About Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Chop - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Cheese Plate - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Prawn Crudo - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Panna Cotta - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Rabbit Two Ways - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
  • Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Veal Chop - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Cheese Plate - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Prawn Crudo - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Panna Cotta - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Rabbit Two Ways - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC
Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder - Kimball's Kitchen, Duck, NC

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
3 More
Best Food
Outer Banks
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Romantic (11)
Waterfront (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was very good-food very salty. N ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was very good-food very salty. Not sure which way to tip the scale. Nevertheless will return next season for a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We always go there when in town. To us ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We always go there when in town. To us it is the best restaurant in the Outer Banks, great food, great employees great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning location especially around suns ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Stunning location especially around sunset. Good food, though limited vegetarian options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

fabulous meal brussel sprouts were huge ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

fabulous meal brussel sprouts were huge hit with my group... very large portion size!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time at Kimbal's . It remains a very ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

2nd time at Kimbal's . It remains a very good restaurant choice on the Outer Banks. Nice location and very well done modern restaurant layout. Open kitchen with the head chef watching over the dishes as they are prepared and served. Food is very good to excellent. It is not cheap....but also reasonable for the quality it presents. We will be back again. Enjoyed it ...and took friends there this visit. Thanks to the staff and kitchen .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was everything we expected except the ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It was everything we expected except the food. Presentation was average , seafood on the tower was not very fresh, shrimp overcooked, grilled Caesar salad seemed only partially grilled. Won't recommend it to anyone until we try under the new chef.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Usually excellent so may have just been ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Usually excellent so may have just been an off night. Service was great. Food is where it feel short. Had the seafood tower the lobster and shrimp were excellent but the oysters were below average you would expect a selection of good oysters here but all are very average. This evening three from VA and one from NY. Had the filet and mushroom bread pudding both were just warm, always served on a metal plate which is usually hot but this too was cold? Both were better as leftovers next day at the right temperature. The bread pudding was also just warm but the portion was huge and had excellent flavor. The bread has been disappointing this year it is served with a lovely trio of butter, salt and oil but the let down is a choice of whole wheat or sourdough roll you can find in the supermarket. Wine list has shrunk over the past few years but still has some nice selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

What a wonderful place. The staff paid a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

What a wonderful place. The staff paid attention to all details, showed great teamwork but yet was unobtrusive. The food was excellent. My husband stated it was the best swordfish he had ever had. My pasta with truffle and poached duck egg was out of this world. We wish we lived closer! Well worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very overpriced for what you get. $15 fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very overpriced for what you get. $15 for a martini?! And $40 for the dinner special which wasn't particularly good. Nice atmosphere, but plenty of other nice places in the area with way better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

one of the best meals I've had in OBX, w ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

one of the best meals I've had in OBX, we stayed at the Sanderling so it was just across 12 but it is worth the drive from anywhere from say up from Nags Head or down from Corolla

