About Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Chop
  • Cheese Plate
  • Prawn Crudo
  • Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
  • Panna Cotta
  • Rabbit Two Ways
  • Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder
Veal Chop
Cheese Plate
Prawn Crudo
Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
Panna Cotta
Rabbit Two Ways
Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
5 More
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Best Food
Outer Banks
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

Scenic View (51)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Waterfront (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service left a lot to be desired. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service left a lot to be desired. The server was over loaded with too many tables. Drinks took a while to get. The table next to us, after the customers left, remained uncleaned for more than 15 minutes.-- unacceptable for a 4 star restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We dined late but our food was not serve ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We dined late but our food was not served hot. Luke warm at best for my she crab soup and grilled shrimp. The bread was also a bit stale. Oysters and Tuna were great although Tuna also not very hot. Flavors nice but presentation lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was a good experience overall, but th ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a good experience overall, but there were definitely problems. One, I asked several questions on my reservation request and no one responded. Guess you don't actually read them? Two, it was very loud. I was hoping to have a conversation with my wife of 25 years (that's what we were celebrating) but we had to shout most of the time. Not fun. Three, my wife ordered a margarita, salted, on the rocks, but apparently your bartender felt his special recipe was better than anyone else's. My wife's lips were on fire because you use jalapeno's in your recipe. It would have been nice if it were mentioned when we ordered it, but she tried to drink it. However, she had to send it back for a new one since she just couldn't take it. The waiter took it back and when he returned it was the exact same drink only more diluted. Really? She took one sip, called the waiter and had to tell him that she wanted one that did not include anything related to jalapeno's. The one she ended up with was sub-par at best. Finally, the steak she received was terrible. I can cook one better than that and I'm not a chef! For the price we paid for this dinner, I expected things far better than this. I guess some folks just accept what you do since you're so "upscale", but us normal folks think your restaurant needs lots of work. We will not be returning and not recommending it to anyone. Least to say, we were very disappointed. It ruined everything good about your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was our second visit to Kimball's K ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Kimball's Kitchen. Last year's dinner was good but there was room for improvement. This year we decided to try it again and I'm sorry to say this visit was less satisfying than the last. 4 of 8 dinners were good 3 were ok but one was almost inedible. This one was the $36 Kobe burger with an egg on top. It was sent back to the kitchen to have the egg cooked because the egg white was not at all. The taste was very bland and my guest could not get over the mushy texture and the strong metallic taste. He is not new to Kobe beef and has enjoyed it numerous times while living in NYC.

Aside from the mediocre food, the service was poor at best. We were never asked if we would care for another cocktail and had to ask for our water glasses to be refilled. The waiter never returned to ask how the food was either. In fairness, the manager did return after the burger was brought back out and asked how it was. After hearing how disappointed my guest was with the meal, he indicated that he would take it off the bill, but never did. I'm sorry to say that we will not return to this restaurant. It's very unfortunate that the food and service is not better because the location and ambience have such potential.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The melon, Caesar and tomato salads wer ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The melon, Caesar and tomato salads were excellent! The steak was perfect, scallops were solid and chocolate duo was a huge hit!

The ambiance was completely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a great anniversary ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I had a great anniversary dinner at Kimballs. Nice cocktail and wine list. Amazing sunset views over Currituck sound. Very nice place without being pretentious. Fairly small and quiet. Good for conversation. We were happy with everything we ordered. She crab soup and oysters rockefellar for starters. Both very good and would recommend. Fresh catch was tile fish over wild mushroom risotto and was delIcious. My husband got the strip steak and enjoyed that as well. They finished us with a couple macaroons. Would definitely go again for a special occasion when back out that way!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Kitchen was where we seated even tho ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The Kitchen was where we seated even tho there was only one other couple. Added a lobster tail (small) to my filet for $20 extra and it was cold, butter was some unknown concoction. All in all, a mediocre experience for $200!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was amazing! The service was st ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was amazing! The service was stellar and made the whole meal an experience to remember. We ate hear on our week-long vacation and it was the best food we had! It was an upscale and elegant setting with casual undertones of people on vacation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely setting, delicious food, except ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A lovely setting, delicious food, exceptional service. Great for dining and watching the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic sunset view, excellent food an ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fantastic sunset view, excellent food and service! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went scrambling for a dinner reservation ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went scrambling for a dinner reservation on a change-over day in Corrola and was able to grab a last minute table for 2 at Kimball's on Open Table. My wife and I split the tuna app and both had the filet (she had the herb butter which was terrific, I went the au poivre route which was ok - not great) along with the creamed spinach and mashed potatoes. Everything was very good. The most exciting thing was the first solid wine list they offered. They were sold out of the bottle we wanted, but the sommelier made an outstanding recommendation - if you like cabs, try the Ghost Block). We'll be back next year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ambiance and good food go only so far an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Ambiance and good food go only so far and cannot be out weigh by being overpriced. My only complaint are the prices. $17 for a glass a wine, really?

