About Ketchum Grill

520 East Avenue
Ketchum, ID 83340
View Larger Map

Housed in Ketchum's oldest remaining home, the Ketchum Grill has been serving up fresh and sustainable cuisine for nearly 23 years.

Let Chef/Owners Scott and Anne Mason be your guides for dinner in the mountains of Central Idaho.
All of our meals are made fresh to order and our home-baked breads and desserts are the stuff of legends.

Our award winning wine list has over 150 selections and many of the Northwest’s and California’s finest wineries are represented. We have an excellent choice of micro brews and an ever changing menu of wines by the glass.

Please join us for dinner nightly beginning at 5:00 pm.

Our patio dining is "first come first served".
We can not accept outdoor reservations

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00 p.m.

New Years Eve Special Prefix Menu and two seatings only
Specific Reservations for outside tables are not accepted online.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 726-4660

Website:
http://www.ketchumgrill.com/

Catering:
Catering upon request

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in the evenings directly in front of restaurant. Within walking distance of most downtown hotels.

Public Transit:
Kart bus stop is two blocks. Get off at the Elephants Perch stop.

Executive Chef:
Scott Mason

Private Party Contact:
Adelaide Mason or Nick Smith: 2087264660x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Ketchum Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Idaho
Neighborhood Gem
Idaho
Best Overall
Sun Valley / Ketchum
1 More
Most Booked
Sun Valley / Ketchum
Best Restaurants in Ketchum ›

neighborhood gem (42)
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (27)
See All
good for groups (23)
notable wine list (18)
great for outdoor dining (17)
romantic (13)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined 6 days ago

an awesome dinner, accompanied by wonderful, efficient service,and cooked perfectly by a knowledgeable kitchen staff. Kudos to the owners!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place has very good food and very g ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This place has very good food and very good unknown wine to me. Overall, very good food, customer service, and friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff and very kind to my 4 a ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great wait staff and very kind to my 4 and 2 year year old granddaughters!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our local gem!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Fresh food always well prepared! Good wine list too; by the glass or bottle. Feels like home, but someone else is doing the all the work.

food4
ambience4
service5

love the converted house, gives a warm h ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

love the converted house, gives a warm honey feel to the place

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Reliable favorite

Dined on March 15, 2016

Have eaten here many times and find the food to be good, service generally good and atmosphere pleasant. Occasionally the food misses the mark but not often which is why we come back. Had kind of an odd experience with the main hostess. We had a 6:30 reservation for a Monday evening. The front dining room is rather small with tables being pretty close together as the restaurant is in an old house with this part being the old porch which is closed in and faces the outdoor seating area. They have 2 two tops kind of shoehorned into this area with the other tables being 4 tops. As there was two of us they wanted to seat us at the 2 top that was available which is quite awkwardly placed; since there were several other tables available we asked if we could be seated elsewhere. After much discussion between the two hostesses we were reluctantly seated at a four top . She let us know that they would be full by 7:30 with the implication being we should be gone by that time. As our dinners took a bit longer than usual to come out of the kitchen by the time our meal was finished it was 8:15. The restaurant was not more than a third full and the large dining area in the back was completely empty. This will not keep us from coming back and bringing visiting guests as we like the space and usually the food but being made to feel like they were doing us a big favor by seating us at a slightly larger table seemed really unnecessary.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good but not great!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I made this reservation after reading all the great reviews and was very excited to be dining here and frankly I was a bit disappointed. The food was good but nothing special. I had the slow cook pork which was tasty but not exceptional. My husband had the salmon which was dry. Our friends had the meat loaf and the reviews were mixed. We had excellent food during our stay in Ketchum and I must admit to being disappointed with the Ketchum Grill. I thought it would be the highlight of our dining experience in Ketchum but it turned out that we enjoyed several other restaurants more than this one.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Food Good Price

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is always good and consistent, some items better than others. The fresh fish specials are always outstanding, along with their usual specials- lamb shanks. Definitely a great value restaurant. The acoustics are noisy, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Visit in Sun Valley

Dined on March 9, 2016

We've eaten here before and have always enjoyed it. This time was no different. Great service and the food was wonderful. Helpings are appropriate size -- you're filled up, but not stuffed. Definitely worth a visit while in Sun Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sherry is the best in Ketchum - friendl ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Sherry is the best in Ketchum - friendly with a personal touch and great service. The spinach salad with bacon dressing and added chicken is outstanding and excellent value. Always a great experience when we visit the Ketchum Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

returned visit

Dined on March 3, 2016

Enjoyed our second time in a week at the Ketchum Grille. This time we were joined by a friend who is a wine expert. He had no trouble selecting a perfect white and red wine for our meal. The food was delicious. I had a Cod special, my husband had Trout and our friend had Duck. All were prepared to our desire. We were not disappointed. Looking forward to our next visit when we return to Sun Valley!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Overcooked Salmon

Dined on February 29, 2016

We love ketchum Grill but this time the salmon was overcooked and dry. First time that has happened Hopefully the last.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Bad service

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a large group (8) and it took over 2 hours to get our dinners. Everyone around us was served before us even though we ordered before them ( including another table of 8-10). Our waitress wouldn't come near us even to pick up the payment.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Usually consistantly good service

Dined on February 28, 2016

But this evening one staff person was brusk and made us feel like we should hurry and finish up! Wasn't pleasant. Our server was very good, though.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

great restaurant but service was not ver ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

great restaurant but service was not very attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ketchum Grill, Ketchum Idaho

Dined on February 21, 2016

Ketchum Grill has been a favorite family restaurant since it was opened, and before that when Scott & Anne worked for the previous owners at Freddy's. It never disappoints us. The food is wonderful, wine list extensive and the atmosphere is friendly and embracing.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Sun Valley Restaurant

