About Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

One Metropolitan Square
40th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Filet Mignon in a delicate cognac cream sauce, fresh artichoke slices hand dipped and fried to a golden brown, succulent broiled lobster tails, fork tender veal scaloppini and mouth watering pasta dishes made from authentic Sicilian family recipes...and then there's the view! Located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Square building in downtown St. Louis Kemoll's is a destination restaurant offering stunning 360 degree views of the Arch, the river and all of downtown. Kemoll's offers great options for private dining. Six private rooms including our premier event space Top of the Met make Kemoll's a popular choice for weddings and large corporate functions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Broadway and Pine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-0555

Website:
http://www.kemolls.com/

Catering:
Experienced in catering off site events. Lunches and dinners. Hot or cold food. With service staff or drop off.

Parking Details:
Attached building garage with reserved parking for evening diners. Parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.

Executive Chef:
Don Tadlock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kemoll’s & Top of the Met St Louis Banquet Halls, Conference Rooms, and Meeting Venues are the perfect space to hold any size St Louis banquet, conference, or business meeting!

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
Downtown
3 More
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

scenic view (109)
special occasion (99)
romantic (95)
See All
good for groups (36)
fit for foodies (29)
notable wine list (26)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love Kemoll's and will definitely ret ...

Dined 4 days ago

We love Kemoll's and will definitely return. Our waiter was really pleasant and attentive. Wine selection is great too. The entrees and side dishes were all wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The food was over embellished on things ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was over embellished on things that were not artsy or delicate but "copy" of a fine dining magazine. The waiter was well mannered, polite, and well spoken. His assistant who poured water and bused the tables was loud, obnoxious, and spilled food on me more than once. I can get over grease stains of I was eating at Al's Beef in Chicago but not at Kemolls. Notice I ranked the food and ambience high, and the only low point was the annoying service.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We went to Kemoll's to celebrate our 40t ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to Kemoll's to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The view and service were fine. The food, however, was so salty that we couldn't eat much. Very disappointing!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely Love this Place is just rec ...

Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely Love this Place is just recommend it to my friend to celebrate her husband Birthday

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Spectacular views make it worth the pric ...

Dined 7 days ago

Spectacular views make it worth the pricey food & mediocre service. We were celebrating our 50th anniversary & the staff never offered a single congratulation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was amazing!! We all agreed th ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Our food was amazing!! We all agreed that our meal was one of the best meals we ever had. The loved the view,,,, our service was outstanding and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

