About Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Chop
  • Cheese Plate
  • Prawn Crudo
  • Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
  • Panna Cotta
  • Rabbit Two Ways
  • Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder
Veal Chop
Cheese Plate
Prawn Crudo
Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
Panna Cotta
Rabbit Two Ways
Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
1 More
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

scenic view (26)
romantic (23)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
special occasion (21)
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pricey but worth it! This is fine dinin ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pricey but worth it! This is fine dining in a relaxed but elegant setting. They have a "dress code," but they are pretty liberal about it. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. They offer the price of specials instead of waiting for you to ask (a pet peeve of my husband). We had a view into the open kitchen, and everyone looked happy. The food is exceptionally good, but everything is a la carte, i.e. sides, sauces, etc., so the costs can mount up pretty quickly. All in all, a real treat. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking forward to a high-end me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were looking forward to a high-end meal in the Outer Banks and the restaurant was recommended to us by experienced restaurant people. The building and view are impressive, although the noise level was very high even though the restaurant was not full. Of the two salads we ordered, the Caesar was the best and most imaginative with smoked oysters on the side. The tomato panzanetta was average and a disappointment as this is the season for good tomatoes in the South. We ordered the lamb and the scallops for entrees and the lamb was nicely cooked (rare)with a thick juicy crust with tender meat. The scallops were also nicely done , but would have been wonderful without the individual parmesan toasts that were hard to cut. The surrounding creamed corn was delicious. Prices for entrees were inconsistent with some meat choices between $75-$100, a little steep for the Outer Banks. Service was the biggest challenge. Our server was confused with the specials and hard to understand with the noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had enjoyed this restaurant very much ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had enjoyed this restaurant very much a year ago and returned for another visit this year. It has an amazing dining room with scenic soundside views. Food and service are excellent, but, quite honestly, the pricing exceeds an acceptable level. Specials are priced at $60 while regular entrees were still $40 or so and a la carte. We love the place but will be looking elsewhere next year based on current pricing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding restaurant experience...Beau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding restaurant experience...Beautiful views, delicious food, staff went out of their way to please.. even let me have a take out order of their delicious oysters for my daughter who was staying home w the kiddoes..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience-- excellent ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience-- excellent food and libations. Elegant atmosphere, pleasant and attentive service. The only questionable note would be the overall cost of dining. It is more expensive than all other local restaurants and I'm not sure that I'd say it was justified. I am not an unhappy customer, I merely suggest a bit more reasonable prices would be more in line with the ambiance and dining experience we enjoyed.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful experience there! The ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience there! The food was outstanding and so was the service and atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First I was sat in a chair that the seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First I was sat in a chair that the seat was broken. I was offered a pillow. Like I'm short. They brought me another chair which was fine. The food was ok. I ordered filet cooked medium. It was overdone but I really didn't want to waste the meat do I ate what I could. I should have sent back. Other food was ok. The flavor of the steak was good. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Beautiful views! Fabulous service! Incre ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful views! Fabulous service! Incredible food! My family loved it! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came here years ago when i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I came here years ago when it was the Left Bank - excellent then and excellent now! Even though it's presumably under new management, it's still part of the Sanderling Resort, which is a respected luxury resort - so we knew it had to be good, and we not disappointed. Chef Dan has some really great food on the menu, (my NY strip was perfectly medium rare; my wife had the Spicy Tuma Roll and was delighted! Our friends were very pleased with their dishes, (can't remember what - sorry!) Anastasia was diligent, polite, and fast! We also enjoyed extra help from your busser and expediter, who ensured a smooth evening. The view is (as remembered) gorgeous, your decor is modern while being warm and inviting. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list was grossly overpriced. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The wine list was grossly overpriced. The noise level was bad. Attempt to rebook was met with a lack of accommodation. It is an expensive restaurant but caters to families with small children who were not the least bit restrained. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The bartender is one the best ever! What ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The bartender is one the best ever! What mixology fun it was! Not quite the same experience with our server, but the ambiance and food overwhelmed her deficit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food, service and ambiance. The o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. The only thing we wouldn't recommend is the pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were over the moon with last nights d ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were over the moon with last nights dining experience. The dining room has immense Windows to view sunset. The wines by glass were outstanding. Every morsel...from appetizer- tuna tartar, lobster bisque- to entree-filet, panzenilla thru key lime cheesecake dessert was exceptional. Ask for server Leslie...she knows her stuff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upscale Dining in Duck

