Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

About Kimball's Kitchen

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly or parties of 6 or more.

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
May 2nd-October 21st: 5:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly for parties of 6 or more.)
Sunday Brunch:
May 38th-October 8th: 11:00am-3:00pm seatings available

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Monday.

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (48)
Waterfront (48)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The entire dining experience was exceptional. The wait staff was non-intrusive yet attentive polite and very accommodating . The food was delicious! And the sunset that we enjoyed next to the window seat was amazing that evening . We never felt rushed and lingered over s long and enjoyable dinner. Would highly recommend this place as a special occasion restaurant .

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Every thing is excellent but the their prices for a glass of wine are outrageous.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best meal we had in Duck. Filet was perfect.
Bone marrow was so,very good. Great wine selection. Service and ambiance was perfect. Ate in all the restuarants in Duck and Kimball kitchen was the best. Hoping they serve thanksgiving dinner??, will definitely go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I dine at Kimball's once a year when I visit The Sanderling Resort for our summer beach visit from VA and am never disappointed. I really enjoyed the new lobster pasta dish. Our server was very charming and attentive. We were fortunate to get there in time to see the sunset. It was a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a window table when we had dinner on Thursday night and enjoyed a beautiful sunset. Meal was terrific and our server was very knowledgable. Overall a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Wonderful experience in every way! Thanks for a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is not the most inexpensive meal in Duck, but the food is very good. If you have $125+ (for 2 people) to drop on a meal, then visit Kimball's.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

First time there and didn't know what to expect...... was totally blown away!! This place did not disappoint! Service, ambiance, view w/ amazing sunset, etc. Will definitely be going back!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We dined here in August of 2017.
The view is great with a perfect sunset.
We had a fabulous dinner, but the star of the dinner was the fish dinners. We split the Bison Tartar which is extremely strong and gamey (not that it was bad). The portion was tremendous. The Heirloom Tomato and Watermelon was very good and fresh ingredients.
The Local Line Caught Grilled Swordfish is spectacular and we also had a fish special which was a white fish in a red wine sauce and this dish was the rock star of the night.
We split the Carmelized Brussels Sprouts which were good not great, a little soft and no crisp or crunch.
The last dish we had was the Veal Porterhouse Chop. The chop was cooked perfect medium rare. The veal was missing some flavor, it was just plain, but a nice looking veal chop.
The desserts were not very impressive so we passed on them and got ice cream in Duck.
Wine prices are about 2x the cost, lower than Dc and New York but pretty high for this area.
Look around the list and you will find a good bottle at a fair price.

We will go back.
Service was perfect.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband and I had our best meal on the Outer Banks at Kimball's Kitchen. The service was excellent. We will definite eat dinner here again. It was better than the Blue Point.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful dining experience at Kimball's Kitchen. The food was delicious and the service was phenomenal! The chef was very accommodating to my vegetarian diet and they offered half size entrees for my daughter.
The staff were all very kind and helpful. We have dined here before during our stays at the Sanderling and have never been disappointed. We are looking forward to returning again next summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great service and great food define our visit to Kimball's Kitchen.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Me, wife and daughter out for dinner. We ordered Smoked Oyster and She Crab Soup, Caesar Salad, Heirloom Tomato and Watermelon Salad, Shrimp Cocktail, Lobster Mafalda, off menu Mushroom Mafalda, and seared Wanchese Scallops, all to share. Had a couple drinks as well. We were very pleased with all the food and drink and the service was top notch. Great view, looking out at the sound.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Wonderful food and ambiance. Our table enjoyed the lobster pasta, scallops, steak- all very good. We felt like it was a bit overpriced though. But still great, we would go back next we are at the beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wife and I shared the wagyu ribeye, which was succulent and cooked perfectly. Wasn't crazy about my oyster appetizer (baked with cheese, etc), but everything else was very good. Expensive but the experience was worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is a very special spot for sunset dinner in Duck, NC. No other places as nice or with such wonderful food and service in OBX that I know. You can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal!! Everything was perfection!! My favorite place on the island!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My reservation was for 7:30pm to enjoy the sunset while we ate. We were there at 7:30, but our table by the window to see the sunset was not ready until 8:00pm, and the sunset was gone. The restaurant made our reservation useless. Food followed the same pattern. I ordered a filet rare, and it came out close to medium. The evening was topped off by being overcharged $30 for a bottle of wine. The restaurant did correct the overcharge. I would not recommend this restaurant. We found two other restaurants with better views, better food, and better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was wonderful from start to end! Food presentation was great but the quality and taste did not match to price. The Life Saving Station has a better prepared and seasoned steak for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Terrible service throughout the meal. Slow to get to ordering or drinks or waiting for table to be cleared when we were finished, pouring our own wine throughout. Food came out quickly, too quickly based on service. For such an expensive restaurant a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Most of the food was really good. Everyone enjoyed their appetizers and salads, and the steak entrees were great. $28 for German spaetzel with some sweet potato cooked into it? Please. Server was a snob and she along with staff were quite hurried. For as much as we paid for this meal, we should have been able to finish our meal entirely without feeling like we're holding someone from a hot date. Good grief. The staff was quite eager for us to get on with our meal. Overall, we enjoyed the ambiance and most of the meal. There was nothing that would make me recommend Kimball's Kitchen over many of the other fine and delicious restaurants on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overpriced mediocre food. Terrible service. Waitress was condescending and rude. This was our third year going. First year was terrible but we heard it got better so we went back last year. Last year it was delicious and staff were friendly. This year it seemed to have reverted back to its old ways. All the other servers seemed nice, I guess we just lucked out with miss grumpy!! Also it's on a family resort so it would be nice to have some food options for kids and young adults

