About Kimball's Kitchen

1461 Duck Road
Duck, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Located on the Soundside of the Sanderling Resort, Kimball’s offers glorious view of the Currituck Sound and its inspiring sunsets, outstanding service and a world class menu.

Spotlighting Certified Angus Beef, freshly caught local seafood and oysters, the restaurant creates a great dining experience with an upscale coastally casual environment. Daily pasta and risotto specials are accompanied by an extensive Wine Spectator wine and champagne list. Children are welcome and are served smaller portions of the standard menu with a 50% price break.

Attire
“Resort Chic” – Relaxed business dress. Dress pants or shorts with a collared shirt for the gentleman and comparable resort wear for the ladies. We ask that you leave the beach behind along with any hats, denim or casual attire.

Groups
Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Blonde Onyx Bar: 5pm - closing
Dinner:
Tuesday-Saturday
April 30th-October 24th: 6:00pm-10:00pm seatings available
(Please contact the restaurant directly at 252-261-8419 for parties of 6 or more.)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-8419

Website:
http://www.sanderling-resort.com/restaurants-and-bars/kimballs-kitchen

Executive Chef:
Chef du Cuisine Dan Grunbeck

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The restaurant is available November- April for private events. During season it is available Sunday and Monday.

Restaurant Photos

  • Veal Chop
  • Cheese Plate
  • Prawn Crudo
  • Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
  • Panna Cotta
  • Rabbit Two Ways
  • Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder
Veal Chop
Cheese Plate
Prawn Crudo
Slow Cooked Egg With Headcheese In A Ramp Emulsion
Panna Cotta
Rabbit Two Ways
Sunchoke Soup, Pork Belly, Hazelnut Brown Butter Powder

Kimball's Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Duck ›

scenic view (15)
romantic (14)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
special occasion (12)
notable wine list (8)
neighborhood gem (3)
good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

The bartender is one the best ever! What ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The bartender is one the best ever! What mixology fun it was! Not quite the same experience with our server, but the ambiance and food overwhelmed her deficit.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were over the moon with last nights d ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

We were over the moon with last nights dining experience. The dining room has immense Windows to view sunset. The wines by glass were outstanding. Every morsel...from appetizer- tuna tartar, lobster bisque- to entree-filet, panzenilla thru key lime cheesecake dessert was exceptional. Ask for server Leslie...she knows her stuff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale Dining in Duck

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

This is the most sophisticated fine dining restaurant on the Outer Banks. Definitely a special occasion place. Food and service are very good. View is great over the sound. Expensive but very worth it. Note to parents...please don't bring your small children here...doesn't work for them or for the rest of us looking for one nice place with an adult ambiance...just saying. This restaurant is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, wonderful atmosphere.

Dined on May 28, 2016

We arrived for a 6:15 reservation and finished at 9pm. That would have been acceptable if we were just there for a leasure dinner. We ordered a glass of wine, had the wine glasses brought to the table and then waited 15 minutes to get the wine. Our waitress was very freindly but this interfered with the service. This is not a representation of the resaurant since we watched as other tables got seated, had there meals and left all while we waited for our meal.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been vacationing in OBX for severa ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

We've been vacationing in OBX for several years, and dinner at Kimballs is a fixed part of our vacation schedule. Yet to have a bad meal. The staff is professional and accommodated our request for a window table in time to see the sunset. We had a drink at the bar, where the bartender made heaven in a glass! Look forward to dinner there on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood and steak selection!

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great seafood and steak selection!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff and management were wonderful ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wait staff and management were wonderfully attentive. Ahi tuna was perfect!

