Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

About Kimball's Kitchen

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
May 2nd-October 21st: 5:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)
Sunday Brunch:
May 38th-October 8th: 11:00am-3:00pm seatings available

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Monday.

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Waterfront (27)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Scenic View (24)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

When we arrived, the restaurant was smokey. We thought something burnt in the kitchen, but it turns out there is an air conditioning issue, so they have a temporary unit which is too close to the kitchen ventilation. The waitress informed us that it was the best it has been in over three weeks. The building is beautiful with a great view. The food was very good and the wine was reasonably priced. Still a $500 dinner for four with two sharing a meal and one vegetarian that got only sides. Doug the sommelier was awesome. I would go back, but only after the air conditioning/ventilation issue is fixed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent place for dinner and watching the sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great place. Will go back. Setting, food, wine and service are outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and wine selection. Attentive and welcoming staff. Sets itself apart from all other restaurants locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Anniversary
Beautiful to view sunset. Food outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a great dinner here, including a lovely gimlet, an interesting watermelon salad, potato pancakes with caviar, good swordfish and filet, and scallops. Nice wine list.

The disappointment was chicken and waffles-- waffles were good, but chicken medallions included some gristly areas. Not acceptable at those prices.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Exquisite local cuisine. Escape to a relaxing, fine dining experience during your stay. . . you will be pleased. Kimball's Kitchen exemplifies exceptional culinary skill and service.
Thank you, Kimball's Kitchen, for the convivial evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The best meal ever, ever, ever!! Thank you Kimballs Kitchen and Sanderling!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great Beer, People Watching, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good night away from the family on vacation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Unbelievable ambiance with a gorgeous sound view. So much better than when it was left bank! Ghastly expensive but absolutely delicious. I had scallops with lump crab and although slightly cooler than I would have liked, still delicious. Only downside was the ridiculous wine pour! 20 dollar glass should be at least 4 oz, and I kid you not, I received about a 2.5 oz pour. Also, behind bar could be tidier. Love open kitchen! Daughter had lanb and it was surreal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have not found a "favorite" Outer Banks Restaurants since Elizabeth's closed several years ago. We have tried Aqua and The Blue Pointe - but each year we are a bit disappointed by our one "fancy" night out on vacation. This year was a welcome surprise - and our new FAVORITE Outer Banks vacation date night. Our waiter, Jon, was wonderful. Great sense of humor and all of his recommendations (Bloody Mary, Foie Gras and Bread Pudding) were perfect! The view of the sound was beautiful even though we had just had a huge storm - and the food was above and beyond. My husband had a Filet and I had the Scallops. They were both fabulous....and I would highly recommend. We will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely place and very good food. The noise level was high and the acoustics so poor that we had to really lean across the table for the 4 of us to have any conversation. While the service was good, we all felt rushed - and we were! Cocktails, appetizers, entree and dessert and we were out of there in one hour. Not what I would have wanted in a $$$$ restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My husband and I wanted a good date night place while vacationing with family, and Kimball's Kitchen provided just what we wanted. Our meals were very good, as was the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Truly the most amazing restaurant - good service, excellent food and sunset views to die for...
Do not miss the chance if you are in the Outer Banks!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Everything was great. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Simply outstanding in every way. Certainly the best dining experience in the Outer Banks and we have tried them all over the past 20+ years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful restaurant
We will dine there when we visit again

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was very good, especially swordfish & tenderloin. Portions were healthy. Wine list very good. Lots of choices and knowledgeable wait staff. Definitely a must if you're in or around Duck, NC.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our meals all exceeded our expectations My bison steak was superb- cooked perfectly. The fish was likewise excellent. Every part of the meal was top-notch. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Kimball's Kitchen was the perfect restaurant for our anniversary dinner. After indulging in massages at the spa next door, we took in the view of the sunset with a decadent dinner made up of local ingredients carefully curated into a mouthwatering presentation. Leave room for dessert. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Celebrated Fether's Day with kids home from college. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and wine service. Custom cocktails were wonderful to start the celebration. Knowledgeable sommelier offered interesting pairings for wine with dinner that we truly enjoyed. Food is locally sourced, beautifully prepared. Service was flawless. It's a rare treat that we can get all of our kids in the same place at the same time, let alone for a whole evening. This dinner made a special occasion even more memorable because of the wonderful meal, ambience and flawless service. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Seasonal, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 15, 2017

ambiance was nice. service was good. both our steak very overcooked. for > $200 meal, I would say very poor value. would not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful evening,sat us at the window overlooking the water. Excellent service...thank you Destiny. Great place for special occasions. T&P

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Celebrated two anniversaries (70th & 45th) and wanted a restaurant more upscale. Atmosphere was just what we were looking for. Food was very good and service was excellent. I called a day in advance and asked if Kimball's could put a few flowers on the table for the occasion. They did and the flowers were right out of their own garden. They looked great. Price was reasonable for five adult diners. Will return on the next special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had a "no kids dinner" while on vacation with my wife. We dined at Kimballs previously and it was everything that we remembered. Food was amazing and service was top notch. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a upscale dinner while in the OBX.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Best. Dinner. Ever. I would highly recommend this place!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We've lived in the Outer Banks for the past five years and this was our first visit to Kimball's Kitchen. We avoid Duck, Sanderling and Corolla in the summer but this was early June and our wedding anniversary, so we were treating ourselves to a new experience.

