About Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Chop
  • Cheese Plate
  • Prawn Crudo
  • Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
  • Panna Cotta
  • Rabbit Two Ways
  • Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder
Veal Chop
Cheese Plate
Prawn Crudo
Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
Panna Cotta
Rabbit Two Ways
Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
1 More
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (47)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (21)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food. Staff responsive to requ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food. Staff responsive to request to move reservation up a half hour. Spotty table service...did not feel we had adequate attention from our waitress--slow wine delivery; tried to take the men's orders before the ladies and so forth. Food servers were okay except they removed plates before we were all finished eating. We generally thought the level of wait staff professionalism should have been much higher considering what Kimball's promises and the prices charged.

Beautiful interior; reasonably priced wine and good selection. Creative options for entrees. Very nice presentation of food. Way too dark to read the menu and to see the red snapper on my plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our diners had to return steak a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of our diners had to return steak a few times to get it right. Two other steaks were fine. Pasta course was bland (no salt) rack of lamb was mediocre at best and not worth the price . Dessert sorbet selection was unusual and the addition of black pepper was distracting. The sunset was amazing but not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Significant decline in overall experienc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Significant decline in overall experience since last summer. The oysters were not fresh. Service seemed to take forever. The steaks were not seasoned. It's just not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

overall, a high priced dining experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

overall, a high priced dining experience in a really nice spot. decor was very well done but it has very high ceilings with lots of wood, so the sound bounces around like a ping pong ball. It was almost impossible to hear any one at our table of 4. Service is on the slow side. 60 minutes from sitting down until we were served our food. one steak was over done and the staff responded very quickly to replace it. the presentation of the food for all our meals was very well done.

For these prices in a major city, you would expect a higher level of attention and service. potentially on the island, that is too high of an expectation. but very good food, presented well, in a very loud environment where you are not eating in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. For ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. Forgot to ask the wait staff of the price but they should include the information when giving specials not on menu. Saw diners wearing shirts without collars. Thought they had a dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on the sound. Pricey but worth it, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views , I make sure to take my wife whenever we visit Corolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere. This ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. This was our first visit and we will be back during our next trip to OBX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise on the Outer Banks. The restaurant is on the Sanderling Resort campus. Short walk across the street. The restaurant itself is modern and beautifully done inside. Greeted by friendly staff, and seated immediately. The two ladies doing our service with personable and made the evening that much more pleasant. We had a nicely done melon salad. Very nicely presented and great overall. Our dinners were recommended by the wait staff. Perfectly cooked and fit for any foodie. The desert was a little less up to expectations. Some very good elements...others less successful. Notably a peach sorbet with thyme. The herb overwhelmed the base sorbet.

Of special note...the open kitchen...with the Exec chef obviously directing the kitchen staff....and checking every plate making its way out of the kitchen. That exceptional quality control at Kimball's , or lack thereof in some other establishments..... has been a major flaw in several high end restaurants we have visited. Not here....the Exec Chef and kitchen were efficient. Timely...and they delivered on every dish. Our thanks for an excellent dinner and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The view, the food and the service were ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The view, the food and the service were all outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was lovely. The chef was hands ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was lovely. The chef was hands-on as you could see into the open kitchen. Our server was confused, distracted and seemed as if she was not a regular staff member.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We were there for our 40th anniversary a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for our 40th anniversary and were very impressed with everthing - the food, facility and personnel are all first class!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the oysters rockefeller was the best i h ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

the oysters rockefeller was the best i have ever had. The cream sauce was extremely delicious. I will be going back just to get them. The waitstaff was on point and energetic about their jobs. beautiful transition from wine to appetizer to meal to dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very warm and friendly service. Wine lis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very warm and friendly service. Wine list could add some variety in pricing as the mark-up is considerable. Ambience is great overlooking the sound and the open kitchen. Would love to have a dining bar at the kitchen, but looks like they used that for food service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think the food was good. However, the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I think the food was good. However, the entrees took an hour and fifteen minutes to get to our table; we watched as diners who arrive after we did got their meals and finished eating and left. So our levels of upset were too high to really enjoy the food.

