Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Ketchum Grill

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: (208) 726-4660

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Comfort Food (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Casual (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best place ever! Trout was unbelievable! Wine list was amazing, desserts were yummy, too! Best ambience. Cozy and quaint.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was good. Hostess was rather snobby - we didn't even receive a welcome upon arrival as if we were intruding on her evening. The tables are small and packed very tightly. Our server was extremely friendly and pleasant, however, he seemed overwhelmed during the evening so service was slow. Though we contemplated having dessert and asked to see the dessert menu, we never received it. Seems like a popular spot for locals.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Always excellent! Meat loaf is terrific and the clams were perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our evening was a delight! The service, food, wine and setting were so lovely! I had the corn chowder and it was the BEST corn chowder I've ever had and my husband thought the meatloaf was delicious! We ordered a strawberry/rhubarb crisp w/ vanilla bean ice cream to share and since our server knew we were celebrating our 42nd anniversary, she said it was on Ketchum Grill! What a thoughtful and yummy treat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 29, 2017

One of our local favorites, reasonable prices, good food and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Very excellent . It's wonderful. We have been going there for 26 years. One of Idahos best restaurants. It's a Sun Valley favorite among
Locals and visitors.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife and I had a great time. We started off with the grilled prawns appetizer they were good, but they could have been peeled better, then we had the spring green salad, I loved this salad, the pairing of strawberries and feta cheese yum! My wife ordered the lamb shank it was a large portion seasoned well, it was just a little dry, it came with fried polenta, good pairing, I ordered the duck breast, absolutely outstanding, crunchy on the outside, pink and tastey on the inside, best duck I have ever had. I was surprised at the price, pleasantly surprised, we paid just over $60 an excellent value. The food was fabulous, I found the dining room crowded and a little too noisy for me, but overall my wife and I were very pleased with the whole experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Consistently good food in a cozy atmosphere, it's definitely old Ketchum brought up to speed. Special slack promotion gave us the chance to spend less money with great dishes and better wine

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Just a great place to eat. Good service. The salads and the lamb shanks are the best in town.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Well established restaurant with lots of local people. Reasonably priced and good food, ranging from light fare to full course diners.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Terrific restaurant and would love to go back in summer weather and dine on the patio,

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Once again an outstanding evening. This is one of our favorite times of year to dine. All of our friends are there and enjoying the slack season.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Just wonderful. Lovely atmosphere and great food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Always great overall!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Ketchum Grill always delivers on great food and service. Their lemon noodles are awesome and they always have fabulous specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have eaten here many times and the service is usually outstanding along with the food. However, we were seated in an echo chamber with a very loud group next to us.
The waitress seemed spaced out and at every move we had to get her attention.
Including asking the group next to us to stop yodeling, seriously????
However, the food is terrific and be sure and ask to not be seated in the large open room next to any large parties.
Dining on the deck in the summer is the BEST.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ketchum Grill will always be one of my favorites! Great atmosphere, awesome food, and friendly staff! Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Family Style, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have dined there many times and it is always enjoyable. The applewood grilled trout special with fennel slaw this visit was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One of my favorite go-to places. Always good. Never disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always a solid meal. The shrimp cakes and lemon shrimp pasta are always delicious.. We visit every year and have a great meal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Love Ketchum Grill - the best! Our favorite go-to restaurant in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A very nice meal with good service. A very tasty desserts.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

For an excellent dinner in Ketchum, Idaho - don't miss the Ketchum Grill! While there for a spring skiing trip, we asked residents for recommendations,, and this is one of the best restaurants in the area! Delicious local fare with terrific wine list. Make reservations or you will miss out. Once you are seated, the service is fast, and staff are top notch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and service. Nice atmosphere overall, menu contains something for everyone with a slow food entree made with local ingredients that was amazing. Chocolate chi chi for dessert was perfect and another diner in my party said her creme brûlée was perfect. If you are in Ketchum should fit the Ketchum Grill into your dinner plans.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The wait staff needs improvement. Management is spread to thin between 3 restaurants. Getting a little greedy and it shows.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

As usual, a wonderful meal, great food, superb service, excellent winter view in a nice, quiet cozy setting. One of "must visit" restaurant on each of our visits to Sun Valley!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Love this place. But something was off...service personnel seemed stressed. Beer recommendation not good. Good, but not the experience we've come to expect...

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not as good as it used to be . . n fact, we were disappointed in the meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The setting and friendly staff make this a great restaurant. The food, wine and customer service are also excellent!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been many times there before. This time the quality of the food was not what we expected to have. The vegetables were soggy and the potatoes simple and did not taste good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very pleasant with great food. The lamb shank was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful food. The acooustics are horrible. Can't talk in there at all. We love it and will continue to go there, just don't think you'll have a quiet romantic dinner. If they put some accoustic tiles on the ceiling it would help immensely.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Asked on open table for a front room corner table. They tried to seat us in different section at a very small table next to a large party. We mentioned that it would not due since we were celebrating a birthday, no impact- they placed us at a bigger table in back room with no extra special service. I don't think they read the requests on open table. Food and service only fair.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our great experience was typical of other times we've had during our visits to Sun Valley

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A favorite when we visit sun valley always something homey and tasty.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is a very cozy and popular restaurant. We ate here while on a ski trip to Sun Valley. The food is excellent and the service superb. Reservations are a must as the place is not very large. It was packed on a Friday night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food. The ahi was great. The service was superb.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food in an old house. Very much the OLD Sun Valley feeling.
We come once a year to ski and eat dinner...
Always good!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was a good choice, everyone said there entree was good but not over the top.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was terrific. Wish that we had been notified that there was not a full bar. Would have stopped elsewhere first for a drink.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.