About Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

One Metropolitan Square
40th Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Filet Mignon in a delicate cognac cream sauce, fresh artichoke slices hand dipped and fried to a golden brown, succulent broiled lobster tails, fork tender veal scaloppini and mouth watering pasta dishes made from authentic Sicilian family recipes...and then there's the view! Located on the 40th floor of the Metropolitan Square building in downtown St. Louis Kemoll's is a destination restaurant offering stunning 360 degree views of the Arch, the river and all of downtown. Kemoll's offers great options for private dining. Six private rooms including our premier event space Top of the Met make Kemoll's a popular choice for weddings and large corporate functions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Broadway and Pine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 421-0555

Website:
http://www.kemolls.com/

Catering:
Experienced in catering off site events. Lunches and dinners. Hot or cold food. With service staff or drop off.

Parking Details:
Attached building garage with reserved parking for evening diners. Parking is complimentary.

Public Transit:
Metro link stop 4 blocks from restaurant. Bus stops outside of building.

Executive Chef:
Don Tadlock

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
  • Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant
Kemoll's Italian Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Kemoll’s & Top of the Met St Louis Banquet Halls, Conference Rooms, and Meeting Venues are the perfect space to hold any size St Louis banquet, conference, or business meeting!

Kemoll's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
Downtown
4 More
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

scenic view (118)
special occasion (107)
romantic (97)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (28)
great for lunch (20)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was overpriced for the quality even ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was overpriced for the quality even if there were huge portions. The view over the Arch is terrific.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Was a little disappointed we didn't have ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was a little disappointed we didn't have the arch in our view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply excellent and very enjoyable even ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Simply excellent and very enjoyable evening! Would recommend without hesitation . Should realize "pricey" but worth it. Kevin was our waiter - hope we have him again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food and Service! Server Joh ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food and Service! Server John did a fantastic job.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little dark especially when the sun went ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Little dark especially when the sun went down but it was a wonderful place to take my boyfriend for his 30th birthday dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress very helpful and informativ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waitress very helpful and informative. She explained what in the dishes so could make a choice because I am a little picky.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

When making my reservation on line, I wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

When making my reservation on line, I was given a choice of tables. Yet when I arrived the table I chose was not available. Not sure why you give that option if you can't fulfill it. But, overall our dining experience was excellent. Service was great and the food was excellent. I will be returning, I have to host a business dinner soon and decided Kemoll's would be wonderful for this event. When I make my next reservation I will call to make sure there is no confusion. Thanks for an enjoyable evening and delicious meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was really excited to take my Mom to K ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I was really excited to take my Mom to Kemolls for her birthday. We have food allergies, so I emailed before reservations were made. I was assured that food could be created for us and that our experience would not be hampered. Upon arrival we told the waiter about our allergies. He became distressed and left to talk with the cook. He came back and, as nicely as possible apologized and told us that we could only have one thing on the menu, the shrimp appetizer. I showed him the email that I had received and he said the woman (a manager) that emailed me was completely incorrect. In a panic we ordered the appetizer so that I would have time to book another restaurant for dinner. Thankfully my mom's usual favorite was available. I paid for our shrimp and we left. I am incredibly disappointed and frustrated with the Kemolls establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Chicken was way over cooked. Fork was be ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chicken was way over cooked. Fork was bent. Knife was dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing dinner. Ambiance is very ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had an amazing dinner. Ambiance is very romantic. Lighting is very dim. The mussels as an appetizer is absolutely amazing. The cream sauce is perfect to dip your bread and you will be sure to do so father the first bite. Caesar salad had actual anchovies and house salad was good as well. Salads were served with warm cheese bread--incredible. I had the seafood risotto and my friends had the seafood linguine, which was very creamy. Both were amazing. My risotto was a little undercooked, but the seafood was delicious nonetheless. The servings were huge and the only thing I wished for was...I wish I had more room to eat it all.

Beautiful view (since its on the 40th floor) and parking was free! Great signage to help you get to the right location. Highly recommended Italian!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions and ev ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place for special occasions and events. Good food and good service will be a trip back soon

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It is nice and delicious restaurant. I w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It is nice and delicious restaurant. I will be back again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the mussels❤️ Totally enjoyed the ex ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Try the mussels❤️ Totally enjoyed the expierance! The history and reputation of this resteraunt did not disappoint. It was not intimidating at all for one of ST. Louis's finest dining,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this St. Louis restaurant gem. 5 st ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love this St. Louis restaurant gem. 5 star all the way

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was worth the visit just for the sala ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was worth the visit just for the salad and cheese bread.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location! Location! Location! I have fr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Location! Location! Location!

I have frequently traveled to St. Louis over the past 10-years. Kemoll's is by far the best!

Our waiter, Ryan, was great, but I don't know why good waiters don't use modern/Rabbit-like wine bottle openers (I like Pampered Chef's the best!)

