Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Ketchum Grill

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: (208) 726-4660

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Comfort Food (22)
See All
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (18)
Casual (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

This is such a nice local place. Not trying to be hoity hoity. Nice staff and good food. The night we were there everyone was busy and working hard but friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We are outside at the Ketchum Grill. It was lovely with a wonderful ambiance. The food was very, very good. One person had the lamb shank, two had the trout and one had the lemon pasta. We also had gazpacho, and several desserts. Everything was excellent. Being particularly fussy I didn't give it five stars only because I look at 5 stars as perfection! Our service was tremendous btw!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrific food and very good wait staff. Would go back again and again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and ambience. Lava lake lamb shank falls off the bone and is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

eating back in the chefs patio was more than wonderful.....service everything top notch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Hostess seated a loud, boisterous party of at least 10 right next to our cozy table when we were half way through our meal. After registering my complaint the hostess told me I should have come in earlier. This was a post concert dinner. No apology.
We have dined at this restaurant frequently over the years and have always had a pleasant experience. It should be noted that the hostess this particular evening was not the regular hostess/host. She was rude from our entrance continuing through our quick exit.
The owners should not have this "hostess" interfacing with patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

always comfy and unpretentious, with great western fare and quick service....a great deal...

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Always enjoy a wonderful evening of dining at Ketchum Grill. Great for friends get together and having delicious food.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Completely AWESOME!!! We loved every minute...and...the food was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

have loved this restaurant for years, but this time it was mediocre at best. Prices for what we ate were not a good value and meatloaf was not very good nor was the sides. Breads were not great either. My wife's dish was mediocre at best. There are other restaurants I will try in Sun Valley before returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, impeccable service, fun atmosphere. We always come back when we come to Sun Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We always enjoy the Ketchum Grill when we are in town. Service was great and food fantastic. If you go in summer be sure you get seated on the front patio

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service and food was awesome!
Outdoor seating was perfect

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Friendly, helpful staff. Dining in a cozy, historic setting with delicious food. Ordered the watermelon gazpacho and an appetizer with a homemade dessert to finish. No entree? Still service with a smile. Will I return? Yes and yes!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

What a disappointment! The salmon and short rib were very good. The roasted potatoes with both dishes were so hard and overcooked they were inedible. The salad was tiny. The maitre could not seat us outside in front, and offered us an uncomfortable table outside in back. When we asked to be seated inside, we were placed at a tiny cramped table. The waitress serving our table was excellent. We've had mixed experiences in past years. We probably won't come again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Ketchum Grill fills us with great food and happiness. The house made breads and soups are always delicious. Fresh fish, sublime, lemon pasta, lamb meatballs in a savory sauce, spicy oyster stew, even the hand formed and smashed burgers and pizzas are perfect, especially for kids like us. Meat loaf, bargain "day steaks" with unusual preparations, and two wine lists: one simple and by-the-glass, or very esoteric and expensive, but those seem to be modestly marked up. The staff is supper efficient and welcoming, but not obtrusive. We always see and greet friends and leave with a smile. Scott and Ann Mason are great local restaurateurs with three fantastic restaurants in the family and an adoring staff. You may see us there when you go!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Dinner for 4 on the patio was great fun. The lamb meatball special was very tasty and the waiter was efficient and attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Sitting on the front porch made it a good experience. It was packed and louder than we would have liked had we sat inside. The regular menu does not lend itself to what the specials add to the selection. It was really good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ketchum Grill has always been a favorite of ours and it never disappoints. Our recent meal was very well prepared and the service was top-notch. Try the slow-food special, it is always fantastic and very flavorful!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Ketchum/Sun Valley. A historical place with great food and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner at Ketchum Grill: salad of heirloom tomatoes with mozzarella and balsamic vinegar dressing, followed by the half rack of lamb. Lamb was perfectly medium rare, tender and well-seasoned. My husband who is a light water finished every morsel.

I had the wild salmon which was also beautifully cooked and seasoned.

Sevice was friendly and helpful.

Great meal and priced reasonably for the quality.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Long time SUn Valley area favorite. Love the shrimp pizza and the chocolate chi~chi for dessert.ice outside, but too hot and stayed inside with the air this time.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have always loved Ketchum Grill. Welcome to Ketchum in the summer, but haven't been back for a couple of years. When we arrived, we couldn't wait to go there for dinner. What a disappointment. The service was awful, the food mediocre, and they were out of the special, which they neglected to tell us until after we ordered. So, you figure everyone is allowed an off night, right? Sure. So we went back a couple of nights later. The halibut was so overcooked and dry ... and the roasted potatoes were like hockey pucks. And again, the service left much to be desired. What happened to you guys???? We won't be back. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As always, since it opened, wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Not even par with other two restaurants you own which we love. Food was just ho hum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The KG did a nice job of finding us outdoor patio seating. the service was a bit slow but keep us informed. I like the attitude and hard working staff. food a b plus and great ideas from the server on wine and certain dishes. I really appreciate that,. will be back again soon. ALL GOOD
Gabe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Personal favorite dining spot while in Ketchum... and we did eat at several places while we were visiting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Consistently good food, great service. Love the patio Left my sunglasses and they had them there waiting for me:))

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was really fresh and delicious and the chef was able
To make a couple of
Adjustments due to food allergies. Servers were attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We are never disappointed in the Ketchum Grill. We were lucky enough to get a table outside and the service was great, the food (try the duck) also great. All four of us were very happy. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Everything about our meal was great, except the sea bass. It was ban fried and served with slaw. It tasted like trout, not sea bass and the seasoning was over powering. The salads and steak that we ordered were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We Love this place! Been coming here for years. Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I love love love this restaurant! Lovely little historic home with attentive and friendly staff (many of whom we see year after year). I have never had a meal at the Ketchum Grill that was anything less than amazing, but I now spend so much time dreaming about the Lemon Noodles that whenever I go that's what I have. I think I was smiling with my eyes closed savoring every bite last night! And oh, their lemon goat cheese cake- absolutely divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Highly recommend! Delightful setting. Great menu. Delicious meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always great! This place is a classic in Ketchum and it is consistently excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very pleasant patio seating. Peaceful and serene, perfect for dining. Order the Halibut if they have it, best I've had in years. I'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I ordered the grouper fish entrée which was not very good.
Our understanding server let me order the salmon dinner.
Disappointed it came served with mango... kind of a sweet & sour taste. Disappointed again.
Try having their baked 1/2 chicken dinner as I hear that's consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

One of our favorites! Try to go here whenever we are in Ketchum

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

over priced on side items main dishes are overdone with stuff

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I used to enjoy this restaurant. We planned an Anniversary dinner two days ago. We had requested a patio table. Guess it did not get communicated. We did end up on the patio thankfully. My special slow cooked pork item was over done amd frankly awful. The service was sad. Hate to give this authentic old restaurant the boot. But.. it failed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.