Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Rooftop CafeRooftop Cafe
(29)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 18 times today
BagatelleBagatelle
(459)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 6 times today
LatitudesLatitudes
(4807)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 107 times today
Hard Rock Cafe - Key WestHard Rock Cafe - Key West
(22)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Bruschetta Cucina ItalianaBruschetta Cucina Italiana
(2)
$$$$
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 4 times today
Hot Tin RoofHot Tin Roof
(1122)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 27 times today
La Trattoria Old TownLa Trattoria Old Town
(398)
$$$$
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 14 times today
Bistro 245Bistro 245
(186)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 1 time today
2 Cents2 Cents
(267)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 13 times today
A&B Lobster HouseA&B Lobster House
(928)
$$$$
Seafood | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 17 times today
Sarabeth'sSarabeth's
(203)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 12 times today
Shor Seafood at the Hyatt Resort & SpaShor Seafood at the Hyatt Resort & Spa
(226)
$$$$
American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 5 times today
One Duval - Pier House Resort & SpaOne Duval - Pier House Resort & Spa
(34)
$$$$
Caribbean | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Cafe MarquesaCafe Marquesa
(237)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 14 times today
Antonia'sAntonia's
(390)
$$$$
Italian | Key West, Florida Keys - Monroe County
Booked 11 times today

About Permanently Closed - Keyviche seafood Eatery

421 Caroline St
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Keyviche is a fresh ceviche and seafood restaurant, only the best Florida keys seafood
are served.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Latin / Spanish, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily from 4 pm till 11pm

Cross Street:
Duval Street and Telegraph Lane

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 432-9440

Website:
http://keyviche.com/

Catering:
only on house

Parking Details:
There is a private (pay) parking lot next door to Keyviche as well as on street parking (metered) 1 block away on Whitehead Street.

Public Transit:
Bus stop directly in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Carina

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call Daniel Balbi for special events: 305-432-9440

Sort By:
S
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service! Very uniquely ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food, great service!

Very uniquely modern atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service top quality seafo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service top quality seafood best sangria ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Most of the ceviche dishes were pretty g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Most of the ceviche dishes were pretty good, the pan seared yellowtail and shrimp was just ok and was overpriced for the portion and flavour. Service was ok to good. Place was dead on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Çreative, Latin American seafood menu. A ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Çreative, Latin American seafood menu. Attentive service. Loved the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing !

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Excellent seafood and crazy good rolls. 20% off appetizers 5-7....friendly bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best meal we enjoyed in Key West

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We found Keyviche through Open Table, and made reservations with our only expectation being some good seafood prepared differently than along the marina. We were almost giddy with what we found. Our reservation was set for a Saturday night, and we expected a full house, but on entering, we were one of only two couples in the restaurant.

We went from questioning our choice to sheer pleasure in less than five minutes, starting with drinks - a Papa's Cuba Libra and a Mile Zero Margarita with a hint of Chipotle. We took one look at the menu and both decided to try a little of everything there - and it was worth the time to work our way through it!

Our waitperson was wonderful and knowledgeable, and offered several good suggestions, checking back with us regularly appearing truly interested in what we were tasting. She focused on the Colombian heritage and tastes, which helped our understanding.

We started with the Octopus Carpaccio - which was tender and incredibly seasoned - and the scallops au gratin - a hot treat, and moved on to the ceviche. I had the yellowtail with yellow pepper leche de tigre and medium spice, which was absolutely delicious. My date had never had ceviche, so tried the spoon sampler - staff graciously added a fifth spoon for her (whitefish, calamari, yellowtail snapper, mussels and shrimp) and they all disappeared in short order. We tried a bowl of the seafood soup, which was a tasty example of South American spices and seafood broth with mixed seafood, which had been flambeed in their pisco.

Our entrees included the Peruvian rice with grilled shrimp and Diver scallops served with a pineapple salsa and corn. Once again, everything was close to perfection.

We were pleased to see more than a dozen others in the restaurant by then, because the tastes of Colombia and Keyviche deserve to be discovered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow service took away from an otherwise ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Slow service took away from an otherwise enjoyable meal. There were 4 of us and one ate a meal she liked well enough to make it alone worth a return visit to Key West. Otherwise the food was good but not extraordinary. None of us tried the namesake ceviche though, so can't comment on that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Max our waiter was excellent!! Food was ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Max our waiter was excellent!! Food was out of this world. Best ceviche we've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are locals and we will not return dri ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We are locals and we will not return drinks way to expensive my husband had to ask for the drink to be stronger he said it tasted like there was no alcohol and it was a 15.00 dollar!! and my steak app was nasty tasted old I had there "famous" chicken dish and the chicken was so dry I only took like 3 bites my husbands steak was served almost raw we ordered it med rare we sent it back and it Came back in like 3 min I think they microwaved it way to quick to have put it back on the grill and he still left about 1/2 of it still pretty raw by the bone. And the vegetable looked frozen didt even eat them. And the meal was not cheap we spent 150 for two people and one of the worst meals we have had! If they are going to have those kind of prices food needs to be way better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Food was terrible, ambiance was great as ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 8, 2016

