About Ketchum Grill

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: 2087264660x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
2 More
Most Booked
Idaho
Most Booked
Sun Valley / Ketchum
Best Restaurants in Ketchum ›

neighborhood gem (29)
fit for foodies (25)
great for outdoor dining (21)
See All
special occasion (20)
good for groups (15)
notable wine list (13)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The location is great. We sat outside on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined a day ago

The location is great. We sat outside on a wonderful Ketchum evening. Not one bug. Staff is great. I love it when my water glass is kept full. I had roasted chicken. It was done perfectly, moist and tender. It was served with, my favorite, wild rice. Such a good combination. My guest had the shrimp pasta and loved it. The deserts looked great but we passed. Lovely evening. We will go again. Enjoy. Wine and beer bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great as always!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ourwaiter didagreatjob. He wasattentive ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ourwaiter didagreatjob. He wasattentive and helpful

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Server Krista was AWESOME in every way! ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Server Krista was AWESOME in every way! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

General experience good but some food un ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

General experience good but some food undercooked and some over cooked. Also maitre d' very officious which was extremely off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and wine. Ate on back pat ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious food and wine.

Ate on back patio, which was nice, but there was a less than nice pile of used large boxes and trash in full view from my spot at the table. Was unpleasant to look at, and with a small bit of effort, could have looked much better

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

🍽😀👍🍷🍔🍕yum. Great dinner Max & Nick ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

🍽😀👍🍷🍔🍕yum. Great dinner Max & Nicks fav.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Ketchum Grill is one of our "go-to's" in ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Ketchum Grill is one of our "go-to's" in Ketchum, always a pleasant experience. Food and service are reliably good. We love the setting in a historic Ketchum house, wherein the old Sun Valley decor creates a cozy, relaxed ambiance. Noise levels are very moderate. The porch is great for outdoor dining, and inside is nice as well. As in many restaurants, the specials are often particularly good. Recommended!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great time and meal at Ketchum ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Always a great time and meal at Ketchum Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined at Ketchum Grill with a group of ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I dined at Ketchum Grill with a group of 6. My friend that suggested it actually felt bad that he picked it as he was the only one person had a good meal. Everyone had something different and unfortunately no one was impressed, my friend that had the lemon noodles with shrimp loved his dish and we all wished we would have ordered that too. Overall, the food is just ok and I wouldn't recommend it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We love the Ketchum Grill and always mak ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We love the Ketchum Grill and always make an effort to go when we are in Kethchum! The decor is fantastic. Very old school Sun Valley. In a house-like building you feel like you just dropped by your ski buddies home for a bite. The food is fantastic. They start you with delicious home made artisan breads like rosemary with white currants (my fav.) and then we delight in the caprese salad that is so bright and delicious. I had the Salmon and it was amazing. The lemon shrimp pasta is a "must have" for my daughters (19 and 16 years) one of them switched the shrimp for chicken and they accommodated that without flinching! Husband went for the steak and loved it! We sat outside on the patio and it was so nice. Just a wonderful friendly and spectacular place that never disappoints us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy KG. It's not a great fit ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We always enjoy KG. It's not a great fit for most kiddos. Pretty limited menu but most things are fantastic. My spouse always likes the burger. Usually I like the soups but not always...Mostly friendly service. Overall I would recommend to adults.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Appetizer came quickly but there was a l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Appetizer came quickly but there was a long wait for the main course. Lamb shank was fall-off-the-bone tender and delicious. House-made sausage with linguini was accompanied by sun-dried tomatoes and a light cream sauce -- also delicious. Server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I think the restaurant was a little over ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I think the restaurant was a little overburdened when my daughter and I were there. Usually, it isn't an issue.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We have had countless dinners at Ketchum ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have had countless dinners at Ketchum Grill....always great food & service, nice wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every time we are in the Ketchum, Sun Va ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Every time we are in the Ketchum, Sun Valley area, we come here. The Ketchum Grill is a must!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a pleasure! Never disappoints. ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always a pleasure! Never disappoints. The soups are always fantastic, because they are so artfully spiced. Likewise the fresh bread. Our favorite dish is the spicy fresh oyster soup. The special menu is kaleidoscopic and always fresh fish beautifully prepared and presented, day steaks, lamb meatballs, etc. but the regular menu is full of great delights, from a simply delicious premium beef burger to the lemon pasta, pizza, steaks, whatever appeals. Wines by the glass usually get the nod, but there's an incredibly sophisticated wine list at family pricing for those so inclined. After decades od satisfying evenings, we can attest to the home-spun, elegance of this welcoming, family owned and operated Ketchum standby. The second time you come, they all remember you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of eight that had dinner ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a group of eight that had dinner the after the Sawtooth Relay. We enjoyed the entire experience. The food was great, we also enjoyed the staff. Very clean

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated our last-minute reques ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

They accommodated our last-minute request to add more to our party. Service was pleasant and paced well. Food was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food made my friend want to do a "Happy Dance"

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I am not a foodie but some of my friends are. They suggested the lemon noodles and I was delighted. We had a great server and he suggested one of the wines we choose. Excellent. You don't have to Know the difference between a rock shrimp and a bay shrimp to like this place but if you do you might be a foodie that likes this place.

