordinary views of sunset. Superb wine list but somewhat pricy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I had a lovely meal, very well prepared and served. The wine steward and waitress were excellent. I would highly recommend dining at Kimball's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

outstanding service, very relaxing, great food. perfect for foodies who want a leisurely meal with amazing view

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In Outer banks for a quick three day get a way. Kimballs was across the street from our hotel. Our waitess Leslie was a special plus. She was professional, friendly, knew the menu well and answered all our questions. Came back the next night not only about the restaurant but also her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was very good-food very salty. Not sure which way to tip the scale. Nevertheless will return next season for a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We always go there when in town. To us it is the best restaurant in the Outer Banks, great food, great employees great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Stunning location especially around sunset. Good food, though limited vegetarian options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My husband and pride ourselves being foodies. We will try everything, eat anything, go anywhere. Kimball's was by far the best dining experience we have ever had. It was romantic, the service imbecile, the food beyond orgasmic. Every detail fit together and it was perfect. I highly highly recommend it. Treat yourself.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

fabulous meal brussel sprouts were huge hit with my group... very large portion size!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

2nd time at Kimbal's . It remains a very good restaurant choice on the Outer Banks. Nice location and very well done modern restaurant layout. Open kitchen with the head chef watching over the dishes as they are prepared and served. Food is very good to excellent. It is not cheap....but also reasonable for the quality it presents. We will be back again. Enjoyed it ...and took friends there this visit. Thanks to the staff and kitchen .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It was everything we expected except the food. Presentation was average , seafood on the tower was not very fresh, shrimp overcooked, grilled Caesar salad seemed only partially grilled. Won't recommend it to anyone until we try under the new chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

An elegant restaurant for when you want to get away from sun screen, flip flops and deep fried foods. The menu includes many wonderful selections. The veal chop was superb and the oysters entrée was the best my wife has tasted. They have an extensive wine list. Appetizers and deserts were also a hit. The service is spot on and the bartender makes a great martini. The tables are far enough apart which allows you to enjoy quiet conversation. The view is great as well. We vacation in the Outer Banks every year and Kimball's Kitchen will always be included in our plans.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Usually excellent so may have just been an off night. Service was great. Food is where it feel short. Had the seafood tower the lobster and shrimp were excellent but the oysters were below average you would expect a selection of good oysters here but all are very average. This evening three from VA and one from NY. Had the filet and mushroom bread pudding both were just warm, always served on a metal plate which is usually hot but this too was cold? Both were better as leftovers next day at the right temperature. The bread pudding was also just warm but the portion was huge and had excellent flavor. The bread has been disappointing this year it is served with a lovely trio of butter, salt and oil but the let down is a choice of whole wheat or sourdough roll you can find in the supermarket. Wine list has shrunk over the past few years but still has some nice selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

What a wonderful place. The staff paid attention to all details, showed great teamwork but yet was unobtrusive. The food was excellent. My husband stated it was the best swordfish he had ever had. My pasta with truffle and poached duck egg was out of this world. We wish we lived closer! Well worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very overpriced for what you get. $15 for a martini?! And $40 for the dinner special which wasn't particularly good. Nice atmosphere, but plenty of other nice places in the area with way better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

one of the best meals I've had in OBX, we stayed at the Sanderling so it was just across 12 but it is worth the drive from anywhere from say up from Nags Head or down from Corolla

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We go to Kimball's kitchen every time we are in the Outer Banks. We are never disappointed. Both the food and service are excellent. The sunset views are outstanding. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service left a lot to be desired. The server was over loaded with too many tables. Drinks took a while to get. The table next to us, after the customers left, remained uncleaned for more than 15 minutes.-- unacceptable for a 4 star restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We dined late but our food was not served hot. Luke warm at best for my she crab soup and grilled shrimp. The bread was also a bit stale. Oysters and Tuna were great although Tuna also not very hot. Flavors nice but presentation lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a good experience overall, but there were definitely problems. One, I asked several questions on my reservation request and no one responded. Guess you don't actually read them? Two, it was very loud. I was hoping to have a conversation with my wife of 25 years (that's what we were celebrating) but we had to shout most of the time. Not fun. Three, my wife ordered a margarita, salted, on the rocks, but apparently your bartender felt his special recipe was better than anyone else's. My wife's lips were on fire because you use jalapeno's in your recipe. It would have been nice if it were mentioned when we ordered it, but she tried to drink it. However, she had to send it back for a new one since she just couldn't take it. The waiter took it back and when he returned it was the exact same drink only more diluted. Really? She took one sip, called the waiter and had to tell him that she wanted one that did not include anything related to jalapeno's. The one she ended up with was sub-par at best. Finally, the steak she received was terrible. I can cook one better than that and I'm not a chef! For the price we paid for this dinner, I expected things far better than this. I guess some folks just accept what you do since you're so "upscale", but us normal folks think your restaurant needs lots of work. We will not be returning and not recommending it to anyone. Least to say, we were very disappointed. It ruined everything good about your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Kimball's Kitchen. Last year's dinner was good but there was room for improvement. This year we decided to try it again and I'm sorry to say this visit was less satisfying than the last. 4 of 8 dinners were good 3 were ok but one was almost inedible. This one was the $36 Kobe burger with an egg on top. It was sent back to the kitchen to have the egg cooked because the egg white was not at all. The taste was very bland and my guest could not get over the mushy texture and the strong metallic taste. He is not new to Kobe beef and has enjoyed it numerous times while living in NYC.
Aside from the mediocre food, the service was poor at best. We were never asked if we would care for another cocktail and had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled. The waiter never returned to ask how the food was either. In fairness, the manager did return after the burger was brought back out and asked how it was. After hearing how disappointed my guest was with the meal, he indicated that he would take it off the bill, but never did. I'm sorry to say that we will not return to this restaurant. It's very unfortunate that the food and service is not better because the location and ambience have such potential.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The melon, Caesar and tomato salads were excellent! The steak was perfect, scallops were solid and chocolate duo was a huge hit!

