About Ketchum Grill

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: 2087264660x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Outdoor Dining
Idaho
1 More
Most Booked
Sun Valley / Ketchum
Best Restaurants in Ketchum ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Historic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (6)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fireplace (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went to Ketchum grill f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I went to Ketchum grill for our first time and were very pleased with the food and service. I had the meatloaf and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had the steak but thought it was just ok- not enough flavor. The service was great but the seating is pretty tight. Luckily there was music playing so I didn't feel like the tables next to us were listening to our conversation. I would definitely go back for a second time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another reliable delicious dinner! We l ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Another reliable delicious dinner! We love Ketchum Grill!

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been dining at The Ketchum Grill ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have been dining at The Ketchum Grill for over 20 years. Love, Love,Love this restaurant.

Always a great experience and fabulous food!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites if not favorite res ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of our favorites if not favorite restaurant in Sun Valley to meet with friends and family. Always something good to eat whatever in the mood to eat. Desserts perfect end to the meal as well. Everyone on staff rate a 10! Keep up whatever you are doing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner on our long ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner on our long weekend getaway in Sun Valley. We had the grilled prosciutto-wrapped prawns for an appetizer, which were delicious. For the main course, my wife had the lamb shank with a grilled polenta side, and I had the trout with mashed potatoes; both were prepared perfectly. We couldn't resist a sweet finish to a wonderful meal, so the dark & white chocolate mouse covered with a chocolate shell was our choice for dessert. The seating was close and cozy, but not cramped (we even struck up an conversation with the table next to us). Thanks for making our evening special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

In town for Jazz Festival and were looki ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

In town for Jazz Festival and were looking for another new place to try in Ketchum. Online reviews looked good and they had availability during our time frame on Saturday. Good food, not outstanding, great selection of wines but way overpriced, very friendly staff and good service. Would eat there again in future and recommend to others to try. One downside is only beer and wine, no cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner with friends at the Ket ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful dinner with friends at the Ketchum Grill. It always lives up to our expectations and is one of our favorite Ketchum restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ford was fantastic as usual. Love la ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ford was fantastic as usual. Love lamb shanks and the wine menu.

I asked for table for four near window. Our guest s couldn't believe lack of space. When couple came in for table for two next to us, our guests, suggested they go under the table. They were treating for dinner but don't want to return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This dinner added to our fun experience ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This dinner added to our fun experience at the Sun Valley Jazz Festival. We enjoyed visiting Ketchum and eating at your quaint old-style restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We are in Ketchum occasionally for work, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We are in Ketchum occasionally for work, and Ketchum Grill is always a must. Food is excellent and fairly reasonable, the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just doesn' get any better than Ketshum ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Just doesn' get any better than Ketshum Grill. Great food, great service, great wine list, friendly, a feel good place to go. Perfect all around

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ketchum Grill is a great comfortable res ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Ketchum Grill is a great comfortable restaurant that serves consistently good food.

It's a rustic, lively place, and always a pleasant experience for us.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found this place about 5 years ago. Any ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Found this place about 5 years ago. Anything cooked on their firewood grill has been excellent. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a quaint place to eat, with unique, high quality food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed with our local favorit ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very disappointed with our local favorite - chosen for its reputation as a charming place to take our out of town visitors and for the duck which is my partner's favorite. Three of us had duck - it was rubbery and oily. The roasted vegetables were more like warmed up vegetables. One friend had the salmon and he said it was OK. Really bummed to have this be our guest's experience as well as our own.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Very nice meal. My lamb shank was meaty ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very nice meal. My lamb shank was meaty and tender in a nice tomato based sauce. Served with grilled polenta and summer squash. Good wine list with lots of choices by the glass as well as a very decent beer selection. Service was good in spite of being maybe more busy than they expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went with a group of local friends wh ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went with a group of local friends when visitors from out of town were here. It was amazing! One of the visitors confirmed that his steak was perfect and the most memorable dining experience he has had all summer....maybe even all year. Highly complementary. Thank you for a very special evening.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Ketchum Grill for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have been going to Ketchum Grill for 20 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

