Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub

Kells Portland is rated the Number One Irish Restaurant and Pub in the nation (Tom Horans Top Ten) and has been serving the Northwest for nearly 25 years.

Kells Portland is a touchstone in the community, a home away from home. People from all walks of life and from every generation exchange ideas, enjoy life and gather to celebrate at Kells. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience, from beginning to end. Excellent service, delicious food, outstanding atmosphere and of course live Irish Music 7 nights a week are exactly what you’ll enjoy at Kells.

112 SW 2nd Ave
Portland, OR 97204-3507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Irish, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ash two blocks south of Burnside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-4057

Website:
http://www.kellsportland.com/

Entertainment:
Kells - Live Music Schedule: KELLS PIPES & DRUMS PERFORM EVERY 2ND AND 4TH SATURDAY IRISH DANCERS PERFORM THE FIRST SAT. OF EACH MONTH Live entertainment starts at 9pm sun thru Wednesday, 9:30pm Thursday thru Saturday Traditional Music Session! EVERY SUNDAY from 6 - 8 pm. ALL WELCOME!

Parking Details:
Credit to check available if parked at 2nd and Pine Garage on west side of 2nd ave. Bill must be at least 35$.

Public Transit:
1st and Oak and Skidmore on Max Line

Executive Chef:
Dawn Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Kells offers some of Portland's most unique private party and banquet facilities and services. Located on the second floor of the 1889 Historic Glisan building, Kells provides an Irish ambiance with excellent service and outstanding food.

Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Live Music (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

GREAT food, fun place to celebrate 21st birthdays. Their whiskey selection is top notch plus the benefit of a cigar bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Bar/restaurant was completely understaffed. Although my reservation for 10 was made a week in advance, our server was working half of the restaurant, which caused visible stress to the individual and diminished the service we received. We requested water pitchers to be waiting on the table for us prior to arrival and had to ask for them twice after arrival. The happy hour prices for beer and apps were fantastic. We wanted to eat dinner too and head to the cigar bar but service was so poor, we decided to close our tab and leave the restaurant altogether. It was a serious bummer. We were also STRONGLY encouraged to use Venmo rather than having the check split evenly among us (including coasters advertising Venmo). I can understand diverting to Venmo if we had meals/drinks to individually split up but we didn't. We asked that the whole check be split by the number of people evenly.
The apps and beers were tasty and a great value at (basically) half price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a great time at Kell's, love the music, dance and good food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Romantic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date, Live Music, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fun spot with music. Excellent fish and great burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food excellent atmosphere family was pleased! Will definitely return,

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This restaurant was very loud. Everything else was adequate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great late-night outdoor dining and drinking! What a show on a Friday night!! It was like Paris in the summertime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Kells is a wonderful restaurant. The food is always delicious and the service is friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good Irish pub food. Good service. Fun place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We like to try an Irish pub in every city we visit because we love the food and the vibe. We chose Kell's in Portland because the reviews were so good. Unfortunately, the food (Shepherd's pie, bangers and mash) was mediocre, and the service was disinterested at best. We did not feel welcome at all, which is what you should feel in an authentic pub. Too bad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I always enjoy a meal at Kells. High quality Irish fare and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The corned beef and cabbage is always very good here and they are the only place I know of that still carried Irish hard cider.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We enjoyed the food and lively music from Grafton St.--a fun evening!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Place full of character, with good food & drink, and great people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had my birthday here and it was awesome! I had a reservation for 15 people and they were super accommodating, the live music was amazing, and we had a wonderful time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our meal was great. I hadn't been there before, so wasn't sure what to expect, but we will definitely go back. The only weird thing was that our waitress completely disappeared in the middle of our meal. I can only assume she was off-shift, or on a break, but no one came to finish our meal until I flagged someone down. We weren't offered refills on our drinks, nor were we offered desserts. We had to request the check and no one seemed all that interested in us. It was disappointing, and I hope it's not a theme there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made reservations day of Mother's Day. Got a table right away upon arrival. Had THE BEST Ruben sandwich I've ever had . THe wait staff was very prompt and accommodating even on a busy day like Mother's Day. I Highly recommend KELLS . A must for anyone traveling to Portland Oregon