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Kimball's kitchen every time we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We go to Kimball's kitchen every time we are in the Outer Banks. We are never disappointed. Both the food and service are excellent. The sunset views are outstanding. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service left a lot to be desired. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service left a lot to be desired. The server was over loaded with too many tables. Drinks took a while to get. The table next to us, after the customers left, remained uncleaned for more than 15 minutes.-- unacceptable for a 4 star restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined late but our food was not serve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We dined late but our food was not served hot. Luke warm at best for my she crab soup and grilled shrimp. The bread was also a bit stale. Oysters and Tuna were great although Tuna also not very hot. Flavors nice but presentation lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was a good experience overall, but th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a good experience overall, but there were definitely problems. One, I asked several questions on my reservation request and no one responded. Guess you don't actually read them? Two, it was very loud. I was hoping to have a conversation with my wife of 25 years (that's what we were celebrating) but we had to shout most of the time. Not fun. Three, my wife ordered a margarita, salted, on the rocks, but apparently your bartender felt his special recipe was better than anyone else's. My wife's lips were on fire because you use jalapeno's in your recipe. It would have been nice if it were mentioned when we ordered it, but she tried to drink it. However, she had to send it back for a new one since she just couldn't take it. The waiter took it back and when he returned it was the exact same drink only more diluted. Really? She took one sip, called the waiter and had to tell him that she wanted one that did not include anything related to jalapeno's. The one she ended up with was sub-par at best. Finally, the steak she received was terrible. I can cook one better than that and I'm not a chef! For the price we paid for this dinner, I expected things far better than this. I guess some folks just accept what you do since you're so "upscale", but us normal folks think your restaurant needs lots of work. We will not be returning and not recommending it to anyone. Least to say, we were very disappointed. It ruined everything good about your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Kimball's K ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Kimball's Kitchen. Last year's dinner was good but there was room for improvement. This year we decided to try it again and I'm sorry to say this visit was less satisfying than the last. 4 of 8 dinners were good 3 were ok but one was almost inedible. This one was the $36 Kobe burger with an egg on top. It was sent back to the kitchen to have the egg cooked because the egg white was not at all. The taste was very bland and my guest could not get over the mushy texture and the strong metallic taste. He is not new to Kobe beef and has enjoyed it numerous times while living in NYC.

Aside from the mediocre food, the service was poor at best. We were never asked if we would care for another cocktail and had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled. The waiter never returned to ask how the food was either. In fairness, the manager did return after the burger was brought back out and asked how it was. After hearing how disappointed my guest was with the meal, he indicated that he would take it off the bill, but never did. I'm sorry to say that we will not return to this restaurant. It's very unfortunate that the food and service is not better because the location and ambience have such potential.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The melon, Caesar and tomato salads wer ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The melon, Caesar and tomato salads were excellent! The steak was perfect, scallops were solid and chocolate duo was a huge hit!

The ambiance was completely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a great anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great anniversary dinner at Kimballs. Nice cocktail and wine list. Amazing sunset views over Currituck sound. Very nice place without being pretentious. Fairly small and quiet. Good for conversation. We were happy with everything we ordered. She crab soup and oysters rockefellar for starters. Both very good and would recommend. Fresh catch was tile fish over wild mushroom risotto and was delIcious. My husband got the strip steak and enjoyed that as well. They finished us with a couple macaroons. Would definitely go again for a special occasion when back out that way!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Kitchen was where we seated even tho ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

The Kitchen was where we seated even tho there was only one other couple. Added a lobster tail (small) to my filet for $20 extra and it was cold, butter was some unknown concoction. All in all, a mediocre experience for $200!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was amazing! The service was st ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was stellar and made the whole meal an experience to remember. We ate hear on our week-long vacation and it was the best food we had! It was an upscale and elegant setting with casual undertones of people on vacation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely setting, delicious food, except ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

A lovely setting, delicious food, exceptional service. Great for dining and watching the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic sunset view, excellent food an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fantastic sunset view, excellent food and service! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went scrambling for a dinner reservation ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went scrambling for a dinner reservation on a change-over day in Corrola and was able to grab a last minute table for 2 at Kimball's on Open Table. My wife and I split the tuna app and both had the filet (she had the herb butter which was terrific, I went the au poivre route which was ok - not great) along with the creamed spinach and mashed potatoes. Everything was very good. The most exciting thing was the first solid wine list they offered. They were sold out of the bottle we wanted, but the sommelier made an outstanding recommendation - if you like cabs, try the Ghost Block). We'll be back next year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance and good food go only so far an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ambiance and good food go only so far and cannot be out weigh by being overpriced. My only complaint are the prices. $17 for a glass a wine, really?