Food was terrible, ambiance was great as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great food in a great location!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The dishes were a unique twist on familiar dishes and locally available foods. Everything we ordered was fabulous and the staff were very knowledgeable about the menu items. The portions were larger than anticipated but they were beautifully presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keyviche is a unique choice for Key West

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 19, 2016

A really nice selection of seafood, meats, vegetable dishes. Of course, all sorts of cerviche, but also many other seafood choices. It's a peruvian style restaurant, very nice and well appointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the Peruvian touches! Ceviche sa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2016

I loved the Peruvian touches! Ceviche sampler was great. A bit much portion wise for 3 people to eat, but really tasty! Adobo pork was excellent as well. Service was great--ask for Maria!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Final Dinner in the Keys!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We ate here for our last dinner in Key West before heading home the next day. Dinner was fantastic, and the service exemplary. After a mix-up about my husband's dairy allergy, we were in great hands with the staff in helping guide him through the menu. Everything was delicious and well-prepared, and all staff members were very friendly and helpful. Keyviche may not be the cheapest meal in Key West, but it is outstanding and worth the money!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced and underwhelmed with service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here on NYE and should have been tipped off when half the place was empty. Don't get me wrong, the food wasn't bad. But the service was pretty horrible (waited 10 min just to receive a waiter) and the entire time felt like we were doing them a favor.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced, service issues, but delicious ceviche!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We came here for dinner for two and I really wanted to like this place. However, I can't recommend it to anyone unless they are absolutely craving ceviche or need a last-minute place in Key West for a large group. Very different vibe than the rest of Key West, large space with trendy club-like decor. Unfortunately, the place was understaffed the night we were out and our waitress was taking on too many tables across the floor. It took too long to flag anyone down if we needed anything else, or another drink, or to ask for our check. While we at least were able to finish our meal, we did witness another group leave because the same waitress never came by to take their order. Drinks were flavorless and weak. We did order the restaurant's specialty, the ceviche, as an appetizer, which was delicious. However, we were allowed to order the trilogy which was 3 versions of 8 oz each of ceviche, way too much food for 2 people as an appetizer! If you do happen to somehow end up at Keyviche, don't get persuaded to order the trilogy unless you are 4 or more people. There are plenty of amazing choices in Key West and for the amount we paid and the lack of service, this was not worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Dine elsewhere.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was mediocre to terrible. It took more than 20 minutes and several questions to the staff to find out who our server was. When he finally arrived at our table, he opened a pad on which to take our order but said absolutely nothing and walked away once he had written everything down. The food was swimming in butter and not attractively presented or particularly well-prepared. Several other tables seated near us had similar issues and at least two other couples loudly expressed their frustrations and disappointment with their experiences. There are far better options on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We loved it!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was great, atmosphere is great, service was ok but could be improved!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Worse dining experience ever!

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2016

On new year's eve, we had to wait to get served. Finally we got served when we got the attention of a waiter, who was abrupt with us. My partner had to send back his entree twice! The first time his entree was cold and the second time the entree was not what he ordered. French fries all over the plate on his stir fry. The manager was argumentative when we pushed to have this dish taken off the bill. My partner was not offered another meal on the menu or a free drink. Thank god our key lime martini was ok. A shocking & very disappointing experience to face on holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not your typical seafood menu. Nice chan ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Not your typical seafood menu. Nice change of pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb ceviche!

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Good atmosphere though a little noisy. Fantastic ceviche and mojitos. Friendly, helpful service staff. Accessible with plenty of parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went on a Saturday night, restaurant was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Went on a Saturday night, restaurant was empty, service was great because they were fully staffed and only had three tables full. Appetizers were better than the main dishes. Party of 7 only one person liked their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Our waitress Maria was fantastic and so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Our waitress Maria was fantastic and so friendly and personable! Food was delicious! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not impressed. Nice waitress. Poor food ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Not impressed. Nice waitress. Poor food quality. Will be out of business in 2016 I predict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Wonderful dinner for Christmas Eve. Wait ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Wonderful dinner for Christmas Eve. Wait staff was very attentive and very helpful with the menu, specials and our overall experience. My wife was so thrilled with their efforts to meet her dietary needs and making adjustments as required she that when the manager checked on us as we were leaving just make sure we were totally satisfied with everything, she bear hugged him!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING SERVICE

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2015

The food was good, peruvian. The Pisco sour was ok, missed some sweet. The place is very nice and the service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu looked great but food did not live ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on November 25, 2015

Menu looked great but food did not live up to our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Top notch option in Key West - highly re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Top notch option in Key West - highly recommend it! Fantastic staff and the manager is very sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the food and our entire exper ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 30, 2015

We enjoyed the food and our entire experience so much we are going back tonight and bringing friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Peruvian Style Ceviche

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Wandering around Key West the other day, we stubled upon Keyviche which sits a half-block south of Duval (on Caroline). Trying to avoid the tourist meals that we'd indulged in for the past 4 days, the menu of various ceviches and seafood dishes looked like a good change of pace.

