Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Ketchum Grill

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: (208) 726-4660

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Cozy (31)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Comfort Food (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Historic (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (17)
Casual (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Seasonal (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fireplace (6)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. But something was off...service personnel seemed stressed. Beer recommendation not good. Good, but not the experience we've come to expect...

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not as good as it used to be . . n fact, we were disappointed in the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The setting and friendly staff make this a great restaurant. The food, wine and customer service are also excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been many times there before. This time the quality of the food was not what we expected to have. The vegetables were soggy and the potatoes simple and did not taste good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very pleasant with great food. The lamb shank was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful food. The acooustics are horrible. Can't talk in there at all. We love it and will continue to go there, just don't think you'll have a quiet romantic dinner. If they put some accoustic tiles on the ceiling it would help immensely.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Asked on open table for a front room corner table. They tried to seat us in different section at a very small table next to a large party. We mentioned that it would not due since we were celebrating a birthday, no impact- they placed us at a bigger table in back room with no extra special service. I don't think they read the requests on open table. Food and service only fair.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our great experience was typical of other times we've had during our visits to Sun Valley

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A favorite when we visit sun valley always something homey and tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is a very cozy and popular restaurant. We ate here while on a ski trip to Sun Valley. The food is excellent and the service superb. Reservations are a must as the place is not very large. It was packed on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food. The ahi was great. The service was superb.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food in an old house. Very much the OLD Sun Valley feeling.
We come once a year to ski and eat dinner...
Always good!!!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was a good choice, everyone said there entree was good but not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was terrific. Wish that we had been notified that there was not a full bar. Would have stopped elsewhere first for a drink.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service began slow but eventually picked up. Charged for bottle of wine we didn't get but after questioning it they credited the credit card.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding dining experience - as always. The lamb meatballs special was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our server was a legend.
Chefs were rockstars.
Best burger in town.
Shrimp cakes FTW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Very average food, expensive for the cuisine, lousy service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This restaurant is always a favorite. The food is consistently delicious, starting with the bread that comes with the meal. The ambiance is cozy and casual with a welcoming fire in the fireplace as you enter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food and great ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service of our main waiter was poor but someone (the manager?) stepped in and took over from time to time. It was a bit awkward, not sure who to ask for assistance, but we did end up getting pretty good service. Not excellent, though.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We ate at Ketchum Grill with another family. The menu was broad enough so all four kids and four adults found something they liked. Food was well executed, atmosphere is pleasant and desserts were a must try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food but very loud. Hard to have a conversation with our family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance! Love this iconic Sun Valley restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and superb service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food, decent wine list. Tiny and cozy....nice for a winter evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Cozy, local-scene vibe with outstanding menu selection. We were there during ski season in early February on a busy Friday evening - snowing outside and a warm fire inside - do make reservations. One of only two places I found with duck breast - excellent and just what I was in the mood for. Apple tart was also the perfect dessert. Wines by the glass were a bit limited for my taste but told they change frequently. Hope we can come back soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ketchum Grill - always consistent, always good. Supports Paleo, GF, DF with ample choice. A regular go-to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overall very enjoyable. Service staff was very attentive and nice. Food was not rushed, timing allowed for an enjoyable evening. There was plenty of time to enjoy wine between seating and food delivery. Noise was a little loud to be expected in a small accoustically poor environment. My only complaint was the lamb. Supposedly a signature dish. It was prepared stew style. Very tender, but no lamb flavor. The only flavor was of the stew broth. I love lamb, why would a very nice piece of lamb be placed in a stew to have its flavor boiled away? I'm not an expert so take my opinion with a grain of salt. Next time I'll ask how it's prepared before I order it. Lamb not with standing I would recommend Ketchum Grill.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Oysters in a spicy remoulade, lamb meatballs, homemade lemon pasta and always some great grilled fish of the day and Day Steak (which varies in preparation and cut). Did I mention they make a perfect, hand-formed and smashed beef burger on a bun grilled medium rare if you like, because it is very high quality Neiman Ranch or Snake River Farms ground chuck? Very hard to do right but they do, right down to the house made buns and homemade ketchup, although I prefer Heinz and they will bring it. The owners love wine, so the wines by the glass are exquisite, and the rare ones are not egregiously marked up, so it is a great chance to be a hero and order a treasure. This place deserves and earned my stars for its friendly, convivial hospitality and comfy cuisine.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Restaurant is great, but they did not have our Open Table reservation when we arrived. Fortunately they could squeeze us in. Your problem?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A favorite! Always recommend. Never disappoints! Special/unique. Great service, fantastic food! Feels local, is local. Memorable meals always!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic local spot with great slow food specials and the proverbial to-die-for desserts. Save room! Try the fruit tart, chocolate chi chi or daily made sorbetto or gelato.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As usual KG comes through with very good food, unpretentious and well presented, with attentive service. Good wine list, but we always bring our own...corkage at $25 feels a bit high though. Ambiance in 100+ old house in Ketchum is always comforting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great with multiple food allergies. Several great options - all very good.
Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner and service was very good. Friend had special salad with smoked trout and said the fish was mushy. I had the half chicken and it was great. Also tried the bison special slow food which was also great. A large,noisy group came in which made it difficult for us to converse mid meal. Overall, very good experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

a staple in Ketchum. Their staples are better than the special menu and at a better price point.
Still need to work on the little things, making sure all the food comes out together and is hot.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A really lovely cosy place to dine in the middle of winter. The food was gorgeous, the service friendly and efficient and the space bubbled with a warm brew of ambiance. Top marks!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been to Ketchum Grill several times on our visits to Sun Valley. This time was particularly good, food-wise. I had salmon, which was delicious, served with mashed potatoes and veggies. The ambiance there is quite charming, although kind of close, i.e. if you are a large person, the surroundings would be a bit challenging to navigate. However, since there are no large people in Sun Valley, this won't be a problem. Service was adequate, but not particularly friendly....she did her job, but not much more. Will go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great as always! Had a grass fed burger, glass of wine and enjoyed the feeling of being with happy friends in a cozy, Ketchum cabin, which of course it is, but this one has great service and inventive cuisine. Great specials every night, big menu, bigger wine lists, two of them! Go!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.