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We all enjoyed the experience and food. ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We all enjoyed the experience and food. I ordered the 28oz wagyu ribeye, it was worth the price. My wife had the filet, it was excellent as well. The service was also very good. A true fine dining experience. The best steak I've had on the OBX without a doubt. It's expensive but I think it's worth it. I will return the next time I'm here on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service at Kimball's ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The atmosphere and service at Kimball's Kitchen is wonderful and very unique with being right on the water. Our service was great and the staff was very attentive. I do have to admit the food was not as good as I had anticipated. The oysters and cocktails were great but my salad was over salted and the main dish for what I paid could have been more flavorful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We enjoyed the food and overall dining e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We enjoyed the food and overall dining experience. However, I think their menu is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Seated at reserved time, appetizers were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Seated at reserved time, appetizers were good, tuna entry and rack of lamb excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food. Staff responsive to requ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Very good food. Staff responsive to request to move reservation up a half hour. Spotty table service...did not feel we had adequate attention from our waitress--slow wine delivery; tried to take the men's orders before the ladies and so forth. Food servers were okay except they removed plates before we were all finished eating. We generally thought the level of wait staff professionalism should have been much higher considering what Kimball's promises and the prices charged.

Beautiful interior; reasonably priced wine and good selection. Creative options for entrees. Very nice presentation of food. Way too dark to read the menu and to see the red snapper on my plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our diners had to return steak a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of our diners had to return steak a few times to get it right. Two other steaks were fine. Pasta course was bland (no salt) rack of lamb was mediocre at best and not worth the price . Dessert sorbet selection was unusual and the addition of black pepper was distracting. The sunset was amazing but not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Significant decline in overall experienc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Significant decline in overall experience since last summer. The oysters were not fresh. Service seemed to take forever. The steaks were not seasoned. It's just not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

overall, a high priced dining experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

overall, a high priced dining experience in a really nice spot. decor was very well done but it has very high ceilings with lots of wood, so the sound bounces around like a ping pong ball. It was almost impossible to hear any one at our table of 4. Service is on the slow side. 60 minutes from sitting down until we were served our food. one steak was over done and the staff responded very quickly to replace it. the presentation of the food for all our meals was very well done.

For these prices in a major city, you would expect a higher level of attention and service. potentially on the island, that is too high of an expectation. but very good food, presented well, in a very loud environment where you are not eating in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. For ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Rockfish Entree was good but pricey. Forgot to ask the wait staff of the price but they should include the information when giving specials not on menu. Saw diners wearing shirts without collars. Thought they had a dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fabulous cuisine with a great setting on the sound. Pricey but worth it, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent , Romantic , best sunset views , I make sure to take my wife whenever we visit Corolla.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very much enjoyed our time at Kimball's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very much enjoyed our time at Kimball's Kitchen. Very high-end restaurant with fantastic sunsets looking out over the Sound. Loved the ambiance. I do wish the tables slightly smaller and a little bit lower. I found myself rather far away from my date!

Worth the expense and would dine here again.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. This ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. This was our first visit and we will be back during our next trip to OBX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Kimball's was a very pleasant surprise on the Outer Banks. The restaurant is on the Sanderling Resort campus. Short walk across the street. The restaurant itself is modern and beautifully done inside. Greeted by friendly staff, and seated immediately. The two ladies doing our service with personable and made the evening that much more pleasant. We had a nicely done melon salad. Very nicely presented and great overall. Our dinners were recommended by the wait staff. Perfectly cooked and fit for any foodie. The desert was a little less up to expectations. Some very good elements...others less successful. Notably a peach sorbet with thyme. The herb overwhelmed the base sorbet.

