Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Kelley and Ping

4.1
50 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Asian
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Opened in 1993, Kelley and Ping continues to draw its inspiration from the bustling markets of Asia. Walk in and you are transported by the sights, sounds and smells of this vibrant SoHo loft space. The menu is based on the classics of Asian cuisine and embellished by the bold flavors of its street food. Lunch is self-service and features soups, wok dishes and salads. The Tea Bar is the feature of the afternoon with a deep selection of Asian teas and sweets. Cocktail Hour celebrates hand-crafted drinks, artisanal liquors, Asian beers and a thoughtful selection of sake. Dinner relaxes into table service with a punchy menu that is guided by the bold and spicy flavors of Asian street food. All of this is enjoyed at home as well with our fast and free delivery service. "Old School SoHo" meets Asian Night Market, Kelley and Ping has always been both timeless and trend-setting. Join us in our journey.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:30pm -10:00pm
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 228-1212
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
kevin chan
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
From our kitchen in Soho, we are terrific resource to call upon when in need of a catered event. Our Asian-inspired menu adds taste, character, and quality for large or intimate events. For clients seeking to host private parties in their homes, or for companies seeking to entertain at a corporate facility, we've chosen the best Pan-Asian dishes to create a festive occasion with a delicious mix of small tasting plates and platters. Our menu is well balanced, healthy, and appeals to a diverse mix of culinary interests and diets.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prince and Houston
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
free street parking monday to friday after 6:00 pm and all day saturday and sunday. garage parking available on mercer and houston.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
bdfm broadway lafayette
nr prince street
6 spring street
ce spring street
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access
What 50 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1based on all time ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 6, 2017

i arrived early for dinner to find that the restaurant was dark and the doors were locked. a sign was on the door stating that they are closed because of a gas leak, which is perfectly understandable, but please notify the people who have a reservation. that would be the courteous and respectful thing to to do.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2017

Always consistent with fresh and tasty Chinese food that's cooked in front of you in the open kitchen. I love the quirky decor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

We love this place! Really terrific Asian food, beautifully presented! Duck is sensational. We take family and out of town friends there all the time and they are always pleased! staff is always gracious and friendly... it truly is a neighborhood gem!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2017

The Lemongrass Chicken was delicious, and waitstaff and chef were very attentive and personable. Nice ambiance - cozy and eclectic without pretentiousness.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Always excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2016

This is the classic Soho restaurant. It's been at the same address for over 20 years and the food is up to date and fresh -- a great combination! Fun for friends and family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2016

The atmosphere is still good and lively at this old Soho NY classic (not many left anymore). Food was very tasty but after ordering it took an unusually long time to come. Our server did acknowledge it without us asking and apologized but had the food come in a more timely manner it would have made for a better experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 2, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal here....loved the decor and noise level was low enough where I could have a conversation. Food was delicious and our server was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Our second visit in just a few weeks and we really like this place. The menu is short and so everything is done very well. The mix of flavours and spice is just spot on – it's great place for a quick bite with good service. Oh and the cocktails are fab!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 25, 2016

A very authentic feel to the restaurant and the food that we ordered. Great flavours and an interesting mix of Thai, Vietnamese and Korean.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2016

Kelley & Ping is one of my all-time favorites, I've been coming here since they opened. Fantastic menu, vibe, always excellent. Sad to be moving out of state now but I'll definitely be back whenever I visit! They deserve eight stars!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2016

Pork chop was served undercooked even after I specifically asked for well done. This was the second time this has happened.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 10, 2016

Great fun and good Asian food. This place is not pretending to be anything other than a good place to eat. We loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2016

Kelley and Ping has always been a go to place for me- that is super affordable and wonderfully consistent cuisine. It has changed decore in 20 years (probably since it opened) , and that is of comfort to me as I have had countless great meals there in the past. I recommend the summer rolls, and the Malaysian curry.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 11, 2016

A favorite when in Soho. Great cocktails- try the Ginger Mint or the Tamarind Whisky Sour- and low-key relaxing vibe. Feels a bit like being on vacation. Favorite dishes are the Pad Sew Yew, Bulgogi and sautéed string beans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 7, 2016

I had my 50th birthday celebration at Kelley and Ping. Emily did an amazing job helping me to plan a celebration dinner for my friends. The staff was so nice, warm and friendly.
The food was delicious! It was amazing to have so many gluten free options for my guests and I to choose from.
I would throw another large family style gathering there in a heart beat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Although food was so-so and could have been, service was fine, congenial, and helpful. I recommend K&P and would return, but with more caution and less enthusiasm.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was so so but service was very good, ambience is great (I'm giving them the benefit of the doubt that no air conditioning was purposefully recreating the Vietnamese climate). I'd like to try again for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2016

