Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 4.18mi
  3. Distance: 5.59mi
  4. Distance: 5.69mi

About Kimball's Kitchen

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly or parties of 6 or more.

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
May 2nd-October 21st: 5:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly for parties of 6 or more.)
Sunday Brunch:
May 38th-October 8th: 11:00am-3:00pm seatings available

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Tyler Powell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Monday.

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (37)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The service was wonderful from start to end! Food presentation was great but the quality and taste did not match to price. The Life Saving Station has a better prepared and seasoned steak for less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service throughout the meal. Slow to get to ordering or drinks or waiting for table to be cleared when we were finished, pouring our own wine throughout. Food came out quickly, too quickly based on service. For such an expensive restaurant a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Most of the food was really good. Everyone enjoyed their appetizers and salads, and the steak entrees were great. $28 for German spaetzel with some sweet potato cooked into it? Please. Server was a snob and she along with staff were quite hurried. For as much as we paid for this meal, we should have been able to finish our meal entirely without feeling like we're holding someone from a hot date. Good grief. The staff was quite eager for us to get on with our meal. Overall, we enjoyed the ambiance and most of the meal. There was nothing that would make me recommend Kimball's Kitchen over many of the other fine and delicious restaurants on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overpriced mediocre food. Terrible service. Waitress was condescending and rude. This was our third year going. First year was terrible but we heard it got better so we went back last year. Last year it was delicious and staff were friendly. This year it seemed to have reverted back to its old ways. All the other servers seemed nice, I guess we just lucked out with miss grumpy!! Also it's on a family resort so it would be nice to have some food options for kids and young adults

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Made reservations for 3 . Was seated initially at a table meant for 2. They added a chair at the middle. In fact there were several tables available along the window all during our dinning a four top sat empty. My husband is 6 ft 5 this was not going to work with the lack of leg room . We were moved to an inside table close to the kitchen, which was fine. The shades were put down during the sunset? Many patrons were not happy. Our server left us sitting during dinner and never checked back after the meal was placed out. Once cleaned up (from a helper) we sat idol for 20-25 mins? The manager never table touched to ask about our experience ? We live in corolla 6-7 months a yr and love the Sanderling , in fact when the reno was taking place on the life saving restaurant we frequently dinned at the kimballs location but with the other menu. The service was spot on than and preferred the menu, the mussels were fabulous . I made reservations six days a head and requested a window seat and as I stated a four top sat vacant during our entire stay ? We waited 15-20 mins for our first round of drinks, perhaps a bartender dedicated to dinners and one for bar top would help. Our food was delicious and will be the reason we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service was second to none. Excellent service, and the food was fantastic. One of the best steaks I have had. The sunset is truly a diary moment, and we had the best table in the place. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We loved your restaurant to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Our waiter was especially nice and accommodating. The food was delicious. Our waiter fixed on a plate with raspberry syrup happy 50th anniversary and put two small yummy cookies with a candle on the plate. Just a wonderful way to celebrate our special occasion. Thank you!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The ambience is very nice, but the food tasted boring and is overpriced. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had both Sunday brunch and dinner another day. Brunch was good but potatoes were cold. Dinner was outrageously priced and food was just OK. Caesar salad was a block of romaine with cheese and a little of some dressing that didn't taste like Caesar. Filet Mignon was OK but had better at The Paper Canoe the night before. Lobster pasta dish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

One of my all time favorites. Everything about this restaraunt is fantastic. The food, the wine, the device and special touches are all wonderful. I love it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Had a very good meal at Kimball's Kitchen, but for an inflated price tag. Here in Duck, we have had some great meals, and this was the least value for the money. Service was matter-of-fact, but not helpful with the menu. Foix gras appetizer was phenomenal. Swordfish main dish at $41 was good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very disappointed that there was no fish special that evening. Understandable because of the rain storm all day. Also, my husband's appetizer was cold. Otherwise we had a delicious dinner and anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great spot on the OBX. Sound side with sunset view!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Outstanding by every measure. Especially liked how the steak portion of the menu had a list of toppings so you can create your own version of surf and turf combo. Loved that you order a few side dishes for the table to pass around. My new favorite restaurant on the Outer Banks!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were seated promptly and handed menus and the wine list. A few minutes later, a woman came over and laid 2 glasses filled with about 2 ounces of a creamy orange liquid down on our table. She never said a word. About 5 minutes later she came over to put a candle on our table so I asked her what was in the glasses. She said "gazpacho". I asked for a spoon and she said I didn't need one, and then made a motion indicating I should just drink it. Later, we were greeted by our waiter Jim who was quite friendly and professional. Food was very good. My only very small issue is that 2 other staff member asked us if we wanted more bread and we said "yes" but no on bread ever arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

