About Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

One Metropolitan Square
40th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Filet Mignon in a delicate cognac cream sauce, fresh artichoke slices hand dipped and fried to a golden brown, succulent broiled lobster tails, fork tender veal scaloppini and mouth watering pasta dishes made from authentic Sicilian family recipes...and then there's the view! Located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Square building in downtown St. Louis Kemoll's is a destination restaurant offering stunning 360 degree views of the Arch, the river and all of downtown. Kemoll's offers great options for private dining. Six private rooms including our premier event space Top of the Met make Kemoll's a popular choice for weddings and large corporate functions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Broadway and Pine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-0555

Website:
http://www.kemolls.com/

Catering:
Experienced in catering off site events. Lunches and dinners. Hot or cold food. With service staff or drop off.

Parking Details:
Attached building garage with reserved parking for evening diners. Parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.

Executive Chef:
Don Tadlock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kemoll’s & Top of the Met St Louis Banquet Halls, Conference Rooms, and Meeting Venues are the perfect space to hold any size St Louis banquet, conference, or business meeting!

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
4 More
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

scenic view (118)
romantic (115)
special occasion (111)
See All
good for groups (36)
fit for foodies (32)
notable wine list (32)
great for lunch (20)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (8)
 (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (7)
 (6)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The views were amazing and the food was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The views were amazing and the food was exceptional. My husband and I 36 anniversary we could not have selected a better place. The atmosphere was perfect and although there were others there the noise level was not distracting and we felt like the servers were there just for us. The food was good, and overall I can't wait for the next occasion to visit again. I have placed this location at the top of my list!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our meal at Kemolls was excellent, begin ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our meal at Kemolls was excellent, beginning with a wonderful fried artichoke appetizer. Only one negative and it was minor. My beef was in a sauce that tasted fine, but it was "muddy" looking, as if it had been thickened with flour. Great service and view.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Of all the years I had lived here I had ...

Dined 4 days ago

Of all the years I had lived here I had never tried Kemoll's but I had always heard good things. It was not crowded the night we went but it was Memorial Day weekend and the city was deserted. The food was excellent. We had scampi and risotto. Loved the fried artichoke appetizer. Delicious salads that really were enough for two to share.. The service was great. Our every need was taken care of without the wait staff hovering.. Great experience..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Very Disappointing with food and service ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Very Disappointing with food and service what a beautiful view of the Gateway Arch and they seat us on the north City View didn't even ask if we wanted the Arch View The Free Parking was convenient

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Consistent and pretty traditional. Atten ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Consistent and pretty traditional. Attentive service without being overbearing, signature dishes they've been serving for decades, very good food but didn't find anything truly outstanding. Amazing views, quiet ambiance great for special occasions. We've been going there every couple of years for special occasions (for 3-4 decades back to when they were on North Grand with a guarded parking lot) and more recently been to weddings in their penthouse location downtown. Truly outstanding views of the city, quiet enough for conversation, multiple rooms for groups. They were so nice, giving us free desert for our anniversary. Still a great place to celebrate anything in St. Louis!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked this resturaunt a few days in a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I booked this resturaunt a few days in advance since I live in MN and this was a special date night for my boyfriend and I. The dinner was good but the whole feel of the place was off. We had a table that I couldn't see the arch but he did. The whole place was empty but we had to sit here. The food was great but a little over priced. I do think this place is a great one timer only not a reoccurring place to grab food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My first time at Kemoll' s but not my l ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My first time at Kemoll' s but not my last. A great place for that special dinner. Table service could be improved for such a fine restaurant. At this level I expect flatware to be replaced by server if removed. Over all food was great especially artichoke app and salad.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

New experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

My wife and I scheduled a date night. It was pleasant evening without the children. Much needed time away from kids to refresh our relationship as husband and wife. I will go schedule another time later in the year in order to view the city lights.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Nice view of the Arch and riverfront how ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Nice view of the Arch and riverfront however food was average at best yet way over priced! Service was fine.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Except for the cheese bread the food was just not as good as usual. Salad tasted as if left over from the night before, pasta side was cold and the sauce was deluded. In the many visit to Kemoll's going all the way back to when they were located on North Grand, this is first time to be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing View