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I think our dinner resembled a Saturday ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I think our dinner resembled a Saturday Night Live skit from a few years ago mocking an arrogant New York restaurant. When we were served the shrimp and grits appetizer and the farro salad, we honestly thought someone was joking with us. For $18.75 the appetizer was one teaspoon size gritscake and 2 medium size shrimp. The salad literally looked like someone grabbed one handful of farro and salad leaves and then scattered it over the long plate I appreciate the haute cuisine styling and the talent of the chef but at these prices something more substantial must be presented...would it have been unreasonable to have 4 shrimp and 2 gritcakes at this price? how about a cup of salad and faro? As for entrees, the steak was billed as 8 oz, but couldn't have been more than 4. If not for the large serving of the tomato and onion puree sauce I selected (instead of bernaise) the plate would have been embarrassingly empty except for 6 leaves from a brussel sprout Regardless of how tasty the food may have been I would never return. I am surrounded by excellent foody restaurants in Richmond and large portion size is never essential ...but a fair portion size in relation to the price is critical. This restaurant would never survive if not for the high end Sanderling sending unsuspecting guests here

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Tuna and the she-crab soup were deliciou ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Tuna and the she-crab soup were delicious but the chicken was dry and tasteless. Great sunset but it didn't make up for the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was OK, certainly properly cook ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was OK, certainly properly cooked. The portions are small and the prices are large. Forewarned is forearmed

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants we have been ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

One of the best restaurants we have been to lately.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice ambiance. Clean look: the windows a ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice ambiance. Clean look: the windows are the centerpiece. Excellent service, good food, great presentation. Love the fact that they have a dress code: more restaurants in the US should do the same. It brings up the standard of the whole place. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new chef brings his house made cheeses ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

A new chef brings his house made cheeses and outstanding food which is he hallmark of Kimball's Kitchen. The outstanding food is matched by the service and a staff which returns every season. Still the best on the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service4

Would have done better at A fast food....

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

There is no value here, there is no remarkable food. The setting is gorgeous. Our shrimp cocktail had three shrimp in a tasteless cocktail sauce. The rolls were served cold and were unsavory. Salad was severely overdressed. The fresh lobster ravioli contained a trace of what might have been a lobster, but I am still uncertain. The sauce, if it were good, was ruined by being watered down to a soup consistency; a sign the "chef" did not drain the pasta before saucing. There were only two covers the time we were there. Service was good, but the food was pathetic. Will never return.

food4
ambience5
service5

Very Elegant

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

The experience was far different from any other OBX Restaruant we have found. The dining room was beautiful, and view of The Sound was spectacular. The wait staff was excellent. The food was presented perfectly. The price was pretty high. But if all the previous accolades are desirable, this is the only place in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! A gem of the Outer Banks!

Dined on October 15, 2015

Our second time at Kimball's Kitchen was good as the first! THe food was fantastic. Had the Kimball's Oysters to start (delicious!) and the Blue Crab Stuffed Flounder entree' (wonderful!). For dessert, the Strawberry Shortcake (the Grand Marnier is the secret!) No corkage, but the wine list is extensive and Michael the sommelier is on top of his game. I thought I would slip one past him with an obscure Australian Shiraz I knew on the wine list, but he immediately pointed out that hardly anyone orders that bottle but it is a gem of a wine. And, at $65 a great bargain! Highly recommend Kimball's Kitchen the next time your on the Outer Banks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We diner her often and always have an in ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

We diner her often and always have an incredible experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

Dined on September 17, 2015

From the moment we walked in the staff was friendly and attentive. Our server was very helpful and knew the menu well. She recommended a fantastic dish that we are still raving about. The wine list was extensive and the sommelier helped us choose the perfect one. We will return for our third time next September. We can't wait to see what the chef comes up with when we return. Well done to the entire staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a fine dining experience

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

I have dined at some of the finest restaurants in the country and this ranks with the best. Simply exceptional. A must visit the next time at OBX.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Massachusetts regulars

Dined on September 13, 2015

The food, ambiance and staff are equally terrific! When you want an exceptional meal, endless great wine and spirits choices, look no further. Eat in the dining room or at the bar--both are memorable. This is one of the few consistently good fine dining spots North of Nag's Head and Kitty Hawk. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

