About Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub

112 SW 2nd Ave
Portland, OR 97204-3507
View Larger Map

Kells Portland is rated the Number One Irish Restaurant and Pub in the nation (Tom Horans Top Ten) and has been serving the Northwest for nearly 25 years.

Kells Portland is a touchstone in the community, a home away from home. People from all walks of life and from every generation exchange ideas, enjoy life and gather to celebrate at Kells. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience, from beginning to end. Excellent service, delicious food, outstanding atmosphere and of course live Irish Music 7 nights a week are exactly what you’ll enjoy at Kells.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Irish, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ash two blocks south of Burnside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-4057

Website:
http://www.kellsportland.com/

Entertainment:
Kells - Live Music Schedule: KELLS PIPES & DRUMS PERFORM EVERY 2ND AND 4TH SATURDAY IRISH DANCERS PERFORM THE FIRST SAT. OF EACH MONTH Live entertainment starts at 9pm sun thru Wednesday, 9:30pm Thursday thru Saturday Traditional Music Session! EVERY SUNDAY from 6 - 8 pm. ALL WELCOME!

Parking Details:
Credit to check available if parked at 2nd and Pine Garage on west side of 2nd ave. Bill must be at least 35$.

Public Transit:
1st and Oak and Skidmore on Max Line

Executive Chef:
Dawn Farley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Kells offers some of Portland's most unique private party and banquet facilities and services. Located on the second floor of the 1889 Historic Glisan building, Kells provides an Irish ambiance with excellent service and outstanding food.

Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Portland / Oregon
Best Value
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (8)
See All
neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (7)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (6)
fit for foodies (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1

Disappointing visit to a Portland favori ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Disappointing visit to a Portland favorite. Terrible service, he never checked on us until after our meal and then finally refilled drinks. Food was sub par to say the least. Music was way too loud for the dinner hour.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ambience. Food is great too.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the ambience. Food is great too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 7, 2016

The hostess set two tables for us so we could choose where we wanted to sit. All staff were friendly and provided great service. The food was excellent. We would recommend the Reubon and the corn beef and cabbage.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great atmosphere

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food great atmosphere

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch on March 17th!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The wait was minimal, service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Amazing given how busy they were on this holiday. I highly recommend Kell's for a St. Paddy's Day experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lively Irish bar with good food and friendly staff

Dined on March 13, 2016

Had a very pleasant dining experience with family on a busy Saturday evening. Thanks to OpenTable, we had a very nice reserved table in the dining room. Plenty of bustle and background noise, but we were able to comfortably have a conversation. Food and drinks were all good, especially the Irish Nachos and the Hummus plate and the special instructions on our drinks order. Also nice that Guinness is served in a traditional Tulip glass!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Irish pub

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great Irish food and nice beer selection. Friendly efficient servers. Cigar bar downstairs (but no evidence of this upstairs in the dining area!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find

Dined on February 15, 2016

We gave it try and loved the simple, but tasty food, in good service sizes. The atmosphere was amazing, the service great, with a warm feel.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pub in historic downtown Portland

Dined on February 15, 2016

Friendly service and great pub atmosphere. Checkout the cigar room downstairs.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to hang out !

Dined on January 17, 2016

Love the reserve a table, works out great since i live so far. Come here on special occasions, great atmosphere and all!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High-energy restaurant with a great cigar lounge

Dined on January 10, 2016

Kell's is in basically 3 seconds - the bar area, the restaurant, and the downstairs cigar lounge. We ate upstairs then went downstairs for cigars and more booze. You will not smell the slightest whiff of smoke in the upstairs bar and restaurant areas, trust me. But down there, it's super cozy, and they have an absolutely awesome selection of liquor. The bar itself has shelves to the ceiling and a rolling library ladder so the bartender can reach the top shelf bottles :) Cigar selection is slender, but has some good names. Cigar prices are on the high side of medium. Liquor is reasonably priced, and food is both inexpensive and very good Irish pub type fare. Later at night, the live music starts - if you're downstairs at the time, you'll hear the dancing :)

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, decent ambiance

Dined on January 1, 2016

Came in with a six person group. We were seated immediately and all ordered drinks. We arrived on New Year's Eve and were expecting a bit more festive decorations but we did only arrive at 7. The food was good and the whole dinner service was done in about an hour. The only complaint was that the appetizer showed up only about a minute before the entrees so there wasn't time to enjoy it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kell's is our go-to spot for guests.

