About Ketchum Grill

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: 2087264660x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Outdoor Dining
Idaho
2 More
Most Booked
Idaho
Most Booked
Sun Valley / Ketchum
Best Restaurants in Ketchum ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (65)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (10)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Healthy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went with a group of local friends wh ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went with a group of local friends when visitors from out of town were here. It was amazing! One of the visitors confirmed that his steak was perfect and the most memorable dining experience he has had all summer....maybe even all year. Highly complementary. Thank you for a very special evening.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Ketchum Grill for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have been going to Ketchum Grill for 20 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

To noisy, not a good value

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

To noisy, not a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Informal but gracious and sophisticated. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Informal but gracious and sophisticated. Delicious food, nice wine, great service, good ambiance. A delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service and ambiance here w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and service and ambiance here was superb ! We will difiinitly be back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been back here in a year but I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I haven't been back here in a year but I don't know why because the food is great, the service amazing and the price is right. There's something for everyone here so it's a great place to bring your family & friends.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience!!! The sorbet ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had a great experience!!! The sorbet was phenomenal and the chocolate molasses cookie was out of this world! Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants in Ketch ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Ketchum/Sun Valley. Have been coming here since it opened. Food is consistently great and service efficient and friendly. The ravioli is one of my favorites. Have never been disappointed in all the various dishes we've had over the years.

Table inside can be close together making conversation somewhat difficult when crowded.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Comfort Food, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Normally have great service but this tim ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Normally have great service but this time we waited over an hour for our entrees. Other patrons who came after were served before we were. Disappointed in what usually is one of our favorite restaurants in town.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

The summer salad of tender greens, pickl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The summer salad of tender greens, pickled onions, sliced almonds, fresh raspberries and goat cheese was refreshing and not overly dressed. The herb ravioli was one of the best my husband has had. I ordered the "slow of the day," a pork osso buco that was fork tender. The only sour note was the fruit crisp, which was sour, indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ketchum Grill is a long time Sun Valley ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Ketchum Grill is a long time Sun Valley favorite. I love their shrimp pizza and my husband enjoys the duck. The chocolate dessert is not to be missed.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still my favorite restaurant in Ketchum ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Still my favorite restaurant in Ketchum. Excellent pan seared Halibut.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal, nice staff and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a very good meal, nice staff and nice evening! Thanks you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Have been dining at KG for 20 years. Al ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Have been dining at KG for 20 years.

Always enjoyable. Don't miss the unique delicious mint chocolate chip ice cream sandwich for dessert; a specialty for many years!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not great. I had the rock shri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was not great. I had the rock shrimp pizza with pesto. Hardly any shrimp and the pesto was glopped on and as such was bitter. No thanks!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food , hospitality . We look forwa ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food , hospitality . We look forward to delicious meals there in the summer outside and the winter inside !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. And you can actually have a q ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good food. And you can actually have a quiet conversation there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Four of us dined after a Sun Valley Summ ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Four of us dined after a Sun Valley Summer Symphony concert and dinner was spectacular. Soups are always wonderfully unusual, delectably seasoned and herbed. Day steaks, lamb meatballs, grilled fresh fish and a Merry Edwards Pinot Noir. Service was seamless, the terrace was pleasant and we saw many happy friends, including some musicians we had just heard on stage. What a fun evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten at Ketchum Grill dozens of ti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Have eaten at Ketchum Grill dozens of times over the years and they offer consistently good comfort food. However, with their expansion with 2 additional restaurants have noticed a drop in the quality of the food and service. I hope that the owners address these issues. Service is especially poor at Enoteca-probably this restaurant needs a better manager!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Ketchum Grill is our favorite Ketchu ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Ketchum Grill is our favorite Ketchum restaurant for a reliably terrific dinner. In 16 years, it has never failed to please us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful service- no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious food and wonderful service- not to be missed if you visit Sun Valley

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know what's wrong with this plac ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I don't know what's wrong with this place. It could be so great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food and great service. We will b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food and great service. We will be going back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, service and ambience. A grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good food, service and ambience. A great place to eat after a concert

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Despite the crush of the busiest season, ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Despite the crush of the busiest season, Ketchum Grill continues to pamper its regulars, as well as an onslaught of visitors. The fresh fish and special day steaks were superb as usual and the slow food, Sugo (tomato sauced) pulled pork, surrounding a mound of linguini, was great, but we tasted each other's plates and they were all great, as well as our great international server, who couldn't have been better! Go!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but nothing outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was good, but nothing outstanding. Kitchen couldn't get all of our entrees out at the same time which is definitely the sign of a poorly run kitchen. We waited nearly 5 minutes for the 2 entrees to arrive. Service was fine but again nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Nicely varied menu, and items ordered we ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nicely varied menu, and items ordered were good. Had reservation, and seated immediately.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Peter was a great waiter. Food was great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Peter was a great waiter. Food was great and very local feel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time in literally deca ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is the first time in literally decades that we were disappointed in our dinners. We rave at the reliability of the menu and specials. On this occasion we brought an out of town guest who had never been to Sun Valley. Preparation just wasn't at the same level as usual.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Unfortunately, we sat at a table by the ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately, we sat at a table by the door on the patio, and there was a lot of fast back and forth movement of employees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Favorite spot in Ketchum. Love sitting ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Favorite spot in Ketchum. Love sitting on the porch enjoying the spinach salad. Best showcasing of local farmers. We can't say enough good things about KG.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a delicious meal. Our waiter was fri ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a delicious meal. Our waiter was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. We were seated quickly even though it was pretty crowded. Very relaxed atmosphere, but they take their food seriously. We will be sure to come back the next time we visit ketchum!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a lovely evening here wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We always have a lovely evening here with great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The location is great. We sat outside on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The location is great. We sat outside on a wonderful Ketchum evening. Not one bug. Staff is great. I love it when my water glass is kept full. I had roasted chicken. It was done perfectly, moist and tender. It was served with, my favorite, wild rice. Such a good combination. My guest had the shrimp pasta and loved it. The deserts looked great but we passed. Lovely evening. We will go again. Enjoy. Wine and beer bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We have eaten here a few times, and we w ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have eaten here a few times, and we will continue to come back when we are in the area. This is a classy restaurant where all of the staff cater to all the guests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ourwaiter didagreatjob. He wasattentive ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ourwaiter didagreatjob. He wasattentive and helpful

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Server Krista was AWESOME in every way! ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Server Krista was AWESOME in every way! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

General experience good but some food un ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

General experience good but some food undercooked and some over cooked. Also maitre d' very officious which was extremely off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and wine. Ate on back pat ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious food and wine.

Ate on back patio, which was nice, but there was a less than nice pile of used large boxes and trash in full view from my spot at the table. Was unpleasant to look at, and with a small bit of effort, could have looked much better

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.