Dined on September 11, 2015

Before we went I looked at the bad reviews on Trip Adviser. I'm really surprised by some because we had none of the issues that were mentioned. The only thing I can think of is we went right after Labor day and others might have gone in season. I'm pretty sure that the complaints about the lobster bisque are probably because they use tarragon in it. This can be a strong herb and if you don't like things like anise (or licorice) you might not like the soup. I happen to hate cilantro and if something contains cilantro I usually hate it but I know that's the reason not that the item is no good, or bad. I was pleasantly surprised by the appetizer that contained ox tails. I happen to love these and they are very labor intensive the way it was presented. I know that some people would say yuck ! Ox tails ?! All in all we had a wonderful experience on our 22nd anniversary. When our waitress got bogged down with a table of 8 or 10 people somebody came over and helped her. Everybody was very nice. I was never a fan of the Left Bank and was reluctant in trying Kimball's but I'm very glad we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Very expensive

Dined on September 9, 2015

Everything was fine until the bill came. The value of the meal was not in line with the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice find

Dined on September 8, 2015

We like to dine out on our beach vacation, and decided to try Kimball's Kitchen. We had been there when it was the Left Bank and were not too impressed. Kimball's is a nicer dressier place to go at the beach. Have a date night and enjoy the sunset. Their oyster preparation was delicious with ample crabmeat. The fish dishes, grouper and flounder were delicious. Service was attentive and not intrusive. Expensive, but worth it. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife loved the special request white ...

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife loved the special request white wine sangria they made for her. Filet was excellently prepared. Nicole's service was top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

A huge improvement over Left Bank

vip
Dined on September 4, 2015

Left Bank didn't'quite work. Too fancy and too expensive for OBX. Kimball' brings it down a notch but still is upscale and trendy. Beautiful decor. Very comfortable. Great views. Great food great service. Decent prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, food was outstanding . Mu ...

Dined on September 2, 2015

Great service, food was outstanding . Must try lobster bisque! Worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1

Not what it used to be

Dined on September 2, 2015

My wife, son and I have been fans of this restaurant for more than ten years. As the "Left Bank" it combined outstanding food with great service and the best views in Duck. Based on our experience a year ago and, more recently, last week, only the great view remains. Last week and last year the service was poor and the food very mundane - even if you're wise enough to stick with the basics. This is a holiday resort, but that should not mean 100% turnover amongst the kitchen and restaurant staff - but that's what you get from year to year. It was near impossible to identify any full time professionals amongst the staff - and that was reflected in the service and the food. The restaurant also has a truly absurd, antiquated, so-called "dress code" in effect. Shorts [however unsightly] and flip-flops are fine but a smart casual shirt will not make the grade unless it has a collar. This is a wonderful location and building - but a dreadfully disappointing restaurant. It is a place that has lost its way. That was the case a year ago; it was even more so last week. Very sad.

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular on the Outer Banks

Dined on August 28, 2015

A superb meal was excelled only by the amazing sunset arrayed through Kimball's perfectly-designed glass walls, complete with automated shades rising at just the right moment. My companions and I all had filet mignon, cooked perfectly, and I do mean perfectly. Everything from the opening round of cocktails to the professionally attentive table service was well- orchestrated to make this a most memorable and satisfying meal. The only downside was the price, of course. This was an Expensive outing. We knew that going in, having returned here many times over the past several years. But you get what you pay for, and Kimball's consistently delivers. If you don't mind the splurge, this is the finest place to dine on the Outer Banks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal!

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

Great meal and great service. It started with a selection of five kinds of raw oysters, followed by a crab-stuffed flounder with a nice light sauce beurre blanc that was amazing. No skimpy portion either as in a lot of high-end restaurants. Family style whipped potato and mushroom side dishes were also wonderful. Great find on OBX!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on August 27, 2015

We were promptly seated to a table for 2 overlooking the sound. Our service was friendly and attentive. The portions are a tad on the smaller size but amazingly delicious. We ordered a bunch of sides and apps with our entrees to share and it was perfect. This was the nicest place we ate during our trip. I dine out a lot in the NJ-NY area and have to say this place was on point -a special place. I'd go back every time I'm in OBX.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

FINE DINING AT ITS BEST!

