Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Kazu Japanese Restaurant

4.6
93 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Welcome to Kazu Japanese Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL. Our focus is on fresh, finest quality food, with friendly service. Kazu offers great selections of wine and beer, plus Jacksonville's most extensive cold sake list. Please come and enjoy the most delicious Asian cuisine we offer. We do our best to serve our customers with the quality you deserve!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 683-9903
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Crown point Rd.
Additional
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine
What 93 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We found Kazu on the top 50 restaurants around Jacksonville list. It’s a great date night restaurant with nice ambiance, good drinks and good sushi!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We tried this place on a busy Monday night. The place was crowded but there were still a few tables available. We ordered the sushi for two and it did not disappoint. Service seemed a bit spotty. Our server was sweet and friendly, but we sat for a while before she came to the table and asked if anyone had taken our drink order. She quickly apologized for the delay and took both our drink and dinner orders. Drinks came out quickly followed by the salad with ginger dressing and the miso soup. Once we were done with that, we again sat for a while before she came back and collected the dishes and asked if we wanted another beer. Sushi arrived shortly after the second beer and it was very fresh and delicious! Will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Amazing Valentine's Day Dinner, quite and relaxing. Our food was to die for, we had a good time and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Disappointed that I was charged for my meal when the table next to us dropped their sauce and it got in my food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

It’s was pretty good. Not the best but, better than the average sushi place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The sushi is always very fresh and well presented. Love the Spring Citrus Salmon app, always amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Kazu is the best sushi in Jacksonville. The service is excellent, where they know you when you come in. The sushi is honestly wonderful and by far the best in Jacksonville. When we take visiting guests here they always love it. The wine list is good as well as the saki selections. Make a reservation because it is in high demand.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Food quality was good but too much sauce on chicken dish and too much breading on tempura. Very attentive wait staff, comfortable dining room. Sushi was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

This was our best visit here ever. Live uni (sea urchin) and also o-toro (fatty tuna) - both virtually unavailable in the Jacksonville area anywhere else - were both awesomely fresh and tasty. The sashimi that I had, the rolls that my daughter ate and the meal that my wife had were all excellent. There is a good selection of cold sake and the service, even though it was crowded, was excellent. I have not found a better sushi restaurant in NE Florida.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

We have eaten at Kazu a number of times, and it is consistently a great experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 31, 2017

Love, love, love Kazu.
Best sushi and sashimi, I drive from Richmond, Virginia to eat at Kazu.
David is the BEST!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2017

By far the best sushi in Jacksonville. Don't waste your time going anywhere else. David, the owner, is a great guy and runs a fantastic restaurant that makes great sushi. Continues to be our go to place!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

This restaurant is rated very high on several websites however I was a bit disappointed. The tempura was over battered. The beauty of Japanese tempura is light breading, crunchy, light, not greasy, and tasty vegetables or what every in in the inside. We had the Soft Shell Crab tempura and tempura vegetables. Everything tasted the same, thick batter. We had the sushi and sashimi for two. The sushi rice was warm. I've never had warm rice in sushi. It did not go well with the cold fish. All the fish was sliced much thiner than the sushi at other restaurants around town. Miso Soup had little to no tofu, which I like in my Miso Soup. Ginger salad was average.
Not saying this was bad, just saying it doesn't stand out as led to believe in the reviews.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

If you LOVE sushi then Kazu is where you want to be!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 6, 2017

I believe it was the manager who was yelling at our waitress for not cleaning the dishes on the table next to us when people were still eating off of them. She was trying to explain that to him and he just kept yelling at her in front of my table. It was unnecessary when she was doing an OUTSTANDING job with all of her tables. That is the only reason my overall review was not 5 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

We always enjoy eating at Kazu. It's a top quality restaurant, very close to our home. Food is consistently very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Very good sushi

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Great service & food - definitely recommend this place for great sushi!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff appears disorganized. Messed up order

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2017

Kazu is really the best sushi in Jacksonville. The service is so friendly and quick. It's a new favorite spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Consistently good sushi. Service is very friendly and fast. Chef/owner always willing to make recommendations or discuss sake options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2017

This was the 3rd time we'd been and the food is consistently great. However, on this occasion (Monday night), our server was horrible. We'd have to flag her down multiple times just to get a refill or order food. She had to pass our table every time she went to the kitchen but she made a point to hurry by or not make eye contact. She was super fast and close by when it came to our $120 bill though. I wish I remembered her name because she needs to be retrained.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

This was our second time eating here and the sushi is amazing. Very fresh and they have a great variety. The severs are very friendly and prompt. We love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2017

Always excellent food. Great service. They treat us like family. Spoiled for all other sushi!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good sushi. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2017

Always great

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2017

Plain and simple overrated. Went here because of Yelp and OpenTable reviews. It took 20 minutes for someone to ask us if we wanted a water. We put all of the orders in at the same time and clearly said we wanted the appetizer to come out early. Completely reasonable, right? Apparently not because they brought everything out at the same time and said "we might get busy so I brought it all out". Food was decent, but definitely did not make up for the lackluster service. 20 minutes later, there were 6 empty tables. Had to ask someone for the check and they replied "I thought you had one already".

Just avoid. This place will be closed in 12 months.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday. I called ahead and advised them of this and asked if they do anything special; was told free dessert. Great news! I also let our waiter know as well when we arrived. Not only did he not offer dessert to the table, he also didn't make her birthday special by giving her dessert at least. We drove 30 minutes to get there due to the reviews. The food was good, but we were not given the attentiveness one would expect. There weren't really any recommendations given by him as we'd also advised it was our first time there. With only one chance to get this right for her birthday, he and the restaurant missed the mark. They should have made certain it was a memorable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

The sushi burritos are great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved the build-your-own sushi burrito, as well as the lemon drop sushi roll.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and prompt service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

I guess the staff and kitchen was overwhelmed that night. It was busy. Front desk couldn't find that reservation after multiple tries. Wait staff was nice but seemed to have too many tables to tend too. And our food was not up to par based on previous visits to this location - portions were smaller. We might try again on a slower night, maybe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place, one of the best sushi restaurants in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2017

Best sushi in Jacksonville. It's consistently good and this trip was no exception.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food as usual! Service was very good and the quality and freshness of the sushi was superb! Just wish I could get there more often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 11, 2017

Hole in the wall with class A sushi. Not to be missed if you're in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2017

The best sushi in Jacksonville with incredibly fresh fish. The creativity of the sushi chefs is fabulous!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, really good sushi, family friendly. Sushi chefs made really good rolls, big portions for chicken kayak. Well cooked and nice small cozy setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2017

Fantastic sushi! Really great food.... and quite u set prices for the quality taste and service..... phenomenal dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding food. Have been eating there literally since they opened and they do not disappoint. David and his staff are meticulous in serving only the best of the best when it comes to sushi.
Make sure you check out the specials and don't hesitate to ask for recommendations or advice if you want to try something new.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3