The busser was attentive but almost annoying with his questioning and comments about the area. He needs some training to simply listen and be attentive to his customers, answer questions when asked, and provide advice and information when customers are clueless.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food and great service. What more ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food and great service. What more can you ask for. Tried fried spinach for the first time, what a find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service. Even though it was d ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful service. Even though it was delayed due to another event, the waitress was outstanding

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Kemolls has an excellent view, both day ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Kemolls has an excellent view, both day and night but I recommend seeing night! It is old school and could use a facelift and you do not get a panoramic view of the city but if you're lucky you can make it to different Windows to take a look. I also recommend using the Groupon they usually have. We ordered 5 appetizers and 2 bottles of wine and it was $122. The Groupon is $62 for $100. The Bangkok chicken was so tasty! The garlic cheese bread was not on the menu but order it too! Very fun evening with a special friend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Kemoll's offers great food in a romantic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Kemoll's offers great food in a romantic setting with a scenic view of the downtown St. Louis skyline. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful view of the river and the arch ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful view of the river and the arch however for the price the food is moderately good. The toasted racily was override the artichoke had inedible pieces. The veal was good but certainly not lemony for piccata. The service is personal but leaving my bagged leftovers on the table through the meals is not acceptable especially with open chairs at the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We love Kemoll's and will definitely ret ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We love Kemoll's and will definitely return. Our waiter was really pleasant and attentive. Wine selection is great too. The entrees and side dishes were all wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was over embellished on things ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was over embellished on things that were not artsy or delicate but "copy" of a fine dining magazine. The waiter was well mannered, polite, and well spoken. His assistant who poured water and bused the tables was loud, obnoxious, and spilled food on me more than once. I can get over grease stains of I was eating at Al's Beef in Chicago but not at Kemolls. Notice I ranked the food and ambience high, and the only low point was the annoying service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We went to Kemoll's to celebrate our 40t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went to Kemoll's to celebrate our 40th anniversary. The view and service were fine. The food, however, was so salty that we couldn't eat much. Very disappointing!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I absolutely Love this Place is just rec ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I absolutely Love this Place is just recommend it to my friend to celebrate her husband Birthday

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular views make it worth the pric ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Spectacular views make it worth the pricey food & mediocre service. We were celebrating our 50th anniversary & the staff never offered a single congratulation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Our food was amazing!! We all agreed th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our food was amazing!! We all agreed that our meal was one of the best meals we ever had. The loved the view,,,, our service was outstanding and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had absolutely awful service. Took 1 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had absolutely awful service. Took 15 minutes until someone acknowledged us then 2 people ordered veal parmesan and got chicken parmesan. Unacceptable for this caliber of

restaurant. We brought bottle of wine and had to pour ourselves. We were taking another

couple for their 40th wedding anniversary and it was extremely embarrassing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Kemoll's just never dissapoints! We've ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Kemoll's just never dissapoints! We've been dining at Kemoll's forever--the original North Grand location was so much fun! But it can't beat the spectacular views from the 40th floor--you feel like you can reach out the window and touch the arch! The look and ambiance of the dining room are exactly what you expect from an upscale fine dining restaurant. Service is attentive, but not overwhelming.

And then there's the food! Fabulous variety. If you've been going to Kemolls for years(decades!), it's hard to not order the fried artichoke hearts. All salads are excellent, and very large. Entrees are always very well prepared and presented. I had veal milanese this time; quite lovely. I almost always get Filet Douglas--one of the house specialties--9 oz. filet & lobster tail in an unbelievable cognac cream sauce. Desserts are also fab--and huge! The deep fried cheesecake was an unexpected treat.

The prices at Kemoll's are at the high end for St. Louis dining. Most entrees are in the $30s-$40s; a few top $60 (filet douglas is $62). They do come with a side. Save up if you must--you will come away feeling you got more than good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Filet Douglas was fantastic! Everyt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Filet Douglas was fantastic! Everything about the evening was awesome. The service was great, David took great care of us. Would we do it again? You bet!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizers were wonderful. They tas ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The appetizers were wonderful. They tasted amazing and the service was great.

Unfortunately, from the salad to the entrée the dishes were progressively saltier. Even vegetable side dish was over salted. I feel that if I didn't have high blood pressure previous to my dinner, I sure did following.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was excellent, we had a very ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent, we had a very attentive and thoughtful waitress. The atmosphere was lovely - a little 'old' style, but nice. Our biggest disappointment was the food. Our meals were just 'okay', not bad, but not worthy of the price tag attached to them. Neither of us finished either our appetizers nor our mains, and we decided to skip on dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Kemolls was absolutely amazing! My wife ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Kemolls was absolutely amazing! My wife and I went for our 1st anniversary and we were treated like royalty. John was an amazing waiter and took outstanding care of us. He even gave us an anniversary dessert and made sure that everything was perfect!! My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the outstanding view from the 40th floor. It was perfect for our first anniversary! Thank you so much John and Kemolls, you all really made it a night to remember!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not as good as we expected, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was not as good as we expected, the salmon was more than just blackened.

One of my co-workers in from the UK was served the incorrect beverage.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a treat to dine at Kemoll's! Thi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always a treat to dine at Kemoll's! This was a special occasion - my nephew's last dinner before entering the military. We all enjoyed it immensely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 16 oz. strip steak was tough. For $42 ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My 16 oz. strip steak was tough. For $42, I expected a tender steak.

Waiter was not experience. Asked by a nearby couple what tarragon taste like and he replied rosemary. He thought at the Malbec was from Italy. I remember Kemoll's from the North-side. I would definitely trade that for the 50 story view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great views and food

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great views of riverfront from 40th floor. Excellent food. Love the cheese bread. On the expensive side, but worth it.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice view but very pricey for mediocre f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice view but very pricey for mediocre food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was teriffic. We were not ru ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waiter was teriffic. We were not rushed, he was knowledgeable about the food and his recommendations. The only downside was the restaurant was freezing and i wish i had had a sweater. The views and the table table ups were great. Plenty of room yet intimate enough. Portions were surprisingly large. The staff was attentive without hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The views were amazing and the food was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The views were amazing and the food was exceptional. My husband and I 36 anniversary we could not have selected a better place. The atmosphere was perfect and although there were others there the noise level was not distracting and we felt like the servers were there just for us. The food was good, and overall I can't wait for the next occasion to visit again. I have placed this location at the top of my list!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.