Dined on August 20, 2015

Service and food were fantastic. The restaurant did their best to accommodate our request to sit next to the windows with a great view. All restaurant staff were professional and cordial from the hostess to the bartender and finally our server. I would definitely recommend trying this restaurant. Food was delicious and portions were perfect. Great for date night or dinner with close friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Top Romantic Spot in the OBX

Dined on August 13, 2015

This was our second year visiting Kimball's Kitchen and once again we were thoroughly impressed by our dining experience. The ambiance is to die for, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the sound, surrounded by the natural vegetation as the beautiful NC sun is setting. The light and airy decor makes one feel just as relaxed as if they were on the beach. On top of that, the food was superb. The lobster bisque appetizer with the lobster/brie hushpuppy is not to be missed, and all of the fresh fish dishes are sure to impress. Our group had the local Wahoo from Hatteras, as well as the Blue Crab stuffed Flounder, and the local Shrimp Bucatini pasta dish. Black Truffle mac and cheese and grilled asparagus were excellent choices for side dishes. Finished up our meal with the local blueberry cobbler that was simply delicious. Our server and bartender were quite accommodating and pleasant as well. Overall, our experience was one of the best we've had in the OBX.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and ok food.

Dined on August 11, 2015

We went as a date night to escape the madness of 36 people in our home. You can't beat the atmosphere and decore. It's a perfect location to have a meal and watch the sunset. The food did not meet expectations but it was ok. You are paying for the view and the five star service.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular meal in Duck

Dined on August 5, 2015

Kimball's Kitchen is located across from the Sanderling in Duck. My wife and I dined with friends in the summer of 2015. From start to finish, the meal was flawless. The scenery overlooking the Sound complemented the outstanding fare and wine. Servers and bartenders alike provided top-notch service. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place, fantastic food, fantastic service

Dined on August 1, 2015

We went to Kimball's recently to celebrate a special occasion. The staff, especially Andrew and Deric, went above and beyond to make the evening incredibly special. All the food was delicious and the wine selection was wonderful. The dining room and ambiance is even prettier than the pictures look online, and the pictures are very impressive. I would recommend Kimball's to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining in the Outer Banks

Dined on July 29, 2015

Rarely to go to the beach and find a restaurant as sophisticated and fun as Kimball's Kitchen. Our meal was top-notced from the moment we sat down and were greeted by Tania who was our amazing server. She recommended must-trys, wine pairings, checked on things in the back for us and met every single need and want we had the entire evening. Each course that was put down in front of us was delicious. However, I am still missing my Kimballs Oysters which were the best oysters I have ever had. The only problem we had was walking out of the restaurant too full because we wanted to try everything and ate it all. :-) Love this restaurant and cannot wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always go twice

Dined on July 28, 2015

We stay in Duck for a week every summer and we always make plans to visit Kimball's at the start and again at the end of our stay. The menu is varied enough that there is always something else to try. The seafood is fresh and well prepared, as are the non-fish items on the menu, and the service is terrific. The last time we were there (last week) my husband and I split a filet and lobster tail. The steak was delicious and prepared as ordered. The lobster tail was also terrific. Don't bother asking for a table by the window. They are given out on a first come, first serve basis, so if it is really important to you to have a window seat, get to the restaurant by 6pm. However, one whole side of the restaurant, facing the Sound, is a wall of windows, so the view from every table is wonderful. Kimball's is a little pricey compared to other restaurants in OBX, but that does cut down on parties with a lot of little children so dinner can become a romantic interlude.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a wonderful restaurant. The servic ...

Dined on July 24, 2015

It is a wonderful restaurant. The service, food and staff were all excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Scenic venue with high end cuisine.

Dined on July 23, 2015

Beautiful sound-side view from a dining area built to appreciate it from every angle. Everything was top notch from attention to detail on every dish, delectable cocktails, great wine menu and outstanding menu options which catered to the tastes of all five of our dinner companions. Our server was both knowledgable and friendly. This spot is a definite for all of us the next time we visit the Outer Banks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good, but pricey

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

The food was pretty good and the service was great / a lot of fun, however the prices seemed a bit high for all things considered.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.