Of special note...the open kitchen...with the Exec chef obviously directing the kitchen staff....and checking every plate making its way out of the kitchen. That exceptional quality control at Kimball's , or lack thereof in some other establishments..... has been a major flaw in several high end restaurants we have visited. Not here....the Exec Chef and kitchen were efficient. Timely...and they delivered on every dish. Our thanks for an excellent dinner and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The view, the food and the service were ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The view, the food and the service were all outstanding!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was lovely. The chef was hands ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was lovely. The chef was hands-on as you could see into the open kitchen. Our server was confused, distracted and seemed as if she was not a regular staff member.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We were there for our 40th anniversary a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were there for our 40th anniversary and were very impressed with everthing - the food, facility and personnel are all first class!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the oysters rockefeller was the best i h ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

the oysters rockefeller was the best i have ever had. The cream sauce was extremely delicious. I will be going back just to get them. The waitstaff was on point and energetic about their jobs. beautiful transition from wine to appetizer to meal to dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very warm and friendly service. Wine lis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very warm and friendly service. Wine list could add some variety in pricing as the mark-up is considerable. Ambience is great overlooking the sound and the open kitchen. Would love to have a dining bar at the kitchen, but looks like they used that for food service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think the food was good. However, the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I think the food was good. However, the entrees took an hour and fifteen minutes to get to our table; we watched as diners who arrive after we did got their meals and finished eating and left. So our levels of upset were too high to really enjoy the food.

We repeatedly requested that our food be brought to us.

When I spoke to the manager by phone after arriving home, he assure me that he would email an invitation for a free meal. He did not.

The wine was very good; the appetizer and the salad were good. But the overall service left so much to be desired and the lie told by the manager are too off-putting to recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

The service was the worst we have experi ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was the worst we have experienced in a restaurant of this caliber. My husband had to ask the hostess who our server was after 15 minutes of waiting. We then waited another 5 minutes before being acknowledged. Cocktails took 15 minutes to be delivered and on and on it went. Dinner for 3 people took 3 hours. Tables all around us turned over once. We won't go back again despite the fact that the food is really good and inventive. It was torture to sit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Outstanding as usual! Our tradition to d ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Outstanding as usual! Our tradition to dine here during our OBX stay. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Leslie and Sara were excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our server Leslie and Sara were excellent! They added so much to the overall evening. Everything we ordered was delicious. The views were spectacular. The outside of the building does not do the inside justice. We were all pleasantly surprised by the ambiance. The next time I am in the OBX area I will be making sure I have at least one dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us went this time. Apps: TRUFF ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Three of us went this time.

Apps:

TRUFFLE POTATO GAUFRETTES - Very uniform and well fried, but NO truffle taste, also needed a dipping sauce, you just get a bowl of chips.

FAT BOY DIVER OYSTERS ROCKEFELLER TRIO - Excellent (only thing we loved)

A-5 WAGYU BEEF CARPACCIO - Was ok, nice mushrooms

Entries:

PROSCIUTTO ENCRUSTED WANCHESE SCALLOPS - ok

KOBE BEEF AND FOIE GRAS BURGER - Two of us got this. Terrible, tasted like old ground chuck, smelled, didn't even finish. Would rather have a royal red robin burger. :) Complained twice to waitress but she just shrugged and the second time offered to take money off. That wasn't the point. Second time we asked if they were sure it was fresh?

Skipped dessert and macaroons at end were good.

Bread was good.

Service was spotty

We still miss the Left Bank.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Overall I would rate the restaurant very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Overall I would rate the restaurant very good. That said, we had reservations for 8:15 pm and were not seated until 915 pm. Upon arrival we were told it would be about "15 minutes" before the table was ready. By the time we were seated several tables were empty. We never did receive any kind of explanation. In the end, once seated we had a very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

It was by far the best restaurant we din ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was by far the best restaurant we dined at in the outter banks. The food was absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kimball's was a wonderful place to eat. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kimball's was a wonderful place to eat. Had dinner 2 of the 4 nights in Duck. Saw the sunset with the curtains up on Friday night - wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The She Crab soup was good, but Luke wa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The She Crab soup was good, but Luke warm. Served in a cold bowl. The shrimp cocktail was soggy....inedible. The Caesar Salad....we requested light dressing. It was swimming in it. And the main dishes.....average. We ordered a beautiful French White Burgundy. When it Finally arrived....they had been trying to chill it. It was warm. We were deeply disappointed in this dinner. We have had many lovely and beautiful times there. But truly...,those days seem to be sadly gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.