We repeatedly requested that our food be brought to us.

When I spoke to the manager by phone after arriving home, he assure me that he would email an invitation for a free meal. He did not.

The wine was very good; the appetizer and the salad were good. But the overall service left so much to be desired and the lie told by the manager are too off-putting to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was the worst we have experi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was the worst we have experienced in a restaurant of this caliber. My husband had to ask the hostess who our server was after 15 minutes of waiting. We then waited another 5 minutes before being acknowledged. Cocktails took 15 minutes to be delivered and on and on it went. Dinner for 3 people took 3 hours. Tables all around us turned over once. We won't go back again despite the fact that the food is really good and inventive. It was torture to sit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Outstanding as usual! Our tradition to d ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding as usual! Our tradition to dine here during our OBX stay. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Leslie and Sara were excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our server Leslie and Sara were excellent! They added so much to the overall evening. Everything we ordered was delicious. The views were spectacular. The outside of the building does not do the inside justice. We were all pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. The next time I am in the OBX area I will be making sure I have at least one dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us went this time. Apps: TRUFF ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Three of us went this time.

Apps:

TRUFFLE POTATO GAUFRETTES - Very uniform and well fried, but NO truffle taste, also needed a dipping sauce, you just get a bowl of chips.

FAT BOY DIVER OYSTERS ROCKEFELLER TRIO - Excellent (only thing we loved)

A-5 WAGYU BEEF CARPACCIO - Was ok, nice mushrooms

Entries:

PROSCIUTTO ENCRUSTED WANCHESE SCALLOPS - ok

KOBE BEEF AND FOIE GRAS BURGER - Two of us got this. Terrible, tasted like old ground chuck, smelled, didn't even finish. Would rather have a royal red robin burger. :) Complained twice to waitress but she just shrugged and the second time offered to take money off. That wasn't the point. Second time we asked if they were sure it was fresh?

Skipped dessert and macaroons at end were good.

Bread was good.

Service was spotty

We still miss the Left Bank.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Overall I would rate the restaurant very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall I would rate the restaurant very good. That said, we had reservations for 8:15 pm and were not seated until 915 pm. Upon arrival we were told it would be about "15 minutes" before the table was ready. By the time we were seated several tables were empty. We never did receive any kind of explanation. In the end, once seated we had a very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