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The view and food here are amazing! The only negative, was the table near us were loud and would go from romantic to arguing back to romantic again. While my date and I did not mind, others may. If I have the opportunity to go back (I live in another state) and it was an special occasion, I would request a quiet area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

We have dined at Kemolls many times, but ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Kemolls many times, but the food on this occasion was the worst we've ever had. Both the salmon and the pasta dishes were swimming in olive oil. perhaps it was a bad night, or a new cook in the kitchen. Our server was excellent and saved the evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience.

Dined on May 7, 2016

As always, the evening was exceptional. Especially this time since we had brought children with us. The service was superb as they treated the children as well as the adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Great

Dined on May 5, 2016

I dine at Kemoll's regularly for lunch. Although the menu is small, the food is excellen an the service is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DaSa

Dined on May 4, 2016

Some of the reviews had us concerned, so we didn't expect perfection. We had great view, patient and attentive service. We grazed the menu and ordered 6 or 7 times. Perfect timing. It was a weekday , but it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful scenery

Dined on May 4, 2016

The view from the 40th floor is beautiful. To sit and watch the sunset and night come about was such a lovely view. Our waiter was excellence!! He took care of us completely. He was courtesy & pleasant. The food was good just too salty. And the cheese bread was overbooked.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing experience!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The staff was so friendly, my fiance and i came late to our reservation but the staff was very welcoming and understanding due to the inclement weather. They were very friendly and made you feel like you were the only ones in the restaurant. The appetizers were the best i have ever had in my life, and my entrée was to die for, my fiancé on the otherhand did not enjoy his entrée he felt like they had thrown everything together in a sloppy manner, he did not like his food at all. The only thing we both had to complain about was the fact they had run out of deserts that we both were looking forward to, all in all the experience was one we will never forget!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a reservation on a Saturday night ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a reservation on a Saturday night but you should know that the chances of the main dining room being available is low. There were two groups having celebrations and that left the lonely diners in a not so great room. Good thing the service and food were both top notch along with the wine list being good and affordable. Wish I would had investigated about WHERE our table would be. Not a disaster but a disappointment.

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Not Great

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

One of the big attractions of this place is the view.. They did not tell us that the main rooms were booked with 2 private parties. We were escorted to the back room which absolutely smelled horrible (2 air fresheners were working in there).. The view was not great either. disappointing for an expensive restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was excellent and the food absolutely delicious.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Weekday dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Kemoll's during the week so it was not crowded and the service was very prompt. Food was excellent and I was able to find a good bottle of wine at an affordable price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 8, 2016

The view was awesome and service was terrific The waiter we had was employed there for over 30 years I am sure he has seen a lot of changes What an experience on the 40th floor

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our experience at Kemoll's was disappointing.

Dined on April 6, 2016

First of all, it took a very nice woman several attemps to find chairs for us that were not totally broken. Most were squeaky and had cracked upholstery as well as broken wood on the underside. We finally settled for the ones that were least damaged but were definitely not in good repair. They had virtually not cushioning. The food was mediocre, at best. The Caesar salad had very little, tasteless dressing. Our steaks were over-cooked and the sauces were just okay. This was not our first visit to Kemoll's but it will certainly be our last.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not normal meal

Dined on April 5, 2016

Wasn't up to normal standards. Food was too salty. Salad dressing too thick

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in the St. Louis

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service . Excellent Food . Excellent view of downtown St Louis

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An STL Must-Do!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Kemoll's is part of the history of fine dining in St. Louis. However, they haven't allowed themselves to rest on their decades of tradition; they keep it fresh and interesting without losing their old-school identity! The view is second to none in downtown and the food and service are also top notch. I recommend the Filet Oscar, the Kemoll's House Salad, The Calzone appetizer and the Veal Picata...just to name a few. And if you are lucky enough to have Billy as your server, you absolutely MUST have the Bananas Foster for dessert. His preparation of this classic is not to be missed! We love Kemoll's and even though most consider it only for special occasions, it's truly perfect for any evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointing... Poor Overall Value

Dined on March 21, 2016

Scenic view of the Mississippi & Illinois. View wasn't classic St. Louis skyline. Food was expensive & not that great. Very dated interior. Won't be back. Very disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our waiter David was the BEST!!! The food was really good and the atmosphere and views were amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience.

