About Kazu Japanese Restaurant

9965 San Jose Blvd
Ste 35
Jacksonville, FL 32257
View Larger Map

Welcome to Kazu Japanese Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL. Our focus is on fresh, finest quality food, with friendly service. Kazu offers great selections of wine and beer, plus Jacksonville's most extensive cold sake list. Please come and enjoy the most delicious Asian cuisine we offer. We do our best to serve our customers with the quality you deserve!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Crown point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 683-9903

Website:
http://www.kazujapaneserestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Kazu Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (3)
See All
special occasion (3)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (2)
romantic (1)
notable wine list (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
44 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

It stared off bad when they didn't have ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It stared off bad when they didn't have a our table available, after booking on Opentable and it was my wife's birthday. They found a table, and it was very hot, big fans blowing everywhere, not sure what the problem was. The Sushi was very good, and quality. As we are Sushi aficionados, we have lived in Hawaii and west coast.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the quality and presenta ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We always enjoy the quality and presentation of the food. The owner and staff are very personable. Always a relaxed, peaceful ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Best in Jax! Always consistently great,

Dined on May 18, 2016

Best in Jax! Always consistently great,

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and worth a visit

Dined on May 5, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday there as she loves Japanese food. It was our first visit and we loved it. Appetizers and entrees were great. The freshest fish ever! Great service as well. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a great dinner experience. The serve ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a great dinner experience. The server was very nice and she knew the menu well. Uni and Ikura are my favorite nigiri sushi, it was so fresh and tasty. Had a great nabeyaki udon. Everything tasted so yummy!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best in Duval! Doooovalll!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Always the best in Duval! Doooovalll!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Open Table fails

Dined on February 20, 2016

Before booking the reservation I checked the reviews on OpenTable. All the reviews were excellent except one - restaurant did not recognization OpenTable reservations. Same problem we had - I showed the reservation confirmation on my phone from OpenTable - they did not know what it was. Good restaurant - poor service from OpenTable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Japanese restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took wife for Valentine's day. Really busy, so the service suffered to a degree. Excellent food. The sushi bar was busy, but quality did not suffer. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and friendly service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and friendly service

food5
ambience4
service5

We always have a great meal at this rest ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

We always have a great meal at this restaurant. The good is so fresh. The owner and staff are very friendly and attentive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Kazu

Dined on January 30, 2016

I am a regular customer and always enjoy trying new things on the menu. Never a disappointment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service. The owner is always prese ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great service. The owner is always present and makes sure you are happy Food is consistently good. My wife's favorite restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi in JAX

Dined on December 24, 2015

Great quality fish and food in general. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Great overall dining experience and definitely the best sushi I've had in Jacksonville. Try the specials!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Kazu

Dined on December 14, 2015

The quality of the food is outstanding! They take great pride and care in offering high quality and fresh seafood. The staff is very personable. Would recommend this Japanese restaurant over any others we have dined at.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming from San Diego, California, I hav ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Coming from San Diego, California, I have been on the search for great sushi. Kazu is by far the best I've had in Jacksonville and it is officially me an my husbands new "go-to" spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good sushi

Dined on November 24, 2015

The restaurant had a Nice ambience and good sushi selection.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service1

Great sushi, bad service

Dined on November 8, 2015

The sushi and appetizers were great but the service was terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Hands Down the BEST Fish in town

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

BEST ever sushi rolls and sashimi. My fave is the Wild Alaskan King Salmon - like butter! Any of the tuna varieties are amazing as well. To top off, happy hour is nightly and starts at 7 or 8 and all the wine is 1/2 off! Win-Win-Win!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food
ambience
service

Made a reservation and they said "we don ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Made a reservation and they said "we don't know about open table, we don't take reservations". Awful experience.

food2
ambience2
service4

We had the teriyaki chicken dinner, teri ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

We had the teriyaki chicken dinner, teriyaki shrimp dinner, sushi, and seafood soba. All were fair dishes at best. Temperature was ok but overall very bland and average. Server was very good and all service team members were attentive. We will not go back due to the mediocre food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and best sushi in town ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Wonderful service and best sushi in town....

food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi

Dined on September 8, 2015

This place is a hidden gem... I love their sushi. They have an awesome happy hour special where if you buy a specialty roll, you get a house roll free. The spectrum roll is a must try. Trust me!!! The staff all help each other and the manager is right there with the staff to ensure that your dining experience is a great one. We will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find!

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

Fresh fish and specials of fish you can't find all the time like fatty tuna, fatty yellow tail! The rolls delicious too and the waittress was good humored! Even the white wine was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic sushi!