We had absolutely awful service. Took 1 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had absolutely awful service. Took 15 minutes until someone acknowledged us then 2 people ordered veal parmesan and got chicken parmesan. Unacceptable for this caliber of restaurant. We brought bottle of wine and had to pour ourselves. We were taking another couple for their 40th wedding anniversary and it was extremely embarrassing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kemoll's just never dissapoints! We've ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Kemoll's just never dissapoints! We've been dining at Kemoll's forever--the original North Grand location was so much fun! But it can't beat the spectacular views from the 40th floor--you feel like you can reach out the window and touch the arch! The look and ambiance of the dining room are exactly what you expect from an upscale fine dining restaurant. Service is attentive, but not overwhelming. And then there's the food! Fabulous variety. If you've been going to Kemolls for years(decades!), it's hard to not order the fried artichoke hearts. All salads are excellent, and very large. Entrees are always very well prepared and presented. I had veal milanese this time; quite lovely. I almost always get Filet Douglas--one of the house specialties--9 oz. filet & lobster tail in an unbelievable cognac cream sauce. Desserts are also fab--and huge! The deep fried cheesecake was an unexpected treat. The prices at Kemoll's are at the high end for St. Louis dining. Most entrees are in the $30s-$40s; a few top $60 (filet douglas is $62). They do come with a side. Save up if you must--you will come away feeling you got more than good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Filet Douglas was fantastic! Everyt ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Filet Douglas was fantastic! Everything about the evening was awesome. The service was great, David took great care of us. Would we do it again? You bet!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The appetizers were wonderful. They tas ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The appetizers were wonderful. They tasted amazing and the service was great. Unfortunately, from the salad to the entrée the dishes were progressively saltier. Even vegetable side dish was over salted. I feel that if I didn't have high blood pressure previous to my dinner, I sure did following.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent, we had a very ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent, we had a very attentive and thoughtful waitress. The atmosphere was lovely - a little 'old' style, but nice. Our biggest disappointment was the food. Our meals were just 'okay', not bad, but not worthy of the price tag attached to them. Neither of us finished either our appetizers nor our mains, and we decided to skip on dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kemolls was absolutely amazing! My wife ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Kemolls was absolutely amazing! My wife and I went for our 1st anniversary and we were treated like royalty. John was an amazing waiter and took outstanding care of us. He even gave us an anniversary dessert and made sure that everything was perfect!! My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the outstanding view from the 40th floor. It was perfect for our first anniversary! Thank you so much John and Kemolls, you all really made it a night to remember!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was not as good as we expected, ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was not as good as we expected, the salmon was more than just blackened. One of my co-workers in from the UK was served the incorrect beverage.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat to dine at Kemoll's! Thi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Always a treat to dine at Kemoll's! This was a special occasion - my nephew's last dinner before entering the military. We all enjoyed it immensely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My 16 oz. strip steak was tough. For $42 ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My 16 oz. strip steak was tough. For $42, I expected a tender steak. Waiter was not experience. Asked by a nearby couple what tarragon taste like and he replied rosemary. He thought at the Malbec was from Italy. I remember Kemoll's from the North-side. I would definitely trade that for the 50 story view.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great views and food

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great views of riverfront from 40th floor. Excellent food. Love the cheese bread. On the expensive side, but worth it.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice view but very pricey for mediocre f ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice view but very pricey for mediocre food

food3
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was teriffic. We were not ru ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waiter was teriffic. We were not rushed, he was knowledgeable about the food and his recommendations. The only downside was the restaurant was freezing and i wish i had had a sweater. The views and the table table ups were great. Plenty of room yet intimate enough. Portions were surprisingly large. The staff was attentive without hovering.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The views were amazing and the food was ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The views were amazing and the food was exceptional. My husband and I 36 anniversary we could not have selected a better place. The atmosphere was perfect and although there were others there the noise level was not distracting and we felt like the servers were there just for us. The food was good, and overall I can't wait for the next occasion to visit again. I have placed this location at the top of my list!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our meal at Kemolls was excellent, begin ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our meal at Kemolls was excellent, beginning with a wonderful fried artichoke appetizer. Only one negative and it was minor. My beef was in a sauce that tasted fine, but it was "muddy" looking, as if it had been thickened with flour. Great service and view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Of all the years I had lived here I had ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Of all the years I had lived here I had never tried Kemoll's but I had always heard good things. It was not crowded the night we went but it was Memorial Day weekend and the city was deserted. The food was excellent. We had scampi and risotto. Loved the fried artichoke appetizer. Delicious salads that really were enough for two to share.. The service was great. Our every need was taken care of without the wait staff hovering.. Great experience..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Very Disappointing with food and service ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Very Disappointing with food and service what a beautiful view of the Gateway Arch and they seat us on the north City View didn't even ask if we wanted the Arch View The Free Parking was convenient