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was delicious. We split a Cesar salad and the bread was amazing. Our waiter was awesome and even gave us exyra time and care. It was a gorgeous view with wonderful service and food. We were so happy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Such an amazing place to go for a romant ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Such an amazing place to go for a romantic and quiet night out. The food was delicious and I would definitely recommend to a friend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Only thing good was the view!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Went on a Wednesday, only 5 tables of people including us. Saw our waiter 2 times and was rude, couldn't carry on a conversation about the menu!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and view!

Dined on March 16, 2016

The food and service is always impeccable. Christine and James of the wait staff are always so helpful and discreet in providing outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waitstaff, very professional and a ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great waitstaff, very professional and attentive. Terrific views enhance the experience. The food was exceptional. They had my favorite fish as a special of the day, blackened amberjack. Tremendous experience when you put all aspects together in one place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant with great staff, 10/10

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was terrific, the staff was very friendly and was able to offer some excellent choices for food and drink, the view was phenomenal. Worth every penny for a high end dining experience, my mother thoroughly enjoyed it as a birthday present, the very same restaurant where my father proposed to her! To make the evening more magical, the waiter who had been serving them during the proposal, is now head chef and he remembered them! Can't beat that kind of service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal

Dined on March 12, 2016

After choosing to take my sweetheart here for his birthday. I didn't have to do anything but show up for the romance. The service, the decor, the whole experience made us feel as if we were the only two in the restaurant. It was cloudy but we did get a short glimpse of the arch, which surprised him! Love and can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not enough waiters

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We waited 10 minutes for someone to come to the table. Then a total of 25 minutes from the time we got there to get our wine. The entree I ordered did not say it had bread crumbs on it and was served with. When asked they said the menu was wrong. They did however remake it. There was only one waitress in our entire room. She was swamped. Needed more help.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I only came for the view

Dined on March 6, 2016

The restaurant was a little too dark, could barely see what I was eating, server did her job, but could've been friendlier, halibut was over cooked, oysters were good, when my food was boxed for me, not everything on my plate was put into the box, lemonade wasn't too good, I expected a little better experience overall, considering the prices.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Ke ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Kemoll's. The view was wonderful. It was quiet, allowing for good conversation. The chairs were uncomfortable - sagged in the middle and did not allow you to pull close to the table. The lighting was dark (lightbulb above us was blown) which was probably a good thing because the food lacked in presentation - not visually appetizing. Sadly, the food was generally disappointing: Chicken Marsala was stringy and somewhat rubbery, potatoes significantly overcooked, blackened fish with capers too salty, but the flaming bananas foster was excellent and well presented - prepared table side, and the penne pasta was delicious. The service was very friendly and attentive. It was nice to see the waiters well dressed and sensitive to detail. Next time we will try the Hilton's Three Sixty restaurant which we hear has even better views.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening!

Dined on March 3, 2016

We had great food and good service in a pleasant atmosphere, with a very nice view overlooking the Mississippi river. Expensive, but you get what you pay for. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Stunning views and romantic ambiance

Dined on February 28, 2016

The views, ambiance, and food never disappoint. My wife and I love Kemoll's, and it is quickly becoming our favorite place that we can go and be 'adults'. Beautiful and quiet, with excellent food. It's getting more and more difficult to find a place where you don't find folks dining in their best lawn mowing attire. You'll pay a little more for it, but Kemoll's makes that occasional special evening worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.