The ambiance was completely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great anniversary dinner at Kimballs. Nice cocktail and wine list. Amazing sunset views over Currituck sound. Very nice place without being pretentious. Fairly small and quiet. Good for conversation. We were happy with everything we ordered. She crab soup and oysters rockefellar for starters. Both very good and would recommend. Fresh catch was tile fish over wild mushroom risotto and was delIcious. My husband got the strip steak and enjoyed that as well. They finished us with a couple macaroons. Would definitely go again for a special occasion when back out that way!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The Kitchen was where we seated even tho there was only one other couple. Added a lobster tail (small) to my filet for $20 extra and it was cold, butter was some unknown concoction. All in all, a mediocre experience for $200!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was stellar and made the whole meal an experience to remember. We ate hear on our week-long vacation and it was the best food we had! It was an upscale and elegant setting with casual undertones of people on vacation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

A lovely setting, delicious food, exceptional service. Great for dining and watching the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fantastic sunset view, excellent food and service! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went scrambling for a dinner reservation on a change-over day in Corrola and was able to grab a last minute table for 2 at Kimball's on Open Table. My wife and I split the tuna app and both had the filet (she had the herb butter which was terrific, I went the au poivre route which was ok - not great) along with the creamed spinach and mashed potatoes. Everything was very good. The most exciting thing was the first solid wine list they offered. They were sold out of the bottle we wanted, but the sommelier made an outstanding recommendation - if you like cabs, try the Ghost Block). We'll be back next year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ambiance and good food go only so far and cannot be out weigh by being overpriced. My only complaint are the prices. $17 for a glass a wine, really?

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We all enjoyed the experience and food. I ordered the 28oz wagyu ribeye, it was worth the price. My wife had the filet, it was excellent as well. The service was also very good. A true fine dining experience. The best steak I've had on the OBX without a doubt. It's expensive but I think it's worth it. I will return the next time I'm here on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The atmosphere and service at Kimball's Kitchen is wonderful and very unique with being right on the water. Our service was great and the staff was very attentive. I do have to admit the food was not as good as I had anticipated. The oysters and cocktails were great but my salad was over salted and the main dish for what I paid could have been more flavorful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoyed the food and overall dining experience. However, I think their menu is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Seated at reserved time, appetizers were good, tuna entry and rack of lamb excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food. Staff responsive to request to move reservation up a half hour. Spotty table service...did not feel we had adequate attention from our waitress--slow wine delivery; tried to take the men's orders before the ladies and so forth. Food servers were okay except they removed plates before we were all finished eating. We generally thought the level of wait staff professionalism should have been much higher considering what Kimball's promises and the prices charged.
Beautiful interior; reasonably priced wine and good selection. Creative options for entrees. Very nice presentation of food. Way too dark to read the menu and to see the red snapper on my plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of our diners had to return steak a few times to get it right. Two other steaks were fine. Pasta course was bland (no salt) rack of lamb was mediocre at best and not worth the price . Dessert sorbet selection was unusual and the addition of black pepper was distracting. The sunset was amazing but not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Significant decline in overall experience since last summer. The oysters were not fresh. Service seemed to take forever. The steaks were not seasoned. It's just not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

overall, a high priced dining experience in a really nice spot. decor was very well done but it has very high ceilings with lots of wood, so the sound bounces around like a ping pong ball. It was almost impossible to hear any one at our table of 4. Service is on the slow side. 60 minutes from sitting down until we were served our food. one steak was over done and the staff responded very quickly to replace it. the presentation of the food for all our meals was very well done.
For these prices in a major city, you would expect a higher level of attention and service. potentially on the island, that is too high of an expectation. but very good food, presented well, in a very loud environment where you are not eating in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. Forgot to ask the wait staff of the price but they should include the information when giving specials not on menu. Saw diners wearing shirts without collars. Thought they had a dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on the sound. Pricey but worth it, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.