About Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub

112 SW 2nd Ave
Portland, OR 97204-3507
View Larger Map

Kells Portland is rated the Number One Irish Restaurant and Pub in the nation (Tom Horans Top Ten) and has been serving the Northwest for nearly 25 years.

Kells Portland is a touchstone in the community, a home away from home. People from all walks of life and from every generation exchange ideas, enjoy life and gather to celebrate at Kells. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience, from beginning to end. Excellent service, delicious food, outstanding atmosphere and of course live Irish Music 7 nights a week are exactly what you’ll enjoy at Kells.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Irish, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Nightly: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Ash two blocks south of Burnside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 227-4057

Website:
http://www.kellsportland.com/

Entertainment:
Kells - Live Music Schedule: KELLS PIPES & DRUMS PERFORM EVERY 2ND AND 4TH SATURDAY IRISH DANCERS PERFORM THE FIRST SAT. OF EACH MONTH Live entertainment starts at 9pm sun thru Wednesday, 9:30pm Thursday thru Saturday Traditional Music Session! EVERY SUNDAY from 6 - 8 pm. ALL WELCOME!

Parking Details:
Credit to check available if parked at 2nd and Pine Garage on west side of 2nd ave. Bill must be at least 35$.

Public Transit:
1st and Oak and Skidmore on Max Line

Executive Chef:
Dawn Farley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Kells offers some of Portland's most unique private party and banquet facilities and services. Located on the second floor of the 1889 Historic Glisan building, Kells provides an Irish ambiance with excellent service and outstanding food.

Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (11)
Casual (10)
Live Music (6)
See All
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice place in an old brick building downtown Portland. Great service good food selection. Fun experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had a nice time. Good Irish food. Wasn't as noisy as we had expected as it has quieter (than bar side) restaurant side

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It had been a while since we'd dined at Kell's. It used to be great, but we were very disappointed. The service was slow and unapologetic, the food was cold, and it wasn't really great. Maybe they were just having an off night, but I can't recommend them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy the food and beer at Kells. Great service

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Casual, Historic, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is always great at Kell's. We did have a problem this time with the service. It was quite slow but I think we had a new waiter..... and the Cigar smoke was floating into the dining room. It was so thick that we almost left. I love eating here because they have the best Bangers and Mash and hope this was a one time thing.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a fun night. Our group of pirates were well received. The service was great. The food was yummy. And the band "Almaden" really rocked the night. We will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was ok. The server should have been in a different line of work. She was defensive, impatient and not attentive. She asked if we wanted to dinner or drinks before we sat down. As I looked at her I was processing and immediately she said is it my accent you didn't understand. I laughed and said no I was processing. From then on she ignored and avoided our table. A gentleman at the bar came over to see if we needed another drink or anything else and then escorted her to our table. She added to the not so great one time experience. The music by Danny boy was far from Irish and he seemed to be an amateur. The lamb stew was decent. The fries with the fish and chips were good. The fish was greasy and you had more breeding than fish. This was a venture with higher expectations of service, food quality/value and entertainment. Not to mention for the prices you are paying for drinks and food the quality should be better prepared and plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Kells is always good, never had a bad experience. You better have 1.50 with you. They can show you a trick. Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We used to go here every year for my husband's office holiday party but the catered food was different than the menu food so I had forgotten what their regular menu was like. I have never had such amazing Corned Beef and Cabbage in all my life!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fire the bartender who was working Saturday night and I'll go back, otherwise never, ever again.