The pluses: Wonderful ala carte menu with large meat options. We chose the 22 oz cajun ribeye and shared it, ordering fingerling au gratin potatoes, Brussel sprouts, creamed spinach, a wedge salad and a Soundside Seasonal Salad to go along with it. I must say that we enjoyed everything we ordered. All dishes were tasty, contained interesting ingredients and left us more than full. I can't forget the strawberry cream puff. The server said she and her kids picked the strawberries that day. It was delicious! The service was impeccable...I wish I could remember our servers name. She was very knowledge on the wines, made recommendations for choices under each category and was right on hand when we needed her but was not overbearing. In addition the view is wonderful of the sound and marsh...a beautiful choice for sunset.

The minuses: There were many open tables, even one near a window which we had requested when we made our reservation. Instead of placing us in a better location we were placed right next to a large table of at least 18 people including a fussy baby, and several small children who sat together at the far end of the table (next to our table). As soon as we sat down the baby started crying loudly. The hostess still placed us there. My husband had to go out and ask her if we could have the table by the window instead. She kindly moved us but I saw it as a bit thoughtless since so many other tables were available. Secondly, the leather chairs for seating around the tables are tired. The cushions sink in and you feel like you are too low for the table. Prices are a bit on the high side.

Considering the pluses and minuses I would definitely return. We had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere with delicious food. The fresh local line caught swordfish was tasty and tender . The speciality potatoe a must have and strawberry shortcake puff pastry was flakey, warm and the perfect ending. Gorgeous view of the sunset and water. Attentive service. Great evening of dining @ Kimball's Kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food! We loved the menu and had the pleasure of meeting the chef. He has done a terrific job of incorporating numerous dishes with his own distinct flair on each.
Certainly a must try if you are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Kimballs never disappoints. Had a special occasion, any everyone went above and beyond to make it a special night. As always, your staff, cuisine and atmosphere is above reproach. Outstanding in all aspects from the time you enter till the time you leave.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We walked into a very smokey room, I guess there had been something burning on the grill and it was very hard to breath for a little while. They kept the doors open to air it out, but tjat brought flies....not good. It was very hot and humid inside, not exactly what you expect from a $300 bill restaurant. The support staff was rude, walking by several tikes without acknowledging my request for bread or water. The oysters were good quality. The Cesar salads were grilled too much and tuened the lettuce slimy. My steak was cooked incorrectly and had to be sent back. For a primarily steak restaurant this was disappointing. All in all a very disappointing meal. We went here all the time when it was formally the Left Bank, and I never was disappointed...but clearly some things have changed. I suggest trying the Paper Canoe next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were on vacation celebrating our anniversary. Website looked good so made reservations. Unfortunately the meal was very mediocre. Dry overcooked filet. Boring sides. The waitstaff kept forgetting us and then apologizing for not coming back sooner. Meal took very long time. The noise was raucous to the point that we had to move our seats closer together so we could have a conversation. The meal was one of the most expensive boring dinners we have had in the US in recent years and the value was nil. We travel often and this was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great service. Not very suitable for kids
But then the service and treatments for the kids was perfect

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Perfect evening. Food was first class. Love the room and ambiance. Great wine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service was wonderful. We appreciated the small gesture of "happy anniversary" written on the sorbet dish at the end. Very nice place aesthetically.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food service for entrée very slow. Over 75 minutes to get main course. Way to long! Bread service took over 30 minutes. We were told they were baking more, and when it finally came out it was not warm. Also might think about having bread server fill water glasses. Seemed very under staffed. Our water glasses ran dry on two occasions and we noticed at one point there was NO servers in the entire dining area. If you want big steak house prices - provide the same level of service.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First class restaurant, high quality food and service. Table next to window (as requested) afforded extraordinary views of sunset. Superb wine list but somewhat pricy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My daughter and I had a lovely meal, very well prepared and served. The wine steward and waitress were excellent. I would highly recommend dining at Kimball's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

outstanding service, very relaxing, great food. perfect for foodies who want a leisurely meal with amazing view

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In Outer banks for a quick three day get a way. Kimballs was across the street from our hotel. Our waitess Leslie was a special plus. She was professional, friendly, knew the menu well and answered all our questions. Came back the next night not only about the restaurant but also her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.