I don't think the restaurant is usually so loud. Every table was full and there was a "loud talker" at the table near us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food as always. Server was a littl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food as always. Server was a little slow to greet and take our order over ten minutes but other than that food and ambiance was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

David and Jody's review-

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Every year for several years I buy my wife a gift certificate for this restaurant because it has consistently great food and great service. We have never had a bad experience there-it's great-worth going to.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

an awesome dinner, accompanied by wonderful, efficient service,and cooked perfectly by a knowledgeable kitchen staff. Kudos to the owners!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has very good food and very g ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This place has very good food and very good unknown wine to me. Overall, very good food, customer service, and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great wait staff and very kind to my 4 a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great wait staff and very kind to my 4 and 2 year year old granddaughters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our local gem!

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Fresh food always well prepared! Good wine list too; by the glass or bottle. Feels like home, but someone else is doing the all the work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

love the converted house, gives a warm h ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

love the converted house, gives a warm honey feel to the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Reliable favorite

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Have eaten here many times and find the food to be good, service generally good and atmosphere pleasant. Occasionally the food misses the mark but not often which is why we come back.

Had kind of an odd experience with the main hostess. We had a 6:30 reservation for a Monday evening. The front dining room is rather small with tables being pretty close together as the restaurant is in an old house with this part being the old porch which is closed in and faces the outdoor seating area. They have 2 two tops kind of shoehorned into this area with the other tables being 4 tops. As there was two of us they wanted to seat us at the 2 top that was available which is quite awkwardly placed; since there were several other tables available we asked if we could be seated elsewhere. After much discussion between the two hostesses we were reluctantly seated at a four top . She let us know that they would be full by 7:30 with the implication being we should be gone by that time.

As our dinners took a bit longer than usual to come out of the kitchen by the time our meal was finished it was 8:15. The restaurant was not more than a third full and the large dining area in the back was completely empty.

This will not keep us from coming back and bringing visiting guests as we like the space and usually the food but being made to feel like they were doing us a big favor by seating us at a slightly larger table seemed really unnecessary.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good but not great!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I made this reservation after reading all the great reviews and was very excited to be dining here and frankly I was a bit disappointed. The food was good but nothing special. I had the slow cook pork which was tasty but not exceptional. My husband had the salmon which was dry. Our friends had the meat loaf and the reviews were mixed. We had excellent food during our stay in Ketchum and I must admit to being disappointed with the Ketchum Grill. I thought it would be the highlight of our dining experience in Ketchum but it turned out that we enjoyed several other restaurants more than this one.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Food Good Price

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is always good and consistent, some items better than others. The fresh fish specials are always outstanding, along with their usual specials- lamb shanks. Definitely a great value restaurant. The acoustics are noisy, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A Must Visit in Sun Valley

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We've eaten here before and have always enjoyed it. This time was no different. Great service and the food was wonderful. Helpings are appropriate size -- you're filled up, but not stuffed. Definitely worth a visit while in Sun Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sherry is the best in Ketchum - friendl ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Sherry is the best in Ketchum - friendly with a personal touch and great service. The spinach salad with bacon dressing and added chicken is outstanding and excellent value. Always a great experience when we visit the Ketchum Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

returned visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Enjoyed our second time in a week at the Ketchum Grille. This time we were joined by a friend who is a wine expert. He had no trouble selecting a perfect white and red wine for our meal.

The food was delicious. I had a Cod special, my husband had Trout and our friend had Duck. All were prepared to our desire. We were not disappointed.

Looking forward to our next visit when we return to Sun Valley!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overcooked Salmon

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We love ketchum Grill but this time the salmon was overcooked and dry.

First time that has happened

Hopefully the last.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a large group (8) and it took over 2 hours to get our dinners. Everyone around us was served before us even though we ordered before them ( including another table of 8-10). Our waitress wouldn't come near us even to pick up the payment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Usually consistantly good service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

But this evening one staff person was brusk and made us feel like we should hurry and finish up! Wasn't pleasant. Our server was very good, though.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

great restaurant but service was not ver ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

great restaurant but service was not very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Ketchum Grill, Ketchum Idaho

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Ketchum Grill has been a favorite family restaurant since it was opened, and before that when Scott & Anne worked for the previous owners at Freddy's. It never disappoints us. The food is wonderful, wine list extensive and the atmosphere is friendly and embracing.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Sun Valley Restaurant

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Ketchum Grill has been a long time favorite of mine. The menu has consistent favorites like the Meatloaf which is gluten-free and fabulous homemade icecream. The seasonal specials, and the slo-food can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ketchum Grill Scores Again!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Entering the quaint Ketchum Grill you are immediately welcomed by a knowledgeable and friendly staff, led immediately to to your table, and shortly given the menu and the specials for the evening. As usual, the choices are unique and delightful. We experienced exceptional service and outstanding food. Ketchum Grilli is highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.