About Kelley and Ping

127 Greene Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Opened in 1993, Kelley and Ping continues to draw its inspiration from the bustling markets of Asia. Walk in and you are transported by the sights, sounds and smells of this vibrant SoHo loft space. The menu is based on the classics of Asian cuisine and embellished by the bold flavors of its street food. Lunch is self-service and features soups, wok dishes and salads. The Tea Bar is the feature of the afternoon with a deep selection of Asian teas and sweets. Cocktail Hour celebrates hand-crafted drinks, artisanal liquors, Asian beers and a thoughtful selection of sake. Dinner relaxes into table service with a punchy menu that is guided by the bold and spicy flavors of Asian street food. All of this is enjoyed at home as well with our fast and free delivery service. "Old School SoHo" meets Asian Night Market, Kelley and Ping has always been both timeless and trend-setting. Join us in our journey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:30pm -10:00pm
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince and Houston

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-1212

Website:
http://www.kelleyandping.com/

Catering:
From our kitchen in Soho, we are terrific resource to call upon when in need of a catered event. Our Asian-inspired menu adds taste, character, and quality for large or intimate events. For clients seeking to host private parties in their homes, or for companies seeking to entertain at a corporate facility, we've chosen the best Pan-Asian dishes to create a festive occasion with a delicious mix of small tasting plates and platters. Our menu is well balanced, healthy, and appeals to a diverse mix of culinary interests and diets.

Parking Details:
free street parking monday to friday after 6:00 pm and all day saturday and sunday. garage parking available on mercer and houston.

Public Transit:
bdfm broadway lafayette
nr prince street
6 spring street
ce spring street

Executive Chef:
kevin chan

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Kelley and Ping Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

2.6

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in SoHo ›

Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (1)
See All
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A favorite when in Soho. Great cocktails ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A favorite when in Soho. Great cocktails- try the Ginger Mint or the Tamarind Whisky Sour- and low-key relaxing vibe. Feels a bit like being on vacation. Favorite dishes are the Pad Sew Yew, Bulgogi and sautéed string beans.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had my 50th birthday celebration at Ke ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I had my 50th birthday celebration at Kelley and Ping. Emily did an amazing job helping me to plan a celebration dinner for my friends. The staff was so nice, warm and friendly.

The food was delicious! It was amazing to have so many gluten free options for my guests and I to choose from.

I would throw another large family style gathering there in a heart beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although food was so-so and could have b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Although food was so-so and could have been, service was fine, congenial, and helpful. I recommend K&P and would return, but with more caution and less enthusiasm.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This used to be one of my favorite place ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite places but over the years it just got worse and worse. Took a chance out of nostalgia for a group dinner last week. Both my friend and I Got food poisoning! Avoid avoid avoid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was so so but service was very good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was so so but service was very good, ambience is great (I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt that no air conditioning was purposefully recreating the Vietnamese climate). I'd like to try again for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delectable , Delicious, Dining

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Always enjoyed lunch at K&P - recently discovered they slso serve dinner. The restaurant takes on a completely new look - romantic low lighting , very friendly helpful table service and the food is so wonderful. I tried the Pork Chop served over fine noodles - amazing! The Pad Thia of course Top Ten. A perfect informal dinner and it's in my neighborhood . Oh yes, order the Spring Rolls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flavorful

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Flavorful dishes. Good variety on the menu. Satisfied all in our party of 6.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cool vibe, amazing cocktails! Food was e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Cool vibe, amazing cocktails! Food was easy to share and a perfect blend of spices and flavors. Nothing over powered the food. Service was appropriately attentive. Great neighborhood spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Refreshingly Low Key

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

After shopping in the area, we found this lovely spot with pan-Asian cuisine. I am a big fan of Thai, Korean, Vietnamese, and the food was absolutely delicious. We had a pad thai and the crispy duck served on a bed of greens, all very well seasoned and not greasy at all. The bento box appetizer didn't need the sticky rice in my opinion, but the other 3 items were great.

The space is nicely decorated, with a modern vibe mixed with not so traditional Asian art. Service was attentive and prompt, but it was a quiet night, only a few tables occupied at 8pm.

The wine list could use revamping: the wines are only listed by variety, no provenance or name of producers. I thought it would take too long to ask, so I ordered a very good cocktail and my husband had a beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food and service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious food, great ambiance, good ser ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

delicious food, great ambiance, good service, overall experience was excellent. will indefinably go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved it. I got the fried rice and spr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I loved it. I got the fried rice and spring rolls, so good. Our service was great! Cute lil spit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fit for foodies at an outstanding value!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

The ambiance of this Pan-Asian cafeteria-style restaurant is really amazing, I come here every time I'm in NewYork. My favourite is the Ped Makham, a crispy boneless duck glazed with Soy, ginger and tamarind - simply wonderful! Good prices for Soho.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quintessential menu

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

It's everything you love to eat. And the service was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid Thai

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Reasonably priced, solid Thai/Asian-fusion food in SoHo. Spacious interior, good energy, friendly staff, open-plan kitchen. Very cool.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delish

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Great spot for casual eats. We had the veg dumplings and Massamen Curry. So good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No. Just no. ANYWHERES else.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

Unfortunately, despite the good location and adequate decor, they stopped short on food and drinks. My lychee mojito tasted like mint water (which I like, don't get me wrong, but not for $14). Our appetizer was dumplings and they were overcooked, mushy, without flavor of any kind. The main course was chicken plainer than you'd find on an airplane. The meat quality was low, which might have been hidden beneath you know, flavor, but no. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Very surprising - Looks like a deli by d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2015

Very surprising - Looks like a deli by day however literally transformed into a really nice and quiet restaurant by night, very nice location. Food a nice mix.