It was by far the best restaurant we din ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was by far the best restaurant we dined at in the outter banks. The food was absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kimball's was a wonderful place to eat. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kimball's was a wonderful place to eat. Had dinner 2 of the 4 nights in Duck. Saw the sunset with the curtains up on Friday night - wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The She Crab soup was good, but Luke wa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The She Crab soup was good, but Luke warm. Served in a cold bowl. The shrimp cocktail was soggy....inedible. The Caesar Salad....we requested light dressing. It was swimming in it. And the main dishes.....average. We ordered a beautiful French White Burgundy. When it Finally arrived....they had been trying to chill it. It was warm. We were deeply disappointed in this dinner. We have had many lovely and beautiful times there. But truly...,those days seem to be sadly gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Pricey but worth it! This is fine dinin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Pricey but worth it! This is fine dining in a relaxed but elegant setting. They have a "dress code," but they are pretty liberal about it. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. They offer the price of specials instead of waiting for you to ask (a pet peeve of my husband). We had a view into the open kitchen, and everyone looked happy. The food is exceptionally good, but everything is a la carte, i.e. sides, sauces, etc., so the costs can mount up pretty quickly. All in all, a real treat. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to a high-end me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were looking forward to a high-end meal in the Outer Banks and the restaurant was recommended to us by experienced restaurant people. The building and view are impressive, although the noise level was very high even though the restaurant was not full. Of the two salads we ordered, the Caesar was the best and most imaginative with smoked oysters on the side. The tomato panzanetta was average and a disappointment as this is the season for good tomatoes in the South. We ordered the lamb and the scallops for entrees and the lamb was nicely cooked (rare)with a thick juicy crust with tender meat. The scallops were also nicely done , but would have been wonderful without the individual parmesan toasts that were hard to cut. The surrounding creamed corn was delicious. Prices for entrees were inconsistent with some meat choices between $75-$100, a little steep for the Outer Banks. Service was the biggest challenge. Our server was confused with the specials and hard to understand with the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had enjoyed this restaurant very much ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had enjoyed this restaurant very much a year ago and returned for another visit this year. It has an amazing dining room with scenic soundside views. Food and service are excellent, but, quite honestly, the pricing exceeds an acceptable level. Specials are priced at $60 while regular entrees were still $40 or so and a la carte. We love the place but will be looking elsewhere next year based on current pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding restaurant experience...Beau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding restaurant experience...Beautiful views, delicious food, staff went out of their way to please.. even let me have a take out order of their delicious oysters for my daughter who was staying home w the kiddoes..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience-- excellent ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience-- excellent food and libations. Elegant atmosphere, pleasant and attentive service. The only questionable note would be the overall cost of dining. It is more expensive than all other local restaurants and I'm not sure that I'd say it was justified. I am not an unhappy customer, I merely suggest a bit more reasonable prices would be more in line with the ambiance and dining experience we enjoyed.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful experience there! The ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience there! The food was outstanding and so was the service and atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First I was sat in a chair that the seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First I was sat in a chair that the seat was broken. I was offered a pillow. Like I'm short. They brought me another chair which was fine. The food was ok. I ordered filet cooked medium. It was overdone but I really didn't want to waste the meat do I ate what I could. I should have sent back. Other food was ok. The flavor of the steak was good. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Beautiful views! Fabulous service! Incre ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful views! Fabulous service! Incredible food! My family loved it! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came here years ago when i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I came here years ago when it was the Left Bank - excellent then and excellent now! Even though it's presumably under new management, it's still part of the Sanderling Resort, which is a respected luxury resort - so we knew it had to be good, and we not disappointed. Chef Dan has some really great food on the menu, (my NY strip was perfectly medium rare; my wife had the Spicy Tuma Roll and was delighted! Our friends were very pleased with their dishes, (can't remember what - sorry!) Anastasia was diligent, polite, and fast! We also enjoyed extra help from your busser and expediter, who ensured a smooth evening. The view is (as remembered) gorgeous, your decor is modern while being warm and inviting. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list was grossly overpriced. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The wine list was grossly overpriced. The noise level was bad. Attempt to rebook was met with a lack of accommodation. It is an expensive restaurant but caters to families with small children who were not the least bit restrained. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The bartender is one the best ever! What ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The bartender is one the best ever! What mixology fun it was! Not quite the same experience with our server, but the ambiance and food overwhelmed her deficit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, service and ambiance. The o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. The only thing we wouldn't recommend is the pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were over the moon with last nights d ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were over the moon with last nights dining experience. The dining room has immense Windows to view sunset. The wines by glass were outstanding. Every morsel...from appetizer- tuna tartar, lobster bisque- to entree-filet, panzenilla thru key lime cheesecake dessert was exceptional. Ask for server Leslie...she knows her stuff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Dining in Duck

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is the most sophisticated fine dining restaurant on the Outer Banks. Definitely a special occasion place. Food and service are very good. View is great over the sound. Expensive but very worth it. Note to parents...please don't bring your small children here...doesn't work for them or for the rest of us looking for one nice place with an adult ambiance...just saying. This restaurant is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We arrived for a 6:15 reservation and finished at 9pm. That would have been acceptable if we were just there for a leasure dinner. We ordered a glass of wine, had the wine glasses brought to the table and then waited 15 minutes to get the wine. Our waitress was very freindly but this interfered with the service. This is not a representation of the resaurant since we watched as other tables got seated, had there meals and left all while we waited for our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

We've been vacationing in OBX for severa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We've been vacationing in OBX for several years, and dinner at Kimballs is a fixed part of our vacation schedule. Yet to have a bad meal. The staff is professional and accommodated our request for a window table in time to see the sunset. We had a drink at the bar, where the bartender made heaven in a glass! Look forward to dinner there on our next trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and steak selection!

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great seafood and steak selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.