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Made reservations for 3 . Was seated initially at a table meant for 2. They added a chair at the middle. In fact there were several tables available along the window all during our dinning a four top sat empty. My husband is 6 ft 5 this was not going to work with the lack of leg room . We were moved to an inside table close to the kitchen, which was fine. The shades were put down during the sunset? Many patrons were not happy. Our server left us sitting during dinner and never checked back after the meal was placed out. Once cleaned up (from a helper) we sat idol for 20-25 mins? The manager never table touched to ask about our experience ? We live in corolla 6-7 months a yr and love the Sanderling , in fact when the reno was taking place on the life saving restaurant we frequently dinned at the kimballs location but with the other menu. The service was spot on than and preferred the menu, the mussels were fabulous . I made reservations six days a head and requested a window seat and as I stated a four top sat vacant during our entire stay ? We waited 15-20 mins for our first round of drinks, perhaps a bartender dedicated to dinners and one for bar top would help. Our food was delicious and will be the reason we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service was second to none. Excellent service, and the food was fantastic. One of the best steaks I have had. The sunset is truly a diary moment, and we had the best table in the place. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We loved your restaurant to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Our waiter was especially nice and accommodating. The food was delicious. Our waiter fixed on a plate with raspberry syrup happy 50th anniversary and put two small yummy cookies with a candle on the plate. Just a wonderful way to celebrate our special occasion. Thank you!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The ambience is very nice, but the food tasted boring and is overpriced. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had both Sunday brunch and dinner another day. Brunch was good but potatoes were cold. Dinner was outrageously priced and food was just OK. Caesar salad was a block of romaine with cheese and a little of some dressing that didn't taste like Caesar. Filet Mignon was OK but had better at The Paper Canoe the night before. Lobster pasta dish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

One of my all time favorites. Everything about this restaraunt is fantastic. The food, the wine, the device and special touches are all wonderful. I love it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had a very good meal at Kimball's Kitchen, but for an inflated price tag. Here in Duck, we have had some great meals, and this was the least value for the money. Service was matter-of-fact, but not helpful with the menu. Foix gras appetizer was phenomenal. Swordfish main dish at $41 was good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very disappointed that there was no fish special that evening. Understandable because of the rain storm all day. Also, my husband's appetizer was cold. Otherwise we had a delicious dinner and anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great spot on the OBX. Sound side with sunset view!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Outstanding by every measure. Especially liked how the steak portion of the menu had a list of toppings so you can create your own version of surf and turf combo. Loved that you order a few side dishes for the table to pass around. My new favorite restaurant on the Outer Banks!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were seated promptly and handed menus and the wine list. A few minutes later, a woman came over and laid 2 glasses filled with about 2 ounces of a creamy orange liquid down on our table. She never said a word. About 5 minutes later she came over to put a candle on our table so I asked her what was in the glasses. She said "gazpacho". I asked for a spoon and she said I didn't need one, and then made a motion indicating I should just drink it. Later, we were greeted by our waiter Jim who was quite friendly and professional. Food was very good. My only very small issue is that 2 other staff member asked us if we wanted more bread and we said "yes" but no on bread ever arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

First off, John our waiter was awesome! He took great care of us and made sure our first dinner on 1 st year anniversary was everlasting! The food was off the charts, I had the Tomahawk and my wife had the lobster pasta. The creme brulee was the best I ever had, no joke. Thank you Jon and thank you Kim ball's we will be returning every year!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Two years in a row, and they still can't figure out how to properly grill a steak. Our server was wonderful, but she was forced to cover for the kitchen's faults throughout the entire dinner. For the price, this was a very low-quality meal. Poor value. Nice dining space. This restaurant could be so much more. I hope they get it figured out soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and i called ahead to request a table with a view and something special for dessert. None of that happened. Service at the table was extremely slow, we had multiple servers, some never identified themselves, and no one apologized for the wait, or offered us anything to make up for the fact that it was an inordinate amount of time between courses. A lot of waitstaff walking around but apparently no one managing the overall process. Special mention however to the bartender, Randall ?, who was extremely accommodating and attentive while we waited for our table to open ....we should've just stayed at the bar would've been a much better experience. It is a shame for such a beautiful facility to have such Mediocre service; we'd think twice before going back and spending that kind of money for an average and honestly frustrating dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Kimball's Kitchen. The service and food was excellent and the view was spectacular! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We have eaten here since the restaurant first opened as the fine dining restaurant, The Left Bank some years ago. It was wonderful! Continued to eat at Kimball's Kitchen every year since. And while we Understand that menus change to fit changing times, we have been disappointed time and again by the overly prepared seafood dishes (leave out the bacon, please!). Steaks are stil reliable choices. I would recommend it only with qualifications. Service is good, although the kitchen neglected to make our two sides choices. Sommelier was very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Third or forth time returning. Great food and drinks, as always.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This was our third time dining at this gem and by far our best. There was an exhaust problem in the kitchen (our son is in restaurant supply and he said this is an expensive fix to make so it will probably take place off season) but it did not alter our enjoyment of the evening. The food was amazing, beautifully served. The view is gorgeous of the bay. We ate each course with gusto and enjoyed special cocktails with oysters. Our server Jimmy was such fun and we enjoyed him immensely. Our visit last year was not as fantastic mainly due to the server and Jimmy made us want to return again and again. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.