About Ketchum Grill

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: (208) 726-4660

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Historic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Fireplace (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Wood Oven (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual KG comes through with very good ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual KG comes through with very good food, unpretentious and well presented, with attentive service. Good wine list, but we always bring our own...corkage at $25 feels a bit high though. Ambiance in 100+ old house in Ketchum is always comforting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great with multiple food allergies. Sev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great with multiple food allergies. Several great options - all very good.

Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner and service was very good. Friend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner and service was very good. Friend had special salad with smoked trout and said the fish was mushy. I had the half chicken and it was great. Also tried the bison special slow food which was also great. A large,noisy group came in which made it difficult for us to converse mid meal. Overall, very good experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

a staple in Ketchum. Their staples are b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

a staple in Ketchum. Their staples are better than the special menu and at a better price point.

Still need to work on the little things, making sure all the food comes out together and is hot.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

A really lovely cosy place to dine in th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A really lovely cosy place to dine in the middle of winter. The food was gorgeous, the service friendly and efficient and the space bubbled with a warm brew of ambiance. Top marks!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Ketchum Grill several times ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Have been to Ketchum Grill several times on our visits to Sun Valley. This time was particularly good, food-wise. I had salmon, which was delicious, served with mashed potatoes and veggies. The ambiance there is quite charming, although kind of close, i.e. if you are a large person, the surroundings would be a bit challenging to navigate. However, since there are no large people in Sun Valley, this won't be a problem. Service was adequate, but not particularly friendly....she did her job, but not much more. Will go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always! Had a grass fed burger ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great as always! Had a grass fed burger, glass of wine and enjoyed the feeling of being with happy friends in a cozy, Ketchum cabin, which of course it is, but this one has great service and inventive cuisine. Great specials every night, big menu, bigger wine lists, two of them! Go!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love going to Ketchum Grill when ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always love going to Ketchum Grill when we are in town. Love the menu options especially because my husband is a vegetarian, there is always something for him. Great wine list. Especially love the home made ice cream!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Phenomenal beef tenderloin, pea soup and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Phenomenal beef tenderloin, pea soup and salmon was off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Always something new to ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love this place! Always something new to try. Service was a off on New Years. Try the deserts they are wonderful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very friendly and personable place. Food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very friendly and personable place. Food was good...ambiance was excellent; quiet enough to converse across the table but not dead as far as energy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We split out time between Boise and Sun ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We split out time between Boise and Sun Valley and the Ketchum Grill always meets a consistent high standard in all areas. I can't think of a place in either that more consistently delivers a great experience. The portions are not huge but never skimpy either. Perfect for us and the value is unbelievable! The service is always outstanding! We are never disappointed at the grill and like the specials and seasonally changing menu.

Joyce

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion, Family Style, , Organic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious pasta, appetizers and Best ser ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious pasta, appetizers and Best service in the county!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner and great food and serv ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent dinner and great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing slow cooked elk bucatini!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing slow cooked elk bucatini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy New Year Ketchum Grill Staff, Alwa ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Happy New Year Ketchum Grill Staff, Always a treat to dine with you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, , Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I understand they are trying to get as m ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I understand they are trying to get as many people in as possible, just the tables are way too close together. Not a comfortable place to have a gathering when you are sitting next to the windows, super cold, had to leave jackets on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We love Ketchum grill. The food never di ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love Ketchum grill. The food never disappoints and the ambiance is great. We asked to be seated near the front to have a nice view of the incredible icicles and that was easily accommodated. Don't miss this great spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was fabulous. The tables are ve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was fabulous. The tables are very close together and our son kept getting bumped by servers going behind him. It was very noisy. We will remember not to go in the winter, but wait until summer when we can eat outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Local favorite Small no frills tables a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Local favorite

Small no frills tables and chairs Ambiente is eclectic bistro style

Friendly service and good decent food.