To noisy, not a good value

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

To noisy, not a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Informal but gracious and sophisticated. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Informal but gracious and sophisticated. Delicious food, nice wine, great service, good ambiance. A delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service and ambiance here w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and service and ambiance here was superb ! We will difiinitly be back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been back here in a year but I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I haven't been back here in a year but I don't know why because the food is great, the service amazing and the price is right. There's something for everyone here so it's a great place to bring your family & friends.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience!!! The sorbet ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had a great experience!!! The sorbet was phenomenal and the chocolate molasses cookie was out of this world! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants in Ketch ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Ketchum/Sun Valley. Have been coming here since it opened. Food is consistently great and service efficient and friendly. The ravioli is one of my favorites. Have never been disappointed in all the various dishes we've had over the years.

Table inside can be close together making conversation somewhat difficult when crowded.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Normally have great service but this tim ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Normally have great service but this time we waited over an hour for our entrees. Other patrons who came after were served before we were. Disappointed in what usually is one of our favorite restaurants in town.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The summer salad of tender greens, pickl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The summer salad of tender greens, pickled onions, sliced almonds, fresh raspberries and goat cheese was refreshing and not overly dressed. The herb ravioli was one of the best my husband has had. I ordered the "slow of the day," a pork osso buco that was fork tender. The only sour note was the fruit crisp, which was sour, indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ketchum Grill is a long time Sun Valley ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Ketchum Grill is a long time Sun Valley favorite. I love their shrimp pizza and my husband enjoys the duck. The chocolate dessert is not to be missed.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still my favorite restaurant in Ketchum ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Still my favorite restaurant in Ketchum. Excellent pan seared Halibut.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal, nice staff and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a very good meal, nice staff and nice evening! Thanks you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have been dining at KG for 20 years. Al ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Have been dining at KG for 20 years.

Always enjoyable. Don't miss the unique delicious mint chocolate chip ice cream sandwich for dessert; a specialty for many years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not great. I had the rock shri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was not great. I had the rock shrimp pizza with pesto. Hardly any shrimp and the pesto was glopped on and as such was bitter. No thanks!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food , hospitality . We look forwa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food , hospitality . We look forward to delicious meals there in the summer outside and the winter inside !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. And you can actually have a q ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food. And you can actually have a quiet conversation there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us dined after a Sun Valley Summ ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Four of us dined after a Sun Valley Summer Symphony concert and dinner was spectacular. Soups are always wonderfully unusual, delectably seasoned and herbed. Day steaks, lamb meatballs, grilled fresh fish and a Merry Edwards Pinot Noir. Service was seamless, the terrace was pleasant and we saw many happy friends, including some musicians we had just heard on stage. What a fun evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at Ketchum Grill dozens of ti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Have eaten at Ketchum Grill dozens of times over the years and they offer consistently good comfort food. However, with their expansion with 2 additional restaurants have noticed a drop in the quality of the food and service. I hope that the owners address these issues. Service is especially poor at Enoteca-probably this restaurant needs a better manager!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Ketchum Grill is our favorite Ketchu ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Ketchum Grill is our favorite Ketchum restaurant for a reliably terrific dinner. In 16 years, it has never failed to please us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful service- no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service- not to be missed if you visit Sun Valley

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know what's wrong with this plac ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I don't know what's wrong with this place. It could be so great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food and great service. We will b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food and great service. We will be going back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service and ambience. A grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food, service and ambience. A great place to eat after a concert

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Despite the crush of the busiest season, ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Despite the crush of the busiest season, Ketchum Grill continues to pamper its regulars, as well as an onslaught of visitors. The fresh fish and special day steaks were superb as usual and the slow food, Sugo (tomato sauced) pulled pork, surrounding a mound of linguini, was great, but we tasted each other's plates and they were all great, as well as our great international server, who couldn't have been better! Go!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.