Went specifically to this "soccer bar" to watch the MLS finals and was told by the bartender that he'd change the channel if I'd mix his drinks for him. I assumed he was joking so pushed back and he told me "my job is to mix drinks, not change channels" to which I replied "I think your job is to assist customers". He then got argumentative so we walked out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I came to kells to get the Irish Stew. I was disappointed. It was more of a soup broth than a thick stew. The lamb was all but missing except for a few slivers. The beer was good and my wife's BLTC was fine. I just can't find an exceptional Irish Stew here in the states. Oh well, back to Ireland I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We stopped in before a concert and needed to dine quickly. The server was excellent in attending to our situation. Bravo! Food quality was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner/evening at Kells. The food was excellent. We all had the pork special. There were Irish dancers and flute music when we arrived and group playing Irish music later on. The fiddle player was crazy good. The waiter and other staff were excellent and made us feel special.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Live Music, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love the location and the ambience but the food and beer was really bad. Very bland, overlooked, and swimming in grease. The Kell's beer was pretty bad. And the prices weeenhigh. Much better pub food within a couple of blocks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was great. Bangers and mash was authentic. The smoke from the cigar room which is in the basement invaded the dining area and make the atmosphere nearly like eating inside of a cigar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Kells is a great place that's been around forever. A menu full of good, hardy fare that never disappoints. The service is good and there's always a lot going on .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a good meal and fairly prompt service. Took a long time to get check and pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is wonderful and very good value - shepherds pie, fish n chips, or anything with corned beef. Their beers are ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went to Kell's for lunch at 1:15 pm on Sept. 25th. We were a party of 6 friends. The food and server were GREAT! Absolutely no complaints there. But I have to give Kell's very low marks for ambiance and noise. Unbeknownst to us, right after we ordered our meal, a few people from some kind of fundraising event came into the restaurant. They were given a microphone and proceeded to SHOUT out congrats to each other for a good 40 minutes (until we left...or fled). There didn't seem to be an actual need for the microphone -- they were a small enough group they could easily have congratulated each other without it. The manager at Kell's should've pulled the plug. The noise was unbearable, conversation impossible. We looked to move to a table outside, but those were all taken. There appeared to be another room with tables on the north side of the restaurant but that was locked and so not an option. The server was kind and apologetic, but there was nothing she could do. Had we known there was this LOUD event, we'd never ever have made the reservation! It was an awful introduction to Portland for the one couple in our party who were visiting the state. What an embarrassment and what a big disappointment!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We ate here to get to try some of the local beer and try out another Irish pub on the west coast. Overall we enjoyed what we had including the beer but was not blown away by anything. We both had a beer but enjoyed the red ale the most.

My wife got fish and chips and I got the Irish curry to eat. The fish and chips was probably the better of the two. The fish lightly breaded but still crispy. The fries were nothing really special but not bad either. The curry was slightly spicy and had a small mixture of chicken and cheese mixed in with the fries. Service was not bad but only so so. Not a lot of tables visits but we didn't ask for much.

Overall I would go back again if in the area but I didn't care too much for the location.

Tags: Live Sports, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was top notch, music great, and the food/drink just what we were looking for in an Irish pub.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Kells. We enjoyed the atmosphere. Our server Cameron couldn't have been better. I explained to him that we would be there for awhile, and he timed each course we had perfectly even though he was busy, he kept an eye out on our table. Everything went very smooth thanks to him.

We had some dishes we have never had before like Scottish nachos, lamb stew, Scottish egg and sausage in pastry. All were nicely done and very tasty. There weren't any leftovers. We would definitely to back again!

Tags: Historic, Great Beer, People Watching, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The establishment had a special occassion in the dinning room so our group were placed in the bar. Not what I had expected but our out-of-town guests enjoyed the experience anyway (just a little more noise on the bar side). Food and service good as always.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had confirmed reservations for our party, we arrived 10 minutes early and they had given our table to someone else. The hostess was completely overwhelmed. We eventually were seated (but only after insisting 12 of us could not sit at a 6 person table) but only had one waiter for 12 of us. Food was a long time coming.

I would not recommend this place for anything more than a beer at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good Irish food in a great setting. Got Belfast chicken curry and Reuben. Both great

