About Kazu Japanese Restaurant

9965 San Jose Blvd
Ste 35
Jacksonville, FL 32257
View Larger Map

Welcome to Kazu Japanese Restaurant in Jacksonville, FL. Our focus is on fresh, finest quality food, with friendly service. Kazu offers great selections of wine and beer, plus Jacksonville's most extensive cold sake list. Please come and enjoy the most delicious Asian cuisine we offer. We do our best to serve our customers with the quality you deserve!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Crown point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 683-9903

Website:
http://www.kazujapaneserestaurant.com/

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Kazu Japanese Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and prompt service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I guess the staff and kitchen was overwhelmed that night. It was busy. Front desk couldn't find that reservation after multiple tries. Wait staff was nice but seemed to have too many tables to tend too. And our food was not up to par based on previous visits to this location - portions were smaller. We might try again on a slower night, maybe.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love this place, one of the best sushi restaurants in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Best sushi in Jacksonville. It's consistently good and this trip was no exception.

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food as usual! Service was very good and the quality and freshness of the sushi was superb! Just wish I could get there more often.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Hole in the wall with class A sushi. Not to be missed if you're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The best sushi in Jacksonville with incredibly fresh fish. The creativity of the sushi chefs is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, really good sushi, family friendly. Sushi chefs made really good rolls, big portions for chicken kayak. Well cooked and nice small cozy setting!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic sushi! Really great food.... and quite u set prices for the quality taste and service..... phenomenal dining experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Outstanding food. Have been eating there literally since they opened and they do not disappoint. David and his staff are meticulous in serving only the best of the best when it comes to sushi.

Make sure you check out the specials and don't hesitate to ask for recommendations or advice if you want to try something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As always, Kazu pleases the palate and the senses with its gourmet cuisine!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Terrible service. We had to flag down a waiter to take our order. We had to flag down another waiter to refill our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant is close to our home, but we had never eaten there. When I saw that it was listed at one of Open Tables Top 10, I knew we had to try it. Wow! We have really been missing out on great food so close to home. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best sushi I have found in Jacksonville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Sushi was excellent. Our server Bunny was great too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant offers an enjoyable atmosphere with very personable staff and gastronomically exquisite cuisine. Everytime we dine here, we are quite pleased.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Delicious. Fresh sushi!!beautiful presentation. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious sushi, would highly recommend to others. Very unique menu items and priced fairly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2016

It stared off bad when they didn't have a our table available, after booking on Opentable and it was my wife's birthday. They found a table, and it was very hot, big fans blowing everywhere, not sure what the problem was. The Sushi was very good, and quality. As we are Sushi aficionados, we have lived in Hawaii and west coast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We always enjoy the quality and presentation of the food. The owner and staff are very personable. Always a relaxed, peaceful ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Best in Jax! Always consistently great,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We celebrated my sister's birthday there as she loves Japanese food. It was our first visit and we loved it. Appetizers and entrees were great. The freshest fish ever! Great service as well. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had a great dinner experience. The server was very nice and she knew the menu well.

Uni and Ikura are my favorite nigiri sushi, it was so fresh and tasty. Had a great nabeyaki udon. Everything tasted so yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Always the best in Duval! Doooovalll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Before booking the reservation I checked the reviews on OpenTable. All the reviews were excellent except one - restaurant did not recognization OpenTable reservations. Same problem we had - I showed the reservation confirmation on my phone from OpenTable - they did not know what it was. Good restaurant - poor service from OpenTable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took wife for Valentine's day. Really busy, so the service suffered to a degree. Excellent food. The sushi bar was busy, but quality did not suffer. Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We always have a great meal at this restaurant. The good is so fresh. The owner and staff are very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I am a regular customer and always enjoy trying new things on the menu. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Great service. The owner is always present and makes sure you are happy Food is consistently good. My wife's favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Great quality fish and food in general. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Great overall dining experience and definitely the best sushi I've had in Jacksonville. Try the specials!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2015

The quality of the food is outstanding! They take great pride and care in offering high quality and fresh seafood. The staff is very personable. Would recommend this Japanese restaurant over any others we have dined at.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2015

Coming from San Diego, California, I have been on the search for great sushi. Kazu is by far the best I've had in Jacksonville and it is officially me an my husbands new "go-to" spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2015

The restaurant had a Nice ambience and good sushi selection.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2015

The sushi and appetizers were great but the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2015

BEST ever sushi rolls and sashimi. My fave is the Wild Alaskan King Salmon - like butter! Any of the tuna varieties are amazing as well. To top off, happy hour is nightly and starts at 7 or 8 and all the wine is 1/2 off! Win-Win-Win!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Made a reservation and they said "we don't know about open table, we don't take reservations". Awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We had the teriyaki chicken dinner, teriyaki shrimp dinner, sushi, and seafood soba. All were fair dishes at best. Temperature was ok but overall very bland and average. Server was very good and all service team members were attentive. We will not go back due to the mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Wonderful service and best sushi in town....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 8, 2015

This place is a hidden gem... I love their sushi. They have an awesome happy hour special where if you buy a specialty roll, you get a house roll free. The spectrum roll is a must try. Trust me!!! The staff all help each other and the manager is right there with the staff to ensure that your dining experience is a great one. We will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2015

Fresh fish and specials of fish you can't find all the time like fatty tuna, fatty yellow tail! The rolls delicious too and the waittress was good humored! Even the white wine was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2015

Love this place. Fantastic sushi, good décor, nice vibe. One of the best Japanese restaurants we've eaten ate for ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2015

My boyfriend and myself are from St. Augustine and we LOVE sushi. Wanting to explore something new we found Kazu online and decided to make a date night of it. He was a little disappointed there weren't more crab options, but we both loved every roll we got and even thought the pink sauce tasted better than our usual dig. It could have been a bit more "romantical" ( dimmer lights maybe ? Not trying to be too picky thouh. ) but we had a great time. Fast food, good service. We will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Very good especially for Jacksonville. The owner is very hands on and very friendly. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 10, 2015

I find our part of town a dining wasteland but now we have Kazu. This was our 2nd visit and better than the first--we were familiar with the menu and better knew what we were doing. We tried the Spectrum roll (delicious) and drank some sake (a few decent choices) and shared the jalapeno yellowtail (my favorite). Score--we have a viable dining option not far from home--finally!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 26, 2015

Sushi & sashimi were very fresh tasting. 2nd time eating at Kazu and it might be our new sushi place to go on a regular basis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 22, 2015

As they say ... it is unassuming , but you do get good quality Japanese food. our Sushis and Kitchen entrees were made well . If you are in a rush and wanted a quick one, I would recommend this .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Our favorites are the Terriyaki Salmon and Terriyaki Tofu when we're not ordering the yummy sushi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2015

I have enjoyed sushi around the world including the docks of Japan since 1976 and Kazu hits a home run! The scallop was like butta and the fatty tuna rocked!! Most excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.