Always enjoyed lunch at K&P - recently discovered they slso serve dinner. The restaurant takes on a completely new look - romantic low lighting , very friendly helpful table service and the food is so wonderful. I tried the Pork Chop served over fine noodles - amazing! The Pad Thia of course Top Ten. A perfect informal dinner and it's in my neighborhood . Oh yes, order the Spring Rolls.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2016

Flavorful dishes. Good variety on the menu. Satisfied all in our party of 6.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Cool vibe, amazing cocktails! Food was easy to share and a perfect blend of spices and flavors. Nothing over powered the food. Service was appropriately attentive. Great neighborhood spot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2016

After shopping in the area, we found this lovely spot with pan-Asian cuisine. I am a big fan of Thai, Korean, Vietnamese, and the food was absolutely delicious. We had a pad thai and the crispy duck served on a bed of greens, all very well seasoned and not greasy at all. The bento box appetizer didn't need the sticky rice in my opinion, but the other 3 items were great.
The space is nicely decorated, with a modern vibe mixed with not so traditional Asian art. Service was attentive and prompt, but it was a quiet night, only a few tables occupied at 8pm.
The wine list could use revamping: the wines are only listed by variety, no provenance or name of producers. I thought it would take too long to ask, so I ordered a very good cocktail and my husband had a beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

delicious food, great ambiance, good service, overall experience was excellent. will indefinably go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2016

I loved it. I got the fried rice and spring rolls, so good. Our service was great! Cute lil spit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2016

The ambiance of this Pan-Asian cafeteria-style restaurant is really amazing, I come here every time I'm in NewYork. My favourite is the Ped Makham, a crispy boneless duck glazed with Soy, ginger and tamarind - simply wonderful! Good prices for Soho.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

It's everything you love to eat. And the service was terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2015

Delicious food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2015

Reasonably priced, solid Thai/Asian-fusion food in SoHo. Spacious interior, good energy, friendly staff, open-plan kitchen. Very cool.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2015

Great spot for casual eats. We had the veg dumplings and Massamen Curry. So good!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2015

Unfortunately, despite the good location and adequate decor, they stopped short on food and drinks. My lychee mojito tasted like mint water (which I like, don't get me wrong, but not for $14). Our appetizer was dumplings and they were overcooked, mushy, without flavor of any kind. The main course was chicken plainer than you'd find on an airplane. The meat quality was low, which might have been hidden beneath you know, flavor, but no. Do not recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 29, 2015

Very surprising - Looks like a deli by day however literally transformed into a really nice and quiet restaurant by night, very nice location. Food a nice mix.

Did miss draft beer.

Would recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2015

Stopped here for a great dinner the night before the New York City bike tour with my brother, his wife and my niece. My niece is vegan, I am vegetarian and my brother would basically eat anything. And everything. It was just what we wanted! There's something on the menu for absolutely everyone, from gluten-free to carnivore. The food was delicious, and our waitress really catered to my niece, which I greatly appreciate. You could really order anything here and it would be superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2015

Nestled off a side street in SoHo, we were delighted to find this restaurant after hanging out the Children's Museum of Art about a 1/2 mile away. The menu had a very nice selection of various Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese and Chinese dishes. The kids menu also was great and kids eat free on certain days which is even better (we had to remind our server at the end of the meal regarding this offer). The 4 adults and 2 children in our party enjoyed a variety of flavors including Salmon with a curry sauce, noodles, satay, tempura, and crispy duck.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2015

Not impressed by their Asian fusion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2015

very accomodating with better than decent food. Gracious wait and host staff

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2014

Understaffed

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2014

I'm from Italy and I first tried this restaurant in 2011, thanks to a friend who lives in NY. This second time was even better than I remember: food is delicious, the ambiance is very cosy and nice

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 27, 2014

took a group of nine people here on last minute notice and the staff was very kind and helpful.

food is GREAT as are the drinks (watch out, they sneak up on you!). But sometimes the service can be slow, depending on where in the room you end up sitting.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 24, 2014

Food-All apps were good, but mains were awful. The chicken was so salty!!
Service-And as cute as our waiter was, he lacked customer service skills and totally messed up our order.
On top if all that, be careful of front tables. My menu fell so I leaned over to pick it up and whacked my head into the shelving next to the table. I've had a headache now for two days.
So many other places to go that I'd never go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2