First off, John our waiter was awesome! He took great care of us and made sure our first dinner on 1 st year anniversary was everlasting! The food was off the charts, I had the Tomahawk and my wife had the lobster pasta. The creme brulee was the best I ever had, no joke. Thank you Jon and thank you Kim ball's we will be returning every year!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Two years in a row, and they still can't figure out how to properly grill a steak. Our server was wonderful, but she was forced to cover for the kitchen's faults throughout the entire dinner. For the price, this was a very low-quality meal. Poor value. Nice dining space. This restaurant could be so much more. I hope they get it figured out soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and i called ahead to request a table with a view and something special for dessert. None of that happened. Service at the table was extremely slow, we had multiple servers, some never identified themselves, and no one apologized for the wait, or offered us anything to make up for the fact that it was an inordinate amount of time between courses. A lot of waitstaff walking around but apparently no one managing the overall process. Special mention however to the bartender, Randall ?, who was extremely accommodating and attentive while we waited for our table to open ....we should've just stayed at the bar would've been a much better experience. It is a shame for such a beautiful facility to have such Mediocre service; we'd think twice before going back and spending that kind of money for an average and honestly frustrating dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Kimball's Kitchen. The service and food was excellent and the view was spectacular! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We have eaten here since the restaurant first opened as the fine dining restaurant, The Left Bank some years ago. It was wonderful! Continued to eat at Kimball's Kitchen every year since. And while we Understand that menus change to fit changing times, we have been disappointed time and again by the overly prepared seafood dishes (leave out the bacon, please!). Steaks are stil reliable choices. I would recommend it only with qualifications. Service is good, although the kitchen neglected to make our two sides choices. Sommelier was very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Third or forth time returning. Great food and drinks, as always.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This was our third time dining at this gem and by far our best. There was an exhaust problem in the kitchen (our son is in restaurant supply and he said this is an expensive fix to make so it will probably take place off season) but it did not alter our enjoyment of the evening. The food was amazing, beautifully served. The view is gorgeous of the bay. We ate each course with gusto and enjoyed special cocktails with oysters. Our server Jimmy was such fun and we enjoyed him immensely. Our visit last year was not as fantastic mainly due to the server and Jimmy made us want to return again and again. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

When we arrived, the restaurant was smokey. We thought something burnt in the kitchen, but it turns out there is an air conditioning issue, so they have a temporary unit which is too close to the kitchen ventilation. The waitress informed us that it was the best it has been in over three weeks. The building is beautiful with a great view. The food was very good and the wine was reasonably priced. Still a $500 dinner for four with two sharing a meal and one vegetarian that got only sides. Doug the sommelier was awesome. I would go back, but only after the air conditioning/ventilation issue is fixed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Awesome place for Sunday brunch to start your Duck vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent place for dinner and watching the sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great place. Will go back. Setting, food, wine and service are outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and wine selection. Attentive and welcoming staff. Sets itself apart from all other restaurants locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Anniversary
Beautiful to view sunset. Food outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a great dinner here, including a lovely gimlet, an interesting watermelon salad, potato pancakes with caviar, good swordfish and filet, and scallops. Nice wine list.

The disappointment was chicken and waffles-- waffles were good, but chicken medallions included some gristly areas. Not acceptable at those prices.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Exquisite local cuisine. Escape to a relaxing, fine dining experience during your stay. . . you will be pleased. Kimball's Kitchen exemplifies exceptional culinary skill and service.
Thank you, Kimball's Kitchen, for the convivial evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The best meal ever, ever, ever!! Thank you Kimballs Kitchen and Sanderling!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great Beer, People Watching, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good night away from the family on vacation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Unbelievable ambiance with a gorgeous sound view. So much better than when it was left bank! Ghastly expensive but absolutely delicious. I had scallops with lump crab and although slightly cooler than I would have liked, still delicious. Only downside was the ridiculous wine pour! 20 dollar glass should be at least 4 oz, and I kid you not, I received about a 2.5 oz pour. Also, behind bar could be tidier. Love open kitchen! Daughter had lanb and it was surreal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have not found a "favorite" Outer Banks Restaurants since Elizabeth's closed several years ago. We have tried Aqua and The Blue Pointe - but each year we are a bit disappointed by our one "fancy" night out on vacation. This year was a welcome surprise - and our new FAVORITE Outer Banks vacation date night. Our waiter, Jon, was wonderful. Great sense of humor and all of his recommendations (Bloody Mary, Foie Gras and Bread Pudding) were perfect! The view of the sound was beautiful even though we had just had a huge storm - and the food was above and beyond. My husband had a Filet and I had the Scallops. They were both fabulous....and I would highly recommend. We will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Lovely place and very good food. The noise level was high and the acoustics so poor that we had to really lean across the table for the 4 of us to have any conversation. While the service was good, we all felt rushed - and we were! Cocktails, appetizers, entree and dessert and we were out of there in one hour. Not what I would have wanted in a $$$$ restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My husband and I wanted a good date night place while vacationing with family, and Kimball's Kitchen provided just what we wanted. Our meals were very good, as was the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Truly the most amazing restaurant - good service, excellent food and sunset views to die for...
Do not miss the chance if you are in the Outer Banks!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Everything was great. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Simply outstanding in every way. Certainly the best dining experience in the Outer Banks and we have tried them all over the past 20+ years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful restaurant
We will dine there when we visit again

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.