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Consistent and pretty traditional. Atten ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistent and pretty traditional. Attentive service without being overbearing, signature dishes they've been serving for decades, very good food but didn't find anything truly outstanding. Amazing views, quiet ambiance great for special occasions. We've been going there every couple of years for special occasions (for 3-4 decades back to when they were on North Grand with a guarded parking lot) and more recently been to weddings in their penthouse location downtown. Truly outstanding views of the city, quiet enough for conversation, multiple rooms for groups. They were so nice, giving us free desert for our anniversary. Still a great place to celebrate anything in St. Louis!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked this resturaunt a few days in a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I booked this resturaunt a few days in advance since I live in MN and this was a special date night for my boyfriend and I. The dinner was good but the whole feel of the place was off. We had a table that I couldn't see the arch but he did. The whole place was empty but we had to sit here. The food was great but a little over priced. I do think this place is a great one timer only not a reoccurring place to grab food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My first time at Kemoll' s but not my l ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My first time at Kemoll' s but not my last. A great place for that special dinner. Table service could be improved for such a fine restaurant. At this level I expect flatware to be replaced by server if removed. Over all food was great especially artichoke app and salad.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

New experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I scheduled a date night. It was pleasant evening without the children. Much needed time away from kids to refresh our relationship as husband and wife. I will go schedule another time later in the year in order to view the city lights.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Nice view of the Arch and riverfront how ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Nice view of the Arch and riverfront however food was average at best yet way over priced! Service was fine.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Except for the cheese bread the food was just not as good as usual. Salad tasted as if left over from the night before, pasta side was cold and the sauce was deluded. In the many visit to Kemoll's going all the way back to when they were located on North Grand, this is first time to be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing View

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The view and food here are amazing! The only negative, was the table near us were loud and would go from romantic to arguing back to romantic again. While my date and I did not mind, others may. If I have the opportunity to go back (I live in another state) and it was an special occasion, I would request a quiet area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

We have dined at Kemolls many times, but ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Kemolls many times, but the food on this occasion was the worst we've ever had. Both the salmon and the pasta dishes were swimming in olive oil. perhaps it was a bad night, or a new cook in the kitchen. Our server was excellent and saved the evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

As always, the evening was exceptional. Especially this time since we had brought children with us. The service was superb as they treated the children as well as the adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I dine at Kemoll's regularly for lunch. Although the menu is small, the food is excellen an the service is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DaSa

Dined on May 4, 2016

Some of the reviews had us concerned, so we didn't expect perfection. We had great view, patient and attentive service. We grazed the menu and ordered 6 or 7 times. Perfect timing. It was a weekday , but it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful scenery

Dined on May 4, 2016

The view from the 40th floor is beautiful. To sit and watch the sunset and night come about was such a lovely view. Our waiter was excellence!! He took care of us completely. He was courtesy & pleasant. The food was good just too salty. And the cheese bread was overbooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing experience!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The staff was so friendly, my fiance and i came late to our reservation but the staff was very welcoming and understanding due to the inclement weather. They were very friendly and made you feel like you were the only ones in the restaurant. The appetizers were the best i have ever had in my life, and my entrée was to die for, my fiancé on the otherhand did not enjoy his entrée he felt like they had thrown everything together in a sloppy manner, he did not like his food at all. The only thing we both had to complain about was the fact they had run out of deserts that we both were looking forward to, all in all the experience was one we will never forget!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a reservation on a Saturday night ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a reservation on a Saturday night but you should know that the chances of the main dining room being available is low. There were two groups having celebrations and that left the lonely diners in a not so great room. Good thing the service and food were both top notch along with the wine list being good and affordable. Wish I would had investigated about WHERE our table would be. Not a disaster but a disappointment.

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Not Great

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

One of the big attractions of this place is the view.. They did not tell us that the main rooms were booked with 2 private parties. We were escorted to the back room which absolutely smelled horrible (2 air fresheners were working in there).. The view was not great either. disappointing for an expensive restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was excellent and the food absolutely delicious.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Weekday dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Kemoll's during the week so it was not crowded and the service was very prompt. Food was excellent and I was able to find a good bottle of wine at an affordable price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 8, 2016

The view was awesome and service was terrific The waiter we had was employed there for over 30 years I am sure he has seen a lot of changes What an experience on the 40th floor

Tags: good for groups, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.