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good setting for a birthday party. We enjoyed the service and the food. Wings were too sweet though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Kell's is always solid. Very noisy in bar section. In dining room you are able to carry a pleasant conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fun place. Manager seemed like if she saw one more tourist, she was going to kill us all. Must be a Portland thing. Other than that, our third visit to Kells was good. Standard grub. Nothing fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Disappointing visit to a Portland favorite. Terrible service, he never checked on us until after our meal and then finally refilled drinks. Food was sub par to say the least. Music was way too loud for the dinner hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Love the ambience. Food is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The hostess set two tables for us so we could choose where we wanted to sit. All staff were friendly and provided great service. The food was excellent. We would recommend the Reubon and the corn beef and cabbage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The wait was minimal, service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Amazing given how busy they were on this holiday. I highly recommend Kell's for a St. Paddy's Day experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Had a very pleasant dining experience with family on a busy Saturday evening. Thanks to OpenTable, we had a very nice reserved table in the dining room. Plenty of bustle and background noise, but we were able to comfortably have a conversation. Food and drinks were all good, especially the Irish Nachos and the Hummus plate and the special instructions on our drinks order. Also nice that Guinness is served in a traditional Tulip glass!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Great Irish food and nice beer selection. Friendly efficient servers. Cigar bar downstairs (but no evidence of this upstairs in the dining area!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We gave it try and loved the simple, but tasty food, in good service sizes. The atmosphere was amazing, the service great, with a warm feel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Friendly service and great pub atmosphere. Checkout the cigar room downstairs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Love the reserve a table, works out great since i live so far. Come here on special occasions, great atmosphere and all!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Kell's is in basically 3 seconds - the bar area, the restaurant, and the downstairs cigar lounge. We ate upstairs then went downstairs for cigars and more booze. You will not smell the slightest whiff of smoke in the upstairs bar and restaurant areas, trust me. But down there, it's super cozy, and they have an absolutely awesome selection of liquor. The bar itself has shelves to the ceiling and a rolling library ladder so the bartender can reach the top shelf bottles :)

Cigar selection is slender, but has some good names. Cigar prices are on the high side of medium. Liquor is reasonably priced, and food is both inexpensive and very good Irish pub type fare. Later at night, the live music starts - if you're downstairs at the time, you'll hear the dancing :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Came in with a six person group. We were seated immediately and all ordered drinks. We arrived on New Year's Eve and were expecting a bit more festive decorations but we did only arrive at 7. The food was good and the whole dinner service was done in about an hour. The only complaint was that the appetizer showed up only about a minute before the entrees so there wasn't time to enjoy it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2015

We particularly enjoy bringing out of town guests and family to Kells for special events and holiday meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2015

This was Outlandia's 3rd Gathering. Each time has been a wonderful, fun experience. They always accommodate us. That's why it's the 3rd time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2015

We went to Kells for the first time this past week and enjoyed the food as well as seeing all the money stuck to the ceiling being raised for the Providence Children's Hospital. My only problem was that the wonderful leftover stew planned for the next day's lunch had to be tossed due to a power outage that very night for way too long to hope it would still be OK to eat! Ouch! Guess we'll have to go again! Husband had the curry chicken over fries which had a very good flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2015

As usual we had beer, whiskey, shepherd's pie plus bangers & mashed potatoes along with the house pickles. All was what we expected. It is just great comfort food in a lively environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Met up with friends and stayed for good food, great drinks, and tons of laughter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2015

My Kiwi husband and I came down to watch the Rugby World Cup. First of all, they were amazing and opened at 8am on a Saturday for the game and by 8:10am the place was packed.

Everyone did a great job of taking care of us, from keeping our coffee full to our breakfasts coming out hot. There were massive groups and it seems like everyone had the same high quality service.

Everyone seemed to enjoy their food.

We can't wait to go back for the next All Blacks game!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 25, 2015

I used to love this restaurant. However, this last visit all 3 of my wait staff were very business like and not personable at all. It was like they were annoyed they had to wait on people. They never checked on us after we got our food to see if we wanted more drinks or dessert. The hostess who seated us, however, was outstanding and made us feel very welcome. I won't be going back though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2015

This is the second time I had visited this place and the first time for my son and husband. We had made a reservation a week prior. We showed up and they had a table reserved by the front door almost as an afterthought. Then had the nerve to ask if we would move because a couple without a reservation wanted to "see the tv". No one even bothered to greet us for at least 20 minutes and then someone finally came and asked us if we wanted a drink. Fifteen minutes later someone finally came and asked if we wanted to order food. They were out of the steak so we had to order something else. Fries were cold... Usually great food was sub-par.... When we were ready to leave it took a half an hour to get someone's attention to get our check. I was very disappointed in how awful it was knowing what a great place it used to be.... Not worth the $60.00 I spent..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2015

great variety in live music incl. Irish music, dance, traditional instruments and clothes. Very tasty beer with seasonal brews, special Irish food and cocktails. Very delicious food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2015

The servers didn't acknowledge my open table reservation, but that was fine, I had just invited a group of 😆8 to join us for drinks. So the tables were eventually pushed together, we had two servers, quick service of beverages and food. Good live music started, we had a great time! Will definitely pop in again to try other menu items. Love the historic building. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.