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice place to get together with friends. Food was food and the employees are friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Kelly's is a must when we are in Portland. We live the atmosphere and nobody beats their shepherds pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was just so so. Atmosphere was very noisy. Disappointed in the selections offered for authentic Irish food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We went to Kells before going to the Jimmy Mak's celebration concert at Roseland Theatre -- a short walk away. This pub LOOKS like an Irish pub with a huge bar, old hardwood floors, and comfy booths and tables, plus enough big screen TV's to keep any sports fan happy. The staff is friendly. They brew their own beers and I recommend their red ale and they have an awesome Irish Whiskey selection. The food was delicious, especially for Irish food! The sausage appetizer was wrapped in a crisp, flaky dough and the spices of the sausage were just right! The special that night was shepherd's pie with cheese, bacon, and a fried egg on top. Wonderful combination of flavors and very filling. We will be going back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Owner visited every table. Authentic food and wonderful atmosphere. Celebrated my husband's birthday and they brought dessert-best bread pudding ever!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Live Sports, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Kells is amazing, we really had a great time. Food was good, the vegan in our group only had 2 choices... but everyone else liked the food. Was a little upset when we first arrived... the reservation we made with Open Table did not exist, but luckily they were not overly busy and could accommodate us.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great time, the week before St. Patrick's Day. Caleb was our server and he was wonderful. We had such a great time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Live Music, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food! Thanks for letting me celebrate my birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a family favorite. The Shepherd Pie is a must on any visit. Our kids love this place!

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our corned beef and cabbage dinner was very good. Our friends had fish and chips - also good. However, we did not get any soda bread, and learned later that you have to ask if you want some. The Chocolate Pot desserts were delicious. We had to eat in the bar area, as the dining room was being used for a group occasion. It was very loud. If you want to be in the dining room, be sure to call and see if seating is available.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had an amazing time! Our server was very accommodating and the food, beer, and atmosphere were all around wonderful! We can't wait to come back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Nice place in an old brick building downtown Portland. Great service good food selection. Fun experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a nice time. Good Irish food. Wasn't as noisy as we had expected as it has quieter (than bar side) restaurant side

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It had been a while since we'd dined at Kell's. It used to be great, but we were very disappointed. The service was slow and unapologetic, the food was cold, and it wasn't really great. Maybe they were just having an off night, but I can't recommend them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy the food and beer at Kells. Great service

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Casual, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is always great at Kell's. We did have a problem this time with the service. It was quite slow but I think we had a new waiter..... and the Cigar smoke was floating into the dining room. It was so thick that we almost left. I love eating here because they have the best Bangers and Mash and hope this was a one time thing.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a fun night. Our group of pirates were well received. The service was great. The food was yummy. And the band "Almaden" really rocked the night. We will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was ok. The server should have been in a different line of work. She was defensive, impatient and not attentive. She asked if we wanted to dinner or drinks before we sat down. As I looked at her I was processing and immediately she said is it my accent you didn't understand. I laughed and said no I was processing. From then on she ignored and avoided our table. A gentleman at the bar came over to see if we needed another drink or anything else and then escorted her to our table. She added to the not so great one time experience. The music by Danny boy was far from Irish and he seemed to be an amateur. The lamb stew was decent. The fries with the fish and chips were good. The fish was greasy and you had more breeding than fish. This was a venture with higher expectations of service, food quality/value and entertainment. Not to mention for the prices you are paying for drinks and food the quality should be better prepared and plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Kells is always good, never had a bad experience. You better have 1.50 with you. They can show you a trick. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We used to go here every year for my husband's office holiday party but the catered food was different than the menu food so I had forgotten what their regular menu was like. I have never had such amazing Corned Beef and Cabbage in all my life!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fire the bartender who was working Saturday night and I'll go back, otherwise never, ever again.

Went specifically to this "soccer bar" to watch the MLS finals and was told by the bartender that he'd change the channel if I'd mix his drinks for him. I assumed he was joking so pushed back and he told me "my job is to mix drinks, not change channels" to which I replied "I think your job is to assist customers". He then got argumentative so we walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I came to kells to get the Irish Stew. I was disappointed. It was more of a soup broth than a thick stew. The lamb was all but missing except for a few slivers. The beer was good and my wife's BLTC was fine. I just can't find an exceptional Irish Stew here in the states. Oh well, back to Ireland I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We stopped in before a concert and needed to dine quickly. The server was excellent in attending to our situation. Bravo! Food quality was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.