Did miss draft beer.

Would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Stopped here for a great dinner the nigh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2015

Stopped here for a great dinner the night before the New York City bike tour with my brother, his wife and my niece. My niece is vegan, I am vegetarian and my brother would basically eat anything. And everything. It was just what we wanted! There's something on the menu for absolutely everyone, from gluten-free to carnivore. The food was delicious, and our waitress really catered to my niece, which I greatly appreciate. You could really order anything here and it would be superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice find.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Nestled off a side street in SoHo, we were delighted to find this restaurant after hanging out the Children's Museum of Art about a 1/2 mile away. The menu had a very nice selection of various Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese and Chinese dishes. The kids menu also was great and kids eat free on certain days which is even better (we had to remind our server at the end of the meal regarding this offer). The 4 adults and 2 children in our party enjoyed a variety of flavors including Salmon with a curry sauce, noodles, satay, tempura, and crispy duck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

great service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

very accomodating with better than decent food. Gracious wait and host staff

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Understaffed

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

Understaffed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

awesome

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

I'm from Italy and I first tried this restaurant in 2011, thanks to a friend who lives in NY. This second time was even better than I remember: food is delicious, the ambiance is very cosy and nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

YUM

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 27, 2014

took a group of nine people here on last minute notice and the staff was very kind and helpful.

food is GREAT as are the drinks (watch out, they sneak up on you!). But sometimes the service can be slow, depending on where in the room you end up sitting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Has gone downhill -food and service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

Food-All apps were good, but mains were awful. The chicken was so salty!!

Service-And as cute as our waiter was, he lacked customer service skills and totally messed up our order.

On top if all that, be careful of front tables. My menu fell so I leaned over to pick it up and whacked my head into the shelving next to the table. I've had a headache now for two days.

So many other places to go that I'd never go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Average Food, Smelly

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

Very average food that comes out in 4 minutes after ordering. This is definitely not the same taste or quality food it used to be.

The restaurant had no ventilation and smelled bad inside. Dining was extremely hot and uncomfortable. I wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Just go. The space, food, service are a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

Just go. The space, food, service are all amazing....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Asian with a difference

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

We had an amazing time at Kelley and Ping's. We were a large group where all our friends showed up at different times. The staff was very accommodating and took our various orders as we came in.

The Thai street food they offer is absolutely divine. Everything was cooked to perfection.

We especially enjoyed the ambience and decor of the space - something very eclectic and made to look like an old-fashioned diner in Hong Kong (I think).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good menu, tasteless food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

It's a great idea that's gone astray. All kinds of great asian street food, but it's gluey and tasteless and overcooked. They should keep the menu but replace every cookn the place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Late Night Spot

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

I went here with my boyfriend at 9:15 and we almost had the entire place to ourselves. The cocktails are a little quirky, but they are yummy. The menu is fairly limited, but we enjoyed everything (seafood pasta for me and cashew chicken for him). I LOVED the environment, it looked like an ancient Asian restaurant. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Good food, poor service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2014

The food here is always interesting and tasty, but the service was really bad. We were one of a handful of tables and they brought 3 of our 5 meals together and then didn't acknowledge we were missing 2. We had to call the waiter over and ask and then about 10 mins (seriously) later they brought 1 dish and still said nothing about the other. Finally we got the 5th but it was a bit ridiculous. They also didn't offer us free drinks or dessert of take off an entree or something. It was both the waiter and the hostess (or whoever the woman was who was standing around) so seemed to not want to deal with the situation. Very odd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Kelly and Ping... Fantastic!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2014

This is a fantastic place. The environment makes you feel you are in Vietnam or in Southern China. At the same time, it is a fabulous NYC gem that only could be in Soho. The food is extraordinary and simple. The service is quick, efficient and extremely friendly. Do not miss the Chinese broccoli, or any of their delicious, chicken-based dishes. This is a great place if you are hungry, don't want to wait on lines. This is the kind of place in which you eat fabulously well, have a great conversation with friends or family, and then you go away after an hour. It is not the kind of place for a date or for something that merits more time. The have a good tea selection and their Japanese sakee is great. This place is very popular among locals.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Simply amazing.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2014

Everything was fantastic from start to finish. What blew me away the most was the duck, which I ordinarily do not like. It was fantastic. Great service, wonderful ambience; I can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

I've been eating here for years, throughout their transformations and different styles of dining, but the food has consistently remained very, very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.