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is the most sophisticated fine dining restaurant on the Outer Banks. Definitely a special occasion place. Food and service are very good. View is great over the sound. Expensive but very worth it. Note to parents...please don't bring your small children here...doesn't work for them or for the rest of us looking for one nice place with an adult ambiance...just saying. This restaurant is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful atmosphere.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We arrived for a 6:15 reservation and finished at 9pm. That would have been acceptable if we were just there for a leasure dinner. We ordered a glass of wine, had the wine glasses brought to the table and then waited 15 minutes to get the wine. Our waitress was very freindly but this interfered with the service. This is not a representation of the resaurant since we watched as other tables got seated, had there meals and left all while we waited for our meal.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

We've been vacationing in OBX for severa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We've been vacationing in OBX for several years, and dinner at Kimballs is a fixed part of our vacation schedule. Yet to have a bad meal. The staff is professional and accommodated our request for a window table in time to see the sunset. We had a drink at the bar, where the bartender made heaven in a glass! Look forward to dinner there on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and steak selection!

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great seafood and steak selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff and management were wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Wait staff and management were wonderfully attentive. Ahi tuna was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think our dinner resembled a Saturday ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I think our dinner resembled a Saturday Night Live skit from a few years ago mocking an arrogant New York restaurant. When we were served the shrimp and grits appetizer and the farro salad, we honestly thought someone was joking with us. For $18.75 the appetizer was one teaspoon size gritscake and 2 medium size shrimp. The salad literally looked like someone grabbed one handful of farro and salad leaves and then scattered it over the long plate I appreciate the haute cuisine styling and the talent of the chef but at these prices something more substantial must be presented...would it have been unreasonable to have 4 shrimp and 2 gritcakes at this price? how about a cup of salad and faro? As for entrees, the steak was billed as 8 oz, but couldn't have been more than 4. If not for the large serving of the tomato and onion puree sauce I selected (instead of bernaise) the plate would have been embarrassingly empty except for 6 leaves from a brussel sprout

Regardless of how tasty the food may have been I would never return. I am surrounded by excellent foody restaurants in Richmond and large portion size is never essential ...but a fair portion size in relation to the price is critical. This restaurant would never survive if not for the high end Sanderling sending unsuspecting guests here

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Tuna and the she-crab soup were deliciou ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Tuna and the she-crab soup were delicious but the chicken was dry and tasteless. Great sunset but it didn't make up for the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was OK, certainly properly cook ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was OK, certainly properly cooked. The portions are small and the prices are large.

Forewarned is forearmed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

One of the best restaurants we have been ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have been to lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Clean look: the windows a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice ambiance. Clean look: the windows are the centerpiece. Excellent service, good food, great presentation.

Love the fact that they have a dress code: more restaurants in the US should do the same. It brings up the standard of the whole place. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A new chef brings his house made cheeses ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

A new chef brings his house made cheeses and outstanding food which is he hallmark of

Kimball's Kitchen. The outstanding food is matched by the service and a staff which returns every season. Still the best on the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have done better at A fast food....

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

There is no value here, there is no remarkable food. The setting is gorgeous. Our shrimp cocktail had three shrimp in a tasteless cocktail sauce. The rolls were served cold and were unsavory. Salad was severely overdressed. The fresh lobster ravioli contained a trace of what might have been a lobster, but I am still uncertain. The sauce, if it were good, was ruined by being watered down to a soup consistency; a sign the "chef" did not drain the pasta before saucing. There were only two covers the time we were there. Service was good, but the food was pathetic. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Very Elegant

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

The experience was far different from any other OBX Restaruant we have found. The dining room was beautiful, and view of The Sound was spectacular. The wait staff was excellent. The food was presented perfectly. The price was pretty high. But if all the previous accolades are desirable, this is the only place in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! A gem of the Outer Banks!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Our second time at Kimball's Kitchen was good as the first! THe food was fantastic. Had the Kimball's Oysters to start (delicious!) and the Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder entree' (wonderful!). For dessert, the Strawberry Shortcake (the Grand Marnier is the secret!) No corkage, but the wine list is extensive and Michael the sommelier is on top of his game. I thought I would slip one past him with an obscure Australian Shiraz I knew on the wine list, but he immediately pointed out that hardly anyone orders that bottle but it is a gem of a wine. And, at $65 a great bargain! Highly recommend Kimball's Kitchen the next time your on the Outer Banks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We diner her often and always have an in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We diner her often and always have an incredible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 17, 2015