Dined on December 27, 2015

We particularly enjoy bringing out of town guests and family to Kells for special events and holiday meals.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place!

Dined on December 12, 2015

This was Outlandia's 3rd Gathering. Each time has been a wonderful, fun experience. They always accommodate us. That's why it's the 3rd time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food here!

Dined on December 11, 2015

We went to Kells for the first time this past week and enjoyed the food as well as seeing all the money stuck to the ceiling being raised for the Providence Children's Hospital. My only problem was that the wonderful leftover stew planned for the next day's lunch had to be tossed due to a power outage that very night for way too long to hope it would still be OK to eat! Ouch! Guess we'll have to go again! Husband had the curry chicken over fries which had a very good flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

We can count on Kells

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

As usual we had beer, whiskey, shepherd's pie plus bangers & mashed potatoes along with the house pickles. All was what we expected. It is just great comfort food in a lively environment.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Good time with friends

Dined on November 21, 2015

Met up with friends and stayed for good food, great drinks, and tons of laughter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for the Rugby World Cup

Dined on October 31, 2015

My Kiwi husband and I came down to watch the Rugby World Cup. First of all, they were amazing and opened at 8am on a Saturday for the game and by 8:10am the place was packed. Everyone did a great job of taking care of us, from keeping our coffee full to our breakfasts coming out hot. There were massive groups and it seems like everyone had the same high quality service. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food. We can't wait to go back for the next All Blacks game!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1

Disappointed with wait staff

Dined on October 25, 2015

I used to love this restaurant. However, this last visit all 3 of my wait staff were very business like and not personable at all. It was like they were annoyed they had to wait on people. They never checked on us after we got our food to see if we wanted more drinks or dessert. The hostess who seated us, however, was outstanding and made us feel very welcome. I won't be going back though.

food3
ambience4
service1

Disappointing

Dined on October 18, 2015

This is the second time I had visited this place and the first time for my son and husband. We had made a reservation a week prior. We showed up and they had a table reserved by the front door almost as an afterthought. Then had the nerve to ask if we would move because a couple without a reservation wanted to "see the tv". No one even bothered to greet us for at least 20 minutes and then someone finally came and asked us if we wanted a drink. Fifteen minutes later someone finally came and asked if we wanted to order food. They were out of the steak so we had to order something else. Fries were cold... Usually great food was sub-par.... When we were ready to leave it took a half an hour to get someone's attention to get our check. I was very disappointed in how awful it was knowing what a great place it used to be.... Not worth the $60.00 I spent..

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

live music

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

great variety in live music incl. Irish music, dance, traditional instruments and clothes. Very tasty beer with seasonal brews, special Irish food and cocktails. Very delicious food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

Reservation, what reservation?

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

The servers didn't acknowledge my open table reservation, but that was fine, I had just invited a group of 😆8 to join us for drinks. So the tables were eventually pushed together, we had two servers, quick service of beverages and food. Good live music started, we had a great time! Will definitely pop in again to try other menu items. Love the historic building. Keep up the good work.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Kells will always be a choice for us!

Dined on August 23, 2015

We've been going here for years and never have been disappointed! Great for dates and group gatherings! Good cigar bar and amazing food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Eat outdoors too

vip
Dined on April 26, 2014

This is a good fun place to eat, always reliable, lots of beer selections, OK wine list (could be better). Good Pub -grub, decent prices and I love the outdoor seating out front. Night time has great local entertainment from Folk to Rock, and if you are a sports fan (we are not, thats why we eat outside) this place is especially for you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2014

No complaints. The food and service are always worth the return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this Portland institution!