Dined on February 21, 2016

Ketchum Grill has been a long time favorite of mine. The menu has consistent favorites like the Meatloaf which is gluten-free and fabulous homemade icecream. The seasonal specials, and the slo-food can't be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Ketchum Grill Scores Again!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Entering the quaint Ketchum Grill you are immediately welcomed by a knowledgeable and friendly staff, led immediately to to your table, and shortly given the menu and the specials for the evening. As usual, the choices are unique and delightful. We experienced exceptional service and outstanding food. Ketchum Grilli is highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always go for the lamb shank which on ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

We always go for the lamb shank which once again was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

So good! From the pasta and pizzas to th ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

So good! From the pasta and pizzas to the specials, everyone in our large group enjoyed their meal. Plus the setting in a charming old cabin with wood-fire welcome lends to the cozy atmosphere.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible experience. Huge disappointment.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been patronizing this restaurant for 15 years. We are now done. This was such a huge disappointment. It started with the waiters description of items on the wine list as "drinkable" with no additional comment. Then they opened the outside doors to accommodate a larger party than expected that had showed up and had us move our table at the same time dropping the room temperature to about the outside 20 degree level. They accommodated the larger party at our expense, after we were told no the prior day when we tried to add two additional friends to our party of 4, and the table of now seated 10 kids and young adults were so loud I could not even talk to my family. It was honestly louder than a school cafeteria. Food average at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is my go-to restaurant!

Dined on February 10, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant when we visit Ketchum/Sun Valley. The food is the best and the wait staff are very very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gem in downtown Ketchum

Dined on February 6, 2016

This was my second visit, the first being 3 years ago during my first visit to Sun Valley. This time was just as charming, even though it did not start snowing outside as it did the first time (not the Grill's fault!). There were 4 of us this time and my husband and I started by sharing their large sized autumn salad with pears, spiced pecans & gorgonzola. It was amazing: just the perfect balance of spice and creaminess. Yum! I love salads and am still thinking about it. My husband and I then each had a pasta dish. He had the lemon noodles with rock shrimp and light cream, which he loved. I had the penne with chicken, tomatoes, and garlic, which was good but I was still thinking about the salad. They serve you bread too and we brought our own bottle of wine (although their list is more than sufficient) which they served us without any issues (for a corkage fee of course). I would have loved to try dessert but noone had any room left. Great ambience as well, very homey and I can't wait to go back the next time I visit Sun Valley!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Fantastic Meal in Ketchum

Dined on February 3, 2016

Ketchum Grill more than exceeded our expectations for our anniversary dinner ! The food was done to perfection, the wine was magnificient and the service was all you needed,yet not pushy or rushing us. We will DEFINETLY be back again !! thanks all at Ketchum Grill for a fine night out !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great dinner in Ketchum

Dined on January 30, 2016

Made a reservation based on the reviews, and can enthusiastically say we had a wonderful meal. The restaurant is in a converted old house, upon entry you find an airlock to hang all your coats, and then a warm fire greats you in the waiting area. The tables are grouped together tightly, and it has a loud but festive vibe. Our entrees included the house made lemon noodles w/ rock shrimp, and the fresh Idaho Trout - both were wonderful and highly recommended. Can honestly say every dessert on the menu looked and sounded fantastic, we settled on the crème Brulee, a good choice. We thought the restaurant was a real value, great food and not highly priced. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A little pricey. Wine and beer only. Lov ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

A little pricey. Wine and beer only. Lovely service by Krista. Tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite Sun Valley restaurants

Dined on January 28, 2016

The food is wonderful, the service very good, the wine selection has lots of choices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Very simply good food, excellent service ...

Dined on January 28, 2016

Very simply good food, excellent service, staff had a great attitude and value very good. We have been coming for years and plan on continuing to do so.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

well priced good-quality great ambience

Dined on January 24, 2016

been going here for the last several years. Great place for simple food, great pizza, great ambience an excellent friendly service. Definitely would go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Perfectly cooked steak and salmon. Lovel ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Perfectly cooked steak and salmon. Lovely wine. Great ambiance and company.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ketchum gem.

Dined on January 22, 2016

Year in, year out, winter, spring, summer or fall the Ketchum Grill meets and exceeds expectations for food and ambiance. It defines the Sun Valley culture.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A little disappointing from the previous visit.

Dined on January 19, 2016

Services was good, tables and seating were crowded together, food was very average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite place

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful food and great service and ambiance. Best roast chicken in the valley

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent.

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All fine by us

Dined on January 10, 2016

Predictably excellent, as always. Funny how the locals keep it a bit of a secret and visitors head to the new place in town. Fine by these diners!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always Good

Dined on January 10, 2016

We have dined at the Ketchum grill on a number of times during trips to Sun Valley both summer and winter, lunch and dinner. The food is always delicious and the service always fast and friendly. It is very much the character you go to Sun Valley for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice recommendation

Dined on January 9, 2016

While walking around the town and going in and out of the shops, we asked a local to suggest a place for dinner. Ketchum Grill was one of two that was recommended to us. We were able to make a reservation that was convenient. We were seated promptly and attended to throughout the evening with a great wine list and terrific food. Wonderful Find!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Reliable go to place

Dined on January 8, 2016

Love the Ketchum Grill - just wish the tables weren't packed so tightly together.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great menu

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

The variety offered on the menu enables various groups to have lots of choices. I love the shrimp pizza; my husband prefers the duck, our guest enjoyed the special tuna. Don't miss the chocolate chi-chi for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistency is the key.

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

We always have a good meal here but tonight was a great one. The preserved lemon dressing on the beet salad was fabulous and my tuna provencal was light and perfectly cooked to my specifications.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.