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

Love this place. Fantastic sushi, good décor, nice vibe. One of the best Japanese restaurants we've eaten ate for ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Random find

Dined on August 20, 2015

My boyfriend and myself are from St. Augustine and we LOVE sushi. Wanting to explore something new we found Kazu online and decided to make a date night of it. He was a little disappointed there weren't more crab options, but we both loved every roll we got and even thought the pink sauce tasted better than our usual dig. It could have been a bit more "romantical" ( dimmer lights maybe ? Not trying to be too picky thouh. ) but we had a great time. Fast food, good service. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good especially for Jacksonville. ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

Very good especially for Jacksonville. The owner is very hands on and very friendly. I would definitely recommend.

food4
ambience4
service3

Hope Around the Corner

vip
Dined on July 10, 2015

I find our part of town a dining wasteland but now we have Kazu. This was our 2nd visit and better than the first--we were familiar with the menu and better knew what we were doing. We tried the Spectrum roll (delicious) and drank some sake (a few decent choices) and shared the jalapeno yellowtail (my favorite). Score--we have a viable dining option not far from home--finally!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very fresh everything

Dined on June 26, 2015

Sushi & sashimi were very fresh tasting. 2nd time eating at Kazu and it might be our new sushi place to go on a regular basis.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3

Unassumingly good JP food !

vip
Dined on June 22, 2015

As they say ... it is unassuming , but you do get good quality Japanese food. our Sushis and Kitchen entrees were made well . If you are in a rush and wanted a quick one, I would recommend this .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Generous portions and delicious food!

Dined on June 12, 2015

Our favorites are the Terriyaki Salmon and Terriyaki Tofu when we're not ordering the yummy sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

I have enjoyed sushi around the world in ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2015

I have enjoyed sushi around the world including the docks of Japan since 1976 and Kazu hits a home run! The scallop was like butta and the fatty tuna rocked!! Most excellent!

food3
ambience2
service1

Terrible service, questionable biz practices

vip
Dined on April 29, 2015

Even if I wrote a glowing review weeks ago, I sadly state I experienced some terrible service during my most recent visit. Waiter with an attitude, management failing to acknowledge a frequent visitor, I can live with, but: - I do not like ordering and paying for a 375ml sake bottle, not seeing it and having "something else" poured in a much smaller recipient. - I do not like not getting the large variety of fish I was used to in the Chirashiu sushi dish. - I do not like having my tip modified on my credit card receipt when submitted to the bank. Not sure how long that place will last, based on observed attendance I am not the only one thinking the same. Too bad.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very fresh fish, beautiful sushi bar, great staff!

Dined on March 5, 2015

We love this bar. Two brothers - manager and sushi chef - both very good! Freshest of fish - lots of great, unique roll combos, beautiful sashimi, good selection of cold saki.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

It's OK

Dined on February 15, 2015

Overall I thought Kazu was just mediocre, I'd maybe eat there again if I happen to be in the area, but definitely wouldn't go out of my way to get there. Service was slow and got several of the sushi rolls wrong. I got the impression that the server was new as she didn't know much of anything about the menu. Ambiance was lacking but fairly typical of most sushi places. No major issues, but also no major positives either.

food4
ambience3
service5

Valentines day

Dined on February 14, 2015

Due to lack of reservations we booked our table here. I was skeptical. However, it ended up being a blessing. Food was on point and the service was great. Not something I would do again for a romantic date, but great nonetheless.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The best Japanese restaurant in Jacksonville

vip
Dined on February 12, 2015

Excellent sushi place. Kazu serves a remarkable selection of sushi and sashimi. Quality is consistent through our repeated visits. Presentation of plates is spectacular (as is the decoration of the room). The sake list is average but the service is friendly. Kazu is a gem in Mandarin.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Some of the best sushi in Jacksonville. ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2015

Some of the best sushi in Jacksonville. Definitely not your typical sushi restaurant as it has more of a cafeteria outlay to the restaurant but didn't make a difference because the food made up for it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Welcome addition to San Jose Blvd.

vip
Dined on January 31, 2015

Kazu is a great addition to the restaurant scene along San Jose Blvd. Sushi aficionados and newbies will both find this restaurant appealing. Love and meet recently named one of the top 50 restaurants in Jacksonville and deservedly so Kazu consistently exceeds my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi yet!

Dined on January 13, 2015

Had a great experience at Kazu again! I've been in small groups of 2-4 but this time we had 7 and it was still quick and easy! And the sushi was so yummy! Definitely my favorite sushi in town by far! And so happy it's in mandarin and super close to me! Love this place and plan on going back often!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi in Jax!

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

This will be an easy review, Kazu is by far the best sushi and Japanese restaurant in North Florida! Fresh fish from Japan flown in two-three times a week with Toro almost always on the menu, what more could a sushi lover ask for?? And their Happy Hour specials are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.