Dined on April 20, 2014

What is there to say about Kell's? Amazing food, fun atmosphere, not overpriced. A family favorite.

food5
ambience5
service3

Portland jewel

Dined on April 15, 2014

My husband and I make it a point to visit kell's when ever we are in Portland. The food is fantastic and it is really hard to choose a dish. There is already a game on on and music going in the background. There are also live music nights. If you are looking for a good time and a great meal Kell's is the place for you.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Kell

Dined on April 13, 2014

Saturday night is busy. Bar is loud but the restaurant is small but nice. Not just bar food. Moderate menu with Irish cuisine . A nice change to eating out .

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fun!

Dined on March 27, 2014

Kell's is always fun! The food was great. My wife had the Irish lamb stew, our daughter had the Irish meatballs and mash while I had the Reuben. Every plate was well presented and absolutely delicious. We arrived just before noon with our daughter and her seven month old son who happens to be the best behaved child the good Lord ever created. We wouldn't take him to restaurants if he was a noisy chap. The service was excellent and the staff attentive. The owner even stopped by to visit for several minutes. The Guiness was poured properly and the Irish coffee was done just right. If your ever looking for good food, fun and a great crowd you should do yourself a favor and drop into Kell's! It really works so well for many occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Kell's

Dined on March 23, 2014

Kell's is a great restaurant, always a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Comfortable, European bar

Dined on March 23, 2014

Comfortable, European bar style atmosphere. Traditional bar food menu with Irish specialties such as lamb stew. Generous portions, friendly table service.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun family evening

Dined on March 22, 2014

Seven of us, aged 25-64, rode the MAX into town and walked the few blocks over to Kells. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had a really good time. We went early in the evening, so it was not crowded and the noise level was perfect. The food and service were great. Made our reservations on line and that was a snap!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2014

We had the worse service ever. Servers name was Kaya (or something like that). She got our orders wrong and was more interested in talking with other employees than in taking care of our table. Our first experience at Kells had been very good, but after this experience, my husband said he has not interest in going back. Pretty disappointing. We were also disappointed with the food. Which really surprised us. He ordered Corned Beef and Cabbage, and literally had two cabbage leaves on his plate. I ordered a Spinach Salad and there was only 3 paper thin slices of apple. Not much of anything else either. The quality of our meal combined with the service was a big let down for us. Kell's definitely let us down.

food4
ambience4
service3

Irish for Lunch?

Dined on March 19, 2014

Kell's is a long time Portland landmark. Classic Irish Pub, good beer and very good food. Perfect for a different lunch spot. The Mc Aleese's do a great job.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Place

Dined on March 9, 2014

We celebrated a friend's birthday over the weekend and had a great time at Kell's. Making reservations online was easy and when we got there our table was just about ready. Drinks were great (strong!) and the food was so good! Our waitress was really attentive and nice even though they were so busy. We'll definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Food

Dined on March 2, 2014

We are NEVER disappointed with any dish we order at Kell's. The atmostphere is vibrant and fun. However if you want a quiet restaurant, Kell's is not for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Nothing to write home about

Dined on March 2, 2014

Food and service were average. As a policy, they don't split bills. This made things tough with a group of 13. When we asked about splitting the bill one server said yes, but our server said no. They said it takes too much time for them to do it. Our group ended up spending about 15 minutes trying to divide the bill between 5 credit cards. (5 was the max they would take) Glad we were able to save them the time!!!! Not sure that's really putting the client first.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and ambience

vip
Dined on February 25, 2014

I had a great first dinner and show there. We are looking forward to returng.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food.

Dined on February 16, 2014

The food was great and the service top notch!! We WILL be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Great music

Dined on February 15, 2014

This is a great place to get a delicious bite to eat with many traditional Irish dishes than dance and enjoy the band. The band was a 3 piece (drum, fiddle, guitar/vocalist). They played upbeat music with an Irish flair. Fun to dance to!!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.