Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

About Kimball's Kitchen

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
May 2nd-October 21st: 5:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)
Sunday Brunch:
May 38th-October 8th: 11:00am-3:00pm seatings available

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Monday.

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Waterfront (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Scenic View (16)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and wonderful restaurant
We will dine there when we visit again

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good, especially swordfish & tenderloin. Portions were healthy. Wine list very good. Lots of choices and knowledgeable wait staff. Definitely a must if you're in or around Duck, NC.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Our meals all exceeded our expectations My bison steak was superb- cooked perfectly. The fish was likewise excellent. Every part of the meal was top-notch. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Kimball's Kitchen was the perfect restaurant for our anniversary dinner. After indulging in massages at the spa next door, we took in the view of the sunset with a decadent dinner made up of local ingredients carefully curated into a mouthwatering presentation. Leave room for dessert. You will not be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Celebrated Fether's Day with kids home from college. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and wine service. Custom cocktails were wonderful to start the celebration. Knowledgeable sommelier offered interesting pairings for wine with dinner that we truly enjoyed. Food is locally sourced, beautifully prepared. Service was flawless. It's a rare treat that we can get all of our kids in the same place at the same time, let alone for a whole evening. This dinner made a special occasion even more memorable because of the wonderful meal, ambience and flawless service. Highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Seasonal, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 15, 2017

ambiance was nice. service was good. both our steak very overcooked. for > $200 meal, I would say very poor value. would not return or recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful evening,sat us at the window overlooking the water. Excellent service...thank you Destiny. Great place for special occasions. T&P

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Celebrated two anniversaries (70th & 45th) and wanted a restaurant more upscale. Atmosphere was just what we were looking for. Food was very good and service was excellent. I called a day in advance and asked if Kimball's could put a few flowers on the table for the occasion. They did and the flowers were right out of their own garden. They looked great. Price was reasonable for five adult diners. Will return on the next special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Had a "no kids dinner" while on vacation with my wife. We dined at Kimballs previously and it was everything that we remembered. Food was amazing and service was top notch. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a upscale dinner while in the OBX.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Best. Dinner. Ever. I would highly recommend this place!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We've lived in the Outer Banks for the past five years and this was our first visit to Kimball's Kitchen. We avoid Duck, Sanderling and Corolla in the summer but this was early June and our wedding anniversary, so we were treating ourselves to a new experience.

The pluses: Wonderful ala carte menu with large meat options. We chose the 22 oz cajun ribeye and shared it, ordering fingerling au gratin potatoes, Brussel sprouts, creamed spinach, a wedge salad and a Soundside Seasonal Salad to go along with it. I must say that we enjoyed everything we ordered. All dishes were tasty, contained interesting ingredients and left us more than full. I can't forget the strawberry cream puff. The server said she and her kids picked the strawberries that day. It was delicious! The service was impeccable...I wish I could remember our servers name. She was very knowledge on the wines, made recommendations for choices under each category and was right on hand when we needed her but was not overbearing. In addition the view is wonderful of the sound and marsh...a beautiful choice for sunset.

The minuses: There were many open tables, even one near a window which we had requested when we made our reservation. Instead of placing us in a better location we were placed right next to a large table of at least 18 people including a fussy baby, and several small children who sat together at the far end of the table (next to our table). As soon as we sat down the baby started crying loudly. The hostess still placed us there. My husband had to go out and ask her if we could have the table by the window instead. She kindly moved us but I saw it as a bit thoughtless since so many other tables were available. Secondly, the leather chairs for seating around the tables are tired. The cushions sink in and you feel like you are too low for the table. Prices are a bit on the high side.

Considering the pluses and minuses I would definitely return. We had a wonderful evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere with delicious food. The fresh local line caught swordfish was tasty and tender . The speciality potatoe a must have and strawberry shortcake puff pastry was flakey, warm and the perfect ending. Gorgeous view of the sunset and water. Attentive service. Great evening of dining @ Kimball's Kitchen.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful service and fantastic food! We loved the menu and had the pleasure of meeting the chef. He has done a terrific job of incorporating numerous dishes with his own distinct flair on each.
Certainly a must try if you are in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Kimballs never disappoints. Had a special occasion, any everyone went above and beyond to make it a special night. As always, your staff, cuisine and atmosphere is above reproach. Outstanding in all aspects from the time you enter till the time you leave.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We walked into a very smokey room, I guess there had been something burning on the grill and it was very hard to breath for a little while. They kept the doors open to air it out, but tjat brought flies....not good. It was very hot and humid inside, not exactly what you expect from a $300 bill restaurant. The support staff was rude, walking by several tikes without acknowledging my request for bread or water. The oysters were good quality. The Cesar salads were grilled too much and tuened the lettuce slimy. My steak was cooked incorrectly and had to be sent back. For a primarily steak restaurant this was disappointing. All in all a very disappointing meal. We went here all the time when it was formally the Left Bank, and I never was disappointed...but clearly some things have changed. I suggest trying the Paper Canoe next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were on vacation celebrating our anniversary. Website looked good so made reservations. Unfortunately the meal was very mediocre. Dry overcooked filet. Boring sides. The waitstaff kept forgetting us and then apologizing for not coming back sooner. Meal took very long time. The noise was raucous to the point that we had to move our seats closer together so we could have a conversation. The meal was one of the most expensive boring dinners we have had in the US in recent years and the value was nil. We travel often and this was a huge disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service. Not very suitable for kids
But then the service and treatments for the kids was perfect