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We all enjoyed the experience and food. ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We all enjoyed the experience and food. I ordered the 28oz wagyu ribeye, it was worth the price. My wife had the filet, it was excellent as well. The service was also very good. A true fine dining experience. The best steak I've had on the OBX without a doubt. It's expensive but I think it's worth it. I will return the next time I'm here on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service at Kimball's ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The atmosphere and service at Kimball's Kitchen is wonderful and very unique with being right on the water. Our service was great and the staff was very attentive. I do have to admit the food was not as good as I had anticipated. The oysters and cocktails were great but my salad was over salted and the main dish for what I paid could have been more flavorful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We enjoyed the food and overall dining e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoyed the food and overall dining experience. However, I think their menu is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Seated at reserved time, appetizers were ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Seated at reserved time, appetizers were good, tuna entry and rack of lamb excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Staff responsive to requ ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food. Staff responsive to request to move reservation up a half hour. Spotty table service...did not feel we had adequate attention from our waitress--slow wine delivery; tried to take the men's orders before the ladies and so forth. Food servers were okay except they removed plates before we were all finished eating. We generally thought the level of wait staff professionalism should have been much higher considering what Kimball's promises and the prices charged.

Beautiful interior; reasonably priced wine and good selection. Creative options for entrees. Very nice presentation of food. Way too dark to read the menu and to see the red snapper on my plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our diners had to return steak a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of our diners had to return steak a few times to get it right. Two other steaks were fine. Pasta course was bland (no salt) rack of lamb was mediocre at best and not worth the price . Dessert sorbet selection was unusual and the addition of black pepper was distracting. The sunset was amazing but not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Significant decline in overall experienc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Significant decline in overall experience since last summer. The oysters were not fresh. Service seemed to take forever. The steaks were not seasoned. It's just not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

overall, a high priced dining experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

overall, a high priced dining experience in a really nice spot. decor was very well done but it has very high ceilings with lots of wood, so the sound bounces around like a ping pong ball. It was almost impossible to hear any one at our table of 4. Service is on the slow side. 60 minutes from sitting down until we were served our food. one steak was over done and the staff responded very quickly to replace it. the presentation of the food for all our meals was very well done.

For these prices in a major city, you would expect a higher level of attention and service. potentially on the island, that is too high of an expectation. but very good food, presented well, in a very loud environment where you are not eating in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. For ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. Forgot to ask the wait staff of the price but they should include the information when giving specials not on menu. Saw diners wearing shirts without collars. Thought they had a dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on the sound. Pricey but worth it, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views , I make sure to take my wife whenever we visit Corolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very much enjoyed our time at Kimball's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very much enjoyed our time at Kimball's Kitchen. Very high-end restaurant with fantastic sunsets looking out over the Sound. Loved the ambiance. I do wish the tables slightly smaller and a little bit lower. I found myself rather far away from my date!

Worth the expense and would dine here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. This ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. This was our first visit and we will be back during our next trip to OBX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise on the Outer Banks. The restaurant is on the Sanderling Resort campus. Short walk across the street. The restaurant itself is modern and beautifully done inside. Greeted by friendly staff, and seated immediately. The two ladies doing our service with personable and made the evening that much more pleasant. We had a nicely done melon salad. Very nicely presented and great overall. Our dinners were recommended by the wait staff. Perfectly cooked and fit for any foodie. The desert was a little less up to expectations. Some very good elements...others less successful. Notably a peach sorbet with thyme. The herb overwhelmed the base sorbet.

Of special note...the open kitchen...with the Exec chef obviously directing the kitchen staff....and checking every plate making its way out of the kitchen. That exceptional quality control at Kimball's , or lack thereof in some other establishments..... has been a major flaw in several high end restaurants we have visited. Not here....the Exec Chef and kitchen were efficient. Timely...and they delivered on every dish. Our thanks for an excellent dinner and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The view, the food and the service were ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The view, the food and the service were all outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was lovely. The chef was hands ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was lovely. The chef was hands-on as you could see into the open kitchen. Our server was confused, distracted and seemed as if she was not a regular staff member.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We were there for our 40th anniversary a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for our 40th anniversary and were very impressed with everthing - the food, facility and personnel are all first class!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.