We made our reservation for 8PM and were surprised that the place was empty. The hostess assured me that the food was good (what else could she say?) so we took a table in the middle of the spacious room; we were not disappointed.

We began our meal with nicely prepared cocktails and wine by the glass. Our appetizers (ceviche, peppered octopus, grilled octopus) arrived heaped on the plates.. .each one was enough for a meal to be shared and they were all delicious. I'm a big eater but after finishing the appetizer I did not have room for a main meal. The four of us shared two smaller plates and left fully satisfied.

Keyviche has been open since April 2015 and I'm guessing that word has not yet gotten out. I expect that peak season will bring the crowds. It also has to be noted that the Friday night we visited was the eve of "Fantasy Fest" so most of the crowds were hanging at the numerous water holes along Duval St. Addiitonally, the "Goombay Festival" down the road was in full swing and I'm sure that many potential customers were a few blocks away munching on conch fritters and Bud Light.

We were very happy with our meals and service at Keyviche and I'd put this on my list of decent, non-tourist eateries in Key West.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lots of promise

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2015

beans, potatoes, rice, and sauce were all AWESOME. Beef was just ok-kind of dried out and looked like it came out of a can. All other meals looked good and drinks were good. Great service. Bar was very cute, almost wish we just sat up there instead of at a table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Amazing ceviche selection!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2015

We felt like dining in heaven, ceviches for everybody... Food presentation is contemporary and matches with restaurant ambiente. Knowlegable staff with great recommendations. Favorite: Ceviche Roll and Tuna Cechive w/ Lobstertail

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the combo of flavors. Very fres ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2015

We loved the combo of flavors. Very fresh and well presented. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Off the main street, but please go try this place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2015

We arrived and were seated right away, there wasn't a lot of people but we were early 6:15 pm, people here dine late :). Good job to the designer who designed this restaurant it's beautiful, the floors, the walls, the light fixtures, the ceiling, the colorful curtains, I loved everything. Our waiter was really nice and explained to us their signature dishes. I started with a Sangria and ordered a second one it was soo good :). For food we started to share a ceviche we took the yellowfin tuna mix, it means that it's mix with seafood, it was delicious made with lime and cilantro, I would of ate two of them, loved that plate, then my boyfriend took the Pesto linguini steak it's a churrasco steak really tasty and tender served with really good peruvian pesto sauce was delicious, I took the linguini seafood its seafood served with a delicious key lime butter sauce...Miam!!!! Ate everything , was too full for desert. I recommend this llace to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food bad service

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2015

The restaurant is very nice and quaint. The atmosphere is nice and the location is great. The food was outstanding but hard to enjoy after it took over 30 minutes to get our food and there was only 6 other customers in the restaurant.

The waiter was not attentive, did not fill water glass, we had to constantly flag him down to ask for refills. He did not pay us any attention even though with 11 patrons we were the largest group in the restaurant and over 50% of the patrons. The young man who assisted him was great, he did all the waiter should have and was apologetic to our party and attempted to make up for the lack of service. We tipped him off to the side as he earned it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great Cerviche

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2015

Went her upon a recommendation of another couple we met it Key West. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from especially seafood. If you are looking for something different and you like cerviche - this is the place. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Found this place by sheer luck. Wasn't e ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Found this place by sheer luck. Wasn't expecting anything. Restaurant is beautiful. The food is absolutely delicious (great taste, presentation, portions). One of my favourite recent finds. Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Might go back once they're more established

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2015

We ate here in June of 2015. To be fair, they've only been open for about 7 weeks. We tried the ceviche infusion the grilled romaine salad, and the Peruvian rice. I have had Peruvian food before both here in the states and in South America so I had something to compare it to.

Good

The service was good. The manager came over at one point to ask how things were. The flavors were good and the portions were huge. I also enjoyed the ambience.

Needs improvement

The menu is too large. They should limit what they serve and execute them well. The fish was good but the octopus was chewy which means it was not prepared well. The rice was ok. The mussels were large and good quality but overcooked as well.

Overall it was just ok. I think once they're more established and limit their menu some, this could be a great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Underwhelming. Server wasn't well inform ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on May 20, 2015

Underwhelming. Server wasn't well informed. Service was slow. Food was average to underpar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.