From the moment we walked in the staff was friendly and attentive. Our server was very helpful and knew the menu well. She recommended a fantastic dish that we are still raving about. The wine list was extensive and the sommelier helped us choose the perfect one. We will return for our third time next September. We can't wait to see what the chef comes up with when we return. Well done to the entire staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a fine dining experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2015

I have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the country and this ranks with the best. Simply exceptional. A must visit the next time at OBX.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Massachusetts regulars

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

The food, ambiance and staff are equally terrific! When you want an exceptional meal, endless great wine and spirits choices, look no further. Eat in the dining room or at the bar--both are memorable. This is one of the few consistently good fine dining spots North of Nag's Head and Kitty Hawk. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

Before we went I looked at the bad reviews on Trip Adviser. I'm really surprised by some because we had none of the issues that were mentioned. The only thing I can think of is we went right after Labor day and others might have gone in season. I'm pretty sure that the complaints about the lobster bisque are probably because they use tarragon in it. This can be a strong herb and if you don't like things like anise (or licorice) you might not like the soup. I happen to hate cilantro and if something contains cilantro I usually hate it but I know that's the reason not that the item is no good, or bad. I was pleasantly surprised by the appetizer that contained ox tails. I happen to love these and they are very labor intensive the way it was presented. I know that some people would say yuck ! Ox tails ?! All in all we had a wonderful experience on our 22nd anniversary. When our waitress got bogged down with a table of 8 or 10 people somebody came over and helped her. Everybody was very nice.

I was never a fan of the Left Bank and was reluctant in trying Kimball's but I'm very glad we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

Everything was fine until the bill came. The value of the meal was not in line with the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

We like to dine out on our beach vacation, and decided to try Kimball's Kitchen. We had been there when it was the Left Bank and were not too impressed. Kimball's is a nicer dressier place to go at the beach. Have a date night and enjoy the sunset. Their oyster preparation was delicious with ample crabmeat. The fish dishes, grouper and flounder were delicious. Service was attentive and not intrusive. Expensive, but worth it. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife loved the special request white ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife loved the special request white wine sangria they made for her.

Filet was excellently prepared.

Nicole's service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A huge improvement over Left Bank

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

Left Bank didn't'quite work. Too fancy and too expensive for OBX. Kimball' brings it down a notch but still is upscale and trendy. Beautiful decor. Very comfortable. Great views. Great food great service. Decent prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food was outstanding . Mu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

Great service, food was outstanding . Must try lobster bisque! Worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

My wife, son and I have been fans of this restaurant for more than ten years. As the "Left Bank" it combined outstanding food with great service and the best views in Duck. Based on our experience a year ago and, more recently, last week, only the great view remains. Last week and last year the service was poor and the food very mundane - even if you're wise enough to stick with the basics.

This is a holiday resort, but that should not mean 100% turnover amongst the kitchen and restaurant staff - but that's what you get from year to year. It was near impossible to identify any full time professionals amongst the staff - and that was reflected in the service and the food.

The restaurant also has a truly absurd, antiquated, so-called "dress code" in effect. Shorts [however unsightly] and flip-flops are fine but a smart casual shirt will not make the grade unless it has a collar.

This is a wonderful location and building - but a dreadfully disappointing restaurant. It is a place that has lost its way. That was the case a year ago; it was even more so last week.

Very sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Spectacular on the Outer Banks

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

A superb meal was excelled only by the amazing sunset arrayed through Kimball's perfectly-designed glass walls, complete with automated shades rising at just the right moment. My companions and I all had filet mignon, cooked perfectly, and I do mean perfectly. Everything from the opening round of cocktails to the professionally attentive table service was well- orchestrated to make this a most memorable and satisfying meal.

The only downside was the price, of course. This was an Expensive outing. We knew that going in, having returned here many times over the past several years. But you get what you pay for, and Kimball's consistently delivers. If you don't mind the splurge, this is the finest place to dine on the Outer Banks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Great meal and great service. It started with a selection of five kinds of raw oysters, followed by a crab-stuffed flounder with a nice light sauce beurre blanc that was amazing. No skimpy portion either as in a lot of high-end restaurants. Family style whipped potato and mushroom side dishes were also wonderful. Great find on OBX!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.