Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Kazu Japanese Restaurant

Welcome to Kazu Japanese Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL. Our focus is on fresh, finest quality food, with friendly service. Kazu offers great selections of wine and beer, plus Jacksonville's most extensive cold sake list. Please come and enjoy the most delicious Asian cuisine we offer. We do our best to serve our customers with the quality you deserve!

9965 San Jose Blvd
Ste 35
Jacksonville, FL 32257
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Crown point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 683-9903

Website:
http://www.kazujapaneserestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kazu Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
See All
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort by
S
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This was our best visit here ever. Live uni (sea urchin) and also o-toro (fatty tuna) - both virtually unavailable in the Jacksonville area anywhere else - were both awesomely fresh and tasty. The sashimi that I had, the rolls that my daughter ate and the meal that my wife had were all excellent. There is a good selection of cold sake and the service, even though it was crowded, was excellent. I have not found a better sushi restaurant in NE Florida.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We have eaten at Kazu a number of times, and it is consistently a great experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Love, love, love Kazu.
Best sushi and sashimi, I drive from Richmond, Virginia to eat at Kazu.
David is the BEST!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2017

By far the best sushi in Jacksonville. Don't waste your time going anywhere else. David, the owner, is a great guy and runs a fantastic restaurant that makes great sushi. Continues to be our go to place!

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

This restaurant is rated very high on several websites however I was a bit disappointed. The tempura was over battered. The beauty of Japanese tempura is light breading, crunchy, light, not greasy, and tasty vegetables or what every in in the inside. We had the Soft Shell Crab tempura and tempura vegetables. Everything tasted the same, thick batter. We had the sushi and sashimi for two. The sushi rice was warm. I've never had warm rice in sushi. It did not go well with the cold fish. All the fish was sliced much thiner than the sushi at other restaurants around town. Miso Soup had little to no tofu, which I like in my Miso Soup. Ginger salad was average.
Not saying this was bad, just saying it doesn't stand out as led to believe in the reviews.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2017

If you LOVE sushi then Kazu is where you want to be!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

I believe it was the manager who was yelling at our waitress for not cleaning the dishes on the table next to us when people were still eating off of them. She was trying to explain that to him and he just kept yelling at her in front of my table. It was unnecessary when she was doing an OUTSTANDING job with all of her tables. That is the only reason my overall review was not 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We always enjoy eating at Kazu. It's a top quality restaurant, very close to our home. Food is consistently very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great service & food - definitely recommend this place for great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff appears disorganized. Messed up order

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Kazu is really the best sushi in Jacksonville. The service is so friendly and quick. It's a new favorite spot.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Consistently good sushi. Service is very friendly and fast. Chef/owner always willing to make recommendations or discuss sake options.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This was the 3rd time we'd been and the food is consistently great. However, on this occasion (Monday night), our server was horrible. We'd have to flag her down multiple times just to get a refill or order food. She had to pass our table every time she went to the kitchen but she made a point to hurry by or not make eye contact. She was super fast and close by when it came to our $120 bill though. I wish I remembered her name because she needs to be retrained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was our second time eating here and the sushi is amazing. Very fresh and they have a great variety. The severs are very friendly and prompt. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always excellent food. Great service. They treat us like family. Spoiled for all other sushi!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very good sushi. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always great

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Plain and simple overrated. Went here because of Yelp and OpenTable reviews. It took 20 minutes for someone to ask us if we wanted a water. We put all of the orders in at the same time and clearly said we wanted the appetizer to come out early. Completely reasonable, right? Apparently not because they brought everything out at the same time and said "we might get busy so I brought it all out". Food was decent, but definitely did not make up for the lackluster service. 20 minutes later, there were 6 empty tables. Had to ask someone for the check and they replied "I thought you had one already".

Just avoid. This place will be closed in 12 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was my daughter's birthday. I called ahead and advised them of this and asked if they do anything special; was told free dessert. Great news! I also let our waiter know as well when we arrived. Not only did he not offer dessert to the table, he also didn't make her birthday special by giving her dessert at least. We drove 30 minutes to get there due to the reviews. The food was good, but we were not given the attentiveness one would expect. There weren't really any recommendations given by him as we'd also advised it was our first time there. With only one chance to get this right for her birthday, he and the restaurant missed the mark. They should have made certain it was a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The sushi burritos are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved the build-your-own sushi burrito, as well as the lemon drop sushi roll.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and prompt service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I guess the staff and kitchen was overwhelmed that night. It was busy. Front desk couldn't find that reservation after multiple tries. Wait staff was nice but seemed to have too many tables to tend too. And our food was not up to par based on previous visits to this location - portions were smaller. We might try again on a slower night, maybe.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place, one of the best sushi restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Best sushi in Jacksonville. It's consistently good and this trip was no exception.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food as usual! Service was very good and the quality and freshness of the sushi was superb! Just wish I could get there more often.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Hole in the wall with class A sushi. Not to be missed if you're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The best sushi in Jacksonville with incredibly fresh fish. The creativity of the sushi chefs is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, really good sushi, family friendly. Sushi chefs made really good rolls, big portions for chicken kayak. Well cooked and nice small cozy setting!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fantastic sushi! Really great food.... and quite u set prices for the quality taste and service..... phenomenal dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding food. Have been eating there literally since they opened and they do not disappoint. David and his staff are meticulous in serving only the best of the best when it comes to sushi.
Make sure you check out the specials and don't hesitate to ask for recommendations or advice if you want to try something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As always, Kazu pleases the palate and the senses with its gourmet cuisine!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Terrible service. We had to flag down a waiter to take our order. We had to flag down another waiter to refill our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant is close to our home, but we had never eaten there. When I saw that it was listed at one of Open Tables Top 10, I knew we had to try it. Wow! We have really been missing out on great food so close to home. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best sushi I have found in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Sushi was excellent. Our server Bunny was great too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant offers an enjoyable atmosphere with very personable staff and gastronomically exquisite cuisine. Everytime we dine here, we are quite pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious. Fresh sushi!!beautiful presentation. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious sushi, would highly recommend to others. Very unique menu items and priced fairly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.