We had salads, pizza, somewhat over cooked Dover sole which was tasteless, and a brilliant fisherman's wharf style cioppino which made our dinner enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Bland food, good service, low background ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Bland food, good service, low background noise volume allows for dinner conversations without yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We always make sure we have at least one ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We always make sure we have at least one dinner here during any trip to Ketchum. We've never been disappointed by either the

food or service. Always a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Historic, Kid-friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Simple Meal Not every item on the limi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A Simple Meal

Not every item on the limited menu is expensive, and there is something for all to enjoy, whether young or old, carnivore or herbivore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a joy to go to the Ketchum Grill. ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a joy to go to the Ketchum Grill. Wonderful location, comfortable, nice service, good food. Local spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ketchum Grill is by far one of my most f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Ketchum Grill is by far one of my most favorite restaurants in the valley. Scott and Ann Mason, the owners, use fresh, local and regional ingredients for a variety of different dining options. Also carries an extensive and affordable wine list. All in all, a great value for your dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a great consistent option for lun ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 4, 2016

always a great consistent option for lunch or dinner with fresh good food. service always good

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Googled places to eat, Ketchum Grill was ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Googled places to eat, Ketchum Grill was came up with over 700 reviews and had an average star rating of 4.5 out of 5 all other restaurants only had about 40-60 reviews with similar reviews. Must of been having a off night all around. Wait service was poor at 6 pm with the place only 1/4 occupied. Had to ask for bread when others tables were give it upon sitting down. My girlfriend order the penne with chicken thighs, chicken was rubbery like they were using frozen pieces not fresh, the sauce had no flavor and tastes like plastic. I ordered a the KT pizza, I have had better frozen pizza, crust was raw in middle, sauce was very little and the proscuttio was thick like a canadian bacon, not paper thin as you would expect. On a good note the wine wasn't bad. Price to meal expectations very low. Chef needs to revisit culinary basics. Would not recommend this place. First impression are everything and with the other top quality restaurants in area, choose wisely. This was the last place I hadn't been to in Ketchum. You wont be disappointed at The Pioneer, Enoteca, Warfields or Sawtooth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Had a great time I had the salmon specia ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a great time I had the salmon special with apricot sauce which was fantastic my boyfriend had the steak special with the charcoal glaze which we both really enjoyed. I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who is looking for a special time out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh Crabs and Fresh Oysters in a great ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fresh Crabs and Fresh Oysters in a great, spicy broth, with a welcoming staff, a cheerful fireplace and snow falling. It doesn't get any better than this!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in Ketchum. Have be ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of our favorites in Ketchum. Have been coming back for years.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the Ket ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the Ketchum Grill celebrating a 13th birthday- the birthday girl likes good food. Loved the meatloaf and the slow food special AND they made a delicious cake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Healthy, , Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Ketchum grill f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I went to Ketchum grill for our first time and were very pleased with the food and service. I had the meatloaf and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had the steak but thought it was just ok- not enough flavor. The service was great but the seating is pretty tight. Luckily there was music playing so I didn't feel like the tables next to us were listening to our conversation. I would definitely go back for a second time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another reliable delicious dinner! We l ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Another reliable delicious dinner! We love Ketchum Grill!

Tags: Seasonal, , Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been dining at The Ketchum Grill ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I have been dining at The Ketchum Grill for over 20 years. Love, Love,Love this restaurant.

Always a great experience and fabulous food!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites if not favorite res ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 10, 2016

One of our favorites if not favorite restaurant in Sun Valley to meet with friends and family. Always something good to eat whatever in the mood to eat. Desserts perfect end to the meal as well. Everyone on staff rate a 10! Keep up whatever you are doing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner on our long ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner on our long weekend getaway in Sun Valley. We had the grilled prosciutto-wrapped prawns for an appetizer, which were delicious. For the main course, my wife had the lamb shank with a grilled polenta side, and I had the trout with mashed potatoes; both were prepared perfectly. We couldn't resist a sweet finish to a wonderful meal, so the dark & white chocolate mouse covered with a chocolate shell was our choice for dessert. The seating was close and cozy, but not cramped (we even struck up an conversation with the table next to us). Thanks for making our evening special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

In town for Jazz Festival and were looki ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

In town for Jazz Festival and were looking for another new place to try in Ketchum. Online reviews looked good and they had availability during our time frame on Saturday. Good food, not outstanding, great selection of wines but way overpriced, very friendly staff and good service. Would eat there again in future and recommend to others to try. One downside is only beer and wine, no cocktails.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner with friends at the Ket ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful dinner with friends at the Ketchum Grill. It always lives up to our expectations and is one of our favorite Ketchum restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ford was fantastic as usual. Love la ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Ford was fantastic as usual. Love lamb shanks and the wine menu.

I asked for table for four near window. Our guest s couldn't believe lack of space. When couple came in for table for two next to us, our guests, suggested they go under the table. They were treating for dinner but don't want to return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This dinner added to our fun experience ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This dinner added to our fun experience at the Sun Valley Jazz Festival. We enjoyed visiting Ketchum and eating at your quaint old-style restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.