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Perfect evening. Food was first class. Love the room and ambiance. Great wine!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Service was wonderful. We appreciated the small gesture of "happy anniversary" written on the sorbet dish at the end. Very nice place aesthetically.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food service for entrée very slow. Over 75 minutes to get main course. Way to long! Bread service took over 30 minutes. We were told they were baking more, and when it finally came out it was not warm. Also might think about having bread server fill water glasses. Seemed very under staffed. Our water glasses ran dry on two occasions and we noticed at one point there was NO servers in the entire dining area. If you want big steak house prices - provide the same level of service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First class restaurant, high quality food and service. Table next to window (as requested) afforded extraordinary views of sunset. Superb wine list but somewhat pricy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My daughter and I had a lovely meal, very well prepared and served. The wine steward and waitress were excellent. I would highly recommend dining at Kimball's.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

outstanding service, very relaxing, great food. perfect for foodies who want a leisurely meal with amazing view

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In Outer banks for a quick three day get a way. Kimballs was across the street from our hotel. Our waitess Leslie was a special plus. She was professional, friendly, knew the menu well and answered all our questions. Came back the next night not only about the restaurant but also her.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Service was very good-food very salty. Not sure which way to tip the scale. Nevertheless will return next season for a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We always go there when in town. To us it is the best restaurant in the Outer Banks, great food, great employees great service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Stunning location especially around sunset. Good food, though limited vegetarian options.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My husband and pride ourselves being foodies. We will try everything, eat anything, go anywhere. Kimball's was by far the best dining experience we have ever had. It was romantic, the service imbecile, the food beyond orgasmic. Every detail fit together and it was perfect. I highly highly recommend it. Treat yourself.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

fabulous meal brussel sprouts were huge hit with my group... very large portion size!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

2nd time at Kimbal's . It remains a very good restaurant choice on the Outer Banks. Nice location and very well done modern restaurant layout. Open kitchen with the head chef watching over the dishes as they are prepared and served. Food is very good to excellent. It is not cheap....but also reasonable for the quality it presents. We will be back again. Enjoyed it ...and took friends there this visit. Thanks to the staff and kitchen .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

It was everything we expected except the food. Presentation was average , seafood on the tower was not very fresh, shrimp overcooked, grilled Caesar salad seemed only partially grilled. Won't recommend it to anyone until we try under the new chef.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

An elegant restaurant for when you want to get away from sun screen, flip flops and deep fried foods. The menu includes many wonderful selections. The veal chop was superb and the oysters entrée was the best my wife has tasted. They have an extensive wine list. Appetizers and deserts were also a hit. The service is spot on and the bartender makes a great martini. The tables are far enough apart which allows you to enjoy quiet conversation. The view is great as well. We vacation in the Outer Banks every year and Kimball's Kitchen will always be included in our plans.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Usually excellent so may have just been an off night. Service was great. Food is where it feel short. Had the seafood tower the lobster and shrimp were excellent but the oysters were below average you would expect a selection of good oysters here but all are very average. This evening three from VA and one from NY. Had the filet and mushroom bread pudding both were just warm, always served on a metal plate which is usually hot but this too was cold? Both were better as leftovers next day at the right temperature. The bread pudding was also just warm but the portion was huge and had excellent flavor. The bread has been disappointing this year it is served with a lovely trio of butter, salt and oil but the let down is a choice of whole wheat or sourdough roll you can find in the supermarket. Wine list has shrunk over the past few years but still has some nice selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

What a wonderful place. The staff paid attention to all details, showed great teamwork but yet was unobtrusive. The food was excellent. My husband stated it was the best swordfish he had ever had. My pasta with truffle and poached duck egg was out of this world. We wish we lived closer! Well worth every penny.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Very overpriced for what you get. $15 for a martini?! And $40 for the dinner special which wasn't particularly good. Nice atmosphere, but plenty of other nice places in the area with way better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 27, 2016

one of the best meals I've had in OBX, we stayed at the Sanderling so it was just across 12 but it is worth the drive from anywhere from say up from Nags Head or down from Corolla

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We go to Kimball's kitchen every time we are in the Outer Banks. We are never disappointed. Both the food and service are excellent. The sunset views are outstanding. We look forward to our next visit!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service left a lot to be desired. The server was over loaded with too many tables. Drinks took a while to get. The table next to us, after the customers left, remained uncleaned for more than 15 minutes.-- unacceptable for a 4 star restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We dined late but our food was not served hot. Luke warm at best for my she crab soup and grilled shrimp. The bread was also a bit stale. Oysters and Tuna were great although Tuna also not very hot. Flavors nice but presentation lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a good experience overall, but there were definitely problems. One, I asked several questions on my reservation request and no one responded. Guess you don't actually read them? Two, it was very loud. I was hoping to have a conversation with my wife of 25 years (that's what we were celebrating) but we had to shout most of the time. Not fun. Three, my wife ordered a margarita, salted, on the rocks, but apparently your bartender felt his special recipe was better than anyone else's. My wife's lips were on fire because you use jalapeno's in your recipe. It would have been nice if it were mentioned when we ordered it, but she tried to drink it. However, she had to send it back for a new one since she just couldn't take it. The waiter took it back and when he returned it was the exact same drink only more diluted. Really? She took one sip, called the waiter and had to tell him that she wanted one that did not include anything related to jalapeno's. The one she ended up with was sub-par at best. Finally, the steak she received was terrible. I can cook one better than that and I'm not a chef! For the price we paid for this dinner, I expected things far better than this. I guess some folks just accept what you do since you're so "upscale", but us normal folks think your restaurant needs lots of work. We will not be returning and not recommending it to anyone. Least